JAMES SAINT, section 35, Waveland
Township, is numbered among the early settlers and successful citizens
of this part of Pottawattamie county Iowa. Mr. Saint was born in
Hamilton County, Ohio, ten miles from the mouth of the Little Miami
River, Oct 27, 1830. His father, James Saint Sr. was born in
Massachusetts, a descendant of one of the Pilgrims who landed on
Plymouth Rock. Mr. Saint had two uncles who served in the War of 1812,
one being killed and the other wounded. These were brothers of his
father. James Saint Sr. married Jane Allen, a native of Pennsylvania.
Her father, William Allen, was a relative of William Allen, ex-Governor
of Ohio. To Mr and Mrs Saint five sons and five daughters were born,
James being the sixth child. The father died in Ohio in 1861. He had
been a farmer all his life, and was a Republican. The mother is now 85
years old, and resides at Louisville, Kentucky. Mr. Saint spent his
youth on a farm in Hamilton County, Ohio, chopping wood, clearing land
and doing other farm work, and during the winter months got what
education he could in the little log schoolhouse. In 1858 he went to
Pike's Peak in search of gold. From there he continued his way across
the plains to California. After a sojourn of two years on the Pacific
Coast he came back as far as Iowa, traveling on horseback, and bringing
with him a pack horse. During the journey he camped out at night and
did his own cooking. In 1861 Mr. Saint bought land in Pottawattamie
County, Iowa, but soon the war broke out and he entered the service of
his country. He enlisted in Company I, 23d Iowa Infantry, one of the
best regiments that ever went to the front. Mr. Saint participated in
many important engagements, among which we note the following: the
battles of Port Gibson, Jackson, Mississippi, Champion Hill, Black
River Bridge, the siege of Vicksburg, New Orleans, the Red River
expedition, and several others. He was honorably discharged at
Harrisburg, Texas, after which he returned North. At the close of the
war Mr. Saint located at Lewis, Cass county, Iowa, where he worked at
the carpenter's trade for some time. In 1866 he married Miss Elizabeth
Hamilton, a native of Ohio and daughter of James and Elizabeth (Long)
Hamilton, also natives of Ohio. The year he was married Mr. Saint
settled on a farm of 120 acres where he now lives, being among the
first settlers of the neighborhood. He is now the owner of 240 acres of
well improved land. He has a good frame house and large barn, 30 X 45
feet. He also has other farm buildings, a windmill and good fences. Mr.
Saint gives his attention to general farming and stock raising. He and
his wife are the parents of five children: George, William, who is now
attending college at Shenandoah, Iowa; Inez, James and Earl. Mr. Saint
is much interested in educational matters and is giving his children
the benefit of a good education, so that they will be fitted to occupy
useful positions in life. He is a Republican and has served as township
clerk. Is a member of the Masonic fraternity having been made a Mason
in Ohio. Mrs. Saint and the three oldest children are members of the
Sapp, William Fletcher
COLONEL WILLIAM FLETCHER SAPP of Council
Bluffs, Iowa, was born at Danville, Ohio, November 20, 1824. His
grandfather, Daniel SAPP, was born and reared in Maryland, near
Frostburg, from which state he emigrated to Ohio, settling in the
eastern part of Knox County, adjoining and on the south side of
Danville, which takes its name from his, where he lived and reared a
large family, having married before emigrating from Maryland, Mary
ROBINSON. Daniel SAPP was one of the early pioneers to Knox County,
Ohio, passing through all the vicissitudes and trials of a pioneer
life. He was the first county surveyor of his adopted county, which was
the only office held by him, excepting that of Justice of the Peace,
which latter office he held for many years prior and up to his death.
Daniel Sapp, the Grandfather, and Carl SAPP, with three other brothers,
served in the War of 1812.
John SAPP, the father of the subject of this sketch, was Daniel SAPP's
oldest child; he was born in Knox County, Ohio, and continued to live
there until his death, which occurred in December 1833. John SAPP
married Elizabeth MYERS, who was born at Cumberland, Maryland. She
emigrated, when but a child, with her parents to Knox County, Ohio,
where she was married to John SAPP. At the death of John SAPP, he left
his widow and three children to survive him, two daughters, Angelina
and Louisa, and a son, the subject of this sketch. The eldest daughter
married Dr. Allmon F. STANLEY, both of whom are now dead. Louisa was
married in Knox County, Ohio, where she is still living, having reared
a family of two sons and three daughters, all of whom are married.
From this sketch it will be seen that William Fletcher SAPP is of
Maryland stock, the parents of both his father and mother having been
reared in Maryland. John SAPP was what was commonly called a very
prosperous and thrifty man, and was greatly beloved by all who knew
him, for his honesty, generosity, and superior judgement. At his death,
he left his widow and children in very good circumstances for that day.
Prior to his death, John SAPP made arrangements to move his family to
St. Louis, Missouri, and in furtherance of that design, he converted
all his property into available means. On his death-bed, he purchased a
farm, upon which his widow maintained herself and raised her three
children. The farm adjoined the town of Danville on the west, and to
this day it is looked upon as one of the best farms in that part of the
William Fletcher SAPP continued to live with his mother and sisters,
working on the farm in the summer and attending the public schools in
the winter, taking but little interest in education further than to
identify himself with the debating societies or lyceums then prevalent
in that community, and in which he, when but a young boy, became a
prominent debater. At the age of fifteen years, he began putting in
much of his time during the summer months in reading, and in such other
studies as he was able to master without a tutor, still continuing to
attend the public schools in the winter seasons. At the age of 18
years, he attended school at the Martinsburg Academy, an institution of
higher learning under the management of the Presbyterian Church in his
native county. When he felt himself qualified for that purpose, he
commenced teaching school in the winter seasons and attending school at
the academy in the summer, and continued doing so until he commenced
reading law in the spring of 1847 in the office of Hon. Columbus DELANO
and Hon. William R. SAPP, his uncle, in the now beautiful and
prosperous city of Mt. Vernon, Ohio, the county seat of Knox County.
His aptitude in debate gave him a liking for the law, and he had
scarcely begun readying for his chosen profession until he was employed
by his friends and admirers to attend cases before justices of the
peace. It is his pride now to tell that during the time he was a law
student, he made enough in petty cases before justices of the peace to
maintain himself, and when admitted to the bar to buy a small library
of books with which to commence practice. The rapidity with which he
ran into practice after his admission to the bar was most remarkable,
having had during the very first term following his admission, a dozen
or more cases in the Court of Common Pleas of Knox County. He was
admitted to the bar on the 27th day of June 1850, and immediately
opened a law office with Hon. Walter H. SMITH, then a young man who had
read law in the same office with him. He was engaged in the trial of a
number of important civil and criminal cases during the first year of
his admission. His success in his practice, and his ability in the
trial of jury cases led his Whig friends to put him on their ticket as
their candidate for the office of Prosecuting Attorney in the fall of
1850. At that time, Knox County was nearly 900 Democrats. The Democrats
had nominated General George W. MORGAN as their candidate, he having
returned from the Mexican War with an enviable reputation for his
services rendered therein. When the official votes were counted, it was
ascertained that General MORGAN had but thirty-two majority over Mr.
SAPP, who was then a mere boy.
In 1854, at the formation of the Republican party, he took an active
stand in the organization of this new party, was nominated, without
being a candidate for the office of Prosecuting Attorney, and was
elected over James G. CHAPMAN, his Democratic opponent, by 800
majority. In 1856 he was re-elected over Hon. Charles SCRIBNER, now of
Toledo Ohio. In 1856 he was engaged in making political speeches for
three months and more, being called upon to go far and near, and so
exposed himself during that campaign that his health seriously failed
On December 29, 1856, he was married to Mary C. BROWN of Mt. Vernon,
Ohio, daughter of Captain Richard Montgomery BROWN, he having commanded
a company during the War of 1812. Miss Mary C. BROWN was a most
accomplished and beautiful girl, and was, in the truest sense of the
term, a helpmate to her husband all through life.
But few young men succeed on their own merits in acquiring so lucrative
a practice as William Fletcher SAPP did at the bar of his native county
in Ohio. His reputation as a young man of ability in his own profession
was not confined to his own county, but extended almost through the
whole state of Ohio. He often refers to his early practice, saying that
from 1850 until 1860 he made more money in the practice of law then he
has ever made in the same length of time since. From 1856 to 1860, his
health was such at he decided to remove to a locality where the
atmosphere was purer and dryer than that of central Ohio; and in the
fall of 1859, he started out in search of a new locality. After
traveling very considerably through the west, he made up his mind to
remove to Omaha, Nebraska, which he did in the spring of 1860, where he
again entered upon the practice of his profession. Omaha was then a
village of from 1,800 to 2,000 inhabitants, and that now prosperous
city and the Territory of Nebraska had not recovered from the crisis of
1857. In the summer of 1861, he was appointed Adjutant General of
Nebraska Territory, by Governor Alvin SAUNDERS, and in the fall of that
year, he was nominated a member of the Territorial Legislative
Committee by the Republicans of Douglas County to fill the vacancy
occasioned by the resignation of General John M. THAYER, and was
elected to that position by the people over Hon. John I. REDDICK, then
a prominent attorney of Omaha, which position he filled to the entire
satisfaction of the people of that county.
In 1862, Major General POPE issued an order for a regiment of cavalry
to be raised in the Territory of Nebraska, to serve for nine months on
the frontier against the Indians, and relieve the regular army then
stationed at Fort Kearney and other military posts. As Adjutant
General, he aided Governor Saunders in raising said regiment, and was
appointed Lieutenant Colonel of that regiment by the Governor. During
the time of his military service, he was put in command of the
Department of the Platte upon the resignation of General James CRAIG,
of St. Joseph, Missouri, which position he filled until he was relieved
by General McKANE. Before the Second Nebraska Cavalry was mustered out
of service, Colonel Sapp had made arrangements for a law partnership
with Samuel Clinton of Council Bluffs; and, after spending the winter
with his family in Ohio, he came to Council Bluffs and entered into
practice under the arrangement so made with Judge CLINTON, under the
firm name of Clinton & Sapp. They had a large and lucrative
practice in Pottawattamie and adjoining counties, practicing law in the
Federal as well as State courts.
In the fall of 1865, he was elected to represent Pottawattamie County
in the State Legislature, which position he filled with distinction,
and during the session of which he was a member, he introduced and had
passed a bill locating the Deaf and Dumb Asylum at the city of Council
Bluffs. He also introduced and had passed through the House of
Representatives a bill for holding the State Supreme Court at Council
Bluffs. He was a most efficient and active member. He declined a
re-election to the Legislature. In 1869, he was appointed United States
District Attorney for the State of Iowa, by President Grant, filling
that position four years with honor and credit. It is said that his
success in that office, as shown by the report of the Attorney General
of the United States, is considerably in excess of that of any other
United States Attorney for that period.
He was nominated by the Republican Party as their candidate for
Congress in the Eighth Congressional District to the Forty-fifth
Congress. At that time, the District was composed of the following
counties: Adams, Audubon, Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery,
Page, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, Taylor, and Union. He was
elected over Hon. Lemuel R. BOLTER, the Democratic and Greenback
candidate, by over 4,000 majority in the above named counties, and was
again re-nominated by the Republicans as their candidate to the
Forty-sixth Congress without opposition and was re-elected as their
Representative from the Eighth congressional District, receiving 15,
343 votes against 7,453 votes for Colonel John H. KEATLEY, Democrat,
and 7,760 votes for Mr. HICKS, National.
During the time he was a Representative from the Eighth Congressional
District, he introduced and secured the passage of a bill providing for
holding the United States Circuit Courts at the times and places where
the U.S. District Courts were then held - that is, at Dubuque, Des
Moines, Keokuk, and Council Bluffs. He also succeeded in getting bills
passed through Congress, giving to the city of Council Bluffs Big Lake
and Carter Lake, which are now the properties of said city. He also
introduced and had unanimously reported by the Committee on Public
Grounds in both the Forty-fifth and Forty-sixth Congresses, a bill for
the purchase of grounds and erection of a Government building at the
city of Council Bluffs; but, owing to the stern opposition of Hon.
Samuel J. RANDALL, then Speaker of the House of Representatives, to
appropriations for Government Buildings, he was refused a recognition
to move and suspend the rules and have the bill passed, at both
sessions, which doubtless he would have procured but for the stern
opposition of the Speaker.
As a representative in Congress, he devoted himself most assiduously to
all the wants and interests of the people of his district. It is said
of him that during the time he so represented the people, he was never
absent from a roll call during either the forty-fifth or the
Forty-sixth congress. It can be said of him justly, that there was
never a murmur against him as an officer as respects his integrity,
honesty and application to his duties. From the time he was admitted to
the bar, he devoted himself most assiduously to the practice of law,
excepting while he was in the military service and in Congress, and may
be said to be a very successful practitioner.
