Babb - Burton
|Hon. Washington I. Babb
HON. WASHINGTON I. BABB, of the law firm of Woolson & Babb, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, was born in Des Moines County, Iowa, Oct. 2, 1844, and is the son of Miles and Mary (Moyers) Babb. His father was born in Wlkesbarre, Pa., and was of German descent. He went to California during the gold excitement of 1850, and was killed in the mines Dec. 21, 1852, by the caving in of a tunnel. His widow survives her husband resides with her son, W. I., at Mt. Pleasant.
Our subject received his primary education in the public schools of his native county, and when sixteen years of age came to Mt. Pleasant (1860) and entered the Iowa Wesleyan University as a student, and prosecuted his studies till the spring of 1863, when he yielded to the patriotic desire to aid in the defense of the Union, and enlisted as a private of Company E, 8th Iowa Cavalry, and served till the close of the war. His regiment was assigned to the Army of the Cumberland under Gen. Thomas, and participated in the memorable and severe campaigns of the last years of the war. He participated in the battles before Atlanta, at Franklin, Nashville, and in Wilson's raid through Alabama and Georgia in the spring of 1865. He was slightly wounded in the attack on Atlanta, but was not confined to the hospital a single day during the entire service. He was mustered out as a non-commissioned officer Aug. 13, 1865. On his return from the war, he re-entered the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mt. Pleasant, and graduated with high honor in the classical course in June, 1866. He at once entered upon the study of law with Henry Ambler, and well-known attorney of Mt. Pleasant, and was admitted to the bar in December, 1867. On graduating, he formed a law partnership with Mr. Ambler and entered upon the practice of his profession in January, 1868. That connection continued until 1872, when he formed the existing partnership with Hon. John S. Woolson, under the firm name of Woolson & Babb. Mr. Babb has been a close student, and possessing sterling ability, has won a foremost place among the leading lawyers of the State. His well-known integrity and fairness, coupled with a thorough knowledge of his profession and careful attention to details, has won the confidence of his clients and the respect of his brethren of the bar, the courts and juries. His success has been the result of close application and persevering industry, as well as good natural ability.
Mr. Babb cast his first vote while a soldier in the field, during the campaign of 1864, voting for Lincoln and Johnson. He continued to vote with the Republican party till 1868, when becoming dissatisfied with the reconstruction policy of the party, and favorably impressed by the National policy of the Democratic party, he renounced his allegiance to the former and cast his lot with the latter. He has since been an earnest and eloquent advocate of the principles of the Democracy. In 1876 he was nominated as the Democratic candidate for Circuit Judge, but positively declined to allow his name to be used. In 1878 he was nominated for District Judge, and yielding to the earnest solicitation of friends in both parties, made the race and was defeated by only 115 votes in a district that usually gave a Republic majority of about 1,200. While defeated, he had reason to be proud of the result, which demonstrated his personal popularity among the members of both parties. He was again tendered the nomination for District Judge in 1882, at a time when the Republicans, through dissentions over the prohibition question, had fallen into a minority, but declined the honor, preferring to pursue his extensive practice. In 1883 he was strongly urged by influential party friends to become a candidate for the General Assembly, but he refused to accede to their wishes. However, when the convention assembled, he was unanimously nominated, and much against his wish, and at considerable sacrifice, he was induced to make the canvass, which resulted in his election by nearly 100 majority. His course in the Assembly fully justified the warmest expectations of his friends. He soon demonstrated his ability as a legislator and served on important committees, his legal training having prepared him for the rigid investigation of measures under consideration. His conclusions, based on sound reasoning, won the respect and concurrence of his fellow legislators, and he proved a valuable and influential member.
Mr. Babb was married at Mt. Pleasant, Oct. 9, 1873, to Miss Alice Bird, a daughter of Dr. Wellington Bird, a prominent physician of that city. Mrs. Babb was born at Mt. Pleasant. They are the parents of four children, two sons and two daughters: Max W., aged thirteen years; Miles T., aged nine years; Clara Belle, aged four years, and Alice, an infant. Mrs. Babb is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Babb is a Knight Templar Mason, a member of Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 8, A. F. & A. M., of Henry Chapter No. 8, R. A. M., and of Jerusalem Commandery No. 7, K. T., all of Mt. Pleasant. At one time he was a member of the Board of Trustees of the Iowa State Hospital for the Insane, at Mt. Pleasant. He has always taken a warm interest in the cause of education, and done his part in the promotion of learning. At present he is one of the Trustees of the Iowa Wesleyan University, a member of the Executive Committee and its Treasurer. He was elected a Trustee of that institution in 1876, and made a member of the Executive Committee and Treasurer in 1877, which position he has since continuously held.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 485-6)
GEORGE BAILEY. We take pleasure in presenting a brief sketch of this gentleman, who for thirty years has been a well-known resident of Salem and Jackson Townships. He was born in Belmont County, Ohio, Jan. 16, 1823, and is a son of Wyatt and Miranda (Wootton) Bailey. The families on both sides are of English ancestry, but the early history is not complete. The maternal grand-sire was Edward Wootton, and the paternal grandfather was William Bailey, who married Rebecca Banford. The families were residents of Loudoun County, Va., but later removed to Belmont County, probably about 1809. Edward Wootton was a slave-owner in Virginia, but liberated his slaves at an early day, and after the family settled in Ohio their former slaves came and settled around their old master, whom they loved for his many kindness. Wyatt Bailey and Miranda Wootton were married in Ohio, and upon a farm in that State their children were born: Elihu is married to Rachel Ewers, and resides in Richland County, Wis.; Jane, deceased, wedded Benjamin Patterson, of Belmont County, Ohio; then came our subject, who wedded Elizabeth Frazier in 1854; Abigail, deceased, wedded Evan Plummer, also of Belmont County, Ohio, and lives on the paternal homestead; William married Lydia Blackledge, of Wisconsin; he enlisted in the 20th Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War, and served in the battles of Prairie Grove, Ark., and at Vicksburg; he contracted a disease while in the service which ended his life while at his home in Wisconsin. Wilson married Mary Vickers, and resides in Jackson Township, this county; Elam, deceased, wedded to Marian Doudney, was also a soldier in a Wisconsin regiment, was taken ill and died while at home on furlough; Edward died unmarried in Ohio; Rachel died in infancy; David, the youngest, wedded Belle Shaddock, and resides in Illinois; he was a brave soldier in the 52d Illinois Regiment, and was engaged at Pittsburg Landing and in other noted battles. The father of the children died in 1851 on the Ohio farm, and four years later the widow and children named who reside in Wisconsin, removed to that State, settling in Richmond County, where the mother died.
Our subject learned the blacksmith trade in Ohio, and in 1845 made his way to West Point, Lee Co., Iowa, where he worked eighteen months. Later he went to the then village of Keokuk, and six months later to Salem, and began business in that town in 1848. In 1850 he concluded to join a caravan bound for the land of gold, and with an ox-team started across the plains. After a toilsome journey of five months, he found himself in the mining camps of California. While stopping at Salt Lake City, William Street and our subject made a call upon Brigham Young and sold him some stock, and were well treated by the Mormon leader. Soon after reaching the mines Mr. Bailey engaged as a teamster, and drove a mule-team for some time in freighting goods from Sacramento to Greenwood Valley. From that city he started up to Columbia on a schooner, and was left stranded on a sand-bar, but finally reached Salem, Ore., where he secured work at his trade. He was employed in working on the machinery of the "Kanamah," the first steamer that ever ran above the falls of the Willamette River. After this boat was completed Mr. Bailey ran on her two months as a deck hand, and soon after, in company with several companions, purchased a lot of ponies and mules and started with a pack train for the diggings in California. They stopped near Yreka, where they sunk a shaft, and the diggings paid handsomely for six months. When good luck would strike them the boys would make an extra supper, and have a good time and euchre. On foot our subject left the mine for Oregon, a distance of 320 miles, carrying his gun and two blankets. He reached Corvallis eight days later, the journey out with a pack train requiring twenty-one days. The same year he returned home by way of the Isthmus of Panama, and his first sight of and ride upon a railroad car was on a line then completed from Cruces to Aspinwall.
After his return to Salem, in 1853, he began work at his trade, and the next year wedded Miss Elizabeth Frazier, a daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Hoccet [Hoggett]) Frazier. They were were among the earliest and best known settlers of this county, and Mrs. Bailey is the only one of the family now living in the county, her residence dating from 1837. Mr. Bailey purchased a quarter section of land in Lee County and improved it, but for twenty years worked at the blacksmith's trade in Salem. Their children are: Dora L., wife of B. L. Wood, a hardware and agricultural dealer of Wyanet, Ill.; Eugene was accidently injured when seven years of age and has been blind from that time; he attended college for the blind at Vinton, and became an accomplished scholar, but completed his education at Whittier; for several years he has been an agent for the sale of books, and has been very successful. Cophine is housekeeping for Eugene and Lester H. Bailey; Mena is the wife of Alvin Jones; while Gilbert G. and Herman H. remain upon the home farm. The two latter sons will graduate at Whittier later.
From a gold miner in 1850, we find Mr. Bailey in 1888 the father of a fine family, the husband of a lady who ranks high in social worth, and both have attained such a position in life as will secure their ease in the days to come. Although past middle age, yet their joys have been made the more full as their family circle has never been broken. Not a stain has ever tarnished the good name of any member of the family, and we are pleased to give them proper credit. Mr. Bailey owns a large farm and is one of provident men of this county, and respected for his upright character and integrity.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 450-1.)
PATRICK BAKER, Station Agent at Rome, was born in County Clare, Ireland, March 17, 1827, and is a son of Michael and Mary (O'Grady) Baker, both of whom were natives of Ireland, and were reared, married, and died in County Clare. His father was eighty-two years old at his death, and his mother seventy-five. They were both members of the Catholic Church, and reared a family of nine children, all of whom grew to man and womanhood. They were named: Thomas, who died in Ireland; Mary, wife of Patrick Byron, also a native of Ireland; Bridget, wife of James Clune, of the same country; Ellen, wife of John Sullivan; Ann, wife of James Daloughty; Daniel, also a resident of his native country; Michael, who died there; John, who died in Rome, Iowa, in 1874, and Patrick.
Our subject was the second one of the family to emigrate to America. He crossed the water in 1849, settling in New York, where for seven years he was engaged as section foreman on the New York & Erie Railroad. In 1855 he came to Burlington, and engaged as track foreman for the B. & M., now the C., B. & Q. R. R., and in 1858 came to Rome. Here Mr. Baker was engaged as foreman, continuing in this employment until 1878, when he was made Station Agent, which position he has held ever since.
Mr. Baker was united in marriage, in 1855, to Johanna Ambrose, a native of County Limerick, Ireland, and a daughter of William Ambrose. By this union seven children have been born: Michael A., now a resident of Keokuk, is chief dispatcher of the C., B. & Q. R. R.; John C. is operator at Rome; Katie is a teacher in the same village; Maggie is also a teacher; Peter B. and James D. are now engaged in farming, and Johanna is the youngest. Mr. and Mrs. Baker with their children are members of the Catholic Church. He was poor in this world's goods when he came to this county, but by close attention to business, and good management, has gained a competence. He now owns 200 acres of fine land, all improved, adjoining Rome. Politically, he is a Democrat, and has been President of the Board of Education for ten years. He takes great interest in educational and public affairs, and of the citizens of Tippecanoe Township, none deserve more respect than does our subject.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 514-5.)
LEMUEL BALDWIN, residing on section 18, Tippecanoe Township, is one of the pioneer settlers of Henry County, having first settled here when the county was almost an unbroken wilderness, in 1843. He was born in Adams County, Ohio, Sept. 12, 1840, and is the son of Newton and Phoebe (Hunt) Baldwin. The death of his father occurred when Lemuel was but a child, and he came with his mother to this county, as before stated. Lemuel was the only child and was the pride and joy of the fond mother's heart. She was called to her final rest Nov. 27, 1880, being seventy years of age. Mrs. Baldwin was a second time married, in 1851, to Thomas Grant, and Lemuel made his home with his mother and step-father.
Among the brave boys of the 6th Iowa Infantry was our subject. He enlisted June 15, 186, and served two and a half years, at the expiration of which time he was transferred from Company K, of which he had been a member, to Company A, of the same regiment. He remained a member of that company until the close of the war. He was mustered out July 21, 1865, at Louisville, Ky. While in service he participated in the following battles: Shiloh, where he received a gunshot wound in the right arm, which disabled him for two months; his second battle was at Missionary Ridge, and Resaca. At the battle of Dallas he also received a gunshot wound in the head, which disabled him from service from May 28 until September 6. He was also under fire at the battles of Griswold Station, and Savannah, Ga., Columbia and Bentonville, N. C. He was taken prisoner near Holly Springs, May 14, 1863, and was held captive until June 6 of the same year, when he was patroled at City Point, Va., and Sept. 28, 1863, was exchanged. He was a Sergeant of his company. After his return home he resumed his occupation of farming, which he has continued ever since.
On the 6th of April, 1864, Lemuel Baldwin was united in marriage with Caroline Willeford, a native of this county, born March 13, 1843. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin have been the parents of four children: Frank T., a resident of Cass County, Neb.; Bailey Elmer, George A. and Grace Gertrude are still inmates of the parental home. Mrs. Baldwin is a member of the Christian Church. Politically Mr. Baldwin is a stalwart Republican, and does not think that the grand old party has yet completed its mission. Socially he is a member of McFarland Post No. 20, G. A. R., of Mt. Pleasant.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 456 and 461.)
WILLIAM BALL, a farmer residing on section 33, Scott Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born on board the steamboat "James M. White," on the Mississippi River near Natchez, Miss., March 17, 1845. His parents, William and Mary (Bakewell) Ball, both natives of Trent, England, were en route for America when our subject was born, having been transferred from the ocean steamer to a Mississippi river packet at New Orleans. They finally settled in Mercer County, Ill., where the father purchased eighty acres of Government land, and there he resided until the time of his death, which occurred June 25, 1872, when fifty-seven years of age. His wife still survives him, and resides in Mercer County, Ill.
Our subject received his education in the district schools, and when but seventeen years of age enlisted in the War for the Union, Sept. 17, 1861, becoming a member of Company G, 30th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He served twenty-one months and participated in the battles of Ft. Henry, Ft. Donelson, Corinth and Briton Lane. Mr. Ball was discharged on account of disabilities received during the service.
Returning to Mercer County, Ill., June 20, 1863, William Ball attended school in Keithsburg for a year. Learning the harness-maker's trade, he followed that occupation for four years, and later worked on a farm for two years. Emigrating to Henry County in 1872, he settled in Canaan Township, purchasing eighty acres of unimproved land. Developing a farm, he there lived for two years, and but 1876 he sold and purchased eighty acres on section 33, of Scott Township, where he yet resides.
On the 10th of September, 1872, the marriage of William Ball and Dorcas Patterson, a native of Greene County, Pa., was celebrated. Her parents, William and Maria (Bricker) Patterson, were also natives of Pennsylvania, and now reside at Winfield, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Ball are the parents of seven children - Mary Ann, George W., Jenny and Jesse, twins, William, Edward and Thomas Clifford. Mr. Ball is a member of the A. F. & A. M., and the G. A. R. Post. Politically he is a Democrat. Mrs. Ball is a member of the Baptist Church. Though comparatively a young man, Mr. Ball is one of the enterprising farmers of Scott Township.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 514-5.)
JOHN BANGS, a prominent pioneer of Henry County, Iowa, first settled in the township of New London May 29, 1838, in company with his father and family. He still resides on the old homestead, where he has a finely improved farm of 440 acres, situated on section 36. Mr. Bangs was born in Yarmouth, Barnstable Co., Mass., Oct. 10, 1826, and is the son of John and Polly (Clark) Bangs. His father was born in Brewster, in the same county. The family is of English origin, and the first to emigrate was Edward Bangs, who landed from the English ship, "Anna," at the Plymouth Colony, Mass., in June, 1621. John Bangs, Sr., was born June 5, 1791, was a sailor in early life, and later a salt manufacturer. his father, John Dillingham Bangs, was born in Massachusetts, Dec. 30, 1757, and his mother, Content (Smith) Bangs, daughter of Charles and Content Smith, was born May 16, 1757, in the same county as her husband. John Bangs, Sr., father of our subject, emigrated from Massachusetts with his family in May, 1838, and purchased a claim on what is now section 36, New London Township, and moved into a little log cabin which the former proprietor had built. His family included his wife and five children, two boys and three girls; one had died in Massachusetts. Polly is the widow of William M. K. Finley, now residing in Davis County, Iowa; Emeline was the wife of O. D. Laughlin, and died Sept. 6, 1851; Bethiah is the widow of O. D. Laughlin, and now resides in New London; John married Miss Latina Cresap, and is a prominent farmer of New London Township, living on the old homestead; James H., who married E. E. Burge, died in 1876. John Bangs, Sr., died July 29, 1860, and his wife on the 10th of September, 1866. They were both honored members of the Baptist Church. Mr. Bangs was a Democrat in his political views in early life, and most uncompromising in his opinions. He was a strong free trade man, and opposed to National banks and monopolies. Later in life he became a Republican, and was just as ultra in his views from that standpoint. He was earnestly patriotic in his sentiments and was a soldier of the War of 1812.
John Bangs, Jr., the subject of this sketch, was married in Danville, Des Moines Co., Iowa, July 2, 1864, to Miss Lavina Cresap, daughter of Joseph Cresap. Mrs. Bangs was born in Maryland, and came to Iowa with her parents in 1850. Three children were born of their union, one son and two daughters: Emma, born July 14, 1865, now the wife of Charles Watkins, resides in New London Township; Cora, born Sept. 24, 1868; and William H., born Jan. 17, 1877. The two youngest reside at home. Mr. Bangs has passed nearly half a century in Henry County as a resident of New London Township, during which time he has contributed his share to the improvement and development of the county. His residence, a fine brick structure, occupies the site of the pioneer cabin of 1838. Mr. Bangs is a Democrat in his views, but not an officeseeker, never having held office except as Supervisor, etc. He is a member of Charity Lodge No. 56, I. O. O. F., of New London.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p 179.)(JC)
|H. C. Barker
H. C. BARKER, resides upon section 13, Jackson Township, where he is engaged in general farming and stock-raising. Among the men of the township who are making an enviable record as farmers and business men, there are none more worthy of mention than Mr. Barker. He was born in Tioga County, Pa., Aug. 15, 1848, and is a son of Ambrose and Mary A. (Terry) Barker, both natives of Delaware County, N. Y., in which State they were married. They removed to Pennsylvania in 1845, and in 1865 emigrated to Iowa, settling in this county and purchasing a farm in Jackson Township, and are yet residents of the county. They were the parents of seven children: Margaret, wedded to Alpheus Dann; Betsy A. became the wife of John Irvin; Mary C. married William Myres; Henry C. is the husband of Isabel Short, born Dec. 4, 1849; Robert M. died in infancy; Amelia died unmarried; and Augusta wedded Charles Clark. The two eldest are residents of Tioga County, Pa.; all the others being residents of Henry County. Our subject received a good education, and prior to his marriage was a teacher in this county. He was later employed by Harrison & Warner, in county and State atlas work in Iowa and Wisconsin, and in this Mr. Barker became quite successful. This experience has been of much value to him in the formation of recent business enterprises. His marriage was celebrated on the 10th of April, 1873, his wife being a daughter of Alex. and Mary (Arnold) Short, who were well-known and wealthy residents of this county. The married life of Mr. and Mrs. Barker has been spent on a farm, and Mr. Barker has well probed his adaptability for the business, from the fact that in ten years he has spent over $3,000 in improvements, all of which has given their farm a substantial appearance. Their new mansion was completed in 1887, and it is the best farmhouse in Jackson Township east of the river. His bank barn was erected in 1887, and its commodious apartments furnish all the conveniences afforded by a modern style of architecture. In fact we are pleased to note such substantial improvements, as they speak volumes for the enterprise of not only our subject but of his township. Their home has been graced by the births of Charles A., Carrie, Laura, Penina, Orrin and Gladys. The household has never known a sorrow and the circle is yet unbroken. In a social and political sense Mr. Barker has no superiors. He is prominent in local politics, and has been successively a member of the School Board, Township Supervisor, Justice of the Peace, and in 1880 was appointed enumerator of the United States census. In all the positions the duties were well and faithfully performed.
The hospitalities of the Barker mansion are too well known to need further memtion (sic); there the friend and the stranger alike find a cordial welcome and ample accommodation. As a host Clay Barker excels, and his good wife, who is hostess, wife and mother, in its fullest sense makes theirs a home in all that the name implies. Both stand high in the estimation of their friends and neighbors, who appreciate their character and worth.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 366-7)
PROF. MATHEW H. BARNES, section 23, Center Township, is a pioneer of 1839. He was born in Spencer Township, Guernsey Co., Ohio, Jan. 12, 1815, and is a son of Ford and Jane (Hennen) Barnes, who emigrated from Greene County, Pa., to Guernsey County, Ohio, in about 1811. In that new country Ford Barnes built a mill on Will Creek, which for many years was known as Barnes' Stone Mill, it being among the first mills in that section of the country. In addition to milling he improved a farm and also laid out the town of Claysville in Guernsey County, naming it in honor of Henry Clay, he being a great admirer of that Statesman. In the second war with Great Britain, Ford Barnes served his country faithfully, as did his father, Job Barnes, the grandfather of our subject, during the Revolutionary War. Of the family of eight children of Ford and Jane Barnes, there are now living: Elizabeth, wife of Francis Dailey, of Guernsey County, Ohio; Mathew H., of Henry County; and Ford Barnes, also of this county. Mrs. Jane Barnes dying about 1825, Ford Barnes subsequently married Mary Roberts, by whom he had a large family, three of whom are now living: Margaret, now residing in Center Township; Sarah, now the wife of Mr. Babcock, of Mt. Pleasant; Mary, now the wife of Edwin Lockwood. Politically, Ford Barnes was an old-line Whig, and religiously, was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. For many years his house was the home of traveling preachers and a place for holding meetings in an early day.
The subject of this sketch was reared in Guernsey County, Ohio, and received his education in the pioneer log school-house, the schools being held upon the subscription plan. On the 10th day of August, 1837, in Muskingum County, Ohio, he wedded Miss Martha Monroe, a distant relative of President Monroe. She was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, in 1818. By this union there was one child who died in infancy.
In April, 1839, Mr. Barnes came with his wife to Henry County, Iowa, and settled on the east half of the southwest quarter of section 23, township 71, range 6 west, now known as Center Township. Here he has since continued to live a period of nearly a half century, and is one of the best known citizens of Henry County. In addition to general farming, for forty-four years he has been engaged as a general auctioneer, attending the greater number of sales within a circuit of twenty miles. In an early day he was engaged in teaching music, using the old buckwheat notes, and was then given the title of professor, a title which has since clung to him. Though never an office-seeker, he has yet held several offices of trust and was Justice of the Peace for many years. In politics he is a stanch Republican.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp. 486-487)(PW)
JOHN BARR, residing on section 31, Scott Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Allegheny County, Pa., March 7, 1826, and is the son of Alexander and Lydia (Kellings) Barr, both natives of Pennsylvania. Our subject was reared upon a farm, and leaving home at age of twenty-three began working as a farm hand, receiving the first year but $8 a month. He came to this county the year before the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad was built, coming to Mt. Pleasant. Remaining in the city one year, Mr. Barr then rented a farm, residing upon that for the same length of time. Going to Kansas, he also remained there about a year, engaged in farming, and then returned to Henry County, where he purchased forty acres of land in Wayne Township, on which he resided for two years. On account of his love for his country, Mr. Barr enlisted, Oct. 21, 1861, in the 11th Iowa Volunteer Infantry, serving three years and six months, and was discharged March 15, 1865. He was under fire during the following battles: Shiloh, Corinth, Miss., Iuka, Vicksburg, Kennesaw Mountain, Lookout Mountain, Atlanta, where he was taken prisoner and held captive for seven months and ten days, one month of which he was confined at Andersonville, one month at Charleston, and the remaining time at Florence. Mr. Barr was at Andersonville Prison when the big spring burst out sufficient to water 40,000 men, and was at Florence a prisoner when rations were not served for three days, as a punishment to the men who had dug a tunnel to escape, but it being discovered by the guard, a demand was made for the men who dug it. None would tell, and the attempt was made to starve them until they told. Eight hundred perished from starvation during the three days.
