Return to the Pottawattamie Co. home page. |  1891 Biography Home  |  Name Index  
Welicome to the 1891 Biographical History of Pottawattamie County






K  through  L

 


Kaven, August


AUGUST KAVEN, the pioneer settler and the man who erected the first building in Minden, now the residence of James CROW, is the real founder of this city, having erected most of the buildings and is now one of the substantial businessmen of the town. He was born in Holstein, Germany, September 14, 1842, the son of Henry KAVEN, who was the father of three children now living: Henry, Dora and August. The father was a farmer by occupation, and lived to the age of eighty-six years. His wife lived to the extreme old age of ninety years. Her maiden name was Dora WESTFALL.

August KAVEN, our subject, after visiting the principal cities of Germany, Switzerland and France, came to America, in 1866. He located in New York City, where he worked at his trade of cabinet-maker about nine months. He then removed to the city of Philadelphia, where he remained four months. He next moved to Chicago, and was in that city during the great fire, after which he worked in rebuilding the city until 1873, when he came to Avoca, where he remained for a few months, working on the bank building. January 22, 1874, he came to Minden, having the contract to build the residence for Casper FOSTER, but on account of the deep snow he was unable to find the stakes marking the lots. He was next engaged in building the residence now occupied by August DOLEN, and then the building now occupied by John BLOOM, which was the first business block erected in this city. Since that time, Mr. KAVEN has been one of the prominent builders and contractors in Minden and the surrounding country, and has at times employed as many as fifteen men. He is now holding the office of Township Trustee and commissioner, and was also Justice of the Peace four years. He is now a member of the First Council of Minden. Mr. KAVEN owns his residence, five lots and the store and lot now occupied by John CROW. He is a self-made man, having come to America with no knowledge of the English language and in a strange country made his own property. He came from Avoca to Minden by wagon, and brought with him food for himself and the men. Henry URBAHNS, a carpenter, came about four days after Mr. KAVEN, bringing his family and one man, and all of the people lived in a shanty on the lot now occupied by the Minden House. Mr. KAVEN built the first schoolhouse in this city in 1874 and the first church, the German Lutheran, in 1880. He also built the Minden House, the Union Hotel, and all the places on the road on which the Minden House now stands.

Socially, he is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and of the I.O.O.F. of Neola. Politically he has always been a Republican, but is now a believer of the great Democratic Party. He was married in Frankfort, Illinois, in 1867 to Miss Margaret KLEPPER, and they have eight children, namely: Lena, Emma, Charles, August, William, Edith, Lucy and Minnie.



Keast, Thomas


THOMAS KEAST, of section 30, Macedonia Township, was born in Cornwall, England, August 9, 1844, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (TALLING) KEAST, natives of the same place. They reared three children, of whom Thomas was the second son. The father received an injury by draining while ditching in England. He was an invalid about one year and then died, when Thomas was but four or five years of age. The mother now lives in Cornwall, England.

Thomas was reared in England, and his first work was at farming, and later he engaged in mining. He was about 21 years of age when he was married to Eliza Grace OLIVER, March 3, 1865, who was born in Cornwall, England; she was the daughter of William and Elizabeth (Mathews) Oliver. Some four years later, he came to America, sailing from Liverpool, England, to New York, and from there he went to Rockford, Winnebago County, Illinois. He lived there one year, and then went on a farm at New Millford, where he lived four years. He then removed to Ogle County, Illinois, near Linnville, on a farm, eleven and one half miles from Rosehill. He lived there until 1877 when he came to Pottawattamie County, and in 1876 purchased 80 acres of land from J.D. EDMUNDSON of Council Bluffs. Here he has since resided, and he now has an improved farm of 310 acres, which is one of the best in Pottawattamie County.

He has a mill building, 16 X 40, with an addition of 12 X 20, a feed mill and two windmills, which supply the motive power for grinding the feed. He has a grove of catalpas, forest and other trees. His farm is well watered by tiling and pipes, and he is engaged in general farming and stock raising. His land lies in three different sections; his residence and 80 acres are in section 30, 150 acres are in section 31, and 80 acres are in section 36, Silver Creek Township.

Mr. and Mrs. KEAST have seven children: Emma, wife of D.D. Clark of Clay, Nebraska; Samuel of the same place; William, John, Elizabeth, Frank and Charley. Politically Mr. Keast is a Republican.




Keller, A. H.


A.H. KELLER is one of the intelligent, enterprising and successful citizens of Grove Township, Pottawattamie Co, Iowa. He came to this place in the fall of 1880 and has since made it his home. Mr. KELLER was born near Newark, Licking Co, Ohio, February 4, 1848. His father, H.M. KELLER, also a native of Licking Co, is son of Jacob KELLER, a Pennsylvania dutchman who came to Ohio from Pennsylvania in 1796 and was one of the early settlers of eastern Ohio. The mother of our subject, nee Anna HENTON, was born in Fairfield Co, Ohio. Her father, John HENTON, was a native of Virginia and a descendant of an old family of that state. Mr. and Mrs. KELLER still reside in Licking Co, where they have a competence. They reared a family of three sons and three daughters, the subject of this sketch being the third born and the only one in the State of Iowa. He was reared on a farm and received his education in the public schools. He learned the trade of plasterer, at which he worked at intervals for a number of years. In 1880, Mr. KELLER came to this county and bought his present farm of Henry EISEMAN. Since that time, he has spent much money in the improvement of his place, having built a house and done a large amount of fencing. His house is situated on a beautiful building site; is 16 X 30 feet, two stories high, and has an addition 20 X 26 feet. It is surrounded by a grove and orchard comprising four acres. The whole farm is well cultivated and everything about the place shows the thrift and good taste of the owner. Of the 200 acres in his farm, 160 acres are in section 8 and 40 acres are in section 20. Mr. Keller feeds to his stock all the grain he raises, usually keeping about 40 head of cattle besides hogs.

September 29, 1870, is the date of Mr. Keller's marriage with Miss Emma R. DEBOLT, a native of Licking Co, Ohio. She is the daughter of William and Barbara (MOORE) DEBOLT, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Virginia. To them were born six daughters and four sons. Mrs. DEBOLT died in Ohio, and Mr. DEBOLT is still living in that State. Mr. and Mrs. KELLER have six children, viz.: Maud, Benjamin, Ina, Viola, Clyde and Oliver. Mr. KELLER, his wife and eldest daughter are members of the Christian Church. He is a Republican and has served the public as a member of the School Board. He is a man of the strictest integrity and is frank and open in his manner. He is considered socially, morally and financially one of the best citizens of Grove Township.




Kenedy, Alexander


ALEXANDER KENEDY, an enterprising and well-known citizen of Center Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, has resided on a farm in section 1 since 1880. He was born in Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania, February 5, 1819. His father, Gilbert KENEDY, was born in Belfast, County Down, Ireland, son of John KENEDY. Gilbert KENEDY was only two years old when his parents came to America and settled in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. John KENEDY was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and fought bravely all through that struggle for his adopted country.

Gilbert KENEDY married Jane APPLEBEE, who was born on the ocean, of Scotch-Irish parents. They reared six sons and three daughters, Alexander being the youngest son. The father died in Shade Gap, Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania, at the age of eighty-five years; and the mother died in Pike County, Illinois, when past eighty. Mr. KENEDY followed the vocation of a farmer all his life. He was in politics a Whig, and in religion a Presbyterian.

Alexander grew to manhood on a farm in Pennsylvania, receiving a somewhat limited education. Arriving at the age of manhood, he was married November 3, 1852, to Jane GILLIS, who was born in Bedford County, near the Fulton County line, Pennsylvania. Her father, Daniel GILLIS, was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and when a young man he came to America and settled in Pennsylvania. Her mother was also a native of Scotland, her maiden name having been Margaret CARLISLE. Daniel GILLIS and wife passed the remainder of their lives in Fulton County, Pennsylvania, the former living until he passed the seventieth mile-post, and the latter reaching the advanced age of eighty-eight years. They reared nine children, three sons and six daughters. Two of the sons, David Andrew and John McCoy, were soldiers in the late war, the latter dying of disease contracted while in the service. Daniel GILLIS was a farmer all his life; was a Whig and a Presbyterian.

Mr. KENEDY resided in Pennsylvania until 1856, when the family moved to Pike County, Illinois, where they lived six years. He also spent some time in other portions of Illinois. In 1874 they took up their abode in Chariton County, Missouri, where they remained until 1880. In that year, as before stated, he came to Pottawattamie County and settled on his present farm. Mr. And Mrs. KENEDY have eight children: John Calvin, at the homestead; Mary Rebecca, wife of J. L. PHILLIPS, Center Township, Pottawattamie County, has seven children; Sarah Emma, wife of Thomas B. PHILLIPS, of Wright Township, same county, also has seven children; Margaret Jane, at home; James Chalmers, who is married and has two children, resides in Layton Township, this county; Newton Daniel is married, has one child, and lives in Wright Township; Virginia Adeline, wife of Daniel P. McLAIN; and Luella P., wife of S. J. SMITH, of Lincoln Township, has two children.

Our subject was rocked in an Absolitionist cradle and is now a Republican. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church as also is his wife. They have reared their children in such a manner that they are fitted to occupy worthy and respected positions in society. Although over seventy years of age, Mr. KENEDY is well preserved. He has traveled extensively, is well informed on general topics, and is one of those frank and cordial gentlemen with whom it is a pleasure to meet. By all who know him, he is regarded as an honored and esteemed citizen.



Kerney, Lawrence


LAWRENCE KERNEY, of section 25, Hardin Township, came to this county in 1879. He was born in Andrews County, Missouri, November 4, 1849, the son of Caleb KERNEY, who was born in Pennsylvania; and the latter was the son of William Kerney, who was born in Pennsylvania. Caleb KERNEY was a prominent and well-known settler of Mills County, and was a relative of the Kerneys who were famous in history as statesmen and soldiers. He went to Andrews County, Missouri in 1841 and in 1846 returned to Ohio and was there married to Ruth VAN BUSKIRK, who was born in Ohio, the daughter of Lawrence VAN BUSKIRK, Who was a native of Pennsylvania, of Dutch ancestry. They then returned to Andrews County, Missouri, where they were among the first settlers. In 1854 they removed to Mills County, Iowa, three miles north of Malvern, where he resided until 1878, excepting six years were spent in Missouri, then went to Fremont County, Iowa and died in 1880, at the age of sixty-two years; his wife died in the fall of 1864. By this marriage there were eight children. After the death of his wife he married the second time, by which the union there were seven children, all of whom are now living. Politically Caleb KERNEY was a Democrat, and religiously a Baptist, of which church his wife was also a member, and his children were reared in that doctrine. Lawrence KERNEY, our subject, was but five years of age when his parents moved to Mills county. Here he grew to manhood, having passed his youth on the farm. He came to Pottawattamie County in 1879 and bought forty acres of land, to which he has added until he now owns 120 acres, all in one body. He was married in Henry County, Iowa, September 9, 1877 to Miss Louie ROBINSON, a women of intelligence who was born in Jefferson County, Iowa, where she was reared and educated; she was a successful teacher before her marriage. She is the daughter of Rev. George W. and Margaret (Gregg) Robinson; the former was a pioneer Methodist minister and now resides at Osceola, Clark County, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. KERNEY have two children; Everett and Roy Ernest. Politically Mr. KERNEY is a Republican and has held office of Justice of the Peace for years. He is a man of intelligence, well-read on all topics of the day, frank and cordial in his manner and a popular citizen.




Kerney, Perry


PERRY KERNEY is one of the prominent citizens of Silver Creek Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, having been a resident of this County since 1880. Mr. KERNEY was born in Andrew County, Missouri, December 30, 1851. His father, Caleb KERNEY, was born in Pennsylvania, a son of William KERNEY, who was of Scotch-Irish ancestry. Grandfather KERNEY was a relative of General KERNEY of United States fame, the KERNEY family being an old and prominent one in western Pennsylvania. Our subject's mother was nee Ruth VAN BUSKIRK, a native of Pennsylvania and a descendant of Holland Dutch ancestry. She and Mr. KERNEY were married in Richland County, Ohio and some time afterward moved to Andrew County, Missouri. From there, they went to Mills County, Iowa, becoming pioneers of that place. The parents lived in Mills County from 1853 until the time of their deaths, the mother dying October 6, 1865, and the father, February 23, 1880. He followed agricultural pursuits all his life, was a Democrat and a Baptist. He and his wife reared eight children, four sons and four daughters, Perry being the third born.