The Union Pacific Railroad Company undertook to procure a separate
bridge charter over the Missouri River. Against this scheme, Colonel
Sapp took a most active interest; went to Washington and, mainly
through his influence, the proposition for the bridge charter making
the terminus of the Union Pacific at Omaha, was defeated. Subsequent to
this, he, assisted by others, procured the necessary legislation to
compel the Union pacific Railroad Company to build their bridge as a
part of the line of their road, and to compel them to perform their
legal obligations, and authorized proceedings by mandamus to compel
them to do so. After this provision passed Congress, he took an active
part in the litigation following to compel the Union Pacific Railroad
Company, by mandamus, to operate their road as a continuous line to and
from Council Bluffs. This decision was a matter of vital interest to
the city of Council Bluffs, and its terminus was greatly to its
After the firm of Clinton & Sapp dissolved, Colonel SAPP formed a
partnership with Hon. Joseph LYMAN and Hon. S. J. HANNA, the firm being
known as Sapp, Lyman & Hanna. In a short time, Judge Hanna removed
to Chicago, after which the firm name was Sapp & Lyman, which firm
continued for 15 years, during all of which time they did a very
extensive law practice in the State and Federal courts. January 1,
1884, Hon. Joseph LYMAN was appointed Judge of the Circuit Court by
Governor SHERMAN. Immediately upon Major Lyman going upon the bench,
Colonel Sapp formed a partnership with N.M. PUSEY, a prominent attorney
of Council Bluffs, since which time he has continued in the active
practice of the law, the firm name being SAPP & PUSEY. Whether we
view him as a practicing attorney, as a citizen, or as an officer, his
record is a most honorable one. He is a man of very quick and active
perception, a very retentive memory and very superior judgement.
Colonel and Mrs. SAPP were the parents of three children, of whom one
son still survives, William F., Jr., the eldest; two sons died in
infancy. Mrs. SAPP was a daughter of Captain Richard Montgomery BROWN,
who commanded a company during the War of 1812, and was at the battle
where Hull surrendered; but rather than surrender, he marched his
troops through the wilderness to Mansfield, Ohio, and continued in the
service until the close of the war, after which he located at Mount
Vernon, Ohio. He was a native of New England, and was remotely related
to Daniel Webster. At the end of the war, he married Miss Mary HONN, a
resident of Knox County, Ohio. She was a native of Hagerstown,
Maryland. They resided in Mount Vernon, Ohio, where Captain BROWN was
engaged in the mercantile business, from which he retired with a
competency. They reared a large family of six sons and four daughters,
Mary C., the wife of our subject, being the second daughter.
Since the above was written, Colonel W.F. SAPP has died, his death
occurring on November 22, 1890, just one day and a half after his
sixty-sixth birthday. His death was considered a public calamity, and
he was mourned by rich and poor, black and white alike. Resolutions of
respect and condolence were passed by many organizations in Council
Bluffs and surrounding counties, and for the first time in the history
of Pottawattamie County, and as an especial mark of respect, a day was
appointed and observed by the bar of his home county, of which he was
president, for memorial services, at which eulogies were pronounced
upon his life and character. Colonel SAPP was laid to rest by the side
of the wife he loved so well in the beautiful little cemetery at Mount
Sarr, H. M.
H. M. SARR, one of the well-known,
enterprising and successful citizens of Garner Township, was born in
Sullivan County, New York, August 11, 1824. His father, a native of
Germany, married Mary HALL, who was born in Sullivan County, the
daughter of John HALL, a native of Connecticut. Mr. SARR was reared
upon a farm. September 25, 1952, at Wawarsing, Ulster County, New York,
He married Miss Lorinda CHILDS, a lady of intelligence and education,
who had been successful and popular teacher in the public schools. She
was born in Sullivan County, New York, a daughter of Obadiah CHILDS,
who was a native of Connecticut, and Charity, nee Thompson, also a
native of Sullivan County. In 1856 Mr. SARR removed to Illinois, but in
a few months came to Polk County, Iowa, where was then the western
terminus of the railroad. The country then was in its original wild
state. Here Mr. SARR began farming and continued until 1869, when he
came to Pottawattamie County, first settling in Hardin Township. There
he lived until 1876, when he located upon his present place in Garner
Township, then wild prairie. Here he has made improvements until he has
made a complete farm and comfortable home. At that place he has 160
acres, but altogether he owns 440 acres, all under cultivation and very
In his political views Mr. SARR is a Republican. He has served two
terms as Township Trustee of Hardin Township, several terms as Justice
of the Peace, etc. with credit. In 1888 he was delegate to the
Republican State convention at Des Moines. He is a liberal supporter of
education and religion, is a member of the Farmers' Alliance and Mrs.
SARR is a member of he Baptist Church. They have two daughters; Viola,
born in Sullivan County, New York and now the wife of J.B. MATHEWS, of
Washington Township, this county; and Ellen, born in Polk County, Iowa,
and now the wife of Fred S. CHILDS, of Garner Township. They lost two
by death, namely; Mary Alice, the first of the children, born July 19,
1854 and died September 21, 1855; John, the youngest child and only
son, born March 28, 1866 and died December 7, 1866.
JOHN SCHLICHT, one of the prominent land
owners of Lincoln Township, was born in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany,
November 7, 1842, son of Jurgen SCHLICHT, a farmer and land owner of
that country. He was married to Anna OBITZ who died in the year 1881 in
Pottawattamie County, Iowa, and they had two children: John and
Catherine. Mr. SCHLICHT came to America in 1870 and settled on land
owned by his son John, our subject. He lived to the age of 65 years and
died in this county. He was a member of the Lutheran Church and was a
hard working and honest man.
John SCHLICHT, the subject of this sketch, was reared to farm life and
remained at home until he was 27 years of age. In 1868 he came to
America to improve his circumstances, landing in New York. He came to
Clinton County, Iowa, where he worked for his father-in-law, who had
come to this country at the same time, and who had brought with him
$3,000 which he invested in land in Clinton County. Mr. SCHLICHT
remained with him one year, and then went to Tama County, where he
rented a farm and remained seven years.
In 1875 he came to Pottawattamie County and bought 80 acres of wild
land, which by industry and economy, he has converted into a fine,
fertile farm, and to which he has since added until he now owns 775
acres. He came to this country with nothing but his hands and a strong
desire to make a success here, and he has worked and saved until he now
owns a fine, large farm.
He is one of our most substantial farmers, a man of integrity of
character who stands high as an honest and upright citizen. He is a
large stock raiser and owns three stallions and two improved Belgians,
costing $2,000. He has worked all his life that his children might have
an inheritance that would enable them to become independent citizens.
Mr. SCHLICHT was married in 1868 in Germany to Margaret MICHAELSON, and
to them have been born 11 children: Jurgen, Hans, Anna, Jane, Phoebe,
Margaret, Mary, Catherine, John, Lizzie and William.
Schmoock, B. C. [sic. should be A. C.
Schmoock; likely August Schmoock via 1880 census]
B.C. SCHMOOCK, architect and
superintendent of building, came to Council Bluffs in March 1889 and
opened an office in rooms 3 and 4, Marcus Block, and in August
following, he established an office also in Hunt's block, South Omaha.
He has erected some very fine buildings, among which we may mention the
double residences of Mrs. S.A. STILLMAN, and the residences of O.W.
BUTTS, L. HEBDRICKS, C.L. GILLETTE, M. CALLAHAN, J. STROCK, Mrs. E.
WEGENER's block, Porter Bros.' fruit warehouses, the residence of C.M.
HUNT in South Omaha, the cottages of J.L. PAXTON, the residence of P.
COCKRELL, South Omaha, and William KELLY, etc.
Mr. SCHMOOCK was born in Detroit, Michigan, August 3, 1864, son of
William and Louisa (OTTO) SCHMOOCK, natives of Germany who are still
residents of Detroit. He was reared in that city. For two years, he
studied drawing under the instruction of Mr. MELCHERS, the sculptor of
Detroit, and while in that city he made the charts for the school
statistics and institutions of the State of Michigan, which were
exhibited at the New Orleans exposition in 1884, and are now in the
State library at Lansing, Michigan. He was only 19 years of age when he
drew these charts. He spent five years in the office of Hess &
Racemen, architects and superintendents in Detroit.
In July 1888, he came to Council Bluffs. He is a Democrat in his
politics, is a member of the I.O.O.F., and is destined to make his mark
in the business circles of this city.
Schultz, J. H.
J.H. SCHULTZ, a farmer of Lewis
Township, is a native of Schleswig, Germany, born January 13, 1838, son
of J.F. and A.M. (RASACKER) SCHULTZ. The parents came to this country
in 1866 to Scott County, Iowa. The father, a shoemaker by trade, died
in Cass County, Iowa, in 1886, and the mother in Chariton County,
Missouri, in 1876. They had a family of 7 children: Maggie, wife of
Chris LECKBENT, residing in Cass County, Iowa; J.H., our subject; Fred,
a resident of Council Bluffs; Rudolph of Cass County, Iowa; Nicholas, a
farmer of Pottawattamie County; Dora, wife of Henry KOCH, residing in
Nebraska, and Augusta, deceased; also Christ, residing in Pottawattamie
J.H. SCHULTZ, our subject, was reared in his native county until he was
19 years of age. He received his education in the common schools and
learned the trade of carpenter, after which he came to America and
located at Davenport, Iowa, where he spent about 12 years. He first
worked in a machine shop one year, and then was engaged in farming and
carpenter work. He had a farm of 190 acres about 12 miles from
Davenport, Iowa, which he sold, and in 1870 removed to Missouri. Here
he purchased a farm of 160 acres in Chariton Co., where he made his
home for 10 years, but owing to a failure of crops, he disposed of his
farm and came to Pottawattamie County in 1880. He rented land for about
two years, and then purchased his present farm of 160 acres on section
15, Lewis Township. When Mr. SCHULTZ took possession of this place, it
was in a wild condition, but he went to work with a will to make a
comfortable home and today has one of the best farms in this part of
the county. His home is surrounded with shade and ornamental trees, and
he has erected good barns for stock and grain. He has a double granary
for corn, capable of holding 5,000 bushels of corn, and he also has a
barn which will shelter 100 hogs, built on the latest improved plan,
furnished with a furnace and cook-pan for cooking feed. He has, in
connection with his farming, done considerable carpenter work in the
county; he now devotes much of his time to the raising of cattle and
hogs. In political matters he is a stanch Democrat.
Mr. SCHULTZ was married January 13, 1860, to Mary HANSEN, who was born
in Schleswig, Germany, December 14, 1830, daughter of Dudley and Sophia
(NACHDIGALL) HANSEN. The father died in Germany about 1863 and the
mother died in Scott Co, Iowa, in 1868. Mr. and Mrs. HANSEN were the
parents of 8 children, of whom six died in the old country and two came
to America: George born in1 833 and a resident of Cass Co, Iowa, and
Mrs. Schultz, the wife of our subject. Mr. and Mrs. SCHULTZ are the
parents of 8 children: John F., born October 19, 1859, and is a
resident of Council Bluffs; Julius, born July 17, 1861, and is a farmer
of Pottawattamie County; George, born November 15, 1863, and is a
farmer of Mills Co., Iowa; Anna, born September 15, 1865, and is the
wife of Charles SCHNOR, residing in Pottawattamie Co; Edward, born
December 17, 1866, residing at home; Margaretta, born November 25,
1869, at home; and Henry born June 28, 1872, also at home. Mr. and Mrs.
SCHULTZ are members of the German Lutheran Church, and are among the
worthy and most respected citizens of the county.
Scott, G. W.
G.W. SCOTT of Hazel Dell Township is a
native of Cambridgeshire, England, born July 16, 1843, son of George
and Ann (COOPER) SCOTT, both natives of England. They were married in
their native country, came to America in 1856, and located in Kane
Township, Pottawattamie County, where they made their home for 20
years, but died in Hazel Dell Township. The father was a farmer by
occupation, having improved 160 acres of land in this county. They were
associated with the Reorganized Church of the Latter-Day Saints. They
had a family of 12 children, only five of whom still survive, and of
whom G.W. SCOTT is the second oldest child living.
He was reared on a farm and received his education in the common
schools. He came to this county with his parents, and has since made it
his home. He has assisted largely in building up and developing this
section. When he was 19 years of age, he started out in life for
himself, working out by the month. Mr. SCOTT made his first purchase of
real estate in 1873 on section 22, Hazel Dell Township, consisting of
80 acres of raw prairie. He then took up 80 acres adjoining, on the
same section, as a homestead and on which was a small frame residence,
which now does duty as a poultry house. In 1883 he erected his present
handsome residence, a dwelling 28 X 16 X 18 feet, and also erected good
barns for stock and grain and made many other improvements. He has
planted three acres of grove and two and a half acres of orchard, and
the entire place denotes thrift and energy. He has added to his first
purchase until he now owns 245 1/2 acres of the best land in the
county. He devotes himself to farming and stock raising, and takes an
interest in all the better grades of stock.
Politically Mr. SCOTT is a stanch Republican, taking an active part in
the political work of the county, state and nation. He is also a member
of the Mutual Protection Society of Hazel Dell Township, and of the
Farmers' Alliance. He is one of the wide-awake men of the county and
has, by his honesty and integrity, won a large circle of friends and
his life is a good example of what a man can accomplish who has the
pluck to carry him through. Mr. SCOTT was married, Dec 31, 1863, to
Miss Frances G. HORN, who was born in England, July 22, 1844, and who
came to America when quite young. They have a family of 9 children:
Anna R., deceased; Ida B., at home; Olive G., Lillie I., May E., Walter
G., deceased, Henry T., at home, John F., Ivy Pearl. His granddaughter,
Bessie F. BARNES, daughter of Anna R., resides with her grandparents,
Mr. and Mrs. Scott.
Seward, Lorenzo D.