After the close of the war, Mr. Barr returned to Henry County, where he has since made his home. He purchased a farm of eighty acres in Jefferson Township, where he resided for nine years. Selling that in 1874, he purchased 120 acres of land in Scott Township, his second home. He was united in marriage, in 1865, with Orvilla M. Ives, widow of Erastus Ives, and who is a daughter of Samuel B. and Cynthia A. Spring. She is a native of Trumbull County, Ohio, and had one child by her former marriage, Lucy, wife of Samuel L. Brown, of Washington Territory. Eight children have blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Barr: Samuel H., who died in infancy; Mary P., who died when twelve years of age; William H., George Frank, Florence I., Nelson M. and Bessie Olive still reside with their parents; Lauren Lesley, the youngest child, died in infancy. Mr. Barr is a member of the Baptist Church, and his wife of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is also a member of the G. A. R. Post, and in politics is a Republican. His father died in this county at the ages of seventy-four, in 1869, and his mother at the age of forty-four years. They were both members of the Baptist Church.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 430-1.)
|Thomas H. Barton
THOMAS H. BARTON, a prominent farmer of Henry County, residing on section 29, Tippecanoe Township, was born in Tuscarawas County, Ohio, July 1, 1837, and is the son of William and Christiana (Beaber) Barton, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. They emigrated to Ohio at an early day, and from there removed to Indiana, and subsequently to Southern Illinois, where they remained for three years. Resolving to emigrate to Iowa, on the 4th of July, 1844, they settled in Henry County, in Center Township. William Barton erected a sawmill on Big Creek, south of Mt. Pleasant, engaging in milling until the time of his death, which occurred in 1845.
Thomas Barton, our subject, during his boyhood days lived upon a farm. In 1858 he formed a matrimonial alliance with Miss Elizabeth Harsbarger, a native of Virginia, born Aug. 17, 1840, and a daughter of William Harsbarger. After his marriage, Mr. Barton rented a farm for three years, at the expiration of which time, in 1862, he purchased a farm of forty acres in Salem Township, residing on this farm for about a year; then selling it he purchased forty acres on section 29, Tippecanoe Township. On his last purchase Thomas Barton still resides, having added more land until he has a fine farm of 122 acres. His home, an elegant and commodious residence, was erected at a cost of $1,600. Seven children have blessed the union of this worthy couple: Mary L., born March 11, 1859, is the wife of A. Jay, of Tippecanoe Township; William H., born July 25, 1861, married Minnie Rogers, and is a resident of Tippecanoe Township; Sarah C., born Oct. 23, 1863, is the wife of Walter Stewart, of Jefferson County, Iowa; Rebecca J., born Nov. 6, 1865, wedded Nathan Elliott, also a resident of Tippecanoe Township; Harriet Ann, born March 27, 1869, is the wife of Charles Cooper, of Salem Township; Samuel and Annie A., twins, born Oct. 1, 1871, reside at home.
Politically, Mr. Barton affiliates with the Republican party. He has held the office of Township Trustee, Constable, and is at present Justice of the Peace. Mr. Barton is a pioneer of forty-three years' standing, coming to this county in 1844. He passed through many of the hardships and privations of the early settler, but is glad to live to see the grand improvements in our fair country. Mr. Barton is a man of considerable intellectual capacity, and is much respected by the citizens of Henry County.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 467)
WILLIAM BASHFORD came to Henry County in the Spring of 1855, and was born May 20, 1821 in Jefferson Co., OH. He was the son of John and Margaret (Dunlap) Bashford, both parents natives of Pennsylvania, of Scots-Irish ancestry. They had 9 children, 3 of whom are living: John M. a resident farmer of Louisa Co., IA; Eli D. resides in Louisa Co., and was for many years a miner in the Rocky Mtns.; and William, our subject. The deceased are Robert C., James, Joseph, Elizabeth, Sarah, and one who died in infancy.
John was a pioneer of Marion Co., OH, settling there in June 1822, and died there July 7, 1847, aged 6 years. Margaret died about 1858.
William went to Seneca Co., OH at age 25 where he spent one winter as a laborer on the railroad he married Nellie Jane Tuttle native of Pennsylvania born Sept 7 1830, daughter of Milton and Lana (Cooper) both natives same state. After his marriage Mr Bashford rented farm for four years then emigrated to Iowa first in Cedar county year Henry co.
He enlisted in the 8th Iowa Vol. Infantry on Dec. 1, 1864, and mustered out May 8, 1866 at Mobile AL. They had 8 children: Lavilda, b. Feb. 1852 and died at age 13; Melissa, b. Oct 25, 1853, and the wife of John Renshaw, they reside in Jewell Co. KS; Ella, wife of Owen Crispin, she was b. Apr.2, 1857; John Milton was b. Mar. 2, 1859, and resides in Logan, KS; William Jr., b. Oct 31, 1861 married Jennie E. Chamberlain, and still resides with his parents; Lana, wife of William Marple, was born Aug. 12, 1865, and resides in Jewel Co., KS; Levina was born Oct 3, 1868 and resides at home; and Eli Dunlap, b. Mar. 18, 1871, and died at age of one year. The Bashfords are members of the Presbyterian Church.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 496)
|Ernest E. Bates
ERNEST E. BATES, one of the leading and representative farmers of Henry County, Iowa, residing on section 22, Trenton Township, was born in Saxony, Germany, March 11, 1844. His parents were Christian and Margaret (Pantzer) Bates, both of whom were natives of Saxony. Leaving "dat Vaterland" they emigrated to America in the fall of 1854. After spending some time upon the broad Atlantic, they landed in the country traveling on until they reached Iowa, where in Henry County they made their home. Christian Bates purchased 320 acres of land, upon which he made many improvements. This farm is now owned by our subject, being 230 acres in extent, the remaining acres being disposed of, and is one of the best cultivated farms in the township. In the fall of 1866 the marriage of Ernest Bates and Emily Allender was celebrated. She is a native of Henry County, born in 1846. Her father, James Allender, is still a resident of Marion Township. Eleven children have come to bless the union of this worthy couple, who rejoiced with them in their childish glee, and sympathized with them in childhood's sorrow. The silent reaper has passed by their home and the family circle remains unbroken. The names of the members of this happy family are: Annie, who is now the wife of Clark Jay, a resident of Oregon; Margaret, Lydia, John, Amanda, Lizzie, Emma, Nellie, Albert, Elva and Frank. Mr. Bates is principally engaged in the raising of cattle and fine hogs, of which he always keeps the best grades. He is one of the enterprising farmers of Trenton Township, and everything on the farm points to the thrift and industry of the owner.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 415.)
WILLIAM BATES, a representative and influential farmer, residing on section 23, Trenton Township, Henry Co., Iowa, is a native of Saxony, Germany, born Aug. 18, 1838. His parents, Christian and Margaret (Panser) Bates, also natives of Saxony, came to America in the fall of 1854, locating in Henry County, where the father bought a farm on section 23 of Trenton Township, consisting of 320 acres of partially improved land, and still lives on the old homestead.
Our subject, William Bates, was reared upon the above-mentioned farm, and was married, Oct. 4, 1 866, to Elizabeth Ginkel, a native of Hesse, Germany. Her parents were Conrad and Catharine (Kanft) Ginkel, who came to America in 1871, making Trenton Township their home. Mr. and Mrs. Bates have been the parents of five children: Louis, born July 11, 1867; Neil, born Sept. 27, 1868, and Minnie, born July 19, 1872, are still inmates of the parental home; the other two children are dead: Ida, born Sept. 3, 1874, died when four years of age, and Amiel, born March 18, 1870, died when about seventeen months old.
Mr. Bates is one of the well-to-do farmers of Henry County, and is a large land-owner, owning 260 acres of finely cultivated land in Trenton Township, and 640 acres in Pratt County, Kan., and also some property in Pratt Center. Everything about his farm denotes thrift and enterprise. The out-buildings are models of convenience, the barn alone being worth $l,000, and his stock is of the best grades. The hospitable host and hostess of a fine country residence, which was erected at a cost of $2,500, they deserve a place in the history of their county. Mr. Bates in his political views is liberal, voting for the man whom he thinks will best fill the office.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 210-211.)(JC)
|Lewis G. Baugh
LEWIS G. BAUGH, of the firm of Leedham & Baugh, manufacturers of and dealers in sash, doors, blinds, etc., Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, was born in Loudoun County, Va., Jan. 9, 1827, and is a son of Lewis K. and Eliza A. (Beedle) Baugh. His father was also a native of Loudoun County, Va., born Nov. 19, 1795. He was a millwright by trade, and came to Iowa in 1855, and died in Lee County, Sept. 10, 1862. His mother was born in Alexandria, Va., Jan. 31, 1797, and died in Clarke County, Ohio, March 5, 1885. Our subject learned the trade of millwright with his father, who had learned it of his father, the grandfather of Lewis G., who died at the good old age of ninety years. On the 21st day of June, 1853, Lewis G. Baugh was united in marriage, in Miami County, Ohio, with Miss Jane Darst, a native of that county, born Sept. 13, 1830, and daughter of Rev. John Darst, a Dunkard preacher of prominence in his State. Her people were among the early settlers of Dayton, Ohio. She has a twin sister, the exact counterpart of herself, living in Christian County, Ill., the widow of Joseph Hackenberg. Her parents had seven children in all, and her mother died when she and her twin sister were but three weeks old, and the infants were brought up by an aunt, with whom they lived until they were about six years old, when, their father having married again, they returned to his home. At the age of ten Mrs. Baugh was taken by another relative, with whom she lived until she was about sixteen, when an elder brother assumed the care of her and her twin sister, and had them educated. With him she lived until her marriage with Mr. Baugh. Besides her sister, she has two brothers now living: Samuel, a carpenter, living near Springfield, Ohio, and Henry H., a practicing physician at Toledo, Ohio. She has also two half brothers and two sisters living.
Mr. and Mrs. Baugh have had five children, only one of whom is now living. Two of their daughters, who had grown to womanhood, together with a son twelve years of age, were victims of diphtheria, and all died within a period of twenty-six days. The only remaining daughter when just entering upon womanhood was drowned. Flora was born Aug. 6, 1854, and died July 5, 1874; Julia was born Nov. 7, 1859, died Aug. 4, 1874; John L., born Aug. 12, 1862, died July 9, 1874; Edith S., born April 19, 1868, was drowned Nov. 7, 1884, in the distressing accident which happened on Tracy's Pond, in Mt. Pleasant, when she lost her life, as did Prof. Wolfe, of the High School; Miss Carpenter, of Cedar Falls, Iowa, a teacher, and a classmate, Miss Ella Teter, by the sinking of a boat. The only survivor of the family is Charles Henry, who was born in Mt. Pleasant, July 21, 1871, and is now attending school in Mt. Pleasant, and employs his leisure time in his father's mill, having given evidence of superior skill, which his father is giving him every opportunity to develop. Some of his handiwork would be creditable to older mechanics, and indicates a decided genius in that line.
Mr. Baugh came to Iowa in November, 1857, and to Mt. Pleasant in May, 1858. He worked at his trade till 1872, when he formed the existing partnership with H. K. Leedham (see sketch) in the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds. The firm of Leedham & Baugh have a large establishment and are doing a fine business. Mr. Baugh is a man of more than ordinary skill in his business, and attends closely to the interior work of the mill, and the marked excellence of the articles manufactured by the firm is largely due to his careful oversight. For thirty years he has been a resident of Mt. Pleasant, and in that time has done his share in building up the city of his adoption. He is a good business man and an excellent citizen. Politically he is a Republican, and socially a member of the I. O. O. F., holding membership with Henry Lodge No. 10, of Mt. Pleasant, joining that body in Ohio when he was twenty-one years old.
When the partnership of Leedham & Baugh was formed, May 9, 1872, nearly sixteen years ago, preparations were at once begun to erect the mill, and that season the main building was finished. It is three stories high and is 45x60 feet in dimensions. The following year they added a building 20x28, two stories in height, principally used for storage of manufactured goods. These buildings being not yet large enough to accommodate their rapidly growing business, the next year they added another 22x44, and two stories high; a drying-house, 18x50, two stories, was the next, and a couple of years later another building was put up, size 30x50, likewise two stories high. These, with stables, and sheds, give them ample facilities for their large trade, which still keeps growing. Power is furnished by a sixty horse-power engine. When the firm first began they employed six men, but now have fourteen hands at work, who, with the greatly improved machinery invented and put into the mill of late years, turn out more than four times the amount of work formerly done. In round figures, their product the first year was worth $8,000. Last year it footed up $40,000, showing a decidedly healthy growth. They now handle between eighty and 100 carloads of lumber each year, and have a steady demand for all they can turn out. Their trade is mostly local, but they ship goods to other States, to Nebraska, Missouri, etc. They have also a special trade on walnut house brackets, which they send all over the country.
The steady growth of the business of this firm is due to the reputation they have earned of always turning out honest work, fully up to and generally a little better than it is represented to be. The trade fully appreciate this, and consequently the firm is never at a loss for customers, as one once made is secured for good. The result is that while other factories of the kind suspend a part of each year, these works are never shut down except for necessary repairs.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 250-252)(JC)
ISAAC BAUSMAN is a prominent farmer of Henry County, residing on section 17, Tippecanoe Township. His farm, which is 293 acres in extent, is one of the best cultivated in that part of the county, and everything about the place denotes thrift and enterprise. Isaac Bausman was born in Lancaster County, Pa., in 1823. His parents, John and Caroline (Gurlaugh) Bausman were also natives of the same county. When our subject was about twelve years old his parents emigrated to Montgomery County, Ohio, where the father died in May, 1854, when sixty years of age. His wife survived him some years and died near Osage Mission, Neosho Co., Kan.
The boyhood days of our subject were spent upon a farm, and he received his education at the district schools of Ohio. He was joined in marriage, Feb. 22, 1854, with Mary A. Siplinger, a native of Cumberland County, Pa., who was the daughter of Samuel and Rebecca (Moudy) Siplinger, both of whom were natives of Virginia. Mrs. Bausman's grandfather, David Moudy, served as a soldier in the War of 1812. Mr. and Mrs. Bausman have been the parents of seven children: Sarah Jane, wife of M. M. Percell, a farmer residing in Tippecanoe Township; Benjamin Franklin, also a farmer of the same township; Lavina, wife of Sydney D. Mills, residing in New York State; Elizabeth, wife of Andrew Stanley, a resident of Salem Township, who was a teacher before her marriage; Charles I., a resident of Tippecanoe Township; Laura and Martha A., who still reside at home. Mr. Bausman emigrated from Ohio to Tippecanoe County, Ind., and six years years later, in 1865, he removed to Henry County, Iowa, where he bought a farm of 137 acres on section 17 of Tippecanoe Township. He has added to this land until he now has, as before stated, a fine farm of 293 acres, and nearly all of this is under cultivation. With the help of his good wife he has become one of the well-to-do farmers of Henry County, Iowa. Mrs. Bausman and her children are members of the Baptist Church. Politically, Mr. Bausman is a Republican, though he holds liberal views. Among the names of prominent citizens of Henry County, Iowa, those of Mr. and Mrs. Bausman deserve an honorable place.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 433-4.)
AITKEN BAXTER, a farmer residing on section 24, Canaan Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., Sept. 16, 1812, and is a son of Aitken and Elizabeth (Wallace) Baxter. John Baxter, the grandfather, was a native of Ireland, and came to this country prior to the Revolutionary War, in which he served as Sergeant. His eldest son, Robert, was old enough to carry arms at that time, and relieved his father, who then went home on a furlough. HIs wife was supposed to be a Miss Gibbs, but the early history of her family is not known. She was the mother of four children - Robert, Gilbert, Aitken and Margaret. The parents died in Pennsylvania at an advanced age. Robert married Miss Dillon, after her death Jane Boyd became his wife; Gilbert and Margaret died unmarried, and Aitken married Elizabeth Wallace, reared a family of eight children, and both he and his wife died and were buried in Pennsylvania. Aitken Baxter, Sr., was a stonemason, but spent his last days on a farm.
Our subject is the only one of the children now living. His marriage was celebrated in Westmoreland County, Pa., Oct. 11, 1838, Miss Matilda Crawford becoming his wife. Their six eldest children were born there, three of whom died before the family came West. Those living are: Robert, who wedded Marietta Miltenberger, and resides in Albia, Iowa; James, who married May A. Thompson, is a merchant of Mt. Union, and Elizabeth is the wife of William Martin, of Marion Township, Henry County.
In 1851 Mr. Baxter, with his young wife and family, embarked at Pittsburgh for the West, taking passage down the Ohio and up the Mississippi to Burlington, where they landed April 18 of the same year. Mr. Baxter came to the new country with some means and soon afterward entered section 24, Canaan Township, and there he has lived ever since. The first house erected was a log shanty, into which the family moved, they being the fourth family to settle in the township. Their first house stood almost upon the same site as the present residence. That house was destroyed by fire in March, 1887, but from the smoldering ruins an elegant cottage has arisen.
Only one child was born after Mr. and Mrs. Baxter came to Henry County, Joseph, who died in 1861. Robert and James were both soldiers, Robert in the 1st Iowa Cavalry and James in the Marine service. Robert was wounded by guerrillas in Missouri, and of his foraging party only himself and one other were left to tell the tale. Six balls passed through portions of his person, and he yet carries a minie ball in his body as a souvenir of the war. He retired from service with the rank of Captain, and covered with the scars of honorable warfare.
For a number of months Mrs. Baxter has been an invalid, and is confined to her room. She has reached the age of seventy-six, and seen her children all married and well settled in life; her boys have returned from the war and become useful citizens, and her daughter a loving mother. Eight grandchildren are living and have nestled in her arms, and do her honor by the love they bear for one of the most devoted of grandmothers.
Our subject was one of the Judges at the first election in Canaan Township, which was held at the McCabe farm. He was one of the first appointed and also the elected Trustee in the township, and later was County Supervisor for five years. Long since past his prime, but yet in fair health, Mr. Baxter manages his farm and for years has been accounted one of the most industrious and honest neighbors in the community. He yet owns the southeast quarter of section 24, after giving half of the section to his sons, and his daughter is to have the old home farm.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 617-8.)
MASON BAYLES, a farmer residing on section 21, Canaan Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Champaign County, Ohio, Sept. 24, 1833, son of Joseph and Ann (Arrowsmith) Bayles. Joseph was a native of Monongalia County, Va., the wife of Ohio, but her parents removed from Maysville, Ky., to Champaign County, in 1806, probably about the date of her birth. The Bayles also arrived in Butler County, Ohio, about the same time, remaining two years, when a permanent location was made in Champaign County. David Bayles, the paternal grandfather, wedded Sarah Thornton, and reared a large family of children, all of whom were born in Virginia. After coming to Ohio David entered a large tract of land near Tremont, which he improved, and upon this both he and his wife lived, and he died there at the advanced age of eighty-six. His widow removed to Lexington, Ky., and died there two years later, also aged eighty-six years. With John, his eldest on, David Bayles was instrumental in the formation and organization of Mad River Township in Champaign County, each being one of its first Trustees. David and his three eldest sons, John, Coats and David Bayles, Jr., were soldiers during the War of 1812. The two eldest sons were present and included in Hull's surrender. Coats was Captain of a company. David Bayles, Jr.,was a member of the army operating at that time in the East, thereby escaping capture. William, the fourth son, wedded a daughter of Moses Corwin, of Urbana, studied law and practiced in the courts of the county and State for several years prior to his death. Jesse, the sixth son, was appointed Colonel of the Ohio State Militia by the Governor in 1825, and was known by that title during the remainder of his life. He was an active politician, and widely known. He later removed to Lexington, Ky.,and during the late war organized and was in command of the 4th Kentucky Cavalry. He was an ardent Whig, and was Chairmanof the Clay Committee during the Presidential campaign of 1844, and the entire family of Bayles are to-day members of the Republican party.
Joseph, the fifth son, was the father of our subject, and one of the leading citizens in that county in every enterprise. He received his education in Urbana, and wedding Miss Ann Arrowsmith when twenty-six years of age. About that time Ezekiel Arrowsmith gave his daughter a portion of his farm, and there the young couple began their domestic life. All their children were born there, namely: Celenira, wife of Joseph Hixon; Sarah A., wife of James Michelwaite; John M., husband of Sylvia Waterman; Smith, husband of Sarah Mendenhall. Then came our subject, followed by Elizabeth, who married James Turner, and Jesse W., who was wedded in California to Mamie Ford. All these children are living and happily married. In 1845 Joseph Bayles with his family removed to Iowa, settling near Hillsboro, this county. He purchased 200 acres, partly improved, and there those good people resided for many years. Both he and his wife belonged to the Methodist Episcopal Church in Ohio. After coming to Iowa they were equally ardent in Christian work, and aided in the organization of the early churches in their neighborhood, in Lee, Henry and Van Buren Counties. Both died regretted, he at the age of eighty, she in her fifty-sixth year.
Our subject was educated in Mt. Pleasant, graduating in the classical department of the Iowa Wesleyan University in 1859. On the day of his graduation, June 22, 1859, his wedding was celebrated, Miss Maggie Corkhill becoming his wife. She was a daughter of William H. and Mary A. (Baker) Corkhill, of Mt. Pleasant. Mr. Corkhill was a large land-owner in this county, and offered his son-in-law an opportunity for engaging in the cattle business upon his lands in Canaan Township, which offer was accepted, and for three years that enterprise was conducted upon an extensive scale.
With the first call to arms, after the firing upon Ft. Sumter, came a desire to enlist and lend his aid in upholding the old flag. Enlisting as a private in the first company formed in this part of the country, he was soon afterward made an officer, and rose from rank to rank, filling every position, except Orderly Sergeant, and becoming Captain of the company in two months. The company was known as the Canaan Home Guards, but was never assigned to any regiment. Six months later the company was disbanded, and was never re-organized. In July, 1862, Capt. Bayles was appointed by the Commissary General, J. P. Taylor, to a place in Subsistence Department, Army of the Potomac, with headquarters at the 2d Brigade, 2d Division, of the 2d Army Corps, then in front of Richmond, remaining in that department until December, 1863. He was then appointed Inspector of the Subsistence Department of the 2nd Corps by the command of Gen. Warren, and Feb. 23, 1864, he was again promoted, receiving from the United States Senate confirmation as Captain and Commissary of Subsistence, United States Volunteers. After this confirmation by the Senate Capt. Bayles was invited by the Commissary General to come to Washington, and upon his compliance his commission was presented in person by the General, A. B. Eaton, who upon its presentation remarked that "it did not often occur that commissions were either given or received personally. Upon you is bestowed a work of great responsibility, and I hope you will fully appreciate the magnitude of its importance. Return to your division, report to Col. Wilson, who will assign you to duty." The Colonel had been notified by telegraph and upon his return Capt. Bayles found orders awaiting him. He was assigned to duty with the 2d Brigade, artillery reserve, Army of the Potomac, Maj. John Bigelow, of the 9th Massachusetts Artillery, in command. On the route to Richmond this corps was disbanded, and the Captain was assigned to the 2d Brigade, 2d Division, 9th Corps. Army of the Potomac, Gen. John F. Hartranft in command. His next assignment was in August of the same year, as Chief Commissary of the second division of the same army corps, Gen. Wilcox in command. In the December Capt. Bayles was temporarily assigned Chief Commissary of the 9th Corps. The following March his first leave of absence was granted. He returned to his wife and boy at Mt. Pleasant, finding them in the best of health, and to add to his pleasure, his ten days' leave of absence was increased to fifteen, and an accompanying order from the Secretary of War appointing him Commissary of Subsistence, United States Volunteers, with the rank of Major, and an assignment to duty as Chief Commissary of Cavalry of the Army of the Potomac, awaited him. On the eighth day after leave of absence was granted Maj. Bayles hastened to the front, remaining with his command until the close of the war. He was present at every engagement in which his command participated, from and including the second battle of Bull Run to the surrender of the rebel army at Appomattox, except the battle of Bristoe Station, Oct. 14, 1863. After Lee's surrender, the command having returned to Petersburg, they were moved in great haste to the border of North Carolina, to aid in the capture of Johnston's army. Hence Maj. Bayles had the rare fortune to be in the vicinity of the surrender of the two great armies of the Confederacy. He took part in the grand military review held at Washington, D. C. The troops composing this command were then disbanded until late in July, and upon the 29th of that month Maj. Bayles was ordered home, from which place he should report to the Adjutant General, United States Army. On Aug. 4, 1865, his order of muster out was issued.