The subject of our sketch was reared on a farm and educated in the public schools. He remained in Mills County until 1880, when he came to Pottawattamie County and settled on his present farm in section 2, Silver Creek Township, which was at that time wild prairie land. He now has one of the best improved farms in the neighborhood. His cottage home is pleasantly located on a natural building site and commands an excellent view of the surrounding country. His barn is 28 X 34 feet, with sixteen-foot posts, and his grove and orchard of four acres are among the best in the township. Among other improvements are cribs, yards, cattle sheds, feed lots, and a modern windmill. Everything about the KERNEY farm shows the thrift and prosperity of the owner.

Mr. KERNEY was married in Mills County, Iowa, February 16, 1876, to Miss Mary E. TIPTON, a native of Atchison County, Missouri, daughter of Saul and Rachel (WOOLSEY) TIPTON. She was reared and educated in Mills County, Iowa. Her mother died when Mrs. KERNEY was give years old. Mr. And Mrs. KERNEY have three children: Nathan W., Pearly May, and Lela M. Mr. KERNEY is one of the leading members of the Republican Party in his community. He is the present Township Trustee. Mrs. KERNEY is a member of the Evangelical Church.




Killion, I. C.


I.C. KILLION, a prominent farmer near Oakland, was born in Menard County, Illinois, December 3, 1855, the son of Isaiah and Dorcas (MONTGOMERY) KILLION, the former a native of Kentucky and the latter of Gibson County, Indiana. The parents were married in Menard County, and reared a family of six children. The father died in that county in 1876; he had been a farmer all his life, was a Republican politically, and religiously was a member of the Baptist Church. The mother came to Washington Township, Pottawattamie County, in 1879, where she still lives with her son, Marion.

Our subject was reared in Menard County and in 1878 came to Pottawattamie County. In 1880 he settled on his present farm, which consists of sixty-three acres of rich land, and on which he has erected a comfortable cottage and has also made other improvements.

Mr. KILLION was married in this county March 8, 1883, to Miss Eliza RHODES, a native of New York state, and daughter of Fred and Hannah (BRIGGS) RHODES, natives of Germany. The father is now a retired farmer near Oakland. Mr. And Mrs. KILLION have had four children, only one of whom survives, Elmer C., born October 14, 1890. In politics, Mr. KILLION is a Republican and Mrs. KILLION is a member of the Evangelical Church.



Killpack, James


JAMES KILLPACK, a prominent farmer and stock-raiser of Neola Township, was born in Leicestershire, England, September 6, 1830. His father, John Killpack, was a wheelwright and marble cutter, and had a brother and sister, Martha and Fannie, who are now deceased. On attaining manhood, Mr. John Killpack established himself in the mercantile business, including drugs, and continued therein ten or twelve years, and then was in the marble trade the remainder of his days. His wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Day, died some ten years previously in 1841, leaving twelve children, as follows: John, born October 2, 1824, died August 2, 1851; Mary Ann, born August 29, 1826, died October 21, 1847; Elizabeth, both November 6, 1828, resides in England; James, our subject, is the next; William J., born February 6, 1832, resides in Utah; Jonathan, born October 2, 1833, died July 1, 1890, in California; Charles, born February 7, 1835, died March 16, 1836; Rachel, born August 16, 1836, lives in England; David, born October 25, 1838, resides also in England; Emma and Edward are deceased.

James, the subject of this sketch, was brought up to the profession of his father. At the age of 23 years, he left home and sailed on the International from Liverpool to New Orleans, being ten weeks on the voyage. Landing soon at Keokuk, he came thence by ox teams to Council Bluffs and went on to Utah, being 11 weeks in crossing the plains to that Territory. In Manti City, Utah, he was engaged in farming, but the grasshoppers destroying his crops, he entered the Government Survey in 1855-56. August 15, 1855, he married Miss Salina, daughter of Samuel and Sarah Harcott, natives of England, and born respectively in 1801 and 1806. They had 7 children: Mary, Lucy, Rosa, Sarah, Louisa, William and Salina. The last mentioned was born December 15, 1839. Their father, a fashionable dyer, died at the age of 46 years. Their mother afterward married Jacob Pochin, a native of England and a carpenter by trade, who came to America in 1851, to New Orleans, and thence to St. Louis and to Utah in 1851, and died there in August 1854. The widow then returned to this county and remained with her daughter in Hazel Dell Township until her death, March 19, 1870.

After his marriage, Mr. Killpack returned to Council Bluffs in June 1857, clerked in a grocery store, then followed the same business in St. Louis; afterward was engaged in a furniture and wagon establishment; next he moved to Maries County, Missouri, took up 80 acres of land, but the bushwackers were so bad that he returned again to Council Bluffs by means of ox teams. Here he was in the employ of a grocery firm. April 7, 1864, he moved upon his farm in Boomer Township. A year afterward, he purchased 40 acres in the same township, where there were but few improvements. He added by further purchases until he had a total of 220 acres of good land, most of which was in meadow and pasture and the premises were equipped with good outfit of the usual appurtenances. Desiring to increase his facilities for raising livestock, he sold this place and purchased 320 acres of rough, unimproved land, prairie and hazel brush, and began anew. He put up a fine two-story frame house 18 X 36, with kitchen 16 X 15, porches, etc. In orchard and ornamental trees, he has a total of about ten acres. Among his cattle the choice breeds are the Jersey and Red Poll. He has now 200 acres of fine land, mostly in Neola Township; 80 acres in Boomer Township.

Mr. Killpack is a thorough-going Republican, was once elected a Justice of the Peace, but would not serve lest he might make an enemy. He has been a School Director. His children are: Emma E., born in Sale Lake, December 23, 1856, and now the wife of Moulder Clark in Boomer Township; Rachel Alice, born in St. Louis, January 5, 1859, died December 2, 1863; Mary Ann, born September 7, 1861, died September 28 following; John James, born in Council Bluffs, Mary 20, 1863; William Henry, born in Boomer Township, July 9, 1865; Lucy Ann, born November 17, 1867, died April 3, 1874; Charles, born January 1870, died in infancy; Louisa Alice, born in Boomer Township, May 17, 1871; Grace May, born also in Boomer Township, May 9, 1873; David Marion, born in Boomer Township, July 18, 1876; and George Franklin, born also in Boomer Township, January 27, 1880.




Kimball, Caleb


CALEB KIMBALL, of section 3, Garner Township, came to this county in 1852, and has since made it his home. He was born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, March 20, 1838, son of Caleb KIMBALL of Marblehead, Massachusetts, who served in the Revolutionary war, and later he and his son, Thomas Kimball, both served in the War of 1812. The subject's mother was Margaret (RICHIE) KIMBALL, a native of Loudoun county, Virginia, and of German descent. The parents were married in Loudoun county, and afterward settled in Greene county, Pennsylvania.

When Caleb was 12 years of age, his mother died, leaving 8 children, 2 sons and 6 daughters, of whom Caleb was the fifth, his only brother dying at the age of two years. In 1846 the father moved from Pennsylvania to Dubuque, Iowa, which was then a Territory, and Dubuque could not boast of a brick house, most of the residences being log cabins. He remained here three years, and then engaged at the carpenter's trade near where Dyersville now stands, the country being new and wild and containing no railroads. He soon sold his land to Judge James Dyer, to found a colony for people from Somersetshire, England. He then removed to Delaware County, where he lived until his death.

Caleb, our subject, worked on the farm in his youth, and in the fall of 1852, in company with Lemuel BARRETT and family, he started on a journey to California, but decided to spend the winter in camp near Council Bluffs. He afterward changed his mind and bought some Mormon claims near this place, and became a resident of this county. He bought land in Cerro Gordo County, Iowa, in 1861; but this was never improved, and was sold in 1866 when he bought 80 acres of Haleman & Rauhn, N.P. Dodge acting as agent; this was first improved by Isaac Cooper. Mr. Kimball has lived on this farm for 24 years and has made many improvements; it is located 8 miles east of the City of Council Bluffs. He works at the carpenter's trade most of the time, having received his first lesson in that trade in his youth, taught him by his father. He is a thorough mechanic, as all his work in Harrison, Monona and this county will show.

Mr. KIMBALL was married December 12, 1856 to Miss Frances NIXON, of Council Bluffs, daughter of William and Eliza (Collins) Nixon. Both were natives of Fayette County, Pennsylvania and came here in 1853, where they resided until their death. Mr. and Mrs. Kimball have 11 children, namely: John W., residing at Neola, Iowa; Eliza, wife of T.J. NUSUM of Harrison County, near Woodbine; Margaret, wife of J.E. JEFFERYS, residing in Washington Township; Moses N., at Sacramento, California, in real estate and load business; Ella, wife of John Dial, of Garner Township; Minnie, the widow of Martin Lee, residing in the same township; Fanny, at home; Caleb, Thomas J., Mary C., and Hugh L. They have lost three children by death: Benjamin F., the seventh child at age two years; George, at two years of age; and Grace, also at two years of age.

Mr. Kimball's son, Moses N., has received a good education, first in Pottawattamie County, then in California, and lastly at the Bainbridge Business College, Stockton, California.

The great loss of Mr. Kimball's life was in the death of his beloved wife, who died August 27, 1883.



Kimball, John Frederick


JOHN FREDERICK KIMBALL, of the banking firm of Kimball & Champ, was born at Muscatine, Iowa, December 13, 1856, a son of Alvin and Susan A. (PATRICK) KIMBALL, and the youngest of their four children, the others being George A., Emma J. and J. Frank. His father was born in 1813, near Windsor, Vermont. In 1840 he emigrated to Ohio with his family, and engaged in the wholesale grocery trade at Cleveland. In 1853 he moved to Muscatine, Iowa, and engaged in the grain business, erecting an elevator and having a large trade; but the financial crisis of 1857 caused him great loss. He persevered in his business, however, and did well, to the time of his death, April 17, 1865. Politically he was a prominent Abolitionist, devoting both time and money to the relief of oppressed and fugitive slaves. He took an active interest in all that pertained to the moral welfare and material development of the community, and was respected by all parties. The mother of the subject of this sketch was born at Brownsville, Jefferson County, New York, in 1822. She was a devoted wife and mother, is a useful member of the Baptist Church and of good society generally, now living in Minneapolis.

Mr. KIMBALL, our present subject, was but eight years of age when his father died, and he was trained by his mother, who gave him all the advantages at her command, which however, were limited. He completed his school education in Brown's Academy. In 1879, while on a tour through the West looking for a business location, he became acquainted with his present partner, George H. CHAMP, and in company with him bought out the abstract business of J. P. and J. N. CASADY. To this they afterward added the business of money-lending, which, under their equitable, conservative and skillful management, at length grew to large proportions, and in 1888 they added banking, and in this line too their operations have become extensive. Their bank has taken rank among the leading financial institutions of the city, and even of western Iowa, eastern Nebraska, etc. Mr. Kimball is also a member of the firm of Kimball, Champ & Ryan, bond brokers in Omaha, and he owns a half interest in the Bank of Minden, at Minden, Iowa. He also owns considerable land in Council Bluffs and elsewhere in the State.

Politically he is a Republican, but has no aspirations for official position, preferring the seclusion of private life to public honor. He is a gentleman of modest and retiring manner, a shrewd business man and financier, being deservedly a favorite among all classes. He is public-spirited and genial in disposition. The people of the city point with pride to the elegant structures erected by Messrs. Kimball & Champ. One of these, the Grand Central Hotel, is acknowledged to be the finest building of the kind in the State.

November 30, 1884, he married Miss Louise GREENE, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and a daughter of William and Louisa (HIGLEY) GREENE. She was educated at Faribault, Minnesota, in a ladies' seminary under the auspices of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and also at St. Mary's Seminary, another Episcopal institution.




Kincaid, Alfred E.


