Visit the USGenWeb Project Website Visit the IAGenWeb Project Website

 What's New

Coordinator Contact

About Us

Return to the Home Page
Contact the Ringgold Cemeteries
Census the Ringgold Counties
 Ringgold County Churches
family pages links to family
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Copyright Statement
History Ringgold County
Ringgold County IAGenWeb History-Biographies Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Lookups
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Mailing Lists
Ringgold County Maps IAGenWeb Project
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Messageboards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Military
Ringgold County IAGenWeb News Clippings
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Obituaries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Penny Post Cards
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Photographs
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Queries
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Resources
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Site Map
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Surnames
Ringgold County IAGenWeb Front Porch

This site is supported by
Friends of IAGenWeb

powered by FreeFind

 Mount Ayr Record-News
Mount Ayr, Ringgold County, Iowa
Thursday, July 23, 2015, Pages 1 & 2

Another successful run for Ayr Days

Results have been announced for some of the competitions held during Ayr Days last weekend.

Running Classic

The overall male winner of the Ayr Days 5k run was Chris King in a time of 18:21. Overall female winner was Courtney Weeda in a time of 23:53.

A total of 24 runners took part in this year's classic. They include Laurie Novotny, Toni Dessinger, Grace Dessinger, Melinda Weeda, Jazmine Spurrier, Kris Spurrier, Linsey Steen, Tracee Knapp, Bryce Shaha, Juan Uy, Becca Pennington, Courtney Weeda, Sandy Roenmheld, Jason Hinz, Katie Hackbarth, Scott Peterson, Garet Dessinger, Kraig Pennington, Grant Staats, Chris King, Mark Flammang, Chase Smith, Joshua Betof and Joe Drake.

The event was sponsored by Country Blossoms in Mount Ayr with all proceeds going to the Judge Lewis Aquatic Center fund drive.

Pedal pull

A total of 21 kids took part in the annual pedal pull sponsored by the Sons of the American Legion.

In the girls age 4-5 division, Emily Knox took first place. Other competitors included Darcy Dredge, Rebacca Quick and Bralyn Martin.

In the boys age 4-5 division, Cordell Clemons took first place. Other pullers included Jaden Doubledy, Justin Novak, Joey Novak and Bryson Martin.

In the girls age 6-7 division, Ella Waske placed first. McKenzie Know also competed.

In the boys age 6-7 division, Connlee Stark placed first. Other competitors included Tanner Streit and Dillon Smith.

In the girls age 8-9 division, Rebecca Smith placed first ahead of Jaden Hensley.

In the boys 8-9 division, Tucker Knox placed first. Other competitors included Brock Shaha, Talan Stark and Chad Quick.

In the boys 10-12 division, Jacob Novak placed first ahead of Riley Stark.

The girls had no competitors in he age 10-12 division.


Winners have been announced for the four divisions in the Ayr Days parade.

Mike and Grace Warin won the classic car divsion with their 1929 Ford Model A.

Mount Ayr Heach Care won in the business division. Wayne's Warriors was the top entry among organizations and churches. Steve Hoakison won in the tractor division.

Pizza eating contest

The pizza eating contest co-sponsored by Greggo's Pizza and Edward Jones and Randy Gregg - attracted 21 total participants.

In the 12-and-under division, Hunter Jay was first among nine participants.

Twelve participants were entered in the 13-and-over division, won by Noah Shelman following a tie-breaker.

Car Show

The Ayr days car show is a favorite attraction, and this year's entries were some of the best ever.

A 1955 Studebaker owned by Harold and Linda Spring was named Best of Show.

The 1968 Ford Torino owned by Dennis Deemer of Leon was named the People's Choice winner.

Best of Ford went to the [Page 2] 1970 Ford Mustang owned by Ned Cory of Des Moines.

The Best of GM winner was Rob Graham of Diagonal with this 1967 Chevrolet Impala.

The Best of Mopar prize went to the 1972 Plymouth Roadrunner owned by Scott Peterson of Mount Ayr.

Other category winners included:

1949 and older - 1929 Ford Model A - Mike Warin Mount Ayr.

1950-1959 - 1955 Studebaker - Harold and Linda Spring, Sharpsburg.

1960-1969 - 1967 Dodge Coronet - Carl Evans, Des Moines.

1970-1979 - 1972 Plymouth Roadrunner - Scott Peterson, Mount Ayr.

1980-1995 - 1995 Chevrolet Camaro - Ted Lord, Iowa Falls.

1996-present - 2015 GMC pickup - Nick Folz, Mount Ayr.

Miscellanous motorsports - 2004 Hoffman USRA Modified stock car - Don Stark, Mount Ayr.

Stock motorcycle - 1967 Harley-Davidson - Max Smith, Mount Ayr.


Photographs courtesy of Mount Ayr Record-News
Transcriptions by Sharon R. Becker, October of 2015

You are our visitor!
Thank You for stopping by!

© Copyright 1996-
Ringgold Co. IAGenWeb Project
All rights Reserved.