LORENZO D. SEWARD, one of the well known
citizens of Pottawattamie County, was born in Adams County, Illinois,
in 1841, son of Pitney Seward, who was a pioneer in that county. When
he landed at Quency, there was but one house there. Byrum SEWARD, the
grandfather of our subject, was a pioneer of Butler County, Ohio, and a
cousin of Secretary SEWARD of Lincoln's administration. He served in
the War of 1812. Pitney SEWARD was twice married; first to Mahala CASE,
and they had eight children: Byrum, Julia, Harriet, Franklin, Lorenzo,
Stephen, Elizabeth, and Alice. Mr. Seward's second wife was Harriet
CASE, a sister of the first, and they had five children, only two of
whom grew to maturity, Hattie and Sallie. Mr. Pitney SEWARD moved to
Clark County, Missouri, about 1866, where he died at the age of
seventy-two years; was born in 1811 and died in 1883. He was a member
of the Christian Church, a substantial farmer, and was respected by all
who knew him. He and his father were among the first pioneers to the
Lorenzo D. was but ten years of age when he went to Ohio to live with
his uncle, and but fourteen years of age when he came to Iowa in 1855
with his two brothers, Franklin and Stephen, landing at Keokuk, where
he remained until 1858. In that year, he went to Story County and
worked on a farm until 1859, when he went to Colorado, when Denver was
but a small town, and worked in the mines and also at teaming. He drove
a team across the plains from Leavenworth, Kansas, to Denver and other
points. In 1863 he returned to Iowa and married Carrie F. LONG of
Fremont County, Iowa. Her father was an old pioneer of that county,
having settled there in 1859. He was from Wisconsin but was a native of
Germany. He was the father of eleven children, viz.: Charles, Rosanna,
Catharine, Mary, Maggie, Jacob, Carrie, Julia, Rachel, Henry and Clara.
The father was a substantial farmer and died in Fremont County.
Mr. and Mrs. Lorenzo SEWARD are the parents of four children: Minnie,
Henry, Katie and Effie L., who died in infancy. After marriage, Mr.
Seward settled in Mills County, Iowa, where he worked in a saw mill for
two years. He resided in that county until 1878 when he came to
Pottawattamie County and settled on a farm. He purchased his present
farm in 1880. He is a member of Hancock Valley Lodge, No. 439, I.O.O.F.
In his political views, he is a Democrat and is Chairman of the
Township Democratic Committee. He stands high in the community as an
honorable man, and one who has had a wide experience in western life.
Addendum and Note to Researchers: L. D. Seward is shown in the 1885
Atlas of Pottawattamie County, Iowa, as owning 80 acres in section 20,
Seybert, Frank T.
FRANK T. SEYBERT, physician and surgeon,
Council Bluffs, has been identified with the interests of Pottawattamie
County since 1882. He is a native of Pennsylvania, born in Columbia
County, April 13, 1859, a son of S.E. and S.M. (KNORR) SEYBERT, natives
of Pennsylvania and of German extraction and of Quaker families. The
youth of our subject was spent in attending the public school and the
Normal School at Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, and completed his education
at Kingston Seminary. He began the study of medicine in the spring of
1877, under the preceptorship of Dr. B.F. GARDNER, of Bloomsburg,
Pennsylvania; entered the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia in
the fall of 1877, and graduated in the spring of 1881. After practicing
in the hospital for a time, he came to Council Bluffs, in the spring of
1882, where he located and has since followed his profession, having
built u a successful and lucrative practice. He was married June 20,
1888, to Miss Ida B. WIES, a daughter of F. WIES. They have one child –
Frank Wies. Dr. SEYBERT is a member of the K. of P., St. Albans Lodge,
No. 17; the Uniform Rank, Bluff Division, No. 27, holding the honorable
position of Surgeon; also of the Red Men, Pottawattamie Tribe, No. 20,
also holding the office of Great Medicine Man. He and his mother are
members of the Episcopalian Church. He has held the office of City
Physician and Health Officer for three years; is president of the staff
at St. Bernard’s Hospital, is a member of the Council Bluffs Medical
Society, serving as Treasurer; of the Iowa State Medical Society, of
the Missouri Valley Medical Society, and of the American Medical
Association. Politically, he is independent.
LUZERN SHELDON, one of the prominent and
successful farmers of Washington Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa,
located here in 1874. He was born in Trumbull County, Ohio, February
20, 1841. His father, Benjamin SHELDON, was a native of Connecticut,
and a son of Jonathan SHELDON, who was born in New England. The
ancestors of the SHELDON family were English people who came to Ohio in
1816, and settled in Fowler, Trumbull County. The mother of our
subject, nee Ada AMES, was daughter of Benjamin AMES, also a New
Englander. She was born in Massachusetts, and was married in Trumbull
County, Ohio, to Benjamin SHELDON. They reared four children, as
follows: Joel, a resident of Caro, Tuscola County, Michigan; Luzern;
Sarah, Deceased; and DeEtte Browning, a resident of Geauga County,
Ohio. Mr. And Mrs. SHELDON lived in Trumbull County until their death,
the father dying at the age of sixty-three years. He was a farmer all
his life, a Democrat and a member of the Christian Church.
Luzern SHELDON was brought up on the farm
and was educated in the public schools of his native state. August 31,
1862, he wedded Miss Anna ANDREWS, a lady of intelligence and of a good
family. She was born in Hartford, Trumbull County, Ohio, the daughter
of Drayton ANDREWS. Her grandfather, Chester ANDREWS, was a Deacon in
the Presbyterian Church. Mrs. SHELDON’s mother’s maiden name was Anna
BATES. She was also born in Hartford, Trumbull County, Ohio, and was a
daughter of Daniel BATES. She died and left four daughters, Mrs.
SHELDON being only seven months old at that time. The father
subsequently moved to Hillsdale, Michigan where he died at the age of
seventy-six years. He was a merchant and a miller. In politics, he was
a Republican and in religion a Presbyterian. The other three daughters
are Lovina JONES, Fowler, Ohio; Fidelia FINNEY, who died in Trumbull
County, Ohio; and Laura KING, a resident of Castlewood, South Dakota.
Mr. SHELDON lived in his native county until
1874, when he came to Iowa and bought 160 acres of land, his present
farm. This country was then thinly settled, and for two years he was
two miles and a half from his nearest neighbor. The wild land has been
converted into a well-improved farm, with grove and orchard, barn and
other necessary buildings. His house is one and a half stories, 14 X 24
feet, with a one-story addition, 14 X 20 feet. It is built in the
southern style and is situated on a natural building site near the road.
Eight children have been born to Mr. And
Mrs. SHELDON, namely: Homer L., is married and lives in Nebraska; Rev.
Chester E. SHELDON was educated in Dixon, Illinois, is married and
resides in Floyd County, Iowa; he is a minister in the Evangelical
Church, has met with success in his labors to spread the Gospel, and is
now only twenty-five years old; Benjamin, who was educated in
Hillsdale, Michigan, is also a resident of Floyd County, Iowa; Guy A.,
who has been in Woodbury County, Iowa, the past year, is now at home;
Frank is in Ohio; Clayton, at St. Paul, Minnesota, with his uncle; and
Ettie K. and Anna Pearl are now attending the home school. Mr. SHELDON,
his wife and seven of their children are members of the Evangelical
Church. In political views, he is independent. He is a man in the prime
of life and is regarded by all who know him as a worthy and respected
Sherraden, Charles H.
CHARLES H. SHERRADEN, the leading
photographer, has been a resident of Council Bluffs since 1859. He is a
son of Hon. Oliver P. SHERRADEN, who settled here with his family in
that year. He was a well-known fruit raiser, and remained here until
his death, which occurred November 13, 1881. He was a man of fine
education and more than ordinary ability. He was a native of Ohio, and
his wife, whose maiden name was Lydia M. JOHNSON, still resides in this
city. She was a native of Buffalo, New York, and went to Canton,
Illinois, with her father, Ira JOHNSON, a well-known citizen of that
place, where he lived until his death, which occurred when he was
eighty-six years of age. He was a great reader, a successful
businessman, and held various local offices of trust. His wife died at
the age of eighty-five years. Oliver P. SHERRADEN went to Canton,
Illinois, when a boy, where he met and married his wife. He was a
merchant at that place for a number of years. He came to Iowa at an
early day and settled in the town of Richland, Keokuk County, where he
engaged in general merchandising also, and represented that county in
the Legislature at Des Moines. He and his wife had four children – two
sons and two daughters.
The subject of this sketch, the eldest
child, was born at Canton, August 26, 1845. He was about fourteen years
of age when the family came to Council Bluffs. Received his education
in the public schools of Council Bluffs, and was a clerk for William H.
ROBINSON, a merchant, for four years. He was subsequently engaged in
the fruit and confectionery business before entering into his present
occupation. Mr. SHERRADEN enjoys the distinction of being the leading
photographer and also of being the oldest in this business at Council
Bluffs. Mr. SHERRADEN has the confidence of all. His patrons are not
confined to Council Bluffs alone, as many people of Omaha and
surrounding towns come to him for photographs, crayons, etc. He has the
very best cameras and photographic apparatus in Western Iowa, and does
strictly first-class work. We know this to be correct, as Mr. SHERRADEN
has made most of the photographs from which the portraits in this
volume were produced. Mr. SHERRADEN is a member of the Modern Woodmen
Lodge, Hazel Camp, No. 71, and Knights of Pythias, Lodge No. 40. Mr.
SHERRADEN has been twice married. His first wife was Luvenia YOUNG, who
died in 1872. She left a son, who survived the mother but one month.
The present wife of Mr. SHERRADEN was formerly Mary J. JONES. Mr. And
Mrs. SHERRADEN have three daughters: Lulu, Vinie and Edith.
FRANK SHINN, attorney at law at Carson,
Iowa, was born in Jacktown, Adams County, Ohio, October 28, 1843, son
of Rev. Allen Trimble SHINN, who was a nephew of Governor TRIMBLE and
was a native of Hillsboro, Highland County, same state. The latter was
a son of George SHINN, of an old Virginia Quaker family. Frank's
mother's maiden name was Melinda FENTON. She was a native of Adams
County, Ohio, and brought up in Kentucky. Her father, John FENTON, was
a native of Pennsylvania, and her mother (maiden name Sarah Field) was
born in Loudon County, Virginia.
Rev. A.T. SHINN went to Kentucky in ministerial work when his son Frank
was 9 years old. Subsequently, in 1856 he was transferred to
Marshalltown, Iowa, and two years later to Macedonia, this county,
arriving March 4, 1858. Six months afterward he died, leaving a widow
and six sons. Asa F., the eldest, enlisted in the First Nebraska
Infantry in 1861, and died of typhoid fever at Syracuse, Missouri, thus
leaving Frank as the eldest at home, to take care of his mother and the
younger members of the family. He therefore remained with her until he
was 25 years of age.
January 25, 1869, he married Miss Almira SCHENCK, a native of Parke
County, Indiana, born near Rockville, a daughter of James M. SCHENCK,
who was a native of Mechanicsburg, Ohio. Her mother, whose name before
marriage was Alzina FISHER, was born at Ripley, Brown County, Ohio.
Mrs. SHINN was 9 years of age when her father settled in Warren County,
Iowa, in 1864. Afterward the family removed to Macedonia Township,
Mr. SHINN has improved four different farms; two in Mills County, one
in Montgomery County, and one on section 10, Grove Twp., Pottawattamie
County. His first case at law occurred February 21, 1864, before
Esquire GROOM in Macedonia Township, and it was such as to create
considerable notoriety. He received two tons of hay as his fee.
Urged by H.C. WATKINS to study law, he complied, having to read of
evenings and at length was admitted to the bar, April 16, 1876. In
August 1877, he removed to Emerson, Mills County, and lived there until
1883 engaged in the law, and finally came to Carson where he has since
made his home and has a good practice, his extensive acquaintance in
this and adjoining counties being of great value to him.
As a public speaker he is fluent and impressive. He has also taken a
prominent part in the temperance movement, working in favor of the
prohibition amendment ever since 1874. In May 1882, he stumped western
Iowa in favor of the prohibition constitutional amendment. As a
candidate for State Senator in 1887, he ran 117 votes ahead of his
ticket. He is the wheel-horse of the Republican party in western Iowa.
He is a member of Coral Lodge No. 430, F.& A.M. at Carson.
Mr. SHINN has three daughters, namely: Linnie A., Kate L. and Myrtle I.
He has lost two children by death; James A. at the age of 10 years and
Addie at the age of 14 years. While residing where Marshalltown now is
in 1857, Mr. SHINN cut his knee with a corn knife, which rendered him a
cripple for life.
WILLIAM SIDENER came to Wright Township,
Pottawattamie County, in 1880 and has since made his home here. Mr.
SIDENER was born in St. Joseph County, Michigan, December 2, 1833. His
father, Jacob SIDENER, was born in Fayette County, Ohio, and his
grandfather, Nicholas SIDENER, was a native of Kentucky, the Sideners
being of German ancestry. Jacob SIDENER married Sarah FOX, who was born
in Fayette County, Ohio, a daughter of Andrew and Sarah FOX, natives of
Pennsylvania and of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. Both Mr. SIDENER and
his wife were reared in Ohio. Some time after their marriage, they
emigrated to St. Joseph County, Michigan, where they became pioneers.
He entered a tract of Government land, and at one time owned 360 acres.
They spent the remainder of their lives in St. Joseph County, the
mother dying at the age of thirty-eight when her son, William, was
about fifteen or sixteen years old. The father died at the age of
sixty-seven years. He was a farmer and stock raiser and dealer, and his
prosperity in life was due to his own well-directed efforts.
