Coad - Culbertson
THOMAS COAD, a farmer residing on section 23, Canaan Township, Henry Co., Iowa, is of English ancestry. He is a son of John and Jennie (Jeffry) Coad, both natives of Devonshire England, where they were married, and whence they came to America, about the year 1827, settling in Westmoreland County, Pa. In 1844 the family came to Iowa, settling in Des Moines County, near Burlington. With them from England came seven children, all born there: Louisa, widow of Isaac Cobbet, of Butler County, Pa.; Edward married Nancy Ford, and resides in New London Township; William wedded Mary A. McLaughlin, and then came to Iowa, where they both died; Priscilla, deceased, wedded Daniel Beer, of Pennsylvania, and came in 1844 to Iowa; Robert, deceased, married in Kentucky, and resided there the remainder of his life; Mary A. wedded Isaac Horn, and yet resides in Indiana County, Pa.; John married in Burlington, Margaret Thompson becoming his wife, and still resides in Des Moines County; Henry, the first son born in America, wedded Maria Riffle, and resides in Des Moines County; James wedded Susan Dixon, of Burlington, where they reside, he being in the employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad; Samuel wedded Annie O'Neil, of. Oregon, and is engaged in farming in Salem, that State.
Thomas, our subject, and the youngest one of the family, was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., July 8, 1835. Since 1844 he has resided in Southeastern Iowa, and for twenty-one years in Henry County. He was a soldier, enlisting Oct. 11, 1861, in Company A, 14th Iowa Volunteers, and after two years' service, was mounted and became a member of the 7th Cavalry. The first three companies were assigned to the frontier service, taking the place of the regulars who were sent to the front. Until July, 1866, he was in active service in guarding the outposts from marauding Indians.
After Mr. Coad returned from the war, he was united in marriage with Miss Emeline Hale, daughter of John D. and Sarah (Lee) Hale, old settlers of this county, and highly respected people. The ceremony was performed Dec. 12, 1869, Rev. James Haines, a Methodist Episcopal minister, officiating. Their domestic life began on the farm of Mr. Hale, and after a few years Mr. Coad removed to his own farm in the same neighborhood that he had improved. This was afterward sold, and his present farm of 160 acres was purchased, to which he removed in 1880. His new residence was completed in 1887 at a cost of $2,000, it being one of the finest in the township. Truly it is a fitting home for a man who has done so much to improve the country, and surely no happier one can be found.
The children are John M., Harry E., Laura M., Minnie L. and Edgar T. The eldest and youngest are deceased. Mr. Coad is a Republican in politics. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, known as Trinity Chapel.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p 293) (JC)
|John B. Coate
JOHN B. COATE, dealer in general dry goods, notions, etc., Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, was born near Xenia, Greene Co., Ohio, Oct. 21, 1836, and is a son of Joseph T. and Agnes C. Coate. Joseph T. Coate was was born in Miami County, Ohio, in 1815, in which place his parents had settled in an early day, going there from North Carolina. He and his wife were members of the Society of Friends, of which both were Elders. He had strong anti-slavery proclivities, and his house was a well-known station of the "underground railroad," in which many a poor fugitive was helped and sent on his way to freedom. He was one of the principal Abolitionists in Ohio, and his house was on many occasions surrounded by slave-holders from Kentucky, who, however, never succeeded in reclaiming any of their fugitive chattels from him. He cast one of the three first free-soil ballots ever cast in Greene County, Ohio. He died in 1877, at the age of sixty-six. His wife, Agnes C., was also a native of Ohio, born in Clinton County in 1811, and is still living in her native county. Her parents were from Virginia, and were early settlers in Ohio. They had seven children, as follows: Elizabeth B., widow of Abraham Haney, now living in Clinton County, Ohio; Nancy, unmarried, living with her mother; John B. was next; then Martha, wife of William Osborn, also in Clinton County; Orlistus S., dealer in carriages in Wilmington, Ohio, and Loren A. and Mary, deceased.
John B. was brought up on a farm and was married, May 5, 1860, in Clinton County, Ohio, to Miss Delilah A. Andrews, a daughter of William B. Andrews and a native of that county, born March 13, 1837. Four children were born of their union, two sons and two daughters: Ruth Eva died aged fourteen years; Mary A. is the wife of Harry V. McGregor, a dentist of Mt. Pleasant; Lincoln A. married Ollie L. Virden, and resides at Mt. Pleasant, and is the junior member of the firm of J. B. Coate & Son, and has two children, Eva and Ernest; Joseph William died in infancy.
While a resident of Clinton County, Ohio, Mr. Coate was engaged in farming, and continued in that occupation until December, 1862, when he removed to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, and engaged in the agricultural implement business for a couple of years. He was next engaged in trading and speculating, and then spent four or five years in traveling for T. T. Haydock, manufacturer of buggies and carriages, of Cincinnati, and for the Favorite Buggy Company, of Cincinnati; he was also connected with his son at Gainesville, Tex., in the mercantile business. For a time he was connected with Sechler & Co. as a partner, and was also connected in like manner with the Favorite Buggy Company, disposing of his interest in the latter institution in September, 1887. At one time he was engaged in the furniture and musical instrument business, in company with L. B. Davis, under the firm name of Coate & Davis. The connection continued but about two years. He sold his interest in the Sechler Buggy Company in 1887.
Mr. Coate has operated largely in real estate in Texas, and is extensively connected with mining operations in Mexico, Colorado and Arizona, and has been quite successful. Some of the mines in which he is interested are developing wonderfully rich ore and have advanced greatly in value. In the spring of 1887 he joined his son Lincoln A. in the dry-goods business in Mt. Pleasant. John B. Coate is a wide-awake, enterprising and successful business man. Affable and courtous (sic) in manner, upright and reliable in all his relations with his fellowmen, he has a host of friends, who respect him for his sterling qualities and trustworthy character.
Mr. and Mrs. Coate still retain their birthrite in the Society of Friends, but attend regularly at the Methodist Episcopal Church in Mt. Pleasant, of which their children are members. Mr. Coate is a Templar Mason, a member of Xenium Lodge No. 207, A. F. & A. M.; Mt. Pleasant Chapter, R. A. M., and Jerusalem Commandery, K. T., and also Henry Lodge No. 10, I. O. O. F. His wife and daughter May are members of Bethlehem Lodge No. 12, Eastern Star.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 421-2)
LYMAN COBB, deceased, whose life exemplified all the traits of the good citizen and upright man, was born in the state of New York in 1833, a son of Usual and Sarah (Stevens) Cobb. The father resided for a number of years in the Empire state, and upon removing to the west settled in Janesville, Wisconsin, whence he afterward came to Henry county, Iowa, where both he and his wife spent their remaining days upon a farm, their remains being interred in Forest Home cemetery, about twenty-six years ago.
They were both members of the Methodist church and their lives were in harmony with their professions. They were the parents of ten children, seven sons and three daughters, of whom four are living: Gerry, who resides in Correctionville, Iowa; Ebenezer, who is also a resident of Correctionville; William, who is living at Littleton, near Denver, Colorado; and Warren, who resides at Columbus Junction, Iowa. Two of the sons, Gerry and Luman, the latter now deceased, were soldiers throughout the Civil war. During the time of the war Mr. Cobb paid three hundred dollars for a substitute and also took to his home the family of his brother Luman and cared for them, so that while not at the front he did much for the cause.
Lyman Cobb of this review attained his education in the public schools of New York and entered upon his business career by working by the month in a hotel, where he was employed until about 1862. He then went to Wisconsin, where he spent two years on a farm and in 1864 arrived in Henry county, Iowa, and became identified with agricultural interests in this state. Here he owned one hundred acres and carried on general farming and stock-raising, and in his work was practical and systematic. He placed his fields under a high state of cultivation and gained a good profit from the sale of his crops and of his stock. Thus he annually added to his income until he had acquired a comfortable competence, and in 1890 retired from further active connection with agricultural interests and removed to Mount Pleasant, taking up his abode at No. 603 East Henry street, where he purchased a pleasant home and where his widow still resides.
On the 22nd of December, 1856, Mr. Cobb was united in marriage to Miss Emma M. Drum, who was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, January 30, 1833, and is a daughter of Andrew and Katherine (Gordon) Drum, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. Her father was a carpenter by trade and was a good accountant, often acting as bookkeeper for various firms. He also farmed at times and was an active, energetic business man. He held membership in the Odd Fellows society and also in the Methodist church, while his wife was a member of the Lutheran church. His political support was given to the republican party and he served as justice of the peace for a number of years, his decisions, which were strictly fair and impartial, winning him favorable regard from the general public. Both he and his wife passed away in Pennsylvania, the mother dying about eight or nine years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Drum were the parents of five children, of whom Mrs. Cobb is the only one now living.
Unto our subject and his wife were born four sons: Benjamin Franklin, who was born in Rock county, Wisconsin, December 7, 1858, and is now living in Denver, Colorado, married Miss Anna O'Hare, who died, leaving a little son, Samuel Nolan. He again married and by this union has two sons, Walter and Thomas. William Betrawn and Willard Betrawn are twins, born in Wisconsin, March 8, 1861. The latter married and has a daughter, Nellie Belle, and they reside in Santa Barbara, California. William, a barber of Mount Pleasant, Iowa, married Miss Allie McRoberts and has two sons, Roy L. and Harold. Ulysses Grant Cobb, born April 18, 1865, in Henry county, married and is living in Omaha, Nebraska, being a part owner and manager of the Balduff restaurant.
In his political affiliation Lyman Cobb was a stalwart republican. Mr. and Mrs. Cobb held membership in the Baptist church and for many years he acted as janitor of the church in Mount Pleasant, following his retirement from farm life. He passed away at his home in this city September 21, 1902, and his remains were interred in Forest Home cemetery. He was a man of genuine worth, esteemed because of his excellent qualities of heart and mind, and he left behind the priceless heritage of an untarnished name. Mrs. Cobb is an earnest Christian woman, of sweet disposition and modest demeanor, who has been devoted to her family and has also put forth many efforts for the good of the community, especially in the assistance rendered to the poor.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pps 327-329) (PE)
|ARTUS B. COCKAYNE
ARTUS B. COCKAYNE is the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 11, Scott township, and in the work of improvement and development here he has shown thorough familiarity with modern methods of farming, while his labors have been characterized by a practical spirit that produces results. He is a native son of Des Moines county, Iowa, born on the 15th of May, 1859, and he was the twelfth in order of birth in a family of thirteen children, seven sons and six daughters, who were born unto Hiram and Elizabeth (Riggs) Cockayne. His parents were natives of Marshall county, Virginia, and the mother was a daughter of John Riggs of the Old Dominion.
Leaving the south they made their way westward to Iowa, traveling by team to a town on the Ohio river, where they embarked on a steamer, proceeding down that stream and up the Mississippi river to Burlington. They then continued their journey to Flint River township, Des Moines county, which was then a pioneer district, in which the work of development and improvement had scarcely been begun. Mr. Cockayne cast in his lot with the frontier settlers and entered from the government five hundred acres of land, on which he built a log house. This was previous to 1840 and few indeed were the settlements that had been made at that time in eastern Iowa. Of this claim there were about seventy-five acres that could be cultivated at the time of the purchase but he at once began to further clear and develop the farm and in course of time placed many acres under the plow. He also sold a portion of the land previous to clearing it. His time and energies throughout his remaining days were devoted to farm work there and he resided upon the old homestead until his death, which occurred August 18, 1869.
His wife continued upon the old homestead for about sixteen years longer and then went to Cass county, Iowa, to live with her son, J. H. Cockayne, with whom she resided for about twenty years. She then became a member of the family of Artus B. Cockayne, living with him for a short time in Des Moines county, after which she went to the home of her daughter, Mrs. George Riffel in the same county and there died in December, 1889, at an advanced age.
Artus B. Cockayne lived with his mother until twenty-six years of age and acquired his education in the public schools of Flint River township. When not occupied with his text-books his attention was devoted to the labors of the farm and when he left home in 1885 he began farming on his own account. He first rented land in Washington township, where he lived for sixteen years and his savings during that period enabled him, on the 19th of February, 1891, to purchase one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 11, Scott township, Henry county. He has since built a hay barn, twenty by thirty-two feet, and has put eighteen thousand tile on his place and about one thousand had already been laid so that his land is now splendidly drained and its productiveness thereby greatly augmented. He carries on general farming and raises about ten head of shorthorn cattle each year, together with ten or twelve horses and about forty head of Poland China hogs, the sale of his stock adding materially to his income.
