Wadsworth, Samuel B.
SAMUEL B. WADSWORTH, prominent
businessman of Council Bluffs, was born in Grand Detour Township, Ogle
County, Illinois, February 22, 1851, and lived with his father,
Christopher WADSWORTH, on the old homestead until 1868. He then
commenced the study of law in Dixon, Illinois, with the law firm of
Eustace, Barge & Dixon, but, after two years’ study, in order to
earn a little money, he taught school in the country for the next three
years. During the years 1873-75, he attended the Illinois State Normal
University, and at the same time acted as night ticket agent for the
Illinois Central Railroad at Bloomington, Illinois. In this way, he
paid the expenses of his schooling at the university. After leaving the
University, he was appointed Superintendent of the schools at Heyworth,
Illinois, where he taught for one year, and was then elected
Superintendent of the city schools of Oregon, Illinois, which position
he held twelve years, and until he was elected Superintendent of
schools in Ogle County, Illinois, having defeated the Republican
nominee, who had a political majority in his favor of 2,300 votes.
After serving for about one year in this latter capacity, he moved to
Council Bluffs, Iowa where he still resides.
Mr. WADSWORTH is now acting general manager
of the Union Abstract and Trust Company, in which capacity he has won
the confidence of the business public. He is also Secretary of the
Council Bluffs Board of Trade and one of the Park Commissioners of the
city of Council Bluffs. During the year 1883 he traveled extensively in
Europe, and on his return was married to Anna E. ETNYRE at Oregon,
Illinois, October 11, 1883. Mr. And Mrs. WADSWORTH have two children,
viz.: Mary M., born February 17, 1887, and Paul E., born November 12,
Religiously Mr. WADSWORTH is a Unitarian and
in politics is a Democrat; he is the Chairman of the Democratic Central
Waldo, Mary A.
MRS. MARY A. WALDO, of Crescent City,
was born in Windham Co., Vermont, December 24, 1829, the daughter of
George W. and Mary(RANDALL) ALLEN, natives also of the Green Mountain
State and of Scotch and English ancestry. Mr. ALLEN was a nephew of the
noted Ethan ALLEN of Revolutionary fame and his wife was a first cousin
of HON. Samuel RANDALL, one of the most eminent statesmen of this
nation. Mr. ALLEN was the eldest of 8 children. He grew up and educated
himself thoroughly by both book and observation, notwithstanding the
literary privations of his youth. On the frontier, he was made familiar
with Indians and life among dangerous beasts. He was a farmer during
his life, dying in March 1866. In his family were the following ten
children: Mary A. whose name heads this sketch; Fannie M., deceased;
Edwin G., residing in Hopkinton, Massachusetts; Charles A., living in
Marlboro, New Hampshire; Belinda, deceased; Thankful H., now the wife
of Fred JOHNSON and residing in Vernon, Vermont; Lucy Augusta, now Mrs.
Calvin COOK, and residing also in Vermont; Lydia who married Henry
CRANDALL and lives in Worcester, Massachusetts; and James F., resides
in Erving, Massachusetts.
Mrs. WALDO was but 15 years of age when she received a certificate and
she taught school for one year, although her father was well-to-do and
able to support her without her labor; but, being ambitious, she
learned the art of cutting and fitting dresses. At the age of 20 years,
she married Asa Berry WALDO, November 8, 1849, who was born in
Ackworth, New Hampshire, in April 1823. He was a blacksmith for two
years, and then came West and joined the Mormons at Nauvoo as they were
about to emigrate to Council Bluffs. Here he left them, returned to
Vermont, resumed his trade and soon after his marriage settled in
Keene, NH. Two years afterward, in the spring of 1852, he came west
again, at the time of the emigration of the Mormons across the plains.
He visited the principal cities of the West and at length in 1842, he
settled at what was then called Carterville; but sickness soon
compelled him, after a year and a half of successful business there, to
emigrate again; and after numerous changes, he located in Baraboo,
Wisconsin, and resided there 8 years; then in 1871, he came to Crescent
City, bought property and opened out in business, which he continued
until his death, February 5, 1853.
He was a good mechanic, an industrious and energetic man, and had it
not been for his roving disposition, he would evidently have been
wealthy. He lived well, furnished himself with the best fare. He was
independent but active in political matters, aided local institutions,
and made a mark in society that will be visible for generations to
come. Mrs. WALDO wrote the first notice of the meeting of the district
school directors, and taught the first school in the Crescent City
district. Being of high literary culture, she has written articles for
Eastern journals; has been active in church work and leader of the
choir. She has a neat residence at Crescent City. Her children have
been: Flora A. and Orpha E., both deceased; Aden M., born October 19,
1854, and residing in Omaha; Orpha E.(2) resides in Mills County, this
state; she was born February 17, 1859; Edwin P. and Carrie C. are both
Walker, Robert F.
ROBERT F. WALKER, a prominent farmer of
Pottawattamie County, descended from an old American family of English
origin. His grandfather, Martin WALKER, was from Maryland, and settled
in Harrison County, Ohio, where he was among the early settlers. His
son, Ephraim WALKER, was married in that state, to Mary Ann REARDON,
and they were the parents of four children who lived to maturity: John,
Jessie, Martin and Robert F. The father was a mason and bricklayer by
trade and died in Harrison County, Ohio, at the age of 65 years. Both
he and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His
first wife died, and he was married to Mary LaPORT, and they had three
children: William, Ephraim, and Mary. Mr. WALKER was a well-to-do man,
and had three sons in our great Civil War: Jesse in Company I, 17th
Illinois Infantry, who was in the battles of Fort Donelson and Shiloh,
and many others. He served all through the War, and was re-enlisted as
a veteran. Martin was in Company E, 3rd Iowa Volunteer Infantry and
died at Raleigh, Missouri, after a service of six months. The father
was a stanch Union man.
Robert F. WALKER, the subject of this
sketch, was born in Cadiz, Ohio, February 16, 1841, and learned the
trade of bricklaying and plastering in early life. In 1862, at the age
of 21 years, he enlisted in Company C, 98th Ohio Volunteer Infantry,
and served until June 1, 1865, or until the close of the war. He was in
the battles of Perryville, Kentucky, Chattanooga, Chickamauga,
Jonesborough, Evansborough, Bentonville, Kenesaw Mountain, and was with
Sherman at Atlanta, and through to the sea, and was also in a great
many skirmishes. He was present at the great return march to
Washington, and was mustered out at that place June 1, and honorably
discharged at Cleveland, Ohio, June 10, 1865.
After his marriage, in 1865, Mr. WALKER came
with his wife to Big Grove (now called Oakland) where he remained until
the fall of 1867. In 1868 he settled on 160 acres of wild land in this
county, which, assisted by his faithful wife, he converted into a fine
farm. He takes an active interest in the schools of his district. He is
a member of the G.A.R., William Layton Post, Oakland. Mr. WALKER is one
of the pioneers of this part of Pottawattamie County. When he came to
his farm, the township was but thinly settled and the Indians visited
him several times and often took dinner with him. As a citizen he has
done his share in building up his township and county and as a pioneer
he stands high and is well known for honesty and industry.
May 8, 1866, he was married to Susan LaPORT,
daughter of John L. and Melinda (HARRISON) LaPORT. The father was of
French descent and was the grandson of Ephraim LaPORT who came from
France before the Revolutionary War and settled in Ohio. His son,
Abraham LaPORT, the grandfather of Mrs. WALKER, participated in the War
of the Revolution and also that of 1812. he was a farmer of Harrison
County, Ohio and was the father of ten children, viz.: Bazer E.,
Abraham, Isaac, Susan, Barbara E., Ephraim, John, Samuel, William and
Charles. The father lived to the great age of 95 years, and his father
lived to be over 90 years old. Mr. LaPORT was a member of the Christian
Church and was a substantial farmer. He was a man of sterling
character, and was much respected by the old pioneers. He was familiar
with the Indians and used often to accompany them on their hunting
expeditions. His sons were soldiers in the War of 1812. John L. LaPORT,
the father of Mrs. WALKER, was a carpenter of Logan County, Ohio, and
was married in that State to Melinda HARRISON, daughter of Ephraim
HARRISON, a full cousin of General HARRISON of Tippecanoe fame. They
were the parents of ten children, namely: Margaret, Mary, Charles,
Frank, Eleanor, Emily, Jane and Eliza (twins), Miller and Susan. The
father moved to Knightstown, Hancock County, Indiana, where he lived
until his death which occurred at the age of sixty years. Both he and
his wife were members of the Christian Church, in which he was an elder
for many years. He was much respected by his fellow townsmen and served
as Justice of the Peace for many years. Mr. And Mrs. WALKER have had
five children, viz.: Mabel, now the wife of Emerson FLETCHER, a farmer
of Valley Township; Martin, who died at the age of 19; Ephraim, Eva,
June, and an adopted son named Claudie. Mrs. WALKER is a member of the
MRS. EMMA WARE, a successful farmer of Walnut Township, has
prosperously managed her farm since the death of her husband and has
also superintended the education of her children, who are receiving the
best of instruction. She believes, as did her husband, that the best
fortune parents can bestow upon their children is a good education.
Daniel WARE, her husband, was born in Devonshire, England, the son of
William and Johanna (GOSS) WARE. They were the parents of three
children: William, Daniel and John. The father spent his life in
England, but all of his sons came to America.
Daniel came to this country in 1851, in company with his brother John,
first settling in the State of New York, where he was engaged in farm
work, being then twenty-three years of age. He remained there six years
and in 1867 bought land in Cedar County, Iowa, where he was one of the
pioneers. He was married in 1871, to Miss Emma GUIER, daughter of John
and Ellen (AUSTIN) GUIER, both natives of Pennsylvania, the former of
German descent and the latter of English. They also both died in that
State. They were the parents of four children whop lived to maturity:
Clara, Emma, Ellen and Hannah. To Mr. and Mrs. Ware were born five
children: Nellie M., Nettie E., Charles A., Franklin D., and Mary E.
After the marriage they settled on a farm in Cedar County, where they
remained twelve years and in 1882 settled on a farm near Walnut. They
were both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Ware died
February 15, 1888. He came to this country with nothing, but by
industry and constant effort he has accumulated a handsome property. He
was entirely a self-made man, always honorable and upright in his
principles and practice and has left to his children a good name, a
noble record and a good home. He was an affectionate husband and father
and has been sadly missed from the home circle.
Since his death his widow has managed the farm and business with the
same systematic success began by her husband. Their children should
emulate the example and principles in their lives. They are from good
ancestry and the entire family merit the respect of the community, and
the children have good reason to honor their mother in her wise and
affectionate care of providing for their future welfare.
Ware, William H.
HON. WILLIAM H. WARE OF council Bluffs,
attorney and counselor at law and member of the House of
Representatives of the State of Iowa for 1890-91, was born in
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 3, 1850.
The family of which Mr. WARE is a descendant
came to Pennsylvania from England and settled at the latter place prior
to the Revolution of 1776 and many of them were soldiers in the
American army during the struggle for independence.
When Mr. WARE was a lad, his father with his
family removed from Pennsylvania to Illinois, where the subject of this
sketch remained until 1869, at which date he came to Iowa. His father
was a farmer by occupation and the early life of the subject of this
sketch was spent on his father’s farm, and he was engaged in the
occupations incident thereto. Soon after coming to Iowa, Mr. WARE was
engaged as a teacher in the public schools of that State. In 1874 he
removed to Nebraska where he published a paper for a time, returning
from the state to Council Bluffs, where he now resides, and is engaged
in the practice of the law. He studied law in the office of the late
Robert PERCIVAL, and was admitted to practice in the state and federal
courts at Council Bluffs in 1880. In 1882 he was married to Miss
Ingleetta F. SMITH, a sister of Judge Walter I. SMITH of Council
Bluffs. Mr. WARE is an able lawyer and enjoys the confidence and
respect of his fellow practitioners. Mr. WARE has always been an
advocate of low tariff and has been for a number of years an active
member of the Democratic party. In 1889, he was elected as a Democrat,
to represent Pottawattamie County in the 23rd General Assembly of the
State of Iowa. His term of office will expire in 1891.
Waterman, E. T.
E.T. WATERMAN, carriage manufacturer
at 43 to 47 North Main Street, established himself there in 1884,
erecting a building 32 X 80 feet and three stories high. He
manufactures all kinds of carriages, wagons, etc. and does repairing,
employing a force of ten men. He was born in 1843 in Branch County,
Michigan, the son of N.T. and C.A. (KNAPP) WATERMAN, the father now
deceased and the mother a resident of Grand Rapids, that state. They
were natives respectively of Rhode Island and New York. Mr. WATERMAN,
our subject, began to work in the smithing department of the carriage
maker's trade, at the age of 16 years, at Coldwater, Michigan. He moved
thence to Grand Rapids thence to Illinois, afterward to Milwaukee, and
in 1879 to Council Bluffs, where he has since made his home with the
exception of one year in Omaha. He worked as a journeyman for about ten
years, and he began for himself without capital, but now he has a
factory valued at $10,000, carries $5,000 to $6,000 worth of stock, and
his sales annually amount to about $20,000. Being a zealous Democrat,
he has taken an intelligent part in the public welfare. In 1888-89, he
was a member of the City Council. He is a member of Lodge No. 49
I.O.O.F. and is one of the best citizens of the place. He was married
in October 1881 to Miss Cora I. HAGGERTY, daughter of Charles E. and
E.M. HAGGERTY, and born in Council Bluffs in 1860. They have one child,
Way, W. J.
W. J. WAY, of the firm of W.J. Way &
Co., general merchants at Carson, has been a successful businessman by
his own tact and energy, and also by his social manner, he has won for
himself many warm friends. He commenced here in Carson in 1880, on a
small scale, as a pioneer merchant at this point, and he forced
prosperity upon his path. His present large and commodious building,
erected in the fall of 1889, is 36 X 120 feet in ground area, the first
story being fifteen feet high, and here the firm carry a stock of
$15,000 to $20,000 worth of goods, doing a business of $20,000 to
Mr. WAY was born in Menard County, Illinois,
October 11, 1860, a son of T.B. and N.J. (COX) WAY, father of English
ancestry. His mother was a native of Bonaparte, Iowa. When the subject
of this sketch was a small lad, his father engaged in business at
Indian Creek, Illinois, and later moved to Winterset, Iowa. At the age
of 17 ye took charge of his father’s store at Chandlerville, Cass
County, and still later he was at Clarinda, Page County, and from that
point he moved to Carson, in connection with his extensive mercantile
business. He is also operating a large brick-yard.
He was married December 8, 1882, at
Glenwood, Iowa, to Miss Vesta HEAD, a daughter of Captain T. H. HEAD,
who is a prominent citizen of Glenwood. She is a lady of more than
ordinary culture, as she graduated at the age of fifteen years at the
Glenwood High School. Mr. And Mrs. Way’s children are Leo C., Lynn D.,
and Philip. In politics, Mr. WAY is a Republican and in religion a
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Carson.