ALFRED E. KINCAID, a member of the hardware firm of LODGE & KINCAID, is one of the prominent business men of Walnut. He was born at Farmersville, Lee County, Ontario, August 29, 1852. His father, John KINCAID, was a Scotchman, born September 7, 1810, and came to Ontario and settled in Brockville. He was a tanner by trade and became a prosperous man. He married Lodevia WILSIE, December 18, 1889, daughter of Comfort M. WILSIE, a Canadian, but of American descent. Mr. and Mrs. KINCAID had ten children: Albert A., born March 22, 1840, deceased at twelve years of age; Esther E., born March 5, 1842; William W., March 2, 1845; Nancy C., June 29, 1852; Charles H., June 5, 1855, deceased; Eva C., April 2, 1858; Helen M., September 14, 1860; Addie J., September 2, 1864. Mr. KINCAID lived to the age of seventy-six years, and died in February 1888. He was a man who had the respect of his fellow citizens, was Reeve for several years, a prominent Mason, and a soldier in the patriot war on the side of the government. He was a man of strong constitution and sterling character and well known for his integrity. He was at one time a prominent and influential man.

Alfred E. KINCAID, our subject, is from sturdy Scotch and American stock, possessing an independent character, which stands him in good stead, as his father met with financial reverses, and he at the age of thirteen began to learn the tinner's trade at Farmersville, Ontario, working at it two years. Then he went to West Winchester, Ontario and worked for two years, and in the spring of 1871 went to Chicago and worked at his trade there. October 10, same year, the most disastrous conflagration that the world has ever seen broke out and Mr. KINCAID saw the great spectacle,--the burning of Chicago. Directly after the fire Mr. KINCAID came to Atlantic, Iowa, and worked there for J. C. YETZER, and after a short time came to Anita, Iowa, where he remained nine years; and while there he went to Michigan and married Miss Lillie V. SNELL, daughter of Thomas and Mary (SKINNER) SNELL. They were Michigan people, of American ancestry. To Mr. and Mrs. KINCAID have been born five children: Gertrude B., Grace C., Carrie A., Lillie J. and one who died an infant.

After marriage Mr. KINCAID resided at Kalamazoo, Michigan, two years, and in 1883 came to Walnut, Iowa, forming a partnership with Oscar F. LODGE, and has continued in this business. Socially Mr. KINCAID is a member of Moriah Lodge, No. 327, I. O. O. F., at Walnut, in which order he has filled all the offices: he is now treasurer of this lodge. In politics he is a Republican. He has the confidence of his fellow townsmen, and has been a member of the Council for one full term, and has recently been re-elected. He owns real estate in Walnut and a good home, and is a man well known for his honorable methods of dealing and substantial character.




Kinnehan, L.


L. KINNEHAN, City Treasurer of Council Bluffs, was born in Woodville, Province of Quebec, Canada, in 1845, son of James and Sarah A. (MILLER) KINNEHAN, natives of New York and New Hampshire, and of Irish and Puritan extraction. When the subject of this sketch was quite young, his parents moved to Wisconsin and became pioneers of Racine and Green Bay. The father was extensively engaged in the lumber business for a number of years. About 1860 he returned east and died in Canada. The mother also died in the east. Our subject was the fifth born of their nine sons and three daughters, all of whom are now living except one. He was reared in Wisconsin and educated in the public schools of that state. At the age of fourteen, he entered upon a four years apprenticeship to the tanner and currier's trade, in which business he was engaged some twelve or fourteen years, working in Chicago, Milwaukee and other points. In 1870 he came to Council Bluffs and here he engaged in the furniture business three years, after which he owned and operated a tannery about four years. But at the age of eighteen, he entered the service of the United States Government at Chicago, was teamster and afterward clerk in the quartermaster's department at Nashville, and was mustered out of service in May 1865. Next he crossed the plains with a wagon train and helped to build the Union Pacific Railway. While in the railroad employ, he had the misfortune to lose one of his limbs. In 1886 he was elected City Auditor and when his term of two years expired, he engaged in the boot and shoe business on the corner of Broad and Bryant Streets, which business he still conducts.

In March 1890, Mr. KINNEHAN was again elected to the office of Treasurer. Politically, he is an independent Republican, being one of the active workers in his party. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. No. 49, the A.O.U.W. No. 270, and the K. of L. No. 1668, being treasurer of the last named.

Mr. KINNEHAN was married in 1872 to Mary J. PALMER, a native of Salt Lake City, born in 1855. They have a family of four children: Nellie M., Eva, Della and Annie. They hold to the belief of the Swedenborgian Church or New Jerusalem Church and are among the most worthy citizens of Council Bluffs. Mr. KINNEHAN has aided in many of the enterprises of this city and is now an active businessman.




Kirby, Josephus


JOSEPHUS KIRBY, an enterprising farmer of Waveland Township, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, has resided here since 1881. He was born in Warren County, Illinois, March 19, 1858. His father, Isaac Kirby, was born in Greene County, Pennsylvania, fifty miles north of Pittsburg, son of Joseph KIRBY. Isaac KIRBY married Eliza Ann BAILEY, a native of Greene County, Pennsylvania. They settled in Peoria County, Illinois, in 1850, and two years later removed to Warren County, that State, where they still live. The father is now sixty-five years old and the mother is sixty-three. They have eight children, as follows: Emily Jane, K. B., O. P., Ruth Allen, Josephus, Mary E., George M. C. and Madison. Josephus is the only one in Pottawattamie County. His brother, K. B., is also in Iowa, located in Cass County.

The subject of our sketch was reared on a farm and was educated in the common schools and one year at Monmouth College in Illinois. For a short time he was engaged in teaching. In 1881 he came to Pottawattamie County and settled on an eighty-acre farm in section 5, Waveland Township, which he improved and which, in 1888, he exchanged with M. C. TALBERT for 160 acres where he now lives, in section 33. He has a small frame house, buildings for stock and other farm improvements.

Mr. KIRBY was married, May 30, 1882, to Clara Belle YOHO, who was born in Fulton County, Illinois, daughter of Jasper and Mary E. (Collins) YOHO. Mr. YOHO, eldest son of Thomas and Eliza Jane YOHO, was born at Mansfield, Ohio, May 25, 1837; was a mechanic; married December 17, 1861, and had three children: Clara B., Dora A. and William J. He died October 15, 1871. Mrs. YOHO was born in Hancock County, Illinois, February 21, 1843, and is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Kirby have five children: George Melvin, Orlaff Ray, William Isaac, Freddy Lewis and Edgar Ellsworth. Politically Mr. Kirby is a Democrat. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Walnut Valley, as is also his wife.




Kirkwood, Robert


ROBERT KIRKWOOD, a farmer of Crescent Township, was born in Fifeshire, Scotland, July 27, 1827, a son of Robert and Agnes (STRANG) KIRKWOOD; the father died in his native country, and the mother in this county in 1858. In June 1847, he married Mary MUIR, a native of Fifeshire, Scotland. In March 1848 he emigrated to America, landing, after a voyage of seven weeks, at New Orleans with other members of his family and that of his wife's. They reached Florence, Nebraska, May 20. An anectdote here. The next morning, after they landed here, Mr. KIRKWOOD was the subject of a little joke. He and his brother-in-law were out taking a little stroll when they met some young men, who accosted them with the remark that they "had found a hog's head last night." He asked them why they didn't find the "hog" too. He then discovered that it was a "hogshead" of sugar that had been stolen!

A day or two afterward, they crossed the river into Pottawattamie County, locating within a short distance of where Mr. KIRKWOOD now lives. He settled temporarily upon public land that had not yet come into market and made some improvements, not expecting to remain, and experienced many privations, mid Indians, wild beasts, etc., common to the frontier. When the land came into market, he purchased eighty acres on section 24, Crescent Township, at $1.25 per acre. He erected a log cabin, fourteen feet square, which he made his home for a number of years. The first marketing he did was to sell a load of corn, which he hauled to Florence, Nebraska, at that time Indian Territory, with three yoke of oxen, through sloughs and over prairies, having no road. On the way, he had to unload three times and carry the corn over the muddy ground some distance in baskets. The $25 he received for the corn was the first money he made by his farming here. In early times, he did considerable work by the day, laboring sometimes for wages as low as forty cents per day. To his first purchase of land, he has added others until he now has 507 acres in Crescent and Norwalk Townships. His residence is on section 26, Crescent Township. He has always turned his attention to farming and stock raising, until about five years ago, since which time he has retired from active labor. By his honesty and integrity, he has won a good reputation and he has done much to build up the interest of the community in which he resides. As early as 1849, he was one of five who went into Harrison County and erected a number of log cabins for the early settlers there. He is a solid citizen and a solid Democrat; has been a member of the Board of Supervisors of Pottawattamie County three terms; Township Trustee, and Treasurer of the school board for sixteen years continuously; was one of the organizers of the Council Bluffs Savings Bank, and is now a stockholder; was once nominated by his party for Representative to the State Legislature, but declined. He has been a member of the Crescent City Mutual Protection Association since its organization in 1872, being now president of that society. He is also a member of the Grange. He and his wife are both members of the Church of Latter-day Saints.

His children are: Jennett, wife of William McKEOWN of Boomer Township; Agnes, now Mrs. Hans N. HANSEN of Hazel Dell Township; Isabel, deceased, wife of T. F. FINCH of Hancock County, Iowa; John, a resident of Norwalk Township, this county, and married to Agnes LAPWORTH; James, Thomas, and Lizzie at home. Three of the children are deceased.




Kleppinger, William C.


WILLIAM C. KLEPPINGER, a prominent farmer of Pottawattamie County, is a pioneer settler of Iowa. His grandfather was the founder of the family in America; he was a German by birth and settled on a farm in Northampton County, Pennsylvania. He was a soldier in the War of the Revolution and also engaged in the wars with the Indians. He was married to a lady of English parentage, and they had five children: Lewis, Jacob, William, Eli and Catherine. He spent his days in Northampton County, dying at a good old age. He was a member of the Lutheran Church. Lewis KLEPPINGER, a son of the above and the father of our subject, was born on the old homestead in Northampton County, and learned farming in early life. He was married in his native state to Barbara HARMON, daughter of Jacob HARMON, a hotel keeper at Cherryville, who owned and built the old Stone Hotel in which every stone was the same size, picked and dressed, and which is still standing. He was the father of four children: Barbara, Catharine, Mary and Conrad. To Mr. And Mrs. KLEPPINGER have been born seven children: David, Thomas, Joseph, William C., Lewis, Rebecca and Sarah. After marriage, Mr. KLEPINGER settled in Northampton County, near his two brothers, Jacob and Eli, each locating on a large farm. Both he and his wife were natives of Germany, and were respected by their fellow citizens. Mr. KLEPPINGER was township supervisor eight years, was an industrious and honest citizen and a prosperous farmer. He was a devout Christian and trustee in his church for many years and was also one of the building committee and founders of the church.

William C., the subject of this sketch, was born on the old homestead in a stone house, December 27, 1829, and served an apprenticeship of three years at the coach-maker's trade in Bloomsbury, New Jersey. He was then engaged in driving cattle, horses and sheep over the Alleghanies for three years, having crossed the mountains hundreds of times. After his marriage, he settled at Emaus, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania, working at his trade and remaining eight years. In 1859 he moved to his father-in-law's farm, remaining nine years; next he went to Kreidersville where he lived five years, working at his trade; and in 1867 came to Iowa, settling on a farm in Muscatine County, where he lived thirteen years. In 1879 he came to his present fine farm of 160 acres, situated near Walnut.

Mr. KLEPPINGER married Elizabeth SEEM, daughter of Conrad and Catharine (SWORIT) SEEM. She was born in 1829 and was of German descent. Mr. SEEM owned a flax-oil mill and a woolen mill and was also a furniture maker of Northampton County, Pennsylvania. He lived to the great age of ninety-three years, living ninety years on one farm, which he inherited from his father. The last three years, he lived with his son. He was the father of fourteen children, twelve of whom grew to maturity: Joseph, John, Samuel, David, Conrad, Reuben (deceased), Lucy, Mary, Patterson (deceased), Elizabeth, Katie, Judy, Polly and Leah. Mr. SEEM was a member of the German Reformed Church, of which he was one of the founders and also one of the builders of the church. He taught school in his early life, and was once a Justice of the Peace. He was truly one of the old patriarch Pennsylvanians, who brought up a large family and taught them industry and virtue. To Mr. And Mrs. KLEPPINGER have been born nine children, seven of whom lived to maturity: Mary A., Adelaide, Abyssinia (deceased at six years), Preston C., Elizabeth C., Rosie B., Robert D., James P., Meda S. (deceased at two years). Mr. And Mrs. KLEPPINGER are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he has been a member of the building committee and was steward and class leader in Muscatine County. In politics, he is a stanch Democrat and is now Road Supervisor of his township. He is an industrious man and honorable citizen, and one of the many self-made men of which Iowa may boast.




