IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.

Clayton County Automobile Club

The information on this page was contributed by S. Ferrall and Reid R. Johnson


Most of the automobile owners of Elkader met at the office of R.E. & V.T. Price on Friday evening last to consider the organization of a local automobile club. W.W. Davidson acted as chairman of the meeting and W.C. Reimer as secretary.

A committee consisting of W.W. Davidson, D.D. Murphy, V.T. Price, W.C. Reimer and L.J. Kramer, was appointed to confer with automobile owners throughout the county in an endeavor to form a county organization.

All interested in good roads should give their assistance, as the main object of the organization is for road improvement.
~Register and Argus, Thursday, November 23, 1911

About forty automobile owners from various parts of the county met at the court room this afternoon and took the preliminary steps toward organizing under the name of the "Clayton County Automobile Club." The purpose of the club is to promote the good roads movement in this county and advance the interests of automobilists in this county generally. The club will be incorporated and its first officers will be:
Pres. - W. W. Davidson
Vice Pres. - E. W. Kregel
Sec. & Treas. - W. C. Reimer

Together with a board of directors composed of one member from each township, the directors chosen being:
L. J. Kramer - Boardman
F. G. Bierbaum - Clayton
Joe Cords - Cox Creek
John Sabbann - Farmersburg
H. H. Dettman - Garnavillo
F. I. Williams - Grand Meadow
Chas. E. Scholz - Jefferson
L. B. Blanchard - Lodomillo
H. A. Mallory - Mallory
Dr. J. D. Brownson - Monona
Fred Taake - Read
F. R. Phillips - Sperry
Joe Voss - Volga
Andrew Wald - Wagner.

Directors for the other townships will be chosen later.
~Elkader Register & Argus, Thur., 23 Dec. 1911



Return to Clayton co. Directory & Gazetteer index