On the 1st of January, 1885, Mr. Cockayne was married to Miss Minnie Schnittger, a native of Burlington, Iowa, and a daughter of Frederick and Frederica Schnittger, both of whom were natives of Germany. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Cockayne were born two sons and a daughter: Artus Walter, born February 21, 1886; Rolly Herman, August 9, 1889; and Rosa Lily, December 5, 1895. All are yet at home. The wife and mother died March 1, 1896, and on the 28th of December, 1897, Mr. Cockayne was again married, his second union being with Miss Caroline Schnittger, who was born in Burlington and is a sister of his first wife.
They are now pleasantly located upon the home farm in Scott township and have many warm friends in this community. Mr. Cockayne is a Presbyterian in his religious belief and votes with the Democratic party, but has neither time nor inclination for public office, preferring to give his attention to his business affairs.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pp 42-44) (PE)
| REV. ELI H. CODDINGTON
REV. ELI H. CODDINGTON, deceased, was a prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal ministry in Iowa, and although he has departed this life, his influence yet remains as a potent element for good and his memory is yet a blessed benediction to those who knew him. He was born in Champaign county, Illinois, July 1, 1837, a son of William and Lucinda (Wray) Coddington. The father was a farmer in Maryland and came west to Iowa, both he and his wife dying in Hillsboro, Henry county. In their family were eight children, but only two are now living. Caroline is the widow of Greenberry Trekell, a resident of Mount Pleasant, and Cyrena is the widow of David Taylor, who is living at Neleigh, Nebraska.
Eli H. Coddington was a young lad when brought by his parents to Iowa, and his early education was acquired in the public schools of Henry county. He afterward entered the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mount Pleasant in 1859, and while a student there he belonged to the Hamline Literary Society. His alma mater conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts in 1870.
Rev. Coddington responded to the first call for volunteers to aid in the suppression of the rebellion in the south, leaving college for that purpose and becoming a member of Company F, Fourteenth Iowa Infantry, in 1861. He was wounded at the battle of Fort Donelson in February, 1862, losing his left arm, having a shoulder joint amputation, which always caused him trouble. Because of disability thus occasioned, he was honorably discharged from the service a few months later. After his wound healed he re-entered college in 1863, but in 1864 again left that institution for the war, being commissioned captain of Company H, Forty-fifth Iowa Infantry. He served for the full term of his enlistment and then once more became a college student, finishing his course in 1866. He was particularly interested in the study of languages and he could read the Bible in English, Latin, Greek, German, French and Italian. He became a member of the Iowa conference in 1866 and was assigned that year to the pastorate of the Methodist church in Troy, where he remained until 1868. He was pastor at Bloomfield, Iowa, in 1869, at Mount Pleasant in 1870 and at Fairfield from 1871 and 1873, at each place doing much good and leaving many warm friends.
On the 24th of December, 1866, at Troy, Iowa, Rev. Coddington was married to Mrs. Belle (Graham) Tannehill, who was born in Champaign county, Ohio, December 30, 1842, a daughter of William C. and Sarah (Patterson) Graham. His father was a grandson of one of the heroes of the Revolutionary war. His birth occurred February 15, 1816, in Tennessee and his wife was born in the same state, December 28, 1815. In their early married life the parents of Mrs. Coddington removed to Ohio, where Mr. Graham followed farming until 1845, when he came to Iowa, settling in Davis county, where he again carried on agricultural pursuits. He died November 30, 1882, at the age of sixty-four years, and his remains were interred in Adair county, Iowa. The mother of Mrs. Coddington died December 20, 1857, and was buried in Davis county, Iowa.
In the family of this worthy couple were five children, of whom Mrs. Coddington is the eldest. The others are as follows: Martha J. is the wife of F. L. Spurgeon, of Orient, Iowa, and has four children. Andrew M. married Miss Louisa Unkefer, by whom he has four children and their home is at Carl, Iowa. Howard A., who married Miss Alice Caldwell, by whom he has three children, resides in the state of Washington, and during the Lewis and Clark Exposition at Portland, Oregon, he had charge of the exhibits from his state. Sarah M. is the wife of William Hoskins, of Lawrence, Kansas, and has five children. After losing his first wife, Mr. Graham married Miss Ann Yost, by whom he had three children: Ida W., the wife of Elmer F. Bennett, of Portland, Oregon, and the mother of four children; Josephine, the wife of John Stewart, of Randolph, Nebraska, and the mother of one child, and William L., of Omaha, Nebraska, who married Miss Bertha Gandy and has two children. Mr. Graham was a whig in his political views and afterward became a republican. He held membership in the Methodist church, in which he served as class leader and steward, while his first wife was a member of the Presbyterian church.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Coddington were born four children, but only one is now living. Clinton G., the eldest, born December 7, 1867, in Troy, Iowa, died in Denver, Colorado, in November, 1894. He pursued his preliminary education in the schools of Mount Pleasant and in 1884 entered the Iowa Wesleyan University, which his father had previously attended, and became a member of the same literary society to which his father had belonged. He likewise held membership with the Phi Delta Theta and was a delegate to its national convention at Galesburg, Illinois, in 1890. He won the degree of Master of Arts in 1893. He was local editor of the Iowa Wesleyan and delivered the master's oration in 1893. After leaving college he became assistant editor of the Randolph Times at Randolph, Nebraska, where he remained until his health failed in 1894. He died suddenly of acute pneumonia. He was a member of the Knights of Pythias fraternity and the Masonic lodge and his political support was given to the Republican party. He was a bright and talented young man, and as a college friend was ideal, faithful and true. He death was a most severe blow to his mother, for in him were centered many proud hopes and around him were many far-reaching plans. He possessed a most sunny disposition, full of life and joy, and he had a faculty of binding his friends closer to him as the years passed by. He possessed a native American wit and was able to produce laughter in an entire company, at the same time keeping a sober face himself. He had been conducting the Randolph Times for a year with great success when he was obliged to leave Nebraska and go to Colorado for his health. He was well fitted for a journalistic career in every respect, but his ambition was too great for his strength. His ideas upon religious questions were broad and liberal, and while he did not subscribe to any creeds or dogmas, he recognized in nature ample evidence of a Creator. In his business life he was ambitious to excel, was quick to grasp an idea, was fruitful in imagination and had a mind stored with well selected and useful knowledge, and his language gave every evidence of being well chosen. He did not readily take up new friends, but his acquaintance bore the test of time and all who knew him learned to respect him and many gave to him their lasting friendship and regard. In social circles he was often the light and life of a company because of a mind well stored with information as well as wit and with a fund of apt quotation, which he readily used. During his last days many of his college friends and schoolmates called upon him and did what they could for him in his sickness, and when the end came they bore his remains home and he was laid tenderly to rest by the side of his father. He died in the home of his attending physician with his devoted mother at his bedside, and as the end came he joined with her in singing the hymn, "On Christ, the Solid Rock, I stand."
Ernest M. Coddington, the second child of the family, was born May 30, 1871, and died in 1872. Laura, the surviving daughter, was born September 1, 1872, in Fairfield, Iowa, and in Mount Pleasant high school prepared for college work, and in 1887 entered the Iowa Wesleyan University in 1893 and won the Master of Arts degree in 1896. She belonged to the Ruthean Literary Society and the P.E.O. Sisterhood. She was a teacher in the graded schools of Mount Pleasant from 1895 until 1899, spent the following year as a teacher in Ottumwa, Iowa, and taught in Lake Side, Washington, in 1900-01, while her mother visited there. She holds a teacher's state certificate. On the 3rd of August, 1901, in Mount Pleasant, she gave her hand in marriage to French L. Eason and they reside at Madison, Wisconsin, Mr. Eason being a commercial traveler. They have two children: French Leon, born August 1, 1902, and Marjorie, born April 30, 1905. Manly G. Coddington, the youngest child of the family, was born in Mount Pleasant, January 29, 1876, and died in August of that year. Two of the children were buried in Mount Pleasant by the side of the father, and the little son, Ernest, was laid to rest in Fairfield cemetery.
Mr. Coddington was a republican in his political views and he took all of the degrees in Odd Fellowship, continuing his active connection with the order until within a few years prior to his death. He passed away July 30, 1877, at Mount Pleasant, when forty years of age. His life did not cover a very long period, but it was one of usefulness, and the world is better for his having lived. He was devoted to his family and to his church and he accomplished great good in the world.
At the time of her marriage to Rev. Eli H. Coddington, Mrs. Coddington was a widow, having been married on the 17th of April, 1862, to N. H. Tannehill, who was born in Champaign county, Ohio, in 1837, and was a farmer by occupation. In September following his marriage he enlisted for service in the Civil war, joining Company I, Thirteenth Iowa Infantry, at Troy, this state. He became ill when on boat near Vicksburg, going to re-enforce General Grant, and died in the hospital at Lake Providence, Louisiana, of typhoid fever, February 10, 1863, when twenty-five years of age. He was buried there, being laid to rest in a soldier's grave, having given his life in defense of the Union. Fraternally he was an Odd Fellow, politically a republican, and religiously was connected with the Methodist Episcopal church.
Thus, at the age of twenty years, Mrs. Coddington was left a widow. Both her husbands fought under the stars and stripes. The spring following the death of her husband, Mrs. Tannehill was commissioned as a hospital nurse at Benton Barracks, St. Louis, and on the 1st of June, 1865, she received a commission as a delegate of the United States Christian Commission. Following the loss of her husband, she was anxious to have her time and attention employed, and taught school until a place had been made for her in the hospital. Benton Barracks was one of the largest hospitals in the west and included the amphitheater and other buildings on the fair grounds of the St. Louis Agricultural Society. Often there were two thousand patients there, and the institution was under the charge of Dr. Russell, of Natick, Massachusetts, who was in every way fitted for this responsible position.
During the first day of her hospital service Mrs. Coddington had a smallpox case in her ward, but the man was soon removed to the isolation hospital. She escaped the smallpox, but was taken down with measles. As soon as she recovered, however, she again resumed her work as a nurse. In March, 1865, she was transferred to the Nashville Hospital, where Dr. Russell had gone as surgeon in charge. Before she left Benton Barracks the soldiers in the ward where she had been for nearly a year presented her with an elegant silk dress pattern as a token of their good will and appreciation of her kindness to them. On the 1st of June, 1865, she was called to St. Louis to enter the work of the Christian Commission and remained there until December 3, 1865, when she returned to her home in Troy, Iowa, reaching there in time for the celebration of her twenty-third birthday after an absence of two years.
Here she gave her hand in marriage to Rev. Coddington, who had seven successful years in the ministry after that time, followed by four years of intense suffering. He left two children, but the son has since died, leaving Mrs. Coddington with one daughter. Mrs. Coddington possesses a remarkable memory, and the sketch of her life during her two years of hospital service she wrote without referring to any notes, and this article is found in a book entitled, "Our Army Nurses," compiled by Mary A. Gardner Holland in 1895. It is a very interesting record and shows not only the work of Mrs. Coddington, but also displays scholarly ability in its compilation. Mrs. Coddington is a most estimable lady, popular with a large circle of friends. Her life has been greatly devoted to good work.
Since the death of Mr. Coddington she has made her home in Mount Pleasant and has been very active in church work, acting as district secretary of the missionary society. For twenty-two years she had charge of the primary class in the Sunday school and had hoped to remain as its teacher for a quarter of a century, but impaired hearing necessitated her giving up the work. One of her pupils when she took charge of the class was Max Babb, son of Judge Babb, of Mount Pleasant, who at the time of her resignation as primary teacher was serving as superintendent of the Sunday school. From time to time she received many beautiful presents from the school in token of appreciation of her work. She was junior vice-president of the department of Iowa of the Women's Relief Corps for one year, filling that position at the time of her son's death. She took the federal census in the two wards in Mount Pleasant in 1890, and she has been an active member of the Women's Relief Corps, in which she has served as president, vice-president and chaplain. She has also been recording secretary and treasurer in the Home and Foreign Missionary societies, but has been obliged to retire from more active connection with these various organizations because of her hearing. Her life has been indeed filled with good deeds, acts of mercy and works of kindness, and many there are who bless her memory because of the assistance that she has rendered and the influence she has exerted toward nobler living and higher ideals.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pp 216-221) (PE)
Job Codner, a farmer residing at New London Village, has a finely improved farm of 205 acres adjoining the east city limits, another of seventy-seven acres in the same township, besides forty acres of good timber. Mr. Codner was born at Athens, Athens Co., Ohio, in December, 1820. His father, John C. Codner, was a large land-owner in that county, but was born in Rhode Island, his parents being of French descent. The name originally was Cadnea, but was changed to Codner by the founder of the family in America. John Chaplin Codner, our subject's father, was a farmer by occupation, and died in 1823, when his son Job was in his fourth year. His wife, Job's mother, was Fanny Tillinghast before marriage. She was also born in Rhode Island, and was of English descent. Her death occurred in 1828. Left an orphan at the age of eight years, Job was placed in the care of a widow, Mrs. Esther Miller Mingham, a Connecticut woman of sterling practical sense and kind heart, and under her judicious care Job was reared to industrious, frugal habits, and taught to be truthful, upright and honest. Mr. Codner still reveres the memory of his foster mother as one who did much to lay the foundation of a character that has aided him materially in his successful business career.
