This is a full Congressional township, comprising all of township 85 north, range 14 west, containing an area of about 23,040 acres. It is bounded on the north by Buckingham on the west by Crystal, and on the south by Carroll and on the east by Clark townships. It is well watered by numerous streams. Wolf creek and Four Mile creek enter from Crystal township on the west and make confluence near the center of section 7, flowing thence toward the east and northeast it passes through sections 8, 9 and the northwest corner of 10 and making exit toward the north on the northeast quarter of section 3, enters Buckingham township. There is, on this
stream on section 10, a water power which has been utilized. Coon creek enters from Clark township on the west, on section 24, and flowing toward the north-west and north, traverses section 14, 11, the north-east corner of 10 and empties into Wolf creek on section 3. A branch of this creek enters on section 1 and flowing towards the west through sections 12 and 11, joins the original stream on the north-east quarter of 10. Salt creek enters from the west on section 30, and passing through this section and 29, 28, the south-west quarter of 27, then 34, it leaves toward the south on the south-west quarter of 35. A branch of this creek comes from the south and passing through section 33 enters the main stream on the south-east quarter of section 28.
The surface of this township consists mainly of a beautiful, gently undulating prairie, with a most excellent soil, which is generally a productive, dark sandy loam, with clay subsoil. There is a good grove of natural timber located mostly on sections 4 and 5, called National Grove. Another Osborn’s Grove, located on section 10, but a good part of this has been cut away. Another, still smaller, called Baker’s Grove, may be found on section 30.
The township is peopled by an industrious, energetic class of citizens, has many beautiful farms and desirable homes, and compares favorably with any township in the county.
There is one line of railway traversing this township, the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern, which enters from the east on section 13.
The first person to make a claim here was Norman L. Osborn. He came from Buckingham township in the spring of 1852, and claimed the northeast quarter of section 10, and there erected a log cabin, the first in the township. In the fall of 1853, he sold his claim to Ira and Giles Taylor. He then entered the northwest quarter of the same section, which he also sold, in 1854, to Stephen Klingaman. In 1855, he located near Webster City and finally went to Missouri, where it is supposed he is still living. He was the first Sheriff of Tama county.
The next parties to be mentioned in this connection are Jonas P. Wood and William D. Hitchner, who started from Mercer county, Ohio, in June, 1852, seeking a location in Iowa. Taking passage on a canal boat at St. Mary’s they soon arrived at Toledo, Ohio, from where they journeyed by railroad to Belvidere, Illinois and made a visit with friends. From there they went to Beloit, a Wisconsin. At Wyota they met John and Joseph Connell, who were from Connecticut, and were looking for a western home. They all then journeyed together by stage and boat to Dubuque, and then started on foot across the country to Vinton, where they remained a few days; but not finding a location to suit them, pushed on to this county, where Mr. Wood entered 400 acres of land, being the northwest quarter of section 4, and the north half of the northwest quarter of section 25, in township 86, range 14, and the southeast quarter of section 3, in township 85, range 15, John Connell entered the north half of the southwest quarter of section 4, and the northwest quarter of the southeast and the southwest quarter of the northeast quarter in the same section in township 85, range 14.
In October of that year Wood and Hitchner started on their return, having gone to their old home for their families. With them was Mr. Wood’s mother with a family of seven children of whom Jonas was the oldest. The names of the others were Rachael, Eve, Joshua C., Lyman E., Mary, and the wife of Mr. Hitchner; and Lucy Ann. Dr. W. A. Daniel, a practicing physician from Illinois, and Miss Eve Heckathorn, a maiden sister of Mrs. Wood’s, accompanied them. They came with teams bringing provisions with them and camping out on the way. This tiresome journey occupied four weeks of time. Upon their arrival here they moved into a log cabin that had been built by the Connell brothers. In a short time they had erected a cabin of their own, fifty-five feet long and twenty wide, on the northeast quarter of section 4. The Woods family made their home there until 1856. Jonas, who was at his time Deputy County Surveyor, married and settled on section 33, township 86, range 14, where he still lives. Lyman located on the northeast quarter of section 6. Mrs. Wood made her home with her son Lyman until the time of her death.
Lyman Wood was born in Hoosick, Rensselaer county, New York, 1791. During the war of 1812, he joined a Volunteer company and went to New York to defend the city. After his discharge, he engaged in the lumber trade until 1817, when he went to Ohio, and was there engaged with the United States surveyors in surveying western Ohio. He was married in 1819, to Miss Nancy Heckathorn, who was born in Virginia, in 1798. He settled in Fairfield county, where he engaged in the manufacture of linseed oil. In 1829, he removed to Hocking county, where he was engaged to superintend the outside work of a paper mill, at Pine Grove, and was thus employed at the time of his death, which occurred in 1839.
In politics, Mr. Wood was a Whig, and in religion a Universalist. He left a widow and seven children to mourn his death. His oldest son Jonas P., one of the pioneers of Tama county, was born in Fairfield county, Ohio, August 8, 1820. He was but nine years of age at the time his parents moved to Mercer county, where they bought some timber land. The boys went to work, cleared the farm and built a house. In 1852, they sold out and came to Iowa, locating in township 85, range 14, now known as Perry township. He was joined in marriage, June 29, 1856, to Miss Margaret Connell, daughter of Daniel and Mary Connell, and in September of that same year, he moved to Toledo, where he lived until 1861, then returned to his farm on section 4. He has improved his land. He has engaged quite extensively in the nursery business and now has a fine orchard of 1,000 trees. Mr. Wood received a common education in his younger days and by extensive reading in his later years, has been enabled to keep pace with the times. Mr. Wood is a Republican; in religion he is a Universalist, having followed in the footsteps of his father, who had lived and died in that faith.
Lyman E., youngest son of Lyman and Nancy (Heckathorn) Wood, was born in Fairfield county, Ohio, June 20, 1825. He received his education in the old fashioned log school house in his native town. He came to Iowa with his parents and made his home with them until 1856, when he settled on his own farm on section 6. He built a frame house, into which he has since moved. He has also built an addition to his house and made improvements till he has a very comfortable home. His marriage with Miss Augusta, daughter of John W. and Francis McKune, occurred on Jun 28, 1857. And to Mr. and Mrs. Wood must be given the honor of being the first couple married in Crystal township. they have but one child - Abbie, an only daughter.
The Connell brothers were joined in the fall by their father, Daniel Connell, Sr., their brother Robert and sister Margaret. the father went back to Connecticut, and in the spring of 1853 returned with his wife and another daughter named Mary. They lived in the Connell house on the north half of the southwest quarter of section 4. Joseph died in September, 1854. John was elected to the State Legislature in 1854, and afterward settled in Toledo. He served in the Union army, as Colonel of the 28th Iowa regiment, and lost an arm while in the service. In 1867 he was appointed Collector of Internal Revenue at Burlington, an office which he held until May, 1883. Robert settled on the north half of the northeast quarter of section 4, where he died in February, 1876. Mrs. Connell died in June, 1866; Mr. Connell in October, 1875. In 1855 Daniel Connell, Jr., joined the family, and in 1856 engaged in mercantile trade, in Buckingham, where he continued in business until the collapse of that village, when he removed to Traer. He is at present postmaster at Gladbrook.
W. D. Hitchner bought the northwest quarter of the northwest quarter of section 10, from Osborne, with the stipulation that he should build a mill. He built a log house and lived there until 1856, when he sold his interest in the property, and located on the southwest quarter of section 3, where he lived until the time of his death, which occurred in 1874.
William D. Hitchner was born in Salem county, New Jersey, March 3, 1818. When he was three years of age, his parents moved to Ohio, and William was married there, on the 6th day of October, 1850, to Miss Mary M., daughter of Lyman and Nancy (Heckathorn) Wood. In 1852 they came to Iowa and settled in township 85, he sold his interest in moved to section 3, where he engaged in farming until the time of his death, which occurred in 1874. He left a widow and seven children. The children are named as follows: Almira, Sarah F., Nancy R., James P., Hannah J., Nettie and Wesley D. The two eldest are children of his first wife, to whom he was married in 1839. She died in 1846. His family now live on section 3.
W. A. Daniel entered the west half of the southeast quarter of section 33, township 86, range 14. He made this his home with the Woods until 1855, when his mother Mrs. Margaret Daniel and two brothers named Henry and Jacob, came to the county and bought the east half of the southeast quarter of section 33, township 86, range 15, and settled there. Henry went to Waterloo, where he is now engaged in the furniture business. In 1863, Jacob went to Denver, where he yet remains, and is proprietor of the Columbus House. Mrs. Daniel died in 1879, at the advanced age of 86 years. Dr. W. A. Daniel still occupies the place.
Nelson Usher and his son-in-law, Volney Carpenter, came in 1852. Usher entered the south half of the southwest quarter of section 4, and the northeast quarter of the northwest quarter of section 9. He sold in 1854 and went west. In 1855, Carpenter entered the northwest quarter of section 3; he also sold out and went with Usher, who now lives in Oregon.
In the fall of 1852, Ira and Giles Taylor, natives of Pennsylvania, started from Delaware county, Ohio, with their families, for Iowa. They drove through with three teams and arrived at Tipton the 11th of November, 1852. There they hired a house and spent the winter. In the spring they came of Tama county and entered land in township 86, range 14, the northeast quarter of section 10, the northwest of 11 and the south half of the southwest quarter of section 2, and the southeast half of the southwest quarter of section 3. They moved into a cabin that was standing on the claim they had purchased, located on the northeast quarter of section 10. They soon built another log cabin on the northwest quarter of section 11, and Ira moved with his family to that place.
In the fall of 1854, the family were stricken with typhoid fever and four of the seven children died within a short time. Mr. Taylor lived on his place until the spring of 1856, when he sold out and moved to Toledo, where he engaged in farming a few years and then in mercantile business. He is now in the eighty-fourth year, has retired from business and lives in Toledo. Giles has occupied his place on the northeast quarter of section 10. He made a frame addition to his log cabin, where he continued to reside until 1873, when he built the frame house in which he now lives.
Giles Taylor was born in Luzerne county Pennsylvania, in 1808. His parents, Daniel and Elizabeth Taylor, moved to Ohio when Giles was a child. Mr. Taylor was reared in that state and was there married to Miss Mary Levering. They came to Tama county in company with a brother, Ira Taylor, in March, 1853, driving through with teams and being about five weeks on the road. Giles settled in Perry township, on section 10, on which a large part of the village of Traer was platted. About one-half of his farm of 165 acres was laid out in town lots. His brother, Ira Taylor, settled on section 11, and is now a resident of Toledo. Mr. Taylor has devoted most of his attention to farming, but has done all in his power to promote the growth and prosperity of his town. He was the first Mayor of Traer. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor have four children: Zoe A., who was for a number of years postmistress of Traer and is now the wife of Dr. L. J. Kynett, of Hamburg, Iowa; Melville T., who married Miss Emily Horton; Addie E., now Mrs. David Poterfield; and Elmer E., present editor of the Traer Star.
In 1853, Samuel Dundle, a native of Ohio, came from the township north where he had lived about one year and entered the northeast quarter of the northeast quarter and the southeast quarter of the southeast section 3. In 1854, he sold to H. F. Gaston and returned to Ohio.
The same year Willard K. Snow, a native of Pennsylvania, entered the southwest quarter of the northwest quarter of section 2. In 1857, he sold out and went to Buckingham and lived on section 36 until 1880, when he went to Kansas.
Hiram and Stephen Klingaman, natives of Pennsylvania, came here from Auglaize county, Ohio, in 1854. Stephen bought Osborn’s land on section 10, where he settled in 1855, and there remained until the hanging of the Bunker boys who were notorious horse thieves from Hardin county. He was arrested and an indictment found against him for murder, but was released on bail and went to Texas and started up the river on a steamboat, which was lost, and it is supposed he perished, although it is asserted by some that he is now living in Missouri. Hiram settled on the northeast quarter of section 3, in 1855, were he lived until 1862. He now lives in Traer.
Henry Smith, formerly from Connecticut, came from Mercer county, Ohio, in 1854, and entered land on section 5; he lived, however, in Buckingham village until 1857, when he traded for land on section 34, Buckingham township, where he lived until 1882, when he sold out and moved to Traer, where he now lives. Henry Smith settled in what was then Buckingham township, in 1854. He is a native of Middletown, Middlesex county, Connecticut, born in 1816. About 1831, his father, Timothy Smith, removed with his family to Ohio and settled in Ashtabula county, where he resided until his death. Henry came to Iowa from Mercer county, Ohio, by team, being on the road for twenty-one days and bringing his wife and child with him. He at once entered a farm of forty acres where John Stewart now lives, near Traer. He also bought eighty acres in Buckingham township, where he made his home and lived until in the fall of 1882, when he removed to Village of Traer. Mr. Smith was married in Ohio, to Jane La Bounty, born in Ashtabula county. Her grandparents were natives of France; her parents resided in Ashtabula county till their death. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have two children - Adelaide, wife of Simon M. Barnt, and Effie J., wife of C. L. Holman. Effie was born in Buckingham township, September 18, 1856, and was the fourth child born in the township. The daughters both reside in Sac county, this State. Adelaide has three children: Henry Smith, Jessie May and Levi R. Effie has one daughter - Jem.
Jonathan Moore, also from Pennsylvania, came this season and settled on section 23. In 1873 he went to Laporte, where he is now engaged in the grocery trade. Horace A. and Quincy D. Hartshorn from the same State, also came the same year and bought Usher’s farm, and also entered the west half of the northeast of section 9, and the southeast of the northwest of the same
section, and the southwest of the southeast of section 4. Quincy bought land on section 4, then they returned to Pennsylvania, settled up their business, and in the fall went to Illinois, where they spent the winter. In the spring they started for their new home in Iowa, coming with teams and driving some live stock. Horace settled on the land he had bought of Usher, where he still lives. Quincy settled on section 4. Quincy bought land on section 4 then they returned to Pennsylvania, settled up their business, and in the fall, went to Illinois, where they spent the winter. In the spring they started for their new home in Iowa, coming with teams and driving some live stock. Horace settled on the land he had bought of Usher, where he still lives. Quincy settled on section 4, where he remained until the time of his death, which occurred in November, 1878. His family now live in Dakota.
Horace A., eldest son of Horatio and Polly (Quincy) Hartshorn, was born in Erie county, Pennsylvania, Mary 14, 1828. His boyhood’s home was very near the Ohio State line. He remained under the parental roof until 1854, with the exception of two years , which he spent in Adams county, Illinois. In 1854, however, he came west in search of a home, and entered land in township 85, range 14, now known as Perry township, in Tama county. After entering his land, he returned to Pennsylvania, settled up his business, and in the fall went to Illinois, where he spent the winter. In the spring of 1855, he came back to Iowa. He was a single man at this time, so he boarded with his brother, Quincy, while he made improvements on his land. Mr. Hartshorn is at present largely engaged in stock raising. He has quite a large herd of blooded stock, in which he takes great pride. He is well and favorably known in this section of the country, and has filled many offices of trust in the town. In January, 1856, he was married to Miss Philinda Kite, who bore him two children - Horatio and Sherman. Mrs. Hartshorn died in April, 1860. He was again married March 17, 1863, to Miss Agnes, daughter of Gilbert and Margaret (Wilson) McDowell. Eight children have been born to them, named - Jennie, Harriet, James, Wilson, Martha, Susie, Margaret and Mollie. Margaret was born April 7, 1866; died March 9, 1873. Mollie was born January 22, 1874; died August 18, 1875. Mr. Hartshorn has a very pleasant residence on section 4, where he is now living.
Hugh F. Gaston, William Mand, Henry Stoakes and Levi S. Cope, natives of Ohio, came here in August, 1864. Gaston entered the southwest of section 2 and bought land of Samuel Dunkle on section 32. William Stoakes entered the southeast of 21. Henry entered the southeast quarter of section 2, and south half of the northeast quarter of the same section. Cope entered the northwest quarter of section 1. They all returned to Ohio after entering their land.
Gaston came back to Perry township and settled on section 2, where he now lives. He was born in Columbiana county, Ohio, August 16, 1822. He spent his time in school and on the farm until he was sixteen years old and then engaged as clerk in a store in Steubenville, Ohio, where he served for two years. He then bought one-half interest in the store, and continued the business until four years later, when the stock was divided, and taking his share he went to Knoxville, opened a store there and remained in the business up to 1852, when he went to Port Homer, and there resumed his business. In 1854, he sold out and came to Iowa, by way of the Ohio and Mississippi rivers. He took passage on board the steamer, went down the Ohio river to St. Louis, then up the Mississippi to Keokuk, and thence, by stage, to Van Buren county, where he stopped until fall. He then came to Tama county and entered and purchased land on sections 2 and 3, town 85, range 14, now known as Perry township. In 1852, he was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth, daughter of John and Jane (Vatilburg) Stoakes, of Wellsville, Ohio. Nine children have been born unto them, eight of whom are now living - Ettta, James, Ella, John S., Willis, Azelia, Wallace and Denver. Mattie was born December 11, 1860; died March 26, 1882. Mr. Gaston has been very successful and is reckoned one of the solid farmers of the county. He has held many offices of trust in the town, and has always shown himself a worthy man. He has 460 acres of improved land, and has good buildings thereon.