Weak, Alvin L.
ALVIN L. WEAK, a substantial farmer of
James Township, Pottawattamie County, is descended from an old American
family of Dutch descent. George WEAK, grandfather of Alvin L., was of
English descent and moved from Pennsylvania to Ross County, Ohio, at a
very early day. His son, Benjamin Miller WEAK, the father of our
subject, was born on a farm in Ross County, Ohio, and was married to
Julia A. STAGGS, and they were the parents of thirteen children, viz.:
Melissa A. and Melitia, twins; Albin L., our subject; Theresa, James
A., Emma, Maria H. and Sarah, twins, Francis and Georgie, twins, Lewis,
and two twins who died in infancy. Six of the children grew to
maturity, the remainder dying in infancy. James A. was in an Iowa
regiment in the late War and died at Little Rock, Arkansas. The father
lived in Ross County, Ohio, for many years and then removed to Fulton
County, Illinois. In 1854, he came to Clinton County, Iowa, where he
was among the early settlers. He is still living in Mills County, Iowa,
at the age of seventy years. He has served as Justice of the Peace, and
has the respect and confidence of the people. The mother of these
children died in 1860 in Clarke County, Iowa.
Alvin L. WEAK, our subject, was born on a
farm in Ross County, July 13, 1844, and was but three years of age when
his parents moved to Illinois, and but ten years old when they came to
Iowa. He came to Pottawattamie County in 1866, and in 1871 he bought
his present farm of 102 acres. It was then wild prairie land, but he
has since converted it into a fine farm. Socially, he is a Mason, being
a member of the lodge at Oakland. He was married in Missouri, in 1879,
to Maria A. DAWSON, who was born at Oskaloosa, Iowa, daughter of John
N. and Mary A. (MOAT) DAWSON.
John N. DAWSON was born in Ohio, May 16,
1823, and August 3, 1845, he married Miss Mary A. MOAT, who was also
born in Ohio, February 23, 1831. Their children were: Hiram C., born
September 23, 1846; Phylinda E., September 25, 1849; Anna E., October
9, 1851; Julius C., December 18, 1853; Maria A., August 23, 1856; Mary
A., February 4, 1859; Irena C., June 21, 1861; Lienary B., February 27,
1866; and John A., June 24, 1871. Hiram served a time in the civil war
in Sherman's regiment. Mr. DAWSON moved with his family to Barton
County, Missouri and died from the effect of being thrown against a
sugar cane grinding machine by a span of horses running away, in Ozark
Township, that county, on Monday, September 16, 1878, one of the oldest
and most respected citizens of that county. He was a member of the
United Baptist Church, a good neighbor and a kind husband and father.
By his death, he left a widow and eight children to mourn his loss. His
widow is still living in Liberal Township, that county.
Mr. And Mrs. WEAK had six children, namely:
Julius A., born Wednesday, March 17, 1880; Lewis L., Tuesday, May 9,
1882; Leroy Monroe, Friday, January 18, 1884; James A., Saturday,
August 22, 1885; George Rosco, Monday, October 10, 1887; and Flora A.,
Monday, February 10, 1890. Monroe, Rosco and Flora are still living;
the others died in infancy.
Weaver, John P. F.
JOHN P.F. WEAVER, contractor and
builder, brick manufacturer, president of the Globe Publishing Company,
and vice-president of the Ogden Iron Works, is one of the most
enterprising men of Council Bluffs.
Mr. WEAVER was born in Adams County,
Pennsylvania, September 7, 1846, and was reared near Gettysburg. His
parents, J.G. and Maria (FISHER) WEAVER, were both natives of
Pennsylvania. He traces his family history back five generations on
both sides, the original ancestors being German and English. Both
parents are still living at the old home in Adams County, Pennsylvania.
John P.F. was reared on a farm and by virtue of his father being a
plasterer he learned that trade.
At the age of seventeen, Mr. WEAVER entered
the service of his country, enlisting in February 1863, in Company H,
21st Pennsylvania Cavalry and served till the close of the war. He was
mustered out at Lynchburg, Virginia, and received his discharge at
Harrisburg, July 14, 1865. Mr. WEAVER was in seventeen engagements, at
the siege of Petersburg, and in fact all the principal battles from
1863 until the close of the war. The war over, he returned to his old
home and there engaged in agricultural pursuits until the spring of
1866. Then he completed his trade. May 31, 1869, he started west,
landing in Council Bluffs on the 4th of June. He has since made this
city his home. In 1870 he entered into a partnership with George A.
JACOBS, with whom he was associated until the fall of 1876, when Mr.
JACOBS withdrew from the company. Mr. WEAVER continued the business
alone, and as time moved along he gradually enlarged his operations and
made many other business ventures, meeting with decided success in all
his undertakings. He has been in the brick business since 1880, now
manufacturing from 3,000,000 to 4,000,000 brick annually, employing an
average of fifty men and doing a $50,000 business. In December 1888, he
entered into partnership with Thomas BOWMAN in the Globe Publishing
Company, he being the president. In 1887 he associated himself with the
Ogden Iron Works of which he is vice president. Mr. WEAVER was one of
the founders of the Council Bluffs Canning Works, also one of the
founders of the Council Bluffs Driving Park, and is a member of the
Board of Trade. He is a stanch Democrat and during the years 1888-89
was a member of the city council. He is a member of the IOOF No. 184,
Mr. WEAVER was married May 1, 1878 to Miss
Mary HILFERTY, who was born May 6, 1856. He father, Charles HILFERTY,
came to Iowa when she was quite young and she was reared in this state.
Mr. And Mrs. WEAVER have four children: Laura, May, Howard and John,
all at home.
Mr. WEAVER is a self-made man in every
respect; his education was obtained through his own efforts and his
success is due to his honesty, pluck, and perseverance.
Weeks, Frank G.
FRANK G. WEEKS, the present editor
and publisher of the Carson "Critic," was born near Dixon, Illinois,
March 29, 1857, the son of George P. WEEKS, a native of New Hampshire,
and later a resident of Illinois. His wife, Philena (POTTER) WEEKS, was
born in Kennebec County, Maine, but previous to her marriage had
resided in New Hampshire. In 1872 the family moved to Iowa, settling in
Macedonia, now Carson Township, where they still reside. At the time of
settlement the county was still in its pioneer period, and the settlers
where compelled to undergo many of the hardships and privations of the
frontier live. The family still resides on the home farm, which is
located two miles directly east of Carson. One son, Osmon B. WEEKS, is
one of the progressive and successful farmers of the county and two
daughters, May and Janet, also reside at home.
An attendance of two or three months of each
year at the district schools constituted the entire educational
advantages afforded the subject of this sketch. This he supplemented,
however, by the reading of such books and papers as he was able to
borrow, or as his limited means would enable him to buy. When his
services were not needed at home, he herded cattle on the prairies,
worked for neighboring farmers, and in fact followed the routine of a
boy on a farm. In 1880 the building of the railroad from the Botna
Valley, and the location of the towns of Carson, Oakland and Macedonia
opened a new era for that country, and in the advantages thus afforded
he shared equally with all others. In that year he assisted Julian
& McManima in the establishment of the Carson "Fairdealer," working
in their interest until he became convinced that the personal policy of
the publishers was decidedly at variance with the somewhat pretentious
title of the paper. His father's death occurring in the spring of 1881,
he assumed charge of the farm, in which he continued until the winter
of 1886-'87, when he purchased an interest in and assumed the
management of the Carson " Critic", in the publication of which he is
still engaged. The success in this, while in no way phenomenal, has
been very satisfactory, the paper enjoying an unusually good local
patronage and maintaining an excellent standing with the press of the
district. While in no sense a politician, Mr. Weeks has always taken an
active interest in political matters, both on a local and general
nature. Always an avowed supporter of the principles of the Republican
Party, his political efforts have been along the line of its
LUCIUS WELLS is of the firm of Deere,
Wells & Co., wholesale dealers in agricultural implements, wagons,
and vehicles, being the leading and the largest house of the kind in
the Northwest, and one of the largest in the whole country, and as such
deserves special notice here. The firm is made up of Deere & Co.
and the Moline Wagon Company, both of Moline, Illinois, and Mr. WELLS,
who is resident partner. The former company are proprietors of the John
Deere Plow Works, which were founded by John DEERE in 1847, and is the
largest steel plow works in the world. John DEERE was the pioneer of
steel plow makers, hammering the first steel plow out of saw steel, and
was the founder of the Grand De Tour Plow Works, which establishment he
left when locating at Moline. The Moline Wagon Company have one of the
largest factories of the kind in the country. The house of Deere, Wells
& Co. was established November 1, 1881, and was the pioneer of the
many establishments of the kind whose aggregate business at this time
makes Council Bluffs the second largest implement center in the
Mr. Wells was born February 9, 1845, near
Moline, Illinois, and spent his early days on the farm. After receiving
a common school education, he attended Lombard University at Galesburg,
Illinois, taking an elective course. Upon leaving that institution, he
took a position with Deere & Co. and continued with them for a
period of 14 years, contributing his mite toward building up that great
business, and during that time saw the establishment double its
capacity no less than three times. He has been a resident of Council
Bluffs since the opening of the house of Deere, Wells & Co. in
1881, and to his untiring energy and business management is due the
success of the business.
Mr. Wells is known in the West as an active
businessman who believes that “whatever is worth doing at all is worth
doing well” and acts upon that principle.
His ancestors on his father’s side were
English, who left the old country in the latter part of the 17th
century and settled in Connecticut. His ancestors on his mother’s side
were Scotch-English and settled in New England before the Revolutionary
War. His great-grandfathers on both sides were soldiers under George
Washington. His father, whose name also was Lucius WELLS, was born in
Windham County, Vermont, in 1803, and his mother in Genesee County, New
York, in 1808, they both emigrating with their parents to Wayne County,
Illinois, in 1823, and were married there in 1825. They soon after
removed to northern Illinois, locating in what is now Rock Island
County, and in that removal passed nearly the entire length of the
state of Illinois through a country inhabited only by wild animals and
Indians. His father died at the homestead in Rock Island County, in
1875, after celebrating their golden wedding. His mother is, at this
writing (March 1891), enjoying good health at the age of 83.
Mr. WELLS was married March 26, 1868, to
Miss Martha A. WADSWORTH of Dixon, Illinois, whose parents came from
Maryland and were of German ancestry. Mr. And Mrs. Wells have two
daughters: Miss Eunice M., aged 20 years, and Cherrie, aged 7 years.
Wells, William S.
WILLIAM S. WELLS, of Hardin Township,
section 29, came to this county in the spring of 1873, where he has
since resided. He was born in Brown County, Ohio, April 16, 1837, the
son of John WELLS, who was born in New Jersey, October 14, 1810, the
son of Isaiah WELLS, who was born in Wales. Our subject's mother's name
before marriage was Phoebe SOPER, and she was born in New Jersey, the
daughter of one of the first settlers in that State. John WELLS lived
in New Jersey seven or eight years, and then his parents moved to Ohio,
settling in Clermont County, May 28, 1817, being the first settlers in
that portion of the State. His father died there at the age of
sixty-five or seventy years, and his mother at the age of seventy-five
or eighty. He was married in Brown County, when twenty-one years of
age, to Miss Rachel B. LONG, who was born in Pennsylvania, the daughter
of Thomas and Elizabeth (IKER) LONG, the former a native of New Jersey,
and the latter of Pennsylvania, of Dutch ancestry. John WELLS reared
seven children, having lost one by death, viz: Thomas who lives in
Illinois, near Vandalia; he served in the Forty-eighth Ohio Infantry;
Samuel, who resides in Marion County, Iowa; William S., of
Pottawattamie County; Erasmus D., of Madison County, Nebraska, who
served in the Third Iowa Infantry; John F., of the same place, who
served in the Fifteenth Iowa Infantry; Francis Lewis, of Madison
County, Nebraska and David, of Sacramento Valley, California. Mrs.
Rachel LONG WELLS died in 1881, having lived with her husband for fifty
years and one month. John WELLS is a man 80 years of age, and well
preserved. Politically he was formerly a Whig, but is now a Republican.
He has been a member of the Methodist Church for fifty years, and a
class-leader in the same for many years.
William S. WELLS, our subject, was reared in Ohio, and when nineteen
years of age his family moved to Marion County, Iowa, in 1855. He
afterward returned to Ohio, where he enlisted in the army, in August
1864, in the Forty-eighth Ohio Volunteers. He served one year, and was
in the battle of Fort Blakely. He was honorably discharged and returned
to Ohio, and afterward moved to Marion County, Iowa, where he lived
until 1873, when he came to Pottawattamie County, Kane Township, now
Hardin Township. He bought the land where he now lives, consisting of
120 acres, which he has since improved. He was married May 11, 1864, to
Miss Mary L. THOMPSON, who was born in Clermont County, Ohio, the
daughter of Alexander and Nancy (WOOD) THOMPSON, the former was born in
Virginia, of German ancestry, and the latter was born in Clermont
County, Ohio, whose ancestors were from the Carolinas. Mr. and Mrs.
WELLS have two children: Harry T. and Nannie A. Mr. WELLS is a
Republican politically, and is a member of G.A.R. of Bradford Post. He
is a man yet in the prime of life, frank and cordial in his manner, and
honorable in all his dealings, and is one of Hardin Township's
West, Howard S.
HOWARD S. WEST is a leading dentist of
Council Bluffs where he has been engaged in the practice of his
profession since March 1882. He was born at West Fairlee, Orange
County, Vermont, in January 1854. His father, Leavit WEST, still lives
in that place. He pursued the study of medicine at Chelsea, Vermont;
entering upon the practice of his profession he pursued the same for a
number of years, when, desiring to qualify himself more thoroughly in
his profession, he entered the Dental Department of the University of
Michigan, where he graduated in 1880. After his graduation, he spent
some time in the South, pursuing his profession at New Orleans and also
at St. Louis, locating, as already stated, at Council Bluffs, in 1882.
Dr. WEST has a large practice and employs two assistants.
He was married in this city to Miss Minerva
L. LANGDON, who is a capable and valuable assistant to her husband in
his profession. She has had much experience, and holds a license from
the State Board of Examiners. Dr. WEST and wife have two children, a
son and a daughter.
Westcott, John Henry
JOHN HENRY WESTCOTT of Council Bluffs,
traces his lineage back to the early settlement of Rhode Island, thus:
The title to Providence Plantations (Rhode Island) from the Indians,
made in 1637, was vested to Roger WILLIAMS alone.
Roger WILLIAMS, born in Wales, in 1599,
landed in America in 1631, in the sloop Lyon, and settled at What Cheer
Point, Seekout River, Rhode Island, in 1636. His first act was to
divide by deeds, of date 1638, to twelve of his “loving neighbors,”
equal portions of the land and rights of said plantation, reserving to
himself only equal rights with them. Among these twelve were Stukely
WESTCOTT and Richard WATERMAN, ancestors on his father’s and mother’s
side of Mr. WESTCOTT, Stukely WESTCOTT being first named in the deed.
