1834 TO 1909

This chronological list was created from two different sources and combined. Apparently the information for the chronological list in the "1911 History Of Muscatine County" book was copied from the "Semi-Centennial of the Muscatine Journal" book of 1901. So to save space I've combined the information from the two books. Anything I've added from the "1911 History Of Muscatine County" book here on this page, I've put the information inside these brackets { } Any information not inside these brackets { } is from the "1901 Semi-Centennial of the Muscatine Journal" book. But so everyone understands, this whole list on this webpage is in the "1911 History Of Muscatine County" book. I needed a way to show what information was in the Semi-Centennial book ONLY, so I decided to use these brackets { }. Hopefully, I haven't confused anyone. The list from the Semi-Centennial book was sent to me by Norma Rogers and any information within these brackets { } was inserted by me, Dave Dunston, Webmaster of Muscatine County Iowa website. So enjoy in reading this very interesting chronological list of events that happened in Muscatine County.

Muscatine, the County Seat of Muscatine county, is located on the west bank of the Mississippi,at the apex of the greatest bend to be found in the river, thus placing it in a favorable position to control trade subject to water transportation. The site was originally rough, and broken by a range of high bluffs that bordered the several branches of Pappoose creek, which divides the original town plat nearly equally. But these steep hills have been mostly graded, so that now the streets are gentle slopes with easy grades, and yet affording excellent drainage facilities.


From the 1st of June, 1833, to June 30,1834, the inhabitants were without any municipal law whatever.. At the last named date the District was attached to Michigan Territory for judicial purposes ; and under its jurisdiction " Black Hawk Purchase " ( for by this name the country was better known and recognized), was divided into two counties--Des Moines in the south, and Dubuque in the north, the division line entering the Mississippi at the Rock Island Rapids.+++++By an act of Congress approved June 12th, 1838, " Black Hawk Purchase " was created into the territorial government of Iowa, to date from the 4th day of July following : population 22,859. Robert Lucas, an ex-Governor of Ohio was appointed Governor of the Territory. The first land sales took place in the fall of 1838.


The first settlement in the present limits of the county of Muscatine was made by Benjamin Nye, at the mouth of Pine creek, in the spring of this year. Mr Nye " laid off " a town at that point, and called it Montpelier. It never became a place of much note, and is now known only in history. It was situated twelve miles above Bloomington. Mr. Nye was killed in an affray with his son-in-law, George McCoy, March 3d, 1852, about eight miles above Muscatine. The Grand Jury ignored a bill against McCoy.

In July of the same year, Col. George Davenport, then residing on Rock Island, established a trading post on the site of the present city of Muscatine, and left a small stock of goods in charge of an agent, who erected a small log cabin in front of the present buildings on Water street, between Iowa avenue and Pappoose creek. {1911 Reference: about where the present Rock Island passenger station stands.} Col. Davenport was murdered in his own house, on Rock Island, July 4th, 1845, while his family were attending a celebration. Three men, John and Aaron Long, and Young, were convicted of the murder and executed at Rock Island, October 29th, 1845.


In May, James W. Kasey made a settlement a short distance below the trading-house of Col. Davenport ( near the foot of Broadway ), which was known as " Kasey's wood-yard," or Newburg. {Thomas and Lewis Burditt settled about a mile above the city and Levi and Lot Thornton on the "Slough." Colonel John Vanater, who had been on the ground in 1828, arrived and bought Colonel Davenport's claim. Dr. Eli Reynolds settled at a point on the river three miles above where he afterward "laid off" a town and called it Geneva. The first general election on the west side of the Mississippi river were held this year, under the jurisdiction of Michigan. J. B. Teas and Jeremiah Smith were the representatives from the county of Des Moines, and Messrs. Hill and Park from Dubuque, to the legislature, which assembled at Green Bay.}


Colonel Vanater brought his family here, and " laid off " a town which he called Bloomington. The first survey of lots was made in August.


{Muscatine county was organized and Bloomington made the county seat by an act of the Wisconsin territorial legislature, approved January 8.}

First spelling of Muscatine...." Musquitine."
First {acting} Probate Judge...Arthur Washburn, appointed 1837
First acting County Commissioners {or supervisors, as they were called under the old Michigan and Wisconsin statutes, elected 1837;} ..Arthur Washburn & Edward E. Fay.
First Clerk of District Court..Robert McClaren , {appointed 1837. He was soon succeeded by John S. Abbott.}
First acting Postmaster {at the mouth of Pine was} ..Arthur Washburn, appointed 1836
First Justices of the Peace..Err Thornton, John G. Coleman,and Silas S. Lathrop {, appointed about the close of 1836 or beginning of 1837.}
First Sheriff...James Davis, appointed 1836 or 37.

{At the first session of the legislature, 1837-8, Dr. Eli Reynolds, who then represented this district, succeeded in getting a bill passed removing the county seat to Geneva, which bill, however, was vetoed by Governor Dodge.}

{Bloomington was made a post town early this year, and a Mr. Stowell was appointed postmaster, but he absconded before his commission reached him. In September, Edward E. Fay was appointed in his stead and was therefore the first postmaster at this place.}

The steamer Dubuque, {commanded by} Captain Smoker, exploded about seven miles below Bloomington, August 18th, {August 22d,} by which twenty-two lives were lost, all deck passengers. The Dubuque was towed to Bloomington by the steamer Adventure, and seventeen of the dead were buried in one grave in the old cemetery, at the very spot where the school house {Jefferson schoolhouse} in the Third Ward now stands.

The Iowa House, the first hotel, which had been partly constructed and opened late in the preceding year, by Robert C. Kinney, was completed early this year. It was situated on the southwest corner of Water {Front} and Chestnut streets.


Winter set in unusually early this year : about the 15th {10th} of November ice was running thickly in the river. Navigation was so unexpectedly interrupted that the settlements on the Upper Mississippi were prevented from securing, in the usual way, supplies of necessities for the winter. Dry goods, sugar, coffee, salt,etc., were conveyed in wagons from St. Louis to this place, and as far above as Prairie du Chien. Two barrels of flour---all there was in Bloomington---sold for $25. Salt retailed at $6 per bushel.


In February, Bloomington incorporated as a town of the second grade, and on the 6th of May, Jos. Williams {was} chosen the first president. {The following officers were also chosen at this election: Arthur Washburn, Benjamin P. Howland and Henry Reece, trustees; Moses Couch, recorder; John Marble, constable; Giles Pettibone, street commissioner. The following are the names of the} Subsequent presidents of the town of Bloomington and their respective years of service : 1840, John Lilly ; 1841, Thos. Darlington ; 1842, David Clark ;1843, John A. Parvin ; 1844, Stephen L. Foss ; 1845, Charles Evans ; 1846, S. L. Foss ; 1847, J. M. Barlow ; 1848, T. M. Isett ; 1849, Wm. Leffingwell ; 1850, Wm. D. Ament.

Population of the town in February of this year, 71, mostly males, and only four or five children ; number of buildings, including dwellings, {stores,} shops and stables, 33---of which but three were north of Pappoose creek.

{The citizens of Bloomington were much excited this year by what was termed the "Missouri War," or dispute in regard to the boundary line between Missouri and Iowa. The sheriff of Clark county, Missouri, in accordance with the claim of that state, proceeded to collect taxes in Van Buren county, Iowa, when he was arrested on charge of usurpation and brought to Bloomington for safe keeping. A disposition of resentment having been exhibited by the Missourians, Governor Lucas ordered out the militia of Iowa. In October the citizen soldiers of this county formed a regiment of horse and foot and marched toward the border as far as Burlington, when, a compromise having been agreed upon, they returned from a bloodless triumph. The vexed question was finally settled in favor of Iowa by the supreme court.}

The first brick house in Bloomington was built by Hiram Matthews on the corner of Water {Front} and Cedar streets. In November there were 84 houses of every description in the town. First harness-maker, John M. Kane.

{Early in this year, or late in the preceding year (the record does not show which), John Vanater, Aaron Usher and Err Thornton, county commissioners selected the southeast quarter of section 35, township 77, range 2 west, under the act of congress, donating to each county a quarter section of land for the purpose of erecting county buildings. They assessed the quarter which now lies nearly in the center of the city at $18,000, and taxed the lots therein to that amount.}


{The erection of the court house was commenced but not completed until the next year. It cost $15,000, raised by the sale of lots in the commissioners' quarters.}

On the 23d of October, the " Iowa Standard, " the first newspaper published in the place, was issued by Crum & Baily. The " Standard " was removed to Iowa City the next year, and was discontinued several years afterward. One week after the appearance of the " Standard," the first number of the " BLOOINGTON HERALD " was issued by Hughes & Russell.

{The American Hotel was erected and opened by T. S. Batelle. In 1867, it was torn away by L. W. Old, who erected a brick block on the site.}

During 1840, which was leap year, there were nineteen marriages in Bloomington, with a population of 507. We doubt if the statistics of marriage in any town of the same population will exhibit as many weddings in the same period of time.


First Brick Hotel....built and opened by Josiah Parvin
First Gunsmith....Henry Mollis
First Hatter.....A. M. Hare
First Tinners {tin} Shop and Stove Store... {conducted} by Jas. {James} Brentlinger


Change of the name of Bloomington {to Muscatine was} first proposed at a meeting of the citizens, January 21st, but so much opposition was manifested that no action was taken upon it. John B. Dougherty succeeded W. Hollingsworth in the drug business, the oldest establishment of the kind in the place.

First cigar-maker....P. W. Hamilton

On the 15th of October, the firm of J. Bennett & Co. made the first shipment of wheat from this port for St. Louis. It consisted of 130 bushels, shipped per steamer " Maid of Iowa " at 8 cents per bushel. Shipments of produce were made at various times during 1844 and 1845, on the following boats, the names of which are familiar to our older citizens : Ohio ; New Haven ; Lynx; Mermaid : Amarauth ; War Eagle; Falcon ; Sarah Ann; and Jasper.


{The winter of 1842-3 proved the most severe since the settlement of the country, and was long remembered as the "cold winter." Severely cold weather began about the middle of November and continued until the last of March. The following was the temperature on the coldest day in each of the five months of that winter: November, 11 below zero; January, 15 below zero; February, 19 below zero; March, 10 below zero. Mean temperature, 21.1. There was good sleighing from the last of November to the first of April----four months. The river was frozen over from November 26th to April 9th,-----ice being from two feet to thirty inches thick most of the time, making one hundred and thirty-three days that it was closed. The average time is sixty-five days. The first steam flouring mill was erected by J. M. Barlow, on the corner of Second and Sycamore streets. It was destroyed by fire on the night of November 1, 1850. In August, the cemetery now in use, was bought by the corporation. The eminence on which the Jefferson schoolhouse now stands had been previously used as a burying ground. The first watch maker and jeweler was A. L. Beatty.}


{During this spring and summer an unusual quantity of rain fell and the river was higher than ever before known. A hurricane passed through the northern part of the county June 5th, devastating forests, fields and houses in its course. The dwelling of Mr. Randall, in Center Grove, was blown down, killing his wife and maiming his son.}

{The first pork was packed by Isett & Blaydes. The number of hogs packed during the season was three hundred and twenty-two; average weight one hundred and eighty-nine pounds; price paid $1.79 1/2 per hundred.}

{An appropriation of $5,000 by congress was expended this year in constructing a road from the ferry landing through the river bottom, on the opposite side of the river. This appropriation was secured by an allowable fiction in the title, which was "to construct a military highway across the Mississippi bottom to the bluffs east of Bloomington in the territory of Iowa." Such an appropriation could not be made legally by congress for a public work in the state, hence the title to the act was so worded that the highway was located in a territory.}


Muscatine Island and the main land were united by a dam constructed across the head of the slough, by the Muscatine Company. By this means considerable land was reclaimed from a swampy condition, and safe acess obtained to the Island, containing about 22,000 acres of fertile soil, which has since been dotted over with farms, which, on account of their abundant yield of melons and sweet potatoes, are now the most valuable in the county.


This year Iowa was admitted into the Union.J. Scott Richman was delegate from Muscatine County to the convention which framed the State Constitution.

{Great excitement prevailed in consequence with the war with Mexico. Muscatine county raised a company of volunteers, of which John R. Bennett was captain.}


The citizens of Bloomington and a man named John Phillips, living on the opposite side of the river, had frequent collisions in regard to the ferry, he professing to have a charter from Illinois for a ferry, and opposing the chartered ferry of the city. This year the citizens ran a free ferry in opposition to Phillips, he however, obstructing the highway on the opposite side, and being otherwise obnoxious.


{Bennett's steam flour mill, 50X85 feet and five stories in height, with four run of burr stones, was erected by Joseph Bennett, on the site now occupied by the Oat Meal Mills. In January, 1850, this mill ground and packed five hundred and twenty barrels of flour in one day.}

Telegraph {line was} completed and first dispatch received at Bloomington, Aug.23d. O. H. Kelley, operator.

{The first meeting of the citizens of Bloomington, to deliberate on the project of constructing a railroad from Davenport via Bloomington and Iowa City through the interior of the state to the Missouri river, convened December 1st, Dr. John H. Dayton acting as chairman, while N. L. Stout acted as secretary. Delegates were appointed to attend a similar convention at Davenport, the object of which was to secure a grant of land from the general government to aid in the construction of said road. Various meetings to consider the same subject were held subsequently and the citizens of these rival towns labored harmoniously for the grant until the beginning of the year 1850, when a decided opposition to having Muscatine named as a point in the memorial for a grant for said road was manifested at Davenport and Iowa City. Muscatine thenceforward acted independently upon the subject. At a large meeting of delegates from many of the central and western counties held in Msucatine, December 27, 1850, the Iowa Western Railroad Company was organized and steps were taken toward securing a grant of land for a railroad direct from Muscatine to Oskaloosa, and thence to the Missouri river. No grant of land for such a purpose, however, was ever obtained from congress.}

First Book Store by...Hinds & Humphreys.


The reports of gold discoveries in California induced many persons to emigrate thither, which, together with the appearance of the cholera, carrying off ten or fifteen victims during the summer, retarded in a measure the prosperity of Bloomington.

