D. A. DANIELS
D. A. Daniels, one of the foremost citizens of Lloyd township, Dickinson county, who owns and operates a fine farm on section 28, claims Pennsylvania as his native state, his birth occurring in Crawford county,
September 5, 1856. His parents were Henry and Mary (Reynolds) Daniels. The mother died in Pennsylvania and about 1870 the father, with his family of six children, came west to Iowa, locating in Webster
county, where he purchased a farm and continued to reside until hisdeath in 1890. In the Keystone state D. A. Daniels passed the first fourteen years of his life and then accompanied the family on their removal to Iowa.
During his boyhood he received a good common school education and afterputting aside his textbooks engaged in farming in Webster county.
There he was married in February, 1894, the lady of his choice being MissBetsie Daniels, of Webster county. The following month he brought his bride to Dickinson county and located upon his present farm on section 28,
Lloyd township, which he had purchased the fall previous to his removal.The place, which comprises one hundred and sixty acres, is one of the productive farms in the county, and its neat and thrifty appearance plainly
indicates the care and labor he bestows upon it. To Mr. and Mrs. Daniels have been born five children: Ursula,
Warren G., Hazel A., Everett A. and Noel D., all at home with their parents. Mrs. Daniels is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and is a most estimable lady. Since attaining his majority Mr. Daniels
has affiliated with the republican party and he has been called upon to serve as township trustee several years and also as a member of the schoolboard. Fraternally he is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America.
He is a stockholder in the Terril Savings Bank and is one of the leading citizens of his community, taking an active and commendable interest in public affairs. He never withholds his support from any enterprise which
he believes will prove of public benefit.
The wealth of Emmet county consists largely of its productive and finely improved farms and its prosperity depends more largely upon the farmers than upon any other class of people. Among the most progressive and successful agriculturists of Jack Creek township is Charles Christian, a native of La Salle county, Illinois. He was born on the 2d of February, 1862, a son of Thomas and Hellen (Rasmussen) Christian, who were born in Norway. On emigrating to America both located in Illinois, where their marriage occurred. From La Salle county they went to Livingston county, that state, whence they later removed to Cass county, Iowa. There the father died but the mother is now living in Ada, Minnesota. Charles Christian is one of five living children of a family of nine
and his education was that afforded in the public schools of Illinois. When twenty-two years of age he left home and went to South Dakota but after spending a year in that state returned to Cass county, Iowa, where he
worked on a farm for two years. The succeeding three years were devoted to the cultivation of rented land in that county. In the spring of 1901 he came to Emmet county and bought one hundred and sixty acres on section 6, Jack Creek township, to the development of which he has sincedevoted his energies. He has erected fine buildings upon the place and has otherwise improved it and his hard work and good management have led to the accumulation of a competence.
In 1892 Mr. Christian was united in marriage to Miss Christina Paulson, who was born in Minnesota, and they have nine children, Gilbert T., Hazel A., Tomena G., Carl C., Anna D., Melvin R., Milford J., Edward
L. and Agnes J. Mr. Christian supports the republican party at the polls and is now serving his third year as township assessor and is also township trustee. His interest in the schools is indicated by the fact that he is serving upon the board of school directors. Both he and his wife are identified with the
Lutheran church and in their daily lives practice the teachings of Christianity.
W. G. GORDON.
One of the valuable and highly improved farms of Emmet county is the property of W. G. Gordon and comprises two hundred and eighty-one acres on section 33, Center township, on which he took up his abode in 1915. He was born in Forest county, Pennsylvania, May 23, 1870, his parents being Alexander and Mary (McBride) Gordon, both of whom were
natives of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. There they were married and later they became residents of Elkhart county, Indiana. They had a family of eight children, of whom six are now living. In the year 1882
the father came to Emmet county, Iowa, which was then largely an
unsettled and unimproved district, and purchased a large tract of land at four dollars per acre. He afterward gave to his son, W. G. Gordon, part of the farm which he now owns. He died at Elkhart, Indiana, in August, 1904.
W. G. Gordon was reared in the Hoosier state and completed his education at Notre Dame University. He lived withhis parents until he reached adult age and then removed to Oregon, settling near Medford.For seven years he devoted his time and attention to the development ofa fruit farm in that district and was quite successful in its conduct. In 1915 he came to Iowa and established his home in Emmet county upon the farm on section 33, Center township, where he now resides. This is an excellent tract of land, naturally rich and productive, and the fields respond readily to the care and labor which he bestows upon them. The farm methods which he employs are most progressive and in all that he undertakes he is systematic and persistent.
In 1894 Mr. Gordon was united in marriage to Miss Florence Throop, a native of Indiana and a daughter of Samuel B. and Helen F. (Evans) Throop. The father is a native of Canada and the mother of Indiana andthey are still living in the Hoosier state. They became parents of three children, all of whom survive. Mr. and Mrs. Gordon have a daughter and son, Margaret H., and Howard T. Mr. Gordon is a stalwart champion of republican principles but has
never been an office seeker. He belongs to the Masonic lodge at Celina, Ohio, and he and his wife are members of the Eastern Star. They also attend the Presbyterian church and their genuine worth entitles them
to the high regard in which they are uniformly held. While residentsof Emmet county for but a brief period, they have already become quite widely known and their circle of friends is constantly increasing as their
circle of acquaintance broadens. Mr. Gordon has proven himself a capable business man and his genuine worth is seen in many other ways.
RANSOM R. WILLCOX.
Ransom R. Willcox, deceased, came to Dickinson county in 1863 and for a third of a century was identified with the upbuilding and development of this section of the state. He was born in Sherbrooke,
Canada, June 25, 1826, and was a son of Joseph and Sophia (Blodgett) Willcox. The father was born on the ocean while his parents were coming to the new world, and the mother was a native of England. They became residents of Canada, where Mr. Willcox followed farming untilhis death, which occurred in 18339. He served as captain of militia in Canada for a time. His widow afterward came to Dickinson county,Iowa, and here died in 1882.
During his boyhood and youth Ransom R. Willcox attended school in Canada and also began the study of medicine, but never completed the course and finally turned his attention to mechanical pursuits, becoming a bridge contractor and millwright. On leaving the Dominion he went to New York and later to Illinois, where during the Civil war were enlisted at Durand in Company C, Fifty-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry. While in the service he was taken ill and sent home to die, but eventually recovered and in 1863 came to Dickinson county, Iowa. Here he built all the early bridges and also many in Emmet county, some of which are now being replaced by cement, structures. He also erected the first mill at Milford and built all the early school houses in Dickinsoncounty. Later he purchased a farm in Okoboji township and operated the same for many years, but in 1897 removed to Sanborn, Iowa, where he passed away May 29, 1908, when almost eighty-two years of age,honored and respected by all who knew him.
In December, 1865, Mr. Willcox married Miss Sarah C. Meeker, adaughter of Henry and Sarah (Gaylord) Meeker, natives of Vermont and New York respectively. Her father was also a mechanic, working at the millwright's trade in connection with farming. He came to Dickinson county, Iowa, in 1861, and took up a homestead near Milford,
whereon he died October 10, 1889. His wife had passed away in 1860. To Mr. and Mrs. Willcox were born nine children, of whom Ransom Err, 0. B., Henry, William, Ed, Guy and Sadie are still living. Charles
was killed in an automobile accident in August, 1915, and Kittie diedin 1886. Mr. Willcox was three times married and by the first union had two children: Emma, the wife of M. F. Doolittle; and Mina, the wife of A. L. Corkins. There were also two children by the second marriage, namely: J. A. Willcox, of Redmond, Oregon; and Err, deceased.
Since the death of her husband Mrs. Sarah Willcox has returned to
Milford, where she now makes her home. Mr. Willcox voted with the republican party and held office continuously during his residence in Dickinson county, serving as justice of the peace for twenty-two years. He was also a school director and filled other positions of honor and trust. He was. a member of Waller Post, G. A. R., of Milford, and was also a consistent member of the Methodist church, in the faith of which he died.
Henry Kruse, interested in general farming on section 7, Center township, Emmet county, was born in Germany on the 13th of November, 1846, a son of Fred and Bendena Kruse, who were also natives of that country. In 1866 they left the fatherland and started for the new world but the mother died while on the ocean and was buried at sea. The father
continued the journey with his children and they were seven weeks on the ocean on a sailing vessel. Eventually he took up his abode upon a farm in Ogle county, Illinois, where his death occurred a year later. Henry Kruse is the only survivor of a family of five children. He was reared and educated in Germany, being twenty years of age at the
time of the emigration of the family to the new world. He was employedas a common laborer in this country for about a decade and in 1876 began farming on his own account in Grundy county, Iowa, where he rented land
for two years. During that period he carefully saved his earnings and was thus able to purchase a farm in Grundy county, which he continued to own, occupy and cultivate until 1895. He then sold out and removed
to Emmet county, where he purchased two hundred and ten acres of section 5, which he sold, and then bought his present eighty acres on section 7, Center township. The soil is naturally rich and productive and responds
readily to the care and labor which he bestows upon it. He has improvedthe place with fine buildings and through the careful conduct of his business affairs has become one of the prosperous citizens of the community.
In 1878 Mr. Kruse was united in marriage to Miss Ida Smith, whowas born in Ogle county, Illinois, a daughter of Thomas and Eliza (Dubert) Smith, the former a native of Canada and the latter of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Kruse have become the parents of eleven children: Fred P., born February 14, 1879; Effie E., who was born March 12, 1881, and is the wife of Orlando Anderson, of Brookings, South Dakota; Etta E., who wasborn April 4, 1883, and died December 16, 1886; Roy E., who was born September 20, 1885, and died November 8, 1887; Elmer E., who was born June 8, 1887, and died September 4, 1916; Guy, who was born July 15, 1889, and is now in South Dakota; Otto Leo, born October 4, 1891; Mattie Izetta, born May 27, 1893; Earl Smith, born March 7, 1895; Ray, who wasborn April 15, 1897, and passed away in 1898; and Henry A., born July 16, 1901.Mr. Kruse votes with the republican party, which he has supported
since becoming a naturalized American citizen. He has served on theschool board and is interested in all matters pertaining to the general welfare. He may indeed be called a self-made man and deserves all the credit which that term implies, for he had only five cents when he landed in New York City and since that time has made a substantial fortune through honorable methods, being now one of the men of affluence inCenter township.
R. W. RAEBEL
Business enterprise at Montgomery finds a substantial representative in R. W. Raebel, who is conducting a thoroughly modern and up-to-date general store, while his business methods have gained for him
a liberal and well deserved patronage. He was born in Germany, May 10, 1880, a son of Edward and Wilbelmina Raebel, both of whom were natives of Germany, where they remained through the period of childhood and youth. In 1883 they came to the United States and first settled in La Salle county, Illinois, whence they removed to Iowa in 1894.
Their remaining days were passed in this state and here they reared their family, numbering five children, three of whom yet survive. R. W. Raebel was a youth of fourteen when he came to Iowa and his early education, acquired in Illinois, was supplemented by further study in the common schools of this state and in a business college.
He spent a year upon the road after putting aside his textbooks and later went to Omaha, Nebraska, where he worked for a year, traveling for a commercial college. Later he was employed in a drug store in Auduboncounty for two years and afterward was deputy treasurer in that county for a similar length of time. He also spent a year as a newspaper reporter, at the end of which time he came to Montgomery and embarked in merchandising, making investment of the capital which he had saved from his earnings and which was the evidence of his industry and economy. He is now conducting a general store which is well equipped and appointed. He carries an attractive line of goods and his reasonable prices and honorable dealing are features in his growing success.
In 1912 Mr. Raebel was united in marriage to Miss Esther White, a native of Wapello county, Iowa. In 1915 Mr. Raebel was appointed postmaster of Montgomery. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, in the work of which he takes active and helpful part, serving as one of its trustees and also as superintendent of the
NELS P. NELSEN
One of the finest farms in Denmark township, Emmet county, is owned by Nels P. Nelsen, a native of Denmark and characterized by the sterling qualities which have enabled the men of his race to make so creditable
a place for themselves in America. He was born on the 1st of June, 1850, and is a son of Nels and Mary (Clouson) Olsen, who passed away upon the home farm in Denmark. Nels P. Nelsen, who is one of a family of ten children, received his education in his native country and remained there until he attained his majority. He then emigrated to the United States and after living in Clifton, Illinois, for four months was for a year and a half a resident
of Chicago and later lived in Springfield, that state, for two years. He next spent two years in New York city and was then again a resident of Chicago for a year. Upon leaving that city he purchased a farm near Clifton, Illinois, but a year later disposed of that place and turned his attention to blacksmithing, which he followed there for a year. For a third time he located in Chicago and after working for the Pullman Car Company for a period he conducted a blacksmith shop in Roseland,now a part of Chicago, for four years. After selling that business he
came to Emmet county, Iowa, and moved on the northeast quarter of section 14, Denmark township, which he had purchased four years before, or in 1880. He has since lived on that place and during the three
decades intervening has brought it to a high state of development, sparing no expense nor labor that would increase its productiveness or its attractiveness as a place of residence. He also owns the east half of
the southeast quarter of section 13 and for twelve years was presidentof the Denmark Co6perative Creamery.
On the 1st of December, 1880, in Hyde Park, Chicago, occurred the marriage of Mr. Nelsen and Miss Tomina Andersen, whose parents, G. P. and Christina Andersen, were natives of Denmark, but lived for a number of years in this country. They made their home with Mr. and Mrs. Nelsen in Chicago until 1882, when they came to Denmark township, where they passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Nelsen were born six children: Martin M., of Ringsted; Mary, the deceased wife of Hans Christiansen, of Denmark township; Christina, the wife of Andrew Hansen, of Tyler, Minnesota; J. P., a partner of Chris Andersen in the hardware and implement business in Ringsted; and Lena and Minnus, both of whom died in infancy. The wife and mother passed away on the 2nd of March, 1892, and is buried in St. John's cemetery. She
was a member of St. John's church and was a woman of many fine qualities of heart and mind.
On the 10th of February, 1893, Mr. Nelsen was married in Denmark, where he had gone on a visit, to Miss Johanna
Mikkelsen, whose parents were lifelong residents of that country. In 1893 Mr. Nelsen returned to America with his wife and they have become the parents of five children, Lawrence, M~rius,(sic) Alma, Tomina and Alvilva, all at home. Mr. Nelsen is a stanch democrat and has served as township assessor and as township trustee. His interest in the welfare of the schools is indicated in the fact that he was at one time school director and his
concern for the moral obligations of life is manifest in his membership in St. John's Danish Lutheran church, of which he was formerly trusteeand foreman. He had 'no unusual advantages but realized that energy, good management and perseverance would enable him to gain success and through making the most of the opportunities that were his has
won a substantial competence.
WILLIAM H. HAYS
William H. Hays, farming on section 14, Center township, Emmet
county, was born in Stephenson county, Illinois, on the 11th of September, 1868, his parents being Mathias and Elizabeth Hays, who were natives of Indiana and Ohio respectively. The father followed the occupation of farming in order to provide for his family, consisting of his wife and four children, and in the spring of 1869 he removed from
Illinois to Dallas county, Iowa, where he purchased land. William H. Hays was at that time an infant of but six months. His youthful days were spent upon the home farm and he continued to attend the district schools of the neighborhood until he had reachedthe age of eighteen. He then concentrated his efforts upon farm work, assisting his father until he reached the age of twenty-six, when he started out in life independently upon a rented farm in Union county, Iowa, where he remained for eight years. He afterward rented land in Dallas county for a decade and in 1913 came to Emmet county, where he purchased the north half of the northeast quarter of section 14, Center
township, upon which he is now living. His farm of one hundred acres is a highly cultivated tract and the land, naturally rich and productive, responds readily to the care and labor which he bestows upon it. He manifests diligence and determination in his business affairs and hisindefatigable energy is one of the basic elements of his growing success.
On the 8th of September, 1894, Mr. Hays was united in married to Miss Lettie E. Stevens, a daughter of Thomas and Nancy Stevens, formerly of Dallas county, Iowa, who now rest side by side in the Masonic cemetery at Dallas Center. Mr. and Mrs. Hays have one son, Elbert H., at home. Mr. Hays is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America at Gruver and his political support is given to the republicanparty, but he has never been a politician in the sense of office seeking. He and his wife hold membership in the Christian church and are highly esteemed wherever known, their sterling characteristics gaining for them the warm regard of all with whom they have been brought in contact.
One of the most prominent and influential citizens of Armstrong is William Stuart, who has taken a very active part in the development of the town and has also borne a prominent part in public affairs. He was born in Ireland, January 10, 1851, and is a son of Alexander and Margaret (Ellis) Stuart, both natives of Ireland, though the father was of Scotch descent and the mother of English. In that country the former died and in 1857 Mrs. Stuart crossed the Atlantic with her family and located in Canada. Later she removed to Michigan, where her death occurred in 1876. In the family were eight children, six sons and two daughters, of whom four still survive. William Stuart was practically reared and educated in Canada where he attended both the common and high schools. In 1864 he went to
Fulton, Illinois, where he learned the blacksmith's trade and continued to work at the same for some years. In 1879 he removed to Grundy county, Iowa, where he was also engaged in blacksmithing and wagon making for a
time but later engaged in the implement business. Since 1892 he has been a resident of Armstrong and on locating here embarked in the banking business, becoming identified with what is now known as the First National Bank, of which he is still vice president and one of the directors. This institution was organized as a national bank in 1901 and is regarded as one of the leading banks of this section of the state. Mr. Stuart is also president of the Armstrong Cement & Tile Company, which wasorganized about 1910, and is the owner of four hundred and thirty-two
acres of land, and also a third interest in one thousand, six hundred and thirteen acres, all in Emmet county, and all improved and under excellentcultivation. Besides the property already mentioned he owns a fine residence in Armstrong.
In 1882 Mr. Stuart was united in marriage to Miss Jennie Dunn, anative of Rock county, Wisconsin, and a daughter of Jacob and Maria (Dockstadter) Dunn, who were born in New York state but at an early day removed to Wisconsin and later to Iowa. Both are now deceased and of their eight children two have also passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Stuart
have four children, namely: Grace M., now the wife of Dr. J. B. Knipe; Alta, the wife of 0. Z. Burkhead, of Idaho; Hazel, the wife of HowardSmith; and Mildred, who is now attending high school in Armstrong. Mr. Stuart is a member of Armstrong Lodge, No. 335, A. F. & A. M., in which he has filled all the chairs, and he also belongs to the Eastern
Star Chapter. The republican party finds in him a stanch supporter ofits principles, and he has been elected to represent the ninety-sixth district in the state legislature. He is now serving his second term as president
of the school board and has also filled the office of supervisor for three years. Both he and his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he is one of the trustees. He has borne a prominent part
in the development of his locality and his influence is always found on theside of right and order. In business circles he occupies an important position, and in all the relations of life he has been found true to every
trust reposed in him.
JAMES D. WEIR.