Stukely WESTCOTT and Roger WILLIAMS, while in Salem, Massachusetts,
were “separators from the Church of England,” the former and wife being
baptized by the latter July 1, 1639. Both had passed upon them the
“grand censure,” which alienated them from the Salem Colony. In the
line of family succession was Stukely WESTCOTT, Stukely Jr., Jonah
Nathan, Thomas, and Samuel – all of whom are active and influential in
Thomas WESTCOTT, the grandfather of the
subject of this sketch, was a civilian of note in Rhode Island, and was
also a distinguished officer in the Revolutionary War. Samuel Arnold,
his son, was born in Rhode Island, December 11, 1794, was engaged in a
cotton mill until he moved to Wheeling, Virginia, in 1820, and with the
MOOREs, REESIDEs, and ZANEs was among the most active in developing
that section of the country.
January 1, 1821, Samuel A. WESTCOTT married
Miss Sarah Loring EDGERTON, a descendant of Richard WATERMAN, named
above, whose parents, moving from Connecticut, were among the early
pioneers of Ohio at Marietta.
John Henry, of this writing, their eldest
son, was born in Wheeling, Virginia, May 28, 1823, resided there until
1835, then in Brooklyn, New York, in 1835-36; was at the great fire in
1835; moved to Marietta, Ohio, 1837; was in the employ of Dudley
WOODBRIDGE, formerly a partner of BLENNERHASSET of historic fame, and
afterward he engaged in the mercantile business. June 16, 1853, he was
married in Rochester, New York (at Grove Place, the residence of her
grandfather, Levi WARD), to Miss Fannie M. WARD, a lady of fine
intellectual culture, of rare accomplishments, lovely in disposition
and withal a Christian of high spiritual attainments.
In 1854, Mr. WESTCOTT moved to Madison,
Indiana, and engaged in the foundry business until the death of his
beloved wife and child changed his plans in life. In July 1855, he
moved overland to Keokuk, Iowa, engaged in the stationery and
book-binding business for a time; then was employed as accountant in
the banking house of George C. Anderson & Co., and afterward for
fourteen years in the office of R.F. BOWER, wholesale grocer.
Without desire or solicitation, he was
elected to the office of Justice of the Peace for three years, and then
County Trustee. While Justice of the Peace Hon. John H. CRAIG, seconded
by Hon. Dan F. MILLER, attorneys, in view of some judicial decisions,
moved the Circuit Court, Judge JEFFRIES presiding, that Mr. WESTCOTT be
admitted to the Keokuk bar ex gratia, all the members of the bar
assenting. The Honored Judge, with much cordiality expressed the
pleasure he felt in complimenting Mr. WESTCOTT with this unusual honor
and ordered it done.
July 28, 1859, Mr. WESTCOTT married Miss
Adelaide Virginia HOLSEY, a young lady highly esteemed, of great energy
of character and superior judgment, his present wife. In May 1883, he,
and later his family, moved to Council Bluffs, accepting a position in
the Council Bluffs Insurance Company – J.Q. ANDERSON, Secretary – and
later and among the most pleasant duties of his life, acting as
Secretary to the Hon. M. F. ROHRER, during his administration as mayor
of this city. The ability, integrity and success of Mayor Rohrer’s
administration as Mayor of Council Bluffs, is commended by his
Secretary up to the intimate knowledge he has of the same.
Mr. WESTCOTT emphasizes his membership in
the church and particularly in his relation to the Presbyterian Church.
As early as 14 years of age, he connected himself with the
Congregational Church at Marietta, Ohio. Soon thereafter, he was
elected trustee; afterward, upon request of Governor Ralph P. LOWE, he
was elected deacon in the 1st Westminster Presbyterian Church, Keokuk,
Iowa, and at present is serving as Elder in the 1st Presbyterian Church
in the city, and recently was elected director in the Omaha Theological
Seminary. He has represented the latter church in its higher courts. To
promote the interests of the church of the Lord Jesus Christ is his
Western Lumber & Supply Company
THE WESTERN LUMBER AND SUPPLY COMPANY of
Council Bluffs was established in 1888 by Jacob MARTINSON, Lewis
HAMMER, and Ed MOTT. In 1889, Mr. MOTT withdrew. They first established
with a cash capital of $35,000, which was afterward increased to
$45,000. The annual amount of dues is $100,000, wholesale and retail.
They deal in all kinds of building material and deliver at any point.
The yards and office are at the corner of Third Avenue and Thirteenth
Street, and are managed by Mr. L. HAMMER. This gentleman is also
interested in another lumber yard, at the corner of Second and Vine
Streets, under the firm name of L. Hammer & Co., established by
them in 1867, with a cash capital of $25,000, afterward increased to
$35,000. The annual amount of business there is $65,000 and the scope
is the same as at the other place already mentioned.
Lewis HAMMER was born in Lorain County,
Ohio, September 4, 1847, the son of Godfrey and Catharina (DOCHTLER)
HAMMER and of German ancestry. The parents both died in Ohio. Mr.
HAMMER, one of their six children, was reared in his native state to
farm life, and at the age of 21 struck out in the world for himself,
first working at the carpenter’s trade seven years, two years in Ohio.
In July 1857, he came to Council Bluffs and followed his trade here
five years, when he engaged in the lumber trade, purchasing a saw mill,
which he operated two years. He furnished the first ties for the Union
Pacific Railroad. The ties and lumber were rafted down the river to
Omaha. After running that mill, located on the Bauyo River in Harrison
County, two years, he came to Council Bluffs, where he has since been
engaged in the lumber trade. He is also carrying on farming and stock
raising extensively, under the firm name of Hammer & Wood. They
have a farm of 2,500 acres and rear high-grade cattle, horses and hogs;
600 acres are under cultivation. The grazing lands are in Dawson
County, Nebraska, on the Fort Kearney and Black Hill Railroad. Mr.
HAMMER has assisted largely in building up Council Bluffs in all its
interests, especially in the line of manufactories, etc. In 1859 he
went by ox team to Pike’s Peak, being on the road 30 days from Council
Bluffs to Denver, and spent a year there.
Politically, he is a stanch Republican; has
been Alderman for the city two terms. He is a member of Council Bluffs
Lodge No. 49, I.O.O.F., in which he has passed the chairs, and he is
also a member of the encampment. He was married in March 1869 to Rhoda
A. WOOD, daughter of T. K. and Deema (MANN) WOOD, of Kentucky, where
she was born in 1858; and four of their five children are living: Etta,
wife of Henry BRIER of Council Bluffs; Lewis H., at home; Elmer Arthur,
deceased; Hazel J.; and Bessie L. at home.
Wheeler, William J.
WILLIAM J. WHEELER, of section 7, Carson
Township, was born in Decatur County, Indiana, May 3, 1837, son of
Josephus WHEELER, a native of Kentucky and the son of Thomas WHEELER a
native of Virginia. The Wheelers were early settlers in Kentucky, and
Josephus was reared in Nicholas County. He was 16 years of age when he
came to Decatir County, Indiana, with his parents, when that place was
then a wilderness. Our subject’s mother was Rebecca (LOCK) WHEELER, a
native of Kentucky. They had twelve children, of whom five sons and
three daughters grew to maturity. The family next moved to Howard
County, Indiana, in 1866, and there resided until their death. The
father died at the advanced age of 74 years and the mother at 71 or 72.
The father was a farmer all his life and in his political principles he
was first a Whig and afterward a Republican.
W. J. WHEELER was reared on an Indiana farm,
and in his youth he was engaged in chopping, grubbing and clearing the
land. He taught school three terms, teaching the first term in his own
district. At the time of the great Rebellion, he left the farm at
Lincoln’s call for 300,000 more men, for the army, and enlisted in the
7th Indiana Regiment, which was among the first that went out as a
recruit, August 28, 1861, and returned with the regiment to the Army of
the Potomac. He was in the battles of Bull Run, Cedar Mountain, and
several other slight skirmishes. He was honorably discharged in
December 1862, and returned to Decatur County, Indiana.
He was married March 11, 1864, in Carlisle,
the county seat of Nicholas County, Kentucky, to Miss H. T. CLAYTON, a
native of that county and daughter of William M. CLAYTON, Sr., who was
a soldier and was wounded in the war of 1812; she was a sister of Hon.
B. F. CLAYTON of Macedonia. After his marriage, Mr. WHEELER resided in
Decatur County until 1869, when he moved to southwestern Missouri,
Jasper County, near Carthage, where he lived five years, engaged in
farming and general work. He then returned to Indiana and resided in
Howard County three years. He then removed to Pottawattamie County,
Iowa, first settling near Macedonia, where he resided three years. He
then purchased his present farm of 70 acres, which was then wild land,
and has since added to it until he now has 140 acres, or one fourth of
section 7. He is engaged in general farming and stock raising.
Politically, Mr. WHEELER is a Republican,
his first vote being cast for Fremont. He is a member of the Robert
Provard Post of Carson. Mr. And Mrs. WHEELER have been identified with
the Christian Church for many years.
DAVID WILDING, M.D., Crescent City, was
born in Preston, Lancashire, England, November 24, 1804, a son of Henry
and Jane (BAMBER) WILDING, also natives of the Albion Isle, who had
eleven children and remained in the land of their nativity to the end
of their days.
Dr. WILDING, the ninth in the above family,
was reared in mercantile business, which was that of his father, but
engaged also in other pursuits to some extent. At the age of 23 yars,
he entered business for himself. He became a member of the Church of
the Latter Day Saints in 1833, and is still loyal to the creed, being
an Elder ever since the year 1837. In 1841 he emigrated to America,
landing at New Orleans, and came direct to Nauvoo, joining the colony
established there by the celebrated Joseph SMITH, and he assisted in
erecting the temple at that place, beginning with the foundation and
building one corner as high as the stone work; and he also aided in
building the Nauvoo House from its foundation. When the Mormons left
Nauvoo in 1847, he came with them as far as Pottawattamie County,
landing opposite Florence, Nebraska, and soon afterward located where
he has ever since resided excepting the one year he was in Utah. The
first engagement he made here was that of clerk in a store in Council
Bluffs, where he remained until late in 1853. He owned a farm in Boomer
Township, where he broke and cultivated 50 acres. He afterward sold
this and purchased a section in Hazel Dell Township, made many valuable
improvements upon it, and held it for a number of years. In 1870 he
disposed of this also.
He commenced the practice of midwifery when
a young man and has won for himself a wide reputation for skill,
conducting successfully some remarkable cases where other physicians
had failed; and he has never used an instrument. At the age of 24
years, his back was broken in two places by a bale of cotton falling
from a cart-load, and his back was injured in another place about 20
years ago by a horse falling with him. He has also suffered other
serious accidents. He is an active worker in the cause of Christianity
and morality. Two of his sons served in the late war, in Company A,
29th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. James continued in the army until the War
ended, but Herbert was discharged on account of ill health. The father
and sons are all solid Republicans. The Doctor was Postmaster for ten
years, giving satisfaction to the community.
He was married in 1828 to Alice, daughter of
George and Elizabeth ADKINSON, born April 8, 1810, and died August 9,
1876, leaving eleven children of whom the following is a record:
George, born November 9, 1829; Elizabeth A., May 28, 1832; James, July
3, 1835; Heber, April 30, 1838; David, July 16, 1840; Joe, April 12,
1843; Jennett, September 8, 1845; Henry and Alice, twins, July 1, 1848;
Thomas, March 18, 1851, and Sarah, July 14, 1853.
White, Robert M.
ROBERT M. WHITE is one of the prominent
pioneers of Valley Township. His grandfather, Nathaniel WHITE, was a
farmer in Washington County, Pennsylvania, and of English descent. He
lived to the great age of eighty years. He was married to Mary LITTLE,
and they had nine children, viz.: Nicholas, David, John, Nathaniel,
Samuel, James, Mary A., Jane and Eliza, all born in Washington County.
The father moved to Lawrence County, where he owned a farm of 200 acres
and where he died. He was a member of the United Presbyterian Church
and was a man of industrious habits and integrity in character. Samuel
WHITE, his son, and the father of our subject, was born on the farm in
Washington County, in 1806, and was reared to the life of a farmer. He
married Mary LESLIE, in Lawrence County, where he had gone with his
father when a boy. They were the parents of seven children, namely:
Nathaniel, Nancy A., Margaret, Robert, Samuel, Maria and Eliza, all
born in Lawrence County. The father owned a farm in that county, where
he died at the age of seventy-three years. Both he and his wife were
members of the United Presbyterian Church, and the father was a
comfortable farmer, an honorable man and enjoyed the respect of his
fellow citizens. His son, Samuel, was a soldier in our great Civil War,
belonging to the First Pennsylvania Volunteer Artillery, was in several
battles, and had the drum of one ear destroyed by the discharge of the
Robert M., the subject of this sketch, was
also born in Lawrence County, December 7, 1833, and like his father
before him was reared to farm life. At the age of nineteen, he left
home, and began work for himself. At the age of twenty-one, in 1854, he
went to Mercer County, Illinois, where he remained five and a half
years. In 1860 he went to Brown County, Kansas, but returned to Iowa
the same year and settled in Valley Township, Pottawattamie County, on
his present farm. Iowa was then a new country, and Valley Township had
but few settlers. His land was wild, but by dint of energy and
perseverance he has converted it into a fine fertile farm, to which he
has added until he now has 480 acres. He is a prominent citizen of this
county and a pioneer and, as such, his name will go down to posterity
in the annals of the state of Iowa. He has given each of his three sons
160 acres of land.
He was married in Mercer County, Illinois,
to Martha Clark, daughter of Charles and Sarah CLARK. The father was a
native of Lawrence County, Pennsylvania, and settled in Mercer County,
Illinois, in 1850. He came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, in 1860 and
died in 1886 at the advanced age of eighty-one years. He was a member
of the Presbyterian Church, as was also his wife, but in Iowa they
joined the Baptist Church. He was an industrious man, and well known to
the early settlers. Mr. And Mrs. CLARK were the parents of six
children, viz.: Uriah, William, Samuel, Margaret, Martha and Catherine.
Mr. And Mrs. WHITE have had six children: Charles, Warren, Uriah,
Leslie, Edmond, and one who died when young. Warren was a graduate of
the State University and was a lawyer by profession, but while at his
home and while assisting in the harvest field, he was instantly killed
by lightning. He was unmarried but was a young man of great promise.
His death was a severe blow to his parents and friends. Socially, Mr.
WHITE is an Odd Fellow and politically a Republican. He was Township
Trustee seven years and Clerk sixteen years. He stands high in his
county as a man of integrity and good judgment and his honor is
WILLIAM WHITNEY, one of the
representative citizens of Center township, Pottawattamie County, came
to his present location in 1881. He was born in Ontario, March 25,
1836. His father, William E. WHITNEY, was born near Rochester, NY, the
son of Jeremiah WHITNEY, a native of New England. The mother of our
subject, nee Mary SCOTT, was born in Niagara county, NY, September 7,
1815. Her father, William SCOTT, was born in Connecticut, and her
mother, Joanna (CRANE) SCOTT, was a native of Elizabeth, New Jersey.
