IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
new content added 06/03/2021

School index

Elkport School, Volga twp.
Various years

Elkport High School Graduates, 1900

On Friday evening, June 1st, the graduating exercises of the Elkport high school will take place at Schnepf's Hall. The following named having passed the necessary examination will graduate:

Oscar Beeler
Chas. Koehn
Albert Musfelt
Geo. C. Ruegnitz
Josie A. McMorrow
John J. O'Meara
Albert Musfelt

~Elkader Register, Thur., 24 May 1900. Elkport and Vicinity column ~contributed by Reid R. Johnson


Elkport High School Graduates, 1905

The graduating class of the Elkport High School this year consists of:

Lena Waterman
Otto Smith
Clara Brown
Edwin Strube
Mae Jennings
Ralph Palmer

~Elkader Register, Thur., 18 May 1905. Elkport and Vicinity column. ~contributed by Reid R. Johnson


Elkport P.T.A. officers 1925

The regular meeting of the P.T.A. was held on April 15. The election of officers resulted as follows:
Pres. - Mrs. E. Prolow
Vice Pres. - Mrs. H. Kriebs
Secretary - Mrs. Voss
Asst. Sec. - Mrs. Rutledge
Treas. - Mrs. J. Jaster
Asst. Treas. - Mrs. Groth
~Elkader Register, Thur., 23 Apr. 1925. Elkport School Notes column ~contributed by Reid R. Johnson


Elkport School, class of 1928 as fifth graders
Elkport School, class of 1928 as fifth graders

Charlotte Marie Amling is the little girl with her finger in her
eye. Can you help identify the other children?


Elkport school, ca1926
Can anyone identify the students in the above photo?



Elkport - Special - The classes of the Elkport High School have elected the following class officers for the year 1929 - 30:


President - Louise Prolow
Vice Pres. - Victor Voss
Sec. - Treas. - Hazel Harbaugh
Student Council members - Ernest Groth, Marjorie Waterman, Victor Voss
Sponsor - Mrs. J. Mueller


President - Glenn Gifford
Sec. - Ruth F. Garland
Treas. - Delores C. Hall
Student Council members - Dorothy Kuehl, Virgil Schnack
Sponsor - Miss M. Theobald

President - Esther Voss
Vice Pres. - Ruth Benschneider
Sec. - Marvin Kuehl
Treas. - Clotilda Stroschein
Student Council members - Marcellus Meyer, Dorothy Costigan
Sponsor - Mr. A. Martins


Pres. - Fae Benschneider
Vice Pres. - Bertrum Prolow
Sec. - Treas. - Earl Ball
Student Council members - Marie Berns, Harold Horstman
Sponsor - Miss. L. Balzer

~Clayton County Register, Thur., 14 Nov. 1929 ~contributed by Reid R. Johnson


Elkport school reunion 1973

Alumni Officers
President - Lorraine Thein
Vice President - Dennis Schroeder
Treasurer - Jennifer Schroeder
Secreatry - Nelda Willie

Class of 1923

Ethel Resor
Walter Boehm (deceased)
James Zearley
Bertha Hansel (O'Connor)

Class of 1928

Charlotte Amling (O'Brien)
Leo Amling (deceased)
Grace Lamphier (deceased)
Mildred Brandenberg (Hageman)
Edward Prolov (deceased)
John Smith
Menlo Voss (deceased)
Elmer Zittergruen

Class of 1938

Marguerite Berns
Helen Fisko (Knoke)
Eugene Hafner
Lavern Kuehl
Richard Krepfle
Robert Prolow (deceased)
Cyril Vorwald
Lowell Zearley

Class of 1948

Anita Ball (Swisher)
Helen Krieg (Thomas)
Emma Lou Amsden (Gull)
Stanley McLane
Bentley Smock (deceased)

Class of 1973
Class colors - forest green & gold
Class flower - yellow rose

Marsha Aulwes
Aileen Cole
Sandra Gull
Marcella Jaster
Cindy Phelan
Craig Ruegnitz
Darla Knospe White

- Source of photos: Michael O'Brien's personal collection
- Source of reunion information: original program, Elkport Alumni Association; 1896-1973; reunion held at St. Michael's Church, Garber, Iowa, June 2, 1973
- contributed by Michael F. O'Brien

- note: spelling of words and names were transcribed as they appear in the program


Return to School index