Mr. Codner was married at Athens, Ohio, to a "maid of Athens," Miss Hannah Raynor Graham, daughter of Josiah and Clarissa (Raynor) Graham, a native of Athens. Mrs. Codner's father was born in Scotland during a brief sojourn of his parents in that country while refugees from the North of Ireland during the Irish rebellion. His people were Scotch-Irish of the old-school Presbyterian sort. He emigrated to America in his youth, and married Miss Clarissa Raynor on Long Island. Mrs. Graham was born on Long Island and was of Scotch parentage.
Mr. and Mrs. Codner have two children, sons: Henry Hayes, born near West Point, Lee Co., Iowa, Nov. 17, 1850, who is a farmer of New London Township; the younger son, John C., was also born near West Point, Iowa, on the 6th of April, 1855, and is married to Lillie Biesen, and is a farmer of New London Township, where he has a well-improved farm of eighty-one acres. Mr. and Mrs. John C. Codner have three children, two daughters and a son: Irena Maude, born Sept. 16, 1882; Mabel May, born Dec. 5, 1884, and Leroy Champlin, born Sept. 3, 1887. Mr. Codner came to Iowa in 1847, purchasing a farm in Lee County and then returning to Ohio. He sold his land soon afterward, but returned to Iowa with his family in 1850, and purchased another farm near West Point, Lee County, which he improved and cultivated until 1864. He then came to Henry County, locating in New London Village, and one year later purchased a farm in New London Township and again engaged in tilling the soil. Having a turn for speculation, and possessing a good knowledge of values, he sold and bought several farms in rapid succession, making money by every transfer. In 1878 he purchased the farm of 205 acres near the east village limits which he still owns, and the elegant residence in the village, his present home. Mr. Codner has not confined himself strictly to farm life, but has traveled over the world more or less. In 1856 he made a trip to Texas, going overland through the Indian Territory. He left home in September, 1856, spent the winter in Texas and returned via the Red River, Louisiana, Arkansas and Missouri. While in North Missouri he was stricken with Spanish or yellow fever and came near dying. He reached home on the 25th of May, 1857. On the 16th of September, 1869, he started with his family for a cruise to the Pacific Slope, spent two months in California, visiting San Francisco and other chief points of interest, and then returned to Iowa. In his younger days he was an old-line Whig, and on the formation of the Republican party, joined that organization, and has since been an earnest supporter of the party. Mr. and Mrs. Codner are members of the Baptist Church, and are highly respected by that society and by the entire community in which they make their home.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 182)
|JOHN C. CODNER
JOHN CHAMPLAIN CODNER is a prominent representative of industrial interests of New London, being proprietor of the Codner mills and elevator. He was born in West Point, Lee county, Iowa, April 6, 1858, and is a son of Job and Hannah Raner (Graham) Codner, both of whom were natives of Athens county, Ohio, the former of French and English lineage, while the latter was of Irish descent. The paternal grandfather, John Champlain Codner, was captain of a vessel that ran into Lake Champlain and discovered that body of water, and it was named in his honor, the middle name being chosen.
When only eight years of age the subject of this review, who was named for his grandfather, accompanied his parents on their removal to New London, Iowa, and in the public schools of this town he acquired his education. On account of poor health he turned his attention to farming, feeling that the outdoor life might prove beneficial. He followed that vocation until 1889, when he was appointed by President Cleveland to the position of postmaster of New London, in which capacity he served for one year. He then retired from the office in order to become a factor in the commercial life of the city, joining John Buckingham in the establishment and conduct of a meat market under the firm name of Buckingham & Codner. After a year his partnership was dissolved and in connection with James H. Biesen, Mr. Codner purchased the business of Farrell & Redfern. They remained together until 1894, when their store was destroyed by fire, after which Mr. Codner engaged in the racket business, purchasing the Baptist church property and erecting a business block upon that corner. This was in 1895 and he continued to conduct the store for eight months, after which he purchased a third interest in a meat business and became a member of the firm of Codner & Lyman. Some time afterward H. Codner purchased Mr. Lyman's interest and the firm of Codner Brothers was then formed and existed for a year, when H. H. Codner sold out to Edward Roach. The firm of Codner & Roach continued business for two years, when Mr. Roach disposed of his interest to J. B. Hiles and the name of Codner & Hiles was found upon the signboard for six months, after which Mr. Codner was alone in business for six months and then sold a half interest to Dave Pickering. The firm of Codner & Pickering existed until 1899, when our subject sold out to his partner.
In that year he entered the employ of his brother, H. H. Codner, who in 1900 established the present mill and elevator business at New London. He erected the buildings and conducted the business under the name of H. H. Codner until 1902, when William H. Fye was admitted to a partnership and the firm style of Codner & Fye was assumed, being so continued for about eight months. On the 1st of April 1903, J. C. Codner purchased the half interest of Mr. Fye and the business was then carried on under the name of Codner Brothers until January 28, 1904, when J. C. Codner purchased his brother's interest and has since conducted the business alone. He deals in all kinds of grain and also coal and coke and until the 20th of July, 1905, he likewise dealt in lime, cement and cement blocks and builder's supplies, but on that day he rented to Andrew Johnson the part of the building in which he carried on that line of business and Mr. Johnson is still conducting the enterprise, while Mr. Codner concentrates his energies upon the grain and elevator business. The capacity of the elevator is about one hundred thousand bushels and in the month of August, 1904, he shipped over forty-two thousand bushels of oats, which he bought and sold the same month. He has a forty-horse power steam engine and a fifty-horse power boiler and he has all the necessary machinery for operating a first class plant. His business has constantly increased both in volume and importance and he is now a leading representative of the grain trade in Henry county.
In 1881 was celebrated the marriage of John Champlain Codner and Miss Lillie Caroline Biesen, a daughter of Herrman Biesen. They has three children: Irena Maude, the wife of Ellis McCune, and a resident of New London; Mabel May, the wife of S. P. Mott, of Batavia, Iowa, where he is a telegraph operator; and LeRoy C., who is his father's assistant in business.
Some time after the death of Mrs. Codner, Mr. Codner was again married, his second union being with Ellen Agnes Roach, a daughter of Patrick and Catherine (Hennessey) Roach. By the second marriage there are four children: Job, who died when between three and four years of age; Katie, who is now a student in the schools of New London; George Walker, also a student; and John Edward.
In his fraternal relations Mr. Codner is an Odd Fellow, belonging to New London Lodge, No. 56, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which he has passed all the chairs. He is likewise a member of the Encampment. Politically a stalwart republican, he served for fourteen years as constable of his town. Mr. Codner has a wide and favorable acquaintance in Henry county. Each step in his business career has been thoughtfully planned and carefully made, and he has been therefore a progressive one. Starting out in life in a humble capacity, he has gradually extended the field of his usefulness and is today in control of a large and profitable business, which is not only a source of individual profit, but is also one of the desirable elements of commercial and industrial activity in New London.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pp 107-109) (PE)
|CARL WILLIAM VON COELLN
New London is proud to number among her representative citizens Carl William von Coelln a man of broad and liberal culture; a man who values and appreciates education, for education's sake, who has devoted his life to the spreading of the ideas and to the creating of the ideals that go to make up a broad and well rounded existence. By his living the cause of education has been materially advanced, for he has been successively student, teacher and editor. It is to Germany that we are indebted for many of our scholarly men. In this country Carl William von Coelln was born on August 31, 1830, in the province of Westphalia. He is the son of Theodore August and Charlotte (Evers) von Coelln. He attended the public schools in the city where his father was pastor, later the gymnasium, at Hereford, from which he was graduated in 1851, then the University at Bonn, after which he entered the German army, serving for one year, during this time he furnished his own provisions and being a graduate of a gymnasium, he was required to serve only a year.
In 1835 [sic], he took passage upon a sailing vessel bound for New York, and after a voyage of fifty-two days reached destination in safety. From New York, he went to Ashtabula county, Ohio, where he found employment upon a dairy farm for one year. At the end of that period, he began teaching, and for the succeeding five years, taught in private schools and academies in Ashtabula, Trumbull, and Summit counties. In 1861 he went to Des Moines and became a teacher in the public schools for six months, then opened an academy in Cascade, Dubuque county. Later he was chosen professor of mathematics in Iowa College at Grinnell, remaining there for seven years; then for one and one-half years he taught in the college at Kidder, Missouri, following which he became instructor in Waterloo, Iowa, in the public schools.
From 1876 until 1882 he served as state superintendent, then entered the public schools at Dennison as a teacher, where he remained until he gave up his position to enter the employ of D. Appleton & Company, publishers of school books. In 1892 he went to Storm Lake, Iowa, to become professor of mathematics but at the expiration of four and a half years retired from active life. Again in 1902 he entered the field of active labor, becoming county superintendent of schools of Crawford county. He remained in this position for two years and in the spring of 1904 went to New London to become editor-in-chief of the Farmer Times, a paper which he purchased in partnership with his daughter, Anna.
In his religious views Mr. von Coelln is a Presbyterian, and a stanch supporter of the church in which he for many years has been and elder. In politics he is a republican and a firm believer in the doctrines as set forth by the party to which he belongs.
On the 19th of November, 1857, William von Coelln married Celia A. Goodrich, of Ashtabula county. They have five children, Charlotta (Mrs. Harvey J. Cook), of Dennison; Theodore A., who has not been heard from in twelve years; Carl D. connected with the Nonpariel, of Council Bluffs; Laura Christina (Mrs. Eugene Connor), of Tama; and Anna, her father's assistant and a member of the firm.
In 1896 Whitney & Noble owned the printing establishment, of which Mr. von Coelln is now the proprietor, publishing a paper call The Moon. Whitney & Noble sold the business to Mr. Gifford, who changed the name of the paper to the Times, which was afterwards consolidated with the Farmer. When Mr. von Coelln entered this business he purchased the Farmer's Times. It has a circulation of about one thousand copies and is a bright and newsy paper, always watched for expectantly by its subscribers; the only paper in New London.
Mr. von Coelln has lived a life of devotion to his chosen profession and has ever been an active worker in the field of education. His life has indeed been well spent for by his career as a teacher and his business life as an editor he has been instrumental in a wide-spread dissemination of knowledge. Mr. von Coelln is loved and respected by all who know him and well deserves the position he holds as one of the foremost citizens of New London.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pps 516-518) (PE)
|FRANK H. COLBY
FRANK HENRY COLBY, who is engaged in the livery business in New London, is a son of Nathan and Elizabeth (Blakeway) Colby and was born in Des Moines county, near Middletown, Iowa, on the 14th of August, 1875. The public schools afforded him his educational privileges. He attended school to some extent in his native county and afterward in Montgomery county, Iowa. He was reared to the occupation of farming and continued the work of the fields until 1903, when he took up his abode in Mount Pleasant, where he bought and shipped horses for one year.
On the expiration of that period he engaged in the livery business there, which he conducted in connection with his shipping interests until the month of June, 1905, when his barns were destroyed by fire, causing him serious loss. With undaunted courage and renewed purpose, however, he planned to re-enter business life and on the 24th of August, of the same year, came to New London, where he established a livery barn with seven head of roadsters and good modern vehicles. He is now prepared to handle a large livery business and has secured a good patronage here, for his reputation as a reliable and enterprising business man was known ere he came to New London and has been an element in winning him the success which has met him since he opened his present livery barn.