Mrs. SCOTT was a daughter of Colonel Jacob CRANE, an officer under
Washington in the Revolutionary war. Mr. WHITNEY has in his possession
a pewter pan that was owned and used by Colonel CRANE during the
struggle for independence. It has been handed down to him by his
ancestors, and is highly prized. Colonel CRANE had a son-in-law,
Crowell WILSON, a Captain in the British army, who received a grant of
land in Ontario, where he settled and where others of the relatives
also located. Colonel CRANE also had a son-in-law in the American army.
Mr. WHITNEY lived in Ontario until 13 years of age, when the family
moved to Jackson County, Michigan, and later to Ingham County, same
state. His father and mother had 10 children, two of whom died in
childhood. The names of those who reached adult age are Lucy A.,
William, Martha, F.S., Hannah E., Joanna C., D.A., and Sarah G. The
father was a mechanic by trade. He was a minister of the Gospel in the
Free-will Baptist Church and was a zealous and faithful worker in the
cause of his Master. He enlisted in the service of his country during
the late war, and at the siege of Savannah lost a leg, having been shot
through the knee. From the effects of the wound he died in September
1873, at the age of 73 years. His widow now receives a pension.
The subject of this sketch was reared on a farm and educated in the
public schools of St. Thomas, Ontario, Jackson and Ingham counties,
Michigan. When a young man, he went to Whiteside County, Illinois,
where in 1862 he entered the service of his country, enlisting in
Company B, 75th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He participated in the
battles of Perryville, Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge,
Resaca, Marietta, Kenesaw Mountain, Atlanta, Georgia, Franklin, and
Nashville, Tennessee, and many other battles and skirmishes.
After service of three years, he was honorably discharged at Camp
Harper, Tennessee. He then returned to Illinois and settled in Bureau
County, where he lived until 1867. In that year, he moved to Franklin
County, Iowa. After a residence of six years there, he went to Cass
county, same state; in 1881 he came to Pottawattamie County. Here he
bought 80 acres of wild prairie land, on which he has since made many
improvements. He has a good house and barn and suitable buildings for
grain and stock, and a fine orchard and grove. In fact, everything
about the place indicates the push and enterprise of the owner. Mr.
WHITNEY has a good graded stock of cattle, horses, and hogs.
In Whiteside County, Illinois, October 3, 1858, Mr. WHITNEY wedded Miss
Elizabeth C. BERRY, a native of Darke County, Ohio, and a lady of
intelligence and refinement. Her parents were Joseph and Jane
(HARBISON) BERRY, the former a native of New Jersey and the latter of
Ohio. They subsequently removed to Bureau County, Illinois, where the
father died November 5, 1876, at the age of 63 years. The mother
returned to Darke County and died there in 1883 at the age of 65 years.
Mr. and Mrs. WHITNEY have three children: Ada L., Mary A. a successful
teacher of Center township, and William B.
Politically our subject affiliates with the Republican party. He is a
member of the Robert Provard Post No. 414 of Carson, and has served as
chaplain of the post. He and his wife and two daughters are members of
the Methodist Episcopal Church of Spring Creek. He has served as
class-leader and also as superintendent of the Sunday school. Mr.
Whitney takes an active interest in both religious and educational
matters. He is one of the esteemed citizens of the township.
JAMES WICKHAM of Council Bluffs is a
native of County Antrim, Ireland, and a son of Patrick and Sisela
(Prior) Wickham. James remained in his native country until 1855 when
he came to America, locating in New York City, where he joined his
mother and two brothers, who had come to this country in 1854; the
father and remainder of the family came via New Orleans and joined the
family at Council Bluffs. They had a family of ten children: Edward,
deceased; Mary, wife of Martin HUGHES of Council Bluffs; James, our
subject; Patrick, a resident of Montana; Bernhard, deceased; Thomas,
deceased; John, deceased; Francis, deceased; Owen P., a resident of
this city; and Ann, deceased. The parents made their home in Council
Bluffs until their death, the father dying in January 1872, and the
mother on March 4, 1889.
Our subject was born January 12, 1837, and
after attaining his majority commenced work for himself, having learned
the stone and brick-mason's trade, at which he worked in the summer and
in the winter seasons turned his attention to anything that presented
itself. He commenced contracting and building in 1863 under the firm
name of Hughes & Wickham Bros., which partnership continued until
the former withdrew from the company, which then continued business
under the name James & O. P. Wickham. They do an immense amount of
business and are among the oldest contractors and builders in the city,
the partnership having been established in 1865. They do an annual
business of some $150,000 and employ about 200 men during the summer
seasons. In 1888, Mr. James Wickham erected a handsome brick mansion on
Franklin Avenue, No. 400, at a cost of some $10,000 where he and his
family reside in peace and comfort.
He was married in June 1859 to Mary Lacy,
who was born in Ireland in 1835. She died in Council Bluffs, November
9, 1867, and Mr. Wickham was then married in September 1873 to Miss
Bridget Keating, a native of Clare, Ireland, born February 2, 1853.
They have eleven children, namely: Bernhard P., Edward A., Kate, Nell,
John, Anna, Veronica, James, Nora, Loretta and Leo. The family are
members of the Catholic Church.
E. A. Wickham, of the firm of Wickham &
Co., composed of E. A. Wickham and J.E. Riley, have their offices at
502 Broad Street, Council Bluffs. They also have an office at 4 and 5
Granite Block, Omaha, under the firm name of J.E. Riley & Co., and
also an office at Denver, Colorado, in Room 17, Granite Building, also
under the name of J.E. Riley & Co. They are the leading contractors
of public work, and do an annual business of $550,000 employing about
400 men. They do business in Council Bluffs, Omaha, Plattsmouth,
Burlington, Denver and Nebraska City. They did their heaviest
contracting in Denver in 1889-90 amounting to $280,000.
E. A. Wickham was born in Council Bluffs,
November 6, 1864, and was educated in the public schools of this city,
and three years in the Benedictine College at Atchison, Kansas. In
1884, after completing his studies, he took charge of the business of
Wickham Bros., as manager, which position he is still holding, but will
withdraw in january 1891. Politically he is a stanch Democrat, and is
associated with the Catholic Church. He is also one of the Directors of
the State Savings Bank of Council Bluffs.
Wickham, O. P.
O. P. WICKHAM, of the firm of Wickham
Bros., contractors and builders, of Council Bluffs, have their office
at the corner of Broad and Main Streets. The firm was organized in 1867
and they have since done an extensive business, having erected many of
the business blocks in this city. Among those they have erected are the
Pottawattamie County Courthouse, the Bennett Block, Eisman's Block,
Deen & Wells building, Keystone building, First & Broadway, and
Burnham & Lulley's banks, J.J. Brown's building, Dodge building,
the new Grand Hotel and Dahaney's Opera Block, which is one of the
largest buildings in the city. Mr. Wickham has also build two fine
residences for himself, the first being now owned by P. C. Duval,
corner of Willow Avenue and Bluff Street, and his present residence on
the corner of Seventh Street and Seventh Avenue.
He was born in October 1845 in Antrim
County, Ireland, the son of Patrick and Celia (Pryor) Wickham. He was
reared in his native country until 12 years of age, when he came to
America with his parents. He went first to New Orleans, and then to St.
Louis, where he remained a short time. He next came to Council Bluffs,
where his parents died, and as soon as he reached his majority, he
engaged at brick and stone masonry, which he has since followed. Mr.
Wickham was married in this city in 1875 to Jennie Fenlan, a native of
Winnebago County, Illinois, born in 1852. They have a family of six
children: Angeline, Celia, George, Genevieve, Paul and Agnes. They are
both members of the Catholic Church. Politically, Mr. Wickham is a
stanch Democrat and is one of the charter members of the Building and
Loan Association of Council Bluffs.
Williams, John E.
JOHN E. WILLIAMS, a farmer and
stock-raiser of Hazel Dell Township, was born in South Wales, October
22, 1841, son of Daniel and Margaret (EVANS) WILLIAMS, of Welsh
extraction. The parents, natives of Wales, came to America in 1856,
sailing from Liverpool on February 14, and locating in Luzern Co,
Pennsylvania, at Pittston, and four years afterward they removed to
Utah, but remained there only one year; then they located at Audubon
Co, Iowa, for one year, and finally in 1863, they settled in
Pottawattamie County. The father died in September 1862 at the age of
48 years in Audubon County. The widow and her children then moved to
this county, locating near the Bluffs, in Kane Township, where they
spent a year and then moved to what is now Garner Township and resided
there four years.
During this latter period, Mr. WILLIAMS married Elizabeth PETERSON, a
native of Sweden, who was but four years of age when brought to
America. His mother now resides in Merrick Co, Nebraska, and is 74
years of age. In her family were 11 children; five died in Wales, and
six came to this country, namely: Daniel J., a resident of Hazel Dell
Township; John E. was the next; Ruth, a resident of the Pacific slope;
Margaret, wife of David NIXON; Samuel, now residing at Grand Island,
Nebraska; Annie, now Mrs. John ROBINSON of Clarkesville, Nebraska.
Their father was a stone and brick mason by trade but turned his
attention to various occupations. Mr. WILLIAMS, our subject, remained
but a short time in Garner Township when he came to Hazel Dell
Township, April 18, 1867, and purchased 120 acres on sections 7 and 18,
then absolutely wild land. Upon this place he moved a small dwelling
about 14 X 16 feet in dimensions and occupied it one summer. In the
fall, he erected a residence 14 X 15 in which, with some additions, he
resided until he erected his present dwelling, in 1884, a two-story
frame 16 X 28 and 18 X 15 on a modern plan. It is one of the nicest
residences in that part of the country. Good barns and other neat
enclosures ornament and add value to the place. There is also an
orchard of about 150 good trees, besides shade and ornamental trees.
Mr. WILLIAMS now owns 200 acres of fine land, all in one body, which he
has been enabled to purchase by his own industrious efforts. By his
first marriage he had five children: Mary, now the wife of Jacob
KONKLER, and residing at Council Bluffs; Samuel E. a resident of Garner
Township; Josephine, wife of Edward JONES of Council Bluffs; George
residing in Garner Township; and Daniel, residing in Boomer Township.
Mr. WILLAMS lost his first wife in May 18, 1872 and he was married a
third time January 23, 1887 to Mrs. Rachel HOWLAND, widow of H.H.
HOWLAND and daughter of John and Cincinnati (DUNKERSON) BALLEW, natives
of Kentucky and of French and German origin. Her father died April 7,
182, at the age of 62 years and her mother is still living near Kansas
City, Missouri. Mrs. WILLIAMS was born in Mercer Co, Missouri, December
18, 1848. By her first marriage, she was the mother of two children:
Hattie, wife of C.C. GREENE of Council Bluffs, and Frank, at home. By
the present marriage of Mr. WILLIAMS, there is one child, John A., who
was born September 16, 1888. Mr. WILLIAMS is a Democrat and he has
served as a member of the School Board.
Williams, N. W.
N.W. WILLIAMS, contractor and builder,
No. 123 West Broadway, is a native of Ashtabula County, Ohio. He was
born May 2, 1842, son of James and Sarah (Woodruff) Williams, both
natives of New York state and descendants of old Puritan families. When
the subject of our sketch was four years old his father died, and when
he was twelve he left his native state and went with his mother to
Michigan and located near Coldwater. After remaining there three years,
they removed to Warren, Jo Davies County, Illinois, where they lived
In the fall of 1857, they located in Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, where the
mother died the following autumn. In December of that year, 1858, Mr.
WILLIAMS and his two sisters came to Council Bluffs, where he has since
made his home. In 1860 he began a two years' apprenticeship to the
trade of bricklaying and plastering, but before his time expired, in
August 1861, he enlisted in Company A, 29th Iowa Volunteer Infantry,
and served six months, until February 1862, but was not accepted. He
then returned to Council Bluffs and completed his trade, after which he
worked as a journeyman until 1870 when he commenced contracting.
In 1883 he turned his whole attention to contracting and has since been
extensively engaged in the same. During the year 1883, he took the
contract for 70 houses. His annual business the past two years
aggregates $45,000. During the busy season, Mr. WILLIAMS employs about
30 men. On upper Broadway he has a brick-yard where he manufactures his
own brick besides supplying the trade. Some of the contracts he has
taken are numbered among the best business blocks and private
residences. In connection with the business already referred to, he
also has a wholesale flour and feed store, and deals in wood and coal,
lime and all building materials. He handles the Diamond Bluff flour of
St. Peter's Minnesota, and is agent for the Acme Cement Plaster, one of
the best plasters in existence, just entering the market in this city.
Politically, Mr. Williams is a stanch Republican. He is a member of the
A.O.U.W., Pottawattamie Lodge No. 46, and of the Modern Woodmen, Hazel
Mr. WILLIAMS was married July 21, 1863, to Miss Charlotte E. ARMSTRONG,
a native of Nauvoo, Illinois, born May 6, 1844. They are the parents of
seven children: Fannie, Ralph, Mark, Stella, Olive, Emma and Ruth.
Fannie, Stella and Olive are deceased. Mr. Williams and his family
reside at No. 111 Stuttsman Street. He is the owner of a number of city
properties, 11 in all.
Williams, Winfield S.
WINFIELD S. WILLIAMS, a prominent farmer
of Valley Township, is the son of Sumner G. Williams, who was born in
Bangor, Maine, and who received a common school education, attending
the same school with one of our eminent statesmen. His father was a
farmer near Bangor, and there were nine children in his family, only
three of whom, except his father, our subject remembers, namely:
Charles, Samuel, and Otis. Mr. Williams left his native state at the
age of 25 years and went to New York City where he resided for several
years. He was there married to Ann WOOD, and they were the parents of
five children: Gertrude V., Albion A., Winfield S., Joseph and Mable.
Immediately after his marriage, he moved to Indiana, settling on a farm
in St. Joseph County near South Bend. He was in that county before the
Indians were removed beyond the Mississippi River. He worked on his
farm and followed his trade, carpentering, for many years. He now
resides in South Bend, where he owns city property. Mr. and Mrs.
WILLIAMS are members of the Methodist Church, and Mr. WILLIAMS was one
of the early Masons of South Bend, a pioneer who took pride in the
progress of the county. He has always been an honorable and industrious
Winfield S., the subject of this sketch, was born in St. Joseph County,
Indiana, 14 miles south of South Bend, and was reared to the life of a
farmer. In 1872 he came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, settling on his
present farm of 80 acres, a part of which he has since laid off in town
lots. He was married in Avoca to Miss Eliza SANDERS, daughter of W.H.
and Sarah (WAKEMAN) SANDERS. The father went to Michigan in an early
day and settled at Ypsilanti, and then, when Iowa was a new state, he
came to Davenport where he remained until 1870 when he settled in
Avoca. He was the father of six children: Wakeman, Stephen, Frank,
Sarah E., Lynos and Linn. Mr. Sanders is yet living in Avoca.
