The Wapello Tribune, August 23, 1917
Submitted by a Louisa Co. Volunteer, February 18, 2023

Daughters of Veterans Organized

A new organization was formed in Wapello last Friday afternoon to be known as Ursula Woods Tent No. 11, Daughters of Veterans, with the following charter members: Ida Merrick, Alice Hunt, Jessie Farver, Lydia Keck, Louisa Fitzgerald, Lena Wilton, Emily Darrow, Lucy Briggs, Clara Allen, Henrietta Salmon, Lou Miller, Lucile Parsons, Hannah Bishop, Mary Sellers, Adda Creswell, Ida Kremer, Myrtle Erwin, Lue Erwin, Mary Davis, Millicent Hicklin, Maud Barrett Silverthorn, Nita May Kremer, Bonnie L. Mosier, Anna A. Mosier, Lula Winder, Vira Keck, Manda Gallagher, Ida M. Chittum, Sarah May Hubbard, Janie Thomas, Lola Dancan. Ivah Crecelius, department president, and Susan McGinley department treasurer, of Davenport, were present to prefect the organization and installed the officers, namely: President, Jessie Farver; Senior Vice, Ida Merrick; Chaplain, Millicent Hicklin; Treasurer, Lydia Keck; Council, Ida Kremer, Hannah Bishop, Lena Wilton; Patriotic Instructor, Vira Keck; Press Correspondent, Mary Davis; Secretary, Lou Miller; Guide, Lula Winder; Guard, Lue Erwin; Assistant, Adda Cresswell; Musicians, Alice Bant and Mrs. J. H. Chittum; First Color Bearer, Nita Kremer, Second Bonnie Mosier, Third Myrtle Erwin, Fourth Lucile Parsons.

Regular meetings will be held the second and fourth Wednesdays in each month in the G. A. R. hall.

* ~ * ~ * ~ *

Charter Members Index

Return to Community News Index

Back to Louisa Co. IAGenWeb, Home Page

Page created February 18, 2023 by Lynn McCleary