Henry County, Iowa - Medal Of Honor Recipients


About the Congressional Medal Of Honor



click for larger view


Charles A. Swan  USA  Civil War


John P. Yount  USA 1870  Indian Wars


Paul F. Straub  USA  1899  Philippines


Edward J. Bebb  USA  1865  Civil War


James P. Miller  USA  1865  Civil War


Emory J. Pike  USA  1918  World War I

There are several Medal of Honor sites to visit in Henry County:
  • Plaque at Camp Harlan, dedicated May 2011, commemorating the Medal of Honor recipients who trained with the 4th Iowa Cavalry at Camp Harlan.  Located NW of Mount Pleasant at the intersection of Courtland and Hickory.

  • Gravesite of John P. Yount, Oak Grove Pioneer Cemetery, north of Mount Pleasant in Marion Township.  Yount was awarded the Medal in 1871 for “Gallantry in action with Indians”.  His Medal of Honor marker was dedicated September 2007.

  • Gravesite of Charles A. Swan, Forest Home Cemetery, Mount Pleasant.

  • Veterans Memorial on the Henry County courthouse lawn in Mount Pleasant.  On the south side of the black, granite marker is a list of Henry County Medal of Honor recipients. (See above)

Photo and information contributed by Pat White to Henry County IAGenWeb. Feb 2015

Military Index  ***  Home Page