Returning them to the business left to itself when he became a soldier, Maj. Bayles secured it comfortably ere his health, which in the army had become impaired, gave way, and he was forced to retire from active agriculture and the stock business. Recuperating somewhat after an enforced rest, he accepted in the spring of 1870 an appointment as Assistant United States Marshal for Henry County. He also engaged in the mercantile business at Mt. Pleasant, at the same time. In 1871 he was elected to the Chair of Geology and National History in the Iowa Wesleyan University, serving until 1874, when he was elected President of the Western Iowa Collegiate Institute at Glenwood, which position he filled but one year. Later his health entirely gave way, and he was forced to return to his home in Mt. Pleasant. In 1876 and 1877 the entire family spent the autumn and winter in Washington, D. C., returning again to their Iowa home in the spring. In 1878 Mr. Bayles, accompanied by his two sons, went to Kansas and remained two years, making there a pioneer home. After the return Mr. Bayles removed to his farm in Canaan Township, purchased in1868, where the family now reside, preferring the quiet, unostentatious life of a farmer to the worry of official or other public life.
Four children have graced the union of Maj. Bayles and his wife - Will C., George C., Ollie M. and Helen E., the latter deceased, the education of all has been thorough, and the daughter is an accomplished musician. With a home which any man of taste might envy, a handsome and well-selected library, music and works of art, in fact with all that makes home life pleasant, this gentleman and his family are most happily situated.
The proudest moment in the life of our subject was when the Secretary of War, Edwin M. Stanton, received a letter with only one line tracing the page, in relation to the appointment of our subject as Captain and Commissary of Subsistence. It was brief and to the point:
"Let this appointment be made at once.
We present with pleasure this sketch of the soldier, the official, the teacher, the gentleman, and now the genial farmer, to the consideration of the people of Henry County, among whom his name is so well known.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 594-6.)
Our subject grew to manhood on a farm and was married in his native county, July 5, 1840, to Miss Christina Silvernail, a daughter of Andrew and Helen Silvernail. She was born in the same county and town as her husband, on the 5th of September, 1820. Nine children were born of their union, six sons and three daughters, all of whom are living at this writing. John F., the eldest, was born in Middleburg, N. Y., March 25, 1841, and married Louisa Morrison, and is now residing in Southern Florida; William was born in Geneva, N. Y., Nov. 19, 1842, and married Catharine Rhodes, and resides in Smith Center, Smith Co., Kan.; George was born in Geneva, N. V., Oct. 23, 1844, and married Lethe Graham, and resides in Sarpy County, Neb., and has six children; Erskine was also born in Geneva, N. V., Oct. 12, 1846, married Hester Morehead, has four children, and lives on the old homestead in New London Township, Henry County; Mary was born Oct. 21, 1851, and is the wife of W. S. Wright, of New London Township, and has four children; Jacob was born Aug. 30, 1853, married Maria Hedge, has four children, and resides on a farm in New London Township; Elizabeth was born Sept. 14, 1856, is the wife of Clifton Clarke, has one child, and resides in Jefferson Township, Henry County; Wriley was born July 22, 1859, and is living in Western Kansas; Della was born June 17, 1862, and resides with her parents. The five younger children were born in Huntington County, Ind.
Mr. Becker removed with his family to Geneva, N. Y., in 1842, and from there to Huntington County, Ind., in 1851, where he engaged in farming until 1865, when he came to Iowa and located in New London Township, where he still resides. Two of Mr. Becker's sons served in the late war for the Union. John F. was a member of the 34th Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and enlisted in 1861 and served until the close of the war. George was a member of the 47th Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He enlisted in 1861 and served until the close of the war. Mr. Becker and all his sons are Republican in politics. The family are descended from a rugged, hardy race, noted for their longevity Mr. Becker is a courteous gentleman of superior mental and physical force, and is held in high esteem by his neighbors and acquaintances.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p 217.)(JC)
PETER BECKLER, a farmer residing on section 29, Wayne Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Nanchich, Germany, in 1812, and is a son of Christian and Lizzie Beckler. The former was a farmer in the old country. Three children were born there - Peter, Joseph and Christian. The children were all small when the death of the father occurred. The widow remained true to his memory, and resided in Germany until after Joseph was married. His wife was Kate Summer. All the sons came later to America, and the two youngest were married in this country. Joseph and Peter came together in 1836 and located at Cincinnati. Joseph being married began farming, and our subject secured work by the month. He made that his home for eight years and during this time made several trips to New Orleans, being engaged for some time in fishing at Natchez during the interval. In 1848 he came to Lee County, Iowa, and in 1852 made a journey to California across the plains, the trip taking seven months to complete. He later went to Oregon and for his board during the winter split 200 rails per day. M. Becker then went to the California gold mines and later purchased a team of oxen and for twelve years did teaming for the miners. From the mines he went to Washington Territory, and teamed for eighteen months, saving carefully his money, and when he returned to Iowa, in 1864, a snug sum in cash was invested in lands in this county and upon them his family reside. Peter had reached by this time the age of fifty-two, and had never felt the influence of a woman's love, but time brought great changes later in the old bachelor's heart. Jonas Beight, with his wife and four children moved to the country from Holmes County, Ohio, and settled in Washington County, four miles north of where our subject lives, the same year he returned from California. Her husband died in the spring of 1866,and Peter took a kindly interest in the widow and her children, so much so that he proposed and was accepted in marriage the same autumn, and the ceremony was performed by Rev. Benjamin Eicher, of Washington County. When married the lady had but three children - Moses, David and Minno - of a family of six, one having died in Ohio and two in Iowa. A new house was built on the Beckler farm and the old bachelor's hall was soon forgotten. Children of their own came to grace their home: Elizabeth, John, who died in infancy, and Emma C. The daughters have both reached a good position in the social world, and the younger is a graduate of the Swedesburg school.
Peter Beckler has grown rich as his years have sped, and yet in his seventy-fifth year, he is jolly and social and able to do much labor about the farm. His wife is a daughter of Joshua and Nancy Yoder, who were married in Holmes County, Ohio, and whose parents both came from Somerset County, Pa. She is one of eleven children. The family are widely scattered and some of them were noted men. Noah, Moses and Jacob were soldiers. Moses was killed at the battle of Kennesaw Mountain, June 28, 1864; Jacob was accidently drowned and Noah was severely wounded at the battle of Stone River, Jan. 2, 1863. After his discharge, he practiced his position, that of medicine at Berlin, Ohio. He was a first Lieutenant, then Captain of the 51st Ohio Infantry. Samuel is now a Member of Congress from Ohio, and prior to his election was first a teacher, then a practicing physician of Pluffton, Ohio, later the Probate Judge of Allen County, Ohio, and was the contractor who erected the grand court-house at Lima, Ohio. HIs wife was Miss Minerva Maxwell, a native of Ohio.
Christian Beckler was for several years a resident of Wayne Township, and wedded Barbara Conrad. He owns a fine farm in this county, but is a resident of Stuttgart, Ark. Joseph is not living, having died March 11, 1877, but his widow resides near Flemington, Ill. No nicer family or happier home can be found than the cosy quarters our subject has in which to spend his ripe old age.
The following particulars of the death of Dr. Yoder, of Shanesville, are taken from the Iron Valley Reporter: "The people of Shanesville and surrounding country were horrified on Friday afternoon of last week to learn that Dr. N. W. Yoder was drowned. The particulars are very brief. The Doctor started to visit a patient a few miles in the country, accompanied by a gentleman named Schen. In attempting to cross the bridge at Barr's mill, where the road is very narrow and covered for some distance with water, he drove a little too far to the right, and the front wheel of his buggy went over the bridge, throwing himself and companion into the stream. The current was strong, and the Doctor being a cripple could not help himself. After a brief struggle he sank to rise no more, and the community lost of its best and most honored citizens. His companion, more fortunate, succeeded in making his escape. Dr. Yoder was born near Berlin, Holmes Co., Ohio, and was about forty years of age. He was in every respect a self-made man. He had a liberal education procured by his own exertion; he studied medicine with Dr. Pomerine, of Berlin. In the latter part of 1861, on the recommendation of Gen. Ankeny, he was commissioned by Gov. Todd a First Lieutenant, and recruited a number of men for the army. These he brought to Camp Meigs and had them assigned to Company G, 51st Ohio Infantry. When the regiment was ordered to the front Lieut. Yoder accompanied his command, taking with him two of his brothers, one of whom was killed in battle, and the other drowned while assisting to transfer the wounded from boat to hospital. At the battle of Stone River Lieut. Yoder was wounded eight times, and while lying on the field helpless, had his foot crushed by the wheels of a cannon wagon running over it; as a result of these wounds his right leg was amputated. When recovered he was assigned to hospital duty at Lexington, Ky. As a hospital surgeon he was one of the most valuable agents of the Government, and many a poor soldier is indebted to him for the life he to-day enjoys. Returning home at the close of the war, he resumed his profession and located at Berlin, and soon became popular as a physician. In 1871 he and S. Sharp bought out the drug business and medical practice of Dr. Sheldon, and removed to Shanesville, where he remained until his tragic death. Dr. Yoder was recognized by the medical fraternity, and by the people, as one of the foremost physicians of the State. He had a large practice and was very successful in the treatment of disease. He was the kindest of men and the most steadfast of friends."
The biography does not give Peter's wife's name, but according to their gravestone, it is Tena.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 466-7.)
CAPT. WARREN BECKWITH, a leading business man and prominent citizen of Mt. Pleasant, was born in Henrietta, Monroe Co., N. Y., in 1833, his parents being George L. and Sally (Winslow) Beckwith. The former was a native of New Brunswick, born in 1800, who went with his parents to Buffalo, N. Y., in 1813. The following year his father died, directly after which event news reached the settlers of the intended destruction of the place by the Indian allies of the British, in the war then existing between the United States and Great Britain. Mrs. Beckwith and her family were among those who sought safety by flight beyond the Genesee River. In 1816 the family settled on a farm in Henrietta, Monroe County, near Rochester, N. Y., where the subject of this sketch was born, and which he now owns. George L., his father, was the eldest of the family, and the management of the farm naturally devolved upon him, and he subsequently became its owner. On this place he lived all of his after life, and died there in 1883, at the age of eighty-three years. He was always a farmer, but in his younger days had also been a teacher. He was a man of positive character and of strongly marked personal characteristics. Though never an office-seeker, he took an active part in public affairs; a Democrat by conviction, he was also an original Abolitionist, a believer in the doctrines of William Lloyd Garrison, and an ardent admirer of Horace Greeley. He was an extraordinarily well-read man, a sound thinker and cogent reasoner and fluent speaker, and wielded a more than ordinary influence in his locality. In the infancy of the common schools of the State he was an influential friend and supporter, and did much to insure their success in that region. On the breaking out of the Rebellion he took an active part in support of the Government, helping to fill the quota of his county, and three of his sons were in the army, in which two of them lost their lives. He never engaged in any occupation but that of farming, and at his death left a competence. He was married in 1829 to Sally, daughter of Jonathan Winslow, of Henrietta, who had come to that place from New Bedford, Mass. She was born in 1805, and died in 1885, aged eighty years. They had seven children, namely: Adolphus, who was a farmer in his native county, and entered the Union army in 1861, enlisting in the 8th New York Cavalry, and died of typhoid fever in camp in Virginia, in November, 1862; Samuel, the next son, was part of his life in the railroad business, and came to Mt. Pleasant, where he was Station Agent of the Burlington & Missouri River Railroad from 1859 to 1864, when he returned to the old home in New York, staying there until 1880, during which period he was elected to the State Legislature; he came back to Mt. Pleasant and died here in 1884. Warren was the next son, and after him came George, who died young; Sarah, the next child, also died while young; Everett, who followed Sarah, also was a Union soldier, in the same regiment as his brother, and like him died in camp of typhoid fever, in January, 1863; the youngest of the family, Elizabeth, died in childhood.
Warren Beckwith, the subject of this sketch, was reared on the home farm, and was educated at the Monroe Academy and at the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, at Lima, Livingston Co., N. V. Leaving school at the age of nineteen, he embraced the profession of civil engineering, his first work being done on the Genesee Valley Railroad. He followed this business in the East until November, 1854, when he went to Kansas, and the following winter, at Ft. Riley, helped to lay out Pawnee City, designed by Gov. Reeder for the capital of the State. He assisted in putting up a building for the Legislature, which however, occupied it but one day. This work was in charge of Nathaniel Lyon, then a Captain in the regular army, with whom he was brought into close relations, and who afterward became famous as Gen. Lyon, and who undoubtedly frustrated the plots of the secessionists, and saved Missouri to the Union.
In 1856 Mr. Beckwith came to Burlington, Iowa, entering the employ of the Burlington & Missouri River Railroad, with whom he staid until 1860, when he went to Texas with a drove of sheep. He was there when the war began, and determined to return North and offer his services to the Government. He came by way of New Orleans, in which city he spent the Fourth of July, 1861. Reaching Burlington, Iowa, he enlisted in September, 1861, as a private in Company C, 4th Iowa Cavalry, and served until after the close of the war, proving himself a brave and gallant soldier, and making an honorable record. Dee. 25, 1861, he was promoted to First Lieutenant of his company, and on Jan. 1, 1863, was made Captain. He was with his company in service under Gen. Curtis in Southwestern Missouri, was subsequently at Helena, Ark., and during the summer and fall of 1862 was in active duty, in skirmishing and scouting through that dangerous region. The regiment joined Grant's army at Grand Gulf, on the march to Vicksburg, and participated in the arduous labors of the siege and capture of that rebel stronghold. They remained in and near that city until February, 1864, when they took part in the Meridian expedition under Gen. Sherman. Later in the year they had a lively time in and about Memphis, Tenn., where they were engaged in chasing the rebel cavalry under Forrest, who were trying to intercept Sherman's communications. The regiment during this time was engaged in sharp fights at Guntown, Tupelo, Holly Springs and at other places. In January, 1865, the 4th Iowa was joined to Wilson's Cavalry Corps, and saw a good deal of active service, notably at Selma, Columbus, etc., and it is the universal testimony of his comrades that wherever Capt. Beckwith was engaged he acted in a brave and soldierly manner, and had not only the confidence of his superior officers, but of his own men and of all those with whom his duties brought him into contact. In 1864 he was on detached duty, and was in command of the mounted provost guard, district of West Tennessee, and in 1865 was Brigade Inspector General. He was mustered out Aug. 29, 1865, after an honorable army career of four years, during which he saw much hard service, but was fortunately never wounded. As a recognition of his meritorious services he was tendered a commission in the regular army, which he did not accept. Returning to the pursuits of peace he came to Mt. Pleasant and again engaged with the Burlington & Missouri River Railroad Company, and after the consolidation of the lines in 1872, became Chief Engineer and Superintendent of Track of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company. In 1879 he began contracting on the road, and was in that business until a short time since. He and his brother-in-law, Frank P. Porter, are now proprietors of the quarries at Dudley, Iowa, where is found the best stone in the State, all of which is taken by the railroad company as fast as taken out. Capt. Beckwith, Charles H. Smith and Richard Stubbs were the originators of the Western Wheel Scraper Works at Mt. Pleasant, for a description of which see sketch of Charles H. Smith. Another business carried on by him, and which is evidently a labor of love, is the breeding and raising of fine horses, both draft and driving, principally Shires for work and Hambletonian for driving purposes. At his extensive farms near the city of Mt. Pleasant he has usually about sixty head of blooded stock, which is doing much to raise the standard of the horses in this section of the country.
Capt. Beckwith was married, in 1863, to Luzenia W., daughter of Col. A. B. Porter, an eminent citizen of Henry County, of whom a history is given elsewhere. She died in 1880, leaving five children, as follows: Everett, Orville, Emily, Florence and Warren, all living with their father. The mother of this family was an estimable lady, whose death was sincerely mourned, not only by her family but by a large circle of friends to whom her lovable character had greatly endeared her. She was a prominent member of St. Michael's Episcopal Church.
In 1881 Capt. Beckwith was united in marriage to Miss Sarah E. Porter, a sister of his first wife, and a lady of decided ability and culture. She likewise is a communicant of time Episcopal Church.
The subject of this sketch is a member of Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 8, A. F. & A. M., of McFarland Post No. 13, G. A. R., and of the Loyal Legion of America-the most exclusive organization in the country, membership to which is granted only to commissioned officers of the army and navy who saw service in the Civil War, and after a most searching examination into the private and public record of the candidate, which must be unblemished.
Contact with the world, together with his inherited qualities, have made Capt. Beckwith a man of broad and liberal ideas. A natural leader among men he has acquired many warm friends, not only at his home, but among leading men in all parts of the country, and in the community in which he resides he is a prominent figure.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 282-284) (JC)
|T. L. Beers
DR. T. L. BEERS, the oldest established dentist in Mt. Pleasant, having been in constant practice here since February, 1873, was born in Knox County, Ohio, Feb. 15, 1843. His parents were Joseph and Jane (Douglass) Beers. His father was born in New Jersey, and was of Irish descent, several generations removed. His mother was born in Ohio, and was of Scotch descent. T. L. Beers received a common-school education, and enlisted in August, 1862, as a member of Company B, 96th Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry. He was discharged in December, 1862, on account of physical disability. On his return from the war, he engaged in the study of dentistry at Fredericktown, Ohio, and in 1864 began practice at Hudsonville, Ill. One year later he removed to Vincennes, Ind., where he practiced his profession one year. He was married at Fredericktown, Ohio, Nov. 26, 1866, to Miss Elvira M. Haskins, who was born in Delaware County, Ohio. Her father was a native of Vermont, and her mother of Pennsylvania.
Dr. Beers and wife have two children, a son and a daughter. The son, Charles Joseph, was born in Morrison, Ill., Feb. 21, 1871. The daughter, Jennie D., was born in Mt. Pleasant, March 21, 1877. Dr. Beers removed to Morrison, Ill., in December, 1865, where he was engaged in the practice of his profession for a period of seven years. He then returned to Fredericktown, Ohio, where he practiced one year, and in 1873 removed to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, in which city he has practiced his profession continuously since. By strict attention to business and thorough knowledge of his profession, and by prompt and courteous treatment of his patients, he has won the confidence of the public, and secured an extensive and lucrative practice. He is a Republican in politics, and socially a Knight Templar Mason. He a member of Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 8, A. F. & A. M.; of Henry Chapter No. 8, R. A. M., and of Jerusalem Commandery No. 7, K. T. He and his wife are members of the First Presbyterian Church of Mt. Pleasant.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 419-20.)
Enoch Beery is the owner of three hundred and twenty acres of valuable land in Salem township, located on section 22 and as a general agriculturist and stock-raiser he has become well known by reason of his practical enterprising methods and his enviable success. He was born in Baltimore township, Henry county, on the 6th of October, 1856, and is a son of Levi L. and Margaret (Short) Beery, both of whom were natives of Fairfield county, Ohio. The paternal grandfather was Isaac Beery. It was the year 1842 that Levi L. Beery came to this county and had located, after which his wife and two children joined him, he having been married in Fairfield county, Ohio. He purchased land in Baltimore township, securing a tract of timber situated on Big Creek.
Only a few acres had been cleared and he at once began the difficult task of cutting away the timber, clearing out the brush and grubbing out the stumps. He cleared many acres and thus aided in subduing the wilderness and transforming a wild tract into a valuable possession. His first purchase comprised one hundred and sixty acres of land, but as he prospered in his undertakings and his financial resources were increased he also increased his acreage until he had about one thousand acres in Henry county. He also made judicious investments in real estate in Nebraska, having one thousand acres in Fillmore and Valley counties. He died in the year 1893, having for about two years survived his wife, who died in 1891.
Enoch Beery was the youngest in a family of seven children, three of whom were sons. He pursued his early education in the district schools and afterward attended Howe's Academy at Mount Pleasant, thus acquiring a good English education which well equipped him for the performance of life's practical and responsible duties. He spent his boyhood days in Baltimore township, living with his parents until twenty-eight years of age, when he was married and established a home of his own.
It was on the 27th of November, 1883, that he wedded Miss Susan Rains, who was born in New London township and was a student in the public schools in her girlhood days. Her parents were Zebbedee and Phebe (Hamell) Rains, both of whom were natives of Indiana and her paternal grandfather was Samuel Rains and her maternal grandmother Dorcas Hamell. Three children were born of the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Beery; Levi L., born September 7, 1888; Floyd R., born November 26, 1891; and Mary H., August 27, 1894.
Following his marriage Enoch Beery took up his abode upon a farm of two hundred and twenty acres on section 22, Salem township. He came into possession of this tract at his father's death and later he added one hundred acres, so that he now has a valuable farm of three hundred and twenty acres. This tract, like much of Iowa's land, is very productive, responding readily to cultivation and he carries on general farming and stock-raising, keeping horses, cattle, hogs and sheep upon his place. Mr. Beery is an extensive and successful stock-dealer, his principal business being buying and selling stock cattle, selling to the feeders mainly. He raises only good grades and he therefore finds a ready sale for his stock upon the market.
In matters of business his judgment is rarely, if ever, at fault and in the control of his interests he has found that keen discrimination, capable management, close application and indefatigable energy form a splendid foundation upon which to rear the super-structure of success. In those relations of life which indicate personal views and tendencies of character, Mr. Beery is found on the side of improvement and progress. He is an exemplary representative of the Masonic fraternity, in which he has attained the degrees of the lodge, chapter and commandery at Mount Pleasant and he is also a member of the Knights of Pythias fraternity, while politically he is an earnest republican.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 578) (PE)
|Levi L. Beery
LEVI L. BEERY, a farmer and dairyman of Baltimore Township, is prominent among the agriculturists and business men of Henry County, and his name has been for years a familiar one. He was born in Fairfield County, Ohio, in 1814, and is the son of Isaac and Mary (Cridlebaugh) Beery, who came to this county in 1842. Isaac Beery was born in Rockingham County, Va., and his wife in Reading, Pa., their marriage being celebrated in Ohio. Mr. Beery built a flatboat for the purpose of emigration, and on it made the journey to Ohio, where he was one of the first settlers. He was a minister of the Dunkard faith, also a farmer, and after living for many years lives worthy of emulation, the parents were called to their final home. They reared a family of twelve children: Delilah, Catherine, George, Andrew, Elizabeth, Levi L., Maria, Elijah, Jesse, Isaac, Enoch and Priscilla. Eight of these children are now living, but our subject is the only one residing in this county. In Ohio Levi L. Beery was wedded to Miss Margaret Short, in 1839. He came to this county, as before stated, in 1842, and the next year brought his young wife, selecting this for a permanent home. He was present at the treaty made with the Indians, at the time of the second purchase, and the land selected by Mr. Beery was upon the Black Hawk purchase, and the fertile valley that produces such bountiful crops was the favorite hunting-ground of the Indians, who had two considerable villages not far from his present homestead. Mr. Beery made a first purchase of 162 acres, which was occupied by a squatter who had built a small cabin upon the site of his present home. With his young wife, Mr. Beery moved into the cabin, and after twelve months of pioneer life he erected a more commodious house.
