IOWA HISTORY PROJECT
A Narrative History
The People of Iowa
SPECIAL TREATMENT OF THEIR CHIEF ENTERPRISES IN
EDUCATION, RELIGION, VALOR, INDUSTRY,
EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M.
Curator of the
Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa
THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc.
Chicago and New York 1931
JUDGE ASA C. CALL was a man of commanding statue as a western pioneer, a man of fine intellect, great enterprise, and the Iowa community which will always keep his name in reverence is Kossuth County. In what was then an unpopulated and remote part of the frontier he projected the first town, which has since become the City of Algona, of which he was the founder.
Judge Call was born in Lake County, Ohio, September 26, 1825, and inherited the strong mental traits and character of generations of New England pioneers. When Asa C. was a small child his father died and he lived with his widowed mother in Western New York for some years. He finished his education in Oberlin College of Ohio, and as a youth came west to South Bend, Indiana, and in 1850 drove a herd of cattle across the plains to California. During the four years he was on the Pacific Coast he was appointed a commissioner to treat with the Indian tribes in Washington and Idaho. While in the West he was correspondent for the National Era, and many of his letters were copied by the New York Tribune and other eastern papers. These letters indicate a fine gift of literary expression, keen observation and opinions reflecting his mature judgment as to the significance of local conditions.
After his return to the East Judge Call married, in 1854, Miss Sarah Heckert. They came to Iowa and located temporarily at Iowa City, which was still the state capital. From there Judge Call pushed his investigations over a wide extent of country with a view to finding a tract of unoccupied land near the waterways, which were still the commanding element in transportation. Every worthwhile place he found occupied, and he even explored the western shores of Lake Superior. Perhaps looking forward to the not far distant time when railroads would render obsolete waterway traffic, he determined to investigate lands without navigable waters, and in the month of July, 1854, he selected the site of Algona, then forty miles from the nearest habitation, and not far from the scene of a recent Indian massacre. At the following session of the General Assembly he secured the passage of an act establishing Algona as the county seat of Kossuth County.
From that time forward Judge Call's mental and physical energies were completely taken up with forwarding his plans for the town and the surrounding district. In 1857 he and others organized the McGregor Railroad Company, and under his leadership a line of railroad was constructed through the county. He is also credited with having been the important influence in securing the construction of a branch of the Northwestern Railway. He also induced the early colonization and settling up of Kossuth County, and was the most generous friend and benefactor the community had as long as he lived. He passed away January 6, 1888.
Judge and Mrs. Call were the parents of seven children, some of whom are still represented in active Iowa citizenship. Their names were Asa Frank, Joseph Harry, George C., Mary E., Sarah Stella, Nina Vesta and Zada C.
CHARLES ROMEO CAMPBELL. One of the substantial business men of Preston, Charles Romeo Campbell, after some experience along other lines, is now operating the Campbell Furniture & Undertaking Establishment, Dry Goods & Paints, of which he is the proprietor. He was born near Maquoketa, Iowa, March 14, 1881, a son of Adolph R. and Mary Margaret (Pool) Campbell, both natives of Iowa, and formerly farming people, but now living retired at Maquoketa. They had the following children born to them: Elmer, who is a resident of Columbus, Ohio, a railroad man; Mamie, who is the wife of Fred Duhme, a farmer of Creek Township, Jackson County, Iowa; Charles Romeo, whose name head this review.
The public schools of Maquoketa gave Charles Romeo Campbell his education, and until 1914 he was engaged in farming in the neighborhood of his birthplace. In that year he entered the automobile business at Maquoketa, having the Hudson and Essex agency, and during the time he was thus engaged he learned the undertaking business. When he was able he took the state examination, passed it successfully, and then, having in the meanwhile disposed of his automobile business, came to Preston, and here bought the Leo Krabbenhoft General Furniture & Undertaking Establishment, which he has since operated under his own name. His stock of furniture is a fine and varied one, and his undertaking parlors are well equipped, and thoroughly modern. The service he renders as an undertaker is dignified and satisfactory, and wins for him warm personal friends who appreciate the sympathetic kindness and efficient professional knowledge he displays upon such sad occasions.
In 1903 Mr. Campbell was married to Miss Zora L. Bradway, a daughter of Charles and Clara Bradway, natives of Iowa, farming people, now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Campbell have five children: Portia V., Gladys, Harris C., Durward and Lula Madge.
Mr. Campbell is a Republican, but confines his participation in politics to exercising his right of suffrage. The Congregational Church holds his membership. Fraternally he affiliates with the Masonic Order, the Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America. During the years Mr. Campbell has resided at Preston he has won and retains the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens because of his honorable methods of doing business, his interest in his community, and his high character, and no man in the county stands any higher in popular esteem than he.
WILLIAM L. CAMPBELL has been a lifelong resident of Mahaska County, his early years being taken up with his business as a farmer and stock man, and he also became prominent in the political affairs of the county. He is now on the Board of County Supervisors.
Mr. Campbell, whose home is at Oskaloosa, was born in Spring Creek Township. Mahaska County, January 7, 1866, son of William B. and Sarah L. (Dunbar) Campbell. The Campbells are of Scotch-Irish ancestry and have been in America since the early part of the 1800s. The parents of William B. Campbell moved from Kentucky to Springfield, Illinois, and it was while on the way that their son William B. was born at Golconda, Illinois. William B, Campbell while living in Springfield, Illinois, came to know Abraham Lincoln, then practicing law there. William B. Campbell came to the vicinity of Oskaloosa, Iowa, on April 16,m 1843, was one of the pioneers and a man of steady character and worth.
William L. Campbell grew up in the country, attended local schools and Penn College at Oskaloosa, and after completing his education took up farming. He developed extensive dairying interests, building up a fine herd of blooded Jersey stock.
Mr. Campbell was elected a member of the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors in 1928. While living in the country he held various townships offices and was a member of the school board. He is now councilman at large at Oskaloosa and mayor pro tem.
He married in Mahaska County, September 9, 1891, Miss Ada M. Jewell, who was born in Mahaska County and died May 29, 1894. She left one son, Karl, who lives in Oskaloosa. He was a musician in the band of the Three Hundred and Fifty-first Infantry Regiment of the Eighty-eight Division in the World war. Karl Campbell married Ruth Glaze, and has a daughter, Margaret Ann. Mr. Campbell on November 26, 1896, at Thornburg, Iowa, married Mrs. Lida M. (Dunn) Spiker, widow of John R. Spiker and a daughter of William and Minerva (Webb) Dunn. Her father was of Dutch and Irish and her mother of English ancestry. Mrs. Campbell by her first marriage has a son, Cecil Spiker Campbell, who lives at Oskaloosa and is married and has two children, Martha Louise and William Monroe. Mr. and Mrs. Campbell made the children of their early marriages completely their own and have had altogether a happy household of six children. The four children, born to their marriage were: Walter V. Henry W., Mildred L. and Mary Sue. All of them are university graduates and both daughters are members of the Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority. Walter V. Campbell is a physician and surgeon, now connected with Mercy Hospital at Oskaloosa, and was a lieutenant in the Medical Corps of the navy during the World war. He is married and has three children, named Robert V., John L. and Donald Keith. The son Henry W. Campbell is a salesman at Fairfield, Iowa. Mildred is the wife of F. P. Krebs and lives at Cleveland, Ohio, and Miss Mary Sue is a teacher in the high school at Fairfield, Iowa. Mr. Campbell and family are members of the Presbyterian Church, and his wife and daughters belong to the P. E. O. Sisterhood.
WALTER CANADAY was born in Albany County, New York, September 1, 1866, and in his youth attended the Union School at Gloversville, that state. Subsequently he pursued a course at Phillips-Exeter academy, at Exeter, New Hampshire, then completed his professional training by attending Harvard Law School, 1890-1891, and on May following he was admitted to the New York state bar, after an examination before the Supreme Court of the state, at Albany, New York. Mr. Canaday then came to Iowa and was admitted to practice in this state in October, 1891, choosing as his field of practice the City of Boone. His present offices are situated at 208 Boone National Bank Building.
Mr. Canaday is a member of the Boone County Bar Association, the Iowa State Bar Association and the American Bar Association. He served Boone in the office of county attorney from 1923 to 1926.
JOHN A. CANNING, who was born and reared in Monroe County, has been known by the people of that county for a quarter of a century as a banker at Albia, where he is president of the People's National Bank.
Mr. Canning was born in Monroe County September 20, 1874, son of Edward A. and Jane E. (Thompson) Canning. His parents were born in Ireland, and both were of the sturdy pioneer characteristics that meant so much to the institutions and the fabric of society of early Iowa. The mother died in 1918 and the father in 1916. Edward A. Canning came to the United States when a child with his mother and two sisters, in April, 1851. They first lived in Pennsylvania, but in November of the same year came to Iowa and settled in Monroe County, which was then well out toward the western frontier. He grew up under frontier conditions, and when the Civil war came entered the Union army and was promoted to first lieutenant of Company E of the Sixth Iowa Infantry. After the war he was a hard working and prosperous farmer. At one time he enjoyed the distinction of being the best speller in his community. Once a Methodist clergyman challenged him to a a spelling contest. The minister had previously won a match, in which he was awarded a book for the prize, and this book he offered as a prize to Edward A. Canning should he be successful. A match was arranged, attracted a large crowd, and Edward A. Canning finally spelled down the Methodist minister and was awarded the prize. The director of the contest and the man who called out the words was former Gov. Nathan E. Kendall, one of Albia's most highly distinguished citizens.
John A. Canning was educated in country schools and continued his education in Penn College at Oskaloosa, and later in Tarkio College, a United Presbyterian Church school in Missouri. He and his family are members of the Presbyterian Church at Albia. From early youth his ambition was to follow a career as a banker. His first important experience and training in finance came while he was employed by a large Omaha real estate, abstract and bond house.
Mr. Canning in 1905 returned to Albia and in 1912 was made cashier of the People's National Bank. Since 1923 he has been president of that solid and conservative institution.
Along with a successful career as a banker has gone a constant willingness and effort in civic affairs. For several years he was a member of the city school board, and is now active in the Albia Rotary Club. Among other interests, Mr. Canning owns two fine stock and grain farms north of Albia.
Mr. Canning married, October 13, 1904, Miss Henrietta H. Dinsmore, of Kirkville, Iowa, daughter of Dr. David C. and Cyrilla J. (Andrew) Dinsmore. Her father was a Union soldier for three years, being a captain in the First Iowa Cavalry, and was a pioneer doctor who practiced over an extensive territory. Doctor Dinsmore died November 9, 1921, at the age of ninety0one, and his wife passed away at Kirkville in June, 1921. Mrs. Canning has long been prominent in educational and social affairs at Albia. She is a past president of Chapter H. P. E. O., is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and for twenty-seven years belonged to General De Lafayette Chapter of Indiana, but has recently transferred her membership to the Albia organization. She is president of the Albia Woman's Club and a member of the board of trustees of the Albia Public Library.
Mr. and Mrs. Canning have one son, John A., Jr., born August 20, 1910. He was a member of the class of 1931 at Grinnell College, where he majored in journalism. Mr. Canning was managing editor of the Grinnell Scarlet and Black, student newspaper, president of the Iowa College Press Association, and an active participant in several organizations on the Grinnell campus. He also was a student at Culver Military Academy and the University of Iowa.
ESKIL C. CARLSON, an attorney of high standing and recognized professional ability, commands a large practice in Polk and surrounding counties, and the respect of his fellow citizens. He was born at Des Moines, March 14, 1885, a son of J. P. and Annie (Swanson) Carlson, both natives of Sweden, who located at Des Moines in 1868. For many years the father was in the grocery business at Des Moines, and he was well known in the local Republican party. He died in 1896. As a member of the Lutheran Church he was an active worker, and his widow is also a member of that church. Of the eight children born to them five are living, namely: F. E. who is a furniture dealer of Des Moines; C. E. who is also in the furniture business at Des Moines; A. J., who is in the plumbing business at Des Moines; Eskil C. whose name heads this review; and Lillie, who married F. E, Smith, who is in the leather findings business at Des Moines.
During the time he was attending the Des Moines public schools Eskil C. Carlson displayed abilities of such a character that his parents decided to encourage him in going further in his studies with the view of preparing himself for the legal profession. He consequently entered Drake University, following his graduation from high school, and was graduated from its law school in 1908, with the degree of Bachelor of Laws, and he took his degree of Master of Laws at Yale University in 1909. That same year he entered upon the practice of law at Des Moines, and a year later was made assistant city solicitor and in 1914, city solicitor. In 1916 he was elected municipal judge, but resigned from the bench in 1918 to go to France with the Young Men's Christian Association, and remained there for eleven months, being assigned to the Three Hundred and Fifteenth Infantry during his entire period of service. Returning to the United States in 1919, Judge Carlson resumed his practice, which he has since carried on. From 1925 to 1928 he again served as city solicitor. In all of the offices he has hold Judge Carlson has displayed rare ability, and an integrity that has awakened warm admiration. He is a member of the Polk County Bar Association, the Iowa State Bar Association and the American Bar Association. At present he is president of the Boys' Work Committee of the Lutheran Church, a director of Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois, and president of the Des Moines Young Men's Christian Association. Fraternally he belongs to the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. For several years he has been one of the members of the Grant Club. The Lutheran Church holds his membership, and h is on the finance committee of the Synod.
In 1915 Judge Carlson married Miss Helen O. Walder, born at Des Moines, a daughter of John Walder, for some years engaged in the transfer business in this city. Two children have been born to Judge and Mrs. Carlson, namely: Christine, who was born in February, 1917, and is attending the public schools of Des Moines; and Constance, who was born in 1926.
CHARLES WESLEY CARR, M. D., was a very able doctor during the active years of his practice, and his qualifications as a professional man are undiminished, though he has made every effort to give up the routine work of his profession. That has been rather difficult, since many residents of his home City of Denison learned to rely upon his skill years ago and profess an unwillingness to run the risk and inconvenience of seeking the services of an untried doctor.
Whether as a professional man or citizen Doctor Carr has earned and enjoyed a high degree of popularity. He was born in Macon County, Illinois, September 5, 1865. His father, Robert F. Carr, was also a medical man. He was born in Orange County, New York, graduated from the Albany Medical College, and while in college his instructor in anatomy was Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes, who it will be recalled was a physician, but is best known to fame and is beloved in later generations as a philosopher and poet. Doctor Carr came west to practice his profession and was engaged in his labors in Macon County, Illinois, until his death. He married Emily Snick, a native of Kentucky. She resides at Oak Park, Illinois, and celebrated her ninety-first birthday April 10, 1930.
Charles Wesley Carr grew up in Macon County, Illinois, was educated in public schools and the University of Illinois and in 1890 received his M. D. degree from Rush Medical College of Chicago. In the same year he came to Crawford County, Iowa, first practicing in Dow City, and in 1903 moved to Denison, the county seat. Doctor Carr kept up his active practice until a few years ago, and since then has given up his office and so far as possible devotes his time to his private affairs. For a number of years he has owned lands in Western Canada, including a large tract in Saskatchewan, which has been colonized. He was reared a Democrat, but has exercised an independent choice of candidate. He is a Royal Arch Mason, and in his career has developed a philosophy of life that is distinctly cheerful and optimistic.
Doctor Carr married, in 1893, Olivette Dorsey, a native of Dorsey, Illinois. He has one son, Vernon W., who married Cora Randolph. Doctor Carr's two grandchildren are Marie E. and Dorothy R. Vernon Carr is connected with the Crawford County Trust & Savings Bank of Denison. This bank was organized in March, 1927. Doctor Carr took an active part in the organization sand for the past three years has been president of the bank.
WALTER P. CARR is the secretary-treasurer and business officer of the John Fletcher College at University Park, Mahaska County. Mr. Carr is an ideal man for his office, has had extended business training and experience, and is devoted to the principals and ideals exemplified in the John Fletcher College.
He was born at Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, May 12, 1889, son of William H. and Nation (Bishop) Carr. His father was of Scotch-Irish ancestry. Mr. Carr attended the Saint Johnsbury Academy, and after gong into business continued his studies in and in 1916 received a diploma from the La Salle Extension University of Chicago. Mr. Carr for ten years was connected with the Dayton Department Store in Minneapolis.
While there he became interested in church and missionary courses, and in the summer of 1926 he accepted a call to a larger and more important service when he became secretary-treasurer and business officer of the John Fletcher College.
Mr. Carr is a local preacher of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Oskaloosa. He is a trustee of the Gospel Mission in Minneapolis and is treasurer of the Red Rock Park Camp Meeting Association at Minneapolis. he is also executive secretary of finance on the committee of Taylor University of Indiana. He is a member of the Oskaloosa Kiwanis Club.
He married, August 16, 1923, at Minneapolis, Miss Esther Hallberg, of that city. She is of Swedish ancestry, and a daughter of Fred and Wilhelminia Hallberg. Mrs. Carr was a worker in the Gospel Mission at Minneapolis when she met Mr. Carr. They have one son, Robert Walter Carr, and one daughter, Rosemary.
EDWARD J. CARROLL has to his credit a continuous working service as a lawyer in Davenport for over thirty years. He is a member of a notable firm of lawyers. Carroll Brothers, three of whom have been associated in their professional work since Edward J., the youngest member of the firm, qualified for practice.
Mr. Edward J. Carroll, who is a former president of the Davenport Chamber of Commerce, was born in Scott County, Iowa, June 19, 1874. His parents, James and Margaret (Galligan) Carroll, were natives of Ireland and both are now deceased. The father came to this country in the late '50s and the mother a few years later. James Carroll was born April 16, 1833, a son of Alexander Carroll, who first settled in Ohio. James Carroll moved out to Iowa in 1858 and settled on a farm in Le Claire, and was a substantial farmer in that community until he retired and moved to Clinton. There were four children in the family, three sons and one daughter, the latter now deceased. The sons are: A. E. Carroll, born January 22, 1866, W. H. Carroll, born April 16, 1869, and Edward J. Carroll.
All of the boys attended public schools in Princeton Township of Scott County, afterward went to the Northern Illinois Normal School at Dixon, and all of them are loyal alumni of the University of Iowa, where they completed their law courses, the oldest brother graduating in 1893, W. H. Carroll in 1894, at which time the law firm of Carroll Brothers was organized, and three years later Edward J. Carroll came into the partnership. In addition to the practice of law Carroll Brothers have given Davenport a complete service in abstract of titles since 1900.
Edward J. Carroll has taken part in outside civic affairs. He has been president of the Davenport Rotary Club and served as president of the Chamber of Commerce in 1927. He made a splendid head of that organization, and his administration was contemporary with a notable era of improvements and preparations for bigger and better things in Davenport. Mr. Carroll is a member of the Scott County, Iowa State and American Bar Associations, is a former grand knight of the Knights of Columbus, member of the B. P. O. Elks and the Catholic Church.
He married in 1904 Miss Lydia J. Keller, who was born in Clinton County, Iowa, where her people were pioneers. They have seven children. The oldest, Louis F., graduated in 1928 from the University of Iowa and was elected a member of the honorary scholarship fraternity Phi Beta Kappa. The younger children are Ruth M., James E., Edward A., Rose Janette, Richard J. and Robert W.
ANDROS CARSON, M. D. The work of the physicians and surgeons of Des Moines is attracting wide-spread attention because of the high ability of the professional men and the conscientiousness with which they devote themselves to their calling. One of these men of more than average prestige is Dr. Andros Carson, who inherits many of the sturdy characteristics of his forebears, North of Ireland people, although he and his parents are all American born.
The birth of Doctor Carson took place at Steubenville, Ohio, and he is a son of William and Miriam (Guess) Carson, natives of Ohio, both now deceased. In 1865 they migrated to Illinois, where the father bought land and was long a farmer. Of the twelve children born to him and his wife Doctor Carson is the seventh in order of birth. The parents were members of the United Presbyterian Church, and he was an Odd Fellow in fraternal affiliations and a Republican in politics.