William and Henry Stoakes also came back that fall and put up some hay and log cabins on their land, and returned again to Ohio and remained until the following February, when they came back. Their father, a younger brother named George, and sisters came with them. William settled on his land on section 1, where he now lives. Henry settled on his land on section 2, where he lived until March, 1883, when he sold out and moved to O’Brien county, where he had bought a large tract of land. The father, whose name was John, settled on section 2, on part of the land the son had previously entered, where he lived until the time of his death, February 11, 1880. His youngest son George, who always made his home with his father, now occupies the old homestead. His son Eleazor first settled in Perry township, on section 2, and now lives in Geneseo township.
John Stoakes, second son of William and Anna Stoakes, was a native of England, was born in the county of Surrey, August 1, 1792. His parents were members of the Society of Friends, and emigrated to America, when John was but seven years of age. They settled in Jefferson county, Ohio, where they were pioneer settlers. His father bought some timbered land, cleared a farm, and lived there until the time of his death. The subject of this sketch was married in Ohio, November 3, 1818, to Miss Jane Vantilburg, a native of Jefferson county, Ohio. He made his home with his parents for some time after marrying, then settled on a farm by himself. In 1849 he went to Columbiana county, where he engaged in mercantile business. In 1851, he came to Iowa and settled in Van Buren county, where he lived until 1855. During this year he again made a change of location by coming to Tama county and entering land on section 2, of range 14, now known as Perry township. He lived here until the time of his death which occurred February 11, 1880. His wife died January 17, 1873. they were the parents of eleven children, ten of whom are now living. William M., their oldest son, was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, December 28, 1822, and was there reared on a farm. He took advantage of every opportunity afforded to acquire knowledge, and by applying himself to study, succeeded in becoming a fairly educated man. He was wedded to Miss Carolina Householder, of Jefferson county, Ohio, on the 27th day of May, 1847.
He settled on a farm in his native county and lived there till 1851, when he came to Iowa and bought land in Van Buren county. Remaining there three years, he came to Tama county to look for land. After looking over the ground to find a suitable location, he finally entered land on the northeast quarter of section 1, in township 86, range 14, now known as Perry township, after which he returned to Van Buren county, where he remained until the following spring. He then came back to this county and settled on his land. He erected a log house, 14x18 feet, in which the family lived until 1861, when he built the frame house in which he now lives. Mr. Stoakes has made great improvements, has taken a lively interest in local affairs, and has been elected to offices of trust in the town. Mr. Stoakes has ten children living - Mathias, John N., William H., Jennie M., Arabella, Walter C., Mason C., Bennett R., Eddie R. and Carrie S. Ann Eliza was born November 21, 1851; died June 5, 1861. Benjamin Franklin was born April 29, 1855; died November 15, 1870. Charlie was born September 21, 1859; died November 5, 1876.
George, the youngest son of John and Jane (Vantilburg) Stoakes, was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, September 4, 1843. He was eight years of age when his parents came to Iowa. George attended the first term of school ever taught in Perry township. He made his home with his parents until the time of their death and now occupies the old homestead on section 2. January 11, 1866, he wedded Miss Alice, daughter of Dryden and Jane (Wilcox) Barbour. They have had eight children brown unto them; Martha, Dryden, Henry, Rawlin, Maude, Minnie, Lizzie, who died in 1881, aged four years; Jay and Esther.
Henry, the second son of John and Jane Stoakes, was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, May 3, 1825. He lived there until 1847, when he moved to Columbiana county, and remaining there until 1852, he went to Carthage, lived there one year and then came to Iowa, locating for one year on a farm in Van Buren county. In 1854, he came to Tame county, entered land on section 2, township 85, range 14 and returned to Van Buren county, where he spent the ensuing winter. But in the spring of 1855, he came back and settled on his land in Perry township. He was united in marriage to Miss Armilda Hough, January 3, 1860. They have been blessed with eleven children: Cora, John, Marion, Robert, Sherman, May, Inez, Harry, Ralph, Roy and Benjamin F. In the spring of 1883, Mr. Stoakes sold his farm and moved to O’Brien county.
A man named Baker came in 1854 and claimed the south-east quarter of section 30, on which was a small grove. He sold out in 1855 to L. B. Collins, and went west to seek now fields of speculation. This neighborhood has always been called Baker’s Grove.
Another arrival in 1854, was John Wilson from Connecticut, a native of Scotland. He entered land on sections 7 and 18, then went back to Connecticut and remained until the spring of 1855, when he returned with his family. He built a house on section 18 and lived there until 1881, when he removed to Traer. His son James settled on section 8, where he still lives. He has served two terms in Congress and has been elected for a third. His son Peter is a successful farmer and resides also on section 18. His son Allen is a stock dealer and resides in Traer. West W., another son, has been a prominent citizen of Traer for a number of years.
JOHN WILSON was born in the parish of Girvan, in 1811, in Ayrshire, Scotland, and in 1842 moved to Wigtownshire, where he lived until 1851, then came to America with his family and settled in Norwich, Connecticut. He came to this county in September, 1854, and entered land on section 17, Perry township where he settled in the spring of the following year. Mr. Wilson’s first wife was Jean McCosh, who died May 16, 1881. He was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, March 7, 1815. They had nine children when they came to America, all of whom were under sixteen years of age. They have had five children since coming to this county, and of their family of fourteen children, six sons and five daughters are still living. Two sons, Peter and John served in the Union Army during the rebellion. The former belonged to the 14th Regiment Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and the latter to the 1st Iowa Cavalry. Mr. Wilson’s present wife’s maiden name was Martha J. Stoakes, born in Ohio, where she was married to J. P. Hopkins, who died at Wellsville, Ohio. She was again married to L. S. Cope, with whom she came to Tama county in the fall of 1854. Mr. Cope entered land in Perry township, and there resided for ten years, then removed to Waterloo, Black Hawk county, where he died October 9, 1873. Mrs. Wilson has one son by her first marriage—John S. Hopkins—now a resident of Clark township. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson were married August 8, 1882. Mr. Wilson’s family is one of the best known and influential in Tama county. They are members of the Presbyterian Church.
LYMAN CODY, of Wyandotte county, Ohio, a carpenter by trade, came in 1855, and made his claim on section 29, where he yet remains. Mr. Cody was born in Portage county, Ohio, May 23, 1828. When eight years of age his father bought a large track of land in Crawford county, Pennsylvania, and moved there with his family. He lived but one year in Pennsylvania, then returned to Ohio and kept tavern near Cleveland for one year, and again pulled up stakes and moved to Wyandotte county, where he kept tavern for three years in Little Sandusky. He then moved to Carey, where he died two years later.
The subject of this sketch when twelve years of age engaged with a carpenter to learn the trade. He worked at his trade in Ohio, until 1850, when he started for California by way of New York and the Isthmus. He engaged in mining in Sierra county the most of the time for three years, and then returned to Ohio. He worked at his trade in Carey, until 1855, when he came to Iowa to seek a home. He entered land on section 29, township 85, range 14, now known as Perry township. He hauled lumber from Muscatine, 120 miles distant, and built a house in which he lived until 1868, when he built the house in which he now lives. He has been a successful farmer, and now has 200 acres of well improved land. He was married on the 15th of May, 1854, to Miss Elizabeth Groswell, who was a native of Pennsylvania. They have six children: Benjamin, Franklin, Serena M., Fred, Walter L., Lyman and Lura May.
Another settler of 1855 was Dexter Higgins, a native of York State, who located on section 23, and in 1857 sold out and bought land in West Union, where a few years later he died. Christopher Hester came the same season and bought land of Ira Taylor on section 11. He was a man of considerable enterprise and in 1856, laid out a town on his land which he named West Union. In 1858, he sold his interest and went to Kansas.
Peter Greenlee, a native of Pennsylvania came also in 1855, and settled on section 15. In 1862 he enlisted in the army, came home on a furlough in 1863, and died that fall. His widow was married again and now lives at Toledo.
J. W. Southwick, a native of the same State and from Crawford county, came this season and entered land on section 27. In 1857 he moved a house from West Union to this land. In 1868 he sold out and went to Waterloo. He now lives in Dallas county, Missouri, where he has a flouring mill.
Henry Beatty another native of Pennsylvania came here from York State in 1855, making the journey on the cars as far as Dunleith, thence with a team. He settled on section 23, where he made his home until the time of his death, in 1874. The widow now lives on the old homestead. Mr. Beatty was born in the town of Northeast Erie, Erie county, Pennsylvania, July 21, 1809. He was married December 26, 1833, to Miss Lydia Yale, who was born in Guilford, Chenango county, New York, May 12, 1814. They lived in Erie county, where he was employed in a distillery until 1841, when he moved to Chautauqua county, New York, and there purchased a farm in Hanover township. In 1855, he sold out, came to Iowa, settled in Tama county, entering land on section 23, township 85, range 14, now known as Perry township. He made this his home until the time of his death, which occurred March 27, 1874. Mr. Beatty was an honest man and enjoyed the respect and confidence of the people, being much missed by the community where he lived. His widow now lives with her daughter, Mrs. Anson Loop. Eight children were born to them, four of whom are now living: Mary E., William W., Ruth A., Harriet D., Sydney A., Henry N. and Henry O. Henry N. died when two years of age. Mary E. was born December 26, 1835; died December 21, 1856, William W. was born on November 18, 1839. He enlisted in August 1862, in the 24th Regiment, Iowa Volunteers, Company I, and died while in the service, at Keokuk, November 132, 1862. One child, not named, died in infancy.
Sydney Adelbert, second son of Henry and Lydia (Yale) Beatty, was born in Chautauqua county, New York, June 11, 1846. He came to Iowa with his parents, when he was nine years of age. He was joined in marriage February 6, 1873, to Mrs. M., widow of Edwin Hunnicutt, and daughter of Washington and Susanna Endicott, natives of Belmont county, Ohio, where their daughter was born. The parents were members of the Society of Friends. Mr. Beatty has a family of three children - William W., Lydia G. and Bertha L.. After his marriage he settled on the northwest quarter of section 23, a part of his father’s homestead. He now resides there.
Bertha L. After his marriage he settled on the northwest quarter of section 23, a part of his father’s homestead. He now resides there.
GORHAM GREENLEAF, a native of Massachusetts, came also in 1855 and preempted a quarter on section 22, where he improved the land, and remained until 1867, when he sold out and went to Waterloo and engaged in the business of manufacturing soap a few years, and afterward removed to Providence, Rhode Island, where he now lives.
A carpenter by the name of GEORGE SLOSS, a native of Scotland, came here from Chicago that year and settled on section 7, where he yet remains, and in company with his son owns and operates the flouring mill at Traer.
Another native of Scotland, GILBERT McDOWELL, came the year following and located on section 18. He improved his land and remained there until recently. He now makes his home with his children—John B. and Gilbert, and who are prosperous farmers of this township.
M. L. SEAMANS, of Erie county, New York, came from McHenry county, Illinois, in 1855, and entered the northeast quarter of section 21, then returned to Illinois and spent the winter. The following spring he returned and settled at West Union. In 1857 he settled on his land, where he still resides. Mr. Seamans was born in Erie county, New York, February 23, 1831. He was reared on a farm and was given advantages, so that he acquired a good common school education. It 1852 he commenced teaching in his native county, and in 1854 went to Illinois and engaged in teaching in Algonquin, McHenry county, until January, 1855, when he came to Iowa and entered land on section 21, Perry township. He returned to Illinois and remained until 1856, when he moved here with his family. He bought lots in the growing town of West Union and built a house, which he sold in 1857. He has taught in Iowa for a number of years, and among the places where he has tried his skill in teaching the young idea how to shoot, we find the names of Eden, Benton county, West Union, Buckingham and Baker’s Grove. Of late he has devoted his time to farming. In 1854 he was united in wedlock to Miss Kate H. Evans, of Chautauqua county, New York, and they have three children respectively named Willie L., Charles H. and Erwin D.; another named Susan Celestia, died in infancy.
DEXTER HIGGINS, a native of York State, also came here in 1855, and located on section 23. He sold out in 1857 and moved to West Union, where a few years later he died.
The following year ANDREW COLLINS, a native of Indiana, located on the northeast quarter of section 31. In 1861 he removed to Illinois remained until 1868, when he returned to his farm and now lives there. Mr. Collins was born in Washington county, Indiana, August 26, 1823. His marriage to Miss Clementine Parr, of Johnson county, Indiana, took place March 16, 1852. He then settled on a farm that he had previously purchased in Washington county. After coming to Iowa in 1856 and purchasing land, he built a house, but only remained until 1861, when he returned to Indiana and rented land in Johnson county. He stayed in that place until 1868, and then came to Iowa and settled on his farm. He has since made Perry township his home. He has nine children: Cornelius, Harry C., Alonzo, Byron and Verna (twins), William, Amanda, Elba and Isabella. This family remains unbroken, no death having yet occurred.
Mrs. Ibby (Harris) Kile was also one of the early settlers of Perry township. She came in 1855 and settled with her family on section 4. Mrs. Kile was born in Virginia, September 15, 1803. When she was quite young, her parents removed to Knox county, Ohio, where they were among the early settlers. She was married there, July 20, 1820, to Nicholas Kile, a native of Maryland, where he was born December 10, 1781. He died in Knox county, December 27, 1841, leaving his widow and seven children to mourn his loss. Those born to them were: Amos, Sylvester, Nancy, Elizabeth, Lemuel, Freeman and Philinda; two of whom - Nancy and Freeman - are now living. In November of 1854, Mrs. Kile came to Iowa with her family. She spent the winter in Benton county and the following spring came to this county and located on section 4, of what is now Perry township. During 1856 she bought land on section 6, and settled upon it. Her marriage with Dexter Higgins took place November 27, 1859. He departed this life March 2, 1864. She was married to her third husband, Joseph Crowshaw, June 11, 1868. December 26, 1880, he died, leaving her again a widow. She now makes her home with her son, in Traer, and daughter in Laporte. Her only son, Freeman B. Kile, was born in Ohio, on the 26th of August, 1837. He came to Iowa with his mother, and continued to live with her until 1859, at which time he began working by the month for a neighboring farmer. He was married May 30, 1865, to Miss Mary E. Haugh, a native of Indiana, and soon after, rented a farm on section 14, of Perry township. Two years later, he purchased a farm on the same section, and there continued to live until 1877, when he sold it, and bought land in Traer, and immediately erected on it his present dwelling. Since his settlement in town, Mr. Kile has been engaged in carpentering. He has but one child - Estella.
Allen S. Fowler, a native of Kentucky, came from Indiana in 1855, and made a selection on section 30, where he yet remains. Mr. Fowler was born in Shelby county, Kentucky, September 19, 1819 and was there reared, on a farm. When he was nineteen years old he emigrated to Indiana, where he was engaged in farming. He was married March 9, 18743, to Miss Belinda Collins, of Washington county, Indiana. She was born on the 10th of August 1827. Allen bought a farm in Washington county and remained there until 1855, when he came to Iowa in search of a home. He came overland with a pair of horses, crossing the Mississippi at Rock Island. He was sixteen days on the road. He entered land on section 30, Perry township, and moved into a dirt and log house in Baker’s Grove. In 1856 he drew lumber from Davenport and built a house, into which the family moved in the fall of that year. This house, with a part of its contents, was destroyed by fire on the 2nd of December, 1875. He immediately commenced building the house in which he now lives. The first day of January following the fire, his house was ready for occupancy, and the family at once moved into it. He now has 225 acres of improved land. He has had eight children, seven of whom are now living - Emarine, John A., Frank W., Euphremia, Albert R., George D. and Oscar W. Carolina S. was born April 2, 1857, died May 8, 1880.
L. B. Collins, of Indiana, came also in 1855, and purchased Baker’s claim on section 30. He improved the place and lived there until 1865, when he moved to Nebraska where he now lives.
Isiah Shower entered land on section 24, Perry township, in 1855. He did not settle on this land, however, until 1871. Mr. Shower has built two houses, hay and cattle barns, a horse stable and granaries, and now owns 325 acres of improved land. He has also put out a large grove of forest trees, has an orchard of 325 apple trees and a variety of other fruit. Mr. Shower was born in Fairfield county, Ohio, October 28, 1829, and when quite young moved with his parents toAthens county, and from there to Jackson county, same State. When eighteen years of age, he engaged with a wagon maker to learn the trade. He served two years, then went to Franklin county and worked as journeyman for eight months, then he went to Jackson county, where he followed his trade one year. He next went to Indiana where he remained until 1855, then worked a while in Dubuque, from whence he went to Freeport, Illinois, thence to Jackson county, same State, where he opened a shop in company with James C. Cadot. In 1862, Mr. Shower purchased his partner’s interest and continued the business alone until the close of the war, when he sold out to his former partner, and came to Iowa. He first located at Toledo, where he lived until 1871, in which year he settled on his farm in Perry township.
