Visit the USGenWeb Project Website Visit the IAGenWeb Project Website

 What's New

Coordinator Contact

About Us

Return to the Home Page
Contact the Ringgold Cemeteries
Census the Ringgold Counties
 Ringgold County Churches
family pages links to family
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Copyright Statement
History Ringgold County
Ringgold County IAGenWeb History-Biography Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Lookups
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Mailing Lists
Ringgold County Maps IAGenWeb Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Messageboards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Military
Ringgold County IAGenWeb News Clippings
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Obituaries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Penny Post Cards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Photographs
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Queries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
County IAGenWeb Schools
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Site Map
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Surnames
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Front Porch

This site is supported by
Friends of IAGenWeb

powered by FreeFind


Mount Ayr Record-News
Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa
Thursday, February 29, 2008, Page 18

Mount Ayr Community High School

The FCCLA is an organization which provides opportunties for self-development and preparation for family and community living and for employment. The program builds leadership skills along with home skills an demphasizes the area of food, health, consumerism and real issues facing today's society. The program is very active in school and community events each years. Joen Bronw is the advisor.

Among those involved in this program this year are:

Front Row, from left: Erica Kemery, Shayna Green, Allie Knapp, Zeph Fernandez, Grace Fernandez and Mayumi Fernandez;
Middle Row, from left: Daniel Showalter, advisor Joen Brown, Angel Handy, Elisha Doubleday, Melissa Haveman, Becca Gregg, Ariel Dickerson, Johnnie Veatch, Samantha Steinbaugh and Samantha Paxson;
Back Row, from left: Tess Myer, Chelsey Brown, Alysha Hinz, Katelyn Michael, Megann Stewart and Shannon Fox.

The Construction Technology class meets two hours each afternoon to help high school students learn the skills of residential construction and gain "hands on" experience in construction technology. Kurt Wallace is the instructor.

Members of the program include:

Front Row, from left: adivsor Kurt Wallace, Cory Roberts and Garrett Peterson;
Middle Row, from left: Jordan Stewart, Brock Still, Jeremy Larson and Mitchell Grose;
Back Row: Daniel Leonard.

The Health Occupations program is for students who are seriously considering an occupation in the health field. Emphasis is placed on the work ethic as well as the tools, materials and technologies related to the health industry.

Class members include:
Front Row, from left: Alysha Hinz, Cassie Still, Elexis Freed, Tasha Drake, Zeph Fernandez and Mayumi Fernandez;
Back Row, from left: Shelby Reger, Kelsey Glendenning, Molly Budach, Amelia White, Leah Clymer, Sarah Dredge and Emily Campbell.

Ad Education Worker program is designed to assist in acquiring training to become a good employee in the ag field. It is the coordination of class study and on-the-job training. In this program, students set their schedule so they can attend classes and are able to leave school early or arrive late to be employed at a local business. Ag Ed instructor is Jack Cook.

Students participating include:

Front Row, from left: Matt Sobotka, Tasha Drake, Holly England, Cody Doolittle, Sarah Dredge, Jennifer Overholtzer, Allie Knapp and Cody Weitzell;

Middle Row, from left: Katelyn Sobotka, Brandon Thompson, Daniel Leonard, Cory Roberts, Jordyn Grose, Molly Budach and Brandon Doman;
Back Row, from left: Colton Bolles, Mitchel Grose, Jacob Glendenning, Adam Sickles, Cameron Woody, Matt Swank, Malcolm Mercer, Colton Quick, Brett Taylor, Brian Still and Dillon Drake.

Future Teachers of America (FTA) helps give students a chance to explore differnt types of education-related careers. Students volunteer in elementary school classes and get an opportunity to find out more about careers in teaching. Jodie Geist is the advisor.

Members include:

Front Row, from left: Jensen Stewart, Christina Nguyen, Bailey Myer, Chelsey Hosfield, Amelia White and Becky Baker;
Back Row, from left: Kelsey Geist, Cassie Still, Blake Michelsen, Molly Budach, Daniel Showalter, Tess Myer and Jordyn Grose.

Business Professionals of America (BPA) helps give students a chance to explore different types of business-related careers. As well as learning in the classroom, students participate in contests and conferences and can gain valuable on-the-job experience with area businesses. Helping students develop good leadership qualities, good work ethic and improved organizational skills are the goals of the program. Mark Budach is the advisor.

Members include:

From left: Ryan Thompson, Colton Quick, Jordan Larsen, Cameron Woody, Tim Redding, Brandon Werner and Kelsey Geist. Not pictured: Lee Thompson.

The Vocational Agriculture program and the Mount Ayr Community FFA chapter deal with all areas of agriculture, expanding to areas such as ag business and horticulture beyond the more traditional animal husbandry and crop agriculture courses. The chapter works with many community groups each year and is also involved in several service projects. The chapter co-sponsors a farm safety fair for the Mount Ayr Community elementary school students and has been developing leadership through a variety of state and national contests. Jack Cook is advisor for the organization.

Among members of the chapter are:

Front Row, from left: Officers - Karl Kerns, Tiffany Wimer, Brandon Wewrner, Adler Adams, Ethan Andresen, Tyler Hosfield, Taylor Cameron, Tyler Campbell and Jeffrey Inloes;
Second Row, from left: Tara Adams, Jaime Novak, Jordan Clymer, Andy Freihage, Holly England, Ashley Phelps, Elisha Doubleday, Cacey Wilson, Becca Pennington, Brock Still, Ali Eltoukhy, Matt Sobotka and Trevor Ritchie;
Third Row, from left: Brandon Doman, Tom Hosfield, Cass Hosfield, Jennifer Angus, Allison Fooken, Weston Pierschbacher, Kaylin Berger, Michael Bentley, Angel Handy, Dillon Drake, Sheldon Triggs and Brandon O'Neil;
Fourth Row, from left: Emily Campbell, Zach Robinson, Wesley Campbell, Cody Doman, Ethan Baker, Colton Quick, Devon Winemiller, Brian Still, Cameron Woody, Daniel Leonard, Ryan England, Brandon Thompson, Drake Schaefer, Shane Triggs, Brandon Pearce, Christian Overholtzer, Austin Steinbaugh and Cody Leonard.

Photographs courtesy of Mount Ayr Record-News
Transcription by Sharon R. Becker, October of 2015

You are our visitor!
Thank You for stopping by!

© Copyright 1996-
Ringgold Co. IAGenWeb Project
All rights Reserved.