Doctor Carson attended the Cissna High School, Illinois, after which he took his medical work in Rush Medical College, and was graduated therefrom with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. Immediately thereafter he entered upon the practice of medicine at Elliott, Iowa, and remained there for ten years, building up a large and widely spread practice. In 1904 he came to Des Moines, and here he has since carried on a general medical practice, advancing steadily in the confidence of the public.
In 1890 Doctor Carson married Miss Sarah Miller, born in Illinois and educated in Drake University. Prior to her marriage she was a teacher, and Doctor Carson was also a teacher, earning the money to pay his way through college as an educator. Three children have been born to Doctor and Mrs. Carson, namely: Russell, who was educated in Drake University and the University of Illinois, is now at Chicago and in the employ of the appliances department of the Commonwealth Edison Company; Lela, who was educated at Drake University and Northwestern University, is living at home and serving as secretary to the University Church of Christ; and Mildred, who was educated at Drake University and Northwestern University is a talented violinist and plays for church and other services. She married Wesley Blades, an attorney of Chicago. Doctor Carson and his family belong to the University Church of Christ and he served on its Official Board for twenty-four years. Fraternally he affiliates with the Masons and Modern Woodmen, and he belongs to the University Club, the Polk County Medical Society, the Iowa State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. While living at Elliott, Iowa, Doctor Carson served as president of the Montgomery County Medical Society. His practice is an exacting one, and consumes all of his time, so that he has not been able to participate actively in civic affairs, although he is deeply interested in everything that affects the welfare of Des Moines and its environs.
JOHN THEODORE CARSTENSEN has for many years rendered a valuable service to the cause of education and the City of Clinton. He is business manager and secretary of the public schools of that city.
Mr. Carstensen was born in Germany, January 2, 1870. His parents, Carsen and Marie Louise (Hansen) Carstensen, arrived in New York in 1881 and the following year settled at Clinton, Iowa. Their son Jacob, now living in British Columbia, made several prospecting trips to the gold fields of Alaska, and his partner on those ventures was a Mr. Sankey, a nephew of the famous Sankey of Moody and Sankey, evangelists and hymn writers. Two other sons of the family, Ernest and Henry J., are both deceased. The two daughters are Lena, wife of Julius Weise, of Alberta, Canada, and Katherine, Mrs. Charles Kohler, of Clinton.
John Theodore Carstensen attended school in Germany an din Clinton and pursued technical and advance courses in the University of Illinois at Rubana and the University of Chicago. Mr. Carstensen at an early age began mastering the wood-working trade. When he was sixteen years of age he entered the shops of the Curtis Brothers at Clinton, and except for two years was with that organization until 1903. Mr. Carstensen in 1903 was elected a member of the State Legislature, serving in the Thirtieth and Thirty-first General Assemblies.
In 1906 he was chosen manual training teacher of the Clinton schools, and it was largely under his able direction that the manual training course was developed as an integral part of the educational system. He continued as director of the manual training for fifteen years. In 1923 he became business manager of the Clinton schools and has held that office for the past six years. In 1927 he was also elected secretary of the school board, and has combined that work with is office as business manager since the death of the former secretary of the board. Mr. Carstensen for the past eight years has also been president of the Clinton Public Library board.
He is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, and a member of the German Benevolent and Educational Society.
He married, in 1897, Miss Mattie Scharnweber. She died in 1903 and later he married her sister, Anna Scharnweber. Mrs. Carstensen is a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Scharnweber, the latter now deceased. Her father, now eighty-five years of age, was for many years a millwright with the firm of C. Lamb & Son at Clinton.
HON. HORACE HERON CARTER, judge of the Third Judicial District of Iowa, has done his work well, whether as a practicing attorney, public official or on the bench, and is respected for his character, his learning and for abilities that have steadily improved with his varied experience.
Judge Carter was born in Jefferson County, Iowa, July 25, 1869, a son of Mark F. and Deborah (Heron) Carter. His father was born in Maine, April 15, 1838. He was twenty years of age when he came to Iowa and settled in Jefferson County in 1858. He taught school after coming to Iowa, and was a soldier of the Civil war in Company E of the Second Iowa Infantry. For many years he followed the occupation of merchant and miller. His wife, Deborah Heron, was born in Pennsylvania, of Scotch ancestry. The Heron family came to Iowa and settled in Jefferson County in 1857.
Horace Heron Carter is one of the honored alumni of Iowa Wesleyan University at Mount Pleasant. He studied law with Judge W. S. Withrow, later a justice of the Iowa Supreme Court. For two years he acted as clerk to Judge John S. Woolson of the United States District Court. He was also for two years associated with Lewis Miles, former United States district attorney. Judge Carter practiced law at Mount Pleasant from 1900 until 1903. In the latter year he removed to Corydon, which has been his home since that date. He was county attorney of Wayne County from 1905 to 1909. In 1917 he became associated with Attorney General H. M. Havner of Des Moines. Governor Kendall in June, 1924, elevated Mr. Carter to his present position on the district bench.
Judge Carter married at Corydon, September 28, 1905, Miss Winifred Miles. Mrs. Carter is an Iowa woman known for her civic and political activities all over the state. She is a daughter of Lewis and Mary D. (Robb) Miles. Her father, Lewis Miles, was for over forty years recognized as one of the outstanding members of the Iowa bar and held some of the most important offices in the line of his profession. He was born in Ohio, June 30, 1845, and was eight years of age when, in April, 1853, his parents, William and Emily (Welch) Miles, moved to Iowa. His father secured a tract of land from the Government, and part of the City of Corydon is located on the old Miles homestead. The Old Miles homestead, a beautiful residence reflecting the old time ideas of comfort and also bespeaking culture and refinement, was built half a century ago. At that time it was practically a country home but is now in the central part of Corydon. The home today is occupied by Judge and Mrs. Carter. Lewis Miles for thirteen years was United States district attorney for the Southern Iowa District. He served in that office under three presidents, Harrison, McKinley and Roosevelt. He was highly regarded for his knowledge of the law, and his interests also extended to a wide range of literature, his library being notable both for its size and the taste for good literature exhibited in its selection. Lewis Miles had been a resident of Wayne County for seventy years. He passed away at the age of seventy-six. He was always a staunch Republican.
Mrs. Lewis Miles is another occupant of the old Miles home at Corydon. She was born in Illinois and was brought by her parents to Wayne County in 1855. During her life time she has seen this section of the state develop from a portion of the frontier. She was one of the earnest and early workers in teh Iowa suffrage movement and has also been prominent in the Woman's Christian Temperance Union. She is now at the age of seventy-seven, still active and in touch with the varied interests of the world about her.
Mrs. Carter was educated in the Conservatory of Music of Iowa Wesleyan University, where she graduated, and she also studied in Northwestern University in Illinois. She has been active in club work, and is especially well known among the woman leaders of the Republican party. She was a member of the state central committee in 1920, was elector at large in 1924, and in 1928 was chosen a delegate at large to the Kansas City national convention. She represented Iowa at the formal notification of Mr. Hoover at Palo Alto, California, in 1928. Mrs. Carter organized the Wayne County Chapter of D. A. R. and was chairman of the resolutions committee of the Federation of Women's Clubs of Iowa.
DAVIS S. CHAMBERLAIN was born in Iowa, June 25, 1848. His home for many years has been at Des Moines. he was president for fifty years of the Chamberlain Medicine Company and its subsidiaries over the world. Among his surviving contemporaries he is one of the few who came in direct contact with the historic developments of the Middle and far West in the years immediately following the close of the Civil war. At this place it is possible only to sketch briefly and suggest a few of his contacts with the epoch making activities of his time.
He is a son of William and Rachel V. (Davis) Chamberlain, who were married in Linn County, Iowa, in 1840. The Chamberlain family came from England in 1640, settled in Massachusetts, and from New England their descendants have scattered all over the United States. Mr. Chamberlain's great-grandfather had an older brother, Enoch, who raised a company, became its captain and took part in the battle of Bunker Hill, in which there were sixteen other representatives of the Chamberlain family. The Davis family were Vermonters and they likewise were represented in the Revolution. In the maternal line were also the Whitleys, a Colonial and Revolutionary war family. Mr. Chamberlain's great-grandfather Whitley moved out to Indiana and settled at Terre Haute.
William Chamberlain was born in Massachusetts, October 4, 1811, and came to Iowa in pioneer times. He married, after coming to the state, Rachel V. Davis who was born in Indiana, May 22, 1822. William Chamberlain died in 1857 and his widow survived him more than half a century, passing away in 1909. William Chamberlain acquired 400 acres of the rich land o Lynn County and 200 acres in Benton County. He was a man of good business judgment, thrifty, and when his estate was settled there was not a single debt. He was a Democrat until the time of Fremont in 1856, and in that election supported the Republican ticket. His wife was a member of the Dunkard Church. He served as one of the first justices of the peace in Lynn County. There were six children and the two now living are: Davis S. and Miss Izanna, who lives with her brother in Des Moines.
Davis S. Chamberlain was nine years old when his father died. His early life was spent on an Iowa farm, with advantages in the country schools, and farm work gave him his chief experience until he was sixteen. For three months he attended Cornell College at Mount Vernon, Iowa, and he has been hears to say that while in college he learned to play a good game of "seven up."
His adventures in the great West began in 1865, when he crossed the plains on horseback as a member of a large party and every fourth night he stood guard. One night his revolver exploded, while striking his knee, and for nine months he had to remain in Salt Lake City recuperating from the wound. In 1866 he went up into Montana, getting a job, at six dollars a day, the day after he reached there and worked in the placer gold mines of that state until the latter part of October. He then went to Fort Benton, joined a party of thirty men starting the voyage down the Missouri River on a flat boat, and they were twenty-six days on the trip, much of which was made through hostile Indian country. After landing at Sioux City, Iowa, Mr. Chamberlain took a stage to Council Bluffs. At that time the railroad from Council Bluffs to Sioux City was in process of construction. At Council Bluffs he put up at the Pacific Hotel, then one of the best in the West. On his trip down the Missouri River one of his companions was James Beard, who had married a sister of General Dodge. From Council Bluffs Mr. Chamberlain came on to Des Moines, and after a couple of weeks traveled to Boone in a stage coach body set on a bob sled. Going back to Cedar Rapids, he spent the following two and a half years farming with his brother-in-law, Charles Weeks.
In the spring of 1869 he again started for the great West. The Union Pacific Railroad was nearing completion. On reaching Corinne, Utah, Mr. Chamberlain bought an interest in a ferry and for several months operated it. On May 10, 1869, he was invited by Gen. P. Edward Connor to accompany his party to witness the driving of the golden spike commemorating the connection between the Union Pacific and the Central Pacific from California. The engine of the Union Pacific was a coal burner, while the California engine was a wood burner. Mr. Chamberlain is undoubtedly one of the last survivors of the witnesses of that historic occasion marking the completion of the first transcontinental highway, a scene that has been again and again pictured and described. It was at this celebration that Mr. Chamberlain had his first meeting with General Dodge, and they were personal friends as long as the general lived. Mr. Chamberlain then equipped himself for the gold rush to Idaho, where he spent the rest of the summer, then going on to Portland, Oregon. The entire distance from his start from Iowa until he reached Oregon was covered on horseback. In Oregon he worked for a time in the drug store of S. G. Skidmore. At Salem, Oregon, he spent seven months with the Pioneer Linseed Oil Company. At Portland he took a steamer for San Francisco, the boat having 400 passengers and was three and one-third days on the way. One of his companions was Governor Woods, who had been governor of Oregon and later was appointed governor of Utah by General Grant. In California Mr. Chamberlain outfitted for Arizona, buying two rifles and plenty of ammunition and laying in a stock of cheap jewelry, which he traded at a profit to the Mexicans. On the way he passed through Los Angeles, then a town of about 3,000 people, mostly Mexicans. In Arizona he acquired a half interest in a blacksmith and wagon shop and he also cashed time checks o the Vulture Mining Company. When he left Arizona, in the fall, he sold his cabin for $150, on credit. A stage carried him to Los Angeles and the stage that immediately followed was fired upon, seven of the nine passengers being killed. It was on this stage journey, while camped one night in Arizona, that the news arrived of the great Chicago fire of October, 1871. On the night Mr. Chamberlain reached Los Angeles there occurred a great riot, resulting in the hanging o f eighteen Chinamen. From Los Angeles he made the trip up the coast to San Francisco by steamer and then went inland to Salt Lake City, and here he worked for the last time on a salary basis, for his former acquaintance Gen. Edward P. Connor, who was town site promoter. He was engaged as general manager of some of Connor's operations during the next nine months.
Mr. Chamberlain then engaged in the stage business, acquiring 300 head of horses and a large amount of equipment, and he used fifty-four horses regularly in operating the stage line from Ophir to Salt Lake. This was his business for three years. The stage fare over his route was five dollars and stages were run daily and by contract carried mail and Wells Fargo express.
After leaving the stage business Mr. Chamberlain went to Los Angeles and was in the grocery business in that city until 1878. However, he made another Arizona venture, in the new mining camp at Tombstone, where he put men to work securing a water supply, and conducted a profitable business for a time, selling water at two dollars a barrel. The largest mine in the district was the Contention, a million dollar property, and Mr. Chamberlain and the mine manager, a Mr. Ogden, lived together, hiring a cook, and they utilized their leisure in many enjoyable hunting excursions.
In 1872 Mr. Chamberlain's brother Lowell had started a patent medicine business at Marion, Iowa, and Mr. Chamberlain bought one-half of the business of his brother Lowell Chamberlain and in 1880 moved it to Des Moines. His brother died at Pasadena, California, in 1922.
Forty years ago this was a very modest enterprise, and it has been the result of the Chamberlain brothers' genius as manufacturers and business promoters that the Chamberlain Medicine Company has grown to be one of the largest patent medicine concerns in the United States. This business was sold March 1, 1930, to William R. Warner Company, of New York City, who also have an establishment at St. Louis, Missouri, to which plant they removed the medicinal part of the Chamberlain business. The laboratory equipment and real estate were reserved, and are now occupied by the Chamberlain Laboratories, manufacturers of the famous Chamberlain Hand Lotion and other cosmetic articles.
Mr. Chamberlain married in 1874 Juliet Cooley, daughter of Judge Cooley, of Utah. She died in October, 1878, leaving one child, Dr. L. H. Chamberlain, who is a graduate of the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. He is a reserve captain in teh chemical warfare division at Washington. For a time he practiced medicine in Denver but is now actively associated with his father's business. Doctor Chamberlain married Gertrude Moritz, of Riverside, New Jersey, and they have a son, Davis S., II, and a daughter, Juliet. Davis S., II married Helen Staib, of East Orange, New Jersey, and Juliet is the wife of Horace Haight, of Des Moines. Davis s., II, and wife have a son Davis S., III, and Juliet, a daughter, named Gertrude Virginia.
In 1892 Mr. Chamberlain married Lydia C. Roberts, of Jefferson, Iowa. There were no children by this marriage. She died in 1922.
Mr. Chamberlain has long been active in Masonry and was largely instrumental in securing the establishment of the Scottish Rite Consistory at Des Moines, and in recognition of his services the supreme honorary thirty-third degree was conferred upon him. He did his first voting as a Democrat but is now a staunch Republican. He had charge of the relief work in the State of Iowa for Mr. Hoover, then in charge of the Belgian relief situation. Mr. Chamberlain was the executive chairman of the Belgian Relief Association of Iowa, and as such it was mainly through his untiring efforts that the association secured from the people in every county of the state their liberal and patriotic support which resulted in a contribution of 156 car loads of food, which was all delivered in New York City, free of any freight charges by the railroads.
WILLIAM OLIVER CHAMBERS was an early resident of Des Moines County, where he established his home and reared his family. His widow, Mrs. Chambers, has for many years been a resident of Burlington, where she carried on a business for a number of years.
William Oliver Chambers was born in Rome, Lawrence County, Ohio, January 1, 1842, son of Robert and Rebecca (Little) Chambers. He was educated in his native state and in 1861 came out to Iowa and bought land at Danville in Des Moines County.
On October 5, 1869, he married Eliza Marie Reese. The late Mr. Chambers was secretary of Danville Lodge of Masons for many years. He was a practical farmer, and followed farming until his death on February 5, 1881.
Mr. and Mrs. Chambers were married at Champaign, Illinois. Mrs. Chambers was born in Rome, Lawrence County, Ohio, March 7, 1853, daughter of Walter and Julia Ann (Gorrell) Reese, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of West Virginia, and a granddaughter of George W. and Sarah Reese, natives of New York State, and Levi and Rebecca (Leetz) Gorrell, the former a native of France and the latter of Massachusetts.
Mrs. Chambers at the death of her husband had a farm of eighty acres and two small children. She rented the farm and subsequently moved to Danville, where for eighteen years she carried on a dressmaking establishment After removing to Burlington, in 1910, she represented the Buckley Dress Goods Company for seventeen years. Her home is at 229 South Tenth Street. She is a member of the Eastern Star Chapter, and active in the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Mrs. Chambers became the mother of four children, Clarence, Harry, George and Albert. The only one now living is Harry, a resident of Los Angeles, California. Mrs. Chambers had one grandson and two granddaughters and three great-granddaughters.
ALFRED L. CHANTRY. Well established in the practice
of law at Sidney, Fremont County, is Alfred L. Chantry, a citizen of high
standing. A man of sound and practical knowledge of the law and its various
perplexities, his legal ability has been so generally recognized from the start
that many of the most important cases of litigation in Fremont County during the
past few years have been placed in his hands and have been satisfactorily
disposed of. He is able to name among his clients many corporations and banks,
together with personalities widely known in business circles throughout the
state, and his practice is correspondingly large and important.
Alfred L. Chantry was born in Page County, Iowa, February 20, 1870, and is a son of Allen J. and Harriet (Rains) Chantry. His paternal grandfather, Thomas Chantry, was born in England, of Quaker stock, and was a man of splendid intellectual abilities. At the age of twenty-one years he immigrated to the United States and first was a resident of Pennsylvania, where he married, and later pushed on to Iowa, settling on a farm near Salem. Later he lived in Henry County and finally went to Guthrie County, where he reared his family on a farm and died at the age of sixty-two years, highly respected by all who knew him. He was a man of education, who had taught school when he was twenty-one years of age, and therefore was able to assist his own sons greatly in securing their educational training. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Chantry, Henry Rains, was born in North Carolina, and as a young man went to Sedalia, Missouri, where he purchased land. Being a strong abolitionist, he found himself in bad favor with the supporters of slavery in Missouri, and in 1858 moved to Iowa, where he had purchased land two years before. There he rounded out his life in the pursuits of the soil.
Allen J. Chantry was born near Salem, Henry County, Iowa, in 1841, and although the family was of staunch Quaker stock and people of peace, on the day he was twenty-one years of age he enlisted in the Union army for service during the war between the states, and was elected lieutenant of his company. During his three years of service he rose to the rank of captain, through gallant service, although he was always known as "Colonel," due to the fact that at the close of the civil war he was offered a commission as colonel if he would remain in the regular army, a position he declined.
A Republican in politics, he was one of the most active men of his day and community in public affairs. He was sent to the State Legislature from Page County in 1874 and served one term, and in 1886 was sent to the same body from Mills County and served two terms, later serving in the State Senate from 1890 to 1894. Among his political friends were Governor J. W. Grimes, Governor Kirkwood, Albert B. Cummins, and General Dodge, and was a personal friend of Judge George Wright, John Henry Gear and united States Senator William Boyd Allison. Mr. Chantry was always identified with the movements promulgated for the betterment and advancement of his community. During the greater part of his life he was a farmer and a progressive one. His first farm was owned in Page County, where he settled after the war, in 1865, and accumulated 460 acres of land. In 1882 he moved to Mills County where he purchased the homestead of his wife's parents, and there resided until his retirement, when he went to Ocean Side, California, and there died January 20, 1927. He was a member of the Masons and Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Near Malvern, Iowa, Mr. Chantry was united in marriage with Miss Harriet Rains, who was born near Sedalia, and they became the parents of seven children: Marcus H., who is engaged in the real estate business at Omaha, Nebraska; Warren, who is a farmer and stock raiser at Oklahoma; Alfred L., of this review; Lillian C., the wife of Henry C. Beattie, of Malvern, Iowa; F.R., who is engaged in farming near Malvern; Elsie, the wife of Thomas H. Blaylock, a merchant of Pasadena, California; and Allen J., a commander in the United States navy.
