IAGenWeb Project

Iowa History

       An IAGenWeb Special Project


Join the IAGenWeb Team



Iowa Official Registers

1941 - 1942

~ transcribed and contributed by Sharyl Ferrall

Pages 472 -474

State of Iowa Official Register

 Thirty-Ninth Number, 1941-1942

~ transcribed by S. Ferrall for the IAGenWeb Special Project - Iowa History

Other Iowa People of Note
by Ora Williams, Curator, Iowa Historical Department

Samual Freeman Miller, 1868-1890, came to Iowa from Kentucky where he had practiced medicine, rose to eminence in the law and was appointed by President Lincoln to United States Supreme Court where he became one of its greatest members. He had freed his own slaves in Kentucky and was an ardent advocate of freedom for all.

John Adam Kasson, 1822-1910, First Assistant Postmaster General under Lincoln; member Congress several terms; represented the United States at international postal conference 1863; US Minister to Austria-Hungry 1877-81, and to Germany 1884; member of various international commissions; lecture on American diplomacy; one of the early leaders of the Republican party. A magnificent full-length oil portrait of Mr. Kasson is in this state gallery of prominent men in the State Historical department.

Grenville Mellon Dodge, Major General and chief of engineers for Union Army in operations at Vicksburg and elsewhere; close friend of General Grant; engineer who directed the construction of the Union Pacific railroad; member of Congress 1867-69 from southwestern Iowa. Portrait in oil on horseback adorns the State Historical Library, and there is a special room filled with his personal and public records and papers.

Frederick W. Lehmann, long one of the leaders of the Iowa bar, and president of the American Bar Association 1908-09. Leader of the Democratic Party in Iowa. Removed to St. Louis, and later was appointed by President Taft to be solicitor general in the legal department in the United States. Left a rare collection of Dickens manuscripts.

George H. Yewell, famous as portrait painter, lived in Iowa City, but in 1878 opened a studio in New York City. Several of the finest portraits in the famous Iowa collection are from his hand.

Augustus Caesar Dodge, 1812-1883, son of Henry Dodge, governor of Wisconsin. Became first United States Senator from Iowa in 1848; ambassador to Spain 1855-1859; long remained the recognized leader of the Democratic Party in Iowa.

John F. Dillon, turned from practice of medicine to the law and went on the Iowa supreme bench 1863-1869; appointed judge in the United States Circuit Court, Eighth Circuit, and served from 1869 to 1879; entered private practice in New York and became a leading authority on corporation law and the author of several books.

James Baird Weaver, 1883-1912, distinguished Civil War record; member of Congress from Iowa; candidate of the greenback party for president and received over a million votes. Editor and publisher, and one of the greatest Iowa orators. Became mayor of Colfax in his later years.

S.H.M. Byers, 1838-1928, soldier, poet, author. Consul General in Italy and Switzerland. Author of Song of Iowa and of many fine poems.

James S. Clarkson, editor of Iowa State Register many years prior to 1891; First Assistant Postmaster General under President Harrison 1889-1890; collector of the Port of New York; Chairman of the executive committee of the Republican national committee 1888.

William I. Buchanan, director of Corn Palaces at Sioux City; had charge of the agricultural Department of the Columbian exposition; director and agent for the Pan American exposition at Buffalo; envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary to the Argentine Republic 1894-1900.

George Evans Robert, longtime editor of the Fort Dodge Messenger; owned and consolidated Iowa State Register and Iowa State Leader; wrote a famous reply to "Coin" Harvey on finances; was state printer 1883-1889; director of the United States mint 1898-1907 and 1910-1914; Vice President City National bank, New York.

Handford MacNider, national commander of the American Legion 1921-22; Assistant Secretary of War 1925-1928; United States Minister to Canada 1930-1932.

Edwin H. Conger, farmer in Madison County, County Treasurer Dallas County, State Treasurer, member of Congress 1885-1890, United States Minister to Brazil 1890-1893; United States Minister to China 1898-1905; ambassador to Mexico 1905 and resigned the same year.

James Cox Davis, general counsel to United States Railroad administration 1920-1921; director general of railroads and presidential agent for liquidation of railroads under government control 1921-1926.

William D. Leahy, Rear Admiral in the United States Navy and Commander-in-Chief of Navy 1936-1937; sent as US ambassador to France 1940.

George Collier Remey, first Rear Admiral of the United States Navy born west of the Mississippi River; served with distinction in the Asiatic Fleet.

Harry E. Yarnell, rear Admiral United States Navy, with much experience in many places; latest service before retirement in charge of the Asiatic Fleet during first years of the Sino Japanese war 1937.

William Larrabee, governor, member Board of control, State Senator; author of "The Railroad Question;" chairman of the interstate commerce congress and prominent in later movements to secure rail rates just to Western interests.

Mrs. Carrie Chapman Catt, a schoolteacher and Superintendent of schools in Cerro Gordo County; devoted her life to the securing of equality for women and has long been at the head of the national organization.

Stephen B. Packard, a Maine soldier who had become governor of Louisiana and was United States marshal there in reconstruction days; was sent by President Grant to be Consul at Mexico City; later became a farmer and stock breeder in Iowa and was for many years on the State fair board.

George Washington Carver, born of slave parents and once was traded for a horse; worked his way through school in Kansas, then through Iowa State College and received degrees from Simpson College; member of the faculty of Iowa State College; went to Tuskegee in 1896; became director of agricultural research, and is eminent in science.

Frank S. Merriam was a member of the Iowa Legislature from Delaware County, state auditor of Iowa, and governor of California for two terms.

Frank O. Lowden was a schoolteacher in Hardin County and in Burlington, later lawyer in Chicago and general consul for the Pullman Company; governor of Illinois and prominent as a candidate for the presidency.

Luella M. Wilson attained national fame when she became in 1884 the Superintendent of the Des Moines public schools, a position of responsibility not before attained by any woman. She had been a teacher 25 years.

Lillian Russell was born in Clinton, Iowa, in 1861 and early in life became famous as a singer and actor, holding high position on the stage until 1900.

George F. Parker was educated in country schools in Warren County and at the state university. Establish the Indianola Tribune. Later became very close to President Cleveland and was his secretary, then United States consul in Birmingham, England. Wrote a book on Grover Cleveland and others.


back to History Index