HISTORY OF TAMA
This township lies in the second tier from the south, and is the
smallest civil township in the county. It is bounded on
the north by Toledo Township, on the south by Columbia, on the
east by Otter Creek and on the west by Indian Village. The
Iowa river crosses the township, and makes one of the most
beautiful and fertile valleys in the State. The stream
furnishes a limited natural water power, which has been greatly
increased by artificial means, and is partly utilized.
Deer creek enters the township from Toledo on the north and
makes confluence with the river on section 34. A good
share of the township is composed of timber land, while there is
considerable beautiful rolling prairie. The soil is of a
dark rich loam which is very productive.
three railroads passing through, C. M. & St. P., Chicago
& Northwestern and Toledo & Northwester. There is
only one town in the township, Tama city, the largest place in
through this section of country, a glance at its towns and
villages, or a close inspection of its many improvements, would
impress one with the belief of a much older settlement that
actually exists. It seems incredible, that in the space of
thirty years, such a change could be wrought; nevertheless, it
is a fact, that this is comparatively a new country, and it is
apparent that its pioneers must have been men of push and
energy. Having natural resources above most places, Tama
township and her present condition can be accounted for,
surprising as it may seem to the casual observer. The
early settlers of this section made a good selection of
locality, yet many of them could not endure the isolation
incident to pioneer life, and returned to the places from whence
they came, or moved to points more congenial to their tastes,
little thinking that within a few years the land would be fully
occupied, the various branches of trade and industry represented
and the land teeming with wealth and prosperity. It is,
however, the case elsewhere, as well as here, that the first
settlers of a country do not generally remain to reap the
harvest and receive the reward. Those who came early and
have remained, as a rule, are in comfortable, if not affluent
circumstances, and many who came later, knowing full well the
immense power of stream, and wonderful possibilities of soil
here presented, shrewdly took in the situation and made
investments, which have surpassed their most sanguine hopes, and
to-day thrift, enterprise and industry characterize the citizens
of Tama township.
fall of 1849, Rezin A. Redman and John C. Vermilya, came to what
is now Tama township and each located a farm of 160 acres, and
then returned to their homes in Jackson county, Indiana.
During the summer of 1850, they formed a company in that county,
consisting of Rezin A. Redman, John C. Vermilya, J. H. Hollen,
W. L. Brannan, Samuel J. Murphy, James Umbarger, William
Blodgett and William T. Hollen to come to this country and
locate. In the fall Redman, Brannan, Umbarger, Murphy and
J. H. and William T. Hollen left Jackson county, came by teams,
and arrived here about the 25th of October, of that year.
Brannan, Umbarger and Murphy, brought their families and
immediately began the erection of a log house on the southeast
quarter of section 25, township 83, range 15, on the land
entered by Redman. Some time during the fall Brannan,
Umbarger and Murphy moved to Iowa county. The Hollens also
left about the same time for Indiana. Redman remained
until the middle of December, when he also returned to Indiana,
leaving his stock and property in charge of William Boze, an
employee. In the spring of 1851, William Blodgett came and
located on the southwest quarter of section 26, and is now a
resident of Tama City, and is the oldest living settler in the
township. He also came from Indiana.
during July, 1851, Redman came with his family, but remained
only one year, when he again returned to Indiana.
Vermilya, with his family, arrived in March, 1852, and settled
on the northeast quarter of the southwest quarter of section 26,
where he still remains.
J. H. Hollen
with his family, arrived April 27, 1852, and settled on the
southwest quarter of the southeast quarter of section 27, and is
still an honored citizen of the county.
Hollen, came and located permanently, in May, 1852. He
settled on the southwest quarter of section 26.
Hollen, one of the original Indiana company, who made the first
settlement in Tama township, was born near Brownstown, Jackson
county, of that State, December 8, 1820. His father,
Andrew B. Hollen, was a native of Green Briar county, Virginia,
and served in the War of 1812; his mother was born in Mercer
county, Kentucky. He was reared on a farm and received but
a limited education, it having been confined to the common
schools of that day. In 1850, he made his first trip to
Tama county, and two years later, settled on section 27 of Tama
township, where he entered and purchased 200 acres of land, a
greater part of which is now occupied by the thriving town of
Tama City. Until May, 1882, Mr. Hollen was engaged in
farming; since that time he has been extensively engaged in
shipping stock to Colorado and Wyoming. He was the first
postmaster of Toledo when that office was located in the present
township of Tama, and was also one of the first Justices of the
Peace of the county, having been elected in April of 1853, at
which time he was obliged to go to Vinton, Benton county, to
qualify. Mr. Hollen held the office of Justice of Tama
City from 1873 until 1876. He was one of the first
directors of the Tama School Board, and has always taken a deep
interest in educational affairs. In politics, he is a
Democrat first, last and always. He is a Master Mason and
a member of Hiram of Tyre Lodge of Tama City; also a member of
Dorio Chapter. Mr. Hollen has always taken an active
interest in the building up of Tama City, owning at one time
nearly all of the land upon which the town stands. He has
spared neither pains nor expense to make it one of the leading
towns of Central Iowa, and has ever been ready to give to any
enterprise that would further the advancement of the place he
has nourished with so much care. In 1843, he was joined in
wedlock with Miss Eliza A. Graham, a native of Jackson county,
Indiana, and together they have fought life's battles for forty
years. Ten children have blessed their union, four of whom
are now living: Addie, wife of Dr. S. Thompson of Toledo; Eva,
wife of C. D. Terry, of Tama City; Katie, wife of F. R.
Holmes of Wyoming Territory and Clarence.
Brannan, another of the Indiana party, is a son of Moses and
Casandra (French) Brannan, and is a native of Indiana, born in
Dearborn county, February 10, 1821. When he was ten years
old the family removed to Jackson county, Indiana, and there he
followed the life of a farmer until eighteen years of age.
At that time he learned the carpenter's trade, which occupation
he followed for many years. In 1850, he, in company with
others, came to Tama county, Iowa, but instead of settling here,
determined to locate in Iowa county. There Mr. Brannan
followed his trade for four years, and then returned to Tama
county, settling in
note: Pages 951 & 952 are missing and may be a portrait, the
beginning text on page 953 seems to be a continuation from page
950 and when portraits are inserted, they usually take up 2
where he continued to reside until 1864, at which date he
removed to Tama City, where he still resides. He followed
his trade until 1874, and since that time has been Justice of
the Peace two years, and Marshal of the town six years.
During 1843, he was united in marriage with Miss Minerva S.
Umbarger, a native of Washington county, Indiana. Five
children were born to them, one of who is now living: Leonidas
H., now proprietor of the Northwestern Hotel, Tama city.
Mr. Brannan was called to mourn the death of his wife in 1854,
and he so cherished her in memory that he has never re-married.
this, settlers began to arrive rapidly, locating in other
townships adjoining this settlement. At this time the
territory of Tama was a part of Toledo township, but these
settlements were made in what is now embraced in the civil
township of Tama. Among other early settlers in this
vicinity were Norman Lewis, E. Harmon, Andrew Jackson, W.
Croskrey, Isaac Maden, James Burge and others.
settled in Otter Creek township, in April, 1854. Upon his
arrival, he purchased 350 acres of wild land on sections 27 and
22; 300 acres of it was prairie, and the remaining fifty acres,
timber. during the following summer he erected a log house
on section 27, and in January, 1855, removed his family to their
new home. Norman Lewis is a native of Suffield, Hartford
county, Connecticut, born August 23, 1813, and is a son of James
and Desire (Remmington) Lewis. His father and mother were
also natives of Suffield. Mr. Lewis traces the genealogy,
on his father's side, to the landing of the Pilgrims at Plymouth
Rock. His youth was spent on his father's farm, and at
seventeen years of age he was apprenticed to a blacksmith.
Subsequently he worked in the United States Armory, at
Springfield, Massachusetts, and also was engaged for about six
months in the Colt's pistol manufactory. In 1836, he came
as far west as Ohio, settling in Medina county, where he lived
until the fall of 1849, at which time he lost his first wife,
Lucy (Kent) Lewis, to whom he was married in May of 1836.
She bore him four children, of whom one is now living.
Upon leaving Ohio, Mr. Lewis returned to Connecticut, where he
remained a few months, then went to Springfield, Massachusetts,
where he was married December 24, 1857, to Angeline E.
Cleveland. In less than two years the husband was called
to mourn her death; she died August 7, 1853. He was again
married, February 8, 1854, choosing for a help-meet, Elizabeth
L. Foster, a native of Hartford, Connecticut. In politics
Mr. Lewis is a Republican, and while in Otter Creek township, he
held the office of Justice of the Peace, and at one time was
county Supervisor from that township. He was also the
first postmaster of Tamaville postoffice, receiving his
appointment from Franklin Pierce, and continuing to discharge
the duties of that office until Abraham Lincoln became
President. In August, 1864, he bought his present place in
the northern part of Tama City, where he has since erected a
fine residence. In 1867, he embarked in the lumber
business, at Tama City, in which trade he continued six years,
and since that time has led a comparatively retired life.
He is a member of the Baptist Church of Tama City. Mr.
Lewis had four children by his first wife: Mary Jane, born
February 4, 1837, died May 30, 1838; Louisa D., born October 19,
1838, died March 22, 1858; James H., born June 13, 1840, now
living in Furnas county, Nebraska, and Luther K., born July 20,
1846, died August 18, 1846.
Jackson is a native of Madison county, Indiana, born October 21,
1833. He is a son of Samuel and Sarah (Wood) Jackson, who
were born in North Carolina. Andrew's early life was spent
on his father's farm and he obtained his education in the common
schools, of his native State. In February, 1850 the family
removed to Wabash county, Indiana, and in 1855, Andrew came to
Tama county, arriving here on the 3d of June. Shortly
after, he returned to Indiana, and during the fall of the same
year, again came west. He spent the winter in Toledo, and
the following spring located on a rented farm north of that
place. During the spring of 1858 he removed to Missouri
and subsequently to Indiana; and in 1861 returned to Tama
county. In the summer of 1864 he purchased a farm in
Indian Village township, and in connection with agricultural
pursuits, was engaged in stock dealing. From 1870 to 1875,
he was engaged in shipping blooded short-horn cattle from
Kentucky to Tama county. At the end of that time he
purchased a farm of 240 acres just northeast of Tama City, and
now owns that farm and also 400 acres in Indian Village
township. For the past three years Mr. Jackson has been
largely engaged in shipping stock cattle west. In politics
he is a strong Democrat, and has always taken an active part in
the political affairs of the county. During 1855 he was
united in marriage with Miss Catherine Quick, a native of Rush
county, Indiana, a daughter of Elizabeth Quick. Eleven
children have been born to them, eight of whom are living -
Monroe, Mary, Albert, Emma, Wilbur, Eva and Effie, (twins) and
Croskrey was born December 25, 1827, in Muskingum county,
Ohio. He is a son of Robert and Mary (Hudson) Croskrey,
who were also natives of that State. Wesley's education
was received in his native county, and there he passed his youth
and the first few years of his manhood. In 1856 he removed
to Tama county, Iowa, and settled on his present farm, on
section 32, Tama township. Mr. Croskrey has disposed of
100 acres of land to the Indians, but still owns a fine farm of
300 acres. He was married in 1851, to Miss Sarah McDonald,
a native of Ohio, and a daughter of William and Lydia
(Schofield) McDonald. Eight children have been born to
them, five of whom are now living: Robert, whose home is now in
the State of Minnesota; Eliza, Joseph, Sadie and Johnny.
On the 1st
of May, 1856, Isaac Maden located at Toledo, Tama county,
Iowa. He is a son of James and Elizabeth Maden, and was
born in Lawrence county, Indiana, December 29, 1825. He
remained in his native county until seventeen years of age, and
then came west, making his first settlement in Whiteside county,
Illinois, where he was engaged in working on a farm; he was
living there at the time of the "land riot," which occurred in
1846. In 1856 he left that State and emigrated with his
family and worldly goods, which, all told, consisted of one team
of horses, to Tama county, Iowa. Mr. Maden first located
at Toledo, where he was engaged in teaming until the fall of
1858 when he settled on the place where he now resides. He
earned $400 with his team during the first four months of his
residence in Toledo; but by the failure of the parties for whom
he had worked, he lost it all, as he had taken their notes
instead of the cash. Probably no one man in Tama county
saw more hardships, or overcame greater obstacles during the
pioneer days of the country, than did Isaac Maden: but success
was his watchword, and he bravely conquered all. He now
owns, in Tama county, 220 acres of land, 140 of which is under a
high state of cultivation, and the remaining eighty well under
way. Twenty acres of his farm lie within the town
corporation, the farm being just one mile south of the heart of
the city. In 1847 he was joined in wedlock with Miss
Burnetta Lewis, a native of Arkansas. Six children have
blessed their marriage: Emma, wife of Joseph Shaller; Lucinda,
wife of Byron Knowles; Emery, Monroe, Benjamin F. and Lydia.
is a son of William and Ann Burge, and was born in England on
the 5th of April, 1823. In 1829, the family emigrated to
America, locating at Albany, New York, where the father died in
1882, at the advanced age of eighty-seven years; the mother died
during 1855. James remained in that city and in other
parts of New York, until 1851, at which time he removed to
Davenport, Iowa, where he was engaged in the tobacco trade five
years. He then came to Tama county, and during the space
of eleven years was engaged in the saw mill business at
Toledo. At the expiration of that time Mr. Burge settled
on section 28 of Tama township, where he now owns 495 acres of
land. In politics he is a Republican, and has been
Township Trustee for two years. In 1833, he was joined in
wedlock with Miss Ellen S. Hooghkerk, a native of Lansingburg,
New York. They have three children living; Ellen Ann, wife
of A. H. Tree, of Cedar Rapids; William and James.
log house was built during the fall of 1850, on land entered by
Rezin A. Redman on the southeast quarter of section 25.