Mr. Beery is an example of a typical self-made man, and was in straightened circumstances when he first came to this county. He erected a mill in 1844, which he operated for perhaps a score of years. Later, putting in an engine and boiler, he added a gristmill, and this was also operated for several years, Mr. Beery having learned the miller's trade while engaged in the business. The ruins now serve as a landmark. This mill was the principal source of Mr. Beery's good fortune, and from that investment his possessions have increased with his years, until he now owns nearly a section of the finest land in Baltimore Township, stocked with flocks and herds, and the bottom lands are of the most productive character. His buildings are in keeping with his enterprise, and in addition to his farming interests he has a cheese factory with a capacity of 700 pounds weekly. His own cows supply the milk, and the products find a ready sale in the home markets; in fact, the demand is greater than the supply. Aside from the industries mentioned, Mr. Beery has done a large business for years in both grain and stock, which has been also a source of profit and pleasure.
Mr. and Mrs. Beery have seven children: Jane, now the wife of A. L. Micksell, a resident of Covington, Miami Co., Ohio; William H., wedded to Lizzie Briton; Isaac, husband of Nellie Moul; Enoch, married to Susie Rains; Mary, Delilah and Angeline, at home with their parents. In addition, Mr. and Mrs. Beery are rearing as carefully as their own, a niece, Gertie Beery, a daughter of Jefferson and Martha Beery.
This household has ever been noted for its courtesy and kindness, and as host and hostess the names of L. L. Beery and his estimable wife are known far and wide. The first family reunion occurred Oct. 15, 1887, at which all the children were present with their respective husbands and wives. Mr. Beery has lived a life worthy of emulation, and as his years increase, his love and veneration for the Republican party increase, and although not a candidate for official position, he is an ardent worker, and at the last county convention, held at Mt. Pleasant, he was Chairman. His children have been carefully educated, and all have certificates entitling them to teach, and some of them have taught in this county; Delilah and Angeline have been teachers in Nebraska, and Jane in Ohio. The same teacher that was preceptor when Mr. Beery was a student, was the instructor of his children-Prof. S. L. Howe, who founded the academy which bears his name, and which has given an education to many people of note from this and other States.
Mr. Beery was a schoolmate with Gen. W. T. and John Sherman, Tom Ewing and other noted men, and in their boyhood days their debates grew ardent in their literary societies. Men grow old in years, but their good deeds and their virtues are left for examples for future generations, and to such men as Mr. Beery Henry County owes much of the fame she possesses as a leading county in the State of Iowa.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 262-263) (JC)
WILLIAM H. BEERY
William H. Beery, one of the trustees of Center township, who is extensively engaged in farming and is also a director of the Henry County Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company, was born in Baltimore township, this county, on the 12th of March, 1846, a son of Levi L. and Margaret (Short) Beery. The father, a pioneer settler of this state, was born in Lancaster county, Ohio, in 1814, and was a son of Isaac Beery, a native of Germany, who came to Ohio on crossing the Atlantic to America.
Levi Beery was reared in the Buckeye state and there wedded Miss Margaret Short, who was a native of Pennsylvania. He was a tanner by trade and followed that pursuit until 1840, when he visited Iowa on a prospecting tour and purchased land in Henry county. In 1842 he removed with his family to his farm in Baltimore township, transforming the wild and unimproved land into a rich and productive tract. In the course of years his place became a valuable farm and remained his home up to the time of his death.
He also had one of the first saw and grist mills of the county on Big Creek and was a promoter of the substantial improvement and material welfare of the county for many years. As his financial resources increased he made judicious investment in property until he owned between seven and eight hundred acres of land at the time of his demise. He held different township offices, the duties of which he discharged in a capable manner and his death, which occurred in 1892, was the occasion of deep and widespread regret. His wife, a most estimable lady, passed away in 1890.
William H. Beery is indebted to the district schools of Baltimore township for the early education he acquired but later he attended Howe's Academy in Mount Pleasant, then one of the leading academic schools of the country. When he put aside his text-books he gave his attention to farm work on the old homestead until twenty-one years of age, when he made a trip through the west, visiting California, Nevada, the Black Hills and other districts. He was one of the first in the Black Hills country, where he engaged in prospecting and mining. He opened up a mine there and was very successful in its operation. He was also in Colorado and subsequently in New Mexico and on selling his interests there he returned to Henry county and purchased a farm in Center township comprising two hundred and fifty acres of land and constituting one of the best farm properties here.
He has prospered in his management of his agricultural interests and in addition to the home place he owns eighty acres of land in Bath township. All of the improvements upon his property have been made by him and in 1904 he erected a beautiful residence with all modern equipments. It is lighted by gas and he has his own gas and water plant upon the place. The home is conveniently situated two miles from the city and is a most desirable and attractive residence. Mr. Beery is an extensive stock-feeder as well as general agriculturist and both branches of his business are proving profitable.
In 1882 Mr. Beery was married to Lillie A. Brittain, a native of Baltimore township and a daughter of Robert Brittain. They now have two children; Agnes, a student in Iowa Wesleyan University; and Wilbur H., at home. Mr. Beery has been an active republican and has served on both the township and county central committees, acting on the latter when President McKinley was elected. He has frequently been a delegate to party conventions and has been called to public office, serving now as township trustee, in which office he has been the incumbent for fifteen consecutive years. During that time many permanent improvements have been made in the roads and in installing cement culverts.He has likewise been the champion of advancement along educational lines and the schools find in him a stalwart friend. He belongs to Mount Pleasant Lodge, No. 8, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of which he was senior warden for a number of years and he affiliates with Mystic Lodge, Independent Order Odd Fellows. For twenty years he has been an officer and director of the Henry County Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company, of which his father was one of the charter members and Mr. Beery is now serving as vice president. His work in behalf of public progress has been of a practical and beneficial character, while in his business life he has achieved prosperity and at the same time has name made an honorable name.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 438) (PE)
Frank S. Bell, a member of the bar of Henry county engaged in practice in Salem and also connected with the firm of Bell & Percival, maintaining an office in Winterset, Iowa, was born in Lee county on the 20th of October, 1867, and is descended from one of the old families of Pennsylvania. Still further back, however, the ancestry can be traced to the great-great-grandfather, William Bell, and his wife, Elizabeth (Stewart) Bell. William Bell was born in Ireland of Scotch ancestry in 1731, and died April 5, 1819, and there he married Elizabeth Stewart, who was born in Scotland in 1737, died October 17, 1825, a member of the Stewart clan and if legend can be proven was of royal blood.
In religious belief they were United Presbyterians. They emigrated from Ireland to the new world, settling in Tuscorora valley, Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, prior to the year 1757. This William Bell was with Washington at the time of Braddock's defeat, and later served as an officer of the Revolutionary war, being a member of the Pennsylvania line. He was also one of the organizers of the Huntington (Pennsylvania) presbytery and was a most prominent and influential member of the Presbyterian church, serving as a ruling elder of his local church in the Keystone state at that early day. He died in Mifflin county, Pennsylvania as did David Bell, the great-grandfather of our subject. The latter's wife bore the maiden name of Alice Allen.
David Stewart Bell, grandfather of our subject, was born on Bell's Island in the Juniata river in Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, and in the spring of 1837 he came to Fort Madison, casting in his lot with the pioneer settlers of that place. He was the first deputy recorder of Lee county and became a member of the twentieth general assembly of Iowa, the building of the new capitol being among the measures before the house during this session. He was well fitted for leadership and did much to mold public thought and action in his community. A very prominent and influential citizen, he continued his residence in Lee county up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1877, his remains being interred in Sharon cemetery. At Fort Madison he married Sarah Stewart Rail, of Fort Madison, a daughter of Benjamin and Ann (Mohler) Rail, who were pioneer residents coming from Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. Both Mr. and Mrs. Bell were prominent early members of the Presbyterian church of Fort Madison.
Thomas Allen Bell, father of F. S. Bell, was born in Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, was a farmer by occupation and in 1845 came to the middle west, settling in Cedar township, Lee county, where he inherited a part of the home farm. Here he resided until 1888, when he removed to Salem and for some years was engaged in the grocery business. He was one of the patriotic sons of Iowa and attempted to enlist several times but was rejected each time on account of his youth and size. He later was accepted and served his country as a soldier of the Union army in the Civil war, joining Company E, Forty-fifth Iowa Volunteer Infantry for one hundred days. In politics he was an earnest republican but unlike his father, he eschewed public office, preferring to give his attention to his business interests and other duties. He belonged to the Odd Fellows lodge at Salem, also to the Grand Army of the Republic and he held membership in the Congregational church, and his wife belongs to the Christian church. She bore the maiden name of Elvira C. Harlan and is a native of Ohio and a member of the well known Harlan family. Mr. Bell passed away on the 5th of January, 1893, but Mrs. Bell still survives and is now residing in Salem at the age of sixty years.
In the family of this worthy couple were two daughters and a son, Frank S. being the eldest of the family. The others are: Cora E., the wife of John Byers, a resident of Birmingham, Iowa, by whom she has five children, Earl, Ethel, Rhea, Thelma and Frank Stewart, all born in Birmingham; and Grace E., who is at home with her mother. She is a graduate of the Iowa Wesleyan University and is a successful piano teacher in Salem.
Frank S. Bell pursued his early education in the public schools and afterward attended Whittier College in Salem and Howe's Academy in Mount Pleasant. Having thus acquired a good literary education to serve as a foundation upon which to rear the superstructure of professional knowledge, he entered the law department of Drake University at Des Moines from which he was graduated with the class of 1894 with the degree of L.L. B., and was admitted to the bar by examination, standing second in a class of fifty-three members, it being the largest class before the supreme court until that time.
He returned at once to Salem and for six months engaged in teaching school near the city. He then opened his law office and is still practicing here, being the only practicing attorney in Salem. He is also a member of the firm of Bell & Percival, of Winterset, Iowa. In a profession where advancement depends upon intellectual and individual merit he has gradually worked his way upward and is regarded as one of the rising lawyers of Henry county and has represented the leading financial interests of Salem in a legal way. His understanding of the law is broad and comprehensive and accurate and in the trial of his case he shows keen discernment, logical reasoning and forceful presentation of his cause.
Mr. Bell is a member of the Odd Fellows society and of the Knights of Pythias fraternity. He is a republican but has neither sought nor desired office. He belongs to the Congregational church and lives on Jackson street in Salem with his mother, who is a most estimable lady, having a large circle of warm friends here. Mr. Bell is popular both socially and professionally and his business qualifications have gained him a creditable name and are bringing him the substantial rewards of earnest and close application.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 532) (PE)
|George C. Bell
GEORGE C. BELL, a blacksmith of Rome, Henry Co., Iowa, and a prominent citizen of that village, was born in Greene County, Ohio, June 7, 1825, and is a son of Joshua and Mary (Bales) Bell, the former a native of Maryland, and the latter of Ohio. Joshua Bell was of Scotch-Irish descent, and was born on the 13th of February, 1776, and departed this life in Henry County, July 12, 1856. All his life was spent upon a farm. He took great interest in local politics, always voting with the Whig party. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a sincere, earnest Christian. Nathaniel D. Bell, the grandfather of our subject, emigrated from the North of Ireland to America. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. Mary Bell, the mother of George, was of German descent. She was also a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is now deceased.
In 1829, when George was a lad of four years, his parents removed to Tippecanoe County, Ind., where they remained until the fall of 1841. Coming to Henry County they located in Tippecanoe Township. George was reared upon the farm until his seventeenth year. He then learned the blacksmith trade, which he has followed ever since. On the 7th of August, 1846, the marriage of George C. Bell and Delila Grant was celebrated. She was a native of Indiana, being born in Harrison County, Nov. 3, 1827. Her parents were Thomas and Christiana (Davis) Grant. Eight children have gathered round the hearthstone of Mr. and Mrs. Bell: Malinda, now the wife of William Fry; William, an engineer, residing in Rome; John P., who died when five years of age; Naomi J., widow of Reiley Lloyd, residing in Fremont County, Iowa; Thomas I., a resident of Rome; Martha, wife of Charles H. Huston, a resident of McLean County, Dak.; Charlotte, at home; and Mary Rebecca, wife of James Phillips, of Dakota. The mother of these children died Sept. 16, 1886, at the age of fifty-nine, and great indeed was the grief felt at her death. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for many years, and an earnest worker for her Master.
At the breaking out of the Rebellion our subject responded to his country's call for troops, and enlisted Sept. 25, 1863, in the 9th Iowa Volunteer Cavalry, serving two years and seven mouths. He was engaged in many skirmishes, and was mustered out Feb. 28, 1866, at Little Rock, Ark. After returning home he resumed blacksmithing in Jefferson County, where he resided until 1872. He then came to Rome, at which village he has since made his home. Here he built a blacksmith-shop, and has ever since continued to work at his trade. Mr. Bell served as Mayor of Rome, and as Marshal for a year each, and as Constable for three years. He is a stalwart Republican, and never swerves in his allegiance to that party.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p 323) (JC)
Joshua Davage Bell Jr.
This early settler was labeled 'Davage' to distinguish hi from his Pioneer father by the same name. Davage was born in Greene Co., Ohio in 1817, coming to Iowa in the fall of 1840 at age 23. He worked for his Uncle Lewis Watson for $15 a month, earning his way like this for several years. In 1849 he married Margaret Ginn, whose family had come to Iowa with the Bells. Both Margaret and a baby daughter died in 1854.
Widowed Joshua married Rachel Ann McBride, whose parents were John
II and Sarah (Long) McBride. Later, Davage purchased 40 acres in
township, Sec. 7 for $125.00. Eventually this land was deeded to John
McBride and was known as the McBride farm for a number of years. For a
short time between 1865 and 1873 Davage and family lived in
. On the death of John McBride they came back to care for the farm and
Rachel's mother Sarah.
---Mrs. Everett (Mary Lou) Boal.
(History of Henry County, Iowa, comp. by the Henry County Bicentennial Commission. Vol. 1. Dallas, Tex.: National ShareGraphics, 1982.p. 122)(CL)
WILLIAM BENNETT, residing on section 33, Scott Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Ross County, Ohio, May 17, 1820. He is a son of George and Mary (Holloway) Bennett. The father was a native of Pennsylvania and the mother of New Jersey. In 1806 they emigrated from Winchester, Va., to Ross County, Ohio. Four of the family of ten children were born in the former State: Enoch, a blacksmith and farmer, died in Miami County, Ohio, in May, 1886; Sarah, the wife of Newton Hicks, of Ross County, Ohio, Wed in Clarke County, in August, 1882; her husband had died in November, 1845. James, born Nov. 2, 1806, died in Clarke County, Ohio, in August, 1881 ; Elizabeth died while yet an infant but a year and a half old. After the removal to Ohio six other children were born: George, born April 28, 1809, died in Clarke County, Aug. 30, 1885; Benjamin, born in April, 1811, died June 27, 1812; Rebecca, wife of Jacob Yager, died in Henry County, Iowa, March 13, 1857, at the age of forty-four; Mary, wife of M. McCafferty, resides in Winfield, Iowa; Benjamin H., born June 21, 1817, was drowned in the Ohio River, July 3, 1840; our subject is the youngest of the family. During most of his life George Bennett was a blacksmith, but when this labor became too heavy for him he moved upon a farm. He was called to his final home, in Clarke County, Dec. 19, 1861, at the age of ninety-two years, two months and seventeen days. His wife departed this life Aug. 25, 1853, aged seventy-seven years, seven months and four days. She was a member of the Society of Friends.
William Bennett, our subject, was reared upon a farm in his native State. His education was received at the subscription schools of those times. He remained at home until twenty-one years of age. Mr. Bennett was united in marriage, in 1841, with Ann McCafferty, a native of Madison County, Ohio. He afterward rented his father's farm, residing upon this for nine years, at which time, Oct. 3, 1850, he removed to Henry County, Iowa, settling on a homestead of eighty acres on section 11, Scott Township. He improved this farm, making it his home until 1869, when he sold out and removed to Mt. Pleasant, in order to furnish better educational advantages to his children. While residing in that city, on the 22d of November, 1870, Mrs. Bennett was called to her final home. She was born in September, 1815. Two years later Mr. Bennett removed to Osborne County, Kan., where he improved a claim, residing there for eight months, and in December of the same year returned to Henry County. He purchased eighty acres of land on section 33, Scott Township, where he still resides.
Mr. Bennett was again married, April 7, 1874, to Margaret A. Harkness. She was born in New York, and is a daughter of James and Margaret (Fleming) Harkness, both of whom were natives of the same State. Her father died at Morning Sun, Iowa, March 20, 1880, when seventy-three years of age. He was a devoted church member, and one of the organizers of the Presbyterian Church of Winfield, having been an Elder for many years. Upon his removal to Morning Sun he joined the United Presbyterian Church of that place, and was well known and universally respected. The mother died Jan. 24, 1887, aged seventy-six, and was also a believer in the United Presbyterian faith.
By his first wife Mr. Bennett had five children: Sarah, wife of Emmons Courter, of Osborne County, Kan.; Mary, wife of W. R. Custer, residing in Taylor County, Iowa; Electa Jane, wife of Stewart B. Terry, a farmer and stock-raiser of Jackson County, Mo.; Elizabeth Ann, wife of Thomas F. Hull, residing in Hardy, Neb.; William Franklin a merchant of Pomona, Cal; By the second union there are two children, Edna and Georgiana. Mr. Bennett and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, he being one of its Trustees. Mr. Bennett has five times been elected Justice of the Peace, and has held various other township offices. Politically, he is a Republican. Mr. Bennett always takes an active part in public enterprises for the good of the community, and is a liberal friend to education, in fact, is foremost in all good works, and it is with pleasure that we place his sketch in the record of Henry County's people.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 193-194.)(JC)
|Charles E. Bergh
CHARLES E. BERGH, a hardware merchant and tinner, of Wayland, came like many of the citizens of this and other States, from across the broad Atlantic. He arrived here in 1864, and from that date until the present has been actively engaged in business. Learning the trade of coppersmith in Sweden, at which he became an expert, the young man found his services in demand upon his arrival in America, and he has realized a fine business, and has made a successful and useful citizen.
Charles E. Bergh, Jr., was born in Orebro, Sweden, Dec. 31, 1838, and is a son of Charles E. and Catherine (Dahm) Bergh. His mother bore three sons, the second of whom died in infancy. John, the eldest, married, and his widow remains in his native village in Sweden. Charles E., our subject, was left an orphan when two years of age, and was cared for by his uncle, Andrew Didrickson, and his good wife, who gave him all the love and care parents usually bestow upon their own offspring. By this uncle he was taught the trade of coppersmith, and remained with him in the village of Askersund until his departure for America in 1864. After the death of his mother his father married again, and by that union became the father of two other sons, Andrew G. and Peter J., the first of whom is a carpenter by trade and resides in Texas. The other still resides in Sweden, and with him the widowed mother makes her home.
Chicago was the home of our subject during his first three years' residence in America. Thence he started West on a prospecting tour, and traveled extensively through the States and Territories. He become a resident of Henry County in 1870, locating at Mt. Pleasant, from which city he went to Crawfordsville, Washington County, where he made the acquaintance of Mrs. Caroline E. (Bennett) Berry, who became his wife in 1871, and their removal to Swedesburg, Wayne Township, Henry County, was made four years later. Mr. Bergh established there a hardware and tin shop, but after a comparatively short residence there, returned to Crawfordsville in 1879. During his residence there Mr. Bergh was the first Noble Grand of Winnemac Lodge, I. O. O. F., of Crawfordsville, and has been Noble Grand of Wayland Lodge. Three years later the family became residents of Wayland, where Mrs. Bergh engaged in the hardware trade. In 1886 he sold his stock to Joseph A. Roth, and again began business in shelf-hardware, tinware and groceries, and is accounted one of the successful merchants and enterprising business men of Wayland. The first marriage of Miss Bennett was graced by the birth of a son, D. F. Berry, resident, operator and agent of the Narrow Gauge Railroad, at Noble, Iowa. To bless their home four children came after the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Bergh: John C., an expert telegraph operator; Carl, deceased; Samuel and Lyman, all bright, intelligent lads, full of promise, who, under the care of their parents cannot fail to develop into good young men.
Mrs. Bergh was born in New Jersey, and is the daughter of Elmer and Lucy Bennett, pioneers of Crawford Township, Washington Co., Iowa. They were the parents of six children, all of whom are prominent citizens. Mrs. Bergh has been a frequent contributor of poems to the press of this State and of Ohio, and her productions have received many well-merited compliments.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 463.)
JAMES BIGELOW, of Mt. Pleasant, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Penobscot, Me., May 13, 1828. His father, James Bigelow, was also a native of Maine, though of English descent. The three brothers of the Bigelow family came to America at an early day and settled in the New England States. From one these brothers James Bigelow is a direct descendant. His mother, Louisa (Abbey) Bigelow, was a native of Massachusetts. James Bigelow, Sr., and Louisa Abbey were married in 1827, and settled in Penobscot, Me. They were the parents of thirteen children, eight of whom are now living: James is the subject of this sketch; Bessie, Amos, and Alfred are deceased; Melissa is now the wife of Joseph Davis, a resident of Maine; Calvin, one of the brave boys in blue enlisted and served through the war; Melvin and Jerome were also soldiers of the Rebellion; Maria is the wife of George Davis; Susan is the wife of Mr. Jones, and Joan is single; two children died in infancy. James Bigelow, Sr.,was politically a Whig and a great admirer of Henry Clay and Daniel Webster, two of the great Statesmen of our country. He was well informed on all public affairs, whether political or otherwise. Mr. and Mrs. Bigelow were people highly respected, not only in the immediate vicinity where they lived, but wherever they were known. They were both members of the Baptist Church. He was once a Selectman of his town and represented his district in the Legislature. Mr. Bigelow died in 1878, but Mrs. Bigelow is still living in Penobscot, Me., at the advanced age of seventy-seven.
The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in his native State, and received his education at the Skowhegan Academy, supplemented by a partial course in the Skowhegan College. In 1857 Mr. Bigelow left Maine and settled in Niagara County, N. Y.; where he engaged in the buying and selling of horses. While there he was joined in wedlock with Miss Louisa Drum, a daughter of John Drum, a journeyman printer of Niagara County. In 1862 they removed to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, where Mr. Bigelow was largely engaged in buying horses for the Government until the close of the war, since which time he has been engaged in buying and selling fine stock. Politically he is a Republican, and socially he is a Master Mason. Mr. and Mrs. Bigelow are well known in the community where they reside, and are highly respected. They are the parents of two children, a son Frank, who is clerking in Chicago, and Mabel, living in Mt. Pleasant.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 487.)
|Wellington Bird M.D.
WELLINGTON BIRD, M. D., a prominent physician of Henry County since 1849, and a resident of Mt. Pleasant, was born in Northumberland County, Pa., May 5, 1817, and is a son of William and Margaret (Moyer) Bird. His father was born in New Jersey in 1795, and emigrated with his parents to Pennsylvania when two years of age. James Bird, the grandfather of the Doctor, was a soldier in the war of the Revolution in the Patriot army. He was a wagonmaster, and participated in the battle of Monmouth, and served till the close of the war. His wife's name was Osborne, to whom he was married in New Jersey, and with whom he removed to Northumberland County in 1797, where they both died. The Birds were a large, athletic race, descended from the sturdy yeomen of old England. Dr. Bird's mother was born in Philadelphia, and was of German descent, her father being a native, of German parentage, while her mother was a native of Germany, who came to this country while young, and lived to the extreme old age of ninety-five years, dying in Catawissa, Pa. William Bird, the father of our subject, was a blacksmith by trade, and worked in Columbia County, Pa., and adjoining places, his home for some years prior to his coming west being in Danville, Montour County, from which place he removed to Mt. Pleasant in 1858. After coming here he and his wife lived retired in a house owned by their son. Mr. Bird died at the age of seventy-six. His wife survived him about ten years, dying at the age of eighty-five. Mr. Bird was a pleasant, genial and popular man, and was well liked by all who knew him. He and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They had twelve children, all of whom grew to maturity. Those now living are: Caroline, widow of John Martin, late of Mt. Pleasant; Philip, a farmer in Kansas; Wilhelmina, a widow now living in Dauphin County, Pa.; Charles, a machinist at Danville, Pa.; Clement, living at Afton, Iowa; and Wellington, who was the oldest of tile family. When twelve years old the latter went with his parents to Bloonmsburg, Columbia Co., Pa., and there received his education, and grew to manhood. He took a regular course of study at the Jefferson Medical College, of Philadelphia, and graduated in the class of 1841. In October of that year he was united in marriage, at Bloomsburg, Pa., to Miss Sarah, daughter of Eli Thornton, a prominent and respected citizen of that place, and a member of the Pennsylvania Legislature for several terms.