Alfred L. Chantry attended the country schools near his father's farm and the high school at Malvern, following which he entered the law department of the University of Iowa, from which he was graduated with a degree of Bachelor of Laws as a member of the class of 1892. Admitted to practice the same year, for two years he was engaged in his profession at Bedford, Iowa, in association with J.P. Flick, and then for a time was located at Malvern. After spending two years at Tabor he was elected county attorney in the fall of 1904, and served in that capacity for two years. Mr. Chantry has been engaged in practice at Sidney since 1904, and has been county attorney of Fremont County on two different occasions. He has a high standing in his profession and is a member of the Iowa Bar Association and the American Bar Association. Mr. Chantry has always been active in Republican politics and wields a strong influence in his party. Aside from his profession he takes the greatest interest in farming and stock raising, being the owner of 225 acres of land, on which he carries on general farming and the raising of Shorthorn cattle. With his family he belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church, and his religious benevolences are numerous. Fraternally he belongs to the Masons and the Knights of Pythias.
In 1892 Mr. Chantry was united in marriage with Miss Catherine Kline, who died in 1915, leaving nine children, all of whom are living: Paul, who resides at home and assists his father; W. O., who like his brother, Paul, went through the World war and served in France, Paul being in the army and through the Argonne sector and with the Army of Occupation in Germany, while W. O. served in the navy four four years and is now an electrical engineer at Binghamton, New York; Ione, the wife of J.D. Ross, Jr., engaged in farming near Shenandoah, Iowa; Lillian, the wife of W.F. Haning, an agriculturist ofAnderson, Iowa; Mildred, the wife of J. L. Rhode, a farmer and mechanic of Tabor, Iowa; William K., of Marengo, Iowa, a civil engineer employed as a county highway engineer by the State Highway Commission; Alfred L, Jr., and engineer employed by the Nebraska and Iowa Service Company at Maryville, Missouri; F. Archie, formerly of the United States navy, and now employed as a wholesale merchant at Binghamton, New York; and Allen J., employed by the Iowa and Nebraska Service Company for five years at Malvern, Iowa. In June, 1917, Mr. Alfred L. Chantry married Effie Crandal, daughter of Silas and Melvina Crandal. She was born and educated in Fremont County, Iowa, and from this union has been born one daughter, Harriet Melvina, born December 3, 1918.
MARCUS N. CHANTRY. Of the notable pioneer residents of Guthrie County still surviving, or among those who have passed beyond the bounds of temporal existence, the lives of few have been so bounteously lengthened by a gracious Providence as to afford them a retrospective view of three-score years and ten of their own participation in the development of the county. Such is, however, a distinguishing feature in the experience of Marcus N. Chantry, whose life in the vicinity of the spot where he still makes his home, near Casey, spans a period of seventy-five years.
Mr. Chantry was born on a pioneer farm in Henry County, Iowa, August 19, 1847, and is a son of Thomas and Hannah (Passmore) Chantry. Thomas Chantry was born in Lincolnshire, England, February 27, 1795, a son of David and Elizabeth (Rees) Chantry. He was given good educational advantages in his youth, including a course at Ackworth Academy, England, and was by nature gifted with an open, honest purpose, being strong and rugged in his convictions. In 1816 he immigrated to this country, arriving at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and six years later moved to Chester County, that state, where he farmed for five years. In 1827 he made another migration, this time to Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, continuing to make that his home until 1837, when he came to the West and located on unimproved land in Van Buren County, Iowa. In 1847 he moved to Henry County, and in 1855 settled in section 22, Thompson Township, Guthrie County, where he put up his humble log cabin, and continued to pass the remainder of his life on the farm which he had laid out in the wilderness and upon which he died in November, 1864. Mr. Chantry was a man of no ordinary talent and ability, and was esteemed by all with whom he came into contact because of his many sterling traits of mind and heart. In his younger days an indefatigable worker, he devoted his declining years to literary labor, in which he showed marked ability. Religious subjects occupied his pen principally, and he left as no small legacy to his children a large amount of valuable manuscript. On December 12, 1822, in Chester County, Pennsylvania, Mr. Chantry was united in marriage with Miss Hannah Passmore, a daughter of Thomas and Esther (Dickinson) Passmore, a direct descendant of one of the most illustrious families of the state, that was founded in this country in 1664 and settled in the colony then presided over by the Quaker William Penn. To Mr. and Mrs. Chantry there were born ten children: Sarah, Eliza, William A. Samuel B., Esther P., Thomas E., David L., Joseph A., Hannah M. and Marcus N.
Samuel B. Chantry, son of Thomas and Hannah (Passmore) Chantry, and one of the prominent men of Thompson Township, was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, November 13, 1829. When seven years of age he accompanied his parents to Van Buren County, Iowa, and later to Henry County, where he remained for ten years. There he began working out, and with the money thus earned entered eighty acres of land in Warren County, in 1853. In December, 1855, he entered 160 acres of land in Grant Township, Guthrie County, but continued to reside in Warren County until 1859, when he removed to his Guthrie County property, where he continued to make his home until his death, April 18, 1912. On May 9, 1860, Mr. Chantry married Miss Sarah E. Coleman, a native of Indiana, and they had seven children who survived infancy: Jennie, the wife of H. W. Grieve; Thomas, Allen, Nettie, Arbie, Rhonda, and Robert. One child, Hattie, died in infancy.
Marcus N. Chantry was about three years of age when he moved with his parents to Lee County, where he spent five years, the family then taking up permanent residence in Guthrie County. Mr. Chantry resided with his father until the elder man's death in 1864, at which time he embarked upon agricultural operations of his own, and still resides on the old homestead, through which runs Middle River. He has a valuable and highly improved property, upon which operations are carried on in the most modern manner, and he is accounted one of the substantial men and public-spirited citizens of his locality.
On January 1, 1870, Mr. Chantry was united in marriage with Miss Amanda L. Danks, who was born in Lee County, Iowa, a daughter of J. O. Danks, and to this union there have been born five children: John, Eva, Jessie and Bessie, twins, and Chester. The wife and mother of these children died February 18, 1930.
EDWARD A. CHAPPELL is secretary and business manager of the Iowa City Press-Citizen and thus functions in an influential way in the executive direction of an old-established and now thoroughly metropolitan newspaper in the fair city that is the judicial center of Johnson County and the seat of the University of Iowa.
Mr. Chappell is able to claim the Badger State as the place of his nativity, his birth having occurred at Wukwonago, Wisconsin, November 14, 1886. There he continued his studies in the public schools until he was graduated, in 1904, in the high school, he having been president of his class in its senior year and having been a member of the baseball team and the debating team of the high school. He thereafter was a student in the liberal arts department of Wheaton College, at Wheaton, Illinois, until impaired health necessitated his retirement from the institution. Thereafter he reinforced himself by application to farm work until 1906, when he resumed his studies, by entering Lake Forest College, at Lake Forest, Illinois. In this institution he was graduated as a member of the class of 1909 and with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. At this college he served as president of the Athenian Literary Society and was editor of the Stentor, the college paper. After leaving college Mr. Chappell became a teacher in the high school at Viroqua, Wisconsin, and in the following year he initiated service in the high school at Baraboo, that state, where he was teacher of English, a subject in which he had majored at Lake Forest College. At Baraboo he served also as director of high school athletics. In 1911 Mr. Chappell became head of the department of English in the high school at Iowa City, and also coach of the debating team. He was one of the efficient and popular teachers in this high school until 1913, when he turned from the pedagogic to the journalistic profession by associating himself with the Iowa City Press, in which he gave service in both advertising and editorial departments. He has been advertising manager of this representative Iowa paper fully thirteen years, and since January, 1927, he has here held the dual executive office of secretary and business manager of the Iowa City Press-Citizen, besides having simultaneously become a stockholder and director of the publishing company. Mr. Chappell has been a loyal and influential member of the local Kiwanis Club, of which he was secretary four years, a director two years, and its president in 1927. He is vice president and a director of the Iowa City Chamber of Commerce, and he has membership in the Newspaper Advertising Executives Association, Inc., the Inland Daily Press Association and the Iowa Press Association. His political allegiance is given to the Democratic party and he is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity. In the World war period he was registered for but not called to military service, and was active and loyal in local patriotic movements and enterprises. October 10, 1914, recorded his marriage to Miss Edith Burge, of Iowa City, and both are active in the social and cultural circles of their home community. They have no children.
Mr. Chappell is a son of William and Caroline (Slack) Chappell, the former of whom was born in Houghton Conquest, England, and the latter in Waukesha County, Wisconsin, their home being now maintained near Greensboro, Guilford County, North Carolina. William Chappell, a scion of a family that has for many generations been concerned with farm industry near Bedford, England, was a child of three years when his parents thence came to the United States, in 1857, and became pioneer settlers in Waukesha County, Wisconsin, in which state they passed the remainder of their lives. The active career of William Chappell was one of close and successful association with the basic industries of agriculture and stock-growing, and he was numbered among the honored and influential citizens of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, until his removal to North Carolina, where he has since lived. He gave more than thirty years of service as a member and the clerk of the school board of his district in Waukesha County, and was a trustee of the local Congregational Church, both he and his wife having long been devoted members of this religious body. Of the eight children in the family four are living, the subject of this review being the eldest of the four; George E. is a resident of the Greensboro community in North Carolina; Mrs. Daisy Agard resides at Elkhorn, Wisconsin; and Mrs. Charles Gilchrist is a resident of Greensboro, North Carolina.
CHARITON PUBLIC LIBRARY. Probably no other institution is a better index of the cultural standards and activities of a community than its public library. In this respect Chariton is justly proud of the building and the service represented in its free public library.
A group of public spirited citizens made a determined campaign and organized a library in 1900. For three years the collection of books was housed in a downtown building. Help was obtained from the Carnegie Library Fund to the extent of $12,000, and with this, supplemented by the provision for grounds and the maintenance by local taxation, a splendid new library building was completed. The library has been in a very proper sense the civic center of Chariton. In its club rooms public meetings are held several times a week, being used by the Woman's Club and other organizations of a civic nature.
The library itself comprises about 15,000 volumes, including 2,500 well selected reference books. The best gauge of a library's usefulness is its circulation, and the Chariton Public Library has an annual circulation of 41,000. Besides the books the library takes in about fifty periodicals. The librarian since 1920 has been Mrs. Ida R. Leonard, a woman devoted to her work, cultured and highly educated. The library takes special pride in the work of its children's department.
CHARITON PUBLIC SCHOOLS. The school system of Chariton represents an institution in the aggregate of which the community is justly proud, and provides educational opportunities for about 1,500 students. Of these approximately 500 are in the high school department, and about a hundred are graduated annually, ready to go on to college or take up practical careers. The high school building was erected in 1922, at a cost of about $250,000. The high school is fully accredited, being a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Preparatory Schools. The Chariton school system employs fifty-six teachers. Since 1927 a two year junior college has been in operation, and it is also fully accredited by the state's higher institutions of learning.
MATHEW U. CHESIRE, M. D. Few of the surgeons of Marshalltown have attained in greater degree the confidence and respect that is the portion of Dr. Mathew U. Chesire, and which have attracted to him a large and remunerative practice. He has a gentle touch and steady nerve, which, amid the excitement and responsibility of a delicate surgical operation, carries the knife unerringly to the nicest line of safety, dividing almost "the soul from the spirit." With this rare combination of qualities he has an enthusiasm for his calling, not for personal success as for truth and duty, which enables him to concentrate all his powers upon a case in hand, and exhaust all the resources of skill and knowledge at his command.
Doctor Chesire was born at Anamosa, Iowa, May 25, 1870, and is a son of Mathew and Margaret (Heir) Chesire. His father was born in England and was seven years of age when brought by his parents to the United States, the family settling at Troy, New York, and later moving to Dubuque, Iowa. Mathew Chesire received his education in this state, and when a youth, in the '50s, encouraged by the tales of sudden wealth to be found in the gold fields of California, he made the trip to that state, where he was engaged in a variety of employments, finally returning to Iowa in 1865 and settling at Anamosa, where his death occurred in 1913. Mathew Chesire married at Sinsinawa, Grant County, Wisconsin, Miss Margaret Heir, who was born in Ireland and came to the United States in young womanhood.
Mathew U. Chesire attended the public schools of Anamosa, and after graduation fro the high school, at the age of eighteen years, entered St. Joseph's College, Dubuque, Iowa, where he spent four years and was graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Subsequently he became a student at the famous Rush Medical College, Chicago, Illinois, where he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine after four years of attendance. He spent an internship of one year at St., Joseph's Hospital, Chicago, and in 1898 settled permanently at Marshalltown, where he has since built up an excellent practice and established himself firmly among the leading men of his calling. He carried on a general practice in medicine and surgery until 1913, since when he has devoted himself entirely to surgical work, a field in which he has acquired a reputation that extends far beyond the bounds of his immediate field of practice. He is a member of the Marshall County Medical Society, the Iowa State Medical Society, the Des Moines Academy of Medicine and the American Medical Association. He takes a keen interest in civic affairs and is a past president of the Marshalltown Rotary Club and a member of the Chamber of Commerce, belonging also to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the Knights of Columbus. The professional engrossment of Doctor Chesire has left him little time for the indulgence of his social gifts. The busy doctor is cut off from many of the recreations which freshen and inspire the lives of other men. However, when the occasion offers he is the most genial of men, and the social circles where he sometimes appears are cheered and delighted by his presence, he being particularly popular as a member and as a past president of the Elmwood Country Club.
On October 22, 1907, at Chicago, Illinois, Doctor Chesire was united in marriage with Miss Martha T. Nelson, of Lansing, Iowa, who at the time of her marriage was engaged in teaching school at Marshalltown. Her father, a native of Norway, was a lawyer by profession and followed his career at Lansing, Iowa, for many years, with great success. He was also prominent in public affairs and served a mayor of Lansing longer than any other man who held that office. Of the children of Doctor and Mrs. Chesire two are living: Marie N., born in 1909, who is attending Georgetown University; and Louise M., born in 1910, a student at the same institution. Mrs. Chesire is active in local affairs and is a member of the Iowa State Historical Society. The pleasant family home is located at 711 Main Street, while Doctor Chesire's commodious and well-appointed offices are in the Masonic Temple at Marshalltown.
FRANK W. CHOATE, newspaper publisher at Glenwood, Mills County, was born in that section of Iowa, and has long been one of the community's ablest and most influential citizens.
Mr. Choate was born at Glenwood, Mills County, June 9, 1868, an adopted son of Wayne and Elizabeth (McBride) Choate. His father was born in Milan, Ohio, and his mother at Youngstown in the same state. The family came to Iowa in 1860, and they were married in Cass County, this state. Wayne Choate drove across the country in a wagon. He was a tinner by trade, and when he left Ohio his intention was to go to New Orleans, but was diverted from that course on account of the cholera epidemic. At Davenport he was engaged in the hardware business and later was a hardware merchant in Iowa City. For a time he was in the freighting business over the plains to Denver, and in 1864 established his home at Glenwood. For many years he was one of the most successful farmers of Mills County. He died in 1912 and his wife in 1918. She was a member of the Presbyterian Church. Wayne Choate was a Republican and at one time served at township trustee.
Frank W. Choate attended common schools in Mills County and for twenty-five years his chief business was farming and cattle raising. He started with a few hand of scrub cattle and eventually had a stock farm widely known as the home of some of the best pure bred stock in this part of the state.
Mr. Choate has been in the newspaper business since 1919, when he bought the Glenwood Opinion. Later he acquired the Tribune, and consolidated the two papers under the name Opinion-Tribune. This is the leading paper of Mills County, enjoying a circulation of 3,200 copies. The business is carried on as the Choate Printing Company and has complete facilities for handling all classed of job and commercial work.
Mr. Choate was elected county auditor in 1923 and was in the county auditor's office for six years. He is a leading Republican, and has been delegate to several state conventions. He is treasurer of the Glenwood Building Association, is a Royal Arch Mason, member of the Knights of Pythias, and for years has had a sustaining part in the First Congregational Church of Glenwood, of which he is a deacon.
Mr. Choate married, in 1894, Miss Carrie D' Val, who was born in Clarke County, Iowa, and was educated in grade and high schools there and in Valparaiso University in Indiana. For ten years she taught school in Mills County. Mr. and Mrs. Choate have three children: Wayne D., born in 1896, was educated at the University of Nebraska, where he took the course in journalism and is now editor of the Opinion-Tribune; Richard C., who also attended the University of Nebraska, and is in charge of the advertising department of the Opinion-Tribune; Leonard F., a graduate of the University of Nebraska, who was for a time associated with his father's newspaper business, but is now in the Government service, a forest ranger in Mount Ranier Park in Washington.
GEORGE WARFIELD CLARK, Fort Dodge, has in his home city and state a unique professional record. But what he has done in this field, though connected, will eventually be of less importance than his contributions to a vital philosophy of life as embodied in his original and challenging scientific literary works and researches in the domain of the natural thought capacity, interest and credulity of the average individual and his constructive application of the principles of new truth, to the practical formulas of physical right living.
A fair example of the "style" of his challenge to organized or limited professionalism, as is, (1931) is given in the following quotation from his pen: -
WANTED - 1000 ARISTOTLE'S!
"Civilization, today, in this machine age, more than in the early dark ages, needs at least 1000 philosophic 'gad flies' of the type of Confucius, Socrates or Aristotle - one in each major organization - leaders with divine intuition, initiative and courage to irritate, sting and keep alive and aid organized institutional authority to evolve out of its savage, predatory state where its smugness and fictitious sense of ownership has held it through the ages. And this goes for our professions today (1931) and the need of this new leadership reflects itself in health and medical statistics.
"These statistics prove that the Medical and Dental Profession must agree on a method of telling their story to the laity in a manner which will be accepted by more than the regulation scant 10% of the people, the normal patronage of under-cover policies.
"The professions, facing the charge of 'organized misunderstanding' for a time at least, must re-equip themselves with a sound philosophy, modern and popular enough to insure its acceptance by a potential 90% of humanity within the course of the next fifty years - otherwise this civilization is doomed to fall within that time.
"Our professions must emerge from their 'conspiracy of silence' and get down to the job of reconstructing and modernizing the oldest and biggest business in the world; the stand-pat paternalistic business of misunderstanding, i. e. censored professionalism."
Doctor Clark was born in Iowa City, Iowa, November 10, 1873, son of Augustus L. and Florence Smith Clark. His mother, Florence Ashley Smith was a granddaughter of Robert Lucas, the first territorial governor of Iowa, who before coming to Iowa had twice been governor of the stare of Ohio. In the paternal line, Dr. Clark is a lineal descendant of Abram Clark a signer of the Declaration of Independence from New Jersey. Augustus L. Clark came to Iowa in 1849 and was United State Revenue Officer stationed at Iowa City, prior to 1880.
Instinctively endowed with a restless, inquiring mind, Dr. Clark has been interested since early youth in philosophic analysis of scientific matters which touch human life. He was given a liberal education at Iowa City and during 1893-94 attended lectures in the School of Dentistry at the University of Iowa. On May 22, 1899, he passed the State Board of Dental Examiners and for seven years practiced at Des Moines and two years at Webster City. Since 1908 his home has been at Fort Dodge, where he has been devoted to the routine work of his practice and to his scientific investigations and studies. He is secretary and treasurer of the North Central Iowa Dental Study Club. (1927-28).
He has been more than a competent dentist in the ordinary sense of the term. He has carried on intensive researches in the entire realm of popular psychology whereby the truths of physiology, pathology and other relationships between the teeth and the rest of the human body might be easily understood by the common mind. Dental surgeons everywhere entertain a high respect for his works and analysis of Lay Education in Biologic Truths by means of visualizing in color charts the mysteries of the mechanism of physical life processes. He is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is a militant critic of traditional superstitions and mythical supernaturalism and his stand on these questions is vividly portrayed in his outstanding work which has brought him fame as an author in Europe as well as in this country, which is the Atlas of Life and Its Opposing Forces which has gone through several editions and has been issued in all foreign civilized countries. In this work, material reasons for preventable disease and for the shortened adult life span are visualized. It is one of the few books by American scientists and the first, from Iowa which has been paid special honor and recognition in Germany.
