USGenWeb IAGenWeb

Welcome to Cherokee County IAGenWeb!

My name is Cindy Booth Maher and I have the pleasure of being the county coordinator for this IAGenWeb Cherokee County site. 

Like you, I have a personal interest in Cherokee County. My McCoun ancestors migrated to this county in 1863; the Lanes in 1868; and my Booth and Wright ancestors in 1882. I was born in Cherokee and my father and grandfather, Dale & Frank Booth, owned the Case Implement dealership in Cherokee until a tragic small plane accident  took both of their lives in Jan of 1955.

All of the data on this site is free and is a result of volunteer contributions. Your suggestions, generous contributions of information, photos, cemetery readings, article transcriptions, original research and much more is always welcome. If you have information and/or photographs to share, please contact me!

Click Here To See
What's New!

Table of Contents
Search this Site!
index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind

Cherokee county, Iowa, lies in the northwestern part of the present State of Iowa. It is within the Missouri River Basin and, in terms of topography and climate, lies in the transition zone between the woodland prairies and the high plains. The area was acquired from the Sioux Indians by treaty in 1850.

In 1851, the Iowa General Assembly created a number of counties in a newly surveyed North West Iowa. The counties created by the legislature were given the names of famous men, Indian tribes, and battles; apparently at the whim of the legislators. Cherokee county was named for the Cherokee Indians; who actually lived in the southeastern U.S., and later in Oklahoma. At that time, there were no permanent white residents in the county. The county, as created, consisted of 16 congressional townships of 36 sections each - an area of 576 square miles. For governmental purposes, it was attached to Crawford County. In 1853, it was attached to Wahkaw (Woodbury) County and was known as Cherokee Civil Township of Wahkaw County. In 1858, Cherokee County was officially organized as a county, with a single civil township. Today the county has 16 townships, which are as follows: Spring, Cedar, Liberty, Marcus, Amherst, Sheridan, Cherokee Afton, Pitcher, Pilot, Rock, Tilden, Grand Meadow, Willow, Silver and Diamond.

The principal cities and towns are: Cherokee - the county seat, Aurelia, Cleghorn, Larrabee, Marcus, Meriden, Quimby and Washta.

Cherokee County's Neighboring Counties

Check out our
IAGenWeb Face Book Page

         County History
         Towns & Villages
        Photo Gallery


Contact Me
County Records
Mail List
Printed Sources
Internet Sources
Surname Researchers
IAGenWeb Message Boards

Tips for doing Board Searches

IAGenWeb Special Projects

Volunteer Today!
 Website funded by:

Copyright (c) 2004-2024 IAGenWeb Project & Submitters. All rights reserved. 

IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions & Disclaimer