The first frame house was built, during the fall of 1857, by J.
H. Hollen, near the southeast corner of the southwest quarter of
the southeast quarter of section 27. This house is still
standing in Tama city and is now owned by G. H. Burt.
marriage united the destinies of George W. Wier and Miss Mary
Rush, and took place at the residence of the bride's parents on
section 23. The ceremony was performed by Judge John c.
birth was a son, Willie, to J. H. Hollen and wife, on the 9th
day of February, 1853. The second birth was a son, Ewing,
to William Blodgett and wife, December 10, 1853.
death was that of Willie Hollen, April 1, 1853, at the age of
one month and twenty-two days. He was buried in what is
now Oak Hill cemetery.
was established December 13, 1853, called Toledo, on section 27,
at the residence of J. H. Hollen, who was the first postmaster,
receiving his appointment from James Campbell,
Postmaster-General. This place is now in Tama City.
At that time it was on the route from Marengo to Marietta, and
mail was received once a week when the carrier could cross the
river. This route was on the south side of the river and
at times the water was so high that it was impossible to ford
it. Often when the carrier was afraid to cross, Mr. Hollen
would swim the river and transfer the mail in a pillow
case. He remained postmaster and the office was kept at
his house until removed to the town of Toledo, in October, 1855,
when he was succeeded by John Zehrung.
report for the first quarter, from February 11, to March 31,
of weekly papers received
the U. S. Government
J. H. Hollen
second report, form April 1, to June 30, showed:
U. S. Government
J. H. Hollen
for the third quarter showed:
U. S. Government
J. H. Hollen
county board at its September session divided township 83, range
15, and set apart the two south tiers of sections for a civil
township, to be known as Tama, and ordered that the first
election be held at the school house in Tama City, on the 3d of
November, 1868. Accordingly the first election was held at
the above mentioned time and place, N. Lewis, E. Harman and S.
W. Cole being the Judges of Election, and the clerks, B. A. Hall
and F. J. M. Wonser. The officers elected were: R. M.
Wells, John fife and N. G. Wheaton, Trustees; E. Harmon and
James Burge, Justices of the Peace; Thomas J. Smith and W. T.
Hollen, Constables; A. M. Batchelder, Clerk; James McClung,
Assessor; Frank Patterson, collector.
- W. A. Newcomb, Justice of the Peace; N. Lewis, John Fife and
R. H. Ryan, Trustees; A. M. Batchelder, Clerk; William E.
Newcomb, Assessor; F. J. Smith and C. B. Barnard, Constables.
- M. A. Newcomb, Justice of the Peace; B. A. Hill, William
Gallagher and C. B. Bentley, Trustees; B. W. Homan, Clerk; T. J.
Smith and W. T. Hollen, Constables.
- W. P. Parker, N. Lewis and C. B. Bentley, Trustees; B. W.
Homan, clerk; R. H. Ryan, Assessor; Thomas W. Carter and T.
- Eli Harman and J. G. Strong, Justices; James Burge, Assessor;
E. N. Merchant, Clerk; L. Merchant, G. Hollenbeck and John Fife,
Trustees; J. J. McAllister and A. Cory, Constables.
- No records could be found.
- J. H. Hollen and W. L. Brannan, Justices; W. T. Hollen and J.
C. Kendrick, Constables; J. Brice, Jr., John Fife and W. G.
Cambridge, Trustees; B. F. Moreland, Clerk; C. E. Tyner,
- B. A. Hall, James Burge and W. Hartsell, Trustees; A. Smith,
Clerk; d. Toland, Assessor.
- Charles McClung and J. D. Sherman, Justices; D. Wilcox and W.
T. Hollen, Constables; W. E. Newcomb, James Burge and W.
Hartsell, Trustees; W. H. Albrecht, Clerk; C. Jackman, Assessor.
- T. W. Carter and C. L. McClung, Justices; D. Toland, Assessor;
T. Williamson, Clerk; W. Hartsell, John Fife and Thomas Brice,
- G. D. Sherman, Justice; James Burge, Assessor; E. L.
Carmichael, Clerk; H. Day, Trustee.
- J. S. Deterick, Assessor; E. L. Carmichael, Clerk; H. E.
- J. J. McAllister and C. L. McClung, Justices; H. O. Conley,
Assessor; C. M. birdsell, Clerk; H. Day, Trustee.
- John fife, Trustee; E. Harman and C. L. McClung, Justices;
Thomas Williamson, clerk; W. T. Hollen and D. Mahana,
- A. Jackson, Trustee.
Toland, present Assessor of Tama township, is a native of Beaver
county, Pennsylvania, where he was born August 4, 1818. He
is a son of James and Mary Ann (Laird) Toland, who were born in
Maryland, and married in Washington county, Pennsylvania.
About the year 1826, they removed to Columbiana county,
Pennsylvania, but when that county was afterwards divided, they
were in the part divided off as Carroll county. David was
reared on a farm and received a good education, notwithstanding
the fact that the country schools at that time were few in
number and many miles apart. On the 23d of December, 1841,
he was united in marriage with Miss Nancy Merrick, a native of
Carroll county, and a daughter of Isaac and Martha (Johnson)
Merrick, who also were born in Pennsylvania. While David
and his wife were living in that county four children were born
to them: James W., Isaac W., William J. and Andrew A., all of
whom are living except William J., who was killed by lightning
in 1876. During 1851 the family removed to Van Wert
county, Ohio, where Mr. Toland was engaged in farming. In
that county, Mary M., David S., Alonzo W. and Thomas A. were
born to them. In 1865, they came to Iowa and settled on
section 31, of Tama township, Tama county. Mr. Toland owns
ninety-two acres there, and 160 acres in Highland township, all
of it being under cultivation. Their youngest child, Frank
E., has been born to them since their settlement in this
county. In politics, Mr. Toland is a staunch
Republican. He is the present Assessor of the township and
has held the office for the past five years, and in November,
1882, was re-elected for a term of two years more. Two of
their sons, James W. and Isaac W., served their country during
our late rebellion, enlisting from Ohio. The eldest was
wounded at the battle of Mission Ridge and has never entirely
recovered from it. Mr. and Mrs. Toland are members of the
Presbyterian Church. Mr. Toland held the office Justice of
the Peace for three years in Ohio, and would have been
re-elected but declined. He is a man of extensive reading,
fond of history and well posted on all topics.
town was first named Iuka, in honor to the soldiers of Tama
county, who participated in the battle of Iuka,
Mississippi. J. H. Hollen entered the land upon which the
town was laid out, and, in 1862, sold to John I. Blair the east
thirty-five acres of the northwest quarter of the northeast
quarter of section 34. This part constituted the town of
Iuka, and most of the business part of Tama City now stands on
the old town site. At the time of platting Iuka, there was
standing on the present site of Tama City, the residence of B.
A. Hall, on of J. H. Hollen and on of W. T. Hollen. The
first house of any kind built on the site of Iuka was built by
Michael Welch in 1862, for a railroad boarding house. The
house has been improved a little at times and is still occupied
by his widow. Other houses soon followed until in a short
time it began to have the appearance of quite a town. The
first store was opened by J. H. Beaumont in a small frame
building located where the First National Bank now stands.
He moved his stock of goods from Marietta, Marshall county, to
this place during the fall of 1862. During the summer of
1863, he moved his building to where the City Hotel now stands,
and it now forms the ell part of that building. The second
store was opened by c. K. Bodfish in the fall of 1863, who moved
his stock and building from Chelsea, this county, and located it
on the ground formerly occupied by Beaumont, where the First
National Bank now stands. This building is now used by
Frank Skinner as a jewelry store. M. C. Murdough was the
third to cast his fortunes in the little town with a stock of
goods. He came in January, 1864, and occupied what is now
used as the office of the commercial Hotel.
as a trading point began to have a wide reputation and other
merchants soon followed. Even before the railroad reached
here this place assumed important business proportions.
However, many of the trades were not represented until some time
first blacksmith to locate here was C. H. Warner, who opened
business in the shop now owned by W. H. Cummings, in 1862.
He remained but a short time, when it was sold to Speilman &
Owens. It was afterward owned by Speilman alone until it
was bought by W. H. Cummings in December, 1867. Mr.
Cummings still carries on the business. There are two
other shops in the town, by Elias Price and E. S. Beckley.
H. Cummings, one of the blacksmiths of Tama City, was born in
Ireland, February 18, 1842. He crossed the Atlantic to
America in 1855, locating in Buffalo, New York. Shortly
after his settlement in that city, he began learning the
blacksmith trade at a place eight miles from Buffalo, in
Canada. Subsequently he worked at his trade in Dunkirk,
New York. In 1867 he came to Tama City, where he opened a
blacksmith shop and has always enjoyed a liberal
patronage. He is at present one of the Town councilmen,
having held the office three terms. In December, 1860, he
was united in marriage with Miss Bridget Mulligan. They
have five children living: James Edward, John H., Sarah M., Anna
B. and Rose May.
first wagon shop was opened by M. C. Wilson, November 10, 1865,
in a small frame shanty, where he is now located. In 1866,
he tore down this shanty and erected his present shop where he
is still engaged in wagon manufacturing. M. C. Wilson was
born in Augusta, Georgia, on the 28th of August, 1828. His
parents were Sherwood and Anna (Bellingsley) Wilson, natives of
Scotland. Seven years after his birth the family removed
to Ohio, and afterwards to Indiana, where his father died in
1861. At an early day the subject of our sketch learned
the trade of wagon making, which occupation he has since
followed. In 1847, he enlisted in the Sixth Indiana
volunteer Infantry, under colonel Drake, and served through the
Mexican war. At President Lincoln's first call for troops
in 1861, Mr. Wilson enlisted in Company I, Second Iowa Volunteer
Infantry, in the three months service. At the expiration
of his term of enlistment, he came to Marion, Iowa, and in 1862,
re-enlisted in Company F, 20th Iowa Infantry, and after serving
fourteen months, was honorably discharged on account of
disability, which was the result of a fall received at the
battle of Prairie Grove. He then located at McGregor,
Iowa, and eighteen months later removed to Cedar Falls. In
1865 he came to Tama city, where he opened the first wagon shop
in the place. Mr. Wilson was married in 1861 to Miss Celia
Leonard, a native of Zanesville, Ohio. Five children bless
the union: Charles, Fanny, Addie, Mary and Edward.
first to establish in the produce, butter and egg trade, was
Thomas Whitaker, who opened here in the spring of 1863, and
still does a large business.
E. Tewksbury established here in the same branch of trade in
May, 1881, and does a business of $75,000 annually, buying
through all of Central Iowa. His shipments are mostly to
Boston and other eastern markets.
Whitaker, the first produce dealer in Tama City, is a native of
New York, born in the town of Cherry Valley, Otsego county, May
28, 1816. He is a son of James T. and Prudence (Sydleman)
Whitaker. His mother was born in Connecticut, and his
father in New York. His grandfather, Thomas Whitaker, was
a Major in the Revolutionary war, and distinguished himself at
Fort Plain, where with thirty men he held the fort against
Brandt and 700 Indians. Mr. Whitaker's father was an
Adjutant in the was of 1812. He died when Thomas was
fourteen years of age, leaving him, as the eldest child, to take
care of the family. He remained in his native county until
1842, and while there ran a hotel in Cherry Valley for nine
years, and was Sheriff of his county for six years. At
that time for a public officer to do his duty was almost certain
death, and though not suffering that fate, he was once taken by
the anti-renters to Schoharie county and tarred. In 1842,
he came far west as Chicago, where he dealt in horses.
During the fall of 1853, he removed to Tama county, Iowa, first
locating in Otter Creek township, where he tilled the soil for
two years and then removed to Toledo, engaging in the produce
trade. Upon the completion of the railroad he settled in
Tama City. In politics he is a Democrat and has been a
member of the City Council for one term. He was married,
in 1841, to Miss Wealthy Ann Farnham, of Otsego county, New
York. Six children were born to them, four of whom are now
living: William F., George A., Elizabeth and Mary. James
and Menzo died aged fourteen and six years respectively.
Mrs. Whitaker died in 1861, and three years later, Mr. Whitaker
chose for a help-meet Martha Thompson, of Ohio. They have
one child living - Nellie. James T. died at Tama City,
September 28, 1873, aged sixteen months. When Mr. Whitaker
was twenty-one years of age he was elected Captain of a militia
in his native town, in which company his father and grandfather
had previously served.
first drug store was opened by John Shanklin in the building now
known as the Tama House. The drug trade is well
represented by H. Soleman, who established in 1867, R. M. Coffin
and Frost & Vanderliss.
Soleman, one of Tama City's most enterprising business men, is a
son of Garrett and Angeline (Mounther) Soleman, born in
Woodville, Sandusky county, Ohio, November 7, 1842. In
1855, his father's family came west to Tama county, Iowa, and
Henry spent the first three years of his life in this county on
his father's farm near Toledo. His school advantages were
very limited, but he nevertheless has, through his own efforts,
acquired a good business education. At about sixteen years
of age he began clerking in a dry goods store at Toledo; and
when Tama City began to build up, came here with J. L.
