IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
updated 03/31/2021

Clayton County Fair
National, Clayton County, Iowa
(-miscellaneous years)

October 3, 1854, the first Clayton County fair was held, three weeks before the first Iowa State fair. The Fairgrounds were located at National.

Note: unless otherwise credited, the information below has been contributed by Reid R. Johnson



The officers and Directors of the National Fair held their annual meeting at National last week Saturday. The officers elected for the coming year were:
Pres. - S. H. F. Schoulte, National
Vice Pres. - Wm. Meier, Garnavillo
Secy. - F. W. Adams, National
Treas. - H. C. Howe, Monona

Thirteen Directors were elected:
Sumner Miller, Guttenberg
H. Brandt, Garnavillo
Adam Erbe, McGregor
Jas. Carroll, Watson
Henry Diers, Read
Wm. Henkes, Monona
Jno. Eno, Luana
Herman Koth, Monona
Frank Possehl, Joe Mott, National
W. H. Oelke, Farmersburg
H. C. Bothmer, Clayton
~Elkader Register, Thur., 07 Dec. 1899
Note: Apparently one Director was not named or reported.



The Clayton Co. Fair Association held their meeting at National on Saturday, Nov. 29th. The following officers were elected for the coming year:
Pres. - Adam Erbe, McGregor
V. Pres. - Wm. Buckman, National
Sec'y - H. Luehsen, Jr., Garnavillo
Treas. - H. C. Howe, Monona

Frank Adams, National
John F. Johnson, St. Olaf
Herm. Scholz, Guttenberg
Will Kramer, McGregor
Fred Williams, Postville
Gus. Pufahl, Luana
Theo. Hartwig, Giard
Henry Diers, Read
Henry Schlake, Garnavillo
J. Mott, National
Henry Dettmer, Garnavillo
Herman Koth, Monona
Henry Brandt, Garnavillo
~Elkader Register, Thur., 18 Dec. 1902


Return to Clayton co. Directory & Gazetteer index