A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   MC   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z


John Baade was born in the Mecklenburg area of northern Germany on January 3, 1842 but, by 185 7, was working as a young farm hand in Garnavillo.

On August 5, 1862 he enlisted at National as a Private in what would be Company B of the 21st Regiment of the Iowa Volunteer Infantry, a unit then being raised in Iowa's northeastern counties, its 3rd Congressional District. John was described as being 5' 8" tall with blue eyes, flaxen hair and a light complexion. The Company was mustered in on August 18th and the regiment on September 9th, both in Dubuque where training, minimal at best, was received at Camp Franklin (formerly known as Camp Union), On September 16, 1862, they left for war.

Except for a few brief bouts of illness, John maintained his health better than most who served in the western theater. After initial service in Missouri (Rolla, Salem, Houston, Hartville, West Plains, Ironton, Iron Mountain, Ste. Genevieve), the regiment was transported down the Mississippi to Milliken's Bend where General Grant was organizing a massive army to capture the Confederate stronghold at Vicksburg. Assigned to a corps led by General McClernand, the regiment moved south through bayous and swamps west of the river. When a planned crossing at Grand Gulf proved unfeasible, the army continued south and, on April 30, 1863 crossed to the Bruinsburg landing on the east bank.

The first regiment to cross was assigned to high ground above the landing so it could sound the alarm if the enemy approached. The second regiment, the 21st Iowa, was ordered to move inland and to continue moving until fired upon. The orders were ominous, but they did as instructed and, about midnight, drew first fire near the residence of Abram Shaifer. The two sides exchanged gunfire only a short time before resting for the night.

The next day, May 1, 1863, John Baade was with the regiment as it fought the day-long Battle of Port Gibson. On May 16th they were present, but held in reserve, during the Battle of Champion's Hill. Rotated to the front on the 17th, they were in a four-regiment brigade that met entrenched Confederates at the Big Black River. An assault was ordered and, in three minutes, the Confederates were routed, but the regiment had suffered heavy casualties. While other reports differ, an analysis of National Archive documents show that the correct number was seven killed, eighteen fatally wounded, and thirty-eight non-fatally wounded. By May 22, 1863, they had reached the Union line at the rear of Vicksburg where they participated in that day's assault on the city. Casualties in the regiment were twenty-three killed, twelve fatally wounded, and forty-eight non-fatally wounded. Again, John Baade was uninjured and he remained with the regiment throughout the ensuing siege and during an expedition to, and siege of, Jackson, Mississippi.

On September 1, 1863 they were camped at Carrollton, Louisiana, when John received a thirty-day furlough to go north on a surgeon's certificate of disability. Like most others, he was late returning but eventually reached the regiment at Matagorda Island, Texas, on March 30, 1864, just in time for a prayer meeting held that night in the surgeon's tent. John was returned to duty without punishment and served with the regiment for the balance of its service in Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, and in Alabama during the campaign to capture the city of Mobile.

On July 15, 1865 they were mustered out at Baton Rouge and, on July 24th, were discharged from the military at Clinton, Iowa.

On March 10, 1870, twenty-eight year old John Baade married Doris Krambeer (also known as Anna Maria Dorothea Krambeer and Dorista Krambier). John said they had four children - Johann Friedrich Heinrich born May 26, 1871, Gustave Johann Carl born July 20, 1972, Ida Bertha Elizabeth born August 7, 1875, and Johann Fredrich Heinrich born March 14, 1876.

Doris died in 1876 and, on December 30th of that year, John married Maria Hoth in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the mostly-German community ofClayton Centre. They would have eleven children Mathilde "Tillie" Caroline Marie born November 3, 1877, Heinrich "Henry" Joachim Johan born March 8, 1879, Louisa Wilhelmina Elizabeth born on October 8, 1880, Arthur August Friedrich born January 28, 1883 (or 1884), Theodore Johann Wilhelm born October 10, 1885, William "Willie" Heinrich Carl born March 4 (or March 5), 1888, Atha "Etta" Doris Friedricke born October 20, 1890, George John born September 3, 1892 (or 1891), Jenne "Jennie" August Friedericke born March 16, 1893(or1894), Laura born July 25 (or July 20), 1895, and Leona Wilhelmine born August 31, 1897.

All of the above names and dates, must be regarded as somewhat approximate since, even though reported by John, they sometimes varied from one document to another.

Many soldiers were suffering from wounds or illnesses when they returned to their families, but John Baade did better than most as he and Maria worked a farm about one mile southeast of Froelich. It was not until July 22, 1890 that John asked the Department of the Interior's Pension Office for an invalid pension. By then he was forty-eight years old and said he was partially unable to earn a living by manual labor due to asthma, chronic diarrhoea (an illness that had killed at least sixty-five men while still on the regiment's muster rolls) and general debility. His claim was supported by two ofhis neighbors, Conrad Butts and C. E. Nichols, who said John was "a man ofgood character and steady habits" and appeared to be suffering as he claimed. He was examined by a board of pension surgeons in McGregor and, on July 29, 1891, one year after the application was filed, he was approved for a monthly pension of $8.00.
John continued to work, one by one his children were married, and before long John was a grandfather. His pension, now age-based, was gradually increased to $12.00, then $24.00 and eventually to $72.00 monthly, an amount he was still receiving when he died on November 2, 1929 at eighty-six years of age. He was buried in Monona Cemetery.

Later that month, Maria applied for payment of John's pension that had accrued but not yet been paid when he died and for her own widow's pension. With affidavits from friends and neighbors who knew them, Maria was able to prove she had married John, they had not divorced, and she had not remarried after his death. On April 12, 1930 a $69.60 check was mailed to cover John's accrued pension and on April 14, 1930 a check was mailed to Maria for $132.00 as her own widow's pension.

Maria died on March 23, 1943 (elsewhere 1944) and was buried with her husband in Monona Cemetery.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


The youngest of three sons born to European immigrants John and Margaret “Mary” Baal, Martin was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, on August 14, 1841. When he was twelve years old the family of five moved to Iowa and settled on a farm near Sherrill’s Mound in Dubuque County.

Nineteen-year-old Martin was still living and working on the farm when Abraham Lincoln was elected President on November 16, 1860. Southern states had threatened secession, but few in the North thought it would happen. As the Clayton County Journal said, “We do not believe that the people of South Carolina desire a dissolution of the Union simply because a Northern man was elected President. There are only a few hot-heads in our opinion who make all this disturbance and they cannot effect anything.” The Journal was wrong. States did secede and, on April 12, 1861, General Beauregard’s Confederate cannon fired on Fort Sumter.

As the ensuing war escalated through a second year and casualties mounted, more men were needed. On July 9, 1862, Iowa’s governor, Sam Kirkwood, received a telegram asking him to raise another five regiments. If not raised by August 15th, a draft was likely. On August 16th, twenty-two-year-old John Baal enlisted and on the 20th Martin joined him. At 5' 10" Martin was slightly taller than average and was described as having dark hair and a dark complexion, occupation farmer. On the 22nd, the brothers were mustered into Company E of what would be the 21st regiment of Iowa’s volunteer infantry. Training at Dubuque’s Camp Franklin was brief and on September 9th, with a total of 985 men, ten companies were mustered in as a regiment. On a rainy 16th, those able for duty boarded the sidewheel steamer Henry Clay and two barges tied alongside and started south.

On the 17th they stopped at Rock Island for one night and, while there, learned that Thompson Spottswood had become the first to die. Ill and left behind, he had succumbed to measles and lung congestion while being treated at his uncle’s house in Epworth. The regiment resumed its trip on the 18th, debarked at Montrose due to low water, traveled by rail to Keokuk, boarded the Hawkeye State and arrived in St. Louis about 10:00 a.m. on the 20th. The weather was hot and by the time they reached Benton Barracks many were exhausted. After the next day’s inspection, they marched to the rail line, boarded cars usually reserved for freight and livestock, and traveled through the night to the railhead at Rolla.

The water at their first campsite “oppressed the senses like the breath of sewers” and they soon relocated to Sycamore Springs southwest of town. For the next month they practiced their drill and waited for orders. On October 18th they left Rolla for Salem followed by Houston and Hartville where they arrived on November 15th. After a wagon train was attacked on November 24th, they returned to Houston but, when word was received that a Confederate column was advancing on Springfield, a hastily organized relief force including 262 volunteers from the 21st Infantry hurried in that direction. On January 11th, before reaching Springfield, they engaged in a one-day battle at Hartville. Military records do not indicate that Martin was present during the battle.

After the battle, the able-bodied returned to Houston by way of Lebanon and rejoined their comrades. The regiment then moved to West Plains where they spent nine nights before moving northeast through Ironton and Iron Mountain to Ste. Genevieve where they arrived on March 11th. From there they were transported downstream to Milliken’s Bend where General Grant was organizing an army to capture Vicksburg. So far, Martin had been marked “present” on all bimonthly company muster rolls and he continued with the regiment when it started a slow march through swamps, along dirt roads and over bayous west of the river. On April 30th, they crossed to Bruinsburg on the east bank and, with the 21st Iowa as the point regiment for the entire 30,000 man army, started a slow march inland. Continuing to maintain his health while many others had been discharged due to medical disabilities, Martin participated in the next day’s Battle of Port Gibson.

On May 16 the largest battle of the campaign, the Battle of Champion Hill, was fought with heavy casualties on both sides, but the 21st Iowa had been held in reserve by General McClernand and did not participate. “Those who stood there that day,” said William Crooke, “will surely never forget the bands of humiliation and shame which bound them to the spot, while listening to the awful crashes of musketry and thunders of cannon close by." Having not been engaged on the 16th, they were moved to the front on the 17th and continued to advance toward Vicksburg. West of the rail depot at Edwards they encountered entrenched Confederates who were hoping to keep the railroad bridge over the Big Black River open. Officers conferred and then ordered their men forward. The 21st and 23rd Iowa led the charge, a successful assault that only took three minutes but came at a heavy price. Seven members of the regiment were killed, another eighteen had wounds that would soon prove fatal and at least forty suffered wounds that, although not fatal, were often serious. Martin Baal was among them.

Martin was wounded in the right foot and that evening the foot was amputated above the joint.

As soon as safe access to the river was available, Martin and eight of his comrades were taken on board the hospital steamer City of Memphis and transported upstream where they were admitted to the Adams U.S.A. General Hospital in Memphis. Martin was later transported to the general hospital at St. Louis’ Jefferson Barracks and that’s where he was when he was discharged from the military on September 26, 1863.

Three months later he applied for an invalid pension. With a supportive affidavit from his former captain, Jacob Swivel, Martin’s application was approved and on March 5, 1864, a certificate was issued entitling him to $8.00 per month, payable quarterly. In September he was provided with an “artificial limb” made by Charles Stafford but, still unable to effectively return to farming, he worked as a cigar maker. In 1866, with the support of John Buckholz (another comrade from the 21st Infantry), Martin received a pension increase to $15.00 monthly payable through the agency in Marion.

On October 3, 1873, thirty-year-old Martin and eighteen-year-old Mary Hoerner were married by Rev. Herman Ficke in Dubuque where they made their home at 1335 Iowa Street. They were living at 379 Windsor Avenue in 1885, 381 Windsor Avenue in 1887 and 904 Davis Street in 1920. In answer to a 1915 government questionnaire Martin said all of their children “living or dead” were Alvin Frederick Baal born July 27, 1874, John Andrew Baal born February 16, 1878, and David J. Baal born March 31, 1892.

Martin’s pension had been increased to $40 by 1926 when he applied for another increase. That May, after Dr. Matthew Moes signed an affidavit saying eighty-two-year-old Martin had “developed many of the infirmities that go with age” and constantly “requires the care and attention of another person,” the pension was increased to $72. An application for another increase was pending when Martin died on April 12, 1930, sixty-nine years after Confederate guns had fired on Fort Sumter.

Indicating that Martin had left no personal or real property and only $60.00 cash, Mary applied for and received her husband’s accrued but unpaid pension and her own widow’s pension that was soon granted at an initial rate of $30 monthly. She was still living at her home on Davis Street when she died on May 13, 1938.

Martin’s parents are buried in the Sherrill United Church of Christ Cemetery while Martin and Mary are in Linwood Cemetery as are two of their sons (John and David) and both of Mary’s parents, Andrew and Maria Hoerner.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


was born in Des Moines County, Iowa, October 2, 1844.  His education was begun in the public schools and continued in the Wesleyan University at Mount Pleasant.  Early in 1863 he enlisted in the Eighth Iowa Cavalry, serving with his regiment in the Army of the Cumberland until the close of the war.  He took part in the Atlanta campaign, the battles of Franklin and Nashville and the Wilson expedition through Alabama and Georgia.  Upon his return to Mount Pleasant, Mr. Babb reentered the University, graduating in 1866.  He studied law, was admitted to the bar and entered upon practice in 1868.  He was a member of the law firm of Woolson & Babb, which for eighteen years was regarded as one of the ablest in that section of the State.  Although originally a Republican, Mr. Babb differed with his party on reconstruction policy and united with the Democrats after the war.  In 1883 he was elected to the House of the Twentieth General Assembly in a strong Republican county, serving as a member of the committees on judiciary and railroads.  In 1890 he was chosen judge of the Second Judicial District, resuming practice upon leaving the bench in 1895.  When the free silver issue became prominent Judge Babb was largely instrumental in securing the adoption of a sound money platform at the Democratic State Convention of 1895, which nominated him for Governor.  In 1896 he received the Democratic  vote in the General Assembly for United States Senator.  He adhered to the sound money wing of the party in the campaign of 1896.  Judge Babb has taken a deep interest in education, serving for more than twenty years as a trustee of the Iowa Wesleyan University, and several years as regent of the State University.  The former institution has conferred upon him the degree of LL. D.

Jeremiah R. Bailey, a farmer residing on section 32, Yellow Spring Township, Des Moines County, Iowa, was born in Center County, Pa., June 5, 1835, and is a son of Ephraim and Mary H. (Rankin) Bailey, both of whom were also natives of Center County. Our subject was reared upon a farm, educated at the common schools, and emigrated to Iowa with his parents in 1855, they locating on section 32, Yellow Spring Township, Des Moines County, and adjoining where our subject now lives. Ephraim and Mary H. Bailey are the parents of six children, all of whom are now living. Jeremiah R. is the eldest; Sarah, the next, is the wife of Martin L. Heizer, of Mediapolis; Mary J. is the wife of James McMullen, of Burlington, Iowa; John N., who was a member of Company K, 2d Iowa Calvary, of which he was Sergeant, is now a resident of California; Rachel E. is the wife of David R. Bruce, living near Grafton, Neb.; and Ephraim E. D. lives with his father in Kossuth, Des Moines Co., Iowa. Jeremiah lived with his father until Nov. 12, 1861, when, responding to his country's call for volunteers, he enlisted in Company K, 2d Iowa Calvary, serving for three years, and participating in the battles of Corinth, Iuka, Holly Springs, Tupelo, and numerous other skirmishes, in one of which he was slightly wounded in the arm. Returning home in November, 1864, Mr. Bailey worked as a farm-hand for a year, and then rented land in various localities until 1870. On the 20th of November, 1866, he wedded Sarah Hinson, a native of Ross County, Ohio, and a daughter of Joab and Eve (Philips) Hinson, whose birthplace was also in the Buckeye State. Her parents were among the earliest pioneers of Des Moines County, having settled in Benton Township in 1839. The mother died Jan. 5, 1883, aged seventy-nine years, but the father is still living at Kingston, Iowa.

In 1871 Mr. Bailey made his first purchase of land, which consisted of a farm of forty acres on section 32 of Yellow Spring Township. Upon this land the family yet resides, though he now owns eighty acres. Mr. Bailey and his wife are members of the United Presbyterian Church, and he also belongs to Sheppard Post, No. 159, G. A. R.

Ephraim Bailey, the father of our subject, now lives a retired life in the village of Kossuth. His wife died in 1856, and he was again married, Abbie R. Rankin, a cousin by his former marriage, becoming his wife.

Rev. William French Baird was born on the 22d day of September, 1818. His ancestors were of Scotch extraction, from the city of Glasgow, Scotland. Some of the family sojourned in the northern part of Ireland, near Londonderry, and thence they came to the American Colonies and settled near Lancaster, Pa. His grandfather, Robert Baird, was barely twenty years of age when he entered the patriotic army of the Revolution. Mr. Baird's father, Alexander Baird, the eldest son of Robert Baird, was married to Nancy French, the daughter of Enoch and Mary French. The maternal side of the family was also of Scotch descent, and came to America prior to the Revolution, and settled near Germantown, Pa. Both grandparents of Mr. Baird settled in Fayette County, Pa., and were Ruling Elders in Dunlap's Creek congregation, of the Presbyterian Church. His grandfather Baird was married to Elizabeth Reeves, whose parents were of English and Welsh descent, and were natives of Long Island. His grandfather French was married to Mary McIlroy, of Scotch and Irish descent.