Stuart. In 1863, Mr. Soleman, in company with B. F. Myers,
opened livery stables at Tama City and Toledo, which they
continued about fourteen months, when they sold. In the
spring of 1867, Mr. Soleman came to Tama City, and in company
with A. W. Thompson, opened a drug store. In about one
year Mr. Soleman purchased his partner's interest and has since
conducted the business alone. In October, 1866, he was
married to Miss Carrie Armstrong, daughter of T. K. Armstrong,
of Toledo. They have had two children: Alta, born July 4,
1869; and Fred, born August 1, 1877.
first banking institution in Tama City was established by Thayer
& Lucas. It continued about one year, when it was
removed to Clinton, Iowa.
H. Warren was in the banking business in Tama City for a number
First National Bank of Tama City was organized in 1871, with a
paid up capital of $50,000. The following named gentlemen
were among the original stockholders in the institution:
B. A. Hall, W. H. Harrison, W. B. Avery, G. H. Warren, W. F.
Johnston, R. Richman, C. E. Covell, John Ramsdell, A. J. Tyler,
C. E. Hayes, J. Brice, Jr., and E. Harman. At a meeting of
stockholders, B. A. Hall was elected President and G. H. Warren,
Cashier. They held these positions until 1880, when they
were succeeded by J. L. Bracken, as President and A. P. Starr,
as Cashier. Under the management of these men, the bank
has taken front rank among the moneyed institutions of Tama
county, affording abundant security to depositors.
According to the statutes, the stockholders are held personally
responsible to double the amount of their stock. The
following is section 5151 of the Revised Statutes, governing
National Banks: "The stockholders of any National Banking
Association shall be held individually responsible, equally and
ratably, not one for another, for all contract debts and
engagements of such association to the extent of the amount of
their stock therein, at par value thereof, in addition to the
amount invested in such shares."
following is the report of the condition of the Bank at the
close of business March 13, 1883:
cent. U. S. Bonds at par to secure circulation
Stocks, Bonds and Mortgages Due from approved
from State Banks and Bankers
estate, furniture and fixtures
expenses and taxes paid
and other cash items
of other Banks
fund with U. S. Treasurer, (5 per cent. of
stock paid in
Bank notes outstanding
deposits subject to check
certificates of deposit
certificates of deposit
to State Banks and bankers
present Board of Directors is composed of the following named:
J. L. Bracken, J. Brice, Jr., C. E. Hayes, E. Ruggles, B. A.
Hall, John Ramsdell, A. J. Tyler and A. P. Starr. The
foregoing together with W. B. Avery, P. Starr, C. E. Covell, D.
W. Reed, S. A. Reed, H. R. Van Dusen and E. M. Hall comprise the
present stockholders. The present first National Bank
building was erected in 1871, at a cost of over $10,000.
It is located on the northwest corner Third and McClellan
streets. Taking the good standing of the stockholders and
the fine management of its officers into consideration, the
First National Bank of Tama City is well worth the confidence of
its patrons and the people of Tama county. The
correspondents of the bank are: First National Bank, Chicago;
United States National Bank, New York.
P. Starr, cashier of the First National Bank of Tama City, is a
native of Windham county, Vermont, born December 13, 1855.
His early life was spent attending school in his native town,
his purpose being to fit himself for a business career.
Later, he entered, and in due course of time, graduated from the
Business College at Poughkeepsie, New York. Subsequently
he spent four years as teller of the People's National Bank of
Brattleboro, Vermont, of which his father was President.
In 1879, he came to Tama city, and soon after accepted the
position of book-keeper in the first National Bank, and in
January of 1880, was elected cashier of the same. Mr.
Starr is a man of clear, keen and shrewd business ideas, and is
building up for himself an enviable reputation as a careful
financier. He was united in marriage, October 25, 1882, to
Miss Florence Murray, daughter of Thomas Murray, of Tama City.
Bank of Tama was organized in 1871 as the banking house of
Carmichael, Brooks & Co., with L. Carmichael as President;
J. H. Brooks, vice President and G. E. Maxwell, cashier.
In 1873 the name of the bank was changed to the Bank of Tama,
which name it has since retained. It was opened in a
building one block north of where it now stands. In 1874
the present structure was built by L. Carmichael at a cost of
$7,500. The fixtures of the bank cost $1,400. It is
fitted with a large and thoroughly fire proof vault, and uses
the Yale Time Lock. J. H. Brooks withdrew in 1875 and in
1879 G. E. Maxwell withdrew. It has since been carried on
by L. Carmichael & Son, L. Carmichael being president, which
office he has held since its organization, and and E. L.
Carmichael, cashier. Their correspondents are the National
Bank of America of Chicago and Chase National Bank of New
York. The bank has a capital of $18,000. The
following is a statement of the bank at the close of business,
December 30, 1871:
from other banks
contrast with the foregoing, the following statement of the
condition of the Bank of Tama, published at the close of
business, December 30, 1882, is given:
from other banks
paid on time deposits
Carmichael, President of the Bank of Tama, was born in
Middletown, Orange county, New York, on the 7th of May,
1825. He is a son of Z. and Sarah (Eldred) Carmichael, who
were also natives of New York. At fifteen years of age, he
began railroading on the Delaware and Hudson Canal railroad, and
finally, by hard work and close application to business, he
arose to the responsible position of Assistant Superintendent on
the Hudson River railroad. In 1851, Mr. Carmichael removed
to Indiana, where he took charge of railroad building.
Subsequently he built a large portion of the Michigan Southern
railroad, also contracted and built part of the Chicago &
Rock Island railroad across the State of Illinois, and during
the time built the first tunnel in the State, at LaSalle.
In 1840, Mr. Carmichael returned to the east and engaged with
the New Albany & Salem Railroad Company, and in 1842,
engaged with the New York & Erie Company. In 1865, he
contracted to build a large portion of the Union Pacific, built
the road almost across Iowa, and also in Nebraska and Utah,
being engaged on the work until 1869. He has also built no
small part of the Chicago & Northwestern railroad, through
Wisconsin and Iowa; also six miles in Iowa, between Council
Bluffs & St. Louis, on the Wabash railroad, and three miles
between Anamosa and the State prison quarry, on the branch of
the Chicago & Northwestern. Mr. Carmichael built the
entire line of the Toledo & Northwestern railroad from Tama
City to Minnesota line. He had charge of the workmen in
unloading the first locomotive ever brought to Louisville.
It was shipped by river from Pittsburg. Mr. Carmichael has
just completed sixty-six miles of railroad in the Peninsula of
Michigan, and is known as one of the most successful contractors
in the west. In 1857, he removed his family to Tama
county, settling in Otter Creek township, where, for a number of
years he was quite extensively engaged in farming. In
1868, he located in Tama city, and in 1871, became engaged in
banking business. Today he stands at the head of one of
the soundest banks of the county - the Bank of Tama. In
politics, the subject of this sketch is a staunch Republican,
and in religion he is a Baptist. He is a Mason and
received the 32d degree at Lyons, Iowa. In 1847, he was
joined in wedlock with Miss Mary E. Bunce, a native of Hartford,
Connecticut. Nine children were born to them, eight of
whom are living: Mary Ella, now wife of Geo. E. Maxwell, a
resident of Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts; Henry F., a hardware
merchant of Tama City; E. L., cashier of the Bank of Tama;
Charles H., cashier of his father's railroad business; Stephen
D., Aggie M., Hattie and Lina May. Mr. Carmichael was
called to mourn the death of his wife on the 4th of March, 1873.
Carmichael, cashier of the Bank of Tama, was born in Muscatine,
Iowa, February 14, 1857. His parents are Lewis and Mary E.
(Bunce) Carmichael. Shortly after his birth, the family
removed to Tama county, where they have since resided. E.
L.'s education was obtained in the Tama City public schools, and
at the Davenport commercial College, which latter he attended
during 1874-5, graduating in June, 1875. Upon completing
his education, he immediately entered the Bank of Tama as
book-keeper. In May of 1879, he was appointed cashier,
which position he still holds. Although a young man, Mr.
Carmichael enjoys an excellent reputation for thoroughness in
business; and the success of the bank is largely owing to his
good business qualities, combined with his genial, pleasant
manner. January 30, 1879, he was joined in wedlock with
Anna Spofford, daughter of J. B. Spofford, a former resident of
Tama City. They have had one son, Edwin Earl, who died at
Tama City, February 25, 1883, aged three years and two months.
warehouse was brought here from Chelsea, during the fall of
1862, by C. K. Bodfish, who purchased the first grain bought
here. This warehouse was afterwards changed to an
elevator, and was burned in 1872. The building stood where
the Monarch billiard hall now stands.
elevator was built by P. K. Hayden, in 1863, and stood where the
present large elevator stands. It was burned at the same
time with the other in 1872. There are at present several
firms in the grain trade, Bracken & Goodell taking the lead.
hardware store was opened by J. L. Wagner in a building now
occupied by Jacob Gatjens as a meat market. The hardware
business is at present represented by E. G. Penrose and H. F.
Carmichael. E. G. Penrose established in the hardware
trade in 1872, in the building now occupied by Carmichael.
In the spring of 1881, he moved to his present location, where
he does a business of $25,000 annually.
Hall & Carmichael, established in 1879, sold out in
1880. In 1881, H. F. Carmichael opened up a large stock and
does a business of about $25,000 annually.
E. G. Penrose, a hardware and grocery
merchant of Tama City, was born in Morgan county, Ohio, in August,
1844. He is a son of Thomas and Maria (Clendenen)
Penrose. His early life was spent at home, in his native
county, were he received a common school education. In 1860
his parents removed to Keokuk, Iowa, and during 1864-5, the
subject of this sketch attended the University at Iowa City.
In 1868, he came to Tama City and engaged in clerking for some
months. The following year he removed to Grand Junction,
Iowa, where he embarked in the hardware trade with a Mr Park, the
firm being Park & Penrose. In 1872, Mr. Penrose returned
to Tama city, and immediately opened a hardware store, in which
business he has since been engaged. He is also a member of
the grocery firm of Tims & Penrose. In politics, he is a
Republican, and has held the office of Mayor one year, and also
has been one of the Town Councilmen for five years. Mr.
Penrose has always taken an active part in educational affairs,
and is at present a member of the School Board. In March,
1870, he was married to Miss Jennie Stoddard, daughter of Joel
Stoddard, a native of Indiana.
Frank B., born July 14, 1871, blesses their union. Mr.
Penrose's father died, in March, 1880, his mother on the 1st of
May, 1883. He is a member of the Masonic order, Hiram of
Tyre Lodge, No. 203, and of the St. Bernard Commandery, No. 14,
of Belle Plaine. He is also a member of the A. O. U. W.,
of Tama City.
Carmichael, hardware dealer, and eldest son of Lewis Carmichael,
is a native of the hawkeye State, born in the town of Muscatine,
December 9, 1854. A few years after his birth, he came to
Tama county with his parents. His educational advantages
were the public schools of Tama City, and during 1873-4, he
attended the Rivermore Military Academy of Poughkeepsie, New
York. In 1875, he entered the Bank of Tama as book-keeper
and teller, holding that position three years. During
1879, in company with B. A. Hall, he engaged in the hardware
business; since 1881 he has been alone in the business.
Mr. Carmichael is a member of the Masonic Fraternity, St.
Barnard Commandry, No. 14, of Belle Plaine, Iowa, and has taken
the degree of Knight Templar. On the 29th of December,
1875, he was united in marriage with Miss Mary E. Hall, daughter
of B. A. Hall, of Tama City. Two children bless this
union: Louie, born December 24, 1876; and Frank, born July 16,
1880. Among the very oldest of Tama City's general
merchants, is J. Brice, Jr. He is a native of Washington
county, Pennsylvania, where he was born November 27, 1838.
In 1852 he removed, with his family, to Ogle county, Illinois,
where he engaged in clerking until the second year of our late
rebellion. He then enlisted in Company H, 92d Illinois
Infantry, and after serving one year, was honorably discharged
on account of disability. During 1865, he came to Tama
city and became engaged in the grocery business.
Subsequently he added a dry goods department, and is now one of
the most thriving business men of the town. In politics,
he is a staunch Republican, and in religion, he believes in the
Methodist doctrines, being a member of that Church. In
March 1858 he was joined in the holy bonds of matrimony with
Miss Sarah J. Hill, a native of Waverly, New York. Two
children bless this union: William E. and Maud.
livery stable was started by B. F. Myers & co., in
1863. They opened one at Toledo at the same time.
Soleman Brothers are the present principal liverymen. H.
K. Miller and M. C. Murdough are also in the business.
agricultural implement trade is represented by three firms: H.
Soleman, who established in 1878, and does a large business; E.
S. Carpenter & Son, who succeeded W. H. Hawk in 1883; and
McClung & Peak, who succeeded McClung & Carpenter.
McClung, of the firm of McClung & Peak, is a native of New
York, born in Seneca county, July 31, 1826. He is a son of
James and Maria (Conklin) McClung, the former a native of New
Jersey, the later of Pennsylvania. His grandfather James,
served as a private in the Revolution. In 1834, his
parents came west to Ohio where James remained until 1852,
attending the district school until twenty years of age, then
went to the Academy at Republic, Ohio, and afterward taught
school. In 1852, he went to California and until the fall
of 1855, engaged in mining and express business. In 1856
he came to Iowa and taught the grammar school at Tipton for one
year, when he was elected Superintendent of Schools, of Cedar
county, and served two years. He then served for three
years as County Surveyor, and resigning, went to Davenport,
Iowa. Soon after, he went to Montana, where he spent a
year and a half, and then returned to Iowa and settled in Tama
City. He first engaged in teaching school for one year,
then in company with others built the flouring mill at this
place, and continued in business one year, since which time he
was engaged in the lumber business for ten years, as agent for
W. J. Young & co., of Clinton. In March, 1881, in
company with G. W. Carpenter, he engaged in the agricultural
implement business, which partnership was continued until the
spring of 1883, as the firm of McClung & Peak.
was one of the original members of the Tama City Water Power
Company, and has been one of the Directors ever since the
organization of the company. He was married, in 1858, to
Miss N. J. Gregg, a native of Ohio. They have four
children living: Fanny B., now Assistant Principal of the Tama
City schools; Burtis W., now at Mount Vernon college; and
Florence. Fanny attended the Iowa State University, and
also one year and a half at Mount Vernon college. She has
been teaching in the schools of Tama city for two years.