Knepher, W. H.


W. H. KNEPHER, a grocer at No. 744 West Broad Street, Council Bluffs, carries a stock of some $2,500 and his annual sales amount to $16,000. He established his present business in 1878, which he has since successfully conducted. He was born in Brownsville, New York, December 23, 1860, son of H. T. and Mary (BREMMEL) KNEPHER, the former a native of Germany and the latter was born and reared in Ohio. They were the parents of six children, of whom our subject was the third child. His early life was spent in attending school, and when sixteen years of age, he came to Council Bluffs and engaged in the manufacture of cigars, which business he continued two years. He has also made several investments in real estate in this city. He is an active politician and a stanch supporter of the Democratic Party. He was elected City Alderman in 1888 and re-elected in 1889 as Alderman At Large. He is a member and treasurer of the I.O.O.F., Hawkeye Lodge No. 184, and is also a member of the M.W., Hazel Camp, No. 171.

Mr. KNEPHER was married April 4, 1885, to Miss Rena BERGER, daughter of R.C. and Mary BERGER, and who was born in Ohio but reared in Brownsville. They had had two children, both of whom are deceased. Mr. KNEPHER is a member of the Board of Trade, and has been a liberal endorser of anything that pertains to the good of the city.




Knotts, Joseph


REV. JOSEPH KNOTTS, deceased, was born in Knottsville, Monongalia County, Virginia, September 24, 1832. The village took its name from his ancestry; it is now in West Virginia, near Grafton. He completed his school education at the Academy at Clarksburg, Virginia. At a very early age, he became pious and joined the Methodist Episcopal Church, entering at once with his characteristic zeal into an active Christian life. About this time, he obtained his majority and came West to locate lands for his father through Iowa. He spent some time teaching school in the states of Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio, and in October 1855, he married Rebecca HALL at Carthage, Illinois. Returning to Virginia, he was licensed to preach. After serving on several charges in his native state, he was transferred to Iowa, being a man of strong Union principles, in opposition to the most of his parishioners in Virginia. He was transferred in 1860 to the western Iowa, now the Des Moines, Conference, and he filled successive appointments until in 1865 he was sent to Council Bluffs, and here the next year he built the Broadway Church edifice, in the face of difficulties that would have overcome any man but one of such invincible will and tireless energy as he always possessed.

Becoming Church Extension Agent of the Des Moines Conference, he traveled at large all over the field, laying the foundation of that infant society. In 1869, he was appointed Presiding Elder of the Council Bluffs district, and served it for three years. In 1871 he was elected a delegate to the General Conference which met in Brooklyn, New York, the May following, and at this session he was placed upon committees where he served during the four years following. Failing health caused him to resign his district after serving it three years, when he engaged in publishing the Inland Christian Advocate, in connection with which he established a book store for the sale of Methodist publications. The great fire in Council Bluffs, which destroyed the first Ogden House, carried off all his stock of books and publishing material in a few hours, leaving him nothing.

In 1874 or 1875, shortly after the fire, President Grant appointed Mr. KNOTTS Consul to Chihuahua, Mexico, to the climate of which country he looked as a refuge from his failing health; but he soon resigned the consulship to engage in mining, and through his energy and enterprise the people of that Republic had their attention turned to the United States as an inviting field of commercial affiliation.

On December 26, 1887, he left his home in Council Bluffs on a business trip to Durango, Mexico. Riding in a stage, he suffered from the chilly weather, pneumonia set in, and on January 15, 1888, he was taken suddenly worse at Parral, sixty miles from the railroad. He insisted on being conveyed to the railroad, and he was accordingly taken there, reaching El Paso, Texas, Sunday, January 22, and died the next day at 3:15 p.m. His body was brought to Council Bluffs and laid to rest in Walnut Hill Cemetery.

The following tribute was truthfully paid to his character by Rev. H. H. O'NEAL, in his funeral discourse: "I think he was a man who feared the Lord in early life, who devoted himself to the service of God, and never in after years did he swerve from that consecrated service. In that whirl of excitement in which so many are ruined, with him the fear of the Lord was ever a pervading element of his character. It modified his aims, fortified his principles, strengthened his affections, was with him a permanent principle which dominated his life, passed with him from place to place and from stage to stage in his career; and when driven by broken health from the active work of the Christian ministry, he did not forget the church or leave his religion behind him. He was a man iron-nerved, strong with tireless energy. The erection of the Methodist Episcopal Church, which would have dismayed many men, displayed the judgment, enterprise and persistent energy that possessed him. He could not endure inaction. He was never engaged with trifles, and had always some work to do that was worth doing, and he did it with his might, putting all his energy into it, and also the force of his character."

"In the ministry of the church and in his palmist days, he was a ceaseless worker. Whether in the pastorate, presiding-eldership or helping the public institutions of the church, he was full of zeal and industry, and such qualities, sanctified by grace divine, could not fail to make of him an instrument of great assistance, and he was eminently useful, especially in the ministry. Under his pastorate, souls were converted and the churches strengthened. In the wider fields of presiding-eldership the work grew and prospered under his hand, and he won the highest esteem of his fellow ministers by his fidelity and success. He was a man of such genial spirit and so faithful in the management of affairs that he commanded the highest respect of all, and won his way into the strongest and most enduring love of his personal friends."

Mr. KNOTTS was of English ancestry, coming from the north of England, and traceable back for several generations. His grandfather was a soldier in the American war for Independence. His immediate parents were Absalom and Matilda (SAYRE) KNOTTS. He was brought up on a farm. His wife, a native of West Virginia, and also of English origin, died at her home in Council Bluffs, January 26, 1890. They had ten children, two of whom died in infancy. The list is: Edith V., now the wife of Samuel ROBERTSON, of Boulder, Montana; Absalom B. of Plattsmouth, Nebraska; Thomas H. of Des Moines, Iowa; Matilda, deceased; Lemuel G., of Council Bluffs; E. Franklin, also of Council Bluffs; James E. a resident of Des Moines; Gordon B., of Council Bluffs; Alice, deceased; Joseph Jr., a resident of Council Bluffs.

Lemuel G. KNOTTS was born in New Virginia, Warren County, Iowa, April 3, 1865, and was reared from his fourth year in Council Bluffs, receiving his education here except one winter at Denison, Texas. During the summer months previous to the completion of his sixteenth year, he worked on his father's farm, after which he devoted his entire time to his studies. At the age of eighteen he spent a year in Mexico, in the study of Spanish and mining. Returning to Council Bluffs, he graduated here in the class of 1885. He went again to Mexico to look after the mining interests of his father at Parral in the State of Chihuahua, and at Mapimi in the State of Durango, and was there about eighteen months. Returning here, he engaged in various pursuits. In the summer of 1887, he took a course at the commercial college here, and then entered the office of Wright, Baldwin & Haldam, to study law, and was there one year when he engaged in his present business, dealing in coal and wood, in partnership with W. F. SAPP, JR. On September 2, 1890, Mr. SAPP withdrew from the partnership firm of SAPP & KNOTTS, since which time Mr. KNOTTS had been conducting the fuel business alone.




Kuhn, William H.


WILLIAM H. KUHN, of Garner township, has been a resident here since April 18, 1857, and is well and favorably known. He was born at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Frederick county, Maryland, October 20, 1832, son of Joseph and Sarah (Ovelman) Kuhn, the former a native of Maryland, whose father came from Germany, and the latter also a native of Maryland. In their family were six sons and one daughter. The father died in 1854 at the age of fifty-four years, and the mother died in 1873 at the advanced age of seventy-one years and was buried in Mechanicstown, Maryland.

William H. was reared in his native county and learned the trade of wheelwright. In 1853 he came to Leavenworth, Kansas, where he learned the carpenter's trade. Coming east in 1854 he continued at his trade until 1857, when he returned West, this time coming by way of steamboat from Wheeling down the Ohio River, and then up the Mississippi and Missouri to Council Bluffs, being a month and three days on the way. Here he followed his trade in company with J.P. Williams, an old citizens, during the summer and winter. He then engaged in building a large mill for William Garner on Mosquito Creek. When this was completed, September 20, 1858, he started for Pike's Peak and was one of the first to cross the plains to that point, arriving after a forty days' journey. There he engaged in mining, in company with Mr. Gregory, who first discovered valuable minerals at Black Hawk and Central City, Colorado. He remained in the Territories, mining, etc. until the spring of 1859 when he returned to Council Bluffs, working at his old trade of millwright until the spring of 1864.

He then again crossed the plains with an ox team to Virginia City, in Montana, starting on the 20th of May and arriving there October 1, by way of Yellowstone and Big Horn. The next year he returned to Council Bluffs, and built a large woolen mill for William Garner on Mosquito Creek. In 1866, when this work was finished, he took charge of the mill for three years, operating it and manufacturing woolen goods. In the fall of 1868 he built his present residence on his farm, which consists of 440 acres, one of the best improved farms in the township. The residence, a two story frame, cost $2,000. There is also on the premises an orchard of 20 acres, with a great variety of fruit. This farm is seven miles northeast of Council Bluffs, and Mr. Kuhn has 80 acres besides in Hazel Dell Township.

In his political sympathies, he is a Democrat. He has been Township Assessor for five years, Township Trustee and a member of the school board. He was married November 13, 1860 to Julia H. Garner, daughter of William Garner, a prominent citizen of the township. She was born in Adams County, Illinois, but received her education in this county. In their family are the following children: Cyrus Frank; Sarah G., a successful teacher; Brick Pomeroy, attending school at Michigan State University at Ann Arbor; and William H. Jr., at home. Margaret E., a daughter, died in her 14th year.




Lacey, Thomas B.


THOMAS B. LACEY, M.D., of Council Bluffs, is one of the leading physicians of this city, where he located in March 1876, and has been continually in practice since that date. He was born in New Milford, Connecticut, in 1853. His parents were Thomas and Rachel (NOBLE) LACEY. The family emigrated to Racine, Wisconsin, from New England, and thence to Chicago, in 1863. Both the father and the paternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch were physicians. The mother survives her husband, being still a resident of Chicago. The Doctor has but one surviving brother, Fred N., a resident of Chicago, who is connected with the Pullman Palace Car Company. He lost two brothers, Arthur at the age of twenty six years, and Edward at the age of sixteen. He has one sister, Mrs. H. A. SUMMER, of Chicago. The Doctor received his literary education at Oberlin College, Ohio, and graduated at the Chicago Medical College in 1875. The Doctor was in practice at the Soldiers' Home in Milwaukee for a year after graduation, but nearly all his professional life thus far has been spent in Council Bluffs. Doctor LACEY is a gentleman of culture, possessing excellent literary attainments, and is recognized as one of the leading physicians of western Iowa. He is at present Medical Director of the United States Masonic Benevolent Associaton of Council Bluffs. He was associated with Drs. MACRAE and THOMAS as a Board of Pensioning Examiners for a period of four years. The Doctor is a prominent Mason, having taken the higher degrees of that order. He has a son named Thomas B., born October 12, 1880.




Lacy, Patrick


PATRICK LACY, a leading businessman of Council Bluffs, was born in Ireland in September 1843. His father died in Ireland and the family removed to this country and settled in Savannah, Georgia, in 1850 where his mother died of yellow fever about three years later.