Mr. Baird's father was an officer under Gen. William Henry Harrison, for whom he ever cherished the most affectionate regard and admiration. The early influences by which Mr. Baird was surrounded were most favorable to early development of Christian life and character. His parents were members of Dunlap's Creek congregation, of the Presbyterian Church, which was organized about 1775 or 1776. During the long years of faithful ministrations of such men as Rev. Myers, Powers, McMillan, Dunlap, Jennings, Johnson and Samuel Wilson, D. D., now of Fairfield, Iowa, they could not fail in furnishing the most desirable society for childhood and youth. The observance of the Sabbath, prayer-meetings, Sabbath-schools, catechizations, temperance and education, were the results of such faithful labor.

Mr. Baird professed religion when twelve years of age, and united with Hopewell congregation of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Mr. Baird had six brothers and six sisters; of his brothers three were ministers and three were Ruling Elders in the church. Mr. Baird's father not only gave his children a good education, but desired his sons to learn some trade, so as to be the better prepared for any misfortune that might befall them in the future. Two sons were millwrights, one a coachmaker, one a stonemason, one an artist and one a dentist. Of the six sons four received a collegiate education and one son died in his senior year at college.

Mr. Baird left home early in life and learned to build a nine-passenger coach, a barouche, phaeton and buggy. He then completed a collegiate course in Madison College, at Uniontown, Pa., and received his theological education under Rev. Milton Bird, D. D., and Rev. Azil Freeman, D. D., and was licensed to preach on the 8th of April, 1848. Mr. Baird came to Iowa, arriving in Burlington on the 16th day of December, 1848, and was appointed missionary the spring following, to operate in Iowa, with his home at Burlington.

Mr. Baird was ordained by the Union Presbytery at Hopewell, Pa., on the 3d of September, 1849, and on the 5th day was united in marriage to Miss Rebecca B. Harah, of Uniontown, Pa. It was a happy marriage. The religious influence surrounding Mrs. Baird's early life was of the most precious character. She was educated in Fayette Seminary, at Uniontown, Pa., and was a member of the Presbyterian Church. The fruit of this union was two sons--William H. and Henry M. Baird, both graduates of the dental department of the Iowa State University, and now located in the city of their birth.

Mr. Baird returned to Iowa, arriving at Burlington in the fall of 1849. At this time there was but one Cumberland Presbyterian Church house in Iowa, and now there are between thirty and forty, seven of which were built under the labors of Mr. Baird. Much of the vast field in Iowa, and some thirty counties in Illinois, were traversed on horseback. Mr. Baird made three extended tours, prior to the war, in the Southern States, under the direction of the Board of Missions of his church.

When the late war came on Mr. Baird remained a Union man, and presented a battle flag to the Burlington Zouaves, which severed his relation with the Board of Missions, which was located in the South. Mr. Baird was one of the three agents jointly appointed by the American Bible Society, and the United States Christian Commission, to superintend the Scripture work in the army and navy--styled Army Agents at New York and Field Agents at Philadelphia. Mr. Baird was assigned to the "armies of the Southwest, under Gen. Grant and Sherman," with headquarters at Nashville, Tenn., after the capture of the city. At the close of the war Rev. Dr. Hall, of the Gulf, and Rev. Mr. Gilbert, of the Potomac, were released, and the entire work was entrusted to Mr. Baird, to provide for the remnant of the army and navy, to re-open the Bible work in the Southern States, to select State agents and to bring in the freedmen. This required two years of hard labor and much travel. The last labor was performed in the trans-Mississippi Department. Mr. Baird was in New Orleans during the riot of July, 1865; a terrible day it was. He crossed over to Galveston, Tex., and thence north to Red River, visited the Chickasaw and Choctaw Indians, and provided for them the Scriptures, returning south to Austin, San Antonio, Corpus Christi and Brownsville. Here Mr. Baird found Rev. James Hickey, agent for Mexico, on his deathbed, received his dying requests, preached his funeral discourse, and laid him to rest. Mr. Baird took the aged widow, Thomas Sepulvada, Mr. Hickey's guide, the American Bible Society's ambulance, and drove to Monterey, reorganized the Bible work and returned to New Orleans, and thence to Burlington, after an absence of eight months, having traveled 8,000 miles and spoken 800 times. After recovering from a severe sickness, Mr. Baird went to New York in May, 1866, and closed his agency. He received $400 besides his salary as a token of appreciation for faithful services rendered amid danger and death. For several years Mr. Baird's health was so impaired as to demand rest, but at present he is quite well, and preaches every Sabbath, and had in charge a congregation at Mr. Hamill, Lee County, and two congregations in Cedar County. Every year of Mr. Baird's ministerial life has received tokens of divine favor in revivals of religion.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


during his many years of residence at Wapello has come in contact with many interests and activities, has been a school teacher, a practicing lawyer, merchant, public official and is at the high tide of his success today. Mr. Baker is a great-great-grandson of Robert Williams, one of the earliest residents of Louisa County. This family enjoys the distinction of being perhaps the only one in the state with members of the seventh generation living in Louisa County, where the ancestor Robert Williams, is buried. Horace W. Baker was born at Wapello, February 2, 1873. His father, William L. Baker, was born in Greenwich, New York, and was a child when his parents came out to Iowa in 1850 and settled at Wapello. He grew up there, attended local schools and finished his education in the University of Iowa. He was one of the capable early-day educators of Iowa, a profession he followed for a number of years. He died in 1925 and his wife, Matie I. Jones, a native of Wapello, died in 1878. Their two children were Horace W. and Mrs. Abbie A. Yakle, the latter now deceased.
Horace W. Baker was educated at Wapello, and graduated from high school at Morning Sun in 1893, having taught two terms of school before finishing high school. For four years he was superintendent of schools at Winfield, Iowa, remaining there until 1898, when he entered the University of Iowa for the law course. The LL. B. degree was given him in 1900, and on returning to Wapello he practiced law in association with Arthur Springer until 1905. Mr. Baker was elected and served five terms, ten years, as county auditor of Louisa County and in 1918 was called upon to take up further work in connection with this office, acting as county examiner for the state auditor's department. This was his official relationship until 1925, when he resigned to engaged in the business of collector of delinquent taxes and other accounts due the counties. Mr. Baker has some valuable farming interests, real estate investments,and is one of the owners of the Commercial Hotel at Wapello. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Kaaba Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Davenport, thirty-second degree, is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen of America and a Republican in politics.
He married Miss Katharine H. Pierce of Winfield, Iowa, March 16, 1897. They have four children, Kenneth B.; Vern M.; William H. and E. Pierce. Three of their four children, Kenneth B., William Horace and E. Pierce, are members of the firm H. W. Baker Company, and are engaged in collecting accounts, having had contracts in nearly one-third of the counties of Iowa. Vern M. is connected with the American Telephone & Telegraph Company, now located in New Mexico.
Mrs. Katharine Pierce Baker is a daughter of Lyman Beecher and Lea Ann (Bandy) Pierce, who were early settlers of Des Moines County, Iowa. Mrs. Pierce came from Indiana with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. John Bandy, in 1838. Mrs. Baker represents a long line of educators, both her father and mother having been teachers in Des Moines and Louisa counties and both were students in the Yellow Springs Academy when the Civil war broke out. Lyman B. Pierce served all through the war as a member of the Second Iowa Cavalry and afterwards he wrote and published a history of his regiment. Following the war he took his family out to Kansas and for five years was superintendent of schools at Manhattan. Later he homesteaded a claim in Dickinson County, near Solomon City, Kansas. In 1876 the Pierce family returned to Iowa again located at Kossuth in Des Moines County. In 1882 they moved to Winfield, Iowa, where L. B. Pierce was active in civic and church matters. Mrs. Pierce died June 14, 1918, and Mr. Pierce on February 20, 1922. Besides Mrs. Baker their children were:
C. H. Pierce, an engineer with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railway, living at Winfield; Grace, wife of William Price, a merchant at Winfield; J. Ed., owner and manager of one of the largest tile manufacturing plants in Iowa; and Mrs. Mary Pierce Van Zile, dean of women of the State Agricultural College at Kansas at Manhattan, a position she has held for the past twenty years.

~ Source: History of Iowa, Vol IV, 1903


is a name which will for all time be intimately associated with Iowa' war history.  He was born at Hillsborough, New Hampshire, September 29, 1818.  A graduate of Harvard, he entered the law office of Franklin Pierce in 1839 and began practice in 1842.  He was for three years editor of the New Hampshire Patriot and in 1846 became Clerk of the Supreme Court.  In 1851 he was elected to the Legislature and chosen Speaker of the house of Representatives, serving two terms.  In 1852 he was one of the presidential electors and voted for his old preceptor for President.  In 1854 he was elected Governor of New Hampshire and was the last Democrat who held that office before the political revolution which left his party in the minority.  In 1856 Governor Baker became a resident of Iowa, locating at Clinton.  In 1859 he was elected to the Iowa Legislature and when the War of the Rebellion began he led the war wing of his party to give cordial support to Governor Kirkwood's administration.  The Governor appointed him Adjutant-General of the State and all through the Rebellion his superb executive ability was given to the work of organizing the fifty-seven regiments of volunteers which Iowa furnished to the President.  He organized a system that has preserved a permanent record of the service of every Iowa soldier who entered the army.  As the war progressed the duties of Inspector-General, Quartermaster, Paymaster and Commissary-General were imposed upon him, and the duties discharged with promptness unsurpassed.  He was untiring in caring for the comfort of Iowa soldiers, and as the regiments were discharged he gathered at the State Arsenal all of the battle flags which were brought home for careful preservation.  He planned and superintended the great reunion of Iowa soldiers in 1870, where every one of the 20,000 veterans was eager to take him by the hand.  He held the office of Adjutant-General to the day of his death, which occurred on the 13th of September, 1876.  Governor Kirkwood issued a proclamation announcing his death and enumerating his great services to the State.  The national flag was displayed from the public buildings at half-mast and minute guns were fired the day of his funeral, which was one of the most imposing ever seen in the State.  A monument was erected to his memory over his grave in Woodland Cemetery, Des Moines, by voluntary contributions of Iowa soldiers.


was a native of England but came to America when quite young.  He was a mechanic and located at Marshalltown, Iowa.  Before the Rebellion he had some military experience as a member of an independent company.  In June, 1861, he helped raise a company which was attached to the Fifth Iowa Infantry, as Company D, of which Banbury was elected first lieutenant.  He won rapid promotion, becoming captain in February, 1862, major in July following and colonel in April, 1863.  After the fall of Vicksburg, he was for a time in command of a brigade.  He was mustered out of the service in August, 1864, and removed to California in 1870, where he died on the 11th of December, 1900.  


has been a resident of Yellow Spring Township for almost half a century. Here he was born March 25, 1840, and is a son of John and Mary (Vannice) Bandy. John Bandy came to Des Moines County in 1838, settling upon the farm where our subject now lives. He was a wheelwright by trade, but during his residence in Iowa, was engaged in tilling the soil. Twelve children were born to them, ten in Indiana, and two in this county, of whom nine are now living, two being residents of the county, and four of the sons were soldiers in the late War. William, now a farmer in Scott County, Minn., was a soldier in the 4th Minnesota Infantry; Isaac died in this county in 1884; Rachel became the wife of S. A. Hall, a resident of Santa Cruz, Cal.; Thomas resides in Brookings County, Dak.; John, who lives in Fairfield, Iowa, and is engaged in dairying, was a soldier in the 2d Iowa Cavalry; Samuel is engaged in farming on section 19, Yellow Spring Township; Peter is a merchant of Holt County, Mo.; Henry died at the age of twenty years and eleven months, in September, 1853; Jacob F., a soldier in the 2d Iowa Cavalry, served from 1861 to 1865, as Captain of Company K, and died Oct. 11, 1878, near Memphis, Tenn.; Lee A. is the wife of L. B. Pierce, of Winfield, Iowa; our subject is next in order of birth; and Catherine is the wife of Isaiah Messenger, who is engaged in the manufacture of tile at Fairfield, Iowa. The father of these children, who was born in 1794, died at an advanced age, May 5, 1873. His wife, who was born in 1799, died June 2, 1881. They were both active members in the Presbyterian Church, of which Mr. Bandy was an Elder for thirty-five years, and his aid was largely given to the advancement of the cause. In his earlier life he cast his ballot with the Whig party, but later became a Republican. He also served in the War of 1812, and was a native of Virginia, and his wife of Mercer County, Ky.
There are few men in the county who can boast of having been born and reared upon a farm where they now reside, but this is true of Mr. Bandy. His early education was received in the district schools, supplemented by a course in the Yellow Spring College. At the age of twenty-one, in 1861, he enlisted under the stars and stripes, becoming a member of the 2d Iowa Cavalry, and serving three years. He participated in the siege of Corinth, the battles of Iuka, Black Land, Farmington, Boonville, Rienzi, Paton's Mills, battle of Corinth, Holly Springs, Yockeney River, Water Valley, Collierville, Moscow and Prairie Station, Miss., and in all Mr. Bandy was always found at his post of duty, serving his country faithfully and well. Being mustered out of service in October, 1864, Mr. Bandy returned home and worked for his father for five or six years. On the 22d of May, 1873, he was united in marriage with Elizabeth Frame, who was born in Yellow Spring Township, and is a daughter of Milton J. and Maria (Allen) Frame. Their union has been blessed with two children--John E. and Herbert F. Mr. and Mrs. Bandy are both members of the Presbyterian Church, of which he is a Deacon. He has served on the Township Board for several terms, and is a member of the I. O. O. F., and also of the G. A. R. He has a fine farm of 100 acres, all highly cultivated, and is one of the progressive farmers of Yellow Spring Township.
M. J. Frame, the father of Mrs. Bandy, came to this county in 1851, and here improved a fine farm. He is a native of Indiana, and was a blacksmith by trade, which occupation he carried on at Kossuth, until the breaking out of the Civil War, when he enlisted in the 14th Iowa Infantry, serving three years. After the war was ended, he returned to Kossuth, where he again worked at his trade until 1876, and then removed to Champaign County, Ill., where he owns and carries on a large farm. His wife was formerly Maria Allen, a native of Kentucky


The son of Josiah W. and Marjane E. Barber, William Clayton Barber was born on August 31, 1843, in Clayton County. The 1882 county history says he was born in Farmersburg Township but William, in a sworn affidavit and elsewhere, said he was born in Garnavillo. A brother, Quincy, was born in 1847 and another brother, Henry, in 1848.

During the Civil War, on August 20, 1862, at Millville, he was enrolled by McGregor postmaster Willard Benton as a private in the military. They were mustered in as Company G on August 22nd at Dubuque and, with nine other companies, were mustered in on September 9th as the 21st regiment of Iowa’s volunteer infantry. William was described as being 5' 9¼” tall with blue eyes, brown hair and a light complexion. Like most others in the regiment, he had been working as a farmer prior to enlistment.

The regiment, crowded on board the Henry Clay and two barges tied alongside, left for war on September 16th and saw early service in Missouri. After one night in St. Louis, they traveled by rail to Rolla and then walked to Salem, Houston and Hartville but, when a wagon train carrying supplies was attacked on November 24, 1862, they returned to the safer confines of Houston. They were still there when word was received that a Confederate force was advancing on Springfield. A relief force was quickly assembled but, on the way to Springfield, it met the enemy in a one-day battle on January 11, 1863, at Hartville. After returning to Houston, they moved south to West Plains and then northeast to Thomasville, Ironton and Iron Mountain. On March 11, 1863, they walked sixteen miles and camped on a ridge north of Ste. Genevieve on the Mississippi River. Except for a short case of the measles when they were in Rolla, William maintained his health well and continued with the regiment when they went downstream to Milliken’s Bend where General Grant, intent on capturing the Confederate stronghold at Vicksburg, was organizing a large three-corps army.

Serving under General McClernand, they walked and waded along roads, through swamps and across bayous west of the river until, on April 30, 1863, they crossed to Bruinsburg, Mississippi. That night, they were the point regiment as the army started inland and, about midnight, they drew first fire near the Shaifer residence. After a brief exchange of gunfire in total darkness, men on both sides rested for several hours and tried to sleep. The next day, May 1st, they participated in the one-day battle of Port Gibson in which three of William’s comrades suffered fatal wounds.