In politics, Mr. McClung is a Greenbacker. He is a member
of the Presbyterian Church.
Carpenter, of the firm of E. S. Carpenter & Son, is a native
of Ohio, having been born in Noble county, of that State, July
31, 1841. There he received his education and reached his
majority. During 1864 he enlisted in company G, 174th Ohio
Infantry, and served his county until honorably discharged at
Columbus, Ohio, in the fall of 1865. He participated in
the battle of The Cedars, the battle at Decatur, Alabama, and
was also in the engagement at Kingston, North Carolina, besides
being in several skirmishes. At the close of the war he
returned to his native county, and in March of 1869, came to
Tama county, Iowa, locating in Howard township. There he
remained until December of 1877, when he settled on his present
place on section 27, of Columbia township, where he now owns 160
acres of land. In politics he is a Republican. While
living in Howard township, Mr. Carpenter held the office of
Justice of the Peace four years and was also Constable of the
town some time. At present, he is one of the Town Trustees
of Columbia. His marriage with Miss Ellen House, a native
of Noble county, Ohio, occurred in 1860. They have eight
children living: George W., Armada C, Nathan E., Sarah A.,
Evelena, Harvey C., Edna E. and Hilda M. Early in 1883,
Mr. Carpenter and his son, George W., purchased the business of
W. H. Hawk, of Tama City. They took possession February
15, and under the firm name of E. S. Carpenter & Son, are
now doing a large business in agricultural implements, wagons,
carriages, barbed wire and all goods found in a well assorted
ware-house of that character. They will soon add a
complete stock of hardware.
W. H. Hawk,
formerly dealer in agricultural implements, is a native of
Canada West, having been born 100 miles west of Toronto, on the
6th of January, 1847. He is a son of Piercifer
and Jeanette (Lawson) Hawk. He remained at home
helping his father with the farm work, until he had attained his
majority and then came to Tama county, Iowa, settling in Perry
township, where he engaged in farming until 1876. At
that time he embarked in the agricultural implement business, at
Tama City. Mr. Hawk is a much respected resident of the
town and enjoys an extended trade. March 13, 1873, he
was joined in wedlock with Miss Dora A. Granger, a native of
Michigan. Four children have blessed their union, three of
whom are now living: Walter, Aggie and Frederick.
The first harness shop was opened by John
Shannon, in 1865. There are two firms here at present.
The boot and shoe trade has two
representatives. W. A. Inscho, established here in 1882, and
by square dealing and honest goods, has succeeded in building up a
large and growing trade. W. F. Sterling is the other
representative in this line. He has been in the business for
about sixteen years and has a large trade.
The buying of live stock is one of the
important industries of Tama City. It is well represented by
John Fife and Horace Day, who each do a business of at least
H. Day is a native of New York State,
having been born in Clinton county, on the 11th of June, 1820.
He is a son of Ezra and Betsy (Lathrop) Day. His early
life was passed in his native county, and there he obtained his
education. While in that section of our country Mr. Day was
engaged for eleven years in boating, his trip being from Lake
Champlain to New York City and back.
During the spring of 1853 he removed to Dodge county, Wisconsin,
where he tilled the soil for eleven years and then removed to Linn
county, Iowa. In 1868 he settled in Tama City, engaging in
the agricultural implement busiess. The following spring
after his arrival, he embarked in the grain trade and subsequently
began buying and selling stock also. Mr. Day, at present, is
one of the Town Trustees. In 1851 he was united in marriage
with Miss Rebecca Beaman. They have three children living:
Julia, Emma and Cassius. Mr. and Mrs. Day and their
daughter Julia are members of the Methodist Church.
HYDRAULIC FLOURING MILLS.
These mills were
built in 1877-78 by B. F. Crenshaw, at a cost of $12,000.
The original building was 40x60 feet, three stories;
additions were soon after made, 20x60 feet, three stories high
and 20x50 feet two stories high. In the fall of 1876, F.
B. Ramsdell bought a half interest. Various changes have
taken place. The mill is now owned by the Ramsdell's and
Hopkin's. It is supplied with the roller process and has
a pearl, barley and hominy mill in connection.
B. F. Crenshaw, the founder of these mills, was born in
Brownstown, Jackson county, Indiana, on the 16th of January,
1816. He was reared in his native village and continued
to reside in that county until the year of 1852, at which time
he came west. His first settlement was at Marengo, Iowa
county, Iowa, where he engaged in the milling business, owning
the steam flouring mill of that place during his residence
there. In 1861 he built the Helena flouring mills, of
Helena, Tama county, which he still owns and operates.
In 1868 he settled in Tama City, and has since lived in
The first grist mill established here was
built by Bodfish & Homan, in 1868. It was a three story
brick building 40x40 feet and contained at that time two run of
stone. A saw mill was also built at the same time in
connection with it, the whole costing $10,000. In 1871
Charles Homan succeeded to the proprietorship, and has since been
sole owner. Another run of stone was added to the grist mill
in 1875. He employs an average of one man in the grist and
seven in the saw mill. This is the only saw mill in the
place. The power used is a thirty-horse power engine, which
is used for both mills.
Charles Homan is a native of Jefferson
county, New York, born January 13, 1831. He is a son of
Platt and Frances (Ingham) Homan, who also were born in that
State. The first thirty-seven years of his life were passed
in his native county, and there in his young manhood, he learned
with his father the millers trade, which occupation he has always
followed. During his residence in New York State he spent
six years in Oswego county. On his arrival in Tama county,
in 1868, he, in company with C. K. Bodfish, built a grist and saw
mill, which they operated together for two years and then
dissolved partnership and Mr. Homan has since continued the
business alone. In politics he is a Democrat, and has held
the office of Councilman for one term. He is a Master Mason
and a member of Doric Chapter, Tama city. During the year
1853, he was joined in wedlock with Miss Charlotte Phillips, a
native of Oswego county, New York. They have one child, a
J. F. Ward is a son of Chauncey R. and
Martha T. (Climer) Ward, and was born in Chillicothe, Ohio, March
3, 1828. His mother is a native of Harper's Ferry, Virginia,
and his father, of Steuben county, New York. In 1835 the
family removed to Stark county, Illinois, locating where the
present village of Toulon now stands. Shortly after they
removed, to Oquawka, Illinois, thence to Warren county.
During the month of October, 1839, they came to Iowa, making
their home in Iowa City until 1842, and while there his father,
who was a millwright by trade, built the saw mill on the Rapid
river at that place. In 1842 the family returned to the
State of Illinois, locating in Henderson county, where Mr. Ward,
Sr., erected a large flouring mill. Two years later they
again settled in Iowa City, where he remained for twenty years,
then came to Tama county, and built the Monticello mills.
From there he went to Benton county an now resides in Belle
Plaine, being seventy-eight years of age. When nineteen
years of age the subject of this sketch began learning the
millwright's trade under his father, and in 1852, in company with
him, built the first saw mill in Tama county, at Monticello, and
subsequently built at the same place, the first grist mill in the
county. In 1857 he settled in Monticello, where, April 26 of
the same year, he was married to Miss Eva A. Overmire, who was
born in Sandusky county, Ohio, April 8, 1839. She is a
daughter of Peter and Elizabeth Overmire. Early in 1852 her
father located a farm on section 6 of Toledo township, Tama
county, and in March settled there. He now lives in Howard
township. In 1860 Mr. Ward returned to Johnson county, Iowa,
where he remained nearly four years, then spent one year in Benton
county, and in 1865 came to Tama City, where he has since resided.
Mrs. Ward has been a member of the M. E. Church since she
was fifteen years of age. They have five children living:
Guy P., Iran E., Leila M., Lee S. and Bessie.
UNION PLOW COMPANY.
This company established their shops here in 1875,
which at that time consisted of a blacksmith shop 30x90 feet, a
foundry 30x50 feet and were built at a cost of $3,600. The
stockholders were G.H. Warren, A.A Howe, J Sandage and A.L
Houghton. The object was to manufacture plows and do a
general jobbing business. They afterward began the
manufacture on an extended scale, of the Fearless plow and the
Wauchope grading machine. In 1877 they bought the
manufactory owned by the Carpenter's Association, making an
addition 30x90 feet to their buildings. In
this department they manufactured a full line of
wood-working machinery. In 1870 the whole business was
sold to J.W. Howe, of Worcester, Massachusetts, who has since
carried on the business. The establishment employs
twenty men and does a business of $30,000 annually. The
power used is water from the Hydraulic.
COOPER SHOP AND BUTTER TUB
A.L. Howard is the proprietor of this
establishment. He commenced business on the waterpower in
1878. Of the tubs he turns out about 7,000 annually.
A.L. Howard was born in Morrow county, Ohio, September
3, 1838. Four years after his birth, the family removed to
Chautauqua county, New York, and in 1855 they emigrated to
Jackson county, Iowa, where A.L. Howard remained until the
second year of our late rebellion, at which time he enlisted in
Company A, 26th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. He served until
honorably discharged in June, 1865, at Clinton, Iowa. The
following year he came to Tama county, locating at Tama City,
and in 1867 opened a cooper shop. Mr. Howard has since
followed that business with the exception of five years
spent in farming and carpentering. During 1867 he was
united in marriage to Miss Elnora Leasure. Six children
have been born to them, five of whom are living:
Herbert L., Ella, Charles R,, Bessie and Frank. Gorege
died in 1871 aged nine months. Mr. Howard's father died in
April, 1881; his mother now resides at Dysart in this county.
The manufacture of brooms is becoming an important
feature in Tama City's enterprises. The first shop was
opened by P. Hixson October 1, 1879. Francis Diehl is now the
only manufacturer in Tama City, and does a large business,
manufacturing 1500 dozen annually. W.E.Newcome & Son
have a factory two miles east of town.
P. Hixson is a native of Indiana and was born in
Montgomery county, September 10, 1839. His parents were
Matthew and Elizabeth (Quimby) Hixson. He was reared on a farm,
and his youth and early manhood were passed in his native
county. In 1867, he became engaged in manufacturing
brooms, and two years later removed to Tama City, Iowa, where he
opened the first broom factory in this part of the county.
Mr Hixson is an honest as well as industrious man, well
deserving the patronage he receives. During 1861, he was
married to Miss Phoebe Kincaid, who bore him one child, Mattie,
wife of Francis Diehl. She died March 16, 1864. He
was married the second time, March 19, 1866, choosing for a
helpmeet, Miss Margaret Stoddard, who has born him one child.
TAMA CITY BREWERY.
One of the leading enterprises of Tama City is its
brewery. The main part of the building, 44x48 feet, was
erected in 1877 by Andrew Mathern & Co.at a cost of
$7,000. It is a two story brick above ground. In
1879 the firm changed, and Andrew Mathern became sole
proprietor. During this year he erected an addition, 40x55
feet, at a cost of $5,500. Another addition 38x48 feet was
added in 1880, at a cost of $5,000. The basement of the
main building is divided into four compartments, three of which
are used for storing beer, and the other for brewing and washing
purposes. A part of the room above the basement is used
for storing material, and the remainder, 48x58 feet, is used for
storing ice. That part of the building built in 1879 is
used for a malt room and dwelling, the basement being used for
the former. The basement of the main building is built of
stone. The walls on the north side are three feet through,
with a four foot foundation; on the east side a four foot
foundation and a thirty inch wall; on the west and south, three
foot foundation and a two foot wall. The part built in
1879 has a sixteen inch wall. From four to six men are
employed, varying at different seasons of the year. The
power used is a twelve-horse engine and a sixteen-horse
boiler. The capacity of the establishment is twenty-five
barrels every twelve hours.
A.Mathern is a native of Elsac, France, where he was
born January 16, 1832. His father and family emigrated to
America in 1843 and settled in Muskingum county, Ohio.
There Andrew remained until 1853, engaged in farming and working
on public works by the month. During 1852, he was married to
Frances Brecht and at that time had hardly a dollar to his
name. The following year he removed to Iowa county, Iowa,
where he remained until 1856, and then came to Tama county and
settled on section 11 of Carroll township, where he purchased
160 acres of land which he improved and lived upon eight years.
At the end of that time he located on a farm of forty
acres of improved land on section 30 of Howard township, for
which he paid $25 per acre. On this farm he remained about
thirteen years and then came to Tama City, where he immediately
began the erection of a brewery, which establishment he has
since been running. Mr. Mathern now owns in Carroll
township 240 acres of land. This with his other property
has been earned by persevering industry and economy. In
politics, he is a Democrat. His mother is still living but
his father died in January of 1881. Mr. and Mrs. Mathern
have six children living: Mary E., John W., Phebe, Clara,
Frank A. and Christina.