In 1856, Mr. LACY came to Council Bluffs with his sisters and brother, and here remained until he was about eighteen years of age, when he left home and started out as a teamster in a wagon train to Denver, making several trips to and from the Bluffs. In the spring of 1863, he went to the Colorado mines at Central City and engaged in mining, and the following year he went to Idaho. Here, and in Montana, he spent several years, visiting every mining camp of note in those territories, and spending most of his time in miming. In the fall of 1867, he returned to Council Bluffs and since that time has been a continuous resident of that city, making several trips at intervals through the west. As a citizen, Mr. LACY has been zealously interested in the welfare of this city; was one of the charter members of the first volunteer fire department, being its chief eight years, and a member of it until it was superseded by the paid department when he resigned. Virtually, he is the father of the fireman's movement in Council Bluffs. In 1878, in company with five others, he organized the State Fireman's Association of Iowa, which is now one of the most prosperous organizations of its kind. He has been its president three years, 1885-87. He has also been a member of the National Association of Fire Engineers since 1878 and is now vice president for Iowa.

In the political affairs of the city and county, Mr. LACY has also taken an active part. In 1887 he was elected by the Democratic Party as a member of the Board of Aldermen and re-elected in 1889; has been president of the board two years. He has been an extensive dealer in real estate in this city; his residence is at 231 Park Avenue.

Mr. LACY is a member of the Catholic Church. He has been twice married, the first time in 1868 to Miss Annie WICKHAM, the second time in 1872 to Miss Mary FEE of Wisconsin. To the two marriages, there has been issue eleven children, nine of whom are at present living.




Lainson, A. T.


A.T. LAINSON, contractor and builder, No. 32 Fourth Street, residence, No. 120 Franklin Street, Council Bluffs. Mr. LAINSON's business was established in 1887 and during the year 1890 aggregated $40,000. He employs an average of twenty-five men per day. Some of the principal buildings in Council Bluffs have been erected by him. Among them we mention the following: the residences of W. C. JAMES, W. W. LOOMIS, J. J. STEADMAN, A. W. ASKAWITH, O. P. WICKHAM, George W. CRANE, J. A. HERRELD, Henry VAN BRUNT, Forest SMITH, Mrs. T. B. LEWIS, H. A. BAIRD, three flats for S. H. FOSTER, and the interior work of the Grand Hotel, besides other buildings of minor importance.

Mr. LAINSON is a native of Kent County, England, born near London, December 28, 1853, son of William and Mary Ann (ARGLES) LAINSON, the former a second cousin of William CUBIT, Lord Mayor of London. His parents have been residents of Council Bluffs for two years. The father, although now seventy two years old, is following his trade, that of carpenter, and is assisting his son. The mother is in her sixty-eighty year. Mr. LAINSON was only three years old when the family came to America and located in Canada, where they lived three years, after which they moved to Pennsylvania. Thirteen years later, they came to Iowa and settled in Carroll, where they remained three years. In 1876, they took up their abode in Ida County, this state, and in 1883 came to Council Bluffs. His father being a carpenter, Mr. LAINSON was brought up to that trade. He received a common-school education. He gives his undivided attention to his business and has met with eminent success. He makes interior work a specialty.

Mr. LAINSON was married in Ida County, Iowa, December 20, 1880, to Miss Cassie E. BATTIN, who was born in Wisconsin, December 27, 1862. They have one child, Harry A., four years old. Politically Mr. LAINSON is independent, casting his vote for the man he thinks best qualified to fill the position. He is ranked among the energetic young businessmen of Council Bluffs.




Lange, J. C.


J. C. LANGE, City Auditor of Council Bluffs, was elected in March 1890. He is a native of Warsaw, Russia, born July 21, 1846, a son of Joseph and Julia LANGE. His early youth was spent in his native land, and when he arrived at a proper age to attend school, he was sent to a private institution of learning at Holz-Minden, Germany. At the age of twenty-one, he came to America and located at Brooklyn, where he remained one year. From there he came to Burlington, Iowa, and three or four years later went to St. Louis. After spending three years there, he returned to Burlington, and in 1879 came to Council Bluffs. Here he engaged in the wholesale tobacco business, which he followed until 1884. In that year, he was employed by the Government as Revenue Collector for the Second and afterward the Fourth District, in which capacity he officiated until October 1889. He affiliates with the Democratic Party, taking an active interest in political work.

Mr. LANGE is also engaged in the insurance business and has an office at No. 538 Broadway. He represents the following companies: New York Underwriters' Fire Association of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; American of Philadelphia; Union of Philadelphia; Guardian of London, England; Hamburg-Bremen of Germany; Concordia of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and the St. Paul Fire & Marine of St. Paul. Mr. LANGE is a member of the I.O.O.F., No. 49, and the A.O.U.W., Hazel Camp. He also conducts the affairs of the Council Bluffs Music Company, at No. 538 West Broadway.

The subject of our sketch was married December 15, 1874, to Miss Ida AUWERDA of Ottumwa, a native of Holland. She was born May 14, 1856, daughter of C. L. and Jozena (DIRKS) AUWERDA. Mr. And Mrs. LANGE are the parents of three children: Julius C., Zena and Juliette.




Larson, C. A.


C.A. LARSON was born in Sweden, in 1850, son of Carl and Caroline Larson, and was a babe eighteen months old when, he was brought by his parents to America. For a short time the family made their home at Andover, Illinois, after which they went to Rock Island, same State. At the latter place his father was in the employ of Judge Spencer for fifteen years. During the civil war he was drafted into the service, but the Judge bought him a substitute for $ 40. in order to retain him in his employ. Mr.Larson's parents now reside five miles southeast of Geneseo, Henry County, Illinois. Of their six children, five sons and one daughter, C.A. is the oldest. He was reared on a farm near Rock Island, Illinois, and received his education in the public schools of Henry county. In 1875, Mr. LARSON came to Pottawattamie County,Iowa, and bought eighty acres of wild prairie land in section 8, Waveland Township, where he has since made his home. He has added to his first purchase, and now owns 120 acres of well-improved land. The splendid condition of his farm indicates the prosperity which has attended his labors. He has a good house, stables, cribs, good fences and a modern wind-pump. His well is sixty feet deep with thirty-four feet of water in it. He has a grove and a beautiful orchard of four acres. Mr. Larson was married, March 7, 1880, at Red Oak, Iowa, to Miss Victoria W. BLOOMQUIST, a native of Sweden, who came to Iowa a year or two before her marriage. They have two sons: Carl Oscar William, born March 11, 1881 and Elmer Theodore, January 21, 1891. Mrs. Larson's father, Jonas E. BLOOMQUIST, was born in 1820 in Sweden,was a blacksmith by trade and died in Stockholm in July, 1890. Her mother was born in 1832, in Sweden and died in Westervik, that country, in 1867. She has three brothers and two sisters living, one of the latter a twin, residing in West Des Moines, this State, the wife of Peter BURG. October 11, 1890, a locomotive on the Fort Dodge Railroad ran over two of their (Mr.and Mrs. Burg's) children and killed them. One was Peter, three years old and the other was Minnie, twenty-two months of age. C. J. LILLGEBERG, a prominent business man of Red Oak, Iowa, is an uncle of Mrs. Larson. Mr. LARSON is a man who is well posted on the current topics of the day. His political views are in harmony with Republican principles. He is frank, and cordial to all and has a good will of a large circle of friends and acquaintances.




Lathan, Edmond


EDMOND LATHAN of section 1, Hardin Township, came to this county May 5, 1851. He was born on Elk River, Clay County, Indiana, July 14, 1824, the son of John and Nancy (BOLLARHIDE) LATHAN, both natives of North Carolina, the former of English ancestry and the latter of German. They were married in North Carolina and afterward removed to Indiana about 1812, where they were among the early settlers. They reared a family of eight children, namely: Utley Ann, Elizabeth, Edmond, Laborn, John, Carhlotte, Harrison and Eliza Ann. The parents died in Boone County, Iowa, near Des Moines, the father at fifty-two years of age and the mother at the age of sixty-five.

Edmond LATHAN was reared on a farm in Clay County, Indiana, until twenty-four or twenty-five years of age, and his youth was passed at farm work in chopping, clearing, and grubbing. After his marriage, he bought a farm in Clay County, where he lived until 1850 when he sold out and came West to Pottawattamie County, with two teams of horses. He brought his wife and three children with him, and was on the road about twenty days, fording many streams, and crossing the larger ones on ferry-boats, camping out at night most of the time. When he arrived in this county, he settled above Crescent City, ten miles from Council Bluffs. Here he lived several years and improved quite a tract of land, and in 1855 built the first school-house erected in the county, which was of hewed logs and shingled roof; he made the shingles with a drawing knife. He sold out some years later and moved to Council Bluffs, where he resided for three years, engaged in teaming and gardening. Mr. LATHAN then moved to Keg Creek Township, where he resided for several years, and in 1878 came to his present farm, which was partly improved and contained a small prairie house.

Mr. LATHAN was united in marriage when twenty years of age to Nancy REEL, who was born near Greencastle, Putnam County, Indiana, the daughter of William A. and Sarah (REEL) REEL. The father was born in Dayton, Ohio, of Irish ancestry. They had nine children, six of whom are now living, namely: John William, who resides in Colorado; Mrs. Martha ALDRIDGE, who resides in Nebraska; Joseph Riley, who lives in Monroe County, near Mapleton; Mary Etta, wife of George COX, who resides in Missouri Valley; Anna, wife of Silas JONES, who resides in Monona County near Mapleton; Edmond, who resides in Nebraska. They lost three children by death: Sarah Elizabeth, who died at the age of forty-four years; Edith, who died in childhood; and a babe. Mrs. LATHAN died in 1859, when thirty-five years of age. Mr. LATHAN was married to his present wife in 1861, to Mrs. Jessie MARTIN, nee UNDERWOOD, who was born in Scotland, and a sister of Samuel G. UNDERWOOD, of Keg Creek Township. They have four children: Nancy Ann, wife of G. L. BROWN, residing in Washington Township; Samuel, engaged in the timber business in Butte, Montana; Harrison, at home; and Jessie, also at home. Politically, Mr. LATHAN is a Democrat and has been a member of the Baptist Church for forty-five years. He was at one time a member of the Methodist Church and a moderator in the Baptist Church.




Lebeck, Adolph


ADOLPH LEBECK is a member of the firm of LEBECK Brothers, dealers in dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes, etc., at Walnut. They are among the leading merchants of this thriving town.

Adolph LEBECK's father, S.L.J. LEBECK, a school-teacher by profession, was educated at Tondern Schleswig and was a teacher in Albersdorf, Germany, from 1842 to 1884, for a period of over forty years in one place, and previously in different places from early manhood. He married Hanna KETELSEN, and they had ten children: James, Alfred, Carl L., Line Christina, Hanne, Adolph, Male, Wilhelm, Berthold. Mr. LEBECK has now retired from active life. He is a member of the Lutheran Church and has reached the great age of eighty-one years, and is still living in Albersdorf, enjoying the respect of the people, many of whom he taught as children in the schools.

Adolph, his son and the subject of this sketch, was born in Albersdorf, Holstein, Germany, September 27, 1855, received an excellent education and learned the mercantile business in early life. In 1872, at the age of seventeen, he came to America and directly to Lyons, Iowa, where his brother, Carl L., was a clerk in a store. He then went to Monmouth, Illinois, entering the cigar business, but, the work not agreeing with his health, he returned to Lyons, Iowa, and engaged as clerk in a general merchandise store, remained there for a little over two years, and then went to Omaha and engaged in the grocery business. In 1874, his brother Carl started in business in Walnut, and in 1878 Adolph returned to Germany on a visit and remained one year, then returned to America and went into company with his brother under the firm name of LEBECK Brothers, buying out LODGE Brothers. Since this time, the firm has been attending to business, driving a prosperous trade and stand today among the leading businessmen of this part of the county.

In 1880, Mr. LEBECK married Miss Bertha SIEBKE, who was born at Davenport, Iowa, her parents coming from Germany in 1859. Mr. And Mrs. LEBECK have three children: Hanne, Theodor and Malitta. Mr. LEBECK, in national affairs, is a Democrat but has no time to devote to politics. The firm has been prosperous in business, and Mr. LEBECK is a man who is self-made and coming to America without knowledge of the English language, he has by his own merits succeeded in life and deserves great credit for his manly and honorable course. For business integrity, the firm stands high among the citizens and the merchants of the county, and their credit has never been impeached.




Leland, H. C.