For half a century James D. Weir has now witnessed the development and upbuilding of Emmet county and in its progress he has borne an important part since reaching man's estate. He is now successfully
engaged in the hardware, implement and live stock business in Huntington, being the senior member of the firm of J. D. Weir & Son, and has built up an excellent trade along those lines. Mr. Weir was born in Quebec, Canada, on the 3d of August, 1863,and is a son of David and Christine (Richmond) Weir, natives of Scotland. On coming to the new world they first located in Canada, but afterward came to the United States, becoming residents of Emmet
county, Iowa, in 1867. The father purchased a farm in Armstrong Grove township, which he operated for eight years, and then removed to Emmet township, buying one hundred and sixty acres of land near Eagle Lake, whereon he followed farming for fourteen years. At the end of that time he retired from active labor and took up his abode in
Estherville, where he was living when called to his final rest on Christmas Day, 1900. His wife had died in June of that year and both were interred in Oak Hill cemetery. To them were born nine children, of whom seven survive, namely: William and George, both residents ofEmmet township; James D., of this review; Henry, of Martin county,
Minnesota; Robert, of Otis, Colorado; Valentine, of Sterling, Colorado;and Matthew, of Alberta, Canada. James D. Weir was only four years of age when brought by his parents to Emmet county, where he attended the district schools and assisted his father in the farm work until he attained his majority. During the following three years he engaged in farming in Texas and on his return north located in Martin county, Minnesota, where he rented land and followed farming for eight years. In 1900 he became a resident of Huntington, where he built a hardware and implement establishment, and has since carried on business along those lines, at the same time shipping stock quite extensively. He owns one hundred and forty acres of land on the outskirts of the village and all vacant lots within the limits of Huntington, having purchased the remainder of the town site the year after locating there. His son Roy is now a member of the firm, which is doing business under the name of J. D.Weir & Son.
In 1887 Mr. Weir was united in marriage to Miss Libbie M. Wade, a daughter of Elisha and Othelia Wade, of Jackson county, Minnesota, who are now deceased and are buried in Oak Hill cemetery of Estherville. Mr. and Mrs. Weir have six ebildren: Roy, who is married and is engaged in business with his father; Ren'e, the wife of Elmer Chambers
of Emmet township; Ruby, the wife of Russel Heneman, of Estherville; and Richard, Rose and Ray, all at home. The family attend the Presyterian church, of which Mr. and Mrs. Weir are members, and he is past venerable consul of the camp of Modern Woodmen of America, to which he belongs. The democratic party finds in him a stanch supporter of its principles and he is now efficiently serving as county supervisor. He has also filled the offices of school director and town trustee and has always been found true to any trust reposed in him. As a business man he stands high in the community and he well merits the success that has come to him for he started out in life for himself with no capital and his prosperity is due to his own industry, enterprise and good management.
Carl Anderson, of Emmet township, Emmet county, who has won gratifying success in his chosen occupation of farming and stock raising, was born in Sweden, February 10, 1858. His parents, Andrew and Anna (Anderson) Anderson, were also natives of that country and lived there during their entirei lives. Four of their nine children still survive. Carl Anderson remained in Sweden until his early manhood and is indebted for his education to the schools of that country. It was in 1881 that he crossed the Atlantic to the United States and for five years thereafter he rented land in Emmet county, Iowa, at the end of which time his financial circumstances permitted him to buy eighty acres of land, to which a few years later he added a similar tract by purchase. His holdings now comprise three hundred and eighty-five acres, all on section 25, Emmet township, and the value of his farm has been much increased by the excellent improvements thereon. The buildings are substantial and modern in design and there is also a fine grove which he planted himself. He makes a specialty of raising Duroc-Jersey hogs, finding it more profitable to feed his grain than to sell it.
In 1881 Mr. Anderson was married to Miss Anna Johnson, who was born in Sweden and is a daughter of John and Mary (Larson) Johnson, who lived and died in that country. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Anderson, namely: Augustine; Mary C., the wife of Henry Hoganson; Johanna,, the wife of George Bartleman, now residing in Minnesota; Gust, at home; Nora, the wife of Ralph Smith, and Nettie, deceased. Mr. Ainderson is a stanch adherent of the republican party and the interest which he takes in matters pertaining to the general welfare is indicated by the fact that he has served as a member of the school board. Both he and his wife hold membership in the Lutheran church and its work receives their hearty support. The prosperity which is now his should be doubly a source of gratification to him as it is the direct result of his own hard work and habits of thrift.
0. F. LINDQUIST.
0. F. Lindquist, general manager of the Consumers' Independent Lumber Company, is now efficiently serving as mayor of Spirit Lake and never were the reins of city government in more capable hands. He was born in Grundy county, Iowa, on the 12th of January, 1879, and is a son of Julius and Mary (Larson) Lindquist, both natives of Denmark. They had reached manhood and womanhood before coming to the United States and were married in Cedar Falls, Black Hawk county, Iowa. For a number of years the father engaged in farming in that county and in Grundy county, Iowa, but in 1886 came to Dickinson county and purchased a farm four miles northeast of Spirit Lake in Spirit Lake township, to the improvement and cultivation of which he devoted his eneregies until his retirement from active labor in 1910. He then removed to Spirit Lake, where he passed away two years later. He is still survived by his wife, who now makes her home with her daughter, Mrs. Adrian Hurd, in this city. During his boyhood 0. F. Lindquist attended the district school near his home and aided in the work of the farm.. In the spring of 1900, just after attaining his majority, he came to Spirit Lake and began his business career by accepting a position in a butcher shop, where he was employed that summer. In the following fall he became connected with the lumberyard, of which he is now general manager. For about four years he worked as yard man but in 1904 was placed in charge of the business,over which he has since so successfully presided, and he is also auditor for the company for this part of the state.
On the 16th of October, 1901, Mr. Lindquist was united in marriage to Miss Lydia 0. Arp, of Spirit Lake, a daughter of Peter Arp, who for many years was prominent as a boat builder in this city but is now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Lindquist are active and prominent members of the Presbyterian church, and, possessing a good voice, Mr. Lindquist has sung in the choir for about twenty-three years. He is also an honored member of Twilight Lodge, No. 329, A.F. & A.M.; Royal Arch Chapter, R. A. M., of Spirit Lake, Esdraelon Commandery, No. 52, K. T., of Estherville; and Summit Lodge, No. 86, K. P., of Spirit Lake. The republican party has always found in him a stanch supporter of its principles and he has been honored with important official positions, the duties of which he has always faithfully and conscientiously performed. For four years he served on the town council of Spirit Lake and in the spring of 1916 was elected mayor, in which capacity he is now serving with credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. He is a wide-awake, energetic business man, progressive and public-spirited, and never withholds his support from any enterprise which he believes will promote the public welfare.
B. P. HENDERSON.
B. P. Henderson, who owns the Forest Hill farm in Milford township and is one of the leading farmers and stock raisers in Dickinson county, was born in Pecatonica, Illinois, June 5, 1858. His parents, Zina and Mary Ann (Strong) Henderson, were both born in New York state, where they were reared, but were married in Illinois. The father enlisted in the Twelfth Illinois Volunteer Cavalry and saw active service in the Civil war until he was disabled by the kick of a horse in 1862. He was then honorably discharged and returned home. In the fall of 1863, when he had recovered from his injury, he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Center Grove township, Dickinson county, Iowa, and the following year the family removed here by wagon. He cleared his land and built a log house, which remained the family home for some time. Later, however, substantial and attractive buildings were erected upon the place and it was otherwise improved. For the first seven years of his residence here the father tilled the soil with cattle as he did not have sufficient capital to purchase horses or even oxen. While a resident of Illinois he followed the gunsmith's and blacksmith's trades and after his sons grew old enough to operate the homestead in Dickinson county he worked at those trades at Okoboji. In politics he was a democrat and his advice was listened to with great respect in local political circles. He served as county supervisor and as justice of the peace and in both those capacities made a record creditable alike to his ability and integrity. His fraternal connection was with the Masonic order. Both he and his wife are deceased and are buried in the Okoboji cemetery. They were the parents of six children who are still living, four of the number being residents of Dickinson county. B. P. Henderson was brought to this county in early childhood and received his education in its pioneer schools. For some time after putting aside his textbooks he aided his brothers in the operation of the home farm but subsequently purchased the east half of section 5, in Milford township,where he has since resided. He has brought the place to a high state of cultivation and the improvements thereon are among the finest to be found in his part of the county. He grows some grain but gives a great deal of his attention to the raising of registered stock and is recognized as an important factor in the development of the stock raising interests of the county. He is at once practical and progressive in all that he does and the success which he has gained is due solely to his own ability and enterprise as he began his independent career empty handed. He has given his place the name of the Forest Hill farm and has spared no expense in making it a model property.
Mr. Henderson was married in 1888 to Miss Lettie Bingham, a daughter of Joseph and Hannah Bingham, natives respectively of Maine and New York. However, they were numbered among the early settlers of Dickinson county, where both lived until death, and they are buried in the Spirit Lake cemetery. Mr. Henderson supports the republican party where national issues are at stake but otherwise votes independently. For one term he served as township trustee and has never failed to take an active interest in public affairs. Fraternally he is connected with the Knights of Pythias of Milford. Practically his entire life has been passed in Dickinson county and his genuine worth is indicated by the fact that those who have been intimately acquainted with him since boyhood are his stanchest friends.
F. E. HENDERSON.
F. E. Henderson, who follows farming on section 29, Center Grove township, is one of the honored pioneers of Dickinson county, where he has now made his home since 1864. He was born in Boone county, Illinois, on the 20th of July, 1853, his parents being Zina and Mary (Strong) Henderson, who were natives of New York state but at an early day removed to Illinois and in 1864 came to Iowa, locating in Dickinson county. Here the father took up a homestead and erected a log cabin, in which the family lived for ten or twelve years, while he broke his land and began thedevelopment of his farm. Upon that place both he and his wife died. In their family were seven children, of whom six are still living. Amid pioneer scenes F. E. Henderson grew to manhood and in the acquirement of an education he attended the district schools of Dickinson county. He aided in the arduous task of transforming the wild land into productive fields and on attaining his majority took charge of the old homestead. Later he purchased the same and is now the owner of two hundred and sixty-seven acres of land on section 29, Center Grove township. He has made many improvements on the place since it came into his possession and has successfully engaged in general farming.
In 1902 Mr. Henderson married Miss Verda Murray, who was born in Dickinson county and is a daughter of W. W. Murray, now living with other daughters in the state of Washington. Her mother is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Henderson have two children: Mabel and Frank Murray, who are now attending high school at Arnolds Park. The family are members of the Friends church and are most estimable people, whose circle of friends is almost coextensive with their circle of acquaintances. Mr. Henderson affiliates with the republican party and has served as township trustee one term and as a member of the school board for a number of years.
HENRY U. ARTHUR.
Prominent among the representative farmers and stock raisers of Dickinson county is Henry U. Arthur, the senior member of the firm of H. U. Arthur & Sons, proprietors of Arthurs Homestead Stock & Seed Farm on section 11, Center Grove township. He was born in New York state on the 19th of March, 1856, a son of Homer D. and Lucy (Payne) Arthur, who were also natives of New York, the former born in Martinsburg and the latter in Constableville. In 1857 the family removed to Wisconsin and two years later came to Dickinson county, Iowa, where Homer D. Arthur filed on the homestead now owned and occupied by his son Henry. Here the father died on the 26th of February, 1909, and the mother passed away June 17, 1889. Being only three years of age when the family came to Dickinson county, Henry U. Arthur passed his boyhood and youth on the farm where he now resides and acquired his education in the district schools of the neighborhood.
On the 29th of January, 1881, he was united in marriage to Miss Ellie A. Abbott, also a native of the Empire state and a daughter of Charles E. Abbott, who came west in pioneer days and after a period spent in Wisconsin proceeded to Dickinson County, Iowa, in 1869, being one of the well known homesteaders of Center Grove township. To Mr. and Mrs. Arthur have been born four children: Edith J., now the wife of J. W. Kilpatrick, of Spencer, Iowa; Charles H. and Edwin D., who are in business with their father under the name of H. U. Arthur & Sons; and Janet L., a teacher in the district schools of Dickinson county. For about thirteen years after his marriage Mr. Arthur resided in Spirit Lake, where he was variously employed, but in 1894 he purchased the old homestead farm where his father had located in 1859 and here he has since carried on operations. In 1908 the firm of H. U. Arthur & Sons was organized and has since gained an enviable reputation as breeders of registered Percheron horses, shorthorn cattle, Poland China hogs and fancy poultry. They are also recognized authorities in the production of farm seeds and have three times made exhibits at the State Fair, gaining a wide reputation on their various specialties. Their farm is beautifully located on section 11, Center Grove township, bordering on East Okoboji Lake, one of the most famous summer resorts of the middle west. The junior members of the firm are both married and occupy modern establishments of their own adjacent to the home place. The firm has built up an extensive business, breeding stock on a large scale and raising grain for seed. They make shipments to all parts of the country and enjoy an enviable reputation in their line. Both Mr. and Mrs. Arthur are representativas of old New York families of Revolutionary stock and Mrs. Arthur and daughter Janet L. are members of the Daughters of the American Revolution. The family are also connected with the Methodist Episcopal church and Mr. Arthur is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, while both he and his son Edwin belong to the American Yeomen. In politics he affiliates with the republican party, but has never had the time nor inclination for public office, preferking to give his undivided attention to his extensive business interests. At the present time he and his sons are numbered among the foremost stock breeders of the middle west.
HENRY L. SUNDE.
On the list of Emmet county's substantial citizens who have passed away appears the name of Henry L. Sunde, who for a considerable period was a worthy and valued resident of this section of the state. He was born in Norway, June 20, 1867, and is a son of Lars and Engebor Sunde, both of whom were natives of the land of the midnight sun, where their entire lives were passed. There they reared a family of five children, but only two are now living. Henry L. Sunde was reared and educated in Norway and in 1892 came to America, then a young man of twenty-five years. He had heard many favorable reports concerning business conditions and opportunities in the new world and he believed that he might better his financial condition on this side the Atlantic. Accordingly the long sea voyage wasmade and Emmet county gained a substantial citizen. Following his arrival here he purchased land on section 15, Ellsworth township, and at once began the active work of further developing and improving his farm, upon which he lived until called to his final rest.
In 1899 Mr. Sunde was married to Miss Julia Gure Lowik, a native of Norway and a daughter of Odd and Christina Lowik, who were also born in the land of the midnight sun, where the father still makes his home, although the mother has now passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Sunde became the parents of eight children: Laurence, Oscar, Karl, Christina, Clara, Henry, Emma and Selma. The family circle was broken by the hand of death when in May, 1913, the husband and father was called to the home beyond, leaving behind him a large circle of warm friends to mourn his loss as well as his immediate family. During the period of his residence in Emmet county he had displayed many substantial qualities that gained for him the kindly regard and genuine respect of those who knew him. He belonged to the Lutheran church, in which Mrs. Sunde still holds membership. She yet owns and occupies the old home farm which was left to her by her husband and, like him, she is widely and favorably known in this section of the state.
ALEXANDER W. PERCIVAL.
Alexander W. Percival, who is engaged in the real estate business and in stock buying at Montgomery, Dickinson county, was born in Ireland, September 20, 1876. His parents, R. J. and Elizabeth Percival, removed from the Emerald isle to the United States with their family in 1882, and settled in Black Hawk county, Iowa, but in 1892 came to Dickinson county and took up their residence. Alexander W. Percival, who is one of a family of five children, all of whom survive, was but a child at the time of the emigration of the family to the new world and received his education in the schools of Black Hawk county, Iowa. On beginning his independent career he turned his attention to the stock business but in 1907 bought out an implement and hardware store at Montgomery which he conducted until 1916, building it up until it was the foremost business enterprise in Montgomery. In that year he disposed of the business and has since been engaged in the real estate business and in buying and selling stock, handling about fifty carloads of hogs a year. He makes a careful study of the market, is an excellent judge of stock and derives a gratifying profit from his operations in that field. He also receives a good financial return from his land holdings, which comprise one hundred and twenty acres in Dickinson county and one hundred acres in Hamilton county, all of which is well improved. His Dickinson county farm is especially valuable as it lies within the limits of the town of Montgomery.
Mr. Percival was married in 1907 to Miss Mary Gilfillan, a native of Minnesota, and they have three children, Clayton G., Kenneth and Mildred C. The family attends the Methodist Episcopal church and fraternally Mr. Percival is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America. He gives his political allegiance to the republican party, believing firmly in the soundness of its policies, and served as a member of the township board, in which connection he made a record creditable alike to his conscientiousness and ability. He has gained recognition not only as a good business man but also as a public-spirited citizen, willing to subordinate personal interests to the general good.
THOMAS WILLIAM DOUGHTY.
Thomas William Doughty, who since 1892 has been cashier of the Emmet County Bank at Armstrong, was born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, June 19, 1870, of the marriage of David and Lillias Doughty. He attended school in Dumfriesshire and in Edinburgh, Scotland, and received his business training in a business college at Des Moines, Iowa. He first entered the banking business in 1892, when he was made cashier of the Emmet County Bank at Armstrong. He has since held that office and under his management the affairs of the bank have prospered. It has held the unqualified confidence of the public, has been a factor in the commercial development of the town and has paid good dividends to its stockholders. In addition to the bank stock which he owns he holds title to a great deal of valuable real estate in Emmet county and also in Wisconsin and South Dakota. Some of his'farms are recognized as the best improved properties in this section of Iowa and his progressive spirit has been as strongly marked in work for the public'good as in the development of his private holdings. It has been largely due to his efforts that many of the forward movements in Armstrong in the last quarter of a century have succeeded. Mr. Doughty is independent in politics and has been treasurer of the town of Armstrong continuously since 1895. He has been asked to become a candidate for many other offices, including that of state representative, but has refused. At one time he was associated with the Knights of Pythias, and in religious faith he is a Presbyterian. His sterling worth is indicated in the fact that those who have been intimately associated with him for years are his warmest friends.
JOHN PAUL LITTELL.
Prominent among the successful insurance men of Iowa is John PaulLittell, of Estherville, who represents the National Life Insurance Company of the United States of America. He was born in Presque Isle, Michigan, on the 18th of December, 1855, a son of Aaron and Mary E.(Brown) Littell. The father was born, reared and educated in Virginia, but when a young man went to Brookfield, New York, where he engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery for some time. Subsequently he removed to Presque Isle, Michigan, becoming one of the pioneer physicians of that place, and about 1860 he located in Alma, Wisconsin, where his death occurred in 1865. His wife was a native of Massachusetts and in childhood became a resident of Brookfield, New York, where their marriage was celebrated. In 1870 she accompanied her oldest son to Estherville, Iowa, where she continued to make her home until she passed away in 1887. John Paul Littell attended school in Alma, Wisconsin, and Wabasha, Minnesota. When a young man he engaged in lumbering in the pine regions of Wisconsin and became foreman of a log drive on the Chippewa river. In 1885 he came to Estherville, Iowa, where his mother and brother had previously located, and here he bought a milk business, which he ran for one year. It was in 1887 that Mr. Littell became identified with thelife insurance business as general agent for the Des Moines Life, whichmerged with the National Life Insurance Company of the United States of America, with headquarters in Chicago, and he has since remained with them, being at the present time general agent for Iowa with headquarters at Estherville. He has been in the service of the same companies for thirty years, a record probably unexcelled by any other life insurance agent in America and certainly not by any other agent with the National Life. He has probably written more life insurance policies than any other man in Iowa and has frequently led all Iowa insurance agents in the volume of insurance written annually. He is a member of the Hundred Thousand Dollar Club of the National Life Insurance Company and attends all of the annual conventions of the club in Chicago.