Although the making of butter and cheese on an extensive
scale is of but recent date in this part of the State, Tama City
was among the first to encourage this growing industry among her
manufacturing enter prises. In May, 1881, Hilton Brothers
& Co., of Boston, Massachusetts, built the Tama
Creamery. The main building is 26x60 feet, a story and a
half, with a wing 30x45 feet, the whole built at a cost
$4,500. They employ during the summer months fifteen men
and twelve teams. During their first month they made on an
average of 400 pounds of butter per day. during 1882 their
average was 700 pounds. during the winter of 1882-83 an
ice house 24x26 feet was built, and another large addition
adding more room for cold storage for butter. The power
used is an eight-horse power engine. their patrons now
number 300. The entire business is under the charge of
C.A. Hilton, a man of large experience in the butter
trade. Hilton Brothers & Co., the proprietors of the
concern, are extensive and well known commission merchants of
The manufacture of brick was begun in 1867 by
C.B.Bently, who has since continued in the trade, manufacturing
a superior quality of brick, which is extensively used
here. He manufactures 1,000,000 brick annually, about half
of which amount is shipped abroad. He employs an average
of fifteen men.
C.B.Bentley, brick manufacturer of Tama City, was born
in Dayton, Ohio, November 3, 1840. He is a son of John A.
and Maria (Ogan) Bentley. When he was sixteen years of age
his parents removed to Miami county, Ohio, and there C.B.
reached his majority. At seventeen years of age he made a
trip to Iowa, returning to his native State one year
later. In 1862, he came to Iowa, locating in Marshall
county, where he engaged in brick making two years and then
settled in Tama City, where he has since been engaged in the
same business. Mr. Bentley has held the office of Trustee
of the township, and has always voted with the
Republicans. In April, 1861, he was married to Miss Sarah
A. Carroll, a native of Miami county, Ohio. Eight children
have been born to them, five of whom are now living:
Lawrence E., Angie, Cora, Maude and John. Callie died at seven
months of age; Lilian died at five months, and Charlie was
killed on the railroad when thirteen years of age.
One of the leading manufactories of Tama City and of
which her citizens are so justly proud is the paper mill.
This institution was built during the winter of 1878-1879 by the
Tama Paper Company. The main part of the building is two
stories high, 30x66 feet, with a wing 30x66 feet. The main
building is used for a beating room, a bleach room and a rag
room. In the wing is the paper machine, a forty-eight inch
cylinder machine. The power used is water from the
Hydraulic. A sixty-horse power boiler is used for cooking
straw and drying paper. The entire building and machinery
cost $20,000. The Tama Paper Company was organized in
1878, with J. Ramsdell, President; T.A. Hopkins, Agent and H.E.
Ramsdell, Secretary and Treasurer, the proprietors being J.
Ramsdell, T.A. Hopkins, H.E. Ramsdell, George Gregg and John F.
Ellsworth. They employ fifteen men on an average.
They employ fifteen men on an average. The entire concern
is under the immediate supervision of H.E. Ramsdell. They
do an extensive business.
This branch of industry was established in 1880, by R.C.
Cleveland, the present proprietor, in a frame building 40x60
feet and two stories high, erected for the purpose on the water
power. He keeps constantly employed from six to eight men
manufacturing all kinds of furniture, making a specialty of
extension tables. The machinery in the building cost
$1,500. He does a business of $10,000 annually.
E.H. Cleveland was born at Athol, Massachusetts,
December 12, 1855. In 1862, his parents removed to the
State of Vermont, and there the subject of our sketch grew to
manhood. He was reared on a farm and received his
education in the common schools of that State. During
1877, he came to Tama City, Iowa, where he soon became one of
the firm of Cleveland Brothers & Gilbert, who opened a sash,
door and blind manufactory, on the water power. In 1878,
he embarked in the furniture business, and is now one of the
leading furniture dealers in the town. Mr. Cleveland was
married, in 1879, to Miss Martha D. Harris, a native of
TAMA HYDRAULIC POWER.
No one branch of business or industry in Tama City and
probably in Tama county has produced such good results as the
Tama Hydraulic Power, which is the result of energy, pluck and
perseverance, displayed by some of Tama City's most prominent
business men, meeting at every step obstacles which were almost
insurmountable, and which would have been so to a less energetic
class of men. In the early history of the town it became
apparent to the people of Tama City, that although they had
railroads and a good farming country to back them, still
something more must be done in order that this young city should
reach out, and its presence be felt in the commercial
world. It is a well known fact that to build a town and
make it a commercial center, capital is needed. To bring
capital, inducements must be made whereby the shrewd capitalist
can see that by investing capital, dividends of a larger or
smaller per cent will be made upon the amount invested.
There is no better way of bringing this capital than by
establishing manufactories. But in nearly all of the
larger cities when millions of dollars have been invested in
manufactories, some inducements, natural or otherwise, are to be
found which induced the first to invest. A good water
power is generally the first inducement. Villages have
sprung up and cities have been built, where some shrewd observer
has seen that the water power, if properly utilized, could be
made much use of for manufacturing purposes. This, Tama
City did not have, and had the business men been of the same
stamp as those of most inland towns, she would be no better off
to-day, and to use the words of one of the early settlers:
"In the language of Mahomet reversed, if Tama City can't go to
the water, then the water must come to Tama City." In the
early days of this part of the county, Charles Irish, while
surveying in company with J.H. Hollen and others, made the
discovery of the fact that there was fall enough in the Iowa
river to render possible an extensive water power, but this was
years before Tama City was laid out, and at that time those
intrusted could not control the capital necessary for any
undertaking that would require the amount of money that would be
necessary to utilize the waters of the Iowa, consequently the
matter dropped. After the town had been started and the
business men had awakened to the fact that something must be
done to build up the town, the subject of the water power was
revived, and meetings were called, resolutions adopted,
committees appointed, and a stir made that would kindle to a
flame the water power subject. While a few were using
their every power to get moneyed men interested, some opposed
it, but thanks to the few who undertook this improvement, Tama
City to-day has a water power of which all are justly proud, and
which has brought capitalists who have established
manufactories, which, were it not for the water power, would
have been located elsewhere. Preliminary surveys were made
by Mr. Irish to obtain the amount of fall that would be
desired. D.B.Sears, of rock Island, also visited Tama
City. He was a man of large experience in hydraulics, and
after a careful examination, assured the citizens of the entire
feasibility of the undertaking. The services of J.D. Arey,
an hydraulic engineer, of Illinois, were engaged; he made a
complete survey and plat of the contemplated work, and fully
corroborated the survey made by Mr. Irish, and disclosed to the
people of Tama City that when completed she would have a water
power of from one to ten thousand horse power.
A dam is built across the Iowa river at a place called
the Narrows, in the northwest quarter of section 30, and a race
nearly three and a half miles in length, runs through sections
30, 29 and 28 and into the reservior in section 34. The
natural fall is sixteen and a half feet, the dam was originally
six feet but was found to be too large, and has since been cut
down to four feet. The race has an average width of one
hundred feet, and a sufficient depth to carry, while low, nearly
all the water of the river. For the first mile it is dug
in the natural ground, the remainder of the way it is made by
heavy banks of earth, which at the east end are seven feet
high. The inside of the banks are thickly set with water
willows, which effectually prevent the water from reducing
them. The water crosses Deer creek in an aqueduct and here
a most ingenious arrangement is displayed. Should
the resorvoir overflow from the breaking of the dykes that
surround it, or from extreme high water, there are gates
provided in the aqueduct which would run the water down Deer
creek and into the river. Gates are provided in the lower
end and four on either side of the aqueduct. thus by
shutting the end gates and opening the side, the water would be
stopped in its course to the resorvoir, until it could be
repaired or the water abated, and flow through the side gates
into Deer creek.
The reservoir covers forty-three acres of land, and has
an average depth of six feet of water, when full. the
banks are of earth, very heavy and about seven feet high.
The water is drawn from the reservoir by flumes to produce the
power to run the machinery, and a tail race is provided to carry
it back to the river.
The Tama Hydraulic and Manufacturing Company was
organized in February, 1874, for the improvement of the water of
the Iowa river. The principal place of business to be Tama
city, Iowa. Capital stock $100,000 consisting of 1,000
shares of $100 each, stock may be increased to $150,000.
the incorporators were B.A.Hall, Thomas Murray, J.H.Hollen,
L.Merchant,, M.C. Murdough, R.H.Ryan, Horace day, G.V. Goodell,
S.C. Brown, S.M. Chapman and G.H. Warren.
This company owned and operated the hydraulic power
until 1881, when it passed into the hands of Parley Starr.
January 1, 1882, it became the property of the Tama Water Power
Company, which was organized December 12, 1881, for the purpose
of purchasing and operating the water power formerly owned by
the Hydraulic Company. The capital stock was
$30,000. The incorporators were B.A. Hall, A.J. Tyler,
C.E. Hayes, John Ramsdell, Fred B. Ramsdell, James McClung and
The present officers of the company are: President B.A.
Hall; Secretary J.W. Willett.
B.A. Hall, President of the Tama Water Power Company,
was born in Guernsey county, Ohio, on the 7th of July,
1821. His parents were Benjamin and Sarah (Stubbs)
Hall. His youth was passed on his father's farm, and his
early educational advantages were such as good common schools
afforded, together with an attendance at a select school.
In 1854 he turned his steps westward in search of a good
location and finally, in 1857, settled in Tama county, Iowa,
where he purchased a farm of 240 acres, on which a part of Tama
City now stands. Mr. Hall made farming his principal
business until the completion of the railroad to this place, at
which time he became engaged in other branches of trade.
Grain dealing was the first outside enterprise to gain his
attention, and soon after, the agricultural implement business.
Subsequently, in company with C.B. Wyman, he opened the
first lumber yard in Tama City. Upon the organization of
the First National Bank, Mr. Hall was one of the incorporators,
and was elected its first President, which position he held for
many years and finally resigned in consequence of ill
health. Probably the crowning point in Mr. Hall's business
career and the place where he displayed to advantage his energy,
perseverance and business qualifications, was the share he had
in bringing to Tama City its water power. At the outset,
Mr. Hall saw what a great benefit it would be to the town, and
immediately began pushing the enterprise with all his will
power, backing every move with his hard earned dollars; and it
is largely due to his energy and perseverence that Tama City
to-day has her water facilities. In politics Mr. Hall is a
staunch Republican, eternal hostility to oppression being his
motto, he is also a strong advocate of temperance. Mr.
Hall has held the office of County Supervisor three terms, but
has not been an office seeker. Instead, he has always used
his influence in securing the positions for other worthy
men. Upon Mr. Hall's settlement in the State of Iowa, his
capital was very small, but by making use of the powers of mind
and body given him by God, he is to-day counted one of the
wealthiest citizens of Tama county, and is also a true and
honest man. He was united in marriage December 21, 1854,
to Miss Elizabeth Milhous, and they now have two children:
Ada, now Mrs. W.T.Plumb and Mary E., now Mrs. H.F. Carmichael.
The work was completed the first of November, 1874, and
on the 13th of the same month a grand celebration was given on
the fair grounds at Tama City over the completion of the works.
The Tama City Press had the following to say of the jubilee:
"Friday, the 13th, was the day set for a jollification by the
people over the water power prospects, and large numbers of the
good friends of Tama City came in from the neighboring towns and
country, determined to partake of the roasted ox, and join in
the general festivities.
"The immense reservoir in front of the town had commenced
filling the evening before, and on Friday a broad sheet of water
lay there, sullenly tossing and surging under the prevailing
heavy winds, like a very lake, indeed.
"Many were present from abroad; some of the speakers expected
were, for one reason of another, deterred from coming, but when
the throng assembled within the fair ground, there were
excellent and encouraging speeches made by Rev. G. F. Magoan,
President of Iowa college; Hon. James Wilson, M. C.; E. A.
Chapin, Esq., editor of the Marshalltown Times and others. Rev.
O. A. Holmes read a Historical essay, and O. H. Mills, Esq.,
read that which the Inter Ocean reporter styled 'the event of
the day,' a first-rate poem. Then after music by the Cedar
Rapids Cornet Band and the Tama City Brass Band, the people
repaired to Floral Hall, enlarged and well fitted for a dining
room, and ate roasted ox and cake, and 'chicken fixin's,' and
drank hot coffee and tea, till hunger and thirst were things of
the past and the possible future only, and not at all of the
Taken altogether, notwithstanding the very unfavorable weather,
the people who came were well contented, and Tama City enjoyed a
new evidence that the masses of her neighbors in town and county
take pride in her enterprise and rejoice over her success.
The poem read by O. H. Mills, Esq., was an excellent one.
It was entitled:
HOW THE WATER CAME DOWN AT TAMA.
You've undoubtedly heard of the "Falls of Lodore."
How the water came down with a rush and a roar -
With a dash and a bound - a lull and a swell;
Such circles and whirls - 'tis a wonder to tell.
But the way it comes down through the Tama Hydraulic,
(The name seems an odd one, but that's what they call it)
Is another, a differend and separate fall,
It can't fail to remind of the "raging kanawl."
On the river, at the Narrows, 'twas oftentimes said:
"Were the water only here, 'twere twinty feet head!"
But how could we get it? - the project seemed rash.
'T would take months of hard labor and mountains of cash,
But a handfull of men whose watchword was Pluck!
Wo never by trifles were hindered or stuck,
Said: 'The work must be done, whaterver's to pay,
The funds shall be raised and the ditch dug straight-way."
So a meeting was called to have a good talk;
But little was said, but Lord! how the stock
Of the "Tama Hydraulic" was taken that night,
And the water, to the brave, seemed plainly in sight.
There were men who were poor and of money had none,
Said: "We'll work on the ditch and when it is done,
Just give us our time, be it ever so small,
And stock we'll receive in the "Hydraulic Fall."
And one had a farm - he made us a deed,
"Here take my broad acres, the work must proceed."
There were cattle and horses, they were all put in.
In fact, all we could spare was put into "tin."