H. C. LELAND, of section 27, Garner Township, has been a resident of Iowa since 1873. He was born in Yorkshire, England, June 10, 1844, the son of B. F. and Lydia (DICKENS) LELAND, both natives of Nashville, Tennessee. H.C. was a child of three years when his parents came to the United States and settled at Ottawa, LaSalle County, Illinois, where they remained one year. They then removed to Lowell, Dodge County, Wisconsin, where they remained until our subject was sixteen years of age. The father was a farmer by occupation, and H.C. LELAND was therefore reared on a farm. At the time of the Civil War, he enlisted in the Eleventh Infantry, Wisconsin Volunteers, under Colonel Charles HARRIS and Captain James LONG. He was under fire at Cotton Plant, Arkansas, and the battles of Grand Gulf and Port Gibson; in the latter battle he was shot through the lungs and was confined in the field hospital two weeks; was then removed to the Government hospital, and then to the general hospital at Madison, Wisconsin. He served three years and one month.

After recovering sufficient for labor, he returned to New York, where he was employed as engineer in a mill and also as railroad fireman and engineer. He afterward located in Chicago, in the stockyards, where he was engaged as engineer in a packing house, and later was promoted to foreman, remaining five years. In 1873 he came to Hamburg, Iowa, and August 3, 1881, he went to Omaha, Nebraska, and later to Pottawattamie County, Iowa. Politically, Mr. LELAND is a Republican; he is a member of the Masonic order, Jerusalem Lodge, No. 253, at Hamburg, Iowa. He was married in Chicago, Illinois, in April 1872, to Miss Jennie BONNEY, a native of Chelsea, Massachusetts.




Leland, Louisa Stodard


LOUISA STODARD LELAND, of Garner Township, section 27, has been a resident of Pottawattamie County since 1878. She was born in Joliet, Will County, Illinois, the daughter of George and Eva (ATZLE) WITTY, the former a native of Saxony, Germany, on the Rhine. Our subject grew to womanhood in Joliet, where she received her education. She was engaged for some time in selling boots and shoes in Chicago and Joliet. She has a farm of 117 acres of well improved land, situated three miles east of Council Bluffs, which is devoted largely to small fruits and a vineyard and on which is a fine residence, which cost $4,000. She was married in Joliet, Illinois, when twenty years of age, to MAJOR STODARD, a native of Joliet. He was a soldier, having served in the late war. He died in Joliet in 1880, leaving one child, named Magdeline. Mrs. STODARD was again married in 1884 to Mr. LELAND.




Leonard, Thomas


THOMAS LEONARD, a farmer of Hazel Dell Twp, was born and reared in County Roscommon Ireland upon a farm. At the age of 17 or 18 years he came to America, landing in Boston, where he resided 14 or 15 years. In 1867 he came to Jackson Co, Iowa, where he remained until 1875, when he came to Pottawattamie County. While in Boston he was engated in the manufacture of brick, and in Jackson Co, Iowa, he was a farmer; and he also afterward was engaged in farming at Silver City, Mills County, Iowa. On coming to this county, in 1875 he purchased a tract of 240 acres on sect 15, Hazel Dell Twp. It was but partially improved and he has devoted his earnest attention to the improvement of the place until he has made it one of the finest in that part of the county. He has a good frame residence 20 X 30 and 18 X 30, also a fine barn 40 X 64. Every feature of his place evinces good taste as well as a great amount of labor. In his political principles he is a thorough Democrat, casting his first vote for James Buchanan and ever since then taking an active part in the political welfare of the county, state, and nation. He has been Township Trustee and is now chairman of the Democratic Township Committee. He has made all he owns by his industry having had but 50 cents when he first landed on American shores. He was first married to Catherine HOER, who died in 1864 in Massachusetts. Of their six children, two are living: Thomas W. at home, and James, a resident of Neola Township. Mr LEONARD was married, this time, to Mrs Margaret TURNER, the widow of Edward TURNER and daughter of Mr. MAGEE, on February 14, 1867; by her first marriage she was the mother of three children: John, deceased; Patrick, a resident of Harrison Co, Iowa; and Anna, wife of Thomas W. LEONARD and the mother of one child, Mary E. born December 24, 1889. They are members of the Catholic Church.




Lerette, Nicholas


NICHOLAS LERETTE, a prominent farmer of Pottawattamie County, was born in Canada, the son of Lewis LERETTE, who was born in Lower Canada. He was married to Eliza Delill, of French and Pennsylvania-German descent. In the family of Lewis Lerette were five children who lived to maturity, namely: Catherine, Margaret, Nicholas, Mary and Matilda. In 1852 Mr. LERETTE came to Will County, Illinois, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 1859, at the age of fifty-two years. He was a devout Catholic, and a hard-working and industrious man.

Nicholas LERETTE, our subject, was but three years of age when his parents went to Illinois, and after his father's death he returned to Canada with the other children to live with his grandfather DELILL. He remained with him one year, and then went to Will County, Illinois, his mother having married a man by the name of GILBO in Canada, where they now live. Young Nicholas received but little education, and learned farming in early life. He remained in Will County until 1877, when he came to Pottawattamie County, and settled on his present farm, which was then wild land. By industry and perseverance he has converted this into a fine, fertile farm.

Mr. LERETTE was married September 3, 1874, in Will County, Illinois, to Mattie LASURE, daughter of Wilson D. LASURE, who was born in Ross County, Ohio, and is of Pennsylvania-German descent. He was married to Mary Bell, and they were the parents of ten children, viz.: Mattie, John, Newton, Jane, Alura, Nelson, Carrie, Benjamin, Elisha, Clara and Guy Raymond. After marriage Mr. LASURE went to Illinois, settling on a farm in Will County, where he is now a substantial farmer, and an upright and honorable citizen. In his political opinions Mr. LERETTE is a Republican, and both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Church.




Leslie, Felix N.


FELIX N. LESLIE, a substantial farmer Knox Township, was born in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, in 1842, the son of Hugh LESLIE, a native of the same state and of Scotch-Irish descent. His great-grandfather came to America and was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, after which he settled in Pennsylvania. Hugh LESLIE married Rebecca NEGLEY, a native of that state and of German descent. In 1871, our subject bought forty acres of land, a part of his present farm, to which he has since added until he now owns 240 acres of fine farm land. He is a union labor man, and a member of the Farmers Alliance. He was a soldier in the late Civil War from Scott County, Iowa, in Company G, 20th Regiment Volunteer Infantry, as a private and was in the battle of Prairie Grove, Arkansas; Vicksburg, siege of Ft. Morgan and Ft Blakely, Alabama, and also in many skirmishes. He served three years, and was honorably discharged at Mobile, Alabama. At the battle of Prairie Grove, Arkansas, Mr. LESLIE was in the 20th Iowa Infantry and marched from near Wilson's Creek (Springfield), Missouri, day and night, halting only long enough to make coffee, for nearly three days, and without any halt went into the battle of Prairie Grove, Arkansas. They traveled a distance of 112 miles. The regiment was composed of guard troops, which stood the shock of the charge as well as veterans. Mr. LESLIE has been a hard-working man, having made a good farm from wild prairie. He landed in this county without much means, and by perseverance and industry he has acquired a handsome property. He is a member of the U.S. Grant Post, Avoca, Iowa.

He was married in Clinton County, Iowa, to Catherine A. McALLISTER, daughter of Peter and Jane McALLISTER, and to them have been born nine children: Frank H., Nora A., Maggie R., Hugh Edmund, Charles T., Joseph B., Jesse N., Daniel P., and Harry A.




Levin, Frank R.


FRANK R. LEVIN was made Chief of the City Fire Department in April 1890 and has been a member of the order since its early history. He joined the Volunteer Fire Department in 1877 and was associated with it until 1884, when the city established the paid department. He was foreman of Rescue Engine Company No. 3 for four years, and when the paid department was organized, he was foreman of it until it was thoroughly established.

Mr. LEVIN was born in Sweden, July 16, 1854, a son of John and Louisa LEVIN. His youth was spent in his native country and in 1868 he came to America with his parents and settled in Council Bluffs. His father is living and resides in this city. Before coming to the United States, Mr. LEVIN spent one year learning the cigar trade and after locating here, he was engaged in various pursuits for two years. Then he became associated with FILBERT & VAIGHT, cigar manufacturers, with whom he remained two years. After being with Mr. HUBSTINE one year and with Mr. DAUBAUM for a time he in 1877 established a cigar manufactory of his own. He also opened a retail store, and since then has done an extensive business, turning out as many as a quarter of a million cigars in one year. This establishment is located at No. 400 Broad Street. In 1889 Mr. LEVIN also operated a barber shop in connection with his cigar trade. He employs an average of four men in his factory and puts up a first-class line of goods. His oldest brand, the Figaro, has been in use for ten years. Politically he has affiliated with the Republican Party until recently, but is now an independent. He is a member of the following orders: A.F.&A.M. No. 71, Council Bluffs; A.A.S.R., Oriental of Iowa Valley, Council Bluffs, and R. A. No. 156. In the A.A.S.R. he officiates as one of the degree officers.

Mr. LEVIN was married August 3, 1880 to Miss Caroline ACTON, a native of Denmark, born November 26, 1855. They have one child, Oscar. They hold to the faith of the Scandinavian Baptist Church.




Lewis, F. M.


F. M. LEWIS, one of the prominent citizens of Washington Township, was born in Franklin County, Indiana, September 23, 1846, the son of Samuel LEWIS, who was born in the same county in 1812, and was a son of Daniel LEWIS, a native of Pennsylvania and of English descent. Our subject's mother was Martha (RICHARDSON) LEWIS, who was born in Ohio and the daughter of Nathaniel RICHARDSON, a native of Connecticut. In 1853, when the subject of this sketch was but seven years of age, the family moved to Marion County, Iowa, where the father lived until 1879, and then in Pottawattamie County till his death, which occurred in 1882 at the age of seventy years. He had been a farmer all his life; politically he was a Republican, and religiously a member of the Methodist Church. The mother now lives in Madison County, Nebraska. They had a family of twelve children, seven sons and five daughters, all of whom grew to maturity.

F. M. LEWIS remained on the farm in Marion County until 1877, when he settled six miles from Council Bluffs and later bought eighty acres of land, where he now lives. He was one of the early settlers in his neighborhood, and has been very successful in all his undertakings, being now the owner of 200 acres of well-improved land. He was married in Marion County, Iowa, February 1, 1877, to Miss Lizzie DEVOTE, who was born in Bartholomew County, Indiana, the daughter of Levi and Rosetta (OSBORNE) DEVORE, the former a native of Indiana, and the son of Ben DEVORE, and the latter was the daughter of Jonathan OSBORNE, a native of New England. Mrs. LEWIS was but two years of age when her parents moved to Marion County, where she grew to maturity and was educated. Her mother died in 1881 in Pottawattamie County, and the father now lives six miles north of Council Bluffs, near Crescent. Mr. And Mrs. LEWIS have four children: Tonny Benton, Mary Elva, Charles Earl, and Irvin. Politically, Mr. LEWIS is a Republican; and religiously both himself and wife are members of the Evangelical Church.




Lewis, Jackson


JACKSON LEWIS, one of the enterprising and well-known citizens of Washington Township, has been a resident of this county since 1878, in which year he came from Fremont County, Iowa. He was born in Hocking County, Ohio, March 27, 1848, the son of Samuel James and Rebecca (Hardin) Lewis, the former a native of New Jersey, and of Puritan ancestry, and the latter of Pennsylvania, of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. The parents were married in Perry County, Ohio, and afterward removed to Hocking County, Ohio, where the father died when Jackson was four or five years of age. He was a farmer and blacksmith by trade. Politically he was a Democrat, and religiously was a member of the Old-School Baptist Church. The mother died August 9, 1888, in Lucas County, Iowa, at the age of eighty years. They were the parents of eleven children, two of whom died in childhood, but four sons and five daughters grew to maturity. Two of the sons served in the late war: Ben, who served in the Thirty-fourth Iowa Infantry, died in Lucas County, Iowa, in 1882; Ammi, who served in the same regiment, now resides in Colorado. Jackson was a lad of eleven years when his mother and family moved to Clark County, Iowa, and they afterward returned to Hocking County, Ohio, where they remained for a time, and then returned to Iowa.
Our subject grew to manhood on a farm in Clark County, Iowa, and in 1871 removed to Fremont County, where he lived seven years. He then came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, first settling on eighty acres two miles south of where he now lives. In 1885 he bought his present farm of Chancey Serry, which consists of 160 acres of well improved land. It is watered by the Little Silver flowing through it, and everything about the farm shows the thrift and prosperity of its owner. He is engaged in general farming and stock-raising.

