USGenWeb  Sutherland

On Grand Army Day, April 6, 1887 the Post Commander of the G.A.R. called together the wives of the G.A.R. members for the purpose of organizing a Womans Relief Corp. Thirteen women wee charter members. They were Agnes B. Gates, Jennie E. Baldwin, Celeste Messer, Roma Woods, Mary Colcord, Martha Parks, Lena Murphy, Amy VanHorn, Aneliza Nelson, Ida Peck, Nellie Nelson, Mabel Messer, Mabel Inman,

In addition to their relief work through the year, the Relief Corps has placed flags in the churches and schools of the community and have been interested in all patriotic projects in the community.

Present officers of the W.R.C. are:

President Stella Willey
Senior Vice Mrs. J.S. Hockert
Junior Vice Erla Waterhouse
Guardian Gladys Willey
Assistant guard Wealthy Anders
Guard Gladys Willey
Conductor Mary Thiessen
Asst, Conductor       Elsie Hill
Chaplain Louie Hostler
Secretary Mae Hayes
Treasurer Ida Willey
Patriotic Ins. Mrs. J.S. Hockert
Press Cor Lizzie Bidwell
Pianist Elizabeth Woolston
1st color bearer Bertha Pickrell
2nd color bearer Meta Martin
3rd color bearer Mrs. Olhausen
4th color bearer Verla Van Horn

From Sutherland Courier December 3, 1942

O'Brien County Iowa Genealogy - The IAGenWeb Project