His scientific educational researches and writings have been undertaken from humanitarian motives rather than in the hope of professional prestige and gain. During 1918-19 he invested about $30,000 in his compilation and publication of the Atlas of Life the bulk of which represents the cost of the original color plates visualizing authentic facts of physical life processes in the human cells and specially featuring the mechanism of infection and immunity.
Among other technical works which he has prepared to promote popular understanding of deep scientific truths in the average person's mind is The Clark Chart, Cause and Effect of Focal Infection, The Progress of Ill Health, The Fourteen Points of the New Professionalism, The Biological Conscience, etc. etc.
He has been a correspondent of the Commission reporting on "The Cost of Medical Care." At a convention at Miami, Florida, a paper by Dr. Clark was read on the subject of "Prenatal Considerations in Disease Prevention" in the course of which he stated "Normal biologic parental endowment is civilization's final hope. There is reason to believe that this condition is a concrete one to work for. It is no longer a matter of question in uncensored scientific discussions, that toxins, the factor which disturbs the harmony of cellular activity, may likewise lead up to general individual and collective disharmony and unrest. This may be reflected by disease, delinquency, lawlessness and through these, to tyranny, anarchy and war."
In his scientific educational literature he has preferred, using his own words, "to glorify the individual." A self supporting civilization, in his opinion, must complement and emphasize both the conscious and the sub-conscious virtues of the normal human being, by this means only may humanity he brought out of the fearful inferiority complex which has ended in the downfall of all former civilizations, and which now, in this machine age tends to cheapen the manhood and genius of the average person, threatening the destruction of this civilization.
Civilization as a growing organism "must look for the good points in the individual and to seek to culture these good points - and by so doing the fruits of human understanding will eventually far outweigh the fruits of human misunderstanding which call for the principle of impersonal, institutional force and control instead of calling for the use of personal initiative in life husbandry through new faith in new truth".
Doctor Clark is the founder of the "Ratchet Movement" which he describes as "a consecutively vitalized substitute for stand-pat 'service' organizations with their uncritical optimism and inert doctrines of automatic progress which finally must end in a gradual process of general exhaustion and failure, from economic pressure".
In this "Ratchet Movement" mankind is classified into two grand groups and three grand divisions: -
First Group, (First Division), composed of the independent, orderly, individualistic types.
Second Group, (Second and Third Divisions), more or less dependent (Babbitts, Yokels, Complacent Morons, Parasites, etc.), the temptation for and the natural fodder of the more or less innocent, unqualified or corrupt organizations, commission men, middle men and common racketeers.
"The division of mankind into these groups does not by any means signify in the Ratchet Movement, the district in the native ability of the common man. It is just the opposite. Members of the Movement absolutely refuse to submit to any political code of ethics which attempts to arbitrarily set the limits of the common man's native genius and intelligence and understanding of himself and his world."
"In this movement, Dr. Clark makes the charge that organized censorship is organized misunderstanding, dwarfing the virtues of the essential unit of a successful civilization and will continue to spell the doom of any and all civilizations. It has cheapened this world's supreme creation - The Normal Man, through featuring the inducing damnation instead of salvation."
"And the normality of a man is based upon the pristine vigor and normal health of his invisible living cells and upon their resistance to disease. In a harmonic relation between the three functions of the human cell: the Chemical, Physical and Meta-physical, the Ratchet Movement finds the secret of successful, happy, vigorous normal life, and when man is given the opportunity to learn and thereby is enabled to practice the right ways of living which promote this, then and then only, will mankind enter upon its undiluted heritage and the 'racketeer' will naturally eliminate himself by preferential selection."
The principle of the "Ratchet Movement" in action may be described in the epigram: - "If your critics cannot draw a circle big enough to include you, you must draw a circle big enough to include them." Thus it is challenging the oldest, smugest and most vicious business in this world, the business of misunderstanding!
Research of the "Ratchet Movement" has disclosed that there exists a rapidly increasing number of folks eligible for classification in what may be termed the "First Division" of that group of personalities characterized by well defined and sound initiative so essential to advancement in competition with the machines of this age. These folks are found living between the two grand groups of stand-pat paternalists better known as "capitalists" which compose the selfish minority (dangerous conservative) and the rebellious majority (dangerous radical), the gangster and racketeer.
He is a student of a "Greater Reason" of proved fact as differentiated from the "lesser reason" of blind faith and half-truths of orthodox educational systems - a student of the ideas set forth by cosmic scientists, Millikan and Einstein and other investigators of the mysteries of matter, time and space, etc.
In politics Dr. Clark is - one could nearly say naturally - independent, and he, though baptized in the Presbyterian Church favors religiously, the principles of creative evolution. He was an acquaintance of Luther Burbank, visiting him at his home in Santa Rosa, California, in 1925, and has absorbed much of his fundamental philosophy as to his "acceptance of the Universe" as a basic of better understanding. Says he, "a progressive professional man can tell the public anything, even the truth and they will believe it."
Dr. Clark married in 1898 Miss Margaret Alberta Anderson who was born on April 27, 1880, at Red Oak, Iowa, and passed away on April 5, 1930.
Two children were born to them, Robert Richey Clark of Minneapolis, Minnesota, who is married and has two daughters, Jean and Patricia, and a daughter Mary Lucas Clark, the wife of Thomas Kempley of Port Huron, Michigan.
DR. HOWARD F. CLARK is an able physician and surgeon who has practiced medicine in Guthrie County, Iowa, for over twenty years, his home being at Stuart.
Doctor Clark was born at Oakdale, Pennsylvania, July 20, 1881, son of William H. and Katherine (Fritz) Clark. Both parents were born in Pennsylvania and lived all their lives after their marriage in Oakdale, where his father was a farmer. His father died July 16, 1895, and his mother, May 30, 1912. They reared the following children: James C., who was a farmer on the old homestead at Oakdale and died August 5, 1927; Harry E., a doctor who graduated from the Western University of Pennsylvania, now the University of Pittsburgh, in 1888 and for many years has practiced his profession in Pittsburgh; Elizabeth E., wife of S. W. Pease, of Washington, Pennsylvania; Fannie M., wife of N. S. Beggs, and her twin sister, Minnie M., who is Mrs. D. C. Beggs, both residents of Oakdale; Denny C., who died in 1908, wife of J. C. Foster; Elsie B., wife of J. C. Potter, living near Stuart, Iowa; and Howard F.
Howard F. Clark grew up on a Pennsylvania farm, attended the Oakdale High School and the Oakdale Academy and then entered the medical department of the University of Pittsburgh, where he took his M. D. degree in 1905. For one year he was an interne in the Ohio Valley Hospital of Pittsburgh and for two years practiced in his brother's office in that city. Doctor Clark located at Stuart, Iowa, in February 1909, and has had a busy routine of professional duties in this community ever since. He is a member of the Guthrie County, Iowa State and American Association. He is a Knight Templar Mason, has taken fourteen degrees in Scottish Rite Masonry and has been a member of the Shrine since 1918. He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
Doctor Clark married in July, 1910, Myrta V. Hiatt, of Stuart. Her father, Benjamin B. Hiatt, was a minister of the Friends Church in Iowa for forty-five years and was respected and loved by all denominations. He died at Stuart in October, 1924, at the age of eighty-eight years. Mrs. Clark was educated in the Ackworth High School and a school at Westfield, Indiana, and taught for some years before her marriage.
HOWARD J. CLARK, lawyer, was born in Cass County, Iowa, January 9, 1868, a son of Riley P. and Juliet Porter (Davis) Clark. His preparatory education was received in Oakfield Academy, and he is an LL. B. graduate of Drake University, 1892. He married Florence Graham, of Cass County, Iowa, September 25, 1894, and their children are Howard J., and Helen Louise. Mr. Clark has been in general practice since admission to the bar. He is a member of the firm of Clark, Byers & Hutchinson, active in business, and in educational, political and civic affairs of the state, a delegate and chairman of the Republican State Convention, delegate at large, Republican National Convention, 1916 (Committee on Resolutions), trustee of Drake University, chairman of the Investment Committee, Endowment Fund and College of Law, a member of the American, Iowa State and Polk County Bar Associations, Iowa State Historical Society, S. A. R., president of the Des Moines Bar Association, 1905-06. Mr. Clark is a Congregationalist, a Mason and a Woodman. His clubs are the Des Moines, Golf and Country, Wakonda. Mr. Clark's home is at 2831 Roest Drive and his office is in the Crocker Building, Des Moines, Iowa.
GEORGE M. CLEARMAN, who is now serving his second consecutive term as representative of his district in the Iowa State Senate and who is one of the progressive exponents of arm industry in Johnson County, stages his activities as an agriculturist and stock-grower on one of the fine farm estates in the vicinity of Oxford and in the community in which he was born and reared. Senator Clearman is a scion of one of the honored and influential pioneer families of Iowa. His birth occurred on the parental home farm near Oxford, Johnson County, October 5, 1870, and is a son of Albert R. and Sarah M. (Ives) Clearman, the former of whom was born in or near Newark, Ohio, and the latter in New Haven, Connecticut.
Albert R. Clearman received his early education by attending the common schools of Ohio and was a young man when, in 1856, he accompanied his parents to Iowa, the family home having been established on a pioneer farm near Uniontown, and the parents having passed the remainder of their lives in this state. Albert R. Clearman represented the Hawkeye State as a valiant soldier of the Union in the Civil war, he having been a member of the Seventh Iowa Cavalry and his active service having covered a period of more than three years, within which he participated in many engagements, including a number of major battles. In later years he perpetuated the more gracious memories and associations of his military career by maintaining affiliation with the Grand Army of the Republic. His death occurred in 1880 and his widow, now venerable in years, maintains her home in Iowa City. George M., of this review, is the eldest of the three children: Mrs. Hattie Cameron, the one daughter, resides in Iowa City; and Rollin I. is a resident of Lindsay, California. The late Albert R. Clearman was one of the representative farmers and honored pioneer citizens of Johnson County at the time of his death, he having been a Republican in politics and his religious faith having been that of the Protestant Episcopal Church, of which his widow likewise is a zealous communicant.
George M. Clearman was reared on the home farm and the discipline he thus received proved of distinct value when he was called upon, as the elder of the two sons, to assume management of the old home farm a few years after the death of his father, who passed away when the subject of this sketch was about ten years of age. The future senator continued to attend school until 1886, and then took charge of the old home farm, which is an integral part of his present fine farm estate. During the long intervening years he has stood forward as one of the vigorous and resourceful representatives of progressive agricultural and live-stock enterprise in his native county and has had his share in advancing the standards of these basic lines of industry.
The political allegiance of Mr. Clearman is given to the Republican party and he has been influential in its councils in this section of the state. In 1900 he was the Republican candidate for the office of county trustee, but the opposition party registered decisive victory in the county and his defeat was thus compassed. In 1924 he was elected to the State Senate, and the popular estimate placed upon his loyal and constructive service was shown in his reelection in 1928. He has served as member of important committees and has been influential in the deliberations of these committees as well as those upon the floor of the Senate. Senator Clearman is a director of the Iowa Farm Bureau, and he is a stockholder of the Farmers Bank at Oxford, the River Products Company at Quarry, and the Security Abstract Company at Iowa City, judicial center of his home county. He and his wife are active communicants of the Protestant Episcopal Church, at Oxford, and he is a member of the vestry of this parish. In the Masonic fraternity he has received the thirty-second degree of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, besides being a Noble of Kaaba Temple of the Mystic Shrine, in the City of Davenport.
December 13, 1892, recorded the marriage of Mr. Clearman to Miss Ester Summerhays, who likewise was born and reared in Johnson County, and who is deceased, she being survived by two sons and one daughter. Ray William, who is assistant manager of the American Surety Company, in the City of Des Moines; Harold Albert, who is one of the progressive young farmers of his native county; and Stella Louise, who is the wife of Mr. Swanson, of Oxford, this county.
On the 25th of September, 1908, was solemnized the marriage of Senator Clearman to Miss Grace Louise Duty, of Montrose, Lee County, this state, and she is the gracious and popular chatelaine of the attractive rural home near Oxford.
WILLIAM ALLEN COBB was born in Sac County, December 26, 1875, and the people of that community have known and respected him as a business man and have repeatedly given him the responsibilities of the important office of county treasurer, and it is in his duties presiding over this office in the courthouse at Sac City that he is found today.
His father, Farnsworth A. Cobb, was born in Vermont and came with his parents to Jackson County, Iowa, when a boy, where he grew up and learned the trade of blacksmith. In 1868 he moved to Sac County and was in the blacksmith business there until his death, at the age of sixty-seven. In the Civil war he served as a soldier in the Union army, with Company K of the Twenty-fourth Iowa Infantry. Farnsworth A. Cobb married Sarah Paup, a native of Pennsylvania. She died in 1928, at the age of seventy-eight. Both parents were members of the Restitution Church, what is known as the Church of God.
William Allen Cobb grew up in Sac City, had the advantages of the public schools, and from the time he left school took up business connected with the building trades and was a general contractor until January 1, 1919, when he began his tenure of office as county treasurer. He was elected in November, 1918, on the subsequent two years. In 1930 his candidacy was unopposed. Mr. Cobb is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Ancient Order of United Workmen, and he and his family are Baptists.
He married Miss Clara Boda, a native of Iowa. Their two children are Rolland D. and Geraldine.
JAMES W. COKENOWER, M. D. The dean of the Des Moines medical profession, by reason of forty-seven years of continuous practice, Dr. James W. Cokenower is also widely known in his specialty of orthopedic surgery, of which he was an instructor at Drake University for twenty years. In all of the activities that make for civic betterment and the advancement of charity and religion, Doctor Cokenower has been an active participant, and no movement is considered properly organized unless his name appears on its list of supporters.
Doctor Cokenower was born in Shelby County, Illinois, in 1853, and is a son of Michael and Drusilla (Thompson) Cokenower. His father, a native of Pennsylvania, moved to Illinois in young manhood and there secured employment in a sawmill. Later he became a miller on his own account and also took up agricultural pursuits, and was thus engaged at the time of his death, which occurred when his son was still young. Mrs. Cokenower, who was born in Illinois, of a pioneer family, also died when her son was young. She and her husband were faithful members of the United Brethren Church, and of their three children James W., the eldest, is the only survivor.
James W. Cokenower was reared in the exciting days of the Civil war period and, like all adventurous and spirited lads of his community, endeavored to enlist in the army, but was declined because of his youth. He received his early education in the public schools of Shelby County, following which he studied medicine at Louisville, Kentucky, and Keokuk, Iowa, and in 1882 settled at Des Moines, Iowa, where he has been in continuous practice for forty-seven years. For a long time he confined himself to a general practice of medicine and surgery, gradually became more and more interested in orthopedic surgery, and , as noted, was instructor in orthopedic surgery in the medical department of Drake University for twenty years. He has been secretary of the board of Mercy Hospital for the last twenty years. For a like period Doctor Cokenower held various offices in the Iowa State Medical Society, was also an official several times of the American Medical Association, of both of which he still is a valued member, as he is also the Polk County Medical Society and the American College of Surgeons. He was one of the donators to the fund for the purchase of the Children's Home, which he assisted in organizing a quarter of a century ago, and has been active therein ever since. Doctor Cokenower is a member of the Central Presbyterian Church and a Republican in his political views. He is a York Rite and Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, and is chairman of the Crippled Children Committee in the Shrine. He likewise is a member of Chapter No. 89, Order of the Eastern Star, as is Mrs. Cokenower, this order having a membership of 1,900, the largest in the state. In his early years he was very fond of travel, and with his wife spent three months in Europe in 1900 and again in 1910, on each occasion witnessing the famous Passion Play at Oberammergau.
In 1892 Doctor Cokenower was united in marriage with Miss Katie E. Stalford, who was born in Illinois, and received her education at Simpson College, Indianola, Iowa, having been a music teacher prior to her marriage. She is a daughter of George H. Stalford, who came from Pennsylvania to Iowa at an early day and was a banker and real estate man at Esterville and later at Des Moines. Mrs. Cokenower has been very active and prominent in club, civic, church and musical circles at Des Moines. She assisted in the organization of the Chauncey DePew Club at Des Moines a number of years ago, and has been president of this organization, to which Mr. DePew had always been a generous subscriber. She likewise has been prominent in the Federation of Women's Clubs, has served as secretary of the board of the Iowa Home for the Aged for a number of years, and has likewise been active in the movements of the Central Presbyterian Church. Doctor and Mrs. Cokenower have no children.
WILTON F. COLE is a member of the Iowa bar, but his longest business association in Webster City has been as an abstractor. He is a native of New York State, but has lived practically all his life in Hamilton County, Iowa.
Mr. Cole was born at Syracuse, New York, in 1863, and the year after his birth his parents, George C. and Samantha A. (McCall) Cole, moved to Iowa and bought land in Hamilton County. Mr. Cole is of mixed ancestry. One of his great-grandfathers was a Revolutionary soldier, and a grandfather was in the War of 1812. His paternal grandfather, Calvin Cole, was a native of New York State and owned a farm and had a mill in a little town near Syracuse. George C. Cole was born near Syracuse and his wife was a native of the same locality. He died in Iowa and his wife in North Dakota. Of their seven children five are living, Wilton F. being the oldest.
Mr. Cole attended the school in Webster City and has always been much interested in educational affairs. From 1896 to 1900 he was county superintendent of schools of Hamilton County. In early manhood he engaged in the abstract business, and has had the chief commercial service in that line in Hamilton County. Some years ago he took up the study of law under Jesse W. Lee, and since 1925 has been a qualified member of the Iowa bar and practices law in addition to his abstract business. He is a member of the Iowa State and American Bar Associations, is a Republican in politics, a Rotarian, and is affiliated with the B. P. O. Elks.
Mr. Cole has three children. His daughter, in Bermuda and for a number of years was secretary to the manager of one of the great hotels on that island. Mr. Cole's son Wilton D. was educated in Saint Thomas College at Saint Paul, attended Harvard University and Oxford University in England, and is now in the investment business in New York City. The younger son, Charles Theodore, graduated as a member of the class of 1930 in Harvard University.
HENRY P. COLT, who is treasurer and credit man of the Haw Hardware Company, one of the leading wholesale concerns at Ottumwa, metropolis and judicial center of Wapello County, is one of the veteran business men and honored and influential citizens of this city, where he has maintained his residence more than half a century and where his works and his influence have counted definitely in connection with the civic and material development and progress of the community.
On a farm in Monroe County, in the beautiful Genesee Valley of the State of New York, the birth of Henry P. Colt occurred July 1, 1851, and he is a son of Juda and Emeline S. (Brown) Colt, members of families early established in the old Empire State. Mr. Colt was reared and educated in his native commonwealth, and at Cameron, Missouri, he learned the trade of teleographist, he having thereafter continued several years as a skilled telegraph operator in the service of the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad and various other lines. In the spring of 1875 Mr. Colt came to Ottumwa, Iowa in the capacity of telegraph operator for the North Missouri, now part of the Wabash Railroad. In 1889 he became associated with the First National Bank of Ottumwa, with which he continued his connection twelve years. He then became associated with the organizing and incorporation of the Citizens State Bank, of which he served of a time as cashier. In 1893 he was tendered and accepted the position of bookkeeper for the wholesale hardware business of the Haw Hardware Company, with which he has continued his alliance during the long intervening years and of which he is now the treasurer and credit man. His association with the Haw family in this connection and in the banking business has covered a period of fully fifty years, and this record stands in evidence alike of his ability, his loyalty and his progressiveness as a business man.