To Mr. and Mrs. WILLIAMS have been born 8 children, viz.: Mabel, Frank,
Winfield S., Grove, Clara (deceased at 7 years), Earl (died at 6
years), Joseph and Ray. In politics, Mr. Williams is a stanch
Republican. He is one of the pioneer settlers of Hancock, a part of
which is on his farm. He was the first Postmaster. Socially he is an
Wilson, Harry M.
HARRY M. WILSON, of Walnut, is one of
the prominent young grain dealers in this thriving town. The firm name
under which he operated is Negley & Wilson. Mr. Negley died June 7,
1890, and Mr. WILSON now carries on the business under the firm name of
Wilson & Toritze. He was born on a farm in Fulton County, Illinois,
July 14, 1865. His grandfather was a prominent minister of the German
Reformed Church in New Jersey. Being a man of power in his
denomination, he was appointed to travel and preach, the gospel in the
wilderness and build up churches. He traveled in Indiana and Illinois
and met with good success. Like the eminent preacher George WHITEFIELD,
he carried the gospel among the hardy pioneers and early settlers. He
established and assisted in building seven churches, and among the last
the German Reformed Church at Fairview, Fulton County, Illinois, and
was pastor of this church for many years, retiring on account of old
He married twice and was the father of seven
children, five of whom are living: Abraham, Harry, John, Julia and
Jane. Mr. WILSON lived to the great age of 92 years. He was a man of
wide experience in life and one who did at an early day a great
service, not only to his country but also in the cause of Christian
religion, which he assisted in planting in many places in the
Abraham WILSON, son of the above, and the
father of the subject of this sketch, was born in 1828, in New Jersey,
and came West with his father in 1835, when but seven years of age. His
father located near Fairview, and there he grew up and learned farming
in his early life, and was also for a time in the mercantile business.
He married Mary E. NEGLEY, daughter of John
NEGLEY, a native of Pennsylvania. To Mr. And Mrs. WILSON were born
eight children: Lolo (deceased), Kate, John (deceased in 1886, at 28
years of age), Lulu, Maggie, Harry, Cornelius and Mamie. Mr. WILSON
settled on a farm at Fairview, on which he lived for many years and
then retired, and is now living at the age of 62 years. He has enjoyed
the respect and confidence of the people of his township and county and
held the usual offices. He is an upright and industrious man, and has
accumulated a handsome property. In politics he is a Democrat. Socially
he is a Mason, being a member of the Blue Lodge.
Harry M. WILSON, son of the above and
subject of this sketch, received an excellent education, attending for
two years the scientific department of Knox College at Galesburg,
Illinois. In 1855, he came to Walnut, Iowa, and engaged as a clerk for
J. T. SPANGLER for one year, and then took charge of the grain business
for W. H. NEGLEY. In July 1888, he bought a one-half interest therein,
and the firm has enjoyed a successful trade. Socially Mr. WILSON is an
Odd Fellow and has held the office of Secretary. He is also a member of
the A.O.U.W. In politics, he is a Republican.
May 8, 1889, Mr. WILSON married Nettie
BAILER, daughter of Joseph B. and Julia (DICKINSON) BAILER. Mr. BAILER
is a native of Ohio, and is an extensive land holder in this county,
and now a resident of Walnut. Mr. And Mrs. WILSON have had one son,
Earl C. Both Mr. And Mrs. WILSON are members of the Presbyterian
Church. Mr. WILSON is a young man of excellent moral character and good
business abilities. He began business life young, and is making a
success by his own efforts. His integrity is unimpeachable and a long
and useful career is before him.
JAMES WILSON, one of the substantial
farmers of Knox Township, is descended from an old American family.
James WILSON, his grandfather, was one of the old pioneers of Perry
County, Ohio, having settled there when the Indians were plentiful. He
was from the Cumberland Mountains in Maryland, and when he first
settled in Ohio, they had great trouble with the Indians, and Mrs.
WILSON would barricade the house when her husband was away. They reared
a family of nine children: Jonathan, Michael, James, Thomas, William
(who died at the age of 17 years), Elizabeth, Rachel, Sarah, and
Martha. The father cleared his farm of 160 acres from heavy timber, and
besides this, he owned 80 acres in Van Wert County. He died at the age
of 75 years and was a member of the Methodist Church. He married Martha
ASHBY, a native of Maryland. Mr. WILSON served as County Judge and was
an honorable and upright man. Thomas WILSON, a son of the above and the
father of our subject, was born in Perry County, Ohio, and was reared
to the life of a farmer. He married Abigail SELLERS, a daughter of John
and Martha SELLERS, who were early settlers of Ohio and of German
descent. Mr. WILSON came out to the Des Moines River near Oskaloosa
when a young man and before there were any settlers there, but
afterward returned to Perry County, Ohio, where he lived on a farm the
remainder of his life. He was the father of three children: Francis,
James and John. Mr. And Mrs. WILSON were members of the Methodist
Church. He died at the age of 45 years and was a hard-working and
James WILSON, his son and the subject of
this sketch, was born September 20, 1849, in Perry County, Ohio. At the
age of 21 years, in 1871, he came to his present farm of 160 acres of
wild land, which, by perseverance and industry, he has converted into a
well tilled and fertile farm. He has since added to this place until he
now owns 240 acres of land. He was married in Marysville, Missouri, to
Maria A. HAMMOND, daughter of William G. and Mary E. (HATCHER) HAMMOND.
To Mr. And Mrs. WILSON have been born five children: Cora, Rosa, Dora,
Orin, and Oley. William G. HAMMOND was a native of Maine, but resided
for a time in Perry County, Ohio, and then moved to Nodaway County,
Missouri. He was the father of five children: Finley, Jesse, Malinda,
Maria and Lena. He died at the residence of his son-in-law, Mr. WILSON.
Mr. WILSON has taken an active interest in the schools. He was the
pioneer settler on his farm, has made all its improvements, and now
stands deservedly high as a man whose word is as good as his bond. His
children descend from an old pioneer stock, who were the real founders
of this country.
Winans, John H.
JOHN H. WINANS, a substantial farmer
of Knox Township, is from an old American family of New Jersey, and of
English descent. His great-grandfather and grandfather were in the
Revolutionary war, and the latter was a farmer of NJ near Elizabeth
City. Our subject's father, Benjamin WINANS, was also a farmer and was
married to Hannah HUGHES, daughter of Charles HUGHES, of New Jersey.
They were the parents of six children: Fannie, John H., Charles, Mary,
George E. and Eliza. In 1854 the father moved to Scott Co., Iowa,
settling on a farm of wild land, where he lived until 1884, when he
moved to Chester Twp, Poweshiek Co., where he is still living at the
age of 86 years. Both he and his wife were members of the Methodist
Church at Rahway, NJ, for 46 years. The father is a prosperous farmer
in good circumstances and has always obeyed the Quaker instructions of
owing no man anything. In his political principles he is a Republican.
JOHN H. WINANS, our subject, was born in Elizabeth City, Essex Co, New
Jersey, August 15, 1842, and was reared to farm life He was but 12
years of age when his father came to Iowa and he carried from New
Jersey $1,200 in a leather belt, with which his father bought his farm.
In 1865, Mr. WINANS moved to Pottawattamie Co, settling in Center Twp,
and in 1878 moved to his present farm of 160 acres in Knox Twp. In his
political principles he is a Republican; he has been a Supervisor of
his township five years, Constable two years, and School Director three
years. He has been identified with Iowa since his boyhood and like his
father has always stood high as an industrious and honest man and a
Mr. WINANS was married at age 20 years in 1862 to Sarah J. FULLER,
daughter of Ezra and Arloah L. FULLER. The father was a farmer of
Cuyahoga Co, Ohio, and settled in Scott Co, Iowa in 1861, where he was
a large landholder, owning 900 acres of land. He had two sons: Jared M.
and James, and a brother Spencer in the Civil War, all three of whom
died in the Army. He was the father of twelve children and died in
Center Twp, this county, where he had moved in 1864. Isaac, the eldest
brother of Benjamin WINANS, was a Captain in the War of 1812 and was in
the battle of Morristown, New Jersey.
BENJAMIN WINCHESTER, retired, is a
well-known pioneer and the pioneer brick-manufacturer of Council Bluffs
and Omaha, having arrived here in May 1854, and ever since made this
county his home. He was born in Erie County, Pennsylvania, August 6,
1817, a son of Stephen WINCHESTER, a native of Orange County, Vermont.
The family trace their ancestry back to two brothers, who settled one
in New England and the other in Virginia. Stephen’s father was Benjamin
WINCHESTER, who served with distinction and bravery for seven years in
the Revolutionary War, under General PUTNAM. Mr. WINCHESTER, our
subject, was reared in agricultural pursuits and at brick-making. At
the age of fifteen years, he became a Mormon and attended the laying of
the corner stone of the Mormon Temple at Kirtland, Ohio, in 1836. At
eighteen he began as a missionary and preached both in New England and
in Europe, his headquarters being at Philadelphia; and for nine years
he was thus a zealous laborer for the Mormons’ cause. He became
disgusted, in 1844, with the leaders, owing to their immorality and
withdrew from the church. About this time, Joseph SMITH, the founder of
Mormonism, was killed. Mr. WINCHESTER resided then for a time at
Philadelphia, and next was engaged in the tobacco trade in Pittsburg.
In the spring of 1854, he arrived at Council Bluffs, coming by railroad
to Alton, Illinois, and thence up the Missouri River. In the fall, by
team, he went by way of Davenport to Pittsburg for his family. At this
time, Council Bluffs comprised about 1,500 inhabitants, dwelling mostly
in log cabins along Broadway and Madison Streets. The leading hotels
then were the Robertson House and the Pacific House – the latter just
opened. Mr. WINCHESTER engaged in the manufacture of brick, being the
first in the county to engage in that business to a considerable
extent, very few small lots having been previously made by the Mormons.
Subsequently, he assisted in laying out the town of Omaha, and
afterward broke the ground for making the first brick-yard there. He
entered into a contract with the Ferry company to make a quantity of
brick, and built a log cabin near by in which to keep the laborers. Mr.
DUELL and wife did the cooking; but Indians and squatters stole their
lumber and other supplies to such an extent that brick-making was not
profitable. He sold out and retired to this side of the river. Mr.
WINCHESTER, however, continued in his business from that period to
1887, when he also sold out and retired. In 1867, he made the brick for
the Ogden House and several business blocks, manufacturing $20,000
worth that season and employing 20 to 30 men. He now lives at 420
Washington Avenue, where he has a fine residence.
In his political principles, he is a zealous
and active Democrat. He has served to years as City Councilman and
during the war was a candidate for the State Legislature, but then his
party were more than ever in the minority.
He was married February 25, 1840, to Miss
Mary Hannah STONE, an intelligent and well educated lady who was born
and reared in Brooklyn, New York. She is a daughter of Robert and Maria
(SMITH) STONE, natives of England. Mr. And Mrs. WINCHESTER have three
sons and two daughters, namely: Savillion A. of Garner Township;
Americus, at home; Benjamin Jr., at home; Josephine Marion, wife of
Thomas OWEN of Garner Township; and Frances Amelia, now Mrs. Joseph
ABEL, also of Garner Township. Three children died: Orlando, at the age
of seven months; Richard A., when seven years old; and a babe. Mr. And
Mrs. WINCHESTER celebrated their golden wedding February 25, 1890, when
five children and eleven grandchildren were present.
Wind, P. H.
P.H. WIND is the proprietor and manager
of the sash and door factory and planning-mill at the corner of Broad
and Thirteenth Streets, which he erected last spring (1890). It is 48 X
60 feet in ground area and two stories high. Previous to his erection
of this mill, Mr. WIND operated a similar factory at 255 Vine Street,
four years, and prior to that he was engaged in contracting and
building, etc., which he has followed in connection with the business
already mentioned for the past sixteen years in this city. He first
came to Council Bluffs about 1867, first becoming employed as foreman
by one of the leading contractors for about seven years. He has erected
many of the principal buildings of the city. Was contractor for the
Masonic Temple, the Chautauqua Tabernacle, the Sapp building, Marcus
block and many other business blocks and residences. He came here from
Nebraska City, where he had been residing about a year. He has also
resided at Chicago, St. Louis, and other points, engaged at his trade.
He is part owner of the Council Bluffs Handle Factory and Vice
President of the company.
He was born December 10, 1844, in Denmark
was educated for the teachers’ profession, of which his father was a
member, but after his 18th year, he preferred a mechanical trade, which
he began to learn, and in the spring of 1865 he came to America and
since 1867 has been a resident of Council Bluffs, figuring
conspicuously in the history of the city. Being a zealous Republican,
he has taken an active part in political affairs. In March 1890, he was
elected Alerman of the second ward. He is Master of Excelsior Lodge No.
259, F.&A.M., and is Past High Priest of the Star Chapter, No. 47,
and member of Ivanhoe Commandery, No. 17, K.T. He is also a member of
Hazel Camp, Modern Woodmen. He is one of the directors of the State
Savings Bank, and President of the Masonic Temple Association. Owning
two farms in Hardin Township, of 120 and 160 acres, he has also been
engaged in agricultural pursuits. One of these he has himself improved
from its original wild condition. He also owns considerable real estate
in the city – about twelve houses in different parts, eight of which
are dwelling houses on Washington Avenue, and he has dealt some in real
estate. His residence is at 738 Washington Avenue, corner of Curtice
Street. It is difficult to estimate the number of buildings he has
erected. He put up thirty-seven last year.
He was married in 1867 in Council Bluffs to
Mary HANSEN, who was born in Denmark, October 10, 1849, and was brought
to this country when seven years of age. They have nine children,
namely: Lena B., Andrew M., Harvey P., Rose M., Nellie M., Evarts H.,
Floy M., and Viva and Vera (twins), all at home. Mr. Wind’s parents
were Andrew I. And Magdalin K. (ERICKSON) WIND; the mother is deceased.
WILLIAM WINTERSTIEN was born in Johnson
Co., Iowa, December 28, 1843, son of William Winterstien, Sr., a native
of Ohio. His grandfather, Nicholas Winterstien, a soldieer of the War
of 1812, brought his family to Johnson County, Iowa, becoming early
settlers of that place. He and his son William and others surveyed the
wagon road from Iowa City to Cedar Rapids with breaking plows and ox
teams, William driving one of the teams. Among other early settlers in
Johnson County, there was a family by the name of LARAMORE who came
from Virginia. Mr. And Mrs. Laramore were the parents of seven
daughters, some of whom remained in the East. Their daughter, SUSAN
LARAMORE, became the wife of William Winterstien Sr., and by him had
ten children, four of whom are now living, viz.: William Jr., our
subject; Jerome W., who resides in Waveland Township, Pottawattamie
County; Philip, a resident of Hastings, Nebraska; and Franklin, who
lives near Goldendale, Washington.
