Return to the Pottawattamie Co. home page. |  1891 Biography Home  |  Name Index  
Welicome to the 1891 Biographical History of Pottawattamie County






M  through  N

 


Mackay, Thomas J.


REV. THOMAS J. MACKAY, the present rector of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, was born January 8, 1844, in County Mayo, Ireland. Our subject was reared in his native county until his ninth year, when he came to America with his parents, locating in western Pennsylvania. When he was sixteen years of age, he engaged in the dry-goods business in Worcester, Massachusetts, where he remained one year. He then enlisted in the 42nd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, serving six months, after which he again engaged in the dry-goods business in western Pennsylvania. Next he entered the St. Stephen's College, Amondale, New York, from which he entered the Cambridge Episcopal Theological School. He took his first parish in 1874 in Boston, Massachusetts, where he remained until 1877; thence he went to Fort Worth, Texas, where he erected a church and remained one year; next he went to Central City, Colorado; thence to Leadville, Colorado, where he erected St. George's Church, having held services in the opera building two years. He remained there four years, and then came to Council Bluffs, where he has since remained.

Mr. MACKAY was married September 1878 to Georgia COONS, a native of St. Louis, Missouri and they have three children: Odin C., Ralph R., and Robert M. Mr. MACKAY is a member of the Ivanhoe Commandery, K.T., No. 17; Bluff City Lodge, A.F.&A.M., and the R.A.M., No. 156. He has been Eminent Commander and Prelate of Ivanhoe Commandery and the Regent of the Royal Arcanum. In connection with this sketch, we will add a short history of his present church, the St. Paul's Episcopal Church of Council Bluffs.

The parish of this church was organized April 17, 1856, through the efforts of E. W. PEET, then in Des Moines, he being the first Episcopal minister to hold services in this county. The congregation worshiped at that time in the rooms now occupied by the American Express Company, corner of Broadway and Main Streets. The first vestry was composed of the following members: J. B. BESS, Horace EVERETT, W. C. JAMES, J. P. CONADY, D. C. BLOOMER, A. COCHRAN, J.P. TREYNOR, Samuel PERIN, and G. M. DODGE. Two of these, Horace EDVERETT and D.C. BLOOMER, have always been and are still members of the same vestry.

August 1, 1857 the cornerstone of the proposed church building was laid by the Right Rev. Henry W. LEE, the Bishop of Iowa, assisted by the Rev. George W. WATSON and the missionary in charge. A brief history of the parish, the newspapers of the city, a few coins and other interesting articles were deposited in a box prepared for the purpose, and over this a large stone was placed. The hard times coming on, nothing further was done toward the building of the church, and the cornerstone remained undisturbed with its contents until about three years ago, when someone overturned the stone and stole the contents. A small frame edifice was erected, however, on the same lot in 1860, and this building was enlarged in 1868 by the addition of transepts, and is still standing as a place of worship being used by the congregation of All Saints' Mission.

The first pastor was Rev. George W. WATSON, who took charge in February 1857, and who also had a charge in Omaha, dividing his time equally between the two. He remained in charge until 1862, when he was succeeded by Rev. Faber BYLLESBY, who remained from 1862 to 1865. The third rector was Rev. John CHAMBERLAIN, who resigned in 1871, and was succeeded by Rev. Theophilus BROOKS, who remained three years. The Rev. F. T. WEBB was then elected, and held the position until the fall of 1882, when he accepted a call in Helena, Montana, and the present rector, T. J. MACKAY, was called and entered upon his duties in January 1883.

The present edifice, the only church in the city built of stone, was erected at a cost of about $50,000 and is the finest, both in interior and exterior, in Council Bluffs and is surpassed by but few in the West. It was opened for services Sunday, September 5, 1886, and since that time the society has had a period of wonderful prosperity. A fine new pipe organ has been placed in the church, the services being equal if not superior to many of the old established churches. Since the accession of the present minister, Rev. T. J. MACKAY, the church has more than doubled its membership, and has now a flourishing mission church in the western part of the city, with a Sunday-school of over 100. The church building and grounds were the gift of Mrs. S. C. KEY, a noble-hearted Christian who is well known as a warm friend to all worthy objects. Another church, Unity Mission, is organized and at work in the eastern part of the city and the present rector hopes soon to have three self-supporting Episcopal churches in Council Bluffs. This church has the following healthy organizations: Ladies' Aid Society, Unity Guild of Unity Mission, All Saints Guild of All Saints Mission, Daughters of the King, and Missionary Host. The present officers of the church are: Rev. T. J. MACKAY, Rector; Rev. C. H. BOHN, Associate Rector; D. C. BLOOMER and M. DUQUETTE, Wardens; John BALDWIN, Horace EVERETT, J. F. KIMBALL, S. P. McCONNELL, H. C. BESLEY, Thomas CALVIN, W. J. JAMESON, M. E. SMITH, John T. STEWART, Vestry; J. F. KIMBALL, Treasurer; Charles CALVIN Secretary. The church has a membership of over 400.




Mackland, Elizabeth


MRS. ELIZABETH MACKLAND of Boomer Township, was born in Cheshire, England, October 24, 1832, a daughter of Joseph and Hannah (HARRISON) BARDSLEY, parents also natives of the Albion Isle. Her father was a weaver by trade. The family comprised eight children: Thomas, William, Mary, Martha, Joseph, Robert, Margaret, and John, all of whom are now deceased. Mr. Bardsley, being the fifth child, was born July 15, 1800, was brought up in the trade of his father, but as soon as convenient, he learned the trade of boot and shoe making. His wife, born July 10, 1810, was the daughter of John and Martha HARRISON, natives of England. Mr. HARRISON was a mechanic and machinist, and his children were: Samuel, Hannah, John, Mary, Elizabeth, William and Joseph, besides one deceased.

Mrs. M. Bardsley being the second child was married in 1830 and remained a resident of the old home until she died, March 7, 1844, leaving three children: Mary and Martha, both deceased, and Elizabeth, the subject of this sketch. After the death of the mother, the father remained in England until 1850, when he sailed from Liverpool for America, landing at New Orleans, after a voyage of eleven weeks. He proceeded to St. Louis, and to Kanesville (now Council Bluffs), and finally located in Keg Creek, where he was a resident until 1855; and in 1852 he married Mrs. Bettie HANDBURY, and in 1854 bought 200 acres of land in Neola Township, and began to make a home.. After making many improvements, he died December 20, 1860, leaving his wife and three children: John is a merchant in Neola Township; Charles is still on the old home place and a thrifty farmer; and Thomas is practicing law in Walnut. Mrs. Bardsley is still living, near her eldest daughter, and she has accumulated considerable property.

March 26, 1852, when twenty years of age, Elizabeth married John MACKLAND, the son of Thomas and Ann (UNION) MACKLAND, natives of England; father a brick maker by trade, and in his family were ten children: Maria, John, Eliza, Ellen, Henry, Elizabeth, Phoebe, and three others. John JACKLAND was born in 1829, brought up in his father's trade, which he followed to some extent after his arrival in this country. Purchasing 160 acres of land in Neola Township, he continued to make many valuable improvements as a foundation for a comfortable home; but in 1865, he moved into Boomer Township and bought a tract of land on section 34, which is now the old home place. Here he began anew, in a wild, unbroken prairie, with only a log cabin and a few acres of sod turned. In a few years, he was enabled to put up a good frame house. He planted shade trees, etc., and made a fine residence. He died October 4, 1876, leaving a wife and eight children.  The latter are: Anna, born 1853, now the wife of John LAYTHEM, and residing at Neola; Joseph, born in 1855, and now residing in Boomer Twp.; Emma, born in 1858, is now Mrs. John McGILL of Council Bluffs; Thomas, born in 1860, and residing in Boomer; William Henry, born in 1862, still at home; Mary Ellen, born in 1865, is the wife of Henry PAGE, and living in Boomer; Elizabeth, born in 1868, now at home; and Phoebe, born in 1870, is married to Jefferson SIGLER, a resident of Boomer Township.

Mr. MACKLAND was a decided Democrat, a man who took an interest in benevolent societies, and earned a good reputation by his integrity of character. He was, as Mrs. Mackland still is, a member of the Church of Latter Day Saints, being zealous in the principles of that denomination.




Macrae, Donald


DONALD MACRAE, one of the oldest practicing physicians and surgeons of Council Bluffs, his professional labor dating from 1861, is a native of Scotland, born in Rosshire, October 3, 1839, a son of Rev. Donald MACRAE of the Free Church of Scotland. His mother was Jessie RUSSELL, a daughter of the Rev. James RUSSELL of Gairloch, Rosshire, Scotland. Dr. Macrae’s education was received at the University of Edinburgh, where he graduated from the medical department in August 1861. He practiced in the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary for a year and a half, after which he accepted a position as surgeon for the Cunard Steamship Company, and during his four years’ service, he crossed the Atlantic Ocean seventy-five times! His last trip landed him in New York City, where he was united in marriage with Miss Charlotte, daughter of the late Joseph DOUCHETTE, Surveyor General of Canada, who died in 1881 at the age of eighty-six years. Mrs. MACRAE is a native of Canada, as above stated.

Dr. MACRAE came to Council Bluffs in March 1867 and engaged in the practice of his profession, and soon built up a successful and lucrative practice and has won the confidence of all who know him. In connection with his extensive practice, he has been identified with the Omaha Medical College since 1881, where he is Professor of the Principles and Practices of Medicine, and also Dean of the faculty. In 1887-88, he was President of the Iowa State Medical Society and of the Medical Society of the Missouri Valley, as well. At the meeting of the International Medical Congress, held at Washington, District of Columbia, he was Vice President of the surgical section. He is a member of the A.F.&A.M., Council Bluffs Lodge, and is Past Master of the A.O.U.W., and a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mrs. MACRAE is a member of the Episcopal Church. Dr. and Mrs. MACRAE are the parents of one son, Donald, born January 24, 1870, who is now studying medicine at the University of Michigan. Dr. MACRAE is a Democrat but has had little time to attend to political issues. He served as a member of the School Board for two years, and in 1890 was elected on the citizens’ non-partisan ticket as Mayor of Council Bluffs, by a large majority




Manhattan, The


The Manhattan is a tobacco and cigar store and billiard parlor owned and managed by Nicholas O’BRIEN. It was established in March 1887 at 418 Broadway, by George RUDIO and Frank YENEWINE. The present proprietor purchased the place in July 1889 and carries a superb line of domestic and imported cigars, tobacco, etc., and keeps a nicely equipped billiard hall in connection.

Mr. O’BRIEN was born November 6, 1859, in Pottawattamie County, Iowa, the fourth child of John and Mary (GAULDIN) O’BRIEN, natives of Ireland. His father is deceased and his mother is still living at Neola, this county. He was reared to farm life, began to take care of himself at the age of eighteen years, and in 1881 came to this city, where he was first appointed on the police patrol, in which capacity he served for seven years and then appointed Captain of police, where he served two years. He was next appointed Deputy United States Marshal for one year, under E. CAMPBELL, then he engaged in his present business. Politically, he is a decided Democrat. He is a member of the A.O.H., in which body he now holds the office of Marshal of the Day.

He was married October 3, 1883, to Miss Katie MADDEN, daughter of James and Ellen (WALLACE) MADDEN, and born in Council Bluffs, August 25, 1863. They are members of the Catholic Church and reside at 1032 Sixth Avenue.




Martin, Andrew


ANDREW MARTIN, lumber merchant, and the agent of the Green Bay Lumber Company, of Des Moines, Iowa, is one of the reliable businessmen of Walnut. He was born in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, July 11, 1858. His father, Captain Andrew MARTIN, is a naval officer of Germany and is now on the retired list. He was the father of two children, Andrew and Almo.

Andrew MARTIN, the subject of this sketch, received a high school education in Germany. At the age of twenty-three, in 1889, he came to America and having learned the English language in Germany, he soon acquired the correct speech. Mr. MARTIN came directly to Davenport, Iowa, and the same year to Walnut, and purchased a farm of 130 acres of land in Monroe Township, Shelby County, and farmed for two years and then he engaged in the present business, owning an interest.

In 1884 he married Margaretta KLEINGARN, a native of Germany, and they are the parents of three children: Bertha, Waldmar and Otto. In religious belief, Mr. And Mrs. MARTIN are Lutherans. In political opinion, Mr. MARTIN is a Democrat, and socially a member of the Odd Fellows and United Workmen. He is a man well known as a straightforward businessman of integrity and ability and has the confidence of the businessmen of the county.



Martin, Ira L.


Ira L. MARTIN, Silver Creek Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, is one of the well-known and successful men of the township. He has made his home here since the spring of 1874 and is highly esteemed by all who know him. An outline of his life is as follows:

Mr. Martin was born in Darke County, Ohio, August 21, 1840, son of Ira and Jane (WOODS) MARTIN, natives of Pennsylvania. He was a youth of sixteen years when his family moved to Logan County, Illinois, and settled ten miles north of Lincoln. The mother died in that county in 1879 and the father subsequently came to Pottawattamie County where he died in 1885 at Macedonia. The latter was a farmer all his life; was a member of the Christian Church and cast his vote with the Democratic party. They reared five children, four of whom are now living: Ira L., John, Harriet Jane, and W. J. Montgomery served three years in the later War. He was a member of the One Hundred and Sixth Illinois Infantry Volunteers, and died of disease contracted while in the service.

In 1871 Ira L. Martin moved to Gentry County, Missouri, where he was married to Miss Barbara KERR, a lady of much intelligence and refinement, who was born in Dane County, Wisconsin, and reared in Fayette County, Iowa. Her parents, John and Eliza (HANEY) KERR, were both born in Pennsylvania state, and her father was one of the early settlers and pioneers of Fayette County. Mr. Martin remained in Gentry County, Missouri, until 1874 when he came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, and bought eighty acres of wild land on which he now resides. He was one of the early settlers of this part of the county. Since he took up his residence here, he has met with prosperity and has added to his first purchase, now being the owner of 200 acres of land, as good a farm as there is in the neighborhood. He has a comfortable modern home, built in 1890, at a cost of $850. The main part is 16 X 26 feet, 14 feet high, with an L, 14 X 20 feet, and a summer kitchen, 14 X 18 feet. His farm is divided into five fields and is supplied with stables, cribs, and other buildings. He has a grove and an orchard of three acres.

Mr. and Mrs. Martin have eight children, namely: Edward Clarence, Albert Meerton, Alfred, Artellia Belle, Carrie, Emma, Oscar, Cora Elizabeth and Lawrence. He and his wife are members of the Christian Church. In politics, he is a Democrat. He is a friend to education, good morals and religion, and any movement that has for its object the advancement of the best interests of his community is sure to find in him an earnest supporter.



Martin, Martha


MARTHA MARTIN is one of the self-reliant women of Valley Township, who, after the death of her husband, Robert Martin, has successfully carried on the farm and reared her family. Robert Martin was born in County Antrim, Ireland, and was the son of James Martin, who was born at that place, and was a farmer by occupation. He married Susan TAYLOR, and they were the parents of four children: Daniel, James, Robert and Jane. The father lived to the age of eighty-seven years, dying in his native place. Both he and his wife were members of the Presbyterian Church. His son Daniel married and was the father of five children, and also died in County Antrim. The remainder of the children came to America.

