BARNES, ADELBURT, livery and feed stable; born in Herkimer County, New York, January 4, 1843. Came to this county in 1875; came to Pilot Grove township, and in 1878 came to Red
Oak, and has been in the livery business ever since. Was married November 22, 1871, to Miss Gertrude Stanley, a native of Wisconsin; were married in Stephenson County, Illinois. Have four
children: Harry, born March 24, 1873;; Bertha M., March, 1877; Nellie C., November, 1874; Ernest, December, 1879. Mr. Barnes is in partnership with Mr. J. A. Davis in the livery trade, and is a
member of the I. O. O. F. lodge, No. 176, Red Oak.
BATCHELDER, HENRY L., one of the managers of the dry goods house of C. H. Lane. Mr. Batchelder was born January 19, 1847, in North Hampton, New Hampshire, and there grew to
manhood; was educated in the academy at Hampton. He was raised on a farm until 18 years of age, when he went to learn the wheelwright trade. After serving his time at his trade, he moved to
Red Oak in the spring of 1869, and engaged as salesman with C. H. Lane, where he continued until 1875, since which time, he, in connection with Mr. Shaw, have had the entire control and
management of the house. Mr. B. was bookkeeper for eight years and attended to all the finances of the establishment. Mr. Batchelder has done all the buying for the house. He was married May
29, 1877, to Ella M. Graham, of Red Oak. She was a native of Illinois. They have one child living, Herman L., born January 16, 1881. They have one deceased, Harry G., born March 4, 1878;
died February 1, 1880.
BINNEY, JOSEPH, physician and surgeon. Dr. Binney was born July 19, 1847, in Boston, Massachusetts. When six years old went to Washington city and remained there four years. He then
entered college at Worcester, Massachusetts. In January, 1864, he enlisted in company H, 57th Massachusetts regiment, and served until the close of the war. He took part in the battle of the
Wilderness, where the doctor was wounded in the left shoulder, from which he lay in the hospital five months. After returning to his regiment, they took part in the siege of Petersburg. After being
mustered out of service he went to St. Louis, Missouri, and engaged in the insurance business for about two years. He then came to Fremont County, Iowa, in 1868, being at this time but
twenty-one years old. Here he farmed and taught school. In 1874 he came to Red Oak and began the study of medicine under Dr. Martin - his present partner. In 1878 he graduated in the Indiana
medical college at Indianapolis. Since that time he has continued the practice of medicine with Dr. Martin. Dr. Binney is a member of the Baptist church, as is also his wife. He is also a member
of the Knights of Honor. He was married in 1873 to Miss Nellie F. Smith, of Shenandoah, Iowa. She died June 14, 1874. They had one child, deceased. He was married again August 26, 1878, to
Susie H. Smith, of Shenandoah, Iowa. They have one child living, Nettie J., born September 3, 1879.
BISHOP, WRIGHT CLARK, of the firm of Bishop & Houghton, furniture and house furnishing goods. Mr. Bishop was born August 4, 1854, in Jericho, Vermont, where he grew to manhood;
was brought up to the dairy business, which he followed until he left Vermont. In the fall of 1874 he moved to Iowa, locating at Red Oak, and engaged in the furniture business in partnership with
C. H. Lane, which they continued until the spring of 1880, when he bought the interest of Mr. Lane and conducted the business alone until the spring of 1881, when he sold an interest to H. C.
Houghton. They have just erected a large brick block on the northeast corner of the square, three stories high, with store room below, 45x112 feet, 15 foot ceiling, where they will hereafter
conduct their business. The second and third floors being finished and furnished for an opera house, with a seating capacity of one thousand. This building is first-class in every respect, is heated
by steam and lighted with gas. Mr. Bishop has been engaged in the real estate business to a considerable extent, having made two additions to the city of Red Oak; one on the north and one on the
east, known as Bishop's addition to Red Oak. He also has a fine farm just outside the corporation; besides considerable town property, among which is one of the best and costliest residences in
the city. This building stands on the highest point inside the corporation.
BLAKE, SAMUEL, P., bartender; born in Grafton, New Hampshire. His parents moved to New London; then to Sutton. Here they remained until his mother and father died, Samuel being only
fifteen years old. Then went to Mobile and New Orleans; then to St. Louis where he lived for six years; then went to Chicago; was on the Lake awhile; then located at Sheboygan, Wisconsin;
then went to Farmington Michigan. In the spring of 1873 came to Red Oak, where he now resides, and is in business. Was married to Miss Lydia N. Conner, June 2, 1848; she is a native of York
State. They have seven children: Carlastine E., Florence M., Edwin C., William S. W.; and have three deceased; Mansel, Lillian and Charles. Mr. Blake is also a painter by trade which he has
followed most of his life.
BOLT, CHARLES, contractor and builder, P. O. Red Oak; born in Highland County, Ohio, December 30, 1831. His parents moved to Hamilton County, Indiana, when he was nine years of age.
In 1855 he moved to Montgomery County, Iowa, and settled in Pilot Grove; bought land in sections 29, 30, and 31. In 1858 Charles moved on a farm of his own near Frankfort. He now owns a
fine property in the north part of the city of Red Oak. He has served two terms as sheriff of this county, and was deputy provost marshal of Montgomery and Adams counties during the years 1864
and 1865. He belongs to the firm of Bolt & Hendrix, contractors and builders; he learned his trade (brick masonry), in Indianapolis, Indiana, in 1851; since that time he has been engaged
principally in that business; he has built the majority of the brick buildings of Red Oak; and the firm are doing a large business in this and adjoining
counties. Mr. Bolt is a royal arch mason and a
charter member of Red Oak lodge No. 162, A. F. and A. M., organized in 1861. He has been twice married; first, in 1857, to Miss Alzina J. Strait; this wife was burned to death near Frankfort by
her clothes taking fire from a wood stove. They had one daughter, Lillian A. July 3, 1860, he married Margaret A. Hewitt of this county. They are members of the M. E. Church, and are the
parents of six children: Etta V., Henry A., Benjamin D., Maud A., Myrtle A. and Leona. Mr. Bolt's father, John Bolt, was born in Virginia in 1802; died at the age of seventy-five. His mother was
born in North Carolina, in 1800; died at the age of seventy.
BREES, D. I., veterinary surgeon, Red Oak; born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, November 12, 1833. His parents moved to Athens, Ohio, when he was fie years old, and remained there
until 1853, and then moved to Richland County, Wisconsin. There he followed plastering and treating the diseases of horses until the year 1868, when he went to Alamakee County, Iowa, and
remained there two years. In 1870 he went to Washington County, Nebraska, and in 1877, came to Red Oak, where he has been engaged in his profession ever since. He has been a veterinary
practitioner for over twenty-five years. He enlisted in 1862, in the Twenty-fifth Wisconsin infantry, company B. Served almost three years and was discharged at Madison, Wisconsin, ant the
close of the war. He was engaged in the siege of Vicksburg and a number of battles, and was engaged in fighting Indians on the Red River for a time. He was married in Richland County,
Wisconsin, in 1856, to Miss Lucinda J. Basyl. They have seven children living: S. B., W. H., J. M., I. B., A. L., F. L., and L. L. They have lost three: J. D., Minnie, and one in infancy. Mr. Brees'
father, Balemas Brees, was born in New Jersey in 1806, and is now living in Wisconsin. His mother, Abigail Chase Brees, was born in Pennsylvania in 1807.
BROWN, I. W., grain dealer, Red Oak; Mr. Brown was born in Northumberland County, Pennsylvania, in 1843. Left there in 1861, and came to Red Oak in August, 1870, and engaged in the
grain business in 1873. He owns an elevator at Coburg, Iowa, with a capacity of ten thousand bushels, erected in February, 1878, by Mr. Brown. In the last twelve months he has shipped about
five hundred car loads of grain. He was married in Pennsylvania in 1871, to Miss Helen Goodwin of Pennsylvania, by Rev. Nelson. She was born in Pennsylvania in 1848. They are the parents of
three children: Paul G., Lawrence G., and Helen F. He is a member of the Masonic order of Red Oak, lodge No. 162, and is a member of the Congregational church, as also is his wife.
BROWNSCOMBE, P. A., house and sign painter, grainer and paper hanger, Red Oak; he was born in Devonshire, Chulmleigh, England, June 24, 1844. Emigrated to Canada with his parents
when he was ten years old, and then came to Mt. Vernon, Ohio, where he remained until 1869. In the meantime he enlisted in company G, Twentieth Ohio volunteer infantry in 1861, under
Captain J. N. Cassell. Was in the battles of Fort Donelson and Pittsburg Landing; was taken sick
with typhoid fever and diphtheria. Was taken prisoner at Bolivar, Tennessee, and remained a
prisoner for seven months. Returned to his regiment and was at Jackson, Vicksburg, Port Gibson, Champion Hills, Black River, and siege of Vicksburg. After the surrender of Vicksburg was
detailed as clerk at headquarters of the second brigade, third division of the seventeenth army corps, and remained there until the close of the war, and was mustered out at camp Chase, Ohio. Was
married to Miss Adel McFarland in 1866, at Mt. Vernon, Ohio. Mrs. Brownscombe was born in Parmer Center, New York, May 6, 1852. They have two children: Bessie May and Charles W.
Have four deceased: Willie, Lilly, Kittie, and James. Mr. Brownscombe learned his trade with his father when but a boy, and has been at that trade all his life. His father was William
Brownscombe, born near Biddeford, England. His mother was born in Chulmleigh, England.
BRYAM, JAMES D., carpenter, Red Oak; born in Belmont County, Ohio, February 9, 1817; afterward the county line was changed, which placed their home in Monroe County, where he
remained until 1849; he then came to Henry County, Iowa. In 1864 he came to this county. Mr. Bryam was a lieutenant of
the first Iowa volunteers, in the Mexican war, served eleven months and
commanded his company in each and every engagement in which it was engaged, without receiving a wound. He has been a continuous resident of this county since 1864. He was married, March
22, 1846, to Elizabeth A. Mellen, a native of Pennsylvania. They are the parents of nine children, six of whom are living: Nancy E., Sarah, Mary Jane, Martha, Matilda and Charles H. They have
buried three: John J., Phoebe and William Thomas. He is a member of the Masonic order and of the temperance organization. He is also a member of the Christian Church.
BURNETT, C. L., city marshal, Red Oak; born in Des Moines County, Iowa, February 2, 1844. In 1862 enlisted in company K, Twenty-fifth Iowa volunteer infantry; served three years,
participating in the battles of Arkansas Post, Chickasaw Bayou, Champion Hills, and was taken sick and sent to Memphis, Tennessee; there three months and then returned to his regiment and was
in the battles of Chattanooga, Lookout mountain, Mission Ridge, Siege of Knoxville and to Woodville, Alabama. Was detailed as scout under General Logan and went to Savannah and
Petersburg. Was mustered out at Washington City. Returned to Des Moines County until 1871, when he emigrated to Red Oak. Was in the pottery business with Eaton & Co. Was elected marshal
of Red Oak in 1878; has served three years in that capacity with credit to himself and to his constituents. Was married, November 29, 1866, to Miss Josie Orchard of Des Moines County. She was
born in Brown County, Illinois, May 1846. Have two children: Robert E., born January 11, 1869; Ella, deceased, born September, 1867. Mr. Burnett is a member of the I. O. O. F., Montgomery
lodge, No. 387.
BYRKIT, FRANK M., vice president First National Bank, Red Oak; Mr. Byrkit was born October 16, 1842, in Danville, Illinois; when two years old moved with his parents to Fairfield,
Jefferson County, Iowa, where he grew to manhood; he was educated in the common schools, and the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mt. Pleasant. In August, 1862, he enlisted in company B,
Nineteenth Iowa infantry; this regiment participated in the battles of Prairie Grove, Arkansas;
Siege of Vicksburg, after which he was transferred to the pay department under Major Will
Cumback, with headquarters at Cincinnati, Ohio, where he remained until the spring of 1864, when he resigned and went into the express business in St. Louis; here he remained until 1870, when
he moved to Red Oak, Iowa, and went into the Bank of Red Oak as its cashier, at the organization; he remained here until 1873, when he opened a private bank, and in November of the same year
converted it into a national bank, known as the First National Bank of Red Oak, of which he was elected vice-president at its organization, and which position he still holds. Mr. Byrkit has been a
remarkably successful business man, and although young in years has won an enviable reputation among the business men of Montgomery and adjoining counties. Mr. and Mrs. Byrkit are both
members of the M. E. church. He was married October 16, 1865, to Mary E. Junkin, of Fairfield, Iowa. They have four children, all living: Elsie M., born November 8, 1867; Helen H., , May 1,
1870; Guy M., February 6, 1873; Florence M., January 17, 1876. During the panic of 1873, Mr. Byrkit was only five months old as a banker, and was the only bank in Red Oak that did not close;
he paid every demand that was made upon him and to this fact he attributes much of his success as a business man.
CAREY, EDWARD M., of the firm of C. H. Lane & Co., machinery and farm implements, Red Oak; he was born October 5, 1843, in Harvard, New Hampshire, and moved in childhood to
Clearmont, New Hampshire; in his boyhood days he clerked in various places; he was educated in the high school in Clearmont. In 1861 he moved to Burlington, Vermont, there worked at
photographing for two years; then to St. Albans, and engaged in the same business for about three years; after which he bought the city gallery of Burlington, one of the finest rooms in New
England, there employed from ten to twelve hands. In 1869 he sold out and moved to Red Oak, Iowa; engaged as a clerk in the lumber business for Justus Clark & Co., about three years;
afterwards he in connection with C. H. Lane, engaged in handling groceries, hardware and farm implements for five years; they then sold out the groceries and hardware and for the last three years
have given their entire attention to farm implements; Mr. Lane being extensively engaged in other branches of business, the entire management of this house falls upon Mr. Cary; they have the
most extensive house in their line in this section of the country; they also have a branch house in Elliott, under the management of C. K. Smith, where all goods in their line are handled. Mr. Carey
is a member of the Congregational church, as is also his wife. He was married to Lucy A. Clark, November 12, 1872, a native of Williston, Vermont; they were married at the time the epizootic
prevailed and some of the guests came in conveyances drawn by oxen, there being no horses fit for use. They have one child living: Charles E., born November 21, 1874.