Grant moved farther inland after the battle, drove the enemy to and through Jackson and then, having protected the rear of his army, changed direction and headed for Vicksburg. On May 16th, most of his army was engaged in battle at Champion’s Hill. Both sides suffered heavily, but the 21st Iowa, restrained by General McClernand, was held out of the battle. Late in the day, Companies A and B were permitted to do some skirmishing, protect prisoners and help gather arms, but many felt humiliated that they had been ordered to stand idle while others died.

The next day they were rotated to the front and, with the 23rd Iowa, led an assault on a Confederate line at the Big Black River. The successful assault lasted only three minutes, but the regiment had seven killed in action, eighteen more with fatal wounds, and at least forty with non-fatal wounds. While other regiments moved to Vicksburg and began to encircle the rear of the city, the 21st and 23rd Iowa were allowed to rest and care for their casualties.

A May 19th assault at Vicksburg was unsuccessful and General Grant ordered another for the 22nd. By then the regiment was present. An initial artillery barrage was followed by an assault along a three and one-half mile front. Men in Company B were held back as sharpshooters, but all other companies participated in an attack on the railroad redoubt in front of them. This, like the assault three days earlier, was unsuccessful and regimental casualties were worse than those incurred at the Big Black: twenty-three killed, twelve fatally wounded and at least forty-eight with non-fatal wounds. At the end of the day, many were left on the field - some dead, some dying, some with serious wounds - and there they remained until the 25th when Confederate General Pemberton proposed to Grant "in the name of humanity ... a cessation of hostilities for two hours and a half, that you may be enabled to remove your dead and dying men."

Among the living, carried from the field by four members of the company after more than two days without food or water, was William Barber. Nelson Reynolds, his Millville neighbor, accompanied William as he was taken to the field hospital and watched as William was laid on a table and Dr. Orr administered chloroform while a second doctor worked on the wound. Medicine was injected "that caused a large quantity of maggots to come from the wound," but the surgeon was unable to locate the musket ball and it would have to stay where it was, somewhere in William's hip. On June 4th, Jim Bethard, a friend from Grand Meadow Township, wrote to his wife, Caroline Bethard:

"Wm Barber was severely wounded and has gone up the river to what point I do not know."

William had been taken to the Gayoso U. S. Army General Hospital in Memphis and there he would remain for many months. On February 12, 1864, he was returned to duty but, by then, his regiment was in Texas and it was March 16th before he reached his comrades. On the 24th, Jim Bethard wrote:
"Wm Barber is quite sick at present with a fever caused by the inflamation of his old wound received at vicksburg last spring the ball is working out toward the surface and the doctor thinks he can cut out after a while."
Unfortunately, the embedded musket ball continued to cause problems, an abscess developed over the hip joint, and the surgeon had to lance it along the lower edge. On May 1st, Jim Bethard wrote again:
"Wm Barber has had quite a serious time with his old wound but was getting better yesterday I have not seen him this morning the wound inflamed and swelled up causing a fever and he has been quite sick for about a week the doctor probed his thigh on the back part and it has discharged a great deal of matter and he is getting along finely now but it is my opinion that he will never be of any account in the army.
On May 8th he wrote:
"Wm Barber has had quite a serious time with his old wound but he is getting along verry well now he has got so that he walks around without any cain.”
Despite Jim’s comments, Dr. Orr finally decided that William was “incapable of performing the duties of a soldier because of lameness.” William was discharged at Algiers, Louisiana, and, on July 24th, Jim wrote:

"Wm Barber has got his discharge and started home last friday he was in good health when he started As it is I am glad to see him out of the service but if he was all right I should like to have him with us Bill is a good boy and I think I may safely say he has not an enemy in the 21st Iowa he intended to stop in Illinois and take his Grandmother home with him I hope he will get through all right."

That fall, gravity caused the ball to slowly work its way closer to the surface. On October 15, 1864, it was removed by a doctor and William was presented with a souvenir, “flattened considerably by reason of the same striking the hip bone."

On April 4, 1867, he married Izora Hutchins, still a month short of her seventeenth birthday, at her father’s home in Monona Township. A daughter, Nellie, was born April 12, 1868, in the community then known as Gem in Marion Township. Nellie was followed by Dow DeLoss Barber on December 25, 1869, Peter Thaddeus Barber on June 23, 1872, and William Ray “Willie” Barber on April 11, 1882.

Meanwhile, on November 26, 1870, William gave his Post Office address as Gem when he applied for an invalid pension. With former comrades Maple Moody and Tim Hopkins as witnesses and Willard Benton signing a supportive affidavit, William said he had tried to resume farming, but was disabled by the old gunshot wound. Surprisingly, an examining surgeon said the disability was originally “a simple flesh gun shot wound” and William’s leg was “perfect.”

A pension was denied, but William persisted. Another surgeon felt William was three-fourths disabled from earning a living by manual labor, but the Adjutant General’s office said returns “do not show him wounded as alleged.” Finally, in 1875, he was awarded a $3.00 monthly pension. Subsequent applications gave his address as Luana, Iowa, in 1876, 1880 and 1883. In 1884 he joined McGregor’s Hervey Dix Post of the GAR, but in 1886 said he was living in Gem. In 1887 he moved to Nebraska where he lived initially in Dawes County and then for many years in Sheridan County.

From there, William and Izora moved to the far west and in 1913 were living in Pasadena, California. William was receiving a $21.50 monthly pension and living at 531 Olive Avenue, Long Beach, when he died on December 9, 1916. William was buried in the nearby Sunnyside Cemetery, 1905 East Willow Street, Long Beach.

Two weeks later, still living in Long Beach, Izora applied for a widow’s pension with her son, Dow D. Barber as a witness. To prove that she had been married to William, she secured an affidavit from his brother, Quincy Barber and Quincy’s wife, Luretta, both of whom had attended the marriage more than fifty years earlier. A pension was granted, but Izora eventually moved back to Nebraska and lived with her son, Peter Barber, who was a dentist in Omaha. Izora died on August 8, 1835. Peter arranged for her burial in Long Beach and paid the $25.38 charge for her interment in Sunnyside Cemetery.

Dow D. Barber died in Alliance, Nebraska, in 1955 and Peter died in Council Bluffs, Iowa, in 1960. Nellie died young but her burial and that of Willie have not been located.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


one of the enterprising and influential citizens of Riley Township, residing on section 10, was born in Marion County, Ohio, January 11, 1841, a son of Benjamin and Cornelia (BOYATON) BARNES, the father born and reared in Delaware, and the mother a native of Vermont, but reared in New York State. The father died in Marion County, Ohio, June 6, 1840, aged fifty-four years. He left three children - Lydia, now living in Indianola, Iowa, married George W. LONGAKER, who enlisted in the Thirteenth Ohio Infantry, and died in the service of his country; William H., the subject of this sketch, and Benjamin O., who enlisted in Company C., Forty-eighth Iowa Infantry, and died at Rock Island, Illinois.

Our subject was reared in his native county. His father dying whne he was only eight years old, he was in early life thrown on his own resources, his youth being spent in toil. Receiving fair educational advantages, he made the most of his opportunities, and became a well-informated man.

In 1861 he came to Iowa, locating in Decatur County, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits, remaining there till May 22, 1864, when he enlisted in Company C., Forty-eighth Iowa Infantry, and was with his regiment at Rock Island and Chicago, Illinois, guarding rebel prisoners. During the last year of the war Mr. BARNES was active in recruiting his company, and on it organization he was commissioned Second Lieutenant. He was honorably discharged, october 20, 1865, when he returned to Decatur County, Iowa.

Desiring to better educate himself, he entered Simpson Centenary College, at Indianola, in 1865, attending that institution four years.

In 1868 his mother and stepfather, Harvey BONHAM, who had come West with him, moved to his farm in Riley Township, living there some nine years. After leaving college Mr. BARNES followed the teacher's profession, in which he was very successful.

Mr. BARNES bought 100 acres of his present property in 1865, although he did not locate there till the year 1868. This property is known by old settlers as the Riley farm, having been at one time the home of Robert H. RILEY, the pioneer settler of the township, and in whose honor at the suggestion of Mr. BARNES, the township, when organized, was named. Mr. BARNES has added to his original purchase, 160 acres, and has made it one of the best farms in his neighborhood, where he is still engaged in farming.

Mr. BARNES was united in marriage, November 13, 1884, to Miss Maggie A. SINCO, born in Decatur County, Iowa, November 2, 1854, a daughter of Henry and Jane SINCO, of whom her father is now deceased. Her mother now lives at Kellerton. They have one child - Virginia, born October 16, 1885.

In politics Mr. BARNES is identified with the Republican party. He has held the office of township clerk since the township was organized, with the exception of perhaps three years, and all the time has been secretary of the School Board. he has served three years as a member of the County Board of Supervisors, and has twice been elected assessor.

NOTE: William H. BARNES died at his home in Riley Township, Ringgold County, Iowa, on December 27, 1927 at the age of 86 years. Maggie A. (SINCO) BARNES was born in 1854, and died in 1936. William and Maggie were interred at Maple Row Cemetery, Kellerton, Ringgold County, Iowa.

Cornelia (BOYATON) BARNES BONHAM, William's mother died at the age of 75 years, 9 months and 28 days on September 18, 1894. Harvey BONHAM, William's stepfather was born in 1824, and died in 1911. John Luther BONHAM, Harvey's brother, was born on June 5, 1813, and died April 7, 1881. They were interred at Patrick Cemetery, Ringgold County, Iowa.

Biography & Historical Record of Ringgold County, Iowa, Pp. 366-67, 1887.
WPA Graves Survey
http://iagenweb.org/ringgold/ from Biography & Historical Record of Ringgold County, Iowa Lewis Publishing Company of Chicago, 1887, Pp. 366-67
~Transcription and note by Sharon R. Becker, March of 2009


was the first colonel of the first regiment furnished by Iowa to the War of the Rebellion.  He was born on the 3d of January, 1831, at Utica, New York.  He paid his expenses at school for six years by performing the labors of janitor.  From 1852 to 1855 he was an insurance agent in New York City and then removed to Iowa locating at Dubuque.  There he was elected Clerk of the District Court in 1858.  When Governor Kirkwood issued his proclamation on the 17th of April, 1861, calling for volunteers for a regiment to serve for three months, thousands of citizens responded.  But one thousand could be accepted and when they were organized into the First Iowa Infantry in May, John F. Bates was chosen colonel.  He commanded the regiment in the battles of Booneville and Dug Springs under General Lyon, but at the greater Battle of Wilson's Creek he was not present.  His military career closed at the end of three months when the First Iowa was mustered out.


of Bloomfield, at the age of ninety-one was one of the surviving veterans of the Civil war. He was a member of an Iowa regiment. For many years he had been one of the highly respected citizens of Davis County. He was born in Columbiana County, Ohio, January 2, 1839, son of Ezra and Julina (Keith) Battin, and grandson of John Battin, who was of old Quaker Pennsylvania ancestry. In 1856 the Battin family moved to Davis county, Iowa.
Newton Battin grew up on a farm, and in August, 1861, enlisted at Bloomfield in Company E of the Third Iowa Cavalry. He went all through the war, being commissioned a second lieutenant. He was a participant in the Wilson raid through Alabama and Georgia, and was in many campaigns and skirmishes, being twice wounded. He received his honorable discharge at Atlanta, Georgia, and returned home to Iowa, where he engaged in farming until he reached the age of seventy. Mr. Battin has always shown a disposition to work with others and assume duties and responsibilities in a public way. For three years he was a member of the county board of supervisors and has held other offices. During the World war, though nearly eighty years of age, he was made head of the Davis County war organization work. His chief hobby and recreation in recent years has been gardening. For many years he has been commander of Elisha B. Townsend Post No. 100 of the Grand Army of the Republic and has also been president of the Third Iowa Cavalry Association.
In December, 1865, he married Matilda E. Modrell, of Davis County. She died in 1870. Her daughter June died in 1869. In February, 1871, Mr. Battin married Harriet Modrell, a sister of his first wife. She passed away in 1911, at the home in Bloomfield, where he continued to reside. She was the mother of seven children: John E., a Davis County farmer, Fred E., of Pierre, South Dakota, who is married and has two daughters, Lala and Blanche; Margaret E., the wife of L. G. Senseney, of Bloomfield; Lenora, a graduate nurse, served as army nurse in France during the World war and is superintendent of a hospital at Monterey Park, California; Jason E., of Davis County, is married and has a daughter, Pauline: Newton Elmer; and Harriet Ruth, wife of E. F. Bandel of Denver, Colorado, and mother of a daughter, Bernice E.
Since the writing of the above sketch Mr. Battin died, February 19, 1931.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


One of five children born to Anton (Anthony) Baule, a veteran of the 1815 Battle of Waterloo, and his wife, Fanziska Westze (Francis Weitz), Joseph was born on May 25, 1838, in Wältingerode, Germany. On June 24th of that year he was baptized as Johann Heinrich Joseph Baule. In 1846 the family immigrated to America. Leaving from Bremen on April 1st, they arrived in New Orleans on May 31st and soon thereafter left for Iowa.

Joseph’s parents died from cholera after their arrival in Dubuque and he and his siblings were split up and lived with other families in the area. An 1850 census indicates Joseph (age 12) was then living with Elizabeth (29), Mina (17), Catherine (14) and Johanna (8) Bentzen. Next door was the family of Elizabeth’s brother, John Thedinga, who had a store in Dubuque.

Samuel Kirkwood became governor on January11, 1860, and recognized the “anger and jealousy” that threatened to divide the nation but was convinced that “those who love our Constitution and our Union, have not very great cause for alarm.” During that fall’s election campaign some said “the Union will be divided if Lincoln is elected President” but Clayton County’s Journal thought this was “Ridiculous! Is there a sensible, an unprejudiced man, in the State of Iowa who believes this?” Abraham Lincoln was elected, Southern states seceded, Confederate guns fired on Fort Sumter on April 12, 1861, war followed and tens of thousands of men died.

On July 9, 1862, Governor Kirkwood received a telegram asking him to raise five regiments in addition to those already in the field. Joseph answered the call and, on August 22nd at Center Grove, enlisted as a Private in what would be Company C of the 21st Iowa Volunteer Infantry. The company was mustered in at Camp Franklin in Dubuque on August 20th with 101 men and the regiment on September 9th with a total of 985 men. Many became sick due to crowded conditions and an outbreak of measles but, on a rainy 16th of September, the able-bodied boarded the four-year-old sidewheel steamer Henry Clay and two barges tied alongside and started downstream. They spent their first night on Rock Island before continuing the next day, being forced to debark at Montrose due to low water levels, traveling by train to Keokuk where they boarded the Hawkeye State, reaching St. Louis on the 20th and “marching” in sweltering heat and humidity to Camp Benton. After a morning inspection on the 21st, they walked to the St. Louis depot, boarded rail cars of the kind used for freight, and traveled through the night before arriving in Rolla the next morning.

After a month in Rolla practicing needed drill and being organized in a brigade, they moved to Salem, Houston, Hartville and, after a wagon train was attacked, back to Houston. They were still there on January 8, 1863, when word was received that a Confederate column was advancing on Springfield. A hastily organized relief force, with Joseph one of the volunteers from Company C, headed in that direction and on the night of the 10th camped along Wood’s Fork of the Gasconade River unaware the Confederates were camped along the same stream. The next morning bugles blew, the two sides became aware of each other and, after brief firing by pickets, they moved into Hartville where a daylong battle was fought. After returning to Houston, Joseph continued to be marked “present” on bimonthly rolls as they moved to West Plains and then northeast through Eminence, Ironton and Iron Mountain to St. Genevieve where they arrived on March 11th and made camp on a ridge overlooking the Mississippi River.

Joseph continued with the regiment when they were transported south to Milliken’s Bend where General Grant assembled a three-corps army to capture the Confederate stronghold of Vicksburg. In a corps led by General McClernand, they moved south along dirt roads and through swamps and bayous until crossing from Disharoon’s Plantation to Bruinsburg, Mississippi, on April 30th. As the point regiment for the entire army, they moved slowly inland until, about midnight, they were fired on by Confederate pickets. Both sides rested for several hours and on May 1st Joseph participated in the Battle of Port Gibson. He was present on May 16th when the regiment was held out of action during the Battle of Champion Hill but participated in a successful May 17th assault at the Big Black River before moving to the rear of Vicksburg where he participated in an assault on May 22nd and in the ensuing siege. The city surrendered on July 4th and the next day Joseph was one of the men still able for duty when they were led by General Sherman in a pursuit of Confederate General Joe Johnston to Jackson.