At Wabasha, Minnesota, Mr. Littell was married July 18, 1878, to Miss Mary Johnson, who was born, reared and educated in Westfield, Wisconsin, and from there removed to Wabasha. Her parents, Albert and Sarah Ann (Lackey) Johnson, were natives of New York and Canada respectively and were pioneers of Wabasha, Minnesota. Near that place her father engaged in farming for some time but later conducted a livery business in Wabasha and spent his last years in retirement at St. Paul, Minnesota, where both he and his wife died. To Mr. and Mrs. Littell were born four children. Harry A. Littell, born in Wabasha and educated in the schools of Estherville, Iowa, is now associated with his father in the insurance business. Ada Littell, also born in Wabasha, was educated in Estherville, Iowa, and won the oratorical contest in the latter city and also the district contest. Her health failed and she died in Estherville at the age of eighteen years. Edith M. Littell, born in Estherville, is now a deaconess of the Methodist Episcopal church at Des Moines. She received an excellent education, attending the public schools of Estherville, Morningside College at Sioux City, the Iowa State Teachers' College at Cedar Falls and the Deaconess' College at Des Moines, from which she was graduated. The fourth child died in infancy. Mr. Littell is a stanch supporter of the republican party and has taken an active and influential part in local politics, serving on the congressional committee for Emmet county, but he has never cared to hold office though many nominations have been offered him. He served at one time, however, as city marshal of Estherville. He is a strong temperance worker and active in church affairs, having been for many years a member of the official board of the Methodist Episcopal church, to which he and his wife belong. He has also been a Sunday school teacher for a long period. Mrs. Littell has also been prominent in church and charity work, being now superintendent of the Estherville Associated Charities, and the poor and needy always find in her a friend, no one being turned away without someword of cheer or more substantial aid when they appeal to her for help. Fraternally Mr. Littell is a member of the Masonic Lodge of Estherville. He is the owner of a large and well selected library, with the contents of which he is thoroughly familiar, for he is very fond of reading. He not only enjoys the best literature but is fond of art in its various forms and loves a good lecture or sermon. He is a strong temperance man, never using liquor nor tobacco in any form, and he opposes strongly all those forces which promote vice and as strongly endorses those interests which lead to the acceptance of Christianity among men, doing everything in his power to influence people to turn from the error of their ways to Christianity. He is the owner of a highly improved farm west of Estherville besides his city property, for in business affairs he has prospered. He is one of the best known life insurance men in Iowa and is justly accounted one of the leading and representative citizens of the town where he has now made his home for almost a third of a century.
B. A. WEBB.
B. A. Webb, cashier of the Bank of Montgomery, has had experience which makes him well qualified for his present duties and responsibilities and which contributes to the success of the institution, which ranks with the safe, reliable financial concerns of this part of the state. He was born in Shelby county, Illinois, March 6, 1865, and is a son of William Y. and Angeline (Blythe) Webb, both of whom were natives of Tennessee. While still young they removed to Illinois and in 1880 came to Dickinson county, Iowa, where the mother yet resides but the father departed this life in 1890. In their family were five children, of whom three are now living. B. A. Webb was a youth of fifteen years when he came to Dickinson county and here he completed his education as a public school pupil. He then took up the profession of teaching, which he followed for a few terms, at the end of which time he began farming and devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits until 1906, when he went upon the road as a traveling salesman. Four years were passed in that connection and since 1911 he has engaged in the banking business at Montgomery, filling the office of cashier throughout the intervening period. He has thoroughly acquainted himself with every phase of the banking business and he is a courteous and obliging official, doing everything to aid the patrons of the bank that is consistent with the safeguarding of the interests of depositors. In addition to his banking interests he is well known because of his investments in farm land. He owns one tract of one hundred and thirty acres and also a half interest in another tract of one hundred and sixty acres, from which he derives a substantial annual income.
Mr. Webb has been married twice. In 1899 he wedded Millie Elliott, who died in 1904, leaving a daughter, Stella, who is now the wife of Michael Albert. In 1908 Mr. Webb was again married, his second union being with Luella Tritle. Mr. Webb is a member of the Baptist church while the religious faith of his wife is indicated in her membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics he is a democrat and keeps in close touch with the questions and issues of the day, so that he is well versed concerning the principles upon which the party platform is based. He filled the office of township treasurer and has also been school director. Fraternally he is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and with the Masons, having membership in Twilight Lodge, No. 329, F. & A.M., of Spirit Lake. His has been an active and useful life. He is alert,enterprising and progressive and possesses in large measure that qualityof common sense the lack of which is so often the cause of business failure.
The agricultural interests of Dickinson county have a worthy representative in Christoph Schroeder, who owns and operates a fine farm of two hundred acres on section 14, Lloyd township. His early home was on the other side of the Atlantic, for he was born in Germany, October 12, 1860, and his parents were John and Walla Schroeder, also natives of the fatherland. There John Schroeder died and his wife subsequently came to America, where her death occurred. All their five children are still living. Christoph Schroeder spent the first fifteen years of his life in his native land and was given good educational advantages. Bidding goodby to friends and relatives he sailed for the new world and on reaching this country proceeded at once to Will county, Illinois, where he worked as a farm hand for some years. Being economical as well as industrious he was able to save some of his wages and on coming to Dickinson county, Iowa, in 1889, he purchased a farm on section 14, Lloyd township, consisting of two hundred acres of land. Its neat and thrifty appearance plainly indicates the care and labor he has bestowed upon it and he now has a well improved place in a high state of cultivation. Besides his farm property he also owns nine lots and a residence in the village of Terril.
In February, 1890, Mr. Schroeder married Miss Ina Randt, who was also born in Germany and in childhood accompanied her parents on their emigration to America. She is a daughter of Ferdinand and Sophia (Peters) Randt, natives of Germany, who on coming to the United States, first located in Illinois but finally removed to Dickinson county, Iowa, where Mr. Randt died in 1910. His widow is still living. To Mr. and Mrs. Schroeder were born three children: Christoph, deceased; William H., who attended the Terril high school and is now at home; and Sarah, in school. Mr. and Mrs. Schroeder hold membership in the Lutheran church and are people of prominence in the community where they reside. Mr. Schroeder is an adherent of the republican party but is not a politician in the sense of office seeking. He is now enjoying a comfortable competence secured by his own labor for he has made his own way in the world from an early age and well merits the prosperity that has come to him.
The record of John Hanson, who owns four hundred and forty acres of the finest land in Emmet county, is one that should prove very stimulating to young men just beginning their independent career as when he arrived in the United States he was not only a stranger to the customs of the country but was also handicapped by lack of capital. However, he possessed in large measure the determination and energy characteristic of the Norwegian race and the exercise of these qualities has brought him to his present notable position as one of the leading farmers in this prosperous agricultural county. He raises stock on an extensive scale, specializing in the feeding of sheep for the market. Mr. Hanson was born in Norway on the 19th of December, 1870, and is one of the four surviving children of a family of five whose parents were Hans and Bertha Hanson, lifelong residents of the land of the midnight sun. He attended the schools of his native country in the acquirement of an education but in 1889, when nineteen years of age, emigrated to America, making his way to Grundy county, Illinois, where for eight years he worked as a farm hand. He next rented land in Webster county, Iowa, for six years but in 1903 removed to Emmet county and bought one hundred and forty-six acres on section 18, Center township. Three years later he sold that place and for two years cultivated rented land but at the end of that time purchased a farm in High Lake township, on which he resided for a year. He then disposed of that property and purchased land in Webster county which he cultivated for three years. Upon selling that farm he came again to Emmet county and bought his present place, comprising four hundred and forty acres on section 26, Center township. He has erected a number of substantial and up-to-date buildings and has otherwise improved his place, which is one of the model farms of the township. He raises all kinds of stock but pays particular attention to feeding sheep, having a thousand head upon the farm during the winter of 1916-17.
Mr. Hansork was married in 1897 to Miss Martha Larson, a native of Webster county, Iowa, and a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Larson, the latter of whom is deceased. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Hanson have been born nine children, namely, Belle S., Tillie H., Clarence J., Ernest, Lawrence, Clifford, Melvin, Lester and Genevieve. Mr. Hanson is an adherent of the republican party and has always taken the interest in public affairs incumbent upon an American citizen but has not been an aspirant for political office. However, he has served his district as school director. Both he and his wife are communicants of the Lutheran church and are factors in the advancement of its work.
JOHN R. WHITE.
John R. White, a resident farmer of Dickinson county, his home being on section 13, Diamond Lake township, is numbered among Iowa's native sons, for he was born in Wapello county, February 23, 1878. His parents were E. G. and Nancy J. (Robinson) White, who were natives of Pennsylvania and Maryland respectively. They came to Iowa at an early day and at the time of the Civil war the father responded to the country's call for troops, serving for four years in the Twenty-second Iowa Volunteer Infantry with the rank of lieutenant-colonel. He made a most creditable military record and at the close of hostilities was honorably discharged. Following his return home he devoted his energies to general agricultural pursuits until his life's labors were ended in death in 1889. His wife survived until 1893. Of the nine children of the family all are yet living. John R. White was but five years of age when his parents removed from Wapello to Audobon county, Iowa, where he was reared and educated, pursuing a common school course. He early became familiar with the best and most practical methods of cultivating the fields and at length rented a farm which he continued to develop until 1910. That year witnessed his arrival in Dickinson county at which time he purchased one hundred and sixty acres on section 13, Diamond Lake township, and began the improvement of his present farm, which is now an excellent property equipped with all modern accessories and conveniences. The fields have been brought under a high state of cultivation and the neat and thrifty appearance of the place indicates his sound judgment and enterprising spirit.
In 1900 Mr. White was married to Miss Birdella Wilson, a native of Missouri and a daughter of Clark and Belle (Neeley) Wilson, who are natives of Iowa and Ohio respectively. Both still survive. Unto Mr. and Mrs. White have been born five children, Homer C., Harold A., John M., Kenneth W., and Glenn E. Mr. White holds membership in the Ancient Order of United Workmen. In politics his support is given to the republican party and he is now serving as township trustee and also as school director. He is interested in everything pertaining to the public welfare and gives active aid and cooperation to many plans for the general good. At the same time he has carefully managed his private business interests and has become one of the substantial farmers of his adopted county.
REV. P. A. QUESNEL.
Rev. P. A. Quesnel, pastor of the St. Mary's Catholic church at Armstrong, Iowa, and of the Sacred Heart church at Ledyard, in Kossuth county, Iowa, is a well known figure in Catholic circles of this region. He was born at Lachine, province of Quebec, Canada, January 4, 1866, and is a son of Jean B. and Glaphire Quesnel, likewise natives of that province. The father engaged in farming during his entire active life, and was also prominent in politics and served as mayor of Lachine and Pointe Claire. His death occurred November 28, 1909, and on the 3rd of April, 1911, the mother also passed away. Father Quesnel attended the district schools of his native town and was later a student in St. Therese College, where he took the degree of B. A., He prepared for the priesthood in the Grand Seminary of Montreal, and was ordained on the 21st of December, 1889. He came to Iowa in 1912. He was stationed at Early, Iowa, for some time and in November, 1913, the Right Rev. Phillip J. Garrigan, D. D., of Sioux City, Iowa, sent him to take charge of the Armstrong and Ledyard missions. Many improvements have been made on the church property since he has been in this locality, and he is planning now to erect a modern parsonage, which is badly needed. The affairs of the church are in splendid condition, and Father Quesnel enjoys the respect and friendship of all the Catholics and of the non-Catholics as well. The parish contains forty families, and its record is an unusual one, as during the past three years only three deaths have occurred in the church membership. The church was built in 1894, Rev. Father James P. Taken, the pastor at Forest City at that time, erecting the building. Before the church was built the Catholics used to hear mass in the house of the late Peter Conlin. Father Taken is now located at La Porte City, Iowa. The first resident pastor, Rev. F. Carroll, was appointed by Most Rev. John Hennessy, D. D., of Dubuque, in 1895. In 1896 he built the present parsonage. His health failed and shortly afterward he died in California, where he had gone to recuperate. Father John Hassett replaced him in 1898. He passed away to his eternal reward in 1900. His kindness to all shall always live. In 1901 Father F. Wren, now of Duncombe, Iowa, took charge of the parish. In 1903 he was followed by Father Michael Bradley, who is now stationed at Hawarden, Iowa. In 1905 Father J. G. Perrault came and in 1906 he was succeeded by Father S. P. Roth, the present pastor of Larchwood, Iowa. Father Perrault died in Chicago in 1912. Father Roth remained here about five years. During his pastorate the old church at Estherville was bought for six hundred dollars and removed to Ledyard, where it became the house of worship for the Sacred Heart congregation. Father Roth was removed to Larchwood in 1911, regretted by all. Father H. C. Eckhart was then appointed to succeed Father Roth. He stayed here two years. He was then transferred to St. Benedict, Iowa, where after a few months he had to resign on account of poor health. He is retired at the St. Antonio Sanitarium, in Texas. Father Quesnel has been in charge since November 1, 1913. He is continuing the good work of his worthy predecessors. He has great hopes in the Armstrong parish, and he sees the day when it will have a large membership and be equipped with a parochial school. The land here is very rich, and Father Quesnel believes that the northern part of Iowa is bound to become the very cellar of Iowa, with an inexhaustible larder filled with bounteous crops. Father Quesnel says Armstrong is the capital of the Promised Land in Iowa, where milk and honey flow. He wishes he had a voice loud enough to make himself heard wherever there is a man looking for a location. He would say to him, "Come to Armstrong or Ledyard and locate in the land of plenty."
HARVEY A. WELTY.
The name of Harvey A. Welty, of Spirit Lake township, Dickinson county, is well known in stock raising circles of the middle west, for he has as fine a herd of Aberdeen Angus cattle as can be found within the limits of the state. He has met with unusual success in all that he has undertaken, as before turning his attention to stock raising he was for years a teacher and held a number of important positions in the educational field which he filled with marked ability. He was born in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, May 30, 1866, a son of Christ and Susan (Poffenberger) Welty. The father was born in Maryland but for a number of years engaged in farming in West Virginia, and in 1871 removed to the vicinity of Oregon, Ogle county, Illinois. There he also purchased land, to the cultivation of which he devoted his energies until 1881, when he took up his residence on a farm near Ames, Story county, Iowa. Many years later he removed to Colo, Iowa, and there he passed away. His wife, who was born in Harpers Ferry, likewise died at Colo. Harvey A. Welty received his early education in the district schools of Ogle and Stephenson counties, Illinois, making his home for several years with his uncle, H. Poffenberger, a resident of Stephenson county. Later he attended high school at State Center, Marshall county, Iowa, and continued his education in the Iowa State Teachers' College at Cedar Falls, Iowa, and in Carthage College at Carthage, Illinois, where he took a scientific course. He earned the money which paid his expenses while a student at Carthage College by teaching school and also by selling books. Following his graduation he was chosen principal of the schools at Colo, Iowa, and in 1893 was elected to a similar position in the schools of Lake Park, Dickinson county, Iowa. In 1894 he was made superintendent of schools of Dickinson county and in the following year established the Spirit Lake Normal School, which he conducted during the years 1895, 1896 and 1897. This was a private school and the reputation which he had made as an instructor and educational leader in the county was such that the attendance was large for a school of that character, it averaging about eighty students. However, he found that the conduct of the school interfered with his work as county superintendent and accordingly he discontinued it in 1897. He filled the office of county superintendent until 1901, when he became principal of schools at Hull, Iowa, which position he resigned in 1903 to accept the superintendency of schools at Ruthven, Iowa, at a third increase in salary. Six years later he purchased the Spirit Lake Herald, of which he was editor and publisher for a short period. During that time he built up its circulation and after placing it upon a sound basis was able to sell it at an advantage. In the latter part of 1909 he took up his residence upon a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Lloyd township, Dickinson county, near Terril, which he had purchased ten years before. He farmed that place for a year and then taught school at Wiota, Iowa, for a similar period and at Arnolds Park, Dickinson county, for two years, during which time he consolidated the schools there. In 1913 he purchased his present home farm of one hundred and sixty acres on section 34, Spirit Lake township, where he has since engaged in general farming and in the breeding of registered Aberdeen Angus cattle, of which he has seventy-five head, the largest herd of registered stock of that breed in northwestern Iowa. He has owned a number of imported cows and his herd challenges comparison with any in the state. He sells his cattle for breeding purposes and is well known as a stock raiser throughout the middle west, finding a market for his cattle over a wide territory. In addition to his home place he still owns his farm in Lloyd township.
On the 6th of October, 1898, at Arnolds Park, Mr. Welty was married to Miss Grace Laurene Yearows, who was born at Webster City, Hamilton county, but was educated in the schools of Eagle Grove, Wright county, graduating from the high school there when quite young. As soon as she was old enough she began teaching in the schools of Dickinson county and followed that profession until her marriage. She is president of the Parent-Teachers' Association of Spirit Lake and takes the keenest interest in its work. Her parents, Jacob John and Harriet W.(Richardson) Yearows, were natives of Ohio and Pennsylvania respectively but were early settlers of Hamilton county, Iowa. Subsequently they removed to Wright county and in 1896 settled in Milford, Dickinson county, later taking up their abode in Arnolds Park, where the father passed away. He was a contractor and builder by occupation. The mother, although a native of the Keystone state, was educated in Ohio, where her marriage occurred, and for many years has been a resident of Iowa. She now makes her home with a son in Eagle Grove, Wright county. To Mr. and Mrs. Welty have been born seven children; Juanita Cleona, Kenneth Bertram and Ardeth Laurene, all of whom were born in Dickinson county; Melville Ivins. and Prudence Beatrice, born in Palo Alto county; Prentiss Harvey, who was born in Dickinson county; and one who died in infancy. Mr. Welty has given careful study to the questions which divide the great political parties and is a stanch advocate of republican principles and candidates. He served as mayor of Arnolds Park and during his administration the interests of the municipality were forwarded to a marked degree. He belongs to the Presbyterian church and for many years has been a teacher in the Sunday school, while his wife is a member of the Christian Science church. He has the enviable reputation of having been the best teacher that Dickinson county has known and he has never ceased to feel a lively interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of the schools. He is a man of wide information and holds a broad-minded view upon all questions. He has a great capacity for friendship and his home is marked by a charming hospitality. It is needless to add that he is held in the highest esteem and that his personal friends are many.