CAREY, JOEL, carpenter and contractor, Red Oak. Mr. Carey was born May 6, 1837, London County, Connecticut. In 1844 moved with his parents to Bradford County, Pennsylvania,
remaining there ten years, after which he returned to his old home in Connecticut. In 1856 he started on a trip
through the northwest for his health. In the fall of 1858 returned to his home and
worked at his trade until July , 1862, when he enlisted in company C, 18th Connecticut regiment infantry. This regiment was in the battle of Antientam, Winchester, Gettysburg, Cedar Creek,
Piedmont, where he was wounded in the left side, the ball passing entirely through his body. At this time he was taken prisoner and sent to Andersonville, remaining there from June until
November. Then to Milan; from there to Savannah; then to Florida; then back to Charleston, and from there to Florence, South Carolina; then to Libby. He was a prisoner ten months and
twenty-six days. In March, 1865, he returned to Annapolis, Maryland, in an unconscious state. He was discharged June 4, 1865. He moved to Ripon, Wisconsin, where he worked at his trade. In
the summer of 1867 he moved to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and in the fall of 1871 came to Red Oak. When he came here formed a partnership
with J. W. Sawlbin in the contracting and building
business. This firm has built many of the best buildings in Red Oak and Montgomery County, among which are Lane block, Lane's residence, Byrkit's and Bishop's
residences, and many other of
the leading residences of Red Oak; also the Methodist church. Mr. Carey was married August 14, 1863, to Fannie D. Durkee, of Norwich, Connecticut. They have one child living, Clara H., born
February 21, 1870. His wife died September 25, 1879. One child deceased, Eva Clair. Mr. Carey is a member of the Knights of Honor; the only lodge of the order in this section of the country.
CARMICHAEL, ARTHUR P., commission and grain merchant, Red Oak; was born in Newburg, North
Carolina, December 18, 1814, and when at the age of seventeen years moved to
Montgomery County, Indiana, March, 1831. He left that county on account of his political principles; lived in Indiana for five years, and in the year 1836 moved to Warren County, Illinois.
Worked at the carpenter trade for a while, then went to Monmouth, Illinois, and was engaged in general merchandise, in the year 1855, and continued that business for five years; during his stay
there, was chief of police for nearly five years; then went to Young, now called Kirkwood, Illinois. Engaged in the lumber business with a Mr. J. Cleslie, for two years, then sold out and built a
steam mill in Kirkwood, in the year 1867. Sold out again in 1873; then emigrated to Red Oak and located here, and since residing here has been in the grain business. His principal grain is flax
seed; loaning and buying the seed. Was married to Miss Jane Henderson in 1838, in Henderson County, Illinois; she was born in Pendleton County, South Carolina, in 1821. They have five
children: Charles A., Esther A., Mary A., (deceased); Telith E., William T. and Jane E. Mr. Carmichael and wife are both members of the Presbyterian church. Esther A. is a member of the
Episcopal church. Charles A. enlisted in the army in 1861, in the three months call, under Capt. Josiah Moore, of the17th Illinois infantry, company F; served three years and six months. Mr.
Carmichael is son of Abram Carmichael of South Carolina, who was born in 1775; his wife was born in 1782.
CLARK, JUSTUS, lumber merchant and farmer, Red Oak; Mr. Clark was born March 22, 1819, in Windsor County, Vermont. At the age of eleven years moved with his parents to Chittenden
County, Vermont, where he grew to manhood. His father , Wright Clark, was a farmer, owned the old Gov. Chittenden farm. This farm was opened and improved by Gov. Chittenden before the
Revolutionary War. This estate passed from the hands of the Chittendens into the hands of the Clarks, and it now remains in their
possession. Hiram A. Clark (brother of Justus) is living upon
the farm at this time. Mr. Clark went to Burlington, Vermont, in 1835, being there engaged as a clerk until the spring of 1839, when he moved to Burlington, Iowa, and engaged with McCarver &
White as clerk, and took charge of their business. After remaining with this firm for a number of years, he moved to his farm in Pleasant Grove, Des Moines County, Iowa, in 1844. Here Mr.
Clark lived for twenty-five years, devoting his time to scientific farming, looking after his land property and serving the people in many minor offices. He was a member of the legislature at Iowa
City, in 1851 and 1852, and at the first session in Des Moines, in 1858 and 1860, and the extra term in 1861. He was also a member of the board of supervisors of his county for six consecutive
years. Having entered large tracts of land in Red Oak and vicinity, Mr. Clark disposed of his land in Des Moines County for the purpose of concentrating his landed interests in Red Oak and
vicinity, at which point he had also established a lumber business in connection with Benjamin B. Clark. Soon after this Mr. Clark removed his family to Burlington, Iowa, and for two years was
connected with the C. , B. & Q. and B. & M. R. railroad companies, obtaining right-of way through the state for their lines of road. After this he took charge of the right-of way department of the
Burlington & Southwestern Railroad for three years; also helped to organize and was president and manager of the Iowa & Missouri Coal and Land Company, obtaining right-of-way, depot
grounds and town sites for both railroad and coal interests. During all this time Mr. Clark continued to look after and superintend his farming and lumber interests, which by this time were very
extensive. He also at this time owned a fine farm only seventeen miles from the court-house in
Chicago, from which he shipped milk regularly for fifteen years. In the fall of 1876, he moved to
Red Oak and became a permanent citizen. Mr. Clark still continues his lumber business, but is practically a farmer; he has several thousand acres of land all under fence, not one acre of which has
ever been encumbered since he owned it; he devotes the greater portion of his time to farming, stock-raising and shipping. Mr. Clark made a trip from Pleasant Grove to California in 1850, in
company with four others, with an ox team, taking on provisions at St. Joseph, Missouri, which lasted through the two thousand miles of travel among the Indians. He returned in 1851, crossing
the Isthmus on foot. In 1872 Mr. Clark passed up the Republican Valley, in Nebraska, making observations, and recommended this as being the most practicable railroad route from the Missouri
River to Denver. Mr. Clark has traveled over almost the entire territory between the Mississippi River and the Pacific Ocean, in the interest of the stock
business, in which he is largely engaged.
He also spent the summer of 1880 in Europe, visiting the different countries in the
interests of agriculture, studying their methods and customs, and culling there from
that which would be of profit
to himself in his own country. Mr. Clark was married in May, 1841, to Miss Elizabeth Cartmill, of Burlington, Iowa; she was a relative of the McCarvers and Whites, the first settlers of that city.
CLARK, CHARLES F., cashier first national bank of Red Oak. Mr. Clark was born August 5, 1846, in Shelby County, Indiana. In 1856 he moved to Iowa and has ever since been a resident of
the state. He began clerking at the age of sixteen, and was constantly engaged in mercantile pursuits until 1873, when he came to Red Oak. Mr. Clark was one of the organizers of the first
national bank, was elected cashier at the organization, and has filled that position ever since to the satisfaction of all concerned.
CLEAVER, ELWOOD, joiner and pattern maker, and county surveyor by appointment, Red Oak; was born in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, February 7, 1830; here he grew to manhood.
Was married to Miss Martha A. Lukens in 1851, in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. Have five children: J. L., Ellis, Elizabeth, Anna, Walter, and three children deceased. Mr. Cleaver is a self
educated man, had no help but a willing set of hands to work his way through the world. His
education as surveyor was by experience in the field.
COMBS, AARON B., locomotive engineer and foreman of car department, Red Oak; born in Adams County, Illinois, January 28, 1842. When he was about four years of age his
parents moved to
Augusta, Hancock County, Illinois, where he lived until he was twenty-two years of age. He enlisted in company B, Seventh Missouri cavalry, August 1, 1861; was taken prisoner at
Independence, Missouri, and held a prisoner twenty-two days. Was discharged August 11, 1862, at St. Louis. He then went to Chicago and attended commercial college for eight months, then
commenced railroading on the H. & St. Joe road; was employed by that company six months, then went to the C., B. & Q. road, and from that to the T. W. & W., then to the Rock Island and St.
Louis, then to the Q. M. & Pacific, and to the C., B. & Q. again in 1873, where he has remained since. He was married, March 10, 1864, to Miss Laura V. Anderson, a native of Kentucky. They
are the parents of four children: Cora, born May 10, 1866; James L., born May 25, 1869; Ettie M., born February 14, 1875, and Harley, born September 8, 1878. Mr. Combs is a member of the
Masonic order. Himself and wife are members of the Christian Church.
COOK, J. S., deputy marshal of Red Oak; was born in Delaware County, Ohio, in April 1, 1841; left there in 1844 and went to Henry County, Iowa; remained there until he enlisted in the army
in 1862 in Thirtieth infantry, company K.; served till the 24th of March, 1864. Was discharged by reason of his father's death, and there being four brothers all in the army he was sent home to
take care of his crippled mother. Came to Red Oak in 1864, engaged in the blacksmith's trade, and afterwards bought land and went to farming and
stock-raising; continued on the farm till 1878,
when he was appointed deputy sheriff by sheriff Harding; served two years and was then elected by the city council as deputy marshal of Red Oak. Mr. Cook and his family lived on
some time as they could not get to mill on account of high water; corn being $1.25 per bushel. Was married in Marshall, Henry County, Iowa, in May, 1864, to Eliza Price of Henry County; was
married by Rev. Hawkins. She was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, August 20, 1843. They are the parents of five children, three living: Nettie, born May 31, 1870; Josephine, born September
16, 1871; Harry D., born December 17, 1877; and two dead: Jessie M. and Mary F. He is a member of the
Masonic order of Red Oak, lodge No. 162, also of Montgomery chapter No. 57. He owns
eighty acres of land, and a house and two lots in Red Oak. While acting as deputy sheriff he helped to capture and send twenty-two criminals to the penitentiary; captured five horse-thieves,
completely breaking up horse stealing in this county.
COOK, N. A., Red Oak, was born in Cattaraugus County, N. Y., Jan. 29, 1826. His father having died when he was only four years old, he was raised by an uncle in Ontario County. He received
an ordinary education, completing his studies at the academy at West Bloomfield in that county. At the early age of eighteen he came west to Sandusky County, Ohio, and engaged in teaching,
which occupation he followed for several years, in that state and in Indiana. In May, 1845, Mr. Cook was married to Mary E. Green, daughter of Henry Green, in Washington County, Indiana, and
emigrated to Muscatine County, Iowa, in the fall of that year. In the fall of 1846 Mr. Cook returned with his family to Indiana, and engaged in his occupation of school teaching until the spring of
1849, when he traveled overland to California, driving an ox team all the way from the
eastern part of the state of Indiana, arriving at the settlement on the Pacific coast, the 10th day of October,
having been on the road over seven months. During this trip and for months thereafter, Mr. Cook never slept inside a house, or ate a meal, except as prepared by the camp fire. In the winter of
1850-51, Mr. Cook returned from California, not having accumulated a very large amount of the shining gold. During his absence from his family, they remained with his wife's father in Indiana.
In the spring of 1851 Mr. Cook moved with his family to Davis County, Iowa, and engaged in farming, which he followed, teaching school in winter, for three years. In the fall of 1854 he
commenced merchandising on a small scale, which he followed for two years, when he
was elected to the office of clerk of the district court, in 1856, and removed to Bloomfield, the county seat.
Mr. Cook was re-elected to that office in the fall of 1858, and again in 1860. After the breaking out of the war of the rebellion, Mr. Cook volunteered in the service of the union army, and raised a
company of soldiers for the 3d Iowa cavalry regiment; was elected its captain, and commissioned in the month of August, 1861, by Gov. Samuel J. Kirkwood. Mr. Cook participated in a number
of engagements, prominent among which was the battle of Pea Ridge, where his company suffered severely, both in killed, wounded and captured. Mr. Cook acquitted himself as a soldier with
credit until the summer of 1863, when his health broke down, and at Helena, Arkansas, he tendered his resignation, which was accepted by General Grant, then before Vicksburg, in June, 1863. In
the fall of 1864 he was nominated by the democratic convention of Davis County, as a candidate for state senator, but was defeated by Colonel S. A. Moore, republican. During the interval of time
from 1864 to 1870, Mr. Cook was engaged in merchandising in Bloomfield and Pulaski, in Davis County. He moved with his family to Red Oak, Montgomery County, in October 1870, where he
engaged in merchandising until September, 1879. In the fall of that year he was nominated for the office of state senator, by the Greenback convention of the 8th senatorial district, comprising the
counties of Mills, Montgomery and Adams, but was defeated by Colonel Alfred Hebard, republican. In December, 1879, he purchased an interest in the People's Telephone, a greenback newspaper
at Red Oak, which he continues to publish at this time. Mr. Cook's family consists of ten children, as follows: Caroline Theodosia, William Henry, Edwin Gilbert, Joseph Philip, Norman Green,
Mary Winnie, George B. McClellan, Horace Gilbert, Clotilde and Harry Luman; seven boys and three girls, the three oldest of whom are married.
COOPER, J. C., Red Oak; was born November 6, 1840, in Clinton County, Indiana. Removed with his parents in childhood to the northern part of the State, settling in St. Joseph County. Was
educated near Fort Wayne, receiving a thorough academic course of instruction under the tutelage of Prof. Titus Tilden, a regular graduate of Dartmouth college. Enlisted in the army at Fort
Wayne, becoming a member of Co. E, Fifty-fifth Indiana infantry volunteers. Was mustered out with his regiment at Indianapolis, by reason of expiration of term of service. Participated in but
one general engagement, that of the battle at Richmond, Kentucky. Returning to South Bend, the capital city of St. Joseph County, he taught in the public schools of said city for a few years, being
for three years principal of the ward schools, which position he filled to the entire satisfaction of the officials and patrons. After which he became the editor of the National Union, a company
having been formed for the purpose of publishing an independent journal and the subject of this sketch being unanimously chosen as editor-in-chief. After severing connection with said journal, at
his own request, he entered the law office of Hon. Norman Eddy as a student of law, read for two years, and was admitted to the bar in the spring of 1866. In the spring of 1867 he was united in
marriage to Miss Hannah C. Harris, a young lady of South Bend, who was born and raised there. In May, 1867, he removed from South Bend, Indiana, with his wife, to Red Oak, Iowa,
and engaged in the practice of law. He is the father of four children, two sons and two daughters: Walter H., born February 17, 1869; Maude E.,
born December 16, 1871; Irwin H., born July 14, 1874,
and Jessie M., born October 27, 1876. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. Has held but one elective office: was recorder of Red Oak for one term.
CRAMER, O. A., county auditor, Red Oak; was born in Rock County, Wisconsin, July 8, 1854. Moved to Iowa in 1857. Lived in Page County, from November, 1860, to August, 1875, when he
moved to Montgomery County, where he has since lived. Mr. Cramer received his education in the graded schools of Clarinda. He worked on a farm during the years 1870, '71 and '72. During the
two following years he was in the employ of the First National Bank of Clarinda, and on the 25th day of August, 1875, came to Red Oak and was in the employ of the First National Bank of Red
Oak, until in June, 1879. Was appointed assistant to L. M. Thompson, county auditor, which position he filled until the death of Mr. Thompson, which occurred October 1, 1880. On the 23d day
of the same month he was appointed to fill the vacancy, caused by the death of Mr. Thompson, until an election could be had; at which election, November 2, 1880, Mr. Cramer was elected to fill
the office of auditor until January 1, 1882. Mr. Cramer came to Iowa when three years old, and at the age of six years he went to Page County. When twenty-one years of age he joined the
Presbyterian church and is still a member in good standing in that church. He was twenty-six years old when elected auditor, and is probably the youngest county auditor in the State. He has been
a resident of the county five years.