Mr. Colt gives his political allegiance to the Republican party, and he and his wife have long been earnest members of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Ottumwa. In the various bodies of York Rite Masonry Mr. Colt has passed official chairs, including that of eminent commander of Malta Commandery of Knights Templars at Ottumwa, and his affiliations are extended also to the Temple of the Mystic Shrine in the City of Davenport, Iowa. He has been a member of the time-honored fraternity more than fifty-four years, and in recognition of his loyal service in the Masonic fraternity he was presented, in 1920, with a fine watch, chain and Masonic emblem by fellow members of the fraternity in Ottumwa. Mr. Colt has been likewise an appreciative member of the Isaac Walton League, and each successive year finds him indulging in a fishing trip of some kind, his piscatorial skill being still in evidence.
On the 28th of December, 1882, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Colt to Miss Carrie J. Nicholson, who was born at Rome, New York, and who was a teacher in the public schools of Ottumwa, Iowa, at the time of her marriage, she being a daughter of John B. and Mary E. (Loomis) Nicholson, both likewise natives of the State of New York. John B. Nicholson, who gave the greater part of his active life to farm enterprise, was of English ancestry and his wife was of Scotch-Irish lineage. Mrs. Colt has been a gracious figure in the social, church and cultural life of Ottumwa, has membership in the Daughters of the American Revolution and has been active in the affairs of various clubs in her home city. Mary S., elder of the two children of Mr. and Mrs. Colt, is the wife of Earnway Edwards, who is an executive in the great Chicago Mail-order house of Montgomery Ward & Company, their home being in the suburban city of Evanston and their two children being Eleanore Virginia and Marjorie Ruth. Arthur Nicholson Colt, younger of the two children, is a talented portrait artist and was the founder of the Colt School of ARt in Madison, capital city of Wisconsin, of which he continues the executive head. His work as a portrait artist has gained to him wide reputation, and his is the further honor of having served as a soldier in the United States Army in the World war period. The maiden name of his wife was Mary I. Niles, and their home at Madison, Wisconsin, is brightened by the presence of their two children, John Nicholson and Richard Niles.
HON. MAURICE F. CONDON, of New Hampton has his first
claim to distinction as an Iowa citizen in the capacity of a very able and
successful lawyer. He has had numerous other important relationships with his
home locality, having a political office several times, is a former county
attorney and has also been active in banking and is vice president of the new
First National Bank of New Hampton.
Mr. Condon was born in Chickasaw County, Iowa, September 4, 1873. His parents, Maurice and Elizabeth (Dorsey) Condon, were natives of Ireland. His father came to America when a young man, bringing with him his mother. After living four years at Hartford, Connecticut, he moved west to Racine, Wisconsin, where he married Elizabeth Dorsey. She had come to this country at the age of eleven years, in company with a brother and sister. Maurice and Elizabeth Condon were married about 1880 and not long afterward they sought a home in the new region of Chickasaw County, Iowa, settling on a farm in Washington Township. There the father became an industrious and respected farmer and lived in that community until his death in 1894, his wife passed away in 1913.
Maurice F. Condon grew up on a farm and had the advantages of the district schools. During 1891-92 he was a student in the Decorah Institute and during the next four years employed his time and talents as a teacher in rural districts in Chickasaw and Howard counties. He secured some additional equipment for a business career by attending New Hampton Business College and then became a stenographer in the law office of Springer & Clary. During the two and a half years he was with this firm he read law, and completed his professional preparation in the University of Iowa, where he took his LL. B. degree in 1899. Having qualified for the bar he was admitted as a new member of the firm for whom he had worked as a stenographer. The partnership of Springer, Clary & Condon was subsequently dissolved as the result of one member and the election to political office of another.
Mr. Condon in 1906 was elected county attorney and served four years. During that time he acted as cashier of the Darrow Trust & Savings Bank, of which he was one of the organizers. Later he became identified with the new First National Bank.
Mr. Condon for a time served as mayor of New Hampton and was on the city council ten years. It was during this time that the city undertook a general paving program. He has been a leader in the Democratic party of Chickasaw County, serving as chairman of the county committee, and has been a delegate to many county, district, and state conventions. He is a former grand knight of the Knights of Columbus, member of the B.P.O. Elks and Country Club.
Mr. Condon married in 1914, Miss Ida Kelson, daughter of Ole and Belle Kelson, of New Hampton. She was educated in Decorah and in the Conservatory of Music at Minneapolis and was a teacher of music.
JOHN CONNALLY, JUNIOR. Some of the most brilliant members of the bar of Des Moines have achieved high position both professionally and personally while still young men, an done deserving of special mention because of the quality of his work and his unblemished character is John Connally, Junior, with offices in the Royal Union Bank Building. He was born March 6, 1891, a son of John and Anna (Rocky) Connally, he born in Ireland and she at Des Moines.
Coming to the United States, John Connally, Senior, located at Des Moines in 1875. A lithographer by trade, for many years he followed it in connection with newspaper work, and then entered the Internal Revenue Department of the United States Government. Still later he became grand secretary of the Knights of Columbus, Des Moines, Iowa, and is now devoting all of his time in his work. Three children were born to him and his wife, namely: Mary, who married John F. Dwight, a dental surgeon practicing at Des Moines; Richard, who is a Jesuit priest at Chicago, Illinois; and John, Junior, who is the youngest. The family all belong to the Roman Catholic Church, and the men are affiliated with the Knights of Columbus. The father is a Republican, but not very active in politics. He is a son of Richard Connally, born in Ireland, where he engaged in farming, and where he died. The maternal grandfather and grandmother, Jacob and Nancy (Wagner) Rocky, were born in Germany, and when they came to the United States they settled at Des Moines, being among the early people of the city, and here he was a blacksmith.
John Connally, Junior, was graduated from the Des Moines High School in 1908, and then did collegiate work in Saint Mary's College, Saint Mary, Kansas, from which he took his degree of Bachelor of Arts, and later, while attending law school, was in the employ of Albert Cummins. In 1915 he was admitted to the bar, and began his career of a lawyer which has borne him on to his present admirable position. During 1916 he was a member of the citizens committee, in which connection his Knowledge of the law enabled him to render a valuable service.
In February, 1917, Mr. Connally was married to Miss Ferne O'Malley, who was born at Perry, Iowa. Her education, begun at Perry, was completed in Drake University, and she is an accomplished lady. Her father, Bernard O'Malley, is a farmer at Bouton, Iowa. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Connally, namely: John III, Bernard, Richard, Eleanor, Margaret and Marcello. Mr. and Mrs. Connally belong to Holy Trinity Catholic Church, Des Moines. He is a member and trustee of the Knights of Columbus, and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Like his father he is a Republican. Mr. Connally comes of a sturdy and religious stock, and he inherits from them an honest, rugged character. He is plain in his tastes, honest in his beliefs, modest in his ambitions, and decidedly practical in all his methods, and these qualities have won for him the confidence of those with whom he has been and is associated.
JOHN CONNELL, physician and surgeon, is a native of Iowa, member of one of the substantial old families of Tama County, and has made a fine record in his professional career. Doctor Connell came to Des Moines after practicing for some years at Valley Junction.
He was born at Toledo, Tama County, Iowa, October 22, 1886, son of William M. and Adelaide (Wadley) Connell. His grandfather, John Connell, was a native of Scotland, and he and "Tama" James Wilson, the distinguished Iowan who held the office of secretary of agriculture for a longer period than any other incumbent, came to the United States together.
William M. Connell was also born at Toledo, Iowa, for many years was engaged in banking and the real estate business, and is now a resident of Cedar Rapids. He served as mayor of Toledo, is a Republican, a member of the Masonic fraternity and Methodist Church. His wife, Adelaide Wadley, was born in Ohio, daughter of Samuel L. Wadley, who was in the furniture and undertaking business at Toledo, Iowa. William M. Connell and wife had four children: Doctor John; Daniel, in the real estate business at Chicago; Mrs. T. L. Thomson, wife of a physician at Moline, Illinois; and Catherine, of Cedar Rapids.
John Connell grew up in Toledo, finished his high school course there and graduated in medicine at Drake University, Des Moines, in 1912. For ten years he practiced at Valley Junction, and during four years of that time served as mayor of the town. In 1922 he removed to Des Moines to afford him broader opportunities for his work. He is regarded as one of the most competent men in anesthesia at Des Moines, but also carries on a general practice. His offices are in the Southern Surety Building. He is a member of the Polk County, Iowa State and American Medical Associations, belongs to the Medical Study Club and the Des Moines Academy of Medicine.
Doctor Connell married, in 1908, Miss Edna Ball, who was born in Nebraska but was reared and educated in Tama County, Iowa. They have two children, John, Jr., born in 1910, a student in Drake University; and Margaret Adelaide, born in 1915, attending Junior High School. Doctor and Mrs. Connell are members of the Episcopal Church. He is a Knight Templar Mason, being a past master of his lodge, a past high priest of the Royal Arch Chapter, an has taken eighteen degrees in Scottish Rite Masonry and is a Shriner. He is a Republican in politics.
JAMES PERRY CONNER. A great many Iowans will recall the life and services of the late Judge Conner, of Denison. He was a fine lawyer, made an able record while on the district bench, and his knowledge of the law, his activity in politics and the great force and energy of his personal character brought him repeatedly before the public eye. He was for several terms representative from Iowa in Congress and was also prominent as a banker.
He was born at Morristown, a community now called Parker, in Randolph County, Eastern Indiana, January 27, 1851. His parents were Dr. William L. and Maria A. (Stiffler) Conner, his mother a native of Pennsylvania, while his father, like so many settlers of Eastern Indiana, came from North Carolina. Doctor Conner graduated from medical college and practiced his profession at Morristown, Indiana, until his death at the age of thirty-three, in 1854.
James P. Conner was three years of age when his father died. His mother subsequently married Carey Bradfield, and in 1856 they moved to Iowa, settling in Spring Creek Township, Blackhawk County, where Mrs. Bradfield died at the age of fifty-seven and her second husband at the age of sixty-five. Doctor Conner was a member of a family notable for the unusual stature of its sons, all of whom were stalwart men over six feet tall.
James Perry Conner was five years of age when brought to Iowa, grew up on a farm and had the advantages of the district schools, and later attended Upper Iowa University. While there he prepared himself for teaching and taught a term in the school where he had learned his first lessons. By teaching he was able to put himself through the law department of the University of Iowa, at Iowa City, was graduated in 1873 and admitted to the Iowa bar on November 15 of the same year. He immediately located at Denison, and from that time until his death, more than half a century later, was a leader in the Crawford County bar. He was a student, resourceful in handling investigations and in the trial of cases before the court, and his early experience was supplemented by the opportunities of the office of district attorney of the Thirteenth Judicial District, to which office he was elected in 1880, and in which he served four years. In 1884 he went on the bench as judge of the Thirteenth Judicial District and in 1886 was elected judge of the Sixteenth District. In his second election he received the support of both Republicans and Democrats. He was himself a Republican, a man of great powers and leadership, but all through his political activities commanded a great deal of admiration and frequently had the support of members of the opposite party. Judge Conner was a delegate from Iowa to the Republican national convention at Minneapolis in 1892. On November 26, 1900, he was nominated by the Republican convention of the Tenth Iowa District as a candidate for the Fifty-sixth Congress, to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Hon. J. P. Dolliver. Judge Conner was elected and was reelected to four more consecutive terms, serving in the Fifty-seventh, Fifth-eighth, Fifty-ninth and Sixtieth Congresses. He was at Washington ten years, and his abilities and his increasing experience brought him steadily to a larger share of influence in national legislation. He was in Congress during most of the Roosevelt and Taft administrations.
After retiring from Congress Judge Conner resumed his law practice and was also interested in the newspaper business. He was vice president of the Crawford County Savings Bank at Denison, vice president of the Commercial State Bank of Schlewig, and vice president of the West Side State Savings Bank at West Side, Iowa. Judge Conner had friends all over the state, who both loved and admired him. He was regarded as the soul of honor, and his public career was guided by deep convictions and a constantly honest inquiry as to the right and justice. He was a Methodist, but never joined any secret fraternities. The death of this well known Iowa citizen occurred March 19, 1924.
He married, October 12, 1875, Miss Allie M. Cowdrey, who survives him and divides her time between her home at Denison and a winter sojourn in California.
The only child of the late Judge Conner is Raymond P. Conner, who was born at Denison, February 14, 1888. He attended public schools and Friends Select school, at Washington, D. C. He was also a student in the Bordentown Military Academy at Bordentown, Jew Jersey, and the Culver Military Academy at Culver, Indiana. His business life has been identified with newspaper work. He has been manager and editor of the Denison Review since January 1, 1909, and for a number of years has been sole owner of the paper. He is a Republican, but has membership in no church or fraternal orders.
Mr. Connor married, November 12, 1912, Miss Eusebia Dudley, of Council Bluffs, Iowa. Their two children are James Perry II and Raymond Dudley.
HERBERT D. COY, D. D. S. Among the dental practitioners of Fremont County, one who has gained a prominent position is Dr. Herbert D. Coy, of Hamburg. By diligent attention to his work he has acquired a profitable patronage, and by keeping himself abreast of all current developments and improved methods in his science, has maintained an excellent professional standing and inspired confidence in his professional skill throughout the community. He is a member of the Iowa State Dental Board, and has always been active in movements of a civic nature, having served as city councilman and in other capacities.
Doctor Coy was born at Farragut, Iowa, July 16, 1892, and is a son of H. Clay and Deila (Esterbrook) Coy. H. Clay Coy was born at Abingdon, Illinois, where he was reared and educated, and as a young man learned the carpenter trade. Coming to Iowa, he settled at Farragut, where for a number of years he worked at his vocation and was employed in the erection of many of the principal buildings and residences of that community, where his death occurred in 1901. He was a Republican in his political belief, but took no active part in public affairs, and fraternally was affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America. He belonged to the Methodist Episcopal Church, in the work of which both he and his wife were active. Mr. Coy married, at Farragut, Miss Della Esterbrook, a native of Vermont, who survives him and resides at Farragut, and of their seven children five are living: Mrs. Frank Owen, the wife of a farmer of Hemingford, Box Butte County, Nebraska; W. S.m an electrician of Farragut; Dr. Herbert D., of this review; and Dr, Harry, who is engaged in the practice of dental surgery at New Sherrin, Iowa.
Herbert D. Coy attended school at Farragut, and after graduating from high school entered Greighton University, of Omaha, Nebraska, from which institution he received the degree of Doctor of Dentistry in 1914. In that year he settled permanently at Hamburg, where he has since been engaged in the general practice of his profession and has built up a large and representative patronage. His well-appointed offices are equipped with the most modern appliances known to his calling, and he is skilled both as a diagnostician and an operator, having kept fully abreast of the marvelous developments made in dentistry during the past few years. An amiable nature and a pleasing personality have been concomitants of his success. Doctor Coy occupies a prominent position in his profession, having already served one term as a member of the Iowa State Dental Board and has been appointed for a second term thereon. He belongs to the Southwestern Iowa District Dental, Society, the Iowa State Dental Society and the American Dental Association. A Republican in his political allegiance, he is chairman of the Fremont County Republican committee, and the first year that he served in this capacity the county went Republican for the first time in its history. He has also been a member of the city council of Hamburg, and has always taken a helpful and constructive interest in all that pertains to the welfare of his adopted community and its people. He is a member and former president of the Kiwanis Club, is a York rite Mason and Shriner and belongs to the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. His religious connection is with the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he is an active worker, and is superintendent of the Sunday School.
In 1919 Doctor Coy was united in marriage with Miss Ruth Widney, who was born at Buffalo Gap, South Dakota, and educated at Shenandoah, Iowa, and they are the parents of one daughter: Dorothy, born in 1921, who is now attending school.
CARLETON H. COOK is an Iowa attorney who has enjoyed a successful position at the bar of Mills County for over ten years. His father was a lawyer, and the name has been an honored one in the legal profession of Mills County for many years.
Carleton H. Cook was born at Malvern in Mills County, October 10, 1890, son of Amos E. and Florence (Rice) Cook,. Both parents were born in this state, his father is a son of Obediah Cook, who came from Indiana and settled on an Iowa farm. The maternal grandfather, A. T. Rice, also came to Iowa at an early date. He was a physician and for a number of years practiced at Beatrice, Nebraska, but is now living retired. He is a surviving veteran of the Civil war. Amos E. Cook was born at Salem, Iowa, and his wife at Coin in Page County, and she is still living at Malvern. Amos Cook, who died May 17, 1926, finished his professional education in Iowa City and after being admitted to the bar practiced at Malvern until his death. He served at one time as county attorney of Mills County, was active in Republican politics, a member of the Masonic fraternity and Knights of Pythias, and both he and his wife are Methodists. Their two children are Judge Kenneth R. and Carleton H., twins. The former was engaged in practice at Malvern until his appointment in 1929 as district judge of the fifteenth Judicial District.
Carleton H. Cook grew up and attended school at Malvern and was graduated from the law department of the University of Nebraska in 1916. The following year he located at Glenwood, and had made some progress in building up a professional clientele before he answered the call to the colors. On July 8, 1918, he entered the Artillery Officers Training Camp at Camp Taylor, Kentucky, and completed his training about the time of the armistice. He was honorably discharged January 9, 1919, and at once resumed his work at Glenwood. While in training camp he had been elected county attorney, and he served in that office six years. Mr. Cook has kept up his interest in military life, and served as first lieutenant in the Iowa National Guard from October 20, 1920, until December 2, 1924, and from the latter date until February 1, 1928, was captain in command of Company I, 168th Infantry, Iowa National Guard.
Mr. Cook married, August 9, 1916, Miss Myrtle Stratton, who was born at Sioux Fall, South Dakota, and grew up and received her education in Portland Oregon. They have a daughter, Elizabeth, born July 10, 1923. Mrs. Cook is a member of the Congregational Church. He has fraternal affiliations with the Masonic Order, Knights of Pythias and Independent Order of Odd Fellows, is a member of the Sigma Nu college fraternity and a Republican in politics.
CLARENCE P. COOK, M. D. A well-known representative of the higher class of medical and surgical practitioners that give Des Moines prestige in professional circles is found in Clarence P. Cook, M. D., who has been engaged in the practice of his calling at Des Moines since 1912, and is an eminent specialist in diseases of the eye, ear, nose and throat. During his long and soundness and reliability, and at various times he has been the recipient of official honors both of a professional and civic character.
Doctor Cook was born in January, 1876, on a farm in Scotland County, Missouri, and is a son of Arthur Perry and Mary Elizabeth (Bennett) Cook. He is descended from Revolutionary war stock, but his paternal grandfather, Rudolph Black Cook, was born in England and came to the United States in young manhood, settling in Southern Iowa, where he spent the remainder of his life as an agriculturist. The maternal grandfather of Doctor Cook, Rev. Aaron Bennett, was born in Virginia and was reared to agricultural pursuits, which he followed in his native state until about 1846. Subsequently he joined the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he labored during the remainder of his life.
Arthur Perry Cook, the father of Doctor Cook, was born in Ohio, where he was a farmer until his removal to Missouri, and later in Kansas and Iowa, his death occurring in the latter state, at Quantrell, in 1890. In addition to being a successful farmer, he likewise followed the vocation of veterinary surgery, and was one of the successful and influential men of his community, where he served in the capacity of member of the board of school directors. He was a stalwart Republican in his political views, a popular member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He married Mary Elizabeth Bennett, who was born in Virginia, and still survives him as a resident of Winfield, Kansas. they became the parents of four children: Mrs. Clarence Stone, the wife of a farmer of Scotland County, Missouri; Dr. Clarence P., of this review; Ray L., a pharmacist of Cedar Rapids, this state; and Mrs. Frank Nanis, the wife of a merchant of Winfield, Kansas.
Clarence P. Cook attended the public schools of Bonaparte, Van Buren County, Iowa, and after graduating from the high school there became a student at Valparaiso (Indiana) University, from which he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He then entered the medical department of the University of Colorado, from which he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, and then spent one year in eye, ear, nose and throat work at New Orleans, Louisiana. For two years he was engaged in the practice of general medicine at Otley, Iowa, and in 1912 settled permanently at Des Moines, where he now occupies commodious and splendidly equipped offices in the Iowa Building. He now applies himself exclusively to the practice of eye, ear, nose and throat treatment, and has won a reputation which far exceeds the limits of his immediate field of practice. He has done postgraduate work at the New Orleans Polyclinic, the Philadelphia Polyclinic and the Eye, Ear and Nose Hospital, New York City, and in 1914 went abroad and received special instruction at Vienna and Berlin. Doctor Cook is a member of the Polk County Medical Society, the Iowa State Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the Des Moines Medical Academy and the Oto-Laryngology Association. He is fraternally affiliated with the Masons and the Knights of Pythias and the Hyperion Club. In politics he is a Republican, and while he has not been an office seeker he has discharged fully the duties of citizenship and has served as a member of the board of school directors.
