LOUISA COUNTY, IOWA

LOUISA COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY

609 N. James L. Hodges Ave. (U.S. Highway 61)
P.O Box 302, Wapello IA 52653
Phone: 319-527-5247
E-mail: LCHS@louisacomm.net

Hours: Thursday, Friday, Sunday 1-4 p.m. March thru November
or by appointment.
Center is closed on major holidays and during the months of December, January & February

COME VISIT our Museum with Genealogy Library, One-Room County School House and Country Church.

Special exhibits include Native Amerian Artifacts, a Salute to our Armed Forces, Toy Room, Grandma's Bedroom
& Photo Collection of People and Places in Louisa County.
Group Tours may be arranged. Admission is free, however donations are appreciated.

The facilities include the Louisa Stage and a dining room which is available to rent for gatherings.
The Country Church is also available for special events and weddings.

The purpose of the Louisa County Historical Society shall be to discover, collect and preserve, and disseminate the history and cultures of the County of Louisa in eastern Iowa.

MEMBERSHIP FORM
GENEALOGY LIBRARY
LIBRARY CATALOG       - * - * - * -       LCHS GENEALOGY WEB SITE

SCHEDULE OF SPECIAL EVENTS 2017

January Board Meeting Thursday, January 19, 10:00 a.m.
February Board Meeting Thursday, February 16, 10:00 a.m.
March Soup Supper with Program on the History of Burris City by Ron Kerr & Rich Perkins Saturday, March 4, 5:30 p.m., program at 6:30 p.m.
  Board Meeting Thursday, March 16, 10:00 a.m.
  Tea Time at the Museum
The only requirements are that you wear a hat and bring your favoritae cup and saucer. Also, bring an heirloom antique and share the history that goes with it. There will be a free will offering for this tea party & lunch. To make reservation, call the museum at 319-527-5247
Thursday, March 18, 11:00 a.m.
  Keck Players Performance March 24, 25, 26th
April Pie Class Saturday, April 8
  Board Meeting Thursday, April 20, 6:30 p.m.
  4th Grade Field Trip Wednesday, April 5
  4th Grade Field Trip Wednesday, April 12
  4th Grade Field Trip Wednesday, April 19
  4th Grade Field Trip Wednesday, April 26
May Board Meeting Thursday, May 18, 6:30 p.m.
June Wedding Gown Display June 1 - 30
  Board Meetng Thursday, June 15, 6:30 p.m.
  Tractor Ride Saturday, June 24
July Grandview & Morning Sun Celebratons 4th of July
  Small Museum Meeting Tuesday, July 18, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  Board Meeting Thursday, July 20, 6:30 p.m.
  Louisa County Fair July 26 to 30th
August Car Show & Variety Show Saturday, August 5
  Board Meeting Thursday, August 17, 6:30 p.m.
September Bus Tour Thursday, September 7
  Fall Festival Saturday September 16
  Board Meeting Thursday, September 14, 6:30 p.m.
October Civil War Days
Learn how the six Littleton brothers from Toolesboro, IA all volunteered and became casualties of the Civil War. From our own Louisa County roots, we respectfully tell this long-lost story. See http://iagenweb.org/louisa/history/littleton_bros-memorial.htm for more information.
Saturday, October 7 & Sunday, October 8
  Membership Meal Saturday, October 28 at 5:30 p.m.
November Keck Players Performance November 4, 5, & 6th
  Board Meeting Thursday, November 16, 10:00 a.m.
December Christmas at the Church Sunday, December 3, at 2:00 p.m.
  Board Meeting Thursday, December 14, 10:00 a.m.

Page updated February 13, 2017

Back to Louisa Co. IAGenWeb, Home Page

Page created April 7, 2016 by Lynn McCleary