Robert MARTIN, a son of the above, and the husband of our subject, was born about 1832, on his father's farm, who had been born, reared and died there. At the age of seventeen, wishing to better his fortune, he came to America, landing at Philadelphia. He learned the trade of ingrain-carpet weaver, at which he worked until about 1860. In 1856 he went to Illinois, and June 3 was married to Martha McBRIDE, of Fulton, Illinois, and the daughter of John and Elizabeth McBRIDE. The father, a Scotch-Irishman, was born in County Antrim, Ireland, and after marriage moved to County Derry, about three miles from where James Martin lived. In 1842 he came to America, settling at Philadelphia, where he worked at his trade of weaver, which he had learned in Scotland. He died in Philadelphia about three years after his arrival. Mr. and Mrs. McBride were the parents of five children: Isabel, Mary J., William, Ellen and Martha. The mother also died in Philadelphia, previous to her husband's death, and they were both members of the Presbyterian Church, in which the father was an Elder and a devout Christian.
Martha was a little girl of about six years when her parents died, and she was brought up in Philadelphia by a married sister, Mary J. THOMPSON, wife of Daniel Thompson, who moved to Fulton County, Illinois, where she lived three years, until her marriage to Robert MARTIN. They then returned to Philadelphia, remaining until 1862, when they settled on a farm in Ontario, Canada, remaining until 1871, and in that year they came to their present home. When they settled here it was wild land, and they first lived in tents, but by industry and economy this faithful pioneer couple converted their farm into fine, fertile land, and to which they have added until Mrs. Martin now owns 160 acres in her own right, and her sons have 240 acres more, making in all 400 acres of splendid farm land. January 16, 1880, Mr. Martin died, since which time his widow has carried on the farm and brought up her family. She possesses good business ability and is an excellent manager. She is the mother of seven children, viz.: Mary J., deceased in infancy; Ella J., also deceased in infancy; William J., of Hancock, was married to Margaret J. DOOL, and they have one child; Robert J. was married to Louisa E. BAIR; Daniel T. married Mina BRITTON; Annie E. married Albert PETERSON, this county, and Emma M. Both Mr. and Mrs. Martin were members of the Presbyterian Church, and the former assisted in organizing the Knox Presbyterian Church, in which he was an elder until his death. In his political views he was a Republican, and he had an honest ambition to have his family in comfortable circumstances, and to grow up good, moral and industrious men and women, with Christian principles. He was a kind father and loving husband, and his descendants may well revere his memory. Mrs. Martin has, in a measure, since his death filled his place, and has instilled in her children the same principles of truth and honesty.




Martin, W. J.


W. J. MARTIN was born in Logan County, Illinois, May 5, 1859. His parents, Ira and Eliza (WOOD) MARTIN, both natives of Pennsylvania, were married in Ohio and subsequently removed to Illinois, settling in Logan County. His mother died when he was twenty-two years of age, and his father died in 1885, at the age of seventy-two years. He was a farmer all his life, a Democrat, and a member of the Christian Church. This worthy couple were the parents of five children, namely: Ira, of Silver Creek Township; John, at Macedonia; Harriet Jane, at Carson; William J., whose name heads this sketch; and Montgomery, a soldier in the late war, died from disease contracted while in the service.

William J. was reared on a farm in his native county and received his education in the public schools of that place. In 1879 he left Logan County and came to Iowa, settling in Pottawattamie County. He purchased 80 acres of land in Silver Creek Township, where he now resides, and to this, in 1885, he added 80 acres more, now having 160 acres of rich and productive soil. It is well improved and is adapted for stock and grain. He has a frame house 16 X 24 feet, one and a half stories high, with a one story addition, 12 X 14 feet. It is surrounded by a fine grove and orchard, and makes an attractive home. He has stables and cribs for the accommodation of stock and farm products, and his land is divided into four fields.

Mr. MARTIN was married in Council Bluffs in 1881, to Miss Eveline COOK, a successful teacher. Her father, Howley COOK, was born in Otsego, New York, February 11, 1811, and died in Fillmore County, Minnesota, September 30, 1887. For several years he was a teacher, but later in life gave his attention to agricultural pursuits. Mrs. Martin's mother was nee Mary SEWARD. She was born in Cattaraugus County, New York, December 1, 1821, and departed this life January 28, 1863. She was a Christian woman and a member of the Baptist Church. Mr. And Mrs. MARTIN have two children: Lela Frances and Ira Elmer.

Politically, Mr. MARTIN is a Democrat. He is a man in the prime of life, frank and cordial in his manner to all and honorable in every respect. Mrs. MARTIN is a constant member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.



Maxfield, William H.


WILLIAM H. MAXFIELD, one of the prominent and substantial farmers of section 24, was born in Prince Edward's Island, August 12, 1841, the son of William and Sarah Ann (Picketts) Maxfield. The father was born in Yorkshire,England, about 1810, and was a young boy when his mother moved to Prince Edward's Island, when he grew to maturity and learned the shoemaker's trade, but afterward turned his attention to farming. In 1850 he came to the United States and located at Council Bluffs, where he died about one month after his arrival. He was a member of the church of the Latter-Day Saints. His wife was a native of Prince Edward's Island,but her people were from Prussia. She died in this neighborhood, November 5, 1872, when fifty-two years of age. After her husband's death she married Benjamin Minturn, and resided here until her death. She was also a member of the Latter-Day Saints.

Mr. and Mrs. Maxfield had five children, four of whom still survive: John P., a prominent farmer and stock-raiser of this township; William H., our subject; Barbara, the wife of Charles Fish, a farmer and stock-raiser of Jewell County, Kansas and Alma, residing in Neola; Wilfred died when a child. By the last marriage of Mrs. Maxfield, there were five children, four of whom are now living; Claracy, deceased; George T., a farmer near Sturgis, Dakota; Benjamin, residing in Neola, is traveling for Crane Bros. & Co. Manufacturing Company, Chicago, Illinois; Sarah, wife of George Williams, residing near Neola; Lewis, engaged in farming.

William H., our subject, spent his school days in this county, and remained with his mother until twenty-one years of age, when he commenced to farm himself. He rented a farm in the Missouri River bottom two years, and then bought forty acres of the land on which he now lives. He has since added the remainder of 209 acres, with thirty acres of timber, which he has improved in the most approved manner. He started only with a good constitution and a determination to make life a success, and with energy, economy and industry he has indeed succeeded. He has been Township Clerk for four years, Assessor a number of years, and Trustee one term, and has also held other official positions. December 15,1862, he married Miss Emma S. RISHTON, daughter of Henry Rishton. She was born in Manchester, England, in 1843, and when a child came with her father from England to Rhode Island, and afterward to the State of Iowa in 1850. They have thirteen children, of whom eleven are now living, viz.: Lilly I., a school-teacher; William B., residing in Council Bluffs; Edward N., a farmer near his father; Alice, engaged in teaching; Jessie G., at home; Frederick, at home; Cora, Daisy, Emma S., Pearl, and Roy at home; Henry died when an infant, and Grover C. was two years of age at his death. Mr. Maxfield has made an effort in life to educate his children, and rear them to be good and useful citizens. Politically he is a stanch Democrat.




Maxwell, W. E.


W. E. MAXWELL was born in Jefferson County, Iowa, December 16, 1854. His father, John MAXWELL, was born in Indiana and his mother, nee Catherine CLOVER, in Pennsylvania. They were married in Jefferson County, Iowa. Grandfather Benjamin MAXWELL was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. When the subject of this sketch was about ten years of age, his parents moved to Lucas County, Iowa, and located northeast of Chariton, where they lived for some time. They are now residents of Chariton. The father has been engaged in farming all his life. They have reared a family of six sons, viz.: Albert, who resides in Washington; W. E., the subject of this sketch; I.M., in Sumner county, Nebraska; T. H. and E. J. (twins), the former a resident of Creston, Iowa and the latter of Chariton, Iowa; and C.G., also at Creston, engaged in the mercantile business with his brother, T.H.

W.E. passed his youth at farm work and received his education in the public schools of Lucas County. He was married at Council Bluffs, Iowa, September 5, 1878, to Miss S.J. TIMBERMAN, a native of Pottawattamie County. She received her education in her native county and also in Harrison County, Iowa. Mr. And Mrs. MAXWELL have three children: Amy Pearl, Gaylen Cloyd, and Ivy Emma.

Mr. MAXWELL came to Pottawattamie County in March 1876. For three years he rented land. In 1879 he purchased 80 acres of wild land, which he improved and sold in 1888. Then he bought his present farm of John COLWELL. This land was first improved by Morford & Burggess. It comprises 80 acres and is under a good state of cultivation. A good frame house has been erected, which is situated on a natural building site, surrounded by a grove and orchard of an acre and a half. Everything about the house and farm shows the enterprise and prosperity of the owner.

Politically, Mr. MAXWELL is a Republican. He is a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a man yet in the prime of life, is frank and cordial in his manner, and is regarded as one of the representative citizens of Center Township.




Mayne, Winfield Scott


WINFIELD SCOTT MAYNE, one of the well-known lawyers of Council Bluffs, has been a member of the bar of Pottawattamie County since 1875. Mr. MAYNE is a native of Clark County, Ohio, where he was born October 15, 1833. His grandfather, Adam MAYNE, was a pioneer of Clark County where he settled in 1819. He was a native of Maryland and represented an old family of that state. He was a soldier in the War of 1812. He was a wholesale grocer at Georgetown when that war broke out, and his property was burned by the British troops. As stated, he settled in Clark county, Ohio, in 1819, where he continued to live until his death. The father of the subject of this sketch was Emmanuel MAYNE, born at Georgetown, Maryland, in 1805, having been about fourteen years of age when his father removed with his family to Ohio. He married Miss McGRUDER, of Scotch-Irish ancestry. She was born in Loudoun County, Maryland. Her father, Ninian McGRUDER, was a native of the north of Ireland, coming to the United States when a young man and settling in Loudoun County. He married Grace TOWNSEND, born in England, who died when her daughter, the mother of our subject, was but eleven years old. The maternal grandfather of Mr. MAYNE lived to an advanced age, dying in Loudoun County. Emmanuel MAYNE obtained a good education early in life, and was for a time engaged in teaching. He settled down to the business of merchandising, which he followed for a number of years. He emigrated with his family to Iowa in 1848, but two years after it became a state, remaining in Ottumwa until the following spring. He settled down on a tract of land in Van Buren County. Here, as a pioneer, he did much toward opening up and developing that new country. He was a prominent and well-known citizen. In 1851 he was elected County Judge, and remained in that capacity six years, doing all the county business as was customary at that time. When the War of the Rebellion came on, though then fifty-seven years of age, he resolved to enter the service in defense of the old flag. He accordingly entered the Army as Captain, in the Third Iowa Cavalry, and was killed in a battle with the rebels at Kirksville, Missouri, August 6, 1862. His wife survived her husband until 1870, when she died at the home of her son, the subject of this sketch, who was then residing at Keosauqua, Van Buren County. Emmanuel MAYNE and wife were the parents of five children, three sons and two daughters. The eldest in the family, Virginia, became the wife of B.C. LONG and resides at London, Madison County, Ohio; she never removed to Iowa. Philander T. is a resident of Salt Lake, Utah. The subject of this sketch is the next in the order of birth. Leroy was a member of the Second Volunteer infantry early in the War of the Rebellion and later was transferred to the Third Iowa Cavalry, where his father was serving. In January 1863 he was transferred to the Mississippi Marine Brigade, as Adjutant, with the rank of First Lieutenant. In April of the same year, while in command of a flotilla and passing up the river, the boat of which he was aboard ran on an obstruction in the river, and while he was assisting to free the boat, he was thrown into the river, and falling between two boats which were nearly in contact, was drowned. His body was never found, or if found was never identified. Thus, the father and brother of Mr. MAYNE lost their lives in the service of their country. The next in the family in order of birth is Carrie, wife of J. E. POLLOCK, a well-known Lawyer of Bloomington, Illinois.

The subject of this sketch received his early education in the public schools of Van Buren County, and later entered the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mt. Pleasant, where he graduated in 1856, having been the first graduate of that institution. He began the study of law under Judge C. C. NOURSE, and later with Judge G. G. WRIGHT, now also of Des Moines. He was admitted to the bar in October 1858. He began practice at Keosauqua, where he continued until 1872 when he located at Red Oak, where he practiced his profession until he came to Council Bluffs. At Red Oak, he was associated with Smith McPHERSON. On coming to Council Bluffs, he became associated with George F. WRIGHT, and subsequently was a co-partner of Marshall KEY. He was more recently associated with the Hon. L. W. ROSS, and when that gentleman was elected Chancellor, he took full charge of the legal business of the firm. Since 1884, he has been associated with F.M. HUNTER, but since 1886 the firm name has been MAYNE & HAZELTON.

Mr. MAYNE was married in Van Buren County to Miss Ruth Ellen MANGUM, daughter of A. W. MANGUM, who settled in Van Buren County in 1836, where Mrs. MAYNE was born in 1837. Mr. MANGUM is still a resident of Van Buren County, but the mother of Mrs. MAYNE died when the latter was a child. Mr. And Mrs. MAYNE have five children, three sons and two daughters. Joel H. is the eldest of the children; George H. was born in September 1869. He studied law with his father, and graduated in the law department of the Iowa State University in 1889. The younger children are Grade, Carl, and Ruth. Politically, Mr. MAYNE is a Republican, and has always affiliated with that great political organization, his first presidential vote having been cast for John C. Fremont in 1856. Mr. MAYNE was assistant revenue collector for Van Buren County from 1863 to 1866. He is, by all esteemed as an able lawyer and a progressive citizen. While in Keosauqua, he joined the Masons and attained to the Royal Arch degree.




McDonald, J. H.


J.H. McDONALD, one of the enterprising self-made men of Pottawattamie County, Iowa, resides in section 14, Wright Township. He was born in Steuben County, New York, May 2, 1852, son of William and Savilla (RISING) McDONALD, the history of whom will be found on another page of this work. His mother died when he was five years old. He was a robust lad of fourteen when his father moved to Bureau County, Illinois, where he grew to manhood on a farm, and was educated in the public schools. In 1875 he came to Iowa and located in Adams County, remaining there two years. At the expiration of that time, he took up his abode in Pottawattamie County and has since made this place his home. In March 1881, he purchased his present farm of 160 acres, which was then wild prairie land. By judicious management and much labor, he has made it one of the best in the community. The first season he broke the soil, and in 1882 he built a house, 14 X 24 feet, one and a half stories, with a one story addition, 12 X 24 feet. He planted an orchard of two acres and a grove, which are now in a flourishing condition; built stables, cribs, eighty feet of sheds, and a granary, 14 X 20 feet. He has 160 feet of tight board fence which is six feet high. One hundred acres are being cultivated and the rest of the farm is devoted to stock purposes. At this writing, Mr. McDONALD has thirty head of cattle and 100 hogs. Two of the former are registered thoroughbred Shorthorns. He also has some draft horses of a high grade. A modern three-horse-power windmill raises the water for household use and forces water through pipes to the feedlots. Mr. McDONALD has an attachment by which he can make use of this power to grind grain for stock purposes. Everything on the premises is arranged with reference to convenience, all showing the enterprise of the owner.

July 3, 1877, Mr. McDONALD married Martha E. TIE, a lady of intelligence and refinement, who has been a true helpmate to her worthy husband. She was born in Racine County, Wisconsin, daughter of Joseph and Sarah (SPRIGGS) TIE, now prominent and wealthy citizens of Wright Township, Pottawattamie County. They were both born and reared in England. Mr. TIE is the present township trustee. Mr. And Mrs. McDONALD have five children: Jay Carroll, John H., Ray B., Ira Elmer and Lilly May. Their first-born, Willie, died at the age of three months. Politically, Mr. McDONALD is independent, casting his vote for whom he considers the best man for the office.




McDonald, William


WILLIAM McDONALD was born in Addison Township, Steuben County, New York, March 10, 1822, the son of Elihu McDONALD, a native of Scotland and Margaret (HELMER) McDONALD, who was born in New York state. Early in life he was left an orphan, his father having died when he was a babe and his mother when he was only three years old. He was reared by a man named Rollin SAUNDERS to whom he was given by his relatives. Mr. SAUNDERS owned a farm and kept a hotel and bar. When not employed at work on the rocky and stumpy land, young McDONALD sold whiskey at the bar for three cents a drink. At those times, almost everyone took his dram, and it was not infrequent that ministers of the Gospel came to the bar, drank their whisky and there discussed questions of church doctrine and affairs of state. Brought up with these surroundings, Mr. McDONALD received but a limited education. He, however, made up for its lack by the knowledge gained in the school of experience.

