Pottawattamie County, IAGenWeb Township Home HOME

Township Histories
History of Kane Township
 Townships  Formed
  Belknap 1872
Boomer 1860
Carson 1882
Center 1860
Crescent 1857
Garner 1877
Grove 1858
Hardin 1870
Hazel Dell 1872
James 1860
Kane 1853
Keg Creek 1874
Knox 1857
Layton 1873
Lewis 1878
Lincoln 1875
Macedonia 1855
Minden 1877
Neola 1872
Norwalk 1872
Pleasant 1873
Rockford 1855
Silver Creek 1860
Valley 1879
Washington 1873
Waveland 1873
Wright 1872
York 1861

It still has an existence and is famous for its vineyards and pretty suburban homes. At one time its eastern boundary was for some miles the Mosquito Creek, the citizens having been anxious to have the benefit of the public schools. In an early day, a brick schoolhouse was built in that neighborhood and a school maintained by the city called the Clark School, but getting tired of paying city taxes, petitioned to be set off, and accordingly the city boundary was drawn in for one mile in section 19, Garner township, to a few rods in section 5 in Lewis township, so that it at present consists of some fragments left after constituting the city of Council Bluffs, today containing about 90 adult persons and half as many children of school age. Small and well ordered as it usually is, it was once the scene of the most-foul murder ever committed in this county, an account of which is given in another part of this history. The township officers are as follows: Trustees, J.E. BUTLER, JOHN HAILE, and H.J. SMITH; clerk, A. FELLENTRETER; justices of the peace, J.K. COOPER and S.A. GREEN; constables, J.C. BAKER and D. MALTBY.