On the 17th of August, 1897, Mr. Colby was married to Miss Nellie Wilson, a daughter of Jonathan and Eva (Willeford) Wilson. They have become the parents of two children: Marjory, born June 22, 1901; and Merel, born July 17, 1903. Mr. Colby votes with the Republican party, but has neither time nor inclination to seek office, preferring to concentrate his energies upon his business affairs. He has gained a wide and favorable acquaintance in New London and a review of his life history as a farmer and business man of Mount Pleasant as well as of New London shows that there are many commendable elements in his life record, and this history would be incomplete without mention of his name.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pp 670-671) (PE)
|Robert S. Cole
Robert S. Cole, deceased, a prominent citizen of Henry County, was born in Dearborn County, Ind., Nov.. 23, 1822. His parents were Solomon and Sarah (Remy) Cole. His father was a native of Maryland, born of English parents, his mother was of French descent. Solomon Cole was a practical farmer and teacher, and was a man of superior ability and culture. His family consisted of a wife and nine children, of whom our subject was the third. They came to Iowa by teams, in 1851. The father was a confirmed invalid at the time, and the elder sons took all the responsibility and care of the family. On coming to this county the family purchased 250 acres of land, situated about twelve miles north of Mt. Pleasant. The title of one-half of this property was vested in the parents' name, and one-half in the names of James W. and Robert S., the elder sons. There the sons prepared a home for their parents, and cared for them during the remainder of their lives. They conducted the business of the farm and raised stock until 1849, when they removed to the city of Mt. Pleasant, and engaged in the lightning rod and pump business. Their first order was for $50 worth of lightning rods. The remittance of $50 was lost, but they received the rods. This business was established by J.W. and R.S. Cole. They soon added the manufacture of pumps to their trade, the work being done at Greencastle, Ind. Their venture was successful from the start, and they rapidly extended their line of operations. Two younger brothers, William and John, were admitted to the partnership, and in 1865 they formed and incorporated a company for the continuance of the business, with a paid-up capital of $30,000. They formed a limited partnership with their employes, establishing branch sale stations extending through Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, and other States, having in all at one time fourteen branch stations, and employing from 150 to 200 men. At the expiration of the limit of the first corporation, in 1875, they formed a new corporation with a paid-up capital of $200,000. The Cole Brothers built up an immense business, and enjoyed a reputation for fair dealing and good work that marked a new era in the pump and lightning rod business. The elder brothers, J.W. and R.S., were associated in business twenty-five years before they had a settlement. During all that time their business relations were so harmonious and satisfactory that they had no unpleasantness whatever. They had everything in common, and although each of them had families, they had no separate accounts.
Robert S. Cole, the subject of this sketch, was married near Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, Dec. 24, 1846, to Miss Mary Jane Hutton, daughter of Rev. Samuel Hutton, an early and highly respected pioneer of Henry County. Her mother's maiden name was Mary Levi. She was born in North Carolina, and was of German descent. Mrs. Cole's father was born in Pennsylvania, and he was also of German descent. He was a minister of the Baptist Church, and did much preaching in the West. Mrs. Cole was born in Sangamon County, Ill., Sept 27, 1827. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Cole, five daughters and three sons: Anna E. is the widow of Edward O. Boone and is a teacher in the Indian Territory; she has one child a son, Victor C.; Sarah J. is the wife of William Ridpath, an attorney of Brazil, Ind., they have three children; Laura M. resides with her mother; Hayden R. died Oct. 6, 1876, aged twenty-one years; William T. married Annie Maxwell, and resides at Council Bluffs, Iowa; Jay S. is engaged in the lightning rod business at Greencastle, Ind.; Mary and Minnie reside with their mother.
Mr. Cole continued to reside at Mt. Pleasant until 1880, when he removed to Council Bluffs, where he purchased the interest of one of their branch partners, and carried on the business at that point until the time of his death, Feb. 28, 1884. After his death his heirs parted with their interest in the business to Mr. Cole's brothers, Jan. 1, 1887.
Mr. Cole united with the Baptist Church when he was a youth, and was a zealous Christian during his life, prompt and liberal in support of the church and of missions, and charitable and kind to the poor and distressed. He was a philanthropist in the broadest sense of the word. He contributed liberally to the erection of the Baptist Church at Mt. Pleasant, and after having removed to Council Bluffs he made a liberal donation to repair the church after it was wrecked by a cyclone. He also took an active part in behalf of the church at Council Bluffs, and was foremost in all good works. A man whose word was regarded as inviolate, he enjoyed an enviable reputation in the community. After his death his widow and three daughters resided in Council Bluffs until July, 1887, when they returned to Mt. Pleasant, to the home which Mr. Cole had made in that city, which they had never parted with, and which is a commodious and comfortable residence.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 542)
|GEORGE S. COLLINS
GEORGE S. COLLINS, who for more than a half century has resided in Henry county, where he is now successfully engaged in farming, was born in Ohio county, Indiana, on the 30th of October, 1845, his parents being Henry B. and Catherine (Shannon) Collins, natives of New York and Pennsylvania respectively and the latter a daughter of George Shannon. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Collins was celebrated in Indiana, where they resided upon a farm until the spring of 1850, when, thinking to have better opportunities for the acquirement of a comfortable competence in the new and growing west, they made their way down the Ohio and up the Mississippi river to Burlington, whence they drove across the country to Baltimore township, Henry county.
Here Mr. Collins invested in one hundred and ninety-six acres of land on section 29, which was partially improved but was largely covered with timber and brush. There was a little log cabin on the place but soon afterward Mr. Collins built another log house, which was more commodious and substantial. He then gave his attention to clearing and tilling the fields, taking away the brush and timber and placing the land under the plow, so that in course of time good harvests were garnered. He lived in his log house until his death, which occurred on the 30th of July, 1877. Later in that year the family erected a frame residence and the widow continued to reside upon the home farm until her death, which occurred in 1885.
George S. Collins was the youngest son in a family of three sons and six daughters, five of his sisters, however, being younger than he. He spent his boyhood days on the old home place and is indebted to the public school system of Baltimore township for the educational privileges he enjoyed. He worked in the fields through the summer months, aiding in the task of plowing, planting and harvesting and he continued upon the old homestead until the time of his marriage, which was celebrated on the 8th of January, 1874, Miss Ellen Shelledy becoming his wife.
She was born in Jasper county, Iowa, April 25, 1852, and her education was acquired in the district schools there. Her parents were Cary D. and Carrie Amanda Shelledy, the former born July, 30, 1822, and the latter June 10, 1825. The paternal grandfather, Stephen Shelledy, was a soldier in the Greybeard Regiment of Iowa in the Civil War. He had also served as a soldier of the war of 1812, and thus did valuable military service for his country on two different occasions. Cary D. Shelledy was a saddlemaker by trade and manufactured the first saddle ever made in Mount Pleasant. He married and lived on a farm in Jasper county, Iowa, but his wife did not live long and later he married Sarah Jane Hale. About 1861 he purchased a farm on Skunk river in Baltimore township, Henry county, where he resided until 1877, when he sold that property and bought another farm in Baltimore township, residing there until his death, which occurred in July, 1892. In the family were five children, Mrs. Collins being the third in order of birth.
Following their marriage Mr. Collins built a house on the home farm and operated the land until after his mother died, when he purchased the interest of the other heirs in the property. He has since resided on the old homestead in the house which was built in 1877. He owns here one hundred and seventy-two acres of land on section 29, Baltimore township, which is arable and productive. He has fenced the entire farm with wire fencing and has made good substantial improvements. He has a horse and hay barn, thirty-six by sixty feet and he uses the latest improved machinery to facilitate the work of the fields. In connection with the production of crops best adapted to soil and climate he also raises Red Durham cattle and Houdan chickens, having now on hand about one hundred and fifty of these fowls.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Collins have been born four children: Cary A., born July 9, 1875, and now living in Jackson township; William Roy, born February 9, 1882, also a resident of Jackson township; Albert Ross, who was born July 9, 1887, and is at home, and Nellie Myrtle, born January 29, 1892. Mr. Collins is a firm believer in the teachings of the Methodist Episcopal church and served as one of its trustees for many years. His political allegiance is given to the democracy and he has served as road supervisor. Every movement that is calculated to benefit the township or county receives his endorsement, for he is a public-spirited citizen and one whose aid can be counted upon to further progressive public measures.
Almost his entire life has been passed in the county, for he was less than five years of age at the time of the removal of his parents from Ohio county, Indiana, to Iowa. Thus for fifty-six years he has been a witness of the many changes that have occurred here as the wild and unsettled prairie and forest regions have been converted into the fine farms with here and there flourishing towns and villages in their midst. The experiences of pioneer life were familiar to him in his youth and he assisted in the arduous task of developing a new farm. He has seen many changes, but none have been more marked than in the methods of farming. In the old days the work of the fields was done largely by hand, but such labor has been supplanted by the work of machinery and agricultural implements, rendering the life of the farmer now a comparatively easy one, although any successful man is always busy, and Mr. Collins is no exception to this rule.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, pps 211-212) (PE)
|John C. Collins
JOHN C. COLLINS is a farmer of Baltimore Township. The Collins family came from Indiana to this county in 1850. Henry B. Collins, the father of our subject, was born in New York, and his wife, Catherine Shannon, in Pennsylvania. They were married in Ohio County, Ind., where our subject, the eldest son, was born; his birth was followed by that of Adelia, wife of Robert Wood; William, who wedded Rachel Bun�ker; George, husband of Ella Shelledy; Mary, wife of H. T. Wood; Julia, deceased wife of Jonathan Bunker; Deborah J., wife of Stephen Shelledy; Olive B., wife of John Grubb; Margaret, wife of George Hannah, which completed the family.
When Henry B. Collins came to this county he purchased 206 acres on section 30, Baltimore Township, upon which his son George resides. With the exception of a small cabin and some cultivated land, Henry Collins improved the tract during his lifetime, and with the exception of the farm house built since his death by his widow, all the improvements stand as monuments of his industry. His widow survived him ten years, dying at the age of seventy-two. The children of this family have all been possessed of the same enterprise which characterized the parents, and all who are living, with the exception of Mary, who resides in Webster County, are still residents of Henry County. Henry B. Collins died July 30, 1877, aged sixty-eight, and his widow April 26, 1886.
Our subject was born Jan. 5, 1838, and was married, in 1859, to Miss Phoebe E. Kent, of Lee County, who was born Nov. 22, 1842, and is a daughter of H. Tapley and Cynthia A. (Crossley) Kent, who came from Montgomery County, Ohio, about 1856, to Lee County. Her mother is still living in Cawker City, Kan., and of their children, three sons and one daughter, William wedded Emma Glover; Theodore became the husband of Lizzie Carmichael; Ross is unmarried, and resides in the West; and Phoebe is the wife of John C. Collins. Since his marriage Mr. Collins has been a farmer four years in Lee County, one winter in Kansas, one in Mills County, Iowa, and the remainder of his married life has been passed in Henry County. Eight children have graced their union: Lucy M., wife of Adam Myers; William, Annie, Bertha, Tapley, Belle, Thurman and Frank. William is now a teacher in Kansas, and with Annie and Bertha, completed a classical course at the Denmark Academy, and Annie is now engaged in teaching in Cawker City, Kan. We are pleased to present the sketch of this family, who have for years been accorded a noble place in the social and business world, and as the Collinses ever will remain on record as among those who have aided largely in the development of Henry County, they are given a deserved place in her history.
In company with his brother, George Collins, a dairy was established on the H. B. Collins farm in June, 1887; the capacity of the cheese factory is 150 pounds a day, and they in partnership are using fifty cows in the dairy, which number they intend to increase. Mr. Collins superintends the outfit, and is a practical operator with large experience. Not a pound is shipped, the products not being sufficient to supply home demand. In this enterprise over $1,500 is invested, and they expect to largely increase the stock the coming months.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 232-233.) (JC)
|Isaac P. Cone
ISAAC P. CONE, a resident of Henry County since 1840, and a successful farmer of New London Township, has 120 acres of land and resides on section 15. Mr. Cone is a native of Vermont and was born in Rutland County, Oct. 31, 1815. His parents, Rufus and Ursula (Rice) Cone, were also natives of Rutland County, Vt. The father was of Holland descent and was born in 1778, and died in 1844. The mother was of an old New England family, and born in 1798. The family emigrated from Vermont to Hamilton County, Ohio, in 1833, where three of them died of cholera within a week after their arrival. The mother died in that county, and the father and remaining children subsequently removed to Butler County, in the same State, where the father died.
