USGenweb Linn County IAGenweb IAGenweb



Biographies



A  B  C  D   E   F  G   H   I  J   K   L  M   N   O  P   Q  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z


GEORGE DALE (From 1901 Linn Co. history)

As a brick and stone mason George Dale has been identified with the building interests of Cedar Rapids for over thirty-five years, and for half a century he has been a resident of Iowa. His home is now at No. 1323 First avenue, Cedar Rapids. He was born on the 28th of December, 1835, in Union county, Pennsylvania, of which state his parents, Philip and Mary Ann (Wiley) Dale, were also natives. About 1839 the family removed to Ohio, and were among the first settlers of Crawford county, where the father opened up a farm, making his home there for about eight years. In 1846 he went to Kosciusko county, Indiana, where he died the following winter. His wife survived him many years and reared their family, and later married again. Her death also occurred in Kosciusko county, Indiana

The subject of this sketch accompanied his parents on their removal to Ohio and later to Indiana, and until seventeen years of age made his home in Kosciusko county. He had but meager school privileges, and is therefore mostly self-educated since arriving at mature years. In 1852 he and his brother started overland for California, but on arriving in Cedar county, Iowa, found their funds exhausted and resolved to locate permanently in this state. During the winter of 1852-3 George Dale engaged in chopping cord wood, and the following spring commenced driving a stage from Muscatine to Tipton and Iowa City, which pursuit claimed his attention for one year. He next spent one year and a half as an apprentice to the brick and stone mason's trade with his brother at Tipton, and later in partnership they engaged in contracting and building in different sections of the state for several years.

In Cedar county, Iowa, November 12, 1857, Mr. Dale was united in marriage with Miss Ruth Doty, daughter of James M. and Susan B. (Anderson) Doty, her father being one of the early settlers of Linn county, locating here in 1839. Mr. Doty laid out the town of Westport, six miles down the river from Cedar Rapids, where he built a warehouse, and with flatboats shipped produce down the river. After his death the town site was abandoned. He was also the owner of one hundred and sixty acres in what is now Brown's addition in the west side of Cedar Rapids. He was born and reared near Middletown, Ohio, but died in Linn county , Iowa, January 17, 1846. After his death his wife and family returned to Ohio, where Mrs. Dale was principally reared, but later they returned to Linn county, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Dale have five children living: Curtis David, who has been a contractor and brick mason of Denver, Colorado, for the past ten years; Lizzie, at home; Edmund G., an architect now with the Burlington, Cedar Rapids and Northern Railroad as a draftsman in the engineers' department; John, who now has charge of the plant of the electric light and power company of Oklahoma City; and Robert Burdette, a student in the high school of Cedar Rapids. One daughter, Nina, died at the age of four years.

After his marriage Mr. Dale located on the west side of Cedar river in Cedar county, where he resided for a short time, and in the spring of 1865 removed to Boone, where he carried on business for one summer, but in the fall of that year came to Cedar Rapids, where he worked at his trade for two or three years. Subsequently he was in the employ of T. M. Sinclair & Company, meat packers, having charge of their mason work for nine years, during which time most of the plant was erected, and since that time has engaged in contracting and building in this city. In addition to contracting he has held and improved a large amount of property by buying lots, erecting houses thereon, and then selling the same. In this way he has built about fifteen residences in the city, and has added materially to the prosperity of the city, as well as to its beauty. Although he began life for himself without capital he has by his own industry, persistency and good management accumulated a valuable property, and is now one of the prosperous and substantial citizens of Cedar Rapids. In his political affiliations he is a stanch Republican, and for two years he efficiently served as the second alderman from the fourth ward, but has never cared for official honors, preferring to give his undivided attention to his business interests. He and his wife attend the Baptist church, and enjoy the respect and esteem of all who know them.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 224-225.

Contributed by: Terry Carlson




GEORGE DALE (From 1911 Linn Co. history)

For thirty-seven years George Dale, who is now numbered among the honored dead of Cedar Rapids, was a resident of this city and he made a splendid record in business circles as a contractor and builder, who was held in equally high esteem in social circles and indeed among all who knew him for throughout his life he manifested the sterling qualities that devolved upon him. He was born in Union county, Pennsylvania, on the 28th of December, 1835, and was a son of Philip and Marie Dale, of German and English descent. In the year 1837 the parents left the Keystone state and removed to Ohio, where they lived for some time after which they went to Indiana, where their last days were passed.

George dale was a lad of only twelve yeas when left an orphan. he continued to reside in Indiana until he attained the age of nineteen years, and then walked from his home in that state to Cedar county, Iowa, where he med his uncle and soon afterward secured a position as a stage driver between Tipton and Davenport. This was in 1855 - a period antedating the era of rapid railroads in this state. He continued to drive stage for a year, after which he learned the mason's trade which he followed during the greater part of his life. Soon becoming an expert workman, he began contracting and building and erected many of the substantial structures of this city and always enjoyed an extensive patronage which he well merited. He was ever faithful to the terms of a contract, prompt and reliable in its execution and by honorable business methods won his success.

In 1857 Mr. Dale was married in Cedar county, Iowa, to Miss Ruth Doty, a native of Butler County, Ohio, born in 1838. Her parents were James M and Susan (Anderson) Doty, natives of New Jersey and Ohio respectively. In the year 1839 her father arrived in Linn county, Iowa, with his family and here resided until his death, which occurred in 1846. He and his brother Elias built a saw mill on Indian creek near Bertram, and there the brother was killed. James Doty afterward sold the mill in 1841 and laid out a town called Westport, which at the time was larger than Cedar Rapids. He was closely associated with the pioneer development and progress of the community and Linn county lost a valuable citizen at his death. Following her husband' demise in 1846, Mrs. Doty returned with her family to Indian and there resided until 1854, when she again came to Linn county. Subsequently she removed to Cherokee county, where she lived until her death in 1908, passing away at the remarkable old age of ninety-three years.

Mrs. Dale was one of a family of six children, all of whom are yet living with the exception of one sister. After her marriage she resided for a short time at Wilton Junction, and then they removed to Boone county, Iowa, where they resided for a year. In 1865 they became residents of Cedar Rapids and here Mr. Dale began contracting and building as a brick mason, being thereafter identified with the building operations and the substantial improvement of this city up to the time of his death.

The marriage of Mr.. and Mrs. Dale was blessed with six children: David C., now living in Golden, Colorado; Elizabeth, at home; Edmond G., who is located in Topeka, Kansas; John Allen, now at Nichols Junction, Iowa; Nina Laura, who has passed away; and Robert Burdette, and instructor in mechanical engineering in the State University at Iowa City. The death of the husband and father occurred March 20, 1902, and was deeply regretted by many friends as well as his immediate family. All who knew him respected and honored him for his sterling worth, for his life was in harmony with high and honorable principles of manhood and citizenship. He inspired the regard of his fellowmen because he was considered just and reliable, adopting as his rule of conduct those principles which in every land and clime awaken confidence an regard. Mrs. Dale now owns an attractive home at 1323 First avenue. She is a member of the Baptist Church, her well spent life being in harmony with its teachings.

Source: "History of Linn County Iowa - From its earliest settlement to the present time" Volume II, The pioneer publishing company 1911.

Contributed by: cralbrec@wi.rr.com




MAJOR JOHN DANCE

Although born on the other side of the Atlantic, Major Dance is thoroughly American in thought and feeling, and his patriotism and sincere love for the stars and stripes was manifested by his distinguished service in the Civil war. He is now an honored resident of Lisbon. A native of England, he was born in Sapperton, Lincolnshire, November 24, 1823, and is a son of Henry and Mary (Winslow) Dance, the former a native of Barram, Rutlandshire, the latter of Somerby, Lincolnshire. She was a grand niece of General Winslow of Revolutionary fame. Both parents died in England. In their family were nine children, of whom our subject is the eldest son, but all are now deceased with exception of the Major and two sisters, both residents of England.

Major Dance attended first the primary schools of his native land, and later the Brasby school, and the Newton subscription school, his education being completed at the age of twelve years. During the following two years he assisted his father on the home farm, and then commenced working for others as a farm hand, receiving fifteen dollars the first year and twenty-five dollars the second, out of which he saved enough to buy himself a good watch. He continued to work in that way for ten years.

On the 28th of May, 1849, Major Dance was married at his native place to Miss Phoebe Harriet Hodson, who was born at Handly Green, Staffordshire, England, January 23, 1819, a daughter of Jonathan and Ann (Moss) Hodson, also natives of England, the former born in Mecklesfield, while the latter was reared in Handly. The father was twice married and had fifteen children, none of whom came to America with the exception of Mrs. Dance. Unto our subject and his wife were born four children, namely: John Henry, born July 12, 1850, died the same day. Mary E., born July 12, 1851, is the wife of Captain James Treichler, of Orient, Adair county, Iowa. John Henry, born July 12, 1854, died August 7, 1860. Franklin W., born August 16, 1857, married Lizzie E. Beese and lives on the old homestead in Linn township, Cedar county, Iowa.

On the 4th of October, 1849, Major Dance and wife sailed from Liverpool, England, on the Old Java, a sailing vessel, which was seven weeks in crossing the Atlantic. On their arrival in New York they took a steamboat up the Hudson river to Albany, thence by railroad to Buffalo, and by the steamer Anthony Wayne to Cleveland. They then went to Kenton, Hardin county, Ohio, and located ten miles west of that place at Huntersville, where the Major operated a rented farm for a time. On the 3rd of October, 1851, he and his wife started for Iowa in a covered wagon, and reached Rochester on the 4th of November. There he rented a part of the George Moore farm until the following spring, when he entered eighty acres of wild land in Linn township, Cedar county, which he placed under a high state of cultivation, and to which he later added another eighty-acre tract. There he successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits until three days after the presidential election in November, 1888, when he removed to Lisbon, and has since lived a retired life.

Major Dance’s farming operations, however, were interrupted by his service in the Civil war. On the 24th of September, 1861,he enlisted in Company K, Eleventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, which was mustered in at Davenport, and then sent to St. Louis, and later to Jefferson City and California, Missouri, where they did patrol and scout duty for a time. Returning to St. Louis, they next went down the Mississippi and up the Ohio and Tennessee rivers to Pittsburg Landing, where they joined General McClernand’s division March 28, 1862. In the battle at that place on the 6th of April, Major Dance was wounded in the right arm by an ounce rifle ball, and was taken to the surgeon’s tent; but when he enemy began shelling the camp he and the other wounded were placed on a steamboat and taken to Evansville, Indiana, where he remained in the hospital for one month. He then received a furlough and returned home, where he remained until September 30, 1863. He was then made captain of Company K, Eight Iowa Calvary, and on the 17th of October was ordered to Louisville, Kentucky, where the regiment remained twelve days. They were then ordered to march to Nashville, a distance of two hundred and twenty miles, which they covered in twelve days, and there guarded the Nashville Railroad, which was being built, and patroled from that place to Waverly Landing, where the command went into camp, remaining there until March, 13, 1864. They then marched back to Nashville, where they were refitted with horses, arms and accoutrements, and then proceeded to Cleveland, Tennessee. On the 1st of May, 1864, the regiment was assigned to the First Brigade, First Division, commanded by General E. M. McCook, and started on the Atlantic campaign, being in almost constant action until the 27th of July, when they started on the McCook or Stoneman raid in the rear of Atlanta. They marched to Jonesboro, where they waited for the return of General Stoneman, but as he failed to appear General McCook had to fight his way out as best he could. They next went to Mariette, Georgia, which place Major Dance and seventeen men reached in safety, but four hundred of the command were either killed, wounded or captured by the rebels. They remained in camp at that place for six weeks, during which time four companies were collected under our subject’s command. Later they took part in the battles of Pulaski, Campbellsville, Florence, Columbus, Spring Hill, Franklin and Nashville, and then followed General Hood to Waterloo, Alabama, where they went into winter quarters, remaining there until March 22, 1865. They next went on the Wilson raid. At Montgomery, Alabama, the command was divided, and Major Dance’s brigade was detached and sent to Tuscaloosa, that state, to decoy General Jackson and West Adams so that General Wilson could succeed in his raid on Selma, Alabama. They found themselves between two rebel brigades, but fought their way to Tuscaloosa, where they destroyed a large amount of rebel property. They then continued on their way to Macon, Georgia, and meeting General Hill they captured his battery and three hundred men, besides destroying other rebel property. It was while on this march that they received the news of President Lincoln’s assassination. They reached Macon May 1, 1965, where they awaited the result of the armistice until the 13th of August, when they were mustered out of service. Major Dance then returned home with an army record of which he may be justly proud. He has always held some office in the Grand Army of the Republic, and is now an honored member of John A. Buck Post, No. 140, of Lisbon, and is also a member of Crocker’s Brigade of Iowa. Since the time he was wounded in battle the Major has always been a stanch supporter of the Republican party.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 120-124.

