Visit the USGenWeb Project Website Visit the IAGenWeb Project Website

 What's New

Coordinator Contact

About Us

Return to the Home Page
Contact the Ringgold Cemeteries
Census the Ringgold Counties
 Ringgold County Churches
family pages links to family
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Copyright Statement
History Ringgold County
Ringgold County IAGenWeb History-Biographies Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Lookups
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Mailing Lists
Ringgold County Maps IAGenWeb Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Messageboards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Military
Ringgold County IAGenWeb News Clippings
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Obituaries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Penny Post Cards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Photographs
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Queries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Site Map
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Surnames
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Front Porch
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Vital Records

This site is supported by
Friends of IAGenWeb

powered by FreeFind

 Mount Ayr Record-News
Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa
Thursday, June 15, 2017, Page 17

97th Tingley Alumni Banquet held

The 97th Tingley High School Alumni Banquet was held May 26 at the Tingley Community Building. Sixty-eight alumna and guests were in attendance. The theme was "This is our Trophy Year". The table and window decorations were old trophies from Tingley High School.

At 6 p.m. Brenda Brown Shelburg welcomed everyone and gave the invocation.

The Tingley Wagon Wheel Cafe served a buffet dinner of roast beef, parmesan chicken, vegetables, salads, and cheesecake.

As people moved through the food line Jenesse Overholtzer Tull reminisced about the 1987 banquet. That year the organizer and contact person for many years was moving from Tingley. Cleone Overholtzer Johnson was to marry Kenny Hosfield and move to Elgin, IL. Much fun was had when Cleone's three children arrived in diapers, with bottles and pacifiers. Cleone was instructed to wean those kids before she moved.

Marjorie Werner accepted the duty of keeping the banquet going.

After the meal, Glen Tull called the meeting to order. He pointed out the seven flowers on the head table were in memory of alumni who had passed away since the last meeting: Barbara Kiburz (1943); Rex Morrison (1945), Donald Clouse (1948), George Peters (1950), Elizabeth Jobe Welsh (1955), Charles Dean Nichols (1960), and John Morrison (1973).

Glen called on Jenesse to read the secretary's report. It was approved as read.

Mary Sue Pritchard McIntosh gave the treasurer's report with an ending balance of $242.18. It was approved as read.

It was then discussed if we wanted to continue with holding the banquet. The class of 1957 graciously agreed to host in 2018. A goal was set to try to make 100 years in 2020. The 2018 banquet will be held in the same location on May 26, 2018.

The secretary and treasurer were retained for another year. As funds were low it as decided to pass the hat.

Glen conducted the roll call of classes. Honored classes and those attending were: 70 years (1947) Joyce Overholtzer Scott and Margaret Hull; 65 years (1952) John F. Overholtzer, Lyle Minnick, and Doris Johnson Been; 60 years (1957) Mary Jane Minnick Mosby, Sue Richards, Hugh Ferguson, Dean Eighme, Mary Sue Pritchard McIntosh, Donald Dukes, and Mary Jane Clark Harrell; 50 years (1967) Sally Breckenridge and Gary Petersohn; 45 years (1972) John Allen; 40 years (1977) Jeanine Johnson Greene.

Others attending besides the honored classes were: (1945) Cleone Overholtzer Hosfield and Donald Weeda, (1946) Helen O'Neal Weeda, (1950) Jack England, (1954) Lucy Dailey Maudlin, Darl Ferguson, Frank Eighme, and Howard Tull, (1955), Jenesse Overholtzer Tull, (1958), Joyce Richards Anderson, Beverly Clark Bentz and Brenda Brown Schllburg, (1959), Glen Tull, Melvin Richards, Kenny Clymer, Rita Miller Sickels, and Norma Sutherland Jones, (1961), Marie Miller Sickels and Robert Reasoner, (1964), Rick Farrell, (1968), Gary Ferguson, (1971), Polly Johnson Hartsook, (1973), Dianne Johnson Miller, and Karen Weeda Pettinger (1975).

Guests attending were: Virginia Eighme, Louise Reasoner, Judy Minnick, Barbara Dukes, Tim Scott, Robert Mosby, Carne Anderson, Gloria and Carl Van Zee, Milo Been, Melody Been, Cindy Allen, Phil Drake, Susanne Miller, Mary Overholtzer, Jean Tull, Tonya Ferguson, Floyd Bentz, Sid Sickels, Marilyn Eighme, Joyce Frost, Gary Hartsook, Connie Ferguson, and Mike Harrell.

The meeting was closed and Sue Richards headed up finding homes for the trophies which had been earned by Tingley athletes over the years. They had been in a trophy case made in 1954 by Frank Eighme and Charles Ryan and kept in the community building since 1980 when the school was torn down. When new flooring was installed in the building this year, the old trophy case was donated to the new Dragoon Trace Nature Center building east of Mount Ayr where it will be used as a display case. Those who were interested in a trophy had put their names on their trophy of choice. In the event that more than one person had signed up for the trophy, a drawing was held. The lucky winners left with keepsakes from THS.

Transcription by Sharon R. Becker, July of 2017

You are our visitor!
Thank You for stopping by!

© Copyright 1996-
Ringgold Co. IAGenWeb Project
All rights Reserved.