CRITENDEN, A., grain dealer, and sheller and cribber of corn, Red Oak; he was born in Berkshire, Massachusetts, November 3, 1814. He lived in that county forty-six years. After he grew to
manhood he followed farming and lumbering. He was continually in office from the time he was twenty-one years of age until he left there in 1860. At that time he came to Crawford County,
Wisconsin, locating there in the fall of 1860. Here he opened up a new farm. In January, 1867, he left there and located in Dane County, Wisconsin, and opened up another farm, leaving his son
on the farm in Crawford County. He moved to Montgomery County, Iowa, and opened up a farm in Grant township. In 1876 he came to Red Oak and engaged in the grain business. He was
married in May, 1839, to Miss Paulina Hubbard, a native of Berkshire County, Massachusetts, and was married by the Rev. Manly. They are the parents of two children: Albert E., born in July,
1844, and one deceased. He is a member of the Congregational Church, and has held office in that church for the last twenty years. His wife is also a member of the same church. He owns
considerable property in Red Oak. He usually handles from seventy to eighty thousand bushels of grain per year. The greater part of the time he was in Grant township he was in office. He filled
the office of justice of the peace in Massachusetts for twenty years.
DAVIS, J. A., livery and feed stable, Red Oak; was born in Lee County, Illinois. When he was six years of age his parents moved to Stephenson County, Illinois. His father died there. Mr. Davis
followed farming and livery business. In 1877 he came to Taylor County, Iowa, where he remained until 1880. Then he came to Red Oak and bought one-half interest in the livery stable. Has
made his home with his mother. His father was born in South Wales. His mother was
born in New York. He has one sister and a brother, Anthony and Martha. Was engaged in traveling for an
agricultural firm until he came to Taylor.
DEEMER, HORACE E., of the firm of Junkin & Deemer, attorneys at law, Red Oak; Mr. Deemer was born September 24, 1858, in Marshal County, Indiana, and when eight years old moved to
Cedar County, Iowa. About the year 1867 he removed to Muscatine County, Iowa, where he made his home
until 1879. He was educated at the Iowa State University and graduated from the law
department of that institution in June, 1879, and in the fall of the same year located in Red Oak and engaged in the practice of law in connection with his present partner. Mr. Deemer is a son of
John A. Deemer, of West Liberty, Iowa, who was born in Ohio about 1832. He is Secretary of the Agricultural Society of Montgomery County.
DE FREHN, J. W., painter, of the firm of Young & De Frehn, Red Oak; born October 15, 1849 in Columbia County, Pennsylvania; moved with his parents to Schuylkill County when seven
years old; grew to manhood there. In 1879 he came to Red Oak, and formed a co-partnership with Mr. Young, and have been contracting largely in their business. He commenced to learn his trade
in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, with Andre Terwilliger, when about fifteen years of age. They now have the contract for painting the opera building. Mr. D. was married in 1873, to Miss Joanna
Monery, of Schuylkill, Pennsylvania. They have three children living: William Henry, Maud E. and Charles J. They lost one child in infancy.
DIEDERIKS, G. Y., second hand store, pawn broker and real estate agent, Red Oak. He was born in Holland, September 17, 1824, and lived there until he was thirty-five years old. Was architect
for the government and was a carpenter by trade. He emigrated to this country in 1857; came to Cincinnati, Ohio, and remained there one year, engaged in carpentering. In 1859 moved to St.
Louis and lived there nine years, following his trade during the summer and in the winter worked in the spice mills of Norris & Garrison, and worked one year as foreman for Rudolph Smith in a
spice mill; enlisted in the army at the first call, in company A, First Missouri regiment, for three months. He then came to Pella, Marion County, Iowa, in 1868, carpentering and keeping
second-hand store; lived there eight years; then moved to Oskaloosa and engaged in second-hand store there for five years; then to Monroe County and engaged in farming for two years; then in
1879 came to Red Oak and started in his present business. He was married in St. Louis in 1858, to Eliza Post, of St. Louis, Missouri; she was born in Holland in 1841. They are the parents of five
children: Anna G., born August 1, '59; Charles J., August 20, '61; Johanna E., April 19, '65; George J., July 26, '67; Jacob B., August 5, '70. He is a member of the Congregational church. Was
married to his second wife in Albia, Monroe County, Iowa, April 5, 1876, Martha E. Barley. She is also a member of the Congregational church. The first carpentering he did was in Cincinnati; it
was some fine work on an altar in a nunnery.
EDMONDS, R. J., sheriff, Montgomery County; was born March 21, 1844, near Titusville, Pennsylvania. At four years of age his father died, leaving a family of six children, all under twelve
years of age. At eighteen years of age enlisted in company I, One Hundred and fiftieth Pennsylvania volunteers, better known as "Pennsylvania Bucktail Rifles," armed with Sharp's breach-loading
rifles. The regiment was enlisted expressly for sharpshooters, and was noted for efficient service in the army of the Potomac; it
was first engaged at Pollock Mills, near Fredericksburg; was in the
hottest of the fight at Chancellorville, and was on the picket line the memorable night that Stonewall Jackson was shot; they were left to hold the line the fourth of May when Hooker's army fell
back across the Rappahannock, and barely escaped capture by a detachment of Stewart's cavalry. They were on the forced march from Falmouth, Virginia, to Gettysburg; were among the first
infantry engaged at that battle, who charged the enemy soon after their brave leader, Gen. Reynolds was killed. Mr. Edmonds was wounded on the afternoon of that day by a piece of shell; this
occurred about the time our troops were obliged to fall back, being overpowered by superior numbers, as only the first corps, under Gen. Howard, had yet arrived on the field. After being
wounded he was unable to get off the battle-field and was taken prisoner, and was left on the field without food or care until the rebels made tracks with all the haste possible for the Potomac,
when he and others wounded were cared for by the Christian Commission, and was sent to the Chestnut hill hospital at Philadelphia, where he remained until he had sufficiently
returned to his regiment about the time Grant took command of the army of the Potomac. Was engaged with his regiment in the battles in front of Petersburg, and Richmond. After the battle of
Hatchies run, the sixth and seventh of February, 1865, there being less than one hundred left out of twelve hundred men of this regiment fit for service, the regiment was sent to Elmira, New York,
on detached service, and from that until mustered out, the twenty-eighth of June, 1865, were on provost duty, such as picking up
bounty jumpers and deserters, and carrying them to the different
army head quarters. Returned home the first day of July, 1865; worked at the oil business in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and in Canada, until the ninth day of March, 1868, when he came to
Grundy County, Illinois, and engaged there in the grain trade for two years. Left Joliet February 14, 1870, with a team and wagon, and drove to his new farm in Benton County, Iowa, where he
had bought one hundred and sixty acres the year before; built a house, raised a crop, and then returned to Grundy County, Illinois, in September, 1870, and was married to Maggie O'Brien on the
sixth day of that month, and the same day left for Iowa again. His oldest son, George Sidney, was born the fifth day of October, 1871. March 1, 1871, his wife died; he accompanied her
remains to her old home for burial. July 3, 1873, he was again married, to Alice J. Giles. In 1874 he sold his farm, and in September moved to Red Oak with his family by covered wagons, camping out in
the usual emigrant style. January, 1875, bought the farm of one hundred and five acres he yet owns, two miles northwest of Red Oak. March 30, 1877, his second son, Frank Everett, was born;
and on the sixth day of August, 1879, his only daughter, Annie was born. In the summer of 1879 he made the run for the nomination on the republican ticket for the office of sheriff of
Montgomery County, and was successful; after a spirited campaign he was elected, notwithstanding the combined opposition of the greenback and democratic parties against him. And on the fifth
day of January, 1880, took charge of the office.
EVANS, W. H., watchmaker and jeweler, Red Oak; Mr. Evans was born June 26, 1848, in Ellesmere, Shropshire, England, and there grew to manhood, and was brought up to the trade of
watchmaker and jeweler. He was educated in Ponton Academy. IN 1864 he emigrated to this country, locating in Audubon County, Iowa, where he entered land and opened a farm and engaged in
farming for two or three years. He then sold out and moved to Des Moines, and worked at his trade until 1870, when he moved to Red Oak and opened a shop, and has constantly been engaged in
his business ever since. He has a large and complete stock of everything in his line, and has built up for himself a large and profitable business. There is but one other in Red Oak to-day that was
in the jewelry trade when he came. Mr. Evans was married to Miss Mary J. Bryan, of Red Oak. They have one child living, Claudie. Mr. Evans is a son of Thos. Evans. His mother's name was
Jane. She died in 1876 in Atlantic.
FERGUSON, ROBERT G., salesman with C. H. Lane, Red Oak; Mr. Ferguson was born November 25, 1846, in St. Lawrence County, New York, and there grew to manhood. He began the dry
goods business at the age of fourteen years, and clerked in Ogdensburg, New York, until 1871, when he moved to Red Oak, Iowa, and opened a dry goods store. Here he remained until 1873,
when he sold out to C. H. Lane and engaged with him as a salesman and has ever since remained with him, being the oldest salesman in the house at this time. Mr. Ferguson is a member of the
Presbyterian church. He is unmarried and lives with his mother. His father, Archibald Ferguson, was a minister in the
Presbyterian church, and was a native of Scotland. His father died in
December, 1856. His mother, Nancy A., is also a native of Scotland. She is still living.
FISHER, ZELOTES T., attorney and counsellor at law, Red Oak; born December 13, 1819, in Franklin County, Ohio; was born on a farm, and worked on farm until sixteen years of age, then
learned the cooper trade; received his education in a log school-house; lost his right arm by the accidental discharge of a cannon at a 4th of July celebration, at Worthington, Ohio, in 1837; after
this he learned to write readily with his left hand; studied medicine a year and a half, then studied law, and was admitted to the bar at Mount Vernon, Ohio, in September, 1842; he practiced in
same courts with justice Swayne, now of the U. S. supreme court, and ex-Governor Dennison, of Ohio. He was married in September, 1844; to Miss Jemima Jones, of Madison County, Ohio. In
1852 he was elected to the state legislature of Ohio from Madison County, and served through two sessions, his first service being in the first session after the new state constitution was adopted.
He moved to Mahaska County, Iowa, in September, '55, and engaged in the practice of law and raising fine stock; in '58 was elected
vice-president of the state board of agriculture, and in '59 was
made its president; was the first secretary of the Central railroad of Iowa, form Albia to Mason City; came to Red Oak in 1871, and in May, 1872, he purchased a half interest in the Red Oak
Express, and the same year was elected mayor of Red Oak. In 1879 he was elected as representative in the state legislature from Montgomery County, and while serving there he was a member of
the committees on judiciary, on federal relations, on deaf and dumb asylum, and chairman of the board of public charities. Mr. Fisher was the author of a bill to abolish the office of
reporter for district and circuit courts; also a bill to repeal the foolish and unjust law regarding "innocent purchasers" of notes
fraudulent obtained; also, to change the law regarding the attorney
fee clause in notes; also to give all Iowa soldiers a state badge, in commemoration of their patriotic services; besides other important bills, memorials, and resolutions. As a legislator, Mr. Fisher
was a faithful, painstaking and hard-working member, always attending to his appointed duties, and always trying to bring about such legislation as would be for the real benefit of the people. Mr.
and Mrs. Fisher have had born to them ten children, as follows: William S., born November 21, '46, married Miss Addie L. Phinney, February 26, '69; Antoinette Jane, born June 28, '48, married
to Stroutherd G. Sherman, May 17, '70; Zelotes T., jr., born August 30, '50, married Miss Emily F. Taylor, October 3, '76; infant born in January, '53; Fannie May, born May 4, '57, married
William E. Pattison, November 13, '77; Sadie Jemima, born April 16, '59, died January 5, '76; Bruen White, born March 5 '61; George Edward, born June 6, '62; Lewis Belden, born March 1, '66;
Florence Francis, born July 9, '72; all living except infant and Sadie, and all reside in Red Oak except William, who is engaged in a hardware store at Osceola, Iowa.
FISHER, MILTON E., of the firm of Fisher and son, dealers in groceries, provisions, and fruits, Red Oak; Mr. Fisher was born in Ross County, Ohio; when quite small he moved with his
father's family to Edinburg, Indiana, where he resided until 1869, when he moved to Red Oak, Iowa; in 1870 he entered his father's store, and has ever since had entire charge of this branch of the
business, his father giving his entire attention to the packing and meat business; about the year 1875, he was admitted to the firm as a partner; they have a large and complete stock of everything in
their line, and do an immense business, being regarded as one of the leading houses of the country. Mr. Fisher was married May 7, 1878, to Miss Sarah C. Morrell, of Red Oak; she is a native of
New York. They have one child living: Henry J., born March 10, 1879.
FISHER, JOSEPH F., wholesale and retail dealer in cut meats; was born October 14, 1828, in Salem County, New York, and there grew to manhood, his father being a butcher by trade; Mr.
Fisher was by force of circumstances educated to the business. In 1852 Mr. Fisher moved to
Chillicothe, Ohio, and here engaged in the meat business until 1859, when he moved to Edinburg,
Indiana, where in connection with two others he started what is now known as the Blue River Starch Mills, and continued that business until 1869, when he came to Red Oak and again engaged in
the meat business. He has built on the southeast corner of the square, a large brick building, in which he carries on his business. he also has extensive stock yards just inside the corporation, where
he feeds and butchers; he also has a packing house south of the square, where he packs during the winter and stores his pickled meats during the summer; he usually packs from two to three
thousand hogs annually; he has quite an extensive trade in cured meats, supplying the smaller towns in this vicinity; he contemplates building more
extensively during the present year, so as to
furnish a home market for the pork of Montgomery County. Mr. Fisher is also a partner with his son in the grocery house, adjoining his meat market, under the firm name of Fisher & Son. During
the past year Mr. Fisher has built and completed a most elegant residence property at a cost of $10,000, which is regarded as one of the best in the city of Red Oak; he is also the owner of several
other pieces of town property, and has done much for the city in the way of substantial buildings, and most certainly merits the patronage which he receives from the citizens. He was married
October 17, 1854, to Shuah J. Bishop, of Chillicothe, Ohio; they have four children living: Milton E., Gertrude B., Willie A., Minnie E.; two deceased. Mr. Fisher is also a public spirited man,
taking an active part in all matters pertaining to the interests of the city and citizens; he is at this time superintendent of the poor of this county, also actively engaged in the interests of the
agricultural society of this county.
FOOTE, HARMON D., carpenter, Red Oak; born in Leclanaw County, Michigan, January 12, 1838; while yet a child his parents emigrated to Johnson County, Iowa, in 1840, and when at the
age of thirteen years began to learn the carpenter's trade with his father, W. B. Foote. Enlisted in company D, First Kansas artillery under Captains Moonlite, Allen and Tenny, and participated in
the battles of Newtony and Fortwaye, Arkansas, Prairie Grove, Morristown, Independence and Springfield, Missouri, and several skirmishes. After the war, returned to Cedar County, Iowa; was
married to Miss Helen A. Bates, April, 1865, in Benton County, Iowa. They have four children: Clara L., Silas A., Irwin E. and Jessie E.