Among the well known young farmers and stock raisers of Denmark township, Emmet county, is Peter Henriksen, who is operating the south half of the southeast quarter of section 1 and one hundred and sixty acres in Kossuth county. He was born in Denmark township on the 22d of December, 1887, and is a son of John and Johanna (Madsen) Henriksen,who were among the early settlers of Denmark township and a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Peter Henriksen, the third in order of birth in a family of nine children, attended the district schools until he was sixteen years of age and the following five years were spent in working for his father. He then rented a farm three miles from the home place for a year in partnership with his brother Henry and at the end of that time bought the farm, which he has since cultivated on his own account. It comprises eighty acres of fine land on section 1 and he also owns an adjoining quarter section in Kossuth county. He raises both grain and stock and in all his work follows up-to-date methods.
On the 8th of June, 1910, Mr. Henriksen was married to Miss Helen Jepsen, a daughter of Nels and Anna (Nissen) Jepsen, natives of Denmark and for a number of years residents of Denmark township, Emmet county, Iowa. They are now living retired in Ringsted. To Mr. and Mrs. Henriksen have been born two children: Ervin, whose birth occurred in 1911; and Frances, born in 1915. Mr. Henriksen supports the candidates of the republican party at the polls but has never had time to take an active part in politics as he has concentrated his attention upon his farming interests. He holds membership in the Danish Lutheran church and supports heartily the work of that organization. He is one of the younger farmers of the township and also one of the most successful. He is popular in the local lodge of the Loyal Order of Moose, to which he belongs, and also has a host of friends outside of that organization.
C. F. HANSON.
C. F. Hanson, a well known farmer and stock raiser residing on section 9, Richland township, Dickinson county, was born on the 19th of August, 1855, in Racine county, Wisconsin, his parents being Hiram and Ellen (Jones) Hanson, both natives of England. It was in 1843 that they came to America and settled in Wisconsin, but in 1856 they came to Iowa, locating in Fayette county, where both died. To them were born three children, all of whom are living. C. F. Hanson remained under the parental roof until thirty years of age, in the meantime acquiring an excellent knowledge of agricultural pursuits and pursuing his studies in the common schools during his boyhood. On leaving home he purchased a farm in Fayette county, Iowa, upon which he lived for six years, and on selling that place in 1893 came to Dickinson county, locating upon the farm of one hundred and sixty acres on section 9, Richland township, which he now owns and operates. Besides this valuable tract he and his son own one hundred and sixty acres on section 3, Richland township, which is also under cultivation and well improved. In connection with general farming Mr. Hanson has engaged in the raising and feeding of stock on quite an extensive scale and has met with success in that business.
In 1885 he was united in marriage to Miss Isabelle Irvine, a native of Canada and a daughter of David and Esther (Thompson) Irvine, who were born in Ireland and on crossing the Atlantic settled in Canada at an early day. From the Dominion they came to Iowa and took up their abode in Fayette county, where the mother died and where the father is still living. To them were born seven children, all of whom survive. Thefollowing children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Hanson: Harry C., who was born January 14, 1887, and is now engaged in farming in Dickinson county; Albert L., who was born October 20, 1888, and died July 7, 1911; Susie E., who was born January 25, 1896, and since her graduation from the Cedar Falls schools has engaged in teaching; William I., who was born January 17, 1898, and is now attending school; and Esther E., born September 7, 1904. The republican party finds in Mr. Hanson a stanch supporter of its principles and for six years he has served as township trustee. He has also filled the office of school director and never withholds his support from any enterprise calculated to promote the educational, moral or material welfare of his community. Both he and his wife are faithful members of the Methodist Episcopal church and they are held in the highest esteem by all who know them.
FREDERICK W. LA DOUX.
Frederick W. La Doux is a worthy representative of the farming and tock raising interests of Dickinson county, now carrying on operations on section 22, Center Grove township, and he has achieved a wide reputation as a breeder of registered Chester White hogs. He was born on the farm where he now resides, July 4, 1871, and belongs to one of the oldest families of this locality, being a son of Peter and Betsy (Warner) La Doux. The father was a native of New York state and the mother of Potter county, Pennsylvania. When the latter was a child of twelve years she accompanied her parents on their removal to Dickinson county in the early '60s. Prior to the Civil war Peter La Doux enlisted as a private in Company 1, Ninth Iowa Cavalry, and was stationed at Fort Dodge, Iowa, at the time of the Indian massacre in Dickinson county in 1857. Immeiately following that horrible event he was sent with a military expedition to this locality and soon after the return of the guard to Fort Dodge he again came to Dickinson county and filed a homestead on the quarter section of land where the Howe family, victims of the massacre, had been buried. Later their bodies were disinterred and laid by the side of others murdered at the same time in Arnolds Park. After his discharge from the army Mr. La Doux located upon his land and continued to reside thereon until his death, which occurred in June, 1907. His wife is still living on the old homestead. Frederick W. La Doux began his education in the common schools and later attended Young's Academy at Spirit Lake, after which he successfully engaged in teaching for four years.
On the 16th of June, 1895, he was united in marriage to Miss Rena Helms, who was reared on an adjoining farm and is a daughter of Newell and Esther (Pillsbury) Helms. Her maternal grandfather was Rev. S. L. Pillsbury, one of the pioneer ministers of Dickinson county. Her father was also one of the earliest settlers of the county, having located here in 1856. He served through the war in Company G, Twenty-seventh Iowa Infantry. Mr. and Mrs. La Doux have four children, namely: Burness, who is now attending the State University at Iowa City; Marian E.; Margery E.; and Carlyle C. After his marriage Mr. La Doux located on his present farm on section 22, Center Grove township, consisting of one hundred and twenty acres of land, for which his father paid eight dollars per acre and which he presented to our subject at the time of his marriage. To this the latter added one hundred acres by purchase. The state Young Men's Christian Association camp on the lake, which has attained a national reputation, is a part of this tract and twenty-six acres was sold to them by Mr. LaDoux. He now owns two hundred acres of very valuable and productive land, upon which he has excellent improvements, and in its cultivation he has met with good success. In 1907 he began the breeding of thoroughbred Chester White hogs and in this venture has also prospered. Forseveral years he has exhibited his stock at the state and interstate fairs and taken many ribbons and championships. Since attaining his majority Mr. La Doux has affiliated with the republican party and has taken an active and prominent part in local politics, serving for a number of years as secretary of the school board and township trustee. He is a member of Spirit Lake Lodge, K. P., and also of the Yeomen, and both he and his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. They are worthy representatives of old and honored families of Dickinson county and are held in the highest esteem by all who know them.
GEORGE E. MOORE.
George E. Moore, actively engaged in general farming and stock raising on section 1, High Lake township, Emmet county, is a native of Schuyler county, Illinois. He was born May 24, 1866, of the marriage of William and Frances (Bagby) Moore, who were natives of Ohio and Kentucky respectively, the latter being a descendant of Daniel Boone. William Moore became a resident of Illinois when a lad of but twelve years and took up his abode upon a farm in Schuyler county, where his remaining days were passed. There he was for many years actively connected with agricultural pursuits. His widow survives and is now living in Estherville at the age of seventy-six years. In their family were three children: George E.; Homer 0., now a resident of Schuyler county, Illinois; and Maggie M., the wife of J. A. Dunham. The ancestry of the family can be traced back to. Ireland, for it was in that country that the grandfather of George E. Moore was born in 1800. He came to America in 1819, crossing the Atlantic in a sailing vessel which was six weeks in making the trip. He afterward took up his abode upon a farm in Carroll county, Ohio, and subsequently removed to Schuyler county, Illinois, where he built a log cabin covered with a clapboard roof, while at one end of the building was a mud and stick chimney, the floor being of earth. He lived in that primitive home for about twenty years, but as he prospered in his undertakings added modern improvements to his farm, erecting good buildings and becoming one of the substantial agriculturists of his district. He died in the year 1882 and his wife also passed away in Schuyler county. George E. Moore was reared and educated in Illinois, attending the common schools.
During the summer months he worked in the fields and remained upon his father's farm until his marriage, which was celebrated in 1888, Miss Josephine Lillard becoming his wife. She was born in Christian county, Illinois, a daughter of Perry and Nancy J. (Finley) Lillard, who were also natives of that state. The father is now a resident of Kansas, but the mother passed away in 1896. In their family were five children, of whom four are yet living. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Moore has been blessed with two children: Raymond M., who is a graduate of Dubuque College at Dubuque, Iowa; and Ruby A., who is now attending college in Aurora, Illinois. It was in the spring of 1892 that Mr. Moore came with his family to Iowa, settling in Emmet county. He took up his abode upon the farm on which he now resides, in High Lake township. He is today one of the extensive landowners of the county, having seven hundred and seventy acres of highly improved and valuable land, which he has converted into a very productive farm. He makes a specialty of dairying, having a fine herd of Holstein cattle, and he is also extensively engaged in the raising of Hampshire hogs, having over four hundred head upon his place at the present time. He is an excellent judge of stock, seldom, if ever, at fault in estimating the value of an animal, and his livestock interests have long constituted an important branch of his business, adding much to his prosperity. He is a most progressive, energetic man, carrying forward to successful completion whatever he undertakes. He is now president of the Wallingford Creamery Company and also president of the Farmers Telephone Company. Mr. and Mrs. Moore hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and guide their lives according to its teachings. His political support is given to the democratic party and he is a stalwart advocate of its principles but is not an office seeker, preferring to concentrate his time and energies upon his business affairs, which have been capably and wisely directed, making him one of the most substantial and prosperous farmers of Emmet county.
G. L. ATKINS, M. D.
Dr. G. L. Atkins, successfully engaged in the general practice of medicine in Superior, was born July 20, 1876, in Clear Lake, Iowa, a son of E. P. and Viola (Ellis) Atkins, both of whom were natives of this state. The father became a prominent and influential farmer of Clear Lake and afterward retired from the farm and became a resident of Spirit Lake and deals in real estate and loans. Dr. Atkins was a little lad of but six years when his parents removed to Texas, remaining for a year in the south. They then returned to Iowa, settling at Spirit Lake, where be attended the public schools from 1884 until 1897, mastering those branches of learning which constituted the curriculum of the Spirit Lake schools, a course similar to that which has put Iowa in the front rank in the school advantages offered to its boys and girls. He afterward devoted three years to teaching school and was engaged in various other occupations until 1901, when he found it possible to carry out his desire of becoming a medical student in the Iowa State University. He pursued the regular four years' course and was graduated with the class of 1905. He then opened an office in Superior, where he has now practiced for twelve years, being accorded throughout the entire period a liberal patronage which has steadily grown in volume and importance. He also holds a license to practice in Minnesota.
On the 28th of June, 1905, Dr. Atkins was united in marriage to Miss Fern G. Stow, of Spirit Lake, Iowa. They are widely and favorably known in Superior and their part of the county. Dr. Atkins is a member of the Presbyterian church and Mrs. Atkins of the Episcopal church. Dr. Atkins also holds membership with the Modern Woodmen and with the Odd Fellows. In politics he maintains an independent course but is always progressive in matters of citizenship and at all times manifests a public-spirited devotion to the general good. Along the line of his profession he has connection with the Dickinson County, the Iowa State and the American Medical Associations, and his standing among his colleagues and contemporaries in this section of the state is indicated in the fact that he was for three years honored with the presidency of the county medical society.
E. H. DACK.
E. H. Dack, wide-awake and enterprising in his business affairs, is now the owner of a valuable farm property of two hundred and forty acres on section 10, Swan Lake township, Emmet county, to which he removed in 1912. He is yet a young man, his birth having occurred in Dallas county, Iowa, November 5, 1881, his parents being John F. and Nancy A. (Fox) Dack, the former a native of Canada and the latter of England. At an early period in the development of Iowa they became residents of this state, where the father followed the occupation of farming, and both he and his wife died in Dallas county. In their family were four children, three of whom yet survive. E. H. Dack was reared and educated in Dallas county, pursuing a common school course, while his youthful experiences upon the home farm made him familiar with the best methods of tilling the soil and caring for the crops. He was thirty years of age when he removed to Emmet county in 1912 and purchased his present farm on section 10, Swan Lake township, a tract of two hundred and forty acres of rich and arable land which he has brought under a high state of cultivation, adding many modern improvements to the place. It is now a splendid farm and thereon he makes a specialty of dairying, keeping high grade cows for this purpose.
Mr. Dack was married in 1902 to Miss Myrtle J. Boll, a native of Dallas county, Iowa, and a daughter of M. B. and Hannah Boll. Her mother is now deceased, but her father is still living in Dallas county. Mr. and Mrs. Dack have two children, Herald A. and Verna I. Mr. Dack votes with the republican party and keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. He has been school director and township assessor and he is interested in all those forces which make for the upbuilding and development of the district in which he lives. He and his wife are members of.the Methodist Episcopal church and guide their lives according to its teachings, so that many sterling traits of character have won for them the warm regard of all with whom they have been brought in contact.
L. P. STILLMAN.
Among the prosperous and highly esteemed residents of Dolliver is L. P. Stillman, cashier of the Dolliver Savings Bank. He was born in Allamakee county, Iowa, January 1, 1872, and is a son of L. P. and Mary G. (Phipps) Stillman, natives respectively of New York state and of Canada. Both came to Iowa, however, in youth and their marriage occurred in this state. The father passed away in 1886 but the mother is still living at the age of fifty-nine years. Six of their seven children survive. L. P. Stillman received his education in the common schools of Palo Alto county, Iowa, and remained with his mother until he was twenty-one years of age, when he began farming on his own account, which occupation he followed for six years. He decided that he would prefer another line of activity and secured the position of bookkeeper in the First National Bank at Emmetsburg, Iowa. Two years later, or in 1899, he came to Dolliver as cashier of the Dolliver Savings Bank, which had just been established, and he is still filling that position. He has been very successful in his direction of the policy of the bank and its enviable standing in the community is evidence of his ability and trustworthiness. He realizes the value of real estate as an investment and owns three hundred and twenty acres of land in Emmet county and has an interest in several other farms.
In 1899 occurred the marriage of Mr. Stillman and Miss Mina F. Wells, a native of Hardin county, Iowa. Her parents, A. A. and Mary A. Wells, were born respectively in New York state and in Illinois but in 1855 became residents of Iowa. The father is deceased but the mother is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Stillman have become the parents of five children, namely: Linus P., Bernice N., Gerald W., James and Nadine C. Mr. Stillman casts his ballot in support of the republican party. He belongs to Emmet Lodge, No. 533, A.F. & A.M., at Armstrong and has taken the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite. He is also identified with the Yeomen and the Modern Woodmen of America. Both he and his wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he is a trustee, and the work of that organization profits by their moral and financial support. Although his duties as cashier receive his first attention he finds time to aid those movements which are working for the development of his community along various lines. For nine years Mr. Stillman was a member of the National Guard of Iowa and on leaving the service was holding the rank of lieutenant. During the Spanish-American war he entered the United States service as a member of Company K, Fifty-second Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and for some time was stationed at Chickamauga, Georgia, returning home in the fall of 1898.
John Henriksen, who passed away on the 11th of April, 1915, was for thirty years a resident of Emmet county and was ranked among the highly efficient farmers of Denmark township. His birth occurred in Denmark in 1857 and there he remained until he was twenty-four years of age, when he came to the United States and made his way to Council Bluffs, Iowa. He worked on a railroad and did teaming for two years and in 1885 came to Denmark township, Emmet county, Iowa, where he purchased eighty acres of land, comprising the north half of the southwest quarter of section 12, Denmark township. Subsequently he purchased the eighty acre tract lying north of his original farm and as the years passed he made his place one of the best developed and most productive farms of the township. He derived a gratifying income from his land and accumulated a competence.
In 1880, in Denmark, Mr. Henriksen was united in marriage to Miss Hanna Madsen, whose parents were lifelong residents of that country. Mr. and Mrs. Henriksen had nine children, namely: Ida, now Mrs. Daniel Sorensen, of Denmark township; Henry, who is married and lives in Ringsted; Peter, who is farming three miles from the home place in Denmark township and whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work; Marius, who is married and is farming in Denmark township; Sophia, the wife of James Rasmussen, of Denmark township; Gina, who married M. H. Petersen, of Denmark township; and Martin, Minnie and Fred, all at home. Mr. Henriksen was never a seeker for official honors. He was respected wherever known as a man of sterling integrity and his personal friends were many. One of the earliest settlers in Denmark township, he lived to see a wonderful transformation as what had been a frontier region became a thickly settled and highly developed agricultural district. He passed away on the 11th of April, 1915, at the age of fifty-eight years, and all who knew him felt that a worthy man, a good citizen and a loyal friend had gone to his reward. He is buried in St. Paul's cemetery. Mrs. Henriksen survives and still resides upon the home farm.
P. A. PETERSON.
P. A. Peterson, who follows farming on section 24, Superior township, is one of the representative farmers of Dickinson county. His early home was on the other side of the Atlantic, for he was born in Norway on the 8th of January, 1874, and is a son of Pete and Olena (Olson) Peterson. The mother never left her native land but died in Norway in 1912. In 1876 the father came to the United States and settled in Will county, Illinois, where he continued to reside until coming to Dickinson county,Iowa, in 1901. His death occurred here in 1906. P. A. Peterson was reared and educated in Norway, and in 1889, atthe age of fifteen years, began a seafaring life and was employed as a sailor for four years. In 1893 he came to America and for two years lived with his father in Will county, Illinois. Subsequently he worked out as a farm hand for two years, and then began farming for himself, operating rented land in Will county for about four years. It was in 1900 that he became a resident of Dickinson county, Iowa, where he continued to follow agricultural pursuits as a renter for six years. Having saved his money he,was then able to purchase his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Superior township, and has since engaged in its operation. In connection with general farming he devotes considerable attention to stock raising, making a specialty of Black Polled cattle and registered hogs. He is a wide-awake, energetic farmer and the success which has attended his efforts is certainly well deserved. By his ballot he supports the men and measures of the republican party and in religious faith he is a Lutheran. Fraternally he holds membership with the Modern Woodmen of America.
CHARLES H. TEMPLETON.