" Old Nick," a man-of-all-work, in the employ of Phillips, the ferryman, was found murdered on the morning of the 23d of May, near Phillips' house. Phillips reported that his house had been mobbed during the night by a disguised party, who killed Old Nick in mistake for himself : and in corroboration of this, exhibited bullet holes through his door : but it was generally believed he had himself committed the murder, for fear Old Nick might disclose some of his nefarious transactions, and concocted his story for the double purpose of shielding himself from the crime and creating sympathy in his behalf. A short time after this event Phillips removed to the neighborhood of Rock Island, and his property at the ferry-landing was leased for ten years by A. J. Fimple and Irad C.Day, who also obtained the ferry privilege.

The name of Bloomington changed to Muscatine, by the District Court, June term, in accordance with the prayer of a petition numerously signed by its citizens. The name Muscatine is pronounced as if spelled " Mus-ka-teen," the last syllable accented. It is of Indian origin; though whether derived from a tribe of the name, or the Indian word MUSCUTI MENESIK, signifying fire island, ( in allusion to Muscatine Island, which was a large body of prairie, on which the grass was sometimes burned,) has been disputed.

First exclusive clothing store, by Heilbrun & Silverman.


The emigration to California was greater than the previous year. The cholera appeared again with increased malignity, and for a time almost paralyzed business. Thirty or forty citizens fell victims to the scourge.

Population of the city on the 1st of June, according to the U. S. Census, 2,520 ; number of dwelling houses, 453. Population of the county, 5, 733.

First exclusive boot and shoe store, by Chas. Nealley.


February 21st, Muscatine became a city, upon the adoption by its citizens of a charter, which had been approved by the Legislature on the 1st of the same month. {This charter invested the city council with power to enact ordinances for the general welfare and government of the city and impose penalties for the violation of the same in any sum not exceeding $100. The charter was amended in 1854 so as to allow the levying of a tax of one per cent per annum upon the value of property subject to taxation for city revenue. The ratio was formerly one-half per cent. It was also amended so as to make the city a road district and the offices of marshal, recorder and assessor appointive.} Z. Washburn elected first Mayor, March 5th.{At the same election Harry Reece and John C. Irwin were chosen aldermen from the first ward; John B. Dougherty and H. D. LaCossitt from the second ward; A. Fisher and B. Bartholomew, from the third ward; G. S. Branham, marshal; C. F. Browning, wharfmaster; Thomas Crandol, recorder; L. C. Hine, treasurer. Mr. Washburn resigned his office a few months afterward and the council elected A. McAulay in his stead.}

A suspension bridge across the Cedar river, nine miles west of Muscatine blew down during a storm on the night of April 4th. It was six hundred and fifty-seven {667} feet in length, twenty-one feet in width over the piers, narrowing to twelve feet in the center, and altogether one of the most magnificent structures of the kind in the West, combining all the elements of the wooden arch and wire suspension bridges. It had just been completed at a cost of $16,000, raised by subscription among the citizens of Muscatine ( J. Bennett being president of the company), but had not been firmly secured when the storm occurred. An ineffectual attempt was afterwards made to rebuild it.

On Sunday night, August 10th, an unprecedented freshet in Pappoose creek proved disastrous to life and property. A Mrs. Laferty and three of her children were drowned while attempting to escape from their residence, a small frame building between Sixth and Seventh streets, which was surrounded by flood. A house and three bridges were destroyed, embankments washed away, and much furniture injured by the inundation of houses. The damage done to public works alone was estimated at $ 10,000. The bridges on Cedar, Third and Second streets were swept away entirely ; and such was the force of the current that two giant sycamore trees, of perhaps a century's growth, which stood at the mouth of the creek, were uprooted and carried away.

Bennett's mill, with five or six adjoining buildings, destroyed by fire, August 23d.{The loss was $40,000, with no insurance. The mill was rebuilt by its indomitable proprietor, upon the same foundation, within ninety days after the event. It had the same exterior appearance, but was materially improved on its interior arrangements.}

First Banking House, by...Green & Stone
First Wholesale Grocery Store by...J. S. Hatch & Co.


First resident Daguerrean Artist......John Hunter
First exclusive Hardware Store by..Brent, Miller & Co.


{At the April election the question of loaning $55,000 to the Iowa Western Railroad Company, to aid in the construction of a railroad from Muscatine to Oskaloosa, was decided in the affirmative, notwithstanding strenuous opposition to it in Wapsinonoc and Moscow townships. A similar proposition had been lost the preceding year, on account of some misunderstanding. In June, Mr. Farnum and others representing the Mississippi & Missouri Railroad Company proposed to the officers of the Iowa Western Railroad Company to build three lines of railways from Muscatine, namely: to Oskaloosa, to Davenport and to Cedar Rapids----provided one-third of the means for their construction should be raised by local subscription and taxation. This proposal was accepted and on the 3d day of October, a loan of $150,000 for the same purpose was voted by the county.}


Ground broke on the Muscatine and Oskaloosa Railroad, by the M. & M. R. R. Co., February 8th. {At the April election the city agreed to loan $55,000 to the Muscatine, Iowa City & Cedar Rapids Railroad Company for the constuction of a railroad direct to Iowa City. This company generally known as Lyons Iowa Central Railroad Company, having failed to comply with the conditions of the loan, it was forfeited.}

Shafer's beer house, on Chestnut street, torn down by a mob, August 17th.

Wm. H. Arrison, who murdered Isaac H. Allison and wife, of Cincinnati, with an " infernal machine," arrested Oct. 8. He had been employed in J. B. Dougherty's drug store nearly three months.

First Queensware store, by...J. H. Turner


{This year was signalized by a greater increase of business and the erection of more houses than during any previous year. More than forty business houses, mostly brick, were built and opened during the year, and about 200 dwellings, nearly all of substantial character.}

{Railroad operations, which had partially suspended on account of the money pressure, were resumed with greater activity, and} Altogether a more prosperous year to the city, and more profitable to all branches of trade, than any preceding one. The completion of the M.& M.R.R. from Davenport to Muscatine, ( the first railroad opened in Iowa ) and the arrival of the first passenger cars at Muscatine, November 20th, were celebrated with great eclat by its citizens and their invited guests from the surrounding country, and from towns and cities on the line of railroad connections eastward. It was a most brilliant affair, and has long been remembered as an era in the history of Muscatine---the era of railroads.


This year the primitive log house, the home of a number of the early pioneers, which stood near the present residence of J. Bridgman, on West Second street, was removed to Dr. Weeds farm and the large ( then magnificent ) block now gracing the spot was commenced.


The first prohibitory law was submitted to vote, August 3. Muscatine county cast 1227 votes for and 356 against. Also 194 votes for negro suffrage and 1405 against.

August 18th, introduction of gas into the city was celebrated in Tremont Hall, now Stein's Music Hall.


{This winter was one of unusual mildness. The ferry boat was running January 16th and the steamers Chattanooga and Clara Hine arrived from below, January 27th. Pansies and violets were in full bloom in Suel Foster's nursery.} A mysterious fire occurred May 18th in the wholesale grocery store of J. T. Brown, on East Second street, which was destroyed. Brown was drawn insensible from the building, having apparently been gagged. He recovered but was unable to explain satisfactorily his connection with the affair. He shortly after returned to his former home, in Newburyport, Mass.


{This year was noted for its business activity in the city and good crops of all kinds in the surrounding country.} During the early part of the year considerable work was done on the Tipton and Anamosa railroad, money being raised and considerable grading done, but the road never materialized.

First shipment of pork was made to the Atlantic seaboard from Muscatine.


This was a year of great political excitement throughout the country. The Republicans organized " Wide Awake " companies. On the 12th and 13th of September there was an encampment and prize drill of companies, at which the Muscatine company was presented with a banner by ladies. Miss Annie Robbins presented the banner and Hugh J. Campbell, president of the company, received it, each making a speech. A silk flag was also presented to the Goshen township Company, commanded by Capt. Lundy.


{The mutterings of secession and war became louder and more frequent.} The firing upon Fort Sumter on April 12th, by the rebels,aroused the loyal North.{Muscatine was soon in a state of excitement, never before felt. The rolling drum, squeaking fife and blaring trumpet were heard upon the street.}

The " Wide Awake " companies became companies of volunteers, and two companies were raised and sent to the front, in the First Regiment--Co. A,{under} Capt. Cummins and Co. C, {under} Capt Mason.[Dave Dunston] {These companies went into camp at Keokuk, were ordered forward May 18th, went to Hannibal, out on the Hannibal & St. Joe Railroad, across the country to Boonville, Missouri, joining General Lyons and participating in the bloody battle of Wilson's Creek, Missouri, near Springfield, August 10th.} The first soldier killed in defense of his country from Iowa was Shelby Norman, of Co. A of this regiment. The G.A.R. post of this city is named for him.{Private H. S. Tullis, of Company C, First Iowa Infantry, died of typhoid fever at Keokuk, and was brought back and buried in the city cemetery, the first Union man buried at home. Captain John Reed with his company of rifles, left July 23d and joined the Seventh Iowa Infantry at Burlington, as Company A. Captain E. Hatch joined the Second Iowa Cavalry with his company, as Company A. Muscatine had the post of honor in three regiments.}

Hare's Hall improved and extended to the rear. The banking house of Green & Stone suspended, July 31. M . Berger erected a substantial two-story brick building on the Avenue for a vinegar factory.

{Companies A and C, First Iowa Infantry, upon their return home were welcomed and banquetted by our citizens. Muscatine grew more and more like a military post, troops coming in by rail to take transportation by river. Company A, under Captain Compton, Company B under Captain Grant, and Company H under Captain Beach, joined the Eleventh Infantry. Captain Lundy with Company G, joined the Second Iowa Cavalry, and Captain Palmer's company, the Sixteenth Iowa Infantry, at Davenport. Nothing but the war for the Union and care for the boys in the field and those at home was thought of, talked of, or acted upon at the close of this eventful year.}


The excitement of the war continued unabated.{Muscatine's loyalty was kept up to the front.} The effects of the war are already seen on our streets. The empty sleeve, the crutch and the widow's weeds are growing in numbers rapidly.{A calico or hard times hop was held at Reuling's hall. All the ladies dressed in calico.}

The cow ordinance called for the following : " January 27, 1862, I, A.B.C., being duly sworn, do hereby inform George Meason, Mayor of the City of Muscatine, etc., one brindle cow did eat hay out of my sled without my consent and contrary to the provisions of an ordinance of said city, made and provided. Signed, A.B.C. The cow escaped.

Hard times and high-priced coffee brings this out : " The best substitute for coffee ; Boil a quantity of corn until it is soft, then dry and brown it well and make as other coffee." The rich and poor began to use such substitute for coffee, while the soldier in the field got the pure berry, if he did have to drink it out of a tin cup or can.{The celebrated confidence man, Piper, secured $3,700 on two drafts raised from $14 each. The first festival of the Ladies' Soldiers' Aid Society netted $105, January 30th}

Muscatine county jail without a boarder for the first time in its history--this in March.{Richard Cadle's residence on Iowa City road burned March 3. Trains were snow-bound on Wilton branch April 30. Four inches of snow fell on the night of March 26.}

{April 6 and 7----The battle of Shiloh caused great excitement, as nine Iowa regiments were engaged and our city was intensely interested. The Soldiers' Aid Society immediately dispatched a box of clothing and eatables valued at $152.45, to the Iowa soldiers at Pittsburg Landing. Grain and flour were shipped to New York via St. Louis and New Orleans.}

{May 8-----The Muscatine County Soldiers' Aid Society was organized, with H. O. Connor, president; E. H. Thayer and William C. Evans, vice presidents; Rev. C. H. Remington, secretary; and S. G. Stein, treasurer.}

May 14th.---A singular and heart-rending case of suicide at the Ogilvie ( now Commercial ) House. A young man, not 17 years old, named Robinson, from Burlington, took poison rather than give up an abandoned woman he had run away with from home.

{June 5----Tappe's brass band was organized. Companies A, H and I of the Eleventh Iowa Infantry, sent home to their families their two months' pay, $3,400. Chester Weed and James Jackson were the distributing agents. The first issue of the long expected newspaper, the Courier, appeared June 24.}

{July 10---Captain Hugh J. Campbell's company was mustered into service. It became a part of the Eighteenth Iowa Infantry. This made the thirteenth company from Muscatine and the war was not half finished. Gold reached fifteen and a half per cent premium and was still going up.}

{July 18----$1,400 from the thirteen-dollar-per-month boys of the Second Iowa Cavalry was sent home to their families. The Twenty-fourth and Twenty-fifth Iowa went into camp on Muscatine Island during the month of September. The Thirty-fifth was Muscatine's own regiment, Companies A, B, C, D, E and F being recruited in this county. Nine men, including one of the editors, Dr. Hershe, from the Journal office enlisted in this regiment.} Dr. Hershe is the busiest man in the county ; he examines all would-be exempts from the draft.