And good Tama City, the mother of all,
Woman-like, she wanted a good "waterfall;"
She wanted the hum of machinery to hear;
She wanted factories and mills by her side to appear;
She wanted more thrift, more labor for all;
So she expended twelve thousand in the "Hydraulic Fall."
Unheeding the jeers of the doubting and wiseacres too,
With a might and a will we've put the work through;
We've dammed the broad river with wood and with stone.
A glorious old guard-look, 'tis finished and done.
We've cut through the hills and filled up the sloughs,
And made a rugged, hard bank for the water to use.
We've got a nice lake as clear as the sky,
Whose blue waves forever will dance merrily,
And make our hearts glad, our souls to rejoice,
For they speak with a sure, unmistakable voice:
"'T was that watchword of yours, that gritty word "Pluck,"
"Tis worth a million such words as "Fortune" and "Luck."
"T was that union, that might, that effort sincere,
That makes us so happy on our cosy banks here,
And the whirl of my wheels will be merrier still.
I will factories build and a glorious mill,
And business shall come and nestle by me;
I'm a nice little lake and happy I'll be."
So forget all your troubles and now we'll rejoice,
And make the air ring with jubilant voice.
United we were; still "Union's" our song;
That's how the water in the Hydraulic came down.
Iuka postoffice was
established soon after the town was platted. The first
postmaster was J. H. Beaumont, who kept the office in the
building now used for the City Hotel. During
the summer of 1865 he was succeeded by Thomas Murray, who
removed the office to a building where the First National Bank
now stands; that building now stands on lot 11, block 2, of J.
H. Hollens addition to Tama City, and is used by George Blair
as a residence. In the spring of 1866, Mr. Murray moved
the office to the west room of the Empire block. In
June, 1866, he resigned in favor of John Zehrung, who moved
the office to the east room of the Empire block. During
the summer of this year, the name was changed by the
postoffice department to Tama City. The office remained
in this building until January, 1867. A. W. Thompson was
the next postmaster and moved the office to H. Soleman's drug
store. In July, 1868, he was succeeded by J. B. Tims,
who remained postmaster until July 1, 1869, during which time
the office was kept in the Predieaux building. F. J. M.
Wonser was the next postmaster, he moved the office to a
building on the south side of Third street, erected for the
purpose. He remained postmaster until April, 1879, when
he was succeeded by Thomas Murray. March 1, 1883, F. J.
M. Wonser again became postmaster. The office is kept on
the south side of Third street.
It was made a money order office July 7, 1873. The first
order drawn was for $2.50; the remitter being Isaac Maden, the
payee L. T. Lemon, of Freeport, Illinois. It was made an
international money order office, in 1875.
The first hotel built in Tama City, was known as the City
Hotel, now Commercial, and was built during the winter of
1863-4 by M. C. Murdough. It was first opened to the
public in 1864. The part that was then used for an
office is now used for a sitting room, and the part now used
for an office was then used for a store by Mr. Murdough.
There are now four hotels in the town; the Grand
Central, Northwester, City Hotel and Commercial House.
The American was the first express company to establish an
office in Tama City. This was done at the time of the
completion of the Chicago & Northwestern railroad, in
1862. The U. S. express
company, established an
office here upon the completion of the Chicago & Milwaukee
railroad in 1881.
A prominent contractor here is L.L. Rhoads. He is a native of
Pennsylvania, and was born in a house that stood on the line
dividing the counties of Berks and Chester. He was born December
1, 1833, and is a son of Jeremiah and Martha (Linderman) Rhoads,
who were also born in the State of Pennsylvania. Until sixteen
years of age, his life was spent on his father's farm, but from
that date until he attained his majority, he was engaged in stone
cutting. In September of 1855, he was united in marriage with Miss
Catharine McAnulty, who was born in Pennsylvania. They have three
children living: Ida M, Martha C. and Wesley E. During the early
part of 1857, Mr. Rhoads, with his family, started for Tama
county, Iowa, arriving here in April. He first located in Howard
township, where he remained about six years engaged in
carpentering, and then removed to Tama City, engaging in the same
business. In February, 1880, he, in company with L.H. Pennel,
began a general contracting work, which branch of business they
still follow. In politics he is a Republican, and has held the
office of Justice of the Peace one term.
Lewis H. Pennell, one of Tama City's carpenter's, bas born in
Fayette county, Pennsylvania, November 9, 1834. He was the eldest
son born to H.M. and A.F. (Lewis) Pennell, who were the parents of
nine children, seven of whom are now living. Lewis' parents were
also born in Pennsylvania, and married there in 1824. His father
died in 1874, but his mother still lives, at the advanced age of
82 years. In 1853, his father and family, removed to Ohio, and
three years later, settled in Linn county, Iowa, where the subject
of this sketch engaged in carpentering until 1861, at which time,
he turned his attention to farming. During 1865, he came to Tama
City, where he has followed his old trade--that of carpentering.
He was married in March of 1861, to Miss Mary Bailey, a native of
Ohio. She bore him one son: Fred A., and died in February of 1873.
Mr. Pennell's eldest sister, Elizabeth, is now living with him.
She was born August 21, 1828, and was married in Washington
county, Ohio, during 1859, to Silas Brown, a native of
Vermont. Three children were born to them, two of whom are
now living: Clara A. and Lucie F. Mr. Brown died March 7, 1862.
W.A. DeLand, dairyman, is a native of Michigan, having been born
in Monroe county of that State, March 9, 1847. When three years of
age, his parents removed to Fon-du-lac, Wisconsin, where their son
obtained a good education and grew to manhood. He began the study
of dentistry at eighteen years of age, and afterwards followed
that profession two years. He then began working in a sash factory
and there had the misfortune of losing his right hand. Afterwards
he learned telegraphy, which business he followed during the
remainder of his stay in Wisconsin. In April of 1873, Mr. DeLand
came to Tama City, where he was in the employ of the Chicago &
Northwestern railroad as telegraph operator until July 1, 1880, at
which date he resigned his position and became engaged in the
dairy business. Two years later, he removed to his farm, which is
situated one and a half miles west of Tama City, and is at present
engaged in the dairy business. He is one of the Directors of
School District number 2. Mr. DeLand was united in marriage, in
1872, with Miss Julia J. Predieaux, a native of Wisconsin. They
have two children: John R. and Lelia E.
James Harper Brooks, one of the most enterprising men of Tama
county, is a native of Ashtabula county, Ohio, and was born to
James and Mary (Harper) Brooks, on the 3d day of April, 1829. His
early life was passed in his native county, and there he received
an academic education at Kingsville Academy, Ohio. During his
younger days, he assisted his father in his various enterprises;
at one time filling the position of clerk on The Ohio, a steamer
owned by his father. In 1851, he removed to Kane county, Illinois,
where, for three years he was engaged extensively in farming and
sheep raising. During 1854, he became engaged in railroad
building, his first contract being with the Chicago &
Northwestern road, where he furnished all the wood-work, including
ties etc., from Turner Junction to Dixon, Illinois, and in this
undertaking, was engaged two years. Although Mr. Brooks started in
life with little else than a good education, he found himself at
the age of twenty-seven, the possessor of $20,000. He was the
owner of an intelligent brain, a brave heart and a strong and
willing pair of hands; with these, he determined at the outset to
overcome all obstacles on the road to fortune. The financial crash
of 1856-7, left him, with thousands of others, penniless; however
he still possessed more than he began with, for the year had given
him experience and he determined to seek new fields, and build up
again on a firmer basis. In 1857, he came to Iowa, settling in
Otter Creek township, of Tama county, where for three years, he
turned his attention exclusively to farming. At the end of that
time, he again began railroad contracting, which has since been
his principal business. Success has followed upon success, until
to-day, he stands among the wealthiest men of the county. He was
one of the founders of the Bank of Tama, and is at present ,a
member of the banking firm of Brooks & Moore, of Traer. For
nine years he was engaged in the merchandise trade at Tama
City. In the spring of 1866, he removed to Tama City and
subsequently erected one of the finest residences in the county.
In politics, he was formerly a Whig, but since 1855, has been a
Republican. On the 5th day of December, 1850, he was united in
marriage with Miss Harriet Hartshorn, of Erie county,
Pennsylvania. Both are active members of the Baptist Church, and
generously respond to all the calls of a religious and charitable
nature. Two children have been born to them, one of whom is now
living: Arthur Lee, living four miles east of Toledo.
Hugh McAnulty, one of Tama county's pioneers, was born in Berks
county, Pennsylvania, March 4, 1831. He is a son of Patrick and
Catherine (O'Neal) McAnulty. The father died in Pennsylvania when
Hugh was about twenty years old, and about four years later, in
1855, the subject of this sketch went to Minnesota, going as far
north as Pembina, in the Red river country. His mother moved to
Tama county, Iowa, and settled in Howard township, where she still
lives. She is the mother of fifteen children, and is now eighty
years of age. In 1859, Mr. McAnulty came to Tama City, settling in
Howard township, where he bought forty acres of land, which he
subsequently sold and then purchased eighty acres. He improved the
land and lived there until his removal to Tama City. For the past
ten years, Mr. McAnulty has done most of the county bridge
building. In politics, he is a staunch Republican, has held the
office of County Supervisor, and at present is a member of the
Tama City School Board. In 1860, he was united in marriage with
Miss Prudence Carlisle, a native of Illinois, and a daughter of
Lewis M. Carlisle, an early settler of Benton county, Iowa. Five
children bless this union: Lewis, Martha, Elmer, Mable and
Truman Bricker is a native of Ohio, born in Knox county, of that
State, on the 17th of November, 1834. His father was John Bricker,
who was born in Pennsylvania, and when Truman was but two years of
age his father removed to Knox county, Ohio, where he settled on a
farm and remained until his death. In the spring of 1855,
the subject of this sketch located in Greene county, Wisconsin,
where he remained about fifteen months and then came to Iowa. He
first settled in Hardin county, this State, where he lived until
January of 1858, at which date he located on a farm in Otter Creek
township, Tama county. In 1861, Mr. Bricker went back to Ohio,
remained four weeks, and returned to Tama county. On the 4th of
November, 1861, he was married and remained on his farm until
1882, when the family moved to Tama City. Mr. and Mrs.Bricker have
been blessed with five children, one son and four daughters. The
son is deceased.
Garrett Soleman, an early settler of Tama county, was born in
Hanover, Germany, August 20, 1820. When fourteen years of age he
came to the United States, settling in Sandusky county, Ohio,
where he lived until 1865. During the fall of that year he
came to Tama county, Iowa, locating in Toledo. Before settling
here Mr. Soleman had made a visit to this county in May of the
same year at which time he had entered 160 acres of land on
section 7, of Otter Creek township. In 1856, he removed to Iowa
City, where he remained two and a half years, engaged in
freighting. He then returned to Toledo, settling on a farm two
miles southeast of the place, where he continued to live until
1863 and then removed into town, where he engaged in mercantile
business. One year later, he removed to Tama City, and has since
lived a retired life. In politics, he is a Democrat and has always
taken an active part in the political affairs of the county. In
the year 1841, he was united in marriage with Miss Angeline
Mountler, a native of Germany. Five children have blesses
their union, four of whom are now living: Henry, Charles, John and
Lewis Merchant, one of Tama county's pioneer merchants, is a
native of Pennsylvania, born in Mercer county, of that State, on
the 29th day of December, 1824. He is a son of Jacob and Mary
(Davis) Merchant, also natives of that State. His youthful days
were spent on his father's farm. He received an academic
education at Mercer, and subsequently engaged in merchandising. In
May of 1855, Mr. Merchant arrived in Tama county, and located at
Toledo, where he embarked in mercantile pursuits. There he
remained eight years, and then engaged in trade one year at
Boonesboro, Iowa During March of 1865, the subject of our sketch
returned to Tama county, locating in Tama City, where the
following year he became engaged in trade. In 1874, Mr.
Merchant disposed of his stock, since which time he has led a
retired life. Socially, he is a genial, pleasant and affable
gentleman, which qualities combined with his business capacity,
has made him a successful man, and secured to him many warm
friends and well wishers. In politics he is a staunch Republican,
and has always taken an active part in political affairs. Mr.
Merchant was at one time one of the Directors of the first
National Bank. He is a Master Mason, and a member of St. Barnard
Commandery of Belle Plaine. He has always adhered to single
Another prominent resident of Tama, Milton Reed, is a son of
Josephus and Nancy (Rice) Reed, and was born in Union county,
Ohio, November 8, 1834. He remained in his native county until
eighteen years of age and then removed with his parents to
Alamakee county, Iowa, where they were among the first settlers.
His father entered some Government land and Milton followed
farming while in that county. In December of 1866 he came to Tama
county, settling on section 19 of Richland township, where he now
owns a fine farm of 320 acres, which, when he came in possession
of it, was rough prairie land, but is now under excellent
cultivation and valued at $40 per acre. While Mr. Reed lived in
that township he took an active interest in educational affairs.
During the fall of 1882 he removed into Tama City, and is now
leading a retired life. In 1857 he was joined in the holy bonds of
matrimony to Miss Artemissa Reed, a lady of the same name, but no
relation. They have two children living, Fred and Nessa.
Captain William Gallagher (deceased) was a son of William and
Elizabeth (Kirkpatrick) Gallagher, born in Chester county,
Pennsylvania, on the 23d of December, 1833. Subsequently the
family removed to the State of Indiana, and in 1854 located in
Linn county, Iowa. During the spring of 1856 they settled in
Howard township, Tama county. December 2, 1862, the subject of
this sketch was united in marriage with Miss Mary Crawford, a
daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Hall) Crawford. She was born
near Pittsburg, in Alleghany county, Pennsylvania, December 31,
1836. Shortly after her birth the family removed to Westmoreland
county, and in November of 1854, came to Iowa. They remained in
Cedar county about two years and then settled in Howard township
of Tama county, where her father died December 21, 1879. Her
mother still resides there.