At the age of twenty-three years, our subject was united in marriage with Savilla RISING. She was born in Oswego County, New York, daughter of Henry and Clarissa (NOBLE) RISING. By this marriage, seven children were born, namely: Eveline Mosely; Emma, a resident of Wright Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa; Martha Sherburn; Mary, wife of O. O. HOTCHKISS of Wright Township; John, also of Wright Township; Hattie Middaugh and Willie, of Washington. The mother of these children died in Steuben County, New York, December 14, 1855. Two years later, December 31, 1857, Mr. McDONALD wedded Miss Mary E. ALDRICH, also a native of Steuben County, New York. Her parents, Warner M. and Fidelia (EDDY) ALDRICH, were natives of Rhode Island. They trace their ancestry back to the Aldriches who came to America in the far-famed Mayflower.

Mr. McDONALD remained in New York until 1866, when he moved to Bureau County, Illinois. From there, in 1877, he came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, and settled in Wright Township. In 1883, he bought his present 80-acre farm in section 13, same township. This land at the time of purchase was wild and unimproved. As the result of his well-directed efforts, it now assumes a different appearance. On a natural building site, he erected a good frame house 24 X 26 feet, a story and a half, from which an excellent view of the farm and surrounding country is obtained. His other farm buildings and improvements all attest the thrift and enterprise of the owner.

By his present wife, Mr. McDONALD has had five children, four of whom are living: Beers L., at home; Charies W., who is in railroad employ in Mississippi; Carl E., a resident of Wright Township; and Julia Elma, wife of E. R. PIERSON. Their son, Jay, died at the age of eighteen months. Mr. McDonald is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically he is a Republican. He is nearly seventy years old, weighs 275 pounds, is cordial and jovial in his disposition, and seems to make the most of this life. He is honored and esteemed by all who know him.




McFall, Samuel T.

SAMUEL T. McFALL is one of the prominent and esteemed citizens of Silver Creek Township, Pottawattamie county, Iowa. He was born in Iroquois Co., Illinois, February 14, 1836. His father, Samuel McFALL, a Kentuckian by birth, was a descendant of an old Kentucky family who traced their ancestry back to Scotland. His mother, Elizabeth (BARBEE) McFALL, was born in Ross Co., Ohio, daughter of William and Mary BARBEE. Our subject's parents were married in Bartholomew Co, Indiana, from whence they afterward moved to Iroquois Co., Illinois. In 1840 they came to Iowa and were among the early settlers of Jefferson Co. In 1847 they removed to Mahaska County, same state. The mother died in 1878. She was born Nov 11, 1804. The father was born Oct 10, 1803, and died in 1885. This worthy couple were the parents of ten children, four sons and six daughters, of whom Samuel T. was the fifth born. The father came of true pioneer stock. He was a Democrat before the war, but at that time cast his vote and influence for Lincoln. He was an active and zealous Methodist and a class-leader.
Mr. Samuel T. McFall was four years old when his father came to Iowa. He was reared on frontier farms in Jefferson and Mahaska counties and was educated in log schoolhouses. During the great Rebellion he entered the service of his country in 1862, enlisting in Company H, 36th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. He was in many of the hotly contested battles of the War. Among the engagements in which he took part we mention Memphis, Helena, Little Rock, Prairie du Chien, Camden, Duval's Bluff, Ft Pemberton, below Vicksburg and Mark's Mills. At the latter place he was wounded by a minie ball in the left shoulder and lung and was taken prisoner for 25 days. Then he was paroled and confined at Little Rock Hospital, and also at Keokuk Hospital. May 12, 1865, he was honorably discharged and now receives a pension of sixteen dollars per month. He has since suffered much from the effect of the wound. During the season of 1872 he was confined to the house a greater part of the time. Until 1880 Mr McFall was engaged in farming in Mahaska Co. In that year he came to Pottawattamie Co. and purchased 160 acres of wild prairie land, which he has since improved and now has under cultivation. He erected a comfortable frame house and stables, put up a modern windmill, made other improvements and is now engaged in general farming and stock raising.

Mr. McFall was married in Mahaska Co. Iowa March 18, 1866 to Miss Isabelle SKIDMORE, a lady of much intelligence, who was born in Franklin Co., Ohio. Her father, James M. SKIDMORE, was also a native of Franklin Co. Her grandfather, George SKIDMORE, was a native of Kentucky, a soldier in the War of 1812 and a captain in the Mexican war. Her mother, Eunice (HENDRICKS) SKIDMORE, was born in Ohio, daughter of JAMES and Elizabeth HENDRICKS. Mrs. McFall's parents located in Mahaska Co, Iowa, when she was 18 years old. They now live in Sheridan Co., Kansas. They had 9 children, two sons and seven daughters, Mrs. McFall being the second born. Our subject and his wife have three children: Normon R., Cora L., and James B. They lost one child by death, Carlie, at the age of two and a half years. Mr. McFall is a Republican. He is a member of the Macedonia Post G.A.R. and is associated with the Mason and Toleration Lodge, Mahaska Co, in 1876. Both he and his wife are worthy members of the Methodist Episcopal Lone Star Church. Mr. McFall served as Justice of the Peace.




McGee, Harry G.


HARRY G. McGEE is one of the leading real estate dealers of Council Bluffs, in which business he engaged in 1887. He does a general real-estate business, but devotes his attention principally to the platting and improving of residence property, and has platted several of the finest residence additions in the city - among them being Morningside. This addition is owned jointly by Mr. McGEE and his brother Judge McGEE, who have expended a large amount of money in improving and beautifying it, and it is now acknowledged to be the most attractive suburb of Council Bluffs, which is noted for its beauty as a residence city.

Mr. McGEE is a son of Manasseh McGEE, who came to Council Bluffs in 1855 and entered a large amount of land, which has since become very valuable. Mr. McGEE was born in Virginia in 1858, but his early life was spent in Pennsylvania. His father never became a permanent resident of this city but came here and made investments in 1855, returning to the east where he resided until his death. His family became permanent residents of Council Bluffs in 1874. Our subject was educated in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and is now a successful businessman and an enterprising and progressive citizen.




McGee, J. E. F.


HON. J.E.F. McGEE, Judge of the Superior Court of Council Bluffs, was born in Fedeman, West Virginia, December 23, 1861, the son of Manasseh and Mary A. (FLEMMING) McGee, who were both natives of and were married in Pennsylvania. Shortly after marriage they located in Council Bluffs, where the father became interested in real estate, but soon returned to the East and located in Grafton, West Virginia. He died in 1864, leaving a widow and three children, namely; H.G. McGee, one of the most prominent real-estate dealer and business men in Council Bluffs; Anna M., now Mrs. W. S. Cooper, who is also a prominent real-estate, loan and insurance agent at Council Bluffs and J.E.F. McGee, our subject. About 1874 Mrs. McGee and her three children returned to this city, where she now resided with her son in Morningside.

Judge McGee received his education in the public schools of Emsworth, Pennsylvania, Council Bluffs, and at the Cornell College at Mt. Vernon, Iowa. He studied law first with Hon. Leonard Everett, now president of the City Council of Council Bluffs, and concluded his studies with Colonel Dailey. It is perhaps somewhat notable in this connection the number of the present members of the Pottawattamie County Bar who have been trained under Colonel Dailey's guidance. Among such are Mr. Finley Burke, of Burke, Hewett & Casady; Walter I. Smith, now judge of the District Court; the subject of this sketch, Judge McGee; and Mr. Emmet Tinley, one of the most brilliant of the younger members of the bar. Judge McGee was admitted to the Iowa bar in 1886, upon examination by the Supreme Court of the State, and immediately afterward entered into practice. Having exhausted what means he had received form his father's estate in obtaining his education, he was compelled to borrow sufficient money with which to open an office. In the spring of 1887 there was a wonderful advance in real-estate values in Council Bluffs. Earlier than most men, Mr. McGee saw the advance coming and by taking advantage of it made considerable money. Shortly after he began the practice of law, he became associate with Mr. Walter I. Smith, which association was continued until the election of Mr. McGee as Judge of the Superior Court, which occurred in March of 1890, for a term of four years. In a hotly contested election Judge McGee was elected over he then incumbent of the office by between 700 and 800 majority.

In the fall of 1890 Walter I. Smith was elected Judge of the District Court and it is somewhat remarkable that these two gentlemen were called from the same office to the bench in the same year. Judge McGee is one of the youngest men on the bench in Iowa, being now but twenty-nine years of age. His record, however, has given the most complete satisfaction. He is a man of learning, industry, and above all of a high standard of integrity, but even these would not be sufficient to make of him the successful judge and man of business that he is. He is a man of fine and well rounded and natural ability, and one who can readily grasp and master legal distinctions. He is at once a genial and pleasant gentleman, and a firm and dignified judge. He is an active member of the Council Bluffs Board of Trade, is foremost in every public enterprise and has in the few years he has been engaged in active life by his industry, accumulated a large amount of valuable property.



McGinnis, Joseph


JOSEPH McGINNIS was born in Greene Co, Pennsylvania, March 12, 1850, son of John McGINNIS JR. also a native of that county. His grandfather, John McGINNIS SR. was born in London, England. He was a saddle-maker at which trade he worked in London for 7 years. John McGINNIS JR married Elizabeth HOFFMAN, a native of Greene Co, Pennsylvania, a descendant of German ancestry. They reared ten children, seven sons and three daughters, Joseph being the seventh born. His parents passed their lives and died in their native county, the father at the age of 62 years and the mother at 76. The latter was a member of the Baptist Church and the children were reared in that faith. Their father was a farmer all his life. In politics he was a Republican.

At the age of six years, Joseph McGINNIS went with his parents to Ritchie County, West Virginia, where he remained until he was 19. Then he came to Iowa and first settled in the eastern part of the state. In 1872 he came to Pottawattamie County and bought his present farm in Section 16, Wright Township. At that time, it was wild land and he was one of the earliest settlers in the neighborhood. He at once went to work to improve his place, the present flourishing condition of his farm being the result of years of labor and well directed efforts. Mr. McGinnis erected a comfortable frame house on a natural building site and surrounded it by a grove and orchard of two acres. He also has other buildings and farm improvements. A branch of Walnut Creek flows through his premises, furnishing an abundant supply of water for stock purposes. The most of the grain raised on the farm he feeds to his stock.

Mr. McGinnis was married March 31, 1878, to Miss Roxanna BRIDGES of Madison County, Iowa. She was born in Des Moines and was reared there and in Madison County. Her parents, Lawson and Malinda BRIDGES, both natives of Rush County, Indiana, now reside in Madison County, Iowa. Mr. Bridges was born in 1822 and Mrs. Bridges in 1829. They moved first to Burlington, Iowa, next to Pleasant Grove, then to Des Moines, and in 1869 to Madison County. Mr. and Mrs. McGINNIS have two children: Hattie, born February 11, 1879; and Joseph, July 19, 1885. They lost two children: David, the second child who died at the age of 7 years; and an infant daughter not named. Mr. McGinnis' political views are in accordance with Republican principles. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church and both are Sabbath-school workers. He ranks among the representative citizens of Pottawattamie County.




McKenzie, Kenneth

KENNETH McKENZIE, an intelligent and well-to-do farmer of Waveland Township, came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, in 1874. It is eminently fitting that an outline of his life should be given in this work; in fact, its omission would make the history incomplete.

Like many of Iowa's successful men, Mr. McKENZIE is a native of Scotland. He was born in December 1836, son of Roderick and Ann (McLEOD) McKENZIE, both natives of that country in which they passed their lives. At the age of thirty-three, Mr. McKENZIE married May KENEDY, also a native of Scotland, born of Scotch parents, Donald and Ann (McLENNAN) KENEDY. In 1869 he and his wife bade farewell to native land and sailed from Glasgow to New York. They continued their way westward and settled in Lapeer County, Michigan, where Mr. McKENZIE was employed at whatever he could do that was most profitable. For a time, he did railroad work and was afterward engaged in lumber woods. In 1875, he came to Pottawattamie County and bought 160 acres of wild prairie land in Waveland Township, paying for it good old Scotch money that he had earned by the sweat of his brow. Here he has since lived, worked, and prospered, and in many ways has been aided by his worthy help-mate. He is now the owner of 440 acres of rich, well-improved land, one of the best farms in the township. He has a fine home, built in 1884, at a cost of $1,000 and is beautifully situated on a natural building site. Mr. McKENZIE is engaged in stock-raising and general agricultural pursuits. He has a grove and orchard, all necessary farm buildings and fences, all the result of the thrifty Scotchman's well-directed efforts.

Mr. And Mrs. McKENZIE have four children: Anna, Christena, Donald and Rodena M. In his political views, Mr. McKENZIE is a Republican. He was reared a Presbyterian. Financially, he is regarded as one of the solid men of the township. He is honest and upright in all things, and his word is as good as his bond. His postoffice is Griswold, Cass County, Iowa.




McKeown, William


WILLIAM McKEOWN, farmer, was born in Upper Canada, March 7, 1828, the son of William and Jane (LUCAS) McKEOWN, natives of Ireland but of Scotch ancestry. The senior McKEOWN was a millwright by trade and went to Ireland to work, where he was eventually killed. His son, the father of the subject of this sketch, was left in the world at an early age as an orphan. In 1815 he came to America, landing in Quebec, Canada. He was married to Jane LUCAS, daughter of Andrew and Elizabeth (EDWARDS) LUCAS, natives of Ireland, who came to America in 1818, landing also at Quebec. Mr. Andrew LUCAS was also a farmer, and in his family were thirteen children, viz.: James, Mary, and five others are deceased; George resides in Upper Canada; Ann is the wife of James EDWARDS of Michigan; Andrew is in Canada; and Elizabeth is the wife of George FULLER, also in that Dominion. Jane was born in 1800, brought up as a farmer's daughter, and was married at the age of twenty years. They settled on a homestead, where they remained eight years, and where Mr. McKEOWN died in October 1827, leaving his wife and four children, namely: Thomas, deceased; Jane, the wife of Robert GARDNER and residing in Utah; Elizabeth, the wife of Robert BRICE and living in Canada; and William, the subject of this notice.

The latter, born after his father's death, has never known parental care and protection, and when he was one year old, his mother married James KILFOYLE, a native of Ireland who came to America in 1824 and was a farmer. After that marriage, they moved to Canada West, and in 1848 came to Pottawattamie County where his wife died April 18, 1853. They were the parents of nine children, thus: Francis, deceased; Andrew, residing in Utah Territory; Mary Ann (1) who died in infancy; Mary Ann (2) who married James DAY and has since died; Caroline, who married George SNYDER and has since died; Martha, deceased; Rachel, the wife of John WINEGAR and residing in Utah; Wesley, residing in Orleans; and James, also a resident of Utah. After Mrs. KILFOYLE's death, Mr. KILFOYLE married again, in Utah, and remained in that Territory until his death in 1871 or 1872.