FRENCH, H. C., justice of the peace and insurance agent, Red Oak; born in Granville, Licking County, Ohio, January 28, 1842, and lived there until twenty-two years of age. In 1864 moved to
Whiteside County, Illinois, remaining there seven years, and came from there to Red Oak. Mr. French had during all this time followed the grocery business, and which he continued to follow
until 1875, when he was elected justice of the peace of the city of Red Oak, in which capacity he has served ever since. Mr. French was married in Morrison, Whiteside County, Illinois, July 21,
1868, to Miss Minnie Fisher. They are the parents of three children, one boy and two girls: Henry, Letta and Estell. Mr. French enlisted three times in the army, but was rejected by reason of a
defect in his right eye; two of his brothers served during the war. Mr. French was educated in
the grade school, Granville, Ohio.
GUSTAVSON, C., tailor, Red Oak; was born in Linkoping, Leinco County, Sweden, October 1, 1835, and there grew to manhood. Emigrated to the United States in 1876, and settled in Red
Oak. Learned his trade in Sweden under his father, and on arriving in Red Oak began business at once in his trade. Was married to Miss Clara Anderson in 1869. They have four children: Minnie,
Annie, Carl and Amanda.
HALLER, R. H., dry goods merchant, Red Oak; was born May 16, 1831, in Frederick County, Maryland, and there grew to manhood. Began clerking in a store in Baltimore at the age of fifteen,
and continued clerking in various places until he finally engaged in business for himself, but in a short time sold out and came west, locating for a time at Des Moines; afterward went to
Oskaloosa, and for a time engaged in business there; then sold out and came to Red Oak, in May, 1869, and opened a dry goods store, and has ever since continued in the trade. Mr. Haller was one
of the first merchants to embark in the dry goods trade in Red Oak. Being an experienced and careful merchant, Mr. Haller has been very successful. He owns a large brick store-room, where he
carries a large and complete stock of goods, selling from $30,000 to $60,000 per annum. He also has a store, where he carries a general stock of merchandise, in Greenwood, Nebraska, which is
under the management of his son-in-law, Mr. Carmichael, and one of his old clerks, whom he has had for a long time in the business. Mr. Haller has held various offices in his life before coming
to Red Oak; he was the first treasurer of the city of Red Oak. Mr. and Mrs. Haller are both members of the M. E. church. He was married in July, 1858, to Elizabeth Runyan, of Mahaska County,
Iowa; she was born in Ohio, August 16, 1833. They have five children living: Connie E., born October 27, '59; Jeannette,
born February 11, '61; Henry Bash, born April 30, '63; Oswald, born
February 9, '65; Anna Belle, born July 24, '67; one deceased.
HARDING, WM. A., carpenter and contractor, Red Oak; was born in Warren County, Kentucky, January 22, 1841, and when he was eleven years old his parents emigrated to Cass County,
Illinois, and landed in the year 1852; there William grew to manhood, and enlisted in company D, 114th Illinois volunteer infantry, under Capt. B. C. Berry, and served till the close of the war.
Was taken prisoner at the battle of Guntown, Mississippi; was kept in Andersonville prison, also in Charleston and Florence. Was in
the siege of Vicksburg and the battles of Jackson, Mississippi.
Was discharged in 1865, and returned to Cass County, Illinois, and in the same year came to Red Oak, and
brought the first money nickels that were ever seen in the town; remained a short time,
then returned to Cass County, Illinois, where he remained until 1868; then came back to Red Oak to make his future home. Was married to Miss Elizabeth Gans, in 1868. Learned his trade in Cass
County, Illinois, with Mr. James Harding; he also worked under Yaple & Kirkendall, and since his residence in Red Oak went to contracting and is doing a large business, running an average of
seven men; was the first contractor in Red Oak. Is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is also a member of the I. O. O. F., also of the Encampment.
HARDING, L. N., retired farmer, Red Oak. Was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, January 24, 1822. While quite young his parents emigrated to Franklin County, Indiana, where he grew to
manhood; then emigrated to Montgomery County, Iowa, in 1857, and located on the town site where Red Oak now stands; he built the third house that was built in the town and now lives in the
same house that he built then. He entered land in Grant township, in section 8. Kept the stage station in 1860, and a hotel for the travel on the road, and continued in that business until the railroad
come through in 1869; since that time has followed farming. When he built his new house on the town site, he moved into it without it being sided, and hung up quilts around the wall to keep off
the wind, and boarded three men besides. Was married in Franklin County, Indiana, July, 1843, to Miss Mary Shank, of that county; she was born in Franklin County, Indiana, in September 1823.
They have two children: Thomas A. and Sarah J., now the wife of Gen. Remick, of Pawnee City, Nebraska; but has closed out his business and is traveling for his health and pleasure. His wife is
a member of the M. E. church, of Red Oak. Mr. Harding has been an active man in helping to build up the churches of Red Oak; has held some important office in the give of the people for
fourteen years or more. Mr. Harding has never been sick since he came to Iowa; never drank any liquors of any kind since he came into the state, and always has been a strong advocate of
HARRIS, E. A., real estate dealer, Red Oak; he was born on Harris prairie, St. Joseph County, Indiana, January 3, 1841; his parents, James and Mary A. Harris, were among the very first settlers
of that county, his father having settled there in 1829, coming from Columbia County, Pennsylvania. Mr. H. was raised on a farm, and received a good common school education; his business
occupations and pursuits have been quite varied; soon after attaining his majority he
occupied a position on the Lake Shore railroad, and learned the business of railroading; afterwards kept a
store in South Bend, Indiana, which he sold out and went into the army, enlisting as a private in company D, one hundred and twenty-eighth Indiana volunteer infantry, and served for three years
with credit, being promoted from time to time through all the grades to first lieutenant. His regiment was in the first brigade, first division of the twenty-third army corps, and was a part of what
was known as the army of the Ohio, and participated in Sherman's Atlanta campaign, and afterwards had a part in the battles of Columbia, Franklin and Nashville. In January, 1865, his regiment
was sent to Washington, and from there to Newbern, North Carolina; he took part in the battle of Wise's Forks, one of the last battles of the war, and joined Sherman's army near Raleigh. After the
surrender of Johnson, he occupied the position of A. A. A. G., on the staff of Major General Kilpatrick, then commanding
the district of west North Carolina; he was discharged in May, 1866, and
returned home, and removed with his brothers and sisters (his father and mother having both died about the time he went into the army) to this county; arrived here May 15, 1867; bought a farm
and engaged in farming for the first three years, but this being the time of the
great grasshopper raid, this venture proved disastrous, and he sold out and moved to Red Oak, where he has resided
ever since. He was county recorder for three years, and has held a number of offices from time to time; was one of the first to start a town library, and has always labored hard to help maintain it;
has always had faith in Red Oak, and labored to promote every enterprise that would build it up; he has been connected with its fire department from its first organization, and has been its chief
for the last four years. He is the present captain of company K, fifth regiment I. N. G., stationed here, and he is justly entitled to the credit of doing more to promote the efficiency of the company
than any one else, and has a company of which he may justly be proud. He was elected mayor of the city of Red Oak, March 6, 1881, receiving a majority of two hundred and twenty-one out of a
vote of six hundred and fifty-nine, being the largest majority ever received by any mayor of the city. He was married March 18, 1878, to Margaret C. Staley, eldest daughter of A. C. Staley, Esq.,
of South Bend, Indiana; she made him a kind and loving companion, but feeble health terminated at last in acute bronchitis, and she died January 6, 1880, lamented by a large circle of friends.
Their children were: Mary Gertrude, born February 3, 1869; Raymond Alden, born August 12, '72, died March 12, '73; Eva Grace, born January 8 '74, died January 8 '76; James Alexander, born
June 27, '76, died April 11, '77; Dwight Leroy, born July 3, 1878.
HASS, D. S., contractor and builder, Red Oak; was born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, August 23, 1835, and at the age of sixteen years went to Lehigh County, Pennsylvania. Began to
learn his trade as carpenter with his uncle, Sylvester Gude, remaining with his uncle two and a half years; then went to Lancaster County, and then back to
Cumberland, working at his trade; then
emigrated to Warren County, Illinois, and after two years stay returned to Cumberland County, Pennsylvania; then in the spring of 1860 went west to Shelbyville, Indiana; then to Warren County,
Illinois; there remained till August, 1869, when he landed in Red Oak, where he has been engaged at his trade ever since. Enlisted in Company F, in the 83d Illinois infantry, August, 1862. Was in
the battle of Fort Donaldson and several skirmishes and raids; was discharged July, 1863, on account of sickness contracted in the army. Was married to Miss Elizabeth V. White, October 13,
1864, of Warren County, Illinois. They have four children living: Harry, born February 9, 1869; Jessie Gertrude, born September 29, 1872; Emma May, born August 8, 1875; Horace, born March
8, 1878; and two deceased. Mr. Hass is a member of the Knights of Honor, lodge No. 1161, of Red Oak, Ia. His business calls for about six to eight men to assist;
built the fine house for Col.
Hebard; built Fisher's store and dwelling, and several other fine buildings, and has several contracts on hand at present. Mr. Hass' father, I. S. Hass, was
born in Lehigh County, Pennsylvania, in
1808, and is still living in Warren County, Illinois, his mother, Susan Hass, was
born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, in 1813, and died in 1875. They had eleven children - six boys and five
girls: John A., D. S., Elmira, Rebecca J., Ellis L., Isaac E., George E., Susan, Emma, William C., and Sarah A., deceased.
HAYS, H. C., carpenter, Red Oak; born in Wellsburg, Virginia, October 5, 1834; left there with his parents when about five years of age and went to Morgan County, Ohio; remained there until
1857; then came to Adams County, Illinois; lived there until 1874, then came to Red Oak; went to work for George West, and has continued in his employ ever since. He enlisted April 17, 1861,
in company A, 10th Illinois infantry; served three months; then enlisted in August, 1861, in the 3d Illinois cavalry; was discharged in 1862, and again enlisted in 1863, in company F, 10th Illinois
infantry, where he remained until the close of the war; was with Sherman on his march to the sea. He is a Royal Arch Mason, and was married October 9, 1866, to Miss Sarah A. Clark, a native of
Illinois, and a member of the U. P. church. They have two children: Lois and Joseph F. His father, Joseph Hays, was born in Virginia in 1798, and died at the age of forty years.
HEBARD, ALFRED, real estate dealer and capitalist, Red Oak; born in Windham, Connecticut, May 10, 1810. His parents were Augustus and Bathsheba (nee Learned) Hebard. Graduated from
Yale College, class of 1832. Hon. Cassins M. Clay, of Kentucky; Hon. Allen T. Caperton, U. S. Senator from West Virginia; and Prof. J. H. Carruth, a distinguished naturalist of Kansas, were
members of the same class. For two years after graduating, Mr. Hebard was engaged as a teacher in Edgehill Seminary, Princeton, New Jersey, and then took charge of a school for boys in New
London, Connecticut. After four years of teaching, he took Greeley's advice, "Go west, young man," and went. In 1841 he married Anne M. Huntington, of New London, Connecticut. They have
had four children, two deceased; those still living are Augustus H., an iron merchant in St. Louis, and Mary S., still at home. After spending a few years as civil engineer on a newly projected
railroad line, he commenced a log cabin farm life near Burlington, Iowa, in 1837 or 1838, and resided there about fifteen years. In 1853 he made the preliminary survey of the B. & M. railroad
across the State, and fifteen years afterward the road was built on the line which he laid out. He was a member of the last territorial legislature held at Burlington. During the late war he was
engaged in the civil engineer service in Missouri and Tennessee, and spent some time after the war in rebuilding railroad bridges in Tennessee, Georgia, and Alabama. He settled at Red Oak in
1868, and in 1875 was elected to the State Senate; in 1878 he was one of the two U. S. Commissioners from Iowa to the international exposition or world's fair at Paris, and made a tour of Europe
before returning home. In 1879 he was re-elected to the State Senate, where his term will expire in January, 1884. He has a large and elegant residence in Red Oak, and owns much landed
property in the surrounding country, besides real estate in the city and investments in bank stock and other business enterprises.
HENDRIX, W. H., contractor and builder, Red Oak;
born in Putnam County, Indiana, August 1, 1838. His parents came to Jefferson County, Iowa, in 1849, living there ten years. In 1859 he
went to Marion County, Iowa, where he remained until the spring of 1873, when he moved to Red Oak. He commenced to learn the brick-mason trade in Fairfield, Iowa, in 1854, and after coming
to Red Oak became a member of the firm of Bolt, Crockett & Hendrix, and is now a member of the firm of Bolt & Hendrix. They are now engaged in building a fine opera house in Red Oak. Mr.
Hendrix enlisted April, 1861, in the Third Iowa infantry, company B, and was discharged the following December on account of ill health. He was married in 1862 to Miss Carrie Williams, of
Marion County, Iowa. They are members of the M. E. Church. They are the parents of seven children: Benjamin F., William L., Harry, Nellie and Maud; two dead: Bartie and Artie, twins. Mr.
Hendrix's father, Thomas Hendrix, was born in Kentucky in 1800, and died at the age of seventy-eight years. His mother was born in 1805, and died at the age of seventy-three years. They were
the parents of eleven children.
HENRY, SAMUEL A., loan and insurance, Red Oak; was born December 22, 1836, in Crawford County, Pennsylvania, and there grew to manhood; was educated at Westminster College,
Wilmington, Pennsylvania. After completing his education he entered the baking house of C. W. Derickson & Co., Meadville, Pennsylvania, at the age of nineteen, where he remained about one
year. He next went into the employ of the Atlantic and Great Western railroad, as assistant pay master, and served in that capacity for about three years. After which he was appointed assistant
assessor of internal revenue for the western district of Crawford County, Pennsylvania; after remaining in this position for one year, he moved to Monmouth, Illinois, in the spring of 1865; here in
connection with D. H. Henderson opened a dry goods store which he continued until
the fall of 1869, then moved his stock to Red Oak, Iowa, and continued the business for three or four years,
after which he engaged in the loan and insurance business, and has continued in it ever since. He has also been engaged in the manufacture of brick for the last year. He represents in his insurance
only the old and reliable companies, and his loaning business extends over the southwestern part of the state. He is a member of the U. P. church, as is also his wife. He was married in September,
1867, to Minnie L. Cooper, of Meadville, Pennsylvania. They have one child living: Edna E., born June 28, 1875.
HIBBS, JOHN D., partner with C. V. B. Russell & Co., boots and shoes, Bryson's building, Red Oak. Mr. Hibbs was born August 10, 1855, at Glenwood, Mills County, Iowa; lived with his
parents until he was sixteen years old; then went on a prospecting tour through Nebraska; then returned to Glenwood and went into the employ of Russell; continued for seven years on a salary;
then came to Red Oak and engaged in his present business in 1878. November 11, 1877, was married to Miss Emma Borders, who was
born in 1857 in Omaha, Nebraska, and raised in Glenwood,
Mills County, Iowa. They are the parents of two children: Jessie, born September 27, 1878; Mamie, July 11, 1880. Mr. and Mrs. Hibbs are members of the Congregational church.
