The Wapello Republican, May 28, 1918
Submitted by a Louisa Co. Volunteer, February 18, 2023

Morning Sun Boy Scouts Organize

One of the most active organizations in Morning Sun is the Boy Scout Patrol recently organized under the leadership of the Rev L. H. Lanning of the Methodist church as scout master, and Edward Siverly as assistant scout master. The organization is known as Boy Scouts of America, Troop 1, with W. A. Thompson, C. W. Talbot and Edward Siverly comprising the board.

The charter members number 20 at present, and include Randall Latta, Kenley Cunningham, Lloyd Yohe, Bernard Wheeler, Merle Kirk, Verne Kissinger, Reece Gregory, Malcolm Hewitt, Carl Casten, Glen Perry, Albert Swan, Lorenz Wilson, Hollis Thompson, Albert Pogemiller, Wayne Stoner, Harold Smith, Paul Thompson, Claude Armstrong, Ross Brown and John Jarvis. Lloyd Yohe and Kenley Cunningham are the two patrol leaders and Bernard Wheeler the scribe. The meetings are held each Friday afternoon at 4 o'clock, out of doors when possible.

The boys are doing notable work since organization in soliciting for the purchase of Thrift and War Savings Stamps, and latest reports show they have sold $72 worth.

* ~ * ~ * ~ *

Charter Members Index

Return to Community News Index

Back to Louisa Co. IAGenWeb, Home Page

Page created February 18, 2023 by Lynn McCleary