{Muscatine was now a military post---two full regiments in camp and one more to come. Camp String was the center of attraction and was daily thronged with visitors. The Thirty-fifth Iowa received a beautiful flag presented by Miss Mary Gordon, supported by Misses Washburn and Howell. October 20, the Twenty-fourth Iowa left Camp Strong for the south on the steamer Hawkeye State. The Thirty-fifth escorted them to the landing, and the whole city turned out to bid them good-bye. November 29, the Thirty-fifth regiment, nearly 1,000 strong, shouldered their guns and were "off to the war" by rail via La Salle and Cairo. The year closed with Camp Strong deserted, the "Grey Beards" leaving the last week in the year and going to St. Louis for orders for garrison duty.}

{Business commenced to revive, lumber advanced, farm produce began the up-grade and never stopped until a point was reached that make a man's eyes snap even today to read them. Citizens, wives, mothers, daughters and sweethearts all felt the strong heavy iron hand of war. All they could do was to watch and pray for the war to cease and redouble their efforts to provide for the ones at home and look out for the loved ones at the front.}


{The weather the first week of the year was delightful, almost like May, but the wind came down from the northwest and the river filled with floating ice, and on the 8th of January the ferry boat, Decalion, was obliged to seek winter quarters.} A band of one hundred Wasquaka Indians moved their camp from Cedar river to the slough, three miles below the city, January 6th.{Mr. Daymude opened his academy after the holidays. January 8, a monster mass meeting at the court house endorsed the president and his proclamation, cheered the soldiers in the field, and warned the "traitors" at home to keep still.}

Rev. C. C. Cummins, D. D., died at the residence of his son-in-law, Dr. Horton, January 10th. {Claim and pension agents' advertisements began to appear in the papers, all "experienced hands at the business," etc.; the soldier is the object aimed at. Large trainloads of hogs passed through Muscatine every day, bound for Chicago.}

{The Ladies' Soldiers Aid Society reported in January that for six months following June they had sent hospital stores and delicacies to the soldiers to the amount of $600, besides what they did for the Twenty-fourth and Thirty-fifth Iowa in Camp Strong, and expended in the camp hospital $192.24.}

{From October, 1862, until February, 1863, the Washington branch shipped 60,098 live hogs, 2,829 dressed hogs, and 827 live cattle, the majority of hogs coming to Muscatine and the balance going to Chicago. February 6, O. W. Eckel and L. Eckel, two old lumber dealers, formed a copartnership and combined their yards, making a big firm and a large stock.}

{The winter packing season showed the following number of hogs packed here: S. O. Butler, 28,340; Leland & Company, 16,400; W. S. Humphreys, 16,500; total, 61,240, which with the work of the smaller houses, made a grand total of 65,000 hogs for the season. Keokuk led, with Burlington a good third.}

{February 7-----The river closed and a crossing was made the next day.}

{February 9----The administration guards held a rousing meeting and appointed an executive committee. The members were old men exempt from draft.}

The Union Benevolent Society disbursed $258.18 for wood, flour and other necessities, to fifty families of soldiers during the winter. During March, J. P. Walton raised the large brick building occupied by Clock & Company as a clothing store. In March, lumber took another rise and the mills and yards had all they could do.}

{April 2----"The eastbound train yesterday contained seventeen cars of stock." How would such a train look now in 1911?}

{Young men were so scarce that young ladies had to go out and serenade themselves. April 13 the M. & M. Railroad carried passengers to Malcom, ten miles west of Brooklyn.} April 17th, at the assignee's sale of Green & Stone's property, the mansion built by Mr. Stone was bid in by J. P. Cook, of Davenport, for $195, which with incumbrances, made the cost $8,595. This is now the Richard Musser mansion.{April 21, passengers could go on the M. & M. Railroad to Washington and return the same day. April 25, prints at wholesale were quoted from eighteen to twenty-two cents per yard; two days later they jumped to five cents more----war prices. Thursday, April 30, was kept as National Fast Day. Rev. J. H. Power preached the sermon.}

May 8th, 1,750 Sioux Indians passed down on a steamer from Minnesota to their new reservation in Dakota Territory : 1,500 more followed.

{May 22, Potato day, Gabriel Little, residing three miles from the city, on the Tipton road, donated thirty acres of land to plant in potatoes for the soldiers. A picnic party went out and planted twenty acres, ladies assisting in the work. Enrolling officers for the draft were appointed in June.} July 4th, great celebration. 174 wagons with the floral procession made it a mile long. Miss Cora Chaplin personated the " Goddess of Liberty."

{October 19, the ladies and gentlemen began digging the soldiers' potatoes. In two days the patch was dug, leaving an acre for the soldiers' families and 1,000 bushels stored for shipment to the boys in the south.}

Sunday, August 16th, a little steamer built by Benj. Middleton exploded, just below the city, killing Samuel W. Barrows, also his son Charles, and another boy named Wm. H. Mineere. Wm.D. Ward and Wm. B. Fish were fatally injured, and subsequently died.

November 26th,--A catamount was killed near the Poor Farm,by Richard Smith.

{There was also excitement over what was known as the "Skunk River War." A company commanded by Captain George A. Satterlee went from Muscatine to Sigourney, but the difficulty was settled without bloodshed.}


{During January cattle froze to death. The great storm cut off railroad communication for nearly a week. 64,870 hogs were packed this season. A wolf chased on the ice of the river, another found in General Gordon's yard and killed shortly afterward, shows the severity of the winter.}

{Muscatine City escaped the draft for soldiers by filling her quota March 1st. The new steamer "Muscatine," of the Northern Line Packet Company, was presented a set of flags upon her arrival here. Ladies of Muscatine offered to take the place of clerks and salesmen in the stores in order to allow men to enlist in the one hundred days' regiment, the ladies agreeing to take only government pay and allow the absent clerks the difference in wages while away. Captain Bitzer's company joined the Forty-fourth Iowa Infantry in June.}

{Green's stallion, Bashaw, sold for $5,000.}

{A great sanitary fair, conducted by the Ladies' Soldiers' Aid Society, was held at the court house. It netted several thousand dollars for sanitary work among the soldiers of the Union.}

A boiler in the Nevada Mill ( corner Iowa avenue and Third street) exploded October 1st, killing a child of David Rothschild and breaking a leg of Charles Lilly ; also setting fire to Worsham & Phelps livery stable and destroying it.

Muscatine felt this year all the horrors of wars ; many heavy battles had been fought, and the end is now in sight. Colonel S. G. Hill and his son Fred, Major A. B. John, Captain Buermeister, Captain DeHues, and many of the men of companies raised here, were killed in the field.

{War prices still continued: Wheat, $1.50, corn, 95 cents, oats, fifty cents, potatoes, 60 cents, rye, 90 cents, common boards $32.50 per hundred, sheathing, $27.50, lath, $6.50, bar iron 10 1/2 and 12 1/2, standard brown sheetings, 50 and 65 cents, prints, 25 and 40 cents, live hogs 8 and 9 cents.}

{Chambers Brothers and S. O. Butler rebuilt and enlarged their slaughter and packing houses this year.}


The year will always be known as the last year of the war, although the war was not officially declared closed until 1866.{The soldiers returned home by regiments, companies, platoons, in squads and singly. They were all welcomed back by the loyal citizens and soon the soldier was merged into the citizen. Business was booming, gold reached its highest notch, and the question of specific payment and how to reach it appeared. The city improved wonderfully, business blocks and dwellings arose on every side. The railroad reached Des Moines and the tide of travel and emmigration setting west was wonderful.}


This was a prosperous year for Miscatine. L. W. Olds'opera block was commenced this year. Chambers Bros. built an elevator. The Court House, which had been burned down, was re-built and completed June 1st.{Pork packing ceased in February----only 12,000 this year against 24,000 last year. This proportion ruled all over the state. The bodies of the Union soldiers in the city cemetery were removed to the soldiers' circle, two lots being purchased by the Young Ladies' Loyal League. A fine monument stands in the center.}

{A flatboat containing 110,000 feet of flooring and siding was shipped to Memphis in April.}

{This year the growth of Muscatine was the best in ten years. Between two and three hundred new buildings were erected. Beside the opera house and elevator mentioned, John Lemp and Joseph Bennett built store rooms, while two others on Chestnut street, two on Second near Mulberry, and several others and many buildings were enlarged and improved. The lumber business grew to huge proportions and all other lines followed.}

{The pork houses did not pack any in December. Hogs were down to 3 1/2 cents for live and 5 cents for dressed. 659,334 bushels of grain were bought and shipped from Muscatine this year.}


January 8th--First telegram received from Iowa City; line just completed.

April 19th -- Work commenced on the Muscatine, Tipton & Anamosa Railroad, just north of the city, near Dorn's brewery.

During the past winter {1867} there were killed in this county two lynx, ten wild cats and fifty wolves. {The county paid $4,294 for bounties on wild animals killed this year. This includes 19,845 gophers, at 20 cents for each tail.}

{The lumber trade grew wonderfully----12,260,000 feet sawed, 8,400,000 feet bought in water, 33,000,000 feet sold, 12,750,000 shingles sold, 8,527,000 lath sold, 10,000,000 feet of lumber on hand.}


{January 16, Chambers Brothers stopped pork packing for the season, packing 12,000 hogs against 3,500 the year previous.}

At this time Muscatine has 16 dry goods stores, 37 retail and 3 wholesale grocers, 7 drug stores, 5 boot and shoe stores, 7 cobbler shops, 5 jewelry establishments, 2 music, 6 hardware and 5 clothing stores, 8 tailoring and 7 millinery establishments, 5 stove and tinware, 4 furniture, and 2 book stores ; 2 retail and wholesale crockery establishments, 3 cigar shops, 5 saddlery and harness manufactories, 1 hat and cap store, 2 daguerrean galleries, 46 saloons, 7 barber shops, 7 meat markets, 1 marble yard, 3 flouring, 1 planing, and 3 saw-mills, 11 lumber yards, counting those connecting with the mills, 10 hotels and first-class boarding houses, 13 doctors and 16 lawyers.

{The Muscatine Oskaloosa & Council Bluffs Railroad Company was organized, with Jacob Butler, of Muscatine, as president. 2,000 tons of ice were harvested and stored.}

{Muscatine was second in the state for lumber trade the previous year.}

{February 10, the large frame building known as the Academy, occupied by Brown's high school, burned after daylight. The mercury was thirty-two degrees below zero. The building stood on the corner of Fifth street and Iowa avenue. It was never rebuilt.}

{The celebrated stallion, Bashaw, Jr., son of Green's Bashaw, sold for $16,000.}

{The ferry question was settled by a new company and a new boat. The Northern Illinois, a large and strong steamer, commenced making regular trips in April.}

Sunday May 3d, a terrible tornado passed over the county, starting in Cedar Township and winding up in Sweetland Township. It entirely demolished the High Prairie church, eight miles from the city. No lives lost.

{The cornerstone for the new Methodist church, at the corner of Third street and Iowa avenue, was laid May 30.}

{July 2, a terrible rain and thunderstorm passed over the city early in the morning. The lightning struck No. 1 schoolhouse, in the Third ward and it was burned. Anderson Chambers' dwelling on Sixth street, and a frame house on Seventh street, were struck at about the same time. The two dwellings were badly shattered but did not burn.}

{Three hundred citizens of Muscatine went to Wilton on the 13th of September, to witness the laying of the cornerstone of the new Catholic church.}

{The board of supervisors, having refused to obey an order from the United States court to levy a tax, were attached for contempt and released on $500 bail each. The matter rested for six months.}

Charles Stone shipped four thousand osage orange plants to Carlow, Ireland. A sample lot.


{The board of supervisors were put under $1,000 bonds to appear at the next term of the district court. The United States courts held them for $500 to do as they were told, and the district courts held them for $1,000 not to do it.}

March 9th.-- Dr. C. Hershe, a prominent physician, was shot and killed by a man named Mori, on his farm a few miles below the city. The murderer narrowly escaped lynching. He was sentenced {for a term of} for six years in the penitentiary. He cut his hand off while at work there, became insane and died in the Insane Asylum at Mt. Pleasant.

{May 10, a large crowd of citizens in the telegraph office heard the signals given as the junction of two lines of Pacific railroads were made. Driving the last spike (a gold one) with a silver hammer, made the signals. They were heard at every telegraph station in the United States and over the Atlantic cable.}

Lightning struck on Ogilvie hill the evening of July 13th, and killed policeman Thomas D. Moore. Last year the school house on same hill was destroyed by lightning.

{Cadle & Mulford's new planing mill, at the corner of Sycamore and Front streets, began operations in August. It was one of the best on the river.}

August 8th, {Sunday night,} Terry's jewelry establishment was robbed of $3,000 worth of goods. No clue to the robbers was ever found.

{Sunday, August 29, the new Methodist Episcopal church, costing $25,000, at the corner of Iowa avenue and Third streets, was dedicated.}

{Joseph Richardson, president of the Muscatine National Bank, died at Dedham, Massachusetts, September 2.}

October 11,-- Mr. Azel Farnsworth and Mrs. Mary C. Miles, were married in Court House Square, the bride and groom with their attendants being on horseback during the ceremony. A vast crowd was in attendance.

October 13th,-- This afternoon a boiler in Chamber's saw mill exploded. Two boys, John Garrett and L. Schlosser, were so severely scalded that they died the same night.

{November 8, the new schoolhouse in the third ward, was dedicated. It cost, with furnishings, $25,000, being one of the finest school buildings in the state.}

{November 17, there was a lively meeting at the court house-----adoption of resolution denouncing the railroad bonds as a fraud, sustaining our state courts, and opposing the submission of the enabling act at present.}

{November 22, a monster hog, only two years old and weighing 840 pounds, was purchased by W. S. Richie, at nine cents per pound-----$75 for a hog! The hog was a Chester White, raised by U. Houseman, of Lake township, Muscatine county.}

{December 15, a railroad bond convention was held in Olds' opera house. Delegates were present from Muscatine, Washington, Johnson, Jefferson, Cedar, Iowa, Poweshiek, Lee and Louisa counties. The tax levy in each county was to be contested.}

{December 22, between eleven and twelve o'clock P. M. Chambers' Brothers mammoth elevator, situated just below their sawmill on East Front street, took fire and was totally destroyed, loss $40,000, insurance $22,000.}

{1,030,970 bushels of grain were shipped out by flour dealers during this year.}


January 15,-- A white coon was captured in the woods west of the city. (Transcribers note****These are very rare.)

{January 17, Bishop & Lillibridge's, M. Havercamp's and Byrne & Murphy's grocery stores were burglarized. The celebrated trotting Bashaw stallion, Kirkwood, was sold for $14,000, being shipped to New York.}

March 31,-- Judge Joseph Williams, one of the pioneer citizens, died at Fort Scott, Kansas. He settled here in 1838.

{April 13, another railroad meeting was held to consider a proposition of the Rockford, Rock Island & St. Louis Railroad to give Muscatine an outlet in Illinois.}

{April 19, the Mississippi river rose to within three inches of the top of the island levee.}

{April 26, the island levee broke in three places, carrying away the railroad bridge about a mile below the Hershey mill. The greater part of the island was under water.}

{May 23, articles of incorporation of the Muscatine Western Railroad were adopted and the next day directors were elected. The capital stock was $10,000,000.}

{May 29, County Treasurer Thompson was served with a peremptory writ of mandamus commanding him to proceed in the collection of the railroad bond tax.}

{May 30, R. Musser & Company, lumber dealers, purchased several lots below the roundhouse on the island, upon which to erect a large sawmill the next spring.}

June 17th,--A boy playing with matches caused the burning of several stables on Sixth street, between Iowa Avenue and Sycamore street.

{July 6, surveying commenced for the proposed line of the Muscatine Western Railroad.}

{July 19, at 2 P.M. the thermometer stood at 102 1/2 degrees, the highest range on record. The mercury was above 90 degrees for eight days in succession.}

July 25th--S. O. Butler, an old citizen and proprietor of Butler's pork packing house, died at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.

