City, District and County Medical Associations

Henry County

The Henry County physicians organized on July 15, 1903, adopting the new Constitution and By-Laws.

Officers elected: President, J. M. Evans, Salem; vice president, C. W. Gardner of Winfield; secretary-treasurer, W. S. Lessenger of Mt. Pleasant - Iowa M. J., 1903, p. 326.

Note: Henry County belonged to the Southeastern Iowa District Medical Society prior to the organization of the County Society in 1903. the territory embraced by the Society was the First Iowa Congressional District, which includes Henry County, plus Muscatine County. - Dr. C. A. Boice, Washington, Iowa, 1949.

One Hundred Years of Iowa Medicine: Commemorating The Centenary of the Iowa State Medical Society 1850 - 1950
Publisher: Athens Press, Iowa City, Iowa

Transcribed by Conni McDaniel Hall 22 Jan 2021.
Directories  ***  Henry County IAGenWeb