Politically, he was a Republican, formerly a Whig. He was a member of
the Methodist Church and an active and zealous worker in the cause of
Christ. This worthy couple reared six children, William being the
oldest of the family. Joseph, the second son, was a member of the
Forty-first Iowa Infantry and was killed at the Battle of Shiloh.
The subject of this sketch was reared on his
father's farm in Michigan. Arriving at the age of manhood, he was
united in marriage in Lagrange County, Indiana, January 8, 1857, to
Miss Catherine ROAT, a native of New York State, daughter of William
and Emma (SMITH) ROAT. Her father was born and reared in New York state
and died there at the age of forty-eight years, and her mother died in
Lagrange County, Indiana, at about the same age. They reared a family
of four sons and five daughters, Mrs. SIDENER being the fourth born.
In 1859, the subject of this sketch and his
wife removed to LaFayette, Illinois, where they resided until 1880. In
that year, they came to this county, and he bought his present farm of
Abel GIFFORD, who had improved it. It consists of 160 acres, has a good
frame house and other farm buildings, and all the surroundings are in a
flourishing condition. The school-house in District No. 9 is situated
on the southwest corner of the farm, and the Asbury Church is only
sixty rods east of Mr. Sidener's residence; so he is in close proximity
to both school and church privileges. He is engaged in general farming
and stock raising. Mr. SIDENER and wife have three children, viz.: Ida
B., Estella May wife of Fremont DEWITT, Wright Township; and Arthur G.
They have three deceased, Roxelania, at the age of three years, and two
who died in infancy.
Mr. Sidener's political views are in harmony
with Republican principles. He and his wife and daughter, Ida, are
members of the Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a man who has
had much experience in the world, has traveled extensively, and is well
informed on all general topics. He is a trustee of the church of which
he is a member and takes an active interest in religious and
JOHN SIDES, a real-estate, loan and
insurance agent, one of the oldest established agencies in the eastern
part of Pottawattamie County, is one of the representative businessmen
of Carson, who has been a resident of this county since the spring of
1877. He was born in Dixon County, Indiana, February 15, 1840, the son
of James and Elizabeth (THOMAS) SIDES, the former a native of Virginia
and the latter of Tennessee. They reared five children, of whom James
was the second child. The mother died in Logan County, Illinois, about
1870 and the father still resides in that county, engaged in farming.
John SIDES was a lad of thirteen years when his father settled in Logan
County, and here he grew to manhood, passing his youth upon a farm. He
was at school when the War broke out, and at the time of Lincoln’s call
for 300,000 more men, he enlisted, August 1862, in the 106th Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, Company F. He served nearly three years, and was
first under fire at Trenton, Kentucky, and Jackson, Tennessee. He was
also in the siege of Vicksburg. His regiment went to Helena, Arkansas,
and then to Little Rock, and from there to Duvall’s Bluffs. After the
regiment left Helena, John SIDES was detailed on cavalry service,
serving on General West’s staff, and served until the close of the War.
He was honorably discharged at Mound City, Illinois, July 24, 1865, and
then returned to Logan County, Illinois.
He first engaged in the mercantile business,
but on account of failing health, he engaged in farming. In 1877 he
came to Pottawattamie County and purchased 128 acres of wild land on
section 2, Carson Township, situated one and a half miles from Carson,
and part of it adjoins the town of Carson. Mr. SIDES is an active
businessman, and besides his farm interests, he is engaged in real
estate, loan and insurance business, representing ten standard and
reliable companies. He has been engaged in this business eleven years,
and his extensive acquaintance and his manner of doing the work have
gained for him the confidence of the people. He is interested in
Carson, and October 1889, built the two-story brick block, 26 X 65
feet, which is the best business house in the place. The first story is
occupied by stores, and the second is divided into pleasant business
rooms; the cost of the building was $3,500.
Mr. SIDES was married in Logan County,
Illinois, September 7, 1866, to Miss Mary E. CHAPPELL, a native of
Ohio, and daughter of Charles CHAPPELL. They have five children:
William, who is a carpenter at Carson; L.F. at home; Charles, Emma,
Orlando C. They have lost two by death: Hallie and Coone. Politically,
Mr. SIDES is a Republican and is a strong advocate of the principles of
that party. He has occupied many public offices and is a member of the
G.A.R. Robert Provard Post, of Carson, No. 414. Mr. And Mrs. SIDES are
members of the Presbyterian Church.
WILLIAM SIEDENTOPF, a prominent
real-estate dealer of Council Bluffs, was born in Hanover, Germany, in
1846, and came direct to this city in 1865, where he has since resided.
He came by stage-coach, prior to the advent of the railroad. He has
witnessed the "ups and downs" of the city of his adoption during the
last quarter of a century, and has been closely identified with every
move for its prosperity. His unlimited faith in the future of Council
Bluffs and Pottawattamie County, is best evinced by his large holdings
of real estate, and he is also one of the largest tax-payers in the
county. Up to 1879 he was actively identified with the banking business
of this city, and is now a director of the First National Bank. A term
of three years as School Director and four years as Alderman, comprise
his service in official life. While a member of the School Board, Mr.
SIEDENTOPF was a firm advocate of the introduction of phonetic spelling
and the re-organization of the high school, and strongly supported
Professors Alexander GOW and W. H. HATCH, overcoming vigorous
opposition in and out of the board. As a member of the City Council,
the city finances received his careful study and attention, and to this
day his counsel is frequently sought on that question. During his term
of office (1882-'86), commencing with the operation of the present
charter, the various improvements of paving, grading and sewering were
inaugurated, and a new era in the prosperity of Council Bluffs may well
be dated from that period.
In 1870 Mr. SIEDENTOPF and Miss Mary BURHOP, also of this city, were
united in marriage, and of their three children, two survive: William
F., aged nineteen, and Ella, fourteen. For several years past Mr.
SIEDENTOPF has devoted almost his whole time to his large real estate
JACOB SIMS, attorney at law, of the firm
of SIMS & SAUNDERS, is one of the representative members of the bar
of Council Bluffs. The present firm was formed September 1, 1890, but
Mr. SIMS has been a member of the bar of Pottawattamie County since
January 1, 1879. His partner is Mr. C. G. SAUNDERS.
Mr. SIMS is a native of Wisconsin, having
been born in Dodgeville, that state, November 30, 1850. His father,
Rev. James SIMS, a well-known pioneer Methodist clergyman of that
state, within whose borders he has preached for forty years, was until
September 1890 the minister in charge at Prairie du Chien, but is now a
resident of Council Bluffs, having retired from active work in the
ministry. He is a native of Cornwall, England, but came to America when
a young man. Mr. SIMS’ mother is also a native of England. He is the
oldest of eight surviving children and is also the only son. Two
brothers died in early life.
Mr. SIMS entered Lawrence University at
Appleton, his native State, at the age of eighteen years. After
spending one year in the preparatory department of this institution, he
entered upon the regular classical college course, graduating in 1874.
He then entered upon the profession of teaching, and was for a year
principal of the Oconto High School. Deciding to enter the newspaper
field, he went to Milwaukee, and was for some time on the editorial
staff of a paper in that city. Then going to Minneapolis, he was
engaged in the newspaper business for two and a half years; he then
came to Council Bluffs and entered the law office of B.F. MONTGOMERY,
Esq., a well-known lawyer of that city and was admitted January 4,
1879. He was for nearly four years associated with Hon. J.W. STONE,
under the firm name of STONE & SIMS. Mr. STONE is the present
Attorney General for the State of Iowa. The firm of SIMS & SAUNDERS
is one of the prominent law firms of Council Bluffs.
Mr. SIMS is a finely educated gentleman, and
was ever an earnest student. He took first honors of his class at
college, being honored with the valedictory. He ever manifests the same
earnest industry in his professional calling that characterized his
career at college. On January 11, 1887, Mr. SIMS was united in marriage
with Miss Anna H. SQUIRE, who before her marriage was a successful
teacher a number of years. Mrs. SIMS is a daughter of the late Daniel
SQUIRE, of Ottumwa, Iowa, who died in February 1890. He was formerly of
Rockford, Illinois, where his body lies buried. Mrs. SIMS was born and
educated in Rockford. Her mother is still a resident of Ottumwa. Mr.
And Mrs. SIMS have three children, a son and two daughters – James
Daniel, Mariana, and Katharine.
Sivers, John H.
JOHN H. SIVERS , a prominent citizen of
Belknap Township, was the first white boy born in Mills County, Iowa,
July 19,1849, his parents being John and Mary Ann (LEADER) SIVERS, both
natives of Lincolnshire, England. The parents arrived in Mills County,
July 4, 1849, where the father operated a mill at Glenwood, the first
mill in Mills county: his death occurred March 31, 1880. His widow
still resides on the old farm in Mills County, near Glenwood, at the
age of sixty-seven years. They were the parents of twelve children, six
of whom grew to maturity and the three eldest were born in England.
John H., the fourth in the above family,
remained on the farm in his native county---- attending the common
schools there---- until 1881, when he came to this county, settling on
120 acres of wild prairie land, on section 7, Belknap Township, which
he has since improved and made his home. For his residence he has a
good cottage, 26 x 32 feet, on a natural building site, a fine barn,
cattle sheds, feed-lots, a corn building 29 x 48 feet, with an L 16 x
18 feet and also a story and a half in height; and on the premises are
also a barn, grain cribs and all the appurtenances required for the
convenient management of the place, which is now conducted by James
Pratt. Mr. SIVERS devotes his attention mainly to stock-raising and in
this business he is very successful. He was married in Mills County,
November 11, 1869 to Sarah C. MEADOWS, who was born in Saline County,
Missouri, August 22, 1852, the daughter of Isaac and Rhonda (GRANGER)
MEADOWS, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Tennessee.
Her parents reared twelve children and they settled in Mills County in
1853, being among the first families to locate in that county. In 1883
they removed to Florida , settling near Anthony, Marion County. Isaac
Meadows' death occurred December 30, 1890.
Mrs. SIVERS was reared and educated in Mills County. She is a woman of
intelligence and a worthy companion and help to her husband. Mr. and
Mrs. SIVERS have six children, viz.: Archibald C. Born October 20,
1870; Ida May, May 19, 1872; Warren L., December 30, 1875; Roy E. born
December 7, 1877,; Guilla A. January 18, 1884 and John L., October 28,
1887 Politically Mr. SIVERS is a Republican, and has served in most of
the township offices. Both he and his wife and three of the children
are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Sivers is Superintendent of
the Sunday School and his daughter, Ida May is a teacher in the same.
Mr. SIVERS is in the prime of life, giving his children a good
education, and is highly esteemed by the community in which he resides.
Smart, George F. C.
CAPTAIN GEORGE F. C. SMART, one of the
old soldier farmers of James Township, is the son of Caleb SMART, who
was born in 1802 in New Hampshire. He was married in that state to
Clarissa B. SMITH, and they were the parents of five children: George,
Helen, Morill, Mayette and Hiram. In 1835 the father moved to Michigan
and settled on a farm in Kalamazoo County, where he was one of the
pioneer settlers. He died in 1840 at the early age of 38 years.
George F. C. SMART, our subject, was born in
New Hampshire, July 18, 1833, and was but two years of age when his
family moved to Michigan, and only seven years old when his father
died. In the spring of 1852, at the age of 20 years, he went to
California by way of New York City and the Isthmus, and was engaged in
gold mining in the Indian diggings and Sonoma, and was also in the city
of Sacramento, engaged in truck marketing. In 1857 he returned to Kane
County, Illinois, where he engaged in farming, and next he went to
Mercer County, Pennsylvania and engaged in railroad work and also
worked for the express companies. In August 1862, he enlisted, when
General LEE was invading Pennsylvania, in Company G, 145th Pennsylvania
Volunteer Infantry, as a private; was appointed Orderly Sergeant, then
promoted as 2nd Lieutenant, then 1st Lieutenant, then Captain, for
meritorious services and gallant conduct. His first battle was
Antietam, and he was then in the battles of Fredericksburg,
Chancellorsville and the Wilderness. He was captured and after 20 days
paroled. He was at Libby Prison and was on duty at Annapolis, Maryland,
until exchanged. Captain SMART was detailed to distribute paroled
prisoners to different points, and then went into winter quarters with
his regiment on the Rapidan River, where he received his promotion as
Captain. He was in all the battles from Chancellorsville to Petersburg.
He was again taken prisoner and was taken to Macon, Georgia,
Charleston, and Columbus, South Carolina, where he remained imprisoned
until nearly the close of the war. He then returned to Pennsylvania and
was honorably discharged at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in 1865.
In that year, he was married to Lorretta
McFARREN, daughter of Josiah and Martha McFARREN. Mrs. SMART had two
brothers, Quincy and Julius, the former serving in the same regiment as
her husband. To Captain and Mrs. SMART were born four children: Edward,
Francis, Walter, and one who died in infancy. After marriage, Captain
SMART went to Hannibal, Missouri, where he was engaged in the livery
business. When the Black Hill mining excitement broke out, Captain
SMART went there, and thence to Colorado and returned to Pennsylvania
after an absence of nine months. In 1878 he came to Pottawattamie
County, Iowa, and settled on a farm in James Township. He is a member
of the G.A.R. No. 358, William Layton Post, Oakland, Iowa; and
politically he is a Republican.