Mr. Lewis was married May 1, 1870, in Clark County, Illinois, to Isabelle Beal, a woman of intelligence and education, who was born in Washington, Tazewell County, Illinois, the daughter of John Beal, a native of Beaver County, Pennsylvania. He was a son of George Beal, a native of England. John Beal was County Judge of Blackford County, Indiana, many years, and died in Decatur County, Iowa, when seventy-two years of age. The mother of Mrs. Lewis was Ruth (Prichard) Beal, who was born in Virginia and died in Clark County, Iowa, in 1853. She was a daughter of Rev. John Prichard, who was a predestinarian or old-school Baptist minister and baptized Alexander Campbell. Mrs. Lewis was reared and educated in Clark and Decatur Counties, Iowa, and was also a successful teacher before her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis have four children, viz.: Myrtle Irene, Sarah Elizabeth, Edgar B. and Cornelius Benjamin. They lost one by death, Eva May, their second born, at the age of one year. Politically Mr. Lewis is a Democrat, and has served as Township Trustee and as a member of the School Board. Both he and his wife are members of the Evangelical Church, and both are workers in the Sabbath-school.




Lewis, Nelson


NELSON LEWIS, of Lewis Township, is a native of Monroe, Michigan, born Dec 25, 1838, son of SILAS and LYDIA LEWIS. He was the ninth in a family of ten children. He was reared to farm life in his native state and received his education in the public schools. When he was 15 years of age, he commenced working for himself, and in his seventeenth year came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, where he has since made his home. He was engaged in various pursuits during his younger days, and in 1856 he made a trip to Texas where he remained during the winter. He then returned to Pottawattamie Co. and during the years 1861-62, was engaged in freighting across the plains from Council Bluffs to Denver, and in 1863 he freighted from Council Bluffs to Fort Randall. April 12, 1864, Mr. Lewis was married to Miss EMILY JANE MUSSER, who was born in Knox Co., Ohio, August 26, 1846, daughter of JOHN and CAROLINE A. (SOULS) MUSSER. The parents were natives of Pennsylvania and came to Ohio previous to their marriage. From that state they came to Pottawattamie County, Iowa, and purchased a farm in what is now Garner Township, where they made their home until the death of Mr. Musser, which occurred October 21, 1868. The father was a cabinet maker and house joiner by occupation. They had a family of nine children, viz.: William A., of Indianapolis, Indiana; Charles O., of Nebraska; Frances L., wife of Henry Palmer, residing in Council Bluffs; Emily J., wife of the subject of this sketch; Hester A., wife of Samuel Underwood of Garner Township; Mary E., wife of Charles Green residing in Neola Township; Martha E., wife of John Fleming, of Dakota; Abbie M., wife of George W. Ballinger of Dawson Co., Nebraska; Julia A., wife of William Ballinger of Omaha. Mrs. Musser is still a resident of Garner Township. NELSON LEWIS, our subject, purchased a farm shortly after his marriage, in Lewis Township, consisting of 80 acres on section 16, where he commenced making improvements. He erected a good frame residence, 24 X 32 feet, and also barns for stock and grain; he has the finest stock barn in this part of the county, which is 56 X 104 feet, and contains a steam mill for grinding meal and feed. He has fine groves and eight acres of orchard. Mr. LEWIS has added to his first purchase until he now possesses 280 acres, on sections 16 and 21, Lewis Township, and 40 acres in Mills Co. His home and surroundings denote thrift and prosperity. In April 1884, he engaged in the dairy business, and now he has one of the most extensive dairies in the county, keeping 150 cows, and milking daily about 175 gallons. He is a live, energetic man, who has by his honesty and integrity won a large circle of friends. In his political views, he is a Prohibitionist and has represented his township in most of its various offices. He was also instrumental in organizing Lewis Township. Mr. and Mrs. LEWIS are the parents of 12 children: Lydia May, Charles W., Edwin J., Frank N., Jessie A., Eva E., Harry B., and Walter S. (deceased), Freddie O., Bertie A., Vernon S., and an infant son.




Lewis, William (1.)
Page 512

WILLIAM LEWIS, of Lewis Township was born in Monroe County, Michigan, November 28, 1834. His father, Silas Lewis, was a native of Onondaga County, New York, born in 1792, and in 1808 came to Monroe, Michigan, with his parents. In his youth he learned the shoemakers' and tanners' trades, which he followed a number of years. He then engaged in farming until his death, which occurred in 1852, at the age of sixty years, in Monroe, Michigan. He was married in Michigan, to Lydia Chilson, who was born in Delaware County, New York, in 1799. She had moved to Michigan in an early day, and died January 15, 1890, at the home of her son William, in Lewis Township, Pottawattamie County. They had a family of ten children, of whom all are living except three: Shubael, a retired farmer of Kansas; Samuel B., a nurseryman of Monroe, Michigan; Silas, deceased; Chilson, a farmer of Pottawattamie County; James, residing in Colorado; William, of Lewis Township, Pottawattamie County; Nelson, a dairyman of Pottawattamie County; George, a nurseryman of Monroe, Michigan. The father served in the war of 1812, under General Hull. They were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
William Lewis, our subject, was reared to farm life, and received his education in the public and private schools. He remained at home until he was twenty years of age, and then came to Iowa, stopping at various points until he finally landed in Pottawattamie County, where he located. He engaged at work by the month for a couple of years; the first man he worked for was D. B. Clark, of Council Bluffs. He then commenced farming for himself, renting for a few years, and in 1861 he purchased a tract of forty acres on section 9, Lewis Township, which had been broken. Here he erected a residence and spent one year, when he sold out and purchased 200 acres of J. P. Casady, of Council Bluffs, on sections 10 and 15, Lewis Township, which was partially improved. The farm contained a small house, in which they lived for some time, and in 1885 they erected a fine two-story frame residence, 40 x 40 feet, which is one of the finest in this part of the county. He has also good barns for stock and grain, and three or four acres of grove. He has added to his first purchase 120 acres, making a total of 320 acres, all of which he has under good cultivation. It lies on sections 10, 11 and 15, Lewis Township. He devotes his attention mostly to farming and stock-raising, and takes an interest in all better grades of stock. He feeds quite a number of cattle each year for the market, and is one of the live, energetic business men of his township. Politically he is a stanch Republican. He is a lover of law and order, and strives to promote the best interests of his county.
William Lewis was married January 2, 1862, to Miss Lydia Edwards, who was born at Mt. Clemens, Macomb County, Michigan, July 27, 1844. She is the daughter of W. A. and Lucretia (White) Edwards, natives of Genesee County, New York, and Michigan. The father is a farmer during his later years, and is a resident of Appanoose County, Iowa; the mother died in 1848. They had a family of five children: Nelson, deceased; Sarah, deceased; Frank, residing in Lewis Township; Lydia, the wife of the subject of this sketch; and Daniel, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis are the parents of six children, viz.: George, born November 15, 1863, residing on his father's farm in Lewis Township; Emma, wife of John Short, residing in Council Bluffs; Edward, born February 26, 1869, is at home; William, born March 28, 1872, is employed in a creamery in Dexter, Iowa; Elsie, born October 29, 1875; Katie, born November 24, 1877. Mr. Lewis is a self-made man, having risen from the very bottom of the financial ladder. When he landed in Council Bluffs he had but $10 to call his own, and how well he has succeeded is demonstrated by looking at his beautiful home, surrounded by his broad acres of well cultivated land. The family are among the county's most worthy and respected citizens.



Lewis, William (2.)
Page 682

WILLIAM LEWIS, a well known stock dealer of Grove Township, has been a resident there since 1870. He was born in LaSalle County, Illinois, September 21, 1848, son of Charles Lewis, who was born in Norway, and was but a youth when he came in 1826 to America. He married Elizabeth Hougas, a very intelligent lady, who was born at Rochester, NY. He was a pioneer of LaSalle County and resided there, a successful businessman, until his death in 1861. He left two sons (William, the subject of this sketch, and Ed, a resident of Dakota), and his widow, who lived until August 5, 1890.
William was brought up to farm work and completed his school education in the city of LaSalle. In 1870 he came to Pottawattamie County, first buying a tract of wild land on section 36, Macedonia Twp., which he occupied and improved for ten years, when he settled upon his present farm. He now owns 1,080 acres of well improved land. His home farm comprises 160 acres, and there is on the premises a good frame residence built in modern style, besides a good barn and other outbuildings, competent for the care of a large number of domestic animals.
In the winter of 1889-90, he fed 40,000 bushels of corn. Besides, he owns an interest in 700 or 800 head of livestock in Sarpy County, Nebraska. Mr. Lewis is a thorough stockman, and a jolly, warm-hearted westerner. He is a Democrat, but too busy with his own affairs to take any part in a political canvass.
He was married in Mills County, Iowa, May 30, 1873, to Mrs. Elizabeth Richards, a native of Parke County, Indiana, and daughter of James and Alzina (Fisher) Shank. Her father was born in Warren County, Ohio, and her mother in Brown County, same state. The four children of Mr. and Mrs. Lewis are: Anna W., Arthur C., Laura I., and Charles M.




Livingston, James


JAMES LIVINGSTON, one of the substantial farmers of Valley Township, is descended from an old American family of Scotch descent. His great-grandfather came from Scotland and settled in Washington Co, Pennsylvania, and afterward moved to Mercer Co, same state. William LIVINGSTON, his son and the grandfather of our subject, was born in Pennsylvania and was married to Margaret MATHEWS. They were the parents of 7 children: Mary, Margaret, James, David, Hugh, Marshall and William. The father was a farmer near Wilmington, Pennsylvania and lived to the age of 86 years; he was a member of the United Presbyterian Church. Hugh LIVINGSTON, father of our subject, was born in Pennsylvania in 1811 and was a cabinet maker by trade which business he followed in his native state until 1853. He was married in Mercer Co. to Elizabeth SMITH, daughter of Richard and Phoebe (WOODHOUSE) SMITH. The father was born in Stonebridge, England, and was the father of ten children.

To Mr. and Mrs. LIVINGSTON were also born ten children, viz.: Mary, Phoebe, Margaret, Elizabeth, Zilpah, James, Milton, Charles, Dewitt C. and Wm. W. The father followed his trade in Mercer Co, Pennsylvania until 1850 when he removed to Rock Island, Illinois and remained three years. In 1853 he removed to Scott Co., Iowa, where he was among the early pioneers. He remained there about three years and in 1856 returned to Rock Island, Illinois, and bought a farm, remaining three years. He sold this place and in 1876 came to Pottawattamie County settling in James Township where he died in 1885. He and his wife were both members of the Presbyterian Church. James LIVINGSTON, the subject, was born in Mercer Co, Pennsylvania, May 27, 1839 and was reared to the life of a farmer. August 13, 1862 at age 23, he enlisted in Company C., 2nd Iowa Volunteer Cavalry and was in the battles of Coffeeville, Mississippi, Salinsburg, Colliersville, Tupelo, in the destruction of the railroad at Osford, Mississippi. He first served 18 months and then re-enlisted in the same company and regiment and served as a veteran for 20 months, making altogether 38 months, and was neither wounded nor in the hospital. He was mustered out at Davenport, Iowa, October 4, 1865 and was honorably discharged at Selma, Alabama. After the war, Mr. Livingston settled on a farm in Rock Island Co, Illinois, where he lived one year when he came to Scott Co, Iowa, where he lived until March 1868. In that year he came to Pottawattamie County and settled on his present farm of 80 acres of wild land.