Immediately after taking his degree Dr. Bird located in Knox County, Ohio, and established a fine practice at the city of Frederickstown. Having a desire to come farther west he emigrated in July, 1849, from Ohio to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, where he has since been engaged in the practice of his profession. While his professional duties have been quite exacting he has yet found time to give some attention to other enterprises. On the establishment of the Iowa Wesleyan College, at Mt. Pleasant, now the Iowa Wesleyan University, he took an active part in the management, in its construction and outfitting. He was elected a Trustee of the college, and served in that capacity for twenty-five years, or until he resigned to accept an appointment as Indian Agent in 1877. On the breaking out of the late war, in 1861, he was appointed as Assistant Surgeon of the 4th Iowa Cavalry, which position he resigned to accept that of Commissary of Subsistence, with rank of Captain, and served in that capacity till the fall of 1862, when he resigned on account of ill-health. His son, Hiram T., who was then a student of the Iowa Wesleyan College, enlisted in 1863, at the age of seventeen, as a private of the 8th Iowa Cavalry, and was subsequently appointed Hospital Steward. He was made prisoner before Atlanta during McCook's raid, and was taken to Charleston, S. C., where, having been classed as an Assistant Surgeon, he was exchanged without much delay. After one month spent at home, on furlough, he returned to the front, and participated in Wilson's raid and other engagements, serving till the fall of 1865.
In 1866 Dr. Bird went to Idaho, and spent one year on the head waters of the Columbia River. Returning to Mt. Pleasant at the expiration of that time lie resumed practice, and was actively engaged until his appointment, by President Hayes, in 1877, to the Indian Agency at Ft. Peck, Mont. He served in this capacity nearly three years, during which time he was quite successful in his management of the natives. When he took the agency there was not an acre of land under cultivation, but he instructed the Indians in the methods of agriculture and labor, and at the close of his term had a thousand acres enclosed, and several hundred under cultivation. He returned to his home in Mt. Pleasant in 1880.
Dr. and Mrs. Bird are active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Doctor's membership dating from 1846, and Mrs. Bird's from 1839. He is President of the Board of Trustees. They have been blessed with nine children: William N. died in childhood; Myra is the wife of Hon. John S. Woolson, State Senator, and a prominent attorney in Mt. Pleasant (see sketch); Allie is the wife of Hon. Washington I. Babb, a leading attorney of Mt. Pleasant (see sketch); Hiram T. married Florence McLaran, and is engaged in business at Mt. Pleasant; Regina is the wife of Theodore F. Twinting, formerly of Mt. Pleasant, now of Passadena, Cal.; Caroline was burned to death in childhood by her clothes catching fire; Horace died in 1859, aged three and a half years; Burnetta died in infancy; Leslie, the youngest, is unmarried, and lives in Mt. Pleasant.
Dr. Bird is a prominent citizen; he has been a member of the City Council for a number of years; he was many times elected Trustee of the public schools, and for several terms was President of the board. He is a member of McFarland Post No. 20, G. A. R., and is still in the active practice of his profession, his skill and ability having won for him a flattering reputation and a large practice.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 284-285) (JC)
WELLINGTON BIRD, M.D.
No biographical review of Henry county would be complete without mention of Dr. Wellington Bird, deceased, who for many years was a leading representative of the medical fraternity in Mount Pleasant and the surrounding districts. He came here at a day when the practice of medicine was fraught with many personal hardships and difficulties, necessitating long rides with sparsely settled districts over poor roads.
He was born in Columbiana county, Pennsylvania, in 1817. His paternal grandfather was a soldier of the Revolutionary war. William Bird, the father, was a resident of Columbiana county, Pennsylvania, and there followed the blacksmith's trade for many years but in old age he and his wife came to the west and died at the home of their son, Dr. Bird, in Mount Pleasant
In the county of his nativity Dr. Bird began his education. His father desired that he should learn and follow the blacksmith's trade but this did not prove congenial and giving up the work he entered a store. While thus employed he devoted every leisure moment to reading and studying. His employer noticing this asked his purpose, and finding that he wished to become a physician, said that he would give him the necessary assistance, and did so, sending him to Jefferson Medical College, at Philadelphia, from which institution he was graduated about 1840.
He then located for practice at Fredericktown, Ohio, and his capability in accordance with the standard of medical practice at that time brought him a good patronage. He was married to Miss Thornton, of Columbiana county, Pennsylvania, and they began their domestic life at Fredericktown, where they resided for a brief period, after which they came to Mount Pleasant, arriving here in the year 1849. He was the first regularly educated physician to enter upon practice here, and for many years he continued as a follower of his chosen calling, devoting his time and energies to the active work of the profession until within a few years of his death.
As is usual in a frontier community he had a large country practice which called him to the four corners of the county, occasioning him to make long drives through the hot summer sun or the winter's cold. He regarded no personal discomfort or sacrifice on his part too great if it would enable him to alleviate human suffering or restore health and through his scientific interest in the profession and his desire to gain a competence through years of practice he displayed broad humanitarian principles and deep sympathy. At the time of the Civil war he became assistant surgeon in the Fourth Iowa Cavalry but late resigned on account of his age
Dr. Bird was one of the organizers of the Forest Home cemetery, securing the plans for this and personally superintending their adoption and in the practical work of laying out the cemetery, which is still in use. At that time it was owned by a corporate concern but now belongs to the city. Dr. Bird was also one of the active trustees of the Iowa Wesleyan University and acted in that capacity when it needed the helpful co-operation of its board in order to place it upon a paying basis. Both he and his wife held membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and he was also one of its officers and a liberal contributor toward its first house of worship. His life was indeed filled with good deeds and worthy actions and was characterized by high and manly principles.
His wife, who was born in 1818, passed away August 13, 1895, at the age of seventy-seven years, while he survived until August, 1897, having reached the age of eighty years when called to his final rest. His memory, however, is enshrined in the hearts of many who knew him and who benefited by his professional services or his charity and enjoyed his companionship and friendship.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 17) (PE)
JOHN BLACK, a son of William Black, was horn in Knox County, Ill., March 14, 1838. When but two years old he was taken by his parents to Henry County, where they resided in a log cabin. Here he received his primary education in a pioneer school. In October, 1861, he enlisted in the 4th Iowa Cavalry, and was mustered in at Camp Harlan, and was afterward sent to Keokuk hospital. He was in the battle of Guntown, but being in very poor health, was taken to the hospital where he remained a year. He was mustered out at Memphis, Tenn., at the expiration of his term of service. From the war he returned to his home, where lie was married, in March, 1865, to Harriet Jameson, a daughter of James and Cordelia (Scoville) Jameson, who were the parents of two children, Harlan and Hariet. Mr. Jameson died in Ohio. Mrs. Jameson came to Henry County, Iowa, in 1858, and in 1866 removed to Crawford County, Kan. She was afterward married to Thomas Havens. By this union there was one child, Carlton I.
Mr. and Mrs. Black are the parents of four children-Charles, Delia, Birdie and Maggie. In politics, he is a Republican and an active worker in the party. Mr. Black has been identified with the county all his life, and has witnessed its growth from infancy. As he is one of the oldest, he is also one of the most respected citizens of the county.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p 211.)(JC)
WILLIAM BLACK, one of the early settlers of Henry County, was born in Greenbriar County, Va., in 1805. He was married to Miss Rebecca Benson about 1832. In an early day he moved to Knox County, Ill., and in 1840 removed to this county, and settled near Trenton, in what is now Jefferson Township. Here he purchased 160 acres of prairie and forty acres of timber land, and made many improvements on his farm. He was compelled to haul his flour and lumber from Burlington with an ox-team. In early life Mr. Black was an old-line Whig. Mr. and Mrs. Black are parents of seven children: Joseph, now of Kearney, Neb., enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, was elected Captain, and after serving eighteen months resigned; John, who now resides in Mt. Pleasant; Samuel, of Kearney, Neb.; William, who enlisted in the 25th Iowa Regiment, died in this county in 1870; Asbury, of Mt. Pleasant; Charles, of Kearney, Neb.; Emma, wife of G. C. Wilson, of Wayne Township. Mr. and Mrs. Black were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They were widely known, and no couple were more highly respected.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 215-216.)(JC)
|CYRUS A. BOAL
Cyrus A. Boal, has spent all his life in Henry county and is numbered among its old settlers. His birth occurred in Trenton township, May 7, 1856, his parents being Robert and Lydia A. (Foster) Boal. They were natives of Pennsylvania, the father born in 1826, and the mother in 1834. Removing to Ohio with his parents in his boyhood days, Robert Boal was there reared, and in 1854 he removed from Muskingum county, Ohio, to Henry county, Iowa, settling upon a tract of land in Trenton township, and after a few years moved to Wayne township, where he actively carried on farm work until his sons were old enough to relieve him of the care of the fields, after which he gave his attention to work at his trade as a stone mason.
He long supported the Republican party and for many years served on the school board and was also township clerk for two terms. His interest in the community was deep and sincere, and he did everything in his power to promote the work of public progress along lines of permanent improvement. He was a Mason, holding membership at Wayland, and he and his estimable wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church, taking an active and helpful part in its work. He served as superintendent of the Sunday-school and was zealous in his devotion to the cause of Christian education among the youth, realizing the truth of the old adage, "Train a child up in a way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart therefrom." An honorable and useful life was ended, when, in 1881, Robert Boal was called to his final rest.
He was survived for some years by his wife, who passed away March 8, 1893, and was held in equally high regard and esteem in the community. In their family were six children, of whom four are now living: C. A., of this review; George A., who married Elizabeth Wertemberger and resides in Wayne township; Nevada, the wife of W. B. Lyons, of Wyoming; and Clara, the wife of John Seay, of Indianola, Iowa. One child died in infancy and one at the age of nineteen years.
C. A. Boal was educated in the schools of Wayne township, and when fourteen or fifteen years of age started out in life on his own account, working by the month as a farm hand. At the age of twenty-two years he rented a farm in Marion township and has since devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits, with the result that his labors have gained him his present position.
On the 8th of January, 1882, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Boal and Miss Dolly Anderson, who born May 12, 1862, in Marion township, a daughter of John and Sarah (Sprague) Anderson. Her father was born in Pennsylvania, was a farmer by occupation, and in 1844 came to Iowa, settling at Mount Pleasant upon the site of the university. His home was in the midst of a dense forest tract and he was one of the pioneer residents of the community, who aided in replacing the natural conditions of the tract by the evidences of an advanced civilization. Mr. Anderson was a republican in his political views and for many years followed farming in Marion township. He now makes his home with Mr. and Mrs. Boal, and is the oldest man in the township, having attained the age of ninety years. His wife, who was a devoted member of the Presbyterian church and who was born in 1822, died in Kansas, January 6, 1887, her remains being interred in Floral cemetery in that state.
Mr. and Mrs. Anderson were parents of twelve children, eleven of whom reached adult age, namely: Ann, now the wife of Joel Ogg, of Mount Pleasant; David, who married Lizzie Hull, of Marion township; Serena, the wife of James Van Osdel, of Kansas; Joseph, who married Martha Van Osdel; Emily, wife of John Van Osdel; William, who wedded Mattie Thompson, of this county; Cornelius, who married Clara Shepherd and is living in Dexter, Iowa; James, who married Ollie Carter, of Henry county; Alfred, who wedded Effie Carter and lives in this county; Mrs. Boal, of this review, and Carrie, the wife of Leonard Thompson. The eldest brother of the family, David Anderson, was a soldier of the Union army, enlisting in 1861 in the Fourth Iowa Cavalry, with which he served throughout the period of hostilities and was once wounded in the neck.
Mr. Boal has always been an earnest advocate of republican principles, supporting the party since age gave to him the right of franchise. He was also elected justice of the peace, but would not qualify, as he does not desire office as a reward for party fealty. He belongs to the Odd Fellows society, holding membership in Swedesburg Lodge, No. 347, and the encampment at Mount Pleasant, and he has passed all of the chairs in the local lodge. Both he and his wife are devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he is serving as steward.
Having no children of their own, they have adopted a son, Foster Boal, who was born November 26, 1889. Mr. Boal's success in life is attributable to his own efforts. He is a genial and pleasant man, and his wife possesses many excellent qualities, so that they are highly esteemed in the community where they reside. He is a well read man, keeping informed on the questions of general interest of the day, and his entire life has been passed in Henry county, where he is numbered among the worthy early settlers.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 425) (PE)
GREGORY BONNIFIELD, one of the pioneer settlers of Henry County, residing on section 1, Tippecanoe Township, was born in Randolph County, Va., Feb. 11, 1821, and is a son of Rhodham and Nancy (Menier) Bonnifield, both of whom were also natives of Virginia. There were thirteen in his father's family when they emigrated to Iowa. They located in Jefferson County, in the spring of 1836, and during the third winter following three of the children and also the father and mother died, the father at the age of fifty-two and the mother at the age of fifty. Both of the parents were devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Three of the family have since died and seven are now living: Samuel, engaged in the mercantile business in Nevada; Gregory, our subject; Wesley B., a banker residing in Ottumwa, Iowa; McCaska, a lawyer in Nevada; Ellis, a farmer residing in Mitchell County, Kan.; Martha, widow of V. Chandler, residing near Fairfield, Iowa, and Catherine, wife of William Ross, a resident of Reno County, Kan.
After his father's death, our subject managed the home farm until the spring of 1852, when he removed to Henry County, settling on section 1, Tippecanoe Township. He purchased 380 acres of partially improved land, which he has transformed into a beautiful farm, and on this he still resides, now owning 340 acres. He was united in marriage, on the 9th of November, 1848, with Miss Lydia Shuman, a native of Guernsey County, Ohio, and a daughter of Daniel and Mary (Lenington) Shuman, the former a native of Ohio, and the latter of New Jersey. Her parents settled in Henry County in the fall of 1840, locating on the farm now owned by Mr. Bonnifield. Her father died in June, 1851, at the age of forty-nine, from an attack of cholera; his wife departed this life in April, 1864. They were both members of the Presbyterian Church, and always ready to aid with time or money in the Master's service. Mr. and Mrs Shuman were the parents of eleven children, nine of whom are now hiving: Jane, widow of Lineus Fairchild, who was a farmer of Tippecanoe Township, where she yet lives; Mrs. Bonnifield; Thomas died in Corning, Iowa, in 1884; Moses, now a resident of Corning, Iowa; Elizabeth, wife of Thomas Ables, now residing in Santa Maria, Cal.; John, also a resident of Santa Maria; Sarah, wife of H. Davis, residing in Cheyenne County, Kan.; Clarissa, wife of John Inglebright, residing in Marion Township; William, now residing in the State of Oregon; Maggie, wife of Elias Ogg, of Henry County, and Phebe, who was the eldest of the family, and was the wife of Thomas Jackson, then of Tippecanoe Township, died of cholera at the same time as her father. Mr. Bonnifield is entirely a self-made man; he commenced life a poor boy, and all that he has he has made by hard work, good management and fair dealing. They lived in a little cabin in true pioneer style until 1869, when he built a fine and commodious dwelling at a cost of $3,000. His farm is under a fine state of cultivation, and the out-buildings are models of convenience, the barn alone costing $l,000. Politically, Mr. Bonnifield is a Democrat. Six children have come to make glad their parents' hearts: Mary, who was the wife of J. F. Kinney, of Tippecanoe Township, died Sept. 29, 1881, at the age of thirty-two; Augustus died Dec. 7, 1877, at the age of twenty-five: Allen is a farmer of Tippecanoe Township, and is married to Miss Ellen D. Day; Martha J. is at home; Thomas W. died June 9, 1875, at the age of sixteen, and Frank lives at home. Mr. and Mrs. Bonnifield are earnest Christian people, and are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They are always ready to lend a helping hand to the needy, and none more truly deserve the respect of the community, which they enjoy in a marked degree.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 349-350) (JC)
STEPHEN BOOTH, farmer, living on section 33, in Jackson Township. There are numerous families in this country who came from English stock, yet who for generations have been closely identified with the business interests and prosperity of this commonwealth. Of such persons, who have for so many years been ranked among the best citizens of the several States, comes our subject, Stephen Booth. He was born in Fairfield County, Conn., Dec. 16, 1822, and is the son of David and Polly (Lane) Booth. Both parents were born in the State of Connecticut, and were married in Monroe, Fairfield County. David Booth was a farmer, and his wife was the daughter of a farmer, and of English descent. They were the parents of six children: Jennett, who wedded Andrew Jackson, a well-known hotel man who for years kept a hotel five miles west of New Haven in the town of Plainville. His wife, who was the mother of four children, is yet living, a resident of Birmingham, Conn. Francis and Mary died unmarried; Margaret became the wife of William C. Pruden, and resided many years in Orange, New Haven Co., Conn., dying in 1885; Philander, a mechanic, is wedded to Mrs. Elizabeth Shepherd, whose maiden name was Redman, and resides in Plantsville, Conn., and has two children. Stephen Booth, the subject of this sketch, learned the butcher's trade, and left his home when eighteen years of age to see his fortune. He made his way to Huron County, Ohio, where he engaged in working on a farm for his cousin, Marcellus Booth, whose family had emigrated to Ohio. This was in 1840, and six months later he went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he engaged as cabin hand on the steamer "Dewitt Clinton," plying between that city and New Orleans. The next spring he returned to his boyhood home, and in the city of New Haven opened a meat-market. In 1850 he again decided to come West, and for some time worked in Chicago, and later worked in Ypsilanti, Mich. He then went to Cincinnati and began work in a slaughter house, and remained in that business until his marriage, May 26, 1853, by Rev. P. S. Condon, to Margaret Shannon, who was born in Aberdeen, Ohio Co., Ind., Nov. 19, 1833.
The history of the ancestry of Mrs. Booth is very interesting, and we regret that it cannot be more fully given. Her great-grandfather was a Hessian soldier sent to America during the Revolutionary War. Detesting the outrages committed by soldiery, he deserted his command, and the next we hear of him was when he was located in Philadelphia, after the Revolutionary War, where he married and reared a family. His grandson, George Shannon, was the father of Mrs. Booth. He was born in Philadelphia, and was married in that city to Elizabeth Smith, who bore two children before they left that State - Catharine and Julia A. They subsequently removed to Cincinnati, and from there to Aberdeen, Ohio Co., Ind.; about 1819, where they were among the earliest settlers. The six youngest children were born there: Mary, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; James, a bachelor, living at Murphy's, Calaveras Co., Cal.; George, deceased; William, who was married four times, his first wife being Mary Bunker; the second Romanza Reed; the third, Julia Dillon, and the fourth, Sarah E. Powell, and each having borne children. He is now a merchant of Mt. Pleasant, this county. Mrs. Booth is the youngest of the family. The death of her mother occurred soon after her birth, and she was taken care of by Mrs. Jane Brierton, and cared for as her own daughter until her nineteenth year, when her marriage with our subject was celebrated. Mrs. Brierton was a woman who was noted for benevolence, and died in 1870. She remembered Cincinnati when only one cabin marked the site of that city.
The wedding of Stephen Booth and Margaret Shannon was celebrated at the home of Philip Lewis, who wedded Jane Brierton, foster-sister of Mrs. Booth, and this sketch was written on the morning of Mr. Lewis's departure from the Booth residence, after a long visit. The young couple really began their domestic life in Ohio County, Ind., upon a farm. Mr. Booth had but a few dollars, but he was full of enthusiasm and his wife was of the same type. After they had purchased provisions enough to last them six months, and had barely enough furniture in their little cabin to get along with, they had one Mexican quarter left, and that is yet in Mr. Booth's possession, and the coin, which is now over a century old, was shown to the writer of this sketch. It is highly valued as a relic and as the foundation of their fortune.
In 1854 Mr. Booth and his wife took charge of the Ohio County Infirmary and farm for three years, during which time it was ably conducted. They then concluded to come West, and loading their household effects on a steamer, were landed in Ft. Madison March 19, 1858. During the following summer they purchased forty acres fronting their present home, and in October of that year were safely housed in the little farmhouse which yet stands opposite their dwelling. From this date prosperity began, and year by year other broad acres were added to their possessions. Flocks and herds filled the pastures, and the old house was exchanged for a handsomer residence just opposite, and a massive barn was erected, one of the nicest in the neighborhood. This was done in 1874, and during his arduous toil Mr. Booth contracted a cold which for ten years had made him an invalid. His health however, is improving with increasing years. Throughout his long illness the master hand of his wife has been apparent. She is a manager in a strictly business sense, and the farm work never lacked an overseer during the illness of Mr. Booth. Their home is noted far and wide as a model of neatness, and for their well-spread board. They have no children, but have reared a niece of Mrs. Booth, Miss Dora Shannon, who finds in her aunt an affectionate mother.
It is a pleasure to write the sketch of a self-made man, and as this will be read by hundreds of the best people of the county and old friends of Mr. and Mrs. Booth, the labors of the writer will be rewarded by their appreciation of this sketch of the history of a family which justly stands high in the estimation of all who know them.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 449-50.)
|Mathias S. Bowers
MATHIAS S. BOWERS, a farmer and stock-raiser, of Marion Township, residing on section 25, was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, Feb. 24, 1835, and is the son of John and Rebecca (Vernon) Bowers. His father was born in Greene County, Pa., June 24, 1792, and his mother in Muskingum County, Oct. 10, 1805. John and Rebecca Bowers were the parents of twelve children; of that number eleven are still living: Amos married Miss Elizabeth Spry, of Custer County, Ohio; Henry wedded Miss Sarah Violet, and resides in Washington, Washington Co., Iowa; Lucinda, widow of Patterson Calhoun, resides in Zanesville, Ohio; Cornelius married Catherine Calhoun, and resides in La Harpe, Hancock Co., Ill.; Charles S. married Emeline Moore, who died in 1866, leaving two children, and he was again married, to Eliza Erving, and now resides at Elmwood, Peoria Co., Ill.; Charles was a member of the 4th Iowa Cavalry and served three years; Mathias, our subject, is the sixth child in order of birth; Dorothy, wife of Allen Vernon, of Council Bluffs, Iowa; Lizzie, widow of Jacob Twigs, a resident of Beatrice, Neb.; Harrison was a member of the 4th Iowa Cavalry, and died at Memphis, Tenn., in 1864; Harriet, wife of a Mr. Humphrey, a conductor on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, resides at Lincoln, Neb.; Eliza, wife of Allen Courtney, a farmer of Marion Township; and Christiana, wife of Logan Myers, residing near Marshall, Iowa. Their children were all born in Muskingum County, Ohio, their father having settled in that county at a very early day and was married at that place. He found the country in a state of natural wildness. With but few exceptions the virgin soil was yet unvexed by the plow. The nimble deer, thoughtless of danger, lightly bounded over the plain, contentedly grazing upon the succulent grasses. He cleared 100 acres of land and made for himself a home, and continued to live there until 1832, when the desire to again become a pioneer took possession of him, and he accordingly loaded his family and household effects into wagons and started on the long, tedious journey to Iowa, leaving Lucinda and Cornelius at the old homestead, where they remained for several years, and later moved to Hancock County, Ill. Leaving his well-improved farm of 160 acres and all the comforts of home, he landed in Henry County, which was an unbroken wilderness, and bought 605 acres of wild land in Marion and Canaan Townships, in one body. At that time there were no laid out roads or landmarks. The first road marked out was from the place where Hill's building now stands in Mt. Pleasant to Wapello. This was laid out with an ox-team. He was a man who lived for his family, and was quiet and reserved in his way, but had many friends and was highly respected. He and his good wife were both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and she was taken from him in the year 1872. Mr. Bowers was called to his heavenly home in 1881, at the age of eighty-nine years and eleven months. He had no pain, and day by day saw him grow weaker, yet on the day of his death he ate a hearty dinner. His last words were: "I am not sick," but he fell back dead in his son's arms.