HORNADY, L. D., druggist and pharmacist, Red Oak; was born in Preble County, Ohio, June 13, 1850; there grew to manhood; was educated in the Morning Sun Academy. After finishing his
education he clerked in a drug store in West Alexander for five years, after which he clerked two years in Hamilton. Then opened a store in Eaton, for a house in Middletown, where he
was overworked and in a few months was taken sick with typhoid fever; after recovering from this he spent the winter in Cincinnati, and in February, 1878, he removed to Omaha, Nebraska, where he
remained but eight months and then came to Red Oak; here he built a nice cottage residence where he now resides; for the next two years he devoted his time to the manufacture of brick, and
looking after the property of his wife. In November, 1880, Mr. Hornady refitted the room he now occupies on the northeast corner of the square, and put in an entire new stock of goods and
shelf-ware. Mr. H. has a large and increasing business, which he justly merits by reason of his reasonable charges and his fair dealing. He was married January 8, 1878, to Jennie Kelley
Chamberlain, of Eaton, Ohio, who was a native of Middletwon, Ohio. She has by her first husband, one child living: Joseph, and one deceased, Lettie, who died January 6, 1881, of
this last union they have one child, deceased, Bessie Francis, died January 7, 1881, of the same disease. They were both taken back to Middletown for burial.
IRWIN, WILLIAM A., Red Oak; born in Greene County, Ohio, August 6, 1814. His parents moved to Hamilton, Butler County, Ohio, while William was yet an infant, and when about eight
years old moved to Oxford in the same county, where he resided until 1862. When sixteen years old he began the tanning business, which he followed until 1862; he then move to Brownstown,
Jackson County, Indiana. Here he engaged in tanning until 1866, when he moved to Buchanan County, Missouri. Here he engaged in farming
until 1871, when he moved to Red Oak, Montgomery
County, Iowa. Mr. Irwin being a man of long experience, and having given much attention to the diseases of
the hogs in this western country, now gives his entire attention to the preparation of a
preventative of what is commonly called hog cholera, in which he has been eminently successful. It is compounded of roots and herbs, etc., and is given regularly in feed, an
never fails to keep
the animal healthy and growing. It has been used by many of the leading men of the country and gives entire satisfaction. Mr. Irwin was married to Miss Anna M. Connell, July 21, 1838. She was
born in Washington City, and they were married in Oxford, Ohio. They have seven children living: Elizabeth, Emma H., Geo. M., Laura B., Arthur T., Charles E., Minnie H. Rebecca, their
eighth, the wife of Rev J. A. P. McGow, died just one month after they were married, the funeral being preached in the same house and by the same man that married them - Rev. Dr. Scott.
IRWIN, ROBERT E., carpenter, Red Oak; was born in Armstrong County, Pennsylvania, November 5, 1847, and at the age of nine years his parents came to Woodford County, Illinois, in 1856,
where they resided until 1876, when they came to Red Oak, where they now reside. Robert began to learn his trade in 1870 under his father, J. M. Irwin. He has been in the hardware and grocery
business about six years in Washburne, Woodford County, Illinois, and in 1879 came back to Red Oak, where he again went to his trade. In 1870 he was married to Miss K. N. Robbins, of
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. They have four children: Eva M., Julia A., and Elizabeth B., and William.
JOHNSTON, GEORGE W., of the firm of Johnston & Co., dealers in hardware, stoves, tinware, etc., Red Oak; he was born in Mercer County, Ohio, November 25, 1845; in 1861 moved to
Wapello County, Iowa, where he learned the tinning business and worked as a journeyman; he worked in different towns in Iowa until 1872, when he moved to Red Oak and worked for Fisher &
Co., until July, 1879, when he opened a store on the east side of the square, and remained in that building until July, 1880, when he removed to his present rooms on the west side of the square
and took in as partner Mr. D. B. Miller; they carry a large and complete stock of everything in their line and are doing an extensive business. Mr. J. is a self-made man, having been thrown upon
his own responsibilities early in life. He is a member of the I. O. O. F.; he was married to Alcinda J. Cherry, of Afton, Iowa. They have one child living: Georgia C., and one deceased.
JONES, C. H., plasterer, Red Oak; was born in Clay County, Missouri, March 19, 1852, and when two years of age, he and his mother and sister were sold by a Mr. Gib. Thompson to James
Hedge, and were taken near Liberty, Missouri, where they were owned as slaves for ten years; but when Mr. Lincoln put forth his emancipation proclamation, his father and mother were brought
from Norfolk, Virginia, and his mother, with himself and sister, were sold to Mr. Thompson, but his father was sold to a man near Lexington, Missouri, and he has never seen him since. Came
from Clay County, Missouri, to Plattsburg, and lived there ten years; his mother is now living in St. Joe, Missouri. When their master let them go they came to St. Joe. Mr. Jones has been back on
a visit; rather accidentally he was passing a house where his former master's daughter lived; they had him come in and were glad to see him. He was well liked by his last master, and was a
favorite with the family. Was on a steamboat for four years, running from St. Joe to Omaha, and to Sioux City; the work being too hard, and he a mere boy, he became sick, and lost the use of his
right side for about one year; recovering he commenced to learn his trade as plasterer, under a man by the name of John Owens; did some work of his own contracting. Was married in St. Joe, to
Miss Mollie Smith, December 20, 1877, by the Rev. W. W. Steward; she had been a slave in Clinton County, Missouri. He is a member of the Baptist Church in St. Joe, and a member of the
Colored Masonic lodge, No. 79, of Red Oak.
JUDKINS, J. W. and JUDKINS, F. O., proprietors of the Judkins House, Red Oak. Mr. J. W. Judkins was born in Sullivan County, New Hampshire, in 1834; here he grew to manhood, and at
the age of thirty-three left New Hampshire, and moved to Springfield, Illinois, engaged in farming and dealing in stock, buying and shipping; left Springfield, Illinois, and came to Iowa, locating
in Red Oak, and engaged in the butchering business, continued in that business about two years, and then commenced in the hotel business in 1873, in what was known as the Sheldon House; he
changed the name to the Tremont House; after selling out there, went out of the hotel business for about a year, and in 1874 bought out what was known as the Dealing House, and has continued
there ever since; has now a very fine hotel, built in 1880; size, 36x80, fifty feet high, lighted by gas and heated by steam, and has in connection with his hotel business a livery stable; when the
hotel is completed, he will have a house of eighty-five rooms. Mr. Judkins has been one of the leading stock men of this place: he bought and shipped most of the stock of this part of the county
and paid the farmers the best prices; he gave up the stock business in 1875, and turned his attention to the hotel business. Mr. J. W. Judkins was married in New Hampshire, February 23, 1858, to
Miss Sarah A. Neal, of Sullivan County, New Hampshire, by Rev. Martin. They are the parents of one child: Helen R. Judkins; she was born December 11, 1859. F. Olin Judkins, of the firm of
Judkins Brothers, Red Oak, was born in Unity, Sullivan County, New Hampshire, March 16, 1844; at the age of twenty-two years he left his native place and in company with his brother went to
Springfield, Illinois, and traveled in different states for four years, when they settled in Red Oak, and have been engaged in hotel-keeping. Was married to Miss Kizzie Day, April 12, 1870, by the
Rev. Mr. Smith, of Wellsville, Missouri; she was born in Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania, August 1, 1845.
JUNKIN, JOSEPH M., of the firm of Junkin & Deemer, attorneys at law, Red Oak; Mr. Junkin was born April 8, 1854, in Jefferson County, Iowa, and lived there until he reached his majority.
Was educated at Fairfield, Iowa. In 1876 he began the study of law, and graduated from the law department of the Iowa State University, at Iowa City, in 1879, receiving the degree of L. L. B. He
at once began the practice of law in Red Oak, Iowa, in connection with his present partner, Mr. Deemer. They have a large practice, and are regarded as one of the leading firms in southwestern
Iowa. Their office is in the First National Bank. Mr. Junkin is chairman of the republican central committee of this county; he is also city attorney. He and his partner were both admitted to
practice in the supreme court of the state, also in the U. S. district and circuit courts, before beginning the practice of their profession. Mr. Junkin is a son of Joseph Junkin, of Red Oak, who was
born in February, 1815, in Washington County, Pennsylvania. He has been engaged in mercantile pursuits. His wife's name was Mary Calton. They were married in September, 1835. They are
both living and in the enjoyment of good health.
KEIL, KASPER, dealer in wine and beer, Red Oak; was born in Hessie, Germany, December 9, 1843, where he grew to manhood, and at the age of twenty-four left there and came to the United
States in 1867, landing in New York March 16, 1867. Came to Henry County, Iowa, and engaged in wagon making; went from there to Burlington, Iowa; stayed there about eighteen months, and
then engaged as bridge carpenter for the C. B. & Q. railroad company, then went to St. Louis and worked on the building of the bridge across the Mississippi river at that place, and then went to
St. Paul, Minnesota, and worked at house carpentering, and then out on the Northern Pacific and built a bone factory for a sugar refinery; came to Red Oak in 1876, worked at carpentering, and in
1877 tended bar for one year, and in 1878 commenced to work in the Red Oak brewery, and in the spring of 1880 commenced in his present business.
KILLITS, JOHN M., editor and proprietor of the Red Oak Express, Red Oak; was born October 7, 1858, in Lithopolis, Ohio, where he grew to manhood. He entered Williams College,
Massachusetts, in 1876, and graduated in July, 1880. His father, Andrew Killits, of Bryson, Ohio, being in the newspaper business, the subject of this sketch, by force of circumstances was
schooled in that business, and spent his early days at the printer's case. After graduating he came to Red Oak, Iowa, and bought the Red Oak Express, one of the oldest papers in the county, which
he is now engaged in publishing. Mr. Killits is a young man of ability and energy and gives promise of soon ranking among the first journalists of the northwest.
KINKADE, JOHN M., importer and breeder of Clydesdale and Norman horses, Red Oak; was born in Delaware County, Ohio, Sept. 30, 1836, and has been a resident of Iowa thirty-seven years,
and of Montgomery County four years. He has for twenty years been classed among the enterprising stock men of Iowa. Mr. Kinkade has twice crossed the ocean in the interests of his business.
He brought two imported horses to Montgomery County in the spring of 1877. He is the owner and importer of the famous stallion, Robert Burns. The agricultural reports of 1877, '78 and '79,
bear testimony as to the value of this renowned horse, whose presence has added hundreds of dollars to the wealth of the country.
LEE, JAMES J., contractor and builder, Red Oak; was born in Clerfield County, Pennsylvania, October 15, 1837. Left there when eight years old, and with his parents moved to Boone County,
Illinois, in 1845; remained there on a farm until 1860, and then went to the mountains and commenced mining in California gulch; stayed there two years and then returned to Fontanelle, Iowa,
and engaged in carpentering; stayed two years and then moved to Afton, Union County, and then came to Red Oak in 1866, his home since that time, and commenced contracting and building.
When Mr. Lee came to Red Oak there were just forty-five houses and barns in the town.. Was married in Fontanello May 11, 1863, to Miss Anna E. Stinman of Adair County, by the Rev. James
Lisle. Mrs. Lee was born in New York State, in March 24, 1840. Mr. Lee is a member of the I. O. O. F., Montgomery lodge, No. 176, and is a member of the Baptist Church, as is also his wife.
Mrs. Lee has a little dog called Carlo that is twenty-one years of age, which she takes great care of.
LEONARD, GEORGE, proprietor of the Watson house, Red Oak; born in Ireland, January 17, 1828. Lived there until June, 1847; came to Canada where he remained for four years on a farm;
then went to Hanover, New Hampshire; then to Juneau County, Wisconsin, where he remained for several years; and in July, 1869 came to Red Oak; farmed and railroaded. Was married to Miss
Ann McMahan in 1854. She was a native of Canada, and died about the time of the battle of Pittsburg Landing. Was married again, to Miss Laura Coveye, in 1862, in Dane County, Wisconsin;
she was a native of Vermont. Have three children: Jennie, born in 1862; Mary, April, 1866; Addy, March, 1868. He enlisted in company H, Seventeenth Wisconsin volunteers, under Captain
Armstrong, March 14, 1862. Was in the battles of Corinth, Vicksburg, Atlanta, Savannah, Columbia and Goldsboro, and many skirmishes during his term of service. Went to Washington the day
before Lincoln was shot by Booth. Was at Fort Hill, Atlanta, where McPherson was killed. When he was twenty-four years old he went into business in Canada and lost $3,000 by confidence.
LILLJEBERG, CHARLES, boot and shoemaker, Red Oak; was born August 30, 1847, in Blackstadt, Calmer Lane, Sweden. There he grew to manhood, and in November, 1869, settled in
Fulton County, Illinois; and worked on the railroad, also at farming. Came to Montgomery County, Iowa, March 30, 1875, and worked at his trade for a short time. In 1875 started in business for
himself. Was married, April 13, 1878, to Christina Larson of this county. She was born February 6, 1858. They have one child, Gertie Theresa, April 26, 1879.
LINDBERG, B. J., carpenter, Red Oak; born in Hallan, Sweden, in 1850. Left his native country when seventeen years old, and came to America to seek his fortune; came to Burlington, Iowa. In
1868 engaged in farming; then clerked in a store in Burlington for a year or more; then followed farming and working at his trade; then came to Stanton and to Red Oak, and commenced to work
at his trade with Mr. Petitts; and in the spring of 1880 commenced to work for George West, being still in his employ. He can read and write the English language well, and was naturalized in
1878. He is a member of the Lutheran Church at Stanton; his cousin is the minister of the congregation. His parents and one brother are yet in Sweden.
LOEB, G., clothier, Red Oak; place of business, in the new brick building, corner of public square; was born in Bavaria, Germany, September 20, 1842. Lived there until twenty-five years old; up
to this time was dealing in grain and wine, which business he followed for seven years. In 1867 emigrated to the United States
and followed peddling for a short time, and then came to Iowa in
1868. Was in business at Albia, Monroe County, Iowa, until 1874. Left Albia, July 18, 1874, and came to Red Oak, where he has been in business ever since. In 1875 built the large store building,
where he is doing business; this caused a number of others to build in the same manner. Did a business of about $40,000 in the year 1880. Was married to Miss Addie Maas, August 26, 1877.
Mrs. Loeb was born in Bavaria, Germany, Jan. 25, 1854, and came to this county in 1872. They have one child, Eva B., born in Red Oak, November 7, 1879. Mr. Loeb is a member of the Masonic
Blue Lodge; also of I. O. O. F., of Red Oak Lodge, No. 176. Mr. Loeb's father, Joseph Loeb, was born in Bavaria, Germany, in 1794, and died at the age of sixty-six years, in 1860. His mother,
Eva Loeb, was born in Prussia, in 1814, and died in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1877.