Isaac P. was reared on a farm, and was married in Butler County, Ohio, Feb. 2, 1836, to Miss Caroline Clarke, daughter of Dr. Benjamin Clarke. Mrs. Cone was born in Venice, is that county, Feb. 19, 1817. Her parents were from Buffalo, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Cone are the parents of eight children, four sons and four daughters: Samuel R. was born March 7, 1838, and married Catharine R. Chichester, and they have three children, a son and two daughters, and are residing in Harrison Co., Mo; Augustus was born July 4, 1841, married Sarah L. Hampton, and they are the parents of one son and two daughters, and reside in Des Moines County, Iowa; Elizabeth, born Aug. 15, 1844, is the wife of Leroy Gambell, and they have four children, three sons and a daughter, and reside in Warren County, Iowa; Jethro T. was born Sept. 22, 1847, and died Feb. 26, 1853; M. Esther was born Feb. 28, 1850, and is the wife of Henry Bannister, and has one child,, a son sixteen years of age, and resides in Mills County, Iowa; Alice May was born May 1, 1853, and died May 15, 1853; Benjamin E., born April 4, 1855, married Olive Van Trump, and lives in New London Township; Laura Nellie was born Feb. 2, 1853, and died June 13, 1871. Mrs. Cone was an honorable and faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and departed this life April 1, 1887.
Mr. Cone emigrated from Ohio to Henry County in the spring of 1840, and settled in New London Township, on the farm where he now resides. Two of his sons served in the late war, Samuel R. enlisted in October, 1861, in Bissell's Engineer Regiment, Iowa Volunteer Infantry' he was promoted to First Corporal and served three years and three months, or until after the fall of Atlanta. Augustus enlisted in the same regiment and at the same time as his brother, was captured at Holly Springs, Miss., afterward released, and served until the fall of Atlanta. Mr. Cone is a Republican and in politics, has served several years as Constable, and fourteen years as Township Assessor. He has now been a resident of Henry County for forty-seven years, and is widely and favorably known as an upright, honest gentleman, courteous and accommodating in his intercourse with his fellowmen, and is held in high esteem by all who know him.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 531-2)
|George H. Conover
GEORGE H. CONOVER, builder and farmer, residing on section 24, Jefferson Township, Henry Co., Iowa., was horn in Monmouth County, N. J., in 1832, and is the son of Cornelius V. and Joanna (Rogers) Conover. Both were natives of that State, of German ancestry, although for five generations they rank as native Americans. Joanna Rogers was three weeks old when the battle of Monmouth was fought, and her parents resided at Penolopen during the progress of that war. After their marriage Cornelius and Joanna began domestic life upon a farm in New Jer�sey, and there all their children were born. They are: Cornelius, now a farmer of Monmouth County, N. J.; George H.; Samuel, deceased; Mary M.; Joanna B.; Ann and Charlotte L.
Our subject learned his trade in New York City with his uncle, E. F. Rogers, a noted architect and builder. He completed the palatial residences of Cyrus W. Field, the great telegraph monopolist, at the corner of Twenty-first street and Lexington avenue, and the philanthropist, Peter Cooper's, at the corner of Lexington avenue and Twenty-second street, besides many other buildings of note. After four years' residence in New York City, George Conover came west to visit his uncle, John T. Rogers, who at that time resided on the Calvin Burrows farm in Jefferson Township. Seeing a great future for the new country he was easily prevailed upon to make this his home, and at once began work at his trade, his first job contracted for being the elegant residence of Jacob Moore, which was completed at a cost of $6,000, and was the finest residence ever erected in Jefferson Township. It was later destroyed by fire. He built the Trenton Presbyterian Church in 1868, also the Russell school�house, the Foster school building, the Union School in Wayne Township, the Crawford School, and also the fine farm residences of John Montgomery, Perry Morrison, John Felger, Dr. Leeper, Oliver Stephenson, Evan Davis, and a host of others of greater or less importance. For thirty-one years Mr. Conover has been the most prominent contractor and builder in the northern part of the county and formerly employed a large number of hands. The past three years his sons have aided in the work, the two eldest having become finished workmen and the third learning the trade.
Mr. Conover was married, in 1856, to Adelaide, daughter of George W. and Rebecca (Rame) Kingsbury, who came from Indiana to Henry County in 1855, and who, after a twelve years' residence in Henry County removed to Labette County, Kan., where the widowed mother and other members of the family yet reside. Mr. and Mrs. Conover have had twelve children, of whom but five are now living, namely: Edmund F., who has been twice married, first to Ida Fulton, and after her death to Miss Emma Ramer; Howard H., George W.; Irvin and Florence, who are married. Edmund manages the home farm, the father giving all his attention to his trade. Living only two miles from where he first located in the county, Mr. Conover has perhaps done more in his line of business than any other man in the county. His skill in mechanics keeps him constantly employed. The farm upon which the family has since resided was bought in 1862, and the fine residence built in 1873. Prominent in social and business life, we are pleased to make this mention of one of the best known residents of Henry County.
The father of Mrs. Conover was during his earlier years a mechanic, and was also a minister of the Baptist Church. In Indiana he was Judge of the Franklin County Court, and by that title he was familiarly known in this county. He died in his sixtieth year, in Labette County, Kan. Two grandchildren, Edna and James H., are the favorites of the grandparents, and the same farm is the residence of both families, who live within easy walking distance of each other. We complete this family history with mention of the brothers and sisters of our subject and his wife, who are:
Mary M., wedded to James H. Hough, also a contractor and builder, of Brooklyn, N. Y.; Ann, widow of John Lippincott, who during his life was a merchant of Freehold, N. J.; Charlotte L., wedded to John Bowden, also a resident of Freehold, N. J., and owner of a large foundry. Of Mrs. Conover's brothers and sisters, Theodosia wedded Jacob Rubel, a minister of Oswego County, Kan; Theodore, deceased, was married to Hannah Hinebaugh, who resides, in Labette County, Kan.; Madison M. became the husband of Zettie Cosier, and resides in Oswego County, Kan., engaged in the wholesale drug business; Winfield Scott wedded Kate Philpot, and resides in Missouri, where he is both a merchant and a farmer; William is the latter's partner in business, and the husband of Hattie Cosier; Joseph became the husband of Amelia Burrows, now deceased, and he is married again and operates a photograph gallery in Oswego, Kan.; Libbie married James Dickerman, a dealer in real estate in Oswego.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 292-293) (JC)
The names of the children are: Olive L., wife of Charles Ranes; Edward H., Horace C., Lyman, Martha E. and Florence. The unmarried five children live in a magnificent home with their beloved parents, who are regarded by their neighbors as a model couple. Both are members of the Christian Church, and as a family we learn of none who are more worthy and entitled to greater honor for having, during a quarter of a century, achieved a competence. Their home is supplied with all that makes life enjoyable. Flowers fill the room with fragrance, and the neatest of housewives makes welcome her guests in that cordial manner for which the family are noted. Mr. Cook is largely engaged in raising of stock, and year by year his income becomes greater. With his indomitable energy, ten years more of active labor will rank him among the wealthiest men of his township, and his reward is and will be a fitting recompense for that labor.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 207-208)
Obadiah Harris Cook
From the age of five years our subject grew to manhood on the farm, and at the age of twenty-two Miss Elizabeth Fisher became his wife. She was the daughter of John and Esther Fisher, who emigrated from New Jersey to this State in 1842, and made a location at Ft. Madison. J. Fisher, Jr., a brother, was for a number of years engaged in business in Salem, leaving that village in 1887 for Clarinda, Iowa. Another brother, Alexander, is still in business in Salem. There was a large number of children born to Mr. Fisher, who was twice married. The second wife was Eliza Jane Alterman, both bearing children to him. The marriage of our subject to Miss Fisher was celebrated April 17, 1856. Their domestic life was begun and has been continued upon the old home, and their children have all been born in the roomy old mansion: Amos E. wedded Florence Rice; Edwin W., Clifton H. and Cora B. are unmarried. The two eldest children are now in business. Amos graduated in law at Iowa City, and is a practicing attorney at Malvern, Iowa; Edwin graduated in medicine at Iowa City, and is a resident physician of Plattsmouth, Neb; Clifton graduated in stenography at Iowa City the winter of 1887; Cora is completing her education, and makes the old home cheerful by her presence. Mr. Cook has served his township in positions of trust for several years. He has been one of the energetic men who have aided in making this one of the noteworthy counties of Southeastern Iowa. Through the endeavors of Mr. Cook, George W. Tyner and X.H. Arnold, the Salem District Fair has been made a success, and in 1887, the third year, was largely attended. The premium list awarded was $250, and Mr. Cook is now upon his second term as President of the society. The grading and breeding of stock are largely due to such enterprise, and to such men we are pleased to give proper credit. As a man and citizen Mr. Cook justly holds a front rank in Salem Township.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp. 616-617)
|Joseph C. Courtney
JOSEPH C. COURTNEY, residing on section 36, Marion Township, was born in Monongahela County, Va., July 13, 1811, and is a son of Thomas and Mary (Cravens) Courtney. His grandfather Cravens was a native of Scotland, emigrating to America in a very early day, and served all through the Revolutionary War, taking part in the principal battles. His mother was born near the Alleghany Mountains in Virginia, while his father was a native of Ireland, coming to this country when a child. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Courtney were the parents of thirteen children: our subject was first in order of birth; John is farming in Marion County, Iowa; Robert is also a farmer in Marion County, Iowa; Levi is a farmer in Highland County, Ohio; Margery, deceased wife of Kinsman Wolf; Lemuel, deceased; Elizabeth married Mr. Murphy; Lyda, deceased; Sarah, wife of Mr. Puckett, a farmer in Marion County, Iowa; Mary died at the age of ten; Rebecca, the widow of John Puckett; William, a farmer in Marion Township; Thomas, a farmer in Marion County, Iowa. Mr. Courtney removed from Virginia to Highland County, Ohio, in 1813, locating near Hillsboro, where he lived until the time of his death, which occurred in 1844. He was a man who took great interest in school and church matters, and was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mrs. Courtney departed this life in 1879, at the age of ninety-two. She was also a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, a kind and considerate mother, and a greatly esteemed friend.
Our subject received an education as he could get by attending the district school in winter. At the age of fourteen he began learning blacksmithing, which trade he has since followed. In the year 1852 he removed from Ohio to Mt. Pleasant, where he resided for two years, then buying forty-five acres of land on section 36, he built a shop in 1854. He is a good workman, doing his work in a thorough business-like manner. In connection with his shop he has also an apiary, keeping from sixty to ninety hives.
In the spring of 1833 Mr. Courtney was united in marriage with Miss Mary Long, a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Herston) Long, who were natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Courtney have been the parents of ten children: Joseph was a member of the 13th Infantry Volunteers, and is now clerking in Beaver, Pa.; Allen, who is now a farmer in Marion Township, belonged to the 4th Iowa Cavalry, and was in all the principal battles with that regiment. Joseph was captured at Chattanooga, and placed in that loathsome, horrible prison at Andersonville; Elizabeth is the wife of Frank Jewett, a farmer in Marion Township; Jane, the widow of Thomas Lehew, resides in Mt. Pleasant; Emeline married William Fullerton, a resident of Lincoln, Neb.; Mary, deceased; Winfield has charge of the home farm; Hannah, at home; Thomas, in Mendon, Neb., and Maria, at home.
Mr. and Mrs. Courtney have traveled life's journey together for fifty-two years. They have been earnest, active workers in the vineyard of the Master for sixty-three years. Mr. Courtney is a man who takes great interest in all political affairs, is an ardent Republican, and though believing that Prohibition is right, he yet feels that the Republican party has not completed its mission. Mr. and Mrs. Courtney are pioneers of Henry County; they have always been ready to forward any enterprise for the good of the community, and are highly respected by all.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 556-7)
Having retired from the actual responsibilities of general farming and being able to intrust [sic] his interests to his son, Mr. Hugh Cozier is now residing at his beautiful home in Canaan township, enjoying the fruits of his labors, in the luxurious surroundings of his industry and perseverance have created.
Hugh Cozier was born in Clark county, Ohio , September 20, 1839 , thus having reached an age, ripened by living, but still young enough to enjoy many years of peaceful happiness. Through his mother, Hannah Carter, born in Clark county, he was related to Governor Goeble, of Kentucky , his paternal grandfather being Benjamin Cozier, of Connecticut , and his grandmother Sarah Craig. His father, John Cozier, of Clark county, Ohio , was a tanner by trade, and afterward a miller. In December, 1855, he came with his family to Mount Pleasant to engage in farming which pursuit he followed until his death in 1863. His wife passed away in 1857. After the death of his parents he leased farms in Henry county, and in 1870, on May 12, he was united in marriage to Miss Mary V. Nixon. Miss Nixon was born at Guyandotte, Cabelle county, West Virginia , December 29, 1843 , and came to Iowa with her parents who settled in Jackson county. They remained there several years, then removed to Danville , Des Moines county, and in 1867 took up their residence in Canaan township, Henry county. She received her education in the schools of Iowa , having left West Virginia at too tender an age to have attended school there.
