Tama County Genealogists


This list is for anyone interested in Tama County genealogy, no matter where they live. If you would like to be included, or if you would like your information changed, please let me know. That way people can contact you if they have similar research interests. I suppose some people don't want their email address out there, so I don't include anyone without permission. Also, please read the notes below the table.

ResearcherSurnamesemail and/or websiteNotes
Debbie Alvarado BERRY dsatree@yahoo.com
Lynn and Rita Balichek BALICEK, NOVOTNY, HURT, SALASEK, ARMENT rjb2749@hotmail.com
Vernon Barlow JUPA, UPAH, WOBETER
VAVROCH, HANZELKA
BOBINET, VETROSKY
REITZLER, KLINE, CLINE
terry_vern@yahoo.com Maintains a web site on
ancestry.com and will
allow people access -
email for permission.
Patti Bates BATES PattiBates@aol.com
Carol Baumeister AMES, YOUNG, MILLER, GRAVATT carol@loracb.org gr-gr-granddaughter of John T. Ames who came to Tama county in 1854 and whose descendents have scattered to other parts but still like Traer and Iowa.
Ross Beal ZERBY, ZERBE
CHVALA, USHER
BEAL, BIEL
rossbeal@gci.net
Delma Behring CROSS, BOYER
BAUM, RITTENHOUSE
delbehr81520@msn.com Researching Hiram & Sarah Cross, Alfred Cross, Harriet (Cross) and Jasper VanDorin, William and Flora (Stewart) Cross
Windy Brady DOBSON windybrady@gmail.com
Carol Davis Brannon DAVIS, RICH, BECK, HARTSOCK caroljim3@mchsi.com
Marilyn Brien BALES, IRWIN brien@satx.rr.com Researching Robert and Mary (Bales) Irwin
Kelly A. Burdick FULLMER, GROVER kaburdick@cfu.net Researching George H and Katherine (Fullmer) Grover
Barbara Clarity
ALBRIGHT, COLD, MYERS, GRILL, WILSON barbaraclarity@gmail.com Many contributions to the IAGenWeb Gravestone Photo Project.
Robert Collins
COLLINS, ANTRIM catspaw4@cox.net
Glenn Crellin SHILHANEK, KRIZ, WEAVER, VAVRA, PARIZEK, CASLAVKA, PALACEK, ADAMEC gecrellin@aol.com I have made the most progress on the Shilhanek/Palacek line.
Kenneth Cuthbertson
CALDERWOOD, STEWART, CLARK/KE ScotsCotNM@aol.com descended from Hugh Calderwood and Mary Stewart.
Patty (Herrick) Delmott HERRICK, STEWART delmottp@gmail.com
Tim Dowling MUSSMAN tdowling_53223@yahoo.com

Dowling Family Genealogy

Kathy Edwards BARGER, FLEMING, HORLACHER krosswards@verizon.net
Susan Crozier Fairchild CROZIER sucf@rcn.com
Michael Fike HOLTZ, PETERSEN/SON
FIKE, GNAGY
BLOUGH, HITE
mountainairman@yahoo.com
Ben Franklin FINCH, FRANKLIN mafranklin@sprintmail.com Finch: Tama Co > Delaware Co, IN
Franklin: Tama Co > Butler Co, IA > IN > ?
James Gibbs GETHMANN JamesHGibbs@aol.com The Gethmann family moved to Tama County in 1868, in what is now Spring Creek Township.
Claire Marie Grant RALFS, HANSEN, DIERS, HORA, KNOOP cmgrant2@yahoo.com
Jamie Hald WALL, HOUGHKIRK
WILKINSON, DOLPH
jamie@rockaz.com Maintains a page at Ancestry.com under the title of Houghkirk, Howland, Dolph, Wall, Williams, Rowe, Maughan and More.
William Haloupek
Tama County
Coordinator
HALOUPEK, CHALOUPEK,
POSEKANY, SEVCIK
STANEK, SOENKE
YAROSHEK, HANSEN
KRUEGER, PRAGR
JACOBS, KALOUPEK
haloupek@gmail.com

Bill's Genealogy

Bohemian and German ancestors
most lived within
10 miles of Chelsea, Tama, IA
Dale Halupnik CHALUPNIK, HALUPNIK/NICK parrm@cfu.net
Bob Heliker CLEM, COPE
HELIKER
RFHELIKER@COX.NET Richar M & Watson Gano
Tom Hickson HICKSON/HIXON, MCFARLEN cmjttt@sbcglobal.net Now living in Milan, IL. Generous contributor to this site.
Mona Houser HAUSER, HOUSER, BEECHER, USHER HeritageHunt@sandyview.net