{September 29, Steamboat Agent Block signed a bill of lading for two hundred barrels of flour from Hale's mill, for Boston, Massachusetts, all the way by water via St. Louis and New Orleans, for $1.40 per barrel.}

October 2nd.-- Hon William Smyth, member of Congress from the Second District of Iowa, died at his home in Marion.

December 1,--Russell Hare, brother of Col. A. M. Hare, was crushed to death by a load of lumber upsetting and falling upon him, as he was on his way home.


{January 22, the jury in the celebrated dog case, I. K. Terry vs. Nellis, after twenty-four hours' deliberating, failed to agree and were discharged.}

February 24.-- Judge W. G. Woodward, of this city, died at his home, aged 63 years.

May 1.--A spark from a construction train on Hershey's switch set fire to the lumber yard, causing the destruction of several piles of lumber, the saw mill stables, and two dwelling houses. The steam fire pump did good service and with the help of the bucket brigade the flames were extinguished.

{May 17, a special election was held in Bloomington township, including the city of Muscatine, on the question of donating a five per cent tax to construct the Muscatine Western Railroad. It carried by 728 majority in a total vote of 1,096. The tax realized was nearly $150,000.}

The Journal this year published a number of interesting letters from Europe, written by its associate editor, James Mahin, now deceased.

{June 18, Musser & Company's new sawmill began operations.}

August 2.--A fire burned out three frame buildings on Front street, between Iowa Avenue and Sycamore. No fire engine in the city. Loss $6,000.

John Huber, a barber of this city, was run over by a locomotive on the railroad bridge at Iowa City, and instantly killed.

August 22,--Rev. E. L. Belden, for six years pastor of the Presbyterian church of this city, died at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, where he was president of the Female Seminary.

September 13,-- Jos Brown, brother of Wm. Brown {, of the Nevada mill,} walked into the city from Pittsburgh, Pa. He walked the whole distance, 600 miles, in four weeks, making 22 {twenty} miles a day.

October 10,--The news of the great Chicago fire was startling to our city, and the appeal for help was responded to instantly.

October 12,--The relief committee remitted $1,500 in money and sent a carload of supplies to the sufferers at Chicago.

West Liberty sent a car load of potatoes and one of provisions and clothing, and Wilton a car load of provisions.

{October 19, two brick store buildings on the south side of Second street, between Cedar and Walnut streets, burned. C. Connell, stove dealer, and Ed. Shepherd, grocer, occupied the buildings. Loss $18,000 on goods and buildings.}

October 25,--Capt. John Phillips, of notorious ferry boat fame in early days, died at Lettsville, Iowa.

On the morning of November 11th, the dead body of John L. Hall, photographic artist, on Second street, was found lying on a sofa in his gallery. He took cyanide of potassium and instant death was the result. Gambling, losing borrowed money, and fear of exposure, lead to the deed.

November 29,--The steamer Savanna fast aground on a sand bar, three miles above the city, was abandoned by the crew, leaving the watchman in charge.

{The balance of Muscatine's subscription to the Chicago sufferers, $182.10, was receipted for on the 25th. That made $1,682.10 remitted in cash.}

{December 4, the Muscatine Western Railroad Company, authorized by resolution the suspension of the tax and no penalties until ninety days after the road was built.}

{December 29, Hagens & Company slaughtered 12,000 hogs this season, price $3.60 and $3.70.}


{This was a year of considerable political excitement and of unusual interest in Muscatine county politics, from the fact that prominent local leaders of the republican party like Jacob C. Butler and D. C. Cloud left the party and joined the democrats in support of Horace Greeley for president. The result was a majority of 722 in the county for Grant over Greeley.}

January 25,--A body snatching case was discovered at Wilton. The body was traced to the medical department of the State University at Iowa City, which pays $30 for bodies for dissection. A great excitement followed.

January 29th,--Ex-Mayor John G. Stine died this afternoon.

February 7th,--" Mr. Cotton, Congressman from Second District, Iowa, by unanimous consent, introduced a bill (H.F. 1409) authorizing the construction of a bridge over the Mississippi river, at Muscatine, Iowa : which was read a first and second time, referred to the committee on commerce and ordered printed."

{March 7, Chambers Brothers shipped a carload of lumber to Denver, Colorado. They shipped thirty-nine cars of lath to Chicago. The immense amount of building going on in that city created the demand from the outer world.}

{March 29, the steamer "Savannah" which was cut loose from the ice several days previous and safely moored out of danger, came down from her winter's berth and loaded for St. Louis.}

April 6,--Gen. J. E. Fletcher, one of our pioneer citizens, died at home, the Fletcher farm, just beyond the cemetery.

{April 19, contracts were let for the grading of the Muscatine Western Railroad and on the 21st the first work for the construction of the Muscatine Western Railroad was the driving of piling on Mad creek, near Dorn's brewery.}

April 24,-- D. R. Warfield, another of our pioneer citizens died today.

{May 2, W. F. Brannan was appointed district judge by Governor Carpenter, vice J. S. Richman, resigned.}

May 10,--A monster raft, containing two million feet of lumber and loaded with 500,000 shingles, 700,000 lath and 100,000 pickets, passed down in tow of the rafter, J. W. Van Sant.

{Rev. Mr. Eaton, until 1871 pastor of the Baptist church of Muscatine, died at LaGrange, Missouri.}

July 2,--At 6 p.m., the last rail was laid on the Muscatine Western R. R., connecting this city and Nichols, and a mixed train came over it and into the city at 11 o'clock p.m.

The paper canoe, " Dolly Varden," commanded by Julius Chambers, late of the New York " Tribune," arrived from Lake Itasca. There is but one person in the whole crew. The little craft left for Burlington.

{August 6, war commenced between the Northern Line and Keokuk Packet Company and the Davidson St. Louis and St. Paul line. The latter wore white collars around their smokestacks.}

{September 4, the strike of the hands employed in the sawmills for ten hours instead of eleven hours' work, collapsed. The old time and old wages were resumed, the strikers losing their time while idle.}

{November 19, Chambers' mill cut out of one log, 51 feet long and 27 inches across the top, two pieces 6X22-51 for gunwales for Cedar river ferryboat; one piece 7X16-51 for bridge timber, and 500 feet of timber. It was straight and sound and scaled 1,841 feet.}

November 25,--The epizootic epidemic stopped the use of horses for any purpose. **** Transcribers note*** This is a lethal flu-like disease that killed thousands of horses across North America in 1872-73. Said to have come from Europe, first turned up in Canada in mid-Oct.1872,spreading rapidly throughout Eastern States. More than 2,250 horses died in Philadelphia during a 3 week period.******


January 26,--Rev. Dr. Power, resident of this city from 1862 to close of 1867, died at Burlington {Iowa.}

February 16,--James C. Hatch, one of our old merchants and citizens, died aged 63.

{February 17, a series of union meetings by different churches was inaugurated at Olds' opera house.}

{March 6, dissatisfied with the nominations for school directors, another ticket was put in the field and elected by the friends of the public schools.}

{March 8, the largest lumber sale ever made in Muscatine was the selling to C. Cadle of 400,000 feet of lumber, lath, shingles and pickets to a firm in Omaha, Nebraska.}

{March 18, union meetings of the churches at Olds' opera house closed.}

April 1,--Contract for building the new high school building, on Iowa Avenue, let to S. B. Hill.

{May 21, Huttig Brothers of Muscatine and W. Faulter, of Davenport, commenced the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds in Muscatine.}

{June 5, Kirk's planing and grist mill, Pekelder's frame dwelling and Pekelder & Nester's wagon and blacksmith shop burned. Loss $15,000.}

July 15,--Suel Foster's residence totally destroyed by fire.

{July 30, Tower Clock Association was formed and articles of incorporation adopted.}

{August 19, the Young America Flour Mills burned, loss $12,000.}

October 4,--George Dow, conductor on the C.R.I & P.R.R., died, aged 43. He { was engineer of first train} took the first train {run from Muscatine} to Washington.

{October 9, the Harvest Feast celebrated by the Patrons of Husbandry was attended by 200 grangers and 2,500 people.}

{October 10, the Union Lumber Company of Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, bought O. W. Eckel's lumberyard and put in an immense stock.}

{October 17, Augustus H. Johnson, son of Dr. D. P. Johnson, arrived with 200 Cherokee cattle for sale; farmers bought and fattened them for market.}

Towing rafts by steamers was laughed at seven years ago--to-day rafters are built which cost $27,000.

November 1,--The high school building, on Iowa Avenue, dedicated.

{November 5, a novel craft named the "Trident" modeled somewhat after Winan's cigar shaped ship, was launched. It cost $2,500 and was built by Boone Brothers. It went to New Orleans and the Gulf of Mexico.}

{December 28, track laying on the Muscatine Western Railroad was completed to Riverside, thirty-two miles west of Muscatine.}


{January 6, the river opened and closed; only instance on record.}

March 17,--The ladies temperance crusade began, eighteen ladies marching in procession and visiting saloons.

{March 20, Kirk & Baily's new planing mill, corner Second and Mulberry streets, began operations.}

April 4,--Hon. Jacob Butler having become insane, owing to financial difficulties in Chicago, to which place he had removed the preceding year, was taken to the asylum at Mt. Pleasant, where he died on the 23d.

{July 13, the new bell for the tower clock, weighing 2,552 pounds, fifty-two inches across the mouth and four feet high, with the motto The Public Shools Our Nation's Defense, was placed in position. The clock cost $650 in addition to the bell.}

August 20,--Two elevators, one church and twenty other buildings burned in Wilton. Loss $70,000.

August 25,--Chamber's Bros.lower saw mill and warehouse, and Baker's boilershops, burned. The bucket brigade confined the fire to that block. Loss $75,000.

{September 30, the ferryboat "Northern Illinois," with charter and franchise, sold for $2,650 to Captain Arnold.}

{October 8, the Muscatine Mills (Bennett's old mill) sold to E. M. Kessinger for $9,800.}

{November 18, the old Butler slaughter house burned. It had just been prepared for a winter's work.}

December 7,--Chester Weed, one of the early settlers and most prominent business man of the city, died, aged 55.

{December 11, Chambers Brothers new planing mill built upon the site of the old sawmill, commenced running.}


Feb.11,--The new chemical fire engine safely housed at the old livery barn opposite Trinity church. The boys call it the " Soda Fountain." It is the beginning of our future water works. It cost $2,500, and is manned by a company of our German citizens. {Building improvements this year footed up $169,000. The Journal was printed by steam.}

The JOURNAL printed by steam, April 21st--first paper so printed in Muscatine. {The Soldiers' Monument mounted in the court house yard was dedicated July 2, with an address by ex-Governor Kirkwood.}

{The grand total lumber trade in feet was 74,567,000. Twenty-eight new enterprises and firms were inaugurated during the year. Thirty-three public meetings and lectures were held. Nineteen fires visited the city, including Brent Brothers washboard factory and Kleinfelder's foundry and Baker's boiler shop.}


{Centennial Year-----Building improvements this year $274,100, inaugurated April 12; they cost $48,000; the city hall, corner Sycamore and Third streets, purchased for municipal purposes, May 13, $2,500; rainstorm doing $8,000 damage in city, July 12; another severe storm September 23, causing downfall of P. Bernius new brick building on Chestnut street, and Hampe Brothers and Shannon's on Second street.}

Fourteen fires in the year.

May 17,--The passenger depot of the C.,R.I.& P. railway damaged by fire.

October 5,--The dry-kiln of the Island Lumber Co. burned : loss $30,000.

{Chambers Brothers diamond stone saw cut thirty-eight carloads of stone into building material, value $30,000. Total lumber business 100,000,000 feet.}


Great storm of wind, hail and rain in and around the city, June 25th.

G. W. Dillaway opened his present store building, December 1st.

{Brick burned by four yards, 5,400,000; new buildings, improvements, etc., $104,000. The farmers in the county erected more new dwellings and buildings than in any one year previous, all in spite of the dull times.}

{The real estate transfers amounted to $750,648; a great religious awakening culminating in the conversion of hundreds of souls in the various churches and the organization of a Young Men's Christian Association; the city officers removed to the city hall, formerly the Methodist Episcopal church; Roberts & Company started their new sawmill in South Muscatine.}

James Mahin, junior editor of the JOURNAL, died December 9th.

This part of the winter has been known as the " mud blockade." Travel on all roads, except railroads, and even on some of the streets, suspended. Corpses had to be carried to the cemetery on biers.

{December 27, extract from the Daily Journal: "Unprecedented.----A telegram from Winona, Minnesota says: 'The weather is very warm. The Mississippi is clear of ice from Lake Pepin to the Gulf. Ten days ago the river closed and boats laid up. They are now fired again. Bees flying as on a hot June day. River clear above the lake and excursion boats running from St. Louis.' " }


{Building improvements, $200,000. Among the principal ones were Webster's block costing $8,000; the first ward schoolhouse costing $20,000; and repairs to jail and court house costing over $5,000. Hershey's creamery was also built this year, and $20,000 in improvements made in Musser's mill. Damaging storm and floods in Pappoose and Mad creeks, August 19.}

June 30,--Fire destroyed one of the oldest houses in town, a frame, corner of Third and Chestnut streets. It was built {in 1839,} by Wm. Brownell, who brought most of the lumber from Cincinnati, Ohio.

July 12,--Water works on West Hill tested, and found to work well.

{July 26, loan of $10,000 additional voted for new schoolhouses and the houses were erected.}

{October 2, the veterans of the late war held a grand reunion at the fair grounds and had a glorious time.}

{November 27, three brothers, Vincent, William and John Chambers, left for Texas to engage in business, their brother Anderson following in a few days.}


{Building improvements, $225,000.} The Muscatine Oat Meal Co. was organized this year. Four new school houses were completed and opened.

First bridge over the Cedar river built at Lord's ferry. {Government did $10,000 of dredging in the harbor. Muscatine Island gardening first came into prominence----$127,5000 sold from it this year.}

{The Muscatine Western Railroad opened the What Cheer coal fields to us by extending their line to that place.}

{The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad was completed to Kansas City, Missouri.}

{July 4, a grand celebration; six companies of militia, one battery and three fire companies from abroad, without soldiers, firemen and citizens made it a gala day.}

{The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company obtained in August a lease of the B. C. R. & N. Railroad. Lumber business booming; Chambers sawmill lying idle for want of hands to run it.}

September 23,--Moses Couch, who lived here more than forty-three years, died, aged 77.