Contributed by: Carrie J. Robertson of Marion




Daniels Brothers:
Addison Daniels
Preston Daniels
Lowell Daniels
Lawson Daniels


There is probably no family in Cedar Rapids that has been more prominently identified with its development along many lines than the Daniels family, who have not only been actively connected with its business prosperity but have borne an important part in beautifying and upbuilding the city. There were four sons who came to Linn county at an early day, their father being Otis Daniels, who was born in Medway, Norfolk county, Massachusetts, April 14, 1786, and continued to make his home in his native state throughout life, his time and energies being devoted to agricultural pursuits. His ancestors, who were from Wales, became residents of Massachusetts in colonial times, and the family was well represented in the Revolutionary war. His father was one of the early settlers of Medway. In early manhood Otis Daniels wedded Jerusha Day, who was born in Wrentham, Massachusetts, May 13, 1790, and died in North Brookfield, that state, on the 14th of January, 1832. He also passed away at that place, October 24, 1843. They were the parents of nine children, all of whom are now deceased.



Addison Daniels, the oldest of the four brothers who became prominent business men of Linn county, Iowa, was born in Medway, Massachusetts, November 13, 1813, and was reared and educated in his native state, early becoming interested in mercantile pursuits there. When a young man he contracted the western fever and in the spring of 1840 started for St. Louis, Missouri, with a stock of goods, preparatory to establishing a store some place in the Mississippi valley. Having heard favorable reports of the territory of Iowa, he decided to look over the country while waiting for his goods to arrive and at Muscatine gained some knowledge of Linn county. He then proceeded to Iowa City, where he hired a horse, leaving his gold watch with the liveryman for security. Then on horseback he proceeded to Marion and, being pleased with the prospects of that place, contracted for the erection of a log building, and then returned to St. Louis for his goods, which had arrived in the meantime. It was in March, 1840, that he located here, opening the second store established in the place, the first being Conducted by the firm of Woodbridge & Thompson. The Daniels store was a rude log structure on the west side of Market street. His judgment, however, proved correct, and here he laid the foundation for a large fortune. As he prospered in his undertakings he invested largely in real estate in Marion and Cedar Rapids, having great faith in the future of these cities. He was one of the nine original proprietors of Cedar Rapids and is, therefore, deserving of honorable mention among its pioneers. He was the first postmaster of Marion and also served as the first county recorder of Linn county, entering upon the duties of that position in 1841. He was enterprising, sagacious and prudent in business transactions, and energetic and active to a remarkable degree. He was not addicted to tobacco or stimulants. and found the greatest excitement in his business ventures, which were many. As long as the name of Marion is remembered in history his name will endure, for it was largely to his influence and enterprise that the city owes its development. For forty-four years he was prominently identified with the business development and substantial upbuilding of Linn county and he was actively identified with railroad interests and many public enterprises. In his mercantile enterprise he was associated with his three brothers. The firm at Marion was known as A. Daniels & Brothers. In business affairs he was prompt and reliable, was pleasant in speech and manner and polite and cordial to all. After a useful and well spent life he passed away at his home in Marion in June, 1883. See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book. See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book.



ADDISON DANIELS

     ADDISON DANIELS, deceased, was a prominent pioneer merchant of Marion.  He was born in Medway, Mass., Nov. 13, 1813, and his early life was passed in his native State, engaged in mercantile pursuits.  He came to Iowa in March. 1810. and locating at Marion, he opened the second store that was established at that place, the first being by Woodbridge & Thompson.  Mr. Daniels' storeroom was a log structure, situated a few doors north of the northeast corner of the square, and on the west side of Market street.  There he sold large stocks of general merchandise for a liberal profit, and laid the foundation for the large fortune that he eventually accumulated.  The old log storeroom has been boarded over since those days, and is at present occupied as a cigar factory.  Mr. Daniels had great faith in the development of the country, and also of Cedar Rapids and Marion, and invested largely in real estate in those places, which rapidly increased in value and brought him large profits.  He started a large general store at Cedar Rapids, and also became extensively interested in milling.
    
Mr. Daniels was appointed the first Postmaster at Marion, and he was also the first County Recorder of Linn County, holding that position in 1841.  He was enterprising, sagacious and prudent in his business transactions, and was energetic and active to a remarkable degree, never consulting his ease and comfort to the detriment of his business.  He was not addicted to the use of tobacco or stimulants, but lived a temperate life.  His greatest excitement was found in his business ventures, and they were many.  At one time, it is said, he owned a large share of the original plat of Cedar Rapids.  He improved and retained much of it, which formed a material part of his wealth at the time of his death, and it is estimated that his estate aggregated at that time upward of $200,000.
    
Mr. Daniels saw the unbroken prairie transformed into beautiful farms, and the wigwams of the savage give place to the industrious homes of an intelligent and civilized yeomanry.  By his death the connecting link between the present citizenship and business of Marion and the wild, unbroken savagery of the unknown past is broken.  As long as the name of Marion shall be remembered in history his name will endure.  He was never married, but so greatly did he endear himself to his large circle of relatives that they readily accorded him all the household loves and titles of three generations, and were bound to him by ties as strong and endearing as domestic love can be.  His most distinctive characteristic was his love of business, and for a period of forty-four years lie was prominently identified with the business history of Linn County, its railway interests and public enterprises.  Probably no man played a more important part or achieved greater results than he in that direction.  He continued in mercantile pursuits up to the time of his death, having his brother Preston, and nephew, Addison L., as partners.  In May, 1882, in company with his brother Preston, and nephew, he organized the banking-house of A. Daniels & Co., which is now one of the solid monied institutions of the State, he died at his home in Marion, June 18, 1883.
   
Source: portrait and biographical sketch (verbatim transcription):  “Portrait and Biographical Album of Linn County, Iowa”, 1887, pages 237 - 238, portrait on page 236

Submitted by:  Eric & Marcia Griggs



Preston Daniels, who was in business with his brother Addison, was born in North Brookfield, Massachusetts, December 16, 1819, and remained a resident of his native state until twenty-five years of age, receiving in the meantime a good common-school education. It was in 1846 that he came to Marion, Iowa, and joined his brother in the mercantile business, also establishing a branch house at Cedar Rapids with his brothers Lowell and Lawson as partners. In May, 1883, in company with A. L. Daniels, he organized a private bank under the name of A. Daniels & Company, of which Preston became president. On the 12th of February, 1849, he was united in marriage to Miss Mary A. Keys, a daughter of Amory and Lovisa (Cheadle) Keys, the former a native of Massachusetts and the latter of Windsor, Ohio. Three children blessed this union, a son and two daughters, namely: Addison L., manager of the Central Park Fuel Company; Caroline, the wife of B. F. Mentzer, a merchant of Marion; and Adeliza, who resides in Marion with her mother. By his ballot Preston Daniels supported the men and measures of the republican party, and, although he took no active part in political affairs, was recognized as one of the most publicspirited and enterprising citizens of the community. In religious faith he was a Congregationalist and his earthly career was ended December 22, 1897, at Marion. See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book. See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book.

Lowell Daniels, the third brother of this quartet, was born in North Brookfield, Massachusetts, on the 25th of February, 1822, and passed away November 7, 1876. He was conspicuous among the early merchants of Cedar Rapids, where he began business with his oldest brother, Addison, in 1846, later being joined by Lawson, the firm becoming famous under the title of L. Daniels & Company. They had one of the first brick stores west of the Mississippi river. Lowell Daniels was a born merchant, possessing a quick and discerning mind and ready and willing hands to meet the many varied wants of his customers. He also possessed great tact and diplomacy, combined with shrewd sagacity, and to these characteristics may be attributed his success. In 1854 he married Miss Harriette S. Weare, the youngest daughter of John and Cynthia (Ashley) Weare, who is still living, being now one of the oldest pioneers of Linn county. Mr. Daniels was a man of excellent taste, a model of propriety and always maintained good order in both his home and store. He was naturally an optimist, who brought sunshine wherever he went, and was a great admirer of fine homes, always keeping several of the best, which he treated as pets. His death was the occasion of deep and widespread regret, both in business and social circles and outside the family there were many who felt stricken with a personal bereavement when he passed away. See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book.

Lawson Daniels, the youngest of the four brothers, was one of the men who were most active in inaugurating and shaping the business policy and commercial development of Cedar Rapids. His demise, therefore, removed from the city one whom it could ill afford to lose, a man whose strength of purpose and undaunted energy found expression in the development of business concerns whose magnitude made them not only a source of individual profit but also an element in the city’s growth. Lawson Daniels was also born in North Brookfield, on the 4th of October, 1827, and was reared and educated in the east. At the age of fourteen years he went to Springfield. Massachusetts, where he attended school for two years and then obtained a position as clerk in the book store and publishing house of G. & C. Merriam, remaining there two years. He then returned to Brookfield, where he was employed as clerk in a general store until the fall of 1848, which witnessed his arrival in Iowa. He settled in Cedar Rapids, where he joined his brother Lowell in a general store. This was the second mercantile firm in the city and their place of business was located on what is now First avenue, where the Masonic Temple stands. At that time the store was considered the finest in Linn county. As time passed he became identified with other business enterprises of importance and in 1883, in company with others, organized the Cedar Rapids Savings Bank, of which he became one of the heaviest stockholders, and up to the time of his death served as vice president of the bank, he was also the first postmaster of the city, serving in that office from 1849 to 1854. See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book.

On the 26th of July 1882, Mr. Daniels married his brother’s widow, Mrs. Harriette S. Daniels, a daughter of John and Cynthia (Ashley) Weare, natives of New Hampshire. (See Weare family record.) Her father was the first justice of the peace of Cedar Rapids and the family was prominently identified with the early development and upbuilding of the city. Mrs. Daniels now resides at No. 627 Second avenue, but spends her winters in California. She is an active member of the First Presbyterian church of this city, to which her husband also belonged. She is still a very active, bright and vivacious woman, with a great fund of interesting reminiscences and has a delightful way of narrating them. She was born in Derby Line, Vermont, August 1, 1829, and is today the oldest surviving pioneer of Linn county. She was educated in the celebrated Mount Holyoke Female Seminary at South Hadley, Massachusetts, and, having enjoyed the advantages of the most cultivated society since she completed her education and having traveled extensively in her own country and abroad, her mind is well stored with information and anecdotes which make her a welcome and entertaining visitor and hostess. Her home is comfortable and attractive within and without and there hospitality reigns supreme. It was the lifelong scheme of Lowell and Lawson Daniels to present the city with a park, which was accordingly done and is now known as the beautiful Daniels Park, Mrs. Daniels recently adding five and a half acres to its extent. This act makes the park complete and will long perpetuate the name of Daniels as a synonym for noble deeds, actions and thoughts.

Lawson Daniels was one of the stockholders in the company that gave the city its water works and by taking stock he also assisted in completing the Chicago, Iowa & Nebraska Railroad, now a part of the Northwestern system, from Clinton to Cedar Rapids. He was secretary of the Cedar Rapids Bridge Company and also secretary of the Cedar Rapids Transportation Company during its existence. having firm faith in the development and prosperity of his adopted state, he bought large tracts of land in various counties throughout Iowa.

In his political views Mr. Daniels was a republican and up to the time of his death was an ardent admirer of Theodore Roosevelt. He was ever public-spirited and progressive, willing to give aid to any object which he believed would advance the interests of his city and county, and was a tireless worker in the interests of Coe College. He was a heavy stockholder in the Oak Hill cemetery and served as secretary of that company from its organization until in later life he was made president of the same. The new entrance to the cemetery was one of his pet schemes and it was carried out after his death by a provision in his will and it now stands as a memorial to a long and honorable career. He was one of the board of trustees of the Old Ladies home, which he substantially aided a great many times. After a useful and well spent life, he passed away on the 16th of June, 1906, leaving a host of friends and acquaintances to mourn his loss. As one of the pioneer business men of Cedar Rapids he bore a very prominent part in its development and prosperity, and in his death the community realized that it had lost a valued citizen.

