Early Schools of Mills County, Iowa

To add photos, please contact the County Coordinator. Thank you.

Township Map of Early Schools

For additional Rural School Information
School Name
General Location of school and other notes
Anderson School Anderson township
Barbee School Center township - Section 9, range 42 (1870-c1941)
Barrett School White Cloud township
Benton School Anderson township - also known as "Big Mud School" (1854-1946)
Bethlehem School Plattville township
Box Elder School Anderson township - Section 2, range 41. (1874-1960)
Burr Oak School Lyons township
Center School Deer Creek township - (c1868-1924), old building replaced with a newer one then closed in 1960.
Center School Rawles township
Center School Silver Creek township
East Sunbeam School White Cloud township
Egypt School Lyons township
Elm Grove School Lyons township - (1857-1913), Destroyed by a cyclone, rebuilt and closed in 1966, Section 11, range 48.
Emerson School Indian Creek township
Estes/Pleasant Hill School Rawles township - 9 miles southeast of Glenwood.
Eureka School #1 St. Marys township
Eureka School #2 St. Marys township
Evernham School Oak township
Excelsior School Ingraham township
Fairview School Anderson township
Fairview School Deer Creek township
Fairview School Indian Creek township
Farm Creek School Anderson township - (1887-1920); Section 1, Range 40, struck by lightning July 1, 2920, burned to the ground.
Forest Grove School Rawles township
Forester School Indian Creek township - (c1869 - 1952); One mile west of Emerson
Four Corners School Rawles township - 5 miles north of Tabor.
Foxworthy School White Cloud township - Peaceville (c1858-1951)
Glenwood High School Glenwood township
Glenwood School Glenwood township
Glenwood State School Glenwood township
Glynn School Deer Creek township
Goheen School Glenwood township
Golden Hill School Indian Creek township
Goodfellow School Rawles township -(1895-???)
Gowen School #1 Oak township
Gowen School #2 Oak township
Gowen School #3 Oak township
Hastings High School Indian Creek township - (1892-???)
Hastings School Indian Creek township
Hawthorne School Center township (1906-1960)
Henderson High School Anderson township
Henderson School Anderson township
Hillsdale School Center township - (1880-1936), Building burned, rebuilt with a smaller structure, used until 1965.
Ingraham Center School Ingraham township - (1872-??)
Keystone School Deer Creek township
Letal School Oak township - (1880-1958)
Lincoln School Plattville township
Little Brick School Center township - (1880-1913); Destroyed by a tornado on Easter Sunday.
Malvern School Silver Creek township
Maple Grove School Rawles township - 5 miles southwest of Malvern. Closed in 1950.
McClain School Indian Creek township
Mt. Vernon School Center township
Mt. Vernon School Ingraham township
Nishna Valley School Indian Creek township
North Grove/Indian Creek School Indian Creek township
Oaks School Anderson township
Osborne Valley School Ingraham township - (1872-??)
Pacific City School Plattville township - (1857-1962)
Pacific Junction School Plattville township
Picerkrill School Anderson township - (1874-1940); Section 28, students relocated to Nishna Valley Community School
Plainview/Donnell School Glenwood township
Pleasant Grove School Center township
Pleasant Hill School Ingraham township - aka Estes School, nine miles south of Glenwood,
Pleasant Ridge School Rawles township
Pleasant Valley School Silver Creek township - Originally known as Jones School; Section 5, Township 41, Range 72.
Plumer/Oak Bluff School #2 Oak township - (1906-1954)
Prairie Creek School Ingraham township - Original school destroyed by fire in 1916, rebuilt by 1925, closed by 1953.
Prairie Valley/Frog Pond School Ingraham township - (1872-??)
Preston School Deer Creek township
Reasoner School Center township - Section 20, Range 42 North.
Sand Hollow School Oak township
Sandiland School Indian Creek township
Shady Grove School Rawles township
Silver City High School Ingraham township
Silver City School Ingraham township
Silver Creek School Ingraham township
Silver School Center township - (1874-1945), Section 2, Range 42
South Grove School Deer Creek township
Spetman/Oak Bluff School #1 School Oak township
Spring Valley School White Cloud township
Strahan School Deer Creek township
Sunrise School White Cloud township
Union School Deer Creek township
Union Valley School Anderson township
Unknown School Center township
Unknown SchoolMills County class c1896-1898
Valleyview School White Cloud township
Vogler/Mineola School Oak township
Walnut Grove School Lyons township
Warner School Deer Creek township
Wearin School Indian Creek township
West Hill/Grade School Glenwood township - (1868-1937)
West LibertyOak township
West Liberty School #2 Oak township
West Liberty #3/West Oak School Oak township
West Sunbeam School White Cloud township
West/Sunnyside School Rawles township - Originally named West School, located one mile north of Tabor
White Chapel School Plattville township
White Cloud School White Cloud
Williams School Glenwood township
Wright School Lyons township

Return to Schools

Return to Mills County Home

Page updated on August 30, 2016 by Karyn Techau