After returning to Vicksburg, they saw service in Louisiana, along the gulf coast of Texas and in Arkansas and Tennessee. In the spring of 1865 they participated in their final campaign of the war, a campaign to capture the city of Mobile, Alabama. The campaign was successful and they were mustered out of service on July 15th at Baton Rouge and discharged from the military on July 24th at Clinton, Iowa. Like many others, Joseph paid $6.00 so he could keep his musket and other equipment.

On July 1, 1867, in Dubuque, he married Maria “Mary” Michels, a native of Luxembourg. Their children included Anna (1868), Henry (1869), Florence (1871), Frank (1873), Andy (1876), Edward (1878), Herman (1882) and Joseph Jr. (1884).

As a “dealer in groceries and provisions, 822 Main Street,” Joseph through his own efforts “built up a good trade.” They were living at 874 White Street when, one evening in November 1878, Mary saw three Franciscan sisters carrying suitcases as they walked up the street. They “had come to Dubuque to supervise the remodeling of the abandoned old Holy Trinity Church” and, at Mary’s invitation, stayed most of the time in the Baule home until the remodeling was complete.

Like most veterans who returned home with illnesses or injuries that affected their ability to do manual labor, Joseph applied for an invalid pension. His March 12, 1883, application indicated that, while on Matagorda Island, Texas, “he was ruptured in the right side of groin while assisting in unloading a vessel, and in handling barrels of meat over-strained himself” and, as a result, had been “assigned to light duty.” His application was still pending in June when he joined the Hyde Clark Post No. 78 of the G.A.R. in Dubuque on the 19th and when he was examined by a panel of pension surgeons on the 27th. “We know him well and fully credit his statements,” they said in recommending a pension be granted.

Four years earlier he had supported a pension application by Company C comrade William McCarty and now two of Joseph’s former comrades supported his application. John Kuntz and James Brunskill said Joseph was injured “in unloading a vessel and while handling heavy barrells.” Joseph had been “down below in the hole of the ship,” said John, when “some of the barrels and boxes fell on him and injured him between his legs.” The injury was so bad that it was only “by the assistance of others that he was taken ashore.” James, who was Joseph’s tent mate at the time, said that after the accident Joseph “was not fit for dutey” when others built breastworks. Despite their testimony, the process dragged on due in part to regimental records having no reference to such an injury. Joseph explained that, instead of asking the doctor for a truss, he had “tried a leather Belt with a wooden pad attached and found that after I had that arranged it answered for the purpose.” It was only after he returned home that he had purchased a truss from Junkerman & Haas City Druggists. William Orr, the regimental surgeon, didn’t remember the injury and the family doctor, Henry Minges, was now deceased. His son, George Minges, did recall Joseph worked as a “hostler at the New Harmony Hall, across from my father’s office.” On July 9, 1885, more than two years after the application was filed, a certificate was issued entitling Joseph to $4.00 monthly.

In 1887 he was one of fourteen veterans of Company C who attended a regimental reunion in Manchester where attendees devoted one afternoon “to social intercourse and renewing the memories of ‘the time that tried men’s souls.’” This, said the Manchester Press, was the best part of the reunion for men, most “with gray locks and furrowed cheeks,” who “had stood shoulder to shoulder fighting the country’s enemies, who had together withstood the shock of battle; had endured the privations and hardships of the field and the march; and who had grown in those long hours of toil and weariness of suffering and danger, nearer and dearer to one another than brothers.”

Joseph’s pension had been raised to $12.00 by the time a new act providing for age-based pensions was adopted on May 11, 1912. Joseph applied and said he was now seventy years old. Unfortunately, that didn’t correspond with the age shown on his muster-in roll or on his prior applications. It was only after he mailed his original birth certificate and baptism record to the pension office that they recognized the birth date he was now claiming. The application was approved but not before Joseph’s death on September 6, 1912. He was buried in Mount Calvary Cemetery, Dubuque.

The following month Mary requested a widow’s pension in an application witnessed by her daughter, Florence. Mary was awarded the accrued amount due to Joseph at the time of his death and her own widow’s pension of $12.00 monthly. On her death, an obituary in The Witness newspaper on Thursday, March 29, 1923, said Mary, “an old resident of Dubuque, died Friday at the family residence, 874 White street. The funeral was held Monday to St. Mary’s church, father Smith officiating.” She, like Joseph, is buried in Mount Calvary Cemetery.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


was born in Hamilton, Butler county, Ohio, January 20, 1827; he died at Muscatine, Iowa, May 16, 1913. When thirteen years of age he was apprenticed to a tinsmith in Richmond, Indiana, and after learning that trade followed it for many years. At the outbreak of the Mexican War he enlisted in the First Ohio. Volunteers and remained in the service about sixteen months, participating in the most of the marches and campaigns, and received honorable discharge at the close of the war. In 1850 he removed to Muscatine, Iowa, and opened a store which he conducted until the beginning of the Civil War. On April 17, 1861, he enlisted in Company A, First Iowa Volunteers, was elected First Lieutenant and served through three months' campaign, participating in the battle of Wilson's Creek. He then organized a company for the Eleventh Iowa Regiment and re-enlisted as Captain of Company H for a service of three years. He participated in the battles of Shiloh, Corinth, Vicksburg, the campaign against Atlanta, and was present at the grand review In Washington in May, 1865. During this time he was promoted rapidly until he reached the rank of Colonel. He had the unusual record of never being off duty by illness, never wounded'or captured and but once absent on leave. He was mustered out of the service at Louisville, Kentucky, July 19, 1865. He returned to Muscatine and engaged successfully in the hardware, grocery and tile manufacturing business, and for eight years acted as postmaster of Muscatine.

~ Source: "Notable Deaths" Annals of Iowa. Vol. XI, No. 4. Pp. 235-36. Historical Society of Iowa. Des Moines. January, 1914.
~Transcribed by Sharon R Becker


Frank Henry Beckmann was born in Auglaize County, Ohio, on June 17, 1838, and, like many others, immigrated to Iowa where farmland was plentiful and title could be acquired by homesteading. Anna Katharina Dorothea Dahling (who normally used the name Dorothea) was born on August 31, 1840, in Mecklenberg, Germany, and immigrated to the United States in 1854. Frank and Dorothea were married in Clayton County on March 6, 1857, while the state was still suffering from “wild and giddy speculation” and the “hard times” that had settled on the county. The soil, however, provided a good living, “the surplus products of the farm could be exchanged for the few simple manufactured articles which the settler was obliged to have” and on January 28, 1861, a son, Frank, Jr., was born to Frank and Dorothea. It was only two and one-half months later that General Beauregard’s Confederate guns fired on Fort Sumter and four days later Iowa was called upon for one regiment of infantry.

By the middle of the following year, the war that few expected had escalated beyond comprehension and, on July 9th, Governor Sam Kirkwood received a telegram asking for five regiments of three-year men. If not raised by August 15th, the shortage would be made up by a draft. By then, “farmers were busy with the harvest, the war was much more serious than had been anticipated, and the first ebullition of military enthusiasm had subsided,” but the Governor was confident the state would meet its quota. “We have,” he said, “scarcely men enough to save our crops, but if need be our women can help."

On August 19, 1862, at Guttenberg, Frank Beckmann signed a Volunteer Enlistment agreeing to serve for three years unless sooner discharged. Enrolled in what would be Company D of the state’s 27th Infantry, he went into quarters at Dubuque’s Camp Franklin where the company was mustered into service on September 13th and the regiment on October 3rd. Frank was described as a 6' 1½” farmer with blue eyes, light hair and a light complexion. Charles Hennrich, one Frank’s Company D comrades, said they were furnished with a blanket for every two men, an overcoat, two pairs of underwear, two shirts, one pair of shoes, two pairs of socks, a hat, a cap and a pair of trousers. After brief service in Minnesota they moved to Cairo, Illinois, and from there, on November 20th, left for Memphis where they would serve with General Sherman in Tennessee, moving to Waterford, Jackson, Lexington, Humboldt and Moscow before returning to Memphis.

Frank had been marked “present” on all bi-monthly muster rolls since his enlistment and on September 10, 1863, participated with his regiment in the capture of Little Rock. On March 14, 1864, he was with the regiment at Fort DeRussey, Louisiana, when it fell to Union troops. From there they moved to Alexandria and, on April 7th, General Nathaniel Banks’ “troops took the advance, on the road towards Shreveport.” On the 8th, heavy cannonading was “heard in front; indicating that the troops in advance had become engaged with the enemy.” This Battle of Mansfield (Sabine Crossroads) ended with a Confederate victory.

Up to this time, the regiment “had never participated in a great battle,” but on the 9th it was “called upon to go into action against great odds.” Their brigade moved to the front as ordered but by 3:00 p.m. “the situation was becoming critical.” Reinforcements were promised but didn’t arrive and a “few minutes before 5 o'clock the enemy opened heavily.” Initially, men “held their ground” but they were soon compelled to fall back. Despite another Confederate victory, brigade commander William Shaw would write, “of Colonel Gilbert Twenty-seventh Iowa, and his regiment, I can say they did their whole duty. Although they had never been under fire before, they gave their fire with the coolness and precision of veterans, and fully sustained the reputation of Iowa soldiers.” By day’s end, fourteen commissioned officers were wounded, four enlisted men had been killed and sixty-six wounded, and another fourteen were missing (either killed or taken prisoner). Among the wounded who were left on the field was Frank Beckmann who had a musket ball enter the left side of his abdomen about one inch above the umbilicus and track eight or nine inches through his abdomen before exiting on the right side.

To the west, near Tyler, Texas, Camp Ford was the largest Confederate prison west of the Mississippi. In a wooded area, some prisoners had constructed log cabins and shebangs inside an oak timber stockade eight to ten feet high and supplied with water from Ray's Creek and nearby springs but others had no shelter. Meager rations usually included only beef and cornmeal. Some said conditions were better than elsewhere, and they may have been, but the camp’s population swelled to an estimated 4,900 when Union prisoners from Mansfield and Pleasant Hill arrived and it was described as a "sewer pit," a "hellhole" that was a "sty not fit for pigs." Among its prisoners was Frank Beckmann who had been taken to Camp Ford by his captors and remained there from the time he arrived until October 22, 1864, when he was paroled for exchange at the Red River landing. By then he was suffering not only from the abdominal wound, but also from varicose veins and ulcers on his legs.

From the landing, Frank and other exchanged prisoners were transported south to New Orleans where he reported on October 27th but was then sent north and on November 27th rejoined his regiment at Cairo, Illinois. Near Nashville on December 2, 1864, Assistant Surgeon David Hastings wrote that Frank was still suffering from his wound, was unfit for duty and “a furlough enabling him to visit his family and the consequent change of climate diet & c. will be the surest and most speedy means to restore him to health & duty.” Captain Garber then wrote to an Assistant Adjutant General and requested a furlough that on the 11th was granted for thirty days. Like many receiving disability furloughs, Frank was late returning and on February 14th reported at Davenport’s Camp McClellan as a “straggler” awaiting transportation. On March 15th he was reinstated without penalty when he rejoined the regiment then on Dauphin Island, Alabama, preparing for a campaign to capture Mobile. After crossing the entrance to Mobile Bay, they were part of an army that moved north along the east side of the bay and participated in the siege and capture of Spanish Fort and Fort Blakely. Confederates abandoned Mobile on April 12th and by June the regiment was in Vicksburg. On August 8, they were mustered out of service at Clinton, Iowa, received the $75.00 balance of their enlistment bounty and their final monthly pay, and were free to return to their families.

Frank’s furlough the previous year had not been uneventful and, on October 13, 1865, Dorothea gave birth to a daughter, Elizabeth aka Lizzie, who was followed by eight more children: Augusta on July 16, 1869; William F. on May 8, 1871; Wilhelmina aka Mina on June 22, 1863; Dorothea Elice Friedricke on April 7, 1875 according to a “family record” or April 7, 1876 according to church records; Frederick Detrick on September 7, 1877; Albert Henrich on February 4, 1881; his twin brother Charles Wilhelm, aka Carl and Charley on February 4, 1881; and Ludwig Franz aka Ludwick and Louis on April 13,1883.

The family made their home in Littleport and there, on April 2, 1866, Frank signed an application for an invalid pension with Woodward & Young of Elkader as his attorneys. As a result of his wound, he said his left hip joint was lame, his left leg was stiff and at times it “pains him severely;” “his occupation has been driving team a very little.” Still optimistic, he told Dr. A. B. Hanna he thought he would “recover his health in due time.” With Dr. Hanna’s report and an affidavit from Alexander Bliedung, an officer in Company D, a certificate for $4.00 monthly, payable quarterly, was issued on December 22, 1866. Over the next twenty years Frank’s condition steadily worsened and he frequently walked with a cane or crutches. In 1873 he said the pain “became acute in or before a storm, in 1874 (signing for the first time as “Beckman”) that he “felt he was entitled to an increase,” in 1875 that it was worse along the track of the musket ball and in 1881 that he was “disabled for nearly half of my time.” Two years later Frank said he had “tenderness on right side” and doctors found a large number of varicose veins on both legs.

By 1884 the monthly amount had been increased to $17.00 when he applied again. His illness, he said, was contracted while in the rebel prison and resulted in “rheumatism and ulcerated sores” on his legs. Military records made no mention of leg problems and this was the first application in which Frank mentioned them, but three of his former comrades signed affidavits saying they had seen the varicose veins, swollen legs and sores while in the army. Charles Schecker said, “poor Frank got seriously wounded in the abdomen, close by me, and that was the last time I saw him in the service. After the war Frank came home a cripple. The time he stayed in prison proved that it had been too much for his strong constitution.” Frank’s claim was still pending when he died on May 22, 1888, at fifty years of age. He is buried in Littleport’s Union Cemetery (then Protestant Littleport Cemetery).

On June 4th Dorothea retained Elkader attorney W. A. Preston and applied for a widow’s pension and an additional $2.00 monthly for each of her six children who were under sixteen years of age when their father died. Witnesses confirmed her marriage, that she and Frank had not been married previously and that she had not remarried, but her claim was difficult since the law at the time required that Frank’s death be service-related. She said “my dear husband died on the 22d day of May 1888,” but proving the death was related to his wound or imprisonment at Camp Ford proved to be impossible despite medical testimony. A Special Examiner deposed Dorothea, hotel keeper and farmer H. L. Gifford, sixty-six-year-old G. L. Gifford, blacksmith Ernst Enders who said he was sometimes helped by Frank, pension surgeon Dr. Hanna and Dr. B. F. Hall who had first seen Frank three weeks before his death and said Frank “conversed quite rationally and intelligently and he was anxious to know if I could do anything to save him.” Some felt the death was due to war-related lung problems, but a pension office Medical Examiner felt any lung disease had no “pathological connection” with the abdominal wound for which he had been pensioned. The wound, “while painful and inconvenient” was not, he said, the cause of death. Similarly, Frank had lived with varicose veins for many years before his death, “nor can it be admitted that he was as a result of said pensioned causes so debilitated as to be unable to resist the fatal attack.”