The Captain has taken an interest in good
schools in his community, and has been elected School Director. He has
had a varied experience in life, and stands deservedly high as an
honorable and straightforward citizen. When the country needed men, he
responded, was a good soldier, an efficient officer, and faithfully did
his part and endured imprisonment with patience, and to such men we owe
the preservation of this government.
Smith, E. C.
E. C. SMITH, Agency Director of the New
York Life Insurance Company for Iowa and a portion of Nebraska, has his
office at rooms 305 and 306, Sapp Block, Council Bluffs. This branch of
the business was established here by him in 1883, since which time he
has had it under his control, having at the present time over
twenty-five men in his employ; and he has increased the yearly new
business in Iowa from $1,000,000, written in 1883, to over $4,600,000,
new business written in 1890, largely outstripping all competitors.
This, however, is only one of the evidences of his activity and of the
amount of work he has done. He has been associated with this company
for over sixteen years, commencing in Vermont and operating afterward
in New York state before coming here.
Mr. SMITH was born in St. Lawrence County, New York, February 13, 1841,
the son of Harrison and Caroline (KENNEDY) SMITH, natives respectively
of New York and Vermont. His ancestry has been American for several
generations. He was eighteen years of age when he went to Castleton,
Vermont, to attend school, graduating at Castleton Seminary about two
years later. The five years following, he was engaged in the livestock
business in New York state, Vermont, and Canada, shipping to Boston and
other New England markets. The six years following this, he was engaged
in general merchandising at Waterbury, Vermont. Finding that business
too confining and circumscribed for his natural inclinations, he sold
his store and connected himself with the New York Life. Being a live,
energetic man, he stands at the head of his profession in the West.
He also owns and manages a large stock farm
of about 1,500 acres in Monona County, this state, where he has about
fifty head of horses, 700 head of cattle and as many hogs. His start at
this farm occurred in this manner: In 1878 he came to Iowa, in the
interest of the company with which he is now connected. His family came
in 1880, locating near Onawa, where he purchased a tract of land with
the proceeds of an endowment policy which he had taken out fifteen
years previously. At different times, he added to this tract until it
reached its present dimensions. He now looks back, attributing his
success in acquiring this farm to that endowment policy taken early in
life. His success in business is a sufficient guaranty not alone of his
integrity and ability, but of the great company he represents. The best
evidence, however, of its standing and worth is its yearly increasing
patronage, having issued over $175,000,000 new insurance in the year
1890, which is more than all it had in force at the end of its first
thirty years of existence.
Politically, Mr. SMITH is a Republican; religiously a member of the
Congregational Church; and socially a member of Ivanhoe Commandery, No.
17, K.T.; also a member of the Scottish Rite order of Masonry.
Smith, James F.
JAMES F. SMITH, section 12, Silver Creek
Twp., is one of the well known and successful men of his community. He
came here in 1882 from Mills county, Iowa, where he had resided since
1877. A brief sketch of Mr. Smith's life is as follows:
He was born in LaPorte County, Indiana, November 5, 1835, a son of
James F. SMITH Sr. His father was a native of New York state and was a
hotel keeper all his life. He built and kept the Checkered Tavern near
Buffalo, New York, and subsequently removed to Indiana where he was a
popular and successful hotel manager, and where, in 1840, he was killed
by a desperado at Hudson, LaPorte County. Mr. Smith's mother, India
(DARBY) SMITH, was born in New York state. She died when James F. was
two or three years old, and he was only five when his father's death
occurred. Left an orphan thus early in life, he was reared by relatives
in LaPorte County, Indiana, and in Southern Michigan, near Ann Arbor.
He was brought up on a farm, and his education was obtained in the
common schools and in the practical school of experience.
In 1870 he removed to Porter County, Indiana, where he resided seven
years. He then sold the farm he had purchased at that place and came
west to Mills County, Iowa. There he rented a farm of his
brother-in-law, Josiah WEARING, one of the most prominent stockmen of
that county. In 1882 he came to Pottawattamie County and purchased 160
acres of wild land at $12.50 per acre. He afterward bought 240 acres
more. He is now the owner of 240 acres, having sold 80 acres to one of
his sons, and the same amount to another.
Mr. Smith has a good frame house, 22 X 28 feet, one and a half stories,
and an addition 20 X 16 feet, well situated, and surrounded with an
orchard comprising two acres and a half. His granary is 20 X 20 feet,
and he also has cribs, yards, feedlots, a windmill and everything to
denote the thrifty and prosperous farmer. He is engaged in general
farming and stock-raising.
At the age of 21 years, Mr. SMITH as married in LaPorte County,
Indiana, to Sarah Jane COOPER, daughter of John and Mary (WALLDRUFF)
COOPER, both natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have four
children, as follows: Olive, wife of E.B. CARLEY, Silver Creek
Township; Nevada, wife of G.R. COOK of the same township; and George L.
and Frank M. also of Silver Creek Township.
Politically Mr. Smith is a strong and radical Republican. He and his
wife were formerly connected with the Christian Church. Mr. Smith is a
man in the prime of life, is cordial in his manner toward his fellowmen
and is honorable in all his business dealings. He is numbered among the
solid men of the township.
Peter SMITH, Alderman of the Fifth Ward,
to which position he was elected in the spring of 1890, is at the head
of the firm of Smith & Co., Union Bakery, which was established in
1883. They do a wholesale and retail trade, principally the former,
their annual business amounting to $20,000. They ship to all of the
towns within a radius of seventy-five to 100 miles by express.
Mr. SMITH has been a resident of Council
Bluffs since April 7, 1867. He was born in Germany, November 6, 1840,
the son of Peter and Anna (PETERSON) SMITH. The parents died in Germany
when our subject was but a child, and when but ten years of age he came
to this country with an uncle, locating at St. Louis, Missouri, where
he grew to manhood. He remained there until 1865, during which time he
was engaged as clerk in a grocery store. He then went to Booneville,
Missouri, remaining until 1867, when he came to Council Bluffs, where
he has since made his home. He was engaged in various vocations until
he connected himself with the Muceller Music Company, of this city,
with whom he remained eleven years. After leaving this firm he
commenced his present business, which he has so far conducted
He has always affiliated with the Republican
party, but has held himself aloof from political publicity. In 1890 he
was elected City Alderman of the Fifth Ward, and carried his election
by ninety-seven votes. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., No. 49, Council
Bluffs Lodge, and also of the A.O.U.W., No. 270.
He was married, in 1868, to Mary MUELLER, who was born in Germany
October 1, 1843, and they have a family of seven children: Frances, the
oldest child, is the wife of Professor Charles BACTOUS, a resident of
Smith, Walter I.
WALTER I. SMITH, one of the youngest,
though most prominent members of the bar of Council Bluffs, is a native
of this city, born July 10, 1862. His father George F. SMITH was an
early resident of Council Bluffs. Mr. Smith was educated in the public
schools of this city, graduating at the high school in the class of
1878. He began the study of law in August 1881, in the office of
Colonel D.B. DAILEY, and was admitted in December 1882. After his
admission he continued with Colonel Dailey until 1885, since which time
he has been alone in practice.
Mr. Smith, though one of the youngest members of the bar of
Pottawattamie Co, has already taken high rank as a lawyer and is
recognized as a young man of marked ability, whose future gives promise
of a most successful and useful career. Mr. Smith is a most industrious
student of his profession and a gentleman of extensive and varied
reading and is numbered among the progressive and enterprising citizens
of Council Bluffs, where all his life, thus far, has been passed. June
19, 1890 at the age of 27 he was unanimously nominated for the office
of District Judge by the Republican Judicial Convention of the 15th
District of Iowa, composed of the counties of Audubon, Shelby,
Pottawattamie, Cass, Mills, Montgomery, Fremont and Page, and was
elected November 4th following, running 667 votes ahead of his ticket
in Pottawattamie Co.
Snyder, C. W.
C. W. SNYDER, business manager of the
Council Bluffs Nonpareil, was born in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania in
1841 and in 1859 emigrated to Dixon, Illinois. At the breaking out of
the War, he enlisted in the Thirteenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, the
first three-years regiment sworn into service for the War. He had a
continuous service of five years lacking only twenty-six days. In the
first attack on Vicksburg, lasting three days, which was ended by the
charge at Chickasaw Bayou, he was wounded and taken prisoner and was
dropped from the rolls of his regiment for four months as "killed in
action." He was made Brevet Major for meritorious service in the field.
Returning from the War in March 1866, he
came to Iowa and located at Cedar Falls, where he engaged in
journalism, becoming editor of the Cedar Falls Gazette, and retaining
that position for thirteen years. He was also Postmaster for over eight
years, resigning the office in 1883. He then moved to Red Oak, where he
was publisher of the Express for seven years; and finally, in December
1889, he purchased an interest in the Council Bluffs Nonpareil and
became its manager. This paper was established thirty-six years ago. It
is the only morning paper in the city and has the associated morning
and evening franchise. It is one of the leading dailies of Iowa, is
widely read, and is known as a progressive, enterprising paper. It is
edited by Carl SNYDER.
The subject of this sketch married Miss
Fannie KNOTT of Waterloo, and they have one son, named Carl.
WESLEY SNYDER, one of the old soldier
citizens of Walnut, who is Commander of the John A. Dix Post, No. 408,
was born on a farm near Huntington County, Pennsylvania, February 27,
1847, the son of John SNYDER, who was born in the same place and was of
German descent. He married Sarah LYNN, daughter of John LYNN of
Pennsylvania, and they were the parents of nine children who lived to
maturity, namely: Jane, Susan, Elizabeth, Martha, Rachel, Lucinda,
Wesley, Jonathan, and Hugh. The SNYDERs were old settlers of
Pennsylvania, and John SNYDER had two uncles in the War of the
Revolution. Mr. SNYDER was a comfortable farmer, and in 1865 emigrated
to Iowa, settling on a farm in Johnson County, where he lived until his
death in 1876. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and
an honorable and upright citizen.
August 29, 1864, at the age of sixteen
years, Wesley SNYDER enlisted in Company K, 202nd Pennsylvania
Volunteer Infantry, and served until the close of the War. He served
along the Orange and Alexandria Railroad in Virginia, and on his return
home he came with his father to Iowa, and has since been a citizen of
this state. In 1879 he left farm work, which he had followed until this
time, and worked in the elevator as engineer for two years in Shelby,
Iowa, and then in Minden two years. In 1884, he came to Walnut, where
he has since ran the elevator for Davenport & Co. In 1889 he was
appointed Commander of the John A. Dix Post, G.A.R., of Avoca, for one
year. He is a prominent member of the Methodist Church, of which he is
a trustee and steward. He is well known in Avoca as a conscientious and
Spetman, Fred W.
Fred W. SPETMAN, of the firm of F.
W. Spetman & Bro., Merchants of Council Bluffs, is a native of
Pottawattamie County, born September 18, 1855, the oldest son of H. H.
SPETMAN, whose sketch appears elsewhere. Our subject was reared on a
farm and received his education in the public schools of the township
and city of Council Bluffs. When seventeen years of age he went to
Davenport, and attended the Bryant & Stratton College, where he
graduated. He then returned to this city, and engaged as clerk for
Smith & Crittenden, in the wholesale and retail dry-goods business,
including both departments. He remained with them two years, after
which he purchased a half interest in the store then known as Galleger
& Lee, purchasing Galleger's interest. The store was located on B
Street, opposite the Ogden House, and was then known as Lee &
Spetman. Mr. SPETMAN continued for two years, and then purchased his
partner's interest, and continued the business alone for one year and a
half, when he sold out to J. C. Lee. He then, in 1877, removed to his
present location, 509 and 511 Main Street and in company with his
brother, W. C., they carry an extensive line of general merchandise,
boots, shoes and clothing, and have built up an extensive business. In
1880-'81 he served as a member of the City Council from the Third Ward.
In 1886 he was elected City Treasurer, serving two terms, or four
years. Mr. SPETMAN was married September 10, 1879, to Miss Alvena Los
KOWSKI, a native of St. Louis, who came with her parents, Edward Los
KOWSKI, a native of Germany, to this county in 1858. They have four
children: Ella M., Lulu R., Dora C., and Verra R. Mr. SPETMAN is a
member of the I.O.O.F., No. 49, and of the A.O.U.W. He is also a member
of the Lutheran Church. Politically he affiliates with the Democratic
Spetman, Henry H.
HENRY H. SPETMAN, a resident of Lewis
Township, Pottawattamie County, was born in Holstein, Germany, April
21, 1825, son of G.H. and Ann H. (ELLIS) SPETMAN. They had a family of
nine children, six of whom came to America, and four still survive,
namely: H.H., our subject; William H., a resident of Mills County;
J.H., a resident of Omaha, Nebraska; and Margaret C., wife of Charles
WYMILLER, also of Omaha. Henry H. was reared on a farm in his native
country until he was seventeen years of age, after which he engaged as
a seaman on a sailing vessel in the employ of German merchant ships for
seven years, and three years in American ships on the coast of China.
After this, he went to California, where he engaged in mining for a
period of three years. He then returned to his home in Germany,
spending about one year, and in 1853 returned to America. He came to
Iowa and spent one year in Davenport and St. Mary’s, and in 1854 came
to Pottawattamie County, locating on his present homestead, which he
purchased of a Mormon. His farm consists of 240 acres, on sections 34
and 35, Lewis Township. Here he commenced life in the then new country,
where Indians were frequently seen and the wild game plentiful.