Welcome to Our Family

Nancy Kott FULLER, MOE nancy@tir.com
John and Judy Krug KRUG, MCNAMEE, URMY justjude@earthlink.net Major contributors to this site! Researching Benton and Tama Counties.
Barbara Long COLES, EARLY, GARLINGHOUSE, HOLDEN, HUNTER, PICKET/TT brlong54@sbcglobal.net Research Notes
Sherry Levi-Reiner SIME, SOLOMON The Reliable Narrator Researching Jewish and Polish ancestors in Tama County
Sherry's blog covers:
Jewish community, Reform Judaism, travel, genealogy, feminism, Chicago, history, Iowa history, Polish history
Deberah Davis Martinez DAVIS atlbilldeb@comcast.net Researching Charles Lee Davis and Polly Ann (Thorp) Davis. Debbie provided information and photos of the Davis family.
Victoria McCarty MCCARTY, ZELLERS kbird@whidbey.net Researching Henry & Sarah (Zellers) McCarty. Children: Lemuel, Susanna, Daniel, Amanda, Sarah Ellen (Ellie), Charles Wesley, Frederick Isaiah
Pat Bowen McDevitt BOWEN pbmcdevitt@embarqmail.com
Julie Miller BAILLIE
FREDRICKSON/SEN
JJMILL@peoplepc.com
Marian Newman Parsons BEADLE, BURNHAM, CRAM, LAMB, RAMSDELL, REED, SOUDER booklady60@embarqmail.com
Catherine Passas THOMAS dskirman@aol.com Researching William & Lucinda Thomas, and son, Fred B.
Paul Patridge CORY/COREY, METZ, MINK, YATES, WALZ paul.patridge@gmail.com
Sarah Patton UNGER, BOYNTON, SEE, TOMLINSON past4me@comcast.net
Ted Pemberton PEMBERTON, COPE, DOBSON, STRONG, BUSCH, HOEPPNER, LUETHJE, OHRT, HALL tedp66@hotmail.com
Linda (Bergren) Polich GOETTSCH, NAEHWE bergie1985@frontiernet.net Researching Hans & Catherine (Naehwe), lived in Gladbrook
Donna Powell HAAGEN, HOPPE, REHDER, STEFFEN Gramaofate@aol.com
Stan Quinn CASEY squinn@aol.com Researching Patrick Casey.
RoseMary (Smith) Rene SMITH, STRAIN, DELAND, PRIDEAUX, GORGAS, MILLER, LAWRENCE, LONG, RUSH, WALL gen13915@sbcglobal.net Unknown Indian photo
James M. Richmond RANDALL, RICKORD jmrichmond@hotmail.com
Lynda Romers POTTS lromers@gmail.com Researching James (McCuen) Potts
Judy Banes Sankot BANES, RAYMON jlsankot@netins.net Researching Rudolph Banes
MaryAlice Schwanke GRAHAM, KINDLEY/KINLEY piledhigher@msn.com Former Coordinator of this website.
Robert Shattuck SHATTUCK wyoshat@juno.com
Greg Skala SKALA, CEKAL, SLAMA
CIZEK, MUSIL
ZARUBA/ZARABA
lskala@wyoming.com
Barbara Skrivanek JACKSON, DAVIS
TOLAND, TUCKER
bskrivan@yahoo.com
Lenore Sroka KUNS/KUHN/KUHNS, WELCH lsroka924@gmail.com
Von Mings Stachon WHANNEL vonstac@att.net Major contributor to this site!
Sandra Schroder Tennyson JACOBS LNSTENNYSON@att.net
Jan Thompson HOSMER, HYDE, MCCOSH, TOMLINSON, WILSON, ADAMS, ALTENHEIN, BOVEY, DINSDALE, GREENE, AXON jantal1@cox.net Research Notes
Kathy Axon Timbrook AXON kltimbrook@aol.com
Gary A. Wade KEISTER, WADE garywotr@aol.com
Cynthia Ward MCCLURE cclaireward@gmail.com
Phyllis Geshner Warren GESHNER WHITTY
BRENNAN FOWLER
PARTLOW COLLINS
KEEFE STEWART
COLES KELLER
YOUNG KEARNS
mrspsp@dc.rr.com Research Notes
Lola Weber SOUTHARD hunter6806@msn.com Time period: 1875 – 1883
Looking for: obituary, probate
Linda Brown Wines BROWN, HENDERSON
YOUNG, ROBB
MILLER, MCDOWELL
lindawines@comcast.net
Harlan Woolworth SIEH stny@cableone.net Researching Hans P Sieh, born 1855; died October 27, 1925; buried in Buckingham Cemetery, Traer
Young YOUNG, WELLS
MERRIT, HALLOCK
STRONG, WALKER
REISDORPH
Youngokie@aol.com

This page replaces the old Surname Registry, which was alphabetized by researched surname. We have a lot more researched surnames than researchers, so this arrangement allows everything to fit on one page. I think it is easier to scan down the second column of this table, to see if any of your surnames are here, than to click through 26 pages.

When I took over this website in November, 2011, it was already in great shape. The Surname Registry was one big project that I had put off until now. It had 646 entries, counted by (researcher, surname) pairs. I sent emails to every researcher, and found that almost all of the email addresses were returning error messages or not responding. Several of those who did respond gave me additional surnames and other information. We are now, at last count, down to 58 researchers, with 196 surnames.

Updated 8 Aug 2015 by William Haloupek