Fortunately, a new law enacted in 1890 did not require that the veteran’s death be service-related and on August 8, 1893, a certificate was issued providing for a widow’s pension and additional amounts for five of the children. On August 18, 1921, the Elkader Register reported that eighty-year-old “Dorothea K. Beckman died at Littleport Tuesday, August 9, 1921" after “an illness of five years caused by dropsy.” She, like Frank, was buried in Union Cemetery.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


was born in Columbiana County, Ohio, February 26, 1838.  His education was obtained in the public schools, and in 1854 he removed to Iowa, locating on a farm in Marshall County.  When the Civil War began he enlisted in a company raised by William P. Hepburn which became a part of the Second Iowa Cavalry.  Mr. Beeson served in that famous regiment three years and then reenlisted as a veteran in 1864 and was promoted to first lieutenant of Company B, serving to the close of the war.  He was elected treasurer of Marshall County, serving until 1882.  In July, 1878, he was commissioned adjutant in the Iowa National Guards and was repeatedly promoted holding the position of captain, lieutenant-colonel, colonel and Brigadier-General. In 1889 he was appointed Adjutant-General of the State, and in 1890 he was elected on the Republican ticket, State Treasurer, serving four years.  In 1897 he was appointed quartermaster of the Iowa Soldiers' Home at Marshalltown where he served until 1903, when he was appointed Treasurer of the National Soldiers' Home at Norfolk, Virginia.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


was born in Newburg, New York, in 1829.  He graduated at Princeton College in 1848, studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1851.  He came to Iowa in 1853, locating at Keokuk where he entered upon the practice of law in partnership with Ralph P. Lowe, afterwards Governor of the State.  He was elected to the House of the seventh General Assembly in 1857 on the Democratic ticket.  When the War of the Rebellion began he was commissioned major of the Fifteenth Iowa Infantry.  He was in command of the regiment at the Battle of Corinth and was soon after placed on the staff of General McPherson.  After the Battle of Atlanta he was promoted to Brigadier-General and at the close of the war was brevetted Major-General.  He was offered a commission in the regular army but preferred to return to civil life.  General Belknap had become a Republican, supporting Lincoln for President in 1864 and in 1866 was appointed Collector of Internal Revenue for the First District.  When General Grant became President, General Belknap was invited into his Cabinet at Secretary of War, where he served seven years, resigning in March, 1876.  Charges of official misconduct had been preferred against him by the House of Representatives in a time of great political bitterness, but in the trial by the Senate he was acquitted.  Judge George G. Wright, who was a member of the Senate from Iowa, pronounced his acquittal just and his opinion was heartily indorsed by the people of Iowa who never lost confidence in the gallant officer.  General Belknap died at Washington, October 13, 1890, and was buried in the National Cemetery at Arlington.  Hugh J., a son of General Belknap, became a member of Congress from Chicago.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


Jesse T. BENNETT, deceased, was a son of John and Rachel BENNETT, the latter
being the eldest sister of the late Jesse T. PECK, a bishop of the M.E. church. He was born Jan. 19, 1831, Warren Co., Penn. and was a brother of the Rev. Geo. P. BENNETT of Portland, Ore., who is the sole survivor of a large family and a superannuated minister of the Des Moines, Ia., conference. In 1840 the family moved from Pennsylvania to Cincinnati, Ohio, where the father died very suddenly in 1843. Thereafter the aged mother and two younger sons, Geo. P. and Jesse T. returned to Warren County, Pa. He was married to Helen Louisa TAGGART, August 17, 1848. Ten children were born to them, three of whom are living, viz: Mrs. Lottie WYATT of Duarte, Cal.; Mrs. Nellie DAVENPORT of Glen, Ore.; and L.P. BENNETT of Salem, Ore.

He served his country faithfully and well during the Civil war, enlisting as a private in the 29th Iowa infantry volunteers, Company G. Aug. 9, 1862 and was discharged at the close of the struggles, as first sergeant, Aug. 10, 1865.

He surrendered his heart and life to his maker in 1850 and remained a faithful soldier of Jesus Christ throughout the remainder of his life. He was a licensed exhorter and local preacher of the M.E. Church. Supplied two circuits but left the ministry because of certain physical conditions. He came to Oregon in 1878 and moved to Salem in 1883 for the purpose of educating his children and removed to his Mehama home in 1888 where he remained until Oct.
1906, whereupon he and his aged companion, who still survives him, returned to Salem that they might reside near their son who is a letter carrier in this city. Scarcely had they become established in their new home, when disease laid its hand upon him and near the midnight hour on Dec. 20, his soul took its flight. He was patient during these long weeks of intense suffering, and willing and anxious to go. Thus lived and died a good man, a useful citizen and an ardent follower of the Lowly Nazarene. A man who never feared to speak against any known wrong, nor faltered in his convictions of right and justice. The body was laid to rest in City View cemetery by comrades of the G.A.R." discharged as a first-sergeant possibly in the GAR section. 


Jesse Truesdell BENNETT, 12th and youngest son of John and Rachel (PECK) BENNETT was born in and apparently grew up in Warren County, Penn. January 19, 1831. He married on the 17th of August 1848 to Helen Louisa TAGGART. The marriage took place just across the state line in Busti, Chautauque County, New York by Rev. Elder MOZIER. Jesse was converted early in life and joined the Methodist church. He had five uncles (brothers to his mother) who were Methodist-Episcopal ministers. One was named Jesse Truesdell PECK. Jesse T. PECK was a minister in the Methodist-Episcopal church and was quite prominent both in writings and in church activity. Before he died Rev. Jesse T. PECK was a Bishop in that church. Jesse T. PECK was one of the founders of Syracuse University. Jesse Truesdell BENNETT, namesake of his uncle, later also became a minister but did not actively preach long due to poor health and civil war injuries.

Jesse T. BENNETT enlisted in the Civil War in 1862, enrolling August 9, 1862 at Mt. Ayr, Iowa. Jesse's nephew, William E. BENNETT, son of his brother Luther P. BENNETT, enrolled the same day in the same company. Their service was in Co. G, 29th Regiment Iowa Volunteers. For three years Jesse served his country, he suffered the usual distresses most of the soldiers did. For a time he was in hospitals. In 1864 he was shot through the ear and suffered a hearing loss. This was in April at the Battle of Spoonville (Akaloma), Arkansas. Then four weeks later on April 30, 1864 he was slightly wounded in the left leg at the Battle of Saline River, at Jenkins Ferry, Arkansas. He was honorably discharged at New Orleans, La. on August 10, 1865.
A description of Jesse says he was 5 ft 10 inches, dark complexion, brown hair and hazel eyes. We have a picture of Jesse in uniform. (?) Following service in the war Jesse and his family lived for a time in Iowa. It was while there that he was licensed to preach (about 1865). That fall he was on two circuits but he could not stand on his feet to preach, so he did not take regular work.
From all indications Jesse T. BENNETT was the first of the BENNETT family to settle in what is now Antelope County, Nebraska. This was about 1869.
Jesse took up land in Cedar Township on the northwest quarter of section 9. In June 1869 he was already settled on his land as at that time he is mentioned as being the nearest neighbor of Mr. HORNE. The neighbor moved part of his goods into his new home and was planning on moving the rest in the next day.
During the night it was ransacked by Indians and a group of settlers went out in hot pursuit, Jesse was one of those settlers. To protect the settlement from such incidents a group was organized called the "Elkhorn Guards" and Jesse T. BENNETT's name appears on the roll of the "Elkhorn Guards."
In 1871 Jesse T. Bennett appears on the tax list for Cedar Township, Antelope County. During that year he wrote to his brother, Andrew P. BENNETT, who lived in Ringgold County, Iowa, to come and "take up land" in Antelope County. Andrew came that fall bringing their "oldest brother, Hyrum, from Michigan" and a nephew, John H. BENNETT.

In 1872 Jesse purchased a steam saw mill and moved it onto the Elkhorn River at Oakdale, Nebraska, He operated this mill for several years.
Jesse T. BENNETT and his wife, Helen L. BENNETT are listed as among the first six members of the Cedar Creek Class of the Methodist-Episcopal Church organized by Rev. George H. WEHN Sept. 24, 1871. Among memories of that group is one of "Uncle Jesse T. BENNETT, with tears streaming down his cheeks asking for absolution from sin....." then the author of that statement goes on to say, "......and I never heard of his committing any....." According to Jesse's statement when he later applied for a civil war pension he lived in Antelope County nine years, then he moved on to Oregon.
He applied for his original invalid pension from Yamhill Co., Oregon May 28, 1880. He says then that his home was in Dayton. His occupation - farming, and that he was partially disabled from was service. By 1904 he was having much disability and so by act of congress (bill - H.R. 9756) he was granted an increase in his pension.
Jesse's wife said in a letter to her niece in 1907 that --"his (Jesse's) army disabilities was so bad he suffered for years more than anyone could tell. He was not able to work for a long time." Jesse T. BENNETT died at his home in Salem, Marion County, Oregon on Dec. 20, 1906 a month before he was 76 years old. The Grand Army had charge of the funeral. His wife survived him. She applied for and received a widow's pension from Jesse's service in the Civil War. Jesse's brother, (Rev.) George BENNETT, a preacher from Portland attended the funeral.
George became the last of his parents' children to survive.
Helen L. BENNETT, widow of Jesse T. BENNETT died at her home, 2161 Maple Ave., Salem, Oregon, June 9, 1910, three and a half years after her husband. Both Jesse and his wife are buried in City View Cemetary, Salem, Oregon.
There are ten children listed for Jesse and Helen. Five died young and five grew to maturity. Elbert B. BENNETT, born 1856 in Ohio, died Jan. 5, 1882 in Dayton, Oregon. Married to Ella Julia HOWARD. Lillie May BENNETT, born July 27, 1866, probably in or near Mt. Ayr, Iowa. Died before 1907 in Oregon. She married Frank BAKER. Lottie Dell BENNETT, born Apr. 23, 1869, probably in or near Mt. Ayr, Iowa. She married Will WYATT and was living in Monrovia, Calif. in 1910. Leveret Peck BENNETT, born June 12, 1872 Oakdale, Antelope Co., Nebraska. Married Alma ________. Living in Salem, Oregon in 1907. Helan (Helen) Elberta BENNETT, (called Nellie), born 24 Apr. 1876 Oakdale, Antelope Co., Nebraska. She married Job William DAVENPORT 27 Nov. 1891. She died 29 Mar 1962 at Newport, Lincoln Co., Oregon. In 1907 she was living in Glenn, Lincoln Co., Oregon on a ranch.
Jesse T. BENNET enlisted as a Private on August 9, 1862, age of 31, mustered into service with Company G. 29th Iowa Infantry Regiment on November 18, 1862; promoted to full 5th Sergeant February 8, 1863; promoted to full 3rd Sergeant July 1, 1864; promoted to full 2nd Sergeant July 16, 1865; promoted to full 1st Sergeant August 9, 1865; mustered out of service at New Orleans, LA August 10, 1865.
William BENNETT, nephew of Jesse T. BENNETT, enlisted from Ringgold County, Iowa as a 4th Corporal on August 9, 1862, at the age of 28 years. Mustered into service November 18, 1862 with Company G, 29th Iowa Infantry Regiment; died of disease December 18, 1864, Keokuk, Iowa.

~ Source: Service information from American Civil War Soldiers, ancestry.com
~ Submitted by Michael Smith, February of 2009


was a nephew of the great Missouri statesman whose name he bore.  He was born in Williamson County, Tennessee, on the 5th of September, 1816.  His education was acquired at Huntington Academy and he graduated from Marion College, Missouri.  In 1839 he located at Dubuque, Iowa, where he taught school and afterwards became a merchant.  In 1846 he was elected to the Senate of the First General Assembly, two years later elected on the Democratic ticket Superintendent of Public Instruction and was reelected, serving six years.  Mr. Benton became a resident of Council Bluffs and was chosen Secretary of the State Board of Education in 1858, serving four years.  In 1862 he was appointed colonel of the Twenty-ninth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, served during the war and in 1865 was brevetted Brigadier-General. In 1865 he was the Democratic and anti-negro suffrage candidate for Governor but was defeated.  In 1866 he became a supporter of President Johnson after the latter left the Republican party and in August was appointed by the President Assessor of Internal Revenue in place of the Republican incumbent removed. He died in St. Louis on the 10th of April, 1879.


Willard A. Benton was born in Afton, New York, on December 3, 1829, learned the tanner and currier's trade, worked in California gold fields, traveled in Australia and Ecuador, was shipwrecked off the California coast on October 1, 1854, spent a year in San Francisco, returned to New York, moved to Iowa in 1856, and returned again to New York where, on August 26, 1857, he was married to Anna Marian (aka Maria) Buck.

Moving to McGregor, he ran a market garden for two years before being appointed Postmaster in 1860. The federal census ofthat year included William, his wife, and their two-year old daughter, Nellie, who would die at age three. On April 12, 1861, Confederate artillery fired on Fort Sumter and, less than two months later, on June 2d, a son, Elmer, was born to Willard and his wife.

On August 11, 1862 thirty-two year old Willard Benton was appointed as a Captain and charged with raising a Company in the northeastern counties. Physically, he was described as being 5' 9½' tall with grey eyes, black hair and a dark complexion, and he worked quickly to secure enlistments. He enrolled thirteen men on the 12th and three on the 13th, but time was short if the draft were to be avoided.

On Thursday and Friday, August 14th and 15th, McGregor was abuzz with excitement as enlistments soared. Joining on the 14th were farmers John Ano, William Wallace Farrand, John Kain (aka Kane), Christopher Kellogg, Andrew "Judge" Lawrence, Henry Lewis, Edward Murray, Edward Patterson, Robert Pettis, Nelson Reynolds, Oliver Shull (who also worked as a painter), James Withrow, and Sam Withrow. With them were Dan Donahue who had been working as a steward and porter, laborer Tyler Featherly, and musician Tim Hopkins. On the 15th, the ranks were further increased when farmers John Birch, Pat Burns (who also worked as a shoemaker), John Carpenter, Smith Chernois, John Conant, Thomas Daniels, William Dunn. Orlen Gates, William Johns, Peter Mcintyre, Linus “Line” McKinnie, Maple Moody, George Moore, Knute Nelson, George Penhollow and Charles Wilson enlisted. Joining them were John Conant, a sailor and musician, and barber William Reed.

On August 22, 1862, at Dubuque, they were mustered in as Company G and, on September 9th, the regiment was mustered into service. They started south on September 16, 1862 going first to St. Louis by steamer and from there to Rolla by rail. At Salem on October 20th, Willard received his commission and took the oath of office, swearing to ''faithfully discharge the duties of Captain."

On January 11, 1863 he participated in a daylong battle at Hartville, Missouri, and he was with the regiment as it moved through the Ozarks of Missouri and worked its way to the Mississippi River at Ste. Genevieve.

On April 7, 1863, when the regiment was on its way from from Memphis to Milliken’s Bend, a correspondent of the North Iowa Times wrote that he had visited with officers of the regiment and met a “worthy citizen of McGregor, Capt. Benton, who quietly pursues the even tenor of his way, and will doubtless make his mark if a secesh should cross his path.”

From there they moved south on the west side of the river as part of General Grant's massive army intent on capturing the Confederate stronghold of Vicksburg. They crossed to the east bank on April 30th and, on May 1st, Willard led his company during the Battle of Port Gibson. That night he "went into camp late without blankets or blouse (his blankets having been taken to be used in the hospital at Magnolia Church & blouse lost during the battle)." By morning he had "a severe cold and it settled on his bowels." As his condition worsened, the Surgeon certified that Willard was "suffering from nervous derangement attended with general debility which unfits him for active service."

Willard tendered his resignation ''for the good of the service as well as my own life and health" and, on May 26th, it was accepted by Colonel Merrill who was, himself incapacitated by a severe wound received nine days earlier while leading the regiment in an assault at the Big Black River.

Returning to McGregor, Willard took a contract furnishing ties for the narrow gauge railroad. On November 4, 1863, the North Iowa Times reported that Willard “has committed a raid on the orchards of Michigan and in company with Met Lampson he has captured 1200 Barrels of Applies of the choicest fruit.- Most of them are now in Lampson’s cellar. We are told the Captain will be authorized to receive volunteers under the new call.” With President Lincoln calling for more volunteers, the North Iowa Times reported on November 18, 1863, that Wisconsin was drafting soldiers “with great activity” and it might be necessary in Iowa “unless the people rouse to the necessities of the occasion and bend every nerve to the work of filling our quota. Capt. Willard A. Benton is now ready to enrol volunteers and subsist them.” In 1873, Willard was elected County Sheriff, a position he held for "six years, and never failed to take his man; never let one get away."

On June 17, 1886, suffering from service-related chronic diarrhea and other ailments he applied for an invalid pension. Five months later he signed an affidavit supporting the pension application of Sam Withrow who was, at the time, represented by Lime Springs’ pension attorney George Van Leuven, Jr. Van Leuven had an excellent reputation. He had references from a U.S. Senator, members of Congress, attorney Thomas Updegraff of McGregor, and many others. He was generally credited with being "the most successful pension agent in the state." Several years later, with his own application languishing, Willard Benton hired Van Leuven who soon learned that Willard's application was based merely on an affidavit from Colonel Merrill and another from McGregor resident Lucius Edgerton. Merrill, however, had relied on hearsay when he approved Willard's discharge and Edgerton had not worked with Willard until several years after the war. What was needed, said the Commissioner, was evidence from a surgeon or comrade who served with Willard and had contemporaneous personal knowledge of the origin and extent of his suffering.

That was no problem for Mr. Van Leuven. Two weeks after learning what was needed, he had a sworn affidavit from one of Willard's comrades who was then living in Colorado. On July 6, 1892 the affidavit was filed with the Pension Office, on March 3, 1892 Grover Cleveland started his second term as President, on April 13, 1893 William Lochren became the new Pension Commissioner, and on May 22, 1893 Van Leuven was arrested. His extraordinary success had not gone unnoticed to the President or Commissioner. Van Leuven was indicted and charged with pension fraud - securing perjured affidavits from comrades of applicants and bribing or attempting to bribe surgeons responsible for examining pension applicants. Claims of his clients were immediately suspect. Special examinations were ordered of witnesses. New medical examinations were required and Willard's Colorado comrade was contacted.