In 1917 Doctor Cook was united in marriage with Miss Frances B. Hanson, who was born at Calion, Iowa, and educated there and at Iowa Falls in the public schools, following which she took a course at Drake University. She taught history at East Des Moines for seven or eight years prior to her marriage, and is a member of the Congregational Church. Mrs. Cook traces her ancestry back to the Pilgrim Fathers and is a descendant of the first pastor of the historic Old North Church at Boston, Massachusetts.
THE COOK FAMILY, of Davenport, comprises a group of names of distinguished citizens who were among the founders of the city and have exercised large and important influence in every subsequent phase of the development of the city. Among other interesting facts concerning the family it may be state that four generations, including the present, have successively and continuously engaged in the practice of law at Davenport since 1839.
The first generation of the family to establish homes in Scott County, Iowa, was represented by Ira Cook, who was born in Berkshire County, Massachusetts, April 4, 1870. He was a son of Ebenezer and Mary (West) Cook, and his paternal ancestors had come from England and settled on Cape Cod in early Colonial times. His paternal grandfather in 1745 settled in Berkshire County. Ebenezer Cook, his father, was captain in the regiment of Berkshire County militia under Col. John Brown in the War of the Revolution. Ira Cook in 1807 left his old home at Stockbridge, Massachusetts, and joined in the westward movement out of New England. He first settled at New Hartford in Oneida County, New York, and he and his family resided successively in Oneida. Broome and Ontario counties, New York, until the fall of 1835. At Whitestown, New York, Ira Cook married, March 16, 1809, Rachel Faxon, who was born in Conway, Massachusetts, June 25, 1783, daughter of Thomas and Rachel (David) Faxon, and a descendant of Thomas Faxon, who settled in Suffolk County, Massachusetts, about 1647.
Among the children of Ira Cook and wife were Ebenezer Cook, born February 14, 1810, and John Parsons Cook, born August 31, 1817, both in Oneida County. The family engaged in farming, operated a saw mill in Broome County, a tannery in Ontario County. The son Ebenezer became associated at Ithaca with Hiram Powers, who was engaged in trading of commodities on a large scale throughout New York State.
In the spring of 1835 Ebenezer Cook and Hiram Powers set out for the far West, traveling through the Great Lakes to Green Bay, overland to the lead mine region at Galena, and by boat on the Mississippi to the present location of Davenport. Ebenezer was impressed by the future of the new country just opened by the Backhawk Treaty, purchased claims to about 1,200 acres of land, which later became part o the City of Davenport, and in the same year returned to New York State. In the fall of that year Ira Cook, his daughter, Patience, and her husband, William Van Tuyl, journeyed to Stephenson, the town located on the present sit of Rock Island, Illinois, arriving there November 8, 1835. In December of the same year they were joined by Ebenezer and took up their residence on the land he had previously purchased. Ebenezer Cook in the spring of 1836 went back to New York State, settled up the family affairs, and in 1836 returned with his mother and the remaining members of the family, including his brother, John Parsons Cook. The family quickly took a place in the affairs of the community, extending their energies beyond farming operations. Ira Cook became interested in mercantile enterprises at various points and was an active business man until his death on April 16, 1845.
His two sons, Ebenezer and John turned their interests to the legal profession. Both took an active part in the organization of Scott County as a part of the Territory of Wisconsin. Ebenezer acted as clerk for the first board of county commissioners, and at the first sitting in Scott County of the court for the Second Judicial District of Wisconsin, Ebenezer was appointed clerk by the presiding judge, David Irwin.
In 1839 Ebenezer was admitted to the bar, and at Davenport commenced a law practice that grew to large proportions and extended throughout Iowa. John P. Cook was admitted to the bar in 1841. The energies of the two brothers, led them into other lines. They were active politically. Ebenezer declined all offices except as a member of the Davenport city council in 1855, and as mayor in 1858. John P. Cook represented the counties of Cedar, Linn and Jones in the Senate of the Fifth and Sixth Iowa Territorial Assemblies; Cedar, Linn and Benton in the Senate of the Second Iowa General Assembly; Cedar, Linn, Benton and Tama in the Third General Assembly, and his congressional district in the Thirty-third Congress of the United States. They connected with their practice the locating of land warrants under the Congressional Act of 1845, and had extensive real estate interests throughout Iowa.
In 1851 the extension of railroads across Iowa became a subject of great popular interest. Both brothers enlisted their energies in the extension of the line through Davenport. Ebenezer became a director and vice president of the Mississippi & Missouri Railroad upon its organization in 1853, and upon the subsequent consolidation became a director and later vice president of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Company, holding until his death those offices as well as the position of chairman of the corporation executive committee. For a time prior to his death the company was without a president and he was in active charge of its affairs.
Both brothers became active in banking, establishing a chain of private banks across Iowa and Western Illinois, which operated under the name Cook & Sargent, grew to large proportions, until they were carried down in the country-wide panic which commenced in 1857. Both men were leaders of recognized ability of the Iowa bar. Ebenezer having followed interests outside of the profession to a greater extent than his brother, John P., the latter was more active in the profession and became better known as a trial lawyer. John P. Cook for about ten years practiced at Tipton in Cedar County, but in 1851 returned to Davenport and resumed practice with his brother. They were associated in the firm name of Cook & Brother until 1853, when they were joined by John F. Dillon, who later became judge of the United States Circuit Court for the Eighth Circuit. The firm was Cook & Dillon until 1856, then became Cook, Dillon & Lindley, until 1859, at which time Judge Dillon withdrew, and during 1859 the firm was Cook, Lindley & Clark. From 1860 to 1871 the firm was Cook & Drury.
Ebenezer Cook died October 7, 1871. He was survived by his widow, Clarissa C. Cook, who was born in Sydney, Delaware County, New York, August 4, 1811, and died February 19, 1879. She was a daughter of Fowler P. and Lucretia Bryan. Through her own efforts and expenditures during her lifetime and through expenditures made from her estate pursuant to provisions in her will, a great deal of benefit resulted to institutions of a civic and religious and charitable nature, including the construction and endowment of the old Trinity Church at Seventh and Brady streets in Davenport, the Trinity Church parish house, the Davenport Public Library, which later was taken over by the present Carnegie Library, the Clarissa C. Cook Home for the Friendless at Davenport, and the establishment of a number of trusts for the benefit of Episcopal parishes and activities in Iowa and elsewhere.
John P. Cook survived his brother less than a year, passing away April 16, 1872. He married, October 26, 1842, Eliza Ann Rowe. It was left to his son, Edward E. Cook, to carry on the law practice founded by Ebenezer and John. Edward E. Cook was born August 13, 1843, completed his studies at Washington, D. C., and at the University of Albany, and was admitted to the Iowa bar at the May term, 1863. From 1872 to 1875 he was associated with the firm of Cook, Richman & Burning, with Cook & Richman from 1875 to 1880, Cook & Dodge from 1880 to 1909, and Cook and Balluff until his death on June 16, 1914.
Edward E. Cook married, December 20, 1866, Ellen Katherine Dodge, of Scott County, daughter of Capt. LeRoy and Katherine (Hubbard) Dodge.
George Cram Cook, a son of Edward E. Cook, earned for himself the gratitude of all who are interested in the progress of American literature and the fine arts. He was born October 7, 1873, was connected for a time with the faculty of the University of Iowa, was associate literary editor of the Chicago Evening Post, wrote a number of novels, essays and plays, and finally interested himself in the promotion of drama, being one of the founders of the Provincetown Players, an organization of playwrights and actors who were among the first to undertake experimental work in connection with the theater. He died at Athens, Greece, January 10, 1924.
The late Edward E. Cook, unlike his father and uncle, confined himself strictly to his profession. He became one of the recognized leaders of the Iowa bar, a lawyer of great ability, and esteemed by all who knew him. Several times he was offered the position of general counsel for the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Company, and in many instances took charge of important legal matters for that company. He was president of the Tri-City Railway Company, general counsel for the Iowa Telephone Company before its merger with the Bell System. Some of the important cases well known to the legal profession in which he was identified were: Simmons vs. B. C. R. & N. Railway Company, in which the United States Supreme Court dealt with several novel phases of railroad mortgages; Gatten vs. C. R. I. & P. Railway Company, in which the Iowa Supreme Court held that there is no common law of the United States Federal Government; and Chamberlin vs. Telephone Company, in which the Iowa Supreme Court established the right of a telephone company to use streets of a city without a franchise. He declined many opportunities for public office, even refusing to permit his name to be considered by President Cleveland for appointment to the United States Supreme Court. He preferred to and did enjoy the freedom of opinion and action that was characteristic of him, and to devote to public welfare, as he did most freely, his time and energy as a private citizen.
The representative of the third generation of the family in the Iowa bar is Reuel B. Cook, a son of Edward E. Cook. He was born February 11, 1869, was admitted to the Iowa bar in 1890, and is still in active practice as counsel for the firm of Cook & Balluff, attorneys at Davenport. Reuel Bridge Cook has three sons.
Wayne Gleason Cook, professor in the college of law at the University of Iowa, was born November 11, 1892. He married, June 1, 1923, Ruth Moyes, of Rock Island, and they are the parents of two children, Craig Moyes Cook, born February 6, 1924, and Margaret Joan Cook, born January 22, 1928.
Edmond Maurel Cook, the second son, is a member of the firm Cook & Balluff, attorneys engaged in the active practice of law at Davenport. He was born August 14, 1897, and on December 30, 1924, married Grace Webber Murphy, of Rock Island, a great-granddaughter of John Deere, the famous manufacturer. They are the parents of one daughter, Barbara Cook, born September 3, 1928.
Klaman Spelletich Cook, the third son, was born April 7, 1901, and is engaged in the lumber and mill-work business with the U. N. Roberts Company of Davenport. He is the father of a daughter, Jean, born April 9, 1926.
HON JOHN GRANT COOK, county auditor of Polk County, Iowa, is one of the dependable citizens of Des Moines, and a man whose deep interest in public affairs is generally recognized and appreciated. He was born at Clinton, Iowa, December 25, 1870, a son of Robert E. and Nancy Maria (Ferris) Cook, both born in New York State, from whence they migrated soon after the close of the war between the states.
A railroad man, Robert E. Cook came West, and had charge of the carpenter work in the shops of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company at Clinton, Iowa. Both he and his wife are now deceased. Of the eight children born to them Auditor Cook is the fourth in order of birth and one of the six yet living. For many years the parents were active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he belonged to the Ancient Order of United Workmen and in political faith he was a Republican.
After attending the public schools of Clinton, Iowa, John Grant Cook had some instruction in country schools while working on a farm, where he remained until he was of age, at which time he engaged in the grocery business for himself at Spencer, Iowa. There he remained for four years and then engaged in the same line of business at Clinton, but after several years in the latter city went to Arnold's Park, and for the subsequent seven years conducted a summer resort during the summer months, while in the winter ones he was otherwise employed, being for two terms committee clerk of the Iowa State Legislature and for two terms filing clerk of the Iowa State Senate, and because of this work established his residence at Des Moines, where he has continued to reside. For six years, he was deputy auditor of Polk County, during four years of that period being first deputy, and then, in 1923, was elected auditor, taking office in 1924. He was reelected in 1925, and again in 1927. In this office he has given entire satisfaction and is recognized as one of the best officials the county has ever possessed.
In 1910 Mr. Cook married Miss Edith Jordon, who was born at Des Moines, where she was educated. She is a daughter of James E. Jordon, a farmer. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Cook: Robert J., who is attending high school; and Catherine, who is attending the grade school. Mr. Cook belongs to the Baptist Church. He is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, an Odd Fellow, and both he and Mrs. Cook belong to the Eastern Star and the White Shrine, and in the latter order he is one of the Wise Men. Always interested in the success of the Republican party, he has become a prominent factor in the local political arena, but devotes his time and attention to his office.
KENNETH R. COOK was a Mills County attorney, and is a member of a family that has produced several prominent lawyers in this section of the state.
Mr. Cook was born at Malvern, October 10, 1890. He is a brother of Carl H. Cook, of Glenwood, the record of whose career on another page of this publication contains information regarding their honored father, who was a leading lawyer in Malvern for many years. Kenneth R. Cook attended school in Malvern and is a graduate of the law department of the University of Nebraska. He received his diploma in 1916 and was admitted to the bars of Nebraska and Iowa. Returning home, he engaged in practice with his father at Malvern, and for ten years he assisted the senior Cook in his extensive law practice. After the death of his father in 1926 he continued the work of the firm at Malvern. He and his brother, Carl, represented as attorneys nearly all the important banks in Mills County. Mr. Cook is a member of the Iowa State Bar Association and has been admitted to the Federal as well as the State courts.
In August, 1929, he was appointed judge of the Fifteenth Judicial District, comprising nine counties in Southwestern Iowa: Pottawattamie, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, Cass, Mills, Montgomery, Page and Fremont. He is considered the youngest judge ever appointed to hold such an office in the state and is credited with filling the position he occupies with great credit and honor to himself.
He married, April 12, 1917, Miss Mona Berry, who was born at Litchfield, Illinois, but was reared and educated in Chicago. They have three children, Caroly, born in 1918; Edgar, born in 1923, and Nancy, born in 1925. Mrs. Cook is a member of the Presbyterian Church. He is affiliated with the Masonic Lodge and is a member of the Sigma Nu college fraternity. In politics he is a Republican.
WARD W. COOK. Among the prominent citizens and solid business men of Clinton, one whose varied interests have made his name widely known is Ward W. Cook, president of the Peoples Trust & Savings Bank. He completed his school period at Clinton, but, losing his father in childhood, early became dependent upon his own abilities and efforts and for a number of years was connected with business houses at different points. In 1894 he entered his present institution, as bank messenger, and has continued to be identified with this banking house ever since, having been its chief executive since 1923. It is not unusual in America to trace the steps of many a man's successful career back to a courageous, industrious youth, as in the case of Mr. Cook, but it is rather out of the ordinary to find in these men of large affairs a compelling interest in simple things as in the growing of flowers and a delight in their perfection.
Mr. Cook was born at Dunleith (now East Dubuque), Illinois, September 1, 1866, and is a son of Samuel and Josephine (Williams) Cook, natives of New York State, Early in life Samuel Cook was taken by his father, also named Samuel, to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he was introduced to the wholesale business by the elder man. Later he went to Cleveland, Ohio, and then came to Lyons, Iowa, where from 1856 until 1866 he was employed as a steamboat clerk, in the latter year going to Dunleith, Illinois, where he entered the lumber and fuel business with Ashley & Cook. He remained in that community until 1871, when he closed out his interests in Illinois and came to Clinton, Iowa, with the intention of going into the sawmill business, but almost immediately after his arrival was stricken with a fatal illness and passed away six days later, December 6, 1871. Mr. Cook had reached the age of only thirty-five years, but already was making his way to a substantial position in business life, and had he been spared doubtless would have become a wealthy man, as he possessed great ability and industry, and had established a reputation for high character and probity. His widow survived him until December, 1918, and died at the age of seventy-eight years. They became the parents of two sons: Ward W., of this review; and Ben C., who lives on a beautiful farm in Virginia, at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Ward W. Cook attended the public schools at Clinton, where he was graduated from high school, and in 1885, at the age of nineteen years, went to Chicago in the pioneer book store of H. D. Chapman & Company, where he received a salary of nine dollars a week. He left this position to accept employment with the Drovers National Bank, at the Union Stock Yards, Chicago, and after a year became an employe of the tallow, hide and glue firm of Ira C. Darling & Company, also located at the Stock Yards. His next connection was with the Eureka Company, of Sterling, Whiteside County, Illinois, and left this establishment to come to Clinton, where he entered the office of the W. J. Young Lumber Company. In September, 1894, Mr. Cook became identified with the Peoples Trust & Savings Bank, in the capacity of bank messenger, later was advanced to the post of clerk, and continued to gain promotion until he became, in 1923, president of this institution, which has a capital of $300,000, and a surplus of a like amount, and is known as one of the strongest banks in Iowa. Mr. Cook is widely known in banking circles and is a member of the Iowa State Bankers Association and the American Bankers Association. He is a thirty-third degree Scottish Rite Mason, and a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Clinton Boat Club, the Clinton Country Club and the Wapsipinicon Club. A man of great public spirit and civic pride, he is a member and constructive worker of the local Rotary Club, the Chamber of Commerce, secretary of the Clinton Airport Company and for the past seven years chairman of the Board of Park Commissioners, and during the World war took a very active part in the drives of the Liberty Loan and War Savings Stamps. His hobby is the growing of rare iris and peonies, and his garden, covering about three acres, is probably the largest individual garden of its kind in the world and one of the showplaces of the city and state. His flowers have won medals and trophies at various large exhibitions in this country and Canada, and Mr. Cook is treasurer of the American Peonies Society of the United States and Canada.
On December 30, 1888, Mr. Cook was united in marriage with Miss Mary Sampson, daughter of Albert and Lucetta (Cooke) Sampson. Mr. Sampson, a pioneer merchant of Sterling, Illinois, where he arrived in 1838, was a direct descendant of Henry Sampson, who came to America in the Mayflower. Mr. and Mrs. Cook have had three children: Samuel S. sales and publicity manager of the Curtis Companies, of Clinton, Iowa; Lucetta, a graduate of Simmons College, Boston, Massachusetts, who resides with her parents; and Ward W., who died at the age of three years.
ALLYN R. COOPER. The president of the Cooper Manufacturing Company, Allyn R. Cooper, of Marshalltown, is one of the men who has built up a large and prominent enterprise from comparatively small beginnings. Starting with practically only a local trade, through his energy and ability and the excellence of workmanship that characterizes all of the output, he had developed a company the products of which find an extensive and ready market in automotive equipment in all parts of the world.
Mr. Cooper was born at Sturgis, South Dakota, November 5, 1883, and is a son of Miles M. and Mary P. (Ranft) Cooper. His paternal grandfather, who came from New England and died in Oklahoma, was a grandson of Capt. Robert Cooper, who served with New England troops during the Revolutionary war under the leadership of the doughy Gen. Nathaniel Greene. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Cooper, Jacob Ranft, was born in Germany, and as a young man was a lieutenant in the Prussian Guards. He came to the United States prior to the war between the states, and held the rank of captain during that struggle as a member of the Army of the Potomac, serving under Generals McClellan, Meade, Grant and Sherman.
Miles M. Cooper was born at Holton, Ripley County, Indiana, in October, 1845, and was married at Mount Vernon, Indiana, to Miss Mary P. Ranft, who was born at Xenia, Ohio, in 1853. He was a farmer by vocation, and in 1876 went to the Black Hills of Dakota, where he has since been engaged in agricultural operations, making a specialty of cattle raising. He has become one of the substantial men of his community, and wields some influence in public affairs, although not a candidate for office. Mrs. Cooper also survives, at the age of seventy-six years. They were the parents of eight children, six sons and two daughters, all of whom are residing in the Black Hills with the exception of Allyn R.; H. M., who lives at Marshalltown; and Edna Cooper Crabtree, a resident of Oregon. Harold M. Cooper, of this family, entered the Officers Training Camp in Wisconsin late in the World war, but was not called into active overseas because of the signing of the armistice.