Mr. And Mrs. Winterstien in 1850 went
overland to California with ox teams, spending the first winter at
Carson City, then called Gold Canon. After a sojourn of six years in
California, they returned to Iowa, coming via water to New York and
thence to Johnson County. They subsequently went to Kansas where they
lived some ten or twelve yers, and then removed to Washington, where
they now reside. The father is 74 years old and the mother is 72.
During the Late War, Mr. Winterstien enlisted in the 22nd Iowa Infantry
as a recruit.
WILLIAM WINTERSTIEN JR. was reared on a farm
in Johnson County, Iowa, and when the great Rebellion broke out, he
entered in the service of his country and fought bravely all through
the War. He enlisted in August 1862 in Company H, 22nd Iowa Infantry,
and the first battle he was in was that of Port Gibson near Grand Gulf.
The bursting of a shell near his head caused a deafness in his right
ear from which he has never recovered. At that time, his regiment was
supporting the First Iowa Battery. Mr. Winterstien was afterward in the
battles of Champion Hill, Black River Bridge, the charge 19th and 22nd
of May, siege of Vicksburg, Winchester, Virginia, Fisher's Hill and
Cedar Creek. He was honorably discharged at Savannah, Georgia, July 25,
After the War, Mr. Winterstien returned to
Johnson County, Iowa, where he resided until 1870 when he removed to
Benton County, same state. In 1871 he went to Montgomery County and
settled 12 miles northwest of Red Oak. Three years later, in 1874, he
came to Pottaattamie County and settled on his present farm in section
28, Wright Township. It was then wild land but the well-directed
efforts of Mr. Sinterstien have caused it to assume a different
appearance. He has a story and a half frame residence, 16 X 25 feet,
located on a natural building site, surrounded by a grove of two acres.
He also has other farm buildings and improvements. His home farm
consists of 80 acres, and he owns another well improved 80 acres in
June 10, 1869, in Johnson County, Mr.
Winterstien was married to CATHERINE LOUISE BURNETT, a native of Ohio.
Her father, JOHN BURNETT, was born in Ohio, son of JOHN BURNETT SR. and
her mother, nee ANNA ELIZA VENESS, was born in York County,
Pennsylvania. Mr. And Mrs. Burnett came to Iowa about the year 1850 and
settled in Cedar County where they spent the residue of their lives.
They reared five children, namely: Thomas, Catherine L., George, Smith,
and Charles. Mrs. Winterstien was reared and educated in Cedar County.
She and her husband have nine children, viz.: Grant, Eugene, William
Arthur, Ethel, Kate, Thomas B., Ray, Ben Harrison and Susan.
Politically Mr. Winterstien is a Republican.
He is a member of the G.A.R., Robert Worthington Post No. 9. He joined
the Iowa City Post. He is associated with the Asbury Methodist
Episcopal Church. Mr. Winterstien is a man in the prime of life, is
frank and cordial in his manner, and in honorable in all his dealings.
Note to Researchers: Many
members of the Winterstien family are buried at the Center Ridge Church
Cemetery, just across the Pottawattamie County line into Montgomery
County, Iowa. Others are buried in the Griswold, Iowa, cemetery. There
is also one burial in the Whipple Cemetery, Wright Township,
Pottawattamie County, Iowa, as follows: "Our Darling Baby, Infant, son
of Eugene and Susan Winterstein, August 30, 1905."
Wolf, John A.
JOHN A. WOLF, one of the enterprising
and representative citizens of Washington Township, came to this county
in the spring of 1881, where he has since resided. He came from Mills
County, Iowa, where he had lived several years. He was born in Perry
County, Ohio, May 19, 1850, a son of Philip WOLF, a native of
Pennsylvania; the Wolfs were of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. The mother
of our subject was Mary (LEWIS) WOLF, who was born in Perry County,
Ohio, and her family were of an old American family of New England.
Philip WOLF came to this county in 1887, where he resided until his
death in June 1889, at the age of 63 years. He was a farmer by
occupation and politically a Democrat. In religion he was connected
with the Lutheran Church for several years. The mother died in Lucas
County, Iowa, near Chariton, in 1865. The parents reared five children.
John A. was about two years of age when his parents moved to Van Buren
County, Iowa, where they were early settlers. He was reared in southern
and western Iowa, and at the age of 17 years, he obtained employment
with a well-known stockman. J. M. STRAND. He was in his employ near
Dallas, Marion County, Iowa, one year, and then came with him to
Malvern, Mills County, in 1869, and was in his employ in that county
eight or nine years. He then rented land for two or three years and in
1881 bought 80 acres of his present farm, paying $10 per acre. Later he
bought 40 more acres, and one year later added 40 acres still more, and
he now owns 160 acres, all under a good state of cultivation. Besides
his general farming, he is now feeding 21 head of cattle and 115 head
Mr. WOLF was married at Red Oak, Iowa,
November 30, 1876, to Miss Henrietta MILLER, daughter of John and Ann
(STRAND) MILLER. The mother is a sister of J. M. STRAND, a prominent
stockman of Mills County, Iowa. Mrs. WOLF was reared mostly in
Henderson County, Illinois, and was educated in Illinois. Mr. And Mrs.
WOLF have three sons: Ira Lewis, Philip Miller, and Eugene Earl.
Politically Mr. WOLF is a Democrat, but has never aspired to public
office. He is a member of the Evangelical Church, a class leader in the
same, has served as superintendent of the Sabbath school, and is at the
present a teacher. Mrs. WOLF is also a worthy member in the same. Mr.
WOLF is yet in the prime of life, frank and cordial in his manner, and
is honorable in all his business dealings. He is numbered politically,
socially, and financially among the representative citizens of his
ALEXANDER WOOD, Alderman at large, and a
resident of the First Ward of Council Bluffs, was elected to his
present position first in 1882, serving two years, and was re-elected
in March 1890. He was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1836, a son of
James and Jennie (GLASS) WOOD, both of Scotch descent. The parents died
when Alexander was quite young, and he went to live with an uncle in
Ayrshire, Scotland, where he made his home until he reached his
majority. He then came to America, locating at Florence, Nebraska, and
in 1870 came to Council Bluffs, where he has since made his home.
Shortly after he came to this county, he established a vineyard of 12
acres and an orchard of 2 acres in the corporate limits of Council
Bluffs. The average yield of this place is about 6,000 pounds to the
acre, and he has turned his whole attention to horticulture, and has
made a decided success. He is a live, energetic businessman, and
strives to promote the welfare of the public good. He affiliates with
the Republican party, and is a member of the Western Iowa Horticultural
Society, and also of the Pottawattamie County Fruit Growers’ Society.
Mr. WOOD was married in 1870 to Mrs. PYPER,
nee Ellen WATSON, a native of Ayrshire, Scotland. She had one child by
her former marriage, William PYPER.
Wood, Edwin A.
EDWIN A. WOOD, one of the old soldier
citizens of Pottawattamie County, is from an old American family of
Scotch descent. Thomas G. WOOD, the grandfather of our subject, was a
native of Massachusetts and the father of five children: Thomas, Henry,
Gideon, Nancy and Tabor. Tabor WOOD, a son of the above and the father
of our subject, was born near New Bedford, Massachusetts, and learned
the manufacture of woolen cloth, which he followed in that city for
many years. He was also a farmer and sheep raiser. He married Eliza
FULLER, and to them were born seven children: John, Samuel, Ellen
(deceased at the age of fifty-eight years), Edwin, Francis, and Thomas,
all born in Massachusetts, except Thomas H., who was born in Chautauqua
County, New York. In 1841 the father moved to Jamestown, New York, and
engaged in the manufacture of woolen cloth, where he remained seven
years; next he went to Black Rock, now a part of Buffalo, New York, and
here he resided three years; about 1852 he moved to Elvira, Lorain
County, Ohio, remaining three years; in 1854, he went to Brownhelm,
same county, where he resided on a farm until 1863; next he went to a
farm near Oberlin; and in 1887 moved to Oberlin, where he still resides
at the age of ninety years. He was born March 4, 1800, in the town of
Fairhaven, Massachusetts. Mr. WOOD took an active interest in local
affairs and in the cause of education, and at Elvira was a member of
the School Board, and when a citizen of other places, he was usually a
member of the same board. He was also a member of the Board of
Supervisors of Elvira, and was a member of the Congregational Church. A
man of excellent character and morals, and exceedingly temperate, as
his long life will show. He won the confidence of the people as a
neighbor and friend, and was also true to his profession. He is now
retired and is spending his last days in peace in the beautiful town of
Edwin A. WOOD, a son of the above and the
subject of this sketch, was born in Fairhaven, Massachusetts, August 5,
1834, and received but a limited education in the public schools. At
the age of ten years, he went to work for his father in the woolen
mills and the remainder of his education was gained at odd times by
diligence and hard work. Being very strong physically, he was obliged
to work when he was very young, to assist his father in the care of the
family, and thus his youthful years were passed. At the age of eighteen
years he went to Ohio, where he remained on a farm in Lorain County
until Lincoln made his first call for 300,000 men. He promptly
responded, and on August 5, 1862, on his natal day, he enlisted,
leaving his wife with two young children. He enlisted in Company F, One
Hundred and Third Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and served two years and ten
months, which period closed our great Civil War. He was one of the
soldiers who chased John MORGAN through Kentucky, and was in many
skirmishes with him. The next year, he crossed the mountains with
BURNSIDE into East Tennessee and was in the battles of Knoxville,
Tunnell Hill, Resaca and was with that great General, who, with his
victorious army, marched through the heart of the Confederacy to the
sea. Mr. WOOD was with his regiment all through the heavy fighting
until they reached Atlanta, when they were ordered back and reached
Nashville in time to participate in that battle, and assisted in
driving HOOD across the Tennessee River and annihilated his army. The
regiment was then ordered to Washington, District of Columbia, and they
then went by boat to Cincinnati and by rail to Annapolis, where they
took a steamer to Fort Fisher, where they were engaged in the capture
of Wilmington. They then fought their way into the heart of North
Carolina, and during the march had one continual skirmish. They joined
Sherman at Columbia, North Carolina, which they had captured, and here
the regiment was discharged and brought by boat to Baltimore, and then
home to Ohio. Mr. WOOD was promoted as Corporal at Frankfort, Kentucky,
and detailed as clerk for the Adjutant General at brigade headquarters,
and served in this capacity about one year. He was in active service
all of the time and was but a short time sick. When he entered the
army, he was the perfection of physical manhood, but like many others
of those brave men who risked their lives for their country's cause, he
came from the army with a constitution shattered by exposure.
On returning home, he found that farm life
did not agree with him, and he engaged in the mercantile business in
Brownhelm, Ohio, which he continued for three years, but was burned out
and met with a loss of all his property. He then engaged in buying
produce for one and a half years, and was in New York City one year. In
1879, he came to Avoca, Iowa, and engaged in the dairy business, which
proved very successful. He was appointed Postmaster under Harrison,
March 10, 1890, which office he still holds, to the general acceptance
of the people. Being naturally a man of good nature, this office is
particularly adapted to him, and due him as an old soldier who risked
in his young manhood life and health in the service of his country. Mr.
WOOD is a man of quiet tastes, and his straightforward character has
always given him the confidence of his fellow townsmen. In Ohio, he
held the office of Township Assessor and Clerk, and was also a member
of the School Board. Politically he is a stanch Republican, voting as
he fought. He is Chaplain of the G.A.R., U.S. Grant Post No. 123,
Department of Iowa, in which he was one of the commanders.
At the age of twenty-three years, Mr. WOOD
married at Brownhelm, Ohio, Miss Angelina COOLEY, daughter of
Rensselaer and Julia (WELLS) COOLEY, both descended from old American
families who had been connected with the early history of our country
as pioneers and soldiers since the first settlement. Mr. COOLEY was
born in Stockbridge, Massachusetts, and his wife was from Connecticut.
To Mr. And Mrs. WOOD have been born ten children: Eliza F., Almira E.,
Julia M., Rensselaer T., Mercy Anna, Sarah G., Edwin, Thomas G., Dora
B. and Frank H. The daughter, Mercy Anna, is deputy postmistress, which
position she fills with ability and skill.
Woodbury, Edmund I.
DR. EDMUND I. WOODBURY, of Council
Bluffs, is one of the leading dentists of Western Iowa, and an early
settler of this city, where he located and began the practice of his
profession July 1, 1858. He was born in the town of Bolton, Worcester
County, Massachusetts, March 7, 1830. He descended from an early and
well-known New England family. The subject of this sketch was born in
the same place, as were his father and grandfather, both of whom were
named Israel WOODBURY. Both the grandfather and the great-grandfather
were soldiers in the Revolution. The family is of English origin. Dr.
WOODBURY's mother was Mrs. Olive SNOW before her marriage to his
father; her maiden name was Olive BERRY. She was born in the town of
Brewster, Massachusetts, on Cape Cod. The father of our subject was
twice married, and was the father of fifteen children, ten of whom,
including the Doctor, were by the second marriage. The parents
continued to live at the old home until death. Israel WOODBURY, the
father, was a mason and contractor.
Dr. WOODBURY was reared in his native town, where he received a good
English education. In 1852, having completed the study of dentistry in
Worcester, Massachusetts, he went to Yellow Springs, Ohio, and engaged
in the practice of his profession, remaining there nearly six years,
when he came to Council Bluffs, There he soon established a good
business, and his professional career has been a successful one, and he
is numbered among the enterprising citizens of Council Bluffs. In 1890
he erected a fine brown stone block on Pearl Street, a part of which
comprises the dental rooms of Woodbury & Sons. He has a fine
residence on the corner of Bluff and Story Streets. In 1854 Dr.
Woodbury was married to Elizabeth WHITNEY, daughter of Nathan WHITNEY.
Mrs. WOODBURY also belongs to an early Massachusetts family. They have
six children. The oldest, Edmond N., died at the age of seven years;
Herbert A., second, is a graduate of the Boston Medical College in the
class of 1889. The third son and fourth child is Charles E., also a
graduate of the same dental school in 1887. These sons are now
associated with their father in business. The eldest daughter and third
child is Olive L., wife of Rev. T. B. GREENLEE, of Hillsboro, Illinois.
At the present time, January 1, 1891, Cora L., the fifth child, is at
home, Ernest I., the youngest, is at the State University, Iowa City.
FREDERICK WRIGHT, the first child of
George and Elizabeth WRIGHT, noticed elsewhere, was born in
Leicestershire, England, January 2, 1842, and came to this country with
his parents in 1846. He was brought up to farm life in the pioneer
West. On attaining to manhood, he engaged in various occupations at
Council Bluffs for 7 years, saving up some money, with which he
purchased a small farm in Boomer Twp, of 40 acres of wild prairie.