Mr. Cozier and his wife have three living children: Caddie, born November 16, 1871 , married Lemuel Whittaker, a farmer of Henry county. They have one son, Karl, born December 30, 1897 . Mary Frances, at home, born September 15, 1893 , and John Edward, of Canaan township. After his marriage he leased a farm in Canaan township for two years, and in 1872 he bought seventy-five acres in section 18. This land was unimproved, and the task of breaking it up began immediately to prepare for the abundant harvests to come. He built a house of two rooms and made a prairie stable the first year; afterward had a shed stable. He now has the place improved and well tiled. In 1893 he remodeled the house, converting it into a comfortable and commodious dwelling of eight living rooms, with closets and pantries for the convenience of his family, and adding a summer dining-room to complete the comforts.
In 1875 he bought eighty acres in section 17, just opposite the road north of his first farm. This was raw prairie, and has been fenced, tiled and provided with a dug well. He added also sixty acres joining on the east of section 17, which had an old barn and house. He rebuilt the house, changing it from a building one and a half stories high, containing four rooms, to a two-story building with six rooms. His son now lives on this farm. He married Orlena Alice Short, who was born in Henry county, a daughter of Benjamin and Samantha (Zeigler) Short.
Mr. Hugh Cozier has devoted his life to general farming and stock-raising, but an illness in 1898 compelled him to retire from active duties, though he can still advise and help by his mature judgment those of the younger generation.
(BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF HENRY COUNTY, IOWA, Hobart Publishing Company, Chicago , 1906, pp. 136-137) (PF)
WILLIAM A. CRABTREE is a prominent farmer and stock-raiser of Henry County, Iowa, residing upon section 3, Marion Township. He was born in Monroe County Ky., Jan. 24, 1827. His parents were Hiram and Margaret (Johnson) Crabtree. They were natives of Virginia, but were married in Kentucky, where ten children were born to them, six of whom are now living: Abraham married Miss Lucinda Murphy; they reside on a farm in Mercer County, Ill., and have a family of seven children. John M. was united in marriage with Melinda King; he is a farmer in Tazewell County, Ill. Elizabeth, who is the widow of John S. Hamilton, resides in Scott County, Ill.; Mary is the wife of S.H. Redman, a nurseryman in Villisca, Iowa, who for a number of years ran a steam ferry at Keithsburg, Ill.; Michael died in 1862, in Scott County, Ill.; Hiram died at Nashville, Tenn., while fighting for his country; Stephen is farming in Tazewell County, Ill.; Catherine, the widow of W.A. Kirkpatrick, is residing in Scott County, Ill.; our subject is tenth in order of birth. In the year 1830 Mr. Crabtree emigrated with his family to Illinois, locating in what was at that time Morgan County, but which has since been divided, they living in the part known as Scott County. Here the children grew to man and womanhood, except one child who died in infancy. Here the parents both departed this life, the father dying Sept. 13, 1844, at the age of seventy-one; his wife following him to that home of the redeemed on the 22d of June, 1868, at the age of eighty-three. They were devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, Mr. Crabtree being a local minister. He was one who did much to civilize and Christianize the new community in which he lived.
On account of the death of his father, our subject was compelled to take charge of the farm and care for the family, and for one so young, he being but seventeen, it was a great responsibility. His education was received in such spare moments as he could find from farm work. He remained in charge of the farm until the age of twenty-two, then going to Winchester he learned the trade of plow stocking and carpentering. Making Winchester his home, he followed that trade for twenty-one years, or until the year 1870, when he came to Henry County. Buying 360 acres of land on sections 3 and 4, of Marion Township, he has since given his attention to farming and stock-raising. Mr. Crabtree was united in marriage with Miss Eliza A. Martin, on the 6th of August, 1854, in Scott County, Ill. She is the daughter of Samuel and Susan (Sisson) Martin, who were natives of Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Crabtree are the parents of four children: Dora, who died in infancy; Nettie Belle, who was born in 1857, is the wife of Winfield S. Hickman, a farmer of Frontier County, Neb.; they have one son, Frederick G. Charles L. was united in marriage with Miss Estella Foster, who is a native of Henry County, Iowa. They are the happy parents of one child, Edmund C. These three children were born in Scott County, Ill.; William H., their fourth child, was born in Henry County. Mr. and Mrs. Crabtree are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, taking an active interest in all church work. They are highly respected in the community in which they reside, and are always ready to advance an enterprise that is for the public good. Mr. Crabtree has held various township offices, both in Illinois and Iowa, and has been Assessor for two years. Politically he is a Republican, but in favor of prohibition.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 367)(PW)
|Baron H. Crane
BARON H. CRANE, dealer in hardware, stoves and tinware, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, the eldest child of Rev. Eber and Nancy A. (Knowlton) Crane, was born in Kent, Portage Co., Ohio, Nov. 20, 1838. His father was born at Clinton, Conn., near Long Island Sound, May 3, 1808. He was descended from one of the oldest families of New England (see sketch). Baron H. spent his boyhood in his native State, and in 1853 came with his parents to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, where he completed his schooling. He was engaged in farming until he enlisted, in August, 1862, as a private of Company B, 25th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. He was regularly promoted through all the non-commissioned officers of his company, and was commissioned Second Lieutenant and detailed as aide-de-camp at headquarters 3d Brigade, 1st Division, 15th Army Corps, where he served till the close of the war, and was mustered out after three years' service, in June, 1865. He participated in twenty-seven distinct engagements, and was wounded at the battle of Chattanooga by a gunshot. He participated in the capture of Columbia, S. C., and received honorable mention in the official report of his Colonel (Stone) for gallant conduct on that occasion. After his return from the war he spent the succeeding four years in farming, at the end of which time he engaged in the hardware business in Mt. Pleasant, in 1869, and has carried it on continuously since that time. He was married at Quincy, Ill., Jan. 2, 1866, to Miss Abbie E. Mellen, daughter of Wilder J. and Abigail K. (Van Doorn) Mellen, of that city. Mrs. Crane was born at Quincy, Ill., July 18, 1843. Her father and paternal grandfather were both born in Massachusetts, and were of Scotch-Irish descent. On her mother's side she is descended from the Ingrams, her forefather, Timothy Ingram, having married a lady who was the only heir to the great estates of Joseph Wilson, of Leeds, England, and which were entailed to the fourth generation, which is the present in the history of the family. The Ingrams and their kin have arranged to prosecute this claim to the estate, which is very extensive and valuable. Mr. and Mrs. Crane have nine children, five sons and four daughters, all born in Mt. Pleasant, and in the following order-Anna M., Herbert W., Laura E., Frederick B., George E., Julius H., Ralph K., Helen Van D. and Edith Allison. Mr. and Mrs. Crane are members of the First Baptist Church. Mr. Crane is a Republican in politics, and is a member of McFarland Post No. 20, G. A. R.
Mr. Crane has been a resident of Henry County for nearly thirty-five years, and an active business man of Mt. Pleasant for more than eighteen years. He has proved himself an upright, honorable citizen, a patriotic, brave and gallant soldier, and kind husband and father. He has an elegant home in the eastern part of the city, where he passes much of his time in the genial company of his wife and children.
Since the above was written the silent reaper Death has invaded this happy home, and the family circle has been broken by the loss of its honored head, who passed from this life Dec. 20, 1887. Mr. Crane's health was somewhat impaired by hardships endured while in the service of his country, and he was never afterward very robust, but did not consider himself an invalid until about five years since, when it became evident that an incurable disease had fastened itself upon him. Since that time he had gradually failed, but though knowing he could never recover, he attended cheerfully to his business until a week before his death. The end, though not unlooked for either by himself or friends, came rather suddenly, as he was not confined to his bed until less than twenty-four hours before his death. His remains were followed to their last resting-place by a large concourse of sorrowing friends, by his comrades of McFarland Post, and by the members of James A. Harlan Post No. 34, Sons of Veterans. In his death society lost a useful and honored member, his comrades a brave and generous associate, and his family a loving husband and devoted parent.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 339-340) (JC)
REV. EBER CRANE, deceased, was a well-known and highly respected mission minister of the Baptist Church, and a resident of Henry County from 1853 to the time of his death, which occurred at Mt. Pleasant in 1884. The subject of this memoir was born in Clinton, Conn., near Long Island, May 3, 1808. His ancestors on his father's side were among the earliest colonists of New England. The history of the family dates back to early in the seventeenth century, soon after the establishment of the Plymouth Colony of Massachusetts. Two brothers, Benjamin and Henry Crane, emigrated from England and settled in Southeastern Connecticut, and were the founders of the family in America. One of their descendants, Col. John Crane, was a prominent officer of the war of the Revolution. A meeting of representatives of the Crane family was held at the Elliott House, New Haven, Conn., Sept. 8, 1880, to consider the advisability of compiling a genealogical record of the family. An association for that purpose was organized, which held a second meeting in New York City, Oct. 5, 1881. The President was Zenas M. Crane, of Dalton, Mass.; Vice Presidents, Gen. Nerom M. Crane, of Hornellsville, N. Y., and Phineas M. Crane, of East Boston. Plans were perfected for the work in hand.
The parents of our subject removed to Ohio when he was but four years old. Both died within a week of each other when Eber was in his sixteenth year, and this sudden double bereavement turned his thoughts to religious matters, and he was sincerely converted, and resolved to devote his life to the ministry of the Gospel. Returning East he began his studies in Newton Theological Seminary, in Massachusetts. Love for his fellowmen, especially for the poor and afflicted, which became such a marked characteristic in later life, developed early in him. While still a student, and before his ordination, he gave much of his time to the poor and the destitute. His heart overflowed with love for suffering humanity, and in imitation of the Divine Master he had elected to follow, he sought out the lowly and despised and "them who were in bonds," visiting almshouses and prisons, ministering to their inmates with love for their immortal souls and sympathy for their afflictions, trying earnestly to guide them into leading better lives.
Mr. Crane was an earnest thinker and a strong advocate of human liberty. He was one of the original Abolitionists, and while still a student was a member of William Lloyd Garrison's little band. When he offered to join the society Mr. Garrison happened to have just received a very threatening letter (nothing unusual), in which he was advised to cease his agitation of the anti-slavery question or suffer the consequences, which it was plainly asserted would be the loss of his life. He asked Mr. Crane if he knew what he was about to do, and the probable consequences, at the same time giving him the letter spoken of. Mr. Crane assured him that he had given the matter due consideration, and was ready to take all risks in a cause so holy. He became one of the most earnest workers in the then unpopular cause of abolition.
After his ordination as a minister of the Baptist Church, Mr. Crane was engaged in the home mission work of the church in the then Western State of Ohio. While engaged in this field he became convinced of the great evils of intemperance, and with characteristic zeal espoused the cause of total abstinence, at a time when it required great courage and indomitable will to join in the crusade against liquor, which in that day was in universal use, among church members and the clergy almost as much as among others. In this cause he was an earnest laborer until his death. His labors in Ohio were productive of much good, and he filled many important pastorates in that State, remaining there until 1853, when in consequence of impaired health he came to Iowa, settling with his family in Mt. Pleasant. He pursued his holy calling in this county and vicinity until the inexorable reaper, Death, closed his useful career on April 4, 1884, at the ripe age of seventy-five years, eleven months and one day,
Mr. Crane's sympathies were always with the oppressed and in favor of human freedom. During the border war in Kansas begun under President Pierce's administration, he took an active part in favor of the free State men, making many eloquent speeches, and doing much to mold public opinion. On the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion he was of course a champion of the cause of the Union, and freely gave to the ranks of his country's defenders the two of his sons who were of sufficient age to become soldiers. True to his anti-slavery principles and instincts, he was from the first a believer in the truth that the war could never be ended until the curse of human slavery was wiped from the country. He was an early and earnest advocate of the public school system, and was a member of the School Board of Mt. Pleasant when it was adopted, and it was by this board the new school buildings were erected, which marked such an important advance in public education.
