Henry County IAGenWeb



The rural eighth grade graduating class of 33 members received diplomas at exercises held in the high school auditorium Friday morning.

The class is the last to be graduated at a formal ceremony under the county setup. Only one rural school will be operating the coming year, County Superintendent J.H. McGrath said, outside the Mt. Pleasant community district. This will be Douglas No. 7 in Jefferson township.

Coppock and Flowers, the other two which might have been open, have voted to close and send their pupils to Wayland.

At the exercises Friday, David Moorhead, Mahaska county superintendent of schools, cited changes that are taking place in schools because of the necessity of keeping up with the needs of this generation. He also made some predictions about the needs of the future.

Supt. C.A. Cottrell of Mt. Pleasant gave the welcome and County Supt. J.H. McGrath presented the diplomas in the absence of Dr. George Sutton, president of the county board of education, who had been detained professionally, Mr. McGrath also gave recognition to the honor students.

The Graduates:

Jackson: Martha Frary, Karen Henessee, JoAnn Hunting, Charlene Manning, Mary Ann Manning and Roger Trueblood.

Jefferson: Daniel Arbogast, Kenneth Beachy, Jane Boese, William Farr, Joyce Roth and William Starr.

Trenton: Donald Alter, Karen Campbell, Nancy Hill, Sylvia Klaus, Gene Klopfenstein, Gerry Klopfenstein, James Krabill, Kenneth Leffler, David Van Dorin and Larry Warrington.

Tippecanoe: Wendell Ensminger, Berta Hart, Merrill Kirk and Harold Lance.

Marion: Betty Baker, Carol King, Raymond Leu, Ronald Leu, Evelyn Smith, Tom Young and Kent Zickefoose.

Honor “I” Students: Donald Alter, Jane Boese, David Van Dorin, James Krabill, Carol King and JoAnn Hunting.

Honorable Mention: Martha Francy, Joyce Roth, Evelyn Smith, Sylvia Klaus, Kenneth Beachy and Wendell Ensminger.

[“Mt. Pleasant News”, May 29, 1959, page 1]
Transcribed and contributed by Pat White, November 2020.

School Days Index   **   Henry County IAGenWeb