MANLY, JAMES W., contractor and builder, of the firm of Manly & Graves. He was born in Alleghany City, Pennsylvania, November 24, 1848. At the age of five years moved with his parents
to Steubenville, Ohio. In 1853 left there, when, when about sixteen years of age, and returned to Pittsburg and began his trade under Robert Blair, and continued with him one year, and from there
went to the Brooklyn navy yard and worked for the government; then in 1869 went to Texas in the employ of the government. There he also bought corn and worked at his trade, returning to
Steubenville in 1870. Here he remained about one year, then returned to Pittsburg, and engaged with Mr. Peoples. In 1876 he came to Red Oak. In the spring of 1864 enlisted in the army, and
served about nine months. Was married in Pennsylvania, in 1873, to Catharine Lopeman, of Pennsylvania; she was born in Kitaning, Pennsylvania, in 1849. They have three children: Emma,
Absalom, Alfred. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. His wife is a member of the Lutheran church.
MANLEY, F. W., contractor and builder, Red Oak; was born in Alleghany City, Pennsylvania, September 16, 1840, and moved with his parents in 1853, to Steubenville, Ohio, and lived there
about fifteen years, working at car building and carpentering, and in 1868 left there and came to Afton, Union County, Iowa; lived there six years, followed carpentering, and from there came to
Red Oak, in 1872. Since coming to Red Oak he has engaged in contracting and building. He enlisted in the army in 1862, in the Eighty-fourth Ohio regiment, infantry, company B, under Captain
North; served four months in this regiment, and was then discharged, and in 1863 enlisted in company D, one hundred and fifty-seventh Ohio regiment, under Captain Walden; then in 1864 again
enlisted in company C, one hundred and ninety-fifth Ohio regiment, and remained with this regiment until the close of the war, guarding prisoners all the time. The last year was in the provost
marshal's office, in Alexandria, having charge of the guard there in the office; he was discharged at Columbus, Ohio; he has three honorable discharges. After the war he located in Steubenville,
Ohio; he began to learn his trade with his father when he was eighteen years old, and has followed it ever since; he is a member of the I. O. O. F. He is a member of 117th Ohio Good Will Lodge,
also of the Encampment. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, of Red Oak, and his wife and daughter are also members of the same church. He was married, October, 1866, in Jersey Shore,
Lycoming County, Pennsylvania, to Ellen G. Day, of Jefferson County, Ohio. They have one child, Lula.
MARTIN, DR. JAMES W., physician and surgeon, Red Oak; born August 21, 1831, in Alexandria, Kentucky. In 1837 he moved with his father's family to Decatur County, Indiana, and there
grew to manhood. At the age of fifteen he commenced to attend school, and remained in school and engaged in teaching until 1851, when he began the study of medicine with Dr. Moody, and
finished his reading with Dr. Leavitt; he graduated at the Cincinnati college of medicine and surgery, and afterwards took the degree of doctor of medicine, at Jefferson medical college,
Philadelphia. He began the practice of medicine at Andersonville, Indiana, in 1856, and continued his practice there until 1861; he then moved to Rushville, Indiana, and practiced with Dr. R. D.
Mauzy. In October, 1861, he was commissioned assistant surgeon of the Fifty-second regiment Indiana volunteer infantry, and in May, 1862, promoted to surgeon of the same regiment; he
remained with the command until their time expired in 1865; he was for a long time medical director of their corps. After returning from the army he located at Lebanon, Indiana, and practiced
there until 1870, when he came to Red Oak. Dr. Martin has the reputation of being one of the best physicians and surgeons in southwestern Iowa. He and his wife are both members of the Baptist
church; he is also a member of the I. O. O. F. of Red Oak. He was married in 1855, to Mary J. Anderson, of Milford, Indiana; they have four children living: Arthur M., born March 7, 1861;
Ulysses S., born October 23, 1863; William J., born September 26, 1869; Nettie M., born February 6, 1873; one deceased, Frank W., born July 28, 1856, died January 6, 1867. Dr. Martin's
brother, Dr. J. A. J. Martin, came to Red Oak in 1869, and was associated with Dr. J. W. in the practice of medicine until 1877, when he moved to Dakota territory; he was a graduate of the
Indiana medical college, also of the Ladoga seminary; he is now a member of the council of Dakota; he was among the earliest practitioners in Red Oak.
MARTIN, G. W., tailor, Red Oak; born in Grant County, Wisconsin, May 7, 1857. In 1869 his parents emigrated to Dakota Territory, where he remained until 1876; then came to Page County,
Iowa, and there engaged in the tailoring business; then in the year 1880 moved to Bedford, Taylor County, Iowa; then came to Red Oak, where he now resides, and is employed at his trade and is
doing a good business; began the trade in 1866. Is a member of the Baptist church.
MCAFEE, REV. SAMUEL L., pastor of the Presbyterian church of Red Oak; born in Marion County, Missouri, May 13, 1841, and resided there until 1861; then attended Watson Seminary at
Ashley, Pike County, Missouri. In October, 1862, enlisted in company A, third Missouri cavalry, United States volunteers, as a private. In 1864 was commissioned as first lieutenant and acting
assistant quartermaster of that regiment for about six months; then in June, of 1865, became first lieutenant of company A of the Eleventh Missouri cavalry and acting assistant quartermaster on
Gen. Reynolds' staff; was mustered out for discharge at New Orleans, July 6, 1865, and July 26th of the same year was discharged; then returned home and attended the Watson Seminary for two
years, and one year at Pardee College, Louisiana, where he graduated; then went to Auburn, New York, where he studied theology for two years and graduated in the northwest theological
seminary in April, 1871, and in June, 1871, was called to the Red Oak church, where he now resides. Was married to Miss Mary E. Poage, by Rev. J. B. Poage, of Ashley, Missouri. Mrs. McAfee
was born in West Virginia, August 23, 1850.
MCPHERSON, SMITH, attorney at law, Red Oak. Was born Feb. 14, 1848, in Morgan County, Indiana; was educated in the common school, and in the academy of Mooresville, Indiana. His
father's name, O. H.; his mother's, Polly. His early life was spent at work on a farm and in attending school. In September, 1869, he began the study of law at the Iowa State University, graduating
June, 1870. He then went to Council Bluffs, Iowa, and entered the law office of his uncle, M. L. McPherson, remaining until November 2, of the same year; he then came to Red Oak and engaged
in the practice of law with W. T. Carlton, remaining with him one year. He was appointed district attorney July, 1874, and at the election in the following year he was elected to fill that office by a
majority of 1,000 over G. L. Finn, of Taylor County. Was re-elected in 1878 over J. L. Brown, democrat and greenback candidate, by 153 majority, running largely ahead of his ticket. His
majority would have been larger but for Ringgold County. He was attorney for the county in the American Emigrant Company case, and the B & M. railroad case, in both cases being successful.
Mr. McP. Was married October 2, 1879, to Miss Fannie Boyer, of Mahaska County, Iowa. At the general election in November, 1880, he was elected attorney-general for the state of Iowa.
MOORE, HENRY N., president Valley National Bank, Red Oak; born January 8, 1837, in Blair County, Pennsylvania. When fourteen years of age moved to Jefferson County, Iowa, where he
grew to manhood; when about fifteen years of age began the printers' trade and followed that for seven years, publishing the Fairfield Jeffersonian for about three years. In 1862 he enlisted in the
army in company I, seventeenth Iowa infantry, but during the siege of Corinth was taken with the inflammatory rheumatism, and in the fall of the same year was discharged. After returning to
Fairfield he and his brother engaged in the livery business for two years. After this he crossed the plains, spending the summer of 1865 in Colorado. Returning to Albia, Iowa, he engaged in the
hotel business until 1870, when he moved to Red Oak and opened what is now known as the Valley National Bank of Red Oak, and which is the oldest bank in the city of Red Oak, or in the
county. Mr. Moore has been the president of this bank from the first. He has recently started a branch bank in Elliott, under the firm name of H. N. Moore & Co. Mr. Moore was married in 1863,
to Sarah E. Holmes, of Linn County, Indiana. They have two children living: Gracie and Georgie, one deceased. Mrs. Moore died May 1, 1871. He was married the second time, September 10,
1872, to Emma Lee, of St. Clairsville, Ohio, by whom he has one child living, Leta, born September 10, 1879. Three deceased.
MORIARTY, EDWARD, of the firm of Moriarty Bros., groceries and provisions, Red Oak; Mr. Moriarty was born February was born February 17, 1842, in Portsmouth, Ohio, where he grew to
manhood. Was educated at St. Joseph college, Perry County, Ohio, and at "Sinsinawa Mound College" in Grant County, Wisconsin. He graduated from this college with the class of 1862. After
finishing his education he came to Ottumwa, Iowa, and taught school for a time, and in 1863 went into the grocery business in Ottumwa where he remained several years. In 1875 he removed to
Red Oak, where he again engaged in the grocery trade and which he still continues, carrying a large and complete stock of everything in their line in Red Oak. Mr. Moriarty has been extensively
engaged in the coal interests of Montgomery County, as described in another part of this work. Mr. And Mrs. Moriarty are both members of the Catholic church. He was married February 7, 1877,
to Mss Nellie O'Keeffe, of Plattsmouth, Nebraska. They are the parents of one child, Frank, born July 11, 1879; died August 26, 1880.
OLSON, OLOF L., baker and confectioner, Red Oak; born in Sweden, September 15, 1851. He emigrated to this country in 1873, and located in Montgomery County, Iowa. He followed
farming for two years, and then came to Red Oak and engaged in the bakery business, having learned the trade in the old country. His half sister, Mary Peterson, who is his housekeeper, was born
in Sweden, February 10, 1858. She came to America in 1870, and lived in Henderson, Mills County, Illinois, for two years. In 1872 she came to this county, where she has resided ever since. She
is a member of the Lutheran church.
PACKARD, JASON B., farmer, Red Oak; born December 6, 1815, in Genessee County, New York; resided near Lockport till twelve years of age, when his parents moved to Ann Arbor,
Michigan. Was educated at Middleport and Cazenovia, (N. Y.) academies, and one term at Genessee Wesleyan seminary, at Lima, New York. Studied law at Ann Arbor, Michigan, and in 1840
was admitted to the bar, at Jackson, that state. Remained in and around Jackson until 1854; was telegraph operator there in 1848-49-50-one of the earliest operators in the west. Was treasurer of
Ingham County, Michigan, in 1843-44. In 1851 removed to Jefferson County, east Tennessee, for his health; remained there till 1854, when he came to Mount Pleasant, Iowa. Came to
Montgomery County July 4, 1856. Mrs. Packard's father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and on that account she had a land warrant, which had been located in the west part of this county; that is
how Mr. Packard happened to come here. In 1857 he was elected county treasurer, and served ten years; his history will be found largely among the public records and other parts of this book. Mr.
Packard was married August 14, 1839, at Rochester, New York, to Cornelia A. Kennedy, a native of that state. They have had two children: Kennedy, born in 1868; and Benjamin H., born in
1850. Mr. Packard is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He owns in Sherman township a farm of 760 acres, 400 acres of which are under cultivation; also a house and lot in Red Oak. He was a
correspondent of the Burlington Hawkeye during the years of the war, and also a frequent writer for the local papers in Montgomery and adjoining counties. Mrs. Packard was educated at Miss
Seward's seminary at Rochester, New York, form 1834 to 1838; she brought to her rude pioneer home all the graces of refined culture, combined with a true, wifely devotion to the interest of her
husband and family; and was ever zealous, earnest and active in every effort to promote refining, elevating and ennobling influences in the little community where her lot was cast; and she passed
away at a goodly age, beloved by all who knew her. The Red Oak Express, of September 12, 1878, contained the following notice:
DIED-In Red Oak, Sunday morning last, September 8, 1878, Mrs. J. B. Packard, age sixty-two years. Though her death was very sudden, she has been a sufferer for some years. The immediate
cause of her death was an aggravated attack of asthma, with which she has been afflicted for a long time. Her funeral took place yesterday at ten o'clock. Sermon on the occasion by Rev. W. W.
Merritt. A large concourse of people were present and accompanied the remains to the cemetery. Mrs. Packard, with her husband and two young sons, settled in Frankfort, this county, at an early
period of its history-1857, and lived there until 1865, when they moved to Red Oak. She fills quite an important place in the early history of this county. With admirable social and domestic
qualities - with a mind enriched with the best thoughts of such writers as Carlisle, Goethe, Swedenborg, Thoreau and Emerson and others; familiar with contemporaneous literature, and withal
given to hospitality, made her home unusually attractive to all who came within the circle of its influence. Her religious experience and convictions were deep and earnest, giving her that "peace
that passeth understanding;" sustaining and comforting her amid the trials and duties of life, and giving calmness and serenity to her death.
PACKARD, KENNEDY, liveryman, Red Oak; he was born in Albion, Michigan, January 20, 1848, and moved with his parents when small to East Tennessee; living there three years, and was
engaged in farming. After traveling for a time they finally located in 1858, in Montgomery County, Iowa, in the old town of Frankfort. His father was for a time treasurer of the county. Then he
and his father engaged in the real estate business in partnership until 1871, when Mr. Kennedy Packard took charge of the land business and continued it until 1876; then sold out his business and
turned his attention to farming and improving his land, having at that time about two thousand acres of land. He continued to improve and sell, and now has but one farm of seven hundred and
sixty acres, all in cultivation and pasture. He and his father are partners in the farming business only. In 1879 Mr. K. Packard bought the livery stable, being interested in fine horses; made this
purchase that he might further his interests in the fine stock business. He now has seven head of horses recorded in the breeders' trotting stud book, and seven mares that are high grades; they are
all of the Hambletonian stock from the Messenger. Mr. Packard makes this line of his business a specialty. He was married in 1869 to Miss Augusta Cady of De Soto, Missouri. She was born in
Wisconsin in September, 1848. They are the parents of three children: Marguerite, born December 14, 1870; Rea C., born October 25, 1872; Harold A., October 23, 1874. Mr. Packard's school
advantages were very limited, but he was of a literary turn of mind and read and studied much at home, and may be said to be a self-made man. Mr. Packard has harvested grain where the C. B. &
Q. depot now stands, and in 1867 raised a crop of corn on the same ground. His fine horses are sired by the horse known as "Tramp," owned at Muscatine, Iowa; one of his horses is called
"Trampolier," and won the four year old race at Des Moines, at the state fair in 1879; and another called "Trapeze," who won the three year old race in 1880, half mile in 1.20, at Red Oak.
PALMER, HENRY HARRISON, of the firm of Palmer & Whittaker, feed stables and stock shippers, Red Oak; Mr. Palmer was born October 8, 1840, in Northfield, Ohio, and there grew to
manhood; assisting his father upon the farm. In July, 1861, he enlisted in company B, Second Ohio cavalry, serving three years and two months. He was engaged in the battles of Sycoxa,
Missouri, Round Grove, Arkansas. In this battle Mr. Palmer had his horse shot under him. In January, 1863, returned to Ohio and then to Kentucky, where they took part in a number of
engagements; at the battle of Columbia, Kentucky, July 3, 1863, he was wounded in the right knee while on the skirmish line, and was left on the field, and was captured by the rebels. Their
surgeons amputated his leg just above the knee-this was General Morgan's noted raid through Ohio-they left him and passed north. He then returned home and remained until June, 1864, when he
rejoined his regiment, with a new leg, at City Point, Virginia; although not able for duty he remained with his regiment until they were mustered out at Shenandoah Valley, September 24, 1864.