A valuable farm of two hundred and fifty-five acres situated on sections 10, 11, 14 and 15, Okoboji township, Dickinson county, pays tribute to the care and labor bestowed upon it by the owner, Charles H. Templeton, who is one of the enterprising and progressive agriculturists of his section of the state. He was born in La Salle county, Illinois, January 19, 1856, a son of Hammond and Laura (Morrison) Templeton, who were natives of Vermont and of New York, respectively. The father was a mason by trade, learning the business when in the east. In 1830 he removed to La Salle county, Illinois, where he purchased land which he developed and improved, continuing there to carry an general agricultural pursuits throughout his remaining days, his death occurring March 2, 1862. His wife survived for many years, passing away in May, 1906, at the age of seventy-two years. Charles H. Templeton was reared in his native county and is indebted to its public school system for the educational privileges which he enjoyed. He remained with his mother until he reached the age of twenty-six years and then went to Livingston county, Illinois, where he began farming on his own account, continuing to cultivate land there until 1883. At that date he accepted the position of fireman on the Illinois Central Railroad and was thus employed for two years. He next went with the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, which he represented for two years, making his home at Sanborn, Iowa. On the expiration of that period he purchased a farm near Hartley, Iowa, which he rented to his brothers. A man gave him the use of a farm for five years if he would break the sod, but Mr. Templeton cultivated the tract for only three years, at the end of which time he took up his abode upon his own land, which he then cultivated for five years. On selling the property he removed to Clay county, where he purchased another farm, which he cultivated for three years and then sold and went to Sibley. The farm which he there purchased he continued to develop and improve for five years, but again he sold out and at that date came to Dickinson county, where for five years he engaged in the cultivation of rented land. He next rented another farm for three years, after which he purchased his present place, comprising two hundred and fifty-five acres situated in Okoboji township, his buildings being upon section 10. He has made various improvements upon the place during the period of his incumbency and has brought his fields to a high state of cultivation. He carefully and wisely manages his interests and as the result of his diligence and labor annually harvests good crops. In addition to raising the cereals best adapted to soil and climatic conditions here he feeds about one carload of hogs and a carload of cattle per year, having done this for the past fifteen years. His wife has given much attention to the raising of thoroughbred Barred Plymouth Rock chickens and has many of that breed upon the farm.
It was in 1885 at Galena, Illinois, that Mr. Templeton was united in marriage to Miss Mary Ball, a daughter of James W. and Cypha (Matson) Ball, who were natives of Tioga county, New York. The father was a mason by trade and also took up the occupation of farming. He became a pioneer of La Salle county, Illinois, where he settled in 1832. In the same year he participated in the Black Hawk war, which terminated the supremacy of the Indians in that locality. The work of progress and civilization seemed scarcely begun in his section of the state at that time, but he contributed to the pioneer development and later progress of La Salle county, where he persistently and successfully engaged in farming for many years. He finally retired from active life and made his home with Mr. and Mrs. Templeton until his demise,which occurred in May, 1892. He had for a considerable period survived his wife, who died May 6, 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Templeton became the parents of but one child, Myrtle E., who passed away in March, 1904, at the age of sixteen years. Their religious faith is that of the Methodist church and Mr. Templeton belongs to the Masonic fraternity, while both he and his wife are connected with the Eastern Star. His political allegiance is given to the republican party, which he has supported since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. He is the present assessor of Okoboji township, in which position he has served for five years, and he was also for eight years assessor in O'Brien county, Iowa. He has likewise filled the office of school director in Dickinson county for two years and was similarly connected with the schools in O'Brien county. In a word, he stands for progress and improvement, for development and upbuilding, and his aid and influence are always given on the side of right. His life has been well spent and his many sterling traits of character have gained for him the respect, confidence and goodwill of all with whom he has been brought in contact.
A. D. INMAN.
Agricultural interests of Dickinson county find a well known representative in A. D. Inman, who took up his abode here in pioneer days and throughout the intervening period has been closely associated with the development of the county along farming lines. He has assisted in the work of transforming wild land into productive fields and his labors have been attended with good results. He was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, September 4, 1840, a son of Benjamin and Salome (Richardson) Inman, who were natives of Steuben county, New York. The father became an early resident of Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and there his remaining days were passed, his time and energies being devoted to general agricultural pursuits. Both he and his wife departed this life in South Creek township and were there laid to rest. They had a family of eight children but only two are now living, the brother of A. D. Inman being Ed Inman, who resides upon the old homestead in Pennsylvania. The educational advantages which A. D. Inman enjoyed were limited to those offered by the pioneer schools near his boyhood home. He pursued his studies until he reached the age of sixteen and then gave his undivided attention to farm work for his father and others until he reached the age of nineteen. When a young man of twenty years he responded to President Lincoln's first call for troops and enlisted as a member of Company F, Twenty-third New York Infantry. He saw active service throughout the entire war, being largely under the command of Generals Wadsworth and Mead in the Army of the Potomac. He participated in many of the hotly contested engagements of the Virginia campaign, including that near Falls Church in 1861, Ball's Crossroads, Munson's Hill, Bowling Green in 1862, Rappahannock River, Sulphur Springs, Gainesville, Bull Run, Antietam and Fredericksburg. He was honorably discharged at Elmira, New York, May 22, 1863, on the expiration of his first term of enlistment, but on the 7th of September, 1864, he re6nlisted as a private of Company L of the First Regiment of New York Veteran Volunteer Cavalry. He then went to the front with the Army of the Shenandoah and was promoted to corporal on the 15th of December of that year. A second honorable discharge was received at Camp Piatt in West Virginia, June 8, 1865. At the close of the war Mr. Inman returned to Pennsylvania and after a short visit with his parents started for the middle west. In the spring of 1866 he arrived in Dickinson county, which was then largely a frontier district. Here he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres on section 7, Milford township, and has now for fifty-one years remained upon this place. He still has twenty-six acres of the original tract. His first home was a sod house and later he built a log cabin. In those early days he endured all of the hardships and privations incident to pioneer life when homes were widely scattered and when market places were far distant. Much of the labor, too, that is now performed with machinery was then done by hand.
In 1867 Mr. Inman was united in marriage to Miss Melinda Miller, a daughter of John and Charlotte (Coleman) Miller, who were natives of New Jersey and for some time resided in Pennsylvania, where they passed away. Their remains, however, were interred in Wellsburg, New York. In the family of Mr., and Mrs. Inman are two daughters: Ella, the wife of Elmer E. Hall, now of Winnipeg, Canada; and Ida, the wife of H. Curtis Kessey, of Victor, Colorado. Mrs. Inman has ever been an able assistant to her husband and shared with him in all of the hardships and privations of life on the western frontier. They are now numbered among the highly respected residents of the county. They have traveled life's journey together for more than a half century and throughout the entire period have remained residents of Dickinson county. In his political views Mr. Inman has long been a republican and has served in various township offices, while for four years he was sheriff of the county. He belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic and in matters of citizenship has always been as true and loyal to his country as when he followed the stars and stripes on the battlefields of the south.
John Wicks spent the last years of his life in Montgomery, but for a number of years prior to 1911 was actively engaged in farming in Dickinson county. His worth as a man and citizen endeared him to those with whom he was associated, and brought him the goodwill and confidence of those with whom he had business relations. He was born in England, March 31, 1848, and passed away in Montgomery on the 14th of February, 1917. His parents, Samuel and Rachel (Pitts) Wicks, came to America in 1851 and established their home in the state of New York. In the '60s, however, they removed westward to Dallas county, Iowa, where they spent their remaining days. They had a family of ten children, of whom seven are yet living. John Wicks was reared and educated in Dallas county, where he was trained to the work of the fields, early becoming an active assistant to his father in carrying on the labors of the home farm.
He was married there in 1874 to Miss Celia West, a native of England and a daughter of Richard and Mary (Eves) West, who were also natives of England, where they spent their entire lives. It was in 1872 that Mrs. Wicks came to the new world, making her way at once to Dallas county. By her marriage she became the mother of five children: Albert E., Reuben T., and Clinton A., who all reside in North Dakota; Alonzo, living in Dickinson county; and Maud, the wife of John Brown. For eighteen years after his marriage Mr. Wicks carried on general agricultural pursuits in Dallas county and then removed with his family to Dickinson county, establishing his home upon a farm near Lake Park. There he lived for a number of years and in 1911 he removed to Montgomery, where he continued until his death, enjoying during that- period the fruits of his former toil in a well earned rest. His was a well spent life, honorable in its purposes and upright in all its dealings. He held membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and when called to his final home he was laid to rest in the Spirit Lake cemetery, leaving a widow and children to mourn the loss of a devoted husband and father. Mrs. Wicks still owns the residence in Montgomery where her husband died and is widely known there, having a large circle of warm friends.
SAMUEL M. BAKER.
Samuel M. Baker, a farmer of Emmet township, Emmet county, owning two hundred and forty-five acres of improved land on section 21 and 22, was born in Morgan county, Indiana, November 24, 1863, a son of J. C. and Sarah J. (Denney) Baker, who were also natives of that state, where the mother is still living, the father having passed away in 1915. In their family were eight children, six of whom yet survive, Samuel M. Baker was reared and educated in the Hoosier state and afterward removed to Champaign county, Illinois, where he cultivated a rented farm until 1910. In that year he arrived in Emmet county, Iowa, and purchased the farm upon which he now resides on sections 21 and 22, Emmet township, comprising two hundred and forty-five acres of rich and productive land which he has brought under a high state of cultivation. The place is well improved with modern farm buildings and equipment and his labors are bringing to him a substantial measure of success. He raises stock in addition to the cultivation of the fields and that branch of his business adds materially to his income.
In 1888 Mr. Baker was united in marriage to Miss Mary V. Roberts, a native of Illinois and a daughter of Thomas and Jennie (Norton) Roberts, the former now deceased, while the latter is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Baker have become the parents of eight children: Alice, who died in infancy; Samuel Clinton, twenty-six years old; Wylie and Angeline, both deceased; Rosco Cameron and Allen, twins, the former of whom is living and is seventeen years old while the latter died in infancy; Robert Maurice, who is eleven years of age; and John Calvin, six years old. Fraternally Mr. Baker is connected with the Odd Fellows and with the Modern Woodmen of America. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and while he keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day he has never been an office seeker. He has always preferred to concentrate his thought, purpose, effort and attention upon his business affairs and is today one of the prominent farmers of Emmet county-a self-made man, whose diligence has been the basis of his growing success.
John Miller, who owns and successfully operates a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Lincoln township, Emmet county, is a native of Illinois, his birth having occurred in Whiteside county, Oct. 3, 1868. His parents, Andy and Fannie (Miller) Miller, were both born in Ireland, but in early life came to America, and settled in Pennsylvania. From that state they removed to Whiteside county, Illinois, and later came to Iowa, locating on a farm in Franklin county, where both continued to reside until called to their final rest. To them were born six children, George, Andrew, Mathew, John, Frank and Robert, all of whom are still living. John Miller was reared upon the home farm in Franklin county, Iowa, and early became familiar with agricultural pursuits. His literary education was acquired in the local schools and after putting aside his textbooks he assisted in the operation of the home farm until he attained his majority. Subsequently he engaged in farming on rented land for five years, but in 1902 came to Emmet county and purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres on section 34, Lincoln township. He has placed the land under excellent cultivation and has met with success in its operation. For several years he has also engaged in auctioneering, being a graduate of an auctioneering school at Trenton,
In 1890 Mr. Miller was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Schulz, a native of Franklin county, Iowa, who died in 1903 leaving three children, namely: Gladys I., now the wife of Clifford Martin, of New York state; William I.; and Robert G. On the 26th of April, 1910, Mr. Miller was again married, his second marriage being with Mrs. Jennie (Nau)
Hunt, who was born in Sheffield, Iowa, and is a daughter of Jacob and Ellen (Morris) Nau. Her parents were natives of Wisconsin, whence they came to Iowa, but subsequently removed to Crookston, Minnesota, where they are now living. By the second marriage Mr. Miller has two children, Marvin J. and Ellen A. Mrs.. Miller has a son by her former marriage, Melvin L. Hunt. Mr. Miller takes a deep and commendable interest in public affairs and by his ballot supports the men and measures of the republican party, but has never been a politician in the sense of office seeking, preferring to devote his undivided attention to his business interests. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows lodge at Grimes, Iowa, and is also identified with the Modern Woodmen of America. An upright, honorable business man, the success that comes to him is well deserved and he has the confidence and esteem of all who know him.
P. P. WOLDEN
P. P. Wolden, deceased, was one of the representative farmers of Emmet county, his home being on section 14, High Lake township. He was a native of Norway and on coming to America in 1866 first located in Fillmore county, Minnesota, where he resided for thirteen years. In 1880 he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and took up his abode upon the
farm in High Lake township, where he continued to reside throughout the remainder of his life.
In early life Mr. Wolden married Miss Bertha Bergum, who was also born in Norway, and they became the parents of ten children,seven of whom are still living, namely: J. M., who was born September 21, 1880, is a registered pharmacist, and is now one of the supervisors of Emmet county; A. T., who was born December 25, 1883, is engaged in keeping bees in partnership with his brother J. M., they having one of the largest apiaries in northern Iowa, and is now township clerk of High Lake township; B. 0., who was born October 23, 1886, and now has the management and operation of the home farm; C. F., who was born December 24, 1889, and is now proprietor of a music store at Graettinger, Iowa; Hannah, the wife of C. H. Danielson, of Estherville; Petra, the wife of L. B. Nelson, of Wallingford; and Ella, the wife of Iver Nelson, of Swan Lake township, Emmet county. Mr. Wolden was one of the active and enterprising farmers of his locality, owning and operating sixty-five acres of land on section 14, High Lake township, and he continued to make his home thereon until 1908, when called to his final rest. He held several township and schooloffices. His widow survives and is still a valued resident of Emmet county.
The agricultural interests of Dickinson county find a worthy representative in Daniel Munson, who is engaged in farming on section 11, Superior township. He was born in Norway on the 14th of November, 1842, and is a son of Mons Danielson, who spent his entire life in that country. In the common schools of his native land Mr. Munson acquired
his education and there continued to reside until after his marriage, which occurred in 1871, Miss Sarah Olsen becoming his wife. Believing that he could better his condition by coming to the new world, in 1875 he crossed the Atlantic and took up his residence in Winneshiek county, Iowa, where he made his home for about fourteen years. He then removed to Emmet county, where the following three years were spent and at the end of that time became a resident of Dickinson county, where he has now lived for twenty-four years. Previous to his removal to this county he purchased his present farm and since residing thereon has successfully engaged in its operation. To Mr. and Mrs. Munson have been born twelve children, nine of whom are still living, namely: Ole, a resident of Dickinson county; Hattie, the wife of Andrew Anderson, of Robertson county, South Dakota; John, who makes his home in Estherville, Iowa; Martin and Sever, both residents of Regan, North Dakota; Ida, the wife of William Nelson, of Emmet county, Iowa; Peter, of Sioux City; and Emma and Albert, both at home, the latter now operating the farm. The family hold membership in the Norwegian Lutheran church and have the respect and esteem. of all who know them. In politics Mr. Munson is a republican.
IRWIN J. ROBINSON.
Irwin J. Robinson owns and occupies the southwest quarter of section 26, Emmet township, in Emmet county, on which he has resided continuously for about thirteen years. He was born in Wright county, Iowa, November 2, 1870, and is a son of John M. and Martha (Rowan) Robinson, the former a native of Ireland, while the latter was born in New Hampshire. The father followed the occupation of farming in Wright county, but when his son Irwin was eight years of age removed with his family to Cerro Gordo county, where he lived for eight years. In 1886 he came to Emmet county and invested in land in Estherville township, where he carried on farming for eight or ten years. At length
he retired from active business life, taking up his abode in Estherville, where he passed away in 1913, his remains being interred in the Oak Hill cemetery. His widow still survives and is now living with her daughter, who is the wife of Dr. W. E. Bradley. Irwin J. Robinson completed his education by study in the Estherville schools, which he attended to the age of eighteen years, and by one winter's study in the Capital City Commercial College at Des Moines. He continued to assist his father until he reached the age of twenty-two years, when he purchased the old homestead, upon which he lived until 1897. Through the succeeding four years he cultivated a rented farm in Denmark township and in 1901 he purchased land upon which he lived for a year and a half. He then sold out and went to Manitoba, Canada, but later returned to Emmet county and for a few months engaged in the grocery business in Estherville. He then repurchased his former property, comprising the southwest quarter of section 26, Emmet township, whereon be has since engaged in general agricultural pursuits, raising the crops best adapted to climatic conditions here.
In 1897 Mr. Robinson was united in marriage to Miss Florence Haynes, a daughter of C. 1. Haynes, of Estherville, where he still resides. His wife, however, passed away during the early girlhood of Mrs. Robinson, who by her marriage has become the mother of three children, Merle, Dorothy and Ralph, all in school. In his political views Mr. Robinson is a republican and is filling the office of township clerk at the present time and also serving as secretary of the school board. His religious belief is that of the Methodist church and his life measures up to high standards, for he displays many sterling traits such as win respect and regard in every land and clime. His life has been one of diligence and his success is the legitimate and merited outcome of his own labor.
REUBEN E. DONALDSON.
Numbered among the honored dead of Dickinson county appears the name of Reuben E. Donaldson, who for many years was prominently identified with the business and political interests of Milford. A native of Iowa, he was born in Waterloo, Black Hawk county, August 4, 1866, and was a son of Henry and Nancy Donaldson, the former born in New
York and the latter in Kentucky. At an early day Henry Donaldson became a resident of Black Hawk county and he purchased land where the city of Waterloo is now located. There he followed farming for a number of years but in 1875 came to Dickinson county and purchased a farm, whereon he spent the remainder of his life, dying in 1879. His widownow makes her home in Milford. Reuben E. Donaldson began his education in the schools of Waterloo,
being about nine years of age on the removal of the family to Dickinson county, where he completed his studies. In early life he followed farming for a time but after his marriage became a traveling salesman, selling farm implements for eleven years. He began dealing in real estate in 1904 but two years later turned his attention to the automobile business in Milford, in which line he continued up to the time of his death. He was killed in an automobile race at Spirit Lake on the 13th of August, 1915. Widely and favorably known, he left many friends as well as his immediate family to mourn his loss and it is estimated that two thousand people attended his funeral, there being over one hundred and fifty automobiles in the funeral procession.
In November, 1885, Mr. Donaldson- was united in marriage to Miss Flora Geissinger, a daughter of J. W. and Mary (Boden) Geissinger, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. To Mr. and Mrs. Donaldson were born six children, namely: Mrs. J. I. Clinite, of Estherville; Elta, now the wife of L. D. Frisbee, of Sheldon, Iowa; Orville; Grant; Louis; and Flavius. The sons now have charge of the automobile business founded by their father, carrying on operations under the name of Donaldson Brothers. The car in which the father was killed was built by the sons and it was first used in a race on the Indianapolis speedway. Mr. Donaldson owned the first automobile brought to Milford and he always had great faith in that town and in the automobile business, two large garages in the town now standing as monuments to that faith. The republican party always found in Mr. Donaldson a stanch supporter of its principles and his fellow citizens, recognizing his worth and ability, called upon him to serve on the town council and also as mayor of Milford. He was a member of the Congregational church and fraternally
belonged to the Modern Woodmen of America, the Knights of Pythias, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the United Commercial Travelers of Iowa. He was held in high esteem by all who knew him and the confidence reposed in him was never misplaced.
