The USGenWeb Project
Benton County, IAGenWeb Project
The IAGenWeb Project

Portrait and Biographical Album of Benton County, Iowa
Chicago: Chapman Brothers, 1887

L[ewis] T. SWEET. Cashier of the First National Bank of Belle Plaine, and one of its principal stockholders, is a native of Washington County, N. Y. He is the son of Charles A. and Elizabeth (Slocum) Sweet, and was born Feb. 19, 1852. His father was born in Stockbridge, Mass., and was of English descent. The family for several generations had been residents of New England. His mother was born in Washington County, N. Y.; her people were of English descent and were among the earliest settlers of Eastern New York.

Our subject received an academic education, and graduated from the Commercial College at Ft. Edward, N. Y.  When he arrived at the age of manhood he was employed as book-keeper in the National Bank of Poultney, Vt., but like many other enterprising young men of the Eastern States, his investigations satisfied him that there was a much wider field for future growth lying across the "Great Father of Waters." Consequently, in the winter of 1875-76, he came to Iowa, and engaged as book-keeper in the First National Bank of Tama City. He continued with that institution till March, 1876, when he came to Belle Plaine, and accepted the position of Cashier of the First National Bank of this city, which position he has held continuously since.

Mr. Sweet is a Republican in politics. He is the City Treasurer of Belle Plaine, and Treasurer of the Belle Plaine Canning Works. He is a Mason of high standing, and is a member of Hope Lodge, No. 175; of Mt. Horeb Chapter, No. 45, R. A. M.; of St. Bernard Commandery, No. 14, K. T., and of De Molay Consistory, S. P. R. S., No. 320, of Lyons, this State.

The First National Bank of Belle Plaine was incorporated in May, 1872, with an authorized capital of $200,000, and a paid-up capital of $50,000. D. W. Reed was the first President, and S. S. Sweet the first Cashier. The first Directors were James A. Wiley, W. A. Scott, G. H. Warren, I. H. Schlichting, William Montgomery, D. W. Read and J. A. Durand. The present officers are S. S. Sweet, President; L. T. Sweet, Cashier; Directors, John McCartney, C. E. Covell, S. S. Sweet, C. A. Sweet and L. T. Sweet.

Source Citation: "1887 Benton County, Iowa Biographies"  [database online]  Benton County IAGenWeb Project. <>
Original data: "Portrait and Biographical Album of Benton County, Iowa." Chicago: Chapman Brothers, 1887, p. 358-359.
Transcribed by: Sue Soden. Submitted to the Benton County IAGenWeb Project on February 18th, 2009.  Copyright © 2009 The IAGenWeb Project.

Return to: 1887 Biography Index

If you note any corrections, changes, additions, or  find any links provided on this web site that are
not  functioning properly please notify  John Shuck, your Benton County Website Coordinator.

Copyright © 1997-2018. This web site was created solely for the
use and benefit of the IAGenWeb Project
a part of the USGenWeb Project.
All Rights Reserved.