Franklin co. IAGenWebFranklin county & community Histories


Sometime in the 80's, after the Chicago & Great Western Railway began operations, a station was located on section 31, in the extreme south western corner of Marion township. It is quite an interesting little trading point and now has a population of about two hundred. Its general stores carry lines of merchandise suitable to the wants of the community in contiguous territory. There is a good school and a well attended church. The Coultier Savings Bank was established in Coultier in 1908, with a capital of $10,000. Its deposits are about $50,000. Of this conservative and well regulated financial concern W. L. Robinson is president; Nels Petersen, vice president; Ole Hansen, cashier; D. O. Hansen, assistant cashier. The Post Office was established in Coultier and George F, Propst was commissioned postmaster, April 30, 1902. The names of his successors follow: Peter Madson, November 25, 1902; Jans Peter Jacobson August 7, 1902; Ole Hansen, January 22, 1906; Simon N. Juhl, September 18, 1906.

On July 1, 1933 a severe wind and rain storm tore across the southern part of Franklin county. Along with barns, corncribs, hog houses and windmills, large trees were uprooted and livestock killed. Evergreens in the Morgan Township cemetery and Mount Hope Cemetery were broken off. The entrances to some homes were blocked with fallen trees and debris. The residents had to chop their way out.


                                                                                                                                   History Index