Frank J. Swanlund, who carries on general farming on section 13, Diamond Lake township, Dickinson county, was born in Sweden, October 29, 1872, a son of Charles and Hulda Swanlund, who were also natives of that country. The mother died in Sweden, after which the father came to the United States in 1880 and settled in Webster county, Iowa. There
he resided until 1893 when he came to Dickinson county, where he lived for five years, but afterward returned to Webster county, where he still makes his home. To him and his wife were born three children, all of whom survive.
Frank J. Swanlund was reared and educated in Webster county and supplemented his common school course by study in a college at Des Moines. He afterward began farming on his own account, cultivating a tract of rented land for two years, during which period. he carefully saved his earnings until he was able, as a result of his industry and
economy, to purchase the farm upon which he now resides on section 13, Diamond Lake township, known as the Pleasant View Farm. This he has improved with good buildings, having a comfortable residence,while substantial barns and sheds furnish ample shelter for grain and stock. He makes a specialty of raising and feeding stock, and thus adds
materially to his annual income.
Mr. Swanlund has been married twice. In 1899 he wedded Miss Vivian Fader, and they became parents of four children, Verlin, Gladys, Jessie and Bessie. In 1915 Mr. Swanlund was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Olive (Allen) Person, the widow of Luther Person. By her former marriage she had three children, Raymond J., Marion E.,
and Lloyd C. Mrs. Swanlund is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and Mr. Swanlund has membership in the Knights of Pythias lodge. Politically he is a republican and is now serving as assessor of his township. He may truly be called a self-made man, for all that he possesses has been acquired since he came to the new world. As the years have passed he has worked diligently and persistently, and substantial prosperity is now his.
A. T. GUTHRIE.
A. T. Guthrie, a resident farmer of Milford township, Dickinson county, owns and cultivates a valuable tract of land of two hundred and fifteen acres on section 18, and in his farm work displays progressive methods. He was born in Milford, June 5, 1883, a son of John and Lena (Tillson) Guthrie, who were of Scotch descent, the former a native of Wisconsin, while the latter was born in the state of New York. They became early settlers of Dickinson county and Mr. Guthrie purchased the Okoboji mill in Okoboji township which he operated for a little more than a year. He then purchased a farm and turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, making a specialty of buying stock. He also engaged in auctioneering and to these various lines gave his attention until, having acquired a handsome competence, he retired from active business, since which time he and his wife have made their home in Milford. A. T. Guthrie pursued his education in the schools of Milford which he attended until he reached the age of seventeen, after which he worked for his father until he had attained his majority. He then purchased the Okoboji mill which he conducted for twenty months, when he sold that property and bought the George O'Farrell farm in Milford township. This he cultivated for about four years, at the end of which time he purchased two hundred and fifteen acres on the west half of section 18, Milford township. This is all well drained and excellent improvements have been made upon it, converting it into a valuable farm.
In 1905 Mr. Guthrie was married to Miss Volda Christopherson, a native of Norway. Her father died during her infancy, but her mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Christopherson, is still living in that country. Mr. and Mrs. Guthrie have become parents of eight children, May, Dena, John, Louise, Glenn, Amrett, Lena and an infant son. The parents hold membership in the Congregational church and they enjoy the esteem, confidence and goodwill of all who know them. Mr. Guthrie's success has been won through hard work and perseverance, for he started out in the business world empty handed. He has never allowed difficulties or obstacles to bar his path. They have rather served as a stimulus for renewed effort on his part, and his life of diligence and determination has made him one of the representative agriculturists of the county.
Knud Thomsen, one of the excellent citizens of Denmark township,Emmet county, who are natives of Denmark, is devoting his time to farming and has never had occasion to regret his choice of a life work. He was born on the 30th of January, 1867, and is a son of Thomas and Marie (Jensen) Thomsen, who removed from Denmark to Schleswig, Germany, when their son Knud was but a year old. The father was a laborer and passed his entire life in Europe. The, mother also died there. To them were born five children, but Mr. Thomsen of this review was the only one to emigrate to the United States. The public schools of Schleswig afforded Knud Thomsen his educational opportunities and following his confirmation he worked on farms until he was twenty-three, with the exception of a year devoted to military training. The first five years of his residence in the United States were spent in the state of New York, where he worked on farms. In 1894 he went to Grundy county, Iowa, and there he rented land for eleven years, but in 1905 removed to Swan Lake township, Emmet county, where for four years he operated land belonging to others. He next rented three hundred and twenty acres of land on section 8, Denmark township, and in 1914 bought one hundred and twenty acres located on section 34, that township, on which he expects to take up his abode in the spring of 1917. He began his independent career empty handed but enterprise and progressiveness, which are among his most salient characteristics, have enabled him to realize his purpose of becoming a landowner. He understands thoroughly the methods of agriculture best adapted to this region and his continued success seems assured.
In 1889 Mr. Thomsen was united in marriage to Miss Gina Nielsen, a daughter of Johannes and Ingeborg (Balmer) Nielsen, natives of Denmark, where the father is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Thomsen have seven children, namely: Thomas; Ingeborg, the wife of Herman Madsen, of Denmark township; Marie, who married Hans Carstensen, also of Denmark township; and John, Andrew, Frederick and Eleanore, all at home. Mr. Thomsen is a strong republican and can be counted upon to loyally support the candidates and measures of that party. He is serving his third term as township trustee, his continuance in that office being evidence of his efficiency. His religious faith is indicated by the fact he is a communicant of St. Paul's Danish Lutheran church and fraternally he is connected with Denmarks Minde. He is highly spoken of wherever known and his personal friends are many.
OLE ANDERSON BJORKJONLI.
Ole Anderson Bjorkjonli, a retired farmer living in Estherville, has been a resident of Emmet county for thirty-four years and a life of well directed energy and thrift has brought him to a place where he is now in possession of a comfortable competence that enables him to rest from further labors. He was born in Norway on the 14th of May, 1842, and is a son of Andrew and Mary (Olson) Jorgenson, who came to the United States in 1868, a year after the arrival of their son, Ole Anderson Bjorkjonli, in this country. They settled in Worth county, Iowa, and there the mother passed away in 1881, after which the father made his home with his son Ole until his death, which occurred in 1904. Mr. Bjorkjonli acquired a limited education in the common schools of Norway and in 1867 came to the United States, establishing his home in Cerro Gordo county, Iowa, after one year spent in Winneshiek county, Iowa. In Cerro Gordo county he purchased one hundred acres of land and began farming on his own account.
The same year he made further preparations for a home of his own by his marriage to Miss Hannah Paulson, also a native of Norway, who came to the United States with her parents when in her fifteenth year. Mr. Bjorkjonli became a resident of Emmet county in 1882, but in 1876 he purchased two hundred and forty acres of land, upon which he took up his abode six years later. In subsequent years he added to his holdings from time to time as his financial resources increased until his farm comprised almost a full section of land. Later, however, he sold a portion of this property but still owns four hundred acres in Emmet county and two hundred and forty acres in Todd and Cass counties, of Minnesota, his landed possessions affording him an excellent annual income. While upon the farm he converted his place into rich and productive fields, from which he annually gathered good harvests that enabled him to put aside something from his earnings year by year until in 1906, possessing a handsome competence, he retired from active farm life and removed to Estherville, where he has since made his home, enjoying a rest which he has truly earned and richly deserves. In the meantime Mr.Bjorkjonli broadened the scope of his activities by becoming one of the organizers of the Emmet County Farmers' Cooperative Insurance Company and upon its organization was made a member of its board of directors, in which position he has served continuously since, covering twenty-four years, while for the past sixteen years he has been treasurer of the company. He is now agent for several Scandinavian steamship lines but otherwise has no active business connections.To Mr. and Mrs. Bjorkjonli have been born thirteen children, eight of whom still survive, as follows: Albert, who follows farming in Emmet township, Emmet county; George, who is engaged in the land business at Estherville, Iowa; John, an agriculturist of Clearwater county, Minnesota; Isaac, who follows farming in Todd county, Minnesota; Josephine, the wife of Frank Doyle, of St. Paul, Minnesota; Nettie, the wife of Edward Koenecke, who operates one of Mr. Bjorkjonli's farms in Emmet county; Jacob, a student in the Iowa State University.; and Jennie, the wife of Lawrence Sargeant, who cultivates the old home farm of Mr. Bjorkjonli. Politically Mr. Bjorkjonli is a republican, having long supported the party. He served as township trustee for fifteen years and as justice of the peace for about the same length of time and in both offices discharged his duties with promptness and fidelity, his decisions as justice being strictly fair and impartial-a fact which is indicated by his long retention in the office. He has been officially connected with the schools for many years as a member of the school board and he has put forth every possible effort to advance the welfare of the community and uphold its civic standards. Mr. and Mrs. Biorkjonli are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church and are numbered among the well known and highly esteemed residents of this part of the state. Laudable ambition prompted Mr.Bjorkjonli to sever home ties in early manhood and seek his fortune in the new world. With the passing years he has made steady progress and his energy and determination have enabled him to overcome all difficulties and obstacles in his path. His life record should serve to inspire and encourage others, showing what may be accomplished through individual effort and proving also that success and an honored name may be won
J. P. NELSON.
J. P. Nelson, a well known implement and hardware dealer of Montgomery, Dickinson county, was born at Jewell, Iowa, on the 2d of May, 1881. His parents, Peter and Tina Nelson, were both natives of Denmark and there resided until 1868, when they came to America. For two years they lived at Marshalltown, Iowa, but at the end of that time removed to Hamilton county, where they resided for many years. There the mother died in 1908 and in 1913 the father removed to Los Angeles, California. To them were born three children, all of whom survive. J. P. Nelson grew to manhood in Hamilton county and after completing the course offered in the public schools there was a student in the Lutheran College at Jewell. Subsequently he engaged in the harness business at Jewell in partnership with his father, but at length disposed of his interests in that enterprise and for a year and a half owned and conducted a livery stable at Jewell. At the expiration of that period his father retired from business and J. P. Nelson sold out his interest in the livery barn and became a fireman on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad. Three years later he purchased a farm, which he operated for six years and then sold. He next bought the implement and hardware business in Montgomery which he is still conducting and which has proved very profitable. He carries the largest stock of implements and hardware to be found in the county and has always followed the policy of giving the customer the benefit of the doubt. The wisdom of this course is evidenced by the large and representative trade which he has built up. He has other business interests, owning four buildingsin Montgomery.
In 1901 Mr. Nelson was united in marriage to Miss Millie Johnson, a native of Jewell, and they have four children, Peter, Wilhelm, Charles and Mildred. Mr. Nelson is a stanch adherent of the republican party but has never been an office seeker, preferring to concentrate his energies upon the conduct of his business. He belongs to Beach Lodge, No. 452, I.0.0.F., and to Republic Lodge, No. 468, A.F.&A.M., both of Jewell. In all that he does he manifests a progressive spirit, enterprise and good judgment and these qualities have not only been the foundation of the success which he has already achieved, but are also the best guarantee that still greater prosperity is in store for him in the future.
Hans Mortensen, who is engaged in general farming and stock raising on section 35, Denmark township, is one of the representative agriculturists of Emmet county. He was born in Denmark on the 26th of January, 1856, and is a son of Martin and Karen (Wine) Mortensen, now deceased. In the family were nine children. The parents never came to the United States, but continued residents of Denmark throughout life. By occupation the father was a brewer. Hans Mortensen attended the public schools of Denmark until confirmed and two years were later devoted to military training. In early life he learned the cigar maker's trade, which he followed in his native land until twenty-seven years of age, when he resolved to try his fortune in the new world and sailed for America. He first located in Cook county, Illinois, where he worked as a farm hand for two years, and then removed to Humboldt county, Iowa, where he continued in the employ of others for some time. At length, however, he was able to engage in farming on his own account upon rented land and in 1893 purchased the northeast quarter of section 35, Denmark township, Emmet county, to the improvement and cultivation of which he has since devoted his time and attention with good results. He has converted the tract into a fine farm and has devoted considerable attention to the raising of full blooded stock, making a specialty of Percheron horses.
In 1891, Mr. Mortensen was united in marriage to Miss Kate Koll, a daughter of Adolph and Mary (Engle) Koll, who are natives of Germany and Denmark respectively. On coming to this country they first located in Humboldt county, Iowa, but are now residents of Denmark township, Emmet county. Mr. and Mrs. Mortensen have twelve children namely: Carl, Adolph, Peter, Caroline, Mary, Hans, Jr., Frederick, Anna, Amanda, Martin, Frances and Henrietta. For a number of years Mr. Mortensen was president of the Forsythe Creamery Company, and he has served as school director and road supervisor in his district. In politics he is a democrat and in religious faith is a Lutheran, holding membership in St. John's church. He is one of the representative farmers of his community and is held in high esteem by all who know him.
Lewis Iverson, who owns and cultivates one hundred and sixty acres of excellent farm land on section 25, High Lake township, has throughout his entire life been identified with agricultural interests. He was born in that township on a farm that had been homesteaded by his parents, John and Julia Iverson, in 1865. The father was a native of Norway and was thirty-nine years of age when he took up his claim in Emmet county. After coming to the new world he had resided for some time in Wisconsin and was there married, his wife being a native of that state. They became closely associated with the pioneer development of northwestern Iowa, aiding in reclaiming this region for the purposes of civilization. They remained valued residents of the district for many years but in 1901 removed to South Dakota. There the father died the following year and his remains were brought back for interment in High Lake cemetery. Mrs. Iverson survived him until 1912. They were the parents of twelve children, of whom six are yet living, three being residents of South Dakota and two of North Dakota. The other member of the family is Lewis Iverson of this review, whose early associations were such as fall to the lot of most boys who are reared upon a farm. He attended the district schools until he reached the age of sixteen years and in the school of experience has since learned many valuable lessons. After that time he concentrated his efforts upon farm work upon the old homestead, assisting his father until he reached the age of twenty-six, when he began farming on his own account, purchasing the southwest quarter of section 25, High Lake township, whereon he now resides. He has converted the place into a valuable and productive farm, which he conducts according to modern progressive ideas of agriculture.
In High Lake township Mr. Iverson was united in marriage to Miss Ella Johnson, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Johnson, of Mitchell county, Iowa, both of whom have now passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Iverson have become the parents of four children: Edith, the wife of Robert Elsenbast, of Palo Alto county, Iowa; and Gladys, Elmer and Mabel, all at home. Mr. and Mrs. Iverson give loyal support to the Norwegian Lutheran church, in which they hold membership. His political endorsement is given to the republican party, in the work of which he has been somewhat active, serving for three years as county trustee. The major part of his thought, time and attention, however, have been given to his agricultural interests and by hard work he has become the owner of a well improved farm, while at the same time he has developed a character that commands the respect and goodwill of all who know him.
ROY D. CARSON.
Roy D. Carson, a well known resident of Armstrong, is one of Iowa's native sons, his birth occurring in Union, Hardin county, October 23, 1882. His parents were Eli William and Melissa (Humphrey) Carson, natives of Indiana and Ohio respectively. During the Civil war the father served in the Union army for three years and eight months and was holding the rank of lieutenant when mustered out. He afterward removed to Cresco, Iowa, where he purchased land and engaged in farming for some time. Subsequently he owned and operated a farm near Union in Hardin county for many years, but finally retired from active labor and removed to Union, where he was living at the time of his death, which occurred in October, 1915, when be was seventy-nine years of age. His wife had passed away in 1901. In the public schools of Union, Iowa, Roy D. Carson acquired his education and in early life he learned the barber's trade, at which he worked in different places until 1914. In 1908 he had become a resident of Armstrong, Emmet county, and since selling his barber shop there has conducted a billiard hall at that place and has also engaged in the real estate business, handling Iowa, Minnesota and North and South Dakota lands. To some extent he has also followed auctioneering. He owns the building in which he is now engaged in business and also a nice residence in Armstrong.
On the 31st of March, 1905, Mr. Carson married Miss Lulu Shea, a daughter of John and Elizabeth Shea, and they have one child, Virginia, born in 1915. In religious faith they are Methodists, and Mr. Carson is also a.member of the Modern Woodmen of America. The republican party finds in him a stanch supporter of its principles and he takes a deep and commendable interest in public affairs. Wherever known he is held in high esteem and he has a host of friends in and around Armstrong.
ELMER E. CRUMB.
Elmer E. Crumb, who owns and operates a valuable farm in Emmet township, was born in New York state on the 30th of August, 1862, a son of John and Maria H. (Nye) Crumb, also natives of that state. In 1866 the family removed to Emmet county, Iowa, and the father homesteaded one hundred and sixty, acres on section 24, Emmet township. That was in the early period of the development of the county and for a number of years the family lived in a log cabin, while the other conditions of life were such as are usually found in an unsettled region. The mother passed away on the 13th of March, 1875, and on the 5th of October, 1886, the father likewise responded to the final summons. To them were born seven children but two are now deceased. Elmer E. Crumb was reared in Emmet county, being but four years of age when brought here by his parents, and his education was that afforded by the pioneer schools. On attaining his majority he took over the management of the homestead and subsequently purchased one hundred acres of the place. He still owns that property and as the years have passed has made his farm one of the best improved in the township. He has erected commodious and substantial buildings and sees to it that everything is kept in excellent, repair. He divides his time and attention between grain farming and stock raising and feels that he thus secures the greatest possible return from his land.
On the 12th of December, 1888, Mr. Crumb was married to Miss Sadie A. Butler, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of Uriel and Amy (Comstock) Butler, natives of New York, who became early settlers of Wisconsin, whence they removed to Minnesota. The mother died on the 26th of April, 1896, in Palo Alto county, but the father survived until January 29, 1911, and died in Emmet county. Mrs. Crumb is one of six children, of whom but two survive, and by her marriage has become the mother of three children, namely: Frank W.; Elma L., at home; and one who died in infancy. Mr. Crumb is a stanch advocate of republican principles and is faithfql in the discharge of all his duties as a citizen. He is especially interested in the welfare of the schools and for several years was a member of the school board. Both he and his wife belong to the Baptist church and his fraternal affiliation is with the Modern Woodmen of America. He is very loyal to the interests of the county, in which almost his entire life has been spent, and is satisfied that the opportunities here offered the agriculturist cannot be surpassed elsewhere.