Anson and Charles Loop were also among the early settlers. Anson Loop was born in Crawford county, Pennsylvania. He is the third son of Charles and Sarah (Seeley) Loop. His father was engaged in the lumber business, and his younger days were spent in the lumbering regions of his native county. When he was fifteen years of age he went to Ohio, where he remained one and a half years, and then, in December, 1854, came to Iowa and made his home in Scott county. In 1857, he came to Tama county and lived with his brother, engaging in farming in the neighborhood. He was united in marriage, in 1861, to Miss Ruth A., daughter of Henry and Lydia (Gale) Beatty. He then rented land for two years, and in the meantime, built a house on his land on section 27. He finally settled on his farm in 1863, but only remained there till 1865, when he sold out and purchased eighty acres on section 23, where he built a house and engaged in farming until 1876. He then purchased 100 acres of the Beatty homestead, and now occupies that place. Mr. Loop has been a successful farmer, and starting out with no capital but good healthy and willing hands, has now a finely improved farm of 180 acres. Mr. and Mrs. Loop have four children living - Harlan Denman, Anson Adelbert, Sarah Annettie and Enos Sylvester. Charles Henry, their first child, died when two years and four months old; Lydia DeEtte, the fourth, died aged two years. Charles, the second son of Charles and Sally (Seeley) Loop, was born in Crawford county, Pennsylvania, September 2, 1830. At thirteen years of age he commenced work in a saw mill, remaining there as a sawyer until he was twenty-two years of age, when, in 1853, he came to Iowa and located in Pleasant Valley, where he was employed to work on a farm for one year. He then rented a farm for a year, and in December, 1855, he started for Tama county. He arrived at West Union on the 2nd of January, 1856, with $8 in his pocket. He soon procured work and engaged in carpentering for some little time. In the summer of 1857, he was employed by Stephen Klingaman to work in his saw mill through the summer, after which he resumed work at his trade as carpenter, until 1860, when he moved to section 21, Perry township, where he had previously purchased forty acres of land. He improved the land, built a house and lived there until 1868, when he sold out and bought on section 22, where he now lives. He was married in 1851, to Miss Delilah, daughter of Hosea and Anna (Hatch) Southwick, of Crawford county, Pennsylvania. They have four children - Adella, Lillian, Ida and Ralph.
William Sprole resides on section 1, Perry township. He came to Iowa in 1856, and, coming at such an early day, he had an opportunity to know, by experience, just what the pioneers of the country have to undergo. He was born in Saline township, Jefferson county, Ohio, March 31, 1830. He lived on a farm until he was fifteen years old, and then went to live with an uncle, with whom he made his home until he was twenty-tree years of age. He then rented a farm in Knox township until 1856, when he came to Iowa and purchased the farm on which he now lives. He was a single man, and boarded out while he improved his farm. In 1861, he built a frame house, and in the fall of 1863, he went back to Ohio, and was married there, on the 19th of November, same year, to Miss Margaret Watt, who was also a native of Jefferson county, Ohio. They soon after came to Perry and settled on his farm. They have had a family of seven children, four of whom are now living: Lizzzie J., John N., Ina Mary and William H.
Mr. Sprole has been very successful as a farmer, commencing with 160 acres of wild prairie, he now has, 1,100 acres of well improved land in Perry and Clark townships. In 1881, he built a house, and now has one of the finest residences in Tama county.
In 1857, James Emerson came from Lowell, Massachusetts, and bought forty acres on section 22. In 1862, he sold out and returned to the place from whence he came.
Henry Van Vliet, another of the old settlers of Tama count y, was born in Vermont, July 12, 1826 When he was quite young, his parents moved to New York State and settled in Cortland county. He enlisted in 1841, in the United States Cavalry, Company D, 2nd Dragoons, and went to Florida where they took part in the Seminole war, participating in many of the engagements of the regiment. He was honorably discharged upon the expiration of his term, in 1844, and returned to his home. Mr. Van Vliet was married to Nancy M. Parish, in 1845; she died April 12, 1873. He remained in York State about five years, then moved to Illinois, and bought land in Lake county. He improved the land, built a house and lived there until 1854, when he came to Iowa and entered land on section 36, of township 86, range 14, now known as Buckingham, in Tama county. He lived there until 1859, when he came to Perry township, and settled on the northwest quarter of section 1, where he now lives. Mr. Van Vliet lives with his nephew, Fred C. Van Vliet. Fred was born in Lake county, Illinois, September 22, 1847. When he was five years of age, his father went to California, and two years later, his mother moved to Michigan, and died there when her son was nine years old. Two years later he came to Iowa to make his home with his uncle Henry. He was married March 12, 1872, to Miss Flora A. Quintard, of Knox county, Ohio. They have three children, named Olive, Ella and Maggie. Mr. Van Vliet’s farm is on the northwest quarter of section 1.
DRYDEN BARBOUR came to Tama county, in 1858. He was born in Canton, Hartford county, Connecticut, April 4, 1815. He spent his early years on his father’s farm, in the district school, and in his brother’s shoe shop, until, at the age of 19, he went to the State of Alabama in the capacity of a Yankee clock peddler. He continued in that business for seven or eight years, in Alabama, Pennsylvania and Ohio, then he returned to Connecticut, and was married to Miss Jane Wilcox, March 16, 1843, who was also a native of Canton. He bought a farm and remained in his native town six years.
In 1849, Mr. Barbour moved to Wakeman, Huron county, Ohio, where he remained nine years. In the spring of 1858, he sold out in Ohio, and moved to Tama county, Iowa. In 1861, he bought the southeast quarter of section11, in Perry township, one mile east of Traer, where he still resides with his son Henry, who carries on the farm. Mr. Barbour was the father of six children, three of whom together with their mother, have passed away.
In addition to those who have been already mentioned, the following may be named as sound, substantial residents of Perry township; Andrew McCOSH, Nathan WHITE, James LOGAN, Thomas SHERETT, William WORDEN, William LODER, Andrew LAW, John HELLER, James W. AND David M. STUART, AlbertT G. CONE, James CRON, George M. FRANKSA, Henry M. HEALY, Thomas L. KNIGHT, Robert A. SCOTT, Adin ANTRIM, Alexander S. McPHERRAN and others.
ANDREW McCOSH was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, January 9, 1823. In his younger days he attended school, and later worked on a farm. He was married in Scotland on the 20th of April, 1847, to Miss Elizabeth Sloss, who was born in Ayrshire, March 17, 1822. Andrew was employed at farming in his native shire, until 1852, when he came to America. He first located in Lisbon, Connecticut, where he engaged in farming two years, then came to Davenport, Iowa, at which place he was employed in a saw mill for two years, and in a flour mill for four years. He then came to Tama county and bought land on section 7, Perry township. He has improved this land, and now makes his home. He has 240 acres of improved land and thirty acres of timber. He has three children living: Johanna, Ellen and John.
Nathan White was born November 27, 1827, in Franklin county, Vermont, and made his home there until he was twenty-five years of age, when he started for the great West. He stopped in Knox county, Illinois, where he hired out to work on a farm. In 1855, he came to Iowa, entered 160 acres of land in Tama county, township 86, range 14, now known as Geneseo township, and then returned to Illinois. In the fall of 1857, he went to Minnesota and engaged in teaming throughout the winter, at Chatfield. In the spring of 1878, he started for Pike’s Peak, where he spent the summer prospecting, returning in the fall to his land in Iowa. He was married at Iowa City, October 30, 1860, to Miss Matilda Hockingberry, who was a native of Pennsylvania. They settled in Jasper county, where he worked a rented farm for two years. He then came to Tama county and rented a farm in Columbia township for two years. At the expiration of his lease he purchased land in Clark township, adjoining that which he had entered several years before. He lived here one year and then sold out and bought the Hester farm in Perry township. The family lived in a log cabin until 1871, when Mr. White built the fame house in which he now lives. Eight children have been born to them, seven of whom are now living: Milo, Frank B., Charlie N. L., Fred J. Addie B. and William D. Bertha died when three years of age.
James Logan was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, in 1826. When but two years of age, his parents died and he was left to be cared for by the cold hand of charity. He was taken care of by his native county until he was nine years old, when he went to live with a farmer, with whom he made his home for four years. At thirteen he engaged with a market man for one year and received as compensation for his work one pound and a pair of shoes. He afterward learned to be a plowman and soon became an expert. He was married, in 1854, to Miss Janet Maxwell, a native of Lanarkshire, and the same year came to America, landed at New York and went to Illinois. He arrived there, and counting over his little store, found he had but forty dollars. He and his wife engaged to work for a farmer one year at $14 a month, and when the year was up he rented land in Whiteside, Lee and Carroll counties. He enlisted, March 13, 1865, in the 34th Illinois, Company A, and joined Sherman’s army in North Carolina. He was with the regiment until the close of the war. He was discharged June 18, 1865, and returned to Illinois, and from there went to Iowa. He rented land in Perry township for two years, then bought forty acres of wild land on section 25. His land is under good cultivation, and he has erected a good house, in which he now lives. He has, within a few years, added to his possessions by purchasing 120 acres of improved land, making 160 acres in his farm. Fourteen children have been born to them, thirteen of whom are now living: John M., Janet, Mary L., James, Katie, William, Charles, Robert, Abraham L., Agnes, Horace, Jennie, Frank and Sarah. Janet died when she was three years of age.
Thomas Sherrett came to Tama county in 1865. He was employed in farming in the neighborhood of Traer for three years. Then in 1868 he settled on the west half of the northwest quarter of section 12 on land that he had previously purchased. He bought a house in
West Union, which he moved to his farm. He lived in this house, until 1882, when he erected the house in which he now lives. The same year he bought the east half of the northwest quarter of section 12, and now has 10 acres of well improved land. Mr. Sherrett is a native of Scotland, and was born in 1828. He was there reared on a farm. In 1856, he left the place of his nativity, and came to America. He landed at Quebec and went to Durham county, where he followed farming. In 1860 he crossed the line and located in Monroe county, New York. He lived in Henrietta township two years, then moved to Gates, where he lived until 1865, and then started for Iowa. He was married in 1859 to Miss Susan Christie, also a native of Scotland. They have been blessed with four children - Charles, John, Emma and Robert, who died when he was six weeks old.
William Worden was born in the town of Andes, Delaware county, New York, April 7, 1832. He is the second son of Thomas and Maria (Nichols) Worden, who were both natives of Delaware county, New York. His parents emigrated to Illinois and settled in Ogle county, when he was quite young. There were four children in the family at this time - Ira, William, Henry and Jane, all of whom were born in Delaware county, New York. There were eight children born to them in Illinois - John, Milton H., Ann, Sikes, Mayhew, Wayne, Harriet and Newton W. Mrs. Worden is still living in Ogle county, her husband having died a few months ago. The subject of this sketch spent his younger days in the district school and helping his father on the farm. He was married January 10, 1856, to Miss Sarah tennis, who was born August 12, 1836, at Morgan Prairie, Indiana. Eleven children have been born unto them, eight of who are now living - Thomas, born October 21, 1856; Dutcher, born February 9, 1858; Elmer, born May 13, 1861; Wallace, born May 6, 1865; Hattie, born October 6, 1869; Nettie, born August 20, 1872; Hayes, born August 30, 1875; and Willie, bon June 17, 1878. Elsworth, twin brother to Elmer, died when one and a half years old. In 1865, Mr. Worden came to Iowa, and located in Tama county. He purchased land on section 13, in Perry township, and erected the house in which he now lives. He has a well improved farm.
William Loder, one of the early settlers in the southern part of Perry township, was born in Berkshire, England, in 1802. He was married there on May 20, 1825, to Miss Elizabeth Tame, who was born in Berkshire, in 1801. In 1835, they came to America and settled in Monroe county, New York, where they rented land and lived until 1856. they then went to Michigan and bought a farm in Rose township, Oakland county. Mr. Loder, however, was not yet satisfied, and in 1866 he came to Perry township, purchasing land on section 32. He and his wife still make this their home. They have had eight children born to them - William H., who lives in Harvey county, Kansas; Alfred who lives in Carroll township; George, who lives in Perry township; Eliza L., who resides in Potter township, Pennsylvania; Susan, of Howard township; Ann M., resident of Monroe county, New York; Sarah, who died in 1861, and Mary E., who makes her home with her parents. Their son, George, was born in England in 1832, and made his home with his parents until he was nineteen years of age, when he started out for himself. He was employed in farming in the summer seasons, and the remainder of the year in the lumber regions. Sometimes he worked as a sawyer in the mills, and again was engaged in rafting lumber on the rivers. He was married in 1855, to Miss Catherine Orcutt, and settled in Oakland county, Michigan. He lived there three years, then went to Whiteside county, Illinois, where he followed farming. In 1865, he started by team for Iowa, came to Tama county and bought land on section 32, in Perry township, after which he returned to Illinois. In 1866, he loaded up his teams, and, with his family, again started for Iowa, crossing the Mississippi at Princeton. He arrived in Tama county in due time, purchased lumber and built a house 16x20 feet, in which the family lived until 1875, when he built the frame house in which he now lives. He has four children living; Ida A., Emma F., Ella R. and George W. Walter A. was born November ?9, 1863, died November 1, 1864. Mrs. Loder, wife of George Loder, was born in Rushford, New York, February 6, 1838, died October 5, 1852.
Andrew Law, a member of the Board of Trustees, and Secretary of the School Board, is a native of Scotland. He was born in Haddingtonshire, January 22, 1831, and was raised to agricultural pursuits, receiving his education in the district schools. In 1854, he left his native place for America; landing at Quebec, he came directly to the United States. He located in Wisconsin, and was there for two years employed in farming in Rock county. He then went to Iowa county, where he rented land for three years. He then bought a farm of 160 acres in Arena township. In February, 1865, he enlisted in the 49th Wisconsin Volunteers; joined the regiment when organized at Madison, Wisconsin; went south and served until the close of the war, when he was honorably discharged. He returned home, sold his farm in Arena and came to Iowa, where he purchased land in Perry township, on section 27. He has since improved the farm and erected the house in which he now lives. He was married July 11, 1856, to Miss Elizabeth Stuart, who was also a native of Scotland. Four children have been born unto them - Helen, Agnes, Ainslie and James. James died in infancy.
James W. Stuart is the oldest son of John and Barbara (Smith) Stuart. He was born in Iowa county, Wisconsin, December 29, 1847. His parents were early settlers of that county. He came west with his parents and made his home with them until 1868, when he engaged in farming in the neighborhood for some time. It was not long, however, before he went to his own land on section 25, Perry township and began working that. He now makes his home with his brother David.
David M., brother to James W., and son of John Stuart, was born in Iowa county, Wisconsin, October 3, 1849. He received his education in the district school, and came to Iowa with his parents in 1867. The parents settled in Perry township, and here David remained, assisting his father on the farm, until 1870, when he went to work for himself, settling, in 1875, on section 35, where he now lives. Mr. Stuart was married to Miss Rebecca Kern, daughter of Solomon and Maria (King) Kern, April 6, 1876. Her father was one of the first preachers in Tama county. Three children have blessed this union: Clarence H., Mary E. and Lennie A.
Albert G. Cone is a son of Adolphus and Mary (Smith) Cone. He was born in DuPage county, Illinois, on Christmas day, 1846. In 1857, he came to Iowa with his parents, who settled in Clinton county. When twenty-one years of age he came to Tame county, and in company with his brother, bought land in Perry township, on section 36. They built a house and kept bachelor’s hall for awhile. In January 1871 he wedded Miss Elvira Beckwith, who was a native of York State. He then built the house which he now occupies, on the east half of the northwest quarter of section 35. He has one child, a daughter, named Mary Elizabeth. Mr. Cone is a member of the United Bretheren Church. In 1878, he and his brother bought a part of section 25, adjoining where his parents now live.
James Cron is a native of Scotland, born in Dumfriesshire, May 7, 1834. He is the second son of John and Mary (Murray) Cron. When he was but seven years of age, his father, who was a blacksmith by trade, emigrated to America and settled in York county. He there learned the trade of his father, who died in 1849. Soon after, the family moved to Gray county, where they were among the early settlers. They bought a piece of timber land and cleared a farm. He was married in August, 1865, to Miss Charlotta, oldest daughter of Joshua and Eliza (Wressell) Heacock. This union has been blessed with nine children, seven of whom are now living: John, William, Isabella, Edward, Barton, Harrrison and Allan. Thomas and Magda L. died in infancy. In 1860 Mr. Cron came to the States and bought a farm in Fairhaven township, Carroll county, Illinois. In 1868, he sold his farm and came to Iowa, where he purchased the southeast quarter of section 23, Perry township. When he went to this farm the found twenty acres broken, and has since improved the remainder. He has erected a good set of buildings and now makes this his home.
