Visit the USGenWeb Project Website Visit the IAGenWeb Project Website

 What's New

Coordinator Contact

About Us

Return to the Home Page
Contact the Ringgold Cemeteries
Census the Ringgold Counties
 Ringgold County Churches
family pages links to family
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Copyright Statement
History Ringgold County
Ringgold County IAGenWeb History-Biographies Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Lookups
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Mailing Lists
Ringgold County Maps IAGenWeb Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Messageboards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Military
Ringgold County IAGenWeb News Clippings
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Obituaries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Penny Post Cards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Photographs
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Queries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Site Map
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Surnames
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Front Porch
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Vital Records

This site is supported by
Friends of IAGenWeb

powered by FreeFind

 Mount Ayr Record-News
Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa
Thursday, May 26, 2016, Page 5

Mount Ayr Alumni Banquet

  • The Mount Ayr alumni banquet will be held Saturday, May 28 at the American Legion Post #172.

    Doors open at 5 p.m. and dinner will be served at 6 p.m.

    Mount Ayr Record-News
    Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa
    Thursday, June 23, 2016, Page 5

    Mount Ayr Alumni Banquet

  • The Mount Ayr School Alumni Reunion was held May 28, 2016 at American Legion Post 172. Due to on-going construction at the Mount Ayr High School, the reunion was relocated for just this year.

    Attendees included:

    Ruth (Moffatt) Angus, 1934; Florence (Abarr) Lawhead, 1938; Jake Dailey, 1940; Theola (Hightshoe) Weeda, 1944, and guest Myrtle Smith; Norma (Swartz) French, 1945; Olive (Reynolds) Davis, 1947; Jim Sheil and family, 1947; Peggy (Foltz) Wagenecht, 1947; Gerald and Jean Willey, 1947; Edna (Walter) Joes, 1948; Iona (Baker) Triggs, 1949; Nina (Morrison) Eason, 1951; Wilma Schafer, 1951; Jim and Donella (Marsh) Cook, 1951; Jim and Katie Faris and family, 1953; Mari (Rees) McGehe, 1953; Norma Olney, 1953; Janet (Hudson) Hickman, 1954; Ardis (Morrison) Lanzilotta, 1954; Phillip Foltz, 1955; Bob and Kay (Daughton) Sickels, 1955; Don and Edith (Olney) Hensley, 1956; Marcia (Rogers) and Loren Miller, 1956; Leila (Hacker) Niday, 1956; Beatrice (Grindstaff) Scroggie, 1956; Louise (Faris) Stamper, 1956; Betty (Endsley) and guest Kay Whitson, 1956; Dan Cunning, 1957; Sybil (Denhart) Kelley, 1958; Dale and Marcia Bickel, 1961; Lucille (Faris) and Ron Deemer, 1961; Cathy (Norris) Ward, 1961; Marie (Angus) Still, 1964; Art and Sherry (Norris) Ward, 1966; Doris (Angus) Bane, 1966; Connie (Knapp) and Bob Dary, 1966; Mike and Jo Duckworth, 1966; Craig and Ellen (Saville) Elliott, 1966; Jack and Marlene (Saville) Gross, 1966; Dr. Collus and Jane Lawhead, 1966; Donna (Knapp) Collins, 1968; Mary Lee Foltz, 1971; Bernard and Marla Crawford, 1972; Cindy (Knapp) Pant and guest Grace (Ferguson) Warin, 1973; Warren Angus, 1975; Mike Avitt, 1975; and Rodney and Elizabeth Farris, 1978.

    Also attending was Mount Ayr High School Superintendent Joe Drake who opened the program with information about finances, sports, several upgrading projects including the auditorium reconstruction.

    Alumni President Sherry (Norris) Allen then made some announcements followed by the invocation, given by Art Allen.

    Supper was next and was catered by the Wagon Wheel Cafe of Tingley, Iowa. The menu consisted of roast beef, oven fried chicken, green beans, carrots, pasta salad, fruit salad, scalloped potatoes, and dessert.

    This was followed by class recognition and honoring the earliest graduate (Ruth Angus), the latest graduate (Rod Faris), and the graduate who traveled the furthest (Mr. and Mrs. Jim Faris of Lancaster, CA). The Faris family and the Angus family each had four graduates at the reunion.

    Reports were next. Mike Avitt gave the secretary/treasurer report and Janet Hickman gave the Mount Ayr High School Alumni Scholarship Committee report. After years of service, Theola Weeda is stepping down from the committee and Joan (Lynch) Jackson will take her place.

    Art and Sherry Allen provided music and Mike Avitt narrated a picture slide-show. The evening ended with the singing of both (old and new) Mount Ayr High School fight songs.

    We hope to see you May 27, 2017 for the next reunion.

    Transcriptions by Sharon R. Becker, October of 2016

  • You are our visitor!
    Thank You for stopping by!

    © Copyright 1996-
    Ringgold Co. IAGenWeb Project
    All rights Reserved.