He then returned to his home in Ohio, where he engaged in mercantile pursuits, also dealing in stock, etc. He also was postmaster, and served as justice of the peace, township treasurer and
assessor. In November, 1870, he moved to Red Oak and built his present stable in connection with his partner. He has also been an extensive stock shipper, perhaps the largest in this county. IN
1874 he was elected county clerk of Montgomery County and re-elected again in 1876. He has also been a member of the city council almost ever since he came to Red Oak, and is a member of
the board at the present time. He is a member of the masonic fraternity. Mr. Palmer was married January 1, 1866, to Miss Frances F. Griffis of Edinburg, Ohio. They are the parents of six children
living: Blanche, Belle, Emma Dean, Mary, Charles C., Louise, Resolved Potter.
PATTISON, WILLIAM E., clerk of the district and circuit courts of Montgomery County, Iowa; born in Auburn, New York, February 15, 1854. Came to Illinois with his parents in 1861, and to
Red Oak in 1869, and has lived here ever since. He was educated in Alton, Illinois, at Shurtleff College. Mr. Pattison was married November 13, 1877, to Miss Fannie Fisher, daughter of the Hon.
Z. T. Fisher. They were married in Red Oak, Iowa. They have two children, both boys: Everett H., and Zelotus Fisher. Mr. Pattison read law with state's attorney Smith McPherson, and was
admitted to the bar April, 1880, and was in partnership with Z. T. Fisher until elected clerk of the courts of this county on the Republican ticket at the November election in 1880. Mr. Pattison is
the oldest son of Rev. W. P. Pattison and Mary S. Pattison of this county. Rev. W. P. Pattison was six years superintendent of public instruction of this county.
PEGRAM, HARDIN, county recorder, Red Oak; born in Greene County, Ill., March 23, 1847. He moved with his father, when eight years of age, to Marion County, Illinois, where he remained
until the fall of 1869, when he went to Galesburg, Illinois. In the spring of 1871 he came to Montgomery County, Iowa. He was engaged in the drug business from 1861 until 1878. Gave up the
drug business on account of sickness, and was unable to transact any business for a year and a half. He then clerked in the county offices until elected recorder in the fall of 1880. He was married
in Mason County, Illinois, January, 1867, to Miss Sarah E. Carpenter, born in Cass County, Illinois, in April, 1848. They have three children: Elnora, Frederick, and Bertram. Mr. Pegram enlisted
in April, 1863, in company I, 139th Illinois infantry, three months service. Re-enlisted in the Second Illinois light artillery, company H, and served until the close of the war. Was engaged in the
battles of Vicksburg, Fort Fisher, and others. He is a member of Red Oak lodge, No. 176, I. O. O. F. His father, A. C. Pegram, was born in Dinwiddie County, Virginia, February 15, 1815, and is
now living in Illinois.
PLANCK, WILLIAM, clerk for Ray & Filley, agricultural works, Red Oak; was born in Merike County, Sweden, December 23, 1854, and emigrated to the United States, and landed in Stanton,
Montgomery County, Iowa. Came to Red Oak in 1877, and soon after began work for Ray & Filley. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. of Montgomery lodge, No. 387; became a member of that
society in the year 1880. His father emigrated to Nebraska in the year 1852. Mr. Planck has four brothers and one sister. Their names are: Edward, Theophil, Walter, Hjalmar, and Anna. His
father's name is Francis Planck, born 1815. Mr. William Planck, during his employ with Ray & Filley, did a business of about $80,000. Mr. Planck obtained a good English education while in
Sweden, and is well acquainted with the English language. He studied bookkeeping while there and since coming here. Messrs. Ray & Filley are doing a large business. They are connected with a
plow factory in Burlington, Iowa, manufacturing all kinds of plows, cultivators, etc. The business, in the absence of the firm, is carried on by Mr. Planck, who looks after their interests.
REDFERN, SOLOMON, brick-maker, Red Oak; was born in Vinton County, Ohio, September 29, 1848. When at the age of five years his parents emigrated to Wayne County, Illinois, and
remained there until he was twelve years old, then went to do for himself; worked on a farm at eight dollars per month; continued farming until fifteen years old, and then went to the army in the
winter of 1864, in company D, Fifteenth Illinois volunteer infantry, and was mustered out September 16, 1865, at Leavenworth, Kansas; then went home to Wayne County, Illinois, and engaged in
farming and dealing in stock until 1870, when he moved to Red Oak, Iowa, and worked at plastering for one year; then engaged at day labor in a brick-yard, where he worked for four years; then
went to moulding brick and moulded for three years; two years of that time moulded at Villisca, then came back to Red Oak and began business for himself; now has a yard in the west part of
town; made one million brick in 1880; this year will make one and a half million; will run three sets of hands. Was married to Miss Julia E. Rogers, of Lucas County, August 11, 1869; she was
born in Harrison County, Ohio, June 15, 1851. They have two children: Florence, born November 25, '72; Ellsworth L., born April 7, '75; have three deceased: Christina L., Daisy and Emza. Mr.
Redfern is a member of I. O. O. F. No. 387, and of the Valley Encampment. He and wife are members of the M. E. Church.
RENARDIN, CHAS. A., bar-tender; was born in Troy, France, August 6, 1830. In August, 1856, he arrived in New York; went from there to New Orleans and remained one year. He moved to
Union County, Kentucky, and remained there until 1860; then went back to France on a visit and returned the same year to the United States and located in Chicago, where he kept a saloon. In
1861 he went into the regular army, where he served for nine years. After his service as a soldier, was farming for a while in Hall County, Nebraska; from there went to Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
and fired on an engine for a while. Was married to Eliza Kelley, October 30, 1874. They have two children: Martha and John. He is a member of the Catholic Church; his wife is a member of the
ROBERTS, HUMPHREY, merchant, Red Oak; was born September 26, 1812, in Oneida County, New York, and there grew to manhood; he was brought up on a farm, but during his earlier
days he spent some time in clerking in a dry goods and grocery store; in 1836 he moved to Ft. Wayne, Indiana; after clerking for one year he was elected constable and also served as deputy
sheriff; and in 1839 he left for the territory of Iowa and Wisconsin, and has ever since resided in this state, being one of the old settlers both of the state and county; he first located in Des Moines
County, buying a farm nine miles from Burlington, which at that time was but a small village; in 1843 he sold out and moved to Jefferson County, and farmed there for eight years; then moved to
Appanoose County and farmed there until 1864, when he moved to Moravia, of the same county, and there engaged in the dry goods trade, and continued until April, 1868, when he moved to Red
Oak and opened a dry goods store; he first put up a building on the west side of the square where Mr. Powers' store now stands, and in 1871 erected the large brick building on the north side of the
square, his present place of business. There is but one dry goods merchant here now (Mr. Lane) that was doing business here when Mr. Roberts came to Red Oak. Mr. R. has been a very
successful business man; by his close attention to business and his fair dealing he has accumulated a neat fortune for himself and family. Mr. Roberts was married to Miss Minerva Mooney, of
Cincinnati, Ohio, in the fall of 1837. They have five children: Mary, Julia, Charles De., Stephen W., Melvin; three deceased. Mr. And Mrs. Roberts are both in good health and expect to soon
celebrate their golden wedding.
ROBERTS, REUBEN M., farmer and secretary of the Mining company, Red Oak; born in Trumbull County, Ohio, March 2, 1845. His parents moved to Cedar County, Iowa, when he was about
ten years of age. In 1865 he came to Montgomery County, locating at Pilot Grove. In the fall of 1868 he was elected clerk of the district court, and on January 1, 1869, he came to Red Oak. In
1869 he was elected county auditor, the first auditor that Montgomery County ever had. He has served three terms as clerk of the district court, and has been secretary of the Montgomery County
agricultural society for a number of years. In 1875 he assisted in organizing the Valley Bank and was elected cashier, which office he held until February, 1881. He enlisted in company B, Second
Iowa infantry, March 22, 1862. He took part in the siege of Corinth, in May, 1862, and in the battle of Corinth, October 3, 1862. At Corinth he received a wound in the left hip and was taken to a
hospital at Keokuk, Iowa, where he remained until March, 1863, then was transferred to the veteran reserve corps. There he remained until six months after the close of the war. Mr. Roberts has
been very successful as a business m an. He owns a farm of three hundred acres, and a fine residence in Red Oak. He was married in October, 1877, to Miss Albia Hulett, daughter of M. Y.
Hulett. They have one child, a daughter: Marena C., born March 18, 1879.
ROGERS, ELLIOTT S., postmaster, Red Oak; Mr. Rogers was born February 9, 1840, in Fayette County, Pennsylvania. When five years old he moved with his parents to Mount Pleasant, Iowa,
where he remained until 1849, when he moved to Salem, Henry County, Iowa. In October, 1861, he enlisted as a private in company D, Fourteenth Iowa infantry; after the first battle at Fort
Donelson, he was promoted to first sergeant, and at the battle of Pittsburg Landing, April 6, 1862, he, with the greater portion of his regiment were taken prisoners; he was taken to Libby prison,
where he remained for six months; after being paroled and exchanged, he lay for one hundred days in hospital at Keokuk, Iowa. April 1st, 1863, he returned to his regiment and was made hospital
steward; and August 22, following, he was promoted to first lieutenant of a company in Fifty-sixth colored infantry, serving on detached duty under General N. B. Buford, until May, 1864, when
he was commissioned captain and assigned to duty as the commander of company K, of the same regiment. This regiment did duty mostly in eastern Arkansas, and dealt mostly with guerillas, but
had several other heavy engagements. In September, 1866, he was mustered out of the service, having served four years and eleven months. Returning to his home, he engaged in mercantile
pursuits at Salem, Iowa, where he remained until January, 1874, when he removed to Red Oak, Iowa; here he engaged in the grocery business. In 1876 he sold out his business. After engaging in
various occupations he was elected justice of the peace, the duties of which office occupied the greater part of his time until in March, 1877, when he was appointed post-master at Red Oak,
which position he still holds. Captain Rogers was married to Miss Hattie Cramer, February 12, 1866, of New London, Iowa. They have one child living: Gertrude, born January 12, 1871, and two
ROONEY, PATRICK, boarding house and grocery, Red Oak; born in Ireland, June 29, 1842. In 1868 he came to the United States and came to this county. Though prior to this he traveled
through England and Scotland. He lived awhile where Essex now stands, in Page County, Iowa, and while there he built three miles of the C. B. & Q. R. R. He was married to Miss Allen
Gonnonde, a native of Ireland, in 1871, by the Catholic priest in Council Bluffs, Iowa. They have four children: Elizabeth, born December 5, 1872; Thomas A., born July 1, 1874; John H., born
March 27, 1876; and Mary A., born December --, 1878. He was burned out in 1878 on the same ground where his present building now stands. Mr. Rooney and wife are members of the Catholic
SHANK, HENRY C., druggist, Red Oak; born in Franklin County, Indiana, May 29, 1833. Resided in Shelby County until 1844, then went to Howard County, Indiana, where he lived until 1854,
when he came with his parents to Montgomery County, Iowa, locating at Red Oak June 15, 1854. He was first engaged in farming, his farm being where the town of Red Oak now stands. The
space now occupied by the public square and the main part of town was at one time a corn-field. Mr. Shank lived in the first house ever built in the vicinity of Red Oak. From 1857 to 1865 he was
engaged in the saw-mill business. He built the first two bridges ever built across the Nishnabotna river, in Montgomery County; he also built the first bridge across the Nodawa at Sciola. he was
educated in the common schools of Indiana. He was married in Pottawattamie County, in April, 1858, to Miss Sophronia W. Dean, a native of Rhode Island. They are the parents of nine children,
six of whom are living: Emma S., George H., Alice, Walter, Ola, Florence; and Jefferson A., who died September, 1880, aged nineteen years. Bell died at the age of three years, and one at birth.
He has been councilman of Red Oak for two terms. Mr. Shank engaged in the drug business in 1865, and has continued in that business ever since.
SHAW, CHARLES E., one of the managers of the dry goods house of C. H. Lane, Red Oak; Mr. Shaw was born August 25, 1851, in Alleghany, New York, and began the dry goods business
when thirteen years old in the store of E. Willard, Alleghany, clerking for him for several years. His health failing, he went on a farm for a short time. In the spring of 1872 he moved to
Montgomery County, and engaged with C. H. Lane as salesman, and served in that capacity for three years. Since which time he has had an interest in the business and the entire management of
this mammoth house has fallen upon him and Mr. Batchelder. This is the oldest dry goods house in the city and one of the largest in southwestern Iowa. Mr. Shaw was married May 3, 1877, to
Anna M. Block, of Knoxville, Iowa. They have one child living, Charles Edgar, born July 21, 1880.
SHRIVER, HENRY W., surgeon dentist, Red Oak; Dr. Shriver was born June 21, 1850, in Guernsey County, Ohio, and there grew to manhood. In 1870 he began the study of dentistry, and in
October, 1872, he moved to Red Oak, Iowa, where he has since lived and practiced his profession. The doctor is the oldest resident dentist in Red Oak, and by his skill and close attention to
business has built up a large practice. He is a member of the order of Masons-a Knight-Templar. He was married November 9, 1880, to Lizzie W. Shirk of Greensburg, Decatur County, Indiana.
He is a son of Michael Schriver, who was born in March, 1812, in Guernsey County, Ohio, where he still resides. His mother's name was Martha Woodrow, who was born in March, 1825, in
Guernsey County, Ohio, and is still living there.
SPERRY, RUFUS D., M. D., physician and surgeon, Red Oak; born February 11, 1820, in Otsego County, New York; his father was overseer of a large cotton factory, but moved on a farm when
Rufus was about three years old, and died about six years after that, leaving an older son as head of the family and manager of the farm. When about ten years old, Rufus had taken a notion that he
would be a doctor; and he wanted to be going to school, but the older brother still kept him at work on the farm until he was sixteen, then he packed his budget and struck out to "paddle his own
canoe." At Munnsville, in Madison County, New York, he found a chance to pay his board by tending silkworms for a brother-in-law, and go to school; this he did for three years. When he was
nineteen he commenced reading medicine with Dr. Drake, at Westford, in Otsego County, and continued to study summers and teach school winters until he was twenty-four, then went to Albany
and studied with Dr. Quackenbush, one of the professors of the Albany medical college; went from there to the medical college at Castleton, Vermont, and graduated in the spring of 1846;
returned to Albany and commenced practice, and entered senior class of the medical college there, from which he graduated in March 1847. October 8, 1851, was married to Miss Jane E.