George M. Frank is a native of Germany and was born April 18, 1843, his parents being Peter and Catharine (Hoffer) Frank. In 1852, his parents came to America, locating first in Saratoga, New York, where his mother is still living. Seven years later George M. came west to Carroll county, Illinois, and August 9, 1862, the subject of this sketch enlisted in Company C, 92d Illinois Mounted Infantry, afterwards participating in the battles of Chickamauga, Power Springs, Resaca and Atlanta. He was taken prisoner while with Sherman on his march to the sea, November 24, 1864, and was held prisoner at Florence, South Carolina, until the 24th of February 1865, when he was returned to his regiment and served until June 21 of the same year. He was honorably discharged at Concord, North Carolina, June 21, 1865, and at once returned to his home in Carroll county, Illinois, where he remained until coming to Tama county, in March, 1868. He located in Perry township, on section 29, remaining until October, 1872, when he settled on section 8, where he still resides. In politics he is a firm Republican, and has held the office of Township Clerk. December 9, 1865, he was married to Miss Lucinda Kline, a native of Carroll county, Illinois. They have four children: Reuben S., George M., John F. and Leonora L. Mr. and Mrs. Frank are members of the Presbyterian Church.
Henry M., son of Abial and Sally (Day) Healy, was born in Dudley, Worcester county, Massachusetts, March 13, 1839. When five years of age his father moved to Globe Village, where he built a hotel, and made his home until his death, which occurred December 18, 1853. His mother died September 13 1853. After the death of his parents, Henry went to live with an uncle in McHenry county, Illinois, and made his home there until he was twenty-one years old. He then went to Kendall county. December 31, 1862, he was married to Miss Martha Dolph, a native of Erie county, Pennsylvania. In 1864, he purchased a farm in McHenry county, Illinois, and lived on it for two years. He then sold out and returned to Kendall county, where he rented land until 1868. In the fall of that year he came to Iowa and settled on section 14, in Perry township. He has improved his land and rebuilt the house which he now occupies. He has but one child living - Harry A. Nellie was born October 15, 1865, died February 28, 1866.
Thomas L. Knight was born in New Jersey, June 20, 1843. When he was three years of age his parents moved to Ohio, and settled in Holmes county, where they lived until he was sixteen years old, and then moved to Lee county, Illinois, where he made his home until the war. His father, whose name was also Thomas, was born in England; his mother, whose maiden name was Margaret Voorhies, was a native of New Jersey. The subject of our sketch enlisted in August, 1862, in the 75th Regiment Illinois Volunteers, went south and joined the Army of the Cumberland. He was with the regiment until the close of the war. Among the many engagements in which the regiment participated, the following may be mentioned, to show that there was much dangerous and bloody work encountered: Champion Hills, Stone River, Chickamauga, siege of Chattanooga, scaling lookout Mountain at the battle above the clouds, Mission Ridge and Franklin, Tennessee. Mr. Knight came out of this long series of hard-fought battles, safe and sound and on receiving his discharge in July, 1865, he returned to his home in Illinois. He was married there in 1867, to Miss Hannah Shore, a native of Pennsylvania. He came to Iowa in 1869, and settled in Poweshiek county, where he bought eighty acres of land. He broke some of the land and lived there eighteen months; then, in the same year, came to Tama county and purchased land on section 35, Perry township. He has improved the land, built a barn and rebuilt the house in which he now lives. Mr. Knight has been a successful farmer and now has 280 acres of improved land. He has seven children - William C., Thomas A. and Nellie N.
Robert A. Scott is a native of Scotland, and born in Kirkeudbrightshire, April 8, 1826. He received his education in the public schools of his native parish. When he was eighteen years of age, he was apprenticed to a stone mason to learn the trade. He served three years and then engaged to work as a journeyman. In 1850 he left his native land for America, landing at New Orleans. He could find no work there, so he went to St. Louis and worked at his trade there for one month. He then went to Knox county, Illinois, and hired out to work for $10 per month, teaming coal from Oneida to Galesburg and Knoxville. In the spring he went to Chicago, where he worked at his trade through the summer. He then went to Lockport, where he was engaged in cutting stone for the Chicago court house; from there he went to Buffalo, where he worked through the winter on Spauldings exchange building. From there he went to Ohio, then to Chicago, and from there to La Salle county, where he was employed to construct bridges across the Illinois river, for the Illinois Central Railroad Company. He was employed at this kind of work for two years. At this time the stone cutters struck for higher wages and he went to Louisville Kentucky, to look for work, but was disappointed and returned to La Salle county.
He next went to New York to Massachusetts and worked at his trade in Quincy, for fifteen years, with the exception of one summer spent in Washington D.C., at work on the United States Treasury building and one summer spent at work on a fort in Maine. He then returned to Knox county, Illinois, where he spent the summer, then went to Rock Island, where he succeeded in getting employment on Government works, then went to St. Paul, Minnesota, where he worked one winter on the United States Custom House. He then went to Ashland Crossing, where he took charge of a gang of men who were cutting stone for a bridge to be built across the Des Moines river at that place. From there he returned to Rock Island, where he was employed at bridge work until 1870, when he came to Perry township and settled on land on section 32. This land he had purchased some years before. He has since greatly improved the land and built the house in which he now lives. He was married, in 1847 to Miss Ann Cannon, who is also a native of Scotland. They have five children - James, Mary, Thomas, Isabella and Willie.
Adin Antrim settled in Buckingham township in 1856, and was born in Clinton county, Ohio, in 1830, where he lived until thirteen years of age. His parents were Adin and Mary Antrim, both of whom died while he was but a child; the former being killed by a falling tree when Adin was about three years of age. When he was thirteen, he went to Indiana with an older sister, and in 1848, enlisted in the Regular Army for five years or during the war with Mexico. He served until the close of that war, then returned to Illinois, settling in Whiteside county, where he purchased a farm and resided until 1856, at which time he came to Buckingham township and settled on section 35. In 1880 he moved into Traer, where he has since been a resident. Mr. Antrim was married in Illinois to Miss Elizabeth A. Glen, born in Schoharie county, New York in 1824. Her parents were Alexander and Francis Glen. Miss Glen came to Illinois in 1845, with a sister. Mr. and Mrs. Antrim have four children living - Mary F., William A., John G. and Ella J. They have lost two sons and two daughters, all of whom died of diptheria. Margaret, Eva and Chauncy died January 20, 1863. Franklin G. and Mattie died December 31, 1879, the former aged sixteen years; the latter eleven years and three months. Mr. and Mrs. Antrim are members of the M. E. Church.
Alexander S. McPherran was born in Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, January 8, 1832. After finishing his education he engaged in teaching for some time in his native county, after which he followed farming in the summer and lumbering in the winter. In 1855 he went to Dixon, Illinois, where he was engaged in the grocery business. He came to Iowa in the summer of 1855, and entered land in Tama, Polk and Hamilton counties - in all 4,160 acres. After filing on this land, he returned to Dixon and continued his grocery business for two years. He then took a contract to build a part of the Mississippi & Racine railroad, and later took a contract on the B&M R.R. in Iowa. He continued in the business as contractor, until 1869. In 1870 he was dealing in live stock in Jefferson county, Iowa. In 1871 he came to Tama county and commenced farming in Perry township, on land that he had entered in 1855. He put in 480 acres of wheat in 1874. The house in which he now lives was built in 1871, and in 1875 he built a large barn, 30x55 feet. He was joined in marriage to Miss Susan Condo, a native of Pennsylvania, in 1859. She bore him three children, named Nancy, Maggie and Samuel. Mrs. McPherran died in 1869. His second wife, to whom he was married in March 1871, was Miss Mary J., daughter of Evan L. and Jane (Hutchinson) Craine, who were early settlers in Jefferson county, coming in 1844. They have two children - Maud and Clyde.
The first election held in this township after it had assumed its present boundaries was upon the 5th day of April, 1858, at which time the following officers were elected: George W. Bradley, Clerk; John Stoakes, Norman Rice and Horace Hartshorn, Trustees; Henry C. Stoakes, Road Supervisor.
Marion Young, aged 13, daughter of Samuel and Janet Young and Sarah Klingaman, daughter of Stephen and Anna Klingaman, were drowned in Wolf creek in July, 1862. They were bathing and waded into a hole that was quite deep. Miss Mary Klingaman, an aunt of Sarah, who was resting on the bank, rushed to the rescue and was nearly drowned. It was on the northwest quarter of section 10, and occurred about 10 o’clock at night. Other children were near the stream at the time and speedily gave the alarm to the neighborhood, but it was too late to save the girls.
The Bunker boys were hanged in January, 1859. This matter is treated in the chapter upon Events of Interest.
Orlando Crampton and wife were frozen to death in December, 1856. They were living at this time with his parents on the northeast corner of the northwest quarter of section 23. They went to a neighbor who lived on the southeast corner of section 15, a distance of half a mile. They started home at 4 o’clock in the afternoon, it was snowing and the wind was blowing hard. They proceeded about half the distance in the right direction, when it appears they became confused, got lost and went to the wrong direction. The family supposed they had stopped all night at the neighbors, but as they did not come in the morning they went over to see about it, and learned that they had started home the night previous.
It having been a bad blizzard, they were alarmed. The neighborhood was called out, and the search began. Her dead body was found eight miles from home, that same day, and his body was found near Salt creek, in what is now Oneida township. It is thought he must have traveled about twenty-five miles. It seems that she had died first, as she was laid out with her hands across her breast; he had taken her shawl and wrapped around his head, and had stamped a hole through the crust of snow, sat down and died in a sitting posture. He was a native of York State and twenty-three years old. His wife was the daughter of Henry and Lydia (Yale) Beatty, and was born in York State, December 26, 1835.
The first school in the township was kept in a log house on section 3, in 1854, and was taught by Miss Rachel Wood. The first school house was built in 1856, in the town plat of Buckingham. Jane Noble taught the first school in this building. The first birth in the township was America, a daughter to William D., and Mary (Wood) Hitchner, December 1, 1852. She died December 10, 1856. The first death was that of Joseph Connell which occurred in September, 1854.
The first marriage in this township occurred October 16, 1853, at which time Martha Taylor was united in the holy bonds of wedlock to a man by the name of Knott, who was living at that time in Tipton, Cedar county, Iowa. Soon after the happy event they moved to mount Vernon, Linn county, Iowa, where he kept a store a number of years, and then removed to southeastern Kansas, where she died about 1875, leaving a son and two daughters now grown. A grown son and daughter and two half-grown sons of Ira Taylor died of typhoid fever in November, 1854, at their home where Traer now is, all of them within two weeks. The following spring Mr. Taylor moved to Toledo, where his wife died, and he again married. His second wife died in 1880. He still lives at Toledo with his daughter, the wife of Rev. S. W. Ingham.
The first school house in the township was built in 1856, and was dedicated by a dance on the 4th of July of that year. Miss Jane Nobles had the honor of first teaching in this building, although as elsewhere stated a school had been taught in a log building previous to this time. In district No 1 a school house was built at West Union in 1859, and a term of school that had been commenced in Dexter Higgins’ house by Cyrena Ingham in the fall of that year, was completed in this building. It was a frame building and was remodeled and repaired in 1881. In district No. 2 the first school building was erected in 1875 and is located on the northeast corner of section 1. Olive M. Keckley ws the first teacher in this district. In district No. 3 the first school was taught by Dudley Loop in Henry Beatty’s house, on section 23, during the winter of 1857-58. The school house was built in 1859, and the first school in this building was presided over by Miss Rachel Felter, during the summer of that year. The building was located on the southwest quarter of section 24, where it now stands. In district No. 4 the first school house was built in 1857 and was located on the southwest quarter of section 29. Ann Morton was the first teacher in the district. The building was moved to the northeast quarter of section 31 in 1866, and was used until 1873, when the present house was built, which is located on the northeast quarter of section 31. Rebecca Stoner was the first teacher in this house, completing a term commenced in the old building. in district No 5 the first school house was built in 1871, and was located on the southwest quarter of section 22. Mr. Shephard was the first teacher. it is a good frame building and well furnished. Charles Shephard was the first teacher. In district No., 6 the first house was built in 1872, and located on the southwest quarter of section 25. The first term of the school was taught by Isabel Stewart in the fall of 1872. This is called Stormy Point district. The house in district No. 7 was built in 1866, and the first school was taught by Miss Jane Wilson in the winter of 1860-61. This house was located on the northeast quarter of section 17, and was used until 1877, when it was sold and the present building erected that same year on the southwest corner of the southwest quarter of section 17. Miss Ida Loop was the fist teacher in the new building.
The first house in district No. 8 was built in 1875 on the northeast quarter of section 1. Miss Olive M. Keckley was the fist teacher here. Most all of these buildings are in good condition, and as a rule competent teachers have been employed, and the advantages of an education are freely offered to all who will avail themselves of the opportunity.
Methodism was introduced into northern Tama in 1853. Rev. S. W. Ingham preached the first discourse at the house of Norman L. Osborn, on the northwest corner of the present site of the town of Traer, on the 4th of June, 1853. A Class was organized at the time, consisting of Ira Taylor and family, and Norman L. Osborn and family, with Ira Taylor as Class Leader. Appointments were made by Mr. Ingham for services every four weeks until the meeting of the Conference in November. The class continued to meet at the house of Mr. Osborn, or that of Mr. Taylor, until a school house was erected across the line in Buckingham township. Services were held in this school house until 1868, when a church edifice was erected in the village of Buckingham.
SOLOMON WEST INGHAM, was born in the town of Dryden, Cayuga county, N. Y., February 9, 1812. His father, Solomon Ingham, was a native of Connecticut, and his mother, Deborah (West) Ingham, of Massachusetts. His father died when he was but seven years of age. At this time the family were living in what is now Fayette county, Indiana, where they had removed the previous year. On their arrival in this then frontier country, they found only three white families living in the county, while there were between 3,000 and 4,000 Indians, who at the time had just received their annuity, and were having a drunken frolic previous to their removal to a new reservation a little farther in the direction of the setting sun. Before leaving his eastern home, young Ingham had the privilege of attending school, his first term being when but three years of age. On his removal to Indiana, he could not enjoy that privilege for a time, there being no schools at any convenient point. From his sixth to his fifteenth year the total time of attendance at school would not exceed three months. When fifteen years of age he was apprenticed to a hatter for five years, but purchased the last year of his time. He continued to work at his trade three years longer, when he concluded to abandon it. After leaving this business he attended school five weeks. Realizing how little he knew, for two years, after his day’s work was done, he studied by firelight until a late hour of night, by which time he was qualified to teach the various branches usually taught in the schools of that day. From that time until 1840, he taught school in the winter months, and worked as a carpenter in summer. When nineteen years of age, he was converted and united with the Methodist Episcopal Church, and about one year after was made a Class Leader.
In 1836 he was united in marriage with Lydia Ann Gadd, Shelby county, Indiana. Five children blessed this union, four of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, one of whom has for many years been an influential minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church — REV. S. W. INGHAM, Jr.
In 1837, the subject of the sketch was licensed as a local preacher, and for three years labored in Indiana, while at the same time teaching, and working at the carpenter’s trade. In 1840, with his family, he came to Iowa, and united with the Confrerence, and was assigned to the Marion circuit in Linn county, where he remained two years, and was then transferred to Cedar county, where he also spent two years. His next appointment was to the Pleasant Valley circuit, where he remained but six months, and was then compelled to cease preaching, his voice having failed him. For three years afterwards he was an invalid. Recovering his health, in a measure, he traveled with a team, selling goods on the frontier and to the Indians. In 1847, his wife died, and in 1848 he married Rebecca Husband, in Washington county Iowa. In 1852, having recovered his health and voice, he was again assigned to duty in the ministry, being appointed to the northern Iowa circuit, embracing eleven counties and what is now Traer to the northwestern boundary of the State. He made his home in Bremer county. Here Mrs. Ingham died, in the same year of their removal here. In June, 1853, Mr. Ingham visited the north part of this county, where he met Cynthia Taylor, daughter of Ira Taylor, with whom he united in marriage, January, 1854. Four children have been born unto them, three of whom are now living. After serving the circuit two years, he ceased from labor one year, and was then assigned to the Waterloo station, where he remained one year. Mr. Ingham now moved to Toledo, where he has since continued to reside. For five years he was engaged in merchandising and for the same length of time, acted as agent for the American Bible Society, traveling in its interests in Tama and other counties. For several years he has been engaged in other secular business, but has never wholly abandoned the ministry, serving now and then as a supply to pastors, and on funeral occasions. The incidents of his life as a pioneer preacher would fill a volume, and be of absorbing inter4est. No man in Tama county is more extensively known, and none more highly respected.
The United Brethren organized a society, Rev. J. H. Vandever officiating, in 1867, at the school house on section 23, with fourteen members as follows: Anson Loop and wife, Charles Loop and wife, Warren Rogers and wife, Sydney A. Beatty, Henry O. Beatty, Harriet D. Beatty, Adella Beatty, William Worden and wife, Mrs. Emily Scranton and Alonzo Rogers. They held meetings once every two weeks. Rev. Vandever was succeeded by H. B. Potter, then came Andrew Noy, S. W. Kerther, then Vandever again, followed by Theodore Brashear, G. W. Stewart, L. B. hicks, John Smith, then Hicks again, afterward George Benson and Rev. Laughlin the present pastor. There are now about twenty members, and meetings are regularly held at the school house on section 25. A. B. Harmon is the Class Leader.
