IAGenWeb Project

Iowa History

       An IAGenWeb Special Project


Join the IAGenWeb Team



Iowa Official Registers

1927 -1928

Iowa State Senators

Berthel M. Stoddard

Senator from the thirty-second district, consisting of Woodbury county, was born at Minonk, Ill., January 21, 1871. Graduated from Illinois college, Jacksonville, Ill., in 1891. Engaged in the grain business at Toluca, Ill., for seven years, moving to Sloan, Iowa, in 1901. He was married in 1897 to Wilhelmina E. Simater. they have a son, Bela M., and a daughter, Jane M. He has been a member of the school board for twenty-five years, a member of the county board of supervisors, drainage trustee, chairman of the local board for Woodbury county, county chairman for the Y.M.C.A. and Red Cross drives, the united War Service fund, and the third and fourth liberty loan campaigns. with his son he operated grain elevators at Sloan and Owego, Iowa. they are also engaged in farming and stock raising. he was elected in 1918 to fill the unexpired term of Senator C.F. Lytle, resigned. He was re-elected in 1920 for the full term and again in 1924. He has always been a republican.

Ralph U. Thompson
Senator from the twentieth senatorial district, composed of Muscatine and Louisa counties, was born October 29, 1878, on a farm in Louisa county, Iowa. At the age of ten years, his parents moved to Muscatine, Muscatine county, Iowa. He attended rural school in Louisa county and grade and high school in Muscatine. Was graduated from the college of law at the University of Iowa in 1903. In June of that year he opened a law office, in partnership with his brother, Herbert G. Thompson, in Muscatine, where he is still engaged in practice of law. Was married to Gertrude M. Carter on June 9, 1902. In 1907 acted as assistant city attorney of the city of Muscatine, and as assistant county attorney for two successive terms. In 1917 was elected city attorney of Muscatine and was re-elected for a second term. Recieved the nomination on the democratic ticket as a candidate for congress in the second congressional district in 1924. At a special election, held on March 18, 1927, he was nominated by petition on the progressive independent ticket and was elected state senator to fill the unexpired term of the late Samuel E. Wilson of Louisa county.

Clyde H. Topping
Senator from the ninth district, Des Moines county, was born on a ranch near Utica, Ness county, Kansas, January 8, 1884. His parents returned to Van Buren county, Iowa in 1888, and then moved to Burlington in 1896. Attended grammar and high school there and went to the State University of Iowa in 1903. Left the university in 1906 and with his father operated a ranch near Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada, in connection with a colonization project of theirs. Was married in 1908 to Miss Helen Welsh Young of Burlington, Iowa, and they have three children, Alice Hamilton, Eugenia Young, and Clyde H., Jr. After the disposal of the Canadian ranch he entered the employ of the Canadian Pacific Railway, and was connected with the sales organization of the land department of that railway at Calgary, Alberta, for ten years, leaving the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1921 to again engage in the real estate business with his father at Burlington, Iowa. He was elected to the Iowa senate in 1926. Republican member from Des Moines county. He is a member of the Congregational church.

Oscar Ulstad
Senator from Hamilton, Hardin and Wright counties, was born at Leland, Illinois, October 30, 1867. At the age of five years he moved with his parents to Lee county, Illinois, where he resided until twenty years of age. He then moved to Wright county, Iowa, where he has since resided. Received his education in the rural schools of Illinois. Was engaged in the mercantile business at Holmes, Iowa, for fifteen years, retiring in 1913. Has lived on a farm adjoining Holmes since that time. Was postmaster at Holmes for seventeen years, township trustee four years, township clerk two years and was president of the school board. Is married and has five children. Elected representative in 1916, 1918, 1920, 1922 and 1924. Elected senator in 1926. Speaker pro tempore of the forty-first general assembly. Chairman of the republican central committee of Wright county. A republican in politics.

Denver L. Wilson
Senator from the seventh district, was born at Clarington, Ohio, 58 years ago. His parents both died when he was a mere child. When he was fourteen years old he went to Nebraska and worked on a farm until he was twenty, when he entered school at the old western normal at Shenandoah, Iowa. From then until he was thirty he alternately went to school and taught until he completed his law course at the state university of Nebraska. He entered the practice of law at Shenandoah in 1901, where he has continued to reside. He was married to Miss Dora Dubar in 1897. To this union two children have been born, Ruth and Ivan. Was never a candidate for office until his candidacy and election as senator in 1926, although he has always taken an active interest in politics. He is a republican.

Geo. A. Wilson
Senator from the thirthieth district, Polk county, Iowa. Born on a farm in Adair county. Youngest son of James H. Wilson and Martha G. Wilson. Married Mildred Zehner, December 8, 1922. Graduated from Menlo high school, attended college at Grinnell, graduate of the law school of the State University of Iowa in 1907. Began practicing law immediately in the city of Des Moines. Was elected county attorney for one term. Served as judge of the district court of Polk county, Iowa, for a period of over two years, resigning from this position to again enter the practice of law. Republican in politics.

Officers of the Senate (pictured above, no biographies)
Samuel F. Wilson, no position given
Walter H. Beam, Secretary of the Senate, Martensdale
H.M. Harney, Reading Clerk, Des Moines
William R. Blake, Assistant Secretary, Clermont
T.D. Doke, Sergeant-at-Arms, Bloomfield
O.W. Lowery, Chief Doorkeeper, Des Moines

Officers of the Senate (not pictured)
Clem F. Kimball, Lieutenant Governor, President of the Senate (picture on executive branch page)
Frank Shane, President Pro Tempore, Ottumwa
Genevieve Burling, Engrossing Clerk, Waterloo
Edythe P. Ditto, Enrolling Clerk, Ankeny
Hertha Z. Duncan, Assistant Enrolling Clerk, Davenport
Meryl Hoefle, Journal Clerk, Des Moines
Catherine Hicklin, Journal Clerk, Wapello
E.R. Haggard, Bill Clerk, Sioux City
Claude Richardson, File Clerk, Shell Rock
Bonnie Mullen, Postmistress, Fonda


back to History Index