With Willard and his attorney both in Iowa, how had Van Leuven so quickly located a comrade almost 900 miles away with the requisite knowledge of Willard's wartime condition? The special examiner thought the affidavit was "written in the usual Van Leuven form, and appears to have been prepared in the office of Geo. M Van Leuven and copied by some one." When asked for the source of his knowledge, Willard's comrade said merely that "he believes he is aiding a deserving soldier to obtain pension."

On March 26, 1894, Willard's wife died. She was buried in McGregor's Pleasant Grove Cemetery while the investigation of Willard's claim continued. From January through October, witnesses were examined, medical exams were conducted, and new affidavits were secured. During a deposition in October, Willard testified that he "never knew until this week” that his Colorado comrade had signed an affidavit more than two years earlier. It was the creation of the now-disgraced George van Leuven who, somehow, had known of Willard's comrade without ever talking to Willard.

Nevertheless, Willard's claim was legitimate, it was approved, and, on November 22nd, a Certificate was issued entitling him to an invalid pension of $5.00 per month. On December 15th, Van Leuven was convicted, fined, and sentenced.

Willard continued living in McGregor, engaged in farming, dealt in wood, became a Mason, and joined the Ancient Order of United Workman. His pension was increased to $10.00 in 1898 and $12.00 in 1904.

On September 10, 1905 Willard Benton, "whose life was one of great adventure," died in a Prairie du Chien sanitarium at seventy-five years of age. He was buried with Anna Maria in Pleasant Grove Cemetery where an engraved stone reads:

Capt. W. A. Benton
Dec. 3, 1829 -Sep. 9, 1905
Anna Maria
wife of
W.A. Benton
June 11, 1834 -Mar. 26, 1894

Nearby is a small stone for "Elmer," their son.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


Dover Township is on the eastern boundary of Union County, Ohio. Land is generally flat with dark, productive soil good for farming, but many of its early residents were attracted to less expensive land in the west. At the request of his church, Fortner Mather moved from Union County to Clayton County in 1853 to serve as pastor of the Clayton County Episcopal Church. His brothers -Darius, Squire, Sterling and John - would soon join him. Their Ohio neighbors, Joel and Sarah Rice, also moved to Clayton County. With them were their six children -George, James, Caroline, Robert, Marshall and Tero. Following the Rice family, or at least Caroline Rice, was another Ohio neighbor, Jim Bethard.

Jim was born on October 11, 1837; Caroline on June 9, 1841. On January 27, 1859, Jim and Caroline (he called her "Cal") were married. They made their home along Roberts Creek in Grand Meadow Township not far from Cal's five brothers and her cousins, the Mather brothers.

Jim and Cal lost their first child when their daughter, May Belle, died as an infant, but, on June 9, 1862, another daughter, Nellie Charity "Ella" Bethard, was born. By then the Civil War had been underway for more than year. Major battles had been fought and many men had died. On July 9, 1862 President Lincoln issued a call for another 300,000.

Answering the call on August 11th, Jim Bethard, Jim Rice and John Mather enlisted. Three of their friends joined them -Robert Pool on the 11th, David Shuck on the 12th, and Frank Farrand on the 13th. On August 16th they were ordered into quarters at Dubuque’s Camp Franklin and, on August 18th, these six men, the self-styled "Roberts Creek Crowd," were mustered into Company B of a regiment still being recruited.

On September 9, 1862, with all ten companies of acceptable strength, they were mustered in as the 21st Regiment of Iowa’s Volunteer Infantry. Knowing they would soon be leaving for war and unable to get a furlough, Jim Bethard and Jim Rice wrote a joint letter to Cal indicating they "would be verry pleased to have you come and see us before we leave." On the 12th, Cal and baby Ella (Jim’s “little jade”) boarded a steamer in McGregor and went downstream. Cal no doubt had an enjoyable, but somewhat apprehensive, visit with her husband, brother, cousin and many friends, but before long it was time to leave. Cal took an evening steamer back to McGregor and, on the 16th, loaded down with Enfield muskets, knapsacks, haversacks, and other accessories, they crowded onto the steamer Henry Clay and two barges lashed to its side and left for war.

They went first to Missouri - St. Louis, Rolla, Salem, Houston, Hartville and back to Houston. That’s where they were on January 3, 1863 when Jim wrote to Cal, “I dreamed last night that I was at home and saw you leading our Ella around the house by the hand.” A few days later word was received that Confederate infantry was heading for Springfield. A relief force was quickly assembled. Included were twenty-five volunteers from each of the regiment's ten companies, ten company officers, and their Lieutenant Colonel. They were accompanied by a similar number from an Illinois regiment. The entire force was led by Colonel Merrill of the 21st Infantry. They spent the night of January 10, 1863 camped west of Hartville, met the Confederates early the next morning, and fought a one-day battle in the town of Hartville. They arrived back in Houston, by way of Lebanon, on the 15th and, the next day, Jim wrote to Cal. "You will no doubt hear of the battle of Hartsville before this letter and will of course be uneasy." He was, he said, "the only one of the Roberts Creek crowd that was in the scrape and I came out unscathed although the bullets whistled and the cannon balls howeled rather uncomfortably close to my head I felt almost used up yesterday evening from the effects of marching but am all right today."

After recuperating in Houston, they marched to West Plains, Thomasville, Eminence, Ironton, Iron Mountain, and St. Genevieve. From there they took transports down the Mississippi River to Milliken's Bend where General Grant was assembling a massive army to capture the Confederate stronghold at Vicksburg. Grant's army moved south through swamps and bayous west of the river, but, by the time they reached Judge Perkins' Somerset plantation, Jim was unable to continue. He had been sick for weeks, too sick to write to Cal, and was left behind with many others while their regiment moved on.

The Federals crossed the river on April 30, 1863 with the 21st Iowa taking the lead as they moved inland. On May 1, 1863 they participated in a battle at Port Gibson, Mississippi, on May 17th they and the 23rd Iowa led an assault at the Big Black River, they participated in a May 22d assault at Vicksburg, and they took their position on the siege line around the rear of the city.

Meanwhile, Jim, other convalescents and about 350 men from Colonel Owen's 60th Indiana were preparing to cross the river and rejoin their regiments, but they were unaware that a Confederate force was only a few miles away and moving in their direction. When alerted by their scouts, and knowing they had neither cavalry nor artillery and only a limited number of infantry, the Federals moved closer to the levee, strengthened defenses and kept watch. On the morning of May 31, 1863, fire was exchanged with the Federals receiving support from a gunboat. Artillery gave cover as Jim and the others rushed on board a transport and made their escape.

On June 3, 1863, Jim reached his regiment, received five letters from Cal and the next day wrote to assure her he was safe. Enclosed with one of Cal’s letters was a photograph of Ella. On the 7th, Jim told Cal he liked it “verry well but it is rather a nubby looking picture it has three hands and is spekled all over as though it had been dotted over with a pen and ink I suppose the mischief was in her so big that she would not sit still.” Jim remained with the regiment during the balance of the siege, during a subsequent expedition to and siege of Jackson, Mississippi, and during its service in Louisiana, Texas, Alabama during the Mobile Campaign, and Arkansas.

Three of Cal's brothers (Jim, John and Robert) served in the war and all survived. Four of her cousins, the Mather brothers, served, but only Sterling survived. John and Darius died from disease at Vicksburg, while Squire died at home while on a sick furlough. On June 26, 1865, her husband wrote the long awaited letter: "Cheer up we are coming home." Jim was mustered out with his regiment at Baton Rouge on July 15th. They boarded the Lady Gay on the 16th, reached Cairo on the 20th, boarded cars of the Illinois Central Railroad, and arrived in Clinton on the 21st. On July 24th they were formally discharged.

While Jim was gone, Cal had accompanied her parents when they moved to Sigourney and, still in uniform and carrying his Springfield musket (that had replaced the Enfield originally issued), Jim left Clinton to find them. Ella knew her father was coming and family lore says she sat for days on a fence in front of their house waiting to see him. It had been a long three years.

Jim and Cal had three more children, all girls: Sarah Gertrude in 1871, Bessie Belle in 1878, and Edith Maud in 1879. On September 9, 1889, at forty-eight years of age, Cal died. She was buried in Sigourney's Pleasant Grove Cemetery.

Jim moved to Delta and, on June 14, 1894, married Elizabeth Kile. A son, James Dale Bethard, was born October 5, 1895. By then the war had been over for thirty years and men, both North and South, had resumed their lives the best they could. Abel Hankins had fought for the South. From a "truly Confederate family" in Tazewell County, Virginia, he joined the cavalry, survived the war, and returned to Virginia. From there he moved west and settled in Delta, Iowa. When Jim applied for a pension in 1889, he signed an affidavit that was notarized by Abel Hankins, now an Iowa Justice of the Peace.

Jim had resumed farming, first in Sigourney and then in Delta, but war-related health problems forced him to quit in 1873. He then went to work with the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad, but his health "compeled him to call for his time in a few weeks." Eventually, he moved into town, served as one of Delta's councilmen, and went to work in Abel Hankins' harness shop.

On July 13, 1912, he wrote to his thirteen year old grandson Roy Blakely, son of Sarah Gertrude. Jim was glad that young Roy had enjoyed the recent 4th of July celebrations and hoped he understood why we celebrate "the day on which was signed the greatest document in this world the document that made the united states of America a free and independent nation It was then our flag was born," he said, "and has since been sealed with the blood of hundreds of thousands of as good men as the world ever produced."

Less than four weeks later, on August 8, 1912, Jim died. A few days after his burial in Delta's Garrett Cemetery an obituary reported his death:

"A few years ago A. Hankins, who was a confederate soldier, asked James Bethard if he would see that a flag was placed over his grave when he died. Mr. Bethard said he would provided Mr. Hankins would perform a like service for him should he survive him, and so the pact was formed. After Mr. Bethard's death last week, Mr. Hankins accompanied by C. F. Kendall, went to the grave yard where the wearer of the grey placed the flag on the northern soldier's grave."

By then, Baby Ella had been married to William A. Dunn for almost thirty-two years. William died on March 31, 1923 and is buried in Sigourney’s Conner Cemetery. His widow, Nellie C. Dunn, died on July 2, 1931 and was buried in the same plot in Conner Cemetery.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


Married in 1833, Alexander and Diana (Clark) Bethard lived along Mill Creek southeast of what became Dover (now New Dover), in Union County, Ohio. Jonathan, the oldest of their children, was born on August 19, 1835. He was followed by James in 1837, Nancy in 1840, Thomas Henry in 1842 and Elizabeth Ellen “Lib” in 1847. When Diana died on October 9, 1856, she was buried in the old Baptist (now Mill Creek) Cemetery and the following year Alexander married Sarah Jane Lake.

When he was old enough to leave home, Jonathan moved to Meredosia, Illinois, where he worked as a farmer. Jonathan and his wife, Sarah Jane Stevens, had three children - James “Jimmy”, a daughter whose name is not known and Harvey Alexander who was born on March 14, 1859.

On April 14, 1861, with the outbreak of the Civil War, Illinois Governor Yates asked Richard Smith of the state militia to raise a strong force and a week later they marched to protect a bridge over the Big Muddy Creek. Organized as the 10th Illinois Infantry they were mustered in on April 29th for three months’ service and on July 29th for three years’ service. The following month, on August 9th, at twenty-five years of age, Jonathan, as “John,” enlisted in Company “A” while Sarah and the children moved to Jacksonville in Morgan County.

Jonathan was mustered in on August 20th at Cairo, Illinois, a city of “mud and mules” at the junction of the Ohio and Mississippi rivers. Surrounded by levees, it had a pre-war population of 2,188 and was described by Charles Dickens as "desolate" and "dismal." A surgeon viewed it as "the biggest mudhole in the country" and a reporter from New York’s Tribune felt its “jet-black soil generates every species of insect and reptile known to science or imagination.” According to another writer, “the season here is usually opened with great éclat by small-pox, continued spiritedly by cholera, and closed up brilliantly with yellow fever.”

Almost predictably, Jonathan quickly became ill with chronic diarrhea, a nervous disability and heart palpitations. For a year he was treated in hospitals at Cairo (where his illness worsened when he contracted typhoid fever and measles from other patients), at Mound City in Illinois, and at Hamburg and Savannah on the Tennessee River before being admitted on July 16, 1862 to the hospital at Camp Dennison, Ohio.

His twenty-five-year-old brother, Jim Bethard, enlisted in the 21st Iowa Infantry that August and on September 16th left Dubuque and started south with his regiment while Jonathan, from his bed in Ward 29, replied to a letter he had received from Jim’s wife, Caroline. He was “pleased,” he said “to learn that you take so much interest in my welfare” and hoped she would be able to again “enjoy the society of your friends (that have enlisted in the service of their Country) from whom you have been separated on account of this terrible war brought on us by traitors. I hope they (the rebels) will be annihilated from the face of the earth that slavery is the cause of this war cannot be denied it is the root of the whole trouble and until that is entirely destroyed we never can have a permanent peace and the sooner we turn our attention to it the sooner we will have peace it is our great national sin and this war is our punishment.” He was hopeful a draft would not be needed, “although there is a great many in the country I would like to see drafted some on account of disloyalty and others for cowardice there is plenty such people that will stay at home and use treasonable language and discourage enlistments such men ought to be compelled to fight they are enjoying the country that brave men are defending.”

By November, Jonathan had recovered sufficiently to join his regiment then at Nashville. He saw subsequent service in Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama before going into winter quarters at Rossville, Georgia. With the end of the war not in sight, soldiers were offered an incentive - a $400 bounty and 30-day furlough - to reenlist and Jonathan elected to do so. On December 31st he was mustered out and on January 1, 1864, was examined by a surgeon and remustered as a “veteran volunteer” for another three years. On the 11th, he started his furlough and headed north.

Meanwhile, Jim had not heard from his brother or his wife’s brother George who was with the 9th Iowa Infantry and told her, “as I see by the papers that both of their regiments have gone into the veteran service I expect that George and Jont have both reenlisted.” He soon learned that Jonathan, but not George, had reenlisted and in mid-March received a letter from Jonathan “at Chattanooga where he had just arrived” although Jim said “he is sorry that he reenlisted.”

Jonathan continued with his regiment and by May was “much better contented than he was when he wrote before.” They “were preparing for a long march and expected to start the next day but where they were going he did not know he was well and in good spirits.” In June, Jonathan was with his regiment when they participated in an attack on Kennesaw Mountain in Georgia but on July 17th Jim received a letter from “Lib” with “some bad news. Jonts family have all been sick with the scarlet fever resulting in the death of two of the children little Jimmy the oldest and their little girl. little Harvy barely escaped with his life.”

Still in Georgia, Jonathan’s health began to decline. He has “certainly had trouble enough to discourage any one,” said Jim. He “has had sickness in his family and lost two of his children and now lost his own health. is it not enough to discourage a stout heart.” Weeks went by and neither Jim nor Lib nor Nancy heard from Jonathan. They were worried. “I am afraid something is wrong,” said Jim. Unknown at the time was that Jonathan had been captured near Atlanta, Georgia, on November 10th but, on January 22, 1865, Jim was able to write, “I received a letter from Jont last week being the first I have received from him since last July or August.” To his surprise, Jonathan had written from Ohio. “I think he was very lucky in making his escape as judging from all accounts death is almost preferable to being a prisoner in the hands of the rebels.” Whether he had escaped or been paroled is unclear but, while in Ohio, Jonathan learned that their father was thinking of selling the family farm. In June, Alexander did sell the farm and he, his wife Sarah and daughter “Lib” left for a new home in Coffey County, Kansas.

After being mustered out on June 16, 1865, at Benton Barracks in St. Louis, Jonathan moved to Kansas where he and his wife had three more children - Samuel Lewis on September 14, 1866, Cora Maude on February 3, 1868, and Nancy Emilene on January 29, 1870.

Alexander had died on January 30, 1868, and Jonathan served as administrator of the estate, but he and Sarah then moved briefly to Colorado for their health. In 1877 they returned to Kansas and settled in Wilson County where they made their home near New Albany. Sarah died on April 16, 1881, and the following month Jonathan applied for an invalid pension based on his service-related medical problems. The boys had helped him work his farm but by then, he said, “the last one has gone to do for himself.” Supporting the application was another New Albany resident, Robert Mooney (who had married Jonathan’s sister Nancy) and a Middletown resident, Edgar Pruitt (who had married one of Jonathan’s daughters - also named Nancy and with whom Jonathan was then living). Jonathan was receiving a pension of $14.00 monthly when he died on September 30, 1905, while a resident of the National Soldiers Home in Leavenworth, Kansas. He is buried in Jackson Cemetery, New Albany.