Our subject was reared on a farm, and in the occupation of tilling the soil has continued to labor all his life. His early education was received at the common school. Mr. Bowers has witnessed the rapid changes in this county since 1852, for since that time he has made his home in Marion Townhip, where he has a well regulated farm of ninety-five acres. He was united in marriage to Miss Emma Spry, born in Muskingum County, Ohio, Oct. 30, 1837. She is the daughter of William and Mary (Vernon) Spry, who had a family of twelve children: Elizabeth; Lucinda, deceased; M. B.; Martha, wife of Thomas Moore, residing in Florida; Milton J., a farmer in Kearney County, Neb.; Joseph W., a member of the 25th Iowa Volunteer Infantry, died at Vicksburg; Samuel N., a farmer and stock-raiser in Nodaway County, Mo.; William a farmer of this county; May, wife of William Steadman, a farmer of Marion Township; John B., in Villiska, Iowa; Chancy W., a farmer in Nebraska; Christin, wife of Charles Campbell, of Ogle Alley, Neb. The father of these children died in 1881, and the mother is still living in Marion Township.
Mr. and Mrs. Bowers' family consists of four children: William G., born Dee. 29, 1863; Leroy C., born Sept 3, 1867, now attending school; Charles H., born Oct. 10, 1870; Black O., born Sept. 26, 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Bowers have given their children good educational advantages. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and are greatly interested in all church work. Mr. Bowers is politically, a Republican, and is held in high esteem throughout the county in which he has been so long a resident, and no one more justly deserves this esteem than does he. He has taken an active interest in all public affairs, and is an influential citizen.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 233-234.) (JC)
|John C. Bowman
JOHN C. BOWMAN, a dairyman and farmer residing on section 21, Center Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Warren, Trumbull Co., Ohio, July 13, 1835, and is a son of John and Zilpah (Hull) Bowman, now residents of California. He came with his parents to Mt. Pleasant in 1844, when but a lad of nine years, was educated at Farr's private school at that place, and was married, Jan. 7, 1862, to Miss Eliza A. Saunders, daughter of Presley Saunders, the founder of Mt. Pleasant. She was educated at Howe's Academy, at Mt. Pleasant, her instructor being the same person who taught Gen. John Sherman and Chief Justice Case. Mr. and Mrs. Bowman are the parents of three living children: Flora S., wife of Charles A. McCloud, of York, Neb.; Roscoe P., who was one of the pioneer settlers of Greeley County, Kan., married Emma Laird, of Mt. Pleasant, and has one son, Barney; Myrtle E. died at the age of five; Everett N. resides at home. In 1864 Mr. Bowman went to Petaluma, Cal., where he was engaged in the hardware trade, being also interested in the gas works, he putting in gas works in many of the towns and principal residents. Remaining in California until 1882, he then returned to Henry County, since which time he has been engaged in farming. Mrs. Bowman is a member of the Christian Church, and there her family attends. This worthy couple have always been identified with the improvements and public enterprises of the county, and Mr. Bowman, politically a Republican, is always ready to aid in the advancement of his party's interests.
John Bowman, Sr., was born in Sharon, Mercer Co., Pa., Dec. 25, 1802, and in that county grew to manhood, receiving a liberal education. He married Zilpah Hull, daughter of Beshara and Rhoda Hull, the former a Captain in the Revolutionary War. John Bowman, of this sketch, has one brother, James, of Mercer County, Pa. Nine children have been born to this worthy couple, six of whom are yet living; Besharer, who died in San Francisco, Cal., was the husband of Lillie Baldwin, by whom he had one child, Jennie; Rhoda, wife of Henry C. Saunders, resides in Mt. Pleasant, and has a family of six children, two of whom died in infancy; those living are Monte, Ona, Frank and Anna; Frank M., of Walla Walla, Wash. Ter., married Belle Dodson, who died, leaving one child who is now dead, and he was again married, to Ella McCash, three children gracing their union - Bell, Willie and Charles. John C., a resident of Henry County, married Miss Eliza A. Saunders; Philo Newton resides in Petaluma, Cal.; Anna, deceased wife of Frank Jacobs of Ohio, was the mother of one child, now dead; Jerome F., of Walla Walla, Wash. Ter., married Josephine Cameron, and to them four children have been born; Henry C. married Jennie Pugh, and to them has been born one child, a daughter.
In 1844 Mr. Bowman came to Mt. Pleasant, where embarked in the hatter's trade, his principal business being among the Friends who wore tall white hats, but he kept the latest styles of hats in stock. In 1846, having sold out that business, he purchased and became the proprietor of the Eagle Hotel, which he kept until 1851, but selling out during that year, he removed to West Union, Fayette Co., Iowa, and there purchased a farm of 160 acres on which he remained three years, then returned to Mt. Pleasant, and engaged in the dry-goods business until 1866, when he moved to Petaluma, Cal., where he continued to reside until his death, which occurred Dec. 1, 1887. In politics he formerly voted with the Whigs, but subsequently was a Republican. He was a man of good business ability, a great Bible student, and a member of the Christian Church, to which his wife also belonged. They stood high in the community where they resides and were greatly esteemed wherever they were known.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 604-5.)
Sanford Boyd, who is engaged in general farming in Tippecanoe township, is a native of Ohio, his birth having occurred in Guernsey county on the 11th of April, 1852. His father, Thomas Boyd, was a native of Pennsylvania and when he had arrived at years of maturity was married to Miss Elizabeth Abels, who was born in Ohio, and whose father, John Abels, became one of the earliest settlers of Tippecanoe township, Henry county, Iowa. He was well known as a pioneer resident and contributed in substantial measure to the work of early development and improvement here.
The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Boyd was celebrated in Ohio, where they owned a farm, which he continued to operate up to the time of his death. He passed away April 29, 1869, at the age of sixty-four years, his birth having occurred March 10, 1805. His wife, who was born January 24, 1812, died on the 27th of February, 1892, having reached the advanced age of eighty years. In their family were eleven children, six sons and five daughters, of whom Sanford Boyd is the youngest.
In the public schools of Ohio he pursued a limited education, but his opportunities in that direction were somewhat meager for his services were needed upon the home farm. He remained at home until sixteen years of age, when he left Ohio and came to Henry county, Iowa, with his sister-in-law. Since that time he has been dependent entirely upon his own resources and whatever success he has achieved is attributable entirely to his labors. He was employed for a few months in various capacities and then took up farm work for he believed that the outdoor existence would prove beneficial to his health, which was in a somewhat precarious condition, his lungs seeming to be affected. He continued to labor as a farm hand for three and a half years and was greatly benefited by this life in the open air.
On the expiration of that period Mr. Boyd was married on the 26th of September, 1878, to Miss Elizabeth Wilson, who was born in Jackson township, Henry county, and is a daughter of John M. and Sallie (Davis) Wilson, the former a native of Indianapolis, Indiana, and the latter of Ohio. Her paternal grandfather was John Wilson and her maternal grandfather John Davis, a native of Pennsylvania.
After his marriage Mr. Boyd rented a tract of land in Baltimore township, whereon he lived for a year and a half, and then engaged in the cultivation of a farm in Center township for one year. He next removed two miles south of Mount Pleasant in the same township, making his home upon that property for three years, when his savings justified his purchase of land and he became the owner of a farm of forty acres in the southern part of Center township. To this he added twenty acres and he improved the place by additions to the house and barn and in other ways, at the same time keeping his fields under a high state of cultivation, so that as the years passed he prospered. He continued to reside upon this place until 1893, when he sold and removed to Mount Pleasant, where he remained for three years.
In 1896 he purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land on section 12, Tippecanoe township. This had been improved and with characteristic energy he began its further cultivation and development. Later he added to it sixty-four acres and a further purchase extended the boundaries of the farm to include forty more acres. He has since remodeled the house, making a modern residence with good cellar underneath. He has also built barns and remodeled the other buildings upon the place and his farm is now neat and thrifty in appearance and gives evidence of the careful supervision of a painstaking and progressive owner.
While living in Mount Pleasant he was the owner of a good residence on Locust street, which he occupied for three years and then sold upon returning to farm life. Again, however, he went to Mount Pleasant in 1902, and bought a home at the corner of Jay and Henry streets, where he lived for two years, when he once more sold out and in the fall of 1904 again took up his abode upon his farm.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Boyd have been born seven children: Myrtle, who was born August 28, 1881; Ralph, who was born January 24, 1883, and is now engaged in teaming in Mount Pleasant, where he makes his home; Grace, born February 18, 1885; Earl S., October 13, 1891; Walter, September 8, 1894; Gladys, May 8, 1897; and Edith, on the 5th of January, 1899. The youngest daughter was badly burned by an accident, from which she did not recover for seven months. A small boy in trying to light a candle put a taper into the stove and thereby set fire to the dress of little Edith, and but for the timely arrival of her mother and a neighbor she would have been burned to death. She has, however, now recovered from her injuries.
Both Mr. and Mrs. Boyd have a wide and favorable acquaintance in this county, where her entire life has been passed and where Mr. Boyd has lived for about thirty-seven years. Throughout this period he has commanded the respect and confidence of his fellow men who class him with the citizens of genuine worth, whose reliability, business integrity and loyalty to the general good have made them prominent residents of their community. Mr. Boyd has served as school director in Center township, and fraternally he is connected with the Odd Fellows lodge at Mount Pleasant maintaining pleasant relationship with his brethren of that organization.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 142) (PE)
William Boyd, a leading and successful farmer of Center township, owning and operating one hundred and seventy-three acres of land and who is prominent in community affairs, serving now as township trustee, was born near Cambridge, Guernsey county, Ohio, January 27, 1844, his parents being Thomas and Elizabeth (Abel) Boyd. The grandfather, who also bore the name of Thomas Boyd, was a pioneer settler of Ohio, and there the father lived and died.
William Boyd was reared in the state of his nativity and acquired a good education in the public schools. He remained with his father on the home farm until he had attained his majority and assisted him in the general work of tilling the soil and caring for the stock and the crops. He came to Henry county in 1867, locating first in Center township, where he has since spent his life as a farmer.
In 1892 he purchased his present place, comprising one hundred and seventy-three acres in Center township and has erected all of the buildings here including a fine modern residence and good barns. He has also set out all of the decorative trees about the place and has made his home most attractive in its appearance. He carries on general agricultural pursuits and has been very successful in his work, which is conducted along practical and progressive lines. He uses the latest improved machinery in caring for the fields and everything about his farm is neat and thrifty in appearance.
In March, 1865, Mr. Boyd in response to his country's call for troops, having just attained his twenty-first year, enlisted in Company D, Fiftieth Iowa Infantry, and served until honorably discharged in October following. He was not in any engagement, however.
A republican in politics, he is recognized as one of the strong and stalwart supporters of that party and in 1893 was township assessor. Not long afterward he was elected township trustee and has filled the position to the present time, serving now for the fourth term with credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. There have been many permanent improvements made in the roads and bridges during his incumbency in the office and he has been an active worker for improvement along this line. He is also recognized as a most capable and ardent supporter of the republican party in his township, and has attended many of the conventions as a delegate. Fraternally he is connected with Mount Pleasant Lodge, No. 8, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons.
On the 16th of August, 1868, Mr. Boyd was married to Miss Elizabeth Coiner, of Center township, a daughter of Christian and Elizabeth (Teeter) Coiner, the former a native of Virginia. He was married in Ohio, and in 1848 came to Iowa, bringing his daughter here as an infant. They lived near Mediapolis, Des Moines county, but in 1858 removed to Mount Pleasant, where the father retired from active business life. His daughter, Mrs. Boyd, was educated in that city. By this marriage there have been born six children; Cora, now the wife of C. W. Lawrence, a resident of Utah; Alberta, the wife of George C. Bayles, of Seattle, Washington; Maud and Hattie, at home; Mattie, the wife of J. J. Allen, of Wayland, Iowa; and Ross C., at home. The parents are members of the Pleasant Hill Methodist Episcopal church, and enjoy the warm and favorable regard of many friends in this locality.
Mr. Boyd belongs to that class of representative citizens who have made steady advancement in the business world by means of close application and unremitting diligence and as an agriculturist and republican leader deserves mention with the representative men of Henry county.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 697) (PE)
Rev. William Brattain
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH OF THE LATE REV. WILLIAM BRATTAIN, BY HIS OLD FRIEND,
REV. THOMAS BALLINGER
He made several trips down the Mississippi river to New Orleans, getting
good wages for his services, a portion of which he put into books, for further
educating himself, in order to be more useful to himself and others. He taught
school for some time, the better to prepare himself for a law student, read law
and was admitted to the bar, and practiced his profession for a year or two, but
was too reserved and diffident to be a lawyer. He told the writer that all
through these years from a boy his mind had been more or less engaged in the
study of religious subjects. He quit law and took up his old trade, having
worked at the carpenter business at intervals before. There was not work enough
to keep him employed all the time; and every hour he had to spare, he put in
reading the Bible until he read it through and through. From its teaching he
came to the conclusion, that if God in infinite in wisdom, He must have clearly
foreseen the results, that would follow man's existence. A reasonable conclusion
on the supposition that his existence would turn out to be a source of endless
wretchedness. Mr. Brattain was a man who never arrived at a conclusion without
first carefully considering the premises. If God created mankind for a good
purpose, nothing but good will be the final result. If any portion of mankind
should suffer endless chastisement it would be difficult to see how such could
end in goos; and there being no comparison between any man's transgressions and
endless suffering, it is safe to assume that such punishment can not,
under God's government be true. We must then, of course, interpret the
Scriptures to correspond and harmonize with infinite wisdom, love and good
results Mercy would ask all that and even more. It was this kind of reasoning
that made Mr. Brattain a believer in the final triumph of good over evil, light
over darkness, heaven over hell. The Scriptures say, "For as much then, as
the children are partaker of flesh and blood, he (Christ) likewise took part of
the same, that through death he might destroy him and that the power of death,
that is the devil, and those who through fear of death were all their lifetime
subject to bondage." Then good cheer to the world. The devil, i.e., evil
will be destroyed by Christ, and hell charity for all, and malice toward none,
the writer has no object in this sketch, in alluding to the beliefs of others
than to help all up to a higher doctrinal standpoint, and broader view of our
holy religion. "Behold how good and pleasant it is for brethren to dwell
together in unity."
|Richard B. Brewster
RICHARD B. BREWSTER, one of the prominent and influential farmers of Henry County, Iowa, residing in Marion Township, on section 24, was born in Rockland County, N. Y., April 12, 1832, and is the son of Samuel and Margaret (Bluefield) Brewster, whose union was blessed with five children: Hannah L., deceased wife of Nicholas Staler, a brickmaker of Rockland County, N. Y.; she was the mother of eight children, and died in 1862. Eliza died at the age of twelve; Helen M. died when but six years old; Caroline died in infancy; Richard, the subject of this sketch, is the only of the family now living. His father was a retired farmer, and a man well beloved by all who knew him. He died in Rockland County, N. Y., where he was born and reared, in 1849, preceding his wife five years to the heavenly home. They were members of Presbyterian Church, always exerting their influence for, and giving their aid in the cause of right.
Richard Brewster, our subject, received his education in the common schools of the county. At the age of sixteen he commenced working on a steamer, running on the Hudson River, and soon became Captain of the sailing vessel "Fairfield," which he commanded three years. He then sold the "Fairfield" and bought the "Catherine Hale," running from Albany to Haverstraw, in Rockland County. Capt. Brewster is familiar with every part of that beautiful river, the Hudson, with its towering mountains on either side, and the valleys between. In 1861 he sold his vessel, the "Catherine Hale," and went as First Mate on the "Golden Rule," after which he quit the river, where he had been such a successful Captain, and returning to Stony Point, he engaged in brick-making.
On the 23d of August, 1852, he led to the marriage altar Miss Rachel June, who was born April 14, 1828, in Rockland County, N. Y., and was the daughter of Etheal and Phoebe (Devall) June. Her father was born in Haverstraw, Rockland Co., N. Y., and the mother in Newburg. Mr. and Mrs. Brewster are the parents of six children: Helen M., born Oct. 6, 1853, is the wife of William Kercheval, a farmer in Oteo County, Neb.; they have four children - Charles, George, Bertie and Mintie. Samuel S., born Feb. 19, 1855, wedded Miss Christina Spray, Oct. 27, 1875, and is a farmer and stock-dealer in Woodbury County, Iowa; they have one child, Frank. Margaret, born Sept. 7, 1857, wedded William Fullerton, a farmer in Otoe County, Neb., in 1879; they are the parents of two children - Lou and Bruce. William, born Dec. 19, 1859, died December 31 of the same year; Charles W., born Nov. 13, 1861, married Miss Addie M. Higgins, Nov. 3, 1886; Phoebe J. was born May 31, 1863; she has charge of one of the wards in the Insane Asylum at Mt. Pleasant, and as manager ranks among the highest, being a young lady of much more than ordinary ability. These children were all born in the old home on the Hudson, where their father was also born.
Mr. Brewster owned 140 acres of land near Stony Point, which was under a fine state of cultivation, and for which he received $6,000 for ten acres of it. He also owned 350 acres in Orange County, N. Y. In 1866 he sold his land, and came to Henry County, buying 300 acres of land on section 1, Marion Township, and eighty acres in Canaan Township, which he transformed from the wild land into a fine farm. He lived upon this farm until 1874, when he sold, and bought 160 acres on section 13, Marion Township, where he lived until 1881, when he removed to Mt. Pleasant, remaining there until 1882, then went on a health trip to Nebraska. In 1885 he returned to his farm, where he has since resided. Mr. Brewster has always been identified with Democratic party, and himself and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They are good neighbors and kind friends, and none stand higher in the community. Mr. and Mrs. Brewster's hospitable door stands always open, and everyone receives a kindly welcome. They have spared no pains to give their children good educations, and few families are more worthy of a place in history of Henry County than that of Mr. Brewster.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 455-6.)
August Brink, who is engaged in the manufacture of brick and tile in New London and is also successfully engaged in farming and stock-raising, belongs to that class of representative Swedish-American citizens who have come from their native country to the new world to enjoy its better business opportunities and have here steadily progressed until they have gained a position of prominence among the substantial citizens of their respective communities.
Mr. Brink was born in the western part of Sweden, November 13, 1843. His father was Larson Swanson and his mother was Mary Anderson. He was educated in the public schools and was reared to the occupation of farming, which pursuit he followed in his native country until he came to America. On the 17th of June, 1865, he left Sweden, thinking to enjoy better business opportunities and advantages in the new world, for he had heard much concerning the improved conditions here. Crossing the Atlantic he proceeded into the interior of the country and made his first location in Galesburg, Illinois, where he remained for two and a half years.
He then went to Burlington and entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, working on the track and also assisting in bridge-building, continuing with that corporation for about five years. He also spent about a year and a half in Peoria, Illinois, where he worked at carpentering, after which he returned to Sweden, where he continued for another year and a half. In 1876, however, he again came to the United States and visited the exposition in Philadelphia, after which he continued his journey to Burlington, where he remained until January, 1877.
He then bought forty acres of land on section 2, New London township, from Henry Shoemaker, who had erected a tile factory, which has since been operated by Mr. Brink. He makes tile of all sizes up to eight inches and is also engaged in the manufacture of brick. He made the brick for his own residence, which he rebuilt in 1891, it being a veneered building and one of the pretty homes of the township. He has continuously made brick and tile since he has been here except one year-in 1897-when the factory burned. This is one of the good productive industries of the community and is being profitably conducted by Mr. Brink.
He has also added to his landed estate until he now owns two hundred acres, all of which is cultivated and improved under his own supervision. He has seventy acres on section 2, eighty acres on section 11, and fifty acres on section 12, New London township. He raises and feeds about thirty head of cattle annually and about twenty head of hogs. He now has sixty-five acres of his land under cultivation, while the remainder is devoted to pasturage. He has put all of the improvements on his property and has cleared much of it for cultivation.
On the 18th of June, 1891, Mr. Brink was united in marriage to Miss Mary L. Anderson, a daughter of Andrus Peter and Martha (Carlson) Anderson. Two children have been born of this union: Paul Reynold, born May 24, 1892; and Ruby Victoria, born May 20, 1894. Both are students in the public schools.
In his political affiliation Mr. Brink is a stalwart republican, keeping well informed on the questions and issues of the day, but has never sought nor desired office. He is a member of the Evangelical Lutheran church, in which he has served as trustee and deacon, holding both positions at the present time. He is a very energetic man of resolute will and strong purpose and in his life the statement that "Sweden is the home of the honest man," finds exemplification, for at all times this worthy son of Sweden is thoroughly reliable and trustworthy.
His business success has come to him through the utilization of opportunities and the recognition of the fact that the present and not the future is the time to put forth one's best energies for the attainment of success.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 403) (PE)
|Capt. Allen T. Brooks
CAPT. ALLEN T. BROOKS is a veteran of the Civil War who has been equally loyal to his country in days of peace and in the discharge of various official duties in Mount Pleasant has shown that he fully merits the trust and confidence reposed in him. He is regarded as one of the representative residents of this city, esteemed by all who know him.
His birth occurred in Springfield, Ohio, April 23, 1826, so that he has reached the eightieth milestone on life's journey. His parents were William and Elizabeth (Stitt) Brooks. The father was born in Pennsylvania in 1779 and lived to be eighty-seven years of age, while his mother's birth occurred in Kentucky in 1785. In early manhood, William Brooks followed farming in the Keystone state and afterward in Logan county, Ohio. In 1838 he came to Iowa, settling on a farm in Van Buren county. He was one of its pioneer residents and assisted in the early material development and progress of his portion of the state. He belonged to that class of representative American men, who, while advancing individual interests, also contribute to the public welfare.
His attention was devoted to farming until about fifteen years prior to his death, when he retired and went to live with his son, A. T. Brooks, upon his farm, there passing away in April, 1866. He had served as a soldier of the war of 1812, and his early political support was given to the democracy, but his six sons were all whigs, and at the time of the organization of the new republican party the father and sons all joined its ranks. Mr. Brooks and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church, taking an active and interested part in its work and Mr. Brooks was an elder and preacher who traveled from place to place in the performance of his ministerial duties. His wife survived him for but a brief period, passing away in the fall of 1866, her great grief at the loss of her husband undoubtedly hastening her own death. Their remains were interred side by side in the cemetery in Van Buren county.
In their family were eight children, but only two are living. Benjamin, Samuel, James, Rachel, John and William have all passed away. Mary Ann became the wife of Martin Fate and resides in Van Buren county, but her husband is deceased. A. T. Brooks completes the family. Two of the sons, James and John, were soldiers of the Civil war, also two sons of James, two sons of John, two sons of Samuel and two sons of Benjamin, making two brothers and eight nephews of our subject who were in the great Civil conflict. John Brooks was a member of the Third Iowa Cavalry, while James served in the Eighth Iowa Infantry and A. T. Brooks of this review was a member of the Second Iowa Infantry, to which four of his nephews also belonged, while two of the nephews were members of the Third Iowa Cavalry. Both brothers of our subject were disabled in the war, and James died soon after his return home, but John lingered until a few years ago.
A. T. Brooks was educated in the seminary at Farmington, Iowa, and in the college at Greencastle, Indiana, and after his student days were over he engaged in teaching school for nineteen years in Van Buren county, dividing his time between Bloomfield and Keosauqua. He was also city superintendent of schools at the latter place for a number of years and was county superintendent of schools in Van Buren county for one year. His educational labors, however, were interrupted by his service in the Civil war, for after the outbreak of hostilities he responded to his country's call, enlisting in Company F, Second Iowa Infantry and fully sustaining the splendid family record for bravery and loyalty. The first important engagement in which he participated was at Fort Donelson, his regiment storming the fort. He was also in the battle of Shiloh and although he was never wounded he suffered from a sun stroke which disabled him and caused him to be honorably discharged at Keokuk in 1862.
In the spring of 1866, Mr. Brooks came to Mount Pleasant and was called to public office here as a candidate of the republican party. He filled the position of internal revenue assessor from 1867 until 1873, and subsequently was mayor of the city for five years. His administration was business like, public spirited, practical and progressive and under his guidance many valuable reforms and improvements were wrought. He afterward served as justice of the peace for three terms of one year each and following his retirement from office he engaged in buying and selling fine horses until 1899. In that year he went to live in Chicago, spending two years with three of his children there, after which he returned to his old home in Mount Pleasant and has been the efficient weighmaster of the city since 1903.