Mr. McKEOWN, whose name heads this sketch, left home at the age of twelve years with the consent of his mother and worked as a laborer, his earnings going to her support. In 1847 he came to Pottawattamie County and settled on 280 acres of wild and rough prairie land in Bloomer Township, the following May. He married Eliza Jane Hall, May 9, 1848, who was the daughter of Joseph and Johanna (CHILLIS) HALL, natives of New York state, and the parents of eleven children, viz.: Joshua, Mary, Alfred, deceased; Joseph, residing in Missouri; Mark, in Utah; five died in infancy. Mrs. Eliza McKEOWN was born in Indiana July 10, 1826, and came to Iowa in 1846, and the next year to this county. She was married in 1848 at the age of twenty-two years. Mr. McKEOWN began to improve his land by erecting a log cabin 14 X 14, building the usual barns, fences, etc., and breaking the land with oxen which he had himself reared; and here he experienced many of the hardships of pioneer life in a wild country. When he reaped his first little harvest, his parents came and he gave up his home and farm once more. After the number of changes from place to place, he - in 1853 - bought forty acres of his present place and spent a year with his wife's father in Missouri. Since then he has added to that first purchase until he now has 280 acres on sections 31 and 32; he has sold forty acres. He has made many valuable improvements in the way of barn, sheds, etc., and erected a fine frame house 16 X 36 feet, two stories high, with cellar 16 X 36. Ornamental trees and an orchard add value to the premises. He has a good farm, of which 240 acres are in cultivation, and the remainder in hay, pasture and timber. He has been a hard-working and industrious man, and now in his old days he has a comfortable home to enjoy.

He takes an active interest in Democracy, has been the Trustee, Road Supervisor and on the Board of Education, and is zealously interested in the promotion of the welfare of his community. He is a member of the Church of Latter Day Saints, as was also his wife, and is highly respected by his fellow citizens. Mrs. McKeown died February 4, 1870, leaving eleven children, born and named as follows: William Alfred, born March 26, 1850, resides in Pottawattamie County; Thomas Allen, born in Indiana, January 9, 1852, now living in Nebraska; Joseph Hall, born in Missouri, June 7, 1854, and now residing in Pottawattamie County; Mary Elizabeth, wife of William BROTHERTON, was born June 12, 1856, and resides in Harrison County, Iowa; Robert Henry, born May 2, 1858, now lives in Nebraska; a girl was next born, November 12, 1859, died in infancy; Martha Jane, wife of Peter ACTON, was born February 20, 1861, and resides in Pottawattamie County; Johanna, born July 30, 1863, is now living in Nebraska; Eliza Ellen, born June 3, 1865, died March 16, 1880; David Albert, born February 16, 1867, resides in Utah; George Wesley, born January 13, 1870, also resides in Utah.

After the death of his wife, February 11, 1873, Mr. McKEOWN married Jennet KIRKWOOD, the daughter of Robert and Mary (MUIR) KIRKWOOD, whose history will be found on another page. By the last marriage, there are nine children, as follows: Arthur Lee, born May 22, 1874; Agnes Belle, August 27, 1875; John Robert, April 7, 1877; Grace May, August 22, 1879; Susan Janet, March 9, 1880; Violet, December 11, 1884; Margaret, November 7, 1885; Alice Annye, July 30, 1887; and Emma Melissa, March 10, 1889. All these children are still at home; two are members of the Church of the Latter Day Saints.



McMaster, Daniel B.


DANIEL B. McMASTER, of Hancock, Iowa, is one of our "old soldier" citizens who served his country in her hour of need and then settled down in the great state of Iowa to the peaceful pursuit of agriculture. His father, William McMASTER, came from Scotland, near the coast, in sight of Ireland. He was well educated for his day, a great reader and a lover of books and possessed a considerable library. He learned the tailor's trade, and married in Ireland, Miss Sarah BOYD, daughter of James BOYD of the city of Belfast, who was a drover and dealer in cattle, driving and shipping cattle from Scotland to Ireland. He was the father of 9 children: James, Thomas, Henry, William, Daniel, Robert, Jane, Sarah and Esther, all born in Ireland. He emigrated with his large family to America and settled in Boston. In William McMASTER's father's family there were four children: Archie, William, Bettie, and Margaret. The two girls lived and died in Scotland, unmarried. William and his wife came to America soon after their marriage in 1820 and settled in New Brunswick, where his two eldest children were born, and then removed to Boston, where the remainder of their family were born. There were 12 children: Archie, William, Hugh, John, James, Daniel, Walter, Samuel, Margaret, Mary, Matilda and Jennie. Mr. McMASTER followed his trade, tailoring, in New Brunswick and also in Boston for many years. In 1850 he moved with his family to Michigan, and settled in Schoolcraft, Kalamazoo Co., on what was called Big Prairie Ronde (Round Prairie) and on the farm bought by Mr. McMaster, his widow still lives. Mr. McMaster was a member of the Presbyterian church, and Mrs. McMaster was a strong Baptist. He was a prominent Odd Fellow and instituted the first lodge in Schoolcraft. While in Boston, Mr. McMaster was a wealthy man, but he lost his property and therefore moved to Michigan. He was a man of very industrious habits, and with strict integrity of character, made many friends and held them, and had no enemies. He was noted for being close-mouthed man, always attending to his own business. He lived to the age of 73 years and died on his farm in Schoolcraft, Michigan.

Three of his sons were in the Civil War. John H. and Daniel B., with the Union Army, and William was in the Confederate service. He went to New Orleans when quite a young man and became a merchant there, owned a plantation in Texas and was a slaveholder. He was an officer in the Confederate Army. John H. was in a Massachusetts regiment.

Daniel B. McMASTER was born July 3, 1842 and received a common school education and was but 8 years old when his father moved to Michigan. He learned farming and also the iron-molder's trade. Young Daniel was but 20 years of age when the Civil War broke out, and, filled with patriotism and the thoughts and glory of a soldier's life, he enlisted in Company I, First Michigan Volunteer Cavalry, August 21, 1861, and went directly with his regiment to Washington. He was in the battles of Harper's Ferry, Charlestown, Virginia; Berryville, Winchester, Strasburg, Piedmont, Markham Station, Manassas Gap, Happy Creek, Front Royal, May 23, 1862; Haymarket, Rapidan, Orange, July 1862; Marison Courthouse, July 1862; Orange Courthouse, July 1862; Stannardsville, Barnett's Ford, Waterloo Bridge, Salem, White Plains, Thoroughfare Junction, Bull Run, August 30, 1862 (at which Mr. McMaster had his horse shot under him), Chantilly, Ashley's Gap, Snicker's Ferry, Wolf Run, Shoals, December 1862, and Bristow, January 1863. At the second battle at Culpepper Courthouse, he was taken sick with typhoid fever and was left on the battlefield for two days and nights. He was taken at night to Culpepper and lay in the courthouse for one hour, then taken to Warrenton Junction, where he lay several hours, and the same day was taken to Mt. Pleasant hospital, Washington, District of Columbia, where he was sick for six weeks, coming very near death. On September 15, 1864, he was honorably discharged, three months after reaching the hospital, on account of expiration of his term of service, having served his country faithfully for three years and fifteen days, and engaged in a large number of battles, which constitute a roll of honor of which his children and descendants may well feel proud. His name will be transmitted to posterity as one of those brave sons of America who risked their lives to preserve their country.

After the War, Mr. McMaster returned to Michigan and resumed the occupation of farming, also working at his trade. January 1, 1866, he married Miss Loretta THAYER, daughter of Simon and Almira (TIFFANY) THAYER. Mr. THAYER was from Livingston Co., New York, and was a carpenter by trade. He was from an old American family and moved to Michigan in 1850, settling in Vicksburg, Kalamazoo Co., and later on a farm near this place. In 1875 he came to Iowa and settled in Valley Township, Pottawattamie County, where he died in January 1880, at the age of sixty-nine years. His widow still lives in Vicksburg, Michigan. Mrs. THAYER is a member of the Congregational Church. Mr. THAYER was a much respected citizen; he had a good education, was well read, and sometimes contributed articles to the newspapers. He held the office of Justice of the Peace for many years, and was also Township Commissioner, and was a man of intelligence and active temperament, and was an honorable man. Mr. and Mrs. THAYER were the parents of two children: Fairfield and Loretta. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. McMASTER lived in Schoolcraft, Michigan, until 1874 and Mr. McMaster followed his trade. They then moved to Iowa and settled on a farm in Audubon Co., remaining there but two years, when they came to their present home in Pottawattamie Co. In 1879 Mr. McMaster went to Cass Co. and ran a large farm for six years, then returned to his home in Pottawattamie County.

Mr. and Mrs. McMASTER are the parents of five children: Kate, Clara, Becton (deceased at two years), Bell and Walter. Mr. McMaster is a man who has the confidence of the community in which he lives. He is a Justice of the Peace, socially is an Odd Fellow, and is a member of the G.A.R. of William Layton Post, No. 358, Oakland. In politics he is a stanch Democrat. He has an honorable record as a soldier and citizen and has always been a law abiding and moral man. He is temperate in his habits and is interested in the cause of temperance. His children and descendants will reverence his noble record as a soldier. Mrs. McMaster is secretary of the Woman's Relief Corps of Oakland, Iowa - an auxiliary of the G.A.R. Their daughter, Kate, married ELMER LAMBERT and they have two children: Libbie and Alderman. Mr. LAMBERT is a farmer in Woodbury Co, Iowa; Clara married JAMES LIVINGSTON, JR., a butcher in Hancock. They have one child, Hugh.



McMenomy, Bernard P.


REV. BERNARD P. MCMENOMY
. The St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church of Council Bluffs was one of the first societies formed in this part of the country, even so far in the past as when the Indians had full sway here; and the first priest or pastor was Father DeSmet, the great missionary. His people erected a small log church on the bluffs, where the first priest in charge was Father James Powers. Father Doxacher succeeded him. They resided at Omaha, to which diocese the congregation at the Bluffs belonged. The first Iowa resident priest at Council Bluffs was Rev. Bernard P. McMENOMY, who came in November 1869 from Georgetown, Monroe Co., Iowa, but previously from Missouri. He is a native of County Donegal, Ireland, born in August 1830; was educated at St. Columb's College at Londonderry, Ireland, which institution he entered at the age of 15 years, continuing there until within a short time before he emigrated to America in 1849.

He first settled at St. Louis and continued his studies there for four years in a seminary under Archbishop Peter R. Kenrick. Then February 24, 1854, he was ordained and sent to North Santa Fe, in northeast Missouri, where he took charge of a parish. He laid out the town of St. Marysville, and by his own efforts obtained the establishment of a postoffice there, which he named St. Patrick. After an engagement there of four years, he was removed to Edina, Knox Co, Missouri, where he had charge of a parish for seven and a half years. Then he came to Georgetown, this state, and from there in 1869 to Council Bluffs. While at Georgetown he erected some four or five churches, a large stone building being the Georgetown church. The others were at Melrose, Chariton (Lucas Co), Woodburn (Clark Co) and one near Leon in Decatur Co; and along the line of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad for some 200 miles, he erected many churches. He has been very zealous in church work. Since his residence in Council Bluffs, he has erected the St. Francis Xavier Church at the corner of Sixth St and Fifth Avenue, a large and handsome edifice 60 X 120 feet in dimensions, completing it in 1888, at a cost of over $50,000. Also he built the St. Francis Xavier Academy, in the rear of the church, where there are 25 Sisters in charge of a large number of pupils, about 65 boarding pupils and 250 day pupils. He also erected the St. Joseph Academy, for boys, a good brick building opposite the church. The St. Bernard's Hospital, conducted by the Sisters of Mercy, is a large, substantial brick building, where the sick and infirm are received without distinction of creed or color. The priest's residence is a handsome brick structure erected also by him, between the church and the Sisters' Academy. Under Father McMenomy's administration here, the membership of the parish has increased from about 500 to over 2,000. His assistant in parish work is Rev. T.A. Maloy.




McMillen, William A.


WILLIAM A. McMILLEN, contractor and builder, resides at No. 1103 Fourth Avenue, and has his offices at the corner of Seventh Street and Broadway. He established his business here in 1881 and since that time has erected a number of fine buildings. Among them we note the residences of Tom CABINS, J. WITHROW, Dr. McCRAE and C. STEPHENS. In Omaha, he built the Robert PURVIS residence, and in Lead City, Dakota, he put up a fine business block for Senator HURST, one of the finest in the West. He also built an elegant business block in Missouri Valley for Mr. KEARNES. He built five houses for J. G. TIPTON in Council Bluffs. We might name a number of other buildings erected by him in this city and vicinity, but space forbids.

Mr. McMILLEN was born in St. Johns Province of Quebec, Canada, in 1848, son of John and Jane (BROWNIGG) McMILLEN, natives of Scotland and Ireland. He spent his youth at his native place, and when he was fourteen, he began a five years' apprenticeship to the carpenter's trade. At the age of twenty-one, he came to the United States and located in Albany, New York, where he remained five years. From there, he went to Boston, Massachusetts, and also spent five years, there engaged at his trade. At the end of that time, he returned to Canada East and engaged in the furniture business. Six years later, in 1879, he sold out and came to Council Bluffs, where he has since resided. July 2, 1890, he opened an office in Omaha, room 842, New York Life building. He is one of the pushing businessmen of Council Bluffs. Politically, he is a staunch independent. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., No. 49, Bluff City Lodge, and also of the Red Men, Pottawattamie County Lodge.

He was married in 1874 to Miss Mary BROWNRICK, a native of Canada. By her he had three children: Mary, Lucy and Carrie. He was again married in 1886 to Amelia STEPHENS, who was born in Buffalo, New York, in 1855. They have one child, Frances. Mr. And Mrs. McMILLEN are members of the Episcopal Church.



McMullen, C. E.


C.E. McMULLEN, a prominent farmer of Washington Township, was born in Bedford Co, Pennsylvania, Feb 22, 1846, son of William McMULLEN, also a native of Pennsylvania. He was the son of Charles McMULLEN, who was born in Maryland, of Scotch Irish parentage and who also served in the War of 1812. Our subject's mother was Margaret (HERAGE) McMULLEN, a native of Bedford Co, Pennsylvania. William McMULLEN is still living in Washington Township, at the age of 71 years. He has been a farmer all his life; is a Republican in politics and a member of the Methodist Church.

The subject of this sketch, C.E. McMULLEN, was but 7 years of age when his parents moved to Peoria Co, Illinois, where he remained until he was 18, engaged in farm work. During the War, he enlisted in the 146th Illinois Infantry, Company I, under COLONEL DEAN, and later was a member of Company B, 22nd Regiment United States Infantry, and served on the frontier for 3 years after the War. He was then engaged in freighting and teaming in Colorado and Wyoming for two years. He next went to Missouri and from there came to Pottawattamie County in 1871, first settling in Silver Creek Township. He then removed to Mills County where he remained for a time, and in 1881 bought his present farm of 340 acres in Washington Township. He has improved this place until he now owns one of the finest farms in Pottawattamie Co. Mr. McMULLEN was married in Mills County, December 21, 1875, to SARAH E. ELLIS, who was born in Orange Co, Indiana, a daughter of Jesse and Rachel (FRAZIER) ELLIS, both natives of North Carolina. Mrs. McMULLEN was 11 years of age when her parents settled near Oskaloosa, Mahaska Co, Iowa. Her father died in 1856, in Illinois, on the way to Iowa. The mother died in this county at the age of 74 years. Religiously they were Quakers or Friends. Mrs. McMULLEN received a good education at New Sharon, Iowa, and at the age of 17 years was engaged in teaching, which occupation she continued for 32 terms. In 1871 she went to Kansas and took up a Government homestead, after which she returned to Mahaska County. In 1875 she came to Mills County, where she was married.

Mr. and Mrs. McMULLEN have six children: Byron G., Herman Ray, and Normon Fay (twins); Herbert A., Laura, Grace and Blanche. Mr. McMULLEN is a strong believer in the principles of the Democratic party and has served as Township Trustee and in other minor offices in his township. He is a member of the Masonic Order No. 400 of Silver City and also of the G.A.R. Bradford Post No. 471. Mrs. McMULLEN was reared a Quaker and is now a member of the Evangelical Church.



McPherron, Francis T.