Eight years after Sarah’s death Jonathan had married Emily Blevins Puckett on September 30, 1889. In 1909, giving her address as Buffalo, Kansas, Emily applied for a widow’s pension. She died on November 21, 1913, and is buried in Hillside Mission Cemetery, Tulsa, Oklahoma.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


Benjamin and Mary C. Bettys had at least three children, all born in Wisconsin: Phillip about 1840, Susan about 1842, and Mason about 1844.

The family moved to Grand Meadow Township in Clayton County in 1854 and, on September 28th of that year, Benjamin purchased twenty acres of farmland. Abraham Lincoln was elected President in 1860 and the following spring, on April 12th, Confederate artillery opened fire on Fort Sumter in South Carolina. By that fall the country was at war, a civil war, and more enlistments were needed.

On September 2, 1861, Phillip Bettys enlisted in Company L of Illinois' 8th Cavalry. Phillip was with his regiment the next month when it moved east to the city of Washington and during its subsequent service in Virginia.

On August 11, 1862, his brother, Mason D. Bettys, enlisted in Company B of what would be Iowa's 21st infantry regiment. Only eighteen years old, Mason was described as being 5 feet, 8¼ inches tall with brown eyes, black hair and a dark complexion. He received the standard $25 .00 advance on the $100.00 enlistment bounty and a $2.00 premium. His company was mustered into service at Dubuque on August 18th with ninety-nine men.

On September 9th, with all ten companies at sufficient strength, the regiment was mustered in with a total complement of 985 men, commissioned and enlisted. On September 16, 1862, they boarded the Henry Clay, a four-year old 181-foot long side-wheel steamer, and two open barges lashed to its side and started down the Mississippi River.

They went first to St. Louis where they spent one night at Benton Barracks and then traveled by rail to Rolla where they arrived on September 22d. They found good spring water and enjoyed their stay, but many were sick and several died. On October 18th they left Rolla and on the 19th arrived in Salem. There they camped until November 2nd when they were again on the move, this time for Houston where they arrived two days later.

Meanwhile, Mason's brother continued his service in the east (Poolsville, Monocacy Church, Barnesville, South Mountain, Boonesboro and Antietam). Then it was Martinsburg with the Army of the Potomac, Barbee's Crossroads, Falmouth, Fredericksburg, and up the Rappahannock.

In Missouri, Mason's 21st Infantry camped in Houston and Hartville and, on November 24, 1862, had a wagon train attacked at Beaver Creek. They were back in Houston when word was received that a Confederate force was moving into southwestern Missouri. Rushing in that direction, a 262-man contingent from the 21st Iowa engaged in battle at Hartville on January 11, 1863. From there it was back to Houston, then West Plains, Thomasville, Ironton and Iron Mountain. Walking slowly, mile after mile, often in mud several inches deep, drinking water from nearby streams, living on a limited diet, and enduring the bitter cold of winter in the Ozarks caused most to suffer and some to die.

Among the sick was Mason Bettys. On March 19, 1863, suffering from chronic diarrhoea, he died in Ste. Genevieve, an old French town on the Mississippi River. Jim Bethard lived near Mason in Grand Meadow Township and was serving with him in Company B. On March 21st, Jim wrote to wife, Caroline (Rice) Bethard, that:

"there has been two deaths in our company this week you will probably see Mr Lyons our orderly sergeant who went home with the dead body of Mason Bettice before this letter reaches you."

Mason Bettys was buried in Grand Meadow Cemetery, along U.S. Highway 52 west of Luana and not far from his parents' farm.

Mason’s brother, Phillip, continued on duty with the 8th Cavalry, "Farnsworth's Abolitionist Regiment',' according to President Lincoln. On June 9, 1863 it fought near Brandy Station in the largest mainly-cavalry battle of the war and the following month it saw action at Gettysburg. That fall, in a corps led by Major General Alfred Pleasonton, they were back in Virginia and planning an attack at Culpeper Court House, the headquarters for Confederate J.E. B. Stuart. On September 13th they met the enemy. Fighting was heavy and the Federals were victorious, but Phillip Bettys was killed. He is buried in Culpeper National Cemetery in Virginia, although there may also be a marker with his name in Grand Meadow Cemetery.

With their two sons having died in the war, Benjamin and Mary continued to work their farm. An 1866 township map shows three parcels in the Bettys' name but, in about 1876, they moved across the county line to Postville (where Joel Post had erected a log house more than thirty years earlier). There, on January 14, 1878, at sixty-seven years of age, Benjamin died. He was buried in Grand Meadow Cemetery.

Mary then lived many years with a niece in Chicago, but usually visited Postville every summer. In August 1894, a party was given to celebrate her ninetieth birthday. She had, said the Postville Review, "withstood the storms of time" and survived a broken limb and ill health, but seemed to be in very good health.

Mary died on February 1, 1902. She is buried with Benjamin and two of their children (Mason and Susan) in Grand Meadow Cemetery.

~Compiled & submitted by Carl Ingwalson December 2020


is a native of Diana, Lewis County, New York, where he was born April 15, 1839. Not satisfied with the meager education obtainable in the district school of that period, he attended Carthage Academy, coming west in 1858.  He entered Rock River Seminary at Mount Morris, Illinois, teaching school a portion of the time.  Coming to Iowa, at Newton he taught school and studied law.
When the Civil War came he enlisted in Company K, Twenty-eight Iowa Volunteers and participated in the battles of Port Gibson, Champion's Hill and the siege of Vicksburg.  In 1864 he entered the Law Department of the University of Michigan from which he graduated in 1866.  He began the practice of law at Montezuma and soon after was elected county judge of Poweshiek, serving in that position until 1868 when he was chosen Circuit Judge of the Sixth Judicial District, filling the position for twelve years.  In 1890 Judge Blanchard was chosen senior vice-commander of the Grand Army of the Republic.  In 1893 he was elected on the Republican ticket Representative in the Legislature for Mahaska County, and in 1895 was elected Senator, serving in the Twenty-sixth, Twenty-seventh, Twenty-eight and Twenty-ninth General Assemblies.  With the assistance of Judge Wilson he prepared the Masonic Digest published by the Grand Lodge.

~ Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


John B. Betz, one of Iowa County’s earliest residents, passed away on July 5, 1922 at his home in Ladora, IA after a long illness. He was 80 years old.

He was born on November 9, 1841 near Tiffin, Seneca County, Ohio to Samuel and Barbara(Mosseney) Betz. He was the oldest of five children, two boys and three girls. His mother died in 1849 when he was eight years of age. Shortly after, he and two sisters, Mary and Margaret, went to live with his Uncle and Aunt, John T. Orin and Mary(Mosseney) Orin. The other sister went to live with her Grandmother Mosseney, and his brother Nelson, remained with his father, who later married Juliet Bishop. They had two children. After Juliet passed away he later married Rachel Himebaugh of Michigan. To this union were born nine children. The Orin’s came by covered wagon from Ohio to the Ohio Community in Iowa County, 3 1/2 miles south of Ladora in 1854 when he was 12 years of age. He grew to manhood in this household one mile west of the Ohio Methodist Church. The Orin’s had a large number of children of their own in addition to the three Betz children.

At he age of 19 he enlisted in Company G of the 8th Iowa Infantry Regiment from the Genoa Bluffs area. This was September 3, 1861. He was with that command until the close of hostilities, participating in a number of hotly contested engagements, including the battles of Shiloh, Corinth and Jackson. He went through the 40 day siege of Vicksburg. He received honorable mention in Col. Bell’s report of the charge of Spanish Fort, where other officers were killed or wounded and he, a Sgt. at the time, took command of the Company, and although slightly wounded, led the Company through the remainder of the battle.

He was promoted successively to Third, Second, and First Sergeant, and then 1st Lieutenant and had the pay and duties of Captain when the war closed, stationed at Mobile, Montgomery and other points in Alabama during the Reconstruction Period. He was mustered out at Selma, Alabama on April 20, 1866.

He returned to Iowa and married Rachel Veach Tyler on November 29, 1866. Her first husband, Jehiel Tyler had died in the war. He became stepfather to two children, John Tyler and Elmer Tyler.

Mr. Betz bought a farm in Sumner and Hartford Townships, 2 1/2 miles south of Ladora. He cleared timber from much of the land to bring it under cultivation. At one time he owned 209 acres.

John and Rachel had eleven children, Hattie(Elmer) Fiser, William, Joseph, Charles, Molly, Robert, Annie(Dale) Maudlin, John Arthur, Versa(Arthur) King, and Rachel who died in infancy and an infant son who died in infancy.

he was converted and united with the Ohio Methodist Church in 1868 and was an active part of the Ohio Settlement south of Ladora. He was one of the last survivors of the original group of settlers.

The home place was a true Christian home and here the children were trained in the Christian life and learned to follow the same Christ. Later they transferred their membership to the Ladora Methodist Church and it became the family spiritual home.

He and his wife moved to Ladora in 1908 and purchased two lots and a home. She passed away on December 9, 1908, and is buried in the Ohio Cemetery. His daughter, Molly lived with him until he passed away. His Granddaughter, Lois Fiser, a registered nurse, returned to care for him in his last months. He was buried beside his wife in the Ohio Cemetery.

He was survived by the children listed above, eight grandchildren, two sisters, Margaret Loiler of North English, and Catherine Fox of Kentucky, and half brothers and half sisters in Ohio, Michigan and Indiana. He was preceded in death by his parents, two children, one brother, Nelson in Ohio, and a sister Mary Wyant of Marengo.

Mr. Betz was very active in a number of organizations. he was a charter member of the W.B. Bricker Post, G.A.R. of Ladora. He was a member of the Odd Fellows. he was a delegate to frequent conferences of his church. He held office in his township when living on the farm, was a member of the Soldier’s Relief Commission for a number of years, served on the Ladora Town Council, and was a Director of the Farmers Savings Bank from its organization.

Funeral services were held in the Ladora Methodist Church conducted by Rev. J.C. Leonard of Keswick and Rev. S.S. Cole of Millersburg. The burial service at the Ohio Cemetery was in charge of Ladora Lodge No, 622, I.O.O.F.

~ Source: The above information was compiled by John Betz's Great-Grandson, Randall Betz, from the obituary for John Betz and The History of Iowa County.


There is no man more worthy of a place in the history of Rice county than Samuel C. BLACKMORE, a representative farmer and stock-raiser of that locality. His paternal grandfather, Thomas BLACKMORE, was a native of Pennsylvania, but of English and Irish descent. He was a farmer by occupation, and at an early day came to Ohio, making his home with a son until he died at a ripe old age. He was the father of three children, namely: Benjamin; Samuel, the father of our subject; and Betsey, who died in Pennsylvania. His son, Samuel, the father of our subject, was a native of Pennsylvania, where he was married and later moved to Ohio. There he became one of the pioneers of Ashland county, where he bought and improved a good farm in the midst of the forest, and there he reared his family and remained for many years. In 1862 he sold out and moved to Iowa, settling in Ringgold county, where he bought and improved a farm, upon which he remained until his death, which occurred in 1881. He was a prominent and successful farmer, commanding the highest respect of the people where he lived, was a kind and good neighbor and very generous to friends, which often proved very expensive to him, but he prospered and accumulated a competency for old age. He was reared a Democrat and voted with that party until the opening of the Civil war, when he became a Republican, and held many positions of trust while in Ohio. He was a Universalist in religious faith, and in his life and daily conduct manifested the principles of his Christian belief. His integrity was above reproach, his word being as good as his bond.

He married Miss Elizabeth THOMPSON, a native of Pennsylvania, and a daughter of William THOMPSON, a native of Scotland. After emigrating to America he settled in Pennsylvania, where he died. His children were: Alexander, William Jr, Patty and Elizabeth, the latter the mother of our subject. Unto Samuel BLACKMORE, Sr, and his wife were born the following children: Alexander, who died in Iowa; Martha, who became the wife of I[saac]. OLIVER; Jane, who married J. SMITH; Elizabeth, now Mrs. J, McCLURE; and Samuel C. Jr., our subject.

Samuel C. BLACKMORE, Jr., whose name introduces this record, was born in Ashland county, Ohio, June 7, 1842. He was reared to the honest toil of the farm and was educated in the common schools. In 1862, when twenty years of age, he accompanied his parents to Iowa and remained under the parental roof, assisting his father on the farm, until 1864, when he enlisted [as a Private on August 6, 1864] for one hundred days' service in Company G, Forty-sixth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, which was consigned to the Army of the Tennessee. At Holly Springs, Mississippi, where only a part of the regiment took part, many of his comrades fell by rebel bullets, and their bodies were buried in southern soil, but our subject was never wounded or captured. However, from hard marching and exposure in southern swamps, he contracted rheumatism and was compelled to use crutches. He also contracted chronic diarrhea, from which he was a great sufferer. He continued with his command until the expiration of his term of enlistment, when he was sent to Davenport, Iowa, where he received an honorable discharge [on September 23, [1864] and then returned home to his father's house, where he recovered from the diarrhea, but the rheumatism will continue to torture him as long as he lives. As soon as he had sufficiently regained his health to allow him to do so he resumed farm work, which he continued until 1870 upon his father's farm. In that year he was married and settled upon a farm of his own, there remaining until 1873, when he left the farm and came to Kansas. Here he located on the homestead in Rice county which he yet owns. Having small means he moved his family and household goods across the country by wagon and team, built a small frame house and was soon ready to begin farming on a small scale.

The herd law enabled him to plant a crop without fencing, and he planted corn and oats with good prospect for a harvest, but the grasshoppers came and destroyed everything that was green upon the place. However, he had planted some wheat the fall before, which he harvested before the grasshoppers appeared, and by strict economy he managed to continue his farming operations, realizing more from his crops each year, which enabled him to get his farm fenced and add some more rooms to his small house, thus adding greatly to the comfort of the family. When he came to Kansas the country was very sparsely settled, buffaloes and antelopes were plentiful, furnishing the table of the pioneers with fresh meat, wild beasts roamed at will in the forests and little of the land had been placed under cultivation. As soon as Mr. BLACKMORE felt assured that this section of the country would develop and become a prosperous commonwealth he traded his Iowa farm for a vacant quarter adjoining his farm, fenced and placed it under cultivation and carried on farming quite extensively, raising some stock also. Later he sold one quarter, but still owns the original homestead and hires it cultivated. He ran a threshing machine for three years and prospered in his undertakings.

In 1870 Mr. BLACKMORE was united in marriage to Miss Hattie WATSON, a well educated and cultured lady, who was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, October 27, 1839, a daughter of James and Jane (HAWTHORN) WATSON, both natives of Pennsylvania, where they were married. They were both of Irish descent and he was a railroad man and followed that line of business in Pennsylvania until his death, which occurred in 1850. He left a wife and two children in limited circumstances, but the mother kept the children together and moved to Illinois in 1856, locating in McLean county, where she remained until 1868, when she removed to Iowa, remaining there until both daughters married, and then in 1875 came to Kansas, where she finds a good home with her two daughters. She is a consistent member of the Presbyterian church, but her husband was a Lutheran. They were the parents of eight children, but all died in childhood with the exception of the two daughters, Hattie, the wife of our subject; and Maggie, who married William HISER, and moved from Iowa in 1875, and is now living in Anderson county, Kansas. Both were school teachers, the former having taught for ten years, and the latter for six years. The maternal grandmother of this family, Mrs. HAWTHORN, had five children, namely: Jane, the mother of Mrs. BLACKMORE; John; Nancy, who married D. SNIVELY; George; and Eliza.

Unto our subject and his wife were born six children, namely: Jennie, who was married June 19, 1901, to C. B. WATSON, living in Meade county, Kansas; Samuel, a farmer; Pearl, who is successfully engaged in teaching; James, who is conducting the homestead farm; Hattie, who died at the age of sixteen years; and Katie, who is still with her parents.

Mr. BLACKMORE is a man of strong character, practical, energetic, enterprising and the soul of honor, commanding the highest respect and esteem of all with whom he is associated. He is very social in his nature, kind and benevolent, ever lending a helping hand to those in need, and by go-(?) in security for his financially embarrassed friends has lost considerable money. In his political affiliations he is a stanch Republican and does all in his power to insure the success of the party, but has never sought or desired political preferment. He is deeply interested in all movements for the progress and advancement of the community in which he makes his home, and is a loyal and substantial citizen, well worthy of representation in this volume.

