Town of Delta
Delta is located on section two, and was laid out in 1875. It is a beautiful site for a town, being situated on a high piece of ground, the country sloping toward the south forming a beautiful outlook. It is one of the best shipping points along the road, and the business men are among the most active and enterprising in the county. It contains a population of about five hundred, is regularly incorporated, having a full force of town officers and constitutes an independent school district which supports as good a graded school as can be found in this or any other county.

The following are the present officers of the corporation:

          Mayor — J. H. Neas.

          Recorder — W. N. Brown.

          Treasurer — J. R. Stirlen.

          Councilmen — Reuben Kinder, M. Whisler, F. "W. Prentiss, J. G. Sharp, S. G. Boise and                     Jas. Bethard.

          Street Commissioner — David Smilie.

          Marshal — D. Smilie.

Reference: History of Keokuk County, Iowa, 1880

These pages were designed and are maintained by IAGenWeb solely for the  use and benefit of the  IAGenWeb Project, a part of the USGenWeb Project.
Copyright © 1997 by IAGenWeb & Other Contributors        
Please read the IAGenWeb Terms, Conditions, & Disclaimer  --all of which apply to Keokuk Co.

Back to top of page                             Return to Keokuk Co. IAGenWeb                             Back to top of page

Photo background collage is made from penny postcards of Keokuk County, donated to the USGenWeb Archives