IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.

Clayton County & Iowa State Bar Association
- Members from Clayton county -

This is the start of what will be an on-going compilation. New submissions, photos of the Iowa State and/or Clayton Co. Bar Association members; or additional info. is welcome. Contact the Clayton county coordinator with your information.


The annual meeting of the Clayton County Bar Association was held at the Court House Tuesday afternoon. Among those present from out of town were J. O. Crosby, of Garnavillo, President of the Association; M. X. Geske and A. Chapin, of McGregor; B. W. and Chas. Newberry, of Strawberry Point; C. E. Scholz, of Guttenberg; E. R. Otis, of Monona. We understand a very interesting meeting was held, many taking part in the discussion. The following were the officers elected for the ensuing year: President - J. O. Crosby.
Vice Pres. - Thos. Updegraff
Sec. - B. W. Newberry
Treas. - V. T. Price
Executive Committee - B. W. Newberry, A. Chapin and D. D. Murphy

In the evening a banquet was served at the Bayless to the members and their wives. Among the ladies present from out of town were Mrs. J. O. Crosby, of Garnavillo, and Mrs. B. W. Newberry, of Strawberry Point.

~Elkader Register, Thur., 12 July 1906 ~contributed by Reid R. Johnson


Misc. Bar Association members gleaned from biographies & obituaries

Crosby, J.O.
Davidson, Thomas Marion
Davidson, Wilmer W.
Eichendorf, Walter L.
Lewis, William Cowper
McGonigle, Mac B.
Murphy, Daniel D.
Newberry, Charles
Newberry, Byron W.


Return to Clayton co. Directory & Gazetteer index