Mr. SPETMAN was married October 15, 1854, to
Catherine H. BECK, daughter of A.H. and E.H. (KICKBUSH) BECK, natives
of Germany. She was born June 27, 1830, in Holstein, and in 1854
emigrated to America with her parents, and the same year was married to
Mr. SPETMAN. About six months afterward, they came to Pottawattamie
County, where they commenced housekeeping in a small log house erected
by the Mormons for a church, but with the expectation of something
better in the future. They gradually ascended the ladder of wealth
until they have reached the topmost round, with 960 acres of fine farm
land, and the following property in Council Bluffs: four dwelling
houses and lots, three brick store buildings and lots, and two vacant
lots, all located in the business portion of the city. Their
anticipated home has been realized in a nice frame residence,
unpretentious but roomy, with a number of buildings for stock and
grain. Mr. SPETMAN is a public-spirited man, and has enjoyed seeing his
county come to the front in every respect, and has assisted the
Democratic party to the extent of his ability and vote. He has
represented his township as Trustee for several years. Mr. And Mrs.
SPETMAN’s life is brightened and made happy by eight children: Fred W.,
a resident of Council Bluffs; William C., also of this city; Mary, the
wife of D. HOLZ; Henry and Lizzie, of Council Bluffs; Wilhelmina, wife
of Frank FOX; Carl L., at home; and John, deceased. The family are
worthy and consistent members of the Lutheran Church, and are highly
KIEL STABLES, at the corner of Fourth
Street and Fifth Avenue, Council Bluffs, are managed by Mr. Fred DAVIS
as livery, feed, and sale stables. He carries a good stock and has an
extensive business, keeping two large barns. He also deals some in real
estate. He began here as proprietor of the Ogden Stables on Broadway
for a year; next he was owner of stables on North First Street for
eighteen months; then for two years conducted stables on North Main
Street, and since 1888 he has been at his present place.
He has been a resident of the city since
1863, having come here with his parents, William H. and Rebecca (NEAL)
DAVIS, from Oskaloosa, this state. His father is dead, while his mother
is still a resident of this city. They are of Welsh and Irish
extraction. Mr. DAVIS was born in Peoria, Illinois in May 1853, was
five years of age when the family removed to St. Joseph, Missouri,
where they resided until 1861, then they moved to Oskaloosa, and thence
to Council Bluffs. At the age of nineteen or twenty years, he entered
the employ of THOMAS & JACKSON, wholesale grocers, for something
over two years in the house and a year as traveling salesman for them.
Next he was traveling salesman for STEELE & JOHNSON two years, and
finally engaged in the livery business which he has since followed. He
is a live, enterprising businessman, Republican in his politics and a
member of the Order of Modern Woodmen.
CHRISTIAN STRAUB, a contractor, builder
and brick manufacturer of Council Bluffs, was born in Heidenheim,
Wurtemberg, Germany, February 3, 1847, son of Carl and Emma (KOCH)
STRAUB, both natives of Wurtemberg. The father was a wagon manufacturer
by trade, and both he and his wife died in their native country. They
were members of the Lutheran Church, and were the parents of six
children: George, who resides in Germany; Jacob, also of Germany; Mary,
wife of Fred RIG, and resides in Council Bluffs; Anna M., a resident of
Germany; Dora, who lives in Illinois; and Christian, our subject.
The latter attended school and also worked
at his father’s trade until 17 years of age, when he came to America,
landing in New York. He then went direct to Aurora, Illinois, remained
four or five months, and then came to Council Bluffs, Iowa, in the
spring of 1867. He worked for the Northwestern Railroad Company a short
time and then learned the brick and stone mason’s trade, which he has
since followed. In 1872 he became a contractor and builder, and in 1875
purchased the brick yard of George BAUM, and has been engaged in
manufacturing brick since that time. Mr. STRAUB was one of the first
stockholders of the Citizens’ State Bank, and also of the Iowa
He was united in marriage in Council Bluffs
on April 12, 1873 to Arnetta FEIFER, a native of Bavaria, Germany. Mr.
STRAUB was elected Councilman from the Third Ward in 1885-86 and is
also a member of Humboldt Lodge No. 75 I.O.O.F. He ranks among our most
reliable citizens and by honesty, frugality, and diligence has
accumulated a comfortable fortune.
WILLIAM STEELE, a farmer of Lewis
Township, was born in Harrison County, Ohio, July 1, 1841, the son of
S. K. and Rebecca (KERBY) STEELE. Our subject, the second in a family
of eight children, was reared in his native county until fifteen years
of age, when he removed to Burlington County, Iowa, where he remained
until 1869. He then entered the United States service in the great
Rebellion, in Company H, Thirteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and served
eleven months and four days, being honorably discharged at Davenport,
Iowa. He participated in four different battles: Franklin, Tennessee,
Nashville, Wise's Forks, North Carolina, McCarver's Station, Tennessee,
and was also in a number of skirmishes. After his discharge he returned
to Des Moines, where he was engaged in farming for three years, and in
1869 he came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, purchasing forty acres of
wild land on section 14, Lewis Township. Here he erected a small frame
house, 14 x 16 feet, in which they lived until 1880, when he erected
his present neat frame residence, 16 x 26, one and one-half stories
high, with an L 16 x 18, one story high. He has added to his first
purchase until he now owns eighty acres of land, which is all well
improved. He devotes himself to farming, stock-raising and
fruit-growing, and is preparing to devote his entire attention to the
growing of all kinds of fruits and vegetables. He is one of the live,
energetic men of this part of the county, and has by honesty and
integrity won a large circle of friends. He has assisted largely in
opening up and developing this part of the county, and is deserving of
all the honor and esteem shown him. Politically he is a stanch
Republican, has served his township as Assessor for the past four
years, and has also served as Constable two years.
Mr. STEELE was married December 31, 1864, to Miss Mary E. HOUX, who was
born in Champaign County, Ohio, near Urbana, May 2, 1844. They are the
parents of seven children: Lucy B., at home; Clara J., wife of E. L.
Gladwin, a resident of Lewis Township; James H., at home; William, John
W., Hattie M. and Mabel B.
Stephens, Silas L.
SILAS L. STEPHENS, a farmer of Crescent
Township, was born in Utah Territory, November 7, 1854, a son of
William C. and Lydia S. (BALLARD) STEPHENS, natives of Tennessee. The
father was reared on a farm, and in 1859, after having gone to Utah
during the great Mormon emigration, was married. About 1866 he returned
to Council Bluffs, and some months afterward went to Crescent City,
bought forty acres nearby, made a number of improvements, and about
five years afterward he sold it, and was in different places until he
bought eighty acres of partly improved land, which he now occupies. He
has put the place in good condition, and has been successful in his
enterprises. He makes his home partly in Council Bluffs. He had eight
children: James, born in 1859, and now residing in Council Bluffs;
Francis, deceased; George W., born in Utah in 1862, now residing in
Council Bluffs; Silas L. was the next; Philip and Robert are both dead;
Samuel U., born in 1874, is in Council Bluffs; and Bert, born in 1873,
lives also in that city.
Mr. Silas L. STEPHENS, January 2, 1887,
married Alice GIDEON, the daughter of V.M. and Rosanna (BAUM) GIDEON,
who had four children: Alice, just mentioned, was born in Madison
County, Iowa, September 12, 1868. After his marriage, Mr. STEPHENS
worked with his team on the grade, then rented a farm for two years,
and since then he has been following agricultural pursuits on the old
home place, where he is enjoying the pleasures of a well-finished
residence. His two children are Ernest R., born October 17, 1888; and
Lydia Rosanna, September 19, 1889.
Mr. STEPHENS is a stanch Democrat, well
principled and energetic. Is a good violinist and a favorite in social
Stephenson, A. J.
A. J. STEPHENSON, City Clerk and Clerk
of the Superior Court of Council Bluffs, is a native of Jackson County,
Ohio, born in 1831, son of Andrew and Elizabeth (McGEE) STEPHENSON, of
Virginia and North Carolina. His parents were of English and Scotch
ancestry. Both are deceased, his father having died when A. J. was a
small child. Mr. STEPHENSON was about eleven years old when he left
Ohio and went to Indiana with an uncle. He was reared on a farm and
educated in the public schools of that State. At sixteen he started out
for himself, remaining in Indiana and being variously employed for a
number of years. He first clerked in a dry-goods store, then for four
years was employed in a railroad office in Elkhart. At the end of that
time he invested his earnings in a stock of general merchandise and
opened a store at Leesburgh. From there he removed to Warsaw, where he
continued his business for several years. While at Leesburgh he was
married, in 1856 to Miss Eliza FELKNER, a native of Indiana.
In 1868 Mr. STEPHENSON sold his business at Warsaw, left Indiana, and
came to Council Bluff, Iowa, where he engaged in the hardware business.
When the panic of 1873 came on he met with heavy losses and
discontinued business. After that he was employed for five years in the
interest of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad. Then he
opened an office of his own in the real-estate line, and in this he has
since been engaged, and continues to do a realty business although
Clerk of the city. Mr. STEPHENSON affiliates with the Republican party,
being a hearty supporter of the same.
He and his wife are the parents of five children: Victor, at home, a
telegrapher; Lulu, wife of M. E. MEADER, of Goshen, Indiana; Chester
F., a graduate of Iowa City Law school, is now in a real-estate office
in Goshen, Indiana; Mary J. and Ada E., at home.
WILLIAM STEVENSON, one of the pioneer
settlers of Valley Township, came from Ohio in March, 1870, and settled
on his present farm. It was then wild land, but by dint of industry and
perseverance he has converted it into a fine, fertile farm. William
STEVENSON, his grandfather, was born in Virginia, near what is now
known as the Cow Pens. His father came from Ireland, and was a
Scotch-Irishman. He was a soldier in the War of the Revolution, and was
the father of a large family of children. He had two wives, his first
being Rachel WILKINS, by whom he had eight children: Robert, John,
William, Charles, Samuel, Elizabeth, Polly and Jennie. This wife died
and he married a widow by the name of SCOTT, who had a large family of
children by her first husband. By this marriage Mr. STEVENSON had five
children: James, Daniel, Homer, Preston and Rachel. The father lived on
a farm in Virginia for some time, and then moved to Kentucky, and next
to Tennessee, where his eldest son, Robert, was born, July 4, 1788. In
1796 he moved to Ohio, settling on the banks of Massie's Creek, in what
was then Greene County. After a short residence at this place, Mr.
STEVENSON moved to the Little Miami, near Clifton, where he was among
the early pioneers, and where he lived until he was a very old man. He
was a member of the Presbyterian Church, a soldier in the war with
Indians, and a typical pioneer of the American wilderness. He had held
the office of Justice of the Peace.
Robert STEVENSON, a son of the above and the father of our subject, was
born in Tennessee, July 4, 1788, and was eight years of age when he
went with his father to Ohio, and was brought up in Greene County. He
was married to Sarah, daughter of William and Sarah COHAGAN. The father
was a native of Maryland, and was a prominent farmer of Greene County
Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. STEVENSON were born eleven children, viz.:
William, Caroline, John, Thomas P., Charles W., Samuel, James, Robert,
David, Henry H. and Eliza. The father lived in Greene County all his
life, was a substantial farmer, and a soldier in the war of 1812,
serving under General Harrison. He was afterward a Lieutenant in the
militia, and both he and his wife were members of the Presbyterian
Church. He sold his farm and moved to Xenia, Ohio, where he lived for
fifteen years, dying at the age of eighty.
William STEVENSON, the subject of this sketch, was born on his father's
farm in Greene County, Ohio, November 17, 1814, and learned farming in
early life. He remained in his native county until March 1870, when he
came to this county, where he has since resided. Politically he is a
stanch Republican, and has taken an active interest in the schools of
his township, having been school director for many years. He is a
self-made man, and stands high as a citizen whose word is as good as
his bond. The family is from an old American stock of pioneers and
soldiers, and their histories should descend to the most remote
Mr. STEVENSON was married in Greene County, to Catherine MILLS,
daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (WEBB) MILLS. The father was an
American, and a farmer of Greene County, and his wife was an American
of Welsh descent. Mr. and Mrs. STEVENSON have one child, Catherine
Owens. The mother died, and Mr. STEVENSON married Emily GOLDTHWAITE,
daughter of Thomas and Abigail H. (SKINNER) GOLDTHWAITE. The father was
from Massachusetts, a descendant from an old American family. He
enlisted in the civil war, in the Forty-fourth Ohio Volunteer Mounted
Infantry, as the Fifth Ohio Cavalry, and served under General Thomas.
He was killed in one of the skirmishes preceding the battle of Shiloh.
He was born in 1800, in Northbridge, Massachusetts, and was over sixty
years of age when he enlisted. He was very patriotic, having a very
great desire to serve his country, and made several efforts before he
was accepted. He was the father of six living children: Franklin,
Emily, Sarah, Jeanette, Freeman and Maria L. Mr. and Mrs. STEVENSON
were the parents of four children: Benjamin J., William R., Mary A. and
WILLIAM STIDHAM is one of the well-known
early pioneers of Grove Township, having first come to this county when
a lad, in 1847. He was born near Wilmington, Delaware, February 18,
1837, son of George David and Esther STIDHAM, both natives of
Pennsylvania. He was only a babe when his parents moved to Fountain
County, Indiana, and when he was seven years old, his mother died. Then
for a time he made his home with an uncle. His father was subsequently
married, in Vermilion County, Illinois, to Susan Ann WINEGAR, by whom
he had one daughter, now Mrs. Esther WILLIAMS, a widow of Grove
Township. After his father’s marriage, William returned to him. Mr.