A class of United Brethren was organized by Solomon Kern, at the school house in Buckingham village, in 1862, with the following members: Alfred Shiner and wife, John Kingery and wife, T. R. Shinn and wife, Adin Antrim and wife and Mrs. Alfred Shinn. Rev. Kern was succeeded by Rev. Hastings, and in turn by Crawford, then Rev. Pattie. The members of this church have all moved away and the organization has been discontinued.
The Protestant Methodists organized a Class at the school house on section 29, in 1858, by Rev. Roberdes, with L. B. Collins as Class Leader and the following membership: A. S. Famler and wife, Lyman Cody and wife, L. B. Collins, wife and two daughters, Dennis Patch and wife, Andrew Collins and wife. The following named have preached here since: Burt, Dunton, Richards, Baker, Spry, Hollenbeck, Snyder, Bailey, Holland and Thomas. The organization has been discontinued.
A Methodist Episcopal Class was organized in the school house in district number three, about the year 1872, by Rev. Wilkerson, with the following membership; Charles Loop and wife, Mrs. Lydia Beatty, Mrs. May Glasser and Mrs. Sallie Webster. This society continued in existence about two years, when it was merged into a similar organization at Traer.
A burial place called Baker’s Grove Cemetery was laid out in 1860, on the northeast quarter of section 31. The land was donated by Andrew Collins. It contains one acre. An infant son of John Collins was the first to receive burial here. It is platted in lots eight by sixteen feet each, controlled by a board of trustees elected by owners of lots. There are two others, Buckingham Cemetery, near Traer on section 3 and West Union Cemetery.
Wolf Creek Postoffice.
This office was established in 1858, with Stephen Klingaman as postmaster, and the office at his house on section 10, south of the creek. Charles Loop was deputy. The office was next moved to West Union and Dexter Higgins appointed postmaster. Then came Doctor Smith, Widow Perkins, Levi S. Cope, Robert W. Huff, Samuel Everett and J. L. Moore. Then the office was removed to Traer and the name changed.
West Union Village.
This place was surveyed and platted in 1856, by W. A. Daniel, County Surveyor, for Christopher Hester, and was located on the east half of the northwest quarter of section 11. There was at the time of the survey one dwelling house and a store building within its limits. Robert Hester started the building of a hotel in 1856, but before completion sold to Robert Huff, who finished it and opened the same for the accommodation of the traveling public and called it the Huff House. He continued to run it until 1867, when he sold out to Samuel Everett and he in turn sold to H. F. Gaston, who again disposed of the property, and it was moved away. It is now owned by George Townsend and is used for a barn.
Robert Hester opened a store here as early as 1855, and sold out the next year to Ashley Lucas, who continued the business a few months and closed up. George Free opened a store soon afterwards in the same building and continued the trade about one year, when he moved his stock to Monticello and was succeeded in the business at this point by a man by the name of Brown, who remained nine months and moved his goods to what he considered a better market. J. L. Moore was the next man to embark in the like enterprise, here in the same building, and continued until the town of Traer was started, when he moved thither. Henry Palmer and Charles Loop came from Pennsylvania in November, 1855, and started a blacksmith shop, but did not remain long.
Notwithstanding these disappointments, the new town seemed to flourish for a short time and it was thought it would sometime make a place of some importance. Among other things, churches were organized, a school taught, people bought lots, paid good prices, and built houses, but it did not seem to pay and they soon commenced moving themselves and houses to the country and engaging in the more lucrative employment of farming, and West Union as a town is defunct.
In 1853, Jonas P. Wood, W. D. Hitchner and John Connell started the building of a saw mill on the northwest quarter of section 10. A brush and dirt dam was thrown across the creek and the building was pushed forward as fast as possible under the circumstances. It was not in running order, however, until in 1854. They secured a six-foot fall for water power and put in an “up-and-down” saw. Stephen Klingaman bought the property and built a grist mill in connection, the same year, with one run of stone. He manufactured flour, ground feed, etc. The mill went out of use a short time afterward, and finally part of the machinery was used in the Traer mills.
This was an old town, situated in Perry township, and was one of the first settlements in the county. Among the early settlers at this point were James and J. P. Wood, Dr. Daniel, Col. John Connell and brother Daniel, William Hitchner, David Dean and N. L. Osborn.
The town was laid off by Messrs. Wood, Connell and others, and called after the well-known ex-Governor of Connecticut, who took quite an interest in the town. It was pleasantly located and surrounded by an excellent farming country, contained a population of 400, mostly New Englanders and Scotch. At one time it contained one hotel; three general stores, owned by David Connell, Barrett & Thomas and Mr. Morehouse; one hardware store by L. B. Collins; one harness shop; one blacksmith shop; one physician, Dr. Daniel. It had a large and commodious public school building; two church organizations, Congregational and Methodist; a large and flourishing Sabbath school with a good library. The I.O. of G.T. had a Lodge in the town.
Governor Buckingham of Connecticut, always took a lively interest in the town, and it was mainly through his liberality that the town possessed a handsome church edifice and Sabbath school library, and in all else for the public good in this vicinity, he always proved a ready and cheerful helper.
City of Traer.
Traer, the metropolis of northern Tama, is situated in the northern part of Perry township, in the forks of Wolf and Coon creeks, on the line of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern railway. It lies upon a beautiful prairie, and is surrounded by some of the finest and most productive agricultural and stock-raising lands in the State, which is a guarantee of permanent and ever increasing trade. The whole country for miles about is dotted with some of the finest and best improved farms to be seen in the west.
There are many fine and substantial brick and stone blocks to be seen upon the business thoroughfares, and a troll through the city discloses many fine and costly dwellings. There are a number of fine church edifices and elegant buildings for educational purposes. An abundance of shade trees adorn the streets, which in summer add greatly to the beauty of the place. The location is exceedingly healthy. The inhabitants are possessed of intelligence, and the society is of the most refined and desirable character. All taken into consideration, Traer is among the best business towns in the country.
When the B.C.R.&N. railroad began pushing its line from Vinton toward the northwest, and before the road had reached Tama county, John Traer, of Cedar Rapids, instigated the platting of a town upon section 10, Perry township, upon land owned by Giles Taylor and J. L. Bull. The town was named after Mr. Traer. The surveyor was Charles G. Johnson. On the 27th of July, 1873, the iron-horse first made its appearance in Traer, and almost at once all was activity; business houses sprung up as if by magic, and almost half the growth of Traer was accomplished within one year. For four years this place was the terminus of the railroad, and grew accordingly. The growth from the first was so rapid that it is almost impossible to trace with any degree of accuracy the first business movements.
Early in the spring of 1873, J. R. Smith came from Tama City and opened the first store in Traer. He brought his stock, consisting of tobacco, cigars and a little of everything, from Tama City, and opened in a little frame building, 18x30 feet. He remained here for some time, opening a harness shop, but finally sold and went to Waverly.
The first substantial store was opened by B. Best, early in June, 1873. He came from Tama City, bringing his stock of goods from that place. He occupied the store building which was erected by J. R. Smith. It has since burned down. Best then put up the building which he sold to Nicholas, in 1877. He also erected part of the building now occupied by the Best House, in 1873. In 1877, he retailed out his business, and now devote his attentions to running the Best House.
About the next business established was that of Fisk & Moore. The former was from Buckingham, the latter from West Union. They moved an 18x24 foot building from some farm, upon a lot near where the old Brooks & Moore bank stands, and opened a stock of groceries and provisions, general merchandise and beer. They ran it for six or eight months, when it was purchased by James Morrison, who now handles groceries.
As trade increased and the business of Traer began to assume city proportions, the general merchandising began to separate and the various stores handled one line exclusively. The different branches will now be treated of, showing the first and present dealers, interwoven with personal sketches of as many of the representative business men as can be given, without infringing too much upon space.
The first grocery store was started by B. Best; soon after followed by Fisk & Moore. For some years this line was handled in connection with the general merchandise stores. M. G. Nicholas started about the first store to handle groceries exclusively. He put up a building near Goodenough’s hardware store which is now vacant, and remained in the business for about one year. He is now farming in Tama county. The present representatives of the grocery line are in following named: James Morrison, who also handled boots, shoes and crockery. He succeeded Fisk & Moore. Best & Canfield commenced business, under this name, in 1879, handling nothing but groceries. Goodsell & Hadsell succeeded Mitchell & Hoy, who commenced business in the fall of 1873. Thomas Gallogly commenced business in the grocery line, in 1878, in the old bank building; he has purchased the bank building and is still in the business. The firm of Gillespie & Shroeder succeeded M. Gillespie in 1882, and now do a good business. Christian Wetzel commenced trade in the grocery business several years ago, and still handles this line of goods.
Thomas Gallogly, grocer of Traer, is a native of Ohio, born in 1844, and while young removed with his parents to Manitowoc, Wisconsin. He was brought up on a farm, and July 21, 1862, enlisted in Company D, 27th Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry. He was honorably discharged August 29, 1865, having served a little more than three years. He participated in many important battles and campaigns; was at the siege of Vicksburg, the taking of Little Rock, at Mobile, Fort Blakely, and was with General Banks in his Red River campaign, participating in more than twenty battles. After the war he returned to Wisconsin and engaged in school teaching, which occupation he followed for many years, teachng the school at Centerville, Manitowoc county, for a period of nine successive years. His wife was Miss Caroline Fehrenbach, born in Switzerland. They have four children - Mary V., Thomas M., Lizzie C. and Michael J.
As to general merchandise, almost all of the first stores started might be classed under his head. In July, 1873, Daniel Connell, who had been in business at Buckingham, opened a general merchandise store here in the building now occupied by James Morrison. He kept a large stock and remained until a few years ago, when he removed to Gladbrook, where he is now postmaster. He moved from Buckingham, the building which is now occupied by the Coffee and Reading Room. C. C. Collins started the next general merchandise store, commencing business September 1, 1873. He erected the building now occupied by Boettcher & Hart as a furniture store. Mr. Collins purchased the building he now occupies of James Aitchison, and is still in trade, carrying a $7,000 stock of dry goods, clothing, boots, shoes and notions, and does an annual business of about $20,000. The next general merchandise store after Collins was started in the fall of 1873 by Q. D. Hartshorn, he was succeeded in 1875 by Seaver & McClary, the present bankers, who in turn were succeeded by S. P. Smith, who is yet in the business. Porterfield Brothers commenced business in 1873, in a building which they erected, and are still in the trade. In December, 1875, Smith & Edwards began business. A few years ago S. P. Smith bought out Edwards, and later bought out Seaver & McClary. He is still in trade. Edwards is farming near Waterloo. About the same time Galley and Newcomer established business in a building erected by Mr. Hamiston. They continued under the original firm name until the spring of 1883, when the partnership was dissolved, Mr. Galley still continuing the business. H. C. Pierce opened a dry goods and millinery establishment in 1875. Guynn, Thomas and Co., began business here in April, 1882. Isaasc Rosenberg began business in this line in 1880. This leaves the business, which it will be noticed has gradually turned more exclusively to dry goods, in the hands of C. C. Collin, Mr. Galley, Porterfield Brothers, H. C. Pierce & Co., Guynn, Thomas & Co. and Isaac Rosenberg.
C. C. Collins, the present Mayor of Traer, is one of the earliest business men of the town, having established a general merchandise business in 1873. He has been a resident of Tama county since 1855. His father, L. B. Collins, was born in Indiana in 1818, and came to Cedar county, Iowa, in 1852, where he lived till 1855, then came to Tama county. Mr. Collins entered 160 acres of land in Perry township, at what was then Baker’s Grove, afterward known as Collins Grove. He lived there from 1855 till 1873, when he removed to Nebraska. He was the first postmaster in the township, and held that position from the time the office was established, July 1, 1857, till 1860, when the office was discontinued.
C. C. Collins was born in Indiana in 1843, and was consequently but twelve years of age when his father came to this county. He attended school on the site of the town of Traer, in the winter of 1855-56. He built his present store in August, 1873, and opened the second general store in the town. Mr. Collins engaged in Merchandising in Buckingham in 1869, which he continued till Traer was laid out, then he removed to this place. Mr. Collins is a successful merchant among the first in advocating what he believes will promote the best interests of the town. He married Mary F., daughter of A. Antrim. They have three children: Albert Roy, Chauncy Clifford and an infant son.
One of the most extensive mercantile houses of Traer, is that of the Porterfield Brothers, established in 1874, by W. S Porterfield. In August, of that year, S. M. Joined his brother in the business, and in 1876, two other brothers, J. O. and D. A., joined the firm. A branch store was then started at Reinbeck under the management of J. O., who still conducts the business there. W. S. Porterfield, who first started the business, died in 1876, and the other three brothers still continue in partnership. They are natives of the province of Ontario, and removed from Canada to Illinois, thence to Iowa, settling at Vinton. The father of these brothers is Rev. William Porterfield, a minister of the Presbyterian church. W. S. (deceased) married Miss M. J. Davis; she now lives in Dakota. S. M. married Miss Nettie H. Davis; J. O. married Miss Jennie Basher, of Vinton; and D. A. was wedded to Miss Addie E. Taylor. The Porterfield Brothers are also proprietors of the northern nursery, established in 1883, situated one mile east of Traer and now under the management of D. A. Porterfield.
S. P. Smith, general merchant, is located on the corner of second and Main streets. In company with L. H. Edwards, he opened a general merchandise store in Traer, in December 1875, under the firm name of Smith & Edwards. The latter gentleman retired from the business July 25, 1881, leaving Mr. Smith sole proprietor. Mr. Smith is a native of New Jersey. When about ten years of age, he removed with his parents, to Dane county, Wisconsin, and thence to Illinois. In 1867, the family removed to Butler county, Iowa, and settled in Aplington, where the father still lives; the mother died there recently.
Mr. Smith left Aplington and came to Traer in 1875. He was married in 1872 to Miss Jean L. Wilson, daughter of John Wilson, one of the earliest settlers of Perry township. They have but one child living, a daughter - Theodosia. A son, George B., died in May 1881.
Smith Newcomer, formerly of the firm of Galley & Newcomer, general merchants, was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, in 1843. At the age of nineteen, in August 1862, he enlisted in the 15th Pennsylvania Cavalry and served until the close of the war, being discharged in June, 1865. He participated in many severe engagements, including the battles of Stone river and Chickamauga. After the war was over Mr. Newcomer returned to Pennsylvania and attended school at Pittsburg. In My, 1866, he removed to Illinois, and the following fall came to Tama county. He engaged as clerk in Toledo, with the firm of Galley & Johnson, which afterward became W. F. Johnson & Co. Mr. Newcomer, in company with H. Galley, came to Traer and established business. This firm carried a large stock of general merchandise and was one of the longest established stores in Traer. Mrs. Newcomer was formerly Miss Louise Fraley, a native of Indiana. Her father, Charles W. Fraley, died in Illinois; her mother came to Marshalltown, Iowa, with her family in 1863, and died there some years later. Mr. and Mrs. Newcomer had one son, Harry, born in Toledo in 1870.
The first hardware store in Traer was established in the fall of 1873, by Messrs. Penrose & Parks. F. A. Goodenough conducted the business and afterwards succeeded the above named gentlemen, and later took E. D. Rice into the business as a partner. Mr. Goodenough afterward sold his interest to Mr. Rice, and in 1879, Messrs. Dennis & Averill succeeded Mr. Rice, and are now doing a good business in hardware and farm machinery. J. C. Averill, of this firm, was born at Highgate Springs, Franklin county, Vermont, February 24, 1846. His parents, George and Eliza (Stinehour) Averill, are also natives of Vermont. Mr. Averill was married in 1870, to Miss Hannah A. Best, daughter of Hiram Best. They came west in April, 1871, and went to Duluth, Minnesota, intending to locate there, but changed their minds and finally went to Cedar Rapids, where he engaged with his cousin, who was working for the McCormick Reaper Company. In the spring of 1872, Mr. Averill located at Tama City, and formed a partnership with Mr. Dennis to carry on a farm machinery business that was established in 1866. In 1873, this firm opened their business in Traer, of which Mr. Averill took charge; Mr. Dennis continuing in charge of Tama City, until 1877, when they discontinued the business at the latter city and Mr. Dennis also came to Traer. In 1879, as stated above, the firm ought the hardware stock of Mr. Rice and added that branch of trade to their business. Messrs. Dennis & Averill were the first to buy business and residence lots on the plat of Traer. Mr. and Mrs. Averill have two children: Lulu B., and Gertrude E., both of whom were born in Traer. J. B. Dennis, member of this firm, while he has resided in Traer for a shorter period than his partner, has been longer a resident of the county. He was born in Ohio, February 26, 1844. He enlisted in 1861, in the 84th Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and served two years. Mr. Dennis came to Tama county in 1867, and engaged in the hardware and farm implement business in Tama City.
The next hardware store was started by J. T. Weld. He erected a store building and sold to F. A. Goodenough, who is yet in the business. W. W. Evans was also in the hardware business for a short time. This leaves the hardware business in the hands of Dennis & Averill and F. A. Goodenough.