For more than fifteen years Andrew Anderson has been a resident of Emmet county, where he has a large and well developed farm property, regarded as one of the finest farms of his section of the state. In March, 1917, however, he retired to Estherville, there to spend his remaining days in the enjoyment of a rest which he has truly earned and richly deserves. He was born in Norway, March 24, 1855, a son of Andrew Osmundson and Helga Peterson. They were the parents of a family of eleven children, five sons and six daughters, of whom five now lie buried in Norway, while six are yet living, four sisters of the family having come to the United States. At the usual age Andrew Anderson became a pupil in the common schools of Norway, which he attended until he reached the age of fifteen. He worked for his father on the farm until 1870. Bidding adieu to friends and native ]and, be sailed for the new world and crossed the continent to Grundy county, Illinois, where he was employed at farm labor for three years. In 1873 he was joined by his parents in Grundy county and they lived with Mr. Anderson, who in that year purchased a farm. He prospered as time passed and ultimately became the owner of two excellent farms in that locality. In 1899 the parents removed to Hamilton county, Iowa, to live with their daughter, Anna, the wife of Thomas Thompson, and there both the father and mother passed away. It was in 1901 that Mr. Anderson severed his connection with Illinois and came to Iowa, establishing his home in Emmet county, where he purchased the northwest quarter of section 10 and the northwest quarter,of the southwest quarter of the same section. He is now the owner of two hundred and forty acres of rich and productive land, constituting one of the finest farms of the county. His place has been well tiled, affording excellent draining and thus greatly enhancing the productiveness of his fields. His farm is also well stocked with cattle and hogs and his live stock interests constitute an important source of revenue to him. He uses the latest improved machinery to facilitate the work of the fields and annually gathers good harvests, which are the reward of well directed effort and ability. However his farm does not constitute the sole evidence of his life of well directed thrift and industry, for other substantial business interests profit by his co8peration and financial support, as he is now a stockholder in the Farmers Savings Bank, the creamery and the Farmers Elevator at Wallingford.
In 1874 Mr. Anderson was united in marriage to Miss Christina Iverson, a daughter of Iver Longland, of Grundy county, Illinois. They became the parents of eight children: Andrew N., now living in Winnebago county, Minnesota, Ed, a resident of Joliet, Illinois; Henry, whose home is in Jack Creek township; Olin, living in the same township; Julius, who is located in Twelve Mile Lake township; Bert, of Jack Creek township; Martha, the wife of Andrew Thompson, of Jack Creek township; and Anna, the wife of Henry Sievol, of Radcliffe, Iowa. The wife and mother of these children passed away in Grundy county, Illinois, and was laid to rest in a cemetery at Saratoga, that state. For his second wife Mr. Anderson chose Josephine Bravik Johnson, of La Salle county, Illinois, and they had a daughter, Clara, who passed away at the age of seventeen and was buried in Saratoga, Illinois, by the side of her mother.In 1897 Mr. Anderson was again married, at which time Johanna Jurgenson, a native of Norway, became his wife. There are three sons and a daughter of this marriage: George, now living in Estherville; and Alfred, Joseph, and Myrtle, all at home. Mr. Anderson has always been desirous that his children should have good educational opportunities and for ten years he acceptably served as school director in High Lake township. His political endorsement is given to the republican party and his religious faith is that of the Norwegian Lutheran church. His life has indeed been an active and useful one and he is numbered among those who have aided largely in winning for Iowa its well earned reputation of being one of the foremost agricultural states of the Union.
R. S. HARRIS.
R. S. Harris, proprietor of the Lake Road Farm on section 2, Armstrong Grove township, Emmet county, is a native of the neighboring state of Illinois. He was born in Carroll county, April 19, 1868, and is a son of John, and Eliza (Hanna) Harris. The parents were both natives of Ireland, but in early life came to America and located in New York state, where they made their home for a time. From there they removed to Illinois, and Mr. Harris purchased a farm in Carroll county, which he operated until ten years prior to his death when he retired from active life. He passed away in August, 1903, and his wife survived him for about two years, dying in May, 1905. R. S. Harris is indebted to the public schools of his native county for his early education and he remained with his parents until twenty-five years of age. He then rented his father's farm, which he successfully operated for five years, and at the end of that time removed to Black Hawk county, Iowa. One year later he became a resident of Emmet county and purchased two hundred and forty-five acres in Armstrong Grove township, to the improvement and cultivation of which he devoted the following thirteen years. On disposing of that place he bought a half section, a part of which was on section I and the remainder on section 2 of Armstrong Grove township, but he subsequently sold a quarter of section 1. He has made many excellent improvements upon the remainder of his land and in its operation and cultivation has met with marked success. In connection with general farming he pays particular attention to stock, and feeds a carload of cattle and hogs for the market every year.
On the 19th of February, 1895, Mr. Harris married Miss Margaret Calder, a daughter of William and Catherine (McKay) Calder, who were natives of Nova Scotia. There her father died in 1865 and her mother, who long survived him, passed away on the 30th of. October,1893. Mr. and Mrs. Harris have four children, namely: Willis and Wilbur, twins, born August 6, 1896; Ransom C., born August 16, 1899; and Charles R., born February 3, 1907. In politics Mr. Harris is a stanch republican and his fellow citizens, recognizing his worth and ability, have called upon him to fill positions of trust and responsibility. For the past twelve years he has served as assessor and has also filled the office of trustee of Armstrong Grove township for four years. He is the present secretary of the Farmers Telephone Company, president of the Farmers Elevator Company of Armstrong and vice president of the Farmers Improvement Association of Emmet county. He is also a member of the Armstrong Consolidated high school board and is a trustee of the Presbyterian church, to which he and his wife belong. Fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Yeomen lodge, and in both social and business circles he occupies an enviable position, having the confidence and respect of all with whom he is brought in contact.
ALNA V. ANDERSON.
Among the enterprising business men of Dolliver who are contributing to the commercial expansion of the place is Alna V. Anderson, the proprietor of a general store. He was born in Hancock county, Iowa, on the 28th of October, 1886, of the marriage of Andrew and Inger Anderson, who are natives of Sweden but who have lived in America since childhood. For many years the father engaged in farming in Hancock county but they are now living at Armstrong, Iowa. All of their three children survive.Alna V. Anderson was reared under the parental roof and received his education in the country schools of Emmet county and in the high school at Armstrong, from which he was graduated. In 1914 he went into business for himself, establishing a general store at Dolliver, which he has since conducted with gratifying success. He gives a great deal of thought to the selection of his stock, keeping in mind the particular requirements of his customers, and is up-to-date in his methods of displaying and selling his goods. He has gained an enviable reputation for square dealing and his patronage has shown a steady increase.
In January, 1914, Mr. Anderson was married to Miss Estella Baker and they have a son, Paul. The republican party has a stanch adherent in Mr. Anderson and both he and his wife are Methodists in religious affiliation. Fraternally he is connected with the Masonic blue lodge and with the Royal Arch chapter and in his daily life seeks to practice the teachings of the craft.
Peter Johnson, residing on section 6, Lloyd township, has spent his entire life in Dickinson county, being born on the farm where he now resides, March 3, 1876, and a representative of an old and honored pioneer family of this county. His parents, Jacob and Mary (Larsdatter) Johnson, were natives of Norway, where they were reared and married and where they continued to reside until after the birth of their oldest child. It was in 1866 that they crossed the Atlantic to the United States and located in Wisconsin. In 1870 they came to Dickinson county, Iowa, and the father homesteaded the quarter section in Lloyd township on which his son Peter now resides. On coming to this locality they drove from Fort Dodge in a wagon, which also contained their household goods and during the early days experienced all the hardships and difficulties of pioneer life. They passed through the grasshopper scourge but at length prosperity crowned their efforts and in due course of time the father acquired five hundred and sixty acres of land, which has since been divided among his sons. He continued to reside upon his original homestead until his death, which occurred on the 26th of December,1906. His widow is still living at the age of eighty-two years and makes her home with our subject. Peter Johnson passed his boyhood and youth under the parental roof and by assisting in the work of the farm became thoroughly familiar with agricultural pursuits, while at the same time he pursued his literary studies in the district school. As early as his eighteenth year he practically assumed the operation of the home farm of two hundred and forty acres and has continued in charge of the same, which is still a part of the estate left by his father. He owns one hundred and sixty acres constituting the northeast quarter of section 17, Westport township, Dickinson county, and he also owns the southwest quarter of section 12, Milford township, both of these tracts being now operated by tenants.
On the 10th of June, 1901, Mr. Johnson was united in marriage to Miss Christina Hendricksen, a native of Jasper county, Iowa, whose parents came to this country from Denmark in 1868 and located in Kellogg, Iowa, where her father was employed on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad for several years. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have three children: Julius Valoris, Lavanna and Martin. In his political affiliations Mr. Johnson isa republican and for several years he served as a member of the school board. Both he and his wife are faithful members of the Seventh Day Advantist church and he is one of the trustees of the church. An enterprising and energetic business man, he has met with success in his farming operations and is today numbered among the representative citizens of his community -a man honored and esteemed wherever known.
Thrift and enterprise have characterized the business career of Solomon Solomonson, who is now farming on section 6, Swan Lake township, Emmet county. He was born in Lee county, Illinois, September 4, 1864, and is a son of Lars and Ragnilda (Winterton) Solomonson, who were natives of Norway and in 1858 came to the United States, establishing their home in Lee county, Illinois, where the father passed away in 1876. His widow still survives and yet makes her home in that county. At the usual age Solomon Solomonson became a pupil in the public schools of his native county and no event of special importance occurred to vary for him the routine of farm life during the days of his boyhood and youth.
On the 8th of July, 1886, however, occurred an important event-his marriage to Miss Emma Johnson, who was born in La Salle county, Illinois, and whose parents came from Norway in the '50s. It was in March, 1888, that Mr. Solomonson left Illinois and removed to Iowa, establishing his home in Swan Lake township, Emmet county. Six years later he bought his first farm land, making investment in his present place of two hundred and seven acres, on which he has now resided for twenty-three years. His labors have wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of the place, converting it into highly productive fields from which he annually gathers good harvests. The place is well fenced and well improved with modern buildings and an air of neatness and thrift pervades the farm and indicates Mr. Solomonson as one of the progressive agriculturists of his county. Mr. and Mrs. Solomonson are the parents of five children, as follows: Retta L., who is the wife of Jacob Taylor, of Gruver, Emmet county; Harvey A., who follows farming in Center township, Emmet county; Laurence M., a carpenter living at home; and Orvie A. and Albert, who are also yet under the parental roof. In his political views Mr. Solomonson is a republican and has served as a member of the school board, but otherwise has not sought nor cared to fill public office. Fraternally he is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and he holds membership in the Norwegian Lutheran church. His life is actuated by high and honorable principles and worthy motives. There have been no sensational chapters in his career, but fidelity to duty and unfaltering industry in business have won him success and an honored name.
T. W. MINER
T. W. Miner is one of the substantial farmers of Richland township, Dickinson county, owning and operating a good farm on section 16. He is one of Iowa's native sons, his birth occurring in Benton county, August 2, 1862, and he is a son of Hiram and Mary (Anderson) Miner, who were born in Illinois and Ohio, respectively. During their childhood they were taken by their parents to Benton county, Iowa, where they were subsequently married, and then located on a farm in that county, living thereon until the death of the father, which occurred in September, 1913. The mother is still living and now resides in Blairstown, Benton county. T. W. Miner pursued his studies in the district schools near his boyhood home and aided in the work of the farm. After reaching man's estate he and his brothers operated the farm up to 1896, when he came to Dickinson county and purchased his present place, consisting of one hundred and sixty acres on section 16, Richland township. In 1900,however, he returned to Benton county and for the following eight years had charge of his father's farm. At the end of that time he again took up his residence upon his land in Dickinson county, where he spent three years, but on the expiration of two years returned to Benton county. Having met with an accident, the following two years were spent in recuperating his health and in 1913 he again came to Dickinson county,where he has since farmed with good success.
On the 5th of February, 1908, Mr. Miner married Miss Sophia Mueller, of Ida county, Iowa, and to them have been born three children, Victor, Helen and Esther. Mrs. Miner is a consistent member of the Lutheran church and is a most estimable lady. In politics Mr. Miner is a socialist. He is one of the representative citizens of his community and wherever known is held in high regard.
William McCullough, devoting his time and energies to generalzfarming in Jack Creek township, Emmet county, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born January 20, 1851, of the marriage of John andzMary J. (Anderson) McCullough, both of whom were natives of Scotland. They crossed the Atlantic in early life and became residents of Pennsylvania, where the father spent his remaining days. Following his demise the mother removed to Illinois, where she remained until her death. In their family were eight children, but only three are now living: James, a resident of Ames, Iowa; Margaret, the wife of David Sloper, whose home is in California; and William. The last named was reared and educated in Iowa, spending his youthful days near Davenport, in Scott county. He remained under the
parental roof until he had attained his majority and after working for a time on the home farm turned his attention to carpentering. He became a resident of Emmet county in 1892 and purchased his present farm, then a tract of raw prairie land, on section 35, Jack Creek township. With characteiistic energy he began its development and, has
since added many modern improvements, including buildings which furnish ample shelter for grain and stock. He has engaged quite extensively in stock raising in addition to the cultivation of the crops best adapted to soil and climate here, and both branches of his business have proven profitable.
In July, 1879, Mr. McCullough was married to Miss Rozetta Bumbleson, who was born in Boone county, Iowa, a daughter of James. and Nancy J. (Simms) Burnbleson, natives of Ohio and Indiana, respectivelY. At an early periOd in the development of Iowa they came to this state, where the father passed away, while the tnother's death occurred in
Kansas. In their family were nine children, all of whom are yet living. Mr. and Mrs. McCullough have become the parents of five children: Blanche, now the wife of Harry E. Reimer, of Des Moines'; Oscar, who died at the age of twenty-three years; Nettie B., the wife of H. H. Lagrand, and James and Ralph B., both at home. In his political views Mr. McCullough is a republican, and while he has never sought nor desired political office, he has served on the school board for a number of years, the cause of education finding in him a stalwart champion. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church and their well spent lives have gained for them the friendly regard of all who knew them. At the time of their marriage their financial circumstances were limited, but since starting out in life together they have won a handsome competence, being now numbered among the substantial residents of Jack Creek township.
FRANK B. WING.
Frank B. Wing, engaged in the restaurant business in Estherville since 1910, has through the intervening period been accorded a liberal patronage because of the excellent service which he renders in that connection. He has ever recognized the fact that satisfied customers are the best advertisement and he has put forth every effort to please. A native of Iowa, he was born at New Providence, September 30, 1877, his parents being J. Bentley and Jane Wing, in whose family were two children who are yet living, Frank B. and Eva, the latter now Mrs. Cotant, of Estherville. The father, who was a railroad employe, has passed away, but the mother is still living in Estherville. Frank B. Wing was accorded a common school education and also continued his studies in the Quaker Academy at New Providence, Iowa. He started upon his business career as an employe in a hotel in Estherville and also worked at the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific buffet. He continued in the service of others at New Providence until 1895. In 1900 he embarked in business on his own account, conducting a restaurant at Lake Park and at Spencer, Iowa, before coming to Estherville in 1910. Here he opened a restaurant which he has since conducted and with the passing years he has enjoyed an increasing patronage that makes his business a profitable one.
In 1905 Mr. Wing was married to Miss Ethel Hoover, a daughter of Jacob and Evelyn Hoover, who were natives of Virginia and of Estherville respectively, the latter being a daughter of R. E. Ridley. Mr. and Mrs. Wing have become the parents of one child, Mildred Evelyn. The parents are members of the Baptist church and guide their lives according to its teachings. Fraternally he is connected with the Knights of Pythias and his political support is given to the republican party, for he firmly believes that its principles contain the best elements of good government.
WALTER R. CUMMINS.
Walter R. Cummins, a representative and progressive agriculturistof Iowa Lake township, Emmet county, cultivates three hundred and twenty acres of valuable land on section 25. His birth occurred at Painted Post, Steuben county, New York, on the 10th of July, 1863, his parents being Dwight and Martha (Drake) Cummins, who were natives of Vermont and Ohio respectively. The father, who worked at the millwright's trade throughout his active business career, resided in La Salle county, Illinois, during the greater part of his life. His demise occurred January 15, 1893, when he had attained the age of seventy-four years, but his widow still survives and makes her home in Illinois. Walter R. Cummins was reared and educated in Illinois and there learned the millwright's trade, to which he devoted his time and energies until 1903. In that year, however, he turned his attention to general agricultural pursuits in La Salle county, Illinois, and was thus engaged for four years. On the 28th of February, 1907, he came to Emmet county, Iowa, and rented a 'half section of land in Iowa Lake township, in the cultivation of which he has been engaged continuously to the present time. He served as secretary and treasurer of the Lake Road Telephone Company for one year and is widely recognized as an enterprising citizen and successful agriculturist of his community.
On the 25th of December, 1883, Mr. Cummins was united in marriage to Miss Emma Benton, by whom he has five children, namely: Vivian D., who has held the office of township assessor for four years; Minnie, who is the wife of Roy Drake and resides in Armstrong; and Edna, Rufus and Ralph, all at home. Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise Mr. Cummins has supported the men and measures of the republican party. He is now serving in the capacity of trustee, having been elected to that position for a three years' term in the fall of 1916, and he has also been school director, acting as president of the board of education for seven years. Fraternally he is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America, while his religious faith is that of the Methodist church. He has become widely known during the period of his residence in Emmet county and his circle of friends is almost coextensive with the circle of his acquaintance.
AMUND J. AMUNDSEN.
Amund J. Amundsen, one of the representative farmers of Swan Lake township, Emmet county, was born in Norway on the 2nd of October, 1851, and is a son of John and Rachel Amundsen, both of whom were natives of Norway, where they continued to reside until 1865, when they brought their family to America and located upon a farm in Allamakee county, Iowa. Subsequently they became residents of Emmet county, the father purchasing a farm in Center township upon which he and his wife spent their remaining days. In their family were seven children, five of whom are still living. In his native land Amund J. Amundsen attended school, being fourteen years old at the time of the emigration of the family to America in 1865. He remained under the parental roof until he had attained his majority, early acquiring a knowledge of agricultural pursuits, and during the following ten years worked as a farm hand. At the end of that time he went to North Dakota, where he served as manager of a large farm for three years. Returning to Emmet county he was then able to purchase eighty acres of land which he later sold and then bought the farm on section 29, Swan Lake township, where he now resides. Here he owns one hundred and ninety-three acres of very valuable and productive land, which he has placed under excellent cultivation and upon which he has made many improvements, including the erection of good and substantial buildings. He makes a specialty of the raising and feeding of stock and in all his. undertakings has met with well deserved success.
In 1882 Mr. Amundsen married Miss Amelia Amundsen, who though of the same name was no relation. She, too, was born in Norway and has become the mother of seven children, namely: George A., now a resident of Illinois; Rubena E., the wife of Clarence Sorum; John A.; Henry B.; Oren E.; Mabel Bertena; and Aline May. Mr. and Mrs. Amundsen are members of the Lutheran church and are numbered among the leading citizens of the community in which they reside. He is a self-made man and the success which has attended his efforts is due entirely to his own industry, enterprise and good management.
JAMES L. BROWN.