On the 8th of December, 1847, Mr. Brooks was united in marriage to Miss Mary C. Vinson, who was born in St. Mary's, Ohio, in 1825, a daughter of Cuthbert and Deborah (Sewers) Vinson. Her father was born on the eastern shore of Maryland and the mother's birth occurred in the same locality. Mr. Vinson gave his attention to farming and from Maryland removed to Ohio, where he carried on agricultural pursuits until his death in 1846. His wife had died about 1835. He and all of his ancestors were whigs and in religious faith were Methodists.
Mr. and Mrs. Vinson were the parents of thirteen children. Malachai died at the home of Mr. Brooks in 1896 and one of his sons was killed at the battle of Fort Donelson in the Civil war. Deborah married Lorenzo Roebuck and both are now deceased. They had two sons in the war, one of whom returned to the north, but the other was starved to death in Libby prison. Cuthbert and Greenberry Vinson are both deceased. William A. was killed by Spaniards in Californian. Nancy is the widow of John Brooks, brother of our subject, and now resides in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the advanced age of eighty-four years. Amanda died, the widow of William Hollingsworth. Hester Ann married William Payne and both are deceased. They had one son who is a lawyer of Bloomfield, Iowa. Mary C., now Mrs. Brooks, is the ninth of the family. Clara is the wife of Colonel J. B. Weaver, of Colfax, Iowa. He was a member of the Second Iowa Infantry, served for three years in the Civil war and came out with the rank of Colonel and was a general by brevet. There is no account of the other members of the Vinson family.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Brooks were born five children, all of whom are yet living. Alice Carey, born in 1849, in Davis county, Iowa, is now the wife of A. J. Briggs. They are well-to-do people and travel about for health and pleasure, being now in California. They have one son, George A., who is living in Elkhart, Indiana. Belle F., born in Van Buren county in 1852, is the wife of T. Y. Lynch, owner of a lumber yard at Holton, Kansas. They have two sons, William and Elmer, both of whom are married and the former has a daughter. May Ella, born in Van Buren county, Iowa, in 1856, is the wife of Howard E. Snider, of Mount Pleasant, and they have two daughters: Stella, who is a stenographer; and Bertha, who is a music teacher in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Elmer, born in Van Buren county, Iowa, in 1863, married Miss Fannie Bond and is living in Minneapolis, Minnesota. They have two children, Bennice and Margaret. M. B. Brooks, born in Van Buren county in 1865, was married to Fannie Snyder and lives in Elkhart, Indiana. They have three children: Ruby, Florence and Allen, the last mentioned being the only namesake of his Grandfather Brooks and the only male child in the family.
Both Mr. and Mrs. Brooks are earnest and faithful members of the Methodist church, in which for forty-five years he has held office, serving as treasurer and as steward. He is also deeply interested in the Grand Army of the Republic, with which he holds membership. He has lived for forty years in his present home and he and his wife have now traveled life's journey together for fifty-nine years, sharing in all their joys and sorrows and though reverses have come to them and they have met obstacles, they are contented and happy that their children are still being spared to them.
Mr. Brooks is a self-made man, who started out in life empty-handed, but by willing hands, laudable ambition and strong determination he has secured for his family all the necessities and many of the comforts of life. As a citizen, as a soldier, as a public officer, he holds the entire respect of those who knew him because of his plain and unostentatious demeanor, his honest methods, his kindly spirit and because of the hospitality which is so characteristic of his home. He is known everywhere as Captain Brooks and his place of business on the public square is a favorite resort with many of his friends who congregate there to talk over the events of the past and of the marvelous improvements of the present.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 81) (PE)
D. W. BROWN, president and general manager of the Brown Mercantile Company of New London, is closely identified with the most thriving business interests of the village. He is a man who through his energy and executive ability has made himself an enviable place in the world.
The Brown Mercantile Company occupy the large building owned by D. W. Brown, M. C. Parrott and C. E. Hampton, of Mount Pleasant . They have a stock consisting of general merchandise and light hardware.
It was in 1897 that Mr. Brown first entered into business in New London . For one year he kept a stock of groceries exclusively, then added another department to his business, introducing a line of shoes and finally adding a stock of dry goods. He was sole proprietor and manager of this department store until 1901, when he sold a half interest to H. G. Graham, of Birmingham , Iowa , and took him as a partner. The firm continued under this management until September of 1901, when a stock company was formed with a capital of $12, 000. The business was incorporated with three stockholders, W. D. Brown, H. G. Graham and M. C. Parrott. Mr. Graham and Mr. Parrott then sold their stock to W. D. Miller and C. M. Miller and the capital stock was increased to $18,000. In March, 1904, Mr. W. W. Cunningham purchased the stock of the Miller brothers and the stockholders are now D. W. Brown, president; W. W. Cunningham, secretary and treasurer; and I. Redfern vice-president, the last named holds $2,000 worth of stock.
D. W. Brown is a son of John G. and Sarah ( Walker ) Brown and was born in Birmingham , Van Buren county, Iowa , December 20, 1865. He was educated in the public schools of the town of his birth and after finishing his education worked for three years upon a farm. At the end of this time he secured a position as grain buyer for Bryant & Rittenhouse, of Winfield, Iowa, with headquarters at Marsh, Iowa. He remained with this company for two years then went to Sante Fe , New Mexico , where he entered the employment of the Sante Fe Railroad Company as clerk and telegraph operator. At the expiration of one year of employment in this capacity, he became a clerk for E. Manning, of Cantrill , Iowa . For ten years he remained with Mr. Manning, then engaged in business for himself in Bonaparte , Iowa , conducting a general store with a stock of groceries and shoes. In 1897 he transferred his interest to New London , where he has since been a loyal and earnest citizen.
Mr. Brown is a member of various social and fraternal organizations, being connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows Lodge, No. 288, and Knights of Pythias and the Unity Lodge. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
On June 25, 1894, Mr. Brown was wedded to Maggie E. Moore, a daughter of David H. and Luella (McCartney) Moore. She was also a native of Birmingham . They have three children, Walter G., Louella, and Craig.
Mr. Brown's father was a native of York county, Pennsylvania . In his youth he went to Ohio to reside, then later removed to Iowa , where he resided permanently. The grandfather served in the war of 1812; he was of Irish descent, the family originally coming from Ireland .
Mr. Brown though still a young man has behind him an enviable career, worthy of emulation by all young men who would succeed in life and he has before him the reaping of the harvest of his early labors. He has grasped the opportunities that have come to him and has made his life a financial as well as a social success. He has won by his achievements the respected honor of his fellow men.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 151) (PE)
HENRY BROWN, one of the pioneer settlers of Henry County, residing on section 3, Center Township, was born in Fayette County, Ohio, Nov. 3, 1819, and is a son of John and Mary (Tate) Brown. They were natives of Frederick County, Va., emigrating to Fayette County in an early day. They were the parents of five sons and six daughters, seven of whom are still living: Sydney, of Appanoose County, Iowa; Lucinda, of this county; Manley, of Washington County, Iowa; Jackson, now a resident of Salem County, Mo.; Ellen, wife of John Tendergrass, of Washington County, Iowa; William, of Council Bluffs, Iowa. In 1847 Mr. and Mrs. Brown came to Iowa, remaining here until their death, the father dying in Washington County, and the mother in Des Moines. In politics he was a Jackson Democrat. They were people highly respected in the community where they resided.
The subject of this sketch in his boyhood days remained on a farm in Fayette County, Ohio, and like so many other boys of that time, attended the log school-house with its punchon floors, slab seats, greased paper windows and immense fireplace. In 1841 Mr. Brown led to the marriage altar Miss Barbara A. Helphrey, a native of Ohio, born in Licking County in 1823. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have had a family of six children, five of whom are now living: Alice, wife of Cyrus Bush, of Washington County, Iowa; George, still an inmate of the parental home; Rosa, also at home; Florence, wife of David Durst, of Washington County, Iowa, and Parrott, of Mt. Pleasant. In 1846 Mr. Brown emigrated to Iowa, making the journey with teams, settling near Burlington for about two years, but subsequently removing to Henry County. He remained in this county for twenty-two years, then removed to Washington County, Iowa, which place he made his home for fourteen years. In the spring of 1882 he returned to Henry County, purchasing a farm, as before stated, in Center Township, and here he still resides.
In early life our subject exerted his influence for and voted with the Democratic party until the breaking out of the war, since which time he has always voted with the Republican party. Mr. Brown came to this county a poor man, but with a willing heart and a strong arm, he patiently labored until he is now one of the well-to-do farmers of Henry County. His farm, consisting of 120 acres, situated a mile and a half from Mt. Pleasant, is one of the best cultivated in this part of the State. The beloved wife was called from her happy home on earth to the better one above, March 13, 1881. Mr. Brown is one of the early settlers of the county, is always ready to aid in any public enterprises for the public good, and is universally esteemed.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 253-254)(JC)
Joseph Brown, a son of Isaac and Rebecca (Besen) Brown, was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, on the 18th of May, 1807, and after many years' residence in Henry county reparted this life honored and respected by all who knew him because of an upright, straightforward career. In his early life he became a resident of Harrison county, Ohio, and afterward took up his abode in Jefferson county, Ohio. In 1842 he arrived in Iowa, locating near Lowell, where he built a home and mill, which he operated for many years, being thus closely associated with industrial interests. He had previously learned the trade of cabinet-making, and while residing in Jefferson county, Ohio, had engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods, so that at different times he has been connected with varied industrial interests. He continued as a woolen manufacturer for eight years, and following his removal to Iowa he engaged in the operation of a feed mill and also in the conduct of a sawmill. At a later day he built a larger grist mill across the river, now owned by Mr. Lewis. He gave strict attention to his business affairs, neglecting no detail and his enterprising efforts resulted in the acquirement of success. As he prospered he invested in land and became the owner of two hundred and forty acres, which he divided between his heirs and widow.
It was in 1837 that Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Jane Alexander, who was born in Maryland in 1808 and who died in Ohio in October, 1840. For his second wife he chose Mary Smith, whom he wedded on the 10th of August, 1843. She was born in North Carolina in 1808 and was called to her final rest in January, 1860, leaving one daughter, Elizabeth, who is now the wife of John Jackman. For his third wife our subject chose Hannah Brown, who was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, October 20, 1825, a daughter of Joel and Leah (Hester) Brown. This wedding was celebrated on the 7th of April, 1862, and was blessed with two children: Justus, born July 27, 1864, and Amelia, who was born May 14, 1869, and is the wife of William Morrow, a merchant of Lowell.
Mr. Brown was very prominent and influential in community affairs. He held all of the school offices and in 1860 was elected county supervisor for Baltimore township, to which position he was re-elected in 1861, serving in all for three years. The name of McCarverstown was originally given to the village of Lowell, but Mr. Brown proposed changing the name to Lowell because of the superior water privileges here found, and this was done in the fall of 1842. He was led to the choice of Lowell as a place of residence because of its facilities for the conduct of manufacturing plants supplied by its water power. Mr. Brown had been reared in the faith of the Society of Friends, or Quakers, but left that organization because of trouble which arose among the sect. He then became identified with the Presbyterian church in 1838, and after establishing his home in Lowell joined the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he held various offices. His life was ever upright and honorable and in all his business dealings he was straightforward and reliable. His political allegiance was given to the democracy and he was very deeply interested in his party and its success. He took a very helpful and active part in promoting public progress and improvement in this county in an early day, and indeed continued a valued factor in public life up to the time of his demise.
His son, Justus Brown, lives with his mother and is superintending the farming interests. The home farm, which is now owned by Mrs. Joseph Brown, comprises sixty acres and Mr. Morrow owns twenty acres that were taken from the original tract. No history of this section of the state would be complete without mention of the Brown family, for from early pioneer times its representatives have been prominent in the work of development and upbuilding here.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 648) (PE)
Roderick Brown, who is conducting a meat market in Mount Pleasant as a member of the firm of Brown & McMillan and who also has farming and stock-raising interests in Henry county, has led a life of intense and well directed activity, for without pecuniary advantages at the outset of his career he started out empty-handed and has by strong and earnest purpose worked his way steadily upward and is now one of the substantial citizens of his locality.
His birth occurred in Canada, December 7, 1851, his parents being George and Ann (Cross) Brown. The father was born in Lincolnshire and the mother in Sheffield, England, and about 1846 or 1847 they crossed the Atlantic to Canada, making their way to Ontario, in the county of Durham. The father was a tailor by trade, following that pursuit throughout his entire life and his death occurred in Toronto in 1887. His wife and all of her people were members of the Methodist church and she is still living in Toronto, making her home with her youngest daughter. George Brown was a stanch advocate of the cause of temperance and did everything in his power to promote its growth and insure a favorable reception of its principles. In the family were nine children, all of whom are living: Margaret, a widow residing in Toronto; Robert, also living in that city; Roderick; Louisa, the wife of Charles Watson, of Chicago, Illinois; Jennie, who is living in Ripley, Canada; Georgiana, a resident of Newcastle county, Canada; Anna, the wife of a Mr. Ripley, of Toronto; Thomas, also living in Toronto; and John, who like his brother Thomas, is a tailor and also resides in Toronto.
Roderick Brown was educated in the common schools of Toronto, paying so much a month tuition. Soon after he put aside his text-books he came to Iowa, settling in Keokuk, when sixteen years of age. There he learned the butcher's trade and in 1873 he removed to Salem, Iowa, where he entered the employ of W. B. Banta, who conducted a general store. In 1877 with the capital that he had acquired through his own labor Mr. Brown engaged in the butchering business on his own account in Salem, there continuing until 1882, when he came to Mount Pleasant, Iowa. He went to work for Mr. Troughton, a butcher, with whom he continued for four years, after which he spent a similar period in the employ of Mr. Harrison. He was for one year in the service of the firm of Waller & Speaker and in 1890 he entered into partnership with Mr. McMillan, since which time the relationship has been maintained with mutual pleasure and profit. They have a well stocked meat market at No. 132 North Main street, and the public accords them a liberal patronage in recognition of honorable business methods, straightforward dealing, reasonable prices and earnest desire to please his patrons. Mr. Brown also has other business interests, owning a farm and considerable valuable live stock and in the supervision of his market and his farming and stock-raising interests he displays excellent business ability and executive force.
On the 23rd of December, 1875, Mr. Brown was married to Miss Sophia Cramer, of Keokuk, Iowa, who was born in Germany in 1852 and during her infancy was brought to America by her parents. Her father located in Donelson, Iowa, where in early days he engaged in teaching school. He has now departed this life, but the mother resides with a son in Keokuk. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Cramer were born seven children, of whom three are living: Benjamin, a resident of Iowa; Tillie, the wife of William Vance, of Kansas City, Missouri; and Mrs. Sophia Brown.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Brown have been born two children: George LeRoy, born in Salem, Iowa, September 28, 1876, married Miss Helen Zimmerman, and is a prominent physician residing in Chicago. He pursued a high school and collegiate course in Mount Pleasant, Iowa, and then prepared for his profession in the Chicago Homeopathic Medical College. Forest Brown, born January 8, 1878, was educated in the public schools of Mount Pleasant and is managing his father's meat market at No. 310 Jefferson street. In manner Mr. Brown is plain and unpretentious but a gentleman of warm heart, of honest purpose, kindly spirit and devoted to the welfare of his wife and children. Moreover in his business career he has made a creditable record, winning a gratifying measure of prosperity.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co., 1906, Page 622) (PE)
Samuel Brown, living on section 17, Marion township, was reared to the occupation of farming. He has made it his life work, and is today accounted one of the leading and prosperous agriculturalists of the county. He was born January 23, 1830, in Rush county, Indiana, a son of Steward and Matilda (Kinton) Brown. His paternal grandparents, natives of England, came to America about 1805 and settled in Pennsylvania, where the grandfather, Steward Brown, followed his trade of coverlid weaver. After about ten years he removed with his family to Ohio. His son, Steward Brown, was born in Westmoreland, England, in 1799, and was about six years of age at the time of the emigration of his parents to the new world. At the age of fifteen years he accompanied them to Ohio and there he learned the trade of coverlid weaving from his father.
He wedded Miss Matilda Kinton, who was born in 1800. Her father, Thomas Kinton, was born and reared in Germany, and coming to the United States, became a soldier of the war of 1812. When thirty years of age Steward Brown removed to Indiana, where he carried on weaving, doing all kinds of work in that line. He was reared in the faith of the Democratic party, but afterward joined the ranks of the republican party. He died in Indiana in 1868, and his wife survived until September, 1881. In their family were thirteen children, twelve of whom reached adult age, while six are yet living, namely: Samuel; Robert, who married Miss Mary E. Bowen and lives in Center township, Henry county, Iowa; James H., who married Alice Lemons and resides in Pulaski county, Indiana; Nathaniel, who wedded Mary Rhodes and lives near Logansport; Richard is a resident of Indianapolis, Indiana, and Phoebe A., of Indianapolis, whose husband was a soldier of the Civil war. Thomas Brown, a brother of our subject, now deceased, responded to the last call for troops and served with the Twenty-eighth Indiana Regiment until the close of hostilities. Martin, another brother, enlisted twice in the same regiment, serving throughout the period of hostilities and participating in the siege of Vicksburg and the battle of Chattanooga. John Brown, a third brother, served in the same regiment, but after two months in the army, died at Gallatin, Tennessee.
Samuel Brown never attended school except for six months in his life, but by study, investigation and observation he has acquired a good general knowledge, and in the school of experience has learned many valuable lessons. He remained upon his father's farm in his youth, and as he was the eldest, the labor and management of the place largely devolved upon him, while his father gave his attention to weaving. Subsequently, Mr. Brown of this review spent two years at work as a farm hand in Indiana, and then came to Henry county, Iowa, where he was employed for three years and three months, working with James Leech on his farm on the shares. This was opposite his present place of residence.
On the 8th of January, 1856, Mr. Brown was married to Miss Jincy Ray, who was born in Indiana in 1832 and died in 1866. Mr. Brown made his way to Iowa first and earned a certain sum of money before he felt that he was justified in assuming the cares of married life. He soon accumulated this sum, however, and following his marriage settled in Shelby county, Indiana, where he lived until after the death of his wife. They were the parents of two children, of whom one is now living, Robert M., who was born January 2, 1857, Shelby county, Indiana, and who came with his father to Henry county, Iowa, in 1870. Here he has since carried on farming in Marion township, and in 1894 he built his present attractive home. He has one hundred and twenty acres of land, which constitute a valuable and productive farm, and he has made all of the improvements upon this property. He owns forty acres of land in Wayne township, and his father resides with him upon the farm in Marion township.
In politics he adheres to democratic principles, but at local elections where no issues are involved he votes independently. He has been a school director for several years and is an enterprising, wide-awake citizen, active and alert in business and in public affairs as well. Robert M. Brown is a member of the Methodist church, in which he is serving as steward. He was married on March, 1885, to Miss Mary E. Collins, who was born in Tippecanoe township, Henry county, in April, 1861, and is a daughter of John and Martha (Heck) Collins. Her father was born in Germany, February 7, 1825, and came to America when ten years of age. He was married in this country to Miss Martha Heck, whose birth occurred in Virginia, April 27, 1827. In the '40s he came to Iowa, settling upon a farm in Henry county, and his death occurred here in March, 1895. He was a republican in his political views and in religious faith a Friend, or Quaker, while his wife is a member of the Methodist church. She still survives her husband and is living upon the home farm in Tippecanoe township at the age of seventy-eight years. In the family of Mr. and Mrs. Collins were ten children: Sarah, who married Joel Campbell and died January 26, 1873; Alice, the deceased wife of John Laird; Edward, who married Ella Wilmet and resides in Salem township; Eliza, who is the widow of Alfred Whittlesy and makes her home in Mount Pleasant; Mary E., the wife of Robert M. Brown, of Marion township; Cornelius S., who is living in West Oakland, Iowa; Lydia C., who married Joseph Needder, of Kansas; Harvey J., who resides with his mother; Della, the wife of John Gopin, of Danville, Iowa, and one who died in infancy.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Robert M. Brown have been born three children: Ray C., born September 17, 1887; Florence Ruth, October 12, 1892; and Gilbert, December 29, 1899.
On the 28th of September, 1868, Samuel Brown was a second time married, Mrs. Mary M. Jones becoming his wife. She was born in Virginia, June 5, 1828, and was the last surviving member of a family of six children, whose parents were George and Elizabeth Torronce, natives of Virginia and farming people, who died in Indiana. For her first husband Mary M. Torronce chose Wesley Jones, and after his death gave her hand in marriage to Mr. Brown. She died March 7, 1900, at the age of seventy-two years and her remains were interred in Nebraska.
Following the death of his first wife, Mr. Brown came to Iowa and for ten years resided upon a farm in Wayne township, Henry county. He then removed to Nebraska, settling upon a farm, where he lived until the death of his second wife. For fifty-nine summers he engaged in the cultivation of corn and then sold his farm and went to live with his son Robert, with whom he now finds a pleasant home. He casts his ballot for the presidential nominees of the democratic party, but at local elections votes independently. He first supported Franklin Pierce.
He and his second wife were members of the United Brethren church, but he has since joined the Methodist church. When he first came to Iowa there were no homes of any note in the county and straggling bands of Indians were frequently seen. Mount Pleasant was but a small village, in which there was no railroad and no telegraphic or telephonic communication. The settlers were widely scattered, but Mr. Brown has lived to witness the introduction of all modern invention and improvement, while the county has become thickly settled with a prosperous and contented people. He is entirely a self-made man, having never received but two hundred dollars as a gift in his life, his father giving him one hundred dollars and his father-in-law an equal amount. He has, however, made a good living as the years have gone by and has been generous of his means with others less fortunate. Honest and upright, his name is a synonym for integrity, and he is greatly respected by all who know him.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 325) (PE)
|A. J. Buffington
HON. A. J. BUFFINGTON, a farmer of Salem Township, is the subject of this sketch, and was among the later emigrants who came west to settle in Iowa, and was compelled to endure all the hardships of car travel and reclining chairs, and the upper berth of a sleeper. The family had nothing to eat for a whole day but hotel fare. They occupied a house for more than a year made of nothing but burnt clay, stone, mortar and wood, and contained but seven rooms and a kitchen. They were compelled to go to the cellar for potatoes, and to the orchard for fruits, and had to pay for their privileges to an own aunt of Mrs. Buffington's, Caroline McMillain, the unusual and unreasonable charge of - nothing.
Our subject was born Aug. 17, 1832, near Beallsville, Washington Co., Pa. His parents, both of whom are now living near where he was born, are Joseph and Mary (Thompson) Buffington. Joseph was one of ten children of Seth and Sarah (Millison) Buffington. He was a tanner by trade and a Postmaster during the administration of Jackson, and is now a farmer. Seth and Sarah Buffington came to Iowa in an early day, and are buried in the Friends' graveyard at Salem, Iowa. Sarah was the daughter of James Millison, a Friend and early settler in Western Pennsylvania, who was noted as an extensive fruit and fine wool grower. The maternal ancestry is traced back to the Millison family, of whom James was one.
The mother of our subject was the daughter of John and Ruth (Lewis) Thompson, who were energetic and prosperous farmers, the father a native of New Jersey, and the mother of Pennsylvania. A. J. Buffington worked on a farm during the summer and attended the country schools during the winter, after which he entered Greene Academy, in which he remained for five sessions. He then taught first in the rural district, then in a village, and next as Principal of the Monongahela City schools. While in that position he was appointed County Superintendent and elected to fill the next term. At its close he was chosen Principal of the Southwestern Normal School. He had been connected with this school from its infancy as an instructor, and was mainly instrumental in having it permanently located and established in California, Pa. He was twice elected to the Pennsylvania Legislature, and served in the sessions of 1869 and 1870, securing an appropriation of $15,000 for the above mentioned school, which placed it on a solid financial basis and secured its recognition as a State Normal School. In 1878 he was again elected County Superintendent and served for the term of three years. The year after he came to Salem, Iowa, he taught for three years in the public schools of Salem, since which time he has been engaged in stock-raising and farming.