{September 27, Muscatine County Veterans Association formed a regimental organization and C. C. Horton was made colonel.}

October 6,--W. C. Betts, junior editor of the Tribune, died, aged 26.

October 12 ,--300 citizens of Muscatine went on an excursion to South English, fifty-eight miles west on the Muscatine Western Railroad. A new tributary opened to the trade of Muscatine.

{October 26, a convention of driven well owners held to take means to resist the demand for a royalty of $10 on each well.}

{October 30, four new schoolhouses, namely: South Muscatine, Weedville, Butlerville and Ward No. 1 were thrown open to the public, and in the evening a regular house warming was held in the First Ward schoolhouse.}

November 2,--Ex-Mayor J. P. Ament died, aged 55.

Dec 3.,--Steam raised in the new Oat Meal mill and machinery started.

{December 23, T. Cowell purchased the Muscatine gas works of R. T. Coverdale and took possession at once. Price, $55,000.}


{March 8, a tax of $10,000 voted by the city to complete schoolhouses.}

June 11,--Firemen returned from Marshalltown, bearing trophies of victory in the State tournament.

June 13,--Cadle & Mulford's planing mill burned : loss $20,000 ; insurance, $9,000.

{June 25, threatening high stage of water in the Mississippi.}

July 23,--Brent's wash-board factory damaged $6,000 by fire.

November 20,--Saulsbury bridge over Cedar river completed and teams crossing.

December 20 ,--Scarlet fever scourge reaches its worst, there being about twenty-five cases in the city and sixty-five deaths reported since June.

{December 27, the first train ran into Montezuma from Muscatine.}

{The construction of the River road between Muscatine and Davenport was commenced this year.}

{The Hershey Lumber Company built their $10,000 office this year.}

{It was estimated that $1,000,000 was paid out by Muscatine merchants for country produce this year and that $250,000 was expended in building improvements.}


January 22.--Wilton had a $5,000 fire, beginning in Farrier & Wooster's bakery.

{January 25, B. Hershey purchased the Burdick lumber mill and stock at about $100,000.}

January 31.-- Wm. H. Stewart, a prominent merchant and useful citizen, died, aged 68.

{February 9, Muscatine branch of the Irish Land League was organized, with Samuell Sinnett as president and J. J. Russell as secretary.}

February 12.--Langridge & Martin's grist mill, on Mulberry street, burned ; loss $6,000. The fire was at 2:30 in the morning, during a fearful snow storm, which stopped railroad trains the following day.

March 4.--Another blockade of trains by snow.
Thos. Hanna, State Senator, died, aged 61.

March 13.-- Thomas Hughes, who, with John B. Russell, started the " HERALD" (predecessor of the Muscatine Journal), died in Iowa City.

{March 31, an interruption of railroad travel by snow for the third time this winter.}

{April 2, unprecedented high water in the Cedar river.}

{May 18, firemen's parade and excursion from points on the Muscatine Western Railroad, with free dinner in the court house yard, made a gala day.}

June 7.--Telephone system inaugurated in Muscatine.

June 11.--Royal reception to our firemen returning home from the tournament at Council Bluffs. The hook and Ladder Company win the State belt the third time, and are the champions of the State. The Rescue Hose Company, of this city, proved the best runners, but an unfortunate accident lost them the prize.

{June 14, Captain Lyman Banks of Company C, of this city, was elected general of the First Brigade, I. N. G.}

June 16.--Wilton connected by telephone.

{June 27, track laying on the new road between Muscatine and Davenport was commenced.}

{June 28, James Mayes, member of the hook and ladder company, was presented by the company with gold watch and chain as the champion ladder climber of the state.}

{July 1, Muscatine Cattle Company was organized with a capital stock of $400,000.}

July 2.-- The city terribly excited over the shooting of President Garfield by Charles Guiteau.

July 30.--Captain Boynton, the world renowned swimmer, gave an exhibition, in his floating and swimming ruber suit, on the river.

August 5.--Marx Block, the well-known steamboat agent and resident of our city for thirty-six years, died, aged 67.

{September 8, Governor Gear, having appointed this day as a day for solemn prayer service to the Great Physician for the life of President Garfield, union services were held at the Congregational church.}

{September 20, Muscatine was in mourning for the death of President Garfield. A committee was appointed to make arrangements for the proper ceremonies. A message of condolence was sent to Mrs. Garfield.}

{September 26, obsequies of President Garfield commemorated by an impressive and military pageant, with memorial address by Hon. D. C Richman, six thousand people being present in the court house square.}

{October 21, Mississippi river high, ferry landing out of sight. Elevator, packet warehouse and waterworks buildings surrounded by water.}

{October 28, river on a stand, seventeen feet and six inches above low water mark. Over one hundred houses at the head of the island surrounded by water.}

November 6.--Two freight trains collided near Mad creek, on the Wilton branch. Both engines and six box-cars wrecked and $50,000 damage. Disobedience of orders the cause.

{December 5, passengers trains began running from the new depot of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific, cost $5,000.}

{December 7, Musser & Company bought the entire plant of the Dessaint Mill & Lumber Company; price paid estimated from $70,000 to $100,000.}

{Lumber cut, including lath and shingles, 79,500,000 feet; 65,000 doors, 35,000 pairs blinds, 90,000 windows, 28,000 barrels oatmeal. Buildings and improvements, $65,000; 4,050 carloads shipped over the B. C. R. & N. Railroad from Muscatine, an increase of 1,260 cars; oatmeal company bought 460,000 bushels of oats at an average of 40 cents, making a grand total paid during the year for oats alone $184,000.}


February 27,--Henry Hoover, one of our oldest citizens and an old Union veteran, Co. D. Thirty-fifth Iowa Infantry, died, aged 51. He lived here thirty years.

{March 4, William M. Stewart formerly of this city and captain of Company B, Thirty-fifth Iowa Infantry, died at Prior Lake, Minnesota.}

{April 6, the first locomotive to haul a train into Muscatine was sold to a Kansas road. It was called Antoine LeClaire, cost $12,000 and sold for $6,000. It crossed the river at Rock Island, July 1855, in a flatboat.}

{May 10, the contract was let for the new freight house of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific to be built of brick, 180X30, and at the east end two stories high.}

{May 23, it commenced to snow about 2 o'clock a.m. and continued until sunrise. About two inches fell.}

{June 17, the state firemen's tournament closed after a four days' contest. A row between hose companies in regard to awarding prizes and the slim attendance of companies did not make it a success.}

{June 18, news of the tornado at Grinnell, Iowa, caused great uneasiness here on account of Muscatine citizens visiting there. Fortunately none of them were injured.}

{June 22, the amount collected for the Grinnell sufferers reached $1,000.}

{June 27, the election for the adoption of the so called prohibitory amendment to the state constitution passed off quietly. The amendment carried in the county by 107 majority but was defeated in the city by 152.}

{July 3, Encampment of the First Brigade, Iowa National Guard; twenty-two companies of the three regiments, Second, Third and Fifth in camp, with General Lyman Banks commanding.}

{July 4, word was received telling of the death of Augustus J. Johnson, eldest son of Dr. D. P. Johnson of this city. He was killed by lightning near Coolidge, Kansas, on the evening of July 3d. He and two companies were riding on horseback when the bolt descended, killing Mr. Johnson and knocking down the whole party, horses and all. The other two men and the horses escaped.}

{The Fourth of July was celebrated in camp of the First Brigade by competitive prize drills, etc., followed by brigade dress parade. Nine hundred and seventy-seven officers and men were in camp.}

{July 10, the relief committee's report shows that Muscatine sent to the relief of Grinnell, $1,225 and to sufferers at Malcom, $732.15; total with lumber sent to Grinnell, $2,500.}

{August 17, telephone communication was established with Davenport, Rock Island and Moline, also with Geneseo and Cambridge, Illinois, and De Witt and Lyons, Iowa.}

August 18.--Captain A. N. Snyder, serving his second term as Sheriff of this county, died of cancer on the lip.He was [captain of Company F, Thirty-fifth Iowa Infantry and} a resident of Seventy-Six township.

September 1.--The JOURNAL unexpectedly called up by a telephone call from Clinton--the first message over the wire.

{September 6, the thirty-ninth session of the Iowa conference of the Methodist church convened and lasted until Monday, September 11.}

{Of the many public improvements made during the year are noted the extensions of Silverman's block down the avenue to accomodate Cook, Musser & Company's bank and the Masonic fraternity; conversion of Hare's Hall into the armory and parlors for Company C, Second Regiment, Iowa National Guards and Relief Hook & Ladder Company No. 1; the large brick freight house of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; new bridge across Pappoose creek on Front street at a cost of $3,200; Musser Lumber Company's new planing mill; inauguration of burning charcoal from pinewood near lower mill; the new pier on the river for coaling steamers; many new stores and residences erected and many more renovated and improved, all amounting to $195,000.}

{Over 10,000 cars of lumber, sash, doors and other articles were shipped out. Sales of passenger tickets amounted to over $50,000.}


February 16,--A heavy rain storm raised Mad creek so high that the water tore away the Second street wagon bridge and the railroad bridge on the Wilton Branch. Over a half a million feet of lumber belonging to Muscatine Lumber Company was swept out of the yard and carried in huge, unbroken piles under the Front street bridges. The ice bridge stopped the lumber, and it was piled out upon it several hundred feet from shore. A large gang of men and teams were set to work to bring it ashore, and all that could be rescued was landed before the ice broke up.

June 9.-- The County Board of Supervisors ordered an iron bridge to be put across Mad creek, on Second street, to replace the one carried away by the flood.

July 18.--Robert Williams, the venerable City Recorder and a citizen since 1855, died. aged 74.

{July 27, the auditors of Muscatine and Louisa counties let the contract for building the levee along the Mississippi across the island, for $32,000.}

August 4.--Wm. B. Langridge, one of our real estate and insurance men and a mason high in rank and Grand Recorder of the Commandery, died, aged 62.

{August 10, Muscatine Tile Works, costing $10,000, burned their first kiln.}

September 11.--Street Car Co. run the first cars over the line ; the track is over two and a half miles long.

October 13.--Standard time is established all over the country. Iowa comes in the central time district.

{Public improvements this year cost $90,000; freight receipts, general merchandise, 9,567 tons; carload lots, 2,103 cars. Shipments: Miscellaneous merchandise, 14,579 tons; carload lots, 10,721 cars. Shipments by river unusually heavy both ways.}


{January 3, The Muscatine Mutual Aid Society was organized.}

January 4.--Coldest night known for years---36 degrees below zero.
W. B. Craw, train master of the Muscatine Western, killed by train jumping the track.
{March 5, Hotel Webster was opened to the public and a brilliant entertainment held.}

{December 8, Muscatine Manufacturing Company's establishment, formerly Brent Brothers, was burned, loss $20,000, insurance $9,000.} Among old settlers and prominent citizens who died this year were : Elizabeth Mahin, aged 80,January 28 ; Henry Mollis, aged 69, February 8 ; M.M. Berkshire May 2 ; George W. Hunt, in Moscow, August 5 ; Mrs. Pliny Fay, ( in Santa Cruz, Cal.,) December 15 ; Theo. Becke, aged 77, December 21 ; James Jackson, aged 75, December 27.


{This year Front street was macadamized, the Turner Opera House was completed and the Lutheran church erected.}

{The citizens were considerably agitated over the efforts to enforce the prohibitory law. At a meeting held in the court house March 21, presided over by Lindley Hoopes, president of the County Temperance Alliance, it was resolved to raise $5,000 by subscription to enforce the law in the county.}

{April 26, The Muscatine Rifles departed for Mobile, Alabama, to engage in a national encampment.}

May 1.--Several thousand dollars worth of liquor seized by Constable Keckler under the prohibitory law.

{May 6, a cold wave struck Iowa and formed ice a-half inch thick.}

{May 13, The Muscatine Rifles returned home from Mobile, Alabama, and received a hearty welcome.}

{May 22, the warehouse, paint shop and blacksmith shop of the Muscatine Manufacturing Company were destroyed by fire. The fire department saved the balance of the plant.}

{June 1, Drury township, in Illinois, opposite Muscatine, carried the $500 tax for the Ferry road, which made $1,250 to improve the road on the other side from the bluff to the ferry landing.}

{June 29, the old grain elevator on the levee burned at 11:25 P. M. It was built in 1866, cost $28,000 and was owned by Captain Davidson of the Packet Company.}

{July 6, the strike inaugurated a few days before at the upper mill of the Hershey Lumber Company, which resulted in several suits for the disturbance of the peace, and the loss of wages for the time unemployed was declared off and every man went to work on the same old time at the same wages.}

{July 23, Muscatine exhibited deep and heartfelt mourning over the death of General U. S. Grant. Appropiate ceremonies were arranged for and the city was draped in mourning.}

July 27 .-- The mercury reached 107 degrees in the shade. The mills all shut down and all business on the streets was suspended.

{August 8, memorial services for General Grant were the most impressive ever held in the city. Minute guns were fired and bells tolled, all business suspended and the city generally decorated in mourning. An immense meeting in the court house square was addressed by president of the day, Colonel C. C. Horton, Judges Carskaddan and Brannan.}

August 29.--A boiler exploded in Niver's foundry, on Mulberry, south of Second street. The steam drum weighing 300 pounds, was thrown 400 feet away. One man slightly scalded and another slightly hurt.

{September 2, the cornerstone for the new African Methodist Episcopal church was laid.}

{November 19, commissioners were appointed to appraise the Water Works Company's property, with the view of its purchase by the city. The city's commissioner fixed the value at $60,135, while the Water Works Company's commissioner valued it at $77,825------the last including the franchise. No purchase was made.}

December 14.--The Turner Opera House was opened and dedicated by a German Theater Company. It cost $19,000.

The deaths of well-known citizens this year were Jacob Hershe, aged 80, Feb.15 ; Jacob Horr, aged 60, April 1 ; Mrs. Ruth L. Cadle, aged 61, April 12 ; Mrs. Frances Tuttle, aged 85, April 29 ; Gilbert H. Wood, aged 68, July 15 ; Joseph Heinly, aged 61, October 30 ; Mrs. F.R.Leffingwell, aged 83, Nov. 19 ; Richard Lord, aged 82, Nov.30.


