Back to
Poweshiek County

Jackson Township
Poweshiek County, Iowa

Biographies of Jackson Township residents

1870 US Census for Jackson Twp not including Montezuma

1870 US Census for the city of Montezuma

Jackson Township contains the cities of Brownsville (a.k.a. Browntown), Montezuma (the county seat), and part of Barnes City (formerly Agricola).

~source: Atlas of Poweshiek County, Iowa, published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co., 1896. Reproduced by the kind permission of the University of Iowa Libraries Map Collection. Click the map for a much larger (and more legible) copy of this map, or go to the archive for more zoom levels and more maps.


Iowa Ghost Towns, Poweshiek County has a listing for "BROWNSVILLE. A village in the southwestern part of section 35, Jackson Township, five miles south and one and one-half west of Montezuma, and just north of the Mahaska County line. The name of its post office (1864-95) was Sherman."

~ Poweshiek County Courthouse, Montezuma, Jackson Twp., Poweshiek Co., Iowa.

Back to the
Townships page