Mrs. Gallagher is one of a family of eleven children, all of whom
are still living, the youngest being now thirty-four years old. In
October of 1861, Mr. Gallagher enlisted in Company G, 14th Iowa
Infantry as Second Lieutenant. He was afterwards promoted to the
First Lieutenancy and in April of 1862 was taken prisoner at the
battle of Shiloh. He remained in Confederate prisons until
released on parole in October of 1862, when he returned home, and
as above stated, was married in December. The last of the
latter month he was exchanged and some time after was made Captain
of his company, which rank he held until honorably discharged from
service during the last month of the year 1864. While in the
army Mr. Gallagher purchased his present farm near Tama city, upon
which he settled in the spring of 1865. His death occurred
in January, 1872. In politics he was a staunch Republican,
and held several offices of trust. Mr. and Mrs. Gallagher
were blessed with two children: Anna Cora and William S., who are
now living at home.
A petition was made to the Judge of Tama county, signed by fifty
of the legal voters of Tama City, asking that the following
described territory be set apart for municipal purposes, to be
known as Tama City, commencing at the northeast corner of the
northwest quarter of the southwest quarter of section 26, township
83, north of range 15, west of the fifth principal meridian,
thence running west to the northeast corner of the northwest
quarter of the southwest quarter of section 27, thence south
to the township line, thence east on said township line to the
southeast corner of the southwest quarter of the southwest quarter
of section 35, thence north to the place of beginning, as marked
and platted on the map hereunto attached, and your petitioners
further represent that the number of inhabitants within the
territory embraced within said limits, is not less than 1,000
souls. A census was taken by Asa Critchfield and the number
of inhabitants found to be 1,026, and an affidavit was made to
that effect March 2, 1869, before F. J. M. Wonser, a Notary
Public. April 23, 1869, the County Judge appointed B. A.
Hall, J. H. Hollen, Thomas Murray, C. E. Heath and William P.
Browne, as commissioners to hold an election. In accordance
with this the Commissioners appointed an election to be held at
the office of F. J. M. Wonser in Tama city, on the 29th day of
July, 1869. The Judges of this election were B. A. Hall, J.
H. Hollen and Thomas Murray; the Clerks were C. E. Heath and W. P.
Browne. At this election the subject of incorporation was
voed upon, the result being 105 for and five against. The
first election of officers was held at the office of F. J. M.
Wonser, on the fourth day of September, 1869. The officers
elected were: M. A. Newcomb, Mayor; J. H. Brooks, Thomas Murray,
J. Brice, jr., S. W. cole and J. B. Spofford, Councilmen.
George W. Walton, Recorder.
The following comprises the list from that time to the present:
1870 - J. B. Spofford, Mayor; R. H. Ryan, J. H. Smith, L.
Carmichael, S. W. Cole and J. H. Brooks, Councilmen; G. E.
1871 - J. B. Spofford, Mayor; O. J. Stodard, G. W. Cowles, Smith
Patterson, R. Harris and J. F. Hegardt, Councilmen; B. W. Homan,
1872 - J. B. Spofford, Mayor; G. W. Cowles, L. O. Merchand, J.
Stoddard, J. F. Hegardt and R. Harris, Councilmen; R. H. Moore,
1873 - W. H. H. Tiffany, Mayor; C. R. Parmer, H. Soleman, E.
Parks, S. M. Chapman and George W. Cowles, Councilmen; J. McClung,
1874 - C. H. Kentner, Mayor; B. Thompson, C. L. McClung, J. F.
Hegardt, B. F. Crenshaw and M. Bostwick, councilmen; M. Lefi,
Treasurer; J. McClung, Recorder; J. H. Hollen, Assessor; William
Granger, Street commissioner.
1875 - C. H. Kentner, Mayor; J. Brice, jr., Charles Homan, M.
Bostwick, B. Thompson and Oscar Parks, Councilmen.
1876 - E. Harmon, Mayor; B. Thompson, L. Carmichael, O. H. Mills,
G. V. Goddell and E. G. Penrose, Councilmen; William Maxwell,
Recorder; M. Lefi, Treasurer. William Maxwell afterwards
resigned, and George D. Sherman was elected to fill the vacancy.
1877 - Madison Bostwick, Mayor; William Blodgett, D. W. Bressler,
John Hegardt, J. H. Smith and W. H. Cummings, councilmen; G. D.
1878 - E. G. Penrose, Mayor; F. W. Warren, Recorder; James
McClung, Treasurer; W. E. Newcomb, Assessor; P. B. Hill, Street
Commissioner; C. H. Kentner, W. A. Sharpe, R. Forker, G. E. Higley
and J. W. Ingersoll, Councilmen.
1879 - O. H. Mills, Mayor; E. G. Penrose, W. H. Cummings, H.
Soleman, F. B. Ramsdell, J. H. Bruhn and B. Thompson, Councilmen;
F. E. Warren, Recorder.
At a Council meeting held March 6, 1879, a movement was made,
seconded by H. Soleman, that there be six pieces of paper marked
as follows: two for two years, and the ones by whom they were
drawn to hold office the number of years designated on the slip of
paper. Upon these papers being drawn, F. B. Ramsdell was
elected for three years, J. H. Bruhn for three years, H. soleman
and E. G. Penrose for two years, B. Thompson and W. H. Cummings
for one year.
1880 - O. H. Mills, Mayor; F. E. Warren, Recorder; E. L.
Carmichael, Tresurer; J. J. McAllister, Assessor; P. Hartell,
Street commissioner; B. Thompson and W. H. Cummings, Councilmen.
1881 - J. J. McAllister, Mayor; Thomas Williamson, Recorder; E. L.
Carmichael, Treasurer; C. L. McClung and W. H. Albrecht,
Councilmen; E. Harmon, Assessor; S. Maynard, Street commissioner.
1882 - John Ramsdell, Mayor; Thomas Williamson, Recorder; E. L.
Carmichael, Treasurer; F. B. Ramsdell and Stephen Smith,
Councilmen; E. Harmon, Assessor; Fred Shoff, Street commissioner.
The first school in the township is likewise the first school in
the village, and was taught in a house, owned at that time by J.
H. Hollen, by Miss Armenia Wilcox, during the summer of 1858.
This building is now owned by J. C. Kendrick. The
first building erected for school purposes is the small frame
building standing just west of the present school building and now
used for a primary school. The present school building was
built in 1865-6, at a cost of $20,000 and is divided as follows:
the first floor has the Second and Third Primaries; the second
floor the First and Second Intermediates; the third floor the
Grammar and High School. The present Principal is S. M.
Prof. S. M. Cart, Principal of the public schools of Tama
City, was a native of Indiana, born near Goshen, Elkhart county,
of that State, February 25, 1849. His parents were William
and Nancy (Cart) Cart. In 1854, his father's family settled
in Kansas, where they remained but a short time, when they removed
to Marion county, Iowa, at which place his mother and father still
reside, in Wheeling. His early educational advantages were
such as the public schools afforded, but later, he completed a
course at Simpson College, Indianola, Iowa, graduating with the
class of 1875. Previous to his graduation, Mr. Cart had been
teaching for some years. He first taught one year at
Carlisle, Iowa, and then removed to his birth-place, where he
spent three years in teaching. His marriage with Miss Belle
Mercer, a native of Indiana, occurred in 1879; and shortly after,
the young couple removed to Knoxville, Iowa, where Prof. Cart
conducted the academy of that place one year. During this
time he was called to mourn the loss of his wife, whose death
occurred May 4, 1881. In September of 1881, the subject of
our sketch entered upon his duties as Principal of the Tama City
schools, holding said position with entire satisfaction to all.
He was married, September 16, 1882, to Miss Minnie E.
Poyneer, daughter of E. M. Poyneer, of Montour. In politics,
he was a Republican - early in life, a Whig.
Tama City has not been unmindful of the spiritual wants of the
community. Whatever opinions may be held in reference to
these organizations, all will agree that the influence of Church
societies has much to do with the peace, quiet and happiness of a
town, and few would be willing to dispense entirely with these
religious associations, and none able to suggest anything else
which could fill their place.
The first Baptist Church was organized in 1869. November 5,
1869, several persons gathered at the house of Lewis Carmichael to
appoint a committee to make necessary arrangements and call a
meeting for the purpose of organizing a Baptist Church in Tama
City. Lewis Carmichael, S. W. cole and C. R. Veber were
appointed as that committee; a call was made for November the
26th, 1869, at the M. E. church, when a society was organized.
The parties signing the articles and covenant were Samuel W.
cole, James H. Lewis, James H. Brooks, Lewis Carmichael, George H.
Warren, George E. Maxwell, Charles R. Veber, John Herbage, Mary E.
Carmichael, M. Ella Carmichael, Emeline C. Lewis, Elizabeth
Morris, Harriet Brooks, Susan M. Veber and Caroline Herbage.
Samuel W. cole was chosen Moderator and C. K. Veber, Clerk.
C. K. Veber, J. H. Brooks and S. W. Cole were chosen a
pulpit committee. The first officer were: J. H. Lewis and C.
K. Veber, Deacons; G. E. Maxwell, Clerk; G. H. Warren, Treasurer;
S. W. Cole, Lewis Carmichael. J. H. Brooks, John Herbage and
Eli Harmon, Trustees. L. L. Gage, of Sycamore, Illinois, was
the first pastor, and began his duties some time in March, 1870.
During the summer and fall of 1870, a church building was
completed at a cost of $8,000. In February, 1871, Rev. Gage
was succeeded by Rev. T. W. Powell, who came from
Davenport, Iowa. At that time the membership of the church
had increased to forty-eight. Rev. T. W. Powell
tendered his resignation to the Church at a regular meeting held
September 28, 1871. At a prayer meeting held October 5, 1871
his resignation was accepted. Rev. O. A. Holmes was the next
pastor, coming from Marshalltown, Iowa. He remained as
pastor of the Church until January 1, 1883, at which time he
resigned. In 1883, the Church had a membership of 119, and
was in a flourishing ing condition spiritually and financially.
Their Sunday school was organized October, 1870, and has
ever since been in good running order.
In 1883, the society purchased a lot on the opposite corner from
where their church then stood, and were already breaking the
ground preparatory to erecting a fine church edifice. They
worshiped for a long number of years in the old church, and the
need of a new place in which to worship had long been felt.
At last the matter was taken in hand and a sufficient amount
pledged to justify active steps towards the erection of a new
building. The propsed church was to cost upwards of $6,000.
The Methodist Episcopal Church held its first session in Tama City
in a frame school house, in 1865. Rev. D. M. Mallory was the
first preacher who was there on the Toledo charge. That same
year a church building was erected on lots donated by W. P. Brown,
in the northwest part of town. This building was completed
and dedication in the fall of 1866, Dr. A. J. Kynett, of
Philadelphia, officiating, assisted by James Todd, the pastor of
the Church. The first members of the Church were Maria
Soleman, W. T. Hollen and wife, Cyrus King and wife, J. W.
McIntire and wife, John Sullivan and wife, James Hall, Milton
Griest and wife.
The official members were Cyrus King, W. T. Hollen, Milton Griest
and James Stewart. The several pastors which were in charge
up to 1883, were Revs. D. M. Mallory, James Todd, R. M. Wade, D.
M. Mallory, A. Critchfield, J. G. Wilkinson, M. T. Smedley, L.
Catlin, E. S. Bargett, S. B. Warner, B. C. Barnes, J. F. Baker, R.
W. Milner and S. A. Lee. In 1874, the chapel was moved to a
more central location. In 1883, the society was raising a
fund by which to build a more suitable church. This society
built the first church in the town; contributions came in
liberally form the various denominations. Upon one occasion
the society held a festival in Murdough Hall where 700 persons
took super; the affair netting the church $600. During the
seventeen years which the Methodist chapel has stood, it has been
used for all kinds of moral entertainments and the proceeds
therefrom amount to about $4,000. Could the walls of this
old church but speak, they would give expression to many a
The present pastor of the M. E. church, Rev. Simon A. Lee, is a
son of Hugh and Mary Ann (Kincaid) Lee, born in Delaware county,
Ohio, on the 5th day of December, 1829. His father was a
merchant, and therefore young Lee grew up behind the counter.
When he was fourteen years of age, his parents removed to
Union county, Ohio, where Simon received a common school education
and grew to manhood. During 1847 or
1848, he left his father's house at Tiffin, and located at
Woodville, Sandusky county, where he engaged in the harness and
leather trade. On the 27th of August, 1850, he was joined in
wedlock with Miss Eliza Ann Williamson, a native of Marion county,
Ohio. Mr. Lee's parents were members of the Presbyterian
Church, and he was reared in that doctrine. Upon his arrival
at Woodville, he found none of that persuasion and therefore
joined the Methodist church and soon became an active worker in
the Sunday school. Not long after his marriage he was
licensed to preach the gospel, and from that time dates his life
in the ministry. In July, 1851, he was received on trial in
the North Ohio Conference, and was appointed junior preacher on
Risdon Circuit, now called Fostoria. The following five
years were spent in the ministry in northern Ohio; and in May,
1856, he removed from Sandusky city, where he was then located, to
Tama county, Iowa, and in July of that year, located at Toledo.