The brick and tile factory is a prominent feature in the manufacturing industries of Traer. It is now run in excellent shape by Aitchison & Smith.
The first furniture store established in Traer was in the spring of 1874, by Rhodes & Blake. They came from Tama City and opened up in the John Knowl building. They were succeeded by J. A. Stewart, and in 1877 John Kingery became proprietor. In 1881 Boettcher & Hart succeeded Kingery, and they now have monopoly of the furniture business in Traer. C. C. Collins carried a heavy stock of furniture goods at one time.
As stated, the furniture business of Traer is represented by the firm of Boettcher & Hart. The former is a native of Saxony, where he was born in 1843. He was apprenticed to learn the cabinet making trade and followed that business in his native country until he came to the United States in 1873. He settled in Polo, Illinois, where he remained until coming to Tama county, in 1880. He settled in Traer, where he has since lived.
John W. Hart was born in Ohio, in 1849. When ten years of age, he came to Iowa with his parents, John and Eleanor Hart, and settled in Marshall county. In May, 1862, when only twelve years of age, Mr. Hart enlisted as drummer boy in Company K. 23d Regiment, Iowa Volunteer, and served three years. He accompanied his regiment in all the campaigns and battles in which it was engaged. His father came to Traer from Marshall county in 1873. The father is a gun smith by trade and a mechanic of much ability. John W. came to Traer in 1874, and in February, 1881, the present firm was organized to establish the furniture business. Mr. Hart was married to Alice Lowery, who was born in Illinois.
The first restaurant was started by B. Best, early in June, 1873. This line is now represented by Mrs. C. Becker and I. B. Atkins. The Coffee and Reading Room was started by the citizens, who paid the rent. It is now run by Miss Reed.
B. Best started the first hotel. The next was the Traer House started by Mr. Rogers, which is now occupied as a tenement house. the Cohrts House was the third, in 1874. It was started as a Morris House, but is now run by J. Cohrts. The Brook’s House was erected in 1875 by a stock company, at the cost of $10,000, and is a well fitted hotel. It was first run by M. E. Segner; after him came as landlords Messrs. Parker, W. W. Evans and McCoy, and finally W. Green, who purchased the property and still runs it in good shape. In 1874 Marcus Shroeder erected a building which is used for hotel purposes. He sold to Marx Kroeger, who still runs it.
Balthasar Best, proprietor of the Best House, has been a resident of Traer since June 2, 1873. He put up a building that season in the west part of town and engaged in the restaurant business. This was the first restaurant kept in the village. He put up a part of his present building the same season, where he kept hotel and restaurant till 1878, when he enlarged his house and devoted himself exclusively to the hotel business. Mr. Best keeps a first class hotel and the Best House ranks high with the traveling public. Mr. Best was born in the year 1838, at Hessen Darmstadt, Germany. He has had a varied experience and some of the events of his life have bee4n singularly unfortunate. His father, Jacob Best, emigrated to this county in 1850. They took a steamer at Buffalo, intending to located at Toledo, Ohio, but when out upon the lake the boat caught fire and was soon a mass of flames. His father, mother, four sisters and three brothers were all lost, he alone of the family saving himself by swimming ashore. Mr. Best came near losing his life by exposure, was compelled to live with strangers, and was for seven or eight years an invalid, the result of his terrible experience on Lake Erie. He went to Minnesota in 1859, from Wisconsin, enlisting in 1861, at Winona, in the 1st Minnesota Regiment, Company K, and served upwards of three years, participating in twenty engagements, then left the service and returned to Winona. When a young man Mr. Best learned the trade of cabinetmaking and worked at that business at Prairie du Chien for three years. He also learned the trade of sash and door making while at Winona. In January, 1873, he came to Tama county, engaged for a time in the restaurant business at Tama City, and then came to Traer, as stated above. His wife was Francisca Salentine. They have one daughter - Minnie.
The first drug store in Traer was established in July, 1873, by Strong & Batchelder in a building now occupied by J. H. Nauerth. They continued until 1875 or 1876, when they sold to Batchelder & Jones. A. J. Free soon purchased Jones’ interest, and the firm became Batchelder & Free. They for some time were engaged in the manufacture of pop here. In the fall of 1881, they removed to Cedar Rapids, selling the stock to J. H. Nauerth who still continues the business. The next drug store was started by O. D. Bonney, in the building he still occupies. Dr. W. A. Daniel, of Buckingham, was in the drug trade here for some time and sold to E. M. Woolley, who is still conducting the business. Therefore, the drug trade is at present represented by J. H. Nauerth, O. D. Bonney and E. M. Woolley.
O. D. Bonney is one of the early business men of Traer. Before the town of Traer had an existence, he was in business at Buckingham, where he had purchased the drug stock of John Zehrung in October, 1869. The store he occupied at Buckingham, was built by Dr. W. A. Daniel. Soon after Traer was laid out, Mr. Bonney purchased five lots on the village plat, built a store room and immediately opened a drug store, which he has conducted to the present time. He changed his place of business to his present location, in September, 1882. Mr. Bonney is a native of Canada, and was brought up in Thompson county, New York. His father, O. W. Bonney, was born in Washington county, New York, served in the war of 1812, and is now a resident of Traer. His mother, Laura Benedict, was a native of Great Barrington, Massachusetts, and died in Illinois, where the family had moved, when the subject of this sketch was eighteen years of age. Mr. Bonney enlisted in 1862, in the 124th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which was attached to the 17th corps. He served till the close of the war, then returned to Aurora, Illinois. He went to Des Moines, Iowa, in 1868, and came to this county the following year. Mrs. Bonney was formerly Miss Louise A. Campbell, a native of Beloit, Wisconsin. They have three children: Alice A., Stella and Oliver.
The first bank of Traer was established in 1873, by Brooks & Moore, of Tama City. They erected a fine building, and in 1883, were engaged in the construction of another. The second bank was established in 1875, by the firm of Seaver & McClary. they have erected an elegant bank building.
The banking business of Brooks, Moore & Co., was established by Messrs. Brooks & Moore, August 4, 1873. The firm is now composed of J. H. Brooks, R. H. Moore and W. H. Cross, the latter gentleman having become a member of the firm in June, 1882. Previous to that date, Mr. Moore had entire charge of the business, Mr. Brooks being a resident of Tama City. Mr. Brooks came to Tame county from Kane county, Illinois, in 1856, and settled in Otter Creek township, where he remained till the spring of 1866, then located in Tama City. He is one of the most prominent business men of that town. Mr. Moore was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, in 1845, where he was brought up. He came to Tama City in 1867; he engaged in work in a lumber yard until the fall of that year, when he engaged in teaching, which business he had followed in his native State. He was variously engaged till 1871, when he was employed as clerk in the bank of Carmichael, Brooks & Co. Here he obtained some knowledge of the banking business, and when Traer was located, he came here with Mr. Brooks and opened their present bank. This bank is one of the leading institutions of Traer, and Mr. Moore has proven himself eminently qualified to conduct the business successfully. His wife was Mary L., daughter of Q. D. Hartshorn. They have had three children, two of whom are now living: Edna and Theodore. Their second child, Ralph Roy, died when he was two years old.
George W. McClary, of the firm of Seaver & McClary, bankers, was born in St. Joseph, Missouri, June 1, 1849. His father, Benjamin F. McClary, was a native of Kentucky; his mother, whose maiden name was Matilda Shaw, a native of Tennessee. When he was but ten months old, his parents were returning from a visit to Kentucky, and his mother, who had been in poor health for some years, was taken worse and died. But the death of a mother was not to be the only calamity, a double misfortune came when his father was stricken with cholera and died nine days later. George was taken care of by his grandmother, at St. Joseph Missouri where he lived till he was thirteen years of age. At an early age he started out to battle with the world for himself. His early education was advanced by two terms in the academic departmet of Tabor University, at Tabor, Iowa, and completed at Pand’s Business College, from which he graduated in 1869. He then engaged in the live stock trade at Valley Falls, Kansas, one year; then at the same place, he engaged in mercantile business and pork packaging until 1874. During this year he came to Traer, and the present firm of Seaver & McClary was formed to carry on a mercantile business.
In 1875, they established the Bank of Traer. Mr. McClary is endowed with a large degree of common sense, good judgment, and success has attended him in every branch of business. He has been elected Mayor, and is at present serving efficiently in that capacity. He was married in July, 1873, to Miss Maria Smith, who was from Clay county, Missouri. They have been blessed with three children: Pearl, George Edgar and Opal. Pearl as born May 6, 1874; died September 28, 1880. George Edgar was born November 18, 1880; died September 25, 1880. In politics Mr. McClary is a Democrat.
The first grain was purchased by Mr. Bouton, who stored it in the elevator before it was finished. His wife at one time was in the millinery business at Traer. He went to Dakota from here, and there committed suicide.
The first elevator in Traer was erected by James McPhail, of La Porte City, in 1873. He failed in a few years and was succeeded by West Wilson, who is yet in the business. An elevator was erected the following year by a farmer’s stock company. This is one of the largest elevators in the county. The company fell through, and the property was purchased by M. C. Murdough, of Tama City. C. A. Clow, of La Porte, erected an elevator which he still conducts. David Park erected an elevator in 1873, which is now vacant.
C. G. Johnson and the McCornack Brothers started in the lumber business at about the same time. They are still in the business.
Richards Brothers ran a lumber yard here for some time, but closed about 1879, and went to Nebraska. Canfield Brothers commenced business in the lumber line in 1878, and sold to C. G. Johnson, in the fall of 1882.
Charles Johnson is the owner of the first lumber yard established in Traer, which was first opened in July, 1873. Mr. Johnson is a civil engineer by profession, and when it was decided to locate a town here, he was employed by the B. C. & N. Railroad Company to survey and lay out the town. Mr. Johnson was born in Northfield, Massachusetts, and graduated at Dartmouth College, in 1871. He adopted civil engineering as a business, came to Iowa in the fall of the same year, and took charge of the construction of the railroad between Vinton and Traer. On the completion of the road to Traer, Mr. Johnson concluded to locate here and engage in business for himself, which he has done, meeting with much success. His wife was Miss Mary Walker, born in Massachusetts.
Frank Mertz started the first meat market, in 1873, in a little building where Rosenberg’s store is. He continued the business but a short time. The next was by F. A. Hadsell, in the spring of 1874. He continued until a few years ago, when he sold to O. Benefield, who is yet in the business, in the same building. William McDowell started and ran a shop a few years ago. L. M. Spafford established a market here a few years ago, and is still in the business.
Leonard M. Spafford, provision dealer and pork packer, came to this county in 1876. He was born in Perrysburg, Ohio, September 4, 1856. When Leonard was three years old, his father, who was a sailor, was drowned in Lake Erie. His mother, soon after married again and moved to Toledo, Ohio. He received his education in the city schools, and at the age of twelve years started out to do for himself. He was first employed by a provision dealer, to drive a delivery wagon, after which he was engaged at different occupations in Toledo, Ohio, until he came to Tama county Iowa, in the spring of 1876. Here he went to work for a farmer near Toledo, until fall, when he came to Traer, and was employed in an elevator for a few months. In the spring, he again tried his hand at farming, working for James Wilson about two and a half months. He then came to Traer and went to work in a provision store. In the fall of 1878, he went into partnership with another employee, and purchased the stock and fixtures of the shop. His cash capital at this time was sixty-five dollars, but by close attention to business, he has built up a splendid trade, and is now considered one of the most successful businessmen in Traer. The present firm was formed in the fall of 1882. Mr. Spafford was wedded September 6, 1882, to Miss Lizzie B. McConnell, a teacher in the public schools of Traer.
Amont the first dealers in agricultural implements were Dennis & Averill, who began business in 1873, and still continue. The present dealers are Dennis & Averill, McCornack Brothers and F. A. Goodenough.
The McCornack Brothers, dealers in lumber, coal and farm machinery, are among the early business men of Traer, having established their business in September, 1873. They deal in the most approved class of farm implements, including the Deering harvester, Champion reaper and mower, and have a large stock of their line of goods. The firm consists of Peter and Robert McCornack; the former having charge of the business at Traer, the latter at Gladbrook. Peter was born in Illinois, in 1840. He enlisted in August 1862, in the 102d Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, Company I, under Colonel F. C. Smith. Mr. McCornack served about three years, participating in many important battles and campaigns, including the Atlanta campaign and Sherman’s “March to the Sea”, receiving a severe wound, July 26, 1864. While Peter was in the service, in 1864, his father moved to Tama county, and soon after the close of the war Peter came also, and has since been a resident of the county. He followed farming until he came to Traer.
His wife was Miss Jane Galt, a daughter of John Galt. Mr. McCornack’s father died January 21, 1869; his mother still lives and makes her home with him.
The first livery business was established by John Campbell in the west end of town, in 1873. He continued alone until 1877, when he took a partner, and in 1880 sold out to Z. T. Moore, who runs it as a breeding stable. The next stable was by John Pritchard, who for a time had a partner. The stock was closed out in 1876. O. T. Sanborn has purchased the barn and is now conducting a livery stable there. D. D. Cornick established himself in the livery business here a few years ago. Mr. E. Segner started a livery stable some years ago, and is still in the business.
H. M. Woolley, photographer and portrait artist at Traer, established his business in the fall of 1876. He was born and raised in Boone county, Illinois, and he says, resigned his position on a prairie farm to gratify a hankering ambition to become a “picture taker”. He was a student of F. Clark, then of Belvidere, Illinois, now of Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and later was with J. H. Loper, now deceased, both noted photographers. Mr. Woolley come from a family of artists, on his father’s side, some of whom acquired considerable distinction. His sister, Mrs. Calista, wife of D. E. Bryson, of Reinbeck, is also an artist of more than ordinary ability.
William J. Withers, jeweler and optician, established his business, in November, 1873, in company with a Mr. Bates. This is the pioneer jewelry store of Traer. Mr. Withers purchased the interest of his partner, in March, 1882, since which time he has conducted the business alone. He was born in London, England, in 1837, and was brought up in that city, where he served an apprenticeship to learn his present business. William’s father, Daniel Withers, was a jeweler by trade, and for many years was engaged in that business in London, residing in that city until his death. The subject of this sketch came to the United Stated in 1856, but has made several visits to his native land. He has a large experience in the jewelry business, and understands thoroughly all departments of the trade. He has a large stock of gold and silver watchers, clocks, jewelry, silver and plated ware. Mrs. Withers was formerly Miss Margaret C. Clark, a native of England. Her father, James Clark, came to the State of New York from England, thence to Winnebago county, Illinois, where he died in December, 1881.
Moses Simon, clothier, established business in August, 1875, in G. R. Smith’s building, and was burned out in December, 1878. His entire loss was $9,000, insurance $7,000. With commendable enterprise, he resumed business in four days after the destruction of his store, buying his stock in Chicago and shipping it, within the time mentioned, to Traer. He is now established in the brick block, just east of the postoffice. He has a large and varied assortment of ready made clothing. His is also agent for several lines of steamers. Mr. Simon is a native of Hessen Caskel, Germany, was born in 1849, and came to this country in 1868. He resided in Washington county, Iowa, until he came here, in 1875.
The first harness shop started in Traer was by U.C. Newcomb. He put up one of the first buildings in the place. This line of business was represented in 1883 by A. G. Newcomb and J. J. Bruer & Co.
A. G. Newcomb, harness maker, now owns the business which was established by himself and father, November 23, 1874. This is the longest established business of the kind in Traer. The present building was erected in 1875; and in October, 1879, M. A. Newcomb, father of A. G. and senior member of the firm, retired and left the business entirely for his son. M. A. Newcomb came here, from Tama City, in the spring of 1873. He was one of the early settlers of that city and its first Mayor. A. G. was born in Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, in 1851. He came to Tama City with his parents in 1867, and there learned his trade. His uncle, U. C. Newcomb, opened the first harness shop in Traer, in the spring of 1873. A. G. worked with his uncle till the spring of 1874, then opened a shop in Dysart, which he ran till in November, when his father and himself opened their shop in Traer, as above stated. M. A. Newcomb removed from Perry township to Waterloo, thence to Waverly, Bremer county, this State, and from there moved to Michell, Dakota. A. G. Newcomb married Miss Josephine Bull, a native of Wisconsin, and daughter of G. W. Bull, now of Minnesota; her mother is deceased. They have had four children, three of whom are now living: Myrtle C., Earl and George M. Maud is deceased.
The first shoemaker to do business in Traer was D. T. Bowers, who commenced work in the fall of 1874. In the spring of 1883 this line was represented by Bower & Canfield and D. M. Horsfall. Both of these firms carry stocks of and manufacture boots and shoes.
One of the first blacksmith shops in Traer was established by a large, black-whiskered man named W. S. Mahan and C. F. Knowlton. The present blacksmiths are C. F. Knowlton, Samuel Hyde, William Hyde and Kline & Graham.