A Biographical History of Central Kansas, Vol. II, p. 1067. Lewis Publishing, Co. Chicago & New York. 1902.
American Civil War Soldiers Database, ancestry.com
~Transcription and note by Sharon R. Becker, March of 2009


Clerk of the Supreme Court, was born in Amsterdam, Holland, February 14, 1840. In 1849 he emigrated with his parents to the United States and located in Pella, Iowa. He attended the public schools of Pella until 1854 when he entered Central University where he remained as a student for two years. In 1856 he became a clerk in a general store at Pella and in July, 1862, he enlisted in Company "G" of the 33rd Iowa Infantry. In December, 1864, he was transferred and promoted to First Lieutenant and Quartermaster of the 4th Arkansas Cavalry. He remained with his regiment until the close of the war and was mustered out of service in July, 1865. He returned to Pella after the war and in 1868 was elected Clerk of the District Court for Marion county, which office he held for four years. From 1875 until 1884 he was assistant cashier of the Pella National Bank. After leaving the bank he engaged in the general merchandising business at Knoxville with A.B. Culver, under the firm name of Culver & Co. He remained in this business until the store was burned in 1901. In 1902 he was a candidate before the Republican state convention for Clerk of the Supreme Curt, but was defeated for nomination by John C. Crockett and upon the election and qualification of Mr. Crockett he was appointed deputy clerk which position he held until Mr. Crockett resigned in January 1908, when he was appointed by the Supreme Court to fill the vacancy. He was nominated at the Republican primaries in 1908 to fill the unexpired portion of the term and was elected at the general election in 1908. A Republican in politics.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


a progressive and efficient farmer of Richland township [Decatur County], was born in Highland county, Ohio, in 1821. His father, Thomas BOYD, who was of Irish descent, early settled in Highland county, where he carried on agricultural operations. His political allegiance was given to the republican party and his religious faith was that of the Methodist Episcopal church. He died in 1867 when about sixty-three years of age. His wife, who in her maidenhood was Miss Annie MILLER, was born in Pennsylvania of German ancestry. She was also a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Her demise occurred in [January 18] 1864 when she was sixty-three years old. They were the parents of six children, of whom our subject was the second in order of birth. His brother Allen enlisted in the Thirty-fourth Iowa Volunteer Infantry in 1862 and died in a hospital from the effects of wounds received at the front on the 15th of April, 1865, the day on which President LINCOLN died.
John BOYD attended the district schools of the Buckeye state [Ohio] and in his early manhood taught school for a time. In 1852 he came to Iowa with his parents, the family first locating in Wapello county, but in 1855 they removed to Decatur county and took up their residence on a farm in Richland township which they owned. Our subject continued to follow the profession of teaching in this [Decatur] county during the winter months, while the summers were devoted to farm work. In 1878 he purchased an excellent farm of two hundred and eighty acres on section 28, Richland township, and thereafter gave his entire time to agricultural pursuits. He carried on general farming and stock-raising and his labors yielded him a good financial return. His widow owns one hundred and sixty acres of land a mile north of Grand River.
Mr. BOYD married Miss Elizabeth Annie BULLOCK, who was born in Decatur county, Indiana, December 11, 1841. Her parents, Curtis and Martha (ZIEGLER) BULLOCK, emigrated to Iowa in 1850, locating on a farm in Keokuk county, whence they later removed to Missouri.
Mr. BULLOCK was a successful farmer and also an ordained minister of the Baptist church, to which his wife also belonged. Both passed away in the Iron state, he in 1898 when in his eighty-third year and she in 1892 when in her seventy-sixty year. They were the parents of eight children, of whom Mrs. BOYD is the second in order of birth. Her brother George enlisted for service in the Civil war in the Eighteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry in 1862 and served until the close of hostilities. He was in many important engagements and was with SHERMAN on his march to the sea. He held the rank of first sergeant. John W. BULLOCK, another brother, enlisted in the Thirty-fourth Iowa Volunteer Infantry in 1862, when but a lad of sixteen years, and served throughout the war.

Mr. and Mrs. BOYD became the parents of seven children. Henry Russell, who was born in 1862, is farming in Ringgold county and is president of the bank at Tingley. He married Miss Margaret EDIE and they have four children. Martha J., born in 1866, is the wife of Henry BRYANT, of Richland township. Curtis A., who was born in 1869 and is farming in Grand River township, married Miss Susan FEAR and they have three children. Ida Ellen, born in 1873, has for the past eight years been teaching in the Ames high school. Nora J., whose birth occurred in 1877, is cashier of the Farmers State Bank of Grand River. Frank and Laura, twins, were born in 1881. Frank, who is managing the home farm, married Miss Mary JUDD, and they have one child. Laura is the wife of Boyd GALE, by whom she has two children. Mrs. BOYD has nine living grandchildren. She is a devout member of the Methodist Episcopal church and her many admirable traits of character have gained her the esteem of those who know her.
Mr. BOYD was a republican in politics and took interest of a good citizen in public affairs, although he never sought official preferment. In his work as a farmer he was prompt and energetic and not only gained success for himself but also contributed to the development of his locality along agricultural lines. His demise, which occurred August 4, 1901, was sincerely mourned, and his memory is yet cherished by his friends.

NOTE: Thomas BOYD died January 16, 1867 at the age of 63 years, 2 months, and 21 days, with interment at the Young Cemetery near Grand River, Decatur County, Iowa, beside his wife Anna (MILLER) BOYD.
John BOYD, according to his gravestone, was born in 1832, and died in 1901. He married Elizabeth Anne BULLOCK on March 14, 1861. Elizabeth was born December 11, 1841, Decatur County, Indiana, and died June 6, 1922. John and Elizabeth were interred at the Young Cemetery near Grand River, Decatur County, Iowa.
Allen BOYD enlisted as a Private on August 15, 1862, at the age of 28, and served with Company I of the 34th Iowa Infantry. He died of disease at Keokuk, Iowa, on April 17, 1865.
George BULLOCK enlisted as a 2nd Sergeant at the age of 22 years on July 10, 1862 at Osceola, Clarke County, Iowa. He served with Company B of the 18th Iowa Infantry, was promoted to full 1st Sergeant on February 1, 1863; promoted to full Sergeant Major on December 26, 1864; promoted to full 2nd Lieutenant on March 16, 1865; and was mustered out of service at Little Rock, Arkansas on July 20, 1865. John W. BULLOCK enlisted as a Private from Osceola, Clarke County, Iowa, on August 22, 1862, assigned to Company K of the 39th Iowa Infantry. He was promoted to full 2nd Corporal on May 3, 1865, and mustered out of service as a full 8th Corporal on June 5, 1865 at Washington, D. C.
Henry Russell BOYD died in 1938, and was interred in Tingley Cemetery, Tingley, Ringgold County, Iowa. Margaret (EDIE) BOYD was born in 1862, and died in 1935 with interment at Tingley Cemetery.

HOWELL, J. M. & CONOMAN, Heman. History of Decatur County, Iowa, and Its People Vol. II. Pp. 126-29. S.J. Clarke Pub. Co. Chicago. 1915.
American Civil War Soldiers, ancestry.com
WPA Graves Survey
~Transcription by Sharon R. Becker, February of 2009


farmer, section 5, Athens Township, was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, October 14, 1829. His parents were William H. and Maria (BELL) BRADLEY, the former a native of Ireland, and the latter of Washington County. They reared a family of four children - William H., Mary, Ellen, and Margaret. William was the oldest child, and when he was four years of age his parent removed to Brownsville, Fayette County, Pennsylvania, where he received his education. He attended the same school with James G. BLAINE* for a time. In 1839 the family removed to Jefferson, Greene County, where they remained until 1843, thence to Washington County, thence to Allegheny County in three years, and in 1852 removed to Wayne County, Ohio.

He was married October 16, 1856, to Miss Catharine STAIR, a native of Germany, and daughter of John and Christina (MOSSES) STAIR. In the fall of 1856 Mr. BRADLEY came to Iowa, and settled in Poe Township, Ringgold County. At that time Mt. Ayr had only eight log houses. In the spring of 1857 he located on the B. B. DUNNING place, where he remained until the fall of 1860, then removed to section 21, Poe Township, where he remained until the breaking out of the civil War.

He enlisted August 10, 1862 [from Mount Ayr as a Private] in Company G, Twenty-ninth Iowa Infantry, and was engaged in the battled of Helena, Little Rock, Camden, Mobile, and several minor engagements. He wa honorably discharged [on August 10, 1865, New Orleans, Louisiania] and returned to his home in Ringgold County.

In 1870 he removed to section 1, and in 1876 to section 6, Athens Township. In 1879 he moved upon his present farm, which was then in a wild state. He has improved it until he has brought it to its present condition. He has a fine residence, and a barn, 32 x 36 feet, an orchard of eighty trees and small fruits, and is engaged in general farming and stock-raising.

Mr. and Mrs. BRADLEY are the parents of five children - Keziah, Joseph, Louis (sic), Seigel (sic), and Zephina. Mr. BRADLEY is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic post at Mt. Ayr, and also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Lodge 69. By honest dealing he has won the confidence and respect of all who know him. Postoffice, Kellerton.

NOTE: William H. BRADLEY died on May 25, 1901. Catherine (STAIR) BRADLEY was born on December 17, 1824 in Germany, and died July 25, 1903. William and Catherine were interred at Rose Hill Cemetery, Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa.

Joseph BRADLEY, son of William H. and Catherine (STAIR), was not listed with the family in the 1880 Federal Census.

Lois BRADLEY, daughter of William H. and Catherine (STAIR), was born circa 1859, Ringgold County, Iowa.

James K. BRADLEY, son of William H. and Catherine (STAIR), was born circa 1861, Ringgold County, Iowa.

Sigle Henry BRADLEY, son of William H. and Catherine (STAIR), was born in 1882, Ringgold County, Iowa, and died in 1947, with interment at Maple Row
Cemetery, Kellerton, Ringgold County, Iowa.

Zepheniah W. BRADLEY was born in 1869, Ringgold County, Iowa, and died in 1948, with interment at Maple Row Cemetery, Kellerton, Ringgold County, Iowa.

* James G. BLAINE (1830-1893) was a Senator and Representative from Maine, editor of The Portland Advertiser and the Kennebec Journal, unsuccessful candidate for nomination for President of the United States on the Republican ticket in 1876 and 1880, Secretary of State in the cabinets of Presidents James GARFIELD and Chester ARTHUR and Benjamin HARRISON, and was the first president of the Pan American Congress.

Biography & Historical Record of Ringgold County, Iowa, p. 372, 1887.
American Civil War Soldiers Database, ancestry.com
1880 Federal Census, Athens Township, Ringgold County, Iowa
WPA Graves Survey
http://iagenweb.org/ringgold/ from Biography & Historical Record of Ringgold County, Iowa Lewis Publishing Company of Chicago, 1887, p. 372
~Transcription by and note Sharon R. Becker, March of 2009


was born in Syracuse, Indiana, July 4, 1837; he died at Chicago, August 24, 1914. He attended the common schools of Syracuse until thirteen years of age and then worked for three years in a blacksmith shop. He removed to Des Moines in 1853 and attended Des Moines academy for one year. The next year he went to Burlington where he remained for four years as student and tutor in mathematics in a university. Returning to Des Moines, he associated with Rev. John A. Nash in establishing Forest Home Seminary in 1860. In 1866-7 he was superintendent of schools in Des Moines and Polk county and in 1875-6 professor of language and literature in Humboldt College. During the Civil war he enlisted in Company F, Forty-seventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry and served with his regiment the one hundred days of their enlistment.

He spent much time on the lecture platform, speaking on education and political subjects, and contributed much to campaign literature. He was the author of several books and pamphlets, among them being Poems of the Prairies; Our Own Columbia; Popular Perils; Iowa, the Promised of the Prophets; and the Rights of Labor.

~ Source: "Notable Deaths" Annals of Iowa. Vol. XI, No. 1, 3rd Series. p. 632. Historical Society of Iowa. Des Moines. April, 1913.
~Transcription by Sharon R. Becker


was born in England, in 1835, and emigrated to America in 1856. After graduating at Oberlin College he located at De Witt in Clinton County, where he engaged in the practice of law with Judge Graham.  He was a radical Abolitionist and an active agent of the "underground railroad," a warm friend of John Brown, assisting many fugitive slaves on their way to Canada.  He was a prominent Republican speaker in the Lincoln campaign of 1860.  When the Rebellion began he helped raise a company for the First Iowa Cavalry, was commissioned lieutenant of Company B, and was soon promoted to captain.  He was appointed Provost Marshal at St. Louis and organized the plans for the arrest of Mulligan and his gang of so-called "Sons of Liberty" in Indiana.  In 1868 he was one of the Presidential electors in Iowa, casting the vote of the State for General Grant.  He removed to Osceola, Missouri, where he served two terms in Congress.  In 1877 he was appointed by President Hayes Commissioner of the United States Land Department at Washington, where he served eight years.  In 1885 he was chosen Grand Commander of the Grand Army of the Republic.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


was born October 5, 1833, in Trumbull County, Ohio, and was educated at various places where his father was stationed as a Methodist minister.  When eighteen years of age he began the study of medicine.  In July 1855, he removed to Iowa, locating at Bloomfield in Davis County where he opened a store.  In 1859 he was nominated by the Democrats of Davis County for State Senator and elected.  He was a delegate to the National Democratic Convention in 1860 which met at Baltimore and nominated Stephen A. Douglas for President.  At the extra session of the Legislature in May, 1861, called by Governor Kirkwood to place the State on a war footing, Cyrus Bussey was among the Democrats who gave a warm support to the war measures.  At the close of the session he helped raise the Third Iowa Cavalry Regiment of which he was commissioned colonel.  He was a gallant officer and in 1864 was promoted to Brigadier-General.  After the war he located at New Orleans and became President of the Chamber of Commerce.  In 1868 he was a delegate to the Republican National Convention which nominated General Grant for President.  In 1880 he was again a delegate to the Republican Convention and was one of the famous three hundred six delegates who voted for Grant for a third term.  In 1889 General Bussey was appointed by President Harrison Assistant Secretary of the Interior where he served unto 1893.  General Bussey left the Democratic party early in the Civil War and became a Republican, often taking an active part in the national campaigns as a public speaker.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


was born in Canada in 1826.  He came to Iowa, locating in Linn County.  He was for many years a minister of the Methodist church and at one time presiding elder.  In the organization of the Twenty-fourth Iowa Infantry, he was appointed by Governor Kirkwood its colonel.  He did not prove adapted to military command and resigned his commission on the 30th of June, 1863.  In 1871 he was appointed Register of the United States Land Office at Fort Dodge and remained in that city several years in the real estate business.  He finally moved to Rochester, New York, where he died many years ago.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


was born in Noble County, Ohio, January 12, 1846.  When seven years of age his father came to Iowa, locating at Glenwood, Mills County, later removing to a farm where the son worked summers, attending the public schools winters.  In January, 1864, Melvin enlisted in Company B, Twenty-ninth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, serving until the close of the Civil War.  He served as recorder of Mills County and mayor of Glenwood.  In 1879 he enlisted in the Iowa National Guard and has been promoted from private to major.  In 1898 he was appointed by Governor Shaw Adjutant General of the State.  Upon him devolved the responsibility of organizing the quota of troops which Iowa was called upon to furnish for the Spanish War.  This duty was performed with a degree of energy and ability that placed the Iowa troops in the field with thorough drill and equipment unsurpassed by those of any State in the Union.  During his administration General Byers has brought the National Guard of Iowa to a high degree of efficiency in all soldierly qualities.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931


was born in Pulaski, Pennsylvania, in 1838.  Coming to Iowa in 1851 with his father he was educated in the schools of Oskaloosa, where his father located.  He enlisted in the Fifth Iowa Infantry and served in the army until March, 1865, was promoted to adjutant in April, 1863.  He was in many battles and in a charge at Missionary Ridge was taken prisoner and for fifteen months suffered the horrors of Libby and other Confederate prisons.  He finally escaped and returned to the army, where for a time he was on General Sherman's staff.  At the close of the war he was brevetted major.  While in prison at Columbia, South Carolina, he wrote the well-known song, "The March to the Sea," which brought him into national notice.  It gave the name to Sherman's famous march and thousands of copies were sold immediately after the war.  Major Byers was sent by General Sherman to General Grant and President Lincoln as bearer of dispatches announcing his great victories.  He served fifteen years as American consul at Zurich in Switzerland and was under president Arthur, Consul General for Italy.  Under President Harrison he served as Consul to St. Gall and later as Consul General for Switzerland.  Major Byers has been a contributor to the leading magazines of the country.  He is the author of "Iowa in War Times,"  "Switzerland and the Swiss," "Twenty Years in Europe" and several volumes of poetry.

~Source: A Narrative History of The People of Iowa with SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,BUSINESS, ETC. by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M. Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa Volume IV THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. Chicago and New York 1931




  Copyright ©  IAGenWeb.org.  All Rights Reserved.