He was married in Scott county, Iowa, to Emily DULIN, daughter of James and Almira (DANFORTH) DULIN. The father was born in Virginia in 1812, and was a farmer. His father, John DULIN, an Irishman by birth, was a soldier in the War of 1812 and died in Virginia. Mr. DULIN went to Ohio when young and in 1843 settled in Scott Co, Iowa where he was one of the early pioneers. He was a substantial farmer and lived to the age of 71 years. His wife was born in 1812 and died at the age of 73 years. They were the parents of nine children: Thomas, Bushrod, James, Alfred, Eleazer, Emily, Clara, Elizabeth and John. Mrs. DULIN was a member of the Christian Church. Mr. DULIN was a hard working man and well known to all the old settlers. To Mr and Mrs Livingston have been born six children: Hugh, James, Joseph, Bessie, Emma M. and Katie. James was married to Clara McMASTERS and they have one child, Hugh. He is now a butcher at Hancock.




Lodge, Oscar F.


OSCAR F. LODGE of Walnut, Iowa, is the pioneer merchant of that thriving town, and a man who has been identified with the business interests there since its foundation. He was born Dec 31, 1827, in Greenville, Mercer Co, Pennsylvania. His father, Samuel LODGE, a tanner but afterward a farmer, was of English descent. His grandfather, Benjamin LODGE, was a Lieutenant in the War of the Revolution. He also was born in Pennsylvania and was a farmer in Westmoreland Co. SAMUEL LODGE was an industrious and economical man and in comfortable circumstances. For many years, he was an elder in the Presbyterian Church. At the age of about fifty, he moved to Henry Co, Illinois, where he bought a farm and where he died at the age of about 60 years. He was a man of excellent character and had descended from a long line of American pioneers and soldiers. Mr. LODGE married in Pennsylvania to Miss Jane McCORD, daughter of George and Elizabeth (MOSSMAN) McCORD. Both families were old settlers and pioneers in Pennsylvania and of Scotch descent. Mr. and Mrs. LODGE were the parents of 11 children: Benjamin, Oscar F., Elizabeth, George, Margaret, Martha (died in infancy), Albert, Leander, Mary A., Samuel H., and one who died an infant. OSCAR F. LODGE, the subject of this sketch, learned when young the business of farming, and the greater part of his life has been devoted to that most primeval calling. At the early age of 23 he came to the state of Iowa, and near Davenport carried on a farm, on which he lived nine years, in company with his brother, Benjamin, who was a man of family. In 1871 he came to Walnut which at that time contained no store and but three or four houses, and here he established a mercantile business, in company with his brother, Leander, the stock consisting of general merchandise. This business continued until 1880 and was successful, and in 1883 Mr. LODGE went into the hardware business with Alfred E. KINCAID, under the firm name of LODGE & KINCAID. This has also been a prosperous business. Mr. LODGE has naturally taken an active interest in assisting to build up the town. He has been School Director and Township Trustee. He has seen the town's steady growth from a small hamlet to its present prosperity. In political opinion he is a stanch Republican. When the great Civil War broke out, he enlisted in Company D, 11th Regiment, Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and served 15 months, receiving an honorable discharge. He was in the great battle of Shiloh, but escaped without wounds. In 1880 he married Jennie ELLIOT, daughter of Benjamin ELLIOT, of McDonough Co, Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. LODGE have had six children: Arthur E., Walter B., Oscar L. and Harry G. (twins), Nellie H. and Edna. Mr. LODGE is a man of quiet tastes and a citizen well known and highly respected by all the people who know him. He is a self-made man, having by his own industry and economy accumulated his property. The family is American on both sides, coming from good stock.




The London Brothers


THE LONDON BROS. (E.T. and W. D.) are the proprietors of the London Livery, Sale and Feed Stables of Carson, on Commercial Street, convenient to both the business part of town and the depot. They purchased this establishment in 1888, and keep in stock a goodly number of driving horses, roadsters and all kinds of vehicles for which there is any demand. They are experienced and practical livery men and are popular. Their barn is the leading one in the town. They came to Pottawattamie County in 1884. E.T., the elder brother and the senior member of the firm, was born in Knoxville, Marion County, Iowa, in 1858. His father, W. M. LONDON, was a native of Morgan County, Illinois, served in the 40th Iowa Infantry during the War; and his mother, whose name before marriage was Narcisses CLOE, a native of Illinois. He was reared on the farm in Iowa. In 1876, he went to Chautauqua County, Kansas, and a year afterward to Johnson County, Missouri, and finally he came to Pottawattamie County, settling on a farm in Silver Creek Township. He was married November 20, 1883, to Miss Mary LONDON, a native of Marion County, Iowa, and they have two children: Ernest Wesley and Carrie. In his political sympathies, Mr. LONDON is a Democrat, and is a member of the Camp of the Sons of Veterans.

W. D. LONDON, the junior member of the above firm and a brother of J. C., was born August 31, 1862, in Marion County, Iowa, and was reared there on a farm. In 1876, he went to Kansas, and a year afterward to Missouri, where he resided until he came to Carson; and there he has since been engaged in the livery business. He was married in Johnson County, Missouri, January 10, 1884, to Miss Sallie DOUTHIT, a native of that county and a daughter of George DOUTHIT. Their children are Goldie and Eula. Mr. LONDON is a Democrat in his political principles and a genial citizen.




Long, William C.


WILLIAM C. LONG, a successful farmer of Wright Township and an ex-soldier of the late war, came to Pottawattamie Co in 1876 and has since resided here. He was born in Somerset Co, Pennsylvania, February 11, 1847. His father and grandfather, Jacob H. and Henry LONG, were both natives of Somerset County. His mother was Mary E. Baker, also a native of that county, a daughter of Josiah Baker, a native of Pennsylvania. Both the Longs and Bakers are of German extraction. When William C. was six years old, his parents moved to Howard County, Indiana. There he worked on the farm in summer and attended school during the winter months. In the fall of 1863 he enlisted in Company E, 11th Indiana Cavalry and took an active part in the war until its close. He participated in the battles of Huntsville and Athens, Alabama; Columbia, Tennessee; was on the march against General Hood's forces and was at Franklin, Spring Hill and Nashville, Tennessee. The war over, Mr. LONG received an honorable discharge at Indianapolis, Indiana and from there went to Lee Co., Illinois, whither his father had moved during the war. His mother had died in Howard Co, Indiana in 1863, leaving 12 children as follows: Lydia Susana, Lucinda, William C., Rebecca, J.W., Matilda E., Martin Luther, Mary Ellen, Rosyanna; Franklin and a babe unnamed are deceased. Harry, another son, was drowned. He was a member of the same company in which his brother served, was taken prisoner at Columbia, Tennessee, and confined at Andersonville for four months. At the end of that time he was paroled, put on board the Old Sultana, a condemned vessel, which went to the bottom of the river with all on board, near Memphis. Mr. Long resided in Lee Co, Illinois, until 1876 when he came to Iowa. He spent one year in Boone County before coming to Pottawattamie County. In Center township he purchased and improved a farm of 80 acres, which in 1883, he sold to Jack EVANS. Then he bought his present farm of 120 acres. This place is one of the best farms in the township, everything about the premises indicating industry and prosperity. Mr. Long has a story and a half frame house, which is built in modern style and which is surrounded with a grove and orchard. He has a good barn 24 X 26 feet, with 16-feet posts, and a corn crib 24 X 32 X 12 feet with a capacity of 3,000 bushels. He has a long cattle shed, a cow stable, a wind pump and everything convenient for carrying on general farming and stock raising to the best advantage. July 3, 1867, Mr. Long was married in Howard Co., Indiana, to Miss Lavina Darby, a lady of much intelligence and a native of Clinton Co, that state. She is a daughter of John and Rachel Darby. Mr. and Mrs. Long have three children: Laura Etta, Lilly Dale and Lucy Ellen. They lost their first born, an infant son. Mr. Long is a Republican, and like the representative citizens of his county, is well posted on general topics and current events.




Loudenbeck, Joseph A.


JOSEPH A. LOUDENBECK, one of the old soldier citizens of Pottawattamie County, was born on a farm in Hancock County, Indiana, June 22, 1842, the son of Reuben LOUDENBECK, who was a native of Pennsylvania and of German descent. He was married to Margaret EARL, and to them were born eleven children, three of whom died in infancy. The living are: Isaac, Mary, John, Joseph, David, Sarah, Emma, William. Mr. LOUDENBECK lived on a farm in Hancock County several years, and then moved to Jasper County, Iowa, in 1854, and then in the spring of 1869 removed to Madison County. He was too old to participate in the Civil War, but enlisted three times before he was accepted in the "Grey Beards," 37th Iowa, where he served until he was discharged on account of sickness. He is still living, at the age of seventy-four years, is a member of the Methodist Church, and an honest, upright man. He had three sons in the Civil War: Isaac, Joseph and David. Isaac and David were in the 5th Iowa Volunteer Infantry; the former enlisted in 1861 and the latter some time afterward, and they were both taken prisoners at the battle of Mission Ridge and confined in Libby and Andersonville prisons eleven months and both died from starvation at Andersonville!

Joseph A., our subject, was but twelve years of age when his father moved with teams to Jasper County, Iowa, and was but twenty years old when he enlisted March 22, 1862, in Company G, 17th Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and served until June 10, 1865. He was in the battles of Vicksburg, Missionary Ridge, Port Gibson, Jackson (Miss.), Corinth, Champion Hill, and many skirmishes. He was taken prisoner at Tilon, Louisiana, and confined at Andersonville six months, lacking thirteen days. His brothers had died before he entered the prison. When he went to Andersonville, he weighed 200 pounds, and when he came out he was reduced to 135 pounds! He had been starved almost to death from the poor and insufficient food, which consisted principally of corn meal, ground coffee, and old rotten mule meat. The drinking water was impregnated with filth, and he slept on the ground with no covering; his clothes were taken from him, except his shirt and drawers, which were reduced to a few rags, which scarcely covered his emaciated form. He was finally exchanged. He was wounded at Missionary Ridge, being shot through the right thigh, and he still carries the bullet. He was in the field hospital two weeks at Missionary Ridge, and was then sent home. He rejoined his regiment within two months, and thus the young Western soldier endured all the vicissitudes of war and was honorably discharged at Davenport, Iowa.

After the War, Mr. LOUDENBECK came to Pottawattamie County, and in October 1870, settled on his present farm. He is well known as an honest and industrious man, and is one of the oldest settlers of Lincoln Township. Lewis PAINTER, his brother-in-law, came at the same time, and they were the only settlers in this township. Mr. LOUDENBECK is a pioneer, an old soldier citizen, and a typical American, and his descendants will do well to remember his good record. Politically, he is a Republican and is a member of the G.A.R. Post No. 201 of Lewis, Iowa.

He was married in Jasper County, Iowa, to Miss Emily PAINTER, a sister of Lewis PAINTER, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work, and they have two children, viz.: Maggie, who married Ed YOUNG, a son of Adam YOUNG of Lincoln Township, and they have two children, Reuben and Nellie; and Carrie, who married George DERNIGER of Lincoln Township, and they have one child, Maggie.




Lowe, Horace G.


HORACE G. LOWE, of section 9, Carson Township, was born in Decatur County, Indiana, October 3, 1854, the son of Franklin and Julia (SPURLING) LOWE; the father is a well-known and prominent citizen of Carson. They reared a family of six children. Horace, the eldest child, was reared in Decatur County, Indiana, until fourteen years of ge, when, in the fall of 1870, the family removed to Glenwood, Mills County, Iowa, where they lived until the next spring. They then moved on the land where the home farm now is. Here he has since resided with the exception of two years. In 1879 he accepted a situation as salesman in the mercantile house of Ohio KNOX, of Macedonia; and the next year, he accepted a position in the mercantile business of L. D. WOODMANSIE of Wheeler's Grove. In 1881 he returned to the farm, where he has since resided, which consists of 240 acres of land, under a high state of cultivation.

He was married April 17, 1881, to Miss Hattie A. WOODMANSIE of Logan County, Illinois, who was a child of five years when her father, L. D. WOODMANSIE, came to this county. He was a native of New Jersey, and her mother, Mary (NISWONGER) WOODMANSIE, was a native of Ohio. Mr. And Mrs. LOWE have two children, Mabel and Loren. Politically, Mr. LOWE is a Republican, and he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. LOWE is an honored and esteemed citizen of the county, where he has resided for so many years.


Read Terms, Conditions and Disclaimers