There he erected a residence, but soon afterward he returned to Council
Bluffs and November 25, 1868, married Miss Francis E. HOUGH, a daughter
of J.R. and Cedelia HOUGH and born in this county September 30, 1848,
supposed to be the first white female child born in Pottawattamie
After his marriage he settled upon his farm, where he made his home
until 1883, when he came to his present place on Section 3, Hazel Dell
Twp. This fine place comprises 120 acres. He also owns a tract of six
acres of timberland in Rockford Twp. His farm he has improved from a
wild condition; has erected a neat frame residence 26 X 38 feet with
barns, etc. His place is devoted to general farming and rearing of
livestock. He is an energetic farmer, standing in the front ranks of
the yeomanry of this enterprising section of the country. Politically
he is not a partisan, as he casts his vote for the best man of any
party. He is a member of the Mutual Protection Society, is always ready
to assist in anything tending to the public welfare, and is a popular
man. His two children are: Ada, born August 21, 1870, and Joel R., born
May 14, 1876.
GEORGE WRIGHT, deceased, formerly a
farmer of Hazel Dell Township, was born in Thurcaston, Leicestershire,
England, April 12, 1819, learned the trades of brick-mason and
plasterer, was married January 16, 1842, to Elizabeth WOOLENTON, who
was born in the town of Thrusinton, Leicestershire, May 30, 1821, and
after his marriage was employed as gardener and florist. In December
1847, he emigrated to America, locating first at St Louis; in a few
years he removed to Genoa, Nebraska, whence he was driven two years
later by the Indians back to the Missouri River. In the spring of 1860
he settled on 80 acres of wild prairie land on Sect 3, Hazel Dell Twp,
this county, improved it and remained upon it until his death, which
occurred October 13, 1876. Mrs. WRIGHT is still living on the old home
place. Mr. WRIGHT was, and Mrs. WRIGHT still is, a member of the
Reorganized Church of the Latter-Day Saints. In their family are six
children, namely: Frederick, who was born January 2, 1843; Emma E.,
born November 18, 1844, now the wife of A.B. SMITH, residing in
Pottawattamie Co; George, born March 11, 1847, also residing in this
county; William, born October 2, 1852, also in this county; Sarah A.,
born January 18, 1857, died August 15, 1858; and Mary J. born September
13, 1860, now the wife of George DUNCAN of this county.
GEORGE WRIGHT JR. the subject of this paragraph, the third born in the
above family, is a native of Leicestershire, England, came with his
parents to this country and was brought up on a farm, assisting in
opening up the home place just mentioned. After his marriage, he
located upon his farm on Sections 3 and 4, consisting of 116 acres of
uncultivated land which he has since greatly improved, making a fine
place, where he is devoted to general farming and stock raising. He is
a self-made man, having risen from the bottom round of the ladder to
the present comfortable station, which he enjoys, by his own unaided
efforts. He is a zealous Democrat and has served as a member of the
School Board, etc. He and his wife are members of the Reorganized
Church of the Latter-Day Saints. October 9, 1872, he married Alice E.
GILSON, daughter of William and Elizabeth (HOLDER) GILSON, who was born
in Pennsylvania, May 11, 1852, and came to Iowa with her parents. In
this family are five children: Lydia A., born August 5, 1873; George
W., February 16, 1876 and died April 1, 1878; Frank B. June 30, 1878;
Adolph B., July 9, 1884; and Gracie E., March 5, 1890.
Wright, George Franklin
GEORGE FRANKLIN WRIGHT, of Council
Bluffs, Iowa, was born in Warren, Washington County, Vermont, December
5, 1833, and was the eldest son of a family of four children, he along
surviving, of the late Franklin Asher WRIGHT, (born in Hanover, New
Hampshire, September 17, 1801, died in Council Bluffs, Iowa, October 5,
1876; he was of English descent), and of Caroline Susannah WRIGHT, nee
TILLOTSON, born in Berlin, Vermont, November 3, 1807. She was of Scotch
and English parentage. They were married in Berlin, Vermont, February
27, 1833. Franklin A. WRIGHT was the son of Asher WRIGHT of English
descent, and of Irene WRIGHT, nee CURTIS, of English descent. Caroline
S. WRIGHT was a daughter of Samuel TILLOTSON, of English descent, and
of Betsey TILLOTSON, nee WALLACE, of Scotch descent.
George F. WRIGHT was reared and spent his
boyhood on a farm in his native town, and in early life, when a mere
boy, was, by his father, whose large business interests required his
continued absence from home, held largely responsible for the
successful carrying on and working of his farms, the labor of which was
performed exclusively by hired help. This training, and the
responsibility incident thereto, became in after years of great service
to him when he became engrossed in the active operation of his own
business career. At the age of seventeen, he commenced his academic
education at West Randolph, Vermont, under the tutorage of the late
Hon. Austin ADAMS, of Dubuque, Iowa, who was twice Chief Justice of the
State. During his academic training, teaching district school winters,
as was customary with many New England boys, he completed his
preparatory studies for, and one year of, his college course. He did
not enter college, however; but the spring following his majority, in
1855, he came to Iowa and settled in Keosauqua, Van Buren County, when
he at once commenced the study of the law with the law firm of Wright,
Knapp & Caldwell, composed of ex-United States Senator George G.
WRIGHT, of Des Moines, the late Hon. Joseph C. KNAPP, of Keosauqua, who
was his uncle, and his honor, Judge Henry C. CALDWELL, of Little Rock,
Arkansas, now Circuit Judge for the Eighth Circuit of the United
States. His law studies were pursued under the tutorage of Senator
WRIGHT, and as a member of the large class of law students then under
his charge, his advancement was such that he was admitted to the Van
Buren County bar in 1857, Judge H. B. HENDERSHOTT then presiding judge
of the District Court of said county. The same year, Senator WRIGHT,
going upon the Supreme Bench of Iowa, George F., as he was familiarly
known, was admitted to partnership with his uncle, Judge KNAPP, and
Judge CALDWELL, under the firm name of Knapp, Caldwell & Wright,
and so continued until Judge CALDWELL was called to the bench at Little
Rock. His education, founded in the old-fashioned New England schools,
and in the old-fashioned New England ways, was rounded out under the
training received from these eminent lawyers and jurists. Aided by
their ripe business experience, by his extensive acquaintance with
business affairs, and with men of affairs, he became a good lawyer, as
well as an active, persevering and successful businessman. It was in
this practical way that he acquired the educational elements which
insured his success much more effectually than could have been attained
by a university or college course, or both combined.
Early in 1861, he enlisted in response to
President Lincoln’s call for 75,000 volunteers, and in connection with
Captain, afterward General, J. M. TUTTLE, raised a company of
volunteers in Van Buren County, of which he was elected the First
Lieutenant, receiving his commission from the hands of Governor
KIRKWOOD at Davenport, Iowa. His company rendezvoused at Keokuk, and
after being some time in camp, the first call being full, the company
was accepted in the second call for volunteers and became a part of the
2nd Regiment of Iowa Volunteers. Immediately before this occurred,
Judge CALDWELL having enlisted and having been elected Major of the 3rd
Iowa Cavalry, the business of their firm demanded his return to
Keosauqua. Immediately on his return, he raised a company of State
Militia, was elected Captain thereof, and tendered the same to Governor
KIRKWOOD for the protection of the Iowa border in Van Buren County. His
company was accepted, was equipped with Springfield rifles and
furnished with the necessary munitions of war. This organization was
kept intact, being frequently called to the border and into the State
of Missouri, until the rebels were driven out of that state, when most
of his company enlisted in and became a part of the 15th Regiment of
On October 26, 1863, he was married in the
city of Chicago, to Ellen E. WRIGHT, nee BROOKS, of Northfield,
Vermont, born in Hancock, Vermont, September 21, 1830. She was the
daughter of the late Josiah Prentice BROOKS, born April 5, 1797, in
Alstead, New Hampshire, died in Northfield, January 10, 1883, of
English descent, and the Betsey Parker BROOKS, nee ROBBINS, born August
16, 1797, in Hancock, Vermont, died in Northfield, Vermont, November 4,
1885, and was of English descent.
During their residence in Keosauqua there
were born to them three sons, the oldest dying in infancy, and after
their removal therefrom, two daughters, all now living, viz.: Franklin
Prentice Wright, born March 2, 1866; George Spencer Wright, born
January 21, 1868; Eliza Caroline Wright, born June 1, 1870; and Ellen
Elizabeth Wright, born December 7, 1872.
In the spring of 1868, he moved with his
family to Council Bluffs and formed a law partnership with the late
Judge Caleb BALDWIN, and the law firm of Baldwin & Wright, at once
became one of the leading law firms of the State. The firm at once took
high rank among the profession as practicing attorneys, and as the
several railway companies representing the trunk lines made their
termini in Council Bluffs, this firm became their local attorneys, and
has ever since retained that relation toward them. This law connection
continued up to the time when Judge BALDWIN was appointed by President
GRANT as one of the Judges of the Court of Commissioners of Alabama
claims, requiring his residence in the city of Washington, when the
firm was dissolved.
He then associated himself with Hon. Amos J.
RISING, now Judge of the
District Court of Arapahoe County, Denver, Colorado, and John N.
BALDWIN, Esq., the second son of the late Judge Caleb BALDWIN. After
several years of successful practice Judge RISING retired from the
firm, removing to Colorado, and the firm became and has since remained
as Wright & Baldwin, they having lately associated with themselves
the two sons of Mr. WRIGHT.
He early identified himself with the
politics of his county, the state, and the nation, and has always been
a stanch and active Republican, and for many years a leading worker in
his party. During his residence in Van Buren County, he was repeatedly
tendered the nomination for member of the Legislature from that county,
which was then equivalent to an election, but invariably declined the
honor. In 1875 he was elected Senator from the 9th Senatorial District
of Iowa, composed of the counties of Pottawattamie and Mills. After
serving as Senator in the 16th and 17th General Assemblies, he was
again elected Senator, in 1879, in the 19th Senatorial District of
Iowa, comprising Pottawattamie County, his place of residence. He
served as Senator of the 19th District in the 18th and 19th General
Assemblies. He was ever vigilant and faithful to the trust imposed on
him, never allowing personal feelings to swerve him from the path of
duty and strict justice.
Soon after taking up his residence in
Council Bluffs, he began to engage in active business affairs outside
of his profession, and in 1870 and immediately following, he, with his
associates, organized companies and constructed and put in successful
operation large plants for the manufacture and supply of coal
illuminating gas in the cities of Council Bluffs, Ottumwa, Mt.
Pleasant, Cedar Rapids, and Sioux City, in Iowa, and in the cities of
Elgin and Evanston in Illinois. In 1868 he, with Judge Baldwin and
associates, constructed and operated the Council Bluffs Street Railway
lines, the first street railway in Council Bluffs, and was the
President of said company until it passed under the control of the
Union Pacific Railway Company. In 1881 he was elected Secretary and
Treasurer of the Union Elevator Company of Council Bluffs composed of
six trunk line railway companies terminating therein, and had the
supervision and construction of its Union Elevator building in said
city, which has the largest capacity of any grain elevator west of the
city of Chicago. In 1883, as one of the originators, in connection with
his associates, he organized and put in successful operation the
Nebraska & Iowa Fire Insurance Company of Omaha, Nebraska, now
known as the Nebraska Fire Insurance Company of Omaha, and at the same
time organized and became president of the Iowa & Nebraska Fire
Insurance Company of Council Bluffs, Iowa, and is now known as the
Western Home Insurance Company of that place. He is still largely
interested in both of said parties.
In 1886, in connection with his associates,
he organized the Omaha & Council Bluffs Railway & Bridge
Company, procured from Congress a franchise for combined railway and
wagon bridge across the Missouri River between the cities of Council
Bluffs and Omaha; and during the next two years, the Omaha &
Council Bluffs Railway & Bridge Company, of which he was elected
Secretary, erected one of the finest and most expensive steel bridges
over said river, and in connection therewith constructed and put in
successful operation over said bridge between said cities the first
Electric Street Railway line ever constructed in the States of Iowa and
As a lawyer, Mr. WRIGHT is prominent,
leading and able, never seeking to deceive court or jury, but in an
open, manly, earnest contest endeavoring to secure the rights of his
clients. Gifted with sound judgment, endowed with great, good common
sense, and being a fine analyzer of character and the motives of men,
he is ever ready to meet his adversary on compromise grounds, confident
in his resources and ability to secure better results for his clients
by negotiation than by prolonged and expensive litigation.
As a citizen, he is active, progressive,
public-spirited and liberal, and since he came to Council Bluffs, he
has ever been loyal to her best material interests, advocating all
measures that the best elements therein strove to establish. Of strict
and upright manhood, he constantly labors for her welfare and is always
found in the line of the best citizenship.
As a friend, he is true, honest, faithful
and sacrificing to all who show themselves worthy of his friendship,
generous in his praises, slow in his criticisms, and happy in
contributing to the wants and needs of his fellows.
As a man, he is amiable, temperate,
honorable, benevolent, just and upright, with fine literary tastes and
Wyland, J. M.
DR. J.M. WYLAND, the only physician
and druggist of Minden, was born in Harlan, Iowa, February 24, 1858,
son of Isaac P. WYLAND, who was a pioneer of this state, having settled
at Newtown, near Avoca, in 1860. He was born in Elkhart Co., Indiana,
August 26, 1832, in the town of Wyland, which was named in honor of his
father, Jonathan WYLAND, who was born in 1797 in Bedford Co.,
Pennsylvania, moved first to Greene Co., Ohio, and then to Indiana. He
came to America when a young man, settling in Elkhart County, where he
built a grist-mill and woolen factory, and also a dam across the
Elkhart River, and was in short the founder of Wyland. He was married
to Miss Catherine PLUM, by whom he had two sons: Jonathan and
Washington. This wife died and he was again married in Ohio to a Miss
Elizabeth VANARSDOLL, and by this marriage there were 11 children:
Catherine, Rachel, William, Isaac, Jasper, David, Jefferson, Elizabeth,
Mary Barbara, Christian, and Lawrence, all of whom lived to maturity.
Jasper died in the service to his country in the late war, in an Iowa
regiment; Jonathan died at his home at the age of 58 years of
pneumonia, contracted by exposure. The father was a stanch Democrat
politically, and religiously was a German Baptist or Dunkard. The
Dunkards were among the most thrifty and peaceable people who sought a
home in America from the oppression of older countries.
ISAAC P. WYLAND, a son of the above and the father of our subject, was
born in Wyland, Indiana, received a common-school education and was
brought up a Dunkard, but afterward changed his religion to the
"Christian" belief. He was a miller by trade, and was married in
Elkhart, Indiana, to Julia A. MILTENBERGER, of German descent, daughter
of Henry MILTENBERGER, who came from Pennsylvania to Elkhart County.