Francis T. McPHERRON, who resides on section 8, Hardin Township, came to this county in 1877, where he has since made his home. He was born in Henry County, Iowa, January 20, 1850, near Mt. Pleasant, the son of J. W. and May E. (COOK) McPHERRON. The father was a native of Knox County, Tennessee, and the son of William McPHERRON, who was a native of Pennsylvania, and of Scotch-Irish ancestry; the mother was born in Mansfield, Ohio, the daughter of Luther COOK, a native of Pennsylvania. The father settled in Henry County, Iowa, in 1837, before it was admitted to the Union and when it was inhabited by the Fox and Winnebago Indians. They reared a family of six children, three sons and three daughters, of whom our subject was the second child. Mr. McPHERRON still resides in Henry County on the farm which he has owned for over fifty years.

Francis T. was reared on the old farm, and at the age of twenty years he began work at the carpenter's trade in Henry County, which he continued until 1878, when he came to Council Bluffs and worked at his trade one year. In 1877 he bought eighty acres of wild prairie land, of which he broke forty acres, and the next year he rented the land for one year. In 1879 he built a small farm house, and in 1890 a good frame house, and made many other improvements. The farm contains a grove of eight or ten acres and an orchard. He now owns 200 acres of land, and is engaged in general farming and stock-raising.

Mr. McPHERRON was first married in 1874, in Henry County, Iowa, to Miss Helen EVELAND, who was born in Henry County, the daughter of James W. EVELAND. By this union there was one child, Helen. Mrs. McPHERRON died the same year they were married, in 1874. In 1879 he married Anna B. HENDERSON, of Henry County, Iowa, the daughter of J. W. HENDERSON. They have four children: Vernon F., Perry E., Ira C., and Stacy W. Politically Mr. McPHERRON is a Republican. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., Trenton Lodge, No. 57, at Trenton, Iowa, and of the I.O.G.T., of Downsville, Norwalk Township. He was raised a Presbyterian, and his wife is a member of the Christian Church.




McReynolds, Logan


LOGAN McREYNOLDS, one of the intelligent and successful farmers of Pottawattamie County, was born in Saline County, Missouri, November 28, 1842, the son of John M. McREYNOLDS, who was a son of Joseph McREYNOLDS, a native of Tennessee. He was married in Saline County, Missouri to Lucinda MEADOWS, a native of Virginia, and they were the parents of seven children, five now living. The mother is still living in Missouri, at the age of seventy-five years. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Our subject's father died when he was but thirteen years of age, and as he was the eldest son, he was obliged to take care of his mother and the younger children, and he therefore received but a limited education. In 1863, he went to Colorado, where he was engaged in freighting until 1865, when he returned to Missouri and remained until 1876. In that year, he came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, where he bought 100 acres of wild prairie land, but which he has since improved until he has now a fine, large farm. On this place, he has a good cottage 14 X 24 and 16 X 16 feet, which is surrounded by shade and ornamental trees and a fine grove of four acres. Mr. McREYNOLDS is engaged in general farming and stock raising.

He was married August 28, 1876, to Miss Lydia SCHAULL, who was born near Charleston, Jefferson County, Virginia, and is the daughter of John B. and Rebecca (BELL) SHAULL, who were also natives of Virginia. The parents came to Missouri and resided for a time in Fayette County, and then moved to Vernon County, where they still reside. Mr. And Mrs. McREYNOLDS have an adopted daughter named Katie. Mr. McREYNOLDS is a Democrat politically, and both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Oakland. Our subject is yet in the prime of life, is frank and honest in his manner, and is respected and esteemed by all who know him.




Meneray, F. W.


F. W. MENERAY, a prominent nurseryman and orchardist near Crescent City, was born in that village September 1, 1862, a son of William and Sophia A. (PACKARD) MENERAY. His father was born in Upper Canada, March 29, 1822, and his mother in Parkman, Ohio, October 1, 1828, of Puritan origin. Grandfather MENERAY was an English military officer for a number of years.

William H. received a fine education at the Toronto (Canada) College; early learned the carpenter's trade; left home at the age of sixteen years and made a tour through the southern states, buying furs from the Indians for an American company. Following this business for a number of years, he became widely known among the various Indian tribes. He next engaged in the lead mines near Galena, Illinois, and made quite a fortune. Disposing of his mineral claim there, he went to Hazel Green, Wisconsin, and engaged in speculations by which he lost heavily. After visiting St. Louis, he came to Kanesville, now Council Bluffs, about 1850, engaging in mercantile business in partnership with Blake & Spooner. At the same time, he owned a number of grist and saw mills about the country and also a farm of 120 acres in Hazel Dell Township, known as the Meneray farm. During this period, he lost money in the failure of a bank in Florence, Nebraska. This so crippled him financially that he had to dispose of his business. Coming to Crescent City, he traded for the property whereon he made his home until his death, March 10, 1878. Being a shrewd manager, he after all left his family in good circumstances.

He married his wife March 1, 1846, at Nauvoo, Illinois, to which place she had come when very young. She is now living on the old home place, keeping house for herself, now aged about sixty-two years. She had eleven children, as follows: William H., who resides at Springville, Utah; Eliza, wife of Dr. M. DON, and residing at Nephi, Utah; John R., at Springville, same Territory; James W., living in Crescent City; R. C., in Springville; P.A., at Louisville, Kentucky; Joseph H., deceased; F. W., the next in order; Lulu L., wife of William DUTRO in Crescent City; Sophia A., who married William CURRY and is now deceased; and E.D., who is with F.W., the subject of this sketch.

Mr. F. W. MENERAY was reared at home in farm life, and also in the business of raising fruit and nursery stock; in the latter interest, they had thirty-six acres which was left to R.C., F.W., and J.R. MENERAY, and which our subject has brought up to its present state of development. He has forty-five acres devoted entirely to nursery, and twenty-five acres exclusively to fruit-raising, doing an annual business of $12,000 to $15,000 and employing agents throughout the country. Thus, Mr. MENERAY is a prominent businessman in the world of farmers and orchardists.

In his political views, he is a Republican, and as a citizen and businessman, he is highly honored. For his wife he married Sarah MEGINNESS of Pennsylvania parentage and English ancestry on her mother's side. Her father came west with his parents, went to Utah and returned in 1858 to Iowa, and married Hannah NIXON, who was born May 3, 1835, near Pittsburg, and came to Iowa with her parents in 1848, locating in Hazel Dell Township, where he was married. She was the second child in her parents' family of six children, born March 31, 1864; and educated for the teachers' profession, served in that capacity until she was married March 20, 1883. Mr. and Mrs. MENERAY have two children: Luemma A., born January 1, 1886, and Albert O., November 23, 1887




Merriam, Farwell


FARWELL MERRIAM, a farmer of Lewis Township, is a native of Worcester Co., Massachusetts, born January 14, 1833, son of Asa and Sarah (WARREN) MERRIAM, natives of Westminster, Massachusetts, and of French extraction. The parents were both deceased in Massachusetts, the father dying May 19, 1886, at the advanced age of 86 years, 10 months, 11 days, and the mother in 1869. She was born about the beginning of the 19th century. The father was a farmer, and also owned and operated a mill in Princeton, Worcester Co., Massachusetts. FARWELL MERRIAM was the fifth child in a family of ten children, was reared to farm life and received his education in the district schools. When he was 20 years of age, he entered a wood shop, engaged in getting out chair material, and also learned wood turning for about a year. February 6, 1854, he embarked for California on board the steamship "Georgia," ticket $115. March 13, 1854, he arrived at San Francisco. He there took the steamboat "Pawnee" up the river to Marysville and then walked 28 miles to Swedish Flat, Butte Co., where he engaged in gold mining for over three years, when he returned to his native state, remaining until the spring of 1858. At Worcester, Mass., April 6, 1858, he purchased a ticket for $32 to St. Louis, Missouri, via Chicago which was at that time a small place. From St. Louis he came by boat to Council Bluffs where he remained over night, and the next morning started out afoot for Onawa, Iowa, a distance of some 60 miles. Here he engaged at work for Judge Whitney, in Monona Co., where he remained for two or three weeks. Mr. Merriam then purchased a piece of land, all of the northwest quarter of section 5, on the west side of the Sioux River, comprising 114 acres. This was a tract of uncultivated land, which he slightly improved and remained one year. He then returned to Onawa, where he erected a home, and resided there until May 6, 1861, when he started with a wagon and two yoke of cattle for Denver, Colorado, arriving at Denver, June 15, 1861. From there he went to Golden Gate and over the divide to Black Hawk Point and Central City, where he took up a claim between Central and Nevada City, which he worked for several months.

On October 6 he sold out and returned overland to Council Bluffs and thence to Onawa, where he remained until April 1862. Mr. Merriam then returned to Council Bluffs, en route for Denver; but when he arrived here, he changed his mind and on May 15, 1862, opened a small grocery, notions and fruit store at No. 187 Broadway. During his stay in Council Bluffs, he increased his stock and controlled the whole fruit market. In 1881 he turned his entire attention to his farm, which is located on section 17, Lewis Township, where he has lived since the spring of 1875 having purchased the same in 1874. This farm consists of 40 acres for which he paid $2,000 and which he has turned into a vegetable garden and fruit farm; but for a number of years he followed stock-raising. Mr. Merriam has made many improvements and now has one of the best located farms in this part of the country; everything denotes thrift, energy, and prosperity. He is a stanch Republican and takes an active part in all political issues of the day and strives to promote the best interests of his party. Mr. Merriam was married Sept 4, 1867, in Sparta, Wisconsin, to Miss SARAH E. JONES, aged 39 years, the daughter of G.H. and Adaline JONES of Council Bluffs. Mr. and Mrs. Merriam have six children: George of Council Bluffs, aged 22 years 4 months; Grace E., 19 years 9 months, and the wife of W.W. BIDDLESTON of Council Bluffs; Charles F., deceased March 15, 1889, aged 15 yrs 3 months 22 days; Walter, deceased in 1882 at the age of 3 yrs, 11 months 25 days; Leonard A., at home, aged 7 years 6 months; and Harrold, 4 years 6 months old. Mr. Merriam is a member of the Pioneer Association of Monona County, Iowa.




Metcalf, George


GEORGE METCALF, a real estate dealer, and of the firm of Metcalf Brothers, has been identified with the interests of Council Bluffs since the spring of 1869. He is a native of Ohio, born in Geauga County, September 30, 1841, the son of Thomas and Paulina (BEARD) METCALF, the former a native of Connecticut, who came to Ohio with his parents in 1816. He is of English descent, and is now living in Ohio, at the advanced age of ninety-two years. Our subject's mother is a native of Ohio, and daughter of Jedediah BEARD, who served as a Colonel of a regiment in the War of 1812. He was a native of Vermont. The subject of this sketch resided with is parents until the breaking out of the late war. He enlisted December 19, 1861, in Company I, 7th Ohio Volunteer Infantry, going directly south and joining the Army of Western Virginia. He participated in the first battle of Winchester, Port Republic, Cedar Mountain, Chancellorsville, Antietam, Gettysburg, and was with the Sherman campaign. He served until the close of the late war and was honorably discharged December 29, 1864, after which he returned home and engaged in the lumber business for a short time. Mr. METCALF then went to Louisiana and engaged in planting, remaining in that state and Mississippi for three years. For a year and a half, he was engaged in raising cotton and one and a half years in the timber business. He then returned to his native place, and remained until 1869, when he came to Council Bluffs, where his brothers had preceded him. He engaged in the hat, cap, and furnishing goods and fur business, first starting in the retail trade, and after a few years they branched into the jobbing business, the firm being known as Metcalf Bros., consisting of H. H., George, and Thomas.

Mr. METCALF was married February 27, 1879, to Miss Helen E. RUE, a native of Danville, Kentucky, and a daughter of John B. RUE, who removed from Kentucky to Ohio and thence to Iowa, settling first at Mt. Pleasant and then at Council Bluffs in 1869. Mr. And Mrs. METCALF have five children: Clara H., John H., James B., Margaret F. and Mildred E. Mrs. METCALF is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. METCALF is a member of the G.A.R. Abe Lincoln Post No. 29, and has represented the fourth ward of the city as an Alderman for two years. Politically, he affiliates with the Republican Party. In 1873, our subject, in company with H.H., his brother, went to Texas and established business in clothing and gents' furnishing goods, which they ran only one year during the building of the Texas Pacific Railroad.




Mikesill, J. W.


J. W. MIKESILL, proprietor of a general store at 2300 West Broadway, Council Bluffs, established his business in September 1888 and carries a stock of some $2,500. He was born in Dayton, Ohio, in November 1829, the son of John H. and Phoebe (BIRCH) MIKESILL, natives of Virginia and New York, and of Scotch and Irish descent. They had a family of eight children, five of whom are still living. Our subject, the third child and the only one residing in this state, was brought up on a farm and educated in the common schools. In 1840 he came to Iowa with his parents, locating in Marion County, where he grew to manhood and where his parents died. When he was twenty years of age, he engaged in the mercantile business at Red Rock, Iowa, and in 1851 took a trip to California, passing through Council Bluffs. He remained in that state some eight years, and was engaged in mining, mercantile business, and also operated a water ditch for mining purposes. In the spring of 1860, he returned to this state, where he remained until 1870, when he again started for California, but stopped at Council Bluffs, where he has since remained. He first engaged in the stock business, but drifted into real estate, which he continued two years. In 1888, he commenced his present business, and has since acquired considerable property. His home is at No. 2206 Avenue A. Politically, he has always been a strong supporter of the Democratic Party, and in the spring of 1890 was elected Alderman of the Sixth Ward.

Mr. MIKESILL was married in 1861 to Miss Catherine ALLEY, a native of Indiana, but was reared in Iowa. They have a family of six children: Uba, wife of John CLATTERBUCK; Robert P., deceased; Caroline J., wife of Ira BENGE of Council Bluffs; Bettie, at home; William J., Donnelly C., John W. and Horace, deceased. The mother is a member of the Christian Church, while the father holds to the Spiritualistic faith.




Miller, J. W.


J.W. MILLER, of section 24, Washington Township, came to this county in the fall of 1885, and bought his present farm of Dr. J.J. THOMPSON, who had improved the land. Mr. MILLER came from Rock Island County, Illinois, where he had lived many years. He was born in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, June 12, 1842, a son of Joseph B., who was born in the same county, near Freeport, and was a son f John MILLER, a native of Ireland and an Orangeman. He was one of the two earliest settlers in that part of Allegheny County. The mother of our subject was Jane (McCALL) MILLER, who was born in Butler County Pennsylvania, the daughter of John McCALL. Mr. and Mrs. J.B. MILLER removed to Rock Island County Illinois, where they resided until their death, the mother dying at the age of seventy-four years and the father at the age of seventy-six years. He was a farmer most of his life and also served as Sheriff and deputy Sheriff of his county for seventeen years. Politically he was a Whig, and was one of the twelve men who first voted the Republican ticket in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. In religion he was a United Presbyterian. Mr. and Mrs. MILLER reared eight children, seven sons and one daughter; three of the sons served in the late war.

Joseph W. MILLER was reared in Allegheny County until nine years of age, when his parents moved to Rock Island County Illinois. During the great Rebellion he enlisted in the Army, February 12, 1864, in the one hundred and twenty-sixth Illinois regiment at Duvall's Bluffs, Arkansas. He served until the close of the war and was honorably discharged at Pine Bluff, Arkansas, July 12, 1865. He returned to Rock Island County, Illinois, where he was engaged in farm work until 1885, with the exception of one spent in Madison County, Nebraska. He took up a homestead there in 1873, but the grasshoppers being so destructive and his situation being forty miles from the railroad, caused him to return to Illinois. Since 1885 hi has been a resident of Washington Township. He owns 160 acres of improved land. Mr. MILLER was married in Rock Island County, Illinois, September 2, 1867, to Miss Martha PEARSALL, who was born in that county, a daughter of William C. and Jane ( ELLINGHAM) PEARSALL, the former a native of Steuben county, New York, and the latter of England, who came to America when a child. Mrs. Miller's parents now reside in Rock Island County, Illinois, near Port Byron.