STIDHAM came to Garden Grove, Iowa, with the Latter Day Saints in 1846,
where he spent the winter, and the next season went to Salt Lake. He
was a bold and fearless man. He loved new scenes, new country and
plenty of game, and the adventurous life of the West was congenial to
his tastes, but he would not obey the Mormon laws. He was threatened
with death if he continued to disregard their laws, so the next season,
with two other families, he left Utah to return to Iowa. On his way
back, he met Brigham Young, to whom he told why and where he was going,
but Mr. YOUNG, seeing he was in the vicinity of friends, did not offer
to molest him. Upon his arrival in Iowa, he located in Monroe County,
where he remained two years. At the end of that time, he came to
Pottawattamie County, and settled in Grove Township, where he spent the
rest of his life and died at the age of seventy-six year. Previous to
his death, he united with the Christian Church. In politics he was a
Republican. His wife was a Methodist. She lived until 1889 and died at
the home of her step-son, the subject of this sketch.
William STIDHAM grew to manhood in this
pioneer country, received a limited education in a log schoolhouse, and
early in life did farm work, breaking and clearing land. In 1869 he
went to California, going across the plains with ox teams. He engaged
in mining, prospecting, and freighting goods, which at that time was a
profitable business, and spent ten years on the Pacific coast, after
which he returned to Iowa, and for two years lived in Grove Township,
Pottawattamie County. Then he went to Big Horn River, the head of the
Missouri, on a prospecting tour, but the Indians were so troublesome,
killing some of the men, that the search for minerals had to be
abandoned, and the prospecting party returned to civilization. Mr.
STIDHAM came back to his old home in Grove Township. Here he owns 186
acres of land, on section 21, well watered and comprising both timber
and prairie land. The farm is well adapted for grain or stock.
Mr. STIDHAM has in his make-up many of the
characteristics of the Western pioneer. He is firm in his convictions
of right and wrong, is plain in his speech, and is frank and fearless
in his manner. He has the confidence and respect of all who know him.
ORIGAN STILLINGS, one of the pioneer
settlers of Layton Township, was born in Illinois, February 18, 1839,
the son of Josiah J. STILLINGS, who was of German descent. His father
died in Baltimore, Maryland, when Josiah was but three years of age,
and his mother died when he was but six years old, and he was brought
up on a farm by his uncle, Abraham SWARTZ, a farmer of Knox County,
Illinois. When about seventeen years of age, he left his uncle and went
to Galena where he worked in the lead mines. He afterward returned to
Knox County and was married to Lucy A. COY, daughter of Benjamin COY, a
native of the eastern states, and who was a pioneer of Kentucky. He was
a great hunter and a fast runner, and could have outrun his Indian
companions. He married a Welsh lady in Kentucky, and here Lucy, the
wife of Josiah STILLINGS, was born. Her family settled in Iowa where
they were among the early pioneers.
To Mr. And Mrs. Josiah STILLINGS were born eight children: Arena A.,
Mary A., Origan A., Eliza J., Sarah E., Martha E., James B. F., Emeline
and one who died in infancy. The father was a miller in Illinois for
some years, and in 1844 came to Iowa, settling in Washington County,
where he ran a mill for four years. He then moved two and a half miles
northwest, where he built and ran a mill. He then went into a grocery
store and also kept a hotel at Wassonville, one of the oldest towns in
Iowa. He also owned a small farm, where he died in 1886, at the age of
seventy-seven years. He was in the Black Hawk War when a young man;
held the office of Constable twenty-four years in Iowa, seventeen
consecutive years; and was a member of the Methodist Church. Mrs.
STILLINGS was a member of the Baptist Church.
O. A. STILLINGS, our subject, was reared to farm life, and when five
years of age, he came with his father to Iowa and was early accustomed
to the vicissitudes of pioneer life, and well remembers seeing the
Indians buy goods of his father, who could talk and understand some of
their language. He remained at home until he was twenty-one years of
age, when, in 1861, he enlisted in Company F, First Iowa Volunteer
Cavalry, and served one year in Missouri. He was in the battle of Black
Water, where 1,300 Confederates were captured, and he was also in the
battle at Silver Creek, where a ball struck the visor of his cap. He
was honorably discharged at Sedalia, Missouri. Returning home, he
engaged in farming; then went to Illinois, thence to Kansas, where he
drove a Government team to Salt Lake, Utah; next he went to Virginia
City, Montana, where he remained through the winter of 1863-64, and was
a member of the celebrated committee which established law and order in
Montana, and who executed a great many desperadoes. The next August,
Mr. STILLINGS returned to Iowa, and in 1867 was married to Elizabeth
PHILLIPS, daughter of George and Elizabeth (DEAN) PHILLIPS, and they
have five children: Bertha, Frank, Wilber, Frederick, and one who died
in infancy. The mother died, and Mr. STILLINGS married Hortense VAN
METER, in 1886, during which year he came to Pottawattamie County and
bought his present farm of eighty acres, but which he has since
converted into a fine farm of 120 acres.
He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church in which he is a class
leader and steward. Mrs. STILLINGS is a member of the Christian Church.
Politically he is a Republican, voting first for Abraham Lincoln. He is
a member of the G.A.R. post and is a man who stands deservedly high in
his township as a straightforward and honorable man. He was injured in
the United States service and is now drawing a pension from the
Government. Mrs. STILLINGS was born in Johnson County, Iowa, the
daughter of Elias B. HOWELL, who was born in Ohio and was an early
settler of Johnson County. He was married to Rachel PRESTON, and they
have had seven children: Mattie, Lorena, Hortense, Cora J., Fadilla,
Ralph and one who died when young. Both Mr. And Mrs. HOWELL are members
of the Christian Church, in which he has for many years been a deacon
and class leader. The HOWELL family originated in New Jersey. Elias
HOWELL, the father of the above, was an old pioneer of Licking County,
Ohio, and was a member of Congress from that State in the time of
William H. Harrison, and was also prominent in the Log Cabin and Hard
Cider campaign. He was Sheriff of Licking County for many years, was
the proprietor of the silk interest in Ohio, was married three times
and was the father of twelve children. His son, James B. HOWELL, was
United States Senator from Iowa.
MARGARET STOKER, of Pottawattamie
County, was born May 29, 1822, in Wilkes County, North Carolina, the
daughter of John and Rhoda (JUDD) STOKER, the former a native of North
Carolina. Mrs. STOKER was in her seventh year when her parents moved to
Wayne County, Indiana, where they lived until after her father's death,
which took place when she was about seven or eight years of age. He
left his widow and nine children, of whom Mrs. Stoker was the youngest.
In 1838, when she was sixteen years of age, the family moved to Iowa,
on the Des Moines River, when the state was still a Territory and where
they lived until the mother's death, which occurred one year later.
In 1839 Mrs. STOKER was married, at the age of seventeen years to Eller
STOKER, who was born in Jackson County Ohio, the son of Michel and
Catherine Ella STOKER, the mother a native of North Carolina and the
father of Germany. Eller STOKER was reared in Ohio, when about
twenty-one years of age moved to Missouri, where he lived two years and
then came to Iowa, and afterward moved to Nauvoo, Hancock County,
Illinois, where he became a member of the Church of the Latter-Day
Saints, in 1846. He then came back to the old homestead, where Mrs.
STOKER still lives, and cultivated a portion of the land before his
death, which occurred July 18, 1855, lacking but a few days of being
thirty-nine years old, and leaving a widow and seven children, viz.:
Orson Hyde, who lives near Yorkshire, Harrison County, Iowa, is married
and has seven children: Allen, who lives near Union Grove, Harrison
County and has five children; Michel E., lives near Union Grove,
Harrison County; Lavina, the wife of William SPEARS, lives in
Pottawattamie County, and has six children, Mary, wife of William
SHENE, of Garner Township, has three children; Calpernia, lives in
Minden Township, the wife of George SPEARS, and has four children; and
Lucretia, who lives in Garner Township, the wife of William HEILEMAN.
Mrs. STOKER has had a wonderful experience on living in Iowa and she
has witnessed the growth and prosperity of the State.
ALBERT STONE, a farmer of section 29,
Carson Twp, has been a resident of this county since October 1883. He
was born in Mahoning County, Ohio, Oct 7, 1843, son of Orman STONE, a
native of Connecticut and a farmer all his life. Albert's mother, whose
maiden name was Polly MINARD, was a native of Connecticut. The parents
moved first to New York State and finally to Mahoning Co, Ohio, being
among the first settlers there and remaining there until their death,
bringing up four sons and four daughters.
ALBERT, the youngest of the family, of course was reared upon a farm.
During the War, under the first call for 300,000 men, August 22, 1862,
he enlisted in Company A, 125th Ohio Volunteer Infantry and served
until the close of the War. The first battle in which his regiment
engaged was at Franklin, Tennessee, and afterward in the battles of
Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Dandridge and was with General Sherman
in his Georgia campaign, participating in the battles of Resaca,
Kennesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, New Hope Church, Buzzard's Roost,
Chickopee River, siege of Atlanta, Jonesboro, pursuit of Hood from
Nashville, Spring Hill and Franklin again, besides many skirmishes. He
was honorably discharged in June 1865. In 1872 in Hancock Co, Ohio, he
married Miss Leticia ECKERT, who was born and reared in that county,
the daughter of natives of Ohio. Mr. Stone then moved to Putnam Co,
Ohio, where he lived 11 years. In 1883 he came to Pottawattamie County
and purchased his present farm of the Furgeson Brothers (G.M. and J.L.
Furgeson). The first improvements on this farm were made by Charles
German. It contains 110 acres and is good land, in a good condition.
Mr. Stone is a radical Republican. The children are: Sullivan, John W.,
William E., Emma L., Edna B., and Mabel M.
Stone, Calohill E.
CALOHILL E. STONE, a retired attorney.
The subject of this sketch has been prominent in the building of
Council Bluffs since 1853, and is probably the oldest resident of Iowa.
He is a native of Botetourt County, Virginia, born January 24, 1814. He
is the fourth son and seventh child of twelve children of Moses H. and
Nancy (WHITTEN) STONE, who were natives of Bedford county, Virginia.
The father was a son of Macajah STONE, a native of Bedford County,
Virginia and of English descent. The mother was a daughter of William
WHITTEN, also a native of Bedford County, Virginia, and of Welsh
ancestry. When our subject was four years of age his parents moved to
Kentucky and settled in Adair County, where he was reared until he was
sixteen, when he removed to Sangamon County, Illinois, where his
parents died, the father dying June 16, 1831 and his mother August 10,
Mr. Stone followed farming in Illinois until June 1, 1836, when he came
to Fort Madison, Iowa , and engaged in the mercantile business for a
short time, after which he studied law in Lee County, and was admitted
to the bar in 1844. In the spring of 1837 he was drawn on the first
grand jury in the Territory, but under the law of Michigan (to which
Iowa then belonged) laws required grand jurors to be freeholders; and
as there wan not one in the Territory, the jury was discharged as
illegal. In 1844 he began the practice of his profession in Keokuk,
which he followed until 1853, when he came to Council Bluffs and
followed his profession successfully until 1879, when his eyesight
failed him and he was obliged to abandon his profession. He was elected
to the office of Justice of the Peace, which he held three terms;
following this he was twice elected to the office of Assessor of the
city. In 1855 he was elected the first Mayor of Council Bluffs, and
under his administration the city was organized. He served in this
capacity for two years. He was married December 6. 1848, at Keokuk, to
Miss Ann McFADDEN, a native of Terre Haute, Indiana, and a daughter of
William and Eliza (LEE) McFADDEN. The former was a native of
Pennsylvanian and the latter of Terre Haute. Mr. and Mrs. Stone are the
parents of four children, two of whom survive. Frank died in 1880, a
the age of twenty-nine, Kate, born in Council Bluffs, is the wife of
A.F. MEGGS, of Portland, Oregon, and Charles E. Mrs. Stone is a member
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically Mr.. Stone is a Democrat.
Strong, S. C.
S.C. STRONG has been a resident of
Pottawattamie County since 1864 and is one of the well-to-do farmers
and worthy citizens of Center Township. He was born in Ohio, October
13, 1837. His father, James M. STRONG, was born in New England and was
a babe when his parents moved to Ohio. In that state, he grew to
manhood and was married in Meigs County to Miss Melissa BARKER, who was
born in 1816. When their son C.S., the subject of this sketch, was nine
years old, they came to Iowa and settled in Jefferson County, coming
via the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers to Keokuk, and from there by teams
to Jefferson County. There the son attended school in a log cabin and
worked on a farm, remaining with his father until he reached his
majority. At the age of twenty-one, he was united in marriage with Lucy
CLOVER, a lady of intelligence who has proved herself a helpmate to her
husband thus far on life’s journey. She was born near Deerfield, Ohio,
and was ten years old when she came to Jefferson County, Iowa, with her
parents, James and Emily (SMILLEN) CLOVER.
In 1864, as already stated at the beginning
of this sketch, Mr. STRONG came to Pottawattamie County. His parents,
who came here at the same time, lived on a farm until 1889, when they
moved to Oakland, where they are passing their declining days in peace
and comfort. The father is now seventy-eight years of age. Mr. STRONG
was among the pioneers of this county, the land on which he settled
being wild and unimproved. He now owns a fine farm of 260 acres; has
comfortable and substantial buildings and good fences, broad pastures
and well cultivated fields and two groves. He also has a fine orchard
from which, in 1889, he gathered 1,200 bushels of fruit. He raises
annually large numbers of cattle and hogs.
