Medal of Honor

Recipients from Iowa - WWII


Baker, Vernon J.
Beyer, Arthur O.
Briles, Hershel F.
Christensen, Dale E.
Lindsey, Darrell R.
Neppel, Ralph G.
Olson, Arlo L.
Pierce, Francis Jr.
Riordan, Paul F.
Thorson, John F.






Iowa Medal of Honor Heroes

During World War II

The Medal of Honor is our nation’s HIGHEST Military Honor, given for distinguished gallantry during hostile action. The action must involve personal bravery or self-sacrifice above and beyond the call of duty. It is presented by the President of the United States in the name of the Congress. 

During World War II, the Iowa Medal of Honor Heroes served in both European and the Pacific zones.