Mr. and Mrs. MILLER have six children, viz: Joseph W., Jane Elizabeth, Martha Isabella, William C., Emma Lucy, Luella. Politically Mr. Miller is a Republican and is a member of the G.A. R., Robert Provard Post, No. 414, of Carson, Iowa. Mrs. Miller is a member of the Sharon Presbyterian Church.




Miller, Robert


ROBERT MILLER, one of the representative citizens of Washington Township, Pottawattamie County, has resided here since 1882. He is justly deserving of honorable mention in a work of this character, and a resume of his life is herewith given.

Mr. MILLER was born in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, twenty miles from Pittsburgh, near the Allegheny River, February 22, 1831. His father, Joseph B. MILLER, was born near Freeport, Pennsylvania, son of John MILLER, a native of Ireland. The latter was one of the two early settlers in that part of Allegheny County. The mother of our subject, Jane (McCALL) MILLER, was born in Butler county, Pennsylvania. Her father, John McCALL, was of Scotch-Irish ancestry. In 1854, Joseph B. MILLER and wife removed to Rock Island County, Illinois, where they resided until their death, the mother dying at the age of seventy-five years and eleven months, and the father at the age of seventy-six years and eleven months. He was a farmer the most of his life, but for seventeen years acted as a county officer. In politics, he was a Whig and an Abolitionist. He was one of the twelve men who first voted the Abolitionist ticket in Allegheny County. In religion he was a Seceder or a United Presbyterian. He and his wife reared eight children, seven sons and one daughter. Three of the sons served in the late War.

Robert passed his youth at farm work in his native county and received his education in the public schools. In 1854, when he was twenty-four years of age, he was married in Allegheny County, to Miss Eleanor McKEE, a lady of intelligence and refinement. She was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, daughter of John and Mary Ann (CRAWFORD) McKEE. Her parents were of Irish ancestry, and were born in Belfast, Ireland. They worshiped with the old-school Presbyterians. Robert MILLER resided in Pennsylvania until 1854, when he removed to Rock Island County, Illinois, where he remained until 1868, with the exception of one year spent at Pike's Peak. In 1868, he removed to Page County, Iowa, and located northwest of Clarinda, being one of the early settlers of that place. He resided in Page County until the spring of 1871, when he moved to Thayer County, Nebraska, then called Jefferson County. After remaining there five years and four months, he returned to Page County and for one year made his home south of Essex. He then went to Atchison County, Missouri, and from there, in 1882, he came to Washington Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa. In 1881, he purchased 160 acres of land from B. F. CLAYTON. The soil had been broken, but there were no improvements on the farm. In 1886 he purchased 80 acres more, now being the owner of 240 acres of well improved land. Besides his own residence, he has two tenant houses. His farm is devoted to general farming and stock-raising.

Mr. And Mrs. MILLER have six children, namely: Mary Jane, wife of George FULTON, Thayer County, Nebraska; Eliza Belle, wife of Samuel BARTLE, Carson Township, Pottawattamie County; Joseph B. is married and lives on his father's farm; William John is also married and resides on the PERRY place; James T. at home; and Robert R., at school. Two of their children are deceased, an infant son and Eleanor, who died at the age of seven months.

Mr. MILLER casts his vote and influence with the Republican party and he has served the public in some of the township offices. He and his wife are members of the Sharon Presbyterian Church, of which he is an elder. He is also an active worker in the Sabbath school. Mr. MILLER is a man of three-score years, yet he bears his age lightly. He is a desirable acquisition to the community in which he resides, and is honored and esteemed by all who know him.




Minahan, Michael


MICHAEL MINAHAN, a merchant of Neola, was born in County Cork, Ireland, September 1, 1845, the son of Jeremiah and Mary (McCARTY) MINAHAN, natives of the same county. At the age of twenty-six years, Mr. Jeremiah MINAHAN, a farmer by vocation, was married, and in 1874 he came to America, sailing from Queenstown on the vessel named Berlin, and ten days later landed at New York. A few days afterward, he came on to this county, locating in York Township, where he made his home with his son (our subject) until his death, October 13, 1878, but spending his last days with another son. He left a wife and four children. The children are: Dennis, residing in Neola Township; Michael, the second born; Hannah, the wife of Frank McMANUS in Norwalk Township; and James, a resident of Chicago. The mother survives and is living with her daughter, Mrs. McMANUS.

Mr. Michael MINAHAN was brought up in farm life. At the age of eighteen years, he came to America, landing at New York in May 1868. In a short time, he went to Franklin, Venango County, Pennsylvania, where he remained a year and a half, working for the Lake Shore Railroad Company. Next he was in Cleveland, Ohio, until the spring of 1871, when he came to Iowa; and finally he came by stage, by way of Grand Junction, to Council Bluffs, and went to Atlantic, Iowa, and was employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company until the fall of 1872. In the spring of 1873, he bought eighty acres of land but very little improved, in York Township, this county. He built thereon a frame house 18 X 24 feet, and a story and a half high, and the usual farm buildings, and began and carried forward a thorough improvement of the premises. To his ordinary work as a farmer and stock raiser, he dealt extensively in cattle, Durham stock. He has added to his original purchase of land until he now has 200 acres of fine land, well improved, 120 being under the plow. In the fall of 1887 he rented the farm and moved into Neola, engaging in the grocery trade. Here he bought a home, which he now occupies; and in the store, he includes dry goods in his trade, and carries on a general mercantile business. He has a good stock and his reputation stands high for honesty and liberality. He now has a partner named POGGE. They do a business of about $20,000 yearly, being live and energetic men.

Mr. MINAHAN was married January 17, 1878, to Mary STEWART, who was the daughter of Benjamin F. and Ellen (CRAMPTON) STEWART, natives respectively of Ohio and Ireland. Mr. STEWART was a fireman and a policeman in Cincinnati for many years. In 1878, he came to Iowa and lived in Neola until his death, July 23, 1886, leaving his wife and five children. The children are: Morris, residing in Council Bluffs; Mary, the second born and wife of Mr. MINAHAN; Ellen, wife of Barney JUNGERMAN and living in Neola Township; Francis, residing in Omaha; and Eva, now the wife of William TANNER, and living in Wyoming Territory. Mrs. MINAHAN was married at the age of twenty years, and there are now in the family the following children: James, who was born in York Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, February 18, 1879; Kate, born July 10, 1883; Nellie, October 11, 1885; Annie, October 12, 1887; Frances was born in Neola, March 10, 1890. Mr. MINAHAN in his political views is a straight Democrat. He has been Clerk of York Township for eight successive years, and School Treasurer two years. At present, he is City Councilman, and takes great interest in the advancement of the interests of the town. He and his wife are members of the Roman Catholic Church of Neola, and stand high in the estimation of the community.




Mitchell, Arthur I.


ARTHUR I. MITCHELL, a well known physician and surgeon of Macedonia, Iowa, was born in Decatur Co, Indiana, February 13, 1847, son of DR. James H. and Nancy (IRMLAY) MITCHELL; the former is a well known physician of that place, and the latter is of a prominent family; her brother was once Sheriff of Decatur County. The father was born in Bourbon Co., Kentucky, and at the age of four years, his parents removed to Decatur Co., Indiana. He and his father edited the first paper published at Greensburg, Indiana. He was a personal friend of ex-Governor CUMBACK and intimately acquainted with Mills & Co., ex-State printers of Des Moines, Iowa. He afterward commenced the study of medicine, and when he was 27 years of age, practiced in Decatur Co. In the spring of 1853, he journeyed west with his family to Iowa, where he settled at Twin Groves, Keokuk Co., Iowa, where he remained 13 years. He then removed to Washington Co., Iowa, and three years after, moved from there to Seward Co, Nebraska, where he remained three years; then came to Pottawattamie Co, settling at old Macedonia, and when the new town of Macedonia was built he moved there, in 1880. He resided there until 1885-86. When visiting his son, Brutus MITCHELL, at Axtell, Kearney Co., Nebraska, he died at about sixty-six years of age. His widow still resides at Macedonia. They had six children, four sons and two daughters: A.I., our subject; Mary, wife of Henry DAVISON of Axtell, Nebraska, who is in the livery and harness business; Brutus I., also in the livery business at Wilcox, Kearney Co.; Lewis E. STRYKER, in company with Brutus I., at Wilcox; E. Summer, who died at age 19 years at old Macedonia; and Delia, wife of Henry KENNEDY of Macedonia.

The subject of this sketch enlisted at Keokuk, Iowa, in May 1864, in the 47th Iowa Infantry Volunteers, Colonel J.P. SANFORD, the well known Iowa lecturer, and Captain Harrison E. HAVENS, now editor of the Sigourney News, in command. The regiment was stationed at Helena, Arkansas. In 1872 Mr. MITCHELL lived at Crete, Nebraska, where he studied medicine with Dr. A.D. ROOT, a well known physician of that place, and after 3 years of study, he attended the Rush Medical College at Chicago, IL, in the winter of 1876-77. He then practiced in Wheeler, Pottawattamie Co, for three years, then in 1880, attended another year at the Rush Medical College, where he graduated February 22, 1881. He was for a year in company with his father and brother, Brutus, in the drug business at Macedonia. He was a registered pharmacist, the firm being A.I. Mitchell & Co. In 1882, the doctor removed to Wheeler, where he resided five years and then located at Macedonia, where he has since resided. His extensive acquaintance in this part of the county and his success in business, insures him an extensive and paying practice. He was married April 10, 1869, to Miss Annie EFNER, who was born in Brighton, Iowa, the daughter of DR. William H. and Sarah C. (JOHNSTON) EFNER; the mother still resides with Mrs. Mitchell, at the advanced age of 82 years.

Dr. and Mrs. MITCHELL have one son, Sumner, who was born August 2, 1879. They lost one child, Frank, by death when an infant. Politically the Doctor is a Republican. His father was an old Abolitionist, and was a conductor on the "Underground Railroad." The Doctor is a member of the Botna Valley Medical Association, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is a class leader, and is also licensed to preach; his wife is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star, and her father was a Master Mason. Dr. MITCHELL is also a member of the I.O.O.F. Macedonia Lodge No. 421 of which he is Secretary.




Montgomery, Harrison


HARRISON MONTGOMERY, section 10, Grove Township, is one of the well-known and much-respected citizens of Pottawattamie County, Iowa. He came to this place in 1870 and has since made it his home. Mr. MONTGOMERY was born in Pickaway County, Ohio, September 27, 1839, the son of Moses and Elizabeth (JONES) MONTGOMERY, the latter a native of Pennsylvania. His father was a strong and radical Whig and a great admirer of General HARRISON, and when the subject of this sketch was born, he was named after the hero of Tippecanoe. Mr. MONTGOMERY was a babe when the family removed to Wells County, Indiana, and when he was seven years old, his father died. His mother and her children subsequently removed to Winnebago County, Illinois. At the age of twelve years, Mr. MONTGOMERY came to Jasper County, Iowa, where he grew to manhood and received a fair education in the public schools. Of his brothers and sisters, we state that John went overland to California and died in the land of gold; James E., who served four years during the War in Company I, 10th Iowa Infantry, lives in Cheyenne County, Kansas; Delphia DEWITTE lives in Grove Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa; Eliza SEEK resides at Rockford, Illinois; Annie died when a child. Their mother is now 90 years of age and lives in Kansas with her son, James.

The subject of this sketch was married in Jasper County in 1857 to Miss Mary Jane MILLS, who was born in Indiana and reared and educated in Jasper County, Iowa. She is a daughter of William and Elizabeth (BURKHALTER) MILLS. Her mother died in Jasper County and her father lives in Sherman County, Kansas. The following named children have been born to Mr. And Mrs. MONTGOMERY: Ella, wife of John WALKER, of Carson Township; Emma, wife of Thomas MARSHALL, Lincoln, Nebraska; Hatty, wife of Charles WOOD, Grove Township; Irvin, who lives in Sarpy County, Nebraska; Casin, Sadie, Tillie May, John, Pearly, Laura and Clarence L., all at home. Two of their children died in infancy.

Mr. MONTGOMERY came to this county in 1870 and bought 40 acres of land. He now has a well improved farm, a story and a half house, suitable out-buildings and good fences. His house is situated on a natural building site, and is surrounded by shade and ornamental trees. He has an orchard and grove. Mr. MONTGOMERY is a trustee and steward of the Christian Church. His wife and two of their children are also members. Politically, he is a Republican. Mr. MONTGOMERY is a man in the prime of life, and by all who know him, he is regarded as an upright and worthy citizen.




Montgomery, Phineas J.


PHINEAS J. MONTGOMERY, M.D., homeopathic physician and surgeon, is one of the leading physicians of his school in western Iowa. Dr. MONTGOMERY was born in Delaware County, New York, December 1, 1841. His father is Charles Fowler MONTGOMERY. The family was originally from Vermont and of Scotch ancestry. The mother of the subject of this sketch was formerly Emeline E. ST. JOHN and descended directly from the ST. JOHNS and ABBOTTS of England, her mother having been an ABBOTT. Her family were early settlers of Connecticut. The parents of Dr. MONTGOMERY emigrated from the state of New York to Wisconsin in 1852 and settled in Rock County, and later removed to Jefferson County, and are still residents of Waterloo in that county. The Doctor is the third in order of birth of six sons. There were also three daughters in the family.

The subject of this sketch was educated at Albion Academy, Wisconsin, and was for two years engaged in teaching, and for a time had charge of Waterloo Academy. He had contemplated from early life fitting himself for the medical profession, and entered upon a regular course of medical study in 1862, at which he continued until 1864, when he entered the army as assistant physician and surgeon in the hospital of the quartermaster's department. He continued in the Army until after the destruction of the Confederate General Hood's army by the army under General Thomas; his field of service being with the Army of the Tennessee. On his return from the army, he entered the Hahnemann Medical College at Chicago, at which he graduated in 1866. After his graduation, he located in Medina County, Ohio, where he remained three years, when he returned to Wisconsin and located at Watertown. There he continued in the practice of his profession until 1872, when he came to Iowa and located at Osage, where he practiced until 1879. In the winter of that year, he took a special course of lectures at Hahnemann College, Chicago, and also in the College of Physicians and Surgeons in that city. In 1880, he came to Council Bluffs, where he has built up a large practice and is one of the leading physicians of the city.

Dr. MONTGOMERY was married in Wisconsin in 1864, to Miss Helen A. CASTLE, a native of Ohio. They have two children: Charles Frederick, born in Ohio in 1869, and now a student of Grinnell College, and a daughter, Ruth Evangeline, born in Council Bluffs in 1881.



Morris, Furman


FURMAN MORRIS, a popular and prosperous citizen of Center Township, Pottawattamie Co, Iowa, came to his present location in 1872, when this part of the country was thinly settled. A sketch of his life will be found of interest and is as follows: Mr. MORRIS was born in Middlesex Co., New Jersey, October 3, 1837. His father, Aaron MORRIS, a native of the same vicinity, was a son of David MORRIS, who was also a native of New Jersey and who served in the Revolutionary War as a drummer boy. He was a son of Reno MORRIS, who was killed on the old Morris homestead by a falling tree. They were of Scotch extraction. Our subject's mother, nee Sarah RANDOLPH, was born in Middlesex Co, NJ, the daughter of Richard RANDOLPH also a native of that state. Her grandfather Randolph was born in Virginia, a descendant of the well known Randolph family of the Old Dominion.

