May 1945


1945 - Maurice High School

Sioux Center News  
Thursday, May 17, 1945

Maurice Seniors Will Graduate Next Thursday.
The Senior Class of Maurice High School will hold their Commencement ceremony of Thursday evening, May 24th at 8 P. M. at the high school auditorium.  Graduates are:
Joan Aelders
George Den Herder
Lucille Jahn
Ladene Muilenburg
Lois Muilenburg
Joyce Vande Brake
John Vileger
Marlin Wichers
Arnold Kamminga, who is serving his country as a Coast Guardsman and is finishing his school work while in training.

Ladene Muilenburg will be Valedictorian for the class having the highest scholastic record, and her sister Lois will be Salutatorian  with second highest place.  Six of the seniors in this class have averaged 91 or more during the entire years, and thereby made an unusual record for the Class of ’45 in the history of the school.

1945 - Sioux Center Iowa Highschool

Sioux Center News  
Thursday, May 17, 1945

32 Seniors to Graduate From Sioux Center High School, May 23rd
Eighteen 8th Grade Graduates

Schools all over Sioux County, both rural and town, are engaged in the final wind-up of activities  preparatory to closing for the summer vacation.  Some schools have already closed, some will close this week Friday, but the majority will close next week Friday, May 25th.

Sioux Center High School and Junior High Graduation exercises highlight the activities of Senior Class and Junior High graduates.

42 Senior Classes . . . From Sioux Center High
These are the names of the Senior Class members who have completed their twelve years of education and will receive their diplomas next Wednesday night.  They are the forty-second class of Seniors to graduate from Sioux Center High School since it’s establishment here in 1903.
Tony Van Oosbree
Angeline D. Sandbulte
Leona Irene Punt
Betty Vos
Eileen R. Vander Ploeg
Kathleen GTerpstra
Marvin G. Schuit
Merry J. Vander Berg
Chris Schiebout
Cornie Schiebout
Harold J. Kaemingk
Gerald De Weerd
William E. Plantage
Henrietta Miedema
Margaret Vande Kamp
Faye B. Mouw
Bernetta D. Kamerman
Harriet Hulstein
Joan A. Booce
Louise G. Frankco
Charlotte C. Mieras
Esther Hooyer
Gerrit Calkhoven
Wilbur Vermeer
Pearl Klein
Johanna Punt
Robert H. Bruins
Jane Eva Wierda
Arthur Ronald Hulstein
Donald Sjaarda
Jacob J. De Ryke
Joe E.  Mulder.

Junior High members who have completed 8 grades and are now eligible for high school are these:
Lee Aardema
Donna Mae Boeyink
Dolores Dykstra
Melvin Kruizenga
Roger Lubbers
Lorraine McCann
Marion Mouw
Arthur Navis
Shirley Oliver
Nellie Van Beck   
Lowell Vand Berg 
Marilyn Vande Berg
Willard Veencamp
Mary Ver Hoef
Donald Vermeer
Verlyn Vermeer
Wayne Vermeer
Bernard Wierda.

1945 - Sioux Center Christian School

Sioux Center News  
Thursday, May 17, 1945

8 Students Will Graduate From Local Christian School
The Graduation Exercises of the Sioux Center Christian School will be held on Tuesday evening, May 22, at 8 P. M. in the First Christian Reformed Church.  The Rev. J. Van Weelden of the Protestant Reformed Church will give the address.  The graduates are:
Christine Broek
Hermina Buyert
Christina Eeakhoorn
Leona Faber
Leonard Haverhals,
Joyce Ann Kosters
Paul Moerman
Leiter Te Grotenhuis.
The class motto is: “Early Will I Seek Thee.”
Class Colors:  Fuchsia and White.
Class Flower:  White Rose.

  ~Transcribed & contributed by Linda Ziemann, Aug 2021


IAGenWeb 2021