IAGenWeb Project

Iowa History

       An IAGenWeb Special Project


Join the IAGenWeb Team



Iowa Official Registers

1927 -1928

Iowa State Representatives & Officers of the House

pg. 6


Joseph Wagner
Representative from Scott county, was born in Germany, April 4, 1883, and came to Davenport with is parents in 1884. Educated in the public schools of Davenport. Served as deputy city clerk in 1904 and 1905, deputy county auditor from 1909 to 1917. Appointed county auditor to fill vacancy, served seven and one-half years as county auditor, elected representative in 1924. Operates real estate and insurance business at Davenport, under name of Wagner Realty Company. Married Elsie G. Treftz in 1902. One son, Paul, studied law at Iowa University and is now residing in Chicago.

Warren Walrod
Representative from Clinton county, Iowa, was born October 4, 1871, on a farm in Welton township, where he resided until April, 1923. He then moved to DeWitt, Iowa. Attended the district school and completed the school course at Maquoketa, Iowa. He taught school four years. He has held various offices of trust in his township and county. When he left the farm he was president of the consolidated school board and a member of the board of trustees of the township. He has been a member of the county board of education for ten years. He married Evelyn M. Hastings November 20, 1895, to which union was born one son, Harold W., and one daughter, Hazel M. He owns the old homestead, on which the son now lives. Is a member of the M.E. church and of the Masonic order. Elected representative in 1924 and reelected in 1926. A republican in politics.

Brede Wamstad
Representative from Mitchell county, was born in that county April 17, 1878. Attended the rural schools and later the St. Ansgar seminary and institute. Graduated from the normal course in 1899. Married June 29, 1905, to Catherine Rone of Worth county, Iowa. Has one daughter, Constance. Appointed deputy county auditor of Mitchell county in 1903. Has been actively engaged in farming since the spring of 1906. Served as representative for Mitchell county during the thirty-ninth, fortieth and fortieth extra general assemblies. A member of the Evangelical Lutheran church. Reelected representative in 1926. A republican in politics.

Samuel D. Whiting
Representative from Johnson county, was born at Clermont, Fayette county, Iowa, May 16, 1875. Family moved to Iowa City in August, 1885. Graduated from Iowa City high school in 1892; from University of Iowa, liberal arts, 1896; and from Iowa university law school in 1904. Taught in rural schools of Johnson county in Shueyville high school, and served as county superintendent of Johnson county schools from 1897 to 1902. IN 1904 was married to Miss Caroline Buresh. Has four children, three boys and one girl. President of Iowa City board of education. Past Grand of Eureka lodge, No. 44, I.O.O.F.; Past Patriarch of Good Samaritan encampment, No. 5; retired captain of Canton, Iowa City, No. 29; secretary chapter 36 of Iowa, Izaak Walton League. Member of First Congregational church of Iowa City. A democrat. An election contest in the house soon after the session convened resulted in the seating of Lee Nagle, republican, as representative from Johnson county.

W. Walter Wilson
Representative from Tama county, was born at Franklin, Indiana, in 1869. At age of six months he moved with his parents to Illinois. When four years of age he moved to Iowa in one of those historic prairie schooners, crossing the Mississippi on a ferry at Burlington, and settling in 1873 on a farm in Black Hawk county. At age of nineteen he entered the State Teachers' college, from which he was graduated in 1892. IN 1894 he was married to S. Sophie Keeler and took up the business of farming for himself, first in Hamilton county, and later in Tama county, and is still following farming. He has three children, Carl, Iris and Dorothy. He has held the office of secretary of the Buckingham Grain company since its organization and also the presidency of the Farmers' Lumber company at Traer since its origin. He was the president of the Tama County Farm Bureau when elected to the office of representative without opposition. He was reelected in November, 1924, and again in 1926. He is a member of the Methodist church. He is a thirty-second degree Mason. A republican in politics.

Thomas L. Wolfe
Representative from Linn county, was born in Linn county, Iowa, December 16, 1872. His parents came to Iowa in 1837 from Ohio and settled at Ivanhoe, Linn county, the present Wolfe homestead, and the ownership of which has been and is in the Wolfe family. He has been in the active practice of medicine in Mt. Vernon for twenty-five years and also engaged in farming and the real estate business in Iowa and the south.

Officers of the House of Representatives

L.V. Carter
Speaker of the House, Lawn Hill

Howard A. Mathews
Speaker Pro Tempore, Danville

A.C. Gustafson

Chief Clerk, House of Representatives. Served the 35th General Assembly from Montgomery county. Served the 39th, 40th, 40th ex., 41st and 42nd General Assemblies, from Polk county. Residence, Des Moines. (pictured above)

Peter Welsh
Assistant Chief Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines. (pictured above)

Lillian Leffert
Assistant to Chief Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.

Robert M. Cook
Chief Reading Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Clarksville. (pictured above)

Cecil Hawley
Engrossing Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.

Catherine A. Roberts
Enrolling Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.

Anna Stilwell
Assistant Enrolling Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Waukon.

Margaret Canfield
Journal Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.

Georgia Miller
Journal Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.

Chas. A. Lindenau
File Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Maquoketa.

John J. Montgomery
Assistant File Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.

Eddie E. Blegelid
Bill Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Jewell.

W.B. Blake
Assistant Bill Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Clermont.

Christyna Callison
House Postmistress, House of Representatives. Residence, Britt.

Oley Nelson
Sergeant-at-Arms, House of Representatives. Residence, Slater. (pictured above)

Walter R. Cook
Assistant Sergeant-at-arms, House of Representatives. Residence, Wadena. (pictured above)

Emily Faris
Speaker's Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, New Providence.

Madeline Burrows
Chief Clerk's Clerk, House of Representatives. Residence, Des Moines.


back to History Index