Aaron MORRIS and Sarah, his wife, emigrated to Lee Co., Illinois in 1855 where they spent the rest of their lives, the father dying in June 1889 at the age of 82 years. The Morrises are a long-lived people, though the Randolphs usually died in middle life. Aaron MORRIS was a Democrat before the war. He voted for General Fremont, and was a strong Union man. He was a member of the Baptist Church. By his first wife the following children were born to him: Joel W., a resident of Franklin Co., Kansas; Richard R. and Furman, both of the same township; Aaron F., who died in infancy; Sarah, widow of H.A. JEFFS, a Lieutenant of the 34th Illinois Infantry. She resides at Eldena, Lee Co., Illinois; Rachel J., wife of Jerry MOSTELLAR, a grain merchant of Eldena. Some time after the death of his first wife, Mr. Morris married Alvira SMITH, a native of Massachusetts and by her had one daughter, Amanda MORRIS. This daughter resides with her mother at Dixon.

Furman MORRIS was reared on a New Jersey farm and received his education in the public schools of his native state. He was 18 years of age when he went to Illinois and settled in Lee Co. In 1861 in answer to President Lincoln's call for volunteers, he enlisted in Company D, 34th Illinois Infantry. He was in the battles of Shiloh, Stone River, Perryville, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge and Ringgold, Georgia. Mr. MORRIS was taken ill with a chronic disease which disabled him from active duty in the field, and he was sent to Nashville, where he was honorably discharged. From there he returned to his home in Illinois. He bought a farm near Dixon, which he cultivated until 1872 in which year he came to his present location. He bought 160 acres of wild land and afterward acquired more, now being the owner of 240 acres. It is well improved and is devoted to general farming and stock raising. Mr. MORRIS has a comfortable frame house, a good barn and all necessary farm equipments.

He has been twice married, first February 20, 1866 in Ogle Co., Illinois to Miss Sarah PUTNAM, daughter of George and Elizabeth (PERKINS) PUTNAM. The Putnams are relatives of old Israel PUTNAM of Revolutionary fame. The family came from Vermont when Mrs. MORRIS was 8 or 9 years old and settled in Illinois. She died January 26, 1868. Mr. Morris subsequently wedded her sister, Miss ELLEN R. PUTNAM, who previous to her maRriage was a popular and successful teacher. Nine children have been born to them, viz.: Charles L., Louie B., Winnie R., Jennie M., Roy F., Clara Violet, and Ada Pearl. Two are deceased - Mabel and Ida. Mr. Morris, his wife and two of their children are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a steward of the church and his family are workers in the Sunday school. Mr. Morris is a member of the Robert Provard Post No. 414 of Carson



Mulholland, J. P.


J.P. MULHOLLAND is the senior member of the firm of Mulholland and Nicholas, wholesale and retail dealers in Missouri River Ice; office, NO. 4 Pearl street. The business was established in 1861 by R. Guannella & Brother. The present firm succeeded D. F. EICHER in 1882. Their storage-house has a capacity of about 4,500 tons. Mr. MULHOLLAND was born in Independence, Missouri, August 7, 1845, the son of Samuel B. MULHOLLAND, of Irish ancestry. He was but one year old when his father ( the mother having died) removed to Iowa City. He afterward moved to Sioux City and then to Concord, Nebraska and later to South Dakota. In September, 1864 they came to Council Bluffs, where our present subject has since made his home. In 1879 he opened a feed store in this city. Eighteen months afterward he quit it and engaged in various occupations, but principally the ice business for Dan. F; Eicher nine years. He is a self-made man, starting out with but comparatively nothing; and by close application to business he has risen to his present position. Politically he is a non partisan. In society he is a member of lodge NO 146, A.O.U.W. He was married December 25, 1872, to Miss Lucinda SMITH, who was born in Jamestown, Ohio, in 1840, and they have two children, Mamie and James B.



Muller, Julius


JULIUS MULLER, a prominent citizen near Crescent City, was born April 8, 1836, in Colmar, Alsace, France, which has been a province of Germany since the Franco-German war of 1870-'71. His parents, William and Madaline (REBERT) MULLER, were also natives of France. His father was a bookbinder by trade; he had four children, of whom Julius was the second. In 1851, leaving his family for the purpose, he came to America, sailing from Havre to New Orleans, arriving eight weeks later. Coming on up to St. Louis, he was there engaged at his trade. During the month of December the next year his family arrived. A year afterward he went to Davenport and established himself in his trade there, where also Julius, having previously served his apprenticeship in the same, remained a short time. Going next to Cassville, Wisconsin, he entered 160 acres of land and began improving it, but after a time he sold it, visited Lancaster, Wisconsin, and then located in Rock Island, Illinois, where he carried on his business extensively until he was burned out. His wife, being an invalid, was living with her daughter in Davenport, when she died in 1875. After her death he made a number of changes until he finally settled in Davenport, where he still resides.

October 2, 1859, Mr. Julius MULLER married Ann BIRD, who was born near Quebec, Canada, May 2, 1838, of Irish ancestry. She was brought by her parents to Illinois in 1852, and to Clay County, Iowa, in 1855. After his marriage Mr. MULLER bought a tract of bottom land in Harrison County, this State, and resold it in 1866; but in 1864 he was drafted into the military service, placed in Company E. Thirteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and was in service at Nashville, Tennessee. Next he was detailed upon a scouting expedition through Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama, and thence to Annapolis, Maryland, whence he was sent down the coast on vessels to Morehead City, North Carolina, thence to Newbern and Kingston, where they were engaged in a severe fight, Mr. MULLER having a narrow escape from the bullet of a sharp-shooter. They then joined Sherman in his march from the sea. At Raleigh they heard of the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. They proceeded on to Washington and thence to Louisville, Kentucky, where they were mustered out, July 21, 1865.

Mr. MULLER then went to Denver, looking for a place to locate, but returned to Pottawattamie County, and in 1867 purchased forty acres of land entirely wild, and began improving it. He has since added to his first purchase until he now has 164 acres of good land, on sections 13 and 24. He has a good story-and-a-half house with farm buildings, etc, a fine orchard and evergreen ornamental trees about the premises. His specialty is the rearing of domestic animals, chiefly horses.

Politically Mr. MULLER is a Republican, but in the primaries he votes for "the best man." He is a member of the M. P. Society, and has held various offices. He and his family are highly respected. His children are: Mary, born January 25, 1861, residing at home; William, born April 8, 1862, resides in Missouri Valley, Iowa; Charles, born January 22, 1867; Minnie, born August 15, 1870; and Thomas, born November 26, 1871, all three of these last still at their parental home.




Murchison, J. K.


J. K. MURCHISON is one of the thrifty Scotchmen who left his native land and sought a home in the United States. He was born at Lochcarron, Roshire, in the Highlands of Scotland, in August 1846, son of Kenneth and Christy (McLEOD) MURCHISON, both natives of that place. The father died in Scotland, at the age of fifty-six years, and the mother is still living there, aged sixty-five. Of their three sons and two daughters, the subject of this sketch is the oldest. He was reared on a farm and educated in his native land. At the age of twenty-one, he bade good-bye to home and friends and set sail from Glasgow for New York. After traveling over Ohio and Kentucky, he went to Stark County, Illinois, where he worked by the month for two years. Then he went to Henry County, same state, where he rented land near Kewanee for five years.

In August 1869, while in Stark County, Mr. MURCHISON married Ann McKINZIE, also a native of Rosshire, Scotland, the daughter of Scottish parents, John and Eliza McKINZIE. Mr. MURCHISON then made his home in Elmira, Stark County, until 1883, when he came to Iowa and settled in Pottawattamie County. He bought 120 acres of improved land in section 17, Waveland Township. In 1887, he purchased 80 acres more, now owning 200 acres in one body. He has a comfortable frame house, grove and orchard, stable, feed yards, granary, cribs, etc. The farm is well improved and everything about the premises has a look of prosperity.

Mr. And Mrs. MURCHISON have five children: Mary, Kenneth, Willina, John Alexander, and Christena. Two of their children, Lizzie and a babe, are deceased. In politics, Mr. MURCHISON is a Republican. He is a Presbyterian, in which faith he was reared. His intelligence combined with his honesty and industry has brought prosperity to him and won for him the confidence and respect of his fellow citizens.




Murphy, J. A.


J.A. MURPHY, a contractor and builder of Council Bluffs, and also the owner of a planning-mill, sash, door, and blind factory, which was erected in October 1889, is one of the most important businessmen in this city. He came here in 1881 and erected the Union elevator for the Pool lines, and after its completion he decided to remain here. He has erected a number of buildings, among which are the David Bradley building, the Massalon, the Morselles, the Sandwich, Electric Motor, Marriam Block, Washington Avenue school building, the Grand Hotel, which is now under construction, and many other buildings. He does an annual business of about $75,000. The second year of his residence in Council Bluffs, Mr. MURPHY had secured some $60,000 worth of work. At present, he turns out all his work at his own plant, which is located at the corner of Twenty-first Street and First Avenue. It was erected at a cost of some $14,000, and he employs about sixteen men in the plant and thirty to forty outside, all of whom are practical mechanics. He has in view the enlargement of his plant, as he has not sufficient space to do his work. Politically he is an adherent of the Democratic Party, of which he is a hearty supporter. He is a member of the A.O.U.W., Apollo Lodge No. 139, of Chicago.

Mr. MURPHY was born in Portage du Fort, Canada East, near Ottawa City, December 5, 1839, the son of Patrick and Rose Ann (PRENTICE) MURPHY, and of Irish-Scotch descent. He attended school in his native country until nineteen years of age, when he commenced work in the pineries, continuing two years; he next served an apprenticeship at the carpenter's trade with his father, who was a contractor and carpenter. His father died when he was twenty-four years of age, after which he took charge of his business and prosecuted the same two years. He then left Canada, and in 1863 went to Chicago, where he remained until 1864. He then went south with Sherman, and served in the employ of the Government about two years and three months, when he was honorably discharged. Mr. MURPHY then returned to Chicago, remained until 1869; thence he went to Montana for three and a half years; then back to Chicago for two years; next to San Francisco, California, three years; again returned to Chicago, where he remained until 1881; and then came to this city, where he has since made his home. During his travels from one place to another, he was engaged at his trade. He has done much toward building up Council Bluffs, and in the fall of 1881 was the means of bringing 110 mechanics to this city from Chicago. At other times, he has been the cause of bringing men from various parts of the country, and the result is that many are now permanent residents, and some are the best mechanics the city affords.

Mr. MURPHY was married in Chicago, January 28, 1868, to Kate L. WRIGHT, a native of Canada and daughter of John and Isabella WRIGHT, of Lancaster, Canada West, and of Scotch birth and German parentage. Mr. And Mrs. MURPHY have three children: George, Maud and Harry.




Murray, James


JAMES MURRAY, one of the old soldier citizens of Pottawattamie County, was born in the city of Dublin, Ireland, March 1, 1833, a son of James MURRAY, who was a steward of the estate of William HOWE, which was called Allendale. The father was a Catholic religiously, and died in Ireland in 1861. His wife's maiden name was Jane FLYNN, and they were the parents of six children, who lived to maturity: Dennis, Patrick, Elizabeth, Catherine, James and Eliza. Mr. MURRAY was an active and industrious man, and remained with Mr. HOWE for over forty years, being implicitly trusted - in other words, he was an honest man, who, as Pope says, "is the noblest work of God." Mr. William HOWE was a public notary and stockbroker in Dublin and a man of wealth.

At the age of seventeen years, James MURRAY, our subject, came to America, arriving in New York City in September 1849. He went to Middletown, that state, and worked in a nursery, and the next spring went to Paterson, New Jersey, where he remained until 1854, when he came to Davenport, Iowa, and engaged in work on the Rock Island Railroad. He next removed to Iowa City and worked in a commission house until April 28, 1861, when he enlisted in Company B, 1st Iowa Regiment Volunteer Infantry, under Captain Mahan. Thus he numbers among the brave men who were the first to volunteer in defense of the Union, and to set the example which was followed by thousands of men who were willing to risk their lives that their country might be saved, and become one of the greatest nations on earth. Mr. MURRAY went with his regiment to Missouri and was in service against the guerrillas who infested the State, and was in several skirmishes with them. This service was very severe, and the guerrillas or "bushwhackers" would be in ambush in the heavy oak scrubs and first upon the troops. At McCulloughtown, a severe skirmish was fought, and August 10, 1861, at twenty minutes past two o'clock a.m., the first rifle shot was fired by the pickets at the famous battle of Wilson Creek, where the noted General Lyon fell; he was shot at fifteen minutes past 12 o'clock. Mr. MURRAY saw him ride out in front of the 1st Iowa Regiment on a dapple-gray horse, where he fell instantly, pierced with bullets. He was but a few rods from Mr. MURRAY when he fell, and within two minutes our subject was shot through the wrist, shattering the small bones. His regiment retreated directly after the death of General Lyon to Springfield, Missouri, in good order, which place they reached at 7 o'clock the same day. Mr. MURRAY received no medical attendance, and the next night slept on the ground; and the next day the regiment, with the remainder of the army, retreated to Raleigh, Missouri, 150 miles, and thence by rail to St. Louis, where our subject received medical attention, his arm being badly swollen. He was not in a hospital. His time having expired, he was honorably discharged at St. Louis, and returned to Iowa City, but was disabled one year from work on account of his wound.

He remained in the warehouse of the Rock Island Railroad until 1871, when he bought his present farm, then consisting of 120 acres of wild prairie. In 1876, he came to live on this land, which he has since improved and made a comfortable home. He is well known as a faithful and honest citizen, and his course through life, either in the employ of others or working for himself, has been straightforward and manly. Politically, he is a Republican, and religiously a devoted Catholic. He is a member of the G.A.R. John A. Dix Post of Walnut, Iowa.

He was married in 1862 at Iowa City to Mary QUINN, who was born in the State of Maine of Irish parentage. To Mr. And Mrs. MURRAY have been born seven children: Eliza J., James, William, Ellen, Catherine, John and Annie. Mrs. Murray's father, Johnson QUINN, was born in Ireland and settled in Elkhart County, Indiana, on a farm. He lived to the age of eighty-three and was a member of the Methodist Church. His first wife, Sarah SHELLEDAY, was born in Ireland, and died at the age of thirty-six years. They had six children: Eliza, William, Samuel, John, Mary and Robert. Mr. QUINN was again married, this time to Eliza SPENCER, and they have had two children: Daniel and Sarah. Mr. MURRAY is a pioneer of the township, having made his farm from a wild prairie by hard work and industry, assisted by his faithful wife. He stands deservedly high as a good, intelligent American citizen. Having shed his blood on the field of battle in defense of American principles, he has a great love for his country and we have no more loyal men than those who fought for our flag.




Mynster, Christopher, O.


CHRISTOPHER O. MYNSTER, a pioneer of Pottawattamie County, was born in the city of Copenhagen, Denmark, June 24, 1796. He was reared to the business of merchandising, and married Miss Maria JENSEN, who was also born in the capital city of Denmark. Their son, Wilhelm, was born in 1843. In 1846, Mr. And Mrs. MYNSTER, with their only child, came to America and located in the city of Washington, District of Columbia, where Mr. MYNSTER engaged in merchandising. When the gold fever in California broke out, Mr. MYNSTER formed plans for going to the Pacific coast, and started westward in the summer of 1850. Reaching Council Bluffs, he was favorably impressed with the appearance of the country, and with the promises that real estate gave he decided to stop here. He accordingly bought a large number of claims of Mormon residents who were about to leave. Returning to Washington, he brought out his family in the spring of 1851, and settled at Council Bluffs. But he did not long survive, becoming a victim of that fatal disease, cholera, his death occurring on the 16th of August 1852. The sudden death of Mr. MYNSTER and the consequent unsettled state of his business served as an opportunity for unprincipled men, who, taking advantage of circumstances, "jumped" most of the claims that Mr. MYNSTER had purchased, and deprived the family of much of the lands that properly belonged to them. Mrs. MYNSTER, however, deprived by the death of her husband, took charge of his business and soon proved that she possessed remarkable business capacity, although not able to retain much of the land that her husband had purchased. She bought the land that now constitutes the Mynster Addition to the city of Council Bluffs, which she laid out and realized much therefrom. In 1882, she erected in the city what is known as the Mynster Blocks, on each side of Broadway.