{January 16, a large meeting of citizens in the county, in the court house, adopted a report from a committee presented by Rev. H. E. Wing for the impeachment of Judge Hayes, on the ground that he had prostituted the district court in this county for the protection rather than the punishment of persons selling liquor illegally. This report, with other accusations, was presented to the house, in Des Moines, which censured Hayes but because of lateness of the session did not institute impeachment proceedings.}

{January 26,} Two trains telescoped just above the city, John A. Owens, an engineer, of Oskaloosa, fatally injured.

{February 16, the thirtieth anniversary of the Old Settlers' Society was celebrated in the Academy of Science room. Addresses were made by Dr. A. B. Robbins, J. Bridgman, P. Jackson and others.}

June 12.--The most appalling and disastrous fire that ever visited this city broke out in a lath pile of the Muscatine Lumber Company, at about 11 o'clock in the forenoon, communicating with the lumber piles of the company and the mill, which were destroyed, together with other property belonging to the Huttig Brothers and others. The total loss was nearly $200,000, with about two-thirds insurance.

Harry Killian and a boy named Ward drowned in the river while bathing, on the Illinois shore.

Among the prominent citizens who died this year were : Suel Foster, aged 75, Jan. 21st.; R. W. H. Brent, aged 76, Feb. 20th ; C. Cadle, aged 77, March 11th ; Henry Funck, aged 68, June 6th ; Pliny Fay ( in Santa Cruz Cal ), aged 75, Aug.14th ; George Meason, aged 79, Oct.1st ; Dr. I. L. Graham, aged 63, Dec.3d.


{April 10, the Young Women's Christian Temperance Union was organized.}

{May 19, The Muscatine Rifles left for a national encampment in Washington, D. C.}

{June 3-4, a reception was given the Rifles on their return. The Journal issued an illustrated edition.}

{June 22, a public meeting in the court house was called to protest against enforcement of the prohibitory law. There were some exciting speeches but no resolutions.}

{August 10, a reunion of the First Iowa Regiment was held.}

{August 31, the Old Settlers held a picnic at Cherry Bluff, near Moscow.}

{October 11-12, the Second Iowa Cavalry held a reunion.}

{October 30, three alleged officers of a proposed railroad (Chicago East & West) conferred with citizens of Muscatine. The project did not materialize.}

November 29.--Organization of the Muscatine Bridge Company.

Deaths of old settlers and prominent citizens were : Dr. W. S. Robertson, 56, Jan.20 ; Hiram Gilbert, 69,Mar. 4 ; Michael Murphy, 58, March 8 ; John A. Parvin, 79, Mar. 16 ; Lewis Coe, 73, April 16 ; John Semple, 76, July 28 ; Joseph Crane, 73, Dec.6.

{Building improvements were made this year at an estimated cost of $200,000. A carefully prepared statement showed one hundred and ninety-six business establishments in the city, with two thousand, five hundred and sixty employees. Among the public improvements was a stone arch bridge over Pappoose creek, on Third street.}


January 4.--A wolf shot, on bluffs near St. Mary's Church.

{January 14, trains were blockaded by big snow storms.}

February 27.--Fizzle of an oft-postponed " grand circular wolf hunt."

{April 3, A. LaValle proposed to establish a beet sugar factory on terms, however, which were thought to be too hazardous to those who were asked to mortgage their farms.}

{May 11-15, frosts damaged tender crops on the island.}

{May 16, there was high water in the Mississippi, 17.5 3/4.}

July 4.--Failure of balloon ascension by S. Y. Baldwin at a much-advertised celebration ; a severe storm also sinks a boat with hundreds of dollars' worth of fireworks.

The deaths of old settlers and prominent citizens were : Christian Kegel, aged 71,Mar.7 ; A.F. Adams, 60, Mar. 11 ; Ira Nichols ( of West Liberty ).aged 68, Mar.22 ; and Sam'l McKibben, 67, Oct. 6.


January 23.--First bridge meeting in City Hall, at which initiatory steps were taken for the high bridge.

{February 24, the Van Nostrand collar factory was destroyed by fire.}

{February 27, the citizens vote cast was 1,464 to 197 in favor of a three per cent tax for the high bridge.}

{April 8, the bridge company was reorganized.}

April 12.--Captain A. Kennedy's old 1865 Moscow canal survey unearthed and discussed in the JOURNAL.

{June 5, a public meeting was held to help the Johnstown (Pa.) flood sufferers.}

July 6.--Milwaukee Bridge Company's proposition to build high bridge ccepted.

June 12.--John McGrew, oldest settler of the county, killed by runaway at the foot of Chestnut street.

{June 14, the heaviest rainfall for years-----4.1 inches.}

July 15.--Work begun on the high bridge.

August 15.--Carrie Simmons run over by railroad train in South Muscatine and killed ; Ona Sala crippled for life.

{September 17, an advertising carnival was held in Olds' Opera House.}

October 14.--Glen Gordon accidentally shot while hunting ; died from injury some days afterwards.

{October 17-20, a semi-centennial celebration of the organization of the First Methodist church was held.}


{January 5, Hon. R. M. Burnett was elected superintendent of the First Baptist Sunday school for the twenty-sixth time. All Saints' Chapel on East Hill was dedicated by Bishop Perry.}

January 15.--Wilton struck a good flow of water at a depth of 1450 feet.

{January 20, the Thirty-fifth Regiment Infantry issued a neat historical pamphlet.}

January 21.--The great wolf hunt took place, but not a wolf was seen.

{The death of William D. Ament occurred, when he was sixty-eight years old. Shelby Norman Post made a requisition on the war department for head stones for ten comrades.}

{January 23, the school board took action to secure cheaper school books.}

{January 24, the McColm Dry Goods Company was organized.}

{January 27, Muscatine citizens held a meeting to take action in the matter of securing a government building.}

January 28.--Death of Wm. Achter, aged 64 years.
February 1.--Death of R. T. Thompson, aged 59 years.

{February 3, the cemetery committee made an extended report as to the matter of the city regulating city burial ground.}

{February 6, Muscatine's government building bill was introduced in the house by Congressman Hayes.}

{February 13, the Journal inaugurated a system of displaying weather signals.}

{February 14, the Van Nostrand Saddlery Company was organized.}

March 1.--Death of Thomas B. Tallant, of Sebastopol, Cal.
March 3.--Death of Jacob Pickel, aged 83 years.
March 7. {March 3} --Death pf Mrs. S. L. Foss, wife of Stephen L. Foss, of the Island, aged 71 years.

{March 10, the annual school meeting was held and the board was instructed to call a special election to vote on the high school. Messrs. G. M. Scott and I. B. Richman were elected members of the board.}

March 18.--Board of Supervisors opened and considered bids for insane hospital at county farm.

{March 23, the Young Men's Christian Association district conference met in Muscatine.}

{March 25, the Citizens' Electric Light Company asked for a franchise for an electric street railway. The Street Railway Company gave the council notice of a proposed extension of lines.}

{March 31, Martin Bartlett's house on Cedar street was destroyed by fire.}

{April 26, there was a heavy frost at night but caused no damage to fruit on account of extreme drought.}

May 1.--The JOURNAL puts in a " pony " cylinder job press finest and best job ever brought to the city.

May 8.--Death of Dr. Joseph Hardman, aged 65 years.
May 17.--Death of J. P. Lewis, city assessor, aged 72 years.
May 18.--Death of Mrs. George Schafer, from burn received May 1st, aged 40 years.

May 22.--George Seay ( colored ) killed by lightning. Firemen's annual parade. {The Iowa City fire department were guests of Muscatine.}

{May 23, the Methodist septuagenarians and octogenarians had a social time at the First Methodist Episcopal parsonage.}

June 4.--Golden wedding of Joseph Bridgman and wife, who were married in Muscatine.

{June 10, Company C returned from the Inter-State Encampment at Kansas City, having taken $1,250 in prizes. They were given a reception at Hotel Webster on the evening of the 11th.}

June 12.--Death of Constantine Hinkle, aged 62 years.
June 16.--Death of Jacob C. Berdine, aged 80 years.

June 18.--News that the State industrial home for the blind, for which Muscatine had offered land worth $50,000, was located at Knoxville.

June 19.--Lightning kills twelve cows on Andrew Cochran's farm, Lake township.

{June 25, four horses in the county died from excessive heat----98 degrees.}

June 28.--Death of W. G. Taylor, aged 63 years.
June 29.--Death of Mrs. Marx Block, aged 62 years.

July 1.--The JOURNAL first printed by electricity.

July 7.--Death of Mrs. Milton Rice, of county farm, aged 52 years.
July 14.--Death of John Schmidt, aged 62 years.
July 24.--Married, at Walla Walla, Washington, Rev.S. H. Parvin and Miss Mary Dobbs.
July 30.--Death of Mrs. Margaret R. Thurston, aged 69 years.
August 1.--Death of J. M. Shellabarger, of Seventy-six Twp., aged 75 years.

{August 9, the First Iowa Veterans commemorated the battle of Wilson's Creek with a picnic at Nesselbush's point. Samuel McNutt received news of his appointment as consul to Maracaibo, Venezuela, and Alexander Clark as minister to Liberia.}

August 13.--County insane asylum completed.

{August 18, the school boards of the county met at the court house to discuss the uniformity of school book law.}

{August 19, the board of education took advantage of the new school book law and adopted the contract system of supplying books to pupils at cost.}

{August 21, the council passed the cemetery ordinance by which the city took charge of the cemetery.}

{August 23, the Rifles went to camp at Des Moines.}

{September 1, Labor Day, Ancient Order of United Workmen excursion to Davenport. Several Muscatine parties were hurt by a collision at Davenport.}

{September 3, the Old Settlers held a picnic at Wilton.}

{September 5, Rev. A. B. Robbins' forty-seventh pastorate anniversary reception was held.}

Sept.6.--Death of Jesse B. Henniker, aged 81 years.

{September 10, Consul McNutt departed for Maracaibo.}

Sept.12.-- Mrs. R. Altekruse is fatally burned at her home in Seventy-six Twp. while lighting a fire.

{September 15, United States minister, Alex Clark, was given a reception at the African Methodist church.}

{September 16, the Davenport Baptist Association began its session in this city.}

{September 20, Barnum's Circus visited Muscatine and drew the largest crowd ever seen in the city.}

{September 25, The Muscatine Rifles won first money, $125, in a competitive drill at Davenport.}

October 1.--Death of Ex-Alderman Geo.E. Jones, aged 59.

{October 7, Major A. O. Warfield retired from active service in the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific freight office after thirty-five years' faithful work.}

{October 8, the Des Moines branch of the Woman's Foreign Missionary Society met in Muscatine.}

{October 21, Consul McNutt arrived home from Maracaibo, having resigned.}

{November 24, the Lutheran church dedicated their new pipe organ in a grand concert.}

December 3.--L. P. Rousseau, while acting as a flagman, was run over by the cars, at the foot of Iowa Avenue and instantly killed.


{February 7, announcement was made that articles of incorportation were filed at Rock Island by the Muscatine, Rock Island & Peoria Railroad, which was expected to run from Rock Island to Muscatine and then to Peoria.}

{February 11, Dr. Charles Drury, a retired physician and old resident, passed away.}

{February 16, Semi-Centennial Anniversary of the institution of Masonry in Muscatine was celebrated.}

{February 21, United Brethren congregation planned to erect a new church.}

{March 6, the first fatal accident on the Muscatine high bridge occurred----Charles Schwin fell from the structure.}

{March 26, a Law and Order League was formed at the Muscatine County Alliance Convention.}

{April 25, John Graham and son were killed by the Firefly.}

{May 7, Eden Brown was killed by the Wilton train, the first crossing made on the high bridge.}

{May 11, George Weber drowned in Muscatine slough.}

{September 14, The fortieth anniversary of the United Brethren church was celebrated.}

{October 1, the Thirty-fifth Iowa Regiment held its reunion in Muscatine.}

{October 28, nortorious Dick Lane (afterward reformed) was arrested at Moscow for burglary.}

{November 3, Dick Smith, a brakeman, was killed in the local yards.}

{November 27, Haydn's Creation was presented by the Musical Union.}

{November 30, the German Congregational church was dedicated.}


{January 11, Simon G. Stein, a prominent merchant, passed away.}

{January 22, Muscatine raised $190,000 for a beet sugar factory.}

{February 16, the funeral of Alexander Clark, late United States minister and consul general to Liberia, was held.}

{March 8, Sam Jones delivered an address at Stein's Music Hall.}

{March 11, the Congregationalists decided to erect a new church.}

{May 2, Trinity church celebrated its golden jubilee. Citizens Electric Light & Power Company was sold to F. P. Sawyer for $10,100.}

{May 12, Albert Koepping and John Dremel were drowned.}

{September 5, Park place improvement project was planned.}

{October 3, an ordinance for an electric line was introduced into the city council.}

{October 24, Rev. J. S. White was mobbed at Olds' Opera House when he attempted to deliver a lecture entitled Romanism as It Is.}

{November 26, a temporary organization of the Muscatine Commercial Club was perfected.}

{December 18, the new United Brethren church was dedicated.}


{January 3, first services in the remodeled Methodist church were held, with a number of visiting members present. Dr. H. W. Bolton, of Chicago, delivered the address.}

{January 29, the contract for the Heinz pickle factory was closed.}

{February 8, Past Commander Brown was in Marshalltown attending the dedication of the cottage pledged to the Soldiers' Home by Shelby Norman Post and the Relief Corps.}

{February 15, articles of incorporation of the Muscatine North & South were filed, with William Huttig, Richard Musser, George M. Titus and Henry Jayne as incorporators. The capital stock was $10,000,000.}

{March 5, the new Congregational church was dedicated by the Rev. L. W. Munhall, of Philadelphia, who started a series of revival services.}

{March 16, R. T. Wallace was officially succeeded by J. M. Gobble as mayor of Muscatine.}

{April 4, Mrs. B. TerStege was fatally burned while raking her dooryard.}

{May 11, the homes of John Mahin, E. M. Kessinger and N. Rosenberger were blown up by dynamite, following activities against the saloons. The crime was committed at 1:30 A. M. and that evening $5,000 was pledged at a mass meeting to apprehend the criminals.}

{May 13, Judge Wolfe granted fourteen injunctions against saloons.}

{May 29, Muscatine's first electric car made its maiden trip over the new lines.}

{August 10, Jewel, the rainmaker, experimented at Fruitland and brought a precipitation.}