James L. Brown, who owns and operates four hundred and seventy-two acres of fine land in Center township, Emmet county, is fully entitled to the honor that is given to a man who through his own efforts has gained prosperity and a place among the leading citizens of his community. He was born on the 19th of March, 1863, in Norway, of which country his parents, Lars and Anna Brown, were also natives. The mother passed away there, but in 1886 the father came to America,where his last years were spent. James L. Brown is one of a family of six children, of whom four
survive, and his education was that afforded by the public schools of Norway. In 1882, when nineteen years old, he came to America as he had heard highly favorable reports concerning conditions here, and he first located in Polk county, Iowa. After working on the railroad for two months he was employed on a farm in Wright county, Iowa, for
a time and in 1885 also worked on a farm in Kendall county, Illinois. Subsequently he rented a farm in Wright county, this state, which he cultivated for three years. During that time he carefully saved his money and was able to buy eighty acres in Wright county, which he farmed until 1898, when he disposed of the place and purchased his present home farm on section 35, Center township, Emmet county. His holdings now comprise four hundred and seventy-two acres, all under cultivation and well improved, and he derives a substantial income from the sale of his grain and stock. In his methods, of work he is at once practical and progressive and he also makes a close study of the market so as to sell to the best advantage.
Mr. Brown was married in 1888 to Miss Maggie Larson, a native of Clinton county, Iowa, and a daughter of Thomas and Christina Larson, who located in that county on their emigration to America. The mother has passed away, but the father survives. Eight children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Brown: Anna C., the wife of Swen Berg; Tilda J., who married Lewis Berg; Clarence C.; Lloyd S.; Joseph M.; Lars Elmer; Milford E.; and Vernon T. Mr. Brown loyally supports the candidates and measures of the republican party, at the polls as he is a firm believer in its principles. For two terms he held the office of township assessor and is now acting as county supervisor. He has also served as school director. Both he and his wife are identified with the Lutheran church, which fact is indicative of the keen interest they take in forces working for the moral uplift of their community.
WILLIAM A. KNOLL.
William A. Knoll is actively engaged in general farming on sectionz32, Center township, Emmet county. He was born in Ottawa, Illinois, onzthe 20th of December, 1891, a son of William H. and Minnie Knoll, who areznatives of Illinois and Germany, respectively. The father devoted his lifezto farming and thus provided for the support of his family, numberingzwife and four children: Edward, Ida, Rena and William A., all living atzOttawa, Illinois, save the subject of this review.zzWilliam A. Knoll spent the days of his boyhood and youth in his nativezcity and the educational privileges which he there enjoyed well qualified himzfor life's practical and responsible duties. In 1900 his father purchasedzland in Center township, Emmet county, comprising the northwest quarterzof section 32, and in 1914 William A. Knoll took up his abode upon this farmzand has since devoted his time and energies to its development and improvement. He is now busily engaged in its cultivation and his labors are bringing forth excellent results.
In 1915 Mr. Knoll was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Gephard,zboth of whose parents passed away in Ottawa, Illinois. Mr. and Mrs.zKnoll have a daughter, Dorothy. The parents are members of the German Lutheran church and Mr. Knoll gives his political allegiance to the republican party, believing firmly in its principles. He stands for all that is progressive in citizenship and he is regarded as an ambitious, energetic young man whose success is the merited reward of earnest, persistent labor.
AUGUST L. KOENECKE.
Among the enterprising young business men who are contributing in large measure to the commercial upbuilding of Dolliver is August L. Koeneeke, who is the proprietor of a hardware store. He was born in Martin county, Minnesota, March 31, 1884, of the marriage of Henry and Augusta (Deering) Koeneeke, natives of Germany. For many years, however, they have been residents of Martin county, Minnesota, where the father is still engaged in farming. To them were born twelve children, of whom the only daughter, Mrs. William J. Parnell, is a resident of Estherville township and a son, Ed, is married and is engaged in farming in Emmet township, Emmet county. August L. Koenecke attended the public schools until he was seventeen years of age and for four years thereafter worked for his father on the home farm. He then entered the employ of C. L. Jeglum & Company, hardware dealers of Huntington, Iowa, with whom he remained for five years. He was also associated with that business for a year with Albert Myhre, the successor of his first employers. He then entered the Estherville Business College, where he was a student for eight months, thus further preparing himself for a business career. After leaving that institution he was for six months in the employ of T. T. Sunde, Jr., a dealer in hardware and groceries at Huntington, and then entered business on his own account, buying out the hardware store of Gustav Reke at Dolliver. He is still conducting that business and has managed his affairs so efficiently that he has built up a large and profitable trade. He keeps in close touch with the needs of his patrons and has developed his business in every possible way.
In 1909 Mr. Koenecke was united in marriage to Miss Alice Reed, a daughter of S. B. and Sylvia Reed, of Dolliver. To this union has been born a daughter, Lomena. Mr. and Mrs. Koenecke are members respectively of the German Lutheran and Methodist churches and the principles which have been the determining factors in their lives are found in the teachings of those denominations. He has held the office of town assessor and is now efficiently serving as chief of the fire department. The qualities of foresight, determination and sound judgment, which have made possible the success which he has gained, ensure his increased prosperity in future years.
CHRIS P. ANDERSEN.
Chris P. Andersen, a well established dealer in hardware and farm machinery at Ringsted, is entitled to the credit which is accorded a man who has succeeded through his own unaided efforts as he has at all times been dependent solely upon his own resources. His birth occurred in Denmark, March 15, 1865, and his parents were Jens P. and Christina Sorensen, who in 1881 came with their family to the United States. After remaining for a few months in Chicago they located on section 24, Denmark township, Emmet county, the father purchasing eighty acres of land. He engaged in farming for some time, but the last years of his life were spent in the enjoyment of a well earned leisure. Both he and his wife are buried in St. Paul's cemetery. Chris P. Andersen, who is the sixth in order of birth in a family of eight children, received the greater part of his education in the schools of Denmark, but attended the district schools of this county for two years. He worked for his father until he attained his majority and then went to Chicago and was for seventeen years in the employ of the Pullman Car Company, ten years of that time being spent as traveling inspector. Later he was for six years foreman in the car shops of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company in Chicago, but at the end of that time returned to Emmet county and purchased two hundred acres on section 23, Denmark township, which he cultivated for two years and which he still owns. In connection with his nephew, J. P. Nelsen, he purchased the Fink Brothers hardware and farm machinery business in
Ringsted and has proved very successful as a merchant. He carries a well selected and up-to-date stock and has gained an enviable reputation for fair dealing.
In 1892 Mr. Andersen was united in marriage to Miss Sophia Bonnicksen, a daughter of Knut and Petrea (Juhl) Bonnicksen, who lived for a number of years upon the farm now owned by Mr. Andersen but are now deceased and are buried in St. Paul's cemetery. To Mr. and Mrs. Andersen have been born six children, namely: Edna, the wife of Harry Fink, of Ringsted; Alma, who is teaching in Palo Alto county; Ruth, who is teaching in Denmark township; Esther, who is attending the Iowa Teachers' College at Cedar Falls; and Agnes and Irene, both in school at Ringsted. The principles which have governed Mr. Andersen in all relations of life are found in the teachings of the Danish Lutheran church and he is an active member of St. Paul's congregation. He votes for the best man, irrespective of party affiliations, and takes a commendable interest, in all things pertaining to the welfare of the community, especially to the advancement of the public schools, and was for some time school director in Ringsted. The unqualified respect in which he is held by his fellow citizens is proof of his genuine worth.
CHARLES S. CHURCHILL.
Charles S. Churchill, of Armstrong, has the reputation of being one of the most skilled carpenters of the town and his services are in great demand. He is also a leading factor in public affairs, having been called to many local offices. He was born in Jackson county, Iowa, January 25, 1859, and is a son of Samuel B. and Elizabeth (Smith) Churchill, born respectively in New York and in Canada. After leaving Jackson county, Iowa, the family removed to Mitchell county, whence in 1872 they came to Emmet county. The father bought a relinquishment on a homestead claim in Armstrong Grove township and devoted the remainder of his life to the operation of his farm. His death occurred in September, 1885, but the mother survives and is still living upon the home place. Charles S. Churchill obtained his education in the schools of Mitchell and Emmet counties, Iowa, and gave his father the benefit of his labor until he was twenty-five years of age. He then rented land and three years later bought eighty acres, in Armstrong Grove township, on which he resided continuously until 1896. He engaged in general farming and stock raising and derived a gratifying annual income from his land. As time passed his resources steadily increased and in 1896 he sold his place and removed to Armstrong, where he has since followed the carpenter's trade. He is very proficient in that line of work and has erected many of the best buildings in the town. He owns his home and another good residence, which he rents.
In March, 1884, Mr. Churchill was united in marriage to Miss Amanda J. Clark and they have become the parents of five children, Sadie and Mina, twins; Mary, Addie and Lilly. Mr. Churchill believes firmly in the principles of the republican party and for years has taken active part in political affairs. For eighteen years he held the office of constable, is now street commissioner and is also serving as city marshal and water commissioner, having been appointed to the last two offices in May, 1916. He is very conscientious in the discharge of his official duties and no trust reposed in him has ever been betrayed. His life has been a busy and active one and has made for the advancement of his community as well as for individual success.
HARVEY J. FELKEY.
Harvey J. Felkey, who is living practically retired in Armstrong,Emmet county, has been a factor in both the agricultural and commercial development of the county and is still financially interested in a number of local business concerns. He was born in Livingston county, Illinois, December 27, 1849, and is a son of Daniel and Florinda (Brooks) Felkey, natives, respectively, of Ohio and of Pennsylvania.. They became early settlers of Livingston county, Illinois, and the father purchased land there which he farmed until 1862, when removal was made to Mitchell county, Iowa. After cultivating land there for several years he went to South Dakota, where he farmed for five years. He then came to Emmet county, Iowa, and bought land here, to. the operation of which he devoted his time and attention until he removed to Armstrong, where he conducted a store during the remainder of his life, passing away in October, 1910. He was survived by his widow for only a short time, as her death occurred in February, 1911. Harvey J. Felkey grew to manhood in Mitchell county, Iowa, and attended the public schools there in the acquirement of his education. After becoming of age he engaged in farming for two years in Mitchell county and in 1874 he arrived in Emmet county, Iowa, and purchased a farm in Armstrong Grove township. For more than a quarter of a century he engaged in the raising of grain and stock upon that place, but in March, 1900, removed to Armstrong and engaged in the clothing business there. After three years he disposed of that business and has since lived practically retired. He is, however, treasurer of the Farmers' Elevator Company and of the Armstrong Cement Company and is a director of the First National Bank of Armstrong.
On New Year's Day, 1872, Mr. Felkey was married to Miss Rebecca Godfrey, whose parents, Samuel and Matilda (Dickson) Godfrey, were natives, respectively, of Scotland and Ireland. They emigrated to America many years ago and after living for a time in New York went to Wisconsin, where the father purchased land from the government. In 1864 he went to Mitchell county, Iowa, and there resided until his death in 1880. The mother passed away three years later. Mr. and Mrs. Felkey have become the parents of four children: One who died in infancy; Lelah, who became the wife of C. A. Mathews and died February 29, 1916, at the age of thirty-nine years and ten months, leaving three children, Grace, Milo and Maynard; Roy B., who is farming in Armstrong Grove township; and Florence, the wife of J. V. Burkhead, a merchant of Armstrong. Mr. Felkey is a trustee of Orange Grove township and has served in that capacity for twelve years, his long continuance in the office indicating the efficiency with which he discharges his duties. He has also heldthe office of school director. His political allegiance isigven to the republican party and his religious faith is that of the Presbyterian church. while fraternally he belongs to the Masonic order and the Eastern Star. He is a man of unusual energy and ability and is recognized as a leader in his community.
W. W. NELSON.
W. W. Nelson, who is now successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits on section 2, Lloyd township, Dickinson county, is one of Iowa's native sons, his birth occurring in Marshalltown, August 7, 1872. His parents were Peter and Tena (Williams) Nelson, both of whom were natives of Denmark. It was in the latter part of the '60s that they came to America and settled in Hamilton county, Iowa, where the father engaged in farming for many years. He is still living but now makes his home in Los Angeles, California. The mother passed away in 1907. In the family were three children, all of whom are still living. W. W. Nelson was reared and educated in much the usual manner of farmer boys of this state and at the age of nineteen years started out in life for himself. For three years he was employed as a farm hand and then turned his attention to the harness business for two years. At the end of that time he purchased a farm in Hamilton county and to its cultivation and improvement devoted his energies until 1906. He then sold out and removed to North Dakota, where he still owns one hundred and sixty acres of land. After residing thereon for five years Mr. Nelson returned to Iowa, but this time located in Dickinson county, where he rented the Empire Farm for a time. Subsequently he purchased one hundred and forty-eight acres on section 2, Lloyd township, and upon that place he still makes his home. He has made a number of useful and valuable improvements upon the farm and is successfully engaged in its operation.
In 1897 occurred the marriage of Mr. Nelson and Miss Mary Peterson, who was born in Eldora, Iowa, and is a daughter of Andrew and Carrie Peterson, natives of Denmark, who are still living and now make their home in Story county, Iowa. To Mr. and Mrs. Nelson have been born two sons: Arthur, who is now attending high school in Terril, and Harold, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson are earnest and consistent members of the Christian Church and he is also identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Terril Lodge, No.
612, A.F. & A.M. By his ballot he supports the men and measures of thedemocratic party and is now serving as school director. He takes anactive interest in public affairs and does all in his power to promote thewelfare of his community.
PATRICK J. SULLIVAN.
Patrick J. Sullivan, a well known engineer on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad, residing in Estherville, was born in County Cork, Ireland, February 14, 1858, and is a son of John and Julia (Shea) Sullivan, in whose family were nine children. The parents never came to the United States, but continued to reside upon the Emerald isle throughout life. During his boyhood Patrick J. Sullivan attended the common schools of his native land, but at the age of fifteen years he left the parental roof and started out to make his own way in the world. Going to Glamorganshire, South Wales, he worked in a blast furnace factory for two years and then came to the new world at the age of seventeen years. He obtained a position as fireman on the Old Colony Steamship Line, running between
New York and Boston, and remained with that company for four years. At the end of that time Mr. Sullivan came to Iowa City, Iowa, to visit relatives, and for a short time worked as a farm hand in that locality. He next went to Cedar Rapids and entered the service of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railroad as brakeman, but was subsequently made fireman and still later promoted to engineer, in which capacity he has since served, though the road has since become a part of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad system. He became a resident of Estherville, the division point, when the road was built through there, and has since lived at that place,'now owning a fine home on the west side.
In 1883 Mr. Sullivan married Miss Bessie Harrington, at Belmond, Iowa, where she was then living with relatives. She is also a native of County Cork, Ireland, of which country her parents, Cornelius and Bessie Harrington, were lifelong residents. Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan have six children: John, who is married and is an attorney of Mandan, North Dakota; Mary, now Mrs. G. T. McKibben, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Bessie, the wife of Fred Parsons, who is connected with the Iowa Savings Bank of Estherville; William, an attorney with his brother in Mandan, North Dakota; Joseph, a law student in the University of Minnesota; and Margaret, who is attending the high school of Estherville.
Besides his home in Estherville, Mr. Sullivan owns considerable land in Emmet county, consisting of the northwest quarter of section 27, Estherville township; the southeast quarter of section 21; and the west half of the southeast quarter of section 22. All of this property has been acquired through his own unaided efforts, for he came to this country empty handed, and through his industry and good management has acquired a competence. He and his family are communicants of the Catholic church, and he is a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers.
WILLIAM A. AND FRANK A. HILDRETH.
William A. and Frank A. Hildreth are progressive and representative farmers of Twelve Mile Lake township. Their ancestral history, a most interesting one, has been given as follows- "In 1640, Richard, first of the Hildreth immigrant ancestors, came with the English Puritans to America and settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Of his children Joseph Hildreth was the first male child in the Hildreth line born in America. From him the descent is traced down through Joseph, Hosea and Nathaniel Hildreth, who was the first of the family to leave Massachusetts,
removing from that state in 1817, at which time he took up his abode near Richmond, Virginia. There he lived for twenty-five years and afterward went to Greene county, Ohio, where he died in 1844." His son, the grandfather of William A. and Frank A. Hildreth, was John Parker Hildreth, who was born in Virginia in 1821 and married Susan Spahr. He removed to Jay county, Indiana, and at the time of the Civil War enlisted in 1~64 in the One Hundred and Fortieth Indiana Volunteer infantry, but becoming ill, he was sent home on a furlough and, returning to the front before he had sufficiently recovered, he died at Murfreesboro, Tennessee, February 11, 1865. His wife had passed away May 3, 1862, and their children afterward became scattered. Their son, William Hildreth, Sr., married Samantha Whiteman and for a few years resided in Logan county, Illinois, where William A. Hildreth was born on the 20th of August, 1871. During his infancy the parents removed to Polk county, Iowa, and there the father purchased a farm of two hundred acres which he at once began to develop and improve. Thereon he passed away in December, 1884, at the age of thirty-seven years. His widow and children continued to cultivate the farm for some time. Mrs. Hildreth still survives and is now living with her son James. The members of the household were: Edward and James, who are now residents of Calhoun county, Iowa; Emery, who is living in the same county; Harry,. deceased; Nellie, the wife of Dan Stebleton, residing near Egeland, North Dakota; Mark, who is also near Egeland; and William A. and Frank A., of this review. William A. Hildreth attended the common schools until he reached the age of sixteen years. He and his brother came to Emmet county in 1898 and purchased farms. William A. Hildreth became owner of the southeast quarter of section 18, Twelve Mile Lake township, whereon he now resides, and he has since converted the place into a rich and productive tract of land from which he annually garners good harvests.
On the 5th of October, 1899, he was married to Miss Jennie Long, a daughter of James and Mary Long, formerly of Polk county, Iowa, but both now deceased, their remains having been interred in Ames, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Hildreth have become the parents of six children: Cora, Russell, Howard, Charles, Wilbur and Esther, all at home. The parents are consistent members of the Methodist church and in political views William A. Hildreth is a republican, but while he is conversant with the leading questions and issues of the day, he does not seek nor desire office. He has served as a school director and is interested in all matters pertaining to the general welfare.
Frank A. Hildreth was born in Polk county, Iowa, January 8, 1874. He was married in 1895 to Dora Boda, a daughter of Adam and Louise (Ringenburg) Boda, of Polk county. The father died and was buried at Polk City, while the mother is now living at Sheldahl, Iowa, with her daughters. Mr. and Mrs. Frank A. Hildreth have become parents of a son, William. On removing to Emmet county in 1898, Frank A. Hildreth purchased a valuable and productive farm on section 17. Like their forefathers, the two brothers are tillers of the soil and are extensively engaged in stock raising, specializing in feeding more than in breeding. Theirs are among the finest improved farms of the county and their property has been won through earnest, persistent labor. Both brothers are deeply interested in everything pertaining to the welfare and progress of the community, and Frank A. Hildreth became one of the first directors of the First National Bank at Terril, Iowa. He, too, has served on the school board and as township trustee and, like his brother, he adheres to the Methodist faith and is a republican in his political views. The Hildreths are among the prominent families of the county and both William A. and Frank A. Hildreth enjoy the unqualified regard and confidence of all who know them. Their labors have largely set a standard for agricultural development in the community where they live and their labors have brought them to the present prominent position which they now occupy.