The Mynster Park, where she now resides, is a most beautiful locality. The place comprises several hundred acres of timber land which she obtained in 1860, and also a number of beautiful and remarkable springs, some of which contain valuable medicinal properties; and they, together with the beautiful surrounding scenery, promise in the near future to make a popular resort. At this writing, she is about to lay out Mynster Park into lots, with an avenue 100 feet wide, and has obtained from the city a charter for a street car or motor line through the same, and by the time this sketch is published, it will be built and many handsome residences erected on the same. W. A. MYNSTER, her only son, is a very prominent lawyer of Council Bluffs and the father of four sons and one daughter.

Mrs. MYNSTER was much younger than her husband, having been born in 1823, and is certainly a lady of marked ability and business capacity. Though Mr. MYNSTER did not long survive after his removal to Iowa, yet he lived long enough to establish the character of an upright, honest and energetic citizen. He was a consistent member of the Lutheran Church, a kind husband and father, and in all respects an estimable citizen.




Mynster, William A.


WILLIAM A. MYNSTER of Council Bluffs, one of the leading members of the bar of Pottawattamie County, is the only son of Christopher O. and Maria MYNSTER, pioneers of this county, a sketch of whom is found elsewhere in this work. He was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, October 13, 1843, having been but a child when the family emigrated to America. He was educated at Sinsinawa Mound College, Wisconsin, and at St. Louis University, Missouri, graduating from the latter institution in 1861 and from the Albany Law School at Albany, New York, in 1865, and has been actively engaged in the practice of law in the city of Council Bluffs since that time. One year after beginning the practice of his profession, he became associated with Mr. HIGHT, in the firm name of MYNSTER & HIGHT. This co-partnership continued for several years, when the firm of JAMES, AYLESWORTH & MYNSTER was formed, and later that of MYNSTER, MICKLE & DAVIS, and still later that of MYNSTER & ADAMS. His next association was in the firm name of MYNSTER, LINDT & SEABROOK. He is still associated with Mr. LINDT, the firm being MYNSTER & LINDT.

Mr. MYNSTER was married to Miss E. A. PLATER, daughter of Ira PLATER, an early settler of Council Bluffs. Mr. MYSTER was bereft of his wife by death in November 1886. He has five children: William Rufus Choate, Marie, Ira C., Lester A. and Henry F. Mr. MYNSTER is one of the representative citizens of Council Bluffs and an enterprising and progressive citizen. He has served as attorney of Pottawattamie County and President of the City Council of this city. Politically, Mr. MYNSTER affiliates with the Democratic Party.




Nellis, Lorenzo D.


Lorenzo D. NELLIS, a substantial farmer of Lincoln Township, was born in Ontario, October 28, 1844, son of Benjamin NELLIS, who was born in New York State of Mohawk Dutch descent. He was married there to Mary BARTLETT, who was from one of the oldest families of America. Mr. And Mrs. NELLIS were the parents of nine children: George S., Myron (deceased young), Orrin, Lysander, Lorenzo D., Mary J., Elizabeth E. and Sarah A. The father moved to Ontario and became a farmer and died there at the age of seventy-three years. Both Mr. And Mrs. NELLIS were members of the Methodist Church.

Lorenzo D. NELLIS, our subject, learned the trade of harness maker in Ypsilanti, Michigan, where he remained until about eighteen years of age. He worked at his trade about ten years in Ypsilanti and Grass Lake, Michigan, and in Burlington, Iowa, and also ran a shop for himself in Cairo, Iowa, for about five years. In 1871 Mr. NELLIS settled in Cass County, where he lived about six years; in 1877 he came to Pottawattamie County, and in 1879 bought his present farm, then consisting of eighty acres, which, by energy and industry, he has improved and to which he has wisely added until he now owns 160 acres of fine farm land. Both himself and wife are members of the Christian Church, and he has taken an active interest in the schools. In politics, he is a Republican and is a man who stands high in this township. His children descend on both sides from pioneer American stock, of which there is no better, and they should take honest pride in the sterling ancestry from which they sprung.

Mr. NELLIS was married in Iowa to Mary J. MARSHALL, daughter of Joshua and Euphemia (MARLOW) MARSHALL. The father was born in Virginia and went to Ohio when a boy of ten years, with his father John MARSHALL, who was one of the pioneers of Clark County, Ohio. The Marshalls were of Irish descent, and the Marlows of German descent. Joshua MARSHALL was the father of nine children: Robert, Jennie, Mary J., William, Anna A., Charles W., Almina, and Joseph H. Mr. MARSHALL moved to Iowa and settled in Louisa County, where he was one of the pioneers. He was a comfortable farmer, and died two years after coming to this state, in 1859. He was a member of the Methodist Church and a man who was respected by all.

To Mr. And Mrs. NELLIS have been born three children: Mary E., born January 27, 1872; Maud A., deceased in infancy, and Charles B., born February 23, 1876.



Nicholas, A. B.


A.B. NICHOLAS, the second member of the firm of Mulholland & Nicholas (see sketch on Mulholland) was born in Morris County, New Jersey, November 22, 1841, the son of Amos S. and Mary (JENNINGS) NICHOLAS, also natives of that State. On the paternal side his ancestry is traceable back top the sixteenth century and are of Welsh extraction; on his mother's side his ancestry is English. Both his parents are deceased. He was reared in his native State to farm life. At the age of sixteen years he began to learn the carpenters' trade, but before the expiration of his apprenticeship he enlisted in August 1862, in "Company C, Fifteenth New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, and was discharged June 22,1865, at Hall's Hill, Virginia. He was on constant duty during his entire term of service, participating in some of the most noted battles, as the first and second Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, those of the Wilderness, Shenandoah Valley, Petersburg, etc. After the close of the war he returned to New Jersey, and engaged at his trade, which he followed until the spring of 1867, when he came to Council Bluffs, where he has since made his home, excepting eighteen months in the employ of the Union Pacific Railroad, during its construction. In 1870 he established himself in the grocery business in Council Bluffs, and followed that until 1882, when he engaged in this present trade. In his political sympathies he is a Republican. In 1878 he joined as a charter member of Fidelity Council, No. 156, Royal Arcanum, in which he has passed most of the chairs. In January 1879, he married Miss Grace A. WOOD, daughter of Amasa and Olive WOOD, born in New York State, at Dutch Flats, July 12, 1854.



Nixon, William


WILLIAM NIXON, deceased, late proprietor of the Nixon farm of Pottawattamie Co, was born in Fayette Co, Pennsylvania, October 20, 1802, and died in Pottawattamie Co at the residence of his son David, in Hazel Dell Township, February 3, 1885. He was the son of Moses and Jane (WINN) NIXON, who were among the old families of Pennsylvania. He was reared to the vocation of a miller, which business he followed for a number of years, but previous to leaving Pennsylvania he engaged in farming, which he followed the remainder of his days. He was married March 8, 1824, to Eliza COLLINS, who was born in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, March 2, 1807, and died May 20, 1878. She was the daughter of Joseph and Margaret (ALLEN) COLLNS, the former of Irish and the latter of English extraction; the mother was the daughter of Colonel Ethan ALLEN. Mr. and Mrs. NIXON were the parents of nine children, viz.: Margaret, who died July 1, 1828; Joseph, who died October 2, 1828; Mary, wife of Joseph MEGINESS residing in Nebraska; John, who died in prison during the War of the Rebellion; he was in Company A, 29th Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and died April 29, 1864; Hannah, widow of Benjamin MEGINESS residing in Hazel Dell Township, he also was in Company A, 29th Iowa Volunteer Infantry and served two years; Moses, deceased, who served in the same Company and lost an arm at the battle of Helena, Arkansas, he served about one year and died November 25, 1883; Frances who died August 23, 1883, wife of Caleb KIMBALL; Sarah, wife of W.H. MEGINESS, residing in California, he served in Company A, 29th Iowa Volunteer Infantry for three years and was discharged as Orderly Sargeant; and David, the subject of this sketch and the youngest child.

In 1853, William NIXON removed with his family to Pottawattamie Co locating for a few days near Council Bluffs, at what was then known as Kanesville. They had started for California but concluded to remain in this county. His first permanent location in the county was on sections 33 and 34, of what is now Hazel Dell Township, where he secured 120 acres which was a claim purchased of a MR. SCOTT. This land contained a log cabin and a few acres broken, but naturally was an unimproved farm. Here he lived and reared his family until 1878, when he removed to his son David's, and where the mother died, and where the father spent his remaining days. He improved some 240 acres of land in the county, and assisted largely in its development, encountering the many hardships of pioneer life. He was a stanch Republican. David NIXON, the youngest child, was born in Pennsylvania, June 22, 1848, and came to Pottawattamie Co with his parents where he has since made his home. He was reared to the life of a farmer and received his education in the subscription schools. He remained at home until he was 18 years of age, and was then married June 24, 1866, to Margaret J. WILLIAMS, who was born in South Wales, December 25, 1849. She was the daughter of Daniel and Margaret (EVANS) WILLIAMS, natives of South Wales, who came to Pennsylvania, where they spent a few years and then moved to Utah, remaining one winter, and then came to Pottawattamie Co, Iowa. MRS. NIXON was reared in Wales until she was six years of age, and then came to this country with her parents. They are the parents of four children, viz.: John, who was born June 4, 1867 and died August 3, 1867; Eliza J., born June 29, 1869 and was married February 6, 1887, to Alexander VALLIER and now resides in Hazel Dell Township; William, born October 3, 1871, is a graduate of book-keeping at the Pottawattamie Normal College; Ira, born March 29, 1874, is at home. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. NIXON located on their present farm, a tract of 80 acres of raw prairie. He first erected a stable in which they lived until they had completed their home, a neat frame residence 16 X 28 and 12 X 28 feet. Here they commenced life for themselves, after having spent some two years at the home of Mr. Nixon's parents. They have a beautiful home, surrounded by shade and ornamental trees and with good barns for stock and grain. He also has three acres of orchard. He now has in Pottawattamie Co 280 acres of well improved land, which he has brought to its present state of perfection through his own efforts mainly. He affiliates with the Republican party and takes a great interest in the welfare of his county, State and nation.



Nordyke, Albert


ALBERT NORDYKE is one of the well known citizens of Grove Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa. He was born near Kokomo, Howard County, Indiana, June 27, 1850, son of JOHN NORDYKE, a native of Ohio. His grandfather, DANIEL NORDYKE, was born in Tennessee, and was of German extraction. Mr. Nordyke's mother, nee ANNA MOON, was born and reared in Ohio, daughter of JESSE MOON, a native of Tennessee. When Albert was five years of age, his parents removed to Clinton County, Ohio; and when he was sixteen years old, they went to Lewis County, Missouri. From that place they removed to Macon County, Missouri; thence to Caldwell County, same State; and thence to Marshall County, Iowa. The father was a farmer all his life and died in Marshall County, Iowa. His widow, a well preserved lady for her years, makes her home with her son, Albert. The subject of this sketch was reared to farm life and obtained his education in the public schools. In the spring of 1879, he came from Marshall County to his present location. In 1883 he purchased from Rev. Samuel Smith the farm on which he now lives. It consists of 77 and one half acres of rich prairie soil. Fifteen acres are in timber. A school house is located on the southeast corner of the farm, which is four miles and a half east of Carson, Iowa. Mr. Nordyke is here engaged in general farming and stock raising, and also makes a specialty of the manufacture of sorghum, having successfully operated a mill for 14 seasons. His factory is well arranged with all the modern conveniences - brick fire vault and modern pans for boiling and skimming. He is able to manufacture as good syrup as can be made in western Iowa, and his output is from 1,100 to 2,000 gallons per annum. He finds local sale at good prices for all he can make. Mr. Nordyke was married in Caldwell County, Missouri, December 29, 1875, to Miss Mary E. Moorman, a native of Green County, Ohio, and a daughter of Thomas and Rebecca Moorman. Six children have blessed this union, namely: Myrtle, Carrie, Dalton L., Alma, Ada, and babe, Ralph A. Mrs. Nordyke is a member of the Christian Church. Politically Mr. Nordyke affiliates with the Republican party. He is a man in the prime of life, and is regarded by all who know him as an honorable and upright citizen.



Nusum, J. W.


DR. J.W. NUSUM, of Crescent City, was born in Greene Co, Pennsylvania December 19, 1848. His father, George G. NUSUM, was born in Virginia, September 2, 1822, son of SILAS and Charlotte (FROST) NUSUM. Mr. Silas NUSUM was a native of Virginia and served in the battle of November 4, 1791 under General Arthur ST. CLAIR, was taken to Ohio, where he was in the massacre or defeat at Fort Recovery in which seven men were taken captives. He and a man named George GALLAGHER narrowly escaped from being burned alive at the stake. GALLAGHER first broke loose and then set Mr. NUSUM free, and they then fought for their lives. They were, however, held captive for three years, and one day when, at Hanging Rock, Ohio, they were making their escape, GALLAGHER fell from the rocks and broke his hip; but he hid among the rocks on the banks of the Ohio River. NUSUM swam the river and escaped, the Indians being in hot pursuit. After night he swam the river back to where GALLAGHER was, made a raft of some logs, put him upon it and paddled him over to the other side, and thus succeeded in saving his life. He then carried him for three days before finding medical aid. He recovered and entered the practice of law, while NUSUM went into the mercantile business, which he followed until he died in 1847.

Mr. GEORGE NUSUM, brought up in the mercantile business in Morgantown, Virginia, following his father in that line, moved in his 20th year to Freeport, Pennsylvania. He continued in merchandising from 1842 to 1853 when he came direct to Colesburg, Delaware County, Iowa, and was there engaged in merchandising and teaming for 10 years. He then sold out all his interests there, moved to Des Moines, entered general merchandising again and so continued for about 10 years longer. In 1862 he exchanged his property and business for 440 acres of land in Warren Co, six miles west of Indianola, and engaged in farming and stock raising. In livestock he dealt extensively, shipping largely. The land had but poor improvements upon it when he first occupied it, but is now well equipped and in a fine condition. There are at present 620 acres in the tract; it is an immense stock farm.

In 1844 in Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, he married Eliza KIMBALL, who was born in Greene Co, Pennsylvania, June 8, 1825, and they became the parents of 7 children, the subject of this sketch being the second. He was reared to mercantile life also, but in his 22nd year, in 1870, he started out for himself and about this time, February 1, 1872, he was married to Miss Emma ARMSTRONG, of St. Charles, Iowa. Next year he began reading medicine, under the instruction of DR. GRIMES of Des Moines, who had been a surgeon in the late war and is well known as a skillful practitioner in Council Bluffs where he followed his profession for several years. After studying in his office three years, DR. NUSUM alternated between the office and Rush Medical College, Chicago, for about two years longer; then for another two years, from December 1876 he was in partnership with DR. James WAKEFIELD at Spring Hill, Warren County. He arrived at Crescent City, December 4, 1878, bought property and opened practice. Taking great pride in his profession, he has an extensive and good paying patronage, even in Florence, Omaha, Council Bluffs, Missouri Valley and the surrounding country. He makes a specialty of eye and throat diseases; has saved many cases given up by other physicians.

He is a member of the M.P. Society of Crescent City, in which he has held different offices. Is also a member of Lodge No. 49, I.O.O.F. of Bloomington, Illinois. Is an exemplary and enterprising citizen. He is a well settled Democrat and has held about all the offices of his township. Is also a member of the library association. Mrs. NUSUM belongs to the Presbyterian Church of Hazel Dell. Their children are: George G., who was born in St. Mary's, Warren County, Iowa, February 10, 1873; Maggie E. born at Spring Hill, April 14, 1878; Ivy L., born at Crescent City, December 5, 1881; and Vernie born in Crescent City, May 27, 1890.


Read Terms, Conditions and Disclaimers