{September 8, J. M. Gobble was nominated for senator by the democrats.}

{October 14, the Congregational church was damaged by fire to the extent of $1,000.}

{October 29, the Rock Island roundhouse was destroyed by fire.}

{November 7, Muscatine went republican for the first time in twelve years.}


{January 18, council appointed a committee to prepare plans for a sewerage system.}

{February 26, D. V. Jackson was elected lieutenant colonel of the Second Regiment, Iowa National Guards.}

{March 5, municipal election was held and Dr. E. B. Fulliam was elected mayor.}

{March 10, the council awarded the contract to Beckel, Hayde & Company for the Cedar street sewer for $9,350.}

{March 28, the Iowa United Brethren conference convened in Muscatine in its fiftieth annual session.}

{March 29, the city council ordered two miles of brick paving on Mulberry street from Sixth to the Fair Grounds, on Second, from Mulberry to Pine, and on Iowa avenue from Front to Eighth street.}

{May 2, the board of supervisors made an appropriation to bridge over Cedar river near Breckenridge ferry.}

{June 1, degree of honor of the Ancient Order of United Workmen was organized.}

{Guy Baker fatally shot George Rexrode while riding in South Muscatine.}

{June 25, Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Lee celebrated their golden wedding at the home of Mr. and Mrs. John Mahin.}

{June 27, J. M. Gobble was appointed receiver for the Williams Rolling Mill.}

{July 2, business was practicaly dead on account of railroad strike. No trains except on the Muscatine Western for a week or more. David Eberling was killed by being caught in the machinery at Musser's mill.}

{August 7, J. Irving was killed in a runaway in South Muscatine.}

{November 15, the German Congregational College at Wilton was dedicated.}


{January 25, Brown and Foster, the West Liberty safe blowers were sentenced to ten years each by Judge Brannan.}

{February 8, William Huttig was appointed postmaster pro tem.}

{February 9, George Moore was found frozen to death.}

{February 26, Florient Braunagle was drowned while trying to cross on the ice at the head of Burdett Island.}

{March 2, the Rolling Mill was sold by receiver J. M. Gobble to I. M. Bollinger for $35,000.}

{March 5, A. S. Lawrence was elected mayor and the entire republican ticket won with the exception of one alderman.}

{March 16, Mrs Elizabeth Hershey donated $10,000 to Iowa Western University at Mt. Pleasant for the Elizabeth Hershey Hall.}

{March 26, six horses roasted to death in the fire at the corner of Iowa avenue and Third street, when Hoopes, Murphy and Bernhart barns and other buildings were destroyed.}

{April 25, an injunction suit against Sunday baseball players was argued before Judge Brannan.}

{May 30, Hershey lower mill was sold to the Consolidated Box Company.}

{July 6, Abe Seabrooks was shot in the neck by "Bob" Robinson (colored).}

{July 22, William Dwyer was killed by a freight train in the Rock Island yards.}

{August 27, Iowa Evening Newspaper Association met in Muscatine.}

{September 27, "Bob" Robertson was sentenced to four years for shooting Seabrooks.}


{January 24, George Crippen and Mart S. Woods were arrested for dynamiting the home of E. N. Kessinger in 1893.}

{February 24, Allison Club was organized, with W. L. Roach as president.}

{March 9, a special election was held for $15,000 high school bonds, 2,170 for and 184 against. One thousand ladies voted.}

{May 8, jury in the Woods case returned a verdict---"Guilty as charged."}

{May 22, M. S. Woods was sentenced to ten years in the penitentiary for dynamiting.}

{June 13, Policeman Jacob Neibert was foully assassinated by supposed tramps.}

{June 21, German Lutheran Orphan Home was dedicated.}

{July 14, Tony Gorham was drowned while bathing in the Mississippi river.}

{July 29, Belle Knott and Gertie Bishop, aged fifteen and thirteen respectively, were drowned in a pond in Musserville.}

{July 31, Silas Powell, a deaf mute, was killed by being run over by a passenger train in Muscatine.}

{August 11, Frank Toyne was instantly killed by lightning in Bloomington township.}

{August 25, A. L. Lindner resigned from the agency of the Rock Island Railroad.}

{September 3, C. M. Gould was appointed agent of the Rock Island Railroad in Muscatine.}

{October 14, The Thirty-fifth Iowa Infantry held a reunion in Muscatine.}

{November 2, The McKinley Club had a grand torch light parade, with fifteen hundred marchers in line.}

{November 7, Harold Edgerton, aged twelve, accidentally shot himself.}

{December 3, Columbus Theater was destroyed by fire.}

{December 21, D. V. Jackson was elected colonel of the Second Regiment.}


{January 2, the high school was formally dedicated with addresses by President Huttig, Joseph Bridgman, J. R. Hanley, Superintendent Witter, Mrs. Barbara A. Detwiler, Elmer Batterson and A. S. Lawrence.}

{January 3, memorial services in commemoration of the life and eminent services of Rev. A. B. Robbins were held at the Congregational church.}

{January 11, Err Thornton, who came to Muscatine in 1834, died at the age of ninety years.}

{February 21, $15,000 was appropriated for a harbor at Muscatine.}

{March 8, button workers organized a union.}

{March 16, Jesse Bryant was badly crushed by a cave in while excavating on East Second street.}

{April 20, the cases against George Crippen, Mart Woods, Adam Von Dresky were dismissed in the district court.}

{May 9, First Methodist Episcopal church was destroyed by fire. Loss $15,000.}

{July 1, postal department inaugurated the two delivery day system in Muscatine.}

{August 2, Hotel Grand was opened to the public. An explosion of gas in the evening caused much damage and excitement in the billiard hall and saloon.}

{September 1, W. L. Roach assumed the postmastership.}

{September 22, women suffragists held a county convention at the United Brethren church and perfected the organization.}

{October 4, a boiler explosion at Moscow killed Will Speers and Fred Marolf, and injured others.}

{October 12, Colonel C. C. Horton was selected as commandant of the Old Soldiers Home at Marshalltown.}

{November 12, Muscatine Building and Loan Association dissolved.}


{January 21, council adopted the Gamewell fire alarm system which was later dropped.}

{February 14, Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Berry celebrated their golden wedding anniversary.}

{February 16, great excitement prevailed in Muscatine when news of blowing up the battleship Maine was received.}

{February 22, Young Men's Christian Association basketball team won state championship at Cedar Rapids.}

{February 26, the council at a special session granted Hubinger Company a telephone franchise.}

{April 23, Colonel D. V. Jackson received orders to have Company C and Second Regiment ready to report at Des Moines for the Spanish-American war.}

{April 25, Company C was on arms all day. Great excitement prevailed on account of war prospects.}

{April 26, Company C left for the front; over five thousand at the train to bid the soldiers good-bye; whistles blew, bells rung and the city suspended business during the morning.}

{May 13, Colonel D. V. Jackson was mustered into the United States service.}

{May 17, Company C was mustered into the United States service as a part of the Fiftieth Iowa Volunteers.}

{June 15, Firemen's State Tournament opened a three days' meeting, with good attendance and fine parade.}

{July 6, John Haney was killed by the cars east of the city.}

{July 21, J. D. Husted was killed by a train near Fairport.}

{July 28, work was begun on the Muscatine North & South road at Wapello.}

{August 20, Company C came home and was given a rousing reception.}

{August 22, J. C. Hubinger bought the electric light and railway plant.}

{September 7, W. L. Roach declined the nomination for congress.}

{October 28, St. Matthias parish extended a royal welcome to Rev. P. Laurant from his sojourn in France.}

{November 3, First Muscatine North & South train arrived at Wapello.}


{January 20, First Muscatine North & South train carrying passengers ran over the new road.}

{January 21, A. E. Keith of Creston, ex-sheriff of Muscatine county, was burned to death on an ocean steamer.}

{February 4, one span of the high bridge fell; two horses were killed and several persons narrowly escaped.}

{February 21, C. W. Haley, formerly of Muscatine, was murdered in San Francisco.}

{April 7, Ottie Snyder's livery barn was destroyed by fire and ten horses burned.}

{May 9, The German-American Savings Bank was organized.}

{May 13, Dr. James Weed donated sixty acres of land in East Hill for a city park.}

{June 2, a hurricane visited the city, doing much damage.}

{June 23, Muscatine Western passenger train on Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railway was wrecked outside of the city. The engineer, fireman and several passengers were injured.}

{July 1, assessor finds actual value of city property, $9,578, 296.}

{July 4, Weed Park was dedicated with much ceremony.}

{July 11, Mrs. Chester Lillibridge and Mrs. Ben Lilly narrowly escaped death on a burning gasoline launch.}

{July 23, Mrs. Nellie Crippen was shot and killed by George Wright.}

{August 23, Rev. J. N. Elliott, of Union City, Indiana, accepted a call to the First Presbyterian church.}

{September 9, Muscatine public library was formally opened in the basement of the high school building.}

{September 28, Will McGaughey died as the result of football injuries.}

{November 18, old settlers marked with marble slab site of first home in Muscatine at Iowa avenue and Water street.}

{December 23, George Wright was given a life sentence of killing Mrs. Nellie Crippen.}


{January 4, Eugene V. Debs delivered an address at Stein Music Hall.}

{February 2, Riverview addition was platted. Biennial election law drafted by Senator Titus passed legislature.}

{February 6, Grand opera house was assured for the city.}

{February 13, Dr. D. Powell Johnson died.}

{February 23, Boer sympathizers held a mass meeting at the city hall.}

{March 3, Z. W. Johns was acquitted of the murder of Walter Boot.}

{March 4, Barney Schmidt was elected mayor.}

{April 9, George W. Dillaway died.}

{May 9, golf links were platted in the fair ground property.}

{June 4, P. M. Musser offered library to the city.}

{June 9, the city agreed to purchase the waterworks.}

{July 10, city voted in favor of municipal ownership of waterworks plant.}

{July 16, Gilbert Kepler drowned in the river.}

{July 22, a fire at the Huttig plant did $100,000 damage.}

{September 19, erection of Greenwood chapel was commenced.}

{September 22, Grace Lutheran congregation decided to erect a church.}

{October 23, State Baptist Convention opened in Muscatine.}


{January 3, first banquet of the Pan Hellenic Club was held at the Grand Hotel.}

{January 15, William Luedtke died from accidental gunshot wounds received the day before at the hands of his son, while hunting.}

{January 10, contract is let for electric station at Oak and First streets.}

{January 26, liquor dealers of Muscatine organized a protective association.}

{February 2, J. E. Howe secured the contract for Musser library, which cost $30,000.}

{February 11, Carrie Nation arrived in town, causing much apprehension among saloon keepers. Her visit here was immediately following her notable cyclone in Topeka, Kansas, where she started on her smashing career.}

{February 18, ministers appealed to better element to bring about a reform as the result of the crusade started by Carrie Nation.}

{March 4, Ruth Nollard, a former Muscatine girl, was shot by a baseball player sweetheart in Kansas City.}

{May 3, the mayor appointed a committee to investigate the matter of building a city hall.}

{May 11, Zenas W. John, found guilty of perjury while on trial for the murder of Walter Boot, was released on $5,000 bond.}

{May 12, the beautiful cemetery chapel, given to the city by Peter Musser in honor of the memory of his wife, was dedicated with ceremony.}

{May 28, the steamer Dubuque struck a snag at Oquawka and sank.}

{June 27, Theodore S. Parvin, for many years a resident of Muscatine, died in Cedar Rapids.}

{July 27, Thomas Selman, of Andalusia, Illinois, died in the county jail by reason of excessive heat.}

{August 2, Superintendent-elect Chevalier presented to the school board the proposed course of study, including a business course and it was adopted by the board.}

{August 3, McKee and Bliven's button factory burned.}

{August 12, work started on Hershey Hospital.}

{August 21, annoucement was made that the contract was let for the construction of the Milwaukee cut-off.}

{September 3, three men were scalded and badly injured by an explosion in Musser's sawmill.}

{September 5, camps were established and work on the Milwaukee cut-off expected to begin soon.}

{September 14, Muscatine people appalled at news of death of President McKinley.}

{November 5, republicans in the county elected every man on the ticket.}

{November 7, Father Laurent celebrated fiftieth anniversary of his pastorate.}

{December 20, Musser library was formally dedicated.}


{January 3, first annual banquet of Young Men's Christian Association was held. A $40,000 building was assured.}

{January 21, Tom Morgan was killed by Kid Noble.}

{February 20, a golf club was incorporated and plans made to build a club house.}

{March 4, R. S. McNutt was elected mayor of the city.}

{April 4, $22,000 was raised for the Young Men's Christian Association building.}

{May 15, little Hilda Lemkau, of South Muscatine was fatally burned while playing with matches.}

{May 19, Noble was found guilty.}

{June 5, The Rock Island got control of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railroad.}

{June 12, Colonel D. V. Jackson was nominated as a candidate to succeed Hon. W. F. Brannan as judge of the district court.}

{July 5, Hershey Memorial Hospital was opened.}

{July 10, a $40,000 building fund for the Young Men's Christian Association was secured.}

{July 17, Muscatine Journal issued a Jubilee edition, the paper having been edited by John Mahin for fifty years.}

{July 25, council stated saloons could not open on Sunday.}

{August 1, James Selden received the contract for construction of the new champion hose house.}

{August 5, Geneva Golf and Country Club house was formally opened.}

{August 16, the body of Mrs. Jessie Tuman was found in the woods and husband unconscious in cabin.}

{August 18, Mr. Tuman died at the hospital.}

{August 19, Henry Gerth was drowned in Mad creek.}

{September 15, Kaiser box factory burned, loss $25,000.}

{October 27, Arthur Wilhite accidentally killed Curtis Deems while hunting.}

{December 16, it was reported that Muscatine North & South would extend to Burlington within six months.}

{December 22, Major F. W. Bishop was elected lieutenant colonel of the Fifty-fourth Regiment.}


{January 4, Charles R. Fox, pioneer lumberman, died.}

{January 24, Mart Woods, found guilty of dynamiting Kessinger home, committed suicide.}

{March 11, Muscatine North & South went into the hands of a receiver.}

{April 13, F. W. Swan announced that he would give a pipe organ to the Baptist church in memory of his wife, Mollie C. Swan.}