Mr. and Mrs. WYLAND have six children: William W., Omar P., Jonathan
M., Seth L., Mary H. and Asa A. The father moved to Iowa in the spring
of 1856, settling in Shelby Co., near Harlan, which was then a
wilderness. In 1860 he settled in Newton, Pottawattamie Co., where he
built a grist mill and one and a half years later, settled near his old
farm east of Harlan, where he lived until 1884. In that year, he went
to Dakota, settling on a farm in Hand County, where he still resides.
He is a Democrat in his political opinions and has served as Sheriff of
Shelby County, in 1862, and Postmaster of Jackson Township, Shelby Co.
He has always been a hard working, industrious, honorable and
substantial citizen and will be remembered by the old settlers of
DR. J.M. WYLAND, his son and the subject of this sketch, received a
good education at the high school of Harlan, and also studied medicine
at Iowa City, where he graduated in 1884. His preceptor was Dr. E.A.
COBB, of Harlan, with whom he remained three years. Leaving this able
instructor in the spring of 1884, the Doctor came to Minden, where he
immediately bought the drug store of Kervill & Schaff, and has
since had a large trade as well as a good practice. Socially he is a
Mason, and also a member of the Knights of Pythias. In his political
opinions he is a Democrat, and has also taken an active interest in the
schools of his county, being a member of the School Board. He has the
confidence of all the people, and was recently elected a member of the
In the spring of 1886 Mr. WYLAND was married to Amelia SCHUMAKER,
daughter of Henry SCHUMAKER, a native of Germany, but now of Moline,
Illinois. He is the father of two children, Henry and Amelia. The
Doctor's brother, Asa O. WYLAND, is also a physician and is now engaged
in practice at Underwood, this county. Dr. WYLAND is a man of high
character and his success as a physician attests his skill and
knowledge of medicine. He is yet a young man and the succeeding years
should add honor and dignity to a life well begun.
Wyman, Albert Whitney
HON. ALBERT WHITNEY WYMAN, of section
22, Keg Creek Township, is engaged in general farming, cattle feeding,
and stock raising, and the proprietor of Maple Grove Stock Farm, and a
well-known and prominent citizen of this county, who came here March
29, 1871. He was born at Parma, Monroe County, New York, February 20,
1834, the son of Samuel and Betsey (ATCHINSON) WYMAN, who was born in
Sheffield, Massachusetts, May 31, 1789, was a blacksmith and served in
the War of 1812, and whose father, Samuel WYMAN, Sr., served in the
Revolutionary War. The WYMAN family were of English ancestry, and first
settled at Sheffield, Massachusetts. Our subject’s mother, Betsey
ATCHISON, was born January 21, 1799, at Parma, Monroe County, New York,
the daughter of John ATCHISON, one of the very first settlers in that
town and county, and Betsey was the first female white child born at
Parma. Her mother was Almira (FULLER) ATCHISON, and her brother, Austin
ATCHINSON, was in the War of 1812, and is now living in Spencerport,
New York, at the venerable age of 100 years. The parents had eleven
children, seven sons and four daughters, of whom Albert was the
youngest son. They lived in Monroe County, and the mother was buried in
the same town where she was born, being eighty-five at her death, and
the father, who was born in 1789, died at the age of eighty-seven. He
was a blacksmith by trade.
Albert attended school until he was nineteen
years old, and then served an apprenticeship at the carpenter’s trade,
and also worked as a journeyman. He was engaged in railroad work,
building bridges, taking and letting out contracts, and acting as
foreman and superintendent of a force of mechanics for several years in
different parts of the State. Mr. WYMAN was then engaged in farming
near Troy and Fort Edward until 1871. He was Lieutenant of Company C,
24th Regiment, New York. In 1871 he came to this county, when the
nearest house was five miles distant each of him, and bought 160 acres
and increased his possessions to 753 acres, which have been well
improved and cultivated. He has set out 7,000 forest and 140 fruit
trees. The farm, Maple Grove, is a beautiful home, and it is here Mr.
WYMAN is at home to all who wish to partake of his hospitality.
He was married November 10, 1857, to Miss
Harriet M. PECK, of Half Moon, Saratoga County, New York, the daughter
of Abraham and Betsey Ann (WOOD) PECK, the former a native of Dutchess
County, New York, and the latter of Lansingburg, New York. Mr. And Mrs.
WYMAN have lost three children by death, two infants and one daughter,
Hattie A., who was twelve years of age; and they have one son living,
Burton A., who was married in this county to Miss Leticia FLOOD, a
daughter of James FLOOD, of this township. They have four children, two
sons and two daughters: Charles Albert, James, Hattie and an infant
daughter. They live in Council Bluffs, but own a farm near their
father’s. Mr. A. W. WYMAN is a Democrat, who has held many township
offices in the last fifteen years. He was a representative of the 22nd
General Legislative Assembly, with honor to both himself and his party.
Mr. WYMAN suggested and named the town of Keg Creek, in which he was
its first Treasurer, Township Trustee and Justice of the Peace, and
still holds the Treasuryship. He is a Royal Arch Mason, Excelsior Lodge
Council Bluffs, having been made a Mason in 1856, at Waterford, New
York. He is a member of the Farmer’s Alliance, is President of the
Township Alliance, and Treasurer of the County Alliance.
Mr. WYMAN lost his beloved wife by death,
June 29, 1888. She was an estimable lady, of great intelligence, and
always helped her husband in his business plans, and was a kind wife
NOTE TO RESEARCHERS:
This bio for A.W. Wyman gives an ancestral name of ATCHINSON for his
mother. In the bio, that name is variously spelled ATCHINSON and
ATCHISON. That is not a typing error on my part. I have copied it just
as the book was printed.
Young, John N.
JOHN N. YOUNG, one of the old soldier
citizens of Pottawattamie County, was born in Fleming County, Kentucky,
February 5, 1844, the son of John YOUNG, formerly a farmer of that
county, who moved to Iowa in 1846 when our subject was but two years
old, and engaged in the mercantile business in Washington. After one
year, he bought a farm in that county, where he spent the remainder of
his life. He was married in Kentucky, to Mary ADAMS, and they had eight
children: James A., Robert S., John N., Nancy, Sarah A., Mary, Charles
and Addie. Mr. YOUNG was a Scotch-Irish man of German descent, and
lived to the age of seventy-two years. He was an industrious man and
was respected by all who knew him.
John N. YOUNG, the subject of this sketch,
received a good education, attending a college at Washington, Iowa, a
Presbyterian institution. At the age of eighteen, in 1862, when Lincoln
made his first call for 300,000 men, young John bravely enlisted as a
Private in Company C, 19th Regiment Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and served
three years. He was in the battle of Prairie Grove, Arkansas, was on
the Arkansas and Missouri frontier ten months, and was then at the
siege and capture of Vicksburg. He was at the surrender of Port Hudson,
battle of Sterling Farm, September 29, 1863, where he was taken
prisoner, and confined at Tyler, Texas, and Shreveport, Louisiana, for
nine months and thirteen days. He was then exchanged July 22, 1864, and
went to New Orleans, thence to Barancas, Florida, where he was at the
siege of Spanish Fort and capture of Mobile; and here the War closed.
He was honorably discharged July 10, 1865, and mustered out at
Davenport, Iowa, August 1, 1865. He had two brothers in the War, James
A. and Robert S., the former in the 7th Iowa Infantry, and was present
at the battle of Belmont, where he was taken prisoner and confined
eleven months and ten days in Memphis, Tennesse; Corinth Mississippi;
Mason, Georgia; Tuscaloosa, Alabama, and Belle Island.
After the War, Mr. YOUNG returned to
Washington County, Iowa, and, like many of the men who had risked life
and health for their country, followed the peaceful pursuits of
agriculture. In the fall of 1867, he went to Cass County, Missouri,
where he bought land and lived seven and a half years. He then returned
to Washington County, remaining two years, and in 1878 settled on his
present farm of 80 acres in Pottawattamie County, which he has since
converted into a well-tilled farm. He has held the office of Assessor
two years, Township Trustee three years, and a member of the School
Board two years. He is a member of the G.A.R., William Layton Post, No.
358, and in his political views is a stanch Republican. In the days
when his country needed his services, he bravely went to the front and
did gallant service in the cause of his country, believing that a
country worth living for was worth fighting for, and to such men we owe
the preservation of the Union and our free institutions. As a citizen
Mr. YOUNG has been above reproach, and his name and record should be
handed down to the most remote generations.
March 29, 1866, he was married to Sarah A.
FARLEY, daughter of Sylvester and Candace (BARNETT) FARLEY. The father
was a pioneer settler in Washington County, Iowa, having come from Ohio
in 1839 and is of Scotch-Irish descent. He was born in Ohio in 1811,
and is still living, at the age of seventy-nine years. He was the
father of thirteen children, seven of whom are now living, namely:
Nancy, John, Harvey, Noah, Sarah M., William and Andrew. Mr. And Mrs.
YOUNG are the parents of four children: Jeanette, Minnie A., Edward B.,
and Orrin R.
Young, Joseph F.
JOSEPH F. YOUNG, Jr., dealer in
livestock, Council Bluffs, was born in this city, June 2, 1868, the son
of J. F. and Mary A. YOUNG; was educated three years at the Western
Iowa College here. At the age of fourteen he commenced handling
livestock for his father, and at eighteen years of age he entered into
partnership with S. H. BULLARD, and for a year was engaged with him in
buying and shipping stock. Then he again entered partnership with his
father, and was with him until June 1890, when he once more commenced
upon his own hook, and he is now doing an extensive business dealing in
cattle and horses. He is a Republican in his political sympathies. For
his wife he married, May 14, 1890, Miss Lillie B. GARNER, who was born
in this city, June 3, 1870.
Mickelwait & Young
MICKELWAIT & YOUNG, grain dealers at
Macedonia, is one of the leading and solid business firms of that
place. Their elevator, having a capacity of 30,000 bushels, was built
by Mr. T. J. YOUNG, the junior member of the firm, and T.J.
EVANS. The present firm have 100,000 bushels of grain annually; also do
a large flour and coal business. Mr. YOUNG is the business manager at
this place, while Mr. MICKELWAIT resides at Glenwood, Mills County. Mr.
YOUNG was born in Peru, LaSalle Co, Illinois, February 8, 1855, a son
of Nason YOUNG, a native of Ireland, and of Susanna (KIRBY) YOUNG.
Nason YOUNG settled in LaSalle Co. in 1845, long before the day of
railroads, and for a number of years was engaged in the lumber trade.
The first business in which our subject engaged was in 1878, in grain,
in which he was in partnership with his brother. Then, removing to
Omaha, he was employed in meat-canning for a year. In 1880 he came to
Macedonia, resuming the grain trade. He is an experienced and popular
businessman, and has taken an active interest in the welfare of the
community; has served on the School Board 9 years. In politics, he is a
Republican. He is a member of Lodge No. 421 I.O.O.F., having filled all
the chairs. He was married in 1887 at Bloomington, Indiana, to Miss
Lizzie Belle PITMAN, who died July 19, 1888.
Young, William O.
WILLIAM O. YOUNG has been a resident of
Pottawattamie County since 1876. He was born in Seneca County, Ohio,
near Tiffin city, September 16, 1848. His father, Alfred Young, was a
native of Maryland, and his mother, Sarah (MONTIETH) YOUNG, was born in
Ohio, of Scotch ancestry. William O. was but a small boy when his
parents came to Iowa in 1856, and settled in Iowa County, near Marengo.
The parents still reside in Iowa County, on a farm where they have
lived since 1861. They are consistent members of the Methodist Church,
and in his political views the father is a Republican.
William O. was reared at farm work and was educated in the public
schools of Iowa. In 1876, as already stated, he came to Pottawattamie
County, and in 1878 he bought his present farm, eighty acres of which
had been broken. On this place he has made many improvements, and now
has one among the best farms in the neighborhood. He has a large frame
residence, which was erected at a cost of $1,400. It is well situated
and is surrounded by shrubs and shade and ornamental trees. Near by is
a fine orchard of about three acres. Mr. Young's barn is 34 x 36 feet,
with 16-foot posts. He has yards, feed lots, a wind-mill, and other
farm conveniences. He devotes his time to general farming and
stock-raising, and everything about the premises shows the prosperity
which has attended his labors.
Mr. Young was married at the age of twenty-six years, in Iowa County,
to Miss Alice TIBBLES, a native of New York State. She was reared there
and in Wisconsin. The three children born to them are Bertie, Orley and
Elsie. Politically Mr. YOUNG is a Republican.
JACOB ZAHNER, a prosperous
farmer of Rockford Township, was born in Switzerland, October 2, 1819,
the son of Jacob and Mary Ann (KANE) ZAHNER, natives also of that
country. The father was a lumber merchant and died in 1828. His wife,
also a native of Switzerland, was the daughter of a blacksmith who died
shortly after Napoleon passed with his army through that country. In
their family were six children: Casper Joseph, Josephine, and Hersence,
born in Switzerland; Jacob, our subject, besides a son and a daughter
Jacob, the eldest, was brought up to the
tradeoff his father. At the age of twenty-nine years, he sailed from
the port of Havre de Grace for America, landing in New York in 1847,
and visited or resided for a short time at the following points:
Sandusky, Ohio, until the next spring; in Michigan, in the pineries,
one year; New Orleans a short time; Vicksburg, Mississippi until March;
Sandusky again a short time; Michigan again, working for the same
lumber company as before, for five years; and while there, September
1849, he married Catharine MONDINGER, a daughter of Jacob and Catharine
MONDINGER, natives of Wirtemburg, Germany. She was but a while when her
parents died. She was born October 29, 1820, and came to America in
1848, residing in New York for a time and then in Sandusky, and then in
Michigan until she was married. A year after ward, Mr. ZAHNER moved to
Dubuque, Iowa, bought a tract of land and resided upon it three years.
Selling out he came to Pottawattamie County, crossing the state by ox
teams, and, after remaining in Council Bluffs a few weeks in order to
look around on both sides of the Missouri, he finally selected his
present locality on section 1, Rockford Township, buying eighty acres
of wild prairie, covered in a great part with plum brush. Here he
passed through the almost uniform experience of pioneer life, dwelling
in a log house, cutting off the brush, breaking the prairie with oxen
and suffering all the privations and tedious monotonies of the
frontiersman in establishing a comfortable home for himself and family,
and he has been thus led to witness all the changes in which he has
been an actor, and in which his neighbors have also participated in
developing the country to its present high standing. He now has a fine
residence, barns and out buildings, orchards, and shade trees, etc. But
in order to produce these grand results, he has had to exercise his
pluck and energy, with at least fair health.
He is a Republican on national issues, but
of course in the local elections, he votes independently. He has been
School Director for a number of years. He and his family are members of
the Catholic Church of Honey Creek, being zealous in the cause of
religion, morality and education. His children are: Josephine, wife of
Thomas WILSON of Rockford Township; Frances, residing in Harrison
County; Catharine, wife of Thomas KINYON and residing in Harrison
County; Elizabeth, at home; Mary, Mrs. Ed RYNE, residing in Boomer
Township; and John, a resident of Rockford County.