In 1856 he married Elizabeth Taylor, daughter of Samuel and Rebecca (Morris) Taylor, the latter of whom claimed kindred with Robert Morris, the financier of the Revolution, and also of Benjamin Wet, the distinguished painter. Eight children were born to them: Lulu, educated in Washington Seminary; Rebecca, now deceased; Flora, educated in the Washington High School; Anna, in Southwestern Normal School, all teachers in Western Pennsylvania; George L., a senior in the veterinary course of the Iowa Agricultural College; Emma, Ella and Maud are diving their time between home duties and school. His wife died July 29, 1872, and Nov. 3, 1875, he married the widow of Bailey Fritz Randolph, of Anchor, Columbiana Co., Ohio, Mrs. Caroline M. Fritz Randolph, who still graces his home by her fine social qualities, her model housekeeping and cooking, her love of music and flowers, and her whole-hearted hospitality. She was born in East Carmel, Columbiana Co., Ohio, and received a good common-school education. She gave especial attention to and excelled in vocal music, and was married at the age of seventeen. On account of her anti-slavery convictions, she united with the Free Presbyterian Church, but after that issue was settled she united with the mother church, of which she has ever sine been a member. Mrs. Buffington is the daughter of George and Deborah (Vale) Ashford. The other members of the family were William, Ammon, Thomas M., John V., Oliver G., Rebecca and Virginia D. The father was a native of Virginia, and a son of Aaron and Rebecca (Nutt) Ashford. George Ashford emigrated to Ohio in early life, and at the age of twenty-one was united in marriage with Patience Whitaker, who died three years after, leaving two children. Mrs. Ashford was a kind father, a good friend and neighbor, and was noted for his honesty. He lived and died a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mrs. Buffington's mother was born in York County, Pa. As she was by birth of that ancestry, the sketch of Amos McMillan will give the early history of her family. She was the daughter of John and Deborah (McMillan) Vale. The paternal grandfather, Robert Vale, crossed the ocean in company with William Penn, and was instrumental in founding the Society of Friends in the United States. He was a native of London, England, and commanded a merchant vessel in early life for fifteen years.
Mrs. Buffington had one child by her first husband, Lemoyne F. Randolph, who was born in Clarkson, Columbiana Co., Ohio, Jan. 31, 1852. He was educated at the Poland Academy and at Mt. Union College, of Ohio. He studied law, was admitted to the bar, and commenced practicing in New Lisbon, Ohio. He married Kate Hoover, the only child of Dr. and C. (Allen) Hoover, and they removed to Bloomington, Ill., and subsequently to Des Moines, Iowa, where he engaged in the banking business for five years. He is now chief of the collection department in the Plans Manufacturing Company. One child, a daughter in her tenth year, was born to them. Mr. Randolph is an active businessman, but never fails, amid the throng of other duties, to write his weekly letter to his mother.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p.477-8)
|William B. Buffington
WILLIAM B. BUFFINGTON was born July 5, 1813, in Washington County, Pa., and resides on section 27 of Trenton Township, Henry Co., Iowa, where he is engaged in farming, although a tanner by trade. His parents, Seth and Sarah (Mileson) Buffington, were also natives of Pennsylvania, born in Chester County. They were both members of the Society of Friends, and reared a family of eleven children, all of whom lived until maturity, though but four are now living, namely: William B.; Joseph, a farmer residing in Washington County, Pa.; Robert, living in Cincinnati, Ohio, is a carpenter, and Abigail, wife of John Dean, a resident of Bates County, Mo. Seth Buffington spent his whole life upon a farm, dying in 1840, when seventy-four years of age, and his wife in 1858, at the age of seventy-three.
Our subject was reared upon a farm, receiving his education at the district school. When sixteen years of age he began an apprenticeship of five years to the tanner's trade, after which he went into a distillery, where he worked as a hand for two years, and the following three years was employed upon a farm in Pennsylvania. Sept. 18, 1834, he was joined in marriage with Elizabeth C. Goodrich, a native of Greene County, Pa., and a daughter of Goodwin B. and Ruth (Bayne) Goodrich, the father a native of Connecticut, and the mother of Washington County, Pa. Her father died Nov. 14, 1861, in Mt. Pleasant, at the age of seventy-six, while on a visit to his daughter. He was a devoted member of the Christian Church, and was a soldier in the War of 1812; and her grandfather, Jesse Goodrich, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. Goodwin B. Goodrich owned a fine farm near Columbus, Ohio, at the time of his death. The mother died when Mrs. Buffington was but ten years of age.
William B. Buffington and his young wife emigrated to Ripley County, Ind., locating at New Marion, where he remained for three years. Going to Milford, Decatur Co., Ind., he was employed as foreman of a distillery for two years, and then removed to Rush County, Ind., where he bought a sawmill, which he operated for two years. Again removing, he settled this time in Tipton, building a sawmill, and remaining there until 1858, when lie came to Iowa, locating southeast of Mt. Pleasant. He repaired Boyls' mill and operated the same for two years, when he removed to Mt. Pleasant and engaged as engineer, and in that city resided for two years. Mr. Buffington then purchased 100 acres of raw land out of which he developed a farm. He erected a mill upon his farm, which he operated for twenty years, and at the end of that time, in 1881, the mill blew up, and lie has never rebuilt it. Credit is due Mr. Buffington from the fact that all his property was acquired by his own labor, helped on by good management and fair dealing. Mrs. Buffington, an estimable lady, presides over the home, and welcomes the stranger, the friend or the kinsman who enters her door. Not only in Trenton Township, but throughout Henry County, are this worthy couple universally known and respected. To make the family circle complete, two children have blessed their union: Ruth is now the wife of George Boyer, a carriage-maker of Tipton, Ind,, and to them have been born two children: Frances Olive, wife of Martin Vickery, M. D., of Tipton, and Asher G., who died at the age of twenty-four. The other child is Reason S., who married Mary A. Edy, of Canada; they now reside in Leadville, Col., and have a family of four children-William J., Francis E., Lulu May amid Edna B.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 288-289) (JC)
DAVID BURDEN, merchant and Postmaster, Salem, Iowa, was born in Charlbury, Oxfordshire, England, in 1833, and is the son of James and Ann (Sales) Burden. Both parents were natives of England, and James for many years was a stone-cutter and mason. They reared eleven children, seven of whom are now living, and four are deceased. Those living in England are: Ann married Mr. Kench; Harriet wedded her cousin, William Burden; Hannah is married to William Kerry; Sarah became the wife of Job Tolley, and William is also married. John is the only unmarried one, and is a teacher in Oxfordshire, England, in which locality all the children except David reside. He left his native home in 1854, and landed in America before he had reached his twenty-first year. He was full of the enthusiasm that fills the breasts of enterprising young men, and expected to better his condition in life, although he was engaged in the mercantile business before leaving England. His academic education was completed in Europe and he was well fitted for any occupation. His first experience was in Aurora, N. Y., he taking a position with the mercantile house of E. B. Morgan & Co. The senior proprietor was then a Member of Congress. During his residence of ten months in Aurora, our subject became acquainted with Miss Rosa Savage. After the family left New York and emigrated to Iowa, he followed them, and Jan. 1, 1857, he became the husband of Miss Rosa Savage, the wedding being celebrated beneath the paternal roof, Rev. L. J. Rogers, of the Methodist Episcopal Church, performing the ceremony. One mile east of Salem the young couple began their domestic life, which has been continued under the most happy circumstances. Until the breaking out of the Civil War Mr. Burden farmed in the summer and taught school in the winter, and was at that time teaching in Southern Illinois. He was one of the first to volunteer in a company raised in Richland County, Ill. Their services were proffered the State, but the quota being full and a regiment then partly organized in St. Louis being ready to start to the front, they became Company E, of the 11th Missouri Regiment of the noted Eagle Brigade. They formed a part of the western army, and their first engagement was at Fredericktown, Mo., followed by that of Point Pleasant, Mo., below Island No. 10. He then participated in the siege of Corinth and the battles following. He was then detached from the regiment and assigned to special duty at Gen. Grant's headquarters. He remained at the executive part of headquarters, and at Holly Springs was taken prisoner and escaped three times during the day. The last time, however, he was paroled and returned to headquarters, where he was in the service of the medical department. Following this, the transfer of Gen. Grant to Commander-in-Chief of the United States armies, placed Gen. Sherman in charge of the department in which our subject was serving. His abilities secured his retention, and during his entire service he remained with the executive headquarters of Sherman's army. After the battle of Vicksburg he was discharged from the volunteers and made a member of the regular army. He was selected by the Secretary of War, and retained by him with increased work and salary. His appointment bears the signature of Gen H. W. Halleck, dated Aug. 1, 1863. While lying at Vicksburg the smallpox broke out, and our subject vaccinated most of the officers at headquarters, among whom was Gen. Grant, and has the lancet still in his possession with which he performed the operation. Among his numerous war relics is a receipted bill from Claghorn & Cunningham, of Savannah, Ga., Sept. 7, 1864, for a pound of tea, price $40, bought by Charles C. Jones, Secretary of the Georgia Historical Society. He was discharged from the service Sept. 18, 1865, having served over four years. His discharge bears the signature of Dr. John Moore, now Surgeon General of the United States Army. We quote from the certificate given in writing by that distinguished surgeon: "Hospital Steward Burden, United States Army, has been in my office for more than two years. He is a man of spotless moral character, and one of the most efficient clerks I have met in the army in a service of thirteen years."
After his return from the army, Mr. Burden purchased a farm near Salem, remaining there until 1877. He took an active part in the organization of the Grange store at Salem, and was placed in charge, and under his management, from 1874 until its incorporation expired, it was successfully conducted, and its stockholders realized in the ten years one hundred arid forty per cent in dividends on their investment, and received their stock back in full. Prior to the fire that destroyed Union Block, Mr. Burden had sold his farm and invested his cash in that business, but the accumulation of years was in one short hour swept away. He secured another stock of goods, and has remained in business to date. In local politics he has been an important factor, and has frequently been a delegate to District and State Conventions, sent by the Democratic party. April 1, 1887, he took charge of the post-office at Salem; his appointment, dating March 1, bears the signature of Postmaster-General Vilas. He has fitted up an office in the rear of his store, with improved boxes, and there is no better office in any country town in the county. Five children have graced the union of Mr. and Mrs. Burden-Charles F., Lena L., Oliver W., Sidney W. and Victor E. The eldest son is a graduate of Whittier College; he is by profession a teacher. Mr. Burden, his wife and two children, are members of the Congregational Church, and he was a member of the Congregational National Council held in 1886 at Chicago, representing the Denmark Association, and in the Church Board of officials he is one of the Trustees. Feb. 6, 1855, he took out his first papers, and by the act of Congress admitting all soldiers of the late war to citizenship, became a citizen of the United States. Later, he secured full naturalization papers, and expects to live and die in the country and under the flag for which he fought. He is a member of Salem Lodge No. 48, I. O. O. F., and has passed all the Chairs, and has been District Deputy and representative to the Grand Lodge. As a gentleman and citizen he stands high in the estimation of all his acquaintances.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 263-264) (JC)
JACOB BURGE (deceased), an honored pioneer of Henry County, of April, 1835, was born in Pennsylvania, Feb. 13, 1804, and was the son of John and Margaret Burge. His parents were also natives of Pennsylvania and removed to Licking County, Ohio, in 1812. Our subject, Jacob Burge, was reared on his father's farm, and when twenty years of age (July 29, 1824) was united in marriage with Miss Rachel Neil, daughter of James and Catherine Neil. Mrs. Burge was born in Perry County, Ohio, Aug. 13, 1808. In 1833 Mr. Burge emigrated from Ohio to Sangamon County, Ill., where he engaged in farming. In April, 1835, he emigrated to what is now Henry County, Iowa, then Michigan Territory, and located on what is now section 27, New London Township, but was then unsurveyed Government land. As soon as the public land came into market, he entered an entire section, 640 acres, which he improved and retained in his possession, with the exception of eighty-seven acres, until his death, which occurred Aug. 24, 1876.
Mr. and Mrs. Burge had eight children born to them, five daughters and three sons, four of whom are now living: Elizabeth M., born May 15, 1825, was the wife of John Allsop, and died Feb. 9, 1846, leaving one daughter; John W., born Feb. 19, 1827, died in his seventh year; Louisa J., born March 30, 1829, was the wife of Samuel Lee, and died Jan 20, 1859, leaving one child, a son, and one son died before his mother; Jeremiah J., born April 11, 1831, married Mary Lawrence, and resides in Butler County, Neb.; Nancy C., born March 28, 1836, is the wife of John Prickett, residing in New London Township; Rachel Jane, born June 14, 1838, is the widow of Whitfield Kirkpatrick, and resides in Jefferson County, Iowa; Jacob Marion, born Sept. 21, 1847, wedded Essie Cone, and died Dec. 24, 1870, leaving one child, a son; Susan Emeline, born March 26, 1852, is the wife of Willis W. Blacker, and lives on the old homestead. Mr. Burge was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a Democrat in politics. He was an upright, honorable man, industrious and temperate in his habits, and was highly esteemed as a neighbor and citizen. He came to this region in advance of civilization, when his neighbors were few and far distant, and he and his family had to put up with the discomforts of pioneer life for several years, but by keen foresight he erected a home in one of the most eligible sections of this fertile region, and left his heirs a large and valuable property.
It is with great pleasure that we give on an adjoining page portraits of this early pioneer and the wife by whose help he created the home where she yet lives, enjoying the fruits of their early industry. Both were among the first pioneers of the county, and each enjoyed in a high degree the confidence and esteem of the people who knew them well, and many of whom their hospitable roof had sheltered in the early days.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 397-8.)
|Charles A. Burke
CHARLES A. BURKE, a farmer residing on section 23, Wayne Township, Henry Co., Iowa, was born in Central Sweden, near Vadstena, which is a prominent village in Swedish history. Andrew and Christina (Peterson) Burke were the parents of our subject. Mr. Burke's name prior to entering the army was Andrew Johnson, but on entering into service it was changed to Burke. He was a farmer in early life, but later became the owner of a sawmill on the Tranes. Mr. Burke and his wife both died in Sweden. They had a family of nine children, one of whom died in their native country, and there one yet resides, Mary, the wife of Peter Peterson, a farmer.
Our subject, accompanied by his brother, John P., now a resident of York County, Neb.; Gustoph, who was a soldier during the war, and died while in service; and Hattie, now the wife of Louis M. Johnson, of Hitchcock County, Neb., came to America in 1857, settling in Galesburg, Ill. John P. was the husband of Charlotte Petersen, and Gustoph, the husband of Gustava Glattie. The other members of the family were Adolph, Johanna and Eva. Adolph brought his wife, Mary, and five children from Sweden in 1865; they reside in Stanton, Iowa. Johanna wedded Gust Anderson of this township, before they left Sweden, and in that country five children were also born. Eva was the wife of Peter Almgren, both of whom died in Swedesburg, his death occurring the next year after coming to this country, she surviving one year, dying in 1874. Our subject is the youngest of the family and is, with the exception of Johanna, the only one of the family now residing in Henry County. His courtship with the lady who afterward became his wife was begun on the ocean as the voyage to America was made. Charlotte Erickson, accompanied by her parents, Charles and Eva Erickson, went to Burlington in 1857, locating there for only a short time. They later moved to Minnesota, where they both died. After a courtship begun in 1857 and continued for a period of six years, Charles Burke and Miss Charlotte Erickson were married, the ceremony taking place in the city of Burlington, March 19, 1863, Rev. S. G. Larson, a Swedish Lutheran minister, performing the ceremony. The young couple at once went to Galesburg, Ill., where for the first year they resided. In 1864 Mr. Burke rented a farm near Andover, Henry Co., Ill., and five years later came to Henry County, Iowa, purchasing his farm the same year. Upon this farm the family have for nineteen years resided. Edwin and Juvey, the children born in Henry County, Ill., are both unmarried. The death of Mrs. Burke occurred March 10, 1881, since which time the daughter Juvey has acted as housekeeper for her father. When Mr. Burke left Gottenberg he had only $1 left. From his own muscle have grown his broad acres, and it seems almost incredible that in such a few years a man could rear a family and make such investments as have been made by our subject. Both himself and his wife were members of the Swedish Lutheran Church of Swedesburg, and their children were carefully reared in the same faith. To these children also is given a place in history of Henry County. Both were well educated in Wayne Township, in both the Swedish and English languages.
From the lad who crossed the ocean in 1857, without scrip in his purse, is found a man possessing a beautiful farm, upon which hundreds of dollars have been spent in improvements. The modern farmhouse, and the roomy barn and out-buildings have been erected since his ownership began, and among the numerous Swedish families of Wayne Township none have a wider friendship than the family named. Mr. Burke became a naturalized citizen of the United States, Oct. 10, 1865, and is a man possessing all the good qualities necessary to be one of the best of citizens.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 464-7)
|Martin F. Burket
MARTIN F. BURKET has been a dealer in stoves, tinware and kindred articles in Mt. Pleasant for twenty-one years. He was born in Huntingdon County, Pa., Dec. 9, 1829, and is a son of John and Lydia (Funck) Burket, both natives of Pennsylvania, and on both sides of German extraction. Our subject, when eight years of age, was taken by his parents to Blair County, Pa., and seven years later, when he was fifteen, to Center County, same State. In these places his boyhood days were passed, living in the latter county until he was twenty-one. He learned the tinsmith's trade, and when about twenty-two years of age embarked in business on his own account at Warrior's Mark, Huntingdon County, where he remained for over two years, then selling out to come west.
In the spring of 1855 Mr. Burket came to Iowa, locating at West Point, Lee County, in which place he successfully carried on the trade until 1866, when he came to Mt. Pleasant, and here he again engaged in the business of a stove and tinware dealer, beside doing all kinds of jobbing in his line. For four years, from 1876 to 1880, he had as a partner Oliver Griffith, but in the latter year the firm sold out, and Mr. Burket worked as a journeyman until 1887, in the spring of which year he recommenced business, and now carries a full stock, besides being well prepared to do all kinds of work in his line. He is a good mechanic, and has always borne the reputation of an upright business man.
Mr. Burket was married in Center County, Pa., Nov. 11, 1852, to Miss Nancy Glenn, daughter of John Glenn. She was horn in Center County. Three children were born to them, of whom one, a daughter, Ina S., died when nineteen years old. Wilbur F. is married and lives at Lyons, Kan., and John G. is single and a resident of Page County, Kan.
Mr. and Mrs. Burket are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a supporter of the Republican party, and socially is a member of Mystic Lodge No. 55, I. O. O. F., and is personally held in esteem by his neighbors and fellow-citizens.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 236-237) (JC)
|William S. Burton
WILLIAM S. BURTON, Clerk in the War Department, Washington, D. C., and a resident of Mt. Pleasant since 1865, was born in Guilford County, N. C., Feb. 7, 1820, and is the son of Ainsley and Sarah (Clarke) Burton. He removed with his parents to Davidson County, in the same State, in childhood, where he learned the carriage-maker's trade. In 1842 he removed to Randolph County, Mo., and established himself in business in Huntsville, where he remained until 1854, when he came to Iowa and located at Richland, Keokuk County, and there embarked in the carriage business. From Richland he came to Mt. Pleasant in 1865, and opened a carriage-shop which he continued until the spring of 1882, when he was appointed to his present position in the War Department by Robert T. Lincoln. Mr. Burton held various local offices while in Missouri and Richland, and was Mayor of Mt. Pleasant in 1879 and 1880, and he has held other minor offices. In politics he is a Republican. He is a member of Mystic Lodge No. 55, I. O. O. F., and of the Camp, and has been Grand Master of the order in Iowa, also Grand Patriarch, and represented the Grand Lodge in the Sovereign Grand Lodge of the United States in 1866 and 1867.
Mr. Burton was married in Davidson County, N. C., in March, 1839, to Miss Malinda Moffitt, daughter of Robert and Lydia Moffitt. She was born in Davidson County, N. C. Ten children were born of their marriage, seven of whom are now living, four sons and three daughters: Lydia C. is the wife of James S. Pringle, residing in Richland, Iowa; Sarah A. resides at home; William M. married Miss Vaughn, and resides in Jefferson County, Ark.; Robert A. married Fannie S. Way, and resides in Washington City, D. C.; Lorenzo W. died at the age of two years; Constantine B. is single, living in Colorado; James K., single, now at Mt. Pleasant; Harriet M., single, resides at home; Marietta died in childhood. Mr. and Mrs Burton are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
(Portrait and Biographical Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, p. 285-286)(PW)
William S. Burton
There are few men who have such a splendid record to their credit as has William S. Burton, who, though now eighty-five years of age, is filling the office of justice of the peace and also acting as secretary of the Odd Fellows lodge at Mount Pleasant. In spirit and interests he seems yet in his prime, and though the snow of many winters have whitened his hair, he has the vigor and energy of many a man of much younger years. He resides at No. 413 North Adams street in Mount Pleasant, and is numbered among the native sons of North Carolina, his birth having occurred in Guilford county, February 7, 1820. His parents were Emsley and Sarah (Clarke) Burton, who removed from Guilford to Davidson county, North Carolina, during the boyhood days of William S. Burton, who there learned the carriage-maker's trade. From 1842 until 1854 he was engaged in business in Randolph county, Missouri, and in the latter year came to Iowa, settling at Richmond, Keokuk county, where he was in the carriage-making business.
In 1865 he removed to Mount Pleasant and opened a carriage shop, which he conducted until 1882, when he was appointed clerk of the war department in Washington, D. C. He filled this office for several years, being appointed by Robert T. Lincoln. He has held various local positions, both in Missouri and Iowa, and in 1879 and 1880 was honored with the mayoralty of Mount Pleasant, giving to the city a public-spirited, businesslike and progressive administration, characterized by substantial advancement and reform, and later was again mayor for four years. He is now justice of the peace, and his decisions are strictly fair and impartial, neither fear nor favor influencing him in his decisions in the slightest degree.
He has always been a stanch republican since casting his presidential ballot for the early candidates of the party, and he keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. Fraternally, Mr. Burton is also locally prominent. He holds membership in the Mystic Lodge, No. 55, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and also with the encampment here, and has been both grand master and grand patriarch of the order in Iowa and representative of the grand lodge in Sovereign Grand Lodge of the United States in 1866 and 1867. He is now the valued secretary of the lodge in Mount Pleasant, although he has attained the age of eighty-five years.
In March, 1839, Mr. Burton was united in marriage to Miss Malinda Moffitt, a daughter of Robert and Lydia Moffitt, and a native of Davidson county, North Carolina. They became the parents of ten children: Lydia C., now the widow of James S. Pringle, of Richland, Iowa; Miss Sarah A., resides at home; William M., who married Miss Vaughn, and is living in Jefferson county, Arkansas; Robert A., who married Fannie S. Way, and for some years has been an attorney at Chicago; Constantine B., who lives in southern Missouri; James K., who resides in Mount Pleasant; Harriet M., at home; and three who are deceased.
Mr. and Mrs. Burton are devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he has served as steward, trustee and Sunday school superintendent. In various church activities they have taken a helpful part, and their efforts have resulted beneficially in the upbuilding and development of the church. Mr. Burton is as honest as the day is long, upright, careful and prudent, and is greatly beloved and respected by all. His granddaughter, Mae Burton, is a teacher in the public schools of Mount Pleasant, and another granddaughter, Hattie Burton, is the very efficient deputy auditor here.
Mr. Burton's health has been somewhat impaired for the past few years, still he able to attend to his daily duties, and his many friends hope that he will be spared as a citizen of Mount Pleasant for many years to come. He has ever manifested the sterling traits of character which command respect and regard in every land and clime, and his example, in its fidelity and trustworthiness, is indeed deserving of emulation.
(Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa. Chicago: Hobart Publishing Co.,1906, Page 674) (PE)
Biographies Index ** Henry County Home
Copyright IAGenWeb, the submitters & IAGenWeb
Please read the IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions & Disclaimers
~all of which applies to the Henry county website.~