Wilton History

Source: Henry Wildasin's Revised History of Wilton, Iowa
***Containing a complete reprint of Wilton History 1854-1876 by Rider & Stevenson***1947


The first green house was built by the Friederichsen brothers, Ernest and Rudolph. In a few years they dissolved partnership and Rudolph went to Marengo, and Ernest remained at the old stand. He continued the business in his name, until he took in his son, Leonard as a partner. It was then operated as E. Friederichsen and Son, in the course of time Mr. E. Friederichsen quit the business and it was operated by the Friederichsen brothers, Leonard and Harry. In a short time Harry took his wife to Arizona for her health, and it was then operated as L. R. Friederichsen Green House.

About the year 1900, John Beimford started a green house on the west end of 4th Street, which he continued for about ten years then closed out and moved to Norton, Kansas.

In March 1947, Mr. L. R. Friederichsen sold his business and greenhouse building to John F. Swisher of Rock Island, Illinois, and orville Haskins of Bettendorf, Iowa. The business will continue under the name of Friederichsen's Greenhouse and will be operated by a florist with 25 years of experience.

Back to the Wilton History Index Page

Return to History Books Index

Back to the Muscatine County IAGenWeb Index Page