IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
new content added 08/25/2021

School Index

Luana School

village of Luana, Monona twp., Clayton co. Iowa

Photos & Notes (this page)

"Who's Who in Luana Hi" - student biographies
1928 * 1929


1923 - 3rd & 4th grade classes
Luana 3rd & 4th grade children, 1923

Top row: Genevieve Seglar, Helen Hinman, Harold Nevermann, Willard Gruel & Florence Stadtmiller

Row 2: Dorothy Roderick, Louise Erb, Jason Moore, Bruce Brown, Harold Paulsen, Ilo Scheffert, Arno Nevermann, Harley Moore & Earl Scheffert  

Row 3: Lawrence Stadtmiller, Harold Koth, Loren Knuth, Billy Rosenburg, Ida Zeiman, Alice Dyke, Ella Panncke (My husband's grandmother), Frances Erb & Marie DeSotel  

Bottom row: Curtis Nichols, Mertie Bray, Angeline Scheffert, Ione Lamborn & Yvo Scheffert  

~Contributed by Errin Wilker


Luana School Notes - 1931

Declamatory work will begin immediately after the holidays and the local elimination contest will be held on January 21. Three have taken up the oratorical division. They are Harold Kumpf, Earl Jones and Curtis Webster. In the dramatic section, Avis Jean Brietsprecher, Lois Moritz, Ruth Nichols and Ilo Sheffert are competing. Frances Erb, Ione Lamborn, Helmuth Landt, Harley Moore and Curtis Zieman will compete in the humorous division.

Class officers for the seventh grade are: June Webster, president; Leo McNeil, vice president; Ivanell Krause, treasurer.

Those who received an average of "B" in the seventh grade for the past six weeks are: Leslie Smith, June Webster, Keith Overbeck, Leo McNeil and Harlan Krambeer.

Those who received an average of "B" in the eighth grade for the past week were: Florence Aulerich, Wilbur Frye, Helen Miller, Helen McNeil and Dorothy Moritz.

In the fifth and sixth grade room the following officers have been elected: Ralph Schrader, president; Ralph Pearson, vice president; Irene Sanders, secretary.

The third and fourth grades have a few new members on the dental roll. They are: Jeanette Kliefoth, Dorleen Aulerich, Reid Schultz, Amanda Landt and Bernard Schrader. Those who have had perfect spelling lessons are: Amanda Landt, Anita Pufahl and Dorleen Aulerich. Those who received the Skeezix tooth brush set for the best colored health posters are Jeanette Kliefoth and Bernard Schrader.

In the first grade Arnold and Merrill Funk each have six stars in number work and in the second grade Laura Walch has the most stars.

~source: Waukon Republican-Standard, Dec. 23, 1931 (Waukon, Allamakee co. Iowa)
~transcribed by Ann Krumme


Luana Consolidated High School Class of 1932

Luana HS Class of 1932
Clockwise from top left:
Frances Erb, Ione Lamborn, Ella Panncke, Jason Moore, Ilo Scheffert, Ida Anne Zieman, Harley Moore

~Contributed by Erin Wilker


Luana Consolidated High School Class of 1934

Luana Consolidated High School Class of 1934

Clockwise from bottom left:
Malin Schultz, Elizabeth Pofahl, Lois Moritz, Verna Moore, Walter B. Hammer, Supt., Mary Gentz, Nelor Jones & Dean Schultz

Above picture as remembered by Malin Schultz... "As I remember, the Luana School was the first consolidated school in Iowa. My class of 7 graduated in 1934. I only went there my Junior and Senior years. The rest of the class went the entire 12 years. Originally we rode to school in black stage coach type buses and in bad weather we had buses pulled by horses. The first graduating class from the Luana Consolidated School was in 1920 and the last graduating in 1960. The total graduates were 309."

~photo and text from 'Simple Pleasures ... Growing Up in Iowa. Luana Memories', written by Brenda Boddicker. Unknown date.
~contributed by Paul Moritz


Basketball Coach Dale Hamnquist, 1942

Luana Basketball Coach Dale Hamnquist, 1942

Richard Dale Hamnquist, son of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Hamnquist, was born in Des Moines. He graduated from Upper Iowa University, Fayette, in 1941. His first coaching job was at the Luana high school in 1942. He married Myrrl Mae Paul of Maynard, Iowa on May 29, 1943 and they moved to Illinois.


Return to School Index