In speaking of him Mr. Weare, the esteemed pioneer of Cedar Rapids, said: "You don’t know how much good that brother-in-law of mine does in the world. He doesn’t advertise his benevolences, but he gives away much more money than you or most people know.’’ One of his closest friends said in telling of his many acts of charity and helpfulness, of his patience and self-restraint under unjust criticism: ‘‘After twenty-four years of intimate association with Mr. Daniels I deeply feel his death. His was a quiet nature but his friendship was enduring. To his friends and all those in need he was generous, to all others just. He was a man with no resentment in his make-up, uncomplaining, with a belief that time evened all differences better than man can do it. In all these years I never heard him unkindly criticize anyone, yet in his reserve he was misunderstood. A close acquaintanceship with such men is a privilege. There will be the sincerest sorrow over his death in the hearts of those who knew him best.” See additional biography from Rev. George R. Carroll's book.

Source: History of Linn County Iowa From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time, Vol. II, Chicago, 1911. Pages 60-65.

Contributed by: Terry Carlson




A. K. DAVIS

This gentleman, who is now spending the closing years of a long and useful life free from business cares at his pleasant home in Marion, was for over thirty years prominently identified with railroad contracting, and was also engaged in mercantile pursuits in Marion for a time, but is now living retired. He was born in York county, Maine, on the 30th of July, 1829, and is a son of Thomas and Mary (Durgin) Davis, both natives of Newfield, that state. Throughout life the father followed the occupation of farming and continued to make his home in the old Pine Tree state until called to his final rest in August, 1852, at the age of fifty-two years and five months. He was widely and favorably known and was a worthy representative of an old Maine family. His father, Daniel Davis, served as a private in the Revolutionary war for several years. The mother of our subject died at the home of her son Thomas M. in Missouri in 1871, at the age of sixty-five years. Of the ten children of the family our subject is second in order of birth. The others who are still living are Thomas M., of Missouri; and Osborn, of the state of Washington.

During his early life A. K. Davis pursued his studies in the district schools of Maine, and aided in the work of the farm until after reaching manhood. Coming west in 1856, he located on a farm in Clinton county, Iowa, which he operated for several years. At the same time he also engaged in railroad construction in Illinois, and later rented his farm and gave his entire time and attention to the latter business. He helped build the Chicago & Northwestern road; the Sioux City road in 1867; and in 1870 built the first thirty miles of the Sabula, Ackley & Dakota Railroad, now part of the St. Paul system. Later in 1870 he built the first ten miles of the Iowa Midland, from Clinton to Lyons; and a part of the road from Ottowa to Hedrick in 1882, employing many operatives. In 1887 he built a part of the branch of the B. & M. road in Cheyenne and Rawlins counties, Kansas, but since then has largely lived retired. In 1875 he removed to Marion and has since made this place his home. He first engaged in the hardware business, in which he continued for four years, when he sold out, and has practically since lived retired.

Mr. Davis was married, in 1857, the lady of his choice being Miss Octavia Challies, also a native of York county, Maine, and a daughter of Sumner and Susan Challies, life-long residents of that state. The father, who was a farmer and miller by occupation, died in 1871, aged sixty-four years, and the mother passed away in 1895, aged ninety-seven. They had seven children, of whom only two now survive, these being Mrs. Davis, and Albion, a resident of Maine. Mr. and Mrs. Davis have two children: Arathusa S., at home; and Tulliar J., a sketch of who appears on another page of this volume. He married Nellie Elliott, of Mariona, and they have four children, Laverna, Esther, Priscilla and T.J. Elliott.

Mr. Davis is a prominent Mason, having taken the thirty-second degree, and his wife holds membership in the Congregational church. His active business life shows him to have been a man of enterprise and public spirit, and as a pioneer railroad builder he materially aided in opening up a large amount of territory for civilization. After a well-spent and useful life he can well afford to lay aside all business cares and enjoy the fruits of former toil, surrounded by a loving family and a large circle of friends and acquaintances who appreciate his sterling worth.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 65-66.

Contributed by: Carrie J. Robertson of Marion




GEORGE W. DAVIS

Just across the line in Greenfield township, Jones county, Iowa, in a quiet cottage behind an evergreen grove, we find the subject of this biography, who is now living a retired life. He was born in County Donegal, Ireland, December 23, 1843, a son of George and Susannah (Fisher) Davis, natives of the same county, where they continued to make their home until their emigration to America in October, 1854. The family took passage at Londonderry, Ireland, on the sailing vessel Creole, and were upon the water for twelve weeks, during which time they encountered some terrific storms and it was supposed that the vessel would go down.

In fact the vessel was reported lost. They lost two passengers, but the others landed safely in Philadelphia. The Davis family settled in that city, where the father of our subject died in April, 1856. In the fall of the same year the mother and children came to Iowa and took up their residence in Jones county, where she made her home for many years, dying there in 1895, aged eighty-six years. Her remains were interred in the Linn Grove cemetery. She was a devout member of the Presbyterian church, to which her husband also belonged.

Of the eleven children born to this worthy couple nine are still living, namely: James, a retired farmer and veteran of the Civil war, wedded Mary Ann Clark and resides in Mt. Vernon, Iowa; Thomas F. married Jane Kepler, and is also a retired farmer of Mt. Vernon; William married Ruth Fisher and is living retired in Cedar Rapids; Martha was the wife of John McPherson, of Jones county, Iowa, who is now deceased; Ruth is the wife of John W. Fink, of Lisbon; George W., our subject, is next in order of birth; Belle is the wife of Daniel Connor, who lives near Mechanicsville, Cedar county, Iowa; Jane is the wife of John F. Oldham, of Pierre, Oklahoma; and John A. wedded Jude Chapman, who was born in the old court house at Marion, and resides in Dorchester, Nebraska.

Mr. Davis of this review attended the national schools of Ireland until the family came to the United States, and for one year pursued his studies in the schools of Philadelphia. He then worked in a cotton and woolen factory for the same length of time. When the family came to Iowa in 1856, he found employment with Samuel Pfoutz, two and one-half miles north of Lisbon, where he worked for his board and clothes until the following spring, and then went to Linn Grove, where he worked for Abner Lacock for forty dollars per year and his clothes, remaining with him two years. The following year he was in the employ of Ed Clark, and then returned to his former employer, for whom he worked until the Civil war broke out.

In July, 1861, at the age of seventeen years, Mr. Davis offered his services to the government, joining the boys in blue of Company I, Second Iowa Veteran Volunteer Cavalry, under command of Captain D. E. Coon, of Mason City, Iowa. Owing to the age of our subject he was obliged to tell a patriotic fib in order to be mustered in. After being mustered into the United States service at Davenport, the regiment was sent to Benton Barrack, St. Louis, in December, 1861, where they remained until February, 1862. While here they were on scout duty and sixty of the members died from measles.

They were then ordered to Island No. 10, under command of General John Pope, which they assisted in capturing and they were the first troops on the Kentucky side of the river. There were captured six thousand prisoners, one million five hundred thousand dollars worth of stores, and the Second Iowa captured a rebel flag on which was the inscription "Mississippi Devils, presented by the ladies." After the defeat at Shiloh they were sent up the Tennessee river to Pittsburg Landing, where they were placed under the command of General Hallick, who was advancing on Corinth, and they made the charge on the rebel army at that place under General Hatch, May 9, 1862. The opposing force was so great that they were driven back, but saved Paine's division.

They were the first troops to enter Corinth after the evacuation of the city, May 19. At twelve o'clock one night that summer they made the first cavalry raid of the war, under Colonel Washington L. Elliott, who was a graduate of West Point and had served seventeen years in the regular army. They also took part in the battle of Booneville, where Sheridan with the Second Iowa and Second Michigan Cavalry defeated eight thousand rebels, and was there made brigadier general. After this engagement the Second Iowa Cavalry moved back to Rienzi, and our subject was detailed as orderly for General Sheridan, having previously been messenger boy for General Elliott and General Granger, being chosen out of twenty-seven hundred men in his command, which was quite an honor. Three months later he rejoined his command, and on the 5th of September they broke camp at Rienza and returned to Corinth, where General Rosecrans was then in command.

They next went to Payton's Mills in pursuit of General Faulkner, where they participated in the battle at that place, and then moved back to Iuka to support the Fifth Iowa Infantry. There they stood to horse all night in a drenching rain. About midnight General Rosecrans called a council of brigade commanders, and gave the command to move at daybreak, the infantry with bayonets fixed and the cavalry with drawn sabers, not a shot to be fired. It was expected that General Grant would support them. The rebels retreated during the night, and the Union troops followed them twenty miles and made a stand at two o'clock next day. After this engagement Generals Price and Van Dorn united their armies and moved north.

The result was the two days battle at Corinth on October 1 and 2, 1862, and the rebels were defeated. Here Mr. Davis was wounded in the ankle and sent to the Keokuk, Iowa, hospital, where he remained thirty days. Deserting the hospital, he went down the Mississippi river on a steamer to Vicksburg, and rejoined his regiment, which formed Grant's advance guard on Vicksburg at Grant Junction. They were next in an engagement with Colonel Faulkner at Holly Springs, November 29, and captured thirty horses and sixty men. On the 2d of December they crossed the Tallahatchee river and moved on Springdale, Mississippi, and from there went to Water Valley, where they lost three men and six horses. They next proceeded to Oxford, Mississippi.

After landing at Ponnetock they went back to Holly Springs, and retreated northward December 22, as Colonel Van Dorn had burned the supplies. The brigade to which our subject belonged returned to Coffeeville, participating in the battle there, after which they commenced destroying the Mississippi Central Railroad, being the rear guard of General Grant's army. They retreated as far as the Tallahatchee river and then went into winter quarters at La Grange, Tennessee, where they built log houses. In the spring of 1863 they went to Waterford, Mississippi, where they were surrounded by the Texas Legion, but were rescued by citizens who notified the brigade and they escaped back to La Grange. In March our subject's regiment marched three hundred and sixty miles, and were placed under the command of General B. H. Grierson, who started to cut the railroad communication of the rebels.

On the 21st of April they went to Palalto, and from there to Columbus. Mr. Davis' regiment returned to La Grange, where they remained all summer. On the 5th of June they went on a raid down the Mississippi river and nine days later marched into Panola, Mississippi, where they burned fifteen million dollars worth of property. On the 1st of July they were ordered to Jackson, and after taking part in the battle at that place returned to La Grange. Later they captured six locomotives and twenty-five cars at Granada, which town the rebels surrendered August 27, 1863. Two months were then spent in camp at Memphis, Tennessee, and in November went to Colliersville, taking part in an engagement at that place, defeating the rebels under General Gorge.

They went to Oxford, Mississippi, December 4, and subsequently took part in the battle at Moscow, where their commander, General Hatch, was shot through the right lung. Here the rebels numbered five thousand and the Union forces only thirteen hundred. Marching back to La Grange, a distance of about thirty-five miles they broke camp January 1, 1864, and two days later reached Memphis, where they slept that night on the frozen ground. They remained there until February 5, when they joined General W. S. Smith at Germantown, Tennessee, and started to join General Sherman's command at Meridian, it being their intention to form a large cavalry force to march through the Confederacy, but they were met and defeated by the rebels. they were soon in a part of the Confederacy which was still rich with provisions.

At West Point, Mississippi, February 21, General Smith ordered a retreat to Okolona, and the fighting became severe, the rebels having eight thousand soldiers and the Union troops numbering only four thousand. As Mr. Davis' time had expired he re-enlisted in the same regiment at Germantown, being determined to see the end of the war. He then returned to Davenport by way of St. Louis and was given a thirty-day furlough. He rejoined his command May 15 at Davenport, Iowa, and returned to St. Louis, where they received new equipment, whence they went to Memphis. They were then armed with the Spencer seven-shot carbines. They took part in the battle of Tupalo under General A. J. Smith and Brigadier-General B. H. Grierson and several skirmishes, and then returned to Memphis, where they remained until the 2nd of August, and from there went to Grand Junction and Waterford to rebuild the railroad to Oxford, Mississippi.

After their return to Memphis they were ordered to join General Sherman on his march to the sea. At Clifton, however, the order was countermanded, and they were ordered to report to General Thomas, who was sent to repel General Hood, and joined his forces near Columbia, Tennessee. General Hood advanced on Nashville with forty-five thousand infantry, fifteen thousand cavalry and ninety pieces of artillery, while the Union forces had only four thousand cavalry in his front, and a small army of infantry and artillery. Our subject's regiment on its retreat to Nashville took part in the engagements at Campbellville, Linnville, Mt. Carmel, Duck River, Shelbyville, Pike, and Franklin, on the 29th of November, when the rebels lost five generals and six thousand troops.

The cavalry forces retreated across the Cumberland river to Edgefield, where the mercury was ten degrees below zero, with no wood. On December 2 they re-crossed to Nashville, and for three days camped in two feet of mud. On the morning of December 15 the battle of Nashville was opened and our subject's regiment captured a fort which Hood had left fifteen minutes previous with the instructions to hold the fort at all hazards, and later captured another fort. On the 25th of December General Spaulding of the Twelfth Tennessee, called for two hundred volunteers to follow Hood and harass the rear of his army, and Mr. Davis was among the number to respond and go with Major Horton, of the Second Iowa Cavalry.

On the 1st of January 1865, the regiment was ordered to Huntsville, and later to Eastport, Mississippi. It was very cold fording the rivers and the troops suffered severely. They went into winter quarters at Gravelly Springs, Alabama. On the 11th of April they received news of General Lee's surrender, and five days later came the sad news of President Lincoln's assassination. Mr. Davis was finally mustered out September 17, 1865, at Selma, Alabama, and returned to Davenport, where he was honorably discharged October 9, 1865. During the entire time he was in the service he was never reprimanded by an officer, and was offered a commission in a colored regiment at Memphis, Tennessee, but declined, as he did not want to leave his comrades.

In October, of the same year, we again find him a resident of Linn county, where he worked by the month one year. In 1867 he bought the farm which he now occupies, it being at that time, however, an eighty acre tract of unbroken prairie land in Greenfield township, Jones county, which he at once proceeded to place under cultivation. He has added to his landed possessions until he now has three hundred and sixty five acres of very valuable and productive land, on which he has erected two good houses and three immense barns, together with other outbuildings. He raises Durham cattle and Poland China hogs, and also a high grade of horses. He not only feeds all of the grain raised on his own land to his stock, but one year was forced to buy ten thousand bushels for the same purpose.

At Anamosa, Iowa, September 16, 1868, Mr. Davis married Miss Anis Jones, who was born in Indiana September 2, 1850, and came to Iowa in 1863 with her parents, Thomas and Jane Jones, who were reared and married in Lawrence county, Indiana. The family settled in Jones county, Iowa, where Mr. Jones died in May, 1880, his remains being interred at Walnut Grove. He had nine children, namely: Elmira, wife of Riley Jones, of Wall Lake, Calhoun county, Iowa; Mary, a resident of Doniphan, Nebraska, who first married Joseph McDowell and second Ephraim Jones; Henry, who married Jane Barnett, now deceased, and resides in Montezuma, Iowa; Cenith, wife of Amerson Johnson, of Jefferson, Iowa; Anis, wife of our subject; Manford, who married Martha De Walt and lives at Grand Junction, Iowa; Millie, wife of John Young, of Laporte City, Iowa; Amy, who died at the age of twenty-four years; and Della, wife of Frank Griffith, of Grand Junction, Iowa.

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Davis were born six children, as follows: (1) Thomas U., born September 13, 1869, assists his father in the operation of the home farm. (2) Harry E., born November 14, 1870, in Jones county, was educated in the district schools, and now conducts a part of the old homestead farm. He was married, at Climax, Michigan, December 19, 1900 to Hattie E. Card, who was born at that place December 13, 1871, and is the oldest in a family of four children, her parents being Daniel W. and Rose (Eldred) Card, natives of New York. Harry E. and his wife attend the Reformed church of Lisbon. (3) Lottie Jane, born September 20, 1872, is the wife of Philip Mohn, a farmer of Greenfield township, Jones county, Iowa, and they have two children, Ora R. and Conrad D. (4) George, born December 20, 1874, married Mina Weston and lives in Greenfield township, Jones county, (5) Ira L., born November 3, 1876, is also a resident of that township on a part of our subject's farm. He married Ida Abel and they have one son, Harold. (6) Ora May, born August 29, 1883, is at home with her father. The mother of these children, who was a most estimable woman, died September 4, 1898, and was laid to rest in the Lisbon cemetery.

Religiously Mr. Davis holds membership in the Reformed church, and socially is a member of John A. Buck Post, No. 140, G.A.R., of which he is past commander, and Franklin Lodge, Iowa Legion of Honor, of Lisbon. As a Republican he has always taken an active part in local politics; has filled a number of township offices, including that of road supervisor and president of the school board; while serving in that capacity he raised the first flag on the school house that was ever raised in Greenfield township, and has been the candidate of his party for the legislature.

He was one of the charter members of the Farmers Institute at Lisbon and served as president for two terms. He also bought the first toll of barbed wire that was ever sold in Lisbon, for which he paid seventeen cents per pound. He is one of the most prominent and influential men of his community, and is held in the highest esteem by all who knew him. At the reunion of the Grand Army of the Republic at Washington, D. C., in 1892, he commanded a platoon as the parade passed down Pennsylvania avenue, in which marched three congressmen.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 382-389.




JAMES DAVIS

Among those who valiantly fought for the preservation of the Union during the dark days of the Civil war were many who were only adopted sons of America. To this class belonged James Davis, who is now living a retire life in Mt. Vernon. He was born in County Donegal, Ireland, August 12, 1829, his parents being George and Susannah (Fisher) Davis, natives of the same county, who emigrated to America in October, 1854. They landed in Philadelphia, and made their home in that city until the father’s death in the spring of 1856. The following fall the mother and children removed to Jones county, Iowa, where she died in 1894. Both parents were faithful members of the Presbyterian church. Of the eleven children born to them nine are still living, namely: James, of this review, is the oldest; Thomas F. married Jane Kepler and is a retired farmer of Mt. Vernon; William married Ruth Fisher and is a retired farmer of Cedar Rapids; Martha is the wife of John McPherson, of Jones county, Iowa; Ruth is the wife of John Fink, of Lisbon; George W. is represented on another page of this volume; Belle is the wife of Daniel Connor, who lives near Mechanicsville, Cedar county, Iowa; Jane is the wife of John Oldham, of Pierre, Oklahoma; and John A., born in the old court house at Marion, wedded Jude Chapman and resides in Dorchester, Nebraska.

James Davis received but a limited education in the public schools of his native land. In 1848, in company with his brother Thomas, he came to the United States, and spent some time in Philadelphia, where he engaged in teaming. He then came to Mt. Vernon, Iowa, in 1852, and was engaged in farming upon rented land until the Civil war broke out.

Mr. Davis enlisted in Company F, Thirteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and after being mustered in at Davenport went to Jefferson Barracks, St. Louis, and from there to Cairo. With his command he next went up the Tennessee river by steamboat and landed at Hamburg Landing. They took part in a number of skirmishes and the battle of Corinth under General Halleck. They were next in the engagement at Jacinto, and then marched back to Corinth, and later went into winter quarters at La Grange. In the spring they were with General Grant in Mississippi, proceeding as far as Abbeyville, and then returned to La Grange, where they remained four months. They next joined little Phil Sheridan, and took part in the battles of Bonneville and Johnstown. On the 11th of October, 1864, Mr. Davis received an honorable discharge and returned to Mt. Vernon and resumed farming. After his marriage he operated a farm belonging to his wife, three miles west of Mt. Vernon, and remained there for twenty years. On selling the place at the end of that time he removed to Mt. Vernon, and has since lived retired on account of ill health.

At Springville, Iowa, January 23, 1868, Mr. Davis was united in marriage with Miss Mary Ann Clark, who was born in Loraine county, Ohio, December 7, 1837. Her parents, Oliver and Electa (Wilcox) Clark, were born, reared and married in Connecticut. Later they spent some time in Ohio, and in 1840 came to Iowa, locating on a farm in Franklin township, Linn county, two miles west of Mt. Vernon, making their home there until death. The father died January 13, 1871, and the mother passed away January 13, 1881. They had twelve children, namely: Julia married Elisha Williams, and both died in Franklin township; Julius was killed in the war of the Rebellion; Oliver, deceased, married Barbara Brice, who lives on a farm in Franklin township; Jane married Chauncey Neal of Linn township, and both are now deceased; Luther, deceased, married Mildred Wilhoit, a resident of Franklin township; Elizabeth married Thomas Maclehenny, and both are now dead; Huldah married Dennis Tryon of California, and both are now deceased; David wedded Mary Ann Boxwell, and resides in Linn Grove; Edwin married Margaret Jordan and resides near Marion; on died in infancy; Mary Ann is the wife of our subject; and Caroline is the wife of Jacob Easterly, of Kossuth county, Iowa.

Politically Mr. Davis is identified with the Republican party, and socially is a member of W. C. Dimmick Post, G. A. R., of Mt. Vernon. He and his wife attend the Presbyterian church, and are people of the highest respectability who have a large circle of friends and acquaintances in Linn county.

Source: The Biographical Record of Linn County Iowa, Illustrated, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, pages 92-4.

Submitted by: Carrie J. Robertson of Marion




TUILLAR J. DAVIS

In proportion to its population, Linn county has within its borders as large a number of prominent business and professional men as any county in the state, and among the representative business men none stand higher in the estimation of the public than the subject of this sketch, who is the manager and proprietor of the T. J. Davis Lumber Co., and vice president of the Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Marion. He was born in York county, Main, July 26, 1864, and is the son of Albion K. and Octavia (Challis) Davis, both of whom were natives of the same state.

In his native state Albion K. Davis was first engaged in agricultural pursuits, and later was manager of a saw and grist mill, at which occupation he continued until his removal to Clinton county, Iowa, where he purchased a farm and for five years was engaged in farming. Selling his farm, he then returned to Maine, and as is generally the case with those who once coming west and partaking of its spirit, he was not content, and so he came again to Iowa, and for ten years was engaged as a railroad contractor, his first work being in the construction of the Sabula, Ackley & Dakota Railroad, which was then principally owned and controlled by Alexander Mitchell and S. S. Merrill, afterwards long connected with the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, and who succeeded in building up that system.

The portion constructed by Mr. Davis is now known as the Savannah and Marion division of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad. After the close of his ten years in railroad building, he went into the mercantile business at Marion, Iowa, in which line he continued for many years. He is now, at the age of seventy-two years, living a retired life in the city of Marion, and with his wife and daughter, Artheusa, attend the Congregational church, of which they are each members. Fraternally he is a thirty-second-degree Mason. During almost his entire life he has been a hard working and industrious man, and it was not until he was seventy-one years old did he lay aside business cares.

The subject of this sketch was the youngest of two children, and in the public schools of Marion received his education. Leaving school at the age of sixteen years, he went into the First National Bank of the late R. D. Stevens, in the spring of 1881, and there remained six years, serving in various capacities, and getting a thorough knowledge of the banking business. From the bank he went into the grocery business with W. J. Collar, and under the firm name of Collar & Davis the business was continued for two years.

Selling his interest in the grocery store, Mr. Davis then embarked in the lumber trade as a member of the Elliott & Davis Lumber Co., his partner being Johnston Elliott, his father-in-law. That business relation was continued for five years when Mr. Elliott sold his interest and Mr. Fulkerson became a partner, and the business was continued under the firm name of the Davis & Fulkerson Lumber Co. Three years later Mr. Fulkerson retired and Mr. Davis became sole proprietor, the business being continued under the name of the T. J. Davis Lumber Co.

In 1894, the Farmers and Merchants Bank was organized, Mr. Davis being one of the principal men in its formation. For two years he gave much of his time to the active management of the bank, and is now serving as vice-president. He is the largest stockholder in the bank, which is one of the best in Linn County. At the time the bank was organized a Building and Loan Association was also incorporated, and for the first two years Mr. Davis was its president, since which time he has served as treasurer. He is also treasurer of the local telephone company, which has been in existence for three years.

On the 14th of December, 1887, Mr. Davis was united in marriage with Miss Nellie Elliott, a native of New York, and daughter of Johnston Elliott, Jr., and by this union four children have been born - Laverna E., aged twelve, Esther P., aged ten, Priscilla M., aged seven, and J. Elliott, aged one. The parents are members of the Congregational church, in which Mr. Davis has served at different times in various official positions.

Fraternally Mr. Davis is a Mason of high degree, and is now serving as worshipful master of the blue lodge, of Marion. He has at different times served his lodge as delegate to the Grand Lodge of the state and is now a member of the Finance Committee, of the Grand Lodge. Since its organization in 1894, he has been secretary of the Masonic Temple Association. He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

Mr. Davis is a very busy man, enterprising in the highest degree. While his lumber interests requires the greater part of his time he gives much attention to the real estate business in which he is quite extensively interested, and also to the banking business. As administrator of the estate of Johnston Elliott, Jr., he has had much labor to perform. No man in Marion has done more for its business and commercial interests in the past twenty years than Mr. Davis. No enterprise calculated to advance the interest of his adopted city and county but finds in him a steadfast friend. His pluck, push and energy has brought him to the front in business circles, and his friends are numerous throughout Linn and adjoining counties.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 533-534.




BURT R. DAY

Burt R. Day, general manager for the Cook-Lawrence Company, wholesale dealers in crockery, glassware, etc., of Cedar Rapids, was born at Oak Creek, now South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, August 26, 1866. His father was E. T. B. Day, a native of Massachusetts, born in 1835. He married Miss Laura E. Packard, a native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, who is now residing in Janesville, that state.

Burt R. Day pursued his education in the country schools and public schools at Appleton, Wisconsin, and at an early age began work on the farm but after three years decided to learn a trade and selected that of book-binding, beginning at Waterloo, Iowa. After six months, however, he gave up the idea and turned his attention to merchandising, entering the employ of the Cook-Lawrence Company of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, in 1884, as errand boy at five dollars per week. He has continuously remained with this house to the present time, covering a period of twenty-six years, his fidelity and industry winning him promotion as the years have passed until he now has entire management of what is one of the largest wholesale crockery and glassware houses in Iowa. No further comment need be made upon his ability and his fidelity for those facts are self-evident. He has watched every opportunity pointing to success and with untiring effort and devotion has labored to promote the interests of the house which he represents, at the same time winning for himself a creditable name and reputation in the business circles of the city.

In 1890 Mr. Day was married to Miss Carrie L. Laphin of Cedar Rapids and unto them have been born five children: Margaret, Pauline, Helen A., Burton H., Dorothy E., all attending school; and John D. Mr. Day votes with the republican party where national issues are involved but is allied with the independent movement at city elections, a movement which is one of the hopeful signs of the times, indicating that thinking men will no longer submit to party rule when the question is only one of the capability of the candidate to perform the business of the office. He holds membership in the Presbyterian church but attends the services of the Episcopal church with his wife who is a member thereof. Fraternally he is connected with the Elks, the Woodmen of the World and Commercial Club, and he possesses that quality of good fellowship which makes for popularity.

Source: History of Linn County Iowa, From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time, Vol. II, Chicago, The Pioneer Publishing Company, 1911, p. 27.

Submitted by: Terry Carlson




THOMAS J. DECK

Thomas Jefferson Deck, a well-to-do citizen of Linn township, who owns and operates a good farm of eighty acres on section 36, was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, March 30, 1835, and is a son of Daniel and Catherine (Stam) Deck. The father was a native of the same county, and a tailor by trade, following that occupation throughout his active business life. He was a prosperous and progressive man of his day, and a consistent member of the Reformed church. He died at his home in Pennsylvania in 1854, at the age of fifty-two years. Subsequently his widow came to Iowa and made her home with our subject until her death, which occurred in March, 1896, when she had reached the advanced age of eighty-five years. Her remains were interred at Lisbon. She, too, was a faithful member of the Reformed church, and a most estimable lady. There were only two children in the family, our subject being the older. His sister, Louisa, still resides on the old homestead in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, having purchased it from the estate. The paternal grandfather of our subject, George Deck, was a native of Pennsylvania, where he lived and died. When the Mexican war broke out he was a young man, and feeling that the country needed his services he enlisted and served all through the war.

Thomas Deck was reared and educated in the county of his nativity, and remained there until coming to Iowa in 1869, when he took up his residence in Jones county. There he engaged in farming upon rented land for one year, but in 1870 came to Linn county and purchased forty acres in Franklin township, where he lived for seven years. On the expiration of that period he sold the place and purchased his present farm on section 36, Linn township, it being his home ever since. He has made nearly all of the improvements upon the place, including the erection of a large and pleasant residence, which is surrounded by a well-kept lawn and enclosed by a beautiful cedar hedge. Religiously he is a member of the Reformed church, and politically is identified with the Democracy.

In September, 1861, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Deck and Miss Mary Reese, who was also born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and was a daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Heller) Reese. Her parents spent their entire lives as farming people in that county, and both died at an advanced age. In their family were six children, three of whom are now living. Mrs. Deck died on the home farm in Linn township June 28, 1897, and was laid to rest in the Lisbon cemetery. She was an earnest member of the Reformed church, a devoted wife and loving mother. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Deck were born five children, namely: (1) Lilly is the wife of Elmer Daubeumier, of Mt. Vernon, and they have two children, Oleto and Earl. (2) Ida is the wife of Phillip Kafer, a farmer of Springville, Linn county, and they have one child, Edith. (3) Sarah is the wife of Grant Kafer, a brother of Philip, and a farmer of Franklin township. (4) Victor is aiding his father in the operation of the home farm. (5) Mabel is also at home.

Source: The Biographical Record of Linn County Iowa, Illustrated, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, pages 369-370.

Submitted by: Terry Carlson




AMOS DIEHL

It was in the fall of 1867 that Amos Diehl came to Cedar Rapids, and with its interests he has since been closely identified. In business affairs he has prospered during his residence here and is now able to spend his last years in east and comfort, free from the worries and trials of business life.

Mr. Diehl was born near Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, January 25, 1825, and is a son of George and Elizabeth (Mickley) Diehl, also natives of that state and worth representatives of two of its prominent old families. The father, who was a soldier of the war of 1812, lived to the ripe old age of seventy-eight years, and both he and his wife died in Pennsylvania. In their family were six sons but only two are now living, these being Amos, our subject and Hamilton, who married and reared a family, and is now living retired on the west side of Cedar Rapids.

In early life Amos Diehl was given the advantages of a common school education. He grew to manhood on the home farm and worked at the carpenter’s trade. When the Civil war broke out he enlisted in 1862 for nine months in Company D, One Hundred and Sixty-fifth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, which was assigned to the Army of the Potomas, and he participated in the battle of Weldon Railroad, Virginia; a skirmish at Black Water; and the siege of Suffolk. He had several narrow escapes but fortunately was never wounded and when his term of enlistment expired was honorably discharged at Gettysburg, in July 1863, soon after the battle at that place.

After the war Mr. Diehl engaged in the manufacture of lumber in Adams county, Pennsylvania, where he carried on the milling business for eight or ten years. Disposing of his interests in that tate he came west in the fall of 1867 and located in Cedar Rapids, where he was engaged in teaming for several years. He purchased property on the west side and built thereon a house which he subsequently sold. Later he improved other property, and in this way did much toward the development of the city, always taking an active interest in its prosperity. By his ballot he supports the men and measures of the Republican party, but has never cared for official honors. He is well known and is held in the highest esteem by his fellow townsmen.

Source: The Biographical Record of Linn County Iowa, Illustrated, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, pages 115-116.

Submitted by: Carrie J. Robertson of Marion




DOTY BROTHERS
James Doty
Elias Doty
Daniel C. Doty


A note:
The biography information presented below is a compilation of a couple of separate descriptions from the 1911 Linn County History. There are some discrepancies found between the two; namely that one record lists the name of the Father as Daniel C. Doty, and another lists one of the sons as Daniel C. Another record found on page 35 of the 1911 history lists one of the earliest settlers as "Daniel J. Doty." What does seem likely is that there were three sons named James, Elias & Daniel Jr., born to Daniel Doty, Sr. who traveled to Iowa, but remained a resident of Ohio. His sons became very early pioneers of Iowa: Daniel, Jr. involved in steam boating and residing in Davenport; James & Elias residing in Linn County and manufacturing pottery. At this time [2004] there is still a small, very worn marker for James & Elias Doty found in the little pioneer Craig Cemetery a few miles west of the town of Mt. Vernon. Terry Carlson

From the 1911 History, p. 145:
We have pretty good evidence that later during the summer [1836] came Daniel C. Doty, his two sons, James, and Elias, and nephew, Jacob Crane, as far as Bertram and viewed the country expecting to locate when land was thrown open for settlement. Mr. Doty was born in Essex county, New Jersey, in 1764, had early drifted west to Cincinnati, and by boat had come down the Ohio and up the Mississippi, landing at what is now Muscatine. His children were born in Ohio. They followed the Cedar River until they struck what became later Linn county to locate claims. There were no settlers here, and they found no people with whom to converse, but figured that here would be a good location to get cheap land when this land was opened for settlement. They returned to Ohio for their families, expecting to return the following spring, but they did not, in fact, return for three years on account of the financial depression. Israel Mitchell staked out he town first called Westport in July, 1838, which town was later called Newark, named in honor of Newark, New Jersey, where the family originally came from. Here Elias Doty, Jr. , was born in October, 1841. Elias Doty, Sr., erected the first sawmill on Big creek in 1841, in the erection of which mill he was killed in the raising of the timbers. Daniel Doty, Sr., had the following sons, to-whit: James, Elias, John, and Daniel, all young men who early drifted west. Daniel C. Doty, the father of these sons, was never a resident of this county, but simply came here to find homes for his children. He died in Ohio in 1849; the widow died in Ohio in 1863 at the advanced age of ninety-eight.

James Doty, born in 1809, was the first real pottery maker in Iowa. He had learned the trade in Ohio. This crude pottery building was standing on the old homestead up to within a few years ago. At the time of his death, January 17, 1847, he had over three hundred jars, jugs, crocks, etc., ready for delivery. In this early day there was a great demand for such merchandise as it was something every farmer had to have, and it could only be obtained in a few places and at high prices on account of the transportation.

From the 1911 history, page 482:
Mrs. Ruth A. Dale, of Cedar Rapids, sister of Elias Doty, now [1911] living near Bertram, where the family settled in the early days - 1839 - has distinct recollections of pioneer life in the county. She states that Aretas Crane and Daniel C. Doty, brothers of Elias and James M. Doty, the pioneers, settled at Ft. Stevens, now Davenport, in 1836 or 1837 - 1836 she believes is the correct date. Daniel Doty and his son, J. M. Doty, and his son-in-law, Aretas Crane, passed over the ground on which Cedar Rapids now stands in 1837. This being the fact, it is evident that these people were the first white men to look upon the present site of the city, with a view to finding a permanent settlement for themselves. They, however, after looking over the ground concluded that the site afterwards known as Westport, and somewhat later as Newark, was the preferable location. They returned to their home at Middletown, Butler county, Ohio, and arranged their affairs. James M. Doty and Elias Doty, sons of Daniel Doty, returned to the county in 1839 and took up a claim at Westport. There they started what was without question, the first manufacturing plant within the limits of the county, was probably in 1840. Later the same year Elias Doty began the erection of the first saw-mill in the county.

The Dotys were induced to come to Iowa through the fact that their brother, Daniel C. Doty, was at the time engaged in steam boating on the Mississippi, his headquarters being at Davenport.

In this connection the following extracts from a letter written by Elias and J. M. Doty to their parents and dated May 2, 1841 are of interest:

"I have my mill frame up, that is, the lower frame. The upper farm is almost ready to raise. The millwright work can be done in about six weeks from the time we raise the frame. I have commenced the race. I have three hundred feet in length of a race and two hundred feet dam. As soon as I get water to it, it will be ready to run.

"There are hard times enough here for anybody. There is nothing that will bring cash that I know of. For my part I am hard run to live. I would like to have some money. It has not come yet.

"I cannot say that we are all well, but we are able to keep about. We had a great deal of sickness last fall. I cannot say that I like this country, it is too cold for me, the ground freezes from two to four feet deep. The frost is hardly out yet. The trees look like winter time. I think I will leave this place as soon as I can get my business settled, and money enough to carry me away. I have between two and three hundred dollars coming but can't get enough to buy myself a shirt. I bought corn last fall at three cents per bushel. I have three claims and want to sell them.

"Last night was a pretty moonlight night. Parmelia kicked up a fuss and after all night's watching about six o'clock this morning after a bright sunrise she was delivered of a prosperous looking son, weight nine pounds, seven ounces."

Source: Brewer, Luther A., & Wick, Barthinius L. History of Linn County Iowa From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time, Vol. I, Chicago, 1911. Pages 145 & 482.

Contributed by: Terry Carlson




JOHN DOUGHERTY

John Dougherty is one of the natives of Ireland who have been prominent in the development and success of Linn County, where he has resided from its early days. He owns a good homestead situated on section 7, Buffalo Township, and to the improvement of this property he has devoted the past quarter of a century. The birth of our subject occurred in the northern part of the Emerald Isle in 1836. He is a son of Michael and Anna Dougherty, who like him were natives of Ireland, where they passed their entire lives.

The boyhood and youth of our subject were passed near the place of his birth and he received such school advantages as the neighborhood afforded until he was fifteen years of age. He was a great reader and an ambitious young man and early made up his mind that he would try his fortunes in America. Accordingly in 1851, when in- his sixteenth year, he took passage on a sailing-vessel bound for New York City. On reaching his destination he proceeded to Cambria County, Pa., and secured employment for a time near Johnstown. As he was possessed of industrious and persevering qualities, and was ready to work at whatever came to hand by which he could make an honest dollar, he managed to lay aside regularly a small sum, and five years after landing in the United States a stranger without any means, he came to Iowa and secured a contract on railway construction work.

In that line of business he acted as a foreman for some years and made a good success of his undertakings. During this time his home was mainly in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, but he kept his eyes and ears open to opportunities, and becoming confident that Jones County was an ideal location for enterprising farmers, he came here in 1867 and became the owner of a small tract of land. To this as the years have passed he has continually added adjoining land until his farm now numbers two hundred and eighty acres. This property, which is very fertile, is finely adapted for the raising of certain crops and brings in the owner a steady income, amply sufficient for the needs of his family; he is also enabled to lay aside a certain sum for his declining years. The property is well improved with good barns and a substantial residence and the owner takes great pride in keeping everything about the place in good order.

July 3, 1861, Mr. Dougherty was married in Cascade, Iowa, to Miss Mary Hayes, who was born in Ireland. The worthy couple have had born to them nine children, four sons and five daughters, who in the order of their birth are as follows: Maggie, John, Annie, Mary, Barney, Sadie, Tressa, Grace and James.

Mr. and Mrs. Dougherty were reared in the faith of the Catholic Church, to which they still adhere and are regular attendants of the congregation of Buffalo. Politically our subject is a Democrat and takes great interest in all matters relating to the affairs of his party, He lives in Linn County but owns land in Jones County, where he carries on business.

Source: Dubuque, Jones, and Clayton Counties History 1894 pg. 186

Submitted by Becky Teubner




JAMES ORVILLE DOWNING, D.D.S.

Now serving the people of Cedar Rapids and Linn County, Dr James Orville Downing, traces his record back to World War II, in which he added to his skill in the hard school of experience. In the war he was an office in the Navy and today he is active in veteran's affairs in Cedar Rapids He also occupies a leading position among dental surgeons of that city and, active in civic work, is known for hsi sponsorship of Boy Scout programs.

Dr Downing was born in Eldon, Wapello County, on September 20, 1912. His parents are Ross L and Nina Noel Downing, now residing in Marshalltown. His father, born in Van Buren, on May 18, 1872, is a retail hardware merchant prominent in the Democratic politics of Van Buren County and former holder of various public offices there. Active in the Methodist church at Marshalltown, Ross Downing is former superintendent of his church's Sunday School. Nina (Noel) Downing was born in Davis County on October 22, 1878, the daughter of Phillip and Cynthia (Parker) Noel. Her father, a native of Ohio, died in Bloomfield, Iowa, where he had been a farmer many years; her mother, also born in Ohio, died in Van Buren County, Iowa. Ross Downing's parents were John and Nancy (Hilard) Downing; the former a native of Ohio who died in Van Buren County, the latter a native of Pennsylvania who died in Aurora, Illinois.

Dr Downing was graduated from High school at Cantril, in 1930. He then attended Parsons College at Fairfield, for 2 years. For another 2 years, he was at Iowa State College of Agricultural and Mechanic arts, at Ames, and for a year thereafter studied at the State University of Iowa, Iowa City. In 1945 he was graduated from the School of Dentistry at Saint Louis University, with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery. In the next 18 months he was with the United States Navy, from which he emerged in 1946 with the rank of lieutenant. In the fall of the same year, Dr Downing established himself in practice in Cedar Rapids. In recognition of his position in the profession, Dr Downing has been elected to the board of directors of the Cedar Rapids Dental Society. He is also a member of the University District Dental Society and the American Dental Association.

He is a member of the advisory board of the Linn County Council, Boy Scouts of America, and is active in the Veterans of Foreign Wars at Cedar Rapids. Other organizations to which Dr downing belongs are the Mizpah Lodge No. 639, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, the Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce, the Kiwanis Club, the Elmcrest Golf and Country Club, and Psi Omega, the dental fraternity. He is a member of st Paul's Methodist Church. His favorite recreations are fishing, hunting and golf.

On December 21, 1942, Dr Downing married Mrs. Thelma (Easter) Lappen, widow of Horace Lappen and daughter of Frank and Minnie Easter of Decatur, Illinois. Her father is in the oil business in Washington, Illinois. Mrs. Downing, a graduate of the Archie (Missouri) High school, Stephens College at Columbia, Missouri, and of the Central State teachers College of Missouri, also attended the University of Kansas at Lawrence. She received her degree of Master of Science in Home Economics at the Iowa State College at Ames. She taught at the Indiana State Teachers College, Indiana, Pennsylvania, and at the State University of Iowa, Iowa City. Mrs. Downing has served as national president of Alpha Xi Delta sorority and is well known in Kappa Omicron Phi, the national honorary home economics sorority. She is now president of the Cedar Rapids dental Society Auxiliary. She is also active at St Paul's Methodist Church, where she teaches a Sunday school class. By her former marriage Mrs. Downing has a daughter, Dolores Phyllis, who was born on January 14, 1961, and who in 1948 was a student at the Franklin High School in Cedar Rapids. Adopted by Dr Downing, the young woman has taken his name.

Source: The Story of Iowa, Petersen, Vol. III, Lewis Historical Publishing Co., Inc., 1952; Pgs 99-100

Contributed by:iadavis@mchsi.com




Col. William G. Dows

One of the truly representative citizens of Linn county is the subject of this sketch, who has ably served his district in the twenty-seventh and twenty-eighth General Assemblies of the state and who has an honorable record in the Spanish American war. He is a native of the Hawkeye state, born in Clayton county, August 12, 1864, and is a son of Hon. S. L. Dows, who is represented on another page of this volume.

Col. Dows received his primary education in the public schools, after which he was a student in Coe College, Cedar Rapids, for a time, and then entered Shattuck School, at Faribault, Minnesota, taking the English course. On the completion of his college life, he entered the office of his father in a clerical capacity, and being later admitted as a partner in the business, he has remained with him ever since.

On the 9th of October, 1890, Col. Dows was united in marriage with Miss Margaret B. Cook, daughter of J. S. Cook, deceased, who is represented on another page of this volume. By this union two children have been born - Sutherland Cook, born July 3, 1891, and Margaret Henrietta, July 6, 1895.

In 1883, Col. Dows became identified with the Iowa National Guards, enlisting as a private, since which time he has filled nearly every position in the organization up to and including colonel of the regiment - the First Regiment Iowa National Guards. When the war with Spain commenced he offered his services to the government and April 26, 1898, at Des Moines, Iowa, he was mustered in as colonel of the Forty-ninth Iowa Volunteer Infantry. During his term of service he served with his regiment the greater part of the time in Cuba, and his regiment was one of the last to leave the island. After his regiment had been mustered out he was appointed into the army by the President for service in the Philippines against the insurgents, but on account of his extensive business interests he was obliged to decline the same.

For some years Col. Dows has been very active in politics, and has exerted a wide and beneficial influence in the councils of his party. At present he is serving as chairman of the Linn county central committee. In 1897 he was elected representative from his district and re-elected in 1899. His ability was at once recognized by his associates in the legislature, and during his service he has been upon most of the important committees, serving as chairman of the appropriation committee, and a member of the ways and means committee, printing and building and building and loans.

In the various fraternal societies the Colonel has been somewhat interested, being a member of Mt. Hermon Lodge, No. 263, A.F. & A.M., Trowel Chapter, No. 49, R.A.M., Apollo Commandery, No. 26, D. T., El Kahir Temple of the Mystic Shrine, Cedar Rapids Lodge, No. 141, I.O.O.F., the naval and military order of the Spanish-American war, and of the military order of the Loyal Legion of the United States.

Col. Dows is one of the most popular men in Linn county, and stands high in social, business and political circles. He is one of the foremost younger men of the state of Iowa, and his influence for good is felt in various ways. Quick to discern the good in every enterprise projected, he is ever willing to aid anything meritorious calculated to advance the interest of Cedar Rapids and Linn county, as well as the state at large.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 972-973.




HON. STEPHEN L. DOWS

The Dows family, from which Stephen Leland Dows descended, originally spelled the name Dowse. They were among the early settlers in Massachusetts, coming from England only a few years after the Plymouth colony arrived. They located near Boston. The great-grandfather of Stephen L. resided in Charleston at the outbreak of the Revolution, and at the time of the battle of Bunker Hill his property was destroyed. He is one of the brave men who aided in gaining our independence. Thomas Dows, the eccentric and celebrated bibliopolist, of Cambridgeport, was a great-uncle of Stephen.

He was a self-made man, largely self educated, and collected one of the largest libraries in the United States, giving it, at his demise, to the Massachusetts Historical Society. According to the conditions of the gift, this library is kept in a fire-proof building, and no book is allowed to go out of the building. He left property set aside especially for the endowment of the Dows course of lectures, which is given annually at Cambridge, the best talent in the country being employed for that course. In the town of Sherborn he caused a town hall to be erected at his expense, on which he placed an astronomical clock.

The paternal grandmother of Stephen L. was a Leland, a family equally as distinguished as the Dows family. The pedigree of the family is traced back distinctly to John Leland, born in London, England, in 1512, an accomplished scholar flourishing during the reign of Henry VIII. Among his descendants in the old world were Rev. John and Thomas Leland, eminent authors of the eighteenth century. Henry Leland, the progenitor of all who bear the name except by adoption, in this country, is supposed to have emigrated to the United States about 1652, and settled in what afterwards became the town of Sherborn, Massachusetts.

His children, who lived to grow up, were Experience, Hope Still, Ebenezer and Eleazer, from whom has spring a numerous family, many members of which are quite distinguished, as American biographical history shows. All left issue but Eleazer. Amond the prominent men in this family was "Elder" John Leland, many years a resident of Cheshire, Massachusetts. He lived a short time in Virginia, and in 1789, in a Baptist general conference, he boldly denounced slavery as a "violent deprivation of rights of nature." The prominent professional men and eminent scholars of this name are numbered by the hundred. There are eleven generations of the Leland family in this country.

Stephen Leland Dows was born in New York city, on the 9th of October, 1832, his parents being Adam Dows, a merchant in early life, and Maria Lundy, a daughter of Captain Lundy, of New York city. His grandfather, James Dows, was a soldier in the war of 1812-15, and was killed at the battle of Ottawa while on picket duty.

At fourteen years of age the subject of this sketch went into a machine shop at Troy, New York, where his parents then lived. At the end of two years he left the city of Troy, and started westward with a cash capital of seven dollars and fifty cents, and a pass to Buffalo on a line boat. He landed in Milwaukee with seventy-five cents in his pocket; after a little delay proceeded to Green Bay; where he spent one year in lumbering; then went to Lake Superior, and was one of the first winterers in the then new town of Marquette; worked there in the first machine shop built, and ran the first engine ever started there; at the end of two years returned to Green Bay, acting as engineer until the spring of 1853, when he went to Muskegon, Michigan, and superintended a lumbering establishment.

In 1855 the health of Mr. Dows failed, and he came to Cedar Rapids and became engineer and superintendent of the Variety Manufacturing Works. In company with other men connected with these works, in 1860, he conveyed a quartz mill to Gold Hill, in the Rocky Mountains, and with two young men returned overland the next winter, driving a pair of mules from Denver to Omaha in seventeen days, and having on one occasion a narrow escape from Indians, being saved from robbery, and perhaps murder, by the coolness and self-possession of Mr. Dows.

After superintending the Variety Works another season, in August, 1862, he went into the army as first lieutenant of Company I, Twentieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry; in a short time was promoted to acting brigade quartermaster of the First Brigade, second division, army of the frontier; from exposure and overwork became disabled, and was obliged to leave the service in one year.

Since 1863, Mr. Dows has been engaged in public works and manufacturers. He has been a successful and an extensive railroad contractor, building more miles of railroad than any other man in the state of Iowa. He was one of the men instrumental in building the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railroad, and was instrumental in bringing the Illinois Central into Cedar Rapids. He started, in connection with Mr. J. H. Shaver, an extensive cracker factory in Cedar Rapids, which they operated for many years, but which has since gone into the trust, and is now called Continental Biscuit Company.

Mr. Dows owns a large share of this property. He built, with Dr. J. F. Ely, the Dows and Ely Block, better known as the old post office block, at the corner of Second avenue and Second street. This was for years the finest building in this city. Mr. Dows has other property in the city and outside of it, and has always been a great encourager of manufacturing and other industries tending to advance the material interests of Cedar Rapids, and in this work probably no man has done more than he. In 1875, Mr. Dows was elected state senator to represent Linn county, and in the sessions of the General Assembly held in 1876 and 1878, he was chairman of the committee on public buildings and on a number of other committees including railroads, manufacturers, appropriations, penitentiary.

In 1878, he was chairman of the committee appointed to visit the penitentiary at Fort Madison. His practical turn of mind, his solid good sense, his sound judgment and great industry made him a valuable legislator. On matters pertaining to the mechanical arts he was regarded as the nester of the upper house. He has always been a Republican from the organization of the party.

Mr. Dows is a member of the Second Presbyterian church of Cedar Rapids, and has been an elder of the same for over thirty years. For many years he was superintendent of the Sunday-school. He is a man of benevolent disposition, very generous to the poor, dispensing his charities in a most sacred manner.

On the 31st of October, 1855, Mr. Dows was united in marriage with Henrietta W. Safely, daughter of Thomas Safely, of Waterford, New York, and by this union six children were born: Minnie Maria died at the age of fifteen years. Elizabeth is the wife of Thompson McClintock, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Elma is the wife of Benjamin Thaw, of the same city. William G. is represented on another page of this work. Stephen Leland, Jr., died July 5, 1899, at the age of thirty-two years. Henrietta is the wife of James E. Blake, of Cedar Rapids. Mrs. Dows passed to her reward August 7, 1893, and her remains were interred in Oak Hill cemetery. She was a noble Christian woman and thoroughly devoted to the interests of her family. Like her husband, she was very social, abounding in hospitality, and many of the poor families in Cedar Rapids have reason to bless her memory and mourn her loss.

Mr. Dows is purely a self-made man. Cast upon his own resources at an early age, he educated himself, developed into a skilled mechanic, and later in life into an eminently successful railroad contractor, and a legislator with few peers in the commonwealth. He has been unusually successful in business, but at the present time he is living retired, although he retains his interests in several business enterprises, and is a stockholder and director in several banks.

Interested in the cause of education, he is a trustee of both Coe College at Cedar Rapids and Cornell College at Mt. Vernon. Fraternally he is a Knight Templar Mason and an Odd Fellow.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 958-962.




A. B. Dumont

For over half a century this gentleman has been a resident of Linn county, and has been prominently identified with its commercial and political interests. He is now a leading business man of Marion, where he is engaged in the undertaking and furniture business. His life has been one of industry, and his business interests have been so managed as to win for him the confidence of the public and prosperity which should always attend honorable effort.

Mr. Dumont was born near New York city, July 19, 1824, a son of John B. and Elizabeth (Welch) Dumont, both of whom were natives of Greene county, New York, and of French Huguenot extraction. In 1845 the family came to Iowa and settled near Martelle, Jones county, Iowa. At that time Cedar Rapids contained only three or four houses and a sawmill, and most of the land was still in its primitive condition. The father died at the age of eighty-two years and the mother passed away two years later at the same age. They were the parents of five children, three of whom are still living: A. B., of this review; Frederick S., who resides on the only homestead near Martelle; and Elida, wife of W. J. Patterson, of Cedar Rapids. Those deceased were Waldron B., who died in Cedar Rapids; and Sarah, who died in the early ‘30s.

Our subject was adopted by his father’s sister and was reared near Auburn, New York. At the age of fourteen he commenced learning the carpenter’s and millwright’s trades, to which he devoted his attention for some years. At Baldwinville, New York, he was married, October 13, 1844, to Miss Julia A. Leffingwell, who was born near Rutland, Vermont, and the following year they removed to Marion, Iowa. The same year her parents, Joseph and Bethia Leffingwell, also came west, and first located five miles east of town, and in 1849 took up their residence in Marion.

During his early residence in Marion Dumont worked at his trade, and erected many of the early buildings of the town but since 1860 has engaged in his present business. He drafted the frame work for the old court house, for which he never received any pay, though it was not the fault of the county. When he first came to Marion the place contained about a dozen houses which were widely scattered, and he has therefore witnessed almost its entire growth and development.

During the gold excitement in California, in 1849, Mr. Dumont, in company with four other men, started from Marion with an oxen team, on April 27, and in October they made their first stop near Portland, Oregon, where he worked for six months, receiving five dollars per day and board. On arrival at Fort Vancouver they disposed of their cattle. Six miles above Portland he erected a saw and gristmill for a large firm, and continued in their employ till June, 1850, when he went by water to San Francisco, as a passenger on a lumber vessel. It was a very unpleasant trip as the weather was stormy, and it required six weeks to make the voyage. After spending a few days in San Francisco, Mr. Dumont went to Sacramento on a prospecting tour, but not being pleased with the country he decided to return home. He then took passage at San Francisco, and on reaching the isthmus walked across to the Schagris river, a distance of twenty four miles, thence by canoe to the eastern coast. He then proceeded by boat to New York, and after visiting friends in the Empire state for a few weeks returned to Marion after an absence of two years. He had been fairly successful while in the west and had no occasion to regret his trip.

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Dumont were born four children: Elizabeth married Emory Eggleston and died six months later at the age of twenty-one years; James W., and employee of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, residing in Marion, married Rhoda E. Lake, and they have one child, Elizabeth, who was married on Thanksgiving Day, 1900, to Charley Frantz; John E., also a resident of Marion, wedded Julia E. Waters, and they have one child, John E.; and Charles W., who is with his father in the store, married Rebecca E. Reicherd, and they have five children: Maude A., May, Amasa B., Jr., Frederick S. and Dorotha.

Mr. Dumont and his family are all members of the Methodist Episcopal church and he has been officially connected with the same for years. Since 1846 he has affiliated with the Masonic fraternity; has filled all the offices in the blue lodge, including that of worshipful master; is also a member of the chapter and commandery; a thirty-second degree Mason, and has been a delegate to the grand lodge many times, being well know in Masonic circles. Politically he is an ardent supporter of the Republican party, and with his fellow citizens recognizing his worth and ability have called upon his to fill important official positions. He was elected county judge and while serving in that capacity the law was passed creating an auditor’s office, and all county judges then in office were appointed to fill the position, as our subject was the first auditor of Linn county. From 1858 to 1866 he was connected with the county recorder’s and county treasurer’s offices, and served as justice of the peace from 1858 until 1864. His official duties were always most capable and satisfactorily discharged, winning for him the commendation of all concerned. He studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1862, but has never engaged in the practice of that profession. However, he has never employed an attorney in his own affairs, but has attended to his own legal business. He is a man of more than ordinary ability, sound judgment and keen discrimination, and generally carries forward to successful completion whatever he undertakes. Source: The Biographical Record of Linn County Iowa, Illustrated, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, pages 96-100.

Submitted by: Carrie J. Robertson of Marion




JOHN DUNLAP

This well-known and honored citizen of Springville, who is familiarly called Uncle John by his numerous friends throughout Linn county, was born in County Antrim, Ireland, May 12, 1817, a son of John and Mary Ann (Bell) Dunlap, natives of the same country and of Scotch descent. They were the parents of seven children, five sons and two daughters, of whom our subject is no the only survivor. The father dying in 1828, the mother was left to provide for her children. In 1832 she brought her family to the new world and settled in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, where she continued to make her home throughout the remainder of her life. She lived to the advanced age of ninety-three years.

John Dunlap grew to manhood upon a farm in Pennsylvania, and when only nineteen years of age was married at Philadelphia in 1836 to miss Ann Eliza Johnson, who was of Scotch parentage. After his marriage he was employed at farm work in that state until 1841, when he removed to Athens county, Ohio, where he had previously purchased eighty acres of land without seeing it. Clearing away the trees, he burned the brush and placed forty acres under cultivation. His first home was a rude log house, which was replaced two or three years later by a more substantial dwelling built of hewed logs. He also built a good barn and continued the improvement and cultivation of that farm for seven years.

Selling his property in Ohio, Mr. Dunlap came to Linn county, Iowa, in 1851, and with a land warrant entered one hundred and sixty acres of land three miles from Springville, which village at that time contained only the residence of Colonel Butler. He at once commenced to break and improve his land, first building a log cabin, in which the family lived while he opened up the farm. Later he erected a more commodious frame residence and built one of the best barns in the township. He added to his original purchase from time to time until he owned nearly a section of land, divided into three farms, but later he disposed of these, though he continued to own and operate two hundred acres of land in Brown township until 1895. in connection with farming he also carried on stock raising, and in his undertakings met with marked success. Being a man of industry, enterprise and good business ability he accumulated a valuable estate, and is to-day one of the substantial citizens of Springville, where he purchased a residence in 1895 and has since lived retired from active labor.

Mr. Dunlap has been called upon to mourn the loss of his estimable wife, who passed away in November, 1891, and was laid to rest in the Linn Grove cemetery. They had nine children, namely: John was in the Union army during the civil war and later removed to Nebraska, where he died, leaving a wife and several children; Elizabeth married Thomas Kerns and died in Maine township, this county; Mary Ann wedded James Keenin and died in Nebraska; Ellen, deceased, was the wife of William Butler, of Linn county, who served through the war of the Rebellion and went with Sherman on the march to the sea; Rebecca is the wife of George Bolton, of Nebraska; Thomas is a resident of Springville; Margaret is the wife of James Wallace, of New Virginia, Warren county, Iowa; William is a farmer of Brown township; Hugh completes the family.

Mr. Dunlap cast his first presidential ballot for W. H. Harrison in 1840, but for many ears has been identified with the Democratic party. Religiously he is a member of the Presbyterian church of Linn Grove, with which his wife was also connected, and is a man of sterling worth and exemplary character, who has the confidence and respect of all who know him.

Source: The Biographical Record of Linn County Iowa, Illustrated, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, pages 553-4.

Submitted by: Terry Carlson 9/15/2010




JOHN E. DUNN

John E. Dunn, owning and operating a well improved farm of one hundred and sixty acres on sections 8 and 9, Jackson township, is widely recognized as one 0f the successful agriculturists and substantial citizens of his community. His birth occurred in Jones county, Iowa., on the 1st of October, 1864, his parents being T. H. and Mary (Farnham) Dunn, who were natives of Pennsylvania and Massachusetts respectively. The year 1855 witnessed their removal to Minnesota, where they resided for four years, on the expiration of which period they came to Iowa, settling on a farm in Jones county. The mother still resides there, but the father passed away on the 7th of May, 1906. Their children were eight in number, namely: W. E., who makes his home in South Dakota; Henry, living in West Bend, Iowa; John E., of this review; Grace, the wife of W. W. Wallace, who purchased land in Canada. and now resides there; Clara, the wife of George Grebe, of Stickney, South Dakota; Leslie, who is a resident of Jones county, Iowa; and two who died in infancy.

John E. Dunn supplemented his preliminary education by a college course and remained at home until he had attained the age of twenty-six years. Going to South Dakota, he spent four years on a farm which he had purchased in that state and then returned to his home in Jones county, living with his parents until the time of his marriage four years later. Following that important event in his life he purchased and located upon a farm of one hundred and sixty acres on sections 8 and 9, Jackson township, in the cultivation and improvement of which he has since been actively engaged. He has shown good business judgment in the conduct of his agricultural interests and his labors are fittingly rewarded.

As a companion and helpmate on the journey of life Mr. Dunn chose Miss Jennie S. Moore, who was born in Jones county in 1871, her parents being Joseph and Jennie (Sloan) Moore, both natives of Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Moore crossed the Atlantic to the United States in 1857 and for two years made their home in the state of New York. In 1859 they came to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, but when a year had passed went to Jones county, where they resided for twenty years. At the end of that time they again took up their abode in Cedar Rapids, where Mrs. Moore passed away in November, 1901. Joseph Moore, who has now attained the age of seventy-five years, still makes his home in that city. Unto him and his wife were born ten children. Mrs. Dunn enjoyed the advantages of a high school education and taught school for nine years prior to her marriage. Four children have been born unto her, as follows: Joseph M., whose natal day was December 15, 1899; Kathryn M., whose birth occurred May 6, 1901; Jeanie M., Who first opened her eyes to the light of day on the 16th of January, 1904; and May V., who was born October 3, 1908, and died August 27, 1909.

Mr. Dunn is a republican in his political views and is now ably serving in the capacity of township trustee, while for four years he held the office of assessor. Fraternally he is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America at Coggon. A successful farmer, an exemplary citizen and a man of high moral standards, he enjoys the respect of all who have come in contact with him.

Source: History of Linn County Iowa From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time, Vol. II, Chicago, The pioneer Publishing Company, 1911, pages 47-8.

Submitted by: Terry Carlson




WILLARD WILLIAM DURLIN

This well-known railroad man who has been in the employ of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railroad since coming to Cedar Rapids in 1881, was born on the 20th of April, 1853, in Meadville, Crawford county, Pennsylvania, of which county his parents, James W. and Harriet E. (Littlefield) Durlin, were also natives. The town of Meadville was named for the mother's grandparents, and her Grandmother Meade was the first white child born in the county. Mrs. Durlin's father and mother lived to be ninety-seven and ninety-four years respectively. Our subject's paternal grandmother was connected with the Lee family, to which the famous Confederate general of that name belonged.

In early life James W. Durlin, the father of our subject, was a pattern maker, draftsman and engine builder, and he also ran boats on the Erie canal for a time. In 1857 he came to Iowa and took up his residence in Anamosa, Jones county, where he conducted a grocery store until the Civil war broke out. In 1861 he enlisted in Company C, Thirty-first Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and remained in the service until Lee's surrender. Soon after his return home he moved to Omaha, Nebraska, where he engaged in business as a contractor and builder until 1879, when he commenced teaming across the plains. He died in Huron, South Dakota, in 1899, at the age of seventy-four. They were the parents of six sons and three daughters, of whom two daughters are now deceased. The others are Eugene, Frank, Willard W., Charles, Emmett and Fred, all railroad engineers with the exception of the youngest, who is a conductor; and Mary, the surviving daughter. They were educated in the schools of Council Bluffs and Creston, Iowa. Their parents both received collegiate educations, and their mother taught in a college for a time.

During his boyhood and youth Willard W. Durlin attended the common schools of Anamosa, and remained at home until sixteen years of age, when he began his railroad career at Council Bluffs as wiper on engines of the St. Joseph & Council Bluffs Railroad, taking care of engines for two years. For a time he was employed as fireman and later as brakeman. After spending two years at Ottumwa, Iowa, he removed to Creston and found permanent employment, working as fireman on the Burlington & Missouri Railroad, now a part of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy system. In 1874 he was given an engine, and continued in the employ of that road until coming to Cedar Rapids in 1881, when he entered the service of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railroad as engineer. He was first given a freight run, but for the past sixteen years has been running specials and passenger trains on the northern division of the road, being engineer on the fast mail and passenger train since 1895, running to Albert Lea, Minnesota each day. As a railroad man he has been very fortunate and successful, but has met with some accidents, his train going through the bridge at Cedar Falls in 1888, and being wrecked at Waterloo in 1899.

At Ottumwa, Iowa, May 13, 1872, Mr. Durlin married Miss Eliza A. Corrick, who was born in Bloomfield, Davis county, Iowa, in 1854 and was living in Ottumwa at the time of her marriage. Both her parents are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Durlin have one daughter, Florence Mae, who was graduated at the high school of Cedar Rapids in 1892, and engaged in teaching physical culture for five years. The family are prominent members of the Universalist Church, of which Mrs. Durlin is one of the officers and the daughter is organist. Fraternally Mr. Durlin affiliates with the Independent Order of Foresters of America, the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, and the blue lodge of Masonry. In politics he is independent, but takes a deep and commendable interest in public affairs, and gives his support to every enterprise for the public good.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 440-441.




JOSEPH DUSILL

Among Cedar Rapids’ honored residents is this well-known gentleman, who came to this city in 1856, and as a wagon and carriage manufacturer was actively identified with its industrial interests for many years, but has now laid aside all his business cares to enjoy a well-earned rest at his pleasant home, No. 703 Fourth avenue. He was born in Bohemia, on Christmas day, 1830, a son of Frank Dusill, whose life was devoted to the blacksmith’s trade in his native land. There our subject acquired a fair education in the German and Bohemian languages, but his knowledge of English has been obtained through his own unaided efforts since coming to this country. In early life he learned the wagon and carriage maker’s trade, working two years as an apprentice, and twelve years at his trade the later part of the time as boss, having charge of a factory at Borno.

In 1855 Mr. Dusill emigrated to the new world and in 1856 took up his residence in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, which was then little more than a crossroads village. After working at his trade for two years, he commenced the manufacture of wagons and carriages for himself, making carriages principally. He began business in a small way, but enlarged his facilities from year to year until he had a large factory located on Third avenue and Third street, and employed on an average of eight men for several years. His factory became noted for the superior quality of the work turned out, and he built up a large trade in this and adjoining states. After forty years in active business here, he retired in 1898 to enjoy the fruits of former toil. Besides his factory he built two good residences in Cedar Rapids, and is to-day quite well-to-do.

Mr. Dusill was married in Iowa City, June 4, 1857, to Miss Antonia Pecka, who was also born in Bohemia, April 24, 1838, and came to this country when a young lady on the same ship with Mr. Dusill, the voyage taking forty days. They have two children living: Josephine, wife of W. F. Severa, of Cedar Rapids; and Katie, wife of John Kale, a business man of that city. The children of the family now deceased were Anthony, who was engaged in the drug business in Cedar Rapids at the time of his death in 1888; Francis, who was also married and living in Cedar Rapids when he died in 1894; and three who died in childhood. Forty-one years ago Mr. and Mrs. Dusill moved onto the block where they have since lived. It was then out in the country but now is in the best resident part of the city.

In politics Mr. Dusill is independent, endeavoring to support the best men for the office, regardless of party ties. He cast his first presidential vote for James Buchanan and has never missed a presidential election since that time. He is a loyal and devoted citizen of his adopted country, and is always willing to give his aid and support to any enterprise which he believes will prove of public benefit.

Source: The Biographical Record of Linn County Iowa, Illustrated, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, pages 83-4.

Submitted by: Carrie J. Robertson of Marion




ENOCH B. DYE

One of the representative farmers and honored citizens of Marion township, is Enoch B. Dye, who was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, May 31, 1829, a son of William and Susanna (Crothers) Dye, the former a native of Washington county, that state, the latter of Big Beaver, Beaver county, Pennsylvania. The father, who was a carpenter by trade, died in Pennsylvania in 1831. He assisted in constructing the first bridge across the Allegheny river. The mother departed this life in October, 1890. For her second husband she married Dr. Elijah W. Lake, of Loudonville, Ohio, and in 1853 they came to Iowa City, Johnson county, Iowa. He died in Marion. More extended mention is made of Dr. Lake in the sketch of George W. Lake on another page of this volume.

There were only two children born to William and Susanna (Crothers) Dye, these being Enoch B., our subject and William McEntire. The latter was born in Washington, Pennsylvania, January 26, 1831, and was reared in Mansfield, Ohio, from which state he was appointed to West Point. He entered the military academy as cadet, July 1, 1849, and on his graduation, July 1, 1853, was appointed to West Point. He entered the military academy as cadet, July 1, 1849, and on his graduation, July 1, 1853, was appointed second lieutenant. He was then on duty at Fort Columbus, New York; Benicia and Fort Reading, California; Fort Davis and San Antonio, Texas, until the war broke out. On the 14th of May, 1861, he was commissioned captain of the Eighth United States Infantry, and on the 25th of August, 1862, was made colonel of the Twentieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry.

He participated in many engagements, and was mustered out of the volunteer service at the close of the war, July 8, 1865. He was commissioned major in the Fourth United States Infantry, January 14, 1866, and was in the recruiting service until sent to Plattsburg Barracks, New York, where he remained until February 18, 1867. He was a member of the examining board of New York City until April 15, 1868, when he was ordered to the frontier, and was on duty at Forts Laramie and Fetterman until February 4, _____. On the 30th of the following September he received an honorable discharge, and for the following three years was engaged in farming near Marion, Iowa.

In 1873 he went to Egypt, having been recommended by General Sherman, who was traveling in that country and had been asked by the Egyptian government to recommend some officer for service. General Dye took part in the Abyssinian campaign in 1876, and was wounded in the battle of Gura. After five years spent in Egypt he returned to New York, June 30, 1878, and in 1880 published a book on "Egypt and Abyssinia." He was superintendent of the metropolitan police of the District of Columbia from 1883 to 1886, and for the following two years was chief of the army and navy division of the pension bureau and of its special examination division.

In 1888 he went to Korea to become military advisor and instructor in the service of the King of Korea. The Korean government wished to reorganize the army and they asked the United States legation to recommend some American officers to them. The legation referred it to the state department at Washington, which in turn referred it to the war department, and the war department to the commander-in-chief of the army, who was General Sheridan. He offered the place to General Dye, who was a classmate of his at West Point, having graduated in the same year. He was also a cousin of General Dye. General Dye accepted, and held the position until the spring of 1896, during which time he rose rapidly in the esteem of the king.

As vice-minister of war and commander of the Korean army he worked a revolution in that military body and put it on a scale of excellence it had never known. He introduced modern guns and equipment, and revised American tactics to fit Korean needs. Through all the serious political disturbances which occurred in that country he remained the confidential advisor and trusted friend of the king. When treachery threatened the king's life General Dye lived in a house adjoining the royal palace and was believed and trusted. When Japan swooped down upon the helpless country he was practically a prisoner with the king in the royal palace. He was never permitted to take advantage of a month's leave of absence according to contract on account of the political condition of the country, although the condition of his health demanded a vacation.

He therefore remained in Korea continuously for more than eleven years, sacrificing his health, and without reaping such reward as the faithful might expect. When the Russians came into power General Dye's military service ended, but he remained in Seoul engaged in other public work. While there he had all kinds of fruit trees shipped to that country and instructed the natives in the raising of fruit, etc. He was ill for some time, and on the 5th of May, 1899, started for home by way of Japan and Hawaii, arriving in San Francisco June 27, and remaining there until July 11, when he proceeded to his home in Muskegon, Michigan. There he passed away on the 13th of November following. He was married February 18, 1864, to Miss Ellen A. Rucker, daughter of Judge Rucker, of Chicago, and to them were born three children: J. Henry, who was with his father in Korea for three years and a half as civil engineer, and is now living in Muskegon, Michigan; Mrs. S. E. Baylis, of Chicago; and Annette M., a teacher in the Muskegon high school.

Enoch B. Dye was educated in the schools of Mansfield, Ohio, and for a time was engaged in teaching in the country and city schools for several years. He also engaged in bookkeeping to some extent. In 1858 he removed to Iowa City, Johnson county, Iowa, and took charge of the Tremont House, which he conducted until it was destroyed by fire the following year. He next taught school in Crawford and Morrow counties, Ohio, until 1867, when he came to Marion, and for several years successfully followed that profession in this city. He is now engaged in farming in Marion township, and for the past five years has devoted considerable attention to his inventions, having several different patents, such as car couplers, fire and burglar alarms, etc.

On the 23rd of June, 1857, in Washington, Pennsylvania, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Dye and Miss Malvina K. Dye, of that place, a daughter of David and Sarah Dye. The father was a tailor by trade, died in 1887, and the mother also died the same year. The children born to our subject and his wife are Sarah, wife of George Collins, of Belle Plain, Iowa; William L., a mason of Calhoun county, Iowa; John D. McC., who is engaged in farming on his father's farm in Marion township; George W. R., a carpenter and builder of Marion; and Joseph Milton, an attorney of Swea, Iowa.

Mr. Dye is a member of the First Congregational church of Marion, and a stanch supporter of the Democratic party, though he has never been an office-seeker. He is a man of recognized ability and stands high in the community where he has long made his home. Those who know him best are numbered among his warmest friends, and no citizen in the county is more honored or highly respected.

Source: Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901, p. 150-155.