C. F. Knowlton was born in Ripley county, Indiana, December 26, 1844. When he was eleven years old, his parents came to this State and settled in Fayewtte county. C. F. continued to live at home until 1863, when he enlisted, July 25, in Company I, 8th Iowa Cavalry, and immediately proceeded south. They first went to Nashville, Tennessee, and thence to Cleveland, same State, where they joined General Sherman’s command, and marched with him to Atlanta, where they joined General Thomas, and were with the latter in his Nashville expedition. From that city, they proceeded under General Wilson, to Alabama, where the first brigade was detached from the main command, but afterwards joined it at Macon. In the lat named city Mr. Knowlton saw Jefferson Davis as he passed through, a prisoner of war. While there he was mustered out of service, and afterwards discharged at Clinton, Iowa. While in service Mr. Knowlton participated in a number of engagements; among others were the battles of Resaca, Franklin and Nashville. Upon his return home, he attended school for some months, then farmed one summer, and in the fall of 1866, began learning the trade of blacksmithing, at Littleton, Buchanan county. During 1867 he removed to Vinton, and there, in company with Jacob Sutton, opened a blacksmith shop. In 1873 he came to Traer, and in company with W. S. Mahan, embarked in the same business. His marriage with Miss Lorina J. Johnson, of Vinton, Clinton county, occurred in 1873. They have two children living - John L. and Olive M. Mr. Knowlton became a member of the Seventh Day Advent Church in 1880, and is leader of that church.
The first wagon and carriage repair shop was started in the winter of 1873-74, by W. B. Gillespie.
John McAlpine opened his wagon shop in Traer, in May of 1882. He learned his trade in Knox county, Missouri, where he followed it four years. He then removed to Cherokee county, Iowa, where he opened a shop and engaged in the business nearly another four years, after which, he located at Steamboat Rock, Hardin county, and three and a half years later, came to Tama county. His first winter here was spent in Toledo, and the following spring 1881, he opened in Crystal township, which was closed however, upon his settlement in Traer. Mr. McAlpine is a native of Glasgow, Scotland, where he was born August 16, 1843. When two and a half years old, his parents emigrated to Canada, and there he was reared on a farm. During 1865 Mr. McAlpine crossed to the States, spending the first year in Detroit, where he was engaged in cabinet making, after which, he removed to Kalamazoo, Michigan, and there spent five years at carpentering. From that city, he went to Knox county, Missouri, and as stated above, learned the trade he now follows. July 8, 1868, he was married to Miss Mary Brown, a native of Canada. They have been blessed with five children: Fannie, Rolland, Edith, Cornelia and Guy Frederick.
Another important enterprise in Traer, is the breeding stable of Z. T. Moore, devoted particularly to Clydesdale, English Draft and Hambletonian horses. Among the present fine animals in this stable, are the following: Three Clydesdales, imported from Scotland. Orphan Boy, sire, Farmers Glory. Orphan Boy, dam, Nancy by Prince of Cumberland; Color, brown, star in forehead, white hind feet, bred by Widow McLear, near Johnston, foaled July 3, 1873. Sir David, sire, Prince Albert. Sir David, dam, Doll of Culmain, sired by Lochfergus Champion. Sir David color, bay, white feet and strip in face, bred by Maxwell, Clark, Culmain, Crocketford, Dumfries, foaled April 12, 1878. Glenstuart, sire, Prince Albert. Glenstuart, dam, Rose of Annandale sired by Glengyle. Glenstuart color, black, while hind feet, star in forehead, bred by David McKay, Hurkledale, Annan, Dumfriesshire, foaled, April 25, 1879. Champion Jr., sire, Champion of England. Champion Jr., dam, Nancy, by Old Billy. Both sires were imported from England to Pennsylvania, and Champion Jr., was bred by William Anderson of Pennsylvania, foaled, June 1876, color bay, one white foot. Colonel Kirkman, sire, Kirkman, by Gages Logan, by Rysdyke Hambletonian. Colonel Kirkman, dam, Lady Blackhawk, sired by Bellfounder, he by Rysdyks Hambletonian.
Mr. Moore was born in Pennsylvania in 1848. He came to Traer October 1873. He was employed in the bank of Brooks & Moore for about four years. He then went to Reinbeck, and took charge of a bank there, the firm being Brooks & Moore Brothers, acting as cashier of the bank, where he remained about three years; sold the bank and established his present business.
The first saloon, or place where liquor was handled, was started by Fisk & Moore, in 1873. There are now five saloons in Traer, run by J. Cohrt, Thomas Noon, John Wulf, Marx Kroeger and John Vorba.
The first millinery establishment in Traer, was started by Miss Maggie McMillan in the spring of 1874. Her stock was finally merged into the store of H. C. Pierce & Co. This line, in 1883, was handled by the last named firm, Mrs. John Wilson and Mrs. A. Petersen.
Among the insurance agents of Traer, are W. H. Bowen - who also attends to collections - Marcus Kahler, Samuel Groce and W. B. Pinkerton.
W. B. Pinkerton, insurance agent, was born in Mercer, now Lawrence county, Pennsylvania, in 1824, and was bought up to the occupation of farming. His father was a native of the same county, where he lived till his death, which occurred in September, 1875; his mother died two years later. Mr. Pinkerton was married October 215, 1849, to Miss Sarah Kelly, a native of Pennsylvania, born August 2, 1826. They left their native State, April 1, 1855, and went to Michigan, and in the following October, removed to la Salle county, Illinois, thence in February, 1856, to Washington county, Iowa, and in November of the same year removed to Johnson county. Mr. Pinkerton’s residence in Tama county dates from March 15, 1862, when he settled in Buckingham township on section 4. In 1881, on the 27th day of October, he moved into Traer, where he bought a home and engaged in the insurance business. Mr. and Mrs. Pinkerton have four children: Andrew H., Ann Elizabeth, now Mrs. W. F. Noll; James A. and Cora A. They have lost three children - one son and two daughters.
W. H. Bowen, land, loan, insurance and collection agent, established his business in 1874. Mr. Bowen also deals in pianos, organs and sewing machines. He is a native of Columbus, Ohio, and came to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, in 1868, where he engaged in the drug trade, having had nine years experience in that business. Mr. Bowen came to Traer in 1874, and as business reverses had left him entirely without means, he was unable to engage in business for himself. He, however, got employment as clerk in a clothing store, with the privilege of acting as an insurance agent. By energy and strict attention to business he has become one of the representative business men of Traer. He represents several first class insurance companies, has full control of the sale of the White sewing machines in this county, and has established sub-agencies at different points. Mr. Bowen is also agent for the Estey organ, and does quite an extensive loan and collection business. His wife was Miss Lizzie Reed, born in Pennsylvania. They have one daughter, Carrie, and one son, James L., both born in Traer.
Rev. Warren Rogers is one of the oldest residents and insurance agents of the village of Traer, having left his farm and settled here in 1873. Mr. Rogers was born in York county, Maine, in 1813. He was reared on a farm and for many years was a minister in the United Brethren Church. He began preaching in 1840 and continued in the ministry until 1872, and now holds a superannuate relation. Since his withdrawal from active service in the ministry, Mr. Rogers has preached occasionally and is heart and hand in the work. He has been Justice of the Peace for five years. When the town of Traer was laid out, there were only two buildings on the town plat, the residence of J. L. Bull and a small house owned by W. W. Seekins. Mr. Rogers erected the first dwelling house on the site after the town was laid out. This structure was on lot 12, block 15, and was occupied by him as a dwelling until spring, when he built an addition and used it as a boarding house, afterwards as a hotel. It was used for a hotel for about five years and is now occupied as a tenement house. Beside attending to the duties of Justice of the Peace, Mr. Rogers was also engaged in the insurance business, since coming to Traer. He also acted as agent for the Railroad Company in the sale of town logs. He at present holds the office of Notary Public and is engaged in the cultivation of small fruit. Mr. Rogers has been married twice. His first wife was Sarah Goodwin, a native of Maine. She died in this county. His present wife was formerly Ellen Thompson, a native of Canada. Mr. Rogers has four children by his first wife: William, Warren, Jr., Selden and Alonzo, all of whom reside on the same farm, three and a half miles south of Traer. Mrs. Rogers has five children by her former husband: Wellington, Hutchinson Joab, Louisa Jane, Elias, Ruthelia and James. Mr. Rogers was a member of the Board of County Supervisors for two years, during 1870 and 71.
Among many other prominent residents of Traer, and representative men of Tama county who are living here, may be mentioned T. F. Clark, H. L. Branaman, W. T. V. Ladd, Alfred Rice and Robert Granger.
T. F. Clark, one of the early settlers of Tama county, located in Traer in 1878. He was born in Huron county, Ohio, in 1831. His father, Dr. H. M. Clark, was born in New Haven county, Connecticut. Dr. Clark was a graduate of Harvard College, and after his graduation turned his attention to the study of medicine. He enlisted in the U.S. service in the war of 1812, and served as surgeon on board a ship of war, remaining in the service for three years. In 1817, Dr. Clark was married to Laura Downs, a native of South Britain, New Haven county, Connecticut. In the spring of 1818, they left Connecticut, and started to Ohio with an ox team, the journey taking six weeks. They settled in Forest, Huron county, and made that their home until 1860. Dr. Clark practiced medicine for forty successive years in Huron county, and in 1860, came to Tama county, Iowa, where he lived with his son, T. F. Clark, until 1863. Mrs. Clark returned to Ohio on a visit and died there on the 20th of May, 1863. Dr. Clark remained in Tama county until 1864, when he also returned to Ohio, and died at Ashland in March 1865. Dr. Clark and wife
were the parents of three sons and one daughter, all of whom are now living: Dr. P. H. Clark, who resides in Ohio; Major Leander Clark, of Toledo, this county; Hannah M., wife of Dr. J. C. Bryant of the commercial firm of Bryant & Strattan, Buffalo, New York; and T. F. Clark, the subject of this sketch. The latter and Major Clark, of Toledo, came to Iowa in April, 1854. They came first to Davenport, where they purchased horses and continued their journey to Cedar Rapids, thence following the Cedar River to Waterloo, and from there, in 1854, to Tama county, where they have since resided. They entered land in Buckingham township, and the following year built a mill on Wolf creek. Major Clark bought eighty acres of timbered land and also entered about 1,000 acres in Geneseo township. Soon after, Major Clark removed to Toledo and T. F. Clark purchased the mill, running the same until 1863, when the dam washed away and the mill was abandoned. In the fall of 1858, T. F. Clark settled on section 31, Geneseo township, on the farm which he still owns.
In the fall of 1877, he went to Texas and spent the winter, returning to Tama county in 1878, and locating at Traer. Mr. Clark has long been one of the most extensive farmers and stock raisers in Geneseo township, his farm consisting of 1,300 acres. His wife was formerly Miss Lucia Fuller, who was born in Hartford county, Connecticut. Her parents were Henry and Mary (Wilcox) Fuller. The father died in Connecticut. Her mother afterwards married Dexter Bacon, and moved to Huron county, Ohio, when Lucia was fourteen years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Clark have two children: Herman, born in 1862; and Edith My, born in May, 1867. Their son, Herman is a student at Grinnell College.
Henry Branaman settled in Howard township, in the fall of 1857, where he bought a farm and lived for eleven years. He then removed to Otter Creek township, and in the fall of 1873, moved to Traer. Mr. Branaman also lived one year in Tama City. He was born in Jackson county, Indiana, in 1834, and was there brought up. He was married in Indiana, to Nancy J. Fowler, and afterwards removed to Illinois, where they lived until 1857, then came to Tama county, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Branaman have seven children: Abraham, born in Illinois, in 1854; studied law in Tama City, and was admitted to the bar in 1875. He practiced his profession three or four years and then engaged in the banking business at Dysart, but afterwards removed to Reinbeck, where he is engaged in the same business. Abraham is a young man of much ability and promise. William C., now living in Nebraska; Mary A., now wife of A. A. Camery; James Isaac, Parthena, C. Perry and Debbie. Isaac accidently shot himself in 1879, rendering himself totally blind. He is now a student at the college for the blind at Vinton. Mr. and Mrs. Branaman are members of the Seventh Day Advent Church.
William T. V. Ladd, Justice of the peace, has been a resident of Tama county since 1860. He was born in Delaware county, New York, in 1821, and is a brother of Dr. J. A. Ladd, of Traer. He was married in New York to Catherine Sawyer, and in 1856 came west to Illinois.
In 1860, they came to Tama county, settling on section 13, Buckingham township. Mr. Ladd discontinued farming in 1874 on account of ill health, and removed to Traer, where he has since lived. Mr. Ladd was elected Justice of the Peace in 1876, which office he still holds. He has six brothers and three sisters, five of whom are residents of Hardin county, Iowa.
Alfred Rice, now a resident of Traer, settled in Howard township March 13, 1865, and purchased eighty acres of land of Mr. Downs, on section 7. He increased the area of his farm to 400 acres and built his residence on section 8. Mr. Rice was born in the town of Pompey, Oneida county, New York, in 1805. When he was but a year old his parents removed to that part of Ontario county, New York, which afterward became Wayne county. His father, Aaron Rice, died in Wayne county, January 20, 1833. Mr. Rice was married to Betsy Douglas. Her father, Stephen P., was a cousin of the eminent orator and statesman, Stephen A. Douglas. This marriage took place December 27, 1832, and they recently celebrated their golden wedding. In May, 1833, they moved to Ohio and settled in the town of Litchfield, Medina county, in what was known as the Western Reserve. Here they lived for thirty years, then came to Iowa and settled in Howard township as above stated.
In February, 1876, Mr. Rice retired from the farm, and with his wife, went east to visit their old home in Wayne county, New York, after which they settled in the village of Traer. Mr. and Mrs. Rice have had eight children, seven of whom grew to man and womanhood, and five of whom are still living - Earl Douglas, Orlando J., Henry M., Archibald E. and Susan A., wife of C. J. Moyer. Alfred P., Esther A. and Jarvis are deceased.
Robert Granger, a retired farmer, settled in Buckingham township, on section 36. He was one of the earliest settlers of this township; born in Cambridgeshire, England, May 27, 1807, where he lived until twenty-six years of age. He was married to Miss Elizabeth Newman, born February 22, 1809, in the same shire. In 1833, they came to New York by the American packet ship, Sampson. Mr. Granger has an excellent memory and despite his seventy-six years, he has a clear recollection of events and dates from the time he left his native land. They sailed from St. Catherine’s dock, London, on the 27th of May, 1833, and were fifty-six days in crossing the Atlantic to New York. From the latter city they went to Albany, by tow-boat, thence by the Erie Canal to Buffalo, where they took the steamer Uncle Sam, for Cleveland.
Mr. Granger learned the trade of a carpenter and wagon maker in his native land and engaged in mechanical work for many years. He resided in Ohio till 1846, then in August removed to Cook county, Illinois, and the following fall removed to what is now known as Fremont township, Lake county. He attended the first township election held in that county. Mr. Granger improved his farm of forty acres and remained in Lake county, for seven and a half years, then in May, 1854, came to Tama county, and settled in Buckingham township, on 120 acres of land, which he still owns. He has also ten acres of timbered land. He retired from the farm and settled in Traer in 1875. Mr. and Mrs. Granger have had eight children, four of whom are living - Elizabeth J., married George Kober, who died in April, 1873. She is now the wife of John Kober, brother of the deceased; Eliza A., wife of Eleazer Stoakes; Mary H., wife of Elias Whiteman; and Alice R., wife of Albert Lee Ferguson. They have lost two sons and two daughters - a son and two daughters died in Richfield, Ohio; and George E., the youngest of the family, died in Buckingham township in April, 1865. Mr. and Mrs. G. are at present members of the Congregational Church, but were for forty years members of the Methodist Church. They were married July 29, 1832, and celebrated their golden wedding about one year since.
Traer Flouring Mills.
These mills are among the oldest in Tama county. The very earliest history of them will be found in connection with the history of the township.
Messrs. Sloss & Son are the present owners of the Traer flouring mill which they purchased in 1875. When they made their purchase the mill was but a poor affair, with one run of stone. They have since put up additions to the building, and have since introduced the patent roller system. The mill is now a substantial structure, and with all the modern improvements, the proprietors are prepared to do a first class business. the mill contains four run of stone, two of which are for wheat, one for middlings and one for corn. George Sloss, senior member of the firm, was born in Scotland, and came to the United States in 1852. He first located in Chicago and went thence to Waukesha, Wisconsin, but afterward returned to Chicago. During these years he was engaged in working at his trade, that of a millwright and machinist. The settlement of the family in Tama county, dates from 1855, when they located on section 7, in Perry township, where they still reside. Andrew Sloss, associate with his father in the milling business, was born in Scotland in 1848, and now has charge of the mill. His family are all natives of Scotland.
G. B. Lawson is the proprietor of the Traer creamery, which he built in 1880. This creamery has a capacity of 1,000 pounds of butter a day, and during the summer of 1881, the average manufacture per day was 600 pounds. Mr. Lawson was born in Scotland, in 1843, came to the United States, with his father, John Lawson, in 1856. the family located in Ogle county, Illinois, where the father died, in 1860. G. B. came to Tama county in 1865, and settled on section 2, of Carroll township, on a farm which he purchased of A. W. Fox. Mr. Lawson removed to Traer in 1880. His wife, Mary (Neal) Lawson, was a native of this State; died in 1881, leaving one daughter - Alice. Mr. Lawson’s creamery is provided with the modern improvements. The building is 16x24 feet - the engine room, 10x24 feet. During the winter, Mr. Lawson devoted most of his time to the poultry business.
