IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.

Luana Methodist Episcopal church

From the 1882 History of Clayton County, Chapter XXXXVII:

"The Methodist Episcopal church at Luana was organized by Rev. J. R. Cameron in 1867. Robert P. Oliver was appointed Class-Leader; John Lawcock and W. S. Scott were elected Stewards. In 1868 the society contemplated erecting a house of worship, and the following named persons were elected Trustees of the church: Wm. S. Scott, Luther Nichols, Benjamin Bettys, J. M. Chapman, Geo. W. Oathout, Jas. Adams, John Lowcock [note spelling difference earlier in paragraph]. These with the stewards and class-leader were the first officers of the church.

The first religious services were held in a brick school-house, which then stood about half a mile west of town, but has since been removed.

The following are the names of the pastors who have had charge of Luano church: J. R. Cameron, first appointed in 1865, three years; A. G. Wood, part of one year; Wm. Cobb, two years; J. O. Hazelton, two years; G. L. Garison, one year; C. Cressy, two years; H. H. Hammond, one year; C. H. Taylor, three years; E. Ketchum (present incumbent), now in second year. There has been scarcely a year since its organization that has not witnessed some new accessions to the membership of the church; but the revivals especially noteworthy, occurred during the pastorates of J. R. Cameron and W. Cobb. Large numbers were converted and united with the church under each of these pastors. At the close of Mr. Cobb's pastorate the membership numbered 105, the largest membership that the church has ever had at any one time. The foundation of the present house of worship was laid in 1868, and the building finished in 1870. It is 34 x 60 feet, and cost $4,000.

The present officers of the church are: Pastor, E. Ketchum; Class-Leader, Wm. S. Scott; Stewards, Wm. S. Scott, Geo. W. Oathout, John Lowcock; Trustees, Wm. S. Scott, John Lowcock, I.D. Olmsted, Geo. W. Oathout, D. I. Farnham, A. McKellar, J. M. Chapman.

There has been such a large emigration from this region west ward that the church during the last five years has sustained a loss of seventy-six members by removals. The present membership is fifty-six."


The Methodist church final exercises of the Catechism class given by Rev. Morrow occurred last Sunday. Class members were:

William Jason
Harley Moore
Verna Moore
Delpha Moore
Curtis Nichols
Ruth Nichols
Avis Jean Brietsprecher
Helen Hinman
Rose Conway
Leslie Dunning
Wayne Chamberlain
Ione Lamborn
Donald Lamborn

The first eight members with Miss Verda Brietsprecher united with the church.
~Clayton County Register, Thur., 08 Sept. 1927. Luana column ~transcribed by Reid R. Johnson


Luana Methodist church

The Luana congregation was part of what was known as the Yellow River Circuit. In 1849 that also included Luana, Ion, Hardin and Monona.

The Luana Methodist closed, nearly a century after being built, when on January 6, 1974 Luana Methodist, Monona Methodist, Pilgrim Evangelical United Brethren and Volney Methodist all merged to become the Garden City United Methodist church. Combined services were held on January 6, 1974 at the brick church in Monona. Services were conducted by Rev. Raymond W. Pacholke.

Services continued to be held in the old churches until 1985 when one church was built in Monona, finishing construction in June, 1986. The congregation is known as the Garden City United Methodist Church.

~Monona Billboard, Wednesday, July 6, 2016 and Postville Herald, October 10, 1990 (excerpts from a longer articles) ~transcribed by S. Ferrall


Return to Church Index

Return to Clayton County Index