Pottawattamie County, IAGenWeb Township Home HOME

Township Histories
History of Layton Township and Walnut
 Townships  Formed
  Belknap 1872
Boomer 1860
Carson 1882
Center 1860
Crescent 1857
Garner 1877
Grove 1858
Hardin 1870
Hazel Dell 1872
James 1860
Kane 1853
Keg Creek 1874
Knox 1857
Layton 1873
Lewis 1878
Lincoln 1875
Macedonia 1855
Minden 1877
Neola 1872
Norwalk 1872
Pleasant 1873
Rockford 1855
Silver Creek 1860
Valley 1879
Washington 1873
Waveland 1873
Wright 1872
York 1861

Previous to 1873 the territory embraced in Layton township was a part of Knox, but in that year June 7 the petition by W.B. CUPPY, THOMAS LEDWICK, G.N. ROBINSON and 40 other citizens of Knox township, was presented to the county Board of Supervisors. The first election was held in the town of Walnut on Oct 14, 1873. The first settlers were E.B. HINCKLEY and family, OSCAR LODGE, LEANDER LODGE, and HENRY ORCUTT. With the advent of the Rock Island Railroad, Mr. HINCKLEY became the agent for its lands, opened an office and did a very successful business. Settlers flocked from all directions. The original plat of the city of Walnut was surveyed and platted by the Allen Company. The first settlers in Walnut were: DR. PLINNY, D. HOLCOMB, D. HISON, and E.R. HINCKLEY.The first store was opened by LEANDER LODGE and the first postmaster was E.R.HINCKLEY. In 1877 Walnut received her charter as a city and the city officers were elected: Mayor, W.H.LINFOR; recorder, J.B.JOHNSON; marshall, ROBERT GILBREATH; city council J.H. HENRY, O.M. BRUCE, CHARLES LEBECK, I.T. SPANGLER, WM. HILL, J.B.JOHNSON. A flouring mill was built in 1872 by MOSES THUNS and CO. The Walnut News was established in 1878 by A.O. CRAMER. In 1875 the school was under the direction of MISS KATE WILLIAMS. The city government as of 1915 was: Mayor, E.C.THOMPSON; clerk, C.S.SPANGLER; city council J.B. JOHANNASEN, DR. MORRIS MOORE, ORRIS MOSHER,J.C. VOLLSTED, W.S.SANKEY, and N.H.LEWIS.