Harrison, of Troy, New York. The way he happened to come west was this: he had a severe attack of measles which left his lungs badly affected; and after several changes there, he moved to
Sheffield, Illinois, practiced there two years, then moved to Tama County, Iowa; but as his lungs grew no better he spent a season in the Rocky mountains; on his way back to Illinois, late in the
fall of 1860, he stopped at Frankfort, in Montgomery County; found W. W. Merritt and J. B. Packard, two good New York boys, settled there; and on learning that here was a whole new county
without a physician, he decided to locate. He was the first coroner of the county; also, member of the board of commissioners for the insane. When recruiting for the Union army was going on, in
1861-2-3, Dr. Sperry pledged his medical services free to the families of those who should enlist in the service, during their term of service, and he kept his pledge. He lived at Frankfort until the
county seat struggle waxed too hot, then moved to Glenwood, in Mills County, but finally settled in Red Oak in the spring of 1865, and has lived here as a successful practicing physician ever
since - but he also has a stock farm of three hundred and twenty acres on which he employs a manager. They have only one living child, William Ernest, who was born at Glenwood, in Mills
County, February 14, 1865.
STROH, CHARLES, brewer, Red Oak; born in Germany, January 13, 1845, and resided there about eighteen years; in 1864 he came to this country, and located in Detroit, Michigan, where he
remained about fifteen months, and worked at brewing; from there to Chicago, and resided there twelve to fifteen months; then to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he was for two years and a half; then
went to Louisville, Kentucky; then in '69 or '70 went to St. Louis, Missouri; he then went to Macon City, Missouri; then went to Virginia City, Nevada, for two years; thence to Detroit, Michigan;
then to Chicago again, and from there to Joliet; and in the fall of 1876 he came to Red Oak. He was married to Miss Katharina Schober, September 1, 1876, in Chicago; they have two children:
George, born August 28, 1877; infant, born November, 1880. He bought the Steinbrecher brewery, where he uses about three thousand bushels of barley per year; it is the only brewery in the
town; he also owns a saloon in the city.
SWISHER, JOHN W., stock dealer, Red Oak; was born in Darke County, Ohio, October 18, 1831, and lived there about thirty-nine years; was engaged in milling, as his father was a miller, and
worked in that business from a boy; left there in 1870, and came to Illinois, and engaged in selling lightning rods; then came to Red Oak and engaged in the stock business. He was married in
Livingston County, Illinois, in 1854, to Sarah E. Dragoo, of Livingston County; she was born near Columbus, Ohio, in 1838; they are the parents of nine children: Bell, Minerva, Matilda, Isaac,
John, Susan, Lottie, and two dead, Martha and one in infancy. Mr. Swisher enlisted in the war in 1861, in the Eleventh Ohio infantry, company C; was in the battles of Fort Lincoln and Ethan
Allen, and several others, and was mustered out at Camp Dennison, Ohio.
UPDIKE, EDGAR W., contractor and builder, Red Oak; was born in Tompkins County, New York, August 3, 1841; when eight years old moved with his parents to Knox County, Ohio; here
grew to manhood and in 1859 began the wagon maker trade, but his father being a carpenter he turned his attention to that trade and learned it under his father and continued the trade until he
went into the army. He enlisted in June, 1861, in fourth Ohio infantry, company B, and served two years and was discharged on account of disability. He took part in the following battles: Rich
Mountain, second battle of Bull Run, Fredericksburg, besides many others of less note; after his discharge he returned to Morrow County, Ohio, and there lay sick for one year, of disease
contracted while in the army; then went to work again at his trade; worked at his trade two years. He was married in Morrow County, Ohio, in 1864, to Nancy Barr; she was born June 23, 1844,
and was raised in Morrow County, Ohio. They are the parents of two children: Etta May, born August 13, '66; Abbie D., born November 25, '68. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., Red Oak City
Lodge 176. After leaving Morrow County, Ohio, went to Galesburg, Illinois, and stayed two years; then to Kirkwood, and in 1870 came to Red Oak, where he has since lived and followed
contracting and building, giving employment to from tow to seven men. His father, A. J. Updike, was
born in New Jersey, June 28, 1812, and died in 1872. Jane W. Updike was born in New York
state May 22, 1815. They were the parents of eight children: Caroline A., E. W., Mary H., Alson J., J. W., Oscar E., Willie and Wallace P.
WATROUS, HENRY R., attorney at law, Red Oak; born September 20, 1843, in Hancock County, Illinois. When about one year old his parents moved to Henderson County, where he grew up
to manhood and resided for about 31 years. Mr. Watrous was brought up on a farm. Was educated at the academy at Prairie City, Illinois. In 1868 he began the study of law; reading under
Williams & McKenzie, of Galesburg, Illinois. Mr. Watrous came to Red Oak in March, 1879, and has resided there ever since in the practice of his profession, practicing in the courts of this and
other counties. He has an extensive practice, and is quite popular as a practitioner. Mr. Watrous was married to Edith G. Pancak, September 19, 1878: she was a native of Coshocton County,
Ohio, and a graduate of Lake Erie Female Seminary. They have two children: Earl P., born September 5, 1880; infant, born January 7, 1881. Mr. Watrous is a son of Jerome T. Watrous, who was
born in Muskingum County, Ohio, in 1818; his mother's name is Mary J. Reynolds, born in Mercer County, Pennsylvania, in 1820; they are both living with their son and in good health. J. T.
Watrous was one of the general surveyors of Henderson and Hancock Counties, Illinois, before the Mormons left that section of the country.
WEST, GEORGE M., architect and builder, Red Oak; born August 15, 1831, in Lewiston, Fulton County, Illinois. His
father, Rev. Asa D. West, was a traveling Methodist minister, and his
grandfather was the Rev. Hezekiah West, and Englishman by birth, who was in the war for Independence. After the war he settled in North Carolina, and married to Priscilla Osborn. Here Asa D.
West was born. From Carolina they moved in to Kentucky, near Mammoth cave; before Illinois had become a state they moved and settled in Johnson County. George's grandfather on his
grandmother's side, was Daniel McNeil; born in New Hampshire, January 28, 1764; he married Martha Parker, December 25, 17_8 [digit missing in my copy of the text], and at an early day
moved to Fulton County, Illinois; Asa D. West at the age of eighteen years, entered the ministry, and was married to Mary Anderson. Two children were born to them; the wife died. Jane McNeil
and George M., were married March 21, 1822; two children were born to them, both still living in Illinois. George M. was captain of a military company, and one day at a training his horse
became unmanageable at the firing of the guns, threw Mr. Miller against a tree and killed him. Asa D. West having been appointed to a circuit embracing Fulton County, he there met Miller's
widow, formerly Jane McNeil, and they were married April 13, 1829; from this union were born four girls and four boys; three of the boys died in infancy; the five surviving children, all live in
Iowa; Mrs. Byrdolf, the eldest resides at Burlington, Iowa; the subject of this sketch, in Red Oak; Mrs. William McChesney resides in Walnut township, this county; Mrs. John McBride lives in
Des Moines; Mrs. Daniel Mead resides in Red Oak. In 1833 the family settled in Monmouth, Warren County, Illinois; April 2, 1844, Mrs. West died and, in 1846 the family moved back to Fulton
County; at the age of seventeen years the subject of this sketch went to learn the carpenter's trade; in 1853 he was seized with the gold fever and went to the Pacific coast, spending ten years in
Oregon, California, Mexico, etc., most of the time engaged in mining work. He returned by way of Nicaragua in 1863, and landed in New York city July, 17, the day of
the notable anti-war riot;
then went to Chicago, and from there to Monmouth, Illinois. August 3, 1869, he came to Red Oak, where he has made a reputation and established a good business as architect and building
contractor. March 9, 1871, he was married to Miss Minnie Lumberger, of Burlington, Iowa; she was the daughter of John G. and Catherine Lumberger. John G. Lumberger was born in 1810, in
Germany, and his wife in Baden, on the Rhine; she came to America when eighteen years old and settled in Cincinnati, Ohio, more than forty years ago. They came to Jefferson County, Iowa, and
here Minnie was born April 26, 1844. They have three children living: Henry H., born
January 23, 1872; Nella A., born July 12, 1874; Guy Mark, born March 13, 1879; and one died in 1878,
fifteen months old. Mr. West has served as city councilman for two years; was appointed by the citizens of Red Oak as captain of the fire company, and was elected foreman of the same. He
joined Red Oak lodge No. 162, A. F. and A. M., in 1864; also belongs to Montgomery chapter, No. 57, and took part in the Templars' national conclave in Chicago, last year.
WHITAKER, O. E., livery, feed and sale stable, of the firm of Palmer & Whitaker, Red Oak; was born in Henry County, Illinois, April 19, 1851, and when quite young his parents moved form
there to near Weathersfield, and then went to the town of Weathersfield, and from there he went to Kewanee, Illinois, where he stayed three years; then he went Oxford, Henry County, and stayed
there two years; then to Pennsylvania, and stayed there two years attending school; then went to Henry County, Illinois, and stayed there four years. From there he went to Cambridge, Henry
County, Illinois, where he went to school three years; and then to Red Oak, in 1869, where he worked in a livery stable till 1873, when he bought an interest in the stable with Mr. Lockhart, and
continued in that business about one year, after which he sold out and bought Mr. Roach's interest with Mr. Palmer and continued there two and a half years, then sold to Mr. Bake and went into
the hotel and livery business. In August, 1878, he bought in with Mr. Palmer, where he continues. Was married in Red Oak, in June, 1877, to Adelia Boyd, of Cambridge, Illinois, by the Rev. W.
P. Pattison. She was born in Georgetown, Ohio, November 17, 1857. Mr. Whitaker is a member of the Red Oak fire company, and is an efficient officer of engine No. 2. He is a director in the
Montgomery County agricultural society, and also of the Red Oak driving park association. He is the owner of a very promising colt called Breeze; sired by Monarch, Jr., and he by imported
Monarch, a thoroughbred.
WILEY, W. P., general merchandise, south side of the square, Red Oak; Mr. Wiley was born March 10, 1837, in Wheeling, Ohio County, Virginia. Remained there only a short time, then went
to Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, remaining there until he was eighteen years of age and working as an apprentice at the tailor's bench. He continued at that trade until April, 1861, when he
enlisted in company H, First Nebraska under Captain Kennedy. First engagement at Fort Donelson, then at Corinth, then to Arkansas, where he was engaged in fighting Guerrillas. In March, 1864,
he was appointed second-lieutenant in the Sixty-fifth U. S. colored infantry. In 1865 he was promoted to first-lieutenant, and was promoted to captain in 1867. In February, 1867, he was mustered
out. Then he went into the real estate business in Cincinnati for a short time. In April, 1867, he came to Red Oak and engaged in the grocery and dry goods business. Was elected county recorder
in 1868. He served two years, was re-elected and served one year. Was elected treasurer in 1871 and served two terms. In 1877 he was elected vice-president of the Valley National Bank, and was
there one year. Then he took a trip to the Black Hills, remained there during the summer and then returned and since that time he has been engaged in his present business. April 29, 1867, he was
married to Miss Eliza Merlotte, who was born March 22, 1856, in Indiana, and was raised in St. Joseph, Missouri. They have had one child, deceased. They have one child adopted, Laura, born in
December, 1873. Miss Belle Merlotte, sister of Mrs. Wiley, is in the employ of Mr. Wiley. She began teaching at the age of sixteen, following that for six years. She clerked for Mr. Gleason in a
book store six months and then engaged with Mr. Wiley.
WILLIAMS, JOHN F., painter and paper hanger and ornamental work, and of the firm of Brownscombe & Williams; was born in Montgomery County, New York, July 31, 1845, and lived there
until twelve years old. He then went to Bureau County, Illinois, with his parents , and then returned to Fonda, New York, and remained there until 1863. He commenced to learn carriage painting
in 1861 under J. P. Seamore for three years. Went to Rome, New York, and worked for the railroad company three and a half years, painting locomotives. From Rome he went to Bureau County,
Illinois, then to Monmouth in 1868, living there seven years, and working at his trade, painting, for a wagon factory called the Church wagon factory. Went to Marshalltown, Iowa, and then back
to Monmouth, Illinois, and from there to Creston, Iowa, and lived there three years; then went to Red Oak, Iowa, in 1877. In 1880 he went in partnership with Brownscombe. Was married to Miss
Sophia Davis, of Rome, New York, in 1865. She was born at Watertown, New York, March 12, 1848, and have three children: George, born September 18, 1866; Jessie, born August 20, 1871;
Cora, born February 17, 1876. Mr. Williams' father, Gilbert Williams, was born in New York State.
WORMLEY, FRED P., proprietor of depot hotel, Red Oak; born in Ontario County, New York, June 24, 1830. When fourteen years of age he, with his parents, moved to St. Joseph, Michigan,
where he remained until 1852, when he went to Marshalltown, and was connected with his brother in an eating house for a short time. In 1853 he became connected with the American express
company on the Michigan Central railroad, and remained with that company about ten years. In 1863 he went to Kalamazoo, remaining about one year, and then went to Jackson, Michigan, and
bought the Marion House, which he kept four years. In 1868 he went south and spent one winter in Memphis, Tennessee, and in Texas. He then went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he remained
nearly two years. In 1872 he went to Delaware, Ohio, where he remained one year. From there he went to Cleveland, and lived one year, and form there to Geneva Lake, Wisconsin, and in 1871
came to Red Oak. He opened the Depot Hotel at Chariton, in January, 1876, and kept it almost one year, and then opened the Depot Hotel at Red Oak, where he has continued ever since. The
hotel is a two story building 10x34 feet, with eighteen capacious sleeping rooms, and was built by the C., B. & Q. railroad company in 1876. The furniture of this house cost about $4,000. Mr.
Wormley has been engaged in hotel keeping almost all his life. He is a member of the Episcopal church, and has taken the thirty-second degree in Masonry.
YAGER, NICHOLAS, liquor dealer, Red Oak; born in Germany, December 31, 1849. When at the age of twenty years emigrated to the United States, and brought up at Eddyville, Iowa, in the
year 1870, where he was engaged on a farm for one year; then went to Ottumwa, Iowa and was engaged in a nursery for eighteen months; then worked in a brewery eighteen months, and then
engaged in the soda water business for one year, when the building caught fire and burned up in 1874; then, went into the saloon business for six months; then came to Red Oak in 1875, and
commenced business where he now lives. Was married to Miss Johanna Derks, April 10, 1872, in Ottumwa, Iowa; she was born in Wapello Iowa, January 15, 1852. They have three children:
John J. born January 15, 1873; George E., born May 1, 1876; William W., born May 16, 1880. Mr. Yager is a member of the I. O. O. F., of Red Oak, Montgomery Lodge, No. 387; is also a
member of the Encampment No. 76, and is an officer in the subordinate lodge.
YOUNG, H. S., painter, of the firm of Young and De Frehn, Red Oak; born November 7, 1852, and remained at the place of his birth until 20 years of age; learned his trade under James Nesbith;
served four years as an apprentice. In 1872 he went to Rock Island, Illinois, remaining there seven years; then came to Red Oak. The firm of Young & De Frehn are contracting largely and are
working from twelve to fifteen men. They do all kinds of work in their line, graining, decorating, sign painting, paper hanging, etc. Mr. Young was married in Rock Island, Illinois, in 1875, to
Miss Jennie Sage of Rock Island. They have two children: Fred and Thaddeus.