Mr. And Mrs. STRONG have five children,
namely: Alice CONVERSE, who for years has been a successful teacher in
California and is now in Oakland, this county, and has one son, Thomas,
who married Addie BUTLER, daughter of William B. BUTLER of this
township and has one child; William Fred, a student at Simpson’s
College, Indianola, Iowa; James Clover and Charlie Cook, at home. They
lost two children by death: Florence Belle, February 17, 1883, at the
age of twenty-one years and fifteen days; and Mary Catherine, at the
age of six months. Florence Belle was a general favorite with her
associates and was known far and wide for her Christian virtues, her
amiable qualities and her cheerful and affectionate disposition. She
was gifted with musical talent, and rendered valuable services to the
choir of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which she was a consistent
member. She was an affectionate daughter and sister, and her untimely
death cast a gloom not only over the home circle but also over all
those who knew her during her brief but useful life.
Mr. STRONG and his wife are members of the
Methodist Episcopal Church, Hancock, Circuit, and their son, William,
is also a zealous worker in the cause of religion. Politically, Mr.
STRONG is a Republican. He has served the public in several township
Stuhr, J. H. C.
J. H. C. STUHR, one of the most
prominent business men of Minden, was born in Holstein, Germany,
February 27, 1841, and was but sixteen years of age when he came to
America. In 1857 he went to Davenport, Iowa, where he worked at the
trade of stone mason and also at farm work; he was a weaver by trade in
the old country. In 1861, after the three months' service men had
returned, he enlisted in Company I, Twelfth Missouri Infantry, as a
private. He had previously made several attempts to enlist, but failed
owing to the eagerness to enlist in Iowa regiments. He missed the
battle of Pea Ridge, owing to sickness, and was in the hospital at St.
Louis six weeks. He then returned to his regiment, and was on the march
through Missouri, Arkansas and in many skirmishes. His first severe
battle was at Vicksburg. He was next at Fort Heintman, on the Little
Red River; next at Lookout Mountain, where he captured thirteen
prisoners and afterward had charge of them; he himself carried their
arms. Then he was at the battle of Mission Ridge, and afterward at that
of Ringgold, Georgia, and here his regiment met with severe loss in men
and officers. He was also in the battle of Atlanta, Georgia, detailed
as Orderly, and from there he went with Sherman on his famous march to
the sea as far as Savannah, Georgia. He became a dispatcher for General
Osterhouse, and also served a short time under General John A. Logan as
Orderly, and still has in his possession one of the General's passes.
He served altogether four years and five months, and was honorably
discharged at St. Louis, Missouri, January 15, 1866. Mr. STUHR served
three years as drummer in the old State militia, and at the battle of
Lookout Mountain he served as bugler.
At Ringgold, Georgia, when his Captain,
Joseph Ladegerber, was shot and mortally wounded, he was carried off
the field by Mr. STUHR and three companions, under a flank fire. He
says that $10,000 would not tempt him to take such a risk again. They
took the Captain along the railroad over one and a half miles distant,
and all the way the enemy poured a fierce fire at them. Throughout all
his experience Mr. STUHR received no wounds, but at one time his
blanket was shot through without touching him. Thus our young soldier
faced the Rebel bullets for his adopted country, and then resumed
Returning to Davenport, Iowa, he engaged in teaming, and the next year
rented a farm in Scott County, where he resided until 1875, when he
came to Pottawattamie County. Here, in company with J. Stamp, he
purchased 205 acres in Pleasant Township and 160 acres in Harrison
County, but dissolved partnership in 1883. In 1887 he came to Minden,
where he became business manager for John L. Daw & Co., in buying
grain; this season he bought 60,000 bushels of barley. Mr. STUHR is a
self-made man, having worked his way up from boyhood in a strange
country, becoming first a soldier and defender of his country's rights,
and is now an honorable American citizen. Socially he is an Odd Fellow,
and has held the offices of Noble Grand and Treasurer. He is a member
of the Dick Yates Post, G.A.R., at Shelby, Iowa. He is a man who is
best known for his sterling qualities and integrity, and he is a credit
to the sturdy German stock from which he came.
Mr. STUHR was married October 6, 1866, to Eva ARON, and they are the
parents of eight living children, namely: Emma, William, Mary, Clara,
Katie, Matilda, Dora and Hannah. Mr. STUHR's first wife died, and he
was again married to Abel LINAN, and by this marriage there are four
children: Emil, Olga, Alma and Johnnie.
Stuhr, John P.
John P. STUHR, one of the leading
merchants of Minden, was born in Schleswig, Germany, January 12, 1844.
September 12, 1862, he came to Davenport, Iowa, where he attended
school until September 6, 1864, when he enlisted in Company B, Eighth
Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and served under General A. J. Smith. He
fought in the two battles of Spanish Fort, Mobile, Fort Blakely,
Alabama, at Island No. 13 against the famous Quantrell in 1864, and at
Memphis, Tennessee. He was wounded in the knee by a bayonet at Island
No. 13, in an encounter with Quantrell and the James boys, but was
taken from the field on a mule by a comrade. Previously he had a very
narrow escape from these same guerrillas. With thirteen companions he
was detailed from the picket boat Pocahontas by First Lieutenant John
Nelson Gardner to Island No. 10, to search for bushwhackers, rebels and
cotton. This little command, under the leadership of Mr. STUHR, landed
on the island, and he pushed his way through the dense cane, which grew
twenty feet high, with his hands, for about one and a half miles at the
head of the detail. The party finally came to a clearing of about forty
acres, where a small cabin was found containing two men and two women,
who were badly frightened. Forcing them to stand in the corner, Mr.
STUHR and three companions, they having been separated from the rest in
the dense cane, ate a scanty meal of baked beans and pork; then,
leaving the people in the cabin, proceeded. In about four hours' travel
they came upon another small cabin made of logs, and here Mr. STUHR
opened the door and found two small boys. Upon asking for food the boys
replied that they had biscuits and molasses, and told the soldiers to
help themselves. While eating a shadow passed the window, and Mr. STUHR
ran out and called to the man to halt, and bringing him in the cabin
made him stand in the corner. The prisoner, speaking in low German,
asked if Mr. STUHR was not a low German and came from Schleswig. Mr.
STUHR said that he was, and the prisoner asked why he was there; and on
being answered that the party were from a steamer in the river and were
searching for bushwhackers and cotton, the prisoner replied that it was
fortunate for them that they went no further, and said that a short
distance away were 300 guerrillas, and that by stepping to the door and
whistling they could be called at any moment. Mr. STUHR took him to the
door and said, show me to their camping place, telling him that if he
whistled or made any sign, even if he was a countryman, he would shoot
him on the spot. They proceeded about 120 rods, and saw through the
cane into another clearing about 300 yards away about 300 bushwhackers
amusing themselves by jumping. Taking his prisoner with him and
commanding silence at the peril of his life, he retreated with his
companions to the shore and found their steamer within hailing
distance, and leaving their prisoner behind were soon safely on board.
Had they not found the steamer they would have been forced to take the
prisoner and little boys to Memphis. This is one of the most narrow
escapes from hanging on record. The names of Mr. STUHR's companions
were: Charles ASHERMAN, Christ MUHL and Gotfried MANHAUVER.
While on duty at Memphis, Tennessee, in the slaughter-house, a Second
Iowa Cavalry man, by the name of Christian, came in with an order for a
fore-quarter of beef, and tried to force Mr. STUHR to give him a hind
quarter. Mr. STUHR immediately placed his bayonet at his breast, and
the cavalryman gracefully retired with his fore-quarter. On a trip down
the Mississippi on a steamer Mr. STUHR and three companions captured
two Confederate soldiers, a Captain and a Lieutenant, by the vigilance
of Mr. STUHR, who called attention to them.
Mr. STUHR came to Minden in 1875, and on August 1, 1881, he bought the
store of Bartlett & Co., and engaged in the general merchandise
business, in which he has since continued. He has been Township
Assessor in this county, also Road Supervisor in Scott County.
Politically he is a Democrat, and socially a member of the Knights of
Pythias. He is one of the most popular men in Minden, and has been
recently elected by a large majority as the first Mayor of Minden, the
town having been recently incorporated. He was also Postmaster of that
town four years, under Cleveland's administration. He is well-known as
a sociable and enterprising merchant. It can well be said of him that
he has done as much toward building up Minden as any other prominent
man of the town. His son, Julius, a capable clerk in his father's
store, was elected Recorder of the town at the same election.
He was married in Davenport, Iowa, May 26, 1866, to Amelia CORNELIUS,
who was born in Germany, October 28, 1846, the daughter of Marcus and
Anna (MULLER) CORNELIUS, both natives of that country. Mr. and Mrs.
STUHR have six children: Alvina A., Julius, John M. R., Adelia H.,
William and Walter. They are both members of the Lutheran Church.
Socially, Mr. STUHR is a Knight of Pythias, and politically a Democrat.
He is now the leading merchant and the Mayor of Minden, to which office
he was elected by a large majority.
Sullivan and Virtue
SULLIVAN & VIRTUE are the
proprietors of the only livery, sale and feed stable in Macedonia. It
is located on Main Street, near the principal hotel and convenient to
the business portion of the town. They keep in stock a good class of
driving and road horses, and vehicles of all kinds that are needed in
that community. The livery business in this village was inaugurated ten
years ago by Mitchell Brothers, on the north side of Main Street, and
since then there have been several changes in proprietorship, etc.:
Bryant Brothers, Neil Stockton, Charles Murphy, and Mr. Mains – the
last of whom sold out to Mr. J. B. SULLIVAN, the senior member of the
present firm. The barn, 42 X 80 feet and two stories high, was built in
1882 or 1883 by Charles SMITH.
Mr. SULLIVAN was born near Muncie, Delaware
County, Indiana, in 1860, son of Samuel and Eliza SULLIVAN. He was
brought up on a farm; lived some nine months in Clarke County, Ohio;
then came to Boone County, Iowa, and two years afterward, in January
1878 he arrived in Pottawattamie County, first settling in Silver Creek
Township. Purchasing a farm, he engaged in agricultural pursuits. In
1884 he came to Macedonia, and in 1886 purchased the livery stock
already mentioned. He is a popular liveryman and is a genial citizen.
He was married in 1884 at Oskaloosa, Iowa, to Miss Ida STEVENS, and
they have one child, Florence.
J. P. VIRTUE, the junior member of
the above firm, was born in 1857 in Fulton County, Illinois, a son of
Thomas and Mary VIRTUE; was reared upon an Illinois farm. He is a
member of Hillsdale Lodge No. 331, I.O.O.F. and Ruby Lodge No. 444,
F.&A.M., at Macedonia. He is a genial bachelor who looks upon the
bright side of life and is a favorite among his acquaintances.
Sylvester, John A.
JOHN A. SYLVESTER, of section 20, Garner
Township, has been a resident of this county ever since 1861. He was
born in North Carolina, Pitt County, October 26, 1829, a son of John
SYLVESTER, Sr., who was born in 1802, in Boston, of Pilgrim stock, and
is still living. His ancestors participated both in the Revolutionary
war and in that of 1812. Mr. SYLVESTER's mother's name before marriage
was Cassandra SLAUGHTER. She too was born in Pitt County, North
Carolina. The parents of the subject of this sketch were married in
1828, and then emigrated to Randolph County, Indiana, where the father
was a cooper by trade; earlier in life he was a sailor.
Mr. SYLVESTER of this sketch also learned the cooper trade and worked
on the farm. Arriving at age he became a teacher, in his home district.
In 1853 he came to Dallas County, Iowa; two years afterward he went to
Minnesota and two years after that again he went to Missouri and taught
school near St. Joseph; finally he came to Council Bluffs in 1861.
February 20, 1863, he married Mrs. Adelphia McDONALD, a lady of high
culture, born near Springfield, Sangamon County, Illinois, a daughter
of John and Adelphia (HARPER) WOODS, natives of Kentucky. She was
twelve years of age when her mother, in 1838, settled in Des Moines
County, Iowa, and she was reared there and in Henry and Mahaska
counties, this State. On reaching the age of twenty-one years she
married Milton McDONALD, a resident of Mahaska county at that time. In
1850 they moved to Putnam County, Missouri, and in the spring of 1851
they came to Pottawattamie County, settling April 24, on a farm where
she now lives, then a Mormon claim, upon which was a small log cabin
and a limited portion of the ground broken. Here Mr. McDONALD died,
July 8, 1862, at the age of forty-five years, a sincere member of the
Methodist Episcopal Church. They had four children, three of whom are
now living: Amanda Ellen, now the wife of W. H. MULLEN, of Council
Bluffs; Marshall F., a prominent attorney of St. Louis, Missouri; and
Mary F., now Mrs. M. R. FRANK, also of Council Bluffs. They lost one
child by death, William F., at the age of seven years. By the present
union Mr. and Mrs. SYLVESTER have three children, namely: John MILTON,
a successful teacher; Ada C., and Elmer H., the latter also a teacher.
The family occupy a fine brick house, surrounded by evergreen and noble
forest trees. Mr. SYLVESTER is a Republican, and has been Justice of
the Peace. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal