Message Boards

Clinton Documents Board Clinton Queries Board
Clinton Obituaries Board Clinton Biographies Board
Gravestone Photo Project
Please Join our FaceBook Group - Clinton Co., IAGenWeb
You can join our mailing list as well
Join Our Team Friends of IAGenWeb
If you enjoy the benefits that the IAGenWeb county and Special Projects offer, wont you consider becoming a Friend of IAGenWeb? OR Join Our Team and help IAGenWeb grow by adopting a county or volunteering to transcribe records.

List of Clinton Teachers for '45-'46 School Year

SOURCE: Clinton Herald 30 August 1945

Classes Begin Tuesday Morning in Public Schools.

The complete roster of teachers in the Clinton independent school district for the 1945-46 term was announced today by J. R. Mounce, superintendent of schools.  The fall term will begin next Tuesday, Sept. 4.

Directors and supervisors are:

Miss Marjorie Graybill, director of vocal music at Junior and Senior high schools; Miss Elizabeth Benedict, supervisor of art; Miss Kathryn Hetzel, director of orchestras; Miss Millicent V. Johnson, school nurse; Miss Alice V. McCarthy, supervisor of vocal music, elementary schools; R. O. Stoskopf, director of bands, and Max H. Lynn, physical education and athletic director.

Teachers and the schools in which they will teach are:

Clinton High School

F. N. Johnston, principal; Miss Mercedes Abraham, algebra; Miss Gladys N. Arnold, Miss Eunice Blackburn, Miss Mary East, English; Miss Mary L. Albro, commercial; Miss Lois Bair, Miss Edith A. Bach, Miss Edith L. Birlett, government, economics; Miss Josephine Brown, social science; Miss Eleanor Davidson, Miss Margaret Davis, Miss Corinne Forsee, Miss Marie Raun, Miss Helen Stoddard, history; Miss Ruth Ebersole, Leo E. Herkelmann and Leslie Fishwild, mathematics.

Miss Mabel Foster, cafeteria director and clothing; Miss Edna Bibby, librarian; Miss Beatrice Hansen, English and speech; Miss Marie Hartmann, English and Spanish; J. W. Horton, machine shop; Miss Nellie F. Jones, English and psychology; Howard Judd, boys' physical education; Miss Margaret Keyes and Miss Isabelle Streib, home economics; K. B. Lorenz, chemistry, general science physiology.

Miss Loretta Mattocks, social science; Miss Harriet Mathisen, commercial; Walter B. McMahon, vocation supervision and industrial arts; Mrs. Ferne A. Meeker, matron; Edward C. Mickey, biology; Edward R. Rashke, industrial arts and boys' physical education; Thomas Robbins, physics; Merle A. Romey, Industrial arts and related science; Miss Dorothy Seeser, girls' physical education; Paul B. Sharar, guidance and aeronautics.

Junior High School

Olen Higbee, principal; Miss Miriam Blakely, hygiene and social science; Miss Lillian Doyle, Mrs. Claramae Goltman, Miss Ruth Struck, mathematics; Miss Ruth Gosnell, Miss Evelyn Mauer, Miss Winifred Perry, social science; Miss Marie Kauphusman, Miss Pearle Maxwell, English; Miss Nellie McCarthy, art; Miss Helen Niblo, mathematics and social science.

Mrs. Lucill Lowe, Miss Ingeborg Raun, English and dramatics; Carter Rains, Robert Runnels, industrial arts; Miss Virginia Ramsay, girls' physical education; F. H. LePrevost, boys' physical education; Mrs. Lucille Shadwick, clothing; Miss Margaret Williamson, foods and social science; Miss Marie Woodruff, general science.

Franklin School

Miss Ethel M. Holmes, principal; Miss Marian H. Clark, kindergarten; Miss Lilly M. Biel, first grade; Miss Grace Dannatt, second grade; Miss Evelyn McDuff, third grade; Miss Fern Hartsough, Miss Eleanor Hill, fourth grade; Mrs. Luella B. Miller, fifth grade; Miss Jean Sutherland, sixth grade.

Hawthorne School

J. R. Ingraham, principal; Miss Catherine E. Christy, first grade; Miss Mabel E. Jensen, second grade; Miss Marie N Hoegh, third grade; Mrs. Adelia Ross, fourth grade; Miss Rosalind Dunlap, fifth grade; Miss Patricia Traeder, sixth grade, and Miss Lois Miller, kindergarten.

Irving School

Miss Ethel C. Dunn, principal; Miss Anna Kennedy, kindergarten; Mrs. Faye Fredricksen and Miss Florence E. Johnson, first grade; Miss Alma Domsalla, second grade; Miss Grace Kleinsmith, third grade; Mrs. Florence L. Ives, fourth grade; Mrs. Dorothy Benishek, fifth grade; Miss Esther M. Jensen, sixth grade.

Jefferson School

Olen Higbee, principal; Miss Jean Lollich, kindergarten; Miss Helen Ingraham and Miss Myra Biel, first grade; Myrtle Paulsen and Miss Annette Fulmer, second grade; Miss Hazel Paulsen and Miss Marie L. Sanger, third grade; Miss Florence Walker, fourth grade; Miss Elizabeth Dickey and Miss Lydia Thiedeman, fifth grade; and Miss Charlotte Foged and Miss Agnes Noonan, sixth grade.

Kirkwood School

J. R.Ingraham, principal; Miss Lois Miller, kindergarten; Miss Maxine Bednar, first grade; Miss Anna Marie Clausen, second grade; Miss mary LaTourette, third grade; Miss Eleanor Woods, fourth grade, and Miss Marie G. Dall, fifth grade.

Lincoln School

Miss Christina E. Nielson, principal; Miss Jean Kleeberger, kindergarten; Miss Margaret D. Harris, first grade; Miss Lorraine Munson, second grade; Miss Elaine M.Motzkus, third grade; Mrs. Virginia L. Treichler, fourth grade; Mrs. Isla Dorsey, fifth grade, and Miss Lydia F. Bigbee, sixth grade.

Longfellow School

Miss Katherine McDonnell, principal; Miss Lola Purcell, kindergarten; Miss Selma Enberg and Mrs. Gladys Jackson, first grade; Miss Marjorie Mayer, first and second grades; Miss Genevieve Johnson and Miss Ruth Ann Kloster, second grade; Miss Mary Cunningham and Miss Hazel McMahon, third grade; Miss Laura Paulsen and Miss Lucile MacAllister, fourth grade; Miss Matilda Dickey and Miss Lillian Olson, fifth grade, and Miss Dorothy Sites and Miss Marcella Godfrey, sixth grade.

Roosevelt School

Miss Dora Smith, kindergarten; Miss Arly Glendenning, first grade; Mrs. Frances Greenlee, second grade; Miss Esther Logue, third grade; Miss Helen Judge, fourth grade; Miss Imogene Hasselman, fifth grade and Miss Alice Stocker, sixth grade.