{May 30, Citizens Railway Park was opened.}

{June 4, Fay Bennison, of Muscatine, broke the world's record for shot put.}

{June 14, Mrs. Ella H. Goodrich committed suicide by jumping from the high bridge.}

{July 1, tax ferrets unearthed $85,000 withheld from taxation.}

{July 15, J. F. Boepple instituted action against William Huttig for $50,000 damages.}

{August 6, Iowa avenue saloons closed their doors.}

{September 7, Milwaukee cut-off was opened.}

{October 16, White caps pounded Charles Girard of Conesville.}

{October 16, the city council passed an ordinance providing for three hundred gas and gasoline lights.}

{October 30, Captain A. K. Raff, city recorder, dropped dead.}

{October 30, Rev. P. Laurent, pastor of St. Matthias church for fifty years, died at Dijon, France.}

{December 3, fire destroyed car barns and twenty-five cars, entailing a loss of $53,000.}

{December 4, H. W. Huttig confirmed rumor that he and William Musser had secured control of the railway and light company.}

{December 26, Mathias Matters was so overjoyed at seeing his son that he dropped dead.}

{December 28, the Young Men's Christian Association building was formerly dedicated.}


{February2, seventh annual convention of the Southeastern Iowa Lumbermen's Association was held in Muscatine.}

{February 23, William Neff was killed by a train in the Rock Island yards.}

{March 7, R. S. McNutt was reelected mayor of Muscatine.}

{May 8, celebration of golden anniversary of founding of the German Evangelical church was held.}

{May 24, firemen held an annual celebration. Many factories closed and R. S. McNutt delivered an address.}

{July 7, island levee contract for $50,000 was let by government engineers.}

{August 7, cornerstone of $30,000 Lutheran Old Folks Home was laid.}

{August 18, $125,000 was levied by the city council to meet expenses during the year 1904.}

{August 25, Muscatine County Veterans Association met at Weed Park. One thousand soldiers, their families and friends were present.}

{September 14, a freight train collided with a switch engine in the local yards. Nine cars and three engines were wrecked.}

{September 2, German American Press Association met in Muscatine.}

{September 25, Rev. J. L. Murphy, pastor of Grace Lutheran church, resigned.}

{October 22, H. W. Huttig bid $60,000 for Muscatine North & South Railway.}

{October 24, Mrs. Croft was awarded $20,000 for injuries received in a wreck at Buffalo.}

{November 22, Byron Lord was fatally injured in a street car accident.}

{December 3, Michael Godfrey and son Leith, and Grover Eis were drowned in the Mississippi river.}

{December 8, first class of nurses to receive diplomas in Muscatine graduated from Hershey Hospital.}

{December 15, Henry Jayne purchased Muscatine North & South Railway for bondholders for $104,000.}


{February 6, P. H. Eagleton met death on the railroad.}

{March 23, J. H. Slattery, a former Muscatine man, was killed at West Liberty.}

{March 24, Mrs. James Weed offered to turn Weed Park over to the city.}

{May 13, William Weigand was killed by a train at Wyoming Hill.}

{July 2, the German Lutheran Home for Aged People was dedicated.}

{August 5, Brady's body was found in a cave on Island B.}

{August 27, Isaac Stark, a former Muscatine boy, was drowned in Lake Michigan.}

{August 30, William Jennings Bryan spoke at the Opera House on the subject, The Value of an Idea.}

{September 14, Jeanette Derby was murdered by Arthur Webb, who then committed suicide.}

{September 27, Weed Park Club House was opened.}

{September 20, Wm. Nagel and Josephine Collette were indicted by the grand jury for the murder of Brady.}

{October 15, natural gas was discovered west of the city.}

{October 31, the new soap factory filed articles of incorporation.}

{November 5, O. R. Schaeffer was fatally injured by a train east of the city.}

{November 15, May Muenz was accidentally shot by her sister on East Hill and died the day following.}


{January 2, William Nagel and Josephine Collette case was proved to be invalid in Rock Island county, but on the 11th were reindicted.}

{January 13, property of the Citizens Railway & Light Company was sold to eastern capitalists.}

{January 21, St. Matthias congregation decided to remodel the school.}

{January 29, Pearl Levin was burned to death.}

{February 3, William Slattery was killed by a falling tree.}

{February 21, the contract was let for the erection of the waterworks on the island.}

{March 4, Jacob Osthalter was elected mayor.}

{March 15, Company C entered A. A. U. basketball championship.}

{April 19, the contract was let for piping natural gas to the city.}

{May 2, Walter Kiefner was stabbed by an Italian in the railroad yards and died.}

{May 8, survey of the Muscatine-Davenport Interurban was started.}

{June 3, Jesse Mosier was drowned at Fairport.}

{June 11, Roach Timber Company incorporated for $1,000,000.}

{June 25, Muscatine postoffice included in omnibus bill before congress for $75, 000,000 public building.}

{June 30, president signed a bill giving Muscatine a postoffice.}

{July 16, Fifty-fourth Regiment held an encampment in Muscatine.}

{July 17, Battling Nelson appeared at the Grand Opera House.}

{August 10, eastern capitalists visited the city, investigating Moscow canal.}

{August 23, Bankers Reserve held a state picnic in the city.}

{August 27, Rev. Potter announced his decision to leave Muscatine.}

{August 30, H. J. Heinz visited the city and announced that extensive improvements would be made at the pickle works.}

{September 4, James Wilson was killed by a train.}

{September 10, Joe Keck and Luke Sylvester were killed by a train near Fairport. John Holsten shot his daughter and tried to kill himself. W. P. Stoddard was appointed pastor of the Methodist church.}

{September 1, Rev. Beckerman resigned the pastorate of Trinity church.}

{September 15, Robert Gladstone was killed at the oatmeal plant.}

{September 17, John Holsten was bound over to the grand jury.}

{October 3, reunion of the First Iowa Infantry was held in Muscatine.}

{October 15, Bessie Holsten died at Hershey Hospital.}

{October 19, William Nagel was freed from murder charge.}

{October 21, Patrick Nevens was burned to death at his home south of the city.}

{November 13, Muscatine County Bar Association was formed.}

{November 20, American Pearl Novelty Company was incorporated for $100,000.}

{November 30, Josephine Collette was released at Rock Island county, Illinois.}


{January 1, interurban survey from Muscatine to Davenport was completed after days' trip by engineers.}

{January 6, Rev. A. I. E. Boss preached his first sermon at Trinity church.}

{January 8, R. S. McNutt was appointed postmaster by President Roosevelt.}

{January 14, Congressman Dawson took up the matter of propagation of the clam.}

{January 20, Mulford Congregational church was dedicated.}

{January 26, Walter L. Lane, publisher of the Muscatine Journal, died.}

{February 2, First Congregational church was ruined by flames.}

{February 11, initial step was taken toward the erection of a new county building.}

{March 18, James J. Corbett, ex-champion pugilist, visited Muscatine.}

{April 17, fiftieth anniversary of founding of Presbyterian church was celebrated.}

{April 2, Muscatine Launch Club was organized.}

{May 7, proposition to build court house and jail carried.}

{July 24, injunction was made against the city saloons by anti-saloon men.}

{August 6, Louis Heberly drowned south of the city.}

{September 27, work was begun on the new court house.}

{October 6, John Wilson, Sr., drowned in the Mississippi river.}

{October 15, Conrad Bahr was crushed to death by falling lumber at Roach & Musser plant.}

{November 10, Rev. William Sunday opened evangelistic meetings in Muscatine.}

{December 4, Harry Jones murdered Mr. and Mrs. Will Van Winkle at Fairport.}

{December 15, Sunday meetings closed with 3,579 conversions.}

{December 30, Law Enforcement League was organized.}


{January 1, city welcomed new year by going dry. All saloons were closed indefinitely by Law Enforcement League.}

{January 21, Mississippi Valley Power Boat Association was formed in Muscatine.}

{February 4, erection of the Family Theater on Third street was commenced.}

{March 1, Knights of Columbus was organized in Muscatine.}

{March 24, Muscatine Tourist Basketball Team returned from a continental tour.}

{April 4, Andrew Davidson died.}

{May 17, Judge J. Scott Richman died.}

{May 22, Philip Stein passed away.}

{June 27, Emil Dittman drowned in the Mississippi river.}

{July 4, First annual regatta of Mississippi River Power Boat Association was held.}

{August 30, Rev. A. J. Kempton passed away at Madison, Wisconsin.}

{October 11, Theater managers and actors were arrested by the Ministerial Association for conducting Sunday theaters.}

{October 12, S. R. Chase, oldest resident of the county, died.}

{November 15, Judge Bollinger hands saloon petition knockout blow by his decision, holding the names on the paper void and that the saloons have been operating for several months against the law.}

{November 19, Colonel J. H. Monroe, a well known business man, passed away.}

{November 30, Will J. Hunt residence was destroyed by fire.}

{December 13, fire destroyed Charles Schmelzer's property.}


{January 1, Muscatine Rural Mail Carriers' Association was formed.}

{January 20, Commercial Club secured Ziegler Canning Company.}

{January 24, Harry Jones, alleged Van Winkle murderer, was captured at Milan, Kansas.}

{February 20, Frank Nadler was killed and others injured in Muscatine North & South wreck.}

{March 1, trial of Harry Jones was begun.}

{March 10, Harry Jones committed suicide in cell at the county jail.}

{March 16, Lowe jewelry factory was secured for Muscatine.}

{March 27, Mayor Barney Schmidt died.}

{April 1, William Grossklaus was appointed mayor to succeed Barney Schmidt.}

{April 6, old Muscatine county court house was sold at auction.}

{May 6, Earl Walker was killed on a Rock Island train east of the city.}

{May 20, Law Enforcement League started war on bootleggers.}

{July 19, Walter Kautz, aged twelve, was drowned in the river.}

{July 25, William Jennings Bryan addressed seven thousand people at the Chautauqua grounds.}

{August 4, contract for the new Cook-Musser building was let.}

{August 26, Charles Howard, president of Muscatine North & South Railroad announced that the road would be extended to Burlington.}

{August 31, circulation of the third mulct petition began.}

{October 14, Charles Knott met death on Muscatine, North & South Railroad.}

{October 18, James J. Mayes, veteran newspaper man, died in Kansas City.}

{November 4, the lifeless body of John Degler was found at his home. A bullet hole in the head indicated murder.}

{November 5, Frank Degler was charged with the murder of his father.}

{November 14, Fisch building, occupied by the Citizens Railway Company, was damaged by fire to the extent of $35,000.}

{November 27, announcement was made of the proposed erection of a magnificent church by St. Matthias congregation.}

{December 5, Fifty-fifth anniversary of the German Congregational church was celebrated.}

{December 12, the German Baptist church celebrated their golden jubilee.}

{December 15, a clam hatchery was established at Fairport.}

(In Summary)

{The first watchmaker was A. L. Beatty.}

{The first hatter was A. M. Hare.}

{The first gunsmith was Henry Molis.}

{The first tinner was James Brentlinger.}

{The first druggist was John B. Dougherty.}

{The first cigar maker was P. W. Hamilton.}

{Muscatine's first postmaster was Edward E. Fay.}

{Hinds & Humphreys started the first book store here in 1849.}

{Bloomington was incorporated January 23, 1839. Population 70.}

{The first railroad---now the Rock Island----was built in 1855.}

{The name of Bloomington was changed to Muscatine in 1849.}

{Robert C. Kinney was granted the first license as a ferryman.}

{Theodore S. Pavin was the first person admitted to the bar in the state of Iowa.}

{Judge William F. Brannan was the first county superintendent of schools---elected in 1858.}

{The first permanent storekeeper in Muscatine was Adam Ogilvie.}

{The first exclusive boot and shoe store was opened by Charles Neally in 1850.}

{In 1849 the first exclusive clothing store was established by Heilbrun & Silverman.}

{James W. Casey died in the fall of 1836, the first settler to be buried in Muscatine.}

{The first graded school in Iowa was opened in Muscatine, George B. Denison, teacher.}

{Robert C. Kinney erected the first hotel in Muscatine. It was opened late in the year 1836.}

{The first settler in Muscatine county was Benjamin Nye, who came in 1834 and located at the mouth of Pine creek.}

{In 1843 the first steam sawmill was erected and run by Cornelius Cadle.}

{The first telegraph message received in Muscatine was August 23, 1848, O. H. Kelley, operator.}

{In 1841, the first brick hotel was built by Josiah Parvin. The hostelry was afterward known as the National Hotel.}

{The first pork packed in Muscatine was by Joseph Bennett in 1840, for which he paid seventy-five cents a hundred weight.}

{The first school teacher was George Bumgardner, followed closely by John A. Parvin. The latter admits precedence.}

{The first brick building was erected in Muscatine in 1839, by Hiram Matthews, on the corner of Water and Cedar streets.}{The first ordinance adopted by the Muscatine council was in relation to the sale of spirituous liquors.}

{February 13, 1837, a marriage license was issued to Andrew J. Starks and Merilla Lathrop, the first in the county.}

{December 7, 1836, the act was passed by the Wisconsin territorial legislature creating the county of Muscatine and defining its boundaries.}

{John Vanatta was the first actual settler in Muscatine, moving here from Rock Island in the fall of 1835 and buying the Farnham claim. G. W. Casey came about the same time.}

{The Iowa Standard, the first newspaper, was issued by Crum & Bailey, October 23, 1840. The next week appeared the first number of the Bloomington Herald, by Hughes & Russell.}

{The first steam flouring mill was erected by J. M. Barlow, on the corner of Second and Sycamore streets. It was destroyed by fire November 1, 1850.}

{In 1851, J. S. Hatch & Company opened the first wholesale grocery house and this same year Greene & Stone started a bank----the first in Muscatine.}

{The year 1852 saw the first photograph gallery (daguerreotype) in Muscatine, the artist being John Hunter. That same year Brent, Miller & Company opened the first exclusive hardware establishment.}

{The first brick building was erected by Matthew Matthews in 1839. It stood on lot 5, block 13, Water street.}

{In November, 1837, a child was born to a Mr. Barclow. This probably was the first birth of a white person in Muscatine county.}

{A man by the name of Farnham built the first house in Muscatine, a log cabin, in 1833. He established here a trading post for Colonel Davenport, Indian agent and trader at the island of Rock Island.}


Back to the Semi-Centennial Index Page

Back to Muscatine Co. IAGenWeb, Index Page

This page was created November 19, 2002 by Dave Dunston.