Mr. Lee had, however, made this county a visit two years
previous to his removal here, at which time he had purchased land
and also preached one of the first sermons ever listened to in
Toledo. This was in September, 1854, and the meeting was
held in a shoe shop, owned by one, Yost; at that time Mr. Lee
decided to make this State his future home. During the first
week in August, 1856, he attended the organization of the Upper
Iowa conference, at Maquoketa, and was there appointed to the
charge at Dyersville, Dubuque county, where he remained two years,
the greatest length of time a minister was then allowed to stay at
one place. While there he built a fine brick church, and
through his instrumentality 130 additional members were made to
the church. Since that time he has had the following
charges, in some of which more apparent work was done that in
others, however, in all of them he has held revivals, and through
his teaching many have been brought to the fold of the Savior;
first Rockdale, second Fayette, where he was also agent of the
Upper Iowa University, third, Lamotte, fourth, Bellevue, at which
place he was stationed during the opening years of the late
rebellion; here he labored with great zeal and was awarded many
coverts, some of whom went to fight for their country's honor,
fell in battle, and when brought home cold and still, he lovingly
and tenderly performed the last sad rite over them. From
Bellevue, the subject of this sketch was sent to Vinton, and then
to Waterloo, where he was instrumental in completing a fine church
edifice. While there his health became precarious and he
therefore asked to be, and was appointed to Toledo, where by
taking more exercise in looking after his farming interest, his
health was restored. From Toledo he moved to Independence
and while there built a neat church. He was then appointed
Presiding Elder of Cedar Falls district, which at that time
embrace thirteen counties. During his first year Mr. Lee
organized fifteen new pastoral charges, in consequence of which,
Charles City district was formed. After three years service
in this work, he was compelled to resign on account of sickness
and death in his family. Later he was appointed successively
to Waterloo, Marshalltown, Marion, Tipton and Bell Plaine,
remaining three years each in the two last mentioned places.
He was then appointed to Tama City, where he had property
interests. Mr. Lee always contributed largely of his means
to further the church interests of Tama county. In the
temperance cause he was ever an earnest worker and leader.
For many years he was one of the Trustees of Cornell
College, and always took an active part in the educational
interests of the State. In fact he was always found in the
front ranks of every good and worthy cause. Although his
duties called him elsewhere, his interest were always in Tama
county, and it was regarded as his real home. Mr. and
Mrs. Lee were blessed with four children, one of whom,
William, is now living, who graduated at cornell, June, 1880.
Rose died at eight years of age, in Cedar Falls; George H.
died at same place, aged thirteen; and Mary M. died at Tipton,
An organization of the Presbyterian society was effected in 1867,
by Rev. Martin. Among the first members were Isaac Toland,
Mrs. H. Soleman, Miss Beaman, A. L. Howard, Mr. Harvey, Mrs.
Spofford and others, whose names could not be learned, as the
records had all been destroyed, or lost. The society held
meetings twice a month for some time.
Rev. Mesmer succeeded Rev. Martin, and afterwards came Rev.
Gordon. The organization disbanded in 1875. October
31, 1882, a re-organization was effected by D. L. Hughes of Traer,
assisted by Rev. A. R. Day of Marshalltown, and Rev. R. B. Clark
of State Centre.
The officers elected at this organization were J. S. Carson,
Wilson Stuart, J. McClung and O. Van Dyke, Elders; John Fife, S.
M. Cart and J. L. Bracken, Trustees.
The first members were J. S. Carson and wife, James McClung, C. C.
Harris, Mrs. E. L. Graham, Mrs. Austin, Mrs. J. Brannen, John
fife, Mrs. A. J. Fife, Mary A. Toland, Mary L. Toland, Elizabeth
Stewart, W. S. Stewart and wife, O. Van Dyke, Mary Van Dyke, Mrs.
C. Jackson, S. M. Cart, Mrs. M. E. Cart, David Toland and wife, E.
J. Johnson and wife and Mrs. F. Russell.
The first religious services were held at the Methodist church.
Up to 1883 the society had no church building, but were
about to erect one.
The Catholic Church was first organized as a Mission at Toledo, in
1860, by Father Emmons, with a membership of about twenty
families. Five years later a church was built in Toledo, at
a cost of $1,000, including furniture. Father Emmons was
succeeded by Father Urban, who attended to the missions for five
years, and was followed by Father Brumenschenkel, after which came
Father Charles McCabe, who was serving in 1875, at which time
trouble arose between the Irish and German elements. The
former being the stronger, they removed the mission to Tama City,
where a church was built at an expense of $2,000. Father
McCabe remained at Tama City one year, after which Father Edward
O. Farrell and M. Meagher, the latter being pastor in 1883, when
the church membership was about 300.
Rev. M. Meagher became pastor of the St. Patrick's church of
Tama City in 1877, and is still retained in that capacity.
He was born near Fethard county, Tipperary, Ireland, on the
10th day of February, 1848. He received his classical
education in his native country and also a part of his theological
education; however, upon his arrival in America, in 1871, he
continued the study of theology at St. Francis' College,
Milwaukee. He was ordained at Dubuque, Iowa, in 1874, and
was appointed assistant Priest of the church at Charles city,
Iowa. There he remained one and a half years, and then
removed to Pleasant Grove, Dubuque county, where he had charge of
St. Mary's Church until December of 1877, at which time he became
pastor of St. Patrick's church at Tama city, where he has since
Hiram of Tyre Lodge, No 203, A. F. and A. M. - A dispensation was
granted by the Grand Lodge of the State, December 26, 1866, and a
charter granted to E. Harmon as W. M., A. Stolter, S. W. and W. P.
Browne, J. W., to organize the said lodge. The charter
members were E. Harmon, A. Stolter, W. P. Browne, Turner Forker,
John Hanna, G. W. Louthan, L. Stoddard, James Trowbridge, L. B.
Blinn, Thomas Murray, Lewis Merchant, L. Carmichael, A. B.
Louthan, J. L. Stewart, M. S. Butler, C. H. Kentner, W. F. Hollen,
J. R. Burgess and James Smith.
The first meeting was held February 13, 1867, in a hall in the
The first officers elected were E. Harmon, W. M.; A. Stolter, S.
W.; W. P. Browne, T. W.; C. H. Kentner, Treasurer; L. B. Blinn,
Secretary; J. R. Burgess, S. D. W. T. Hollen, T. D.; L. Merchant,
S, S., Thomas Murray, T. S.; James Smith, Tyler. The
presiding officers since are E. Harmon, J. B. Spofford, Frank
Ward, W. T. Hollen, J. D. Landi and O. H. Mills. The present
officers of the Lodge are O. H. Mills, W. M.; E. G. Penrose, S.
W.; D. W. Bressler, J. W.; H. McAnulty, Treasurer; J. J.
McAllister, Secretary; W. T. Hollen, S. D.; Z. Solomon, J. D.; Wm.
H. Cummings, S. S.; W. H. Gilbart, J. S.; S. D. Dye, Tyler.
The deaths of members have been Jonathan Burgess, who died at Le
Grand, Iowa; R. M. Wells died after leaving here; Frank Patterson
died at Sterling, Illinois; M. Boughton died in the Black Hills;
Charles E. Morris died at dysart, Iowa.
The lodge has had a successful career, has a membership at present
of fifty-five, and is in a flourishing condition.
Benefit Lodge No. 22, A. O. U. W., was organized April 3, 1875, by
I. M. Crissingar, Deputy Grand Master of the State of Iowa, with
A. W. Guernsey, R. H. Ryan, E. G. Penrose, G. E. Maxwell, S. C.
Brown, B. Thompson, J. B. Spofford, J. J. McAllister, O. H. Mills,
S. F. Ricker, C. F. Ricker, R. E. Austin, A. J. Blodgett, P. B.
Hill, J. F. Ward, C. D. Terry, Adam Zehrung and G. H. Mosier, as
charter members. The first officers were R. H. Ryan, M. W.;
A. W. Guernsey, P. M. W.; E. G. Penrose, G. F.; S. F. Ricker, O.
G.; E. Maxwell, Receiver; C. F. Ricker, financier; J. J.
McAllister, Recorder; A. J. Blodgett, Watchman; S. C. Brown, O. H.
Mills and R. E. Austin, Trustees. The presiding officers
have been R. H. Ryan, J. B. Spofford, J. J. McAllister, Hugh
McAnulty, G. H. Mosier, R. Forker, O. H. Mills, G. A. Graves, L.
B. Kallan, D. D. Williams, J. W. Coburn and John Gadbury.
The present officers are John Gadbury, M. W.; J. W. Coburn,
P. M. W.; H. McAnulty, F.; William Richards, O.; J. J. McAllister,
Recorder; E. G. Penrose, Financier; E. L. Carmichael, Receiver; C.
D. Williams, Guide; F. L. Wilrodt, O. W.; P. Peterson, I. W.; H.
McAnulty, P. B. Hillard and O. H. Mills, Trustees; H. McAnulty,
Grand Representative. There has been two deaths: John
Kinert, who died October 19, 1877, and C. W. Snyder, who died
August 29, 1882. The present membership of the lodge is
forty-eight. The average assessments to date have been $10.
per year. The Lodge is in a flourishing condition.
Amity Lodge, No. 16, Iowa Legion of Honor, was organized May 19,
1879, by the Deputy Grand President of the State, Frank
Listenwalter. The charter members were G. E. Higley, A. E.
Axtell, G. W. Hapgood, B. Thompson, J. B. Mahana, C. D. Williams,
John Ballhouse, O. O. Brown, C. B. Bentley, C. W. Snyder, W. H.
Hawk, J. W. Dubbs, F. M. Warren, J. J. McAllister, G. W.
Hochlander, L. L. Rhoads, F. R. Holmes, J. W. Willett, E. W.
DeWitt, G. H. Warren, F. B. Ramsdell, H. E. Ramsdell, C. D. Terry
and W. H. Black. The first officers were G. E. Higley, P.;
B. Thompson, D. P.; J. B. Mahana, Chaplain; A. E. Axtell, Usher;
F. M. Warren, R. S.; J. J. McAllister, F. S.; F. R. Holmes,
Treasurer; J. W. Dubbs, D. K.; C. B. Bentley, S.; J. B. Mahana, J.
Ballhouse and G. W. Hapgood, Trustees. The presiding
officers have been: G. E. Higley, J. J. McAllister, C. D. Williams
and A. L. Howard. The membership at present is twenty-eight.
Their average assessments are $9. a year. The Lodge is
in a sound financial condition.
Tama Lodge, No. 88, V. A. S., was organized March 15, 1882.
The charter members were M. C. Murdough, J. F. Hegardt, J.
E. Davidson, F. A. Gadbury, R. C. Cleveland, E. E. Ramsdell, T. A.
Hopkins, W. B. Barstow, C. D. Terry, Thomas Brice, C. A. Hilton,
J. J. McAllister, E. L. Carmichael, W. R. Lesser, William Corns,
B. F. Hill, H. T. Potter and L. L. Rhoads. The first
officers were W. P. Barstow, R.; T. A. Hopkins, V. R.; J. J.
McAllister, Scribe; E. L. Carmichael, Q.; C. A. Hilton, U.; E. E.
Ramsdell, S.; M. C. Murdough, F. A. Gadbury and R. C. Cleveland,
Trustees. The membership at present is twenty-two.
They were assessed six times prior to January, 1883.
Doric Chapter, No. 54, R. A. M., was organized February 5, 1870.
The charter members were C. H. Kentner, W. P. Browne, Smith
Patterson, C. N. Davis, A. W. Guernsey, C. D. Terry, A. H.
Willetts, M. A. Newcomb, J. B. Spofford and L. Carmichael.
The first officers were C. H. Kentner, High Priest; W. P. Browne,
E. K.; Smith Patterson, E. S.; C. N. Davis, Captain of Host; A. W.
Guernsey, Principal Sojourner; D. D. Terry, Royal Arch Captain; A.
A. Willetts, Grand Master of the First Vail; M. A. Newcomb, Grand
Master of the Second Vail; J. B. Spofford, Grand Master of the
Third Vail; L. Carmichael, Grand Master of the Fourth Vail.
The presiding officers have been C. H. Kentner, A. W. Guernsey, D.
D. Terry and O. H. Mills. The present officers are O.
H. Mills, H. P.; J. W. Willett, E. K.; W. H. Cummings, E. S.; Hugh
McAnulty, Treasurer; W. T. Hollen, Secretary; J. D. Landi, Captain
of the Host; A. W. Guernsey, Principal Sojourner; H. F.
Carmichael, Royal Arch Captain; J. B. Wolgmuth, Grand Master of
the First Vail; J. J. McAllister, Grand Master of the Second Vail;
S. M. Cart, Grand Master of the Third Vail; A. J. Blodgett, Tyler.
The Lodge has a membership of sixty-four, is constantly meeting
with good success, and is in a flourishing condition.
Tama City Lodge, No. 152, I. O. O. F. was organized on the 27th
day of September, 1867, by Benjamin Ruput, M. W. G. M., with the
following officers and charter members: M. A. Newcomb, N. G.; C.
R. Bodfish, V. G.; Frank Patterson, Secretary; Wm. M. Clag,
Treasurer; A. M. Wartendyke.
The following named persons have served as Noble Grands since the
organization: A. M. Wartendyke, A. M. Batchelder, O. T. Brainard,
C. L. McClugg, W. T. Hollen, John Nicholson, C. E. Morris, C. M.
Bentley, J. T. Matson, J. A. Shannan, M. Baker, Henry Shawn,
George Hollenbeck, G. Williamson, Cyrus King, O. H. Mills, S. D.
Dye, Pl Hixson, B. F. Hill and H. Schroder.
There have been two deaths in this Lodge. Its total
membership since organization is 120, and the present membership
is forty. The Lodge has been successful and is in excellent
working order. It holds its meetings every Friday evening.