Allyn R. Cooper attended the high school at Sturgis, South Dakota, for three years, following which he spent three and one-half years at Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa, and graduated with the class of 1910, receiving the degree of Electrical Engineer. During his vacation periods he worked for the Dunham Company, and was factory manager of that company from 1908, although still attending college. At college he became a member of the Tau Beta Pi engineering fraternity and the Kappa Sigma fraternity. Upon the completion of his collegiate education Mr. Cooper remained in the employ of the Dunham Company for five years, and then organized the Cooper Manufacturing Company, of which he has been president from the start, his brother, Harold M. Cooper, serving as secretary and treasurer. This company manufactures automotive equipment, and its excellent products are sold all over the world, sixty skilled mechanics being employed at the commodious and modern plant at 411 South First Avenue, Marshalltown. Mr. Cooper is one of the best known and most authoritative men in his line in the business, and is a valued member of the Automotive Equipment Association of Chicago, Illinois. He is a Knight Templar, Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner and a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and belongs to the Casa Del Mar Beach Club of Santa Monica, California, and the Elmwood Country Club of Marshalltown. As a member of the local Chamber of Commerce he cooperates with other good citizens in the furtherance of progressive and constructive civic movements. He has taken a great interest in the Boy Scout movement, an din 1924 organized the Central Iowa Council at Marshalltown, of which he was the head for two years.
On June 5, 1906, at Sturgis, South Dakota, Mr. Cooper was united in marriage with Miss Mabel B. Gardner, who was born in 1884, at Sturgis, a daughter of Frank W. Gardner, a farmer and pioneer settler of the Black Hills, where he had pioneered in 1876. To Mr. and Mrs. Cooper there have been born three children: Mabel B., born at Marshalltown, in 1909, now the wife of Charles A. Doermann, of Chicago, Illinois; Glen G.m born in 1911, a graduate of Marshalltown High School and Worcester Academy, who is an Eagle Scout, the highest rank in the Boy Scout movement, was champion at the junior trap shoot of the State of Iowa at the age of thirteen, junior champion at the age of fourteen at Del Monte, California, and runner-up in the Del Monte Men's Handicap, Central Iowa Golf champion in 1930; and Marilyn R.m born in 1918, who is attending school. The attractive modern home of Mr. Cooper and his family is situated at 509 Highland Drive, Marshalltown.
WILLIAM S. COOPER, judge of the Fifth Judicial District of Iowa, is a native of Pennsylvania, and was six years of age when his parents came to Iowa an settled at Winterset. This has been the home of the family for over half a century, and Judge Cooper is one of the well known representatives of the name who have figured largely in the educational and professional affairs of Iowa.
Judge Cooper was born in Beaver, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1873, son of Robert H. and Anna M. (Savage) Cooper. Robert H. Cooper and his parents were also born in Beaver County, Pennsylvania. While living there he was a general merchant and banker, and in August, 1862, enlisted in the One Hundred Fortieth Pennsylvania Infantry and participated in many battles while with the Army of the Potomac. He was at Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, and remained a soldier until discharged at the close of the war. He was almost an eye witness of Lincoln's assassination and was called as a witness at the trial of Mrs. Surratt, one of the conspirators. In 1879 he brought his family to Iowa and settled at Winterset, where he became prominent in business, church and civic affairs. he was an elder in the Presbyterian Church at Beaver and held a similar office in the church at Winterset, Iowa, and during the last fifteen years of his life was commander of the Winterset Post of the Grand Army of the Republic. He died October 18, 1927. His wife, Anna M. Savage, was born in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, and came out to Iowa during the Civil war, and taught school and was teacher of music in the Soldiers Orphans Home. She was a graduate of the Beaver Seminary. She died April 18, 1927, and both parents are buried at Winterset.
Judge Cooper is the oldest of the children. His sister Mrs. Elizabeth Guthrie graduated from the Winterset High School and from the University of Iowa, in 1901, was a teacher in the high schools of Corning and Winterset, and was married in 1906 and now lives at Garden City, Kansas. Her children were William H., born in 1908, a student in Northwestern University at Chicago; Mary E., born in 1911, in Junior College at Garden City; and Albert C.m born in 1913, in the Garden City High School. Miss Esther Cooper, who was born at Beaver, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1877, graduated from the Winterset High School in 1894, took the Bachelor of Science degree at the University of Iowa, the Master's degree at the University of Chicago, and has been prominent in educational work for many years. She taught in high school in Winterset and in Minnesota, and in 1909 joined the faculty of the Iowa State College in Ames as instructor in English, and is now associate professor of English. Harry W. Cooper, who was born at Beaver December 14, 1878, graduated from the Winterset High School, with the A. B. degree from Parsons College of Fairfield, Iowa, taught school for a time and then entered the newspaper business, and was editor of the Price News Advocate at Price, Utah Republican Editors Association. He married Grace Avery, of Maryville, Missouri, in 1910, and she succeeded him as editor of the newspaper at Price and is now a member of the Utah Legislature. Robert S. Cooper, the fifth child, graduated from the Winterset High School, from the dental department of Drake University, is practicing his profession at Winterset, and married in September, 1909, Eva L. Gilpin, and has an adopted daughter, who was born in April, 1917. The youngest of the family is Ralph L. Cooper, who was born April 19, 1883, graduated from high school at Winterset, completed the work of the engineering department of Iowa State College, and while a student did construction work for the Fort Dodge, Des Moines & Southern Railway, and for a number of years has been chief engineer of that road, with home at Boone, Iowa. He married Maude Myrick, or Monticello, Iowa, in August, 1911, and they have three children, all attending public school at Boone, Willis M. Katherine and Robert.
Judge William S. Cooper grew up at Winterset, attended high school there, the Des Moines College, and completed his law course at the University of Virginia. He began the practice of law at Winterset in 1895, and during all the years before he went on the bench carried on an individual practice and rose to high standing at the Iowa bar. He served as county attorney of Madison County from 1903 to 1907 and was also a member of the Winterset School Board and park commission.
In November, 1922, he was elected judge of the Fifth Judicial District, and began his duties on the bench in January, 1923. Judge Cooper is a member of the Bar Association, is active in the Presbyterian Church, and is a member of the University Club of Des Moines, the Masonic fraternity and Knights of Pythias.
He married, December 4, 1902, Edith Wainwright, of Winterset, daughter of Vincent and Letitia (Ellis) Wainwright. Her father was one of the pioneer attorneys of Winterset, where he practiced law from 1884 until 1890. Mrs. Cooper is a graduate of the Winterset High School and of Leland Stanford University of California, and is one of the outstanding members of the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs, serving on the citizenship committee. She was a charter member of the Eastern Star, has served as president of the Missionary Society of the Des Moines Presbytery, and is president of the Winterset Federation of Women's Clubs. She is a member of the P. E. O. and the Fortnightly Club. Judge and Mrs. Cooper have two children. The daughter, Bertha L., born at Winterset June 4, 1904, is a graduate of high school and of Lindenwood College at Saint Charles, Missouri, graduated from the University of New Mexico at Albuquerque in June, 1926, and is now a high school teacher at Winterest. The son, Vincent W. born at Winterset July 3, 1909, is a graduate of high school and now attending Simpson College at Indianola, Iowa.
Judge Cooper in 1928 wrote the history of the bar of the Fifth Judicial District for the local bar association.
REV. WILLIAM COUGHLAN is the well beloved and
highly respected pastor of the Holy Families Church in Council Bluffs. He is a
native of Ireland, and all his work as a priest has been done in Iowa.
He was born in Ireland in 1885, son of James and Mary (Whelan) Coughlan. His parents lived all their lives in Ireland as farmers, and of their nine children seven are now living. The three in America are Miss Mary A., at Council Bluffs; Patrick, a Chicago detective, and William.
Father William Coughlan attended school in Ireland and completed his training for the priesthood in the great seminary and college at Waterford. He was ordained in Maynooth College, Ireland, in August, 1910, coming to America in September, 1910. For three years he was assistant priest at Saint Ambrose Church in Des Moines. This was followed by a prosperous pastorate for five years at Saint Patrick's Church in Bayard, Iowa, and from there in 1918 he came to Council Bluffs to become pastor of the Holy Families Church. He has a fine congregation of about a thousand, has done much to develop the parochial school, which enrolls 175 pupils, with a staff of five teachers. Father Coughlan has been a member of the Knights of Columbus since 1916 and is a fourth degree knight. He is a member of the Kiwanis Club, belongs to the Council Bluffs Country and Golf Club, and has made himself a very practical friend and adviser of his people.
GARDNER COWLES is one of Iowa's native sons whose names are listed among America's foremost publishers. Mr. Cowles has been in the newspaper business for more than a quarter of a century, and is president of the company publishing the Des Moines Register and the Des Moines Tribune.
He was born in Oskaloosa, Iowa, February 28, 1861, son of William Fletcher and Maria Elizabeth (La Monte) Cowles, and grandson of Russell and Dorcas (Gardner) Cowles. William Fletcher Cowles was for many years one of the notable figures in the Methodist ministry, a pioneer church leader of Iowa, his name being intimately associated with early Methodist history. He was born in Cortland, New York, May 11, 1819. During the Civil war he was twice appointed by President Lincoln revenue collector of the Fourth District of Iowa. He served several terms as presiding elder and was three times elected a member of the General Conference. Among the churches served by him as pastor were those in Oskaloosa, Keokuk, Muscatine, Mount Pleasant and Burlington. Rev. William F. Cowles married Maria Elizabeth La Monte on February 24, 1857. His wife was born in Schoharie County, New York. Her father, Thomas La Monte, was a native of Charlottesville, New York. By this marriage there are two children, La Monte Cowles, a lawyer of Burlington, Iowa, and Gardner Cowles. Their mother died August 3, 1873.
Gardner Cowles attended Penn College for one year and Grinnell College for two years. He was graduated from Iowa Wesleyan College in 1882, with the A. B. degree, and the same institution gave him the Master of Arts degree in 1885. In 1882, just after his graduation from college, he was elected superintendent of schools of Algona, Iowa, and held the position for two years. From 1884 to 1903 he was actively engaged in business in Algona. In November, 1903, he purchased a majority interest in the Register and Leader Company, later the Register and Tribune Company of Des Moines, Iowa, and since that time has given his time and energies to his publishing interests. He has been president of the company for more than twenty-five years, which company publishes the Des Moines Register, the Des Moines Sunday Register and the Des Moines Tribune. He is a director of the Iowa-Des Moines National Bank & Trust Company of Des Moines.
Mr. Cowles served two terms in the Iowa House of Representatives, from 1899 to 1903, and in 1916 was a delegate to the Republican national convention in Chicago. Mr. Cowles is a Republican, but personally is identified with the independent wing of the party. He is a member of the Des moines, Prairie, Hyperion and Wakonda clubs of Des Moines, and is also a member of the board of trustees of iowa Wesleyan College of Mount Pleasant, Simpson College of Indianola and of Drake University of Des Moines.
On December 3, 1884, Gardner Cowles married Florence M. Call, of Algona, Iowa. She is the daughter of Ambrose A. and Nancy Henderson Call, prominent figures of Northern Iowa. Florence M. Call graduated from Northwestern University in June, 1884. They have six children. The oldest, Helen, a graduate of Northwestern University, is the wife of James D. Le Cron. Mrs. Le Cron is a successful writer and the author of several books, and for several years she was a book editor of the Sunday Register. The second child, Russell Cowles, is an artist, a graduate of Darmouth College, and lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico. He won the Prix de Rome for mural painting in 1915, and his work has brought him successful rank in his profession. The third child is Bertha, wife of Sumner D. Quarton, of Hollywood, California. She is a graduate of the University of Iowa. The third daughter, Florence, is the wife of David S. Kruidenier, of San Diego. She was educated in Goucher College, Baltimore. The two younger sons are both actively engaged with the Register and Tribune. Both are graduates of Harvard College. John Cowles, the second son, is associate publisher, and Gardner Cowles, Jr., is the managing editor of the papers.
HON D. F. COYLE, of Humboldt, who resigned after twenty-three years of consecutive service as judge of the District Court, in September, 1929, has abundantly fulfilled the duties and responsibilities of a successful lawyer and jurist. But his life is not to be measured merely by his professional accomplishments. Judge Coyle has gone through life with that insatiable thirst for knowledge which Matthew Arnold described as "intellectual curiosity," and in his time he has opened many windows upon experience, and rambled far and near over the domain of knowledge, and is one of those rare men whose mental growth has never been force down into the conventional grooves where it takes the forms of unalterable convictions and fossilized opinions.
Judge Coyle was born in Wisconsin, September 12, 1858, and was four years of age when his parents moved to Northern Iowa and settled at old Dakota City, the county seat of Humboldt County. His father, Charles C. Coyle, was a native of New York and a blacksmith by trade, being the first follower of the art of Vulcan in Humboldt County. He lived to be eighty0six years of age. He voted as a Democrat until 1883, when he joined the ranks of the Republican party, and voted as such during the remainder of his life. He was a Catholic in religion. The mother of Judge Coyle was Matilda Franklin, who was a Methodist and who died in Humboldt when sixty-four years of age.
The decade of the '60s when Judge Coyle was a boy at Dakota City was only a few years removed from the actual frontier conditions of the Middle West. It was a time when people did hard manual labor and ate coarse food and few delicacies. Corn bread was a familiar portion of his boyhood ration, and frequently it was made from meal obtained from corn passed over a homemade grater. He was never fond of much and milk, but enjoyed a meal of fried mush with sorghum, sorghum being a more familiar form of sweetening than sugar on the Coyle table. As a boy he helped make the homemade soft soap, hominy, dried beef and salt pork, and never did learn to like salt pork. His education was obtained by going to the nearby district school until he was thirteen. Judge Coyle even today has the appearance of a man with hard and firm muscles and at least some of this physique he developed while helping make the brick which were used in the construction of the old courthouse at Dakota City, a structure that is still standing. The text books he studied in school were the old McGuffey's Readers, Ray's Arithmetic and McNally's Geography. One of his sisters was a girl of exceptional intellect and when only in her thirteenth year began teaching, and subsequently her parents sent her to the college at Fort Dodge, where she studied Latin and other subjects. A few years after the Civil war a young man appeared as suitor for her hand, but the Coyles were averse to the match, on the ground that he was not sufficiently well educated to marry their intellectual daughter. The circumstance had its chief results on D. F. Coyle himself. It set him to thinking that a similar situation might develop in his own career, when he would be deprived of some cherished object of his desires because he had not fitted himself mentally and otherwise so as to deserve such a prize. Accordingly, he determined to get an education. One day he approached his father, saying he wished to teach school, and the laconic reply of the elder Coyle was "Hell, you don't know enough. You couldn't pass an examination." Young Coyle mildly disagreed and proved his point by getting a certificate and not long afterward a school to teach. Later he went to the University of Iowa. At that time, because of the fact that there were few high schools over the state, where now one is in nearly every community, the university maintained a preparatory department and Judge Coyle had to go through this course before he could enroll in the regular university branches. having very little money, he applied himself so strenuously that in six weeks he had finished the six months' course. Later, in 1881, he graduated from the law department, and has been enrolled as a member of the Humboldt County bar for half a century. In 1906 he was elected district judge, and dispensed justice from the bench until September 1, 1929. On leaving the bench he joined his son in a general law practice.
Judge Coyle married, March 18, 1882, Miss Sallie C. Ham, and in 1930 they celebrated their forty-eight wedding anniversary, their two sons, Claude and C. C. Coyle, and their grandchildren, Margianne and Frederick Coule, helping them celebrate. Mrs. Coyle is a native of Iowa and a daughter of Jonathan and Ann Elizabeth (Kaufmann) Ham. Her parents came to Iowa from Pennsylvania and settled in Johnson County. Three children were born to Judge and Mrs. Coyle, the only daughter, Margaret, dying at the age of sixteen. The son Claude H., a professional musician now living at Salmon, Idaho, married Mildred Williams and has one child. The son Clyde C. studied law under his father. He married Emma May Coyle.
Judge Coyle has always been aligned with the Republican party. When he was twenty-three years of age he was elected mayor of Dakota City and in 1890 he was chosen to the Lower House of the State Legislature. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and formerly belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, B. P. O. Elks and Improved Order of Red Men.
Judge Coyle when he was sixty-six years of age wrote to the state university asking how much he lacked of qualifying for a degree. The answer was eighty hours, which would require an attendance at two sessions. He enrolled, and while studying lectured on the Law of Evidence in the University Law School. At this writing he still lacks about eight hours, and it is his plan to go on until he finishes. One of his diversions is teaching in the college at Humboldt, where he has had charge of the law department. He was drawn into that work because the students had to get a certificate from an established lawyer, and consequently he enrolled many of the students in his office. He also finds a great deal of pleasure in instructing high school students in Latin. Among other interests he is a lover of music. In 1929 he conducted a private summer school, which was attended by ministers of the gospel,, superintendents, stenographers, business men and sons of attorneys. Mr. Coyle is a graceful writer, and has frequently written book reviews and literary criticism.
RALPH W. CRAM. When, on Armistice Day, 1928, Davenport dedicated its new airport, constructed by Davenport Airways, Inc., Col. D. M. King, commandant of the Rock Island Arsenal, in the principal speech of the occasion said: "One of your own citizens, Mr. Ralph Cram, has done much for American aviation. He has spent his time and his money, has served as vice president of the American Aeronautical Association. To him much credit is due for the establishment of this airport. And now, as an officer of the United States army, it is a very great pleasure to take part in the dedication of this field, not only to commercial uses, but to the service of our county, and to christen it Cram Field of Davenport."
This compliment was well deserved and is an illustration of Ralph Cram's versatility and many-sidedness as an Iowa citizen. Davenport people in general know him best for his long career as a newspaper man. Mr. Cram was born at Zanesville, Ohio, June 19, 1869, son of Charles E. and Clarissa (Deming) Cram. He had only a public school education, and in 1883, at the age of fourteen, went to work on the Davenport Democrat, and that newspaper institution has been his employer ever since. In 1889, when he was twenty years of age, he was handling the news reporting for the Democrat, going about over the city on a bicycle. He had started in the composing room, and for six years he did everything that a practical printer did in those days before linotype. His hobby through all the years of his journalistic career has been reporting, and as one of his associates said: "His viewpoint in newspaper work has been to tell in an interesting, gossipy easy flowing style the news of the day, always taking into consideration the other fellow's feelings." He has enjoyed the interpretation as well as the telling of the news of local and national significance and for many years has attended the national conventions of the two great parties as a reporter, and his news letters on politics have been one of the most attractive features of the Davenport Democrat.
In his progress as a newspaper man Mr. Cram was promoted to the desk of city editor in 1903 and in 1908 became managing editor. July 1, 1930, he became the paper's publisher as well. he is also a director of the Register Life Insurance Company and the Morris Plan Bank.
He became interested in aviation shortly after the first heavier than air craft were developed. It was in 1923 that he was elected vice president of the National Aeronautical Association as a recognition of his active part in the flying movement. Flying is by no means a theoretical knowledge, since he has piloted many planes and has taken part in any number of national air tours. After the war he acted as editor of the Scott County History of War Activities, one of the finest accounts of local war activities published in any county of Iowa. For a time he published Fly Leaf, an aviation journal, and is author of Aviation - It's Development and its Relation to the National Defense; An Amateur Flyer's Vacation; A 4100 Mile Trip by Air. Mr. Cram was a signer of the charter of the National Aeronautic Association. He is a member of the Davenport Chamber of Commerce, the University Extension Society, the Contemporary Club, Davenport Flying Club, Tri-City Press club, Outing Club, Kiwanis Club.
He married, December 27, 1892 Mabel Laventure, of Davenport. They have four very remarkable children. The oldest, Eloise Blaine Cram, graduated Bachelor of Science from the University of Chicago; subsequently took the Bachelor of Philosophy degree at George Washington University at Washington and is one of the most distinguished women in the field of science in America today, being associate zoologist of the Bureau of Animal Industry at Washington and is author of upwards of fifty bulletins and special reports on animal parasites, particularly the long list of such parasites that infest domestic farm animals. She is one of the two women comprising the staff of laboratory investigators in the Bureau of animal Industry in the Department of Agriculture. The second daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Cram is Margaret Mason, who graduated from the kindergarten training department at the University of Chicago and is now the wife of Frank W. Siemen. The third daughter, Mary Deming, is a graduate of the University of Iowa and a teacher at Davenport. The son, Ralph La Venture, was educated in the Iowa State College at Ames and the Guggenheim School of Aeronautics. new York University, where he graduated, and is now doing very interesting work on the engineering staff of the Boeing Aircraft Company at Seattle, Washington.