Mr. Crane was twice married, first in Methuen, Mass., to Caroline Nevins, who died at Akron, Ohio, leaving no issue, her only child being buried with her. He was again married, at Kent, Ohio, Dec. 6, 1837, to Nancy A., daughter of Deacon William Knowlton. Mrs. Crane was born in Brandon, Vt., Jan. 5, 1817. They were blessed with eight children, five sons and three daughters: Baron H. is a merchant in Mt. Pleasant (see sketch); Hervey N. married Ellen May, daughter of Maj. Lyman, of Muscatine, Iowa, and is also a merchant at Mt. Pleasant; Carrie E. is the wife of Josiah P. Brenholtz, of Mt. Pleasant; Julius A. is a practicing physician at Santa Ann, Cal., and is married to Minnie, daughter of Hon. O. H. Schenck, of Burlington, Iowa; Ella W., Mrs. Leib, died in 1884, aged thirty-four; Mary F. met a tragic death by drowning at Marengo, Iowa, July 29, 1875, at the age of twenty-four; Eber K. is married to Nettie, daughter of Gen. George A. Stone, of Mt. Pleasant, and resides at Humboldt, Neb.; Willie K., the youngest, lives with his mother in Mt. Pleasant.
The life of Mr. Crane was until its close one of usefulness and honor. In his age, as in his youth, he was the friend of the poor and the afflicted, and the miserable and neglected ever found in him a true friend and consoler. It might truly be said of him as of Abou Ben Adhem, of old, he was "one who loved his fellowmen," and death found him ready to meet that Master to whose service his life had been consecrated, and the upright man was laid to his last rest amid the tears and prayers of a large concourse of sorrowing friends, who yet do not mourn "as those without hope," knowing he is but gone to meet the reward promised by Him who said: "Mark the perfect man, and behold the upright, for the end of that man is peace."
The portrait of Mr. Crane on a preceding page is one eminently fitted to grace the pages of this volume. He was truly a representative of one of the highest types of humanity, and our readers will thank us for preserving his lineaments to future generations.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 337-339) (JC)
|CRAWFORD, J. M., lumber-yard, buys grain and
stock, and stock farmer, Sec. 25; P. O.
; owns 400 acres of land, valued at $50 per acre; born in Howard Co.,
, 1825; came to Iowa, 1836; has lived twenty-seven years in New London;
was not worth $500 when he came here. Married Miss L. E. Abney, from
; had two children - Mary Jane and Elizabeth. Mrs. C. died
Nov. 6, 1876
. Mr. C. married Julia A. Weller, a native of
; have three children - Charity B., Anna J. M. and Frankie. Mr. C.
served several years as School Director and Supervisor, and six terms on
the Grand Jury. Indians were numerous when he came here; he used to trade
with them. Members of the Christian Church, he has been for thirty-five
(The History of Henry County, Iowa, containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, &c., Chicago : Western Historical Comp., 1879.) (PF)
J. M. CRAWFORD
J. M. Crawford is the owner of valuable landed interests in Henry county, his possessions aggregating four hundred and sixty acres, of which three hundred and seven acres is comprised within his home place. In addition to carrying on the work of the fields he has engaged in raising and feeding stock and making shipments to the Chicago market. Watchful of business opportunities, he has so controlled his interests that success has attended his efforts and he is now one of the prosperous residents of his community. He possesses many of the sterling traits of the Scottish race, of which he is a representative. A native of Glasgow , Scotland , his father, John Crawford, came from Howard county, Missouri , to Henry county, Iowa , on the 14th of March, 1835, and entered a claim near Middletown and thereon spent his remaining days. He died in 1863, at the age of sixty-five years and his wife also died upon the old home farm at Middletown, being eighty-one years of age when in 1883 she was called to her final rest. Mr. Crawford had entered one hundred and sixty acres of land which he transformed into a valuable farm of which he retained possession up to the time of his death, when it was inherited by his son, John F., who remained upon that place until his own death in June, 1905. There were fourteen children in the father's family: William D.; David W.; J. M.; Minerva N., died, the wife of Nelson McGohan; Jefferson; Robert Crusoe; Oliver Joseph; Anderson; Grandison; Carlisle; and Emily, the wife of Morris Carlisle Bishop; John and Washington. Of these only J. M. Crawford and Mrs. Bishop are now living. All were residents of Henry county when they died, with the exception of Grandison, who a few months prior to his demise became a resident of Oklahoma . Carlisle was killed in the battle of Vicksburg , but his remains were brought back to Henry county for interment and here the other members of the family were also buried. They adhered to the faith of the Christian church.
James Madison Crawford, whose name introduces this record, was born in Howard county, Missouri , April 7, 1825 , and was therefore a young lad of ten years when brought by his parents to Henry county. When still a young lad he made a promise to himself that he would some day build a church if he lived and this promise saw its fruition in 1887, when he completed a church, which he turned over to the board of trustees, the ground and house of worship costing him three thousand dollars. When the Christian church of his home neighborhood was organized in1845 he became one of its original members and has since been one of its officers, serving either as elder or deacon. In fact he has held all of the positions in the church, except that of pastor and his labors have been untiring, effective and far-reaching in behalf of his denomination.
Throughout his entire life Mr. Crawford has been identified with agricultural pursuits. In 1847, at the age of twenty-two years, he purchased forty acres of land in Des Moines county from James Hall and continued to reside thereon, cultivating his fields for four years. In the spring of 1853, however, he sold out there and bought eighty acres of his present place in New London township, Henry county. He also induced Jonathan King to buy the other eighty acres of the tract for him and two years from that date Mr. Crawford paid him for the land and thus came into possession of the entire quarter section, the purchase price of the second eighty acres being forty dollars per acre. He has labored persistently and energetically as the years have gone by and has gained that satisfactory reward which always results from close and unremitting toil. As his financial resources have increased he has added from time to time to his landed possessions until he now owns altogether four hundred and sixty-seven acres of valuable land, of which three hundred and seven acres is comprised within the home farm. Much of the remainder is in town lots and in small tracts around the town of New London , and he also has one hundred and sixty acres in Baltimore township which he rents. He has always made a business of raising and feeding stock, buying considerable stock, which he has fattened for the market and for sixteen years he made extensive shipments to Chicago . In all that he does he has displayed a practical and methodical spirit and his unfaltering perseverance has enabled him to overcome all the difficulties and obstacles.
Mr. Crawford was married on the 9th of April, 1845 , to Miss Lydia Ellen Abney, a daughter of Leonard and Ginsey Abney. Unto them were born two children: Mary Jane, who is living with her father; and Iowa Belle, who died at the age of sixteen years. The mother passed away September 16, 1858 , and in 1860 Mr. Crawford wedded Julia Ann Lee, a daughter of John Lee. There were three children by this marriage: Mrs. Charity Belle Gannaway; Mrs. Frances Sanderson; and J. M. Crawford, Jr., who is the present postmaster of New London .
Mr. Crawford gave his early political allegiance to the Whig party and upon its dissolution he joined the ranks of the new Republican party, which he has since continued to support. He has now passed the eighty-first milestone on life's journey, and he can look back over the years that have come and gone without regret, for his life has been honorable and upright. He has been fair and just in his business dealings and his word is as good as any bond solemnized by signature or seal. He has been prompt in meeting his obligations, and at all times his life has been actuated by a kindly spirit, his course being ever in harmony with his professions as a devoted follower of the Christian church. There is particular satisfaction in reverting to the life history of this honored and venerable gentleman, whose name initiates this review, since his mind bears the impress of the historic annals of Iowa from the early pioneer days and from the fact that he has been a loyal son of the republic and has attained a position of distinctive prominence in the community where he has retained his residence from the age of ten years to present time, being now one of the revered partiarchs [sic] of the community.
[Per the transcriber, Paul French, this biography contains a number of inaccuracies]
(BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF HENRY COUNTY, IOWA, Hobart Publishing Company, Chicago , 1906, pp. 56-58.) (PF)
JAMES MADISON CRAWFORD, JR.
James Madison Crawford, Jr., the extent and variety of whose business interests make him one of the leading and representative men of Henry county, is now filling the position of postmaster at New London, and at the same time is controlling important business enterprises which contribute to the general progress and prosperity as well as to his individual success. His birth occurred in New London township, on the 29th of April, 1870 , his parents being James Madison and Julia (Lee) Crawford, who are represented on another page of this work. His early education was acquired in the public schools in his home neighborhood, and he afterward attended Oskaloosa ( Iowa ) College, in which he pursued a business course and was graduated. After permanently putting aside his textbooks he concentrated his energies upon farm work, with which he had become familiar during the periods of vacation while assisting in the operation and improvement of his father's land. He yet continues to engage in general farming and the raising and feeding of stock. He also has horses, including both roadsters and draft horses and his agricultural interests are well developed and carefully conducted. He has likewise been identified with the grain trade in this county and at one time he engaged in general merchandising in New London, purchasing a half interest in the stock of J. B. Dunlap. Subsequently Ed M. Lee purchased the other half interest and under the firm name of Crawford & Lee they continued in business together until 1895, when Mr. Crawford sold his interest to Mr. Lee and again concentrated his energies upon buying and shipping grain. He followed that business until appointed by President McKinley to the position of postmaster of New London . A man of resourceful business ability, he has also extended his efforts to other lines of activity, which have been important factors in the acquirement of his present very desirable competence and commercial status. He was one of the organizers of the New London Land Company, which laid out altogether five additions and was a strong directing influence in the development and growth of New London . A large majority of the enterprise of this locality have felt that stimulus of the wise counsels and active co-operation of Mr. Crawford. He has been interested in the Henry County Telephone Company and his labors at all times have been productive of good results, for he is very practical in his methods.
As before stated, Mr. Crawford was appointed to the position of postmaster of New London by President McKinley in 1900. At that time this was an office of the fourth class, but he soon afterward raised it to the third class. He was re-appointed to the position in 1901 and has continued in the office since. When he took charge there was but one rural route in operation but now there are five centering in the New London office. His administration of the mail business of New London is highly satisfactory to the patrons of the office, who find him always prompt and courteous in the discharge of the duties devolving upon him.
On the 24th of October, 1894 , was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Crawford and Miss Nina I. Hampton, a daughter of William H. and Hattie ( Dover ) Hampton. They have one child, Marie, who was born November 1, 1895 , and is now a student in the New London schools. Mr. Crawford is a member of the Modern Woodmen Camp, and also belongs to Unity Lodge, No. 185, Knights of Pythias, of New London . He was reared in the faith of the Christian church, of which he is now a member and is serving as trustee and deacon at the present time, having acted in these capacities for four years. His is a well-rounded nature in which due attention is given to the social and moral interests of the community as well as to its commercial and industrial development. He thoroughly enjoys home life and takes great pleasure in the society of his family and friends. He is always courteous, kindly and affable and those who know him personally have for him warm regard. Possessing untiring energy, he is also quick of perception and forms his plans readily, after which he carries them forward to completion through close and earnest application.
(BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF HENRY COUNTY, IOWA, Hobart Publishing Company, Chicago , 1906, pp. 669-670) (PF)
|M. L. Crew
HON. M. L. CREW, farmer. The father and mother of our subject were both native-born Virginians. Walter Crew, his father, was a Friend by birth, and his wife, Sarah Rice, was the daughter of a slave-owner. Micajah Crew was the father of Walter, and the ancestors were of English origin. He settled in Hanover County, Va., where his family were reared, and upon the original farm both himself and wife died. There was a large family born to Dr. William Rice, the maternal grandfather of our subject, but he was three time married, the first wife being the grandmother of Mr. Crew. She was the mother of four children: Blair, a Baptist minister; Izard, a physician and large land-owner; Sarah, mother of our subject; and Mary, who became the wife of Dr. Samuel Hargrave. Roger A. Pryor, of historic fame, married Sarah, a daughter of Blair Rice. In 1849 Walter Crew sold his Virginia homestead, and with his family, consisting of fourteen children, made his way overland to the State of Iowa, making Salem their objective point. The lands now owned by M. L. Crew were the original homestead, and in 1850 the family removed to their new home, and the old house, which for the first few years was used as a dwelling, is still standing. Their children were named respectively: Talitha wedded Walter Terrell, of Johnson County, who after her death married her eldest sister, Jane; he is one of the best known men of Johnson County, having been a farmer, a miller, and also a surveyor, which profession he formerly followed in Louisiana. Mary married John Collett, well known in this county as a teacher, his family residing in Salem; William R., a neighbor of our subject (see sketch); Sarah wedded Joseph Thacker, now deceased, who for several years was florist in charge of the greenhouse at the Asylum for the Insane at Mt. Pleasant; Susannah married Charles J. Poulter, an Englishman, now a resident of this township; Walter is a resident physician of Mankato, Jewell Co., Kan., and was the husband of Nancy Smith, whose death occurred in 1885; Tacy D. wedded John Savage, a resident farmer of this township (see sketch); M. L., our subject, was next in order of birth; Samuel died unmarried; Annie married James Starbuck, a resident of Jay County, Ind.; Martha is unmarried, and a resident of this county; Lucy B. is the wife of Peter Smith, a farmer residing near Mt. Pleasant; Edmund, who died the same spring the family came to Henry County, completes the family. All were born in Hanover County, Va. The death of Walter Crew, Sr. occurred when in his seventy-third year, and his wife survived him five years, reaching her seventy-first year. They lived in full accord with the tenets of the Society of Friends, and their loss was felt not only by that society, but by the entire circle in which they moved.
