Histories of Calhoun County

Calhoun was originally named Fox County in 1851, but was changed to Calhoun County in 1853 in honor of United State Vice President, John C. Calhoun. The first County Seat was established in 1855 in Lake City, then moved to Rockwell City in 1876.

Calhoun County Pioneer History

Black, Murl O. Calhoun County Pioneer History: a Sesquicentennial Slice for a County with One Traffic Light. Lohrville, Iowa: M. O. Black, 1995. Print.

Early Calhoun County History

Published in Calhoun Farmers Advocate. Rockwell City, Iowa: 1891.

Histories of Places in Calhoun County

County Seats Established: Brooklyn - Lake City - Rockwell City

Link to the National Register of Historic Places in Calhoun County

Peeking Into Lake City's Past

Published in Lake City Graphic. Lake City, Iowa: 1982.

Story of the Storm

Pomeroy, Iowa: 1893.