DR. C. H. CRETZMEYER, who for over twenty-five years has practiced medicine at Algona, was born at Waverly, Bremer County, Iowa, August 16, 1878. The Cretzmeyer family came to Iowa nearly eighty years ago. The Cretzmeyers are people whose names and characters are highly respected in several Iowa communities, where they have given good account of themselves as business men, farmers and in the professions, and have measured up to the duties of good citizenship and patriotism at all times.
Doctor Cretzmeyer is a son of Henry and Margaret (Mooney) Cretzmeyer, his father of German and his mother of Irish ancestry. His paternal grandfather was born in Baden, Germany, and settled in New York State. Henry Cretzmeyer was born in New York, and in 1852 came to Iowa and has lived in Bremer County ever since. He was one of three sons. His brother Stephen enlisted in the Union army at Muscatine, Iowa, and while a soldier in the South was captured and was confined at Andersonville Prison. Henry Cretzmeyer for many years was a brick manufacturer. His wife was born at Baltimore, Maryland, and came to Iowa before her marriage. These parents had a family of ten children: Mary, Francis X., Rose, C. H., John, Agnes, Annette, Margaret, Joseph and Charlotte. All are living except Agnes and Joseph. Joseph died in France during the World war.
Dr. C. H. Cretzmeyer graduated from the Waverly High School and then taught for two years, using this method of defraying part of his expenses while in university. In 1901 he was graduated from the School of Medicine of the University of Iowa, and remained in Iowa City for one year as resident physician at the University Hospital. In 1902 he opened his office and began building up a general practice, in which he has been most successful, at Algona. He is a member of the Kissuth County, Iowa State, Austin Flint District and American Medical Associations. In matters of politics he acts independently and is a Catholic in religion.
Doctor Cretzmeyer married Bertha M. Henry of Oskaloosa, October 14, 1915, and they have two children, Charles H. and Margaret Jane.
FRANCIS X. CRETZMEYER, M.D., is an able physician
and a very popular citizen of Emmetsburg, Palo Alto County, where he has been
engaged in practice for a quarter of a century.
Doctor Cretzmeyer was born at Waverly, Iowa, April 23, 1882. His grandfather Cretzmeyer came from Germany. His father, Henry Cretzmeyer was born in New York State and was nine years of age when the family came to Waverly, Iowa, where they were pioneers, Henry Cretzmeyer spent his active life as a brick manufacturer. He married Mary Mooney, and they are not living retired at Waverly.
Dr. Francis X. Cretzmeyer attended school during his boyhood at Waverly. He graduated from high school in 1900 and began his professional preparation at the University of Iowa, graduating from the school of medicine in 1906. For one year he had special training in the Mercy Hospital in Davenport and then located at Emmetsburg, where his abilities as an able physician brought him ready recognition. he has enjoyed a place of leadership in the medical fraternity of the county. He is a member of the Upper Des Moines, Iowa State and American Medical Associations.
Doctor Cretzmeyer married Mary Katherine Laughlan, a native of Palo Alto County. Their two children are Francis X., Jr., and Margaret Jo. Doctor Cretzmeyer and family are members of the Catholic Church.
SEPHUS E. CRONKHITE, who was born in Marion County and is a resident of Knoxville, has had an exceptionally long and eventful experience as a law enforcement official, both for the county and the Federal Government.
Mr. Cronkhite, who spent many years in the sheriff's office, was born in Marion County, November 19, 1868, son of Abraham and Phoebe (Walters) Cronkhite. The Cronkhite family came to the United States from Holland, living for a time in New York State and then in Indiana. Abraham Cronkhite was one of the earliest representatives of the Holland people in the Territory of Iowa, settling in Marion County as early as 1840. He spent his life as a farmer.
Sephus E. Cronkhite until he was twenty-one years of age lived on the home farm in Marion County, working for his father and attending the public schools. It was in 1892 that he was given his first connection with the sheriff's office. He was deputy sheriff from 1892 to 1895. During the next twelve years he was engaged in business for himself and in 1907 again became deputy sheriff. This four-year term as deputy gave him qualifications for serving the people of Marion County in that office. He was elected in 1910 and served consecutively as sheriff from 1911 to 1921. During 1921-22 Mr. Cronkhite was employed, under the direction of the Iowa Bankers Association, in apprehending bank robbers, and it was due to his vigilance and energy that conviction was secured of one of the largest gangs who ever operated in the state. From March 27, 1922, to February 28, 1928, Mr. Cronkhite was employed by the United States Government with the prohibition enforcement bureau.
He is a Democrat in principle, but exercises an independent ballot when that is according to his best judgment. he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Improved Order of Red Men, Fraternal Order of Eagles and the Modern Woodmen of America.
Mr. Cronkhite married at Knoxville, Iowa, March 12, 1907, Mrs. Martha Elizabeth (Moon) Tucker. She was born in Marion County, daughter of H. J. and Betty (Wilson) Moon. Her father came to Iowa in 1848 and spent his life as a farmer. Mr. and Mrs. Cronkhite are members of the Christian Church of Knoxville. They have one son, Robert Arthur, a graduate of the Knoxville High School. Mrs. Cronkhite has two children by her former marriage. Her daughter, Marie, was a teacher until her marriage to Mr. Out Villont, of Bussey, Iowa. Her son, Roy, was an electrician on the battleship Oklahoma throughout the World war period, is now electrician for the United States Veterans Hospital at Knoxville, and married Nellie Van Veen, of Pella, and has three children, John Boyd, Sephus and Robert.
JAMES M. CUSHMAN. There are some individuals whose lives are shaped by circumstances and others who overcome circumstances and shape their own lives. To this latter class it may be safely said that James Mm Cushman, president of the International Oil Company of Des Moines, belongs. Tens of thousands, born as he was, in modest circumstances, never have emerged from mediocrity. From his parents, however, he inherited the best of legacies, health, industry and integrity. These, united in thrift, temperance and shrewd intelligence, have been the equipment with which he has won his way in life to his present success.
Mr. Cushman was born at Lisbon, New Hampshire, November 29, 1875, and is a son of George F. and Luella M. (Parker) Cushman. The Cushman family descends directly from Robert Cushman, of the Pilgrim Fathers, who is buried in the cemetery at Plymouth, Massachusetts, and the paternal grandfather of James M. Cushman was Ebenezer Cushman, who passed his entire life in New England. The maternal grandfather was Joseph Parker, of Lisbon, New Hampshire, who passed his life as a farmer and was of Mayflower descent.
George F. Cushman, father of James M. Cushman, was born in New England, and passed his life in New Hampshire and Vermont, where he was a prominent shoe manufacturer. He lived to the advanced age of ninety years, passing away in 1927 in the faith of the Congregational Church. He was a Mason, and in politics a staunch Republican. He and his wife, who was also born in New England and whose death occurred in 1903, were the parents of four children, of whom three are living, James M. being the youngest.
James M. Cushman attended St. Johsbury (Vermont) preparatory school, and was a classmate of ex-president Calvin Coolidge. Upon the completion of his education he went to work for the Fairbanks Company, and spent the greater part of his time in Vermont until coming to Des Moines in 1903. At that time he became secretary of the Atlas Fire Insurance Company, a position in which he remained until 1913, and in the latter year founded the International Oil Company, which he has since developed to large proportions through his energy and good business judgment. At the present time he owns and operates ten stations at Des Moines and throughout th estate, and his company is incorporated under the laws of the State of Iowa. He bears an excellent reputation in business circles as a man of the highest integrity who has made his own way in the world regardless of obstacles and disadvantages.
In 1902 Mr. Cushman was united in marriage with Miss Gertrude Wicker, who was born at New Haven, Vermont, and educated in her native state. To this union there have been born the following sons: George and Robert who are attending Grinnell College. The family belongs to the Plymouth Congregational Church. Mr. Cushman is a member of the Des Moines Club, the Country Club and the Kiwanis Club. He is always willing to foster and support public spirited movements, and his slogan is "Keep Iowa Money at Home."
JOHN CUNNINGHAM came to Humboldt County, Iowa, in early manhood, and the people of that county have known him successively as a farmer, teacher, county official, attorney an din numerous other public relationships, all of which have brought him a degree of respect and esteem paid to few other citizens of the county.
Mr. Cunningham was born in La Salle County, Illinois, February 28, 1870. His father, James Cunningham, was a native of Ireland, came to the United States when seventeen years of age, and in La Salle County, Illinois, was a teacher for some years and later a farmer. He married Anna Anderson, who survives him and is living in South Dakota. John Cunningham was one of a family of five children. He received his early school advantages in La Salle County, Illinois, afterwards attended the Northern Illinois Normal School at Dixon and his first occupation after coming to Iowa was teaching. He taught school in Humboldt and Webster counties from 1891 to 1893. After giving up school work he was a farmer in Beaver Township, Humboldt County, for five years. He had those qualities that bring a man into public and community affairs whether he desires such responsibilities or not. While living in the country he was elected township assessor of Beaver Township, also served as township trustee and as a school director. His public career took on a broader phase when he was elected county auditor, in 1900, serving in that office in 1908. While holding the office of county auditor he took up the study of law, studying in the office of D. F. Coyle and also in the law school at Humboldt College, of which he is a graduate. He has been a qualified member of the Humboldt County Bar since 1907/ Following his two terms as county auditor he was county attorney from 1908 to 1915 and again held that office from 1924 to 1928. Mr. Cunningham has also been mayor of Humboldt and a member of the city council and for eight years president of the Humboldt School Board. During the World war he was secretary of the local draft board.
He is an active Republican, a member of the Congregational Church, is affiliated with the Masonic Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Modern Woodmen of America.
Mr. Cunningham married Ann Johnson, born in Beaver Township, Humboldt County, daughter of C. K. and Elsie (Braland) Johnson. Her father, now deceased, was a Union soldier in the Civil war with an Illinois regiment. Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham have a family of eight children: Lawrence, who is married and has three children; Charlotte, wife of A. Eastack; Pearl, wife of C. P. Simmons; Arthur, in the automobile business at Humboldt, married Genevieve Thompson; Theodore and Esther are unmarried; John is a student of law at George Washington University, Washington, D. C.; and Irene is attending the University of Minnesota.
GEORGE MARTIN CURTIS was the last of the founders of a business that probably did more to carry the fame of the City of Clinton abroad in the world than any other one industry. But much more deserves to be said than that. In Clinton and other Mississippi River towns there have been scores of lumber mills and wood working plants during the past half century, but it is doubtful if any organization has done so much to set a standard of perfection, elevate architectural tastes and improve the convenience and comfort of American homes to such a degree as the companies and service represented in general by the Curtis name.
George Martin Curtis was the last survivor of ten sons and daughters born to John S. and Elizabeth (Carpenter) Curtis. His oldest brother was killed while a soldier in the Union army and two of the brothers who were also associated with the business at Clinton were C. F. and C. S. Curtis. George Martin Curtis was born on a farm in Chenango County, New York, April 1, 1844, and died at his home in Clinton February 9, 1921, having attained the age of nearly seventy-seven. He lived a long life of extreme usefulness, but was never physically robust, and in his case it would seem that his strength of will and great intellectual energy had something to do with overcoming and mastering the infirmities of his physique. In 1856, when he was twelve years of age, his family moved to a farm in Ogle County, Illinois, in the vicinity of Rochelle. So far as his physical strength permitted he labored with his brothers on the farm, and during the winter applied himself to his books and diligently took advantage of all the opportunities in the rather backward schools of that locality. In Illinois he attended the Mount Morris Seminary, and for two years he taught country schools and then became a clerk in a grocery store at Rochelle. While clerking it is said that he knew nearly every man, woman and child in the county, and his success as a salesman was the greater because people came to trade at the store through a liking for George Curtis. When he was twenty years of age he entered the coal business for himself at Cortland, Illinois.
His son, George L. Curtis, in a brief tribute written at the time of the death of his father, had told some interesting particulars regarding his father's early life. "In those early years another quality in the young man's character stood forth for all to see, and it remained a dominant characteristic, namely, an indomitable determination to do what he set out to do. So he got his education - not much compared with present standards, but far better than the average of his day. So he got his job as teacher and held it successfully. So he governed his temper and no one who knew him only in full manhood would have suspected that he ever had a temper . So he did his part in business with his brothers and his uncle. So he got himself elected to Congress."
George M. Curtis in 1867 moved to Clinton and purchased an interest in the sash and door business his brother had established there the previous year. To his personal efforts may be attributed much of the success which this business attained in a steady growth from a small industry to a great industrial institution, with offices and factories in many cities. He and his brother built up the business, and in his later years he was chairman of the board of directors of the Curtis Companies Incorporated. For a number of years he was interested in a business venture in California,having founded an olive and citrus growing and manufacturing establishment at Bloomington in that state.
George M. Curtis was an Iowa business man who for many years figured largely in state and national politics. He was a student of government and political economy, and he understood the motives of men in political life and was interested in impressing some of his own broad views and high ideals on the public life of his home state. In 1885 he entered the State Assembly as representative from Clinton County, and during his two terms in teh Legislature formed friendships with such noted Iowans as Albert B. Cummins, Senator Allison, Jonathan P. Dolliver and others. In 1894 the Republican convention nominated him for Congress to represent the Second Iowa District. This second district, as a result of gerrymandering, had been for years a Democratic stronghold. A Republican Legislature had carefully consolidated a group of Democratic counties in the district, in such a way that while the Second District would normally return a Democratic candidate every two years, all the other districts in the state would be safely Republican. Consequently it was as a leader of forlorn hope that George M. Curtis accepted the nomination in 1894. The normal Democratic majority of the district was over nine thousand. His son recalls how his father visited and revisited every city, town and hamlet in the district, made friends and converts wherever he went, and when the vote was finally counted he was elected by a scant four hundred and two years later was reelected by a majority of several thousand. For business reasons he declined a third term. At Washington he gained high rank in the Iowa delegation, serving as a member of the District of Columbia committee and part of the time as chairman pro tem, in which capacity he probably reported more bills than any other member during his term of service. Among other services credited to him while in Congress was his influence in securing an appropriation of $100,000 for the Clinton Government Building, which has always been recognized as a permanent memorial to his loyalty to his home town.
George M. Curtis was a delegate to three Republican national conventions and in 1904 was a member of th Iowa commission at the Louisiana Purchase Exposition at Saint Louis. He received the supreme honorary thirty-third degree in Scottish Rite Masonry and was a Presbyterian. Among the business organizations with which he was actively identified during his later years were the Curtis Brothers & Company, Curtis Door & Sash Company, Curtis & Yale Company, Curtis, Towle & Paine Company, the McCloud River Lumber Company of California, and the City National Bank of Clinton.
To quote again the reverent tribute of his son - "His life was a fight against odds from beginning to end, but I do not remember ever hearing him admit that he was discouraged. Surely we may call the fight successful, not alone because he overcame material difficulties and bodily disability, but, most of all, because of the number of those who loved him and called him friend. He is gone, but he will live long in the memory of those who knew him. In life his unfaltering courage was a constant bulwark for associates and friends. In death the memory of that courage will shine for use who remain, a never ending inspiration to make a better fight - to play the game hard to win, but always with friendliness in our hearts."
George Martin Curtis married, September 4, 1872, Miss Ettie Lewis, of Clinton. He was survived by Mrs. Curtis and two sons, G. L. and E. J. Curtis.
The son George L. Curtis, now president of the Curtis Companies, Incorporated, was born at Clinton, August 23, 1878. He attended public school in Clinton and was sent east to a preparatory school at East Hampton, Massachusetts. For one year he was a student in Yale University and then returned to Clinton to enter his father's business in 1899. Mr. Curtis by natural ability and training is well fitted to carry on the great industries originated by his father and uncles. During the past thirty years he has been connected with every department from the counting room to the factories. In 1911 he was made president of the holding company, known as the Curtis Companies, Incorporated, and is an officer in the several other organizations owned by the Curtis Companies, Incorporated. He is also president of the City National Bank of Clinton, is an officer in the Merrill Company of Salt Lake City, director of the McCloud River Lumber Company and other corporations. Mr. Curtis is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, is a member of the Clinton Country Club, the Wapsipinicon Club, the Midway Club of Los Angeles, and the Chicago Club. He is a Presbyterian and, like his father, a staunch Republican.
George L. Curtis married, May 16, 1900, Miss Frances Wilcox, of Clinton, daughter of Fred P. and Ann (Clark) Wilcox. Her father was an early settler in Clinton County and for many years engaged in the real estate and insurance business. Mr. and Mrs. Curtis had three children: Elizabeth W., George M. and Louise. The son George is now learning the business, preparing to represent the third generation of the family. Mrs. George L. Curtis passed away March 20, 1924.
MAURICE L. CURTIS. In Maurice L. Curtis, a veteran of the Spanish-American war, postmaster at Knoxville, Iowa, and publisher of the Knoxville Journal, this city finds a citizen of solid worth and large achievement. A native of Marion County, Mr. Curtis has spent almost his entire life here, and continuously for the past twenty-eight years has made the Journal a molder of public opinion and a reflection of true American thought. The Journal was established in 1855 by War Gov. William S. Stone, and was purchased by Mr. Curtis in 1901. It is one of the oldest and best supported newspapers in the state, is Republican in political policy, and under Mr. Curtis' able management has been a strong factor in bringing about both national and state movements of importance.
Maurice L. Curtis was born near Knoxville, January 6, 1876, a son of Joshua and Margaret E. (Andrew) Curtis, Ohio people, who came to Iowa in 1850. The Curtis family is of English descent. Joshua T. Curtis died at his country home near Knoxville in October 1893, at the age of sixty-four years. His widow, who maintains her own home in Knoxville, celebrated her ninetieth birthday May 8, 1930, in full possession of all her mental faculties, frail in body but still active. In 1893 Maurice L. Curtis was graduated from the Knoxville High School, and from the University of Iowa in 1899, having majored in history and government. While in college he was elected to the honorary society of Phi Beta Kappa, one of the ten students from a class of several hundred to receive this honor. After spending some months in school teaching, in 1901 Mr. Curtis purchased from J. W. Johnson the Knoxville Journal, and during the years which have followed has made it what it is today, and won the full confidence of his patrons on account of the quality of the paper and the reliability of his own character. Since 1923 he has been postmaster of Knoxville, but this is not the only evidence of public esteem he has received, for he has always been active in the Republican party, and for six years was a member of the Republican State Central Committee. High in Masonry, he has been advanced through both the York and Scottish rites, and also belongs to the Mystic Shrine. Both he and his wife are members of the local Chapter, O. E. S. Mr. Curtis takes a very deep interest in local affairs, was instrumental in securing the first city sewers, the pavements and other improvements, for he is very progressive. It was through his work, both personal and through the columns of the Journal, that Knoxville secured the United States Veterans Bureau Hospital 57, and because of his services in this connection he was presented with a fine watch by the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce. During 1927 he was in charge of the campaign to secure for the hospital additional facilities, with the result that a sufficient amount was appropriated by congress to erect a new building in 1929, at a cost of $300,000.
In 1924 Mr. Curtis married at Des Moines, Iowa, Mrs. Ebba J. Holtberg, a widow, a daughter of August and Emily (Anderson) Carlson, and sister of Carl Carlson a World war veteran, whose service in France covered a period of eighteen months, during which time he was a member of a combat division Mr. and Mrs. Curtis have one son, James Trueman Curtis.
The military history of the Curtis family includes father and son, for Joshua Curtis served for three years during the war between the states in Company A. Thirty-third Iowa Volunteer Infantry, with the rank of sergeant, and was wounded at Helena, Arkansas; while Postmaster Curtis of this review was sergeant of Company D, Fifty-first Iowa Volunteer Infantry, during the Spanish-American war, and was honorably discharged at Iowa City, Iowa, at the close of that war. Alert, enterprising and abreast of progress along varied lines, Mr. Curtis is accomplishing a vast amount of good for his community, and is valued accordingly.
Iowa History Project