IAGenWeb Marshall County, Iowa USGenWeb





Local Resources



Township/Town Info

Contact Me

Marietta Township

List of Towns, Post Offices, Landmarks, etc…

Galvin: A Post Office from 1882 to 1902 in the southeast corner of Section 3.

Hartland: A Post Office from 1890 to 1900 located in the southeast corner of Section 15.

Marietta: Platted May 25, 1851 by William Dishon and Isaac Dawson. Located in the eastern part of Section 13 and in Section 18. Was made county seat of Marshall County at its organization. Marshalltown then became County Seat after a vote.

Minerva: Platted March 7, 1882 by Thomas Nichols and Warren Nichols. Located in Section 5 on the Story City branch of the Iowa Central Railroad.

(c) Copyright 2007 by Jennie Williams Pahls. Last updated on November 9, 2007.