Walter Crew was a great lover of books, a man of much general information, and unusually well-read, and inculcated on his children a systematic course of daily reading, prescribing books and subjects for them to study, and the result is apparent in his children. He inherited many books from his father, to which he had added largely by purchase, and on his removal to the West had, for a non-professional man, an unusually complete library. These books he shipped to St. Louis, intending to send them from there to the nearest point in Iowa. Unfortunately they reached St. Louis prior to the great fire in that city, in 1849, and all were consumed. The loss was a severe one to Mr. Crew, as he was never able fully to replace them.
M. L. Crew was born at Crewsville Farm, Hanover County, Va., June 13, 1835, and was fourteen years old when they family removed to Iowa. He was educated at the common schools, with the exception of one year spent at the seminary at Salem. Aug. 23, 1859, he was married to Mariam, daughter of Dr. Samuel and Mary (Overman) Stephenson, his first wife. Dr. Stephenson was born in 1802, in Londonderry, Ireland, was educated for a profession, and came to America in 1829. He read medicine, and attended lectures at the Ohio Medical College, at Cincinnati, in 1832. He settled in Highland County, and on Dec. 24, 1834, married Mary Overman, who parents were Friends. They had four children: the first two were twin boys who died within a year; Mariam was born Jan. 2, 1837; Eliza in 1839. Their mother died in 1840. Dr. Stevenson came to Iowa, settled in Salem, and began the practice of medicine there in 1847, remaining in that village a number of years. He and his wife are now living at Elwood, Iowa. Eliza married James Pope, resided in Canby, Cal., and died May 20, 1887.
For a number of years after his marriage, Mr. Crew taught school in winter and farmed in summer. For several winters he was Principal of the public school in Salem. In 1870 he purchased the old homestead near Salem, and gave up teaching devoting himself to farming. Unlike most who are reared in the Friends' Church, he took an active interest in politics, and zealously advocated the principles of the Republican party. In 1881 he was elected to represent the county in the Nineteenth General Assembly. While a member of the House he labored to promote the interests of agriculture, and gave earnest and active support to a bill abolishing the use of free passes by the officials of the State, and also one to prohibit a greater charge by the railroad companies for a short haul than for a long one, for the same class of freight. He voted for the submission of the Constitutional Amendment to the people, to prohibit the sale of intoxicating liquors, and opposed what he believed to be a diversion of the Agricultural College from the purposes for which it was endowed, and favored daily manual labor as one of its distinguishing features. He sought by bill the adoption of a uniform system of text-books for the public school, and to make provision by which pupils could obtain them at wholesale prices. The following year he took part in the canvass for the adoption of the Constitutional Amendment, and in 1883 was unanimously renominated for Representative on a platform declaring in favor of embodying in statutory laws the principles of the Constitutional Amendment, they having been set aside by the courts. the other two parties united, and nominated W. I. Babb, a distinguished lawyer. the issue being the embodying the amendment in law, Mr. Babb was able to hold his party in line, and also obtain many Republican votes form those who were opposed to any further legislation on the subject of temperance, and Mr. Crew was defeated by a small majority, but he did not loose hope of the final triumph of the principles which he advocated.
Mr. Crew began life in a very moderate circumstances, but his wife seconded his every laudable ambition, and cheerfully aided in every honest, manly effort to acquire a home and competency. She shared with him a love of books, and the long winter evenings, which are so often tiresome on the farm, were occupied in reading aloud, each member of the family taking part. Their union was blessed with three children: Mamie, the eldest, was educated at Whittier College; Ada died when four years old; and Mattie, the youngest, whose education is not yet completed. The two girls still remain with their father. The good mother died Feb. 16, 1886. She was a consistent member of the Congregational Church, and amid the sunshine and shadows of life was ever the same cheerful, kind and intelligent companion and friend, the same loving mother and devoted wife, and her death cast a gloom over the happy home.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 557-8)
|William R. Crew
WILLIAM R. CREW, farmer. As stated in the sketch of Hon. M. L. Crew, all the children of Walter and Sarah (Rice) Crew were born in Hanover County, Va. William was born in December, 1826, and was in company with his parents and their entire family when they came to this State. Prior to that event he was engaged in the milling business, and soon after his marriage began business for himself, and from 1854 to 1857 was in the mercantile business with his brother-in-law, Alfred Sluyter, in Salem.
The marriage of William R. Crew and Miss Caroline Richey was celebrated in February, 1862. Eight children blessed their union, viz: Cordelia A., now wife of D. S. Swan, a merchant of Cheyenne, Wyo.; Leroy B., husband of Ella Matthews, and a resident farmer of this township; Eva E. is the wife of William B. Donaldson, formerly a druggist of Salem, now doing business in the West; Edwin G. became the husband of Lucy Bales, and is farming in this township; Luella H. married John H. Boyce, a farmer of Salem Township; Alfred S. is with his brother-in-law Swan in Cheyenne, and Fannie F. is her father's house�keeper. One, Carrie, died in infancy. After a few years spent in mercantile business, Mr. Crew removed to the Crew homestead, and later purchasing the farm now his property, removed to it in 1866. His wife died Aug. 3, 1867, and on March 24, 1870, the marriage of Mr. Crew and Mary E. Smith was celebrated. Her parents were James and Mary (Brown) Smith, who were residents of Waynesville, Ohio. The death of her mother occurred when Mary was five years of age, and after her father died she came to Iowa in company with several of her brothers and sisters, who intended making a home in the West. The children were named respectively: Orestes R., who wedded Elizabeth Hartle, and died in Salem in 1883; Asher B., who removed to Ohio, and Rachel, wife of Samuel Siveter; the two latter were twins. Mary E., wife of our subject, and Charles G., a resident of Dakota. The wife of Mr. Crew was during a part of her residence in Iowa, a teacher, having received a good education at the Friends' School in Richmond, Ind. She was thirty-five years of age when she became the wife of Mr. Crew, and bore him two children-Leonard F. and William R., twins. The death of the latter occurred in infancy. Assuming the cares of a mother to all the children horn to Mr. Crew's first wife, she enacted a noble part, and no mother could have been more truly loved. Between her own son and his half brothers and sisters no favoritism was shown, and to each and all she was a true mother in every sense of the word. Each vied with the other in promoting her pleasure, and when her spirit took its flight, each and all felt most keenly the loss of one who in every deed and word acted only for their welfare. The remains of Mrs. Mary E. Crew were laid to rest Dec. 7, 1883, in the Salem Churchyard, the funeral services being conducted by her pastor, Rev. L. T. Rowley, the minister of the Congregational Church in Salem, to which Mr. and Mrs. Crew both belonged. Wherever she went, as her husband expresses it, "sunshine followed," and much of his good fortune came from her care and after she became the head of his household. All the children are married and away from the parental home except Fannie and Leonard. They are surrounded by everything that can make home pleasant, and the farm is a model one in this township.
To Mr. Crew have come sorrows hard to bear, but he is yet in his prime, with large experience, possessed of wealth, character and honor. Five terms he has served upon the Board of Supervisors, is a member of the School Board, and for fifteen years was Superintendent of the Congregational Sabbath-school, at Salem. He is a large breeder of stock, and owns more than a half section of land in one body. Both as a man and citizen he commands the respect of all who know him.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 252-253)(JC)
HOUSTEN CULBERTSON, proprietor of the Hawkeye House, Winfield, Iowa, was born in Richland County, Ohio, near Mansfield, April 5, 1835. His father, John Housten Culbertson, was a native of Fenton, County Tyrone, Ireland, in about the year 1798. We can not give the early history of this family, as the records were lost during the voyage to America. Mr. Culbertson, bidding good-bye to his friends and the Green Isle of Erin, crossed the ocean and landed in America at Boston, Mass., on the country's birthday, July 4, 1811. He soon after went to Philadelphia via New York, and later, he and his brother started a manufactory in Delaware. The war with Great Britain causing them to lose their property, they went to Baltimore, where they accumulated means to take them to the then far West. Going to Wheeling, W. Va., they continued their mechanical pursuits, and subsequently removed to Ohio, following the same occupation. Mr. Culbertson was a millwright by trade, and built many of the largest woolen and, cotton mills in the East. In 1822 he wedded Miss Mary Culbertson, who, although of the same name, was no relation. Mr. and Mrs. Culbertson both united with the Presbyterian Church at Crab Apple, Ohio, where he became a Ruling Elder. About 1830 he purchased a farm some six miles from St. Clairsville, abandoning to a great extent his mechanical pursuits.
In 1833 Mr. Culbertson removed with his family to the homestead near Mansfield, Ohio, where he spent the remainder of his life. He was the father of twelve children, five yet living: James C., a resident of Central Tennessee; Jane, the wife of J. W. Pollack; Agnes, wife of Dr. J. R. McCullough, a prominent physician and surgeon of Chicago; Housten, of Winfield, Iowa, and Martha, wife of David Dean, of Huron County, Ohio. Three died in infancy; Mary Ann, wife of Dr. J. J. Loughridge, deceased; William W. died in California, Feb. 18, 1851; John married Maria Campbell, and was killed at the battle of Shiloh; Chalmers P. married Miss Curtis, and was killed by an engine at Crestline, Ohio. Mr. Culbertson was a man of great energy and decision of character, and in no relation of life was his influence more felt than in matters pertaining to the church. He accumulated considerable property, but gave it to the church with a generous hand. He planned and helped to build many church edifices. Before the days of excitement in regard to temperance, he practiced abstinence from intoxicating liquors in the face of fashion, and though it cost him extra wages he would not give his harvest hands spirituous liquors as a beverage. The lesson learned when but eight years old, from seeing a dreadful drunken fight, he never forgot. Perhaps no Ruling Elder in the West was more fully informed as to church matters and more zealous for true doctrine than Mr. Culbertson. During the last three or four years of his life he was unable to join in the public worship of God, but the interval was spent in the most careful study of the Bible. Apparently conscious to the last, he straightened himself in bed, closed his eyes, and calmly fell asleep on the 12th of September, 1871.
Servant of God, well done I
Mrs. Culbertson died Dec. 21, 1868. She was a native of Pennsylvania, born in Washington County, March 5, 1802. She was a child of the Covenant, and possessing a strong judgment, she bowed in devotion to high Christian principles. In all relations of mother, wife and friend, her memory will be most affectionately cherished, for "the memory of the just is blessed."
The subject of this sketch was reared upon a farm in Richland County, Ohio, where he received a liberal education. He was married, May 3, 1859, to Miss Sarah McKee, who was born in Richland County, where she had the advantages of careful Christian culture, and in her twentieth year publicly confessed Christ, connecting herself with the United Presbyterian Church. Mr. Culbertson and his young wife removed to Crawfordsville, Iowa, at which place they both united with the Presbyterian Church. They returned to Mansfield in 1862, but in 1869 again removed to Iowa, settling in Washington in the month of April. Mrs. Culbertson was sick for several years, but bore her sufferings with great patience. She was a consistent Christian; her conduct during her sickness was an example of her whole Christian life. She died Sept. 2, 1871, in Washington, at the age of thirty-seven, leaving three children, two now living: James W., a teacher; and William W.; Ida J. is deceased. In May, 1875, Mr. Culbertson came to Winfield, where he clerked in a dry-goods store for a short time. He was again married, Nov. 13, 1875, to Miss Fannie A. Hough, a native of Pennsylvania. He soon after erected the 'Hawkeye House, where ever since he has been mine host. Mr. and Mrs. Culbertson have two children-Leila Estella and Le Roy G. He is one of the stanch Democrats of the county, having affiliated with the party all his life. Mr. Culbertson is a social, genial companion, always looking on the bright side of everything. He has the respect and confidence of all who know him.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 211-212.)(JC)
Biographies Index ** Henry County Home
Copyright IAGenWeb, the submitters & IAGenWeb
Please read the IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions & Disclaimers
~all of which applies to the Henry county website.~