Visit the USGenWeb Project Website Visit the IAGenWeb Project Website

 What's New

Coordinator Contact

About Us

Return to the Home Page
Contact the Ringgold Cemeteries
Census the Ringgold Counties
 Ringgold County Churches
family pages links to family
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Copyright Statement
History Ringgold County
Ringgold County IAGenWeb History-Biographies Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Lookups
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Mailing Lists
Ringgold County Maps IAGenWeb Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Messageboards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Military
Ringgold County IAGenWeb News Clippings
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Obituaries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Penny Post Cards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Photographs
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Queries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Site Map
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Surnames
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Front Porch
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Vital Records

This site is supported by
Friends of IAGenWeb

powered by FreeFind



Mount Ayr Record-News
Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa
April 04 & 07, 1916

by Chanse Hall, Mount Ayr Record-News

Norman Barnes, lately employed as reporter of the Record-News, purchased the newsstand on Depot Street last Saturday from A.F. Collins.

The Baptist Young People's Union has elected officers for the ensuing six months as follows: President, Mrs. J.V. Wright; vice-president, Wayne Hickerson; recording secretary, Lola Johnson; corresponding secretary, Roger Darrow; treasurer, Harry Trimble; librarian, Emma Strobel; organist, Susie Timby; and Chorister, Minnie Strobel.

The Mount Ayr school board has re-elected the following teachers for next year: W.H. Fasold, superintendent; Floy Reed, principal; N.E. Schupback, science instructor and athletic coach; high school - Jennie Marie Jamison, Helen Harp, Anna Owen, Marcy Marshall and Alice Campbell; music and drawing, Vera Hart; seventh and eighth grades - Florence Tennant, Mabel Snedaker and Mary Maxwell; sixth grade - Madge Lesan; fifth grade - Ruth Porter; fourth grade - Edna Reynard; third grade - Marguerite Hardaway; second grade - Clara Davey; first grade - Blanche Good; kindergarten - Bess Beaswick.

DIAGONAL - Ned Case, formerly proprietor of the Variety Store in our city, has accepted a position with the seed house at Shenandoah.

KELLERTON - At the council meeting held Monday night, the new council was sworn in. They are Wm. Dorsey, Frank Manning, R.H. Miller, L.R. Treichler and John Pierson, and with the aid of the new and old mayor, B.S. Harriman, decided on several improvements for our city.

MALOY - The Maloy Community Club, recently organized, has added fifteen members to the roll in Mount Ayr. Officers of the new organization are T.E. Alloway, president; S.H. Worthington, first vice-president; Lee Shay, second vice-president; H.E. Worthington, third vice-president; C.E. Finch, secretary; and M.N. Shay, treasurer.

At the election held Monday, J.E.Williams was elected mayor; J.S. Butt, treasurer; and L. E. Yaryan, W. H. Brown, G.D. Stal, W. R. Brown and Milo Nott, councilmen

Transcription by Sharon R. Becker, August of 2016


IA old press logo.jpg IOWA OLD PRESS
An Iowa GenWeb project that collects articles from old Iowa newspapers. Have a look back at the lives and times of our Iowa ancestors as reported in early newspapers. The home page for Iowa Old Press Project, complete with a searchable database, may be accessed at:

You are our visitor!
Thank You for stopping by!

© Copyright 1996-
Ringgold Co. IAGenWeb Project
All rights Reserved.