The Traer postoffice was established in 1873, the first postmistress being Miss Zoe A. Taylor. She remained in this capacity until November 1, 1881, when she resigned, and E. T. Lonagley was appointed and assumed official duties. This was made a money order office, in July, 1874. The first order was issued upon that date, C. C. Fulton being the remitter and Charles W. Stevens, of Chicago the payee; amount $3. The total number of orders issued up to January 18, 1883, was 10,593.
The people of Traer justly pride themselves upon their present educational facilities. In this respect Traer stands one of the very first towns in the county.
The first school was taught in a building owned by Giles Taylor. This building was used until the fall of 1874, when a frame building was erected, which was sold for a dwelling house upon the completion of the present school building, in 1877. The school building now in use is a large and commodious edifice, two stories in height, of brick and well arranged.
In the spring of 1883, the following efficient corps of teachers was employed in the Traer schools: Principal, Prof. W. D. Livingston; Assistant, Jesse Johnson; Grammar, Miss Luella Gravatt; Intermediate, Miss Grace Fuller; First Primary, Miss Clara Blackburn; Second Primary, Mrs. L. M. Spafford.
The first preaching in Traer was in the depot, by Rev. Gilbert, of the Congregational faith, and Rev. Moore, a Methodist. The first Church organized in the vicinity of where Traer now stands was the Congregational, which was formed June 22, 1856, by Rev. O. Emerson, of the American Home Missionary Association, under the name of the Congregational Church of Twelve-mile Creek. The first meeting was held at the house of Christopher Hester, at West Union, June 15, 1856. The names of the first members were: Christopher Hester, Mary Hester, William C. Read, Clara Read, Mrs. Mary Ames, George McCalry and Charlotte McCalry. The first church officers were: Dr. H. M. Clark, Deacon; William C. Read, Clerk. The first regular pastor was Rev. J. R. Upton, coming in November, 1857, and remaining two years. The second pastor was Rev. O. Emerson, who commenced his labors May 1, 1860, preaching one year and was followed by Rev. B. Roberts, who continued his labors with the Church until October, 1867, at which time the Church invited him to become their settled pastor by installation, which offer was accepted, the formal installation taking place November 7, 1867. He remained until the spring of 1871. Rev. Henry Mills succeeded Rev. Roberts, remaining but nine months. In the spring of 1872, Rev. James Gilbert became their pastor, continuing until 1874, when he was followed by Rev. C. H. Bissell, who served until February, 1882. In April, 1882, Rev. Dr. J. S. Bingham, of Dubuque, commenced a pastorate, and was still with the Church in 1883. He was a man full of eloquence and earnestness, serving his Church to the satisfaction of all.
During the winter of 1868-9, under Rev. Mr. Roberts’ labors, a revival was held. He was assisted by Revs. Marble, of Waterloo and J. D. Potter, of Connecticut. This resulted in about fifty conversions. In 1866, the society commenced the erection of a house of worship in the village of Buckingham, which was dedicated, June 16, 1867, by President G. F. Magoun, of Grimmell College. This church building cost $4,000, one-half of which was contributed by Hon. William A. Buckingham, of Norwich, Connecticut. The bible and carpet were also furnished by Gov. Buckingham, the chairs by J. t. Ames, the lamp by Daniel Connell, the table by D. C. Ladd, the communion service by Miss Ripley, a sister of Mr. Buckingham’s wife, after whom the chapel was named, and the clock by the Sunday school.
In 1883, the officers of this church were: D. C. Ladd and P. P. Wentch, Deacons; G. Canfield, Treasurer; Matthias Stoakes, Secretary. The Society numbered 140 members in 1883. The Sunday-school in connection with the church was organized June 1, 1867, with Rev. B. Roberts as its first Superintendent. The school has an average attendance of 175.
The United Presbyterian Church of Traer was organized in January, 1875, in the basement of the Congregational Church, by an arrangement with the United Presbyterian Presbytery of Cedar Rapids. The first services in this place were held by Rev. J. H. Trumbull, then pastor of the Congregational Tranquility, four miles southwest from Traer, now pastor at Fall River, Massachusetts. The following names represent her first membership: Mrs. Elizabeth McCornack, Peter McCornack and wife, Robert McCornack and wife, John Young and wife, J. K. Bull and wife, W. W. Wilson and wife, A. C. Wilson and wife, Jas. Eccles and wife, John Stuart and wife, John Sutherland and wife, Peter Nungesser and wife, Mrs. Christiana Hoy, Mrs. Margaret Turnbull, Mrs. Margaret Sprole, Mrs. Mary Henderson, Miss Fannie Henderson, Wm. Henderson, John Henderson, John G. Bull, David Taylor, James F. Brown, David Stuart and Stephen Ballist. The last three were received on profession of their faith in Christ, and the others on certificate from other places.
They, therefore, began their work here with a membership of thirty-three. Up to 1883 they had received in all 153 members, and now have an active membership of about 100. Some have emigrated to other parts of this country, and others have died.
On February 8, 1875, Mr. J. K. Bull was elected Ruling Elder, and was duly ordained and installed to this office on February 25 following. Soon after, Mr. Robert McCornack, an Elder from Tranquility Congregational, was elected a second Elder, and duly installed November 27, 1875. These two Elders, together with some Pastors supplying for them, constituted their session until June, 1881, when W. W. Wilson and James F. Brown were elected and duly ordained and installed as Ruling Elders in the congregation, and their names added to the roll of session.
The first Trustees were John Young, A. C. Wilson and John Stuart. There were added to these from time to time, Peter McCornack, DavidClark and Wm. Sprole. They constitute the present Board of Trustees, Except A. C. Wilson, who now “rests from his labors.” John G. Bull is, and has been, the Clerk for the Congregation.
For a time the congregation held services in a little school house just west of where the public school building now stands.
They received preaching from different Pastors in the Presbytery, and then were supplied by licentiates. Rev. J. H. Gibson, now Pastor at Coulteresville, Illinois, and Rev. G W. Hamilton, now Pastor at Little York, Illinois, were the first. Through Mr. Hamilton’s influence their services were moved to Atchison’s Hall, on Second street, now known as Collins’ Hall, and is at present the Clipper Office. Mr. Hamilton labored among them with great efficiency for several months in the winter of 1875-6, and the people were loath to see him go from their midst; and if it had pleased Providence, they would have rejoiced to have had him remain as their Pastor. But feeling it his duty to go elsewhere, he secured the services of an old schoolmate, Rev. D. Livingston, a licentiate from near Columbus, Ohio, who arrived among them the third Sabbath of April, 1876, and preached for them six Sabbaths, when he disappeared from their midst almost without notice, but it was afterwards learned that he had gone home to get married; but the good brethren, old enough to know how it was with themselves, did straightway forgive him, and on the 14th day of August following, they, under the moderatorship of Rev. J. R. Doig, D. D., chose him unanimously as their Pastor. This call having been regularly forwarded and presented by Presbytery, was by him accepted and arrangements made for his ordination and installation. On the third Sabbath of October, 1876, he occupied his place in their pulpit, and has been spared to occupy it still as their Pastor. His ordination and installation did not, however, formally occur until November 29, 1876, when these solemn ceremonies and the laying on the hands of Presbytery were performed in the M. E. Church. Just here it is fitting to record the kindness of our sister congregations to us in these uncertain days of our early existence, in that they generously opened their houses of worship to our free use.
After the new Pastor and his people began their work together, they worshiped in the Hall a little over a year. It was discouraging work. The Hall was eighty feet long by eighteen feet wide, with a nine foot ceiling; windows only in the ends, and only one dark coat of plastering on the walls, about as unlikely a place to begin to build up a congregation as one could well imagine. They did little more there than hold their own together. All hoped and prayed for a home of worship. Suitable lots had been secured by the generous foresight of a faithful few. Yet so impracticable did it seem, that at a congregational held for the purpose, it was decided only by a small majority, to make an effort to see whether means could be secured sufficient to warrant their going on with the work. About $2,400 was speedily subscribed on the first subscription, to the amazement of all saved a few who had privately canvassed the matter before. So of course they began the work at once, and after various hindrances and difficulties were encountered and overcome, the house was ready for worship. But a debt of $1,500 would hand on the building if not raised on dedication day. Having therefore secured the aid of Rev. W. G. Williamson, Pastor of the First United Presbyterian Church in Washington, Iowa, for the lat Sabbath of 1877, he conducted the dedication services, and there were raised some $1,560. Never were Pastor and people happier in the success of their work. The building is a gothic frame, thirty-two feet wide and fifty-two feet long, having a twenty-foot ceiling. It has two cupolas, a corner entrance and stained windows. It is heated with a furnace, and cost in round number $4,000; and when the basement is finished, it will have cost nearly $5,000; and the funds for it were all raised among ourselves and in the neighborhood.
Their Sabbath school was first organized in the spring of 1875, and Mr. W. W. Wilson was for that year its Superintendent. The following year Mr. Robert McCornack was elected, and has been its efficient Superintendent ever since, until 1883, when W. W. Wilson again filled the office. John G. Bull has always been its Vice-Superintendent. Wm. W. Trumbull, now of Sibley, Iowa, was Treasurer for several years, but was succeeded by Mr. Arthur Scott, who is the present incumbent. The school has always enjoyed a splendid corps of teachers. There are about 120 enrolled members, but the attendance will not average more than ninety. There has never been what might be termed any special revival. It has never been attempted; the effort has been to sustain a reasonably revived state all the time.
Rev. David Livingston, pastor of the United Presbyterian Church, was born in Franklin county, Ohio, in 1847. His father, Alexander W. Livingston, was also a native of Ohio, and removed to Des Moines in 1880. Rev. Mr. Livingston graduated at Monmouth College, Illinois, and received his theological education at Xenia, Ohio. He began his ministry in April, 1876, and was ordained on the 29th of November of that year, at the Methodist Church in Traer. Mrs. Livingston was formerly Miss Lotta J. Hagler, born in Greene county, near Xenia, Ohio. They have three children: Paul, Ralph H. and Frank.
James L. Bull is also a minister of the United Presbyterian Church, born near Xenia, Greene county, Ohio, in 1815. He graduated at the Miami University in 1842. He studied theology at Cannonsburg, Pennsylvania, commenced his ministry in 1846, and was ordained in 1847. He preached one year in Michigan then located at Kenton, Ohio, where he remained for a number of years. Mr. Bull came to Iowa in 1864, and has been a resident of Tama county since that time. He has resided in Buckingham and ?Traer, and for a number of years was pastor of the United Presbyterian Church in Perry township0. His wife was Miss Ella M. Musser, a native of Kenton, Hardin county, Ohio. They have three children living: Effie, Clara and Annie. James H. and Mary H. are both deceased.
The Christian Advent (Seventh Day) Church was organized in Traer, by Elder Deyo, in the fall of 1874, with six members: M. A. Newcomb, wife and daughter, H. L. Branaman, wife and daughter. Their first meetings were held in the school house, which stood on the site where afterward was erected the public school building; but for some time their meetings were held at private houses. In the winter of 1876, a special effort was made, and about forty were added to the Church; but the “new and strange,” brought with them opposition and the society was driven from one place to another, holding meetings in school houses, halls and very often in private houses. One discouragement after another caused many to leave the church, until the membership was reduced to twelve or fifteen. In 1878, M. A. Newcomb and his son purchased the old school building which had been superceded by a brick building, and deeded it to the Church, taking a mortgage on the same, which finally was foreclosed for payment. In March 1880, the church was re-organized into a class of seventeen members, with J. Lamont as Leader. The parlor of the Congregational Church was rented and services were being held there in 1883, at which time J. O. Hart was their pastor.
Tranquility Church, in Perry township, in the midst of a Scotch settlement of devoted Christians, erected a church in 1874-5 at a cost of $1,200; the same was dedicated by Rev. L. Dodd. Both the Church and Sunday school have been instrumental in doing a noble religious work in the community.
Rev. Daniel L. Hughes is the present pastor of Tranquility Church, of Perry township. This was changed from the United Presbyterian Church to the Presbyterian Church, in 1879, and Mr. Hughes was called to the pastorate. Mr. Hughes was born at Cape May, New Jersey, in 1820, and was educated at Jefferson College, Pennsylvania, where he graduated in 1840. He took his theological course at Princeton, New Jersey, graduating in 1843. He at once began his ministry in Pennsylvania, and in 1857, came to Iowa, where he was for seven years pastor of a charge which included Mills and Fremont counties. He also preached at other points and organized and supplied a church at Plattsmouth, Cass county, Nebraska. At the expiration of these seven years, he was called to Des Moines to take charge of the First Presbyterian Church of that city, where he remained two years, thence he went to Tipton where he remained four years, and thence to Vinton which was his home for many years. Mr. Hughes has spent much time in organizing churches, having organized ten or twelve during his ministerial life. His wife was Miss Elmira W. Hughes, born in the same place and in the same month and year as her husband. They have had eight children, five of whom are living - two sons and three daughters: William W., Elmira F., now Mrs. G. T. Rock, of Vinton, George W., Anna L., wife of C. O. Harrington, of Vinton, and Louisa E.
Hesporia Lodge, No. 340 of the Masonic Order, was organized July 25, 1874, by D. Samuels, W. M.; James Huff, S. W., and Mark Bouton, J. W. The following were the charter members: R. H. Moore, J. G. Strong, J. R. Smith, A. Samuels, L. W. Maxwell, Jonas P. Wood, J. T. Weld, W. A. Daniel, James Hoy. D. Samuels served as Master three years; W. B. Gellespa, one year; A. Samuels, one year; James Morison, one year; J. A. Ladd, two years. John Burns, who was in the office in 1883, with E. T. Langley, S. W., and A. Green. J. W. Down to the present time, no deaths have occurred in this lodge, which had a membership of seventy-six at one time, but now had only fifty-four.
Ancient Order of United Workman Enterprise Lodge No. 31, was organized by J. M. Chrisinger, October 21, 1875. The charter members were: R. G. McIntire, J. H. Lewis, James Hoy, William Burge, A. M. Batchelder, Smith Newcomer, G. T. Jones, J. H. McCornack, A. E. A. Fuller, J. T. Weld, G. C. Jamison, James Morison, James Becket, B. Best, O. G. Alderman, J. G. Story, Hiram A. Lamb and J. P. Morison.
The first officers were: R. G. McIntire, Past-Master Workman; James H. Lewis, Master Workman; James Hoy, General Foreman; William Burge, Overseer; A. M. Batchelder, Recorder; Smith Newcomer, Receiver; G. T. Jones, Financier; J. H. McCornack, Inside Watchman; A. E. A. Fuller, Outside Watchman; J. t. Weld, Guide. Trustees: J. T. Weld, J. H. Lewis and R. G. McIntire.
The officers elected for 1883 were: S. M. Porterfield, Past Master Workman; M. Simon, Master Workman; B. Best, Foreman; W. H. Bowen, Recorder; Smith Newcomer, Financier; E. T. Langley, Receiver; J. S. Bean, Guide; H. Klingaman, Inside Watchman; L. Peterson, Outside Watchman; Dr. A. M. Parsons, Dr. C. W. Ashton, Examiners.
In 1883, the lodge had a membership of thirty-one and was reported as in a flourishing condition. Only one death having occurred since the organization of the lodge - S. Waterbury.
Anchor Lodge, No. 32, of the Iowa Legion of Honor, was organized July 30, 1879, by Grand Deputy, H. S. Bassett. The following were the charter members:
W. H. Brinkerhoff, G. Canfield, W. H. Bowen, O. D. Bonney, L. H. Edwards, L. R. Alderman, James Fowler, H. D. Woodling, D. A. Porterfield, A. T. Brainerd, M. H. Shafer, A. M. Batchelder, E. T. Langley, W. D. Scott, O. Benefiel, C. F. Buhmann, S. Waterbury, A. J. Free, A. Samuels, M. Stoakes, M. E. Smith, W. Crayar, B. F. Thomas, C. C. Collins, William McDowell, W. L. Ready, R. M. Lawson, J. W. Hart, M. R. Higby, M. E. Smith, Peter Peters, W. F. Goben, A. Loop, James Pritchard, G. B. Lawson, R. H. Peters, George A. Rugg and C. H. Bissell.
The first officers were: W. H. Brinkerhoff, President; G. Canfield, Vice President; W. H. Bowen, Recording Secretary; O. D. Bonney, Financial Secretary; L. H. Edwards, Treasurer; L. R. Alderman, Chaplain; James Fowler, Usher; H. D. Woodling, Door Keeper; D. A. Porterfield, (six months) O. T. Brainerd, (one year).
In 1883, this society was reported in a flourishing condition, and as being a success in every particular. Thus far the lodge has lost but